Sports => Football => Topic started by: davidephraim on June 16, 2006, 08:52:28 PM

Title: Who gets de prize for "most improved Soca Warrior"
Post by: davidephraim on June 16, 2006, 08:52:28 PM
Who is de most improved Soca Warrior.De warrior that raised eyebrows (Fans) not outsiders who dont know no better....

My vote is for de one and only Mr.... Cyd Gray..  Mr Cyd Gray followed by a close Brent Sancho to me has to be de most improved player.  Cyd Gray has gone on and beyond, showed speed I didnt know he had, shake at least 2 man and run up de flank. Cyd Gray had a no-tolerance policy down in de back (except England subs.. well..) minkind was done tired anyway after putting in 80 odd minutes. Most of dem things said could also be said about Mr. Sancho who get on like a beast in de back line but we kinda know he had it in him but under improvement or rather showing what mankind was really made of;  Cyd Gray gets de trophy...

Cyd Gray for Mayor of Port of Spain
Title: Re: Who gets de prize for "most improved Soca Warrior"
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 09:02:48 PM
I nominatin Sancho....although previouslya  good defender...de man turn into ah BORSE defender

Is like he learn wicked positioning and timing in the first half of sweden game...after dat NUTTN AND NOBODY was gettin past he  :beermug:
Post by: Rani5 on June 16, 2006, 09:19:29 PM
SHAKA HISLOP!!!!!!  DUHH!!! .. he playin rell good now.. he movin better and catching the ball..

I know ill probably get beaten.. but allyuh dont fine theobald playin better? I mean i know allyuh think he is a dead weight and stuff.. but now he playin with more life and energy. and he have better control.... ( just a thought  :-\)

all of the warriors improved though..  we at a whole new level! Upgrade  :beermug: 8)

I am a sooocaa warriorrr  ;D
Post by: Foreigner on June 16, 2006, 09:22:43 PM
Edwards.  I think he is about to take off into superstardom after the world cup.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 16, 2006, 09:23:44 PM
SHAKA HISLOP!!!!!!  DUHH!!! .. he playin rell good now.. he movin better and catching the ball..

I know ill probably get beaten.. but allyuh dont fine theobald playin better? I mean i know allyuh think he is a dead weight and stuff.. but now he playin with more life and energy. and he have better control.... ( just a thought  :-\)

all of the warriors improved though..  we at a whole new level! Upgrade  :beermug: 8)

hislop definitly,theobald playin kaka
Post by: Warrior30 on June 16, 2006, 09:45:23 PM
i nominate the entire SOCA WARRIORS TEAM
Well done boys
Post by: Warrior30 on June 16, 2006, 09:49:43 PM
Well done boys
darn you beat me to this nomination

Guess great minds think a like
Post by: #4 on June 16, 2006, 10:27:39 PM
Well done boys

definitely. today i watched the video of the 2nd leg in bahrain, and then i watched our 2 WC games...what a difference!!!  much respect to our warriors for their hard work in the past several months.
Post by: guerrier rouge on June 16, 2006, 10:28:20 PM
my observations point to sancho and carlos for a tie :beermug: :devil:
Post by: ZionYouth on June 16, 2006, 11:16:38 PM
Well done boys
darn you beat me to this nomination

Guess great minds think a like
:applause:
Post by: Savannah boy on June 17, 2006, 12:20:36 AM
Sancho all de way.  Dat dread going up de line with de ball remind of Brian Williams in de heartbreak game.
Post by: davidephraim on June 17, 2006, 06:05:51 AM

hislop definitly,theobald playin kaka

Boy Kaka is a boss doh diss de boss like dat.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: behind-de-bridge on June 17, 2006, 06:48:18 AM
Most improved is definitely Cyd Gray. He played out of position against England and still had a decent game. That is until Lennon came on and start to run past him at will.
Post by: Trini Babe on June 17, 2006, 09:57:29 AM
Brent Sancho..........Big teams going to be vying for him in the near future.

All the Soca Warriors seem to improve their game.

Paraguay wouldn't know what hit them when the Soca Warriors put on an all out attack.

Post by: AB.Trini on June 17, 2006, 10:01:00 AM
Mr. Yorke has regained a magic of yesterdays!!!! he has transformed his play and adapted to a new role and has shown  a leadership like never before. he is more of a team player and the 'starboy' role is now surpassed as the penultimate team man.
Post by: Pointman on June 17, 2006, 10:11:20 AM
That's ah no brainer...Brent Sancho!!!  Big money in Europe coming his way now for now.
Dawg Loss he wuk oui...sorry to say that.  :(
Post by: TrinInfinite on June 17, 2006, 10:12:31 AM
allyuh mad, tallest get de award :beermug:
Post by: dumpalewie on June 17, 2006, 10:40:32 AM
Most improved is definitely Cyd Gray. He played out of position against England and still had a decent game. That is until Lennon came on and start to run past him at will.
Actually, Lennon was running past Theobald at will.

