Sports => Football => Topic started by: AB.Trini on July 01, 2006, 03:11:06 PM

Title: The biggest upset at the W.C so far.....for you had to be when...
Post by: AB.Trini on July 01, 2006, 03:11:06 PM
The Soca Warriors held Sweden to a draw in game one. TNT started the year of world cup upsets.

After that game which game ranks as the biggest upset so far?
Title: Re: We knew there would be upsets at the World Cup when....?
Post by: Reaper2004 on July 01, 2006, 03:16:07 PM
I agree with you at that
Title: Re: Biggest upsets at the W.C so far.....
Post by: PantherX on July 01, 2006, 04:47:10 PM
Ghana's 2-0 defeat of the Czech republic is considered the biggest upset thus far but I feel that's because Ghana was underestimated all tournament.
Post by: trini supporter on July 01, 2006, 06:53:33 PM
Its a tie between our draw with Sweden and the Ghana defeat of the Czechs
Post by: 1989 on July 01, 2006, 06:57:17 PM
THe biggest upset so far is Brazil not making the finals.
Second is Sweden versus Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: Grande on July 01, 2006, 07:12:46 PM

I wouldn't say our game against Sweden was an upset as much as it was a shock
Post by: lickslikefire on July 01, 2006, 07:18:24 PM
I think Ghana vs. Czech Rep was the biggest upset....far bigger than our game against sweden..
Post by: SUPA on July 01, 2006, 07:29:38 PM

I agree wid dat, Brazil not in de finals is ah big shock tuh de world. Wid dat group of players, yuh would think dey cud turn it on anytime, and embarrass de other teams, but ah guess dey cannot.
Title: Re: The biggest upset at the W.C so far.....for you had to be when...
Post by: AB.Trini on July 02, 2006, 09:52:24 AM
The way people carrying on, it would appear the the English loss to Portugal is ranking up dey in terms of upsets.

Judging by FIFA rankings of teams prior to the tournament, which team besides Brazil, has fallen the most?
Post by: jub02 on July 02, 2006, 10:02:03 AM
Spain.. but fifa rankings mean nothing..It would mean USA Also..as the USA and Spain are tied in 5th place for rankings. ??? ??? ???
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2006, 11:32:04 AM
deutchland should be ranked 1 england should be rank 7 trinidad should not be ranked because thetoo poor jamaica should be rank 10 ghana rank 8 france rank 6

you should be ranked "idiot"
Post by: Liver-Munich FC on July 02, 2006, 11:38:16 AM
it is true because england beat us 5-1 but u never wil beat us u to baddest
Post by: Grande on July 02, 2006, 11:42:40 AM
it is true because england beat us 5-1 but u never wil beat us u to baddest

doh forget that 3-1 cutarse your full-strength team collect from a 3rd string Korea squad
Post by: TriniCana on July 02, 2006, 11:42:46 AM
for me is ah toss up between brazil not being in dey finals and ghana mashing up czech
Post by: andre samuel on July 02, 2006, 11:45:06 AM
deutchland should be ranked 1 england should be rank 7 trinidad should not be ranked because thetoo poor jamaica should be rank 10 ghana rank 8 france rank 6

kicker........i shocked you responded to that!!

dat is de kinda post that yuh just have to watch and laugh

Post by: kicker on July 02, 2006, 12:34:55 PM

kicker........i shocked you responded to that!!

dat is de kinda post that yuh just have to watch and laugh

true dat..... ;D, but ah had to give him a lil rankin' of his own......
Post by: doh_stick on July 02, 2006, 12:44:31 PM
trinidad holding Sweden is biggest upset for me
Post by: jub02 on July 02, 2006, 02:00:05 PM
england fans love you for that serious
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2006, 02:05:14 PM
The biggest upset was what Crouch do Sancho...that had me upset for days...

seriously though, I notice nobody ent calling angola name. They held Mexico to 0-0 with 10 men as well...That should rank about the same with us against Sweden, and judging by fifa rankings, even more...
Post by: jub02 on July 02, 2006, 03:29:14 PM
fifa rankings mean nothing! do you rate USA and Spain at the same level?
                                       Do you rate Nigeria 11th?
                                       Do you rate Germany lower than the USA..alot lower?
                                       Do you rate czech republic 2nd?
etc etc
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2006, 04:00:55 PM
i wasn't particularly making a case for the rankings...I was just saying... the problem is according to your point of view, you could make the case for sweden being a middling european side

and actually yes. I rate a fit injury free with nedved on song czech republic 2nd
Post by: sweetjo on July 02, 2006, 07:40:25 PM
When Ghana beat the Czechs and of course, the fact that Brazil going home already.
Post by: Latent on July 02, 2006, 07:44:55 PM
My tope thre upsets were

