Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on December 07, 2005, 05:30:18 AM

Title: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T are the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
Post by: Flex on December 07, 2005, 05:30:18 AM
Forget England, we want to play the Yanks.
By Greg Prichard & Michael Cockerill.

Bring 'em on ... Aussie matchwinner John Aloisi and (inset) US coach Bruce Arena.
Leading football figures in Australia are staggered by the arrogance of US coach Bruce Arena's dismissal of the Socceroos as likely World Cup easybeats.
Former Socceroos stars Robbie Slater, Alex Tobin and Craig Foster variously described Arena's comments as naive, ignorant and laughable, and Sydney FC striker Dwight Yorke joined the chorus as FIFA announced the seedings for the tournament in Germany in June. The World Cup draw will be made on Saturday.
Arena, whose team has achieved a FIFA world ranking of eight due largely to a system widely regarded as flawed, told Sports Illustrated's website: "The last time around [in the World Cup], the easy games were China and Saudi Arabia. This time around you'd probably say Australia and Trinidad & Tobago are the weak ones."
Arena seemed to grudgingly concede Australia and Trinidad & Tobago had some claims to being there, adding: "But Australia has basically all of its players in Europe, and Trinidad have a guy [in Yorke] who was arguably the top striker in soccer."
Trinidad & Tobago star Yorke last night bristled at Arena's suggestion. "The manager of the American team is entitled to his opinion," he said. "Hopefully when he comes up against one of us we can shove the words right back in his face. America was in our [qualifying] group. They know they were very fortunate to beat us. They are not a brilliant team like they are making out to be … we've been playing them for years, they are not that special."
Foster laughed when told of Arena's comments. "I just wonder where he's coming from," he said. "He's got the right to voice his opinion, but it's laughable to suggest we rate that lowly. He'll have to eat his words if we come up against the US. There's no issue we can beat them. We can beat any team on our day."
Slater said he would be delighted if Australia and the US were grouped together. "I would rather the Socceroos got into a group with the US than any of the other teams that may be ranked in the top tier," he said. "And that's not being disrespectful, that's based on fact.
"We have nothing to fear from the US. I would back us against the US - any game, anywhere.
"Our squad has a lot more quality than theirs and I would back [Socceroos coach] Guus Hiddink against any coach.
"I think [Arena's] comments might just show what he knows about the real world. I find his comments naive, but it doesn't surprise me, coming from a US coach. I mean, where has he been?"
Tobin, who captained Australia in their most recent game against the US seven years ago - 0-0 draw in San Jose - said: "I'd say he just doesn't know a lot about Australian football. I'd dismiss it. I think Australia will be very competitive at the World Cup. I'd be very, very confident about Australia knocking off the US, with all due respect to the US."

The seedings are:

Germany, Brazil, Italy, France, Argentina, Spain, Mexico and England.

Australia are in pool two with Angola, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Togo, Tunisia, Ecuador and Paraguay.

Pool three consists of Croatia, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine.

The US are in pool four with Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago.

Each of the eight four-team groups in the draw will consist of one team from each tier, with Serbia & Montenegro in a special pot. There had been concern about the formulation of the seedings. England and the Netherlands were worried they might miss out on a top-tier spot to the US.
The seedings were based on a blend of results at the past two World Cups and FIFA rankings for the past three years. The US have had good results at recent World Cup tournaments but always had easy routes to qualification through the weak CONCACAF group, compared with Australia's task of having to beat the fifth-best South American nation.
Australia beat the world 18th-ranked Uruguay in a two-leg play-off to qualify for the finals. The most recent result for the US was a 1-1 draw with 61st-ranked Scotland in a friendly in Glasgow last month. The Socceroos are ranked 49th, ahead of four other World Cup finalists.
Slater described the rankings as "very misleading". "It's based on the number of games you play and win, rather than who you actually play," he said.
Foster thought Arena was underestimating Australia based on results from years ago. "I hope he keeps underestimating us, because he'll get a shock if we play them," he said.
Australia a weak Cup team: US coach.[/color]

United States coach Bruce Arena has added fuel to the Socceroos' World Cup campaign, labelling Australia one of the two weakest teams in the 2006 tournament.
Arena said Australia and Dwight Yorke's Trinidad and Tobago shaped as the two easiest games in Germany next year despite the Socceroos being ranked above four other sides that have qualified for the tournament.
The coach's comments are sure to give the Socceroos ample reason to hope they are selected in the same pool as the Americans when the World Cup draw is completed in Liepzig, Germany, on Saturday morning (AEDT).
Former Socceroo skipper Alex Tobin, who captained Australia in its last meeting with the US seven years ago (a 0-0 draw in San Jose), said Arena's comments came down to "ignorance".
"I'd say he just doesn't know a lot about Australian football," said Tobin, now development manager at A-League club Central Coast.
"They don't get a lot of information about our football and we don't really get a lot about theirs.
"I'd dismiss it. I think Australia will be very competitive at the World Cup.
"I'd be very, very confident about Australia knocking off the United States, with all due respect to the US."
Positioned 49th in FIFA's most recent rankings, Australia sits above fellow qualifiers Ghana (50), Trinidad and Tobago (51), Togo (56) and Angola (62).
The Socceroos overcame 18th placed Uruguay last month to earn their first berth in the World Cup finals in 32 years.
In an article published on the Sports Illustrated website, Arena said: "The last time around (in the 2002 World Cup) the easy games were China and Saudi Arabia.
"This time around you'd probably say Australia and Trinidad and Tobago are the weak ones."
"But Australia has basically all of its players in Europe, and Trinidad have a guy (in Dwight Yorke) who was arguably the top striker in soccer."
Arena guided the United States to the quarter-finals at the 2002 World Cup and to eighth spot in the world rankings.
Tobin admitted the US had improved dramatically over the past 10 years, but said they had been helped by having a far easier passage to the World Cup finals than the Socceroos.
While Australia's qualification has essentially come down to playing a two-legged playoff every four years, Tobin said FIFA had virtually guaranteed the US a spot in the finals by offering automatic qualification to the top three teams in CONCACAF - the North American, Central American and Caribbean zone.
Tobin said there were no countries in the World Cup that could be written off as easybeats.
"You look at Togo and you look at Angola, and go, 'okay we don't know them well, but on the flip side they beat Cameroon, they beat Nigeria and all those other countries that you expect to be there, so there must be something in their ability as well'."
Title: Re: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T is the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
Post by: oconnorg on December 07, 2005, 05:44:10 AM
Bruce Arena could haul he backside... We will hush his mouth for him jess jesss now... Watch something... infact yuh know what, they getting knock out in the first round, and we will advance, we will have to take our revenge another day.. Dem Backsides.... He mudda arse..!
Title: Re: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T is the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
Post by: fishs on December 07, 2005, 05:47:03 AM
Arena, like he senile or wha?
Any group the US in, dey go get beat by one of he so called weaker teams.
He better hope Australia doh end up in he group, because is kangaroo cock he go be sucking.
Post by: Sam on December 07, 2005, 05:48:50 AM
So them USA men who came down trying to help T&T is really spies...

They really dont want to see T&T prosper since they try to sell out vs GUA and CRC...

They fraid we become one of concacaf powerhouse team.

Now we must do three things...

1. Do real good in de 2006 WC and gain more respect.

2. Be consistent and qualify for the next WC.

3. Beat USA at all cause.
Post by: Teflon Don on December 07, 2005, 05:55:04 AM
Allyuh eh realise the man is taking a page out of Jose mourino's book....americans are not bright, they steal everything and adjust it to suit themselves....he see it working for chelsea....so he trying a ting....d kinda over confident vibe dat mourinio uses to get to his opponents mentally.

I jus hope dat dey eh geh knock out first rounds after all de gun talk lololololol
Post by: saga pinto on December 07, 2005, 05:55:22 AM
Bruce arena could f**k off he just like to hear himself talk,I somehow wish and hope they get knock out in the first round and T&T move on to the second round.Ah go tell yuh who go beat bruce arenas team hands down mia hamm and the womens team.Imagine he nah he jus arrive but he's this big authority on who good and who bad,kiss my black beautiful trini a**  
Post by: Teflon Don on December 07, 2005, 06:00:32 AM
Oh abd by the way....Bruce Arena is an american...thats the way they are.....make one setta comments about a topic dat always wrong.

Lord plz make the USA end up in a group with the High flying Ivory Coast team with
Mr didier "cant stop wont stop scoring goals" drogba
Post by: trinibug on December 07, 2005, 06:07:45 AM
Bruce Arena doing that long time. He like to rile up the opponents.
Post by: Themanfriday on December 07, 2005, 06:14:56 AM
Crapo go smoke he pipe :rotfl:
Post by: truetrini on December 07, 2005, 06:19:30 AM
Is not only Arena feeling dat way.

Take ah world wide poll..ah bet most people feeling so.

Allyuh too sensitive.

We jes had man on all kinda article dat we should not be dey, Urugauay better etc.

We just have to cool it and play our game on the field.

The man give he opinion.

steups.

Besides which we never beat dem, they always count points whenever we meet dem so he justified.

We need to shove de words down he gullet..not on dis forum not in de newspaper reports BUT on de playing field.
Post by: oconnorg on December 07, 2005, 06:24:59 AM

Allyuh too sensitive.

We jes had man on all kinda article dat we should not be dey, Urugauay better etc.

The man give he opinion.

steups.

Besides which we never beat dem, they always count points whenever we meet dem so he justified.

We need to shove de words down he gullet..not on dis forum not in de newspaper reports BUT on de playing field.

Our boys' job is to Shove dem words back dong he throat.. OUR job is to geh vex if we warnt and Rave about it if we warnt...... In this thing have clear roles and responsibilities.. Our boys responsibility is to stay focused and keep their heads on, and DO thier best and Run up dem men chesss...

Our job is to Rate up we team and always be supportive and optimistic and right now we doing this through dis medium....

So Again, Bruce is no use, he is an excuse, and probably was abused.. he even F*cked a moose... He is a Flaming Backside..
Post by: Sam on December 07, 2005, 06:36:53 AM
De thing is USA, CRC, MEX and TRI are all concacaf countries why is Bruce Arena making beef among ourselves... when we should back up each other for the benefit of concacaf.

Say what, that comment will only make us do better, thanks for de boost Bruce.

I still hope USA get they ass wash though,, because of that comment, they nasty and bad mind....

Lets go T&T, Mexico and Costa Rica too.
Post by: truetrini on December 07, 2005, 06:38:37 AM
De thing is USA, CRC, MEX and TRI are all concacaf countries why is Bruce Arena making beef among ourselves... when we should back up each other for the benefit of concacaf.

I still hope USA get they ass wash though,, because of that comment, they nasty and bad mind....

Thats the spirit..use he words for motivation ON DE PLAYING FIELD!
Title: Re: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T are the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
Post by: spideybuff on December 07, 2005, 07:06:10 AM
That good man...the way the world is work he will end up in the same group as Australia now so tha's one less team we have to worry about in our group. And Australia will be motivated to beat them bad. Is only because them have no cricket.,..he doh know the aussie mindset. Them badmind and stubborn too bad...the states will get nice lix.

Now to get rid of Ivory Coast and Ghana and we guaranted a side to wash !!
Post by: oconnorg on December 07, 2005, 07:46:54 AM

Thats the spirit..use he words for motivation ON DE PLAYING FIELD!

Yea them boyz guh be fired up....  I seeing blood areddy...  UNITY... All ah dem try to screw we areddy... So fug em....

But in all honesty, I had wanted Costa Rica to beat FRANCE Bad bad when they played de odda day..  :(
Title: Re: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T are the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
Post by: andre samuel on December 07, 2005, 07:56:09 AM
Tobin said there were no countries in the World Cup that could be written off as easybeats.
"You look at Togo and you look at Angola, and go, 'okay we don't know them well, but on the flip side they beat Cameroon, they beat Nigeria and all those other countries that you expect to be there, so there must be something in their ability as well'."

This quote sums it up quite well, and i hope that our team knows this well!!

Post by: Ponnoxx on December 07, 2005, 07:57:07 AM
 No need to get angry...All i could say is that Bruce arena could say what he wants...Most coaches would probably say the same thing if asked... I think with Beenhakker's guidance we could go to the World Cup and perform good...We will surprise people so let these guys talk...Talk does only win argument not football ,,,so let them fellas talk....Go T&T
Post by: Cowen on December 07, 2005, 08:09:45 AM
Allyuh doh bother with that man. Any team that playing a sport called "soccer" don't know they a** from dey elbow.

