Sports => Football => Topic started by: A.B. on July 05, 2006, 07:37:44 PM

Title: They may never....
Post by: A.B. on July 05, 2006, 07:37:44 PM
Them Yankees will never "get" football....and it's ok....but this was a funny article

http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/story?page=simmons/060705
Title: Re: They may never....
Post by: g on July 05, 2006, 07:50:27 PM
His ignorance is funny if nothing else.
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 07:55:39 PM
True dat...he nicely inject a lil humor into he level of cluelessness
Post by: Bitter on July 05, 2006, 07:58:38 PM
Doh worry about whether they "get" it or not.
It come like soca. They doh get it, so what, i like it and I will watch it and would you please sit down and shut up.
Post by: big dawg on July 05, 2006, 07:59:14 PM
True dat...he nicely inject a lil humor into he level of cluelessness

Cluelessness is not even the word
Post by: Jah Gol on July 05, 2006, 08:03:16 PM
There was an article about America's "heroic" performance against Italy. It claimed that likes of Trinidad and Tobago would be more appreciated because there is more romance to the story of some crap like that. Articles like this one justify the absurdities the American football journalists and bloggers had to write to defend their sport. The talk about 'soccer' growing in America was brought into perspective when I watching Sports Centre a few months ago and heard that the attendance at a lacrose match over 14000(that is similar to MLS attendances).
Post by: kounty on July 05, 2006, 08:14:28 PM
they say in 2010 the uis will be over 40 % mexican.  notice no mexicans on sports center - they only talking to part of the population.  galavision, univision and telemundo and telefutura are all us based channels where even the weathermen wouln't write weird crap like this.   but it was funny though, and he didn't try to dis the sport until the last paragraph.
Post by: ttcom on July 05, 2006, 08:21:11 PM
I guess the guy enjoy watching sorry arse teams in baseball, basketball, football(true name handball), ended their in last place every year without any recourse. i.e. move to a lower league. All US sports  promote losing is OK. Only the coach get the boot. Also the idiot World Cup involve 192 countries not 12 states with two teams each. Let me stop venting.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 05, 2006, 08:23:22 PM
leh we look at the upside
is a start
at least the man watch bits and pieces and say he like the Word Cup even if it is for the wrong reasons

if he could influence 2 or 3 others it might snoball

is just wishfull thinking...............I know
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 05, 2006, 08:25:16 PM
the bottom line is that americans have no respect for de game of football.
Post by: Filho on July 05, 2006, 08:51:02 PM

the bottom line is generalization is not wise. many americans love, understand and follow football religiously. most do not...so what? the sport has a small loyal following....since when is it a mandate that football has to be the most popular sport in every country. dissing americans because football is not their favorite sport is illogical and smells of herd mentality. concern yourself with the level of education that the true fans in the US have and what they have to say. everyone else ain't no different from Brazilians, Argentines or Trinis that don't love football..they just doh matter in any football debate
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 05, 2006, 08:55:26 PM

the bottom line is generalization is not wise. many americans love, understand and follow football religiously. most do not...so what? the sport has a small loyal following....since when is it a mandate that football has to be the most popular sport in every country. dissing americans because football is not their favorite sport is illogical and smells of herd mentality. concern yourself with the level of education that the true fans in the US have and what they have to say. everyone else ain't no different from Brazilians, Argentines or Trinis that don't love football..they just doh matter in any football debate
i have spoken to alot of americans,whether it at work,train,street or casual talk,none of them could have answered simple questions.maybe where you hail from bredda,but where i am,they couldn't give ah damn.
Post by: sinned on July 05, 2006, 09:04:37 PM
bill simmons writes mainly for amusement -- i read his articles a lot and he's just playing the fool half the time. basically he writes for the audience and feigns ignorance to appeal to the football (soccer) ignoramuses that is the US reading audience. I wouldn't take him too seriously
Post by: E-man on July 05, 2006, 09:06:25 PM
bill simmons writes mainly for amusement -- i read his articles a lot and he's just playing the fool half the time. basically he writes for the audience and feigns ignorance to appeal to the football (soccer) ignoramuses that is the US reading audience. I wouldn't take him too seriously

That's the take I got from reading it. He's not that clueless. Look whose picture he picked to represent diving. He knows what's up.
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2006, 09:09:59 PM
Anyone who is familiar with Bill Simmons would not use him as an "American" benchmark..especially in a "soccer" capacity...his writing is primarily for comic relief...take it for what it is and just laugh.

