Sports => Football => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on July 04, 2006, 10:23:44 PM

Title: france v portugal
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 04, 2006, 10:23:44 PM
espn @ 2:55pm.ah hope france win,ah cyar handle italy winnin de final,ah doh tink figo and de boys could beat italy.
Title: Re: france v portugal
Post by: Savannah boy on July 05, 2006, 12:11:05 AM
Stranger things have happened in football.  Is de same thing dey was saying bout Argentina in 1978.  Because dey had no so called pedigree...dey was de under dogs all de way to de final ...next thing yuh know Kempes hoisting trophy. 

Portugal remind meh of de same situation.  Holland supposed to beat dem...England supposed to beat dem...hell Mexico was supposed to beat dem...but dey still there.  They have been stingy like de Italians.  Only one goal given up.  Dey are a very mobile team and dey getting back their starters.  De five man midfield will not give Zizou as much room.  The problem is he doh need much to operate. 

Deco, Ronaldo and Figo is a serious midfield too.  I feel Veira have to have a good game as well.  Henri go be looking to run at Nuno Valente who a lil slow, short and susceptible to changes of pace.  Van Persie had he like a puppet on a string and Lennon shake he arse up a few times too. 

Anyway ah backing de underdog.  I from ah underdog country so I know what it must mean to de Portuguese people.  Fuh France and Italy, is jes another feather in dey cap.  Ah doh want to join de crowd dat thinking - How dare Portugal win this thing?  Dem eh have no football history.  Man who eh even born in a country dat win a WC turning up dey nose...steups.  I does always hope dat somebody new comes through like a Cameroon or even a South Korea jes to show dem Soccer Powers dat dis is not a monopoly.

Really and truly, I was hoping for a long shot like Portugal vs Germany in de Final.  Either one woulda make meh happy.
Post by: croc on July 05, 2006, 01:40:47 AM
Yes Portugal for me breds.I know It will be tough against the French but I am an underdog man..cheers.
Post by: shivadee on July 05, 2006, 07:13:56 AM
PUT EEEEE GAL!!!
Post by: Padams on July 05, 2006, 07:15:57 AM
Yeah man ill b cheerin for d underdogs, Portugal cud do it...cmon fellas  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2006, 07:20:03 AM
Ah cheerin' for Portugal- Deco & Scolari are the last two Brazilians left in the cup....so I with them.
Post by: Grande on July 05, 2006, 07:48:37 AM
Ah cheerin' for Portugal- Deco & Scolari are the last two Brazilians left in the cup....so I with them.

but then France is de team with the last two West Indians in de cup  ;D

i doh mind if either win but I have the edge on France
Post by: redtrinigirl on July 05, 2006, 07:57:11 AM
Hey, hey, hey!

Allyuh have to support all de trinis left in the world cup. Patrick Viera is married to a trini, dat make him trini by marriage. For dat alone, France should get de trini support ;D

But also, I wanna see Zizou go out in style. This is de man's last international campaign, he deserves at least a shot at that trophy.

And last, but not least. Thierry Henry...va va voom. Dat's meh boy, Arsenal is meh team. I want France to go to the finals!
Post by: RasIred on July 05, 2006, 08:06:46 AM
FRANCE FRANCE FRANCE FRANCE

take a good guess who I backing  ;D

This job getting on my nerves, trying to get shit done early so I could watch the game , but morons flicking me around. Hope to be done by 2:30....wish me luck  :o
Post by: MickeyRat on July 05, 2006, 08:09:53 AM
Ah like France for this game. 
Post by: trini_chris on July 05, 2006, 08:13:36 AM
come on portugal!!! yall know i luv allyuh since d dayz of euro 2000
Post by: maxg on July 05, 2006, 08:28:25 AM
come on portugal!!! yall know i luv allyuh since d dayz of euro 2000

Dah is puppy love bro....France since Tigana (d'postman) & Tresor.
Post by: trini_chris on July 05, 2006, 08:52:16 AM

yo number #1 i'm a girl (check d sig) and #2 i young- daz 6 yrs ago, i was 12 daz a while 4 me
Post by: ttcom on July 05, 2006, 08:56:50 AM
France all the way.
Post by: Observer on July 05, 2006, 08:58:44 AM
Everybody saying France can't score goals in the Tournament. Yet France have more goals than Portugal. France have a style similar to the old Italian way. Solid defending and counter attack football. Though since the bust up in the dressing room, Zidane has been given a free role and now they look rejuvenated, yet they remain stingy at the back. Bartez is my big concern I eh like him but to be fair he has been solid.
Portugal it would be nice for them simply because they bring a new face. I am not sure they can handle France midfield and the big question will Figo once again pull a "Copperfield" when his team needs him most. They are a nice team and a Deco they have a magician Lets just have another great game of football. Because after yesterday sweetness, I eh feeling for something sour
Post by: RasIred on July 05, 2006, 08:58:57 AM
Yow I backing France since 1986............yipe.....long time and I can say it is rollercoaster ride . I hope Zizou go out with a BIG bang for 2006

Vive Vive....Oui Oui

Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 09:09:11 AM
Eman ah know yuh still recovering from yesterday...me too dread :( but could you find it in your heart to link we up with game today? ;D

Thanks again boss.

Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 09:12:21 AM
Man must de damn blasted vex still

Dat TVU link doh wukk for you?
Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 09:15:43 AM
Man must de damn blasted vex still

Dat TVU link doh wukk for you?

It does, but the links eman does hit we off with much, much better.
Post by: sinned on July 05, 2006, 09:16:39 AM
Espn360 is showing the game live online.. check www.espn360.com

It is all access till July 19th. I do not know if it works outside of the US (maybe it does) but i definitely know it works anywhere in the US and office firewalls dont block it ;D Coverage starts 2:55pm I believe.  This stream is very nice and clear but is ESPN commentary.
Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 09:20:41 AM

It is all access till July 19th. I do not know if it works outside of the US (maybe it does) but i definitely know it works anywhere in the US and office firewalls dont block it ;D Coverage starts 2:55pm I believe.  This stream is very nice and clear but is ESPN commentary.

Thank god ah ent have no speakers ::)
Post by: kandi_tt on July 05, 2006, 09:21:08 AM
FRANCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Post by: sinned on July 05, 2006, 09:22:44 AM

ent! ESPN have dave o'brien (a baseball commentator) and marcelo balboa (a former good-for-nothing US defender)
Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 09:24:27 AM
FRANCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

For once we can agree ;D

What's up with de pics? ;D
Post by: TTFAn on July 05, 2006, 09:32:35 AM

ent! ESPN have dave o'brien (a baseball commentator) and marcelo balboa (a former good-for-nothing US defender)

Agree whole heartedly, but since my 1st, 2nd and 3rd choice teams are all out of this thing, I'm living with ESPN commentary and supporting the underdog........... Go Portugal!!!!!
Post by: sprog on July 05, 2006, 09:48:54 AM
Nice to know i have company, i with Portugal all the way, after the euro dissapointment i think they deserve it.
Post by: Andre on July 05, 2006, 10:17:57 AM
i backing france.

noteable point:

so far in the 2006 world cup, all of the victorious teams in game that went into extra time have lost their next match - ukraine, argentina, germany. running 120 is kill man.

will portugal be next?
Post by: E-man on July 05, 2006, 10:23:28 AM
Eman ah know yuh still recovering from yesterday...me too dread :( but could you find it in your heart to link we up with game today? ;D

Thanks again boss.

same links as yesterday
Post by: real madness on July 05, 2006, 10:24:02 AM
portugal beating france 2-1 in extra time...barthez will be their downfall.
Post by: maxg on July 05, 2006, 10:31:26 AM

yo number #1 i'm a girl (check d sig) and #2 i young- daz 6 yrs ago, i was 12 daz a while 4 me

I apologize Trini_chris, forgive meh, some ppl have sigs like Zidane, and they doh play ball, couple of the Earth and they off the planet...eh Observer...and not because yuh young, yuh shouldn't know couple of the Greatest players for France, or for Trinidad for that matter...enjoy the game to the fullest lil Miss Trini-chris...no offence intended
Post by: trini_chris on July 05, 2006, 10:38:22 AM
no problem maxg. everything's cool
Post by: warriorchic on July 05, 2006, 11:06:40 AM
Go Portugal!
Post by: TriniCana on July 05, 2006, 11:08:26 AM
FRANCE yes....

Portugal ain't making it this rounds....too much injuries in dey backside...
Post by: soccerholic on July 05, 2006, 11:15:44 AM
e-man uh have dah link for we office viewers
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 11:19:57 AM
e-man uh have dah link for we office viewers

check page 1 of this thread

e-man in mourning
Post by: soccerholic on July 05, 2006, 11:29:12 AM
cyah download espn player, e- man had ah direct link, de ting was sweet
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 11:46:17 AM

nah i meant on page 1,, eman say use de same links from yesterday
Post by: E-man on July 05, 2006, 11:51:10 AM

So you don't have to hunt for them
http://meta.globix.net/m/wm/c9l/wln-18/COMP001071SCH1_wc1.wvx or
http://meta.globix.net/m/wm/c9l/wln-18/COMP001071SCH1_wc2.wvx
Post by: soccerholic on July 05, 2006, 11:53:51 AM
nuff respect e-man, u is de real deal
Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 12:08:36 PM

I apologize Trini_chris, forgive meh, some ppl have sigs like Zidane, and they doh play ball, couple of the Earth and they off the planet...eh Observer...and not because yuh young, yuh shouldn't know couple of the Greatest players for France, or for Trinidad for that matter...enjoy the game to the fullest lil Miss Trini-chris...no offence intended

funny  ;D
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 12:52:13 PM
Go Portugal!!! Go ROOOOOOONNNAAAAALLLLLLLLDDOOOOO   :devil:

Post by: lickslikefire on July 05, 2006, 12:58:23 PM
dem men real focused dred....half of dem not even singing de anthem.....pressah
Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 01:02:34 PM
ALLEZ LES BLEUS. henry says he will make his arsenal fans happy.. loool that coz no french fans like him
Title: Henry just dived!
Post by: truetrini on July 05, 2006, 01:33:11 PM
What a dive, sure cavalho made contact but he dive no arse!
Post by: pecan on July 05, 2006, 01:33:46 PM
Zidane ...GOALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Post by: danibaby on July 05, 2006, 01:33:53 PM
Common Zidane,doh let meh change meh sig.