"I think [Arena's] comments might just show what he knows about the real world. I find his comments naive, but it doesn't surprise me, coming from a US coach. I mean, where has he been?"

let them live in their bubble

Check de danger  :beermug:
Post by: supporter on December 07, 2005, 08:18:40 AM
where does he get off thinking hes top dog all of a sudden? as yorke said, theyre not all that special. he is naive and ignorant. i really can see them getting knocked out 1st rd.
arena is the most underachieving/UGLY manager.
Post by: Jayerson on December 07, 2005, 08:27:29 AM
What is the difference with Bruce Arena saying we are easy beats and men on this forum saying we will beat anyoone in Pool B, Togo, Angola, Ghana etc. assumingly because they are easy beats. The man is just saying what everyone thinks. I don't know how come he said that about Australia because on paper the Aussies seem to have better players but it's just mind games being played from early o'clock.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 07, 2005, 08:33:30 AM
i hope we meet usa in round of 16 an fukin cut dey ass

biggest fag= Arena
Post by: football king on December 07, 2005, 08:35:18 AM
this ain't nothing to lose sleep over-the man i assuming basing it on past record and the fact that we dopn't really cut they tail when we play america.  Just use this as motivation and handle we business on the field.    i sure everybody that not a trinbagonian would tend to agree with Mr. Arena.
Post by: palos on December 07, 2005, 08:38:19 AM

Allyuh too sensitive.

The man give he opinion.

steups.

Captain America resurfaces!  Welcome back hoss... ;D
Post by: supporter on December 07, 2005, 08:39:54 AM
What is the difference with Bruce Arena saying we are easy beats and men on this forum saying we will beat anyoone in Pool B, Togo, Angola, Ghana etc. assumingly because they are easy beats. The man is just saying what everyone thinks. I don't know how come he said that about Australia because on paper the Aussies seem to have better players but it's just mind games being played from early o'clock.

because
no.1 it is not true.
no 2 he is a manager, he should show some respect
no 3 we are fans and can say that kind of stuff
no 4 the best thing about our team isnt just 'that one guy who used to be one of the top strikers in europe'.
no 5 if like you say it is all mind games, then the rest of your post wouldnt fit because why would he play mind games with us if we were the worst team, and we dont play them group stage, and we have seen them alot?
Post by: truetrini on December 07, 2005, 08:41:26 AM

Allyuh too sensitive.

The man give he opinion.

steups.

Captain America resurfaces!  Welcome back hoss... ;D
steups so what odds de bookies and dem in Europe giving we to win de cup again?

dem is Captain ameerica's too?

Yuh like too much f**keries.  Jes how me saying dat we need to shove it down dey gullet is capatain america?

Steups..and steupssss
Post by: Jah Gol on December 07, 2005, 08:48:02 AM
His comments are based on 2 assumptions.

1. That Trinidad and Tobago and Australia are comparatively bad teams
&
2. That the USA is a good team

Both assumptions are in fact misguided and innacurate however the latter is just absolutely absurd.

There is a strong possibility that the US could be in a group with the Czech Rep., Holland or Portugal and of course a seeded team other than Mexico. There is a strong possibility that the US will finish dead last in their group. In any case there is always an incentive to beat the US because everybody thinks that they don't respect the game and don't belong there.

If the US is grouped with Portugal they will get at least 3 .Revenge is a bi*ch !

He might be true about everybody expecting to beat us up but I think we will cause some surprises. We have a reputation for stepping up when it counts and I think our team will be a hit in the World Cup.
Post by: JDB on December 07, 2005, 08:49:11 AM
It would be funny if the States gets Brazil, Holland and Australia.

A lot of the US confidence comes from their results against Mexico.

Mexico is a big side and the States has done well againstthem but they don't realize that it is just a good matchup for them.

That is why a second string England and Scotland will manners the States.
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 07, 2005, 08:49:21 AM
i like yorkes response to dis comment, dont see de reason 4 de mission tuh tt, why de hell dey was dere, dats suspicious after he make dese comments

doh worry he know we go cuthe ass, so he have tuh talk big
Post by: Mr Mc on December 07, 2005, 08:52:46 AM
I think Bruce has just put a target on the USA team with his gun talk. But confidence is a helluva thing you cant ever underestimate it.

Question: From top to bottom 1 to 32 Where would you guys rank TnT in this World Cup?
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 08:55:45 AM
No big deal.........we are ranked under-dogs, and only a fool would be surprised to hear Arena say something like that.......Coming into this W.C. we are one of the weakest teams by reputation......I don't even see it as something to get angry about.....I like being the under-dog. It takes some pressure off of us, and teams will let their guard down a little bit against us. It works in our favour.

I could see Australia being a little upset, because their team has as much "pedigree" as the U.S., they have managed ties against the U.S. in their latest encounters, and they over-came a tough opponent in Uruguay to qualify. (I doubt that Arena would have spoken lowly of Uruguay had they qualified)..so Australia is justified in being a little surprised at Arena's comments.

Trinidad on the other hand has never given the U.S. under Arena any cause for headache or concern. They routinely beat us in the oval, scored against us in less than a minute in Boston, and didn't have to even save a shot against us for the rest of the 90 minutes..... so of course his opinion of us is that we're easy...........

I hate to say it, but until proven otherwise, if I were Arena I'd think the same thing of T&T. The good things is that his opinion is always subject to change.....and only one thing can change it........Our team has to prove themselves.......

My only hope is that comments like this inject more fire into the warriors as opposed to deflating their confidence. That's my only concern.
Post by: cm103 on December 07, 2005, 09:05:08 AM
Arena inherit a side dat was playing well already and giving out green card to men to run ball fuh dem to keep it going...yuh mean is over 400 million people in d US and dey still have to lock down players by granting citizenship??

We do a better job, yeah we have a ways to go but we battle against d odds and win a place. Ah woulda like to see a "friendly" against a Beenie coached best 11 and dem WC side and let d ball do d talking. Ah bet yuh we go surprise real man.

This is why ah cyah back dem CONCACAF teams and dem....dey does hate on we too much...and dey was just here last week giving "advice" to we

steups
Post by: dwn on December 07, 2005, 09:09:13 AM
His comments are based on 2 assumptions.

1. That Trinidad and Tobago and Australia are comparatively bad teams
&
2. That the USA is a good team

It sounds like he's basing this on the fact that these are the last two teams to qualify and needed a playoff to do so. Not the kinda logic you expect from a coach at international level.

I dont think Australia is a comparatively bad team.

Im not surprised to hear this being said about Trinidad though.

Post by: Jah Gol on December 07, 2005, 09:15:51 AM
Arena inherit a side dat was playing well already and giving out green card to men to run ball fuh dem to keep it going...yuh mean is over 400 million people in d US and dey still have to lock down players by granting citizenship??

We do a better job, yeah we have a ways to go but we battle against d odds and win a place. Ah woulda like to see a "friendly" against a Beenie coached best 11 and dem WC side and let d ball do d talking. Ah bet yuh we go surprise real man.

This is why ah cyah back dem CONCACAF teams and dem....dey does hate on we too much...and dey was just here last week giving "advice" to we

steups

I think that 400 million should be 300. Even if you count the aliens I don't think they that big.

In any case I understand the rationale behind your point. Our pool of talent is so small and his so large. America is the biggest nation in the world cup this year but thankfully the only numbers that matter in football is the final score. He's letting this ranking go to his head. Costa Rica, Equador and Senegal were suprises last time it our turn now.
Post by: Marcos on December 07, 2005, 09:17:47 AM

steups

Who get a green card that balling for them now boy?

I were in his shoes I probably would have said the same ignorant thing about Trinidad. Unfortunately for him though we have nothing to lose, and that makes us very dangerous. If we only play dem dat go be a battle royale
ah cyah wait
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 09:20:00 AM

steups

The U.S. population is approx. 250 million. Who did Arena grant citizenship to boost his team ? As far as I know, the core of the U.S. team is American. We granted Birchall a passport, we were looking to do the same with Seabra, and depending on how things go Zamora, Samuel and Warner might become over-night Trinidad passport holders as well. If yuh live in a glass house don't throw no stones.

It's one thing to criticize, but don't talk rubbish to make a point that doesn't exist.

o.k. the population is close to 300m
Post by: Jayerson on December 07, 2005, 09:22:24 AM

because
no.1 it is not true.
no 2 he is a manager, he should show some respect
no 3 we are fans and can say that kind of stuff
no 4 the best thing about our team isnt just 'that one guy who used to be one of the top strikers in europe'.
no 5 if like you say it is all mind games, then the rest of your post wouldnt fit because why would he play mind games with us if we were the worst team, and we dont play them group stage, and we have seen them alot?

Bruce not playing mind games with us, it's Australia I was referring to. Why would he need to play mind games with a team that they have traditionally owned and who they have no chance of meeting in the group stage.
Post by: Trini Madness on December 07, 2005, 09:29:21 AM
sh*t talkin not gonna get u anywhere. arena could go f heself.  >:(
Post by: Marcos on December 07, 2005, 09:32:57 AM
i feel d man talkin bout adu gettin a passport. but adu nowhere near makin dat squad
Post by: Filho on December 07, 2005, 09:38:58 AM
Why we getting vex for comments like this? We are considered one of the weakest teams in the WC. It is not an insult. it is an opinion based on our results and path to the WC. So what? Some of us sounding like a bunch over over-reacting cry-babies. Tell me what we have done to be considered a strong team on PAPER. Nothing. WE JUST HAVE TO DO OUR TALKING ON THE FIELD. but live with it man...everyone thinks we are shit...you going to be vex with the whole world! If TnT loses all their games..tell me who outside of TnT will be surprised...noone. BUT IT WILL MAKE IT SWEETER TO PROVE THEM WRONG.

Patriotism aside, more people will disagree with the Australia comment. It eh no given that the US would have overcome uruguay to get to the WC.
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 09:45:07 AM
i feel d man talkin bout adu gettin a passport. but adu nowhere near makin dat squad

Adu's mother won the green card lotto.
Post by: marcovbasten on December 07, 2005, 09:57:59 AM

usa losers
they drop out after the first round
poor quality
who do they think they are?brasil?saying who is weak and who's not....ppfffff..
one good player,beasley,but he's a fragile player,lots of injuries.

hope they have 3 nice games,and then they can go back to their 'lovely'country.
Post by: skins on December 07, 2005, 10:01:40 AM
What Arena say about Tnt is no surprise to me because it is reality. Everyone i talked to in school here that not trini will say " Tnt is a shit side". I not mad at them because we have never did anything in international football to gain any resect especially from our concacaf friends. I am just hoping that after the world cup, the football world will give a little respect for tnt after we beat big sides and knock them out of the world. The Austraila thing me ain't know if that true. They players playing in big league and they have hiddink as they coach. Don't be surprise to see aussie work some magic and reach far into the world cup. One a note, fleck Arena because what he do and say can't help us, but motivate our players and our coaching staff to do better.
Post by: dumpalewie on December 07, 2005, 10:08:28 AM
Adu will make the squad just like Brazil carried ronaldo in '94.

I agree that the concensus amongst foreigners will be that we will be the minnows. No sweat, we'll suprise people.

we as fans can say and feel however we want in support of our team. As the 12th man we should increase the drive and optimism of our team.

Bruce Arena is a homo!
Post by: Trini Madness on December 07, 2005, 10:13:17 AM
i jus hate de fact dat ppl sh*t talking bout who good an who bad. it de world cup we talkin bout. only de best teams get a chance to play once every four years,  de best teams in de world!!! an we're in it. nobody should be talking crap bout no one cuz every one in dis is de worlds best. ent?
Post by: Hyperhot J on December 07, 2005, 10:24:06 AM

I love that quote, you tell them Tobin!! Hahhaa Just for that I really respect you Australia!!

So we supporting T&T, then Brasil, Argentina etc. and Australia hooray!!

I would love to see either us, Australia, Togo, Angola, Ivory Coast etc. blows up the bullermen US team. hahaha Arena is a normal American ass who sticks to playing "soccer".

J.  ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on December 07, 2005, 10:31:18 AM
What Arena say about Tnt is no surprise to me because it is reality. Everyone i talked to in school here that not trini will say " Tnt is a shit side". I not mad at them because we have never did anything in international football to gain any resect especially from our concacaf friends. I am just hoping that after the world cup, the football world will give a little respect for tnt after we beat big sides and knock them out of the world. The Austraila thing me ain't know if that true. They players playing in big league and they have hiddink as they coach. Don't be surprise to see aussie work some magic and reach far into the world cup. One a note, fleck Arena because what he do and say can't help us, but motivate our players and our coaching staff to do better.

Its ok to start at the bottom and earn respect but Arena's comments are a deliberate attempt to belittle our team and we don't have to stand for it. I am a soca warrior win or lose I am a fighter. So my team might be small but I won't stand by and allow people to push us around. If Arena has a right to his opinion I have a right to mine.
Post by: UPRISING on December 07, 2005, 11:29:01 AM
Yes T&T are minnows in the football world, so we must deal with that and perform.  Talk done regarding that.

