Sports => Football => Topic started by: AB.Trini on July 06, 2006, 10:05:13 AM

Title: What do we want in a coach? : Seriously ; let's be logical here...
Post by: AB.Trini on July 06, 2006, 10:05:13 AM
All this talk about Beenie and what Jamaica proposing for Sven, I mean has someone really sat down and mapped out what we want in a coach? Have we considered  creating a profile of what our coach ought to  bring to the table?  Have we done a Needs Assessment to identify what are our specific goals and challenges we have for this coach? Which person best fits our context? who will be the selection committee and who will decided the agenda for this coach? How well could this coach work with our PFL?

Do we want a man to come in the last minute and take seasoned professionals and 'fine tune' what another coach was working on?

Do we want a coach who could train and develop  potential talent?

Do we want a master tactician?

Do we want ah man who could build a solid cohesive system and have an organized team with a balance of scoring and defending?

Do we need a coach who could blend foreign talent with local?

Do we want a coach to just  get us through to the WC?

I think those who are given that responsibility ought to make make public the criteria they are looking for  in a person to coach our national team.

At this time, there appears to be a clamoring for a  man with a reputation as oppose to examining the contextual needs of our situation. I mean if Sven had all the top EPL players at his disposal and could not achieve the level of success as expected , what predictable success would he get out of coaching Jamaica? Is qualifying for the WC we (TNT and Jamaica) are best hoping for?

On the other hand, is Mr.Beenhakker the complete package to meet the alleged ( not sure what these are)needs for our program?

Public debate and  a public disclosure should focus on this if it's public taxpayers funds which would be used to subsidized the cost of  coaches salaries.

Possible Porcesss
P.S. we starting with a blank slate: we will solicit responses from focus groups: THE PLF executive, the public, the player s local and foreign, the TTFF, ummm.. special advisor JW, umm.. former  coaches, local coaches..... mouth men like A.Corneal....

Now we take all that information and we begin the process of finding common trends, common needs and gathering data on needs and  the best fit.

We bring the group back together again to start looking at  submitting names of possible candidates and examining which of these candidates best fits our profile.

Title: Re: What do we want in a coach?
Post by: Bourbon on July 06, 2006, 10:17:29 AM
Very Well Said...... ;D Leh me answer yuh questions in what I want in a coach.

Do we want a man to come in the last minute and take seasoned professionals and 'fine tune' what another coach was working on?
Nah me eh want that....it go come like somebody else mix de batter fuh de cake and he come shameless shameless and take it out de oven and sharing it out lovingly....dat eh make sense.

Ent dah wha dey for?? Of Course!! By doing this we have a consistent supply of quality.....and thus not making good performances a flash in the pan.

Of course!! All dat is wha does make a team the best. Skill and tactics.....necessary ingredients in sucess.

Do we want ah man who could build a solid cohesive system and have an organized team with a balance of scoring and defending?
The balanced game is often the best game.....so  yeh i would like that too. Unbeatable on all fronts.

Yes....because the only way the local talent can become foreign talent.....is by getting a chance. The experience necessary. Also....by realising that the hungry local talent can step up and challenge their place...the foreign talent go hadda realise dat dem cyar lapse....thus bringin out better performances overall. Complacency is a performance inhibitor. Let dem know dat we serious.

Necessary attributes would also be a sense of seriousness and willingness to get the job done. Long term planning and understanding a must.Willingness to pass on knowledge and improve our football allround at all levels a definate asset,as well as a love/appreciation and understanding of the Local Society. Now....the question is.....does such a coach exist and if he does....how much he charging??
Title: Re: What do we want in a coach? Let's create a coach's profile for TNT
Post by: AB.Trini on July 06, 2006, 10:51:15 AM
If the SWN want to organize a public panel to look at this profile ah go be interested.
Post by: Daft Trini on July 06, 2006, 12:23:59 PM
Jose (he is de perfect coach)
Post by: jub02 on July 06, 2006, 12:57:37 PM
benitez
Post by: AB.Trini on July 06, 2006, 01:24:18 PM
WHY ARE THSE COACHES GOOD CANDIDATES? HOW DO THEY FIT THE PROFILE?
Post by: injunchile on July 06, 2006, 01:41:39 PM
ALberta TRini - Excellent post- BUT- By the time one goes through that process in T&T , the Gold cup is upon us and most of the best coaches in the World Taken. You have to move immediately.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 06, 2006, 01:56:08 PM
injunchile,
Yuh hit a upon ah good point; yuh see if we continue to do things the way we have alwys done things , we will continue to get waht we have always gotten.

This hurry up last minute thing have to stop; careful planning, organization and structure could go a long ways in producing sutainable systems and programs.
Title: Re: What do we want in a coach? : TNT we want ah coach!!!!!!!!!
Post by: 1989 on July 06, 2006, 05:31:17 PM
I hear Jamaica is trying to get Scolari. 
If TTFF knows what's good for them, they better try to take Scolari... (Beenhakker vibsing like he has no intentions of staying.)  Scolari will get this team to play both defensively and attacking, and the style will blend well with our T&T style.

Outside of that Jose is a good choice.  ;D
Post by: dcs on July 06, 2006, 05:57:37 PM

Are we just flattering ourselves calling all these big name coaches?

How much is the budget we have for a coaching staff anyway.  Whoever we get I hope he is more co-operative with our TD and doesn't reneg on promises to help with coaching seminars (unless he never made those promises or it wasn't his fault).

I want to see a coach who is going to develop a young team and perhaps help develop/nurture some promising players.
They have to be able to hold their own off the field too and maintain the no nonsense relationship with players, officials and with the fans.  Does not get involved in bacchanal (some big coaches is still fall in that).
Must have good relationship with player's clubs.

I think Wim is the best choice for us for now....but the question is do we re-assign him after two years?  I could see that happening if we bring in Leo but would that work if it's another coach who will have a different philosophy?
Shaka should be ready to work with Brow in 2 years.  Anton remain as assistant coach (unless they can find something for him in Europe to get some more experience).  Is Anton still the youth TD?

Qualifying for 2010 is no sure thing so we should have something tangible to show if we don't make it....are our local staff better off...how many young players we unearthed/developed, did we help our reputation which makes a big difference for getting warm ups and trials.
Post by: davidephraim on July 06, 2006, 06:59:11 PM
All this talk about Beenie and what Jamaica proposing for Sven, I mean has someone really sat down and mapped out what we want in a coach? Have we considered  creating a profile of what our coach ought to  bring to the table?  Have we done a Needs Assessment to identify what are our specific goals and challenges we have for this coach? Which person best fits our context? who will be the selection committee and who will decided the agenda for this coach? How well could this coach work with our PFL?

I think those who are given that responsibility ought to make make public the criteria they are looking for  in a person to coach our national team.

At this time, there appears to be a clamouring for a  man with a reputation as oppose to examining the contextual needs of our situation.  I mean if Sven had all the top EPL players at his disposal and could not achieve the level of success as expected , what predictable success would he get out of coaching Jamaica? Is qualifying for the WC we (TNT and Jamaica) are best hoping for?

On the other hand, is Mr.Beenhakker the complete package to meet the alleged ( not sure what these are)needs for our program?

Public debate and  a public disclosure should focus on this if it's public taxpayers funds which would be used to subsidized the cost of  coaches salaries.

Possible Porcesss
P.S. we strating with a blank slate: we will solicit responses from focus groups: THE PLF executive, the public, the player s local and foreign, the TTFF, ummm.. special advisor JW, umm.. former  coaches, local coaches..... mouth men like A.Corneal....

Now we take all that information and we begin the process of finding common thrends, common needs and gathering data on needs and  the best fit.

We bring the group back together again to start lookin at  submitting names of possible candidates and examining which of these candidates best fits our profile.

I thought your processing to be adequate....   I think  one of de focus groups gotta  be de SW.net massive we go have some input for them to...
Post by: AB.Trini on July 07, 2006, 12:41:05 PM
The way  some people are thowing out names is like we already short listed candidates and have some I mind. Classic case of  CART BEFORE THE HORSE!!!!!!!!
Post by: pecan on July 07, 2006, 01:07:37 PM
The way  some people are thowing out names is like we already short listed candidates and have some I mind. Classic case of  CART BEFORE THE HORSE!!!!!!!!
leh me trow dis into the mix ...USA apparentlly offered Klinsmann 3 million USD.  Is that the going price for a national coach?
Post by: AB.Trini on July 07, 2006, 05:03:55 PM
If leo goes to Poland I hope we have a plan in place.