Like he hear yuh.....
Post by: plane-pan-lover on July 05, 2006, 01:34:14 PM
Zidannne!!! 1-0
Title: Re: Henry just dived!
Post by: E-man on July 05, 2006, 01:36:40 PM

A real flop there.
Post by: doh_stick on July 05, 2006, 01:36:49 PM
like iz dive fuh dive
Post by: truetrini on July 05, 2006, 01:38:27 PM
and now Ronaldo dive too!

steups!
Post by: TriniWoman11 on July 05, 2006, 01:38:44 PM
GOOO FRANNCEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: doh_stick on July 05, 2006, 01:39:34 PM
Dive fuh dive who getting de grammy?
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2006, 01:43:19 PM

agreed....top class flop..This ref cyah decide what a dive is and what is not.
Post by: ANC2 on July 05, 2006, 01:47:52 PM
Dis agree i think it was a foul, not major but he dd take the leg out
Post by: shivadee on July 05, 2006, 01:47:55 PM
For those that didnt know

This is the same ref from the Italy v USA game  :-\
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 01:49:06 PM
like iz dive fuh dive

hmm, Henry got tackled, but he fell down in 5 monthly installments didn't he!??  :rotfl:
Post by: oconnorg on July 05, 2006, 01:49:14 PM
I dont think it was a dive either. Good call by the ref i think . !
Post by: ANC2 on July 05, 2006, 01:49:49 PM
henry like he don't want the ball at all. Moulda just cropos and the man eh attack the ball, When it wide he not getting in the penalt area. The man like he don't want to play, he not even trying to loss he opponent
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2006, 01:50:16 PM

he dove way after contact was made.....
Post by: davyjenny on July 05, 2006, 01:50:36 PM
what game allyuh watching?lens crafters selling plenty glasses.
Post by: truetrini on July 05, 2006, 01:50:54 PM
dive, dive, dive!
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 01:51:38 PM
So far Portugal are the more cohesive team, and Ronaldo is the main attacking star on the field.
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 05, 2006, 01:51:54 PM
i ent care wat tt say, i want portugal out, fed up of dem blowing de damn horn and showing off, ah glad if dey go home :beermug:
Post by: ricky on July 05, 2006, 01:53:44 PM
dem men real focused dred....half of dem not even singing de anthem.....pressah

licks ah not sure about Portugal, but Spain actually eh have no words to dey anthem if you could believe dat.  Dey does just hum along to the music :rotfl:
ah think but not sure is d same for Portugal as well...anybody know for sure?
Post by: Israel on July 05, 2006, 01:54:22 PM
I think it was a foul whether Henry dived or not. Ah mean the man in the box and this ref don't look like he giving any soft penalties so nothing wrong with that. It should be an issue if Henry wasn't touched. Portugal going to score 3 in the second half.
Post by: doublet750 on July 05, 2006, 01:57:09 PM
fellas...picture u french...or bete4r yet let we say dat is trinidad playin in a semifinal and we get a dive u complainin???
Post by: grimm01 on July 05, 2006, 01:58:33 PM
de man make the contact and Henry make the most of it. dive or not a foul was committed.
Post by: dwolfman on July 05, 2006, 02:04:01 PM
If that little bit of contact is a foul then the game of football can't go a minute without the referees whistle. The contact did not hinder Henry which is what I think would have made it a foul. He felt the contact, realised he would not have gotten the ball and dived.

Portugal have been diving and acting whole tournament so I have no sympathy for them.
Post by: Israel on July 05, 2006, 02:05:49 PM
de man make the contact and Henry make the most of it. dive or not a foul was committed.

exactly.
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 02:07:03 PM
Dive fuh dive who getting de grammy?

ah tink de grammy is music...unless dey divin in time wit de drum beat
Post by: Padams on July 05, 2006, 02:07:37 PM
Way boy..Ronaldo gettin rel Boo from d crowd...dats small ting dread...Ah sure Figo know all bout dem ting from back in de day after he lef Barca...He mus be tell Ronnie "doh study it man"
Post by: maxg on July 05, 2006, 02:33:50 PM
Hoe come always Gouvu before Saha or Trez ? ???
Post by: Bitter on July 05, 2006, 02:43:59 PM
Hoe come always Gouvu before Saha or Trez ? ???
When yuh take over as Coach of France yuh could ask him... ;D

Me eh know eh.
Post by: truetrini on July 05, 2006, 02:44:26 PM
i ent care wat tt say, i want portugal out, fed up of dem blowing de damn horn and showing off, ah glad if dey go home :beermug:

you is ah arse or ah marble.

