Sports => Football => Topic started by: truetrini on July 08, 2006, 10:17:40 PM

Title: Gally says T&T football have too much bad mind....from Express
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2006, 10:17:40 PM
Where was Russell Latapy?
By: Bc Pires (Express).

Former Trinidad & Tobago striker and coach of the Strike Squad that just failed to qualify for the 1990 World Cup, Everald "Gally" Cummings talks freely about the Soca Warriors and the World Cup.

Q: Were you satisfied with the Soca Warriors' performance?
A: Satisfied to the point that we were not disgraced; but our way of playing, I was not satisfied with.

What would you have done differently?
A: I'd have put in more offence. World Cup is about showcasing your style of play but I don't think we were allowed to play our Trinbagonian way. We do have our own style of play, contrary to what a lot of people believe. I proved that in 1989.

But we were successful in drawing the first game v Sweden?
A: It's a great achievement to tie your first World Cup game; but I thought we should have played a little more football after. The Africans showed they're not afraid to match their skills with anybody. They looked like heroes.

1.3 million people want to know why Russell Latapy didn't play in the England game?
A: I would have played him. In the last 15 minutes, England was frustrated, you could have seen it. If we had put Latapy on before [English coach Sven-Goran] Erikkson substituted his own, Erikkson would have had to put on a defender, not an attacker. In a way, when Latapy is on the field, is a threat to Beenhakker.
The team is a better team when Latapy is on the field; we all know that, we all saw that! But Beenhakker wants that team to play defensive and Latapy is offensive; and because of Latapy's leadership qualities and his inspiration as a player and a person, he knows the team will go forward too much. So he has to keep it out! In other words [chuckling], Latapy has such a strong personality that Beenhakker is afraid of him.

It was a deliberate ploy to retain control by the coach?
A: That's my feeling! That's what I see!

But Latapy came on in the last game and we lost?
A: Because he came on when we were one-down! Latapy was the last substitution in the last game! He should have started.

He smokes 40 cigarettes a day, though, and doesn't have the lungs?
A: Rubbish! How much did Ronaldinho run in this tournament? And he's still the best player in the world. Didn't Latapy play the whole game against Guatemala? And we won? Stern John scored. Stern John, Dwight Yorke, are better players, the entire team is a better team when Latapy's on the field.
Latapy's experienced enough, whether he smokes cigarettes or not. If you let the ball do the work, you're not going to be tired. We coaches all see things differently but I think there times in games that were earmarked for him [like] the last 20 minutes.

But you were pleased with us getting to the World Cup?
A: Oh yeah. Since I left Fatima college I've dedicated myself to our football, nothing else. Some people do it part-time and halfway. If is one person who has been involved in football all my life, is Gally Cummings. I didn't go away and coach foreign teams, I stayed right here and worked with our boys for our football and it was a dream to see our team get to the World Cup; and it finally came true.
Sitting there in the stadium looking at the first game, you couldn't help but come to tears, seeing your boys performing for the whole world. The cultural contingent was also making us proud. It was like a Jouvert morning. I saw my country, for the first time in a long time, doing the thing I've always advocated: marriage of culture and sport.

We lost the football and won the party?
A: Reminds me of 1989 when we lost the game and won the country!

So do we become the next Costa Rica or Jamaica?
A: We qualify without a proper structure in place. If you had looked at England, you'd have seen [future England coach Steve] McLaren sitting down next to Erikkson. I've always advocated that, if you bring a foreigner here, have somebody [local] there who can carry on. And the right person, not just somebody' friend. We shortlist coaches very funny in this country. I don't understand who does it or how.
Somebody mightn't like BC Pires but the thing about it is, they must like what you can do for the country. Sometimes Beenhakker says to newspapers, "I'm only going to talk to you for two minutes". And nobody says anything. I know Lincoln Phillips has been trying to do a job but I can say it has been done before.
I was technical director on two occasions and had a proper structure in place from the Under-15s go right up to the national team. So there ain't nothing new that Lincoln is doing. We must focus on the national team. We don't want to end up like Jamaica. Costa Rica and those Latin countries have always had structures and that is why they always go to the World Cup. And they're all on the same page: one agenda. In Trinidad we have too much vindictiveness, politics and bickering interfering with the issue itself.

If you could make one change, what would it be?
A: I would change the philosophy of our football administration and its vindictiveness.

What stage of the World Cup produces the best games?
A: When teams get into the second round. During finals, you don't see the best games. Anybody could win, really. It has to do with which team scores the first goal, or what decision a referee might make. In the middle of the tournament is where you see the good football.

What can FIFA do to improve the quality of play from quarter-finals on?
A: Make sure that, before World Cup, players are rested properly. If you looked at Brazil, some of them looked very tired.

There's another question: what happened to Brazil this year?
Is not what happened to Brazil; is what happened to France! France had been playing a kind of lackadaisical, slow, boring kind of football but [against] Brazil, it was different. People say Brazil didn't play well against France but it was [more like] France didn't allow Brazil to play well. France have three [midfielders] of world standing: [Claude] Makelele, [Zinedine] Zidane and [Patrick] Vieira.
Those are six-footers! And you're trying to bring up little fellas like Kaka and Ronaldinho against them. Zidane, on a good day, is the best footballer you could see. France closed the middle with those players and forced Brazil to the sides, where they have their more aged players, Cafu and Roberto Carlos.