Question does 3 million guarantee you a place in WC? 

With 3 million u.s.  could we not  have a solid  coaching team , nutritionist, sports psychologist etc? How much yuh think it will cost us to  groom LATAS during the next two years and then bring on  a high powered consultant to work with him for the remaining two?
Post by: davidephraim on July 08, 2006, 03:00:48 PM
Boy, Klinsman almost make yuh want to contribute to he 3 millioin price tag because "Dat is Coach"  It just must be different styles but Klinsman wokkin sah. Dem boys playing a free cheerful game. Not afraid to make passes or to hold de ball if yuh need to. always trying to break and dont really have to rely too much on "de #10". I think Beenie may be a good coach but his style is unlike dat of Klinsman and I rather Klinsman style. De man does jump higher than any player when de Team score, genuine outward display of joy possible stemming from being younger but heck since when young wasn't good especially when yuh could still bolster de backbone.  Give me something like Klinsman and I'd be happy.  Man Germany is not afraid to shoot de dam ball.  Hey maybe Yorke, Shaka & Latas just may have a chance if we could in addition buy good help.
Post by: real madness on July 08, 2006, 03:17:26 PM
Klinsman did a great job with Germany but comparing him to Beenhakker and TnT is not possible because of the calibre of players on both sides.  Beenhakker developed a strategy based on the players he had, not the players Germany had.
Post by: rippin on July 08, 2006, 04:39:12 PM
The TD was the man who recommended Beenie. He said that he likes the Dutch method of team preparation and based on the # of Dutch coaches at the cup it appears he is right.

Right now our stock high. Teams want to play us. We need to develop a solid local base to represent when the foreign based engaged. We also need to tap into the young players of promise in college in the US.

We need a coach right now who want to develop talent and work with upcoming players. I don't think that is beenie. Beenie to me seem a fine tuner but then again he is credited for developing Zlatan.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 11:12:03 AM
While there may be merits in appointing Beenie's assistant as the new head coach, I am leery of the process.

If in fact he is appointed, he will bring continuity of  what Beenie was doing. He should be cheaper as he does not have th e same  profile as Beenie.

The debate would be by some  as to what sets him apart from a local assistant?

Again I think we had an opportunity to follow a process for hiring but we again resorted to a haphazard way of doing things.
Post by: real madness on July 11, 2006, 11:17:00 AM
While there may be merits in appointing Beenie's assistant as the new head coach, I am leery of the process.

If in fact he is appointed, he will bring continuity of  what Beenie was doing. He should be cheaper as he does not have th e same  profile as Beenie.

The debate would be by some  as to what sets him apart from a local assistant?

Again I think we had an opportunity to follow a process for hiring but we again resorted to a haphazard way of doing things.

what is haphazard about hiring Wim?  He has been the assistant for a while and Anton has also been the assistant so basically there is a continuation of roles for the most part.  Just Wim have a bigger role and they added another Dutch assistant.
My definition of haphazard would be the recycling of a local coach or hiring a foreign coach who would have to start from scratch.
When you say haphazrad..are u trying to same Wim is no big name coach so it is a bad choice?
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 11:29:38 AM
Real madness it is not about Wim; it is about the process. Think back to past experiments prior to Beenie.

I am not disputing the choice of coach, I am hoping that there were some thought given to our needs and whether or nnot this candidate has the  credentials to complete the taask. Read my first post in this thread.
Post by: real madness on July 11, 2006, 11:39:10 AM
i hear what yuh saying and I think wim is de logical choice which we are not known for making in de past.  I would be worried if we hired someone totally new to the scene although Beenie and Wim was new when they first came.  At least we had some success with those guys, so my thing is doh fix what isnot broken.

One may argue that we did not win a game or score a goal but the team had a respectable showing and we should build on that.  The grass is always greener on de the other side so ppl can argue that a coach like pekerman or scolari (if these were actual options) or any other big name coach would be a better choice.  I am sure they consulted the players as well b4 making a decision.

We just to have to sit back and see what happens in the next 12 months.
Makes no sense on questioning the choice of Wim without giving him chance.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 11:52:13 AM
For many reasons this looks like a logical choice but......we have been down the road with choices which looked logical and reasonable before.

PROCESS PROCESS... WHO MAKING DECISIONS WHO MAKING ALL THE DECISIONS...... PROCESS...NEEDS ASSEMMENTS .The imapct of this hiring will affect many sectors of TNT football why not have more imput? PROCESS????/

qualities in a coach:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=18857.msg194173#msg194173

Post by: real madness on July 11, 2006, 12:03:50 PM
For many reasons this looks like a logical choice but......we have been down the road with choices which looked logical and reasonable before.

PROCESS PROCESS... WHO MAKING DECISIONS WHO MAKING ALL THE DECISIONS...... PROCESS...NEEDS ASSEMMENTS .The imapct of this hiring will affect many sectors of TNT football why not have more imput? PROCESS????/

qualities in a coach:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=18857.msg194173#msg194173

So what are you saying..you keep referencing the qualities you want in a coach.

Are you saying Wim is a bad choice.  Since you are sure about the qualities of a good coach/structure who should be the next coach.

As for it being a logical move..i don't see much of those in local sports.  You might be able to enlighten me, you don't have to provide examples in football alone..you can use any sport in TnT.
Post by: dcs on July 11, 2006, 12:07:34 PM

Alberta, who specifically do you think should have been included in the discussions.

I can't say for sure but I think the following were probably in the loop to some extent:

JW
Leo
Groden + TTFF exec,
Anton (and by extension Alvin)
Latapy
Yorke
Boynes (in a kind of round about way since they talking through the papers)
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 01:25:15 PM
Please  WIM  consider  working with people who  have the BEST interest of TNT not those who are after their own self aggrandizing.

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=18857.msg194119#msg194119

Post by: MickeyRat on July 11, 2006, 01:26:37 PM
What we don't need right now is another Trinidadian coach.
Post by: Andre on July 11, 2006, 01:52:39 PM
BRING BACK BSC!  ;)
Post by: AB.Trini on August 25, 2006, 09:36:51 PM
People are we satisfy that the right choice was made?
People are we happy that  the mandate given to this coach is being fulfilled?
People was the hiring of this coach a TTFF initiative?
People are we ready to fully support the initiatives of the TTFF?

If NO to all of the above then why we all so quiet about the TTFF?
Post by: dcs on August 26, 2006, 12:55:19 AM

Apart from not liking the process to select Wim, you seem to not like him as coach. (neither Leo)

I not sure how you feel so strongly about it when we really have had nothing to base a judgement on.

You don't find it a bit premature to make judgements on whether he suitable or not?

I don't know if the man will manage because the current situation is totally different from before, BUT it too early to tell.  Anyone who critising him from all now might have another agenda (nothing wrong with that if they feel it is for T&T benefit I guess)
Post by: AB.Trini on August 26, 2006, 07:17:18 AM
My Beef ahs never been with the credentials nor the abilities of these men as coaches. I wonder as to the scope and depth of their mandate, their commitment to our program on the bigger scale and to the overall direction of the TTFF PERIOD.

Obviously these coaches are knowledgeable, and have vast experience which could be beneficial to our football development.
Post by: berris on August 26, 2006, 11:35:53 AM

...becuz de answer is YES ......if you so against de TTFF den rongs up some of yuh padnahs,all yuh head dong Trini and picket dey ass everyday until dey do what you think is right ....:banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: AB.Trini on November 27, 2006, 07:36:33 PM
all the talk of Wim ; is only now we coming to some realization about this sort of backarse planning?

Look I asking this so long and is like all kinda deal made in Germany and now as usual we football go suffer. Steups ...I done over and out.
Post by: fishs on November 29, 2006, 05:34:01 AM
all the talk of Wim ; is only now we coming to some realization about this sort of backarse planning?

Look I asking this so long and is like all kinda deal made in Germany and now as usual we football go suffer. Steups ...I done over and out.

I done talk about dat man. The results will do that for me.
Post by: AB.Trini on December 29, 2007, 03:15:09 PM
Once more I ask the question: do we have the best interest  of our national programs when the TTFF appoints a coach  as the one now? What  criteria  what  profile  was created to ensure that the present national coach would take us to the heights of glory? :S.A. 2010
Post by: SUPA on December 29, 2007, 11:47:04 PM
I hear Jamaica is trying to get Scolari. 
If TTFF knows what's good for them, they better try to take Scolari... (Beenhakker vibsing like he has no intentions of staying.)  Scolari will get this team to play both defensively and attacking, and the style will blend well with our T&T style.