I care who de arse win?

steups.

I see ah dive..so yuh like tief ting once yuh tem win?
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 02:52:41 PM
Official! This is Italy's year.

France look poor tonight!

Post by: shivadee on July 05, 2006, 02:53:36 PM
Good game to France. I was supporting Portugal, they played very well i hadda say. But that is football. Ronaldo, despite all he boooing the man stand up strong.
Post by: ANC2 on July 05, 2006, 02:55:48 PM
Ah glad me eh really care who win eh but dem Portgese get meh mad wid all dat diving. Oh shit man it disgusting and the ref eh want to do nutten. Like dem need some breakfast shed dumblin and blue food
Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 03:00:31 PM

Yeh it was a foul, he did go down after but no doubt foul
Post by: Pointman on July 05, 2006, 03:01:23 PM

So you don't have to hunt for them
http://meta.globix.net/m/wm/c9l/wln-18/COMP001071SCH1_wc1.wvx or
http://meta.globix.net/m/wm/c9l/wln-18/COMP001071SCH1_wc2.wvx

Thanks e
Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 03:01:54 PM
Good game to France. I was supporting Portugal, they played very well i hadda say. But that is football. Ronaldo, despite all he boooing the man stand up strong.
and den he cry at the end like usual.

why did he keep gettin booes tho..even from the start of the match
Post by: lickslikefire on July 05, 2006, 03:02:44 PM
the portugal diving in this game was ridiculous...and the ironic ting is they lost from a dive  ;D

karma is a bitch yes....

and all yuh men mad if yuh think henry get fouled....lemme guess yuh tink that was a penalty too in the Italy Australia game.....
Post by: big dawg on July 05, 2006, 03:03:31 PM
i going and start a poll thread for the best divers of the WC... ;D
Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 03:04:33 PM
the portugal diving in this game was ridiculous...and the ironic ting is they lost from a dive  ;D

karma is a bitch yes....

and all yuh men mad if yuh think henry get fouled....lemme guess yuh tink that was a penalty too in the Italy Australia game.....

no dat was no pen but u can see why they gave it..
same for dis oine..except contact was more obvious henry cudda gone down first time but he stayed up and then went..so it aint so bad
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 05, 2006, 03:06:36 PM

I care who de arse win?

steups.

schupsss, look nah, leave de football tuh fellahs who know football, not all american commentators like urself who pretend tuh know de game, or should i say ur beloved game of soccer :devil:

it wasnt no bloody dive, u need to rexamine ur eyesight, de defender took out henry's leg in the replay, u juss tryin tuh b controversial, whappen tuh yuh world cup trip? :devil:
Post by: Ronaldo on July 05, 2006, 03:09:13 PM
Portugal was robbed in that game, that was never a pentaly shot
Post by: kounty on July 05, 2006, 03:12:37 PM

I care who de arse win?

steups.

nah TT is only cuz is slow motion it look like the contact wasn't that much, but Henri put a nice cutback on the man and if he didn't get kick woulda have a clear shot at goal, in the box (Henri doh throw way those).... so yeah, he mighta flail he arms lil bit, and maybe if he really, really wanted to he coulda stumble and keep he balance.  But carvalho did unfairly deny the man a clean shot on goal in the box - penalty.
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 03:14:46 PM
De portuguese defender did catch him. That I'll admit. But Henry felt the contact 2 hours later and decided to fall  :devil:

He watched the referee while falling too. hmmm lol
Post by: MEP on July 05, 2006, 03:15:00 PM
that was not a dive.....the defender left his non tackling foot trailing ...that is why the ref called the foul...it wasn't a serious foul but it was a foul in the box....PENALTY
Post by: warmonga on July 05, 2006, 03:18:38 PM
Portugal deserve to loose dem jackass keep throwing dung themselves for nothin..
I felt de penalty was good.. That was a sure goal if the defender foot didnt touch Henry..
warmonga..
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 03:20:16 PM
Whether we like it or not, football reflects everything good in life, and everything bad in life too.

So like life there are cheats, so it is in football.

Unless you introduce trial by video, and start to ban and fine players after a committee judges that a player has dived, maliciously fouled or committed any other ungentlemanly act, then we gonna keep having things the way they are.

Henry was disgraceful against Carlos Puyol
Owen dived against Argentina,
Ronaldo (Brazil) was a disgrace against France
Steven Gerrard dived against Hungary
the list can go on and on.

Post by: Grande on July 05, 2006, 03:44:47 PM

TI I feel de same way about Italy

dem real getting on meh nerves

Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 04:13:54 PM
Portugal was robbed in that game, that was never a pentaly shot

there was a kick on henry..whether he had gone down or not it shud have been  a pen
Post by: jub02 on July 05, 2006, 04:16:06 PM
Whether we like it or not, football reflects everything good in life, and everything bad in life too.

Unless you introduce trial by video, and start to ban and fine players after a committee judges that a player has dived, maliciously fouled or committed any other ungentlemanly act, then we gonna keep having things the way they are.

name some trini player jus to show u aint bias

Title: Henry
Post by: ANC2 on July 05, 2006, 05:28:38 PM
While we have some time let me start some talk.