HOWEVER

Parreira making that comment vs. Arena making that comment is like night and day...Arena is basing that on results vs. Mexico and how they perform in WC02.  Hats off to the US for their SURPRISE run! I think his comment was irresponsible since they have not proven to be consistent contenders ... one good world cup does not make you a critic!  as a region all involved should be proud that 4 teams qualified for the WC, thus keeping that type of comment to yourself.  By berating T&T he is berating the region and by extention himself...

Arena is an arrogant backside ....every world cup I does pray that 1) we qualify and 2) if the US qualify dat they get wash!!!!!!  3) that Brazil win
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 07, 2005, 11:35:47 AM
Yuh does know when ah man either trying to create a stir or he ignorant of the happenings in world football. Ah feel is the former.  Australia is a strong team in a weak confederation.  That is why they don't get an automatic place in the World Cup despite winning their confederation.  They have real quality from back to front.  Arena must be looking at the two last teams to qualify and thinking that it means they are the weakest.  Ah really don't see the U.S. beating this current Australia squad.  that is my feeling, taking into consideration the quality of the Australian squad and their new coach, Hiddink.  Leh the man beat he gum; he vex he ain't get seeded.
Post by: pufftrini on December 07, 2005, 11:38:57 AM
I am shocked by Arena's comments. You don't go into the World Cup (any tournament for that matter) and stoke the fires of your opponent. I hope that Beenieman make sure that Arena's comments are engrained in the brains of the Soca Warriors. I hope he do what Clive Lloyd did when Tony Greig said that he was going to make the West Indies team grovel.

The WCQ that I saw in the US in August showed me 2 fairly matched teams. I could only hope that we meet the US now. Our Warriors got to show them where barji does grow.
Post by: Kingk on December 07, 2005, 11:55:58 AM
de man can say watever he want "in his mind" da states on par with england & brazil & its not only him that would say dat its up to us to prove him & the others wrong by making the final 16 & doing it agian in 2010
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on December 07, 2005, 12:09:19 PM
and didn't have to even save a shot against us for the rest of the 90 minutes.....

Why yuh think that is?

Bruce have he opinion and he entitled to it what is shit that he voice it in such ah way that it sound irresponsible
He is a coach and as such should be humble and jes play he game and not belittle any other team
I sure Portugal was thinking they would ah wash USA ass last WC and look wha happen.
Post by: Pointman on December 07, 2005, 12:10:33 PM
De US go end up in the same group with Iran again and Iran go yyyyeeeeaaaattt dem up AGAIN ;D
Post by: triniairman on December 07, 2005, 12:16:59 PM
man let bruce hull he stink canal mouth yes i wish Australia or Trinidad  end up in there group and shove his words back down he gullet
Post by: MATADOR on December 07, 2005, 12:52:30 PM
My friends I think we are getting caught up with the game the media plays... listen to this:

During Bruce's post-seeding, pre-draw press conference he pointed out that his comments had been taken out of context and completely misunderstood by the T&T and Australian press.

When he was asked "who were the weak teams" he basically tried to say that conventional wisdom would be that T&T and Australia would be the weaker teams as they were the last to qualify BUT both teams had quality players and would be tough opponents.

The press only heard the first part of the sound bite and ran with it.

Perhaps Bruce needs someone at the Fed to prepare Talking Points memos for the press corp.
Post by: Grande on December 07, 2005, 01:20:17 PM
No big deal.........we are ranked under-dogs, and only a fool would be surprised to hear Arena say something like that.......Coming into this W.C. we are one of the weakest teams by reputation......I don't even see it as something to get angry about.....I like being the under-dog. It takes some pressure off of us, and teams will let their guard down a little bit against us. It works in our favour.

I could see Australia being a little upset, because their team has as much "pedigree" as the U.S., they have managed ties against the U.S. in their latest encounters, and they over-came a tough opponent in Uruguay to qualify. (I doubt that Arena would have spoken lowly of Uruguay had they qualified)..so Australia is justified in being a little surprised at Arena's comments.

Trinidad on the other hand has never given the U.S. under Arena any cause for headache or concern. They routinely beat us in the oval, scored against us in less than a minute in Boston, and didn't have to even save a shot against us for the rest of the 90 minutes..... so of course his opinion of us is that we're easy...........

I hate to say it, but until proven otherwise, if I were Arena I'd think the same thing of T&T. The good things is that his opinion is always subject to change.....and only one thing can change it........Our team has to prove themselves.......

My only hope is that comments like this inject more fire into the warriors as opposed to deflating their confidence. That's my only concern.

Of course T&T are the underdogs in the tournament and he entitled to he opinion, but whuh give Arena de fleckin right to run he mouth so? I think de US not even supposed to be in de top 10 of FIFA rankings. Ah hope dey get Brazil in dey first round and dey get licks 5-0 with ah own goal by de big trash-talker Landon Donovan. Den Whitley and Latas go bun through he defense.
Post by: Jefferz on December 07, 2005, 01:33:43 PM
What an asshole. Based on the progress of the team that played against them then alone, I believe we can cut dey ass now. And i really dont think its rash to say so. dey have teams like Togo and Angola, Serbia Montenegro (despite all them being formadable) an he want to say Austalia who beat Uraguay and us who beat a slightly weaker Mexico team are the weakest nations? He could ride he mudda cuhnt out. Dah Mexico team was missin TWO big players. Borgetti and Martinez. The two fellahz that replaced him were 1. A young, tall, standout defender who showed great ball control in that very match AND Fonseca who scored all four goals against Guatemala in Mexico's previous qualifier. Fonseca is also one of the "PLAYERS TO LOOK OUT FOR" on the official world cup site. Not Borgetti or Martinez. Bruce Arena like revlon makeup for the american team. He can only cover up their obvious insecurities. Like how dey could BARELY take care of Panama in the GOLD CUP final on their own home soil! BRUCE ARENA take a GIGANTIC stewpssssssssssssssss
Post by: morvant on December 07, 2005, 01:34:41 PM
http://www.concacaf.com/view_article.asp?id=3256
Post by: BigToe on December 07, 2005, 01:35:06 PM
Tell that yankee tool to kiss our collective Trini ASSES!
Post by: DeSoWa on December 07, 2005, 01:57:34 PM
Well look my crosses nah! Arena is a true american..arrogant and lives in a bubble..but that bubble would pop big time on the WC pitch. Go warriors... let the donkeys bray  ;D
Post by: Touches on December 07, 2005, 02:00:09 PM
Lemma ask alyuh something.......what did Arena say regarding TT that is not correct.

Stop gettin emotional........it is the truth, Arena is very correct in his assessment of us and doe have we to study.

The fact remains we have never beaten them in a WCQ. We beat them only once in a friendly in POS 1-0

and the last game we play them we were totally outplayed and thanks to Donavan throwing away and Jack saves we woulda get about 4.

Australia though I feel could more than warm the USA.

Why alyuh feel since we reach we team is a big team.

Bruce entitled to he opinion and if he feel we and Australia shitty he have ever right to say so.

Aluh ent want to give credit that the USA is a BIG side now.........thats wha really going on.

Now lemme show alyuh this form.......I hate the USMNT and I ent like them lil bit, but yuh have to respect them and they does always churn out unspectacular wins and no side does ever outclass or overrun them. They does more than hold they own and I expect to see dem in the second rounds.

Post by: Marcos on December 07, 2005, 02:33:13 PM

Now lemme show alyuh this form.......I hate the USMNT and I ent like them lil bit, but yuh have to respect them and they does always churn out unspectacular wins and no side does ever outclass or overrun them. They does more than hold they own and I expect to see dem in the second rounds.

You forget Haiti in d Orange bowl a couple yrs age real outclass dem boy
had dem men hot and they ahd their full squad
Post by: cm103 on December 07, 2005, 02:52:22 PM
Lemma ask alyuh something.......what did Arena say regarding TT that is not correct.

Stop gettin emotional........it is the truth, Arena is very correct in his assessment of us and doe have we to study.

The fact remains we have never beaten them in a WCQ. We beat them only once in a friendly in POS 1-0

and the last game we play them we were totally outplayed and thanks to Donavan throwing away and Jack saves we woulda get about 4.

Australia though I feel could more than warm the USA.

Bruce entitled to he opinion and if he feel we and Australia shitty he have ever right to say so.

Aluh ent want to give credit that the USA is a BIG side now.........thats wha really going on.

Touches..ah get what yuh saying but it does still stick meh how we cyah see any WC matches in English here on regular TV but when d US make d second rounds everybody bawling dat they gonna win d cup and d Americans dominate another sport...dem ent even know it by d right name.

Ah know that have nothing to do with what we discussing now but I feel dem real claim to fame was off d last cup and dat had plenty surprises besides dem. Allyuh coulda predict France getiing drop like that or Senegal and S. Korea mashing up all dem games at d death?

What ah trying to say is if d US could show dat kinda play in this cup against some quality sides den I could give dem ratings. They cyah come and win against some CONCACAF teams and figure dey rank among d best by that. Outside of CONCACAF in d last WC dey beat a Portugal side that was in problems from d start, besides that draw Korea and beat Mexico. When dey hit a big side like Germany, hell pop fuh dem.

D Confederations Cup was even worse for dem  and they finish last in dey group.

The US need to prove they're not a flash-in-the-pan side before they could come with that talk. We ent no big side yet but every journey start with a single step, US was in we position before and we go be in theirs. On a good day we could give dem a match, its not like its allways dey walkover we, our time will come.
Post by: Toppa on December 07, 2005, 02:56:35 PM
Steupssss Americans too blasted arrogant.
Post by: DeSoWa on December 07, 2005, 02:58:16 PM
Steupssss Americans too blasted arrogant.

LOL...it's the United States of Arrogance  :rotfl:
Post by: BigToe on December 07, 2005, 03:00:26 PM

Who de hell is he to say that and who de hell is de US? He is a third rate coach and coaches a second rate team. FIFA rankings doh mean crap.

We played a man short for 50 minutes and only lost 1 - nil on their turf. The fact is, keepers make saves and men throw away. So, to say we were lucky not to get 4, is presumptuous.

We not big, we LARGE. Again, who de ass is he to say we weak. Wha happen to Togo, Ghana, Angola and Iran? Are they stronger than us?
Post by: Filho on December 07, 2005, 03:19:53 PM
We not big, we LARGE. Again, who de ass is he to say we weak. Wha happen to Togo, Ghana, Angola and Iran? Are they stronger than us?

maybe, maybe not.

the question is....why men so insecure? he thinks we are one of the weakest teams...so what? a journalist asked a question and he gave an answer. talk done. one man answer turn ah whole setta supporters into wild men...allyah is kix yes
Post by: boss on December 07, 2005, 03:26:07 PM
Rather than focus on Arena's comments, I want to big-up Dwight:

Trinidad & Tobago star Yorke last night bristled at Arena's suggestion. "The manager of the American team is entitled to his opinion," he said. "Hopefully when he comes up against one of us we can shove the words right back in his face. America was in our [qualifying] group. They know they were very fortunate to beat us. They are not a brilliant team like they are making out to be … we've been playing them for years, they are not that special."

WELL SAID!!! And frankly, all this should do is provide more inspriation and ammo for the Warriors! If I was Beenie (and I'm not...far from it) I would play this clip in the dressing room JUST before the team walks out for their first match against Germany (I just have a feeling we drawing Germany on Friday)...