Outside of that Jose is a good choice.  ;D

Eh boss change yuh avatar nah  ;D, ah was talking tuh meh self and saying nice post dey Andre, then ah realise was u 1989. Any way nice post dey. Ah know yuh put ah smiley next tuh de line about Jose, but Ilike dat choice also. But hear meh fear wid Jose, cud he work wid ah team dat might only have 2 or 3 players, dat are playing at ah real top level (EPL)? and cud de administration (Jack could afford him) afford 2 pay him? I do agree wid yuh fully and ah will add Klinsman and Bruce Arena. Yes ah just said it Arena, of course he is not in de class ah de other coaches mentioned, but check de man record in de CONCACAF region wid less talented US players dan T&T.

I think he will be ah great fit, cuz, firstly looking at our financial situation as a small island, he cud fit de bill, without having 2 much of a financial strain on our administration or Mr Warner's pocket and secondly, I do have confidence in him doing well, as far competing against de other teams and taking us to SA. Ah know some members might say nah, we want better dan Bruce, yes, of course I do also. Well looking at we budget and still getting an experience man in de business, dat have WCQ and WC experience, tuh me dat is de man right dey. Bruce wid Corneal as his assistant of course, and ah will love tuh squeeze Latapy in dey some how, tuh start grooming him and getting him some national team coaching experience fuh de future. Cuz we cud choose all de amount of coaches we want fuh now, when Latapy ready in de near future, dat bredda need ah fare run as de head coach, for all of T&T 2 see where he is at, as far doing dat job. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on December 30, 2007, 12:05:21 AM
Once more I ask the question: do we have the best interest  of our national programs when the TTFF appoints a coach  as the one now? What  criteria  what  profile  was created to ensure that the present national coach would take us to the heights of glory? :S.A. 2010

Dey said interim coach, relax nah family, drink ah juice, chill  ;D. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: d_#1Trinba on December 30, 2007, 12:15:44 AM

why u say so? the german coach learnt the game to the players of the team yuh dont think a trainer is a player?iabd is part of a team? so a trinidadian coach  can play his ball now aint no shame to learn yuh see?

Post by: d_#1Trinba on December 30, 2007, 12:23:30 AM

why u say so? the german coach learnt the game to the players of the team yuh dont think a trainer is a player?iabd is part of a team? so a trinidadian coach  can play his ball now aint no shame to learn yuh see?

iabd is part of a team..sorry my wirelless keyboard is making jokes its 7 am here i might be to far from my screen but its sunday morning and i already real easy  :rotfl:

i just wanted to say that a trinibagonian coach is definetely part of the national team  and not a part for real i jus want cry when i imagine the trinibagonian coach doh make us cry make us proud and show us that you have learn somthing out of LB and WR.Real
Post by: d_#1Trinba on December 30, 2007, 12:31:42 AM
maybe we need a dwight york type of coach,boy we really need a coach guadeloupe is coming soon i know "ca a louper" but we can't play like this for too long...

is there some elections coming for the next trainer?

I mean the board is full of positivism and great vision but we need to see it clear

Olande don't do bad ;)

my priestress is here..
Post by: d_#1Trinba on December 30, 2007, 12:35:12 AM
sweet dreams to everyone i know you are all rrrrronnnnling...how u say that noise when u sleep in english in french we say ronfler...I jus split with my exgirlfriend because of that im gonna rob dark vador to have an happy life in silence swwwwiz swiiiiizz...
Post by: SUPA on December 30, 2007, 12:36:02 AM
Trinba, yuh alright ? Ah see yuh making posts and answering dem fuh yuh self, lawd, lawd  ???  :-\. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Daft Trini on December 30, 2007, 12:51:50 AM
Trinba, yuh alright ? Ah see yuh making posts and answering dem fuh yuh self, lawd, lawd  ???  :-\. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Mey boi getting married to a french girl in April 08 (ah going to Paris for a week).... Ah go try to vibes him up if I can, and find out more about "trinba" and he real scene.

but in truth de man on ah real jones oui...
Post by: SUPA on December 30, 2007, 02:13:45 AM

Mey boi getting married to a french girl in April 08 (ah going to Paris for a week).... Ah go try to vibes him up if I can, and find out more about "trinba" and he real scene.

but in truth de man on ah real jones oui...

:rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: d_#1Trinba on December 30, 2007, 04:51:43 AM
boy u makin the anwsers the same
Post by: AB.Trini on December 30, 2007, 06:47:58 PM
Did we get what we want in a coach in A. Corneal?
Post by: berris on December 30, 2007, 07:39:01 PM

How yuh expect ppl to answer that  ??? What is Anton record since he was name coach  ??? Buh you want tuh know if 'we get what we want in a coach' ...Give de man ah facking chance,let him show what he can do with our senior team,only ah fool wud judge him on the results of the under 17.
Is like Tallman and dem giving away torch lite for who make de most thread in ah year or wha ? You does be asking de same thing in nearly every one ah de 317026195651284754 thread yuh start...steuppps 
Post by: maxg on December 30, 2007, 07:39:49 PM
Oh gorm Ab, which coach  in the world/universe  would make everybody happy ? everybody not even happy with one god....ah realize yuh wha create some discussion and debate, buh is ah lose-lose situation...if in the final analysis, we on about AC not being ideal, yuh juss go frustrate man, when we at that point face the fact that he shouldn't be dey, yet we still have to support him, an nuthen we can do about it, if we say, well yes, then we supportin anyway.......reread this thread, an repost when AC gone thru...here is a topic to create discussion, pass time, and anyhow  yuh take it some might be happy...WHO Alvin pickin for 1st game....all local, or all foreign, or mix...who wil be the forwards between, SJ, KJ, JS, Dr, SS, will he use 1, 2 or 3...who in midfield, no DY, no RL, no CE...where in the TI world is Hardest...anything so..everything we dun talk bout, but with ah corneal mix in.. .buh how yuh go ask - nah repost - bout if ppl get wha dey want in Corneal, wait, ah jus realize dah question was for trinba ? wtf wrong with me boy...sorry...sorry...sorry
Post by: SUPA on December 31, 2007, 02:09:02 AM

How yuh expect ppl to answer that  ??? What is Anton record since he was name coach  ??? Buh you want tuh know if 'we get what we want in a coach' ...Give de man ah facking chance,let him show what he can do with our senior team,only ah fool wud judge him on the results of the under 17.
Is like Tallman and dem giving away torch lite for who make de most thread in ah year or wha ? You does be asking de same thing in nearly every one ah de 317026195651284754 thread yuh start...steuppps 

I totally agree wid yuh post Berris, yuh know we good so, if ah doh like yuh post, ah will tell yuh de same way, but always wid respect. Any way, another thing ah doh understand wid AB.Trini, ah doh know if he does be pushing fuh de thread tuh have x amount of pages or what, but he does ask a bunch ah questions and throw in ah bunch ah posts in dey at full speed. Yuh might get pissed off at Supa, but dat is all right, cuz we are grown people here and we suppose tuh talk we mind. So long as we doh disrespect each other, is cool by me. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: AB.Trini on December 31, 2007, 09:52:10 AM
With due respect to all who wish to  express their opinions:

It is not a matter of challenging the present coach's ability , record or credentials, I am simply asking the question, given our present program, is  he the BEST person for the job?

How is it that TTFF goes about selecting a coach? what criterion is that selection based on? Yes
Mr. Corneal has some acquired knowledge based on his associations with previous coaches; was this a criteria?  Then does success at one level equate to success at another? We witnessed that experiment with Mr. St. Clair.

It was not to long ago that folks were clamoring for a reputable  international coach with noteworthy experience; what  mitigating factors changed that course of action? I am not against a well qualified local coach and frankly I wish Mr. Corneal well ..... his success will inadvertently equate to our national team's success.

I am also of the opinion that former players like Latas, Yorke, Hart and Shaka, with their knowledge, experience, exposure to  different coaches, strategies and styles of football could  add to our coaching team. Is there any thought to this composition to lead us through to 2010?

Frankly, I am the age  or at that stage where I am not posting for popularity nor  for  affirmation. My postings are strictly aimed at commenting on the state of  our national programs in TNT. I am not here to 'call out' anyone or to offend; if that occurred, I am sorry that happened.

"Talk Yuh Talk" ......This site is for the "die hard" football supporters of Trinidad & Tobago. Please feel free to post an article or ask question(s) on football, the players or just give us your views on any games."

My humble opinions
Post by: AB.Trini on July 24, 2008, 10:05:38 PM
Let's answer this question first before we talk about foreign coach versus local coach.
Post by: injunchile on July 25, 2008, 10:44:31 AM
The Good is often the enemy of the Best. We need a developmental stage. Actually Maturana with his predisposition for young boys and the proleague fits the bill for exposing young talent. After two years just before the Gold cup we need to hire a coach to blend the old with the new. So that we can look at the best of both worlds.
 That is the way forward. In all honesty we never ask what we want in a coach. Gally's mantra is that we play Trini style football, a culture thing. Beats and flair and crowd jumping up despite the scoreline at the end of the day.
 Despite what was said of Porters- Rest his soul. He did tighten the defence and we played attractive football- Remember the 2 we put on Canada.
Post by: FF on July 25, 2008, 10:49:29 AM

Trini style football, a culture thing. Beats and flair and crowd jumping up despite the scoreline at the end of the day.

dais de damn ting self.... we hadda like weself

Dem fellas hurting eyes dese days...

so can we win and look good? or is that an oxymoron with our present skill and talent levels?
Is there a balance and what sort of coach can find that balance if it exists?
Title: what about the Stuart Charles connection ?
Post by: jai john on April 02, 2009, 09:57:22 AM
I dont want to seem pessimistic but I dont hold out much hope for the soca warriors this time around..at least not unless we do some different things.I cant say what the solution is but, like everyone, I can see that we are not cutting it at this level. Are we all surprised ? ..I think not and some of us will admit that it is more out of a sense of loyalty and hope that we stilll are on board..and we will never leave. In light of all that has been mentioned in other threads..and there is little need to rehash ....I wish to suggest the handing over of the Soca Warriors to Stuart Charles Fervier...temporarily.Nolw many a temporary coach has gone on to big things as we all know ...but i am just looking at a cost effective  attempt to regroup.We will have some time to regroup until the next game and I cant see Maturana doing any more than he has already done. There is therefore no need for the big money, big name coach at this time ...especially in light of the results so far ..It is not that I dont think Maturans is a good coach but that he cant get the best out of our players....so I cant see him staying on and this break is a good time to get someone else in .Latapy could support Stuart Charles , they both know the players ...some of the players have been coached by Charles since boyhood . He is an active coach in the league and by way of preparation for Pro league games would already know more than enough about them.Charles is sure to bring in his youth coach leonsen Lewis somewhere ..Think of it latapy, Yorke, Lewis together again ....maybe we might see a difference ??
Title: Re: what about the Stuart Charles connection ?
Post by: Babalawo on April 02, 2009, 10:07:31 AM
he was coach already. failed
Post by: jai john on April 02, 2009, 10:11:38 AM

From what I remember ..wasn't given a fair chance ...
Post by: Tallman on April 02, 2009, 10:17:06 AM
I wouldn't classify him as a failure. De TTFF jes abruptly replace him with Bertille without any reason being given. He was at the helm for 8 games, won 2, lost 3, and drew 3.
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 10:26:56 AM

From what I remember ..wasn't given a fair chance ...

D man get ah URP
Post by: jai john on April 02, 2009, 10:27:24 AM
Exerpt from interview of Leonsen Lewis by Tallman....judge for yourself ..

You returned to Trinidad & Tobago in 2002 at the age of 36 and played one season for W-Connection. You then went on to coach their U-20 team. Do you see yourself pursuing coaching for the foreseeable future?
LEONSON: I just finished a Level 3 coaching course which I topped. And they take the top two coaches to England. It’s about 20 coaches from all over the world who are invited to England. Once you get that, you can coach anywhere in the world. It’s a FIFA licensed course. But before all of that, when I started coaching I was kind of lost. I used to play football and I knew something about the game, but I never really coached anybody.

WN: Was it a different perspective?
LEONSON: Yes. Then I had Stuart Charles, who I played under for one year. To me, he is the best coach in the Caribbean.

WN: I have heard that from a lot of people.
LEONSON: I’ll tell you why. I played professionally for 13 years and I had a lot of coaches, and there was one coach who stood out, Jorge Jesus (currently coaches Belenenses). Up to this day we remain friends. He basically taught me everything I know about football, in terms of tactics, how to watch the other team, how to know what they are playing, how to get your team to play. And when I came back home people were telling me that Stuart Charles is a good coach and I said “yeh, but none of allyuh eh play professionally.” In my first four years in Portugal, I learned nothing. Russell and I learned nothing, we just played. We just knew that I played left wing and he played midfield. And this man taught me all about football. So to come home and meet somebody who is better than the man who was my best coach in Portugal? That says it all. The sessions he conducts is so game-like and professional, the way how he handles a team, the video sessions are even better than what I did in Portugal. He’s complete. The man is passionate about the game. He’s a total coach. If Trinidad & Tobago didn’t make it with Beenhakker, they would have made it with him.

WN: That is one of the things I never understood. When Fevrier was in charge of the national team in 2003 , they toured Africa and did reasonably well. They came back and next thing you know, Bertille St. Clair is the new coach. For me, the time for bringing back St. Clair had already passed. He was undeservingly fired in 2000 and now it seemed as though the TTFF were trying to make amends. To my knowledge, no reason was ever given publicly for the firing of Fevrier.
LEONSON: Let me tell you why the brought back Bertille and got rid of Stuart Charles. Fevrier is not a “yes” man and what he says goes. When he is controlling the team, he’s controlling the team. Nobody can tell him who to bring in the team, who to give a trial or who to play or who not to play. They brought in Bertille because they wanted someone who they could control. I don’t think I would ever coach a Trinidad & Tobago team because I don’t want my friends, peers and teammates fighting me down for a Trinidad & Tobago job. I spoke with Jack Warner and he told me that everybody on the committee thought that Fevrier was the man for the job. I told Jack “I don’t want anything from you, I am just trying to advise you because I’m passionate about the game and I love my country and I want to see my country do their best.” Jack and I sat down in his office and I told him “All I want is a proper coach to coach my national team. I have worked with this man for 4 years and he is the man for the job.” They gave him the job and I congratulated Jack and I said “Finally we could go somewhere.” They then fired him and I called Jack and he said “Leonson, I alone cannot keep him there. If everybody else on the committee is telling me that the man is doing this and doing that, and everyone is fighting down the man, then I have no choice but to remove him.”
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2009, 10:49:43 AM
Pacho may or may not get fired. But those players can't take we to Jo'burg. They may pull a win or two, but I will be totally surprised if they get 4th place. Our guys as a team, not individually, don't have cohension. They not controlling the ball, they not running in to spaces. They only hitting long balls. Our mid is non-existent. Our guys can run fast but they weak. Theses guys are professionals. They don't show it.
Post by: AB.Trini on April 02, 2009, 06:03:57 PM
 We could wail out and gnash our teeth for a new coach BUT WE STILL NEED TO ANSWER THE QUESTION: What do we want in a coach for TNT?
Title: If Jack Only make the mistake and give Terry
Post by: sub1 on April 03, 2009, 02:58:58 PM
Fenwick along with latapy this team. We will qualify. I dont know what Fenwick do to Jack but he (Jack) needs to put away petty grudges for the sake of the country and give Fenwick the team. Fenwick does not need time to acclimatise and judging from the work he has done with Jab should do a much better job than Maturana.

However if he decides to continue his vindictiveness then at least get rid of Maturana. After that I really dont care who is in charge......well not really....dont call back BSC niether.
Title: Re: If Jack Only make the mistake and give Terry
Post by: WestCoast on April 03, 2009, 03:15:10 PM
but he (Jack) needs to put away petty grudges for the sake of the country making more money as the special advisor of the TTFF
he definitely NOT DOIN this for the beneifit of the Country, believe you me
but seems to be a very viable option, according to some, at this juncture
Post by: mouie on April 03, 2009, 04:07:24 PM
Yha know i never thourgh of him as T&T couch but that just may work :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
Post by: Peter on April 03, 2009, 06:15:19 PM
Yha know i never thourgh of him as T&T couch but that just may work :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:

Mouie I like you Jack sig pic, I like the warm glasses-less smile(lol)- Very Disturbing to say the least.