He only get past Cyd a couple times.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 17, 2006, 11:05:49 AM
Sancho get that most improved player award . Gray still playing kind of wild and does still want to fight.  davidephraim yuh eh see dat two  footed tackle he do  he lucky he eh get sent off fuh that.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on June 17, 2006, 03:34:59 PM
From the level Cyd was last year to now, I still say he is the most improved. Dem other fellas was always fairly decent and reliable by T&T standards. Cyd wasnt sure to make de bench last year, now we cyar start with him.
Post by: Source on June 17, 2006, 05:20:05 PM
This definitely has to go to Cyd Grey.Remember when Cyd  used to head a ball two inches off the ground and was playing like wild man? Now he's holding his own against the world's best. What a transformation!!!
Post by: Bourbon on June 17, 2006, 05:29:14 PM
Me eh know how allyuh could nominate anybody else buh Cyd nah. De amount of ting cyd used to get cuss for.....de kinda madness dat used to go on wit he......real ppl, me included used to wish he woulda be on de bench. Now de man proving he worth consistently.....and i even vex now dat he go be out fuh de paraguay game. Cyd Grey.......Most Improved Soca Warrior.
Post by: trinidad badboy on June 17, 2006, 05:41:19 PM

for me is a close battle between sancho and gray. the both improved alot  :beermug:
Post by: Warrior till death on June 17, 2006, 06:21:50 PM
Colin Samuel
Title: Cyd "butt de ground wild man" gray is easily the most improved
Post by: Ngozi on June 17, 2006, 06:22:25 PM
I love what Sancho doing but he actually been doing this  a long time now but cyd  just has come on by leaps and bounds just an agressive ruff neck who not letting nothing pass him according to andre  "AH luv it"
Post by: Hunny_luv on June 17, 2006, 06:35:46 PM
its a hard choose between sancho and shaka..... cant make up my mind!!!!!
Post by: trini supporter on June 17, 2006, 07:19:58 PM
It has to be either Sancho or Shaka
Post by: morvant on June 17, 2006, 07:31:15 PM
no spanner no blasted award
Post by: Storeboy on June 17, 2006, 07:56:34 PM
The question was "who is the most improved", not who playing the best.  Sancho playing well but just as good as he was playing after that idiot,vindictive Gillingham coach brought him out of cold storage.  Gray is the most improved.  A lot of confidence and I like his take-no-prisoners attitude.
Title: Our best player so far?
Post by: palos on June 19, 2006, 06:47:47 AM
Names that come immediately to mind are:

Shaka Hislop

Dwight Yorke

But for me.....a player who has looked AMAZING for T&T & fully deserves to be mentioned in that company over the 2 games is none other than Cyd Gray.

I always maintained that Cyd has the PHYSICAL ATTRIBUTES for the most demanding position in modern football....wing back.

Well...I watch Cyd against the opposition from England and Sweden and the man was outstanding.  His speed of recovery and overall athleticism rank right up there with the best in this tournament.  Ashley Cole is rated as one of the best wing backs in the world.  Well Cyd lost nothing other than experience by comparison.  As a padnah who watch de games with meh say.....dat man is a machine!

I fear his absence against Paraguay could prove to be the most challenging issue for our team.  Hopefully we get to see him against Germany or Ecuador.

Massive Respeck Cyd!  Even though you're 30 years old....hopefully you will get a good contract overseas.  Live right and keep fit and you could have another 5 good years, probably the best years of your footballing career.

Post by: davidephraim on June 19, 2006, 07:07:28 AM
Sancho get that most improved player award . Gray still playing kind of wild and does still want to fight.  davidephraim yuh eh see dat two  footed tackle he do  he lucky he eh get sent off fuh that.

boy, ah see it. ah feel is because de ref did just call something that he let it slide.... But he ass get away....
Post by: davidephraim on June 19, 2006, 07:09:46 AM
no spanner no blasted award

gey dem gey dem.... :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:
Post by: jose on June 19, 2006, 07:28:14 AM
there are some good candidates for this one,tallman, cyd gray but i would say the whole team except theobald.
Post by: tarheel on June 19, 2006, 07:29:48 AM
I vote for Cyd Grey... I remember about 2 yrs ago when we play costa rica and it look like de costa rican coach tell his whole team to get de ball and run past Cyd... talk bout beat?  my paddnah call me from Japan to ask me wha it is really going on with Cyd... after that I aint hear about Cyd fuh ah year and a half...  men start tuh catch kicks... "buh how you getting beat like Cyd so?"

but de man real improve... nobody to could run past him... but he still need to work on his ball control.

big up CYD... yuh large

Big Contract
Post by: grskywalker on June 19, 2006, 08:41:04 AM
Well done boys

THE WHOLE DAMN TEAM IMPROVE!!!
Post by: StoreBayLimer on June 19, 2006, 08:09:16 PM

Cyd Gray gets my vote.  His performance in the Mexico and Bahrain (the away game) was simply outstanding.  I have wanted to make a compilation of his touches on the ball during the Bahrain game, and might still do that. In the first half of the Bahrain game, Ala Hubail (the Bahrain Beckham) kept trying to go down the side with Gray but was not successful.  I kept hoping that their coach did not switch Hubail to our left side in the secondhalf and they did not: Hubail could not get pass Cyd.  And his crosses were on target.   In the Iceland warm-up the English commentator mentioned that nothing is getting through Gray.