So who do you like for the final today, then?
A: Well, boy, to be honest, I always like Zidane and these guys how they play. But they have a team where things ain't bound to go right.
Because they focus on [Thierry] Henry in front alone. Whereas Italy have different people who could score goals and they play until the fat lady sings. I would say France has a better all-round team; but Italy have what it takes to win.

So you're hedging your bets?
A: [Nodding, smiling] I hedging.

Will we see penalty kicks to decide the game?
A: I think this one will be decided, maybe late in the game, but I don't feel we'll go to penalty kicks. I don't think penalty kicks is a nice way to lose a World Cup.

But there's no greater excitement for the viewer?
A: As a coach, I could tell you penalty kicks is nerve-wracking. Preparation and having the best players don't guarantee you success. England proved that! But I think this was one of the best World Cups I've seen. Being in Germany, I thought it was one of the most organised, with respect to security, to people having fun, representing their country in a free spirit. I was at the Fan Fest.
My wife, Roslyn Khan-Cummings, is the deputy PS of the Ministry of Culture and the chef de mission of the cultural contingent. I was there through Mykon Travel Ltd and I saw for myself. I travel in the buses with the Strike Squad and the '73 team-and when I mention those players, I feel very sad. I don't think they were treated properly. I really thought we, the '73 and '89 squads, would have gotten the opportunity to visit our Soca Warriors and wish them all the best in Germany but that wasn't to be.

Was that bad organisation or bad mind?
A: It wasn't badly organised at all. I wouldn't use, "bad mind", I would use [pauses, shrugs shoulders] actually, yeah, it was bad mind in truth because it started from here. If a [private] company [Mykon Travel Ltd] have to take you there and your football association don't' really care, it's a bad thing for the youngsters to see. I'm a living example of that. You hear all kinds of names calling in football and you don't hear mine, and I have done more than most.
I've given my life to the country and others have given theirs abroad-and they come back and hold big jobs and I'm out only because I have an opinion of my own, and it appears you can't have that these days. People in this country seem to always go for people they can control. I've seen foreign coaches come here when they want, make all the money, go on vacation when they want-and be treated like kings.
The kind of way we treat our own has to change. I proved myself. I don't think anybody did the kind of job I did with the kind of resources I had in '89. I've done enough to be holding an office. I'm not begging for anything; I deserve it!
Title: Re: Gally says T&T football have too much bad mind....from Express
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 08, 2006, 10:46:37 PM
Gally comment make me feel to piss..steeeps
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 08, 2006, 11:13:49 PM
I don't know what it is about Gally but while you read you can't help but think he bitter about everything. 
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 08, 2006, 11:14:03 PM
Rise up my people....rise up!

Talk yuh talk Gally you isah boss. Dem cyar stop yuh atall....

They will never want yuh in dey because yuh talk yuh mind . TTFF and dem jes wa to be 'Massa' and doh wa the slaves to rise up.

Speak yuh mind pardnah speak yuh mind.

Hold it dong !
Post by: grimm01 on July 08, 2006, 11:34:35 PM
de part about Beenie keeping Latapy out the England game doh make any sense. what purpose it serving for the coach to sabotage the team?

trinis love ah conspiracy theory...
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 08, 2006, 11:53:38 PM
Maradona was allowed to visit Argentina during the Cup, so maybe a visit from the '73 and '89 teams would have been a good gesture.  Even if it were for a short time.  But then, there is a lot of bitterness  that is emanating from these groups, for various reasons. 
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 12:10:24 AM
Gally had some good poits, his point of playing Latas in the last 15 mins against England makes sense but it easy to say that after the fact.  However, he is very critical of Leo when he himself used to preach shit about latas and yorke cant play at the same time..how they play the same way...up to this day i cant see where latas and yorke are the same type of players.  It appears that he wants the job of national coach, i doh blame de man for 2 reasons..he had some success in the past and every coach has the ambition of coaching the national team.  But i think he going about it the wrong way by criticising Beenhakker..he should talk about what he is capable of doing to be successful and not what Leo did wrong..he sounding like Hugo Sanchez.  In the meantime he needs to caoch a lil local club or ah national youth team and demonstrate he could still handle his business...coaching Carapichaima Snr Comp doh cut it.
Post by: skatetackle on July 09, 2006, 01:06:27 AM
Sounds like sour grapes, he time come and gone like all the other so called "experts" and critics.  :)  They all have the same gripes. He talk about all the foreign coaches and the people who leave TnT, the players leave TnT too, but they all come together for the common cause though when their number is called. Latapy will most likely the next local based coach and surely didn't mind sitting out his time in Germany, and if Benhakker was scared of opening the defence with Latas on it's was only in the best interest of conceding additional goals.
As a fan I would agree that Latas should have been on the field but who am I to say. Technically there are arguments which could be made both ways but I'm sure an open debate could settle this.... Leo vs Gally  :devil:
Post by: marcus on July 09, 2006, 01:45:23 AM

gally hull yuh ass
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 02:06:52 AM
40 cigs a day huh ? That's two packs (I think) a day.......Latapy doesn't smoke that much, at least I hope not.

Kaka & Ronaldinho eh little - I've seen them close up...Gally eh know what he talkin' bout.

.....and yeah he sound a little bitter
Post by: Mr Mc on July 09, 2006, 03:02:33 AM
Gally real bitter for real, Angustura could bottle his sweat and sell it.

Its hard to take the few points he does have serious when his opinion is laced with such Venom.  He doh like