To be frank, the US are not the team they were 4 years ago, and as Dwight said, they were lucky to beat us twice. Da Marcus Beasley is quality and their goalkeeping pedigree is quality, but otherwise Reyna aging, Donavan eh nuttin special and Adu hasn't lived up to the hype yet. You'll have to do better than that Arena...
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 07, 2005, 03:26:47 PM
i like when teams talk like de US, bc when dey fall it does damage dem, de US have never been a footballing nation, we have been a footballing nation since our birth and before, we will prevail, us being humble will take us far bc we have de talent tuh do it
Post by: Behbehman on December 07, 2005, 03:30:04 PM
No need to get angry...All i could say is that Bruce arena could say what he wants...Most coaches would probably say the same thing if asked... I think with Beenhakker's guidance we could go to the World Cup and perform good...We will surprise people so let these guys talk...Talk does only win argument not football ,,,so let them fellas talk....Go T&T

Allyuh know about what a stink fart is?  Allyuh ever sit dong in Globe Theatre in POS and ah man buss a fart?  Guess who smell...you of course...red beans, boil egg, cabbage...whatever.  The SOCAWARRIORS Team is likened unto a stink fart...silent but deadly!!!! :rotfl:  Doh talk much jus let Arena and all ah dem eat their words when we paly...always prove your detractors wrong ???
Post by: cm103 on December 07, 2005, 03:39:24 PM

Yorkie firing d first shots of dis war from now...no more nice boy attitude on d field with them. USA not invincible, ah figure is mostly a mental thing with our side now anyway. We have scored on dem before, just lapsed in our defence and let them score more. Our defence has always been a sore point but once that in order we could give dem a run.
Post by: saga pinto on December 07, 2005, 04:06:13 PM
The blunt truth about U.S. Soccer is that the entire body of "Major League Soccer" would be in any European encyclopedia of the sport under "relegation, newly created lowest imaginable tier". That's what I think about bruce arena and his soccer squad of americans.
Post by: supporter on December 07, 2005, 05:34:00 PM
touches,the point is that he is wrong, plain and simple. he entitled to his opinion, but  hes incorrect with it. and as a manager, he should try to be a bit more diplomatic and respectful.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 07, 2005, 05:57:06 PM
this is de american mentality.they feel they are the best in everything they do.look at the NFL.they is the only f**kin country that does play this shit (is ah f**kin bullermen game) and they does call the winner the world champions.same thing in baseball and basketball.only american  and couple canadian faget teams,true they have international individuals but to call the winners world champion.get f**kin real.bruce arena hull yuh mooma cuny.
Post by: Filho on December 07, 2005, 05:57:43 PM
touches,the point is that he is wrong, plain and simple. he entitled to his opinion, but  hes incorrect with it. and as a manager, he should try to be a bit more diplomatic and respectful.

maybe he coulda be diplomatic and duck de question and say there are no weak teams. but dat is coward man ting. i glad he answer de question so - mourinho style. doh duck nuttin and keep tings interesting. I doh think there is any right or wrong when it comes to expressing these kinds of opinions....just beliefs. Arena light a lil' fire and hopefully the warriors will use that positively. We have nothing to lose and nothing nobody say could hurt we. When we cuss Arena or worse yet, all Americans, because of one man's slack jaw, well...who being undiplomatic and disrespectful now...ent we bigger dan dat?
Post by: Filho on December 07, 2005, 06:03:27 PM
this is de american mentality.they feel they are the best in everything they do.look at the NFL.they is the only f**kin country that does play this shit (is ah f**kin bullermen game) and they does call the winner the world champions.same thing in baseball and basketball.only american  and couple canadian faget teams,true they have international individuals but to call the winners world champion.get f**kin real.bruce arena hull yuh mooma cuny.

they call themselves World Champion because  a couple of the leagues were sponsored by a now-defunct newsapper called 'The World'. no lie. It was a tongue-in-cheek moniker....and many americans think it is just funny and stupid that it's still called that. So doh dig. Bruce made de inflamatory statements...anti American bashing is taking it one step to far
Post by: Jefferz on December 07, 2005, 06:06:19 PM
like ALL d american leader's ultimate mission is to become the most unpopular Nation on earth. George Bush is a pupet for Chaney an dem... who is pupetering Arena? and why is it that NO other coaches are comming out to the media at large to say who the worst teams are in the WC ......cuz its obviously just another universal concept of respect that Arena connot grasp. 
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 07, 2005, 06:12:58 PM

they call themselves World Champion because  a couple of the leagues were sponsored by a now-defunct newsapper called 'The World'. no lie. It was a tongue-in-cheek moniker....and many americans think it is just funny and stupid that it's still called that. So doh dig. Bruce made de inflamatory statements...anti American bashing is taking it one step to far
wuh yuh mean anti american bashin.it is ah fact americans behave in a manner that they own the fukin world.they bring this on themselves.i know yuh know the sayin"yuh make yuh bed sleep in it"
Post by: Sando on December 07, 2005, 06:39:15 PM
USA dont mix matters, they are preparing well. We still have Christmas, Carnival and Easter to worry about, while de USA will be preparing.

USA vs. Canada on Jan. 22 2006 in San Diego
USA vs. Norway on Jan. 29 2006 in Carson
USA vs. Japan on Feb. 10 2006 in San Francisco

The U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team will use the city of Hamburg as their home base throughout the upcoming 2006 FIFA World Cup being staged in 12 venues in Germany from June 9 to July 9, 2006. The U.S. will learn the venue in which they will play their group matches on December 9, 2005, at the FIFA World Cup Draw in Leipzig, Germany.
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 06:49:58 PM
ONE SETTA CRY BABIES ON THIS SITE..........

ARENA GIWWE A LIL DIS AND IZ 3 PAGES OF CRYIN'..............talkin' bout diplomacy and being polite yadda yadda steupssssss

...allyuh now come out or wha ? This is football not jump rope...This is a man's game...yuh want a hug, go by yuh gyul......this is about gamesmanship and competition...If this response is any indication of how our team reacts to criticism then we have a long way to go.........Bruce Arena doh owe Trinidad no kind words...PLAIN TALK IS NO BAD MANNERS....the man find we shitty, and we eh prove him wrong yet........talk done !!

This thread is testament that Trinidad is not a real football country. Go England, Brazil or Spain etc...the press 100 times harsher than on THEIR OWN TEAM !!!!!

Broaden yuh backs Warriors...Yuh want to be included in the the Global football fraternity ?.....broaden yuh back and learn to take talk like a real football public is used to............Lewwe take the talk like men...and the next time the U.S. come down to play us in Trini lace Arena ass with BOOO!!!!..... and toilet paper.........and rotten eggs etc........(hopefully accompanied by a cuta$$ on the field)

Daz how we hadda respond.
Post by: morvant on December 07, 2005, 06:51:59 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause:

well said kicker

what part of morvant u said u was from? ;D
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 06:58:00 PM
:applause: :applause: :applause:

well said kicker

what part of morvant u said u was from? ;D

I from the part of morvant they call Santa Cruz........ ;D
Post by: Marcos on December 07, 2005, 07:28:23 PM
Kicker,
go so with that gun talk eh
u never see badman like south badman
 >:(
check dat hard pan
Post by: SUPA on December 07, 2005, 07:37:01 PM
Bruce is ah real P=-'.>/Y hole, ah doh even want to say much, jus watch de ride in de world cup, nuff nuff teams go be crying, when dey face de warriors.
Post by: Filho on December 07, 2005, 08:25:09 PM

wuh yuh mean anti american bashin.it is ah fact americans behave in a manner that they own the f**kin world.they bring this on themselves.i know yuh know the sayin"yuh make yuh bed sleep in it"

well read these...

http://www.socceramerica.com/article.asp?Art_ID=562136760

http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/US-soccer-coach-backtracks-on-Socceroos/2005/12/07/1133829643743.html

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,17496283%255E12428,00.html
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 07, 2005, 09:10:51 PM
Arena is entitled to his opinion. Nothing we can say can change his mind. Our boys have to perform so that we can change his mind. Also, bear in mind that the US team was not always strong. I remember the days when they used to get licks like it was going out of style. However, with the right amount of money and planning and after a lot more licks, they got better. So Arena better be careful about what he's saying because whatever happens, this World Cup can only open doors for us and we may not be as 'easy' to beat as Arena claims.
Post by: supporter on December 07, 2005, 09:21:59 PM

Broaden yuh backs Warriors...Yuh want to be included in the the Global football fraternity ?.....broaden yuh back and learn to take talk like a real football public is used to............Lewwe take the talk like men...and the next time the U.S. come down to play us in Trini lace Arena ass with BOOO!!!!..... and toilet paper.........and rotten eggs etc........(hopefully accompanied by a cuta$$ on the field)

Daz how we hadda respond.

so  we can throw stuff at the players when they come to play us and get upset, but we cannot comment on a mesageboard how his comments are incorrect to us? make some sense.
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2005, 09:55:16 PM

so  we can throw stuff at the players when they come to play us and get upset, but we cannot comment on a mesageboard how his comments are incorrect to us? make some sense.

Relax homeboy....don't take everything so literally.....I'm not telling you what you should or shouldn't do.....honestly I couldn't care less what you do........my point was, fight fire with fire....gamesmanship with gamesmanship...that is the name of the game......I think it's more effective than bitching and moaning over what is a harmless comment in the whole scheme of things.
Post by: supporter on December 07, 2005, 10:45:41 PM
bitching and moaning gets the fire burning. and it may be a harmless comment but thats we do on dis board, we discuss and debate. and alot of people felt it was in poor taste and a bit disrespectful.
we are one of 32 of the best teams in the world so Bruce Arena can keep it closed.
Post by: fishs on December 08, 2005, 12:05:53 AM
REALITY CHECK FUH BRUCE !!!

Under Arena has US national team football improved our the last two years ?
Answer  NO

Has TT football improved over the last six months ?

Answer     YES

Has football improved for all the other first time qualifiers ?

Answer         YES

Will US football improve under Bruce in the next seven months ?

Answer          NO

Will T&T football and that of the other first time qualifiers improve over the next seven months ?

Answer        YES

My prediction is this.
The US will end up in a group with a football powerhouse, a new qualifier and a traditional football nation.

They will lose to the power house, lose to the new qualifier and draw with the traditional powerhouse.

Bruce will return home with one point, will promptly be fired and nobody in the US will really care , since is not ice hockey or american football anyway
Post by: Filho on December 08, 2005, 07:05:55 AM
bitching and moaning gets the fire burning. and it may be a harmless comment but thats we do on dis board, we discuss and debate. and alot of people felt it was in poor taste and a bit disrespectful.
we are one of 32 of the best teams in the world so Bruce Arena can keep it closed.

nah padnah, bitching and  moaning makes us sound like a bunch a cry babies....debate and discussion are fine...bitching and moaning are signs of weakness. only a few even attempt to mash up Arena comments with some logic, stats, reasoning, picong....we too quick to resort to elementary school type insults when we disagree with someone. like Kicker say...we are not a football country. we cyah handle shit. In real football countries like Brazil, Italy, Argentina...de national  and club teams undersgo extreme criticism in public forums...even when they playing a higher level of ball dan us.  when the WC draw is made and other guests from other countries come by the hundreds on this board to engage in some shit talk...watch and see some of ur posters will start to cuss and carry on like idiots. 10 men from Bahrain had some of the members of this board hot and sweaty, spewing one setta retarded, unintelligible, xenophobic garbage. i hope we represent TnT better when the whole world comes to visit.

Any-hooo, Arena denies saying any of that garbage....

http://www.socceramerica.com/article.asp?Art_ID=562136760
Post by: dutchman on December 08, 2005, 07:54:04 AM
Love it

This guy already lost points before he will even face Australia or T&T !

What a joker.

Australia has the best coach in the entire world with perhaps the best penalty line up & training of the world.

Great this will make T&T and Australia extra motivated.

Post by: kicker on December 08, 2005, 08:41:36 AM

Answer  NO

Answer     YES

Answer         YES

Answer          NO

Will T&T football and that of the other first time qualifiers improve over the next seven months ?

Answer        YES

My prediction is this.
The US will end up in a group with a football powerhouse, a new qualifier and a traditional football nation.

They will lose to the power house, lose to the new qualifier and draw with the traditional powerhouse.

Bruce will return home with one point, will promptly be fired and nobody in the US will really care , since is not ice hockey or american football anyway

Yeah I have a slight feelin' that the U.S. will flop this W.C. too.........might be wrong of course, but I just gettin' that sneakin' suspicion.
Post by: kicker on December 08, 2005, 08:54:39 AM

Responding to Arena's comment with "Arena is an a$$.........or haul he mudda ****......or U.S. is sh*t......or Arena shoud hush is a$$......or typical american arrogance.....is not discussing and debating.....It's bitching and moaning...........

Anyway, after reading more articles about this thing, I think Arena's words were isolated and taken out of context. I think he was trying to comment on the strength of the W.C. field by saying something to the effect of: "imagine teams that you would consider to be easy teams- Australia has all their players playing in Europe, and Trinidad has a striker who was once the biggest striker in World Football"...that's a paraphrase and not a quote, but if you go and read more articles surrounding the incident, you might agree that that was the crux of the whole controversy.......

Check it out....Unless of course in the spirit of this classy debate, you've already made up your mind that "Arena is an a$$"
Post by: Marcos on December 08, 2005, 09:21:11 AM
leave all d bitching and moaning for bitches
we can talk all we want but it eh go mean nuttin til we drop a cut@$$ on dem on d field
everybody have a right to be vex, that was a very politically incorrect statement. politicians does lose dey wuk for saying inconsiderate (no matter how true it may be) shit like dat
but honestly RIGHt NOW allyuh feel we in d best 32 teams in d world???
i love my warriors as much as the most ardent fan but i eh feel we in the top 32 yet
definitely by next June though
Post by: SHOTTA on December 08, 2005, 09:27:30 AM
usa usa allyuh really gettin meh vex yuh kno

i wa beat allyuh baddddddddddddddddd give we a freiendly nah let we show allyuh why we in d world cup

lucky 1 nil win against 10 men an allyuh talkin boyyyyyyy >:( >:( >:(
Post by: sinned on December 08, 2005, 01:16:22 PM
First of all I wanna say Arena DAMN disrepectful and outa place to make them comments. We and Australia are not the lowest ranked team in the world cup so he pulling ting outa he ass. And yes statistically we have a weak side when we look at the 32 but is not he place to throw egg on we face like that and I vex no ass he do that.