Will Henry always be remembered as a club footballer. I don't want to hear he can't play with Zidane and all that media hype. Because when Zidane did retire it was not like Henry was lighting up the field. he is a professional and he should adapt, even without Zidane is not like he created goals for himself. Henry for me look ordinary, even when he does get the ball, he can't seem to beat nobody unless he push and run. Even his passing and creativity lacking badly.

My verdict "Club Baller"
Title: Re: Henry
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 05, 2006, 05:52:23 PM
While we have some time let me start some talk.

Will Henry always be remembered as a club footballer. I don't want to hear he can't play with Zidane and all that media hype. Because when Zidane did retire it was not like Henry was lighting up the field. he is a professional and he should adapt, even without Zidane is not like he created goals for himself. Henry for me look ordinary, even when he does get the ball, he can't seem to beat nobody unless he push and run. Even his passing and creativity lacking badly.

My verdict "Club Baller"

check out my previous posts on the subject matter, Padnah.  Some men was trying to rupture my appendix because I say he dosn't come up big in the big games for club and country.  I was telling men that all of France's successes came on the backs of a few core players (including, but not limited to Zidane) that did not necessarily include Henry, and men was ating like I cuss dey mudder!  One thing He does do for france: He wins free-kicks and penalties.......even if he dives for them!
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2006, 05:57:01 PM
I think the Arsenal system is better suited to him, and he is required by them more to be a leader.....

Henri didn't look very good at Juve, (Juve is a club).....so to say he's a club baller might be oversimplifying it. He definitely thrives more in the English league playing for Arsenal. I dunno if it's a matter of quality, but probably a matter of role and style.
Post by: Grande on July 05, 2006, 06:33:38 PM
obviously his record at Arsenal speaks for itself but in World Cup level - where international appearance really counts - he has 5 or 6 goals (incl. 1998). Numerous assists. Not too bad considering he not done yet.

I really feel if Robert Pires was playin for the nat'l team Henry would be more effective b/c those two have a great understanding when playing together.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 05, 2006, 06:34:49 PM
Not all contact constitutes a foul.  Part of the problem with these referees is that maybe 99% of them either never played the game, or never played it enough to know the difference between a real foul or a dive.  Clearly some of the folks posting on this site are in the same position, but, that's ok.  These football players nowadays play for contact more than they play to win the game on their own merits, and Thierry Henry is FAST becoming another one of those types of players.  While he DID put a BRILLIANT move on Carvalho, he MADE A MEAL out of the contact made, simply because it was the type of contact that, had he fallen like a sniper victim (like he did) he knew the ref would call it.  Carvalho made contact, but it wasn't enough to hinder Henry.  Henry was able to plant his leg after contact was made, so he definitely shouldn't have "collapsed" the way he did.  He fell as if he had his feet taken out from beneath him.  Guess he had a sex change after the Champions' League final! 

Defenders can no longer slide or skate-tackle a forward any more, because players like Henry, Ballack, Robben, Totti and many others, no longer push the ball past the defender and skip over him like they used to in the good old days.  They make sure they drag one of their feet in order to create contact and make like the defender just snapped his spinal cord!  The man that suggested that he could see how the ref in the Australia-Italy game "could give that penalty" really need to learn the game a little bit more, with all due respect.   
Post by: Jah Gol on July 05, 2006, 06:35:02 PM
Its a dive if yuh playing small goal in the park but at that level, it is norm. The fact is that the defender lifted his other leg and it hit Henry. As far as I remember hand ball was the only call that uses the player's intention as factor in the decision. In the process of tackling the player lifted the other leg and it happen to hit Henry. It may be true to say that that tackle could not have brought down Henry but everyone knows if you don't make the fall you won't get the call. Henry had every right (as a player) to go down. I don't even like France and I would have to say that it was a good penalty.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 05, 2006, 06:39:35 PM
As has been proven from the World Cup Qualifiers until now: France is nothing without Zidane. Henry is a little overrated...........he seems to be most effective getting "fouled" than doing anything else, even though he has scored three goals in this tournament, two of them critical..
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on July 05, 2006, 06:40:21 PM

name some trini player jus to show u aint bias

For my English friend, Kenwyne Jones and Cornell Glen in the last match Vs Paraguay!

