Sports => Football => Topic started by: lizzard1910 on June 12, 2006, 11:30:20 PM

Title: Indian Players in T&T
Post by: lizzard1910 on June 12, 2006, 11:30:20 PM
As far as I remember from my visits to T&T, you have a huge Indian poulation (About 40%??), and yesterday at the FIFA-party in Hanover I ran into a group of eight fans from TT that fit into that (Half African and half Indian heritage). But there are no Indian players in the national team. Have their ever been any?? Do they play football at all? What's the story?
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.
Title: Re: Indian Players in T&T
Post by: Themanfriday on June 13, 2006, 12:38:12 AM
Yuh never heard bout Dwarika ;D de man had fitness problems but i de days when he was fit he was de man. Infact from reports I heard he playing kinna good again
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 12:58:12 AM
Yuh never heard bout Dwarika ;D de man had fitness problems but i de days when he was fit he was de man. Infact from reports I heard he playing kinna good again

In recent time Dwarika is the closest to an Indian on the team, but he was mixed.
Despite the absence of this ethnic section on the team, should not be takes as a indicator that indians don't play ball what you have in Germany is 23 Trinibagoians, the best 23 that represents all sections of the population.  The interest in the beautiful game permeates throughout the country and everyone plays it at the rural level.

Unfortunatley I am unable, to give you quantifiable answer, if you vist here (http://www.bestoftrinidad.com/soccer.html) you can see a llist of some of our  past players such as Boobly Sookram , his name is an indian surname , if he was mixed I can't say.
Post by: thane on June 13, 2006, 02:48:53 AM
yeh bobby sookram is the only name dat comes to mind really
Post by: JDB on June 13, 2006, 02:57:16 AM

"Fitness problems"?

That is a euphemism if I ever hear one.
Post by: jose on June 13, 2006, 04:03:55 AM
the indians more prefer to play cricket
Post by: lizzard1910 on June 13, 2006, 05:52:05 AM

That's what I thought - but don't try to eyplain cricket to a German...
I know it will sound blasphemic to you: But for us it's about the same as baseball  ???
Somebody throws a ball and somebody els tries to hit it with a stick ::)
I know that cricket games can last for some days, that's it...
I serious: Neither a single cricket nor a baseball match have ever been televised on German TV - I swear  :-[ but I don't miss it yet  ;D
Post by: SweetParkie on June 13, 2006, 06:24:55 AM

That's what I thought - but don't try to eyplain cricket to a German...
I know it will sound blasphemic to you: But for us it's about the same as baseball  ???
Somebody throws a ball and somebody els tries to hit it with a stick ::)
I know that cricket games can last for some days, that's it...
I serious: Neither a single cricket nor a baseball match have ever been televised on German TV - I swear  :-[ but I don't miss it yet  ;D

you have to really grow up with it to love it! I am a west indian and I dont like test matches (the several days of cricket) I only prefer to watch 1 day matches.
Its a lovely sport doh. Watch it sometime....a 1day preferably
Post by: Sando on June 13, 2006, 06:26:38 AM
Indians never got the chance in football before so they lose interest, now they get a little more respect, hopefully we will see a few in 2010 (Javed Mohammed) remember that name. They will have to now step it up.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 06:43:34 AM
the Indians more prefer to play cricket

all yuh men real good in truth

come now do you know this for a fact?
I grew up in chaguanas and I do not like cricket.
Growing up every afternoon we kicked  ball on some level, cricket was only played occasionally.

Indians never got the chance in football before so they lose interest, now they get a little more respect, hopefully we will see a few in 2010 (Javed Mohammed) remember that name. They will have to now step it up.

Lizard, i agree with sando, there is a mind set that some of us are  more inclined  to play some sports. A mentality that is only compounded by the fact they have been no truly great  players of Indian origin. It take a little while to break out of the mold that has been prescribed to us.
Post by: Touches on June 13, 2006, 06:49:08 AM
Alright...Lewwe not bring this Indian race thing into football.

But I want to share some points here and den alyuh could cuss meh.

I would not say indian sportsmen play cricket generally and football second.

What I would say is that they take education a little more seriously than their other counterparts and hence when exam time comes around they do not sacrifice schoolwork for sports.
Also many families stress education, working in the family business etc. Instead of sports.
Only if they are super talented are they pushed and supported in this regard.

Now alyuh doe get vex...but is mainly Indian people does bawl why no indian on the national team.

Let me tell you why....They are simply not good enough! and there are very few of them who are competent.

To back up my above statement and lets see how many of you if atall can refute or answer these simple questions.

What Indian baller Lighting up Colleges League and is head and shoulders above his peers of other races?

What Indian baller has gotten a scholorship to a University abroad and is on some sort of All star side and performing creditably?

What Indian baller is Lighting up PFL, on the starting 11, is top scorer, big defender or midfield maestro?

What Indian baller playing in the MLS, English premier league or any other league as a matter of fact.

In fact look at any other race and answer the above questions....that is the basis for selection...not race.

I could be crude and crass and say they too thin and dey shitty but until A big Indian baller is performing day in day out and gets left out of the team then alyuh have a case. Until then NOBODY HAVE A CASE FOR A INDIAN MAKING THE NATIONAL TEAM.

Rahim and Dwarika made it on merit...not race...try and remember that nah.

There is no conspiracy....We have no WC quality Indian ballers in TT and that is FACT!.

Post by: Sando on June 13, 2006, 07:02:17 AM
What Indian baller Lighting up Colleges League and is head and shoulders above his peers of other races?

Kahlil Mathura, I am sure they had more in the pass..

What Indian baller has gotten a scholorship to a University abroad and is on some sort of All star side and performing creditably?

Vijay Samaroo, Kahlil Mathura.

What Indian baller is Lighting up PFL, on the starting 11, is top scorer, big defender or midfield maestro?

Javed Mohammed (United Petrotrin), Anton Ramnarine, Vijay Samaroo (Starworld), Kendell Jagdeosingh (half indian), Randy Ramcharan (Caledonia).

What Indian baller playing in the MLS, English premier league or any other league as a matter of fact.

None because they do not play football after college.
Post by: warmonga on June 13, 2006, 07:04:02 AM

What I would say is that they take education a little more seriously than their other counterparts and hence when exam time comes around they do not sacrifice schoolwork for sports.
Also many families stress education, working in the family business etc. Instead of sports.

Now alyuh doe get vex...but is mainly Indian people does bawl why no indian on the national team.

Let me tell you why....They are simply not good enough! and there are very few of them who are competent.

To back up my above statement and lets see how many of you if atall can refute or answer these simple questions.

In fact look at any other race and answer the above questions....that is the basis for selection...not race.

I could be crude and crass and say they too thin and dey shitty but until A big Indian baller is performing day in day out and gets left out of the team then alyuh have a case. Until then NOBODY HAVE A CASE FOR A INDIAN MAKING THE NATIONAL TEAM.

There is no conspiracy....We have no WC quality Indian ballers in TT and that is FACT!.

Touches Indians cya find a f**kin Job in Trinidad jes because we is indian yu think sey Indian wah play football.. Is rum and cricket for we . Yu sound jes like ViV Richards dey wid dat last stetement of yours though ..  I remember when richards mek a statement like dat in Guyana and dem curry mouth indian stone he ass. But gwan talk yu talk,  you could be correct there but I jes cant second dat statement because I am Indian ,anyway   mi still support mi warriors , black, white ,yellow,  purple it nuh matter to war.. Mi A Trini first and foremost.... talk done mi gone..

warmonga..
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 07:04:29 AM

You contradicting yuhself doctor

First yuh say the culture dictates education over sports....then yuh say dey simply not good enough?

Perhaps is de  case of supremely talented men who family tell dem (or dey tell deyself) it have no money in football...but being a doctor, businessman does pay??

Me eh know

However I think an innocent question by the german fellah will either spark this thread into a raging fire or men could simply keep their polarizing opinions to deyself and let it fizzle quietly.....until after Thursday

Personally, me eh care whey yuh look like....yuh from Trinbago? we limin STRONG
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 07:08:07 AM
Touches, You are correct is some of your points
The team is the bess 23 not the all inclusive 23.
And it is very true my folks stressed education over sports, my parents would pay for extra lessons before the send me to summer camp to play ball.

But Lizard indians do play ball,but as it so happens the top 23 is not of indian descent and  what you see in germany right now, is our best players.
Post by: lizzard1910 on June 13, 2006, 07:35:35 AM
Indeed it was only supposed to be an "innocent question" from my side - I just wanted to know why...

For the German team I could also say it's the best 23 we have. But in our case it's onls parlty true. Because players like Halil Altintop, Hamit Altintop, Nuri Sahin (all playing for the Turkish National team) were born in Germany, grew up in Germany, speak much better German than Turkish, still play in Germany, but as a matter of poor integration policy in Germany they don't play for Germany...(same with Ivan Klasnic, playing for Croatia)
Most Junior teams in Germany , esp. in bigger cities ,wouldn't survive without players with Turkish, Croatian or African heritage...I'd say they make up about 50% these days, but only few end up playing for Germany (Asamoah, Odonkor, maybe Podolski who came to Germany at age 2). But things are changing, and we (finally!!!) will get used to the fact that a German National player (or Germans in general) can have ancestors from Africa or names like Mustafa!

Amen  :praying:
Post by: Touches on June 13, 2006, 07:42:12 AM
Sando

Them names yuh call there is 5 names in a 10 team league...a team go have at least 25 men on a roster maybe 30.

So out of approx 250-300 they only have 5 Indian?

So by the numbers game they already at a disadvantage.

Then yuh qualify yuh statement by saying they do not play football after college.....thus how yuh could expect them to play at the WC if they not even playing Pro ball?

Yuh understand what I saying....Thanks for reiterating they not competent enough to make it at the WC level.

Dutty I not contradicting myself...look at it as two important factors which do not produce Indian footballers....and if you check it talent is nothing unless and until it is used. So it is a mute point saying the man had talent, but he become a doctor or engineer. The point can only be explored if he have talent and follows thru with it and it is compared with other players of different races.

Warmonger, I not understanding yuh post....What does you or I being Indian and half indian respectively have anything to do with the absence of Indian players on the national team. It is a combination of factors that contribute to their absence.

Leww not get into no race issue here.

I just stating things man seeing but just ent want to say.

At the end of the day it is TT and the Socawarriors.

Bless

I agree lewwe put this talk to rest till after World Cup.
Post by: real madness on June 13, 2006, 08:11:45 AM

Kahlil Mathura, I am sure they had more in the pass..

Vijay Samaroo, Kahlil Mathura.

Javed Mohammed (United Petrotrin), Anton Ramnarine, Vijay Samaroo (Starworld), Kendell Jagdeosingh (half indian), Randy Ramcharan (Caledonia).

None because they do not play football after college.

Vijay Samaroo didn't finish school and I don't think he is playing for Starworld again..long story that I am not getting into...but he was very good back in dey but attitude is just as important as talent...cant recall mathura mashing up SSFL to the point of being on the national senior team.

I haven't seen Javed Mohammed and Jagdeosing play but I heard they arevery good..only time will tell.

Back in my day at pres, we have quite a few talented players of indian decent that were successful at the U14 and U16 level (even played for national youth teams) but somehow they struggled at the championship level...the one area most of them struggled with was the physical aspect of the game...they had skill  but always got pushed around...so that might be a reason why they are not on the national senior teams.
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 08:22:30 AM
All this talk about Indian Footballers, I saw an Trini on saturday wearing his Adidas Warriors Shirt on the bus and started speaking to him and told where to watch the game (He didnt want to take his daughter to the pub) he said He used to play for Petrotrin but gave up for his education. Didnt catch his name though!
Post by: RasIred on June 13, 2006, 08:25:09 AM
Yes Indians from Trinidad do play FOOTBALL

I am an Indian...that love FOOTBALL way more than I like CRICKET....I was a good cricketer, however my game is FOOTBALL. Its is true the number of Indians playing school or professional football are minute, does not mean they don`t play.

So leh we leggo this Topic, cause it go only cause more grieve........I think skill is the defining factor to be chosen to rep your country, so if you not good enough no matter what RACE u are not gonna be selected. :beermug:

Once we continue to pick the best 11 from Trinidad and Tobago ....I really doh care what race they is.......This is how I was breed as a Trinidadian. We Cosmopolitan AND OPEN TO EVERYONE. So if u have the skills come and try out!
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 08:25:30 AM

Theres one on the french team though Indian Descent Via Mauritius  ;D

(http://french.epochtimes.com/news_images/2005-7-10-52671137-psg.jpg)
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 08:26:27 AM
Yes Indians from Trinidad do play FOOTBALL

I am an Indian...that love FOOTBALL way more than I like CRICKET....I was a good cricketer, however my game is FOOTBALL. Its is true the number of Indians playing school or professional football are minute, does not mean they don`t play.

So leh we leggo this Topic, cause it go only cause more grieve........I think skill is the defining factor to be chosen to rep your country, so if you not good enough no matter what RACE u are not gonna be selected. :beermug:

Once we continue to pick the best 11 from Trinidad and Tobago ....I really doh care what race they is.......This is how I was breed as a Trinidadian. We Cosmopolitan AND OPEN TO EVERYONE. So if u have the skills come and try out!

:applause: :applause: :applause:
what i have been saying all along
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 08:27:37 AM

Vikash Dhorasoo(french league) and theres Chopra (ok Half Indian)
(http://www.4thegame.com/media/00/02/71/chopra_michael_nufc_profile_2004.jpg)

(http://www.fifa.com/images/cms/others/08_06_2005_Aron_Winter_2.jpg)
Aron Winter, Most Capped Dutch Player Ever (via Surinam) (Van der sar is going to take over soon though)
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 08:30:14 AM

Vikash Dhorasoo(french league) and theres Chopra

Theres one on the french team though Indian Descent Via Mauritius  ;D

wow i did not know that , tanks for the education lesson
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 13, 2006, 08:32:13 AM
It have some good indian players down in Trini...Dawirika...Apachi also known as Ricky... hardess also known a Dawyne! But some ah them indian like to much rum and criket! rotfl:  :rotfl: Is joke ah making I love all people!  :)
Post by: Midknight on June 13, 2006, 08:46:32 AM
Is amazing how funny Trinidadians are eh...
The man ask a simple question how come they have no Indians on the team, and everybody suddenly up hot and hungry to beat down saying how they eh care, they want the best 11, they doh want no all inclusive thing etc etc....
If was a Trini ask the question I coulda understand, but the man is a foreigner who obviously know more about us than the average one.