1) Trinidad and Tobago holding Sweden to a draw-  :beermug:  :beermug:

2) Ghana defeating Czech Republic

3) Ghana defeating USA
Post by: Source on July 02, 2006, 08:24:10 PM
Alberta I say amen to that!
Post by: daryn on July 02, 2006, 08:53:07 PM
My tope thre upsets were

1) Trinidad and Tobago holding Sweden to a draw-  :beermug:  :beermug:

2) Ghana defeating Czech Republic

3) Ghana defeating USA

Is Ghana defeating USA really an upset?  I really don't understand how an objective observer would have had the US as a favourite going into that game
Post by: AB.Trini on July 03, 2006, 12:16:04 PM
Crouch scored aganist us despite  pictures which revealed that he blatantly pulled at Sancho's hair. The more I read of  the English Whine against Cristiano, the more I get upset at Crouch for getting away with what he did.
Post by: sprog on July 03, 2006, 12:47:14 PM
No matter who they play once Brazil lose, that have to be the biggest upset, This was their world cup to lose and i guess they did just that. Trust me the biggest upset is yet to come, i feel Portugal taking it all in convincing fashion, Germany is the only team i feel can stop them.
Post by: jub02 on July 03, 2006, 01:32:06 PM
France all the way
Post by: arrow on July 03, 2006, 06:49:03 PM
Anytime USA draw with Italy that is a shock, far less with a man down for 2nd half
Post by: noname on July 03, 2006, 07:35:50 PM
My biggest upset moments of this world cup:

1) When I jump on the train to Kaiserslautern and then 15 million other people cram in and have me holding onto a 70lb hiking backpack with somebody knee in meh calf. This was done for the entire 53 mins train ride.

2) When I lost meh camera with ALL the pics from Amsterdam in Kaiserslautern cause of pure dotishness on my part. That was a kinda sign of tings to come.

3) When meh partner loss his camera somewhere between Dortmund and Weisbadan with the picture of the girls I was supposed to meet the next day. I was so tight in Dortmund I couldnt even remember what they look like the next afternoon when i wake up so I start to look for the camera...only to realise he loss the damn ting..so I watching everybody hard hard trying to figure out if it was them or not. Actually this could be number 1 lol

Seriously though, biggest upset had to be ghana vs czech.
Post by: Storeboy on July 03, 2006, 07:42:01 PM
The biggest upset was what Crouch do Sancho...that had me upset for days...

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Now that is funny!  My pick is Ghana over Czech Rep
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2006, 09:36:49 PM
for me is ah toss up between brazil not being in dey finals and ghana mashing up czech

I second that emotion!
Post by: boss on July 04, 2006, 06:00:45 AM
AlbertaTrini, if you were a Brazilian footballer, would you be Carlos Alberta? Sorry...I tired...

In my mind, you can't categorise a draw as an upset (of course, in my mind the Czech Republic were going to win the World Cup, so what do I know) so my upset is Argentina 6 - S&M 0. I expected Argentina to win, but by that margin? That level of lix? That comprehensive cutarse?
Post by: dinho on July 04, 2006, 06:03:44 AM
de biggest upset is these english crying down ronaldo, de ref, sven, de side, rooney etc. etc...

dey real upset boy!
Post by: Pompey on July 04, 2006, 06:56:54 AM
From what I can see, the people getting really excited about Engliand going out are the Trinibagonians.  ::)

I don't think Brazil's exit was a shock, but I think the fact it was France who knocked them out was. Everybody wrote france off before the world cup and despite being prety poor in the group stage, they have started to turn on the style.

You guys drawing with Sweden was a great result, but I don't think it was an upset like Ghana beating the Czech republis. That for me was the biggest shock so far.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 04, 2006, 07:19:57 AM
SHOCK /UPSET a matter of semantics. I am sure that there are many amongst us who figures Brazil is alwyas a favourite to win the whole thing!!! Brazil losing and not being able to mount any serious shots on  France's goalkeeper is a bit of a SHOCK. The loss is an UPSET.

Carlos ALBERTA? nah if I was Brazialian, I might be some Richidilino and upsetting all dem samba women. Now that would be shocking.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 04, 2006, 06:11:56 PM

I second that emotion!
I thought france & henry was gonna flop and not do sh!t at all ??? I dont think henry scoring against brazil was big enough opposition for you :rotfl: ;D
Post by: AB.Trini on July 04, 2006, 06:42:14 PM
This Italy win could be upsetting to a lot  of Germans today!!!