You happy, give you good consolation now???   ???

jeeze  ::)
Post by: arrow on July 05, 2006, 06:45:43 PM
Henry was fouled in the box otherwise he was free and clear to rip a shot in the Vs after de wicked cut-back.  Either way France would have scored.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2006, 06:47:26 PM
Henry is shit, hes never did anything for Arsenal, never anything for france, hasn't done anything this WC and he didnt do anything against brazil, but I was told by someone on this board he would never score against such a team and he didnt ;)
Well I hope everybody feels good now : ;D
Post by: Socafan on July 05, 2006, 06:48:08 PM
Henry play like Stern(when we not playing USA or Mexico) today. No effort, no intensity. Somehow for Arsenal he seems more energized. Could be his role though. Still, the man has a tremendous reputation, you can't fault that.
Personally, I find his game is too limited. Lacks ball control.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2006, 06:49:04 PM
Henry play like Stern(when we not playing USA or Mexico) today. No effort, no intensity. Somehow for Arsenal he seems more energized. Could be his role though. Still, the man has a tremendous reputation, you can't fault that.
He cant shoot or dribble neither. ;) can't finsh to save his life, he proved that for arsenal and against brazil.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 05, 2006, 06:59:17 PM

Lacks ball control  :rotfl: yuh joking
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2006, 07:01:30 PM

Henry is shit, agree with the man, yuh know its right ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 05, 2006, 07:05:20 PM

Sorry let me agree with him yes cause stated some time back the soca warriors has 3 or4 world class players.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 05, 2006, 07:05:24 PM
Its a dive if yuh playing small goal in the park but at that level, it is norm. The fact is that the defender lifted his other leg and it hit Henry..........It may be true to say that that tackle could not have brought down Henry but everyone knows if you don't make the fall you won't get the call. Henry had every right (as a player) to go down. I don't even like France and I would have to say that it was a good penalty.

If it's a dive when yuh playin' small goal in the park, Padnah, then it's a dive when yuh playing big goal for all the marbles in a big stadium.  The core rules of football don't change no matter where you play and who you play in front of.  If "....Henry had every right as a player to go down....." Just because there was contact, then to me, he is cheapening the game of football.  He landed on his feet after contact was made, and if, as others have suggested, Henry could have and would have gone on to score anyway, then that is what he should have done.  I'm sure most of us would have rather seen him keep the game beautiful by displaying all the abilities he gets so much credit for and score the goal than letting Zidane finish it with a cheap penalty.

Post by: Socafan on July 05, 2006, 07:15:14 PM
He cant shoot or dribble neither. ;) can't finsh to save his life, he proved that for arsenal and against brazil.
Did not say he can't shoot or dribble, or "can't finish to save his life". Those are your words not mine. His first touch to me is too often off...hence lacks ball control (my words).
Post by: Socafan on July 05, 2006, 07:16:08 PM

Again...your words, not mine.
Post by: Socafan on July 05, 2006, 07:17:22 PM

Sorry let me agree with him yes cause stated some time back the soca warriors has 3 or4 world class players.

Some ah allyuh like babies fuh trute. Ok..I'll bite...
What is your definition of "World Class?"
Post by: Benchwarmer on July 05, 2006, 07:20:47 PM
the man is not shit........but i feel if another striker gets the chances he gets.... they will put away more......

he will score 17 goals a season but will throw away 50 to get that 17.

i would put him back on a wing and let him run at players then cut inside and feed the ball to a striker.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2006, 07:24:40 PM
Did not say he can't shoot or dribble, or "can't finish to save his life". Those are your words not mine. His first touch to me is too often off...hence lacks ball control (my words).
Im laughing because.......... nah forget it :rotfl:
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2006, 07:26:20 PM

Henry is the crappest striker alive, yuh know, I know it and mih tanty knows it ;)
Post by: Savannah boy on July 05, 2006, 07:43:57 PM
Dive yes and once again a half arse penalty decide a game in favour of a historical team of pedigree.  De thing I go remember most bout dis WC is de inept refreeing.  Brazil gift offside goal vs Ghana.  De Crouch hair pull.  Phantom penalties against Australia and now this.  Blatant penalties should be called in de knock out stage especially...not dem thing that go have controversy.  Is like de penalty England get vs Cameroon a few years back.  It seems like when yuh come to de WC and play with de big boys, yuh have to deal with de refs too.  Arks Avery John and Sancho.  Big team suffer too.  In de German game man get fowl in de box, ref bring de ball out de box and give free kick.  When will it end?  Blatter talking about two ref...something ah mentioned jes a few days ago.  We go see.
Post by: kounty on July 05, 2006, 07:46:32 PM
carib briton, you should ask tallman to compiule all your posts into a book and give the book a catchy but descriptive title - like SHIT
Post by: Grande on July 05, 2006, 07:50:59 PM
some of allyuh don't know de art of sarcasm at all nah
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2006, 07:58:56 PM

Henry is the crappest striker alive, yuh know, I know it and mih tanty knows it ;)

Henry say yuh tanty does make ah crappy stew chicken  ;D
Post by: supporter on July 05, 2006, 08:10:05 PM
Yet if Henry did that against England, every English fan would be crying that Henry is a criminal and a wicked cheat
Post by: Socafan on July 05, 2006, 08:13:02 PM