People like to say that race is not a problem in Trinidad, but the responsse to this thread alone proves that that is a pack of nonsense. I remember when TriniInfinite start the are the Hindus supporting the Soca Warriors thread how the thing degenerate...

People on this same flicking board does want to know why France have so many black players on they team. They see any racialism asking that there? Steups

BTW, Touches, the man never ask if there was a conspiracy and i doubt he was implying there was one.
I agree with some of your points (the earlier ones) but your education theory doesn't explain why we have so many cricketers of East Indian descent...

To respond to the original question there have been a few rare ones. The names that I've found are Steve Khan, Bobby Sookram, Adrian Narine, and in recent times there have been two Mixed Indian players - Arnold Dwarika and Brent Rahim.

On the club level, Dhanoolal for Caledonia, now with WASA apparently, used to stand out.

On the school level, both Javed Mohammed and Jagdesingh have received good reviews - I went to school with Mathura and I never realise he was an Indian - if anything he half white/half indian but whatever, its all good.

On the international level, I could be very wrong, but I think Aron Winter (Holland) was of (Surinamese) Indian origin
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 09:05:20 AM
Is amazing how funny Trinidadians are eh...
The man ask a simple question how come they have no Indians on the team, and everybody suddenly up hot and hungry to beat down saying how they eh care, they want the best 11, they doh want no all inclusive thing etc etc....
If was a Trini ask the question I coulda understand, but the man is a foreigner who obviously know more about us than the average one.

People like to say that race is not a problem in Trinidad, but the responsse to this thread alone proves that that is a pack of nonsense. I remember when TriniInfinite start the are the Hindus supporting the Soca Warriors thread how the thing degenerate...

People on this same flicking board does want to know why France have so many black players on they team. They see any racialism asking that there? Steups

BTW, Touches, the man never ask if there was a conspiracy and i doubt he was implying there was one.
I agree with some of your points (the earlier ones) but your education theory doesn't explain why we have so many cricketers of East Indian descent...

To respond to the original question there have been a few rare ones. The names that I've found are Steve Khan, Bobby Sookram, Adrian Narine, and in recent times there have been two Mixed Indian players - Arnold Dwarika and Brent Rahim.

On the club level, Dhanoolal for Caledonia, now with WASA apparently, used to stand out.

On the school level, both Javed Mohammed and Jagdesingh have received good reviews - I went to school with Mathura and I never realise he was an Indian - if anything he half white/half indian but whatever, its all good.

On the international level, I could be very wrong, but I think Aron Winter (Holland) was of (Surinamese) Indian origin
he is.
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 09:05:42 AM
lol your right men jump up on this thread. but i go jump on it abit too ;) Fact is if there arnt as many indian players playing then dats 1 reason, size strength can come into it too. but its Trinidads loss if all races arnt trying. we all want the best 11 not matter their race. but look at it this way. We are an island of 1.3 million our talent pool is tiny its amazing that we can even compete in Concacaf let alone the world cup. if we have 5000 players right now then with all races getting more involved we could have say 7500-10000 which doubles the talent pool which could be the difference between having an ok 11 and a good squad. if even 3 indians make it maybe a chinese and a syrian it would have been worth the effort not because of race but because of numbers and quality. imagine if brazilian indians didnt play ball.
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 09:09:30 AM
lol your right men jump up on this thread. but i go jump on it abit too ;) Fact is if there arnt as many indian players playing then dats 1 reason, size strength can come into it too. but its Trinidads loss if all races arnt trying. we all want the best 11 not matter their race. but look at it this way. We are an island of 1.3 million our talent pool is tiny its amazing that we can even compete in Concacaf let alone the world cup. if we have 5000 players right now then with all races getting more involved we could have say 7500-10000 which doubles the talent pool which could be the difference between having an ok 11 and a good squad. if even 3 indians make it maybe a chinese and a syrian it would have been worth the effort not because of race but because of numbers and quality. imagine if brazilian indians didnt play ball.
They would call up someone else because they have the talent regardless of race.
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 09:11:44 AM
They would call up someone else because they have the talent regardless of race.

Yes and they would be a weaker team for it. so u see what i mean
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 09:12:26 AM

So I guess my family are Indians in disguise then, becuse they pushed education as opposed to sports. What you said there was a gross and inaccurate generalisation. You were way off base.
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 09:13:54 AM

Whatever you say boss. :beermug:
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 09:14:49 AM

Whatever you say boss. :beermug:

??? yeh m8  :beermug:
Post by: football prof on June 13, 2006, 09:19:21 AM
I think that this is only going to become an issue as the world cup goes on. On Sunday a Sri Lankan guy asked me "doesn't trinidad have alot of east indians"? He even said that some Sri Lankans were actually interested in watching Trinidad because they were bound to see some east indians on the team.

I think that we should just educate people when they enquire about this. The education theory is racist. The only theory I would support is that indians males are more interested or geared towards cricket or maybe even males of African descent are geared towards football, cricket and track.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 09:32:03 AM

Whey you really saying.
Do you people on the board realize how we come across at times.
Yes we, this board is reprsentative of tinidad not an indvidual.
Like its is the making of a soca chutney warriors all over again.
A truly sad state of affairs.

Tell me if it is becasue i am of indian descent, chances are  ah took weak to play balll, and I am not from african descent so i cah run or play basketball.  I not of eastern european stock so I cah lift weights, as well as others. Now I am sure no one is going to outright agree with this statement, but these are ideas that have been posted on this very board.

You know what I know from living in American people of African descent have to work that much harder to prove themselves, wrk against the mind set of other groups. And it seem that some of you echo this same idealogy when it comes to indians in sport.

Lizard, as with every where we have our problems, so don't let some of these posts taint your perception.

As the song states " How we vote is not how we party, sweet sweet TNT. Come for a holiday, Eat some bake and shark, pineapple optional by Maracus Bay"
Post by: Fyzoman on June 13, 2006, 09:55:50 AM
warmonga is ah indian, ah never know dat....thanks for the stats from sando on indians playing in high school/college/pro league......very interesting/enlightening thread.....bless
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 09:57:16 AM
Allyuh not one nah

We on ah high....is FOOTBALL IN WE ASS

we go discuss this AFTER world cup...

gorm :-[
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 09:59:17 AM
Allyuh not one nah

We on ah high....is FOOTBALL IN WE ASS

we go discuss this AFTER world cup...

gorm :-[

Is de german....he come an throw ah cigarette in de grass....he eh realize is dry season

Just kidding Lizard  :)
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 10:00:47 AM

Whey you really saying.
Do you people on the board realize how we come acorss at times.
Yes we, this board is reprsentative of tinidad not an indvidual.
Like its is the making of a soca chutney warriors all over again.
A truly sad state of affairs.

Tell me if it is becasue i am of indian descent, chances are  ah took weak to play balll, andI  am not from african descent so i cah run or play basketball.  I not of eastern european stock so I cah lift weights, as well as others. Now I am sure no one is going to agree with this statement, but these are ideas that have been posted on this very board.

You know what I know from living in American peole of African descent have to work that much harder to prove themselves, wrk against the mind set of other groups. And it seem that some of you echo this same idealogy when it comes to indians in sport.

Lizard, as with every where we have our problems, so don't let some of these posts taint your perception.

As the song states " How we vote is not how we party, sweet sweet TNT."

Bredda what did u find wrong with my statment? If indian people are naturally smaller in genral than africans and the phsyical side of the game is important then of course it lessens the chances of an indian player making it. its 1 of many factors. U act like my statment is saying indians cannot play. I am trying to tell u that Trinidad has to make use of our limited talent pool. I am an indian Trinidadian and a tall strong player so i am by no means saying all indians are small. If i came across as sounding ignorant or somting sorry, but most people i know arnt sensitive about race and are wanting to talk about facts. its all for the good of Trinidad at the end of the day. we need every1 who can play to play to become better.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 13, 2006, 10:20:16 AM

there is an indian player at fulham
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on June 13, 2006, 10:22:10 AM
Lizard there are no Indian footballers on our world cup squad now, the only Indian visible around the squad is the team doctor. I don't recall any Indians making the national side as far back as I can remember, but Indians do play football, the average Trini will grow up playing small goalpost in his area, from there you may play for your primary school, then on to secondary school which is where most Trinis get recognized after this stage you get called up for the national team under 17   under 23  then the senoir team, now since TNT drew with SWEDEN the soptlight is now on us, to understand why there are no Indians or for a matter of fact no chinese or local white's on the team now we must look at the history, viewed from the point of parents supporting their children, no dad would push for his son in the footballing world knowing at the end of the road there is not even at very least a decent house and a car the stuff to carry on a family life, and for those who have money an can support their child along the way there is a lot of butt up head business and to make our national senior team is difficult even for the players now you could be axed just like that and that's the end of you and it has nothing to do with your skill or talent. Playing in the world cup will open doors for TNT it is up to those who govern the local football world to give parents a reason to encourage their children, for the Indians at one time they were not involved in steel pan, now it's no big deal, another time is was Soca music and Indians come up wit Soca Chutney, there was never a Indian prime minister and then Panday come on de scene, so in 2006 world cup TNT have no Indians on de starting eleven, is no big deal, but come 2010 if God spare live we just might have a Trini Indian in Africa World Cup, impossible is nothing...
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 10:26:58 AM

there is an indian player at fulham

Zeshan Rehman hes the first Pakistani Internation to play pro in england
Post by: trickadadian on June 13, 2006, 10:31:16 AM
man I iz as indian as dey come, and I really doh care if it have indian on de squad or not, I just love meh country, I iz ah indian yes, but 1st and foremost a TRINIDADIAN.....nothing else, so lewwie juss big up de boys and forget all de rest nah.

Post by: Warrior till death on June 13, 2006, 10:55:10 AM
As far as I remember from my visits to T&T, you have a huge Indian poulation (About 40%??), and yesterday at the FIFA-party in Hanover I ran into a group of eight fans from TT that fit into that (Half African and half Indian heritage). But there are no Indian players in the national team. Have their ever been any?? Do they play football at all? What's the story?
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.

ENGLAND has a indian population...do u see any indians playing for them?
BRAZIL has an indian population,.....do u see any indians playing for them?
GERMANY has an indian population....do u see any indians playing for them?
ITALY also..but u should get my point by now
It all comes down to the dominant footballing race
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 10:59:51 AM
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.

Yeah but those countries you listed, so person of East Indian descent make up 40% of the population? Nah. N besides, yuh cah include Brazil because the indigenous people aren't "Indians".
Post by: Trini Madness on June 13, 2006, 11:09:10 AM
i'm a mix but i look indian......(to some other poeple spanish  ??? doh ask me i dunno how) and i play football. i love this sport more than anything. hopefully i can get a chance and play football after college.  :)

we got more important things to worry about like de game coming up on thursday.
Post by: Touches on June 13, 2006, 11:23:15 AM
Yuh know WTD make a legit point.

forget Indian players in TT....We have identified only 4 big Indian/Asian ballers...Dorahsoo, who can play, Chopra...who I find ent good and he never was a big player for Newcastle. Winter was a big big player and This Fulham fella.

Now there are exceptions to the rule....but alyuh just identify the exceptions......This is WORLDWIDE.

Consider the ratio of Indian/Asian people they have worldwide its millions of them......it is a curious thing to figure out why they just doe have ballers.

Ok looking closer to home....Guyana have a large Indian population, I may be wrong, but every shell cup I see and Everytime Guyana come across here I never see a Indian lace up for them.

Same goes for Jamaica...they are predominantly black, but the second largest ethnic group after is   Chinese and mixed. They also have a few indians in JA why is it they never had no ballers neither. Unless you count marshall who look lil dougla.

Now alyuh does want people to like alyuh here and be polite and say the correct things, but lemme show alyuh whats d scene down here.

I just making an observation and you can disagree with me but for those Who live in TT or who grew up here....and this is not a racist statement but merely an observation.

You ever notice they have 3 types of football sweat....Indian, Mixed and Black.

Have you ever noticed the quality of the sweat?

Go to any park, savannah, field area and watch men playing ball you will understand what I talking bout.

The Indian sweat always has the poorest quality.

Why they exclusive no one knows, be it a friend thing, work ting, sense of belonging etc....but in many cases the best player in this sweat is avg or sub par in the other sweats..and because they stick together playing amongst themselves....and rarely let "outsiders" come in. They remain stagnant and their level does not increase.

Also in Florida I played with two trini sides, one a indian side and the other a black side...If anyone remembers those posts from way back when, yuh will remember the episodes.

Point is The Indian side never win a game and the black side did well in the various rec leagues they entered.......so even removing natives from a country and allowing them to flourish in another yields the same result among the differing ethnic groups.

This is my hypothesis and observation.

Who vex lorse but as one can see...the number or lackthereof of quality ballers of Indian decent in TT justify this hypothesis.

It doe have anything to get upset with...Thats how it go.

Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 11:34:27 AM
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.

Easy Hitler

de whole dominant race in 'XYZ' theory has been disproven years ago
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 11:55:11 AM
WOW  

Footballing race ?
there are two kinds of racism Blatant,
The one easily identified and raises a public outcry.
And the subtle kind, it not hurting anybody so we go let it slide.
Plus other people doing and saying the same thing a long time now so it must be correct. ENT

Ah boy

The fact of the matter that coaches such as Alvin corneal did not embrace Indians in football. So i ask you, there is football but the coach do really like Indians . But it have this fella play for India who kind of look like me and he really popular,ah wonder which sport ah likely to take an interest in. and who do ah chose to emulate.

Allyuh tell me nah, in your opinions what Indians good for,
 Please tell me nah
 ::) ::)

Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 11:58:28 AM

(No he dosent, he just shootin from de hip)

forget Indian players in TT....We have identified only 4 big Indian/Asian ballers...Dorahsoo, who can play, Chopra...who I find ent good and he never was a big player for Newcastle. Winter was a big big player and This Fulham fella.
(The point is you ask for examples as per your previpus post and you got them...talk done)

Now there are exceptions to the rule....but alyuh just identify the exceptions......This is WORLDWIDE.

Consider the ratio of Indian/Asian people they have worldwide its millions of them......it is a curious thing to figure out why they just doe have ballers.
(Possibly because most of the countries that have indians in great numbers have had cricket, rugby or some other sport as the dominant one
How come africans from africa dont dominate basketball?

The same argument was made about asians and football years ago and check out korea and japan now)

k looking closer to home....Guyana have a large Indian population, I may be wrong, but every shell cup I see and Everytime Guyana come across here I never see a Indian lace up for them.
(Again, the argument can be made that Indian culture dosent push football as a first option, perhaps Indians in the carribbean can see the lofty heights that can be atained in cricket but not in football

Same goes for Jamaica...they are predominantly black, but the second largest ethnic group after is   Chinese and mixed. They also have a few indians in JA why is it they never had no ballers neither. Unless you count marshall who look lil dougla.
(I have no idea...perhaps they were not interested? or maybe the talented ones get run off the baseball field much like very talented blacks in the united states who were not allowed to play in the majors)

Now alyuh does want people to like alyuh here and be polite and say the correct things, but lemme show alyuh whats d scene down here.

I just making an observation and you can disagree with me but for those Who live in TT or who grew up here....and this is not a racist statement but merely an observation

Go to any park, savannah, field area and watch men playing ball you will understand what I talking bout.
(Maybe yuh ketch some shithounds on one day...unless you go to every single sweat of every single race everyday you just sowin seeds of racist garbage)

Why they exclusive no one knows, be it a friend thing, work ting, sense of belonging etc....but in many cases the best player in this sweat is avg or sub par in the other sweats..and because they stick together playing amongst themselves....and rarely let "outsiders" come in. They remain stagnant and their level does not increase.
(so what does that have to do with why Indians dont play football at high levels? ok so de men an dem in a little click in ah little village in ah little country in a small part of the world...that validates what?)

Point is The Indian side never win a game and the black side did well in the various rec leagues they entered.......so even removing natives from a country and allowing them to flourish in another yields the same result among the differing ethnic groups.
(This proves what? that yuh play wit some men who aint no ballers and formulate a worldwide theory on your personal sweat?)

(Your hypothesis needs significantly more testing my friend, there was once a hypothesis that blacks cant play golf and that cant play ice hockey as genetically they have weak ankles....theories that have since benn thrown into the garbage bin of time)

Who vex lorse but as one can see...the number or lackthereof of quality ballers of Indian decent in TT justify this hypothesis.
(You lorse boss, you throwin out one or two personal obsevations in a limited test area combining it with junk science backed up by WTD? and calling it fact?)

(Lehwe done this or continue on PM nah...you yuhself say earlier it doh make sense but yet you and starboy above fannin de flames)
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 12:05:20 PM

(No he dosent, he just shootin from de hip)

(The point is you ask for examples as per your previpus post and you got them...talk done)

(Possibly because most of the countries that have indians in great numbers have had cricket, rugby or some other sport as the dominant one
How come africans from africa dont dominate basketball?

The same argument was made about asians and football years ago and check out korea and japan now)

k looking closer to home....Guyana have a large Indian population, I may be wrong, but every shell cup I see and Everytime Guyana come across here I never see a Indian lace up for them.
(Again, the argument can be made that Indian culture dosent push football as a first option, perhaps Indians in the carribbean can see the lofty heights that can be atained in cricket but not in football

(I have no idea...perhaps they were not interested? or maybe the talented ones get run off the baseball field much like very talented blacks in the united states who were not allowed to play in the majors)

I just making an observation and you can disagree with me but for those Who live in TT or who grew up here....and this is not a racist statement but merely an observation

(Maybe yuh ketch some shithounds on one day...unless you go to every single sweat of every single race everyday you just sowin seeds of racist garbage)

(so what does that have to do with why Indians dont play football at high levels? ok so de men an dem in a little click in ah little village in ah little country in a small part of the world...that validates what?)

(This proves what? that yuh play wit some men who aint no ballers and formulate a worldwide theory on your personal sweat?)

(Your hypothesis needs significantly more testing my friend, there was once a hypothesis that blacks cant play golf and that cant play ice hockey as genetically they have weak ankles....theories that have since benn thrown into the garbage bin of time)

(You lorse boss, you throwin out one or two personal obsevations in a limited test area combining it with junk science backed up by WTD? and calling it fact?)

(Lehwe done this or continue on PM nah...you yuhself say earlier it doh make sense but yet you and starboy above fannin de flames)

Now i kind of see whey cana was shock you wasn't indian descent,
A hearty round of  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Ah really thought we had learned our lesson from the chutney warrior thing. Some men really shocking meh on this board
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 12:09:03 PM

Please tell me nah
Wine up on me she singing wine up on me-ee! Wine up on me, she singing wine up on me! Ah want ah dhal belly Indian tuh wine up on me...

Disclaimer: Toppa is on kicks

I also disagree with the claim that there is some superior/inferior footballing race, I think it has more to do with culture. Just like how Golf and tennis were traditionally viewed as "white" sports, in TnT, Indian - cricket African - football.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 13, 2006, 12:17:42 PM

Please tell me nah
Wine up on me she singing wine up on me-ee! Wine up on me, she singing wine up on me! Ah want ah dhal belly Indian tuh wine up on me...

I also disagree with the claim that there is some superior/inferior footballing race, I think it has more to do with culture. Just like how Golf and tennis were traditionally viewed as "white" sports, in TnT, Indian - cricket African - football.

i agree it has to do more with culture,  but you see me i think football is a WORLD game not domniated by brazilians or germans or english. FOOTBALL IS A WORLD GAME!!!
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 12:20:12 PM

Ah really thought we had learned our lesson from the chutney warrior thing. Some men really shocking meh on this board

You know since cana sell mih out...she REAL cause sales of my mail order polorie business to drop  :-\

Ah go do fuh she
Post by: pioneertrini on June 13, 2006, 12:20:22 PM

Please tell me nah

i agree it has to do more with culture,  but you see me i think football is a WORLD game not domniated by brazilians or germans or english. FOOTBALL IS A WORLD GAME!!!

I agree, but in less than an hour u will see that it is dominated by Brazilians   ;D
Post by: christiano on June 13, 2006, 12:35:49 PM
On a light note guys. Please dont stress meh out .

I am an Indian and i am chronic about football. But the real reasons plenty Indian dont make the squad is  because Sat Maraj say dont accept crosses !

Thats why you wont see a Indian keeper or an Indian Striker !
We try to keep the ball on the ground !! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:   

I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 02:28:12 PM

Please tell me nah

:D :D :D  :rotfl: yeah toppa i guess so but this is one Indian who ain't have no dhall belly and i will work my hardest to keep it that way.
Post by: Pointman on June 13, 2006, 02:41:24 PM
It have some good indian players down in Trini...Dawirika...Apachi also known as Ricky... hardess also known a Dawyne! But some ah them indian like to much rum and criket! rotfl:  :rotfl: Is joke ah making I love all people!  :)

Since when is Dwarika Indian, he has Indian blood and an Indian name but nobody would say that Dwarika is Indian.

I for one hope more Indians get involved in football at the higher levels in T&T. It would only be a boone for Trinidad and Tobago football.

Aaron Winter was one of my favorite players on the Dutch team...pure class.
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 03:07:29 PM
From what i "ve gathed the the brits don"t reatherly accept south asians in their youth leagues ,no
matter how big or good they seem to be.So they being stop from the big league.
I remember a youth from Arima Senior ,back 89- 90,name Jazzy {alias} best player on the team,from the
Congo skills for days.u couldn beat he lol .
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 03:13:03 PM
From what i "ve gathed the the brits don"t reatherly accept south asians in their youth leagues ,no
I remember a youth from Arima Senior ,back 89- 90,name Jazzy {alias} best player on the team,from the
Nah, boss they are too secularised, the same for the Turks in England, we all know Turkish people are good at football and they have Big Turkish Communites in London but they want keep to themselves have set up their own leagues, ok a summer turkish league or turkish culture club team but nuff of them can make but they wanna keep to themselves, and theres allways fights in friggen Turkish & Asian so no scout wants to go and watch that.

Obvious some scouts maybe be racist but its bull crap. The good Indian players like Ricky Bains & Harpal Singh didnt play in these race leagues.
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 03:30:40 PM
Nah, boss they are too secularised, the same for the Turks in England, we all know Turkish people are good at football and they have Big Turkish Communites in London but they want keep to themselves have set up their own leagues, ok a summer turkish league or turkish culture club team but nuff of them can make but they wanna keep to themselves, and theres allways fights in friggen Turkish & Asian so no scout wants to go and watch that.

OK  well let me rephrase ,there are biases on both sides ,the only thing being hurt is the sport and
the fans.But i think the new generations will hopfully change in the UK .People can do anything if
they have some gifts and determination regardless of ethnicity,.Look the Blue Jays picked an Indian
in the baseball draft last week name Jonathan  Baksh{possibly trini} WTF ,i never know indian playing baseball,but there you go.
Post by: torontotrini on June 13, 2006, 03:34:01 PM
who gives a shit what race you are!!!!!!!!! :P :P :P :P

WHEN YOU PRICK US WE ALL BLEED T&T BLOOD.  RACISM DIED ALONG TIME AGO IN CANADA YOU SHOULD LIVE HERE WHERE THOSE THINGS ARE SECONDARY MATTERS.

LATES FROM TORONTOTRINI :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 03:37:51 PM

OK  well let me rephrase ,there are biases on both sides ,the only thing being hurt is the sport and
the fans.But i think the new generations will hopfully change in the UK .People can do anything if
they have some gifts and determination regardless of ethnicity,.Look the Blue Jays picked an Indian
in the baseball draft last week name Jonathan  Baksh WTF ,i never know indian playing baseball,but there you go.
Indians in england, let me say I have heard this come out there mouth before anyone attacks me, the one that I know complain before they even start playing saying how it wont get picked up and blah blah blah, I told the guy STFU and go and play , he got invited to the West Ham Development centre 3 months later. I heard he didnt get in (west ham is very hard to get into before you say anything) but it shows when he stopped the friggen complaining and chose NOT to play in these race leagues he progressed. Indians in england shoot them selves more than others shoot them in the foot.

You think black people had it easy to get into teams back in the day? difference is black people wanted to prove everybody wrong, so they would mash up people in dey own arena,, I dont need to tell anyone the end of the story.
Post by: morvant on June 13, 2006, 03:41:52 PM
allyuh know indians   does play more criket than football yet allyuh still quarreling

set ah jammet in here

fighting down touches like he iz not ah indian too

how saying indians like criket more iz disrespecting them???

in 98,99 the starting midfielder fuh malick was ah indian but he doh make up de majority kakaholes

they not on de team cause it doh have none capable at the moment. simple.

i vex julius not on de team but i cyar wanna fight the world bcause he not dey
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 03:44:41 PM
allyuh know indians   does play more criket than football yet allyuh still quarreling

set ah jammet in here

fighting down touches like he iz not ah indian too

how saying indians like criket more iz disrespecting them???

in 98,99 the starting midfielder fuh malick was ah indian but he doh make up de majority kakaholes

they not on de team cause it doh have none capable at the moment. simple.

i vex julius not on de team but i cyar wanna fight the world bcause he not dey

Post by: supporter on June 13, 2006, 03:51:10 PM

what dumb shit you writing?
Post by: pecan on June 13, 2006, 04:07:40 PM
De fact that this here thread getting heated mek me feel like we still have a long way to go before we all realize we is all God's or Jah's creatures (did not mean to add fire to the talk by bringing religion into it) and as Torontotrini say "we all bleed T&T blood".  Yeah, different races over time seem to dominate certain activities but I tink that it is all cultural and diversity is what make life so good.  Jus imagine how boring it go be if all deh flowers in de world was one colour and shape.

Jus to remind everybody here is a verse from our anthem:

"....
Here every creed and race,
Find an equal place,
And may God bless our nation.
Here every creed and race,
Find an equal place,
And may God bless our nation."

Amen.

And I add: May God bless the Soca Warriors on Thursday and Tuesday and Saturday June 24 when dey meet Germany in Stage 2".  Amen
Post by: rastafari on June 13, 2006, 04:18:47 PM
the Indians more prefer to play cricket

all yuh men real good in truth

come now do you know this for a fact?
I grew up in chaguanas and I do not like cricket.
Growing up every afternoon we kicked  ball on some level, cricket was only played occasionally.

Lizard, i agree with sando, there is a mind set that some of us are  more inclined  to play some sports. A mentality that is only compounded by the fact they have been no truly great  players of Indian origin. It take a little while to break out of the mold that has been prescribed to us.

Meh boy Aron Winter is of indian origin and he played for holland.
Vikash Dhorasoo is of indian origin and he plays for france.

Bobby Sookram, Ellis Sadaphal and Steve Khan are of indian origin and they all played for T&T.