However, Touches is right. The US is a big side and they have improved to be the powerhouse in the region. They consistently getting the better of Mexico recently and yes they does play boring ass ball most ah the times but yuh hadda hand it to them that dey does hold they own. They maybe not top 10 in the world but they could definitely hold they own with most. So ppl need to stop shitting on them and sayin dey is mess and doing like dem is more mess than we coz ppl they are not. Dey is a big side now and we hadda live with it. Saying all this they might flop in this WC but we hadda still respect them as a big side even if their coach is undiplomatic.
Post by: Pointman on December 08, 2005, 01:18:24 PM
Allyuh still studying Bruce...allyuh eh kno is three and out for the US dis rounds or wha??
Post by: Grande on December 08, 2005, 01:32:41 PM
Arena waiting for World Cup draw before looking at possible opponents
By CHRIS LEHOURITES, AP Sports Writer
December 8, 2005'

LEIPZIG, Germany (AP) -- United States coach Bruce Arena is not concerned about his team's opponents in the first round of the World Cup.

"I haven't spent two minutes worried about it," Arena said Thursday. "I haven't examined the field because it's a waste of time."

The Americans missed out on being one of the eight seeded teams for Friday's draw, which will divide the field into eight four-nation groups. Chances are high that they will be drawn against a team that's won the world's tournament -- either host Germany, defending champion Brazil, Argentina, England, Italy or France.

The other two seeded teams are Mexico and Spain, but the United States can't play the Mexicans in the first round because they are from the same soccer confederation.

Five of the seven possible opponents are European, and the eighth-ranked Americans are 1-2-7 under Arena against teams from that continent.

"Who cares? It doesn't mean anything," Arena said. "We lost to some good teams in Europe. I don't think the 'in Europe' is an issue. It's still neutral (ground) regardless, with the exception of Germany."

Playing the host in the first round is something Arena would definitely like to avoid.

His team faced co-host South Korea in the group phase at the last World Cup three years ago, and managed to get a draw despite the intense local media scrutiny and huge home crowd support.

The Americans then advanced and went to the quarterfinals, where they lost to Germany 1-0, and Arena is hoping that good showing will help the team next year.

"It's a plus to have a little bit of history of success," he said. "Our goal will still be to get out of group play."

When Arena does learn the three opponents, he'll start preparing for the Americans' opener.

"The roster is not impacted by who we're playing," Arena said. "More important is when we play our first game. I'm hopeful we start later. Gives you a little more time to prepare."

Arena said the focus will be on the team they face in the first match, while some scouting will be done on the team they face second.

For the team's third match, Arena thinks the opponent's performance in its first two games will be enough.

"They show us their personality and what they're about by game three," Arena said.

Before the tournament, the Americans will have some warmup matches, including an exhibition at Germany on March 22.

After some exhibitions in the days before the team flies to Germany, Arena will set up training in Hamburg. He picked that city over Munich and Berlin.

"Hamburg was the kind of hotel we want and the kind of atmosphere we want for the team," Arena said.

He'll know soon enough if it helped the team improve.

Post by: USgalWARRIORbf on December 08, 2005, 03:16:23 PM
um...

so...

who ARE the two weakest teams if not Trinidad?

Im interested in hearing that one.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on December 08, 2005, 03:20:20 PM
um...

so...

I tink de point is that bruce arena really cant say that wen they havent beaten us too convincingly in the hex...so shudnt really be boasting that we de weakest and they themselves are unable to put a pounding on us....
so let him Haul he ass!!!!! its the world cup and anyting is possible..
Post by: Milan!!! on December 08, 2005, 03:38:10 PM
um...

so...

I tink de point is that bruce arena really cant say that wen they havent beaten us too convincingly in the hex...so shudnt really be boasting that we de weakest and they themselves are unable to put a pounding on us....
so let him Haul he ass!!!!! its the world cup and anyting is possible..

i say so too yeh...dem really ent beat us to convincingly..its like this..the US ent no real competition against dem bigger name teams..so its kinda funny how he drawing comparisions to trinidad and australia..he cyah find talk with the big guns..so he choosing us!!!...dey really say empty barrels does make de most noise...for all i care arena can go screw himself and his players..TnT need to put down a good licking on dem..lewwe play a freiendly nah!pleaseeeeeeeeeee

Onwards to Germany
Post by: Jefferz on December 08, 2005, 03:53:54 PM

Answer  NO

Answer     YES

Answer         YES

Answer          NO

Answer        YES

My prediction is this.

Yea boy fishs i feel you have it VERY correct dey. AND if were both right at d end of worldcup we eh go let d yanks hear de END of it!
Post by: Trini on December 08, 2005, 04:08:34 PM
I agree with Arena.
Maybe T&T and Angola, not really Australia (all this based on current form).

This is the elite in the world now people. being 30th or 31st out of the top 32 in the world aint that bad.

The US has been to every WC since 1990, recahing the quarters and thing.

We just make it for the first time.

If I was any of them other countries, I would be praying to get T&T in my group.

The bredda wasnt attacking T&T personally. He talking football talk.

We have to earn respect.

When we in Shell Cup group stage and we call Anguilla the weakest in the competition, you feel that any different?
Post by: ribbit on December 08, 2005, 04:19:33 PM

Answer         YES

i think this questionable. teams like australia and ghana have had consistent quality for a while - this time things worked out for them. i see no big jump in quality even in we own football - t&t has performed better than present within the conference (now we 4th, before we were arguably 1st (1973)).

qualifying have to do with other circumstances besides how good the team is. it also depends on how the other teams in the qualifiers perform.

Answer  NO

to be fair, sides like mexico and usa only get a chance to prove how far they've progressed in the world cup (i.e. less frequently) - regionals they've done everything they need to beating all the other teams convincingly. i doh see how the last 2 years is a big measure of arena's stewardship since they qualify comfortably.

the real test for them (and mexico) is germany.

and until we can show some consistency in our achievements, arena go be skinning he mout ne time a reporter pass by.
Post by: supporter on December 08, 2005, 05:14:51 PM

Responding to Arena's comment with "Arena is an a$$.........or haul he mudda ****......or U.S. is sh*t......or Arena shoud hush is a$$......or typical american arrogance.....is not discussing and debating.....It's bitching and moaning...........

Anyway, after reading more articles about this thing, I think Arena's words were isolated and taken out of context. I think he was trying to comment on the strength of the W.C. field by saying something to the effect of: "imagine teams that you would consider to be easy teams- Australia has all their players playing in Europe, and Trinidad has a striker who was once the biggest striker in World Football"...that's a paraphrase and not a quote, but if you go and read more articles surrounding the incident, you might agree that that was the crux of the whole controversy.......

Check it out....Unless of course in the spirit of this classy debate, you've already made up your mind that "Arena is an a$$"

if your offended by the arena-bashing then thats your problem, take it up with someone who cares. but arena is an ass. and this comment from him sums that up. we cant go throwing food and items at the man(as you suggested) so we'll make do with venting on this thread.
Post by: cm103 on December 08, 2005, 05:26:23 PM
I agree with Arena.

This is the elite in the world now people. being 30th or 31st out of the top 32 in the world aint that bad.

If I was any of them other countries, I would be praying to get T&T in my group.

We have to earn respect.

When we in Shell Cup group stage and we call Anguilla the weakest in the competition, you feel that any different?

Well yeah we need to earn respect but d US isn't really d one that should be calling us out.

Dey qualify in 90 for d first time in 40 years (I think), get a bly in 94 cause they were the hosts. Didn't do anything in 98 and beat a CONCACAF side and a troubled Portugal in 02. Not really stellar in terms of identifying d weak teams.

If he was going off d FIFA rankings den he need to check some of d African newcomers who ranked lower than us. I would be even more dissappointed if he was in fact going off the rankings.

After all is said and done we need to prove something now. If men feel we vex in vain den whats d point of being d so called "12 man", imagine what our boys going through hearing that. Dey mustbe vex as hell, we have a right to be too.

We go settle dis on d field.
Post by: Rymizx on December 08, 2005, 05:32:01 PM
Weak is relative....

Austrailia is weak as football is probably second to rugby or cricket. They will still whip the best USA "Sakkarr" team even on bad day..
Trinidad is week, as we have the smallest population of qualifiers, but we could still hold our own and put a sound licking on several current qualified teams.
Post by: real-warrior on December 08, 2005, 05:46:29 PM
 bruce aren cud just hush. We should land up in a group wit USA and slam a few goals and let him hush he mouth
Post by: Warrior till death on December 08, 2005, 05:48:05 PM
daz wah ah was sayin
Post by: Warrior till death on December 08, 2005, 05:50:15 PM
England
USA
Ivory Coast
T&T
Saudi Arabia
Australia
Post by: morvant on December 08, 2005, 05:52:49 PM
England
USA
Ivory Coast
T&T
Saudi Arabia
Australia

FF look at this group and tell meh what wrong with it.
Post by: Touches on December 08, 2005, 06:21:01 PM
Like Filho and Kicker I am very disappointed at the responses from many of the forumites.

I also in my opinion realise I does be watching a different game to alyuh fellas, does analyse game different, does watch how a team play different and does look at trend, form and  players on a squad different to plenty of alyuh.

The men I want to hear from ent post yet but why alyuh lettin Areana vex alyuh so when he talking the truth.

In fact I going and burst alyuh Germany hype bubble lil bit and shake alyuh up just to see the reality of the situation. I am doing this to overexaggerate a point and show alyuh yuh gettin vex for nuttin and for someone who is an outsider looking in they can make their own judgement and opinion based on some relative facts! and I repeat facts!

Now watch the quality of the teams we play and the score lines of each.....we getting lix from shit side, ketching we arse from side that not good and we bare scraping against decent teams. Lewwe forget Beenhaker.....lets look at the total picture.

We finish above only 2 sides Panama and Guatemala.......Forget Gold Cup, We had a lucky semi final draw and we barely make it tru that....in fact Vincy and St Kitts school we like they was Brazil. If yuh didnt go the games and see the side then and only now jump on take wha I telling yuh we did look damn bad then. Panama is not a football side and Guatemala is not any big side in Concacaf neither and yet they hit we 5.........and we had the same team. Then we play Bahrain, who everybody could see is not a side.
In fact if the TT side didnt have the jitters and pressure on them they coulda rest about 4 on Bahrain. I am also convinced that Jabloteh could handle them and a MLS side would give them about 4.

anyway alyuh watch these TT games and honestly as someone who is knowledgeable about football really watch the teams we play and the results.

TT games since 2000 (http://www.socawarriors.net/T&T_games_since_2000.htm)

Now watch the USMNT set of games, the competitve tournaments they play in and the opposition. Go on the left and drop down the menu and scroll tru the various years and competitions in the same time frame.

US Mens Results (http://www.ussoccer.com/teams/teamhome_custom.sps?iType=265&icustompageid=13280&mtype=8215)

There is no comparison between us and them........they better and as much as it might hurt alyuh is the truth.

Bruce find we ent good and the thing is we have to play well consistently and prove the doubters wrong. We havent done that yet and until we start playing big teams and beating them or at least looking competitve for 90 min we will be regarded as a Tin-pot outfit by the Europeans.

Also USA get there fair share of talk from many managers in the past. But as of now they have the respect of the football world.....me included.
Post by: kicker on December 08, 2005, 06:41:45 PM
Touches,

Lewwe kill this talk. It's like arguing with a woman using rationale (watch men attack my political correctness with that statement) Rationale and emotion don't mix. People are sensitive to having Arena dismiss our side as easy. It's understandable. Deep down, everyone knows why Arena would think so, but they just don't want to hear it from his mouth.

Man makin' up excuses about politically correct yadda yadda....bullshit.....If we were going into a digicel cup, and Beenie predicted that our easiest games would be against Monsterrat and Turks & Caicos, we would not judge his discretion or political correctness...

Bottom line is that Trinidadians have a gripe with the U.S., especially when it comes to football. Even for me, a victory for the Warriors over the U.S. in the W.C. would be as sweet as a victory over any "big" side...that's just a reflection of how we feel about them as a football nation. Whether or not we could see where Arena is coming from, our pride makes us hate the thought of them dismissing us as an easy team...

It's emotion and pride talkin' in this thread, simple as that .

Post by: supporter on December 08, 2005, 06:50:49 PM
Touches, with me, i am not acting like we should be getting world class respect. and the US owns us. but,i would have liked to seen more diplomacy and class from arena. we have improved drastically over the past year.still,he can think we are the worst team at the world cup and i can disagree with that statement. i echo what yorke said concerning arena's comments,
 "The manager of the American team is entitled to his opinion," he said. "Hopefully when he comes up against one of us we can shove the words right back in his face. America was in our [qualifying] group. They know they were very fortunate to beat us. They are not a brilliant team like they are making out to be … we've been playing them for years, they are not that special."
Post by: Marcos on December 08, 2005, 07:43:05 PM
we better dan dem
he have no right saying dat
look how much teams we beat and how bad we beat dem
look how great we did in the gold cup
look how much men we have playing in the best leagues around the world
look how highly we are ranked in fifa's world rankings
look how easily we qualify out of the most difficult region: concacaf

right
that should done all d talk

Arenas is still a jack@$$
Post by: Jefferz on December 08, 2005, 07:51:47 PM
whether hes right or not i still think hes arrogant
Post by: rastafari on December 08, 2005, 08:28:37 PM
anyway alyuh watch these TT games and honestly as someone who is knowledgeable about football really watch the teams we play and the results.

TT games since 2000 (http://www.socawarriors.net/T&T_games_since_2000.htm)

Now watch the USMNT set of games, the competitve tournaments they play in and the opposition. Go on the left and drop down the menu and scroll tru the various years and competitions in the same time frame.

US Mens Results (http://www.ussoccer.com/teams/teamhome_custom.sps?iType=265&icustompageid=13280&mtype=8215)

There is no comparison between us and them........they better and as much as it might hurt alyuh is the truth.

Bruce find we ent good and the thing is we have to play well consistently and prove the doubters wrong. We havent done that yet and until we start playing big teams and beating them or at least looking competitve for 90 min we will be regarded as a Tin-pot outfit by the Europeans.

Also USA get there fair share of talk from many managers in the past. But as of now they have the respect of the football world.....me included.

Bruce talking about it like dat,  because of the fact that they have a better head to head record against us, but he is still ah IMPS though.

Dee TTFF better get dey house in order an start getting quality friendly games after this world cup, because dey USA way ahead of us in that department.
I just hope we get a decent draw and USA get a hard one.
Leh we hear if Bruce go come out wid he cowboy mentality and all guns blazing, or he go keep quiet like a lamb.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: SUPA on December 08, 2005, 08:50:33 PM
I agree with Arena.

We have to earn respect.

When we call Anguilla the weakest in the competition. Boss, who is we? Which T$T coach did say dat? May be u can share dat info.  :thinking:
Post by: Fantastic on December 09, 2005, 12:56:54 AM
Good points Touches, good rational points. Discussion on dis board sometimes bordering on fanaticism. Arena's comments, while misinterpreted by de media, are so correct when it comes to Trini. We are de  least experienced team in de cup, and from what i've seen one of de worst playing teams. we have some players playing key roles(mind you doing so with plenty heart) that couldn't storm most other WC qualifiers training facilities. I hoping to do well at de cup too, but we have to hush we mouth and just do it. We gettin better under Beenie fuh real, but we still ent even beat mexico, costa rica or us in a game that meant something to each of de teams. Dat translates into; when dey need to beat we dey do. So let we bite we tongue fuh right now until we earn we stripes and then casually ask Arena to hull he mudda so and so!!!!
Post by: Rymizx on December 09, 2005, 05:17:08 AM
England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson is anxious to avoid Australia in tonight’s draw for next summer’s World Cup.
The rivalry between the two nations is no secret, with Eriksson’s side humbled 3-1 in a friendly at Upton Park in 2003.

"They are desperate to beat England in a big tournament, which is why I don’t want to play them," said Eriksson. "But there is a wider aspect to Australia.

"There is a sporting rivalry between the two countries. What I saw during the summer in the cricket was amazing."

He added: "If I had known all about the rivalry, I would never have played that friendly against them.

"It was far from a friendly game. They wanted to beat us - and they did."

Ah wonder if Eriksson frade to meet Arena and USA!
Post by: Warrior till death on December 09, 2005, 06:34:08 AM
 :praying:
Post by: Slacker on December 09, 2005, 06:40:30 AM
I doh know why Bruce Arena eh haul he ASS! Ah mean realistically we are one of the weakest teams in the competition but why he have to go an make we out so!

The REAL question for Bruce Arena is " Who Allyuh(USA) goin an beat?". Ah wish they get Brazil, Steups!
Post by: Themanfriday on December 09, 2005, 06:43:27 AM
that would be nice if we meet them in a friendly and woup de ASS... 5-0 :rotfl:
Post by: john doe on December 09, 2005, 07:51:37 AM
Bruce Arena is a dummy who knows nothing about football. We have a better side than America. Even Australia have a better side than America. If TNT meet USA in the knockout stage we will easily beat them by two (2) clear goals.
Post by: Filho on December 09, 2005, 08:11:50 AM
Even after Arena come out and publicly say he never said that TnT and Australia were the 2 weakest, and he has respect for all 32 teams in the WC..men still carrying on. Maybe he jes backtracking to cover his a$$...either way it should be a non issue now. Can we end this thread before someone else decides to display just how 'intelligent' we seem to be...this is absolutely embarrasing. Anybody outside of TnT reading this thread would think natural selection didn't quite work here......we responding to a statement that lacks any diplomacy....with statements that are completely lacking intelligence
Post by: Marcos on December 09, 2005, 09:59:10 AM
Fire bun Arenas !!!!!!!!!!1 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: sirrussbradley on December 09, 2005, 10:31:18 AM
The soca warriors prove alot of people wrong and we will again by making it to the second round and also by being no1 in our region very soon. we have the most talented players in the world and they will fight tooth and nail to prove to the world we are not a roll over. Mark my words

Thanks

Die Hard Fan
Post by: Filho on December 09, 2005, 12:51:37 PM
Fire bun Arenas !!!!!!!!!!1 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Marcos padnah...you iz real presha :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on December 09, 2005, 01:06:00 PM
I jus like pushin ting
I on kicks
Post by: Daft Trini on December 10, 2005, 02:18:12 AM
Bruce Arena, täuschen Sie, warum Feiglinggespräch das lauteste tun
Sie. Ich möchte die Vereinigten Staaten sehen, alle ihre Spiele zu
verlieren.
Post by: dutchman on December 10, 2005, 05:56:15 AM
The soca warriors prove alot of people wrong and we will again by making it to the second round and also by being no1 in our region very soon. we have the most talented players in the world and they will fight tooth and nail to prove to the world we are not a roll over. Mark my words

Thanks

Die Hard Fan

Now I hope you right man.
Did you see what Mexico under 16 did 2 months ago?
They are WC holders beating Holland & Brazil in big numbers.
Some of them are already 17 soon 18 ;D
I think if your second in the region it won't be an embarrasment either.
Post by: real-warrior on December 10, 2005, 10:42:04 AM
England
USA
Ivory Coast
T&T
Saudi Arabia
Australia

:rotfl:  he have 5 teams insted of 4
Post by: trinidad badboy on December 10, 2005, 10:54:38 AM
we knoe tnt and australia have the two weakest teams

but what the a$$ why does bruce arena even care, just study is uh yakees can get past italy and Czech
Republic

we goin there to make a statement to the world. bruce u just trying to spoil ur fun...

Post by: kicker on December 10, 2005, 01:52:01 PM
England
USA
Ivory Coast
T&T
Saudi Arabia
Australia

I count 6 not 5......so laugh at yourself
Post by: Grande on December 11, 2005, 12:18:42 AM
England
USA
Ivory Coast
T&T
Saudi Arabia
Australia

I count 6 not 5......so laugh at yourself

Not only that, from the draw it is impossible for USA and Trinidad & Tobago to be in de same group since they were from de same pot.  :beermug:
Post by: Collin Mcsamuel on December 13, 2005, 11:51:58 AM
You know what dont even get angry at comments like that. I love it when people say things like that about Scotland. It just makes for a better atmosphere throughout the fans. A better sense of togetherness and underdogs fitghting against the assholes. Just take it in your stride. Keep it punk boys.loving it.
Post by: grskywalker on December 13, 2005, 12:05:57 PM
Ah bet Arena eh laughing now, USA look like the weakest team in their group
GHANA and Italy go wuk them!

All them years Ghana beating them in the u-17 and u-21 now all them men on the senior team
USA AH SORRY  :devil: :'(
Title: Bruce Arena: Right Now I'm Just an Idiot
Post by: Cocorite on June 23, 2006, 04:34:42 PM
http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/5724616

Not News to Me.
Title: Re: Bruce Arena: Right Now I'm Just an Idiot
Post by: Rastaman on June 23, 2006, 04:50:15 PM
Not news to me either.
Post by: 1989 on June 23, 2006, 04:54:13 PM
Not news to me either.
That's big news to me.  I thought he was a raving idiot.
Post by: Rastaman on June 23, 2006, 05:00:45 PM
Not news to me either.
That's big news to me.  I thought he was a raving idiot.

Actually it is news..that he admitted to it !!!!
Post by: marcpurcell on June 23, 2006, 05:28:16 PM
Let me see. In your WC prep you get licks from Germnay, cant beat a rebuilding Jamaica team and consider wins over Latvia and Venuezla as significant. Idiot is an understatement.
Post by: trinidad badboy on June 23, 2006, 06:06:25 PM

glad tha he knows this now.

admiting it is the first step

seeking help is the second  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Organic on June 23, 2006, 07:11:30 PM
hahahahahaha :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: oh bruce u feel dat that go save your job
Post by: berris on June 23, 2006, 07:13:03 PM
IS frigging Cantona tuh blame is he wey set up Arena,talking bout.........'AMER-RI- KA DE WOOL NO LONGER LOOOK FOOWAD TO PLAYIN YOU' ....and Bruce gorn wid dah one an tell he self dey go beat real people ,nut knowing is cut arse for dem
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on June 23, 2006, 07:34:32 PM
where all d asshole and dem who say they was making the 2nd rounds

I looking but I cyah find the thread, it was aptly name Why the USA making the 2nd round and the fool who start went on to justify why

that side is shit now
was shit then and will always be shit
Post by: Trini Madness on June 23, 2006, 07:57:38 PM
IS frigging Cantona tuh blame is he wey set up Arena,talking bout.........'AMER-RI- KA DE WOOL NO LONGER LOOOK FOOWAD TO PLAYIN YOU' ....and Bruce gorn wid dah one an tell he self dey go beat real people ,nut knowing is cut arse for dem

doh forget how he(bruce) say T&T and australia are de weakest teams in de tournament. yes is true we only get 1 point and get knock out,  but it was our first WC and we played a hell of alot better than US did. look how australia gone and move onto de second rounds. bruce is a sh*thong!!!
Post by: trini supporter on June 23, 2006, 09:09:31 PM
Bruce just stating the obvious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: mr.talented on June 23, 2006, 09:14:51 PM
lol...poor fella..hahahah
Post by: triniairman on June 24, 2006, 12:10:40 AM
look like USA was the weakest link,now Bruce have to eat his own words  :P :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: palos on June 24, 2006, 12:34:41 AM
look like USA was the weakest link,now Bruce have to eat his own words  :P :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Good recollection.
Post by: Trinimassive on June 24, 2006, 08:55:39 AM
It is obvious now that the US did NO SCOUTING.

Post by: trini supporter on June 24, 2006, 10:01:56 AM
Bruce just like to make himself an a$$hole look at that we end up on 1 point so did they but them conceded by far more goals than us and as for Australia they are in the second round and ah backing them all the way for that IN YOUR DUTTY FACE BRUCE!!!!!!!!
Post by: grskywalker on June 24, 2006, 11:10:58 AM
He also trying to balme the administration, HA he is such an ass good for them, they are shithounds.

He went in to this World cup understimating everyone and paid dearly
Post by: shivadee on June 24, 2006, 11:13:14 AM
Bruce Arena? I never see a more shamefull coach. Shaking his head and the team....and then running around like one fat @ss who eat down 10 burger king. Waste of time coach...THAT man cause US to play sh!t so
Post by: AB.Trini on June 24, 2006, 11:22:29 PM
What do you expect from  a self proclaimed idiot?
Post by: croc on June 25, 2006, 12:08:31 AM
Fellers ah reading that and ah laughing :rotfl: Go the SOCCEROOSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: jose on June 25, 2006, 06:34:24 AM
dem americans always feel dey better than everybody,bruce arena is a a little girl,all he do for the world cup is complain about everything
Post by: socachynee on June 25, 2006, 06:43:38 AM
Quote from my barber (Doc) in Tunapuna "Suck Salt"  Bruce Arena

Hope to knock USA off in WC2010
Post by: mr.talented on June 25, 2006, 06:51:08 AM
well is ameica dem have to fight to play bahrain next round!!!...2010 i not in dat...we in de top trrrreeeee!!!!!