I also think that Terry Fenwick might be a good pick, as he know Concacaf football and our players, the only cause for concern I have with that is that I heard someone say that doesn't pick people over a certain age, that can't work for us now, because our youth development system is lacking, so though we have so many talented and skillful youths, not that many would be able to play a solid comfortable game at WCQ level(like say Hyland, who's an exception), not saying our experienced players presently play solid and comfortable game, but just that with proper coaching they can do it in the shortterm, whereas with the youths it will take them much longer.(eg. Aklie Edwards)
Title: New TNT Coach ?
Post by: AB.Trini on April 03, 2009, 06:27:35 PM
How about Stephan Hart
Title: Re: New TNT Coach
Post by: just cool on April 03, 2009, 06:51:23 PM
How about Stephan Hart
Breds put ah question mark on yuh thread nah man!!!! yuh make it look like maturana was fired and we got ah new coach! ppl dun on edge already, doh intensify it no more than it already is nah breds, please.
Post by: Peter on April 03, 2009, 06:53:49 PM
How about Stephan Hart
Breds put ah question mark on yuh thread nah man!!!! yuh make it look like maturana was fired and we got ah new coach! ppl dun on edge already, doh intensify it no more than it already is nah bred, please.

I agree with just cool dey!
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2009, 06:54:48 PM
As soon as I see was Alberta post it ,I knew lol.
Post by: TdotTrini on April 03, 2009, 06:58:56 PM
As soon as I see was Alberta post it ,I knew lol.

Yup.
Post by: truetrini on April 03, 2009, 07:25:42 PM
Allyuh feel Stephen Hart is ah fcoking jackass?  He eh coming to play de arse with jack and he damn interference.
Post by: Jumbie on April 03, 2009, 07:39:15 PM
Whim was all ah dem fadda. BRING BACK WHIM!

Post by: Corbeaux on April 03, 2009, 08:00:59 PM
I would like Sven because of his organisation qualities and tatics as that is what we lack most but like he going back to the EPL.
Post by: Corbeaux on April 03, 2009, 08:14:45 PM

Mouie I like you Jack sig pic, I like the warm glasses-less smile(lol)- Very Disturbing to say the least.

I also think that Terry Fenwick might be a good pick, as he know Concacaf football and our players, the only cause for concern I have with that is that I heard someone say that doesn't pick people over a certain age, that can't work for us now, because our youth development system is lacking, so though we have so many talented and skillful youths, not that many would be able to play a solid comfortable game at WCQ level(like say Hyland, who's an exception), not saying our experienced players presently play solid and comfortable game, but just that with proper coaching they can do it in the shortterm, whereas with the youths it will take them much longer.(eg. Aklie Edwards)
I personally think we need a forreign coach because on Wednesday, our team was all ofer the field and not organised properly. The superiority if the US tactically made our team look worse than they actually are.
Post by: kicker on April 03, 2009, 09:46:19 PM
Is Fenwick interested in the job?
Post by: Deeks on April 03, 2009, 09:47:31 PM
Stephen was on the early blacklist when he played with strikers.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 03, 2009, 10:01:36 PM
Is Fenwick interested in the job?

He was on record on I95.5 fm today saying he was interested.....
Post by: Babalawo on April 03, 2009, 10:06:19 PM
I would like Sven because of his organisation qualities and tatics as that is what we lack most but like he going back to the EPL.
He cyah coach England or Mexico, so he could coach lil TnT?  :puking:
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2009, 10:12:30 PM
Fenwick along with latapy this team. We will qualify. I dont know what Fenwick do to Jack but he (Jack) needs to put away petty grudges for the sake of the country and give Fenwick the team. Fenwick does not need time to acclimatise and judging from the work he has done with Jab should do a much better job than Maturana.

However if he decides to continue his vindictiveness then at least get rid of Maturana. After that I really dont care who is in charge......well not really....dont call back BSC niether.

I done say all dis since last night...

In addition to playing an attractive brand ah football (from all reports), he places an emphasis on defense.

Aside from nice football with a defensive bent... he's proven himself a winner with the talent that he has.

Nice, defensive, winning football aside... from reading his comments and interviews he's knowledgeable about the game.

Nice defensive, winning football and knowledge of the game aside... MORE THAN ANYBODY right now with a similar CV, he knows our players.

All ah dat (mih hand crampin') and he knows the culture and could communicate to the players from both a sense of knowledge and a sense of understanding.  He knows the Trinidadian psyche and he knows the psyche of the Trini footballer.  He know which button to push and likely, when to give an encouraging word.  If yuh looking fuh somebody to come in RIGHT NOW and hit the ground running, I challenge you to name one other person more qualified, who knows the players inside out, who won't need additional time to assess players and won't need something of a learning curve. Time is of the essence and he's the right man, right now.

----------

Triniairman...

Fenwick and the TTFF had a falling out right after Germany with Jabloteh's supposed refusal to release the players for National duty under Wim.  TTFF retaliated by not picking Jabloteh players for a couple games.  Then you had the running feud between him and McComie while McComie was coach of Joe Public... that engendered even more bad blood inside de Warner camp.  McComie go so far as to accuse him of using racist language leading to a big ProLeague investigation... which cleared Fenwick, but the damage was done.  To top that off he's never been one to bite his tongue and he has been critical of the TTFF in the past... I can't remember specifically, but I seem to recall him weighing in on the players side during the WC bonus dispute.

Suffice to say he's something of a persona non grata inside de offices on Dundonald St.

----------

Kicker, supposedly he on record as being interested.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 03, 2009, 10:21:19 PM
Well Bakes, after the earthquake in China last year Jackula declared that he is "changed".  So who knows Fenwick will probably get a hearing....then again a vampire doh change its fangs.... :devil:

Right now Maturana have mih so desperate....any body will do yes....*sigh*

(p.s. check yuh PM)
Post by: jimmel14 on April 03, 2009, 10:48:10 PM
I love u guys too bad.. too freakn bad... In the eyes of a Warrior should be a random thread...
Post by: jimmel14 on April 03, 2009, 10:49:21 PM
i agree.. u had me heart Jumping dey oui..
Post by: Socapro on April 03, 2009, 11:10:49 PM
How about Stephan Hart

SH is a good candidate I agree but not sure if Jack will consider as SH was Jacklisted in the past!

Btw change that headline to "Suggestions for New TNT Coach" nah man!!!

Yuh making people jumpy and all fools day gone!!  :o
Post by: spideybuff on April 04, 2009, 02:20:07 AM
Only problem with Fenwick being the coach is that it would be very hard for the national side to be a Jabloteh plus Kenwyne and Carlos side. Maybe Ince and Birchy too...

Bateau and Primus starting, Latas and Yorke will be on the coachin staff, Guerra playing in front of Keon Daniel and Trent Noel guaranteed sweat. Cleon John will be back up goalie and I guess he know Hyland enough for him to start. Actually...this side sounding decent. Hyland will cut in from the left, Birchie and Trent Noel in the middle, Carlos on the right.Kenwyne up front with Guerra behind him and Hector Sam and Cornell Glen as two different options on the bench (one skilful, one speedy and both at Jabloteh). Who is Jabloteh left back though?

Post by: davyjenny1 on April 04, 2009, 03:22:36 AM

I personally think we need a forreign coach because on Wednesday, our team was all ofer the field and not organised properly. The superiority if the US tactically made our team look worse than they actually are.

but it was a foreign coach for wednesday's against U.S.A !!
Post by: boss on April 04, 2009, 05:32:06 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2003/jun/16/theknowledge.sport

And he has never managed an international side before.
And he would have to make the leap from the Pro League to World Cup Qualifiers.

But otherwise he would be a great choice  ;D
Post by: Deeks on April 04, 2009, 07:13:14 AM
Why some people does get totol-bay every time they hear JA doing this and doing that. Wha happen we don't have a mind of we own. If JA say they going Scolari we should fight for he too. Why we are such a bunch of followers..
Post by: Daft Trini on April 04, 2009, 07:19:45 AM
He cyah coach England or Mexico, so he could coach lil TnT?  :puking:

A straight case of people say the stupidest things.... :beermug:
Post by: AB.Trini on April 06, 2009, 09:33:14 PM
All this talk about who we want in ah coach and fire the coach but no one has given , in my opinion, adequate qualities they want in a COACH.
Post by: AB.Trini on August 16, 2010, 10:04:48 AM
The age old discourse around coaching TnT seems to be part of us like 'rice and peas' yet there does not seem to be any solid reasoning as to what flavors or ingredients to add to the plate to give us the desired results.

Have there ever been any public disclosure as to the criteria or credentials we are seeking in a coach? Is there a search committee, is there a selection committee? is there a  bonafide interview process? What are those entrusted with  overseeing our program really want for  our program and the ultimate goal of qualifying for WC?

Should a coach be strong in  developing players ( the process), so as to warrant a sustainable program rather than focusing on a \one shot in the dark' success?
Post by: AB.Trini on October 11, 2010, 10:10:25 AM
The question has not been fully answered. People have bandied about names of prospective coaches but have yet identified the qualities we ought to have in one who  would best qualified to coach TnT. So what if the  SW forum members were given the job to be ' headhunters' , to search out and to select the next  coach for our senior team, what would we  want in a coach?

Would we want someone who :
Works well with underachievers

What else ???????? a savior? messiah?  a magic maker? a......
Title: Re: What do we want in a coach? : Seriously ; let's be logical here...
Post by: Spursy on October 11, 2010, 11:54:06 AM
Carlos Queiroz x Portugal coach can help us, also Klinnsman needs some work.

Terry Fenwick can be a good assistant coach, he knows tt players really well and can get the best out of them most of the times.

Other options are Hugo Sanchez (Mexico), Brazillian Dunga, Chilean Pelligrini, Italians, Ferrara and Donadoni and Massimiliano Allegri.

Meh pick one

JA can have sven or scolari. LOL
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 11, 2010, 12:06:11 PM
The question has not been fully answered. People have bandied about names of prospective coaches but have yet identified the qualities we ought to have in one who  would best qualified to coach TnT. So what if the  SW forum members were given the job to be ' headhunters' , to search out and to select the next  coach for our senior team, what would we  want in a coach?

Would we want someone who :
  • Familiary with the culture
    Understands the demands of  coaching in TnT
    Skillful tactician
    Strong technical knowledge
    Knows how to manage egos
    An Ability to get the best from the most underskilled players
    Could stand up to the bureaucracies of the TTFF
    Will not be puppet ' of you know who
Works well with underachievers

What else ???????? a savior? messiah?  a magic maker? a......

that above description sounds like Bora Milutinović in a nutshell

Post by: spideybuff on October 11, 2010, 01:04:21 PM
We want a "special one" ...but no wait, he will hadda play attractive football too...hmmm..
Post by: AB.Trini on October 11, 2010, 07:15:18 PM
We want a "special one" ...but no wait, he will hadda play attractive football too...hmmm..
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But why is it that some cyar get serious and ARTICULATE THE SKILLS, KNOWLEDGE AND TRAITS WE LOOKING FOR IN A COACH.
As long as we are inept at doing so, the powers to be will put  anyone who can do  and be affordable and be a puppet  do the job. As you know when you don't have a sound plan, any plan would do.
Post by: injunchile on October 11, 2010, 07:33:37 PM
Guess what A Dutch coach after Leo's success is the answer; Look for the play he was most present here in Trinidad a while ago. He coached Chelsea - Guess?
Post by: Spursy on October 11, 2010, 07:38:01 PM
Guess what A Dutch coach after Leo's success is the answer; Look for the play he was most present here in Trinidad a while ago. He coached Chelsea - Guess?

eww hiddink.. i rather we keep latas
Post by: just cool on October 11, 2010, 08:11:35 PM
i think dunga will be the best choice for us. he believes in hard work and organization, he also has ah fitness oriented view of the game, things we truly lack. if not him then rud gullet, or kilssman to straighten out that discombobulated defense.
Post by: AB.Trini on October 11, 2010, 09:21:25 PM
Some people quick to name  a person but WHAT do We want to see in a coach for TnT? What should this person be able to do for our program besides the obvious..... what qualities should this person possess?
Post by: Socapro on October 11, 2010, 09:48:31 PM
Some people quick to name  a person but WHAT do We want to see in a coach for TnT? What should this person be able to do for our program besides the obvious..... what qualities should this person possess?

Required Qualities in our coach whether local or foreign:

1. Demand respect from Jack (no more blacklist/I pick the team!) :mackdaddy:
2. Demand regular games against decent opponents (Jack & Anil in power so money for games is no problem.) :challenge:
3. Always select our best available in form players  :applause:
4. Instill in our players that losing against Caribbean opponents whether home or away is totally unacceptable even in friendlies! :duel:
5. Reward men who perform well with more caps :thumbsup: & reward men who don't perform well with bench or no more call-ups :thumbsdown: until they consistently doing thing with their clubs that gives you no choice but to look at them again. :thumbsup:
6. Have our team playing a decent brand of possession football where we can string 10+ passes together at speed, run off the ball, whip in decent crosses and take decent shots at goal when our opponents are tired of running after a ball that they cannot get hold of unless collecting it from their net!  :P
7. Always take full blame for our loses! Do not blame the players and make statements like our local players are not good enough when is you who keep picking the same local under-performing players over & over & over again!  :shameonyou:
8. Must win the Caribbean Cup & qualify T&T for the Gold Cup or else don't even wait around to be sacked!  :loser:
9. Decent showing in the Gold Cup, we must finish higher than all other Caribbean teams that also qualify for Gold Cup or else must be happy to walk (again don't even wait around to be asked to leave, yuh not ready for World Cup!).  :-*
10. Do not take the Caribbean derby against Jamaica lightly and if you make the mistake of losing to them at home be assured that your job will be on the line! Trinis living around the world need to be able to walk the streets with our heads held high and our rep as Kings of Caribbean football in tack!! :wavetowel:
11. In fact this person should get worried for their job as head coach :nailbiting: if T&T falls below Ja in the FIFA rankings even for 1 month while they are in charge. :devil:
Post by: Midknight on October 11, 2010, 09:48:57 PM

a good right hook
Post by: AB.Trini on November 28, 2010, 09:29:16 PM
Doh call names yet...consider what we really want in a coach for TnT .
Post by: Socapro on November 28, 2010, 09:49:27 PM
Doh call names yet...consider what we really want in a coach for TnT .

To be honest AB.Trini this thread is a complete waste of time until we get what is required from our administration!

I contributed above to the thread but only because at the time I had nothing better to do!
Did you read my contribution?

As good as it was all that I suggested is a waste of time until the root of our football problems is dealt with!
Post by: AB.Trini on January 14, 2012, 01:51:34 PM
Time to back to nursery school for the TTFF. Back to the basics at all levels of football programs. We eh really know what we want much less for a coach.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 10, 2012, 04:44:17 AM
Have the TTFF really studied this question?
Post by: AB.Trini on November 10, 2012, 05:34:19 AM
No nonsense Bruce Arena- understands the regional competitions- experienced a measure of success against us and with the USA national team. Not a far stretch for our players in terms of system of play.

Or

The return of the native son- Stephen Hart- effective in developing youth teams- had experience  at the Canadian International level. Familiar with TnT. Could bring a renewed perspective to our players.

Or

A long shot- Campo I think he was a former Mexican coach.

Again like Bruce Arena not as high priced or high profile as European coaches.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 10, 2012, 05:46:27 AM
Our footballing problems cannot be fixed by any "coach".  We may get temporary patches of "success" (like qualifying for a World Cup) but our football's state of despair needs way more than a coach to fix it.
Post by: AB.Trini on June 16, 2013, 12:08:45 PM
In my humble opinion We still need to seriously ask the question before we appoint coaches
Post by: AB.Trini on June 23, 2013, 10:25:14 AM
What is the answer?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 23, 2013, 11:20:29 AM
What is the answer?

the answer is simple, somebody who could put up with BS and enjoy coming to work.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2013, 09:48:35 AM
What are we looking for in a coach?
No nonsense Bruce Arena- understands the regional competitions- experienced a measure of success against us and with the USA national team. Not a far stretch for our players in terms of system of play.

Or

The return of the native son- Stephen Hart- effective in developing youth teams- had experience  at the Canadian International level. Familiar with TnT. Could bring a renewed perspective to our players.

Or

A long shot- Campo I think he was a former Mexican coach.

Again like Bruce Arena not as high priced or high profile as European coaches.

Ah Love it
Post by: AB.Trini on December 19, 2016, 04:32:25 PM

The carousel continues
Post by: AB.Trini on December 21, 2016, 09:42:58 AM
Quite compelling when there is little attention paid to the context of our football, our football ethos the attributes of a competent successful coach- instead it appears once more that we resort to nepotism, back room deals . Personal favours .  Incidieous  bias and  friend friend ting.
Is it any wonder that we continue to stagnate and be stymied in our progress.
Yet we seem to be alarmed and offended when an outsider points out the obvious in our approach to the game- recall Wim' s statement of the under the coconut limieing attitude now another states the obvious about our lack of serious intent

We clamour for positive results yet we keep doing the same things over and over hoping we will get the desired outcome - INSANITY- INCOMPETENCE at the highest level attempting to direct the course of our programs
But then in the familiar TnT refrain -"what we go do" that is how it is"

On to WC qualifiers 2022
Post by: Controversial on December 21, 2016, 09:32:17 PM
Quite compelling when there is little attention paid to the context of our football, our football ethos the attributes of a competent successful coach- instead it appears once more that we resort to nepotism, back room deals . Personal favours .  Incidieous  bias and  friend friend ting.
Is it any wonder that we continue to stagnate and be stymied in our progress.
Yet we seem to be alarmed and offended when an outsider points out the obvious in our approach to the game- recall Wim' s statement of the under the coconut limieing attitude now another states the obvious about our lack of serious intent

We clamour for positive results yet we keep doing the same things over and over hoping we will get the desired outcome - INSANITY- INCOMPETENCE at the highest level attempting to direct the course of our programs
But then in the familiar TnT refrain -"what we go do" that is how it is"

On to WC qualifiers 2022

What's your opinion about the firing of Hart?
Post by: AB.Trini on December 21, 2016, 10:28:03 PM
Personally I advocated for Hart- I probably could do a search to find  when we began tooting his horn- for so many reasons I thought that we had finally found a coach who understood our game , our context and our players - I relished inthe early success he had with this team and with the program but then the wheels fell off. Reasons one can only surmise. I am not saying any coach is beyond reproach however inmyopinion, there appeared tobe external factors and disruptions which seeped into what was a cohesive unit.

I think the success of a team like this involves more than a coach and in my opinion  Coach Hart was not given the supports or treatment toco duct business to sustain success.  I think if all supports were given and tne results were not forthcoming I could see justifiable reasoning for dismissal.  I mean would it not have made sense to have a Terry Fenwick as a technical advisor or someone else with some credentials to work on Hart's team?  Surround the man with a supportive qualified staff and let's see what could have happened?

Players doing bs and getting reprimanded should not be seen as a slap on Harts tenure - why did the TTFA not come out and publicially denounce and take a strong stance aganist playes who demonstrated a lack of discipline? Why would certainly TTFA officials allegedly be interfering and soliciting players regarding coaching practices - utter unprofessional! So in many ways I think that Coach Hart is a good fit for TnT but I believe certain players let him down and certain personnel around him did the same -
Ironically it felt like a coup!!I would always continue to support our national teams but don't have to agree with some decisions- then again there may be things that they knew that we have not - I support  but will not blindly follow those who claim to lead.
Post by: Controversial on December 21, 2016, 10:44:08 PM
Personally I advocated for Hart- I probably could do a search to find  when we began tooting his horn- for so many reasons I thought that we had finally found a coach who understood our game , our context and our players - I relished inthe early success he had with this team and with the program but then the wheels fell off. Reasons one can only surmise. I am not saying any coach is beyond reproach however inmyopinion, there appeared tobe external factors and disruptions which seeped into what was a cohesive unit.

I think the success of a team like this involves more than a coach and in my opinion  Coach Hart was not given the supports or treatment toco duct business to sustain success.  I think if all supports were given and tne results were not forthcoming I could see justifiable reasoning for dismissal.  I mean would it not have made sense to have a Terry Fenwick as a technical advisor or someone else with some credentials to work on Hart's team?  Surround the man with a supportive qualified staff and let's see what could have happened?

Players doing bs and getting reprimanded should not be seen as a slap on Harts tenure - why did the TTFA not come out and publicially denounce and take a strong stance aganist playes who demonstrated a lack of discipline? Why would certainly TTFA officials allegedly be interfering and soliciting players regarding coaching practices - utter unprofessional! So in many ways I think that Coach Hart is a good fit for TnT but I believe certain players let him down and certain personnel around him did the same -
Ironically it felt like a coup!!I would always continue to support our national teams but don't have to agree with some decisions- then again there may be things that they knew that we have not - I support  but will not blindly follow those who claim to lead.

Excellent analysis... :beermug:

I share many if not all of your points, had SH been supported and given the proper support and in the event he had failed despite all the support, then of course, let him go, but this never happened, he was undermined from the beginning which created an environment which was toxic and the intro of the dictator created a downward slide... with people undermining the staff and hart at every turn, as well as certain players..

I will always support my nation but not this corruption and this regime...

Post by: coache on December 22, 2016, 11:25:08 PM
The Coach must be a charismatic leader.
Must be a visionary.
Must not be out dated i.e modern Coaches utilize statistics, understand the value of a team psychologist, athletic trainer, fitness trainers, physiotherapists, physical Therapist(notice I didn't say physician).
Must be able to delegate
Possess great organizational skills
As well as other points which have already been made on this board
Must be able to count to three ( unfortunately none of the Trinidad coaches besides Beenhaaker knows how to do that)
Must be a winner.
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2017, 09:30:45 PM
Now we back to the drawing board- blaming the coach- we really should ask the question:
What do we need in a TTFA administrative body?
Post by: AB.Trini on January 11, 2017, 06:34:20 PM
Here we go again- until we look at the fundamental principles on page one of this thread we are doom to the heights of stupidity in our approach to any successful program inTnT. The ship n sinking real fast!
Post by: Deeks on January 11, 2017, 07:54:38 PM
The ship sink real fast!!!!! The ship done sink. Is just the captain refuse to bail out. Still have the bullion on board.
Post by: ABTrini on June 16, 2020, 06:49:19 AM
Up till this day- even though we have a coach in place some people still talking about the merits of how that coach was selected?

does anyone know if there was a selection committee and what the criteria was/ is for that said position?

What was the criteria for deciding on a base salary?
Was the awarded salary based on - experience?  Previous coaching success? 

What is the comparative salary among coaches in the region?
How much is the Jamaican national coach paid?

Could we have some sense and  sensibility when it comes to decision making from the TTFA?

Post by: ABTrini on July 08, 2020, 05:55:51 AM
Nah boi- I c yah believe  it- after watching this video , https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjYtGKn-kjU&feature=emb_title, about the current head coach of the national me s team is like we  either have the dunciest  leaders heading up TTFA or we are susceptible to - a swindling sweet talking English accent which summers to all omnipotent in these parts.

From purely an ethical standpoint - how do we even elect an individual with these past discretions to lead our team? Well then again this falls into our Trini norm- how do we even elect leaders to lead the TTFA , you ent see the previous ministers and leaders from past governments?  Men heading up sports programs and giving away money freely to anyone with a shady past?

Why should the selection of a coach be any different? But is this the man we want at our helm for our young players to aspire and to follow? Then again we had A coach who was part of insurrection that held a government at ransom - came back and held several coaching positions
Only inTnT - old people use to say " whey yuh go do" ent we like commess? Ent we like bacchanal?
Ent we are the epi centre for corruption?
The current coach found a way to adapt assimilate integrate and become like ah Trini- hone his craft well and is now being duly rewarded.
Yuh get what you sow - we will reap what was sown-
Is there no ne with the moral fortitude to make difficult decisions to right this ship?
Or is all this normal as to how we do business? Looks like we always had a normalization committeee in place
Tally ho
Post by: ABTrini on December 10, 2020, 08:35:17 AM
Up till this day- even though we have a coach in place some people still talking about the merits of how that coach was selected?

does anyone know if there was a selection committee and what the criteria was/ is for that said position?

What was the criteria for deciding on a base salary?
Was the awarded salary based on - experience?  Previous coaching success? 

What is the comparative salary among coaches in the region?
How much is the Jamaican national coach paid?

Could we have some sense and  sensibility when it comes to decision making from the TTFA?

At the end of the day..,,,,, just get the team to win:  Caribbean Cup ; Gold Cup ... get to World Cup- win ah game or two-   
Doh lose to Jamaica - Anguilla- Barbados. Or Guyana - or anyplace where ah Trini coaching cause then talk go start that he should be the next head coach 😊😊😊😊😊😊
Post by: ABTrini on June 07, 2021, 07:53:44 AM
Ah we back for another kick at the cat ooops coaching thing- predictable
E nt we like it so?
Post by: ABTrini on June 10, 2021, 10:05:28 PM
What's the criteria to coach TnT national men's team?
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 12:02:05 AM
What's the criteria to coach TnT national men's team?
stewps. like you gonna foot the bill.
Post by: Tiresais on June 11, 2021, 03:16:32 AM
Cheap
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2021, 03:20:32 AM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable

Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 10:00:36 AM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable
is arrogant blabber mouth angus in your rastasfari. if you all thought terry was arrogant and out of sorts then take a high school know it all flunky coach under your collar, an 8-0 loser to mexico with a very good team at under 23 Olympic level flunky. that’s what I call one step forward ten steps backward.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2021, 10:25:08 AM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable
is arrogant blabber mouth angus in your rastasfari. if you all thought terry was arrogant and out of sorts then take a high school know it all flunky coach under your collar, an 8-0 loser to mexico with a very good team at under 23 Olympic level flunky. that’s what I call one step forward ten steps backward.