Anybody who around T&T football knows that there are talented indian players, so Sando doh talk that rubbish about they never got a chance.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: rastafari on June 13, 2006, 04:42:03 PM

Vikash Dhorasoo(french league) and theres Chopra

Theres one on the french team though Indian Descent Via Mauritius  ;D

wow i did not know that , tanks for the education lesson

If yuh was interested in the sport yuh would have known this long time.
Yuh just sounding like a waggonist bredrin.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Daft Trini on June 13, 2006, 04:59:59 PM
What about Anthony Danoolal? Did he not play for Trinidad during the nineties at sometime, may be a handful of games.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 05:02:01 PM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

who  is u to tell me if i was interested in sport i would have known this long time ago, dread man I in grad school my priorties have evolved, and in the US i don't get that kind of football coverage here.

But swell you chest, you more informed than me in one area, so that makes you qualified to call me waggonist. Allyuh real good in trute

But i digress Carib-briton thks for the info once more
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 13, 2006, 05:06:17 PM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
lol, everybody dont know something. If he said he didnt know who Spann, Vieira or Owen was then there would be a problem,lol
Post by: Ponnoxx on June 13, 2006, 05:17:00 PM
 It have players man
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 05:21:06 PM
check these out
                            http://sport.indiatimes.com/soccerarticleshow/1632280.cms

Post by: rastafari on June 13, 2006, 05:25:45 PM

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

you is u to tell i was interested in sport i would have known this long time ago, dread man I in grad school my priorties have evolved, and in the US i don't get that kind of football coverage here.

But swell you chest, you more informed than me in one area, so that makes you qualified to call me waggonist. Allyuh real good in trute

But i digress Carib-briton thks for the info once more

I never call yuh a waggonist, i just said that yuh sounding like a waggonist scene.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2006, 05:33:01 PM
I sweat all over the place with all kinds of different looking people and I never noticed any inherant difference in quality in players of any particular ethnic group. On average you I see the same amount of shithounds and men with touches in every ethnic group. With one exception 90% of the white players I've seen in Trinidad have a better mastery of the rudiments of the game than the average Trinidadian sweata.  he differences I have seen have more to do with football culture and from whatever community or school you come.

Anybody from any "race"  can succeed at football if they tried. There are no indians on the National team because for whatever reason not many indians choose football as a career. That leap from novice participation into serious football is not there.  It makes no sense getting offended. If more whites, chinese, indians etc chose football then team would actually look more like Trinidad.
Post by: real-warrior on June 13, 2006, 06:02:25 PM
i agree! ;D
Post by: trini_chris on June 13, 2006, 06:08:46 PM
yall forgetting brent rahim. a talented dougla there
Post by: pecan on June 13, 2006, 06:31:04 PM
check these out

very appropriate
Post by: Tenorsaw on June 13, 2006, 06:52:42 PM
I'll give my personal observation from growing up in Trinidad.  The Indians, for whatever reason, tend to gravitate to cricket.  People of African descent play cricket as well as football.  When it comes to the highest level, there aren't many Indians to choose from, cause they have no numerical representation at that level.  I ain't no sociologist, but for whatever reason, a lot of Indians tend to develop and progress to play cricket at a first class level.  What men arguing for? IN the eighties and early 90s there was clamor bout how there were no Indians on the WI team.  What was the reason for that? Cause Indians were very active in the sport in Trinidad and Guyana.  For whatever reason (go ask the selectors at that time), they were really making the WI team.  Ah wonder what men go say bout that.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2006, 06:59:42 PM
check these out

very appropriate

Perhaps I'm misinterpretting the whole thing but that article is more embarrassing than anything else. India has a population of over 1 billion people and a MASSIVE diaspora to go along with that. Even with this abundance of human capital this article can only highlight a mere handfull of "decent" players with superstar Vikash Dhorasoo heading the list. I don't even have to use T&T as a example of being more successful at developing good players. St. Vincent  and St Lucia could probably boast of a superior record than that

In my opinion the article failed to highlight the real solution to making football great in India instead it makes a bogus claim footballing parity based on genetics. In doing so the aurthor acknowledges a inherant inferiority and uses "the exception to the rule" of indians don't play well to dispute that erroneous claim in the first place. If the Japanese and Koreans can play football why can't Indians.  They are smaller people than indians and still play the game well. Football is an equal opportunity sport. You just have to be good enough to control, pass and shoot. The article should have pointed out the defects of India's football systems rather than selecting 11 men of Indian origin to prove that Indians can play football too.
Title: This is so Funny!
Post by: Trinimac on June 13, 2006, 07:05:20 PM
It seems that things in Trinidad have not changed much! It's so funny that there would be over 70 replies about Indians playing football in Trinidad, whereas there have been under 25 postings for various other football topics.

When would Trinidadians learn??????????????
Title: Re: This is so Funny!
Post by: Rastaman on June 13, 2006, 07:11:47 PM
You have a valid point there but unless you read the threads it is hard to judge by just the no of replies....I say this because I just read all the replies to that thread and some intresting points did come out of it and there were other entertainment factors aw well. Remember the site is open to free speech and public opinion.

Some of the other threads are short because they either are S**T or do not stimulate comversation.

It also depends who is online as well.

Hopefully this thread will stimulate conversation.
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 07:16:14 PM
You get all that from that article, :whistling: talk about reading between the lines  ;D.Some ppl in this tread say it don"t have much good indian players.These guys just assembled a team they think can do well in
a world cup game,usng indians from all over the world.
Post by: Trinimac on June 13, 2006, 07:17:52 PM
What we have failed to realized is that the Europeans have used race and religion so they can continue to reign there power. However, while they have made progress with there way of thinking, it seems that Trinidadians have continued there old way o thinking. As a young man growing up in Trinidad there were a lot of race issues, it seems that things have not changed much. When would our younger generation open there eyes, whether white, black indian, green, purple and realized that as a country we cannot adavance unless we work together.
Post by: Trinimac on June 13, 2006, 07:24:42 PM
Exactly what I was saying. We prefer to speak about race rather than football. How stimulating can a race topic be?

How about you respond to this question? How can Trinidadians improve thier school system? I went to school in Trinidad when I was younger and the educational system is very old. The entire school system is based on old european values! When and how would we encourage our younger generation to think for themselves rather than simply cram everthing from a textbook. How can we implement a plan to encourge younger people to start their won business, rather than working for someone else?

What's your response?
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2006, 07:28:45 PM
You get all that from that article, :whistling: talk about reading between the lines ;D.Some ppl in this tread say it don"t have much good indian players.These guys just assembled a team they think can do well in

What do you glean from this ?

" Impossible? So it seems. But don't lose hope. Nothing is wrong with the Indian football DNA. Spread across continents, players of Indian origin are creating waves."
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 07:46:34 PM
You get all that from that article, :whistling: talk about reading between the lines ;D.Some ppl in this tread say it don"t have much good indian players.These guys just assembled a team they think can do well in

" Impossible? So it seems. But don't lose hope. Nothing is wrong with the Indian football DNA. Spread across continents, players of Indian origin are creating waves."
It means they suck and the whole subcontinent is losing hope.But the writer is trying to tell ppl, football
has nothing to do with bloodlines or DNA ,and that there are successfull indian pedegree out there.

Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2006, 08:05:42 PM

It means they suck and the whole subcontinent is losing hope.But the writer is trying to tell ppl, football
has nothing to do with bloodlines or DNA ,and that there are successfull indian pedegree out there.

I don't think we disagree much on this thing. All I'm saying is that the article fails the hopes of Indian National football by naming those "pedigree" players. A nation that size should at least qualify for every other World Cup.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 08:13:36 PM
Exactly what I was saying. We prefer to speak about race rather than football. How stimulating can a race topic be?

How about you respond to this question? How can Trinidadians improve thier school system? I went to school in Trinidad when I was younger and the educational system is very old. The entire school system is based on old european values! When and how would we encourage our younger generation to think for themselves rather than simply cram everthing from a textbook. How can we implement a plan to encourge younger people to start their won business, rather than working for someone else?

What's your response?

Despite being out of the system for eight years I shall attempt to answer your question.

You might not be aware students nolonger required to sit the CE instead they are evaluated over a period leading up to the CE time frame when they take an exam, yes i know it sounds alot like common entrace to me too. There was a massive school building program and students are assured a place, school of choice, merits  if supply excced demand you are placed by loacation.

The goverment has an assitantship program to aid in buy bools, but this might prove a drain on fiances. A better soultion would be for the school to own the some  books and loan them to the student during the semester. Students mus then pay for teh book if it is damaged

Teachers should be instructed in new teaching techniques and how to use the latest teaching aids that will provide to them. Parents should take part in thier offspring upbringing, schools are not goverment funded day care agencies. Respect must be emphasized for teachers and discpline must be enforced. I don't understand how student get so brazen as to attack teachers. Discpline strts at home
Post by: Quags on June 13, 2006, 08:16:09 PM

I don't think we disagree much on this thing. All I'm saying is that the article fails the hopes of Indian National football by naming those "pedigree" players. A nation that size should at least qualify for every other World Cup.
True I don"t think so either, your right with so many ppl. But this anomaly must have something to do with imperialism,it must. Which is weird since England is the cradle of football also ,guess the soldiers were more gentlemen who played mostly cricket ?

Post by: morvant on June 13, 2006, 08:17:46 PM

What's your response?

what shyt yuh talkin. we education system backward??????? in pob sba yuh have to start yuh own business from scratch, and college free to boot.

i fed-up with this board ah goin and fix meh planes
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 08:25:46 PM

True I don"t think so either, your right with so many ppl. But this anomaly must have something to do with imperialism,it must. Which is weird since England is the cradle of football also ,guess the soldiers were more gentlemen who played mostly cricket ?

At least the movie Lagan presents that way  ;D ;D
Post by: Mock de Dread on June 13, 2006, 09:09:09 PM

the answer is simple because

when indians get a fowl in trini they curry it
and when chinese get a corner they open a shop

derrr

i dunno in school it was the same thing, i went to a predominantly indian school and we imported most of our players who were non indian

its real wierd but i think the inidans in trini are physically weaker or not as well developed as the african population because of diet etc
i mean growing up in school the hindus ate no meat and such its hard to develop physically with a diet of sasa roti and pimpkin , i'am no racist but call it as i see it and i saw it alot while at school their diets were poorer for one reason or the other compared to some of the other lads who ate blue food provisions etc

these days sports is partly science a big part of it i remember a guy from our hood who got drafted to play college ball in the US he was tall had mad skill but was skinny like i dunno what after 3 years abroad the coaches prepared a diet combined with weight training for him and he returned a big strappid nigger fir and muscles everywhere we were all amazed at what they had done, poor fella broke his leg after being featured in sports illustrated as a promising young athlete

so with the right diet once they have the skill and fitness you never know, i dont think our school system is developed enough to reach that point though pity

Imagine dawrika on a diet to imporve his size etc , as is with all his skill he is easily bumped around the pitch/field
i was schocked to see that guy in france today i think it was the first indian i have even seen at a WC i may be wrong though
Post by: kevinAckin on June 13, 2006, 09:23:41 PM
thiz beside the point but i now read this and found it was real funnyyyyyyyy
from fifa offical website

India qualified for the 1950 FIFA World Cup™ after a number of teams withdrew from the tournament. However, they declined to participate after FIFA prohibited playing barefoot.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/team/profile.html?team=ind
Post by: kevinAckin on June 13, 2006, 09:25:26 PM
by the way I iz a half chineeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
yeeeeeeeeeee hhaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

an yuh know the mix chinee's down here does conduct it
raaahhh raaahhhh
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 09:38:18 PM

the answer is simple because

when indians get a fowl in trini they curry it
and when chinese get a corner they open a shop

derrr

i dunno in school it was the same thing, i went to a predominantly indian school and we imported most of our players who were non indian

its real wierd but i think the inidans in trini are physically weaker or not as well developed as the african population because of diet etc
i mean growing up in school the hindus ate no meat and such its hard to develop physically with a diet of sasa roti and pimpkin , i'am no racist but call it as i see it and i saw it alot while at school their diets were poorer for one reason or the other compared to some of the other lads who ate blue food provisions etc

these days sports is partly science a big part of it i remember a guy from our hood who got drafted to play college ball in the US he was tall had mad skill but was skinny like i dunno what after 3 years abroad the coaches prepared a diet combined with weight training for him and he returned a big strappid nigger fir and muscles everywhere we were all amazed at what they had done, poor fella broke his leg after being featured in sports illustrated as a promising young athlete

so with the right diet once they have the skill and fitness you never know, i dont think our school system is developed enough to reach that point though pity

Imagine dawrika on a diet to imporve his size etc , as is with all his skill he is easily bumped around the pitch/field
i was schocked to see that guy in france today i think it was the first indian i have even seen at a WC i may be wrong though

so now it is not jus indians, we more specific now it is trini Indians, they must be curry that fowl and not eat it, because if they did they would have meat in their diet.

And people saying this comment is not meant to be racist, does not change the fact that it is.

If it look like a duck, walk like a duck chances are it is a duck so bess i go curry it. Now if a man tell me right now Indians aren't not at the skill level to be on the team. As a big man I will admit he right, but to say that inherently we can't play ball and as people  we weaker, is pure f**kery meh eh no badjohn but if it is ah have to go one one with allyuh to prove that to some of allyuh i up for it. And yes i grow up eating roti and pumpkin and aloo pie.

Men does come across like undercover racist.

And to you mock de dread

As you see it what are Trini Indians Good For?

call it as you see it

I support all trini what ever creed or race, but some of you does make it really hard.
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2006, 09:43:10 PM

What's your response?
Ahh....the classic "ah move to ah BIG country, ah better dan allyuh" condescension

I suppose I could highlight the ravages of the new york school system and its shortcommings...but why bother

You have to remember trinidad is a still a relatively new independent country...barely 40 years..thus every country goes through growing pains as it forges an identity

Instead of casting aspersions to your 'former' countrymen,, why not take your vast reserves of knowledge and attempt to help trinis, teach them the skills so they wont have to work for someone else

With regard to your question about how stimulating race can be....it can educate the closed minded or make others aware that young people still regurgitate very old trains of thought

The country in which you live is constantly stimulted by race..controversial race topics on tv gather the highest ratings

Violence on its own doesnt make front page news,, however combine it with race and every major us newspaper is suddenly interested for a cover story

Before you start lobbing any more stones you might want to look around at the thin glass house in which you live
Post by: football prof on June 13, 2006, 09:43:49 PM

Ok looking closer to home....Guyana have a large Indian population, I may be wrong, but every shell cup I see and Everytime Guyana come across here I never see a Indian lace up for them.

I just making an observation and you can disagree with me but for those Who live in TT or who grew up here....and this is not a racist statement but merely an observation.

Also in Florida I played with two trini sides, one a indian side and the other a black side...If anyone remembers those posts from way back when, yuh will remember the episodes.

Good observation Touches. It is True. I played with an Indian side and we lose. To them the sweat was more a friend kind of thing. When other blacks came for the sweat some of the Indian guys did not want them to come back.

The Black side I played with did well. Whoever wanted a sweat and was good got one.

Post by: kevinAckin on June 13, 2006, 09:44:41 PM
i want a bateeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!
Post by: Trini Madness on June 13, 2006, 09:48:19 PM
i want a bateeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 09:50:19 PM

You know since cana sell mih out...she REAL cause sales of my mail order polorie business to drop  :-\

Ah go do fuh she

Come nah
I ain't living far from ya

Start selling pelau and blue food....shucks man :devil:
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 09:54:39 PM

Come nah

Cana how much for a box lunch, and dinner of blue food becuase that is all i going to eat now cause i want to be big (taller than 5,10) and strong  :D :D :D ;D

what is the delivery charge to wisconsin
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 10:02:18 PM

Come nah

Cana how much for a box lunch, and dinner of blue food becuase that is all i going to eat now cause i want to be big (taller than 5,10) and strong  :D :D :D ;D

what is the delivery charge to wisconsin

ya put ah smile on meh face yes
taller dan 5'10 eh

what i suggest well i hadda PM ya

check Duttiness for dey delivery charge

btw it have ah indian player in France team :rotfl:
how come it ain't have ah chinee in dey cricket and football team eh? >:(
Post by: football prof on June 13, 2006, 10:10:24 PM
This thing is only an issue because when the world looked at Trinidad team on saturday, all they seeing is people of African descent. Despite the fact that Trinidad has alot of East Indians. This showing of blacks on the football team tells the world that Trinidad is a black country. Does anyone remember when the word "chutney" was almost incorporated into the soca warriors name? What do you think the reason for that was?

The soca warriors looks more like a "black african" than a "Trinidadian" team. Some dont like that but that is the truth. Please dont be offended if you are.
Post by: Touches on June 13, 2006, 10:17:16 PM
Well lets just say its on the up and up

Our Beloved prime Minister has afforded free tertiary education for all.

The dollar for dollar programme has been superceded by GATE

This however is not extended to MBA and Masters programs....just undergrad.

Apart from the school feeding programme, free text books and other methods of school reform there are now other options for students.

A multitude of private instituions have opened up giving people the option of distance learning as well as providing SAT, GMAT, MCAT etc and preparation for testing in order to enter US institutions instead of the traditional O and A' Levels i.e the British system.

School is now affordable and available to all.

Even vocational courses, trade etc...all are now Free.

Dont forget the new International, Canadaian schools and the expansion of some of the prestige schools e.g Bishop Anstey and Trinity college to have locations in the East.

Question do you think you excelled abroad due to your schooling in TT or did the system stunt your growth?

Let me share this with you.....so called educated MBA professionals in the states and college graduates cannot even say they tables.

Yankee children are not taught times tables and ask...what is that...they use calculator and rely on drawing circles and boxes to do their tables.

Imagine I shant call names but during my stint in the states nobody in the office coulda say they times tables....except me.

Yes there are positives as well as negatives but students from TT usually go abroad and excel......and it comes from having a good primary and secondary school background.

How many "duncee" chirren you know....who couldnt cut it in TT schools go abroad and get degrees and lick up all the other chirren in high school etc.

Is it because the level down here is higher and only the strong survive....or is it that US schools cater to the needs of "weaker" students.

What I do find...is that generally Yankee students, chirren and the population as a whole is more expressive and can carry a conversation, put forth a point of view etc....much better than their Trini counterpart.

Younger children are encouraged to express themselves and they are comfortable speaking to crowds, people etc.

But other than that I think for the most part...once yuh pass tru the school system down here...you good to go.

Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 10:24:39 PM
This thing is only an issue because when the world looked at Trinidad team on saturday, all they seeing is people of African descent. Despite the fact that Trinidad has alot of East Indians. This showing of blacks on the football team tells the world that Trinidad is a black country. Does anyone remember when the word "chutney" was almost incorporated into the soca warriors name? What do you think the reason for that was?

The soca warriors looks more like a "black african" than a "Trinidadian" team. Some dont like that but that is the truth. Please dont be offended if you are.

Foot ball prof, back when this post first started i posted, that what we had in germany was our bess 23. And i i expressed to lizard despite what he saw indians play ball, but jus in this present team indians were not among the top 23. The team represents trinidad and I am a trinidadian, so i don't take issue with them been afro-trini. I am a trini of indian descent and that is all it will ever be.

What I take issue with is when people say indians are weaker and attribute other physical inferiority's to Indo trinidadians, and cite these as reasons why we can't play ball don't play ball as well and hence don't make the team. And i never supported adding chutney to the name
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 10:33:52 PM
So lemme ask something

By the way I not offended, but

When the coaches ask members of the public who are interested in playing football for TnT and or any League in TnT, 100 Trinibagoians came out..11 of them get to represent Trinidad and Tobago, WHY ??

Because 11 ah dem flipping good at what they do - end of story.

Minus Lara, look at the Trinidad and Tobago cricket team...
Look who play tennis, swim professionally for us... Bovell !!
Need I say Golf - Ames !!

Does it matter the colour of our skin in our sporting activities ?
The fact is we are represented and the world is seeing what we can do.

Allyuh kill this talk nah...we have better things to discuss other than race..steups

I have no idea what wrong with you all. Since Saturday this forum WAS SUPPOSE to be filled with positive vibes, "big ups" for the boys, "prayers" etc.... and this is all we can write about ??
Post by: Daft Trini on June 13, 2006, 10:42:05 PM
No Indian ballers, black footballers and white coaches, plus white owners of dem clubs. I smell a conspiracy.

Come on now SSFL have nuff indian playing ball and de debe league, tarouba league back in de day had nuff indian teams. Plus Debe Utd had a lot of indian players. Why dey never progressed to the top leagues and national team is a mystery or may not be.

Which does lead me to wonder, why de winter olympics is a white dominated, ping pong and badmington, archery and shooting is asian dominated, swiming, diving, gymnastics etc is not dominated by blacks. We have had few black grand slam tennis players, Tiger may act black but he is not mandingo.

I guess that indians are not good sprinters or middle distance runners, so this bull sh*t explanation may justify what indians are not good ballers. Any sport that requires running or agility is black dominated.

It doh really matter though, to meh daughter Trinidad is a magical place. She is so happy to see so many different coloured faces, and to be in such a beautiful place. All ah we is one family. When TNT take de field, is all ah we dey representing. Even meh daughter.

heck, I just hope meh daughter have some kind ah footballing skills, she mother is a Korean and yuh see how dem play yesterday.
Post by: football prof on June 13, 2006, 10:50:33 PM
I dont support the inferiority theory either. But lets face it, people who do not know alot about Trinidad wondered how come there arent any east Indians on the team. Like I said before, a Sri Lankan told me that some in his community thought that the east Indian population in Trinidad would be represented on the soca warriors. Thats why the Sri Lankan community wanted to see Trinidad.

On Saturday some Trinidadian felt two types of pride. One being national  
"Trinidadian" pride and the other being racial "black" pride. Its seems as if fellow Indian Trinidadians felt more national pride that day. But Trinis of African descent felt both national and racial pride.
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 10:54:52 PM
I dont support the inferiority theory either. But lets face it, people who do not know alot about Trinidad wondered how come there arent any east Indians on the team. Like I said before, a Sri Lankan told me that some in his community thought that the east Indian population in Trinidad would be represented on the soca warriors. Thats why the Sri Lankan community wanted to see Trinidad.

"Trinidadian" pride and the other being racial "black" pride. Its seems as if fellow Indian Trinidadians felt more national pride that day. But Trinis of African descent felt both national and racial pride.

ah hear ya football prof.
Well what can I say, on behalf of the population of Trinidad and Tobago, tell ya Sri Lankan pardna (btw sounding kinda small minded) sorry he/she couldn't see ah indian in dey football team.

But if he/she wants to see Indians, just let them know BWIA flying high and rates cheap.
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 11:00:53 PM

it is what it is, ah tired and i had enough of this thread for today.
Post by: football prof on June 13, 2006, 11:03:11 PM
lol  :rotfl:

I would not say small minded but he just does not know. He knows alot of Indo Trinis, but it is now that he seeing the Trinidad team.  :beermug:

Post by: Triniboy119 on June 13, 2006, 11:08:36 PM
LOL interesting Post anyway good arguments but its still kinda Strange info says that how trinidad got more indians than Black yet there's no indians on the team. O well It doesn't matter we Playing for every body blacks, indians, White, Chinese ect. we representing the Country not one Race.

Ethnicity/race: East Indian (a local term—primarily immigrants from northern India) 40.3%, black 39.5%, mixed 18.4%, white 0.6%, Chinese and other 1.2%

No offence to indian ppl but i really taught we had more blacks yall real reproducing boy.
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 11:10:28 PM
well now he can put 11 "african" men together with his knowledge of Indo Trinis and realize we Trinidad and Tobago is a multiraciall society.

Now you can give him this news slowly, be careful we don't want him to get a stroke, give him the news that we also have syrian, chinee, ole spanish, dougla, cerole and pelau (mix with everything) in Trinidad and Tobago too  :devil:

I don't think he is ready to hear about our music as yet....
Let him get over this shock first  :beermug:

Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 11:15:56 PM

I think you're wrong on the "Race pride" bit. because I certainly didn't feel any. It was all National. They're representing the Red White and Black, not Red Gold and Green.
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 11:18:17 PM
LOL interesting Post anyway good arguments but its still kinda Strange info says that how trinidad got more indians than Black yet there's no indians on the team. O well It doesn't matter we Playing for every body blacks, indians, White, Chinese ect. we representing the Country not one Race.

Ethnicity/race: East Indian (a local term—primarily immigrants from northern India) 40.3%, black 39.5%, mixed 18.4%, white 0.6%, Chinese and other 1.2%

No offence to indian ppl but i really taught we had more blacks yall real reproducing boy.

The difference between 40.3 and 39.5 isn't really that significant, especially when the over-all population is only 1.3 million.
Post by: TriniCana on June 13, 2006, 11:18:29 PM

I think you're wrong on the "Race pride" bit. because I certainly didn't feel any. It was all National. They're representing the Red White and Black, not Red Gold and Green.

<looking in she "name that flag" book and find out who is Red, Gold and Green>

Toppa girl ya kill meh dey yes  :rotfl:
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2006, 11:19:18 PM

??? Wha'appen? lol
Post by: trinindian on June 13, 2006, 11:23:51 PM

rasta colours
Post by: WARRIORKING on June 13, 2006, 11:55:02 PM
well to be honest all this talk about indians don't have talent is rubbish no matter wat race you are, watever u put all your emphisis on when growing up  whether it is cricket football or basketball u can be good .some people breathe there favorite sport down there kids necks ,the talent to me is being able to pick up certain skills faster than others.  its all on the individual and wat kind of determination he or she has.but don't get it twisted there is politics in sports .where coaches and people in general believe blacks are the more superior athlethes.all it takes is for one person of indian descent to show there worth.with that said i believe the best men for the job is on the warriors at the moment.
Post by: naparima on June 14, 2006, 12:03:52 AM
*sigh*

Race is a hot topic... i dont even see what is all the confusion is about... couldnt we drop this shit topic for just the world cup!!

man saying I not racist... but saying blatant racist or perceived racist comments.

some man saying indian small, only black people does play football, indian only like book and cricket etc...

aye I meet big indian... (i myself definitely ent no small indian...), indian playing football, it have plenty dotish indian and indian who cant play cricket..

what is the point of these conversations except to be divisive! When we was cheering against Sweden.. the color of the man singing WARRIOR didnt matter... the color of people who cheering didnt matter .... gawd some of u people here, just like to start shit... and look some of these "non racist" comments...doesnt anyone realize saying ur not "racist" in a post, is like an indian who saying "I ent racist because I have black friends" etc...one gets the drift ... anyway I wanted to stay out of this, but the wanton stupidity of some the posts on this thread, just sickens me!

anyway I going to get breakfast.... sleep again... and then meet the boys who going nuremberg with me today!

Please for once, can everyone let this topic taper off!!! Even though I know someone will take offense to what I said here... and if u do.. please PM on it.. dont post on the board!!

Thanks
Naps
Post by: raj on June 14, 2006, 12:18:11 AM
This thread is an indication that Trinidad as a society still has a long way to go.

"where every creed and race find an equal place" appears to be theoretical and not practical.

There were no Indian players worthy of selection and that is the bottom line. We do have some in the PFL but the only a handful of PFL players made this team. Therefore, the probability remains remote.

There have been exceptional world class players of Indian origin, most notably Aron Winter for Holland(clubs include Lazio, Inter Milan, Ajax and Spartak),

If you want to see one in this world cup look out for Vikash Dhorasoo who plays for France and Paris St Germain. He came on today against Swizterland.

If those players were in the Trini system there is no doubt they would be on the team because they are/were world class.
Post by: Midknight on June 14, 2006, 03:55:50 AM
As President of the Reality Check Committee, I advise everybody who want to contribute to this thread to

!!!!!READ THE DAMN THING FROM THE START BEFORE POSTING!!!!!
Post by: guerrier rouge on June 14, 2006, 07:32:51 AM
I would like to put some of this stereotyping to rest.facts cannot be changed . India and China both have over a billion people in their pop; but about a decade or so ago the Chinese contribution ,funding and mindset towards sports changed.In other words the (frail ) malnourished communists.encouraged their young people to become healthier,more competitive and educated at the same time .they in fact did just that. they even are a leader in winter Olympics.and at the same time these athletes are very educated I even went to university with some of them here in Europe .I am an Indian who won many achievements for sports finished my masters and played football for 3  different leagues in Allemagne and for Lille in France have a black belt in taekwondo , I was on the university of Sorbone diving team .I use to be the frail skinny vegetarian like a lot of poor people ,but I made an effort without anyones
help on my own accord and it all has to do with attitude ,while all my other Indian friends were too busy being their mamas or pappy,s boys and girls focussing on their so called educational achievements ,I surpassed them with Honours.I must also state I as a parent am the guiding force between the achievements of my children and their accomplishments.My observations are that Indians in general have a tendency to focus more on their bollywood stars  as their mentors than anything else.BAD IDEA. :beermug:
Post by: TriniCana on June 14, 2006, 07:35:23 AM
NAH nah oh gorm man again ???

AH SHIT allyuh is ah blasted new day man.

Kill this thread nah.

Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 07:41:21 AM
I dunno
I kinda enjoyin it now  :devil:

Ah man take ah big hit ah crack.........log on for he first post and start to talk bout vegetarian communists who doin tae kwon do and went on to become bollywood stars

Like Crazy did sing MADNESS IS GLADNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!....dais my kinda thread oui
Post by: Midknight on June 14, 2006, 07:56:30 AM
I would like to put some of this stereotyping to rest.facts cannot be changed . India and China both have over a billion people in their pop; but about a decade or so ago the Chinese contribution ,funding and mindset towards sports changed.In other words the (frail ) malnourished communists.encouraged their young people to become healthier,more competitive and educated at the same time .they in fact did just that. they even are a leader in winter Olympics.and at the same time these athletes are very educated I even went to university with some of them here in Europe .I am an Indian who won many achievements for sports finished my masters and played football for 3  different leagues in Allemagne and for Lille in France have a black belt in taekwondo , I was on the university of Sorbone diving team .I use to be the frail skinny vegetarian like a lot of poor people ,but I made an effort without anyones
help on my own accord and it all has to do with attitude ,while all my other Indian friends were too busy being their mamas or pappy,s boys and girls focussing on their so called educational achievements ,I surpassed them with Honours.I must also state I as a parent am the guiding force between the achievements of my children and their accomplishments.My observations are that Indians in general have a tendency to focus more on their bollywood stars  as their mentors than anything else.BAD IDEA. :beermug:

If you were on the university diving team you might know that its spelt SorbonNe  ::)

Oh wait...you did say education wasn't your focus...
Post by: trinindian on June 14, 2006, 07:58:13 AM
ah go deal with this thread after the game tom,

Right now it is about the Soca Warriors, so if they happen to read this thread doh study some of we fellahs,

So to the National Team jus keeping doing what you doing in Germany, flying the trinbago flag high and proud. And what ever the result tom I know you did for all of us, every creed and race.

Ps. actually i kind ah hopeing you don't see that, because if you did it would mean you were reading this thread.
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 07:58:21 AM
Man most trini does pronounce it sawbone

So he was jes tryin to translate fuh we  :D
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on June 14, 2006, 08:20:27 AM
next thing yuh know is some big money Indian in Trini decide to invest in ah Indian side, well brudder, next thing ah big money chinee say well we is folks too, then de local white boy big money posse  say we in dat, ah Syrian say ah have ah lil 100 million to blow, lookout for de Syrian Soca Warriors, next ting 2010 people wondering if TNT have any Africans.
Post by: trinindian on June 14, 2006, 08:25:29 AM

if you really Indian, yuh must be the equivalent of an Indian Uncle TOM because u sure sound like it
Post by: slates on June 14, 2006, 08:34:27 AM
THIS... is one ah de most entertaining threads I read on here in a long time oui. All yuh real make me laugh.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Keep it going. I prefer to be laughing here, than worrying about dat damn game tomorrow, developing ulcers in de process.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 09:16:00 AM

[/b]

Huuuuummmm interesting...strange statement cause I ,an African Trini, felt only NATIONAL pride. I just saw my small country do something marvelous on a big stage and was filled with joy and pride. I felt the same way when the WI cricket(with Indians on it) beat India in the series a few days ago.

To go back and answer Lizzard's question, there are perhaps many reasons why Trinis who are Indians are not on the current national football, some might be historical or cultural, however physical attributes is not one of them.
Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 09:25:41 AM
I dunno
I kinda enjoyin it now  :devil:

Ah man take ah big hit ah crack.........log on for he first post and start to talk bout vegetarian communists who doin tae kwon do and went on to become bollywood stars

Like Crazy did sing MADNESS IS GLADNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!....dais my kinda thread oui

:rotfl: :rotfl: Dutty remains true to form

Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 09:33:22 AM
Well as an Indian and former owner of Soca Curry United in the fantasy League, yuh know yuh boy had to chip in.

First of all when I watch  the Warriors I feel nothing but pride as a TRINI.

However, regarding Indians in TT the following must be noted:

(i) Indians do focus more on acaedemics than sports. Africans usually do the opposite, I have many African friends from UWI who have lamented on this.

There is also a Minister in the PNM Govt. who wished to have some additonal spots for the Institute of Technology JUST for those of African descent to compensate for this. (Please doh get vex wit me fuh dat....becz dat was not my idea).

(ii) Most Indians in TT is BUSS UP meat, perhaps with the exception of Pork, so de meat thing is of miniscule importance in TT.

(iii) No one bothered to mention that in National training practices, non Africans are usually treated a little different. Also those from Prestige schools are usually the the recipients of snubs. The idea is that the poor black man must have a chance to get through, and sometimes is just pure bigotry.

Graeme Rodgriguez, Colin Rocke and the non whites on the 1990 WC youth team have mentioned this.

Tiger Phillips has constantly mentioned that the TT team should represent ppl of all races. Doesn't anyone find it strange that he should say this publicly. Lincoln went to QRC and has spent quite a bit of time in the US, and perhaps he has a more matrue approach to selection than some other members of the coaching fraternity.

Now if a youth man getting tunder becz he different, naturally he may be discouraged. Some might say he should have the belly and fight it...but the discouragement is understandable.... In additon if you have academic options, well you just move on.

(iii) India as a country has underachieved in football becz the administration is a joke that does nothing for th sport, being run by those with connections who only wish to enjoy the posterity of the position.

(iii) Indians can't succeed in sports that require "strenght and endurance."

Well Pakistan and India do damn well in International hockey and cricket. Last time I checked they required both.

Do you know that half the men fighting for nationa amateur boxing titles in TT in the 80s were Indian. Keith Ragoonath was undefeated in two divisions and a New York Golden Gloves Champ, but they preferred to select African fighters from TT and the man NEVER got a pick. Why? because he had no condiitoning or endurance??

(iv) I know that we have Birchall in the set up. But our players are pros in England...birch. can play, and I believe the mindset is more mature.

(v) Lastly let me say that if non Africans were given a fairer chance at national practice,we would probably have had a few more Indians over the last 10 years but Afrcians would still dominate the football scene.

In 2005 the U 20 and U 17 Captains of TT were of Indian descent, so obviously we have some fellas dey who could hand their business.

Peace,

Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 09:48:48 AM
"(i) Indians do focus more on acaedemics than sports. Africans usually do the opposite, I have many African friends from UWI who have lamented on this."

That is bullshit. Explain the prevalence of Indians participating in cricket then. Ent cricket is a sport?  ::)

Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 09:50:34 AM
Well as an Indian and former owner of Soca Curry United in the fantasy League, yuh know yuh boy had to chip in.

First of all when I watch  the Warriors I feel nothing but pride as a TRINI.

However, regarding Indians in TT the following must be noted:

(i) Indians do focus more on acaedemics than sports. Africans usually do the opposite, I have many African friends from UWI who have lamented on this.

There is also a Minister in the PNM Govt. who wished to have some additonal spots for the Institute of Technology JUST for those of African descent to compensate for this. (Please doh get vex wit me fuh dat....becz dat was not my idea).

(ii) Most Indians in TT is BUSS UP meat, perhaps with the exception of Pork, so de meat thing is of miniscule importance in TT.

(iii) No one bothered to mention that in National training practices, non Africans are usually treated a little different. Also those from Prestige schools are usually the the recipients of snubs. The idea is that the poor black man must have a chance to get through, and sometimes is just pure bigotry.

Graeme Rodgriguez, Colin Rocke and the non whites on the 1990 WC youth team have mentioned this.

Tiger Phillips has constantly mentioned that the TT team should represent ppl of all races. Doesn't anyone find it strange that he should say this publicly. Lincoln went to QRC and has spent quite a bit of time in the US, and perhaps he has a more matrue approach to selection than some other members of the coaching fraternity.

Now if a youth man getting tunder becz he different, naturally he may be discouraged. Some might say he should have the belly and fight it...but the discouragement is understandable.... In additon if you have academic options, well you just move on.

(iii) India as a country has underachieved in football becz the administration is a joke that does nothing for th sport, being run by those with connections who only wish to enjoy the posterity of the position.

(iii) Indians can't succeed in sports that require "strenght and endurance."

Well Pakistan and India do damn well in International hockey and cricket. Last time I checked they required both.

Do you know that half the men fighting for nationa amateur boxing titles in TT in the 80s were Indian. Keith Ragoonath was undefeated in two divisions and a New York Golden Gloves Champ, but they preferred to select African fighters from TT and the man NEVER got a pick. Why? because he had no condiitoning or endurance??

(iv) I know that we have Birchall in the set up. But our players are pros in England...birch. can play, and I believe the mindset is more mature.

(v) Lastly let me say that if non Africans were given a fairer chance at national practice,we would probably have had a few more Indians over the last 10 years but Afrcians would still dominate the football scene.

In 2005 the U 20 and U 17 Captains of TT were of Indian descent, so obviously we have some fellas dey who could hand their business.

Peace,

That is nonsense >:(
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 09:54:19 AM
What would TRULY fill me with natiional pride is to see one of my fellow countrymen diving, soaring, half -pike twisting in the air wearing their tae kwon do outfit and masters diploma in his/her left hand at the university of sawbone..and making a pefect splashless entry into the frigid waters

:applause: :applause:

(http://www.vpsingles.com/pics/perfect10.gif)
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 10:07:44 AM
"(i) Indians do focus more on acaedemics than sports. Africans usually do the opposite, I have many African friends from UWI who have lamented on this."

That is bullshit. Explain the prevalence of Indians participating in cricket then. Ent cricket is a sport?  ::)

Toppa let me expand:

What some of my African friends have lamented is that they as UWI students see a few African students in their class but many Indian.

Then when going home by Taxi, they an enormous number of "black people" playing football on the side of the road or in Parks. Now this is not MY observation. It is theirs. Previously I had heard say the same thing,but disregarded it as an exaggeration, or just plain racism.

In addition to what the particular Minister (an African by the way) has said regarding the lack of prowess of Africans in academics as opposed to Indians, this is why I say Indians are more focussed on Academics than sport.

Now regarding cricket, many get their degrees in addtion to performing in cricket and some forego cricket in preference for an education, eg. Prakash Moosai, Jason Mohammed, Ramnarine and Inshan Ali Jr.

However, please remember as I said b4, even if Indians were more agressive in their participation of ftbl and were given a fairer chance, Africans would still dominate the make up of the team.

Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 10:20:13 AM

Toppa let me expand:

What some of my African friends have lamented is that they as UWI students see a few African students in their class but many Indian.

Then when going home by Taxi, they an enormous number of "black people" playing football on the side of the road or in Parks. Now this is not MY observation. It is theirs. Previously I had heard say the same thing,but disregarded it as an exaggeration, or just plain racism.

In addition to what the particular Minister (an African by the way) has said regarding the lack of prowess of Africans in academics as opposed to Indians, this is why I say Indians are more focussed on Academics than sport.

Now regarding cricket, many get their degrees in addtion to performing in cricket and some forego cricket in preference for an education, eg. Prakash Moosai, Jason Mohammed, Ramnarine and Inshan Ali Jr.

However, please remember as I said b4, even if Indians were more agressive in their participation of ftbl and were given a fairer chance, Africans would still dominate the make up of the team.

First of all, we're Trinis. Secondly, I have lived in central for quite a few yrs and I've seen many delinquent, marijuana smoking, eh going to school Indians. So for you to assert that Africans are not academically inclined, I must say that it's a racist statement. Even if you got it from other people, the mere fact that you repeat it as if it's the gospel tells me that you must think the same way. Are you trying to tell me that only Indians go to the prestige schools because Africans focus more on sports? If you want to go by who gets the President's award for academics, listen to this. This yr's winner, they both had four A's, my cousin got 5 A's, placed in the top ten in the world at A levels in two subjects and is now on a full scholarship to Kent University in England but he did not recieve the award, even though he out-performed the two winners. Maybe it's because he went to St George's and not Presentation or Naparima. *shrug* For people to assert that Indians are more academically inclined, I really must bristle with indignation. Most of my friends have gone outside of TnT to complete their education opting for either England or the U.S, with the U.S being the more popular destination. Maybe more persons of African descent are willing to travel outside of the country to pursue tertiary education than their Indian counter-parts?
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 10:47:24 AM
FIVE A's?...he playin hes ah indian or wha

Look tell yuh cousin fuhget all dis book learnin business and go and kick ball in de savannah...so when de REAL intellects from UWI pass in de taxi dey could fulfill dey fantasy yuh hear

Yuh cousin know tae kwon do by chance?
Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 10:58:58 AM
FIVE A's?...he playin hes ah indian or wha

Look tell yuh cousin fuhget all dis book learnin business and go and kick ball in de savannah...so when de REAL intellects from UWI pass in de taxi dey could fulfill dey fantasy yuh hear

Yuh cousin know tae kwon do by chance?

LoLL!!  :rotfl: Dutty shut up. Yuh too dotish.
Post by: Daft Trini on June 14, 2006, 11:11:11 AM
man dis thing way, way outa hand now.  ;D

Lets focus on de football now.
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 11:31:01 AM
Five As eh have nutten to do with this topic.

Ten years ago a ute get 6 As..but ah glad for yuh cousin.

Yuh vex with me for repeating what AFRICANS in TT saying. Ah wonder, yuh vex with dem too.

And what about those ppl getting slighted in sports becz they don't sport an Afro...ah hope yuh vex about dat too.

You know when Ragoonath the boxer was getting ostracized, it take me THREE YEARS to figure out what the hell was goin on.

Becz I was so damn naive i ddn't think that in TT ppl would not pick a man and make a team suffer becz he wasn't dark enough - in the 1980s.

But maybe they have to take some blame too and stand up more and make a little noise.

If you want to read the article with Graeme Rodriguez and what he had to suffer let me know and I'll pass on the link.

Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 11:39:39 AM
SIX A's?????? jeezuss!!!!...dat cyah be ah black fellah....

Hadda be ah vegetarian communist

vb dem african in de taxi was from Kenya?...dem fellahs smart and dey small enough to make de divin team

Nigerians too big..only football and liftin up truck engine dem good for
Post by: Reb on June 14, 2006, 11:40:51 AM
I don't believe after all these years we have 5 pages devoted to this bull. People it is time to come out of the dark ages when politicians like Williams and Capildeo brainwashed an entire society putting them against each other. You should be older and wiser now and hopefully THINK FOR YOURSELF. Ask yourself why are there no Afro-trini on the Olympic swim team etc. The answer is that some races excel at a particular sport.Why are the local whites not represented  on the national team?
Trinis of all races support the warriors....that is all that matters.
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 11:48:46 AM
I eh tink Lizzard1910 EVER aksin ah question here again nah

De man must be say all dem island people mental...lleh dem stay wit dey backward dark ages theories..uh hypothesesseses  and de world go move on

On a slightly different note I have the entire original collection of 'At home with Sylvia Hunte' culinary audio tapes if any body is interested in purchasing them

dey on 8 track right now......but ah could convert dem
Post by: trinindian on June 14, 2006, 11:51:16 AM

vb dem african in de taxi was from Kenya?...dem fellahs smart and dey small enough to make de divin team

Vb, cool it man, yuh rehashing racist sterotype of  indians study and africans like play that is why they dont reach anyway. It jus as bad as saying indians to weak to paly ball that is why the spend all them studying. Both Wrong
Or Gorsh Man Don't believe the Hype , Neither Spread the Hype  

Fan Fan meh, it getting Hot in here, it have a fellah call Dutty who only turning up the furnace.  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:02:13 PM

Well dutty you half right.

The 6 As man was Indian and vegetarian...from South...but he never play cricket..only Chess.

Ironically enough the driver of the Taxi was Trini with a Kenyan wife. She mudda from Ghana. Dey first child born in tobago.

But you surprise with me the Nigerian comments. You dohk know Nigerians could box too. You never hear about Dick Tiger.

Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 12:05:31 PM

Yuh vex with me for repeating what AFRICANS in TT saying. Ah wonder, yuh vex with dem too.

And what about those ppl getting slighted in sports becz they don't sport an Afro...ah hope yuh vex about dat too.

You know when Ragoonath the boxer was getting ostracized, it take me THREE YEARS to figure out what the hell was goin on.

Becz I was so damn naive i ddn't think that in TT ppl would not pick a man and make a team suffer becz he wasn't dark enough - in the 1980s.

But maybe they have to take some blame too and stand up more and make a little noise.

If you want to read the article with Graeme Rodriguez and what he had to suffer let me know and I'll pass on the link.

So it's bitterness that made you assert that Africans are not academically inclined? Wow.
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 12:27:10 PM

Well dutty you half right.

The 6 As man was Indian and vegetarian...from South...but he never play cricket..only Chess.

Ironically enough the driver of the Taxi was Trini with a Kenyan wife. She mudda from Ghana. Dey first child born in tobago.

But you surprise with me the Nigerian comments. You dohk know Nigerians could box too. You never hear about Dick Tiger.

Well riiight he from south, vegetarian...and does play chess??.....dais ah effin communist self
Ah bet he does bring de coke in on he pirogue from venezuela too...all ah 'dem' does do dat

Yuh right boy Nigerian does run, jump an box too...an if yuh strap ah yolk on dem dey plow ah corn field quicker dan ah ox oui......ah ex- uwi student passin in ah taxi in lagos tell mih dais he observation

well boy toppa have two man startin with V on she shit list...ah wonder who nex?  :whistling:
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:31:19 PM

So it's bitterness that made you assert that Africans are not academically inclined? Wow.

I know you would LIKE  to think that.

However, hardly. I would cuss a racist Indian just as easilly as I would cuss a racist African.

But you make yuhself better thinking that shit.

Btw when I was writing sport in Toronto, I was constantly chastised by Indians becz I wouldn't fight for an Indian on the WI team. When I informed them that at the time 1992, there was none good enough to make the team. I was ostracised as being naive. I guess ah was bitter then too eh?

When they rigged a World 11 to have Rajendra Dhanraj play at the skydome vs. World Champs Pakistan, I was the ONLY Indian reporter to question it. Even Dhanraj say he was surprised he get pick. Me and a bunch of African journalsits wondering wht the hell going on, while the Indian journalists just play stupid. I guess that bitterness on my part too.

Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 12:34:35 PM

However, hardly. I would cuss a racist Indian just as easilly as I would cuss a racist African.

Btw when I was writing sport in Toronto, I was constantly chastised by Indians becz I wouldn't fight for an Indian on the WI team. When I informed them that at the time 1992, there was none good enough to make the team. I was ostracised as being naive. I guess ah was bitter then too eh?

When they rigged a World 11 to have Rajendra Dhanraj play at the skydome vs. World Champs Pakistan, I was the ONLY Indian reporter to question it. Even Dhanraj say he was surprised he get pick. Me and a bunch of African journalsits wondering wht the hell going on, while the Indian journalists just play stupid. I guess that bitterness on my part too.

Yuh want ah biscuit?
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:35:27 PM

Well riiight he from south, vegetarian...and does play chess??.....dais ah effin communist self
Ah bet he does bring de coke in on he pirogue from venezuela too...all ah 'dem' does do dat

Yuh right boy Nigerian does run, jump an box too...an if yuh strap ah yolk on dem dey plow ah corn field quicker dan ah ox oui......ah ex- uwi student passin in ah taxi in lagos tell mih dais he observation

well boy toppa have two man startin with V on she shit list...ah wonder who nex?  :whistling:

But Stalin used to eat meat. Yuh never watch History Channel or what??

Post by: pioneertrini on June 14, 2006, 12:36:16 PM

page 6 soon. dun it nah
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:37:19 PM

Yuh want ah biscuit?

I prefer doubles. :-)

Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 12:37:34 PM
[link=topic=17284.msg177961#msg177961 date=1150306261]

Yuh want ah biscuit?

Yuh have Mopsy?
Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 12:38:36 PM

Yuh want ah biscuit?

Yuh have Mopsy?

Nah, just Bourbon buh ah have it in Chocolate, Stawberry and Custard cream.
Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 12:39:13 PM

Yuh want ah biscuit?

I prefer doubles. :-)

Not surprising.
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:40:40 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

Tomorrow TT plays England and this takes precedence.

I think we agree, feel free to buff me after.

God Bless TT...Let's go Warriors!!

Post by: pioneertrini on June 14, 2006, 12:55:02 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

Tomorrow TT plays Sweden and this takes precedence.

:o England boii
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2006, 12:57:10 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

De man livin bout 10 time zones behind...leh he smoke he crack and enjoy last week nah...how allyuh so
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:57:46 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

How embarassing... Ah edit it....:-)

Post by: pioneertrini on June 14, 2006, 12:58:16 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

De man livin bout 10 time zones behind...leh he smoke he crack and enjoy last week nah...how allyuh so

Ah sorry, yeh vb we go put some good licks on Sweden  :beermug:
Post by: vb on June 14, 2006, 12:59:00 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

Actually over here we smoke Nargile...and it legal...:-))

Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 01:23:14 PM
"-))

Ok, I will take a break.

::)...and Indians supposed to be more academically inclined ::)  just kixing eh :rotfl:
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 14, 2006, 01:30:41 PM
You guys give me joke,lol

Toppa: Yuh want ah biscuit?
VB: Nah I Perfer Doubles :-)
Toppa: Not Suprising.

LOL
Post by: legal alien on June 14, 2006, 02:28:50 PM
the thing about it is that no one has a problem with the way things are.the trini indians complain about perceived racism and demand equal opportunity in many areas, but they dont demand inclusion of football players of their race. we trinis are all satisfied with  the way things are.we simply look at it as the best players on the team.i'm glad though ,that there is  at least one white player on the team(mind you, i'm black)
         the length of this  thread shows how fascinated we trinis are with race issues....
Post by: trinindian on June 14, 2006, 02:50:15 PM

Yuh want ah biscuit?

Yuh have Mopsy?

Toppa i want some rough top and you if u could throw in a devon digestive we go criss
Post by: verycute1 on June 14, 2006, 02:56:25 PM
I eh tink Lizzard1910 EVER aksin ah question here again nah

De man must be say all dem island people mental...lleh dem stay wit dey backward dark ages theories..uh hypothesesseses  and de world go move on

On a slightly different note I have the entire original collection of 'At home with Sylvia Hunte' culinary audio tapes if any body is interested in purchasing them

dey on 8 track right now......but ah could convert dem

Oh I used to love watching that show....
Post by: pioneertrini on June 14, 2006, 03:21:59 PM
You guys give me joke,lol

Toppa: Yuh want ah biscuit?
VB: Nah I Perfer Doubles :-)
Toppa: Not Suprising.

LOL

allyuh funny.

vb u muss be lickin down di kebabs in Turkey boi  ;D
Post by: Rastaman on June 14, 2006, 04:17:31 PM
Trinimac you asked the questions and you got the answers. You also get a few lash but the points were all valid so I hope you take them on board.

You are free to raise similar topics in the General Discussion area. Remember the board is not for football only.
Post by: Organic on June 14, 2006, 04:30:40 PM
How many "duncee" chirren you know....who couldnt cut it in TT schools go abroad and get degrees and lick up all the other chirren in high school etc.
I know exactly what you mean, not that I am aware of anyone eh  ;D

What I do find...is that generally Yankee students, chirren and the population as a whole is more expressive and can carry a conversation, put forth a point of view etc....much better than their Trini counterpart.

Younger children are encouraged to express themselves and they are comfortable speaking to crowds, people etc.
Yeah in my time in TnT I would have like schooling to be that way.

and our own Commish works at one of those fine institutions, where my niece in TnT just graduated.

very interestin article about all this (http://www.iesalc.unesco.org.ve/pruebaobservatorio/documentos%20pdf/III%20ENCUENTRO%20DEL%20CARIBE%20%20Jamaica/Dr.%20David%20Rampersad.pdf)
well let me see. now i am  a teacher..or soon to eb certifed. dear i gave my opnion. the educational institutions and infratructure here surpases trini's and i guess most of the other WI islands. touches pt about more expressive is true.. but to a pt. trinis can express themselves just fine but arent encouraged to do so as much as th ekids over here are. but fella...trinis ahve an edge that the nortamerican dont have or rather they let slip away. they think rote learning has no place and that is  where thye miss the boat. trinis education system  conversely, sometimes, focuses wayyyyyyyyyyyyy   to much on rote leanring(memorization). both systems have positives and negatives but educational systems supposed to eb culturally directed. that is a problems for nortamerica with its high immigrnat population. where as trinis fit well cause, our culture and education are interwoven. dais all i ahve to say for now...i wait your rpelies:D
Post by: #8 on June 14, 2006, 04:43:37 PM
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.

If Adrian Narine wasn't sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo dunce......and didn't take de worst chain up of his life... it mighta have one in de national team mix....i remember watching him when i was with public U-17 de man was bittah with a football...what a f**king waste :'(

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee
Post by: Organic on June 14, 2006, 04:47:26 PM
I'm just interested ...
Thanks for your inputs.

If Adrian Narine wasn't sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo dunce......and didn't take de worst chain up of his life... it mighta have one in de national team mix....i remember watching him when i was with public U-17 de man was bittah with a fotball...what a f**king waste :'(

adrian was destined ot eb one ah de best players of our era he real fuk up. and lol2dunce dais ah understatement.lol.
Post by: Daft Trini on June 14, 2006, 05:06:17 PM
Ah want some doubles, dat is one indian food ah like but cyar get it here in DC, does anyone know of ah place?
Post by: Organic on June 14, 2006, 05:12:35 PM
Ah want some doubles, dat is one indian food ah like but cyar get it here in DC, does anyone know of ah place?
i only see ah "slight"(pun intened) relationship between  your reply and the genereal gist of the rest of the thread...is football we tlkaing bout
Post by: Daft Trini on June 14, 2006, 05:21:52 PM
What ever happen to that Adrian Narine???
Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 05:28:14 PM

On the corner of University Parkway and New Hampshire Ave in Langley Park...dey from Penal area, boss doubles
Post by: Pointman on June 14, 2006, 05:29:51 PM

On the corner of University Parkway and New Hampshire Ave in Langley Park...dey from Penal area, boss doubles

doh go after 6:00 pm doh or is level shitting in yuh tail ;D
Post by: Toppa on June 14, 2006, 06:13:37 PM

Yuh want ah biscuit?

