Archived Boards => 2006 World Cup - Germany => Topic started by: royal on June 16, 2006, 09:11:10 AM

Title: Birchall Rules Out England's Glory
Post by: royal on June 16, 2006, 09:11:10 AM
Trinidad and Tobago's Chris Birchall fears England's World Cup bid will end in failure - despite the return of Wayne Rooney.

England struggled before beating the Soca Warriors 2-0 in Nuremberg.

And Port Vale's midfielder told BBC Sport: "From this performance they have not got enough to win the World Cup.

"Rooney's a great player but I think it will take him five or six games to get fully fit and the nation can't expect him to lift England on his own."

Birchall did hold out some hope for England, but warned against piling too much expectation on the shoulders of the 20-year-old striker.

He said: "Rooney is a great player. He was not at his best when he came on but it gave the whole country a lift.

"There is a lot of pressure on him. He is the idol of the country.

"To be fair to England they have got time to improve and they have always been slow starters.

Birchall competes with Lampard during England's 2-0 win

"I know how it works back home. They'll be criticised for this, but they have won two games without conceding a goal so you can hardly criticise them for that."

The 22-year-old revelled in the experience of coming into direct opposition with Premiership superstars such as Frank Lampard.

He said: "It was a great occasion, one I will never forget. We were very resilient and it was disappointing to lose so late.

"I'm only 22, so I've hopefully got 10 or 12 years ahead of me, so this is something I can gain from.

"I can take my experiences back to Port Vale and improve.

"You want to play against the best in the world, and these players are the best in England and some of the best in the world."

Source : BBC
Title: Re: Birchall Rules Out England's Glory
Post by: jub02 on June 16, 2006, 09:15:14 AM
He a good guy. Some valid points. England do slow start..but improve massively for big games.
Post by: JDB on June 16, 2006, 09:38:27 AM
He a good guy. Some valid points. England do slow start..but improve massively for big games.

Which big games do they improve to win again?

2-1 loss to Portugal 2004

2-1 loss to Brazil 2002

3-2 or 2-1 loss to Romania (Group stage 2000)

2-2 draw Argentina 2nd Round 1998 - loss on penalties

1-1 draw Germany Semis 1996 - loss on penalties

Where are the big game wins? 5-1 vs Germany 2001 and 4-1 vs Holland in 1996? Two in ten years.

Post by: jaws on June 16, 2006, 09:58:50 AM
Damn JBD, u on point!! haha
Post by: pioneertrini on June 16, 2006, 11:27:45 AM
they beat hungary 3-1 what happen to allyuh  ;D
Post by: Rani5 on June 16, 2006, 11:36:50 AM
Congrats Birchy! You're a true fighter (and quite diplomatic! :rotfl:) .. but those english players are smthg else.. I hope he got his gerrard jersey! since that was like his hero/role model ( according to the hundreds of birchall articles) .. However Gerarrd acted rell awful  in that match and Birchall should invest in a new hero..( i dont know.. probably dwight yorke?  :P)
I rell hoping Birchy score 2 goals against paraguay!
Post by: jub02 on June 16, 2006, 05:06:28 PM

2-1 loss to Brazil 2002

Where are the big game wins? 5-1 vs Germany 2001 and 4-1 vs Holland in 1996? Two in ten years.

U jus a pessamist.
I know dey gotta improve on penalties tho.
Lets say Argentina v England - england win 3-2
Hungary game engalnd win 3-1
1-0 over argentina  2002
4-2 over croatia 2004
1-1 v brazil 2000 friendly
1-0 germany euro 2000

and that jus the big teams
Post by: jub02 on June 16, 2006, 05:07:36 PM
and i can think at that time birchall wud have been cheering on england
Post by: trini supporter on June 16, 2006, 07:05:21 PM
I agree with you birchall to me the teams that are looking most dangerous so far  are Ecuador,Czechs,Argentina and Spain.
Post by: Trini Babe on June 17, 2006, 10:34:24 AM
Germany looking quite good too. England have Rooney and the young starlet is impressive...... and even though he's the best thing in that team..........they need some magic tricks to even come close to winning.

Lets hope they at least give Sweden a licking come Tuesday.

Rooney score GOAL against Sweeden Tuesday.

Title: Great to see Birchall
Post by: teddy bear on June 18, 2006, 05:43:00 AM
singing de national anthem. Watched the game again from beginning and as the camera went across the team he was singing forged from the love. Real good to see he learnt it especially against his country of birth. :beermug:
Title: Re: Great to see Birchall
Post by: shivadee on June 18, 2006, 05:46:24 AM
I know allot of people have been saying negative things about Birchie....but Birchall is mih boy. When he ready he READY for them. He fighting for the team in the middle of the field, he jam them men HARD, i still for the man, needless to say i still for the team. Like so much warriors out there we DREAMING football these days, litterally. Last night i dream he leggo a half volley from the top of the box into Paraguay goal. Night before i dream a Lawrence header.
Post by: Coop's on June 18, 2006, 06:53:01 AM

2-1 loss to Brazil 2002

What is it really wrong with some of you guys,England do you all something,when you all talking,talk about the history of this country,don't forget they won a WC,may be it was against Grenada and StLucia they played,there were no big game wins,can we go back twenty more years?