Yuh realise de post above is a comment about any prospective coach and not specifically an endorsement of Angus Eve?

Nonetheless, go here (https://wired868.com/2021/06/02/bb-ep-9-audio-angus-eve-on-bertilles-life-lesson-developing-molino-and-the-pres-naps-rivalry/) from 1:15 and listen to comments made by Eve regarding playing The Bahamas.

Report your findings. :)
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 10:56:38 AM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable

Yuh realise de post above is a comment about any prospective coach and not specifically an endorsement of Angus Eve?

Nonetheless, go here (https://wired868.com/2021/06/02/bb-ep-9-audio-angus-eve-on-bertilles-life-lesson-developing-molino-and-the-pres-naps-rivalry/) from 1:15 and listen to comments made by Eve regarding playing The Bahamas.

you read too much into things mate. I was simply saying that you all called for his sacking and now it seems like you’re getting more than you bargain for, his sacking and another local flunky to fill in the spaces. it’s like exchanging a tuna for a sardine. nice trade.
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 11:14:06 AM
None of these local guys has coached anywhere yet they’re always running to take control of the national team. they’ve not coached in an ok league no where in the world but they are given either a youth team to get their feet wet or the senior team.

Why don’t they at least apply to coach in the English conference and gain some exposure before trying to take on such a huge responsibility. latapy used the national team as a launching pad for his career, so did Dennis lawrence and stern John, why don’t they go coach a small club in England before taking on such a mega project. kenwin could do that because he’s well known in england, but no, they’re always in a hurry to coach at the highest level (international) and people marvel when they fail.

when will we go out and spend the money to hire a good coach from south or Central America who understands concacaf, or better yet an American coach like bob bradley or Bruce arena? these men understand concacaf and has been coaching all over the world gaining valuable experience, my god where did angus eve coach but in the SSFL?

This is another Dennis lawrence experiment, and these local coaches always doing the most mind blowing things like ignoring players they don’t like for shitting waste of time local  players. my god I can’t believe this is happening again, talk about going backwards.
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on June 11, 2021, 11:44:53 AM
What i have been told is Eve and KJ will be interim and prob after gold cup they lining up some Dutchman.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2021, 12:42:49 PM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable

you read too much into things mate. I was simply saying that you all called for his sacking and now it seems like you’re getting more than you bargain for, his sacking and another local flunky to fill in the spaces. it’s like exchanging a tuna for a sardine. nice trade.

And if you keep him, the returns are only diminishing. So there's no doubt that replacement is merited.

I have no problem with a coach being granted the opportunity to be successful. Around here we want success but if failure comes, it must be treated for what it is.
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 12:58:31 PM
Cheap

1. Competent
2. Affordable

And if you keep him, the returns are only diminishing. So there's no doubt that replacement is merited.

I have no problem with a coach being granted the opportunity to be successful. Around here we want success but if failure comes, it must be treated for what it is.
what system? the whole thing stinks to the high heavens. you people are mad folks by constantly putting new wine in old busted bottles. pep gaudiola could take hold of this team and we would still struggle. the reality is that the lads are technically poor and lack quality in that regard, they lack mental toughness and are not patriotic enough to fight hard for country, and maybe it’s because they don’t respect the people who is administrating football, whatever the problem is it’s certainly not their fault, they were not trained to be winners, in fact they were not trained well at all, and asking a coach to fix that is like asking a podiatrist to perform major abdominal surgery.

IMO they should be firing local coaches and brining in better coaches for the league instead if firing international coaches every six months, in fact why not fire The whole league, this is where the problem lies anyway, since 98% of our players started their professional careers in that crappy bush league.
Post by: Tiresais on June 11, 2021, 01:01:43 PM
I don't have an issue with foreign or domestic. I have an issue with stupid money for coaches. Why the hell is he getting $25k a month? Our league and FA are in a shambles, save the damn money to pay off debt, give a local coach a steady wage instead.
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 01:08:24 PM
I don't have an issue with foreign or domestic. I have an issue with stupid money for coaches. Why the hell is he getting $25k a month? Our league and FA are in a shambles, save the damn money to pay off debt, give a local coach a steady wage instead.
why worry about that money when fifa is picking up the tab? now if they hire angus the federation is stuck with the bill, that’s according to andre baptiste….foreign coaches are paid by fifa in this normalization arrangement while local coaches are the responsibility of the federation and their expenses.
Post by: Tiresais on June 11, 2021, 02:35:30 PM
why worry about that money when fifa is picking up the tab? now if they hire angus the federation is stuck with the bill, that’s according to andre baptiste….foreign coaches are paid by fifa in this normalization arrangement while local coaches are the responsibility of the federation and their expenses.

Are FIFA paying though? They're a bunch of crooks, I doubt they're giving money for free. I wouldn't out it past them to make it a loan
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2021, 02:54:45 PM

It may be that the reference was about the resolution of unpaid salary and the disparity with which that circumstance is treated as between foreign coaches and local coaches.
Post by: pull stones on June 11, 2021, 03:08:54 PM

Are FIFA paying though? They're a bunch of crooks, I doubt they're giving money for free. I wouldn't out it past them to make it a loan
crooks or not they moved and usurped the house, now they are resposible for paying the bills, haddad is not an elected official, he's their govenor and ATM the federation belongs to fifa. anyway, i can;t believe the brainlessness behind TT football, it's all monkey donkey and no one is using their heads for nothing but hating on each other.
Post by: Tiresais on June 12, 2021, 12:32:18 AM

crooks or not they moved and usurped the house, now they are resposible for paying the bills, haddad is not an elected official, he's their govenor and ATM the federation belongs to fifa. anyway, i can;t believe the brainlessness behind TT football, it's all monkey donkey and no one is using their heads for nothing but hating on each other.

But they're not our ATM! They're paying for their people, all other expenses to come from the TTFA budget. Sure they give to that budget but don't think for a second they want us in anything other than mountains of debt. This is pay back for dominating CONCACAF through the CFU - DJW was the turncoat who broke it up and now its about maintaining the Canada/USA/Mexico control
Post by: ABTrini on June 12, 2021, 10:14:23 AM

But they're not our ATM! They're paying for their people, all other expenses to come from the TTFA budget. Sure they give to that budget but don't think for a second they want us in anything other than mountains of debt. This is pay back for dominating CONCACAF through the CFU - DJW was the turncoat who broke it up and now its about maintaining the Canada/USA/Mexico control
It matters not if FIFA is paying that- which  we do not know for a fact- but if one is  paid to prepare a budget for FIFA's allocation of unds- would a sane rationale person  allocate 20k US per month for a coach with out the   experience to lead a national team in a manner worthy of more thoughtful approaches?
Post by: ABTrini on June 12, 2021, 10:15:48 AM

At this time, there appears to be a clamoring for a  man with a reputation as oppose to examining the contextual needs of our situation. I mean if Sven had all the top EPL players at his disposal and could not achieve the level of success as expected , what predictable success would he get out of coaching Jamaica? Is qualifying for the WC we (TNT and Jamaica) are best hoping for?

Possible Porcesss
P.S. we starting with a blank slate: we will solicit responses from focus groups: THE PLF executive, the public, the player s local and foreign, the TTFF, ummm.. special advisor JW, umm.. former  coaches, local coaches..... mouth men like A.Corneal....

Now we take all that information and we begin the process of finding common trends, common needs and gathering data on needs and  the best fit.

We bring the group back together again to start looking at  submitting names of possible candidates and examining which of these candidates best fits our profile.
For those on the NC appointed seach for a coach... please consider before you make a hasility  sorid decision.
Post by: ABTrini on July 23, 2023, 07:54:41 AM

Possible Porcesss

For those on the NC appointed seach for a coach... please consider before you make a hasility  sorid decision.

ah boi- ah see we back to the age old question. it's 2023 and we eh getting this right- look nah we cyar believe that is ' duncy people ' running we football.