Yuh have Mopsy?

Toppa i want some rough top and you if u could throw in a devon digestive we go criss

Rough Top!! Die some real hungry man biscuit dey boy. Rough Top n a red Solo, larrrrd!
Post by: #8 on June 14, 2006, 07:09:38 PM
What ever happen to that Adrian Narine???

instead of  trying to travel with de ball through de midfield...he decided to try and travel with something else and London customs blow him for de foul...

Post by: Touches on June 14, 2006, 07:16:41 PM
ALyuh is kix we

Adrian Narine was a Redman...he didnt have nuttin looking indian in him.

The man was a furry furry redman with a bongo fro.

And yes if yuh was here years ago we talk bout this topic to death. Indian and football is not a new topic.

The title of the thread was name doesnt equal looks.

lemme see if I could pull up a pix.....

Men in foreign who read report but never see the man used to bawl.........Yes finally a indian on d side.

He was another waste...he was talented, beat like dat, good bullet but he was lil mad.
The man make San Jose get drafted in the second round pick... play a two game and walk out on them.

I find he was a big big player for joe public long time
Post by: Augi on June 14, 2006, 08:16:17 PM
I know exactly what you mean, not that I am aware of anyone eh ;D

Yeah in my time in TnT I would have like schooling to be that way.

and our own Commish works at one of those fine institutions, where my niece in TnT just graduated.

very interestin article about all this (http://www.iesalc.unesco.org.ve/pruebaobservatorio/documentos%20pdf/III%20ENCUENTRO%20DEL%20CARIBE%20%20Jamaica/Dr.%20David%20Rampersad.pdf)
well let me see. now i am a teacher..or soon to eb certifed. dear i gave my opnion. the educational institutions and infratructure here surpases trini's and i guess most of the other WI islands. touches pt about more expressive is true.. but to a pt. trinis can express themselves just fine but arent encouraged to do so as much as th ekids over here are. but fella...trinis ahve an edge that the nortamerican dont have or rather they let slip away. they think rote learning has no place and that is where thye miss the boat. trinis education system conversely, sometimes, focuses wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to much on rote leanring(memorization). both systems have positives and negatives but educational systems supposed to eb culturally directed. that is a problems for nortamerica with its high immigrnat population. where as trinis fit well cause, our culture and education are interwoven. dais all i ahve to say for now...i wait your rpelies:D

All these errors and you soon to be a certified teacher???? Lord help us!!
Post by: UPRISING on June 15, 2006, 08:11:06 AM
I know is a few days now dat dis thread running eh ..but I still trippin on de fact dat WARMONGA is AH INDIAN dred?!!?!?!? 

All dat gun talk from ah indian??  Big up yuhself pardna ...respeck!  Tings real change!
Post by: Daft Trini on June 15, 2006, 08:16:08 AM
I guess that Adrian Narine did not get 5 A's then... :rotfl:
Post by: ribbit on June 15, 2006, 08:31:45 AM
Well lets just say its on the up and up

Our Beloved prime Minister has afforded free tertiary education for all.

The dollar for dollar programme has been superceded by GATE

This however is not extended to MBA and Masters programs....just undergrad.

Apart from the school feeding programme, free text books and other methods of school reform there are now other options for students.

A multitude of private instituions have opened up giving people the option of distance learning as well as providing SAT, GMAT, MCAT etc and preparation for testing in order to enter US institutions instead of the traditional O and A' Levels i.e the British system.

School is now affordable and available to all.

Even vocational courses, trade etc...all are now Free.

Dont forget the new International, Canadaian schools and the expansion of some of the prestige schools e.g Bishop Anstey and Trinity college to have locations in the East.

Question do you think you excelled abroad due to your schooling in TT or did the system stunt your growth?

Let me share this with you.....so called educated MBA professionals in the states and college graduates cannot even say they tables.

Yankee children are not taught times tables and ask...what is that...they use calculator and rely on drawing circles and boxes to do their tables.

Imagine I shant call names but during my stint in the states nobody in the office coulda say they times tables....except me.

Yes there are positives as well as negatives but students from TT usually go abroad and excel......and it comes from having a good primary and secondary school background.

Is it because the level down here is higher and only the strong survive....or is it that US schools cater to the needs of "weaker" students.

But other than that I think for the most part...once yuh pass tru the school system down here...you good to go.

Touches, yuh raise some good points here. When I saw this same lack of facility with arithmetic (and spelling too) it made me realize there were some problems with the american educational system. However, I have to give credit to the Americans for being able to distinguish what is important from what is not important.

E.g.

is knowing one's times tables important if you have a calculator available? if you know anything about maths, the whole field of DEs was pretty much obsoleted by the emergence of the computer. shouldn't our education reflect the technological context in which we live?

E.g.
is correct spelling important with today's spell checkers? the key point of language is communication - do typos obscure meaning? these are imho the important questions.

the key point here is keeping an eye on what is important and this requires a flexibility that, i contend, the american educational system (especially at the graduate level) has.
Post by: Touches on June 15, 2006, 09:27:09 AM
Ribbit

Point taken but yuh see that spell checker and calculator.

Wha go happen if yuh Battery dead or current gorn?

We must never ever allow a device determine one's self worth and ability and use it as an excuse to be mediocre.

It come like.....you cant talk, speak or write properly because when you have to communicate with someone the computer will fix the errors.....Nah it musnt work so.

Same thing with the calculator...common sense come before book sense.

SO you trying to tell me if you have no computer and spell checker and calculator you cyar exist and have to remain a chupidee.....eh eh.

Yuh must always learn for yuhself so nuttin and nobody or object could cut style on yuh.

You must always strive to better yourself in all ways, actions and thoughts...........you must not use "things" as a crutch.

Yes machines are used to make things easier but there must always be a master and somebody have to always be in control.

As for your point on typos, grammer etc....Yes absolutely....Unless it is a child writing asking Santa for a gift, if it is a business letter, pips, love note, or even a post on this forum ...If someone sends me a letter with grammatical errors three meanings will be conveyed to me.

1) The message that he/she attempted to convey.

2) A lack of respect for me the reader, showing that you could not take the time to check over what you wrote.

but most importantly,

3) This person is a shithound and cyar string 3 words together....unnacceptable if its a big adult and we are in a professional environment.

Yuh understand ribbit.

Yuh must learn to uphold a standard and if yuh trying to mask yuh deficiencies thats one thing but yuh must always improve yuhself

Finally there would always be people who would not use these things if you are being compared to them who yuh think would be looked at more favourably?
Post by: real madness on June 15, 2006, 09:28:28 AM
Touches and Ribbit,
Allyuh have some really good points regarding the education system, this is a topic that that is dear to my heart..2 quick comments.
Ribbit,
U have a great point regarding technology..why do it the hard way when there is an easier way...however I believe u should still be able to do it hard way.
Touches,
There are a lot more opportunities for education back home that was not available in my time..imagine for me to get a free undergraduate and graduate education I had to do it in the States.  However, there is a problem with "place for everybody" after CE/SEA..some of these schools students are placed in are of no use..no teachers or a very low standard of teaching.
I could go on about the differences in education between the US and TnT but World Cup going on...both systems have advantages and disadvantages...however, high school (A'Levels even O'Levels alone) adequately prepares Trinis to kick a$$ in the US.
Post by: real madness on June 15, 2006, 09:31:05 AM
Touches,
U need good grammar for ah post on this forum?... ;D..Come nah man ease up ppl a lil bit.
Post by: trinindian on June 16, 2006, 11:09:08 PM
It is not my intention to re hatch or resurrect this thread, but I believe that some of us could benefit from knowing a definition of racism, so that they evaluate some of the facts they spew as gospel truth.

Racism (http://www.answers.com/topic/racism)

1) The belief that race accounts for differences in human character or ability and that a particular
     race is superior to others.
2) Discrimination or prejudice based on race.
3) The belief that some races are inherently superior (physically, intellectually, or
    culturally) to others and therefore have a right to dominate them.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on June 17, 2006, 11:33:44 AM
Ah man in a previous post ask what Indian good for, well recently I watchin TV an see that ah Indian from India buy ah house in England for 127 million U.S. DOLLARS an they call it de TAJ 'MITTAL'  ah say but wait, this is de same man MANNING de PNM sell we
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on June 17, 2006, 11:40:36 AM
sell we STEEL MILL to. An this man is now the 3rd richest man in de world with 25 billion US, an that is what Manning good for.
Post by: trinindian on June 17, 2006, 11:43:30 AM
Ah man in a previous post ask what Indian good for, well recently I watchin TV an see that ah Indian from India buy ah house in England for 127 million U.S. DOLLARS an they call it de TAJ 'MITTAL'  ah say but wait, this is de same man MANNING de PNM sell we

:beermug: :beermug: cheers :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: najee on June 19, 2006, 06:23:25 PM
I'm Trinidadian (black)....and i would really like to see Indian's and chinese's representing Trinidad and Tobago as footballer in the near further
Post by: TriniCana on June 19, 2006, 06:38:33 PM
I'm Trinidadian (black)....and i would really like to see Indian's and chinese's representing Trinidad and Tobago as footballer in the near further

I think we all would want that.....but we can't force them right ?

Recently I read in this very same forum about Tobago inviting fellas to try out for their team. How many of you thought about it ?
How many of you told your "non-african" friends about it.

When Bennie invited members of the public to try out for the squard, how many of you said "hmmm why not give it a try" or lemme call Lal and ChuFan who does play small goal round dey savannah to go try out ?

How many of you ?

Yet one person brings up the topic "Indian Players in T&T or lack thereof, and everybody have an opinion or just simply jump on dey wagon putting "blame" or pointing fingers at who should or who playing what sport... why not point at yourself for change.

my 3 cents
who vex froth  :beermug:

See God in every face, not race."
Post by: Organic on June 19, 2006, 06:50:26 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/greatest_players.htm
am...jus refer here please allyuh it have several names that are east idnian..stop d eole talk please..holy crap..trini is a multicultural society yet some ppl who have different backgrounds fill different niches..sometimes the overlap sometimes not. at any rate i am a trini .as i know everyone on this forum is.   trini dais our ethnicity.trini.l
Post by: Feliziano on June 29, 2006, 08:41:46 PM
Wow..ah miss all this bacchanal while ah was in Germany yes
Thanks Dutty for pointing meh here lol
since this thread more or less done ah ent go add meh own percived racist comments then lol
ah go wait again till the next one start up to antagonize allyuh..btw when i say 'allyuh', i mean forumites alright  ;D
Post by: RGarcia on June 29, 2006, 09:03:39 PM
Alvin Thomas he was indian i think  ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: RGarcia on June 29, 2006, 09:05:05 PM
Rudy Roberts a man that coach me on the national team also is Indian.
Post by: Patterson on June 29, 2006, 09:14:06 PM
after this thread disappear for 10 days one man decide to resurrect it to cause more "heated discussion" on de board
Post by: raj on June 30, 2006, 12:21:32 AM
alvin thomas was a dougla.. he used to play with alcons.
Post by: Errol on July 15, 2016, 07:11:33 AM
Jarred Dass.

Post by: frico on July 15, 2016, 07:47:11 AM
It will always be a very difficult job for Indians when they have to compete with Afros,an Indo boy may have what it takes but there will always be an Afro boy who is better.There are more Afro boys to choose from for a start,secondly they are more athletic,I may be wrong but Afro boys will always put sporting excellence before education,on the other hand only a handful of Indos will choose sport before education.
Take a look at England,they can literally pick an England team of Afros but the Afro population is probably 2 or 3 percent,and over 50 million of the population is white,the present England team recently played about 5 Afros,what about France.The fact is more Indos have to change their culture and take part,I grew up in Sando and saw many very good Indian ballers,but they never took it futher,always dropped out for some reason or other.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 15, 2016, 08:43:19 AM
It will always be a very difficult job for Indians when they have to compete with Afros,an Indo boy may have what it takes but there will always be an Afro boy who is better.There are more Afro boys to choose from for a start,secondly they are more athletic,I may be wrong but Afro boys will always put sporting excellence before education,on the other hand only a handful of Indos will choose sport before education.
Take a look at England,they can literally pick an England team of Afros but the Afro population is probably 2 or 3 percent,and over 50 million of the population is white,the present England team recently played about 5 Afros,what about France.The fact is more Indos have to change their culture and take part,I grew up in Sando and saw many very good Indian ballers,but they never took it futher,always dropped out for some reason or other.

There are socioeconomic reasons why more black athletes are in the major sports in most places than other ethnicities.  Are you of the belief that all are blessed with equal opportinities to further their education and have long term success outside of sporting endeavours? Much less to do with choice than you over simplify and make it out to be.  Sometimes sports is the only seemingly attainable means of escaping poverty.  Without resources to dedicate to higher education (save for the few places around the world where it's free to the citizens) many do not have that as an option
Post by: soccerman on July 15, 2016, 10:07:03 AM
Greg Ranjitsingh...not from T&T but is eligible to represent for us.
Post by: Sando prince on July 15, 2016, 10:29:22 AM

An Indian player would be someone from India, same as an African player would someone from Africa. How many of them we have in T&T?
Post by: frico on July 15, 2016, 10:54:52 AM
I can understand socioeconomic reasons playing a part in countries of Europe and North America but that should not be the reason in the Caribbean.In London the best students are Chinese and Indians,the students with the worst achievements are English and Afro Caribbean
Post by: kounty on August 02, 2016, 08:18:58 PM
Olympic losers: Why is India so bad at sport? (http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-36941269)
Post by: Flex on September 01, 2016, 02:06:10 PM
 Greg Ranjitsingh

Post by: soccerman on September 01, 2016, 02:49:51 PM
Greg Ranjitsingh...not from T&T but is eligible to represent for us.
Flex you late ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2016, 10:03:57 PM

An Indian player would be someone from India, same as an African player would someone from Africa. How many of them we have in T&T?

Peter Tosh would have needed you from kindergarten. :)