BRUCE!!!...IN YOUR FACE!!!
Post by: Warrior till death on June 25, 2006, 02:09:44 PM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

ALLYUH JES MAKE URSELFS LOOK LIKE FOOLS

ALL DIS SHIT TALK BOUT BRUCE EATING HIS WORDS ETC...CUZ AUSTRALIA GET TRU DOH MEAN SHIT
CUZ IF ALLYUH DIDNT REALISE!
USA WERE IN A TOUGHER GROUP THAT AUSTRALIA!
EVENTHO BRUCE SAID AUSTRALIA IS ONE OF THE WEAKEST....THEM GOIN IN SECOND ROUNDS DO NOT  SAY NETING BOUT AUSTRALIA BEING BETTER THAN USA

NOW I AM A USA HATER...BUT I AM BEING FAIR
USA WAS IN THE GROUP OF DEATH.
ALLYUH CAH SAY AUSTRALIA WAS BETTER DAN USA
Post by: ladywarrior on June 25, 2006, 02:40:28 PM
Bruce Arena needs to worry about his own performance and his own JOB. The USA still has a long way to go to be a factor in the World Cup. But in typical USA arrogant fashion, they wanna act like they should be a shoo-in for dominance. Oh Well Bruce.. say what you want .. your record speaks for itself!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 26, 2006, 04:56:17 AM
HA HA HA!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  Dat good for dey a$$....just because dey come out of de groups stagenish in de last World Cup dey feel dey is a football powerhouse!!...

Dat good for dem.....let dey go back and learn to play golf and baseball, ting dey know bout...and leave football to de real footballers....dey cyar even get the name right...."soccer" WTF!!!....

And ah know ah should support CONCACAF teams (and I do), but ah cyar ever support de Americans in football....dey own people doh support dem, so why de f$&k should I?....

For example ah met an American in a hotel in Italy over de weekend....and I had to tell he the World Cup is held every four years....imagine dat!!!! ::) ::)....let dey haul dey a$$....
Let Arena see who weak now....damn a$$!!!...

Btw....how did TnT rank overall out of the 32 teams???
Post by: trinidre on June 26, 2006, 10:46:48 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Cantona really chain up Bruce Arena and the whole of the USA......Fifa chain them up too with ranking them 5th in the world
Post by: trinidre on June 26, 2006, 10:54:45 AM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

ALL DIS SHIT TALK BOUT BRUCE EATING HIS WORDS ETC...CUZ AUSTRALIA GET TRU DOH MEAN SHIT
EVENTHO BRUCE SAID AUSTRALIA IS ONE OF THE WEAKEST....THEM GOIN IN SECOND ROUNDS DO NOT  SAY NETING BOUT AUSTRALIA BEING BETTER THAN USA

USA was really in the group of death so them not getting out of their group and the aussies making it out of theirs doent make australia better than the US.......what makes Australia better is the fact that they have a well-knowned world-renowned coach and the fact that the aussie aquad is far more talented than that of the US and that Aussies have more players playing in bigger leagues around the world than that of the US
Post by: Toppa on June 26, 2006, 06:17:06 PM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

Oh, whatever. US were in a group with debutantes Ghana, ah ole-foot Czech Republic side and a very unimpressive Italy. Australia play some sweet ball against some good opponents.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 26, 2006, 10:18:17 PM
ESPN interview Bruce Arena and he basically call de 98 USA WC team ah bunch of shithounds espeically the ESPN analysts who were on the team (Wynalda,Lalas).  He said they cannot do much better than the 2002 quarterfinals for quite awhile.

In response Wynalda said that Bruce Arena never play in any World Cup so he cant fully understand what is expected hence he is not capable of taking the US to a higher level.  Also Wynalda called him arrogant.
Post by: jaden on June 27, 2006, 08:56:35 AM
allyuh eh see US want to hire Klinsman to replace Bruce!
Post by: ribbit on June 27, 2006, 09:12:57 AM
allyuh eh see US want to hire Klinsman to replace Bruce!

dey should get klinsman to play for dem one time ;D
Post by: sinned on June 27, 2006, 11:45:03 AM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

amm why cant we say australia was better than the US?? from the way the US played I doubt they could have beaten any team in Australia's group. Australia could rest level licks on them anytime. I'm not a US hater neither a fan (if you read my previous posts about the US) but it just shows the height of ignorance that Bruce Arena has achieved to call Australia a weak team. Australia have nuff big players and a great coach
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 27, 2006, 11:56:46 AM
ARTICLE FROM FOXPSORTS.COM

BERLIN (AP) - Some Americans are telling Bruce Arena to think before he speaks.

Four years ago, U.S. coach Arena lauded Major League Soccer as a reason for the Americans' run to the quarterfinals of the World Cup. Now, some think he's trying to blame the 11-year-old league for a first-round exit from Germany 2006 .

"I think it's ridiculous," MLS commissioner Don Garber said. "If I were him I'd take a deep breath and think about what I say before I criticize anyone in American soccer."

Following a 3-0 loss to the Czech Republic, a 1-1 draw with Italy and a 2-1 loss to Ghana, the Americans went home with 15 other first-round hopefuls, bringing comparisons to the three-losses-and-out performance of the United States in France in 1998.

Six months after the 1998 showing, fired coach Steve Sampson blamed MLS for the failure, saying veteran players who left their European and Mexican clubs to come home for the start of MLS two years earlier had become "soft."

While not identifying MLS, Arena's comments in the past several days strike many in the American league the same way.

"And the way for us to get our players to get better is: We do need to get more of our younger talented players in Europe," said Arena, who won two of the first three titles in MLS with D.C. United. "We need them in a year-round soccer environment. We need them playing in more intense games to help develop them mentally, as well as soccerwise."

In a subsequent interview with ESPN on Monday, Arena, a member of MLS' strategic technnical committee, said specifically he was not blaming the league. Others believe he was suggesting it was inadequate.

"The reality to so many out there is that coaching the U.S. national team is the easiest job on the planet," said U.S. national team alltime scoring leader Eric Wynalda, now an analyst for ABC/ESPN. "You do have a league that provides you with a great team. For him to be so arrogant, to not recognize that fact. ...The one thing his agent said as the reason that he should have the job was because of his success in MLS."

Wynalda, who played in Germany from 1992-1996 and spent six years in MLS, put the blame for the U.S. failures squarely on Arena.

"He can take a team to a certain level, but he has no idea where the next level is," Wynalda said. "How much does he know about playing in Europe, other than having a hot dog and a beer in the stands? Hearsay? Does he talk to the players? That's justification to know? Has he ever coached there and have that pressure? No. Sorry, I'm just pointing out the obvious."

U.S. captain Claudio Reyna, who has never played in MLS, also suggested American players needed to get to Europe. But MLS deputy commissioner Ivan Gazidis, the man most responsible for player development in the U.S. league, thinks people are grasping for excuses.

"The temptation after a disappointing World Cup is to come up with knee-jerk reactions and explanations," Gazidis said. "It has the beauty of simplicity. The inconvenient fact is there is not a shred of evidence to support it."

About half of both the 2002 and 2006 teams were comprised of players in MLS. But in 2002, six of the starters for the Americans' 3-2 opening victory against Portugal played in MLS, including Landon Donovan and Brian McBride. In 2006 against the Czech Republic, only three came from an MLS roster: Donovan, Eddie Pope and Pablo Mastroeni.

"The truth is, the answer is more complex," Gazidis said. "We'll take time to analyze this. I do think we're not producing the type of player with quality, the skill and the imagination of a (Juan) Riquelme or a Ronaldinho. We have the ability to do it. But we need to reach deeper into the Hispanic and African-American communities; look at South American player development."

The Columbus Crew's German-born coach Sigi Schmid, an assistant for the U.S. team at the 1994 World Cup and a former U.S. under-20 national team head coach, believes there are advantages to playing in Europe.

"For sure, playing Europe gives you a hardness, a coolness," he said. "There's more of a microscope, more pressure to perform as an individual. We have to be better at recreating that in MLS."

Schmid said the media reaction to this year's World Cup was a step in that direction, yet his fellow coach at the Chicago Fire, Dave Sarachan, says everybody is overthinking this.

"Maybe it's more simplistic, like we just didn't play well," said Sarachan, an assistant to Arena at the 2002 World Cup. "We fell flat in the tournament. We have MLS players who can play in the World Cup. Jimmy Conrad and Clint Dempsey played very well. I don't think MLS is the fault of the national team not playing well in the World Cup."

Title: MLS supporters lash out at Arena, critics
Post by: Bally on June 27, 2006, 04:21:59 PM
MLS supporters lash out at Arena, critics
taken from fox sports.com

BERLIN (AP) - Some Americans are telling Bruce Arena to think before he speaks.

Support your favorite team with official World Cup gear from the Fox Soccer Shop! 

Four years ago, U.S. coach Arena lauded Major League Soccer as a reason for the Americans' run to the quarterfinals of the World Cup. Now, some think he's trying to blame the 11-year-old league for a first-round exit from Germany 2006 .

"I think it's ridiculous," MLS commissioner Don Garber said. "If I were him I'd take a deep breath and think about what I say before I criticize anyone in American soccer."

Following a 3-0 loss to the Czech Republic, a 1-1 draw with Italy and a 2-1 loss to Ghana, the Americans went home with 15 other first-round hopefuls, bringing comparisons to the three-losses-and-out performance of the United States in France in 1998.

Six months after the 1998 showing, fired coach Steve Sampson blamed MLS for the failure, saying veteran players who left their European and Mexican clubs to come home for the start of MLS two years earlier had become "soft."

While not identifying MLS, Arena's comments in the past several days strike many in the American league the same way.

"And the way for us to get our players to get better is: We do need to get more of our younger talented players in Europe," said Arena, who won two of the first three titles in MLS with D.C. United. "We need them in a year-round soccer environment. We need them playing in more intense games to help develop them mentally, as well as soccerwise."

In a subsequent interview with ESPN on Monday, Arena, a member of MLS' strategic technnical committee, said specifically he was not blaming the league. Others believe he was suggesting it was inadequate.

"The reality to so many out there is that coaching the U.S. national team is the easiest job on the planet," said U.S. national team alltime scoring leader Eric Wynalda, now an analyst for ABC/ESPN. "You do have a league that provides you with a great team. For him to be so arrogant, to not recognize that fact. ...The one thing his agent said as the reason that he should have the job was because of his success in MLS."

Wynalda, who played in Germany from 1992-1996 and spent six years in MLS, put the blame for the U.S. failures squarely on Arena.

"He can take a team to a certain level, but he has no idea where the next level is," Wynalda said. "How much does he know about playing in Europe, other than having a hot dog and a beer in the stands? Hearsay? Does he talk to the players? That's justification to know? Has he ever coached there and have that pressure? No. Sorry, I'm just pointing out the obvious."

U.S. captain Claudio Reyna, who has never played in MLS, also suggested American players needed to get to Europe. But MLS deputy commissioner Ivan Gazidis, the man most responsible for player development in the U.S. league, thinks people are grasping for excuses.

"The temptation after a disappointing World Cup is to come up with knee-jerk reactions and explanations," Gazidis said. "It has the beauty of simplicity. The inconvenient fact is there is not a shred of evidence to support it."

About half of both the 2002 and 2006 teams were comprised of players in MLS. But in 2002, six of the starters for the Americans' 3-2 opening victory against Portugal played in MLS, including Landon Donovan and Brian McBride. In 2006 against the Czech Republic, only three came from an MLS roster: Donovan, Eddie Pope and Pablo Mastroeni.

"The truth is, the answer is more complex," Gazidis said. "We'll take time to analyze this. I do think we're not producing the type of player with quality, the skill and the imagination of a (Juan) Riquelme or a Ronaldinho. We have the ability to do it. But we need to reach deeper into the Hispanic and African-American communities; look at South American player development."

The Columbus Crew's German-born coach Sigi Schmid, an assistant for the U.S. team at the 1994 World Cup and a former U.S. under-20 national team head coach, believes there are advantages to playing in Europe.

"For sure, playing Europe gives you a hardness, a coolness," he said. "There's more of a microscope, more pressure to perform as an individual. We have to be better at recreating that in MLS."

Schmid said the media reaction to this year's World Cup was a step in that direction, yet his fellow coach at the Chicago Fire, Dave Sarachan, says everybody is overthinking this.