~sigh~  Babies......
Post by: Filho on July 05, 2006, 09:14:36 PM
Henry is proving he is a great player at all levels. People forget that Henry is playing off fumes right now, and has adapted very well to a role that is quite different from how he plays for Arsenal. At this stage the wold cup is all about fight and grit. His touch is bound to be a little off. Even Zidane was not at his best today. He does excel for Arsenal more than for France. That system is built around him. France is built around a slower ryhthm that Zidane orchestrates. But which 'world class' strikers have bettered Henry in this tournament. He has 3 goals in six games for France and is playing up top by himself. He is also a hybrid...a winger converted to a striker. So one should never expect him to be the most clinical finisher...not that he is too shabby at that. But he is a handful. Name a defender who does not get nightmares about having to mark Henry. He is having a tremendous WC. Only Klose has scored more goals but more importantly...no striker playing up top by himself has scored as many goals as he has. All 3 of his goals were crucial. The first in a 1-1 tie with Korea. The second in a 2-0 win against Togo (France had to win by 2 clear goals to even stand a chance to go through, remember) and the goal against Brazil. And he has made assists as well. Anyone who thinks Henry's contribution to France this WC is short of exceptional just doesn't like his style...and will probably never like his style. But I bet you even the great Zidane sees Henry as a fanastic player for France. Like I said...he has looked far better and sharper than many so called World class strikers and all the strikers who have played in that lone striker role this WC ahve looked like crap, except Henry...

anyhow..I doh even like him that much. But I have to give props where props are due
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 05, 2006, 09:24:18 PM
carib briton, you should ask tallman to compiule all your posts into a book and give the book a catchy but descriptive title - like SHIT

it should a 2 part series
ha and UK Soca Warrior
Uk Soca Warrior own should also have a catch but descriptive title - real shit 2
Post by: A.B. on July 05, 2006, 10:24:01 PM
Where the football expert who was going on about how great he is...steups.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 05, 2006, 11:53:56 PM
Some ah allyuh crazy yes.

Just for France the man play 84 games and score 36 goals and in the earlies ah lot of those games were not even as a striker. He is a converted striker. LOL allyuh is kicks. That is just about ah goal every other game...ironically how many games he play this World Cup and how many goals he score ???  On his own up front

Doh even mention Arsenal stats :devil:
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 06, 2006, 01:27:27 AM
Bounty Killer: and yours can be supreme sh!t ;)
Dutty: Well its crappy stew but not as crap as henry, never had the guts to tell her ;D

Socafan: yeah big baby ::) like grande man said I was being sarcastic, anyone who was on during last years Champions League games would know that I am a big ARSENAL fan, yuh know anybody else who would leave their house 7 im the morning and wait 2 hours for a arsenal ticket in the snow at 13? ;D
Any Arsenal Fan who says Henry is shit and is serious has a problem if they disagee and say they think other players are better (e.g sheva at chelsea) fair enough.
Everyone knows Henry isnt as good for France as he for Arsenal but don't people think he is instructed to do different things for France? Remember that Arsenal he is captain so hes at least got to look mobile to movtivate other players, English & CL football is different. The guy has still got an achilles injury and score 3 goals in 5 games (one against brazil) but he still get cuss out all the time,LOL ;D If he doesnt score in the final, 3 goals in 6 games is a good return. If you say he didnt score against the big teams ***cough Brazil cough***   well he can only score against what he & the team is put against.

***Waits for the onslaught of cussing saying all I say is caca ;D, let this try and be my last post so people dont end up hating me **dodges stones on way out **;D***
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 06, 2006, 01:32:01 AM

it should a 2 part series
ha and UK Soca Warrior
Uk Soca Warrior own should also have a catch but descriptive title - real shit 2
you dont think he as some good posts sometimes?
Not everyone talks football on here you know, some people on here will say a TNT player is better just for the plain fact they are a Trinibago(That ent football!) and most of the time it isnt new time posters.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 06, 2006, 02:19:41 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/portugal/5153086.stm

I agree wit dis view dat ref against small country.
Post by: andre samuel on July 06, 2006, 03:18:08 AM
Yes he made a meal of the challenge, but only a fool would say that it was not a foul.

The man cut back on Carvallho and trip over Carvallho's trailing leg.  It was a clear foul. 

If that was stern john against john terry ah wonder what some ah alyuh woulda say.

The referee was smart enough to know that it was not a blantant foul because he didnt even give carvallho a card!!

But nevertheless, it still was a foul in the box........and a justified penalty.

Post by: Pompey on July 06, 2006, 05:31:52 AM
I find it amazing that anyone, anywhere in the world, who knows anything about football could criticise Thierry Henry.

Great Player, Great Goal Scorer, Great Ambassador for the game.

Post by: ANC2 on July 06, 2006, 07:03:19 AM
Dive yes and once again a half arse penalty decide a game in favour of a historical team of pedigree.  De thing I go remember most bout dis WC is de inept refreeing.  Brazil gift offside goal vs Ghana.  De Crouch hair pull.  Phantom penalties against Australia and now this.  Blatant penalties should be called in de knock out stage especially...not dem thing that go have controversy.  Is like de penalty England get vs Cameroon a few years back.  It seems like when yuh come to de WC and play with de big boys, yuh have to deal with de refs too.  Arks Avery John and Sancho.  Big team suffer too.  In de German game man get fowl in de box, ref bring de ball out de box and give free kick.  When will it end?  Blatter talking about two ref...something ah mentioned jes a few days ago.  We go see.