And dey still cuttin' our ass going and coming.......what does that say ?

But seriously....You're right "soccer" still only has a cult following here......but it's catching on. I was surprised amount of fellas I know who have no clue about the game were actually watching all the games on the weekend...and trying to get live feeds to watch games during the week etc....it catching on man. The mere fact that someone like Bill Simmons would have a World Cup column is testament that the sport is becoming more mainstream here in the States.

Post by: Organic on July 05, 2006, 09:10:54 PM

true.....we shouldnt fight them down because they dont like it..but should w eallow dem to disrespect and belittle it because they dont fancy it. it seems if it isnt important to the usa..it shouldnt be important to any one else and they...try to make it seem less....than it is.  in the same breath though they obviously ignorant they try and fight down the sport. how childish is that.  fire for them as a commentator said ..u guys play soccer the rest of the world will play football.
Post by: Fyzoman on July 05, 2006, 09:11:05 PM
it have a "behind god back" here in the us? i would love to know ah place here in de usa where at least NOBODY eh know nothing bout football.....anyway here in de midwest, kids-and dey parents-soccer-ah mean football-crazy, just now the word soccermom go be included in the dictionary.....football will never replace baseball, basketball, and de other football in the us, and yuh know what, nothin wrong wid dat as far as i'm concerned.......
Post by: sinned on July 05, 2006, 09:15:14 PM
The truth is that football will catch on in the US. The "soccer" generation is now growing up - a partner of mine tell me he and his friends grow up playing baseball-- now all he nephew and niece and them growing up playing "soccer". The truth is that America is secretly embarassed they arent in love with football -- they wish they could have such passion and national pride in a sport that the whole world cares about -- educated people in the US watching the world cup and trying to learn the game so they wouldnt look stupid-- man who never watch football before streaming games on they PC in work and thing to watch.
Post by: Organic on July 05, 2006, 09:18:06 PM

That's the take I got from reading it. He's not that clueless. Look whose picture he picked to represent diving. He knows what's up.
not being clueless and being knowlageble is 2 different ball games. i know enough about ice hockey not to sound dotish..but am i knowledgable..nopes....and even though he knows "stuff" he jus uses that be scarstic and poke fun. steups americans to ego and ethnocentric
Post by: doh_stick on July 05, 2006, 09:27:22 PM
I just waiting for de time when I pass by all de parks dey have around by me and instead of men throwing a frisbee or tossing an american football (not that anything wrong with that) they kicking small goal instead.
Post by: A.B. on July 05, 2006, 10:18:18 PM
Overheard conversation on June 8th:

"Hey man are u following the world cup this year?" 

"Where is it this year? Nah not really."

"How come?"

"I dunno, ya know....are there any U.S. clubs in it this year?"  ??? ??? ???

Just give up.  I will say though, doh hate on their sports - you don't have to go there to prove your point....most people like myself who have spent a lot of time here will tell you that their "football" is extremely entertaining.  BASEBALL is a mess and boring as hell, but they could say that about cricket and they would have a point if you looked at it objectively.

Let's agree they will never "get" the beautful game, and I wish everyone would stop trying to make them.  It's ok....we have 4 billion others to watch.
Post by: saga pinto on July 06, 2006, 05:55:55 AM
But the real question here is, does the world cup need america or america needs the world cup,I'll say this,since I've been watching the world cup over the years,they've been very vocal in dissing the beautiful game and it has continued to grow by leaps and bounds and still remains the number one sport worldwide with or without there participation.