"Maybe it's more simplistic, like we just didn't play well," said Sarachan, an assistant to Arena at the 2002 World Cup. "We fell flat in the tournament. We have MLS players who can play in the World Cup. Jimmy Conrad and Clint Dempsey played very well. I don't think MLS is the fault of the national team not playing well in the World Cup."

Post by: Tenorsaw on June 27, 2006, 05:11:04 PM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

EVENTHO BRUCE SAID AUSTRALIA IS ONE OF THE WEAKEST....THEM GOIN IN SECOND ROUNDS DO NOT SAY NETING BOUT AUSTRALIA BEING BETTER THAN USA

Player for player yuh go tell me that the US is better than Australia?  If that is where yuh going with that argument, yuh better eat it.  Leh meh call some big names for yuh:  Viduka, Schwarzer, Bresciano, Kewell, Cahill, Aloisi.  All dem men is established, respected players in Europe.  Bruce was ah asshole for letting that shit come out he mouth.  He looking like ah big clown now.  Group of death or not, Australia could beat the US, and I was saying this long before the World Cup.  All they needed was a good coach.  Their local coach was only getting them to a certain level, but they needed a bit more tactical wit to get to the next level.
Title: Re: MLS supporters lash out at Arena, critics
Post by: Bitter on June 27, 2006, 05:22:33 PM
I doh like Arena as US coach, mostly because of his big mouth, but I did admire his coaching abilities at UVA and DC United.

When he was named Coach of the US team, I said to myself, look trouble. He is one of the best coaches to come out of the USA. However, He, (like most coaches) has gone as far as he can go, he's good, but not good enough. He's also right, I think the MLS is milking this a little, but what he basically said is, to get further in the world cup, you need players who battle regularly at the highest levels. leagues where they will see how it's played at the highest levels more than the 3 games you get in the World Cup. And right now the highest level is not the MLS. They can gripe all they want, but they know it's true. 
Post by: palos on June 27, 2006, 05:30:41 PM
I doh like Arena as US coach, mostly because of his big mouth, but I did admire his coaching abilities at UVA and DC United.

When he was named Coach of the US team, I said to myself, look trouble. He is one of the best coaches to come out of the USA. However, He, (like most coaches) has gone as far as he can go, he's good, but not good enough. He's also right, I think the MLS is milking this a little, but what he basically said is, to get further in the world cup, you need players who battle regularly at the highest levels. leagues where they will see how it's played at the highest levels more than the 3 games you get in the World Cup. And right now the highest level is not the MLS. They can gripe all they want, but they know it's true. 

Is something KINDA like what Carlos was reported to have said when he allegedly made his "local players" comment.  Is not something people necessarily want to hear, but it have value. If yuh doh like de messenger....den fuhget de messenger...but if what de messenger sayin have value...heed de message.
Post by: freakazoid on June 27, 2006, 05:48:31 PM
i think the usa are over reacting they were in a very tough group. 2002 the team had basically the same composition of mls based players and euro based players and they reached the quarters so whats the panic button being pressed for.
Post by: ribbit on June 27, 2006, 06:14:11 PM

yes.
Post by: Midknight on July 19, 2006, 09:03:39 PM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

Oh, whatever. US were in a group with debutantes Ghana, ah ole-foot Czech Republic side and a very unimpressive Italy. Australia play some sweet ball against some good opponents.

unimpressive? Italy? The World Champions?

All the groups are going to be hard, and there are no givens," he says. "The last time around the easy games were China and Saudi Arabia. This time around you'd probably say Australia and Trinidad & Tobago are the weak ones. [based on the fact that they were the last non european playoff qualifiers]  But Australia has basically all its players in Europe, and Trinidad has a guy [Dwight Yorke] who was once arguably the top striker in soccer

Keep believing everything you read in the papers...
All yuh good oui
Post by: Toppa on July 19, 2006, 09:35:43 PM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

All the groups are going to be hard, and there are no givens," he says. "The last time around the easy games were China and Saudi Arabia. This time around you'd probably say Australia and Trinidad & Tobago are the weak ones. [based on the fact that they were the last non european playoff qualifiers]  But Australia has basically all its players in Europe, and Trinidad has a guy [Dwight Yorke] who was once arguably the top striker in soccer

All yuh good oui

YES Itay were unimpressive in the group stage.
Post by: Filho on July 20, 2006, 10:07:47 AM
HOW ALLYUH MEN SO CHUPID

All yuh good oui

YES Itay were unimpressive in the group stage.

To each his own...but Italy only looked unimpressive in 2 games
1) against the US (first round)
2) against Australia (round of 16)

They looked pretty good beating Ghana 2-0 and Czech Republic 2-0

As for Arena's comments..Midknight posted the full quote. I remember people getting all vex with Bruce Arena's arrogance and then the full quote was posted and everyone cooled down. Now this again...Bruce is not the only one who have to eat his words...all who get hot and bothered should learn to get the full story.  Arena is still a arrogant ass though...he and the US got what they deserved (although they get tief against Ghana). But this time he actually said something rather respectful to say about T&T and Australia
Post by: sprog on July 20, 2006, 01:09:21 PM
just goes to prove what an arse he is
Post by: Star Child on March 04, 2007, 06:10:35 AM
I wonder what Bruce Arena is up to now.... he paid for his big mouth....

What was the USA record at the 2006 world cup I forgot can anyone remind me....
Post by: Filho on March 04, 2007, 10:21:05 AM

He is the coach of the NY/NJ Red Bulls in the MLS
USA record at the WC was 0-3  ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

And since you open back up the can of worms you should go back and read what he really said. This long thread was a result of ignorance and dislike of US soccer. Fact is Bruce Arena said there are no weak teams in WC2006. He said if you look at the field you would think that T&T and Australia were the weakest teams because of their lack of experience at the WC. But T&T has Dwight Yorke who was once arguably the best striker in the world and the practically the entire Australian team plays in the EPL. So they are both dangerous. I obviously am not quoting his exact words, but that is the gist of it. Of course the tabloids like bachanal and their headlines read that Arena say T&T and Australia were the weakest. Sine then a transcript and online video of what he actually said surfaced and this should be dead and buried.

But his mouth real big and his arrogance was astounding. Nobody really like him so noone cares  :D his mouth did cost him his job, but only because he stood up against the USSF and their bull. If we had a coach he stood up against the TTFF and he got fired..he would be a hero. So I actually give him some props for that.
Post by: kicker on March 04, 2007, 10:25:08 AM

USA record at the WC was 0-3   ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

it was actually 0-2-1 (W-L-D)
Post by: Filho on March 04, 2007, 12:20:01 PM

oh yeah..they did tie against Italy
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 05, 2007, 06:58:29 AM

USA record at the WC was 0-3  ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

And since you open back up the can of worms you should go back and read what he really said. This long thread was a result of ignorance and dislike of US soccer. Fact is Bruce Arena said there are no weak teams in WC2006. He said if you look at the field you would think that T&T and Australia were the weakest teams because of their lack of experience at the WC. But T&T has Dwight Yorke who was once arguably the best striker in the world and the practically the entire Australian team plays in the EPL. So they are both dangerous. I obviously am not quoting his exact words, but that is the gist of it. Of course the tabloids like bachanal and their headlines read that Arena say T&T and Australia were the weakest. Sine then a transcript and online video of what he actually said surfaced and this should be dead and buried.

But his mouth real big and his arrogance was astounding. Nobody really like him so noone cares  :D his mouth did cost him his job, but only because he stood up against the USSF and their bull. If we had a coach he stood up against the TTFF and he got fired..he would be a hero. So I actually give him some props for that.

But seriously though Filho, even based on what he did actually say, shouldn't have bruce arena been wise enough and media-savvy enough to know that somebody somewhere would take what he said out of context and, to avoid any controversy, just simply declare something along the lines of "....there are no weak teams in a World Cup.  Everybody that makes it there deserves to be there...." kinda ting,....and leave it at that?  Maybe (again) I am being a little too ideal in my views, but bruce and the USA (regardless of their result against Italy) could hardly have looked at their group going into the WC and really expected to do all that well.  I woulda tell them/that reporter "....I have my own tough group to worry about , blah, blah, blah" and leave it at dat.  Maybe that is asking too much of his level of arrogance in truth.
Post by: TRUwarrior on March 05, 2007, 09:34:11 AM
Arena is ah real C.U.Next.Tuesday!!!!!
Post by: grskywalker on March 05, 2007, 09:42:20 AM

Well they did not score, it was an own goal
Post by: Coop's on March 05, 2007, 09:48:00 AM

Does that mean they lost?
Post by: Filho on March 05, 2007, 09:49:21 AM

all goals count. but if you want to go there....they scored against Ghana. so the US scored at least 1 'legit' goal.
Post by: Filho on March 05, 2007, 10:06:06 AM
   But seriously though Filho, even based on what he did actually say, shouldn't have bruce arena been wise enough and media-savvy enough to know that somebody somewhere would take what he said out of context and, to avoid any controversy, just simply declare something along the lines of "....there are no weak teams in a World Cup.  Everybody that makes it there deserves to be there...." kinda ting,....and leave it at that?  Maybe (again) I am being a little too ideal in my views, but bruce and the USA (regardless of their result against Italy) could hardly have looked at their group going into the WC and really expected to do all that well.  I woulda tell them/that reporter "....I have my own tough group to worry about , blah, blah, blah" and leave it at dat.  Maybe that is asking too much of his level of arrogance in truth.

Yeah Chow u have a good point. Wasn't the wisest way to answer the question. I still don't think there was anything mean-spirited behind his statement. But he was a kind of idiot when he was ready, so no surprise that people easily believed he said that. It was inkeeping with his public persona
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 05, 2007, 10:35:05 AM

Yeah Chow u have a good point. Wasn't the wisest way to answer the question. I still don't think there was anything mean-spirited behind his statement. But he was a kind of idiot when he was ready, so no surprise that people easily believed he said that. It was inkeeping with his public persona

Man, we are always taught, and end up learning many times over,that you should not judge a book by its cover, but if it's one person you could look at and instantly tell is a imps....is he.  :devil:  I think he most times, just couldn't help himself.
Post by: banton on March 05, 2007, 07:59:46 PM
f**k arena and that shit ass us team :devil:
Post by: Sam on November 22, 2016, 03:42:30 PM
Will Bruce is back as US coach.

Post by: soccerman on November 22, 2016, 07:13:14 PM
I forgot about this thread....hoping we can beat them in June just for his comments :praying:
Post by: coache on November 22, 2016, 11:05:13 PM
Well with Bruce Arena back at the helm there is no chance for T+T to qualify for WC 2018.
The eventual results of the Hex would be as follows:

Costa Rica
USA
Mexico
Panama
Trinidad and Tobago
Honduras

Sorry fans it's over.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 23, 2016, 05:41:09 AM
Well with Bruce Arena back at the helm there is no chance for T+T to qualify for WC 2018.
The eventual results of the Hex would be as follows:

Costa Rica
USA
Mexico
Panama
Trinidad and Tobago
Honduras

Sorry fans it's over.

Respectfully, disagree. Not out of emotion. Time to teach surly Bruce Arena a lesson. And I am not convinced by Panama's endurance. Long journey.
Post by: Trini Madness on November 23, 2016, 09:37:43 AM
2 games in and you're already throwing in the towel? Yes it's a bad start and there might be conflict in the office as well but we still have a long way to go and plenty of room to improve. We can do this!

The team arena had back then was alot better than the current team now.
Post by: Preacher on November 23, 2016, 10:53:52 AM
What some folks seem to realize about the modern game is that it's modern.  Nothing is what is used to be.  Yanks are still gonna struggle.  Hopefully we can do enough but as we've shown in the past.  We can play with CR, Mexico and the USA. 
Post by: Controversial on November 23, 2016, 05:17:28 PM
We will qualify as long as David stays out of our coaching and team selection.. he is the reason we are losing..

Post by: just cool on November 23, 2016, 08:07:37 PM
the bully football is back, and that's what works best for them. these boys could not play klinsman system, it was too high for their little minds to comprehend, it's like feeding sponge cake to hogs.

now watch those hogs roll over every body, hard luck T&T, qatar here we come???  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on October 11, 2017, 08:11:57 AM
Bruce Arena

Post by: truehaitian on October 11, 2017, 08:12:55 AM
A little respect in the Caribbean.
A good day for Caribbean football

Haiti ties Asian soccer power house, world cup bound Japan 3-3 in Japan (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jkm9CGmvTk)

Curacao beats Qatar 2-1 in Qatar (by the way Qatar recently defeated Russia 2-1)(Both, future host of the next world cups )

Trinidad eliminates USA 2-1 for the 2018 world cup.