His absence in the upcoming game is worrying, but I hope it does not prove troublesome.
Post by: Touches on June 19, 2006, 08:21:22 PM
Hands Down it has to be CYD.

Cyd move from being called Wanchope son and Gomez pet......... to putting Blade on Zlatlan and Owen.

Down to the last Goldl Cup men was cussing him left right and center.

Cyd get drop from the side and make a comeback vs Mexico and the rest was history.

CYD is definitely the most improved player.

All the rest of names, Yorke, Sancho, Shaka, Carlos etc always had it in them, they just never blossom, till now

CYD......boy I tell yuh I used to put picture of a barrow of hay next to he match rating in meh reports.....fuss the man used to get a goat ranks.

Now Cyd is we beast in the back....A BESS GUNTA!
Title: Who were our best performers at the World Cup?
Post by: Peong on June 20, 2006, 03:03:31 PM
I start this to counter the negativity in that nex thread.

I vote Shaka, Yorke, Edwards.
Title: Re: Who were our best performers at the World Cup?
Post by: Toppa on June 20, 2006, 03:04:09 PM
I start this to counter the negativity in that nex thread.

I vote Shaka, Yorke, Edwards.

I agree with the three that you picked.
Post by: arrow on June 20, 2006, 03:19:21 PM
Edwards was my man of the match today.  If he doesn't land a premiership contract I would be shocked.
Post by: whayuhsay on June 20, 2006, 03:23:26 PM
Carlos Edwards is de man!
Post by: Mr Icky on June 20, 2006, 03:24:14 PM
De goalscorer of course!  :D
Post by: Grande on June 20, 2006, 03:26:43 PM
Latapy play 30 mins and he was a 4king BOSS

Edwards goin premeirship

Kenwyne too

Yorke a class act as well

Post by: football king on June 20, 2006, 03:31:00 PM
by far the best were dwight and edwards they stood out consistently
Post by: GyurlTrini on June 20, 2006, 05:45:26 PM
yea I agree ... tho Latas really showed sum excellent quality playin wen he cum on & Sancho was good in d 1st 2 games I tink.
Post by: 1989 on June 20, 2006, 05:46:51 PM
Best player was Latapy.  He creates.  Carlos and Sancho are second.
Post by: Latent on June 20, 2006, 06:57:13 PM
To me, all our players made contributions but if I must pick-

1) Shaka Hislop (your goal keeping was brilliant)

2) Brent Sancho (your defending kept the opposition out for nearly 180mins, sorry about the own goal)

3)Carlos Edwards (made excellent runs in midfield, defended well even though he is not a specialist defender)

4)Latapy (First and only appearance in a World Cup for just about 23mins, you lit up Kaiserslauten with your brilliant playmaking abilities. What a Magician)

5)Yorke (You played your heart out in midfield and kept motivating the team).

Post by: Trinidinho on June 20, 2006, 07:01:38 PM
Shaka was the best for sure
Post by: ninixx1 on June 20, 2006, 07:56:40 PM
Cornell Glen impressed me as well. His shot that hit the bar against Sweden came out of nowhere and that header today was golden.

My five are

1. Edwards
2. Yorke
3. Shaka
4. Glen
5. Sancho

Latapy was amazing but did anybody expect anything different? T+T really blessed for true yes.
Post by: maxg on June 20, 2006, 08:02:08 PM
I agree with all the choices - but I think Cyd grey looked good to.

Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2006, 09:00:34 PM
like allyuh forget me mum. birchos was all over dat pitch. tacklin man, distributing d ball, jus workin hard.

sanchos, hard luck dog, premiership still dey, doh worry.

bless!!!
Post by: #8 on June 20, 2006, 09:37:04 PM
1. Glen
2. Carlos
3. Dwight Yorke
4. Cyd Gray
5. Shaka Hislop
6. Brent Sancho
7. Kelvin Jack
8.Russel Latapy

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee
Post by: saheedabdool on June 20, 2006, 09:47:31 PM
Every single one of them. For their hard work, pride and determination.

But overall, DWIGHT YORKE!
Post by: jr sams on June 20, 2006, 09:50:14 PM
Shaka was a definite stand out in the Sweden game, but I think overall I have to give it to Yorkie. The man played with inspiration and lead his  team. He made tackle after tackle, held up the ball when he needed to ditributed when required and dropped all the way back to the 6 yard box when covering.
That is not taking anything away fromthe rest of the team.
Post by: shooter on June 20, 2006, 10:16:50 PM
yorke,shaka and sancho was my top three....honourable mention to glen ,cyd gray, carlos edwards