The core of the problem with america is if they not winning,it ain't good,so something must be terribly wrong,Lets be serious here the most powerful country in the world eluded by the world cup.while it may not be getting much play throughout the high profile media,it's at the back of there minds,so meanwhile let's poke fun at the game.

The Saga continues until next time in near future,but Hopefully I'll be here waiting..............       
Post by: injunchile on July 06, 2006, 06:10:23 AM
USA is the only country that play among themselves and call it a WOrld Series- Amazing.
Post by: kicker on July 06, 2006, 06:38:37 AM
Arrite Arrite.....Why we doh hush and stop fighting down people ? All the worship we claim to worship football in Trinidad we only just grace the world stage for the first time......

A stupid comical sports article and the common he say she say is not a sign of disrespect to the game. The unprofessional attitude that we've had to the sport for our entire existence is disrespectful to the game....

You want to talk about disrespect to the World's greatest game, take a look in the mirror and see the abundance of wasted talent that has emerged from our own soil, the unprofessional attitude, the  ignorance of what it takes to make it on the World Stage, and the disgraceful performances that we have tolerated and put up with for God knows how long, the idiot coaches that we have allowed to guide our team at the highest level, and the still glaring lack of infrastructure that we have in Trinidad with respect to the World's greatest game......

We say that the U.S. will never get "soccer"....we as far I'm concerned we eh get it yet either because they cuttin' our ass going and coming, and they have proven to have more of a clue of what it takes to compete at the highest level............

And doh get tie up with our "fans" either....outside of this board (and even inside of it to some extent)...plenty Trinis doh have a clue.

We could stay here and fight down people..... all we doing is just foolin' ourselves with ole talk.......

Thanks for article Ato, it was funny.
Post by: Jumbie on July 06, 2006, 06:52:53 AM
And doh get tie up with our "fans" either....outside of this board (and even inside of it to some extent)...plenty Trinis doh have a clue.

Well said..
Post by: Dutty on July 06, 2006, 06:53:41 AM
Change in foreign policy  :D

(http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/4002/image51hs.gif)
Post by: Andre on July 06, 2006, 07:06:24 AM
that shit was funny. i like:

4. There's something fascinating about the underlying baggage in every game. My buddy Kurt e-mailed me last week, "If you're a Nazi war criminal who escaped the Allied forces after WWII, who do you root for tomorrow: Germany, who propelled you to the top of their system, or Argentina, who took you in and helped hide your crimes against humanity?"

5. The postgame ritual of players exchanging sweaty jerseys cracks me up. Imagine if some Czech guy, drenched from running around in 95-degree heat for an hour and a half, handed you his shirt. Ah, gee, thanks … Can't wait to put this in my duffel … No, really, this is great.
Post by: Filho on July 06, 2006, 08:01:16 AM
Arrite Arrite.....Why we doh hush and stop fighting down people ? All the worship we claim to worship football in Trinidad we only just grace the world stage for the first time......

A stupid comical sports article and the common he say she say is not a sign of disrespect to the game. The unprofessional attitude that we've had to the sport for our entire existence is disrespectful to the game....

You want to talk about disrespect to the World's greatest game, take a look in the mirror and see the abundance of wasted talent that has emerged from our own soil, the unprofessional attitude, the  ignorance of what it takes to make it on the World Stage, and the disgraceful performances that we have tolerated and put up with for God knows how long, the idiot coaches that we have allowed to guide our team at the highest level, and the still glaring lack of infrastructure that we have in Trinidad with respect to the World's greatest game......

We say that the U.S. will never get "soccer"....we as far I'm concerned we eh get it yet either because they cuttin' our ass going and coming, and they have proven to have more of a clue of what it takes to compete at the highest level............

We could stay here and fight down people..... all we doing is just foolin' ourselves with ole talk.......

Well said kicker...but nobody want to hear that because ignorance and broad stupid generalizations about the US is the hobby of choice on this board.
Post by: Marcos on July 06, 2006, 08:04:29 AM
That article was boss.
The Sports Guy is always real kicks.
Not only was it funny, but a lot of his comments were true or at least had some element of truth to them.
The man made it clear why it isn't as highly regarded in the US
"That's why pro soccer will never catch on here: Nobody wants to watch a bunch of second-rate guys playing a sport that isn't that interesting in the first place. Fundamentally, it can't work. "

With the exception of "a sport that isn't that interesting in the first place," he has a point.
And at least the man understands the life and death consequences of the wold cup
Post by: Filho on July 06, 2006, 08:12:03 AM
USA is the only country that play among themselves and call it a WOrld Series- Amazing.

Yeah..hahaha i always used to find that arrogant until I learned of the true origins of the title at school. Actually...those competitions were sponsored by a now defunct newspaper called 'The World'. Hence the name. It was just a clever pun that lent a little grandiosity to the proceedings. Nothing to do with arrogance. There is a baseball world championship and the winner of that is considered the real world champ, by most Americans too. They consider the olympic basketball champ as world champions...that is why they send their 'dream team'. They take it very seriously. Some American fans don't know that though and can be very arrogant and insular about their sports...so you're right on some level...but not entirely. The USA is made up of diverse individuals like every where else in the world..some cool...some not so cool. Many ahte football...many love football. Let's stop fighting down an entire nation...not all Americans are arrogant egotistical football hating insular bastards. Not even close
Post by: Pompey on July 06, 2006, 08:15:49 AM
45 minutes without a break is a long time for an american tv channel to go without an advert. If the TV channels don't like it, it will never take off because the commercialism isn.t there.

Every yank I know who lives over here loves football. They love the game, the atmosphere and the passion that goes with it (When was the last time a grid iron player looked like he was dead on his feet but still ran his arse off for his team., they only play 30 seconds at a time ffs), so it's not a case of the yanks not liking the game, it's more a case of the game just doesn't get the coverage it needs to make it as big as Basketball, Baseball, or that funny game where they wear helmets and shoulder pads.
Post by: saga pinto on July 06, 2006, 08:27:21 AM

Well said kicker...but nobody want to hear that because ignorance and broad stupid generalizations about the US is the hobby of choice on this board.

Speak for yourself filho and enough with the generalizations,It's demeaning to say the least, kicker all respect still. I for one agree with the statement  our wasted talent,lack of professionalism has been disrespectful to the game in the past,but that's in the past,we're forging onwards to greater things and hopefully with gods good grace most of us will be around to see the changes for the better and not the worse............
Post by: grskywalker on July 06, 2006, 08:30:47 AM
What is most annoying about this is that these are sports writers and media reps. Americans mostly follow what the media wants them to follow and putting this info out there, although humorous at times leaves even more clueless Americans with a bitter taste about the beautiful game.

My nephew who is only 8 was born in the US and is developing into quite a little player, but when I ask him if he would play for Trinidad and Tobago he says no. He wants to play for USA (aaahhh) I have to bring him back from the DARKSIDE. The kids growing up now seem to be more interested in the game than their parents and maybe down the road or a generation from now America might finally get it.
Post by: Filho on July 06, 2006, 08:43:16 AM

Speak for yourself filho and enough with the generalizations,It's demeaning to say the least, kicker all respect still. I for one agree with the statement  our wasted talent,lack of professionalism has been disrespectful to the game in the past,but that's in the past,we're forging onwards to greater things and hopefully with gods good grace most of us will be around to see the changes for the better and not the worse............

Thanks Saga..that is my point exactly. I wrote a few responses on this thread and other threads trying to explain why these broad generalizations of US attitude to football make no sense. I doh think it made a note. Finally I say lemme just light a fire and post my response as an ignorant generalization of Tini attitudes to the issue to show it kinda offensive. I'm glad you find it demeaning..so do I
Post by: Pointman on July 06, 2006, 08:47:58 AM
I think many of these guys see the writing on the walls, in a few years soccer will be a major sport here in the US given the changing demographics. They simply have this "circle the wagon" mind set(in this writer's case hidden under the guise of humor) that soccer is a foreign sport and that their homegrown ones need to be forever "protected". What could be more boring than baseball.

Times are a changing folks, wake up and smell the Colombian, Ethiopian,Brazilian, Jamaican, coffee. Soccer will soon have mass appeal, if it hasn't already, and probably take over as the major American sport.
Post by: Observer on July 06, 2006, 08:51:35 AM
I honestly believe it has something to do with the fact that they (USA) cannot dominate football. The USA have a mentality of domination in sport, but seldom show interest in sports that they struggle in. Just llok at the headlines and articles that were written in WC2002, when they were playing Germany to advance. Many really felt they had a good shot at it, they were on a roll and the media went nuts. Even the traditional nay sayers were writeing about how they don't watch the sport but they must admit the games have been great yada yada yada. It was basically the same with ice hockey, until the won the Gold medal, next thing you know Florida have an ice hockey team.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on July 06, 2006, 09:29:50 AM
Americans love winning, when the race to the moon was on between the U.S. and the Russians back in the 60's americans claimed first place, only to find out years later while watching a CBC documentary they really landed on a movie set in England where they were filming '2001 a space oddesy' an to this day the whole world believes they landed on the moon back then. In the race to get 20 million barrels of oil per day which is what america requires each morning just to get going, the president attacked Iraq after two jets flew into the WTC towers in NYC, canadians did an interview with persons who were at the scene that day and came up with the conclusion that it was an implosion that caused the towers to fall, an the question now is who pushed the button. What does this have to do with football, the US is doing a fantastic job in football so far and this is without the support of main steam america, should main stream america along with the president say we are winning the next world cup, it will happen, by any means necessary.......
Post by: dinho on July 06, 2006, 09:42:46 AM
Personally, my opinion is that the commercial aspect of the sport is what makes it unpopular as a mainstream sport in the US, and not so much not liking or understand the sport itself.

If you think of it, moreless the first sport american's push their children into from tender ages is 'soccer'. You always hear about the 'soccer moms' and the 'taking my kids to soccer practice'.

But the glitz and glamour and instant gratification nature of sports like basketball, hockey and american football just fit more in with the commercial culture.

In football you can't call a timeout. You can draw up a play to beat the buzzer. You can't call a trick play.

Until the media accepts it, its not going to be mainstream... And that will be never...
Post by: Dutty on July 06, 2006, 09:46:59 AM
Americans love winning, when the race to the moon was on between the U.S. and the Russians back in the 60's americans claimed first place, only to find out years later while watching a CBC documentary they really landed on a movie set in England where they were filming '2001 a space oddesy' an to this day the whole world believes they landed on the moon back then. In the race to get 20 million barrels of oil per day which is what america requires each morning just to get going, the president attacked Iraq after two jets flew into the WTC towers in NYC, canadians did an interview with persons who were at the scene that day and came up with the conclusion that it was an implosion that caused the towers to fall, an the question now is who pushed the button. What does this have to do with football, the US is doing a fantastic job in football so far and this is without the support of main steam america, should main stream america along with the president say we are winning the next world cup, it will happen, by any means necessary.......

When we link up sunday ah go buy yuh ah beer and ah piece ah chicken for sneakin in two big conspairacy theories in ah football thread
Post by: A.B. on July 06, 2006, 10:05:35 AM
I find Americans should stick to sports that they do well.... for example

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTUIMEHv1x4&search=720%20dunk
Post by: Observer on July 06, 2006, 10:14:35 AM

When we link up sunday ah go buy yuh ah beer and ah piece ah chicken for sneakin in two big conspairacy theories in ah football thread

Hahhaah ENT! This was what a movie called Capricorn 1 was about ;D
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on July 06, 2006, 10:30:34 AM
Dutty yuh know canadian have plaster for all kind ah yankee sore, but american minds on 'WAR cup' right now an Chavez just get 100,000 kalishnehkov rifles and Bush send down two war ship, they say the war games go start just now, ah hoping we soca warriors not in that tornament.
Post by: kicker on July 06, 2006, 10:54:26 AM

I thought yuh was gonna post a clip of Maurice Greene (joke  ;D....sorry it slipped)...

...that dunk was something else though....
Post by: Weh-it-is on July 06, 2006, 11:11:55 AM

true.....we shouldnt fight them down because they dont like it..but should w eallow dem to disrespect and belittle it because they dont fancy it. it seems if it isnt important to the usa..it shouldnt be important to any one else and they...try to make it seem less....than it is.  in the same breath though they obviously ignorant they try and fight down the sport. how childish is that.  fire for them as a commentator said ..u guys play soccer the rest of the world will play football.

Alyuh we must understand that the game of Soccer or as we say football was not that of a popular sport in the US as per say Brazil where they life and die football. So it would take time for fans or the people of the US to catch on to the game or back the sport as they do baseball or basketball. One the game get's more popular because right now it's only in the urban area's here in the US when it get down to the hood where the black folks are or minorities are and gets a hold of the game look out for the Lebron's and the Michael Jordan’s of soccer in the future! They know nothing of the game or it’s origin but has made it to the world cup a couple of time because the strong backing from the Minister of Sports or the love for sports. They produce top athletes...now add some football knowledge and some bothers from the hood… then they’ll be alright!!

Post by: Dutty on July 06, 2006, 11:14:36 AM

I thought yuh was gonna post a clip of Maurice Greene (joke  ;D....sorry it slipped)...

...that dunk was something else though....
Yeah boy!! woi!!! dat was impressive as all hell

Ato dais college or high school hoops?
Post by: Pointman on July 06, 2006, 11:18:04 AM
I honestly believe it has something to do with the fact that they (USA) cannot dominate football. The USA have a mentality of domination in sport, but seldom show interest in sports that they struggle in. Just llok at the headlines and articles that were written in WC2002, when they were playing Germany to advance. Many really felt they had a good shot at it, they were on a roll and the media went nuts. Even the traditional nay sayers were writeing about how they don't watch the sport but they must admit the games have been great yada yada yada. It was basically the same with ice hockey, until the won the Gold medal, next thing you know Florida have an ice hockey team.

::) They can't even dominate Baseball...ask Japan? Cannot dominate hockey...ask Canada
They cannot dominate basketball...ask Lithuania.   Football(of the American variety)...well nobody else plays it.
So what's left...Track and Field, calling Ato Boldon.  Swimming?  Howdie mate, Australia might say differently.

Too much American hype in their sports.
Post by: Pointman on July 06, 2006, 11:22:06 AM
that dunk was dope doh ::) :o ;D :beermug:
Post by: saga pinto on July 06, 2006, 12:23:59 PM
Dutty yuh know canadian have plaster for all kind ah yankee sore, but american minds on 'WAR cup' right now an Chavez just get 100,000 kalishnehkov rifles and Bush send down two war ship, they say the war games go start just now, ah hoping we soca warriors not in that tornament.

We too close to venezuela not to get involve somehow,they go find ah way to use we..............
Post by: A.B. on July 06, 2006, 07:14:26 PM
They are not going to dominate all of track, especially post BALCO....they will do well but Jamaica and other countries are right there...they will probably always do well in the sprints though.  They currently have the world champion at 100, 200 and 400 on the men's side and the 100, 200 world champion and 400m silver medalist on the women's side, so that gives a hint as to how well they are doing.

Yes that dunk is crazy.  It have men could do the jump but to actually spin that much and then put it in, well lets just say I sure he miss that 100 times before he perfected it...and to do it in a game....

It's from the AND1 streetball series u see on ESPN and ESPN 2 sometimes.  Set that tivo cuz is things on there u wish u could see in the NBA.
Post by: Organic on July 06, 2006, 07:22:24 PM
Overheard conversation on June 8th:

"Hey man are u following the world cup this year?" 

"Where is it this year? Nah not really."

"How come?"

"I dunno, ya know....are there any U.S. clubs in it this year?"  ??? ??? ???

Just give up.  I will say though, doh hate on their sports - you don't have to go there to prove your point....most people like myself who have spent a lot of time here will tell you that their "football" is extremely entertaining.  BASEBALL is a mess and boring as hell, but they could say that about cricket and they would have a point if you looked at it objectively.

Let's agree they will never "get" the beautful game, and I wish everyone would stop trying to make them.  It's ok....we have 4 billion others to watch.
man objectively..boring.....cricket's interest lies in its sophistication man.  this might be an extreme way to explain but look at the countries/ areas of the world( not withstanding the fact that they were british colonies which may be the overididng factor) that play cricket.  countires with intelligent ppl. lol and to further support my point there are many british african colonies which cricket isnt that popular. lol..not saying they not as smart as trini and india  :P. americans like things dumb down for them and they dont liek to think much. cricket invloves alot of thinking..alot.its a chess game. my pt is...cricket attracts smart and skilled ppl...i nto saying all smart ppl like cricket.. americans perfer to beef up on steriods ..look even in baseball..now i dont knwo and i not syaing they dont have it in say cricket...if they do its very limited though.  american football decent but its to start stop for a game thats supposed to me a contact sport.
Post by: A.B. on July 06, 2006, 08:33:28 PM
Nah nah I eh know bout that....u ever see an NFL playbook....?  silly mid-on and fielding shifts ent have nuttin on that.
Post by: Lightning on July 07, 2006, 07:36:37 AM
more support for your point

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/worldcup/2006-07-06-soccer-in-the-us_x.htm
Post by: Filho on July 07, 2006, 10:17:44 AM

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/worldcup/2006-07-06-soccer-in-the-us_x.htm

whose point?

It reads like a pretty balanced article showing why some in the US love football and why it will grow and why many hate it or are not interested and why they think it will never reach a mainstream audience.
Post by: Dutty on July 07, 2006, 10:24:23 AM

whose point?

It reads like a pretty balanced article showing why some in the US love football and why it will grow and why many hate it or are not interested and why they think it will never reach a mainstream audience.

Hmm..I got a different read

I interpreted it as...the fever is primarily from americans who have their heritage rooted in a football crazy country
As they become more americanzed they see 'soccer' as boring (as in the exmple of the asian fellah who preferred to go to the park)

The author did say that there are two 'camps of thought'  thinking it will either explode in popularity or fizzle out

Seems to me the author is alluding to the fizzle (rejection of anything english etc)

Moreover, when the next world cup comes around, the time difference will once again affect ratings or viewership, save for the hardcore who are willing to get up early to watch
Post by: Filho on July 07, 2006, 11:22:52 AM

whose point?

Hmm..I got a different read

I interpreted it as...the fever is primarily from americans who have their heritage rooted in a football crazy country
As they become more americanzed they see 'soccer' as boring (as in the exmple of the asian fellah who preferred to go to the park)

The author did say that there are two 'camps of thought'  thinking it will either explode in popularity or fizzle out

Seems to me the author is alluding to the fizzle (rejection of anything english etc)

Moreover, when the next world cup comes around, the time difference will once again affect ratings or viewership, save for the hardcore who are willing to get up early to watch

I am not seeing how what you said is that different from what I said. The author's opinion aside, we are saying the same thing...two schools of thought. There are clear signs that it is growing in acceptance and viewership even if attitudes are slow to change among many