That is old talk. Henry was fouled, you cannot be half pregnant. If it happened in midfield the ref would have called a foul. Its not the degree of foul or part of the field it happens in, its a foul. Penalty. Now you throw in Liniker vs Cameroon are you mad it was a foul, so its a penalty. Let me ask you, you talking about Brazil offside, how many calls we have see in WC 2002 where good goals were disallowed Spain Korea, Italy Korea. It has always been that way. Think back good of any World Cup and you will se human error 74,78,82,86 go on and on
Post by: kicker on July 06, 2006, 07:35:51 AM
Yes he made a meal of the challenge, but only a fool would say that it was not a foul.

The man cut back on Carvallho and trip over Carvallho's trailing leg.  It was a clear foul. 

If that was stern john against john terry ah wonder what some ah alyuh woulda say.

The referee was smart enough to know that it was not a blantant foul because he didnt even give carvallho a card!!

But nevertheless, it still was a foul in the box........and a justified penalty.

A foul is very subjective. Football is a contact sport. Not every piece of physical contact is a foul. In layman's terms, to my understanding, a foul should consist of physical contact that impedes the player without (or before) making contact with the ball......

In the case of Henry, I don't think the physical contact was impeding. Henry chose to take the flop......He fell long after being touched. For the referee however, it was probably too close to call so he had to to give him the benefit of the doubt. If he wanted to, Henry could have stayed on his feet. I almost want to say that if that play took place at the half line, he probably would have stayed on his feet and continued playing.

You can be fouled & dive at the same time......A foul & a dive aren't opposites. Henry definitely dived....and arguably he was fouled.
Post by: jub02 on July 06, 2006, 12:36:13 PM
Yeah he dived..but it was a foul. but think about it..if he dont go down the ref aint gonna give it..but it was enough contact to make him lose de ball..so maybe the refs shud look out for the contact..and not for the falling over in the box.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 08, 2006, 12:40:13 AM
That is old talk. Henry was fouled, you cannot be half pregnant. If it happened in midfield the ref would have called a foul. Its not the degree of foul or part of the field it happens in, its a foul. Penalty. Now you throw in Liniker vs Cameroon are you mad it was a foul, so its a penalty. Let me ask you, you talking about Brazil offside, how many calls we have see in WC 2002 where good goals were disallowed Spain Korea, Italy Korea. It has always been that way. Think back good of any World Cup and you will se human error 74,78,82,86 go on and on

Yuh miss de whole point ANC.  It have a bias towards de traditional powers.  In de same game wit de Lineker half arse penalty, what bout England cutting down Makanaki in brute fashion before dat and no call.  Yes it have bad decisions but de decisions usually favour established teams.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=371660&cc=5901

Add T&T to de gripe list above.
Post by: Socafan on July 08, 2006, 06:29:21 AM

Dutty: Well its crappy stew but not as crap as henry, never had the guts to tell her ;D

Socafan: yeah big baby ::) like grande man said I was being sarcastic, anyone who was on during last years Champions League games would know that I am a big ARSENAL fan, yuh know anybody else who would leave their house 7 im the morning and wait 2 hours for a arsenal ticket in the snow at 13? ;D
Any Arsenal Fan who says Henry is shit and is serious has a problem if they disagee and say they think other players are better (e.g sheva at chelsea) fair enough.
Everyone knows Henry isnt as good for France as he for Arsenal but don't people think he is instructed to do different things for France? Remember that Arsenal he is captain so hes at least got to look mobile to movtivate other players, English & CL football is different. The guy has still got an achilles injury and score 3 goals in 5 games (one against brazil) but he still get cuss out all the time,LOL ;D If he doesnt score in the final, 3 goals in 6 games is a good return. If you say he didnt score against the big teams ***cough Brazil cough***   well he can only score against what he & the team is put against.

***Waits for the onslaught of cussing saying all I say is caca ;D, let this try and be my last post so people dont end up hating me **dodges stones on way out **;D***

Fling...fling...fling...fling...fling...fling!!!!!....That was 6 bigstones. (Know you were too busy ducking to count) :)

As one man said, maybe I don't like his style. Hmmmmmm..I don't. And I still find his first touch surprisingly lacking. Thats why I don't rate him too tough. But as I said earlier, he has a tremendous reputation, you can't ignore that. And I will add that he is deceptively quick. But when I see that man play, all I see is 2 clumsy big foot.

To each his own.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 08, 2006, 12:14:32 PM

Fling...fling...fling...fling...fling...fling!!!!!....That was 6 bigstones. (Know you were too busy ducking to count) :)

As one man said, maybe I don't like his style. Hmmmmmm..I don't. And I still find his first touch surprisingly lacking. Thats why I don't rate him too tough. But as I said earlier, he has a tremendous reputation, you can't ignore that. And I will add that he is deceptively quick. But when I see that man play, all I see is 2 clumsy big foot.

To each his own.

Ah guess Ronaldinho and Eto'o were literally begging Henry to join Barca because they like he 2 clumsy big foot either that

Or you just drinking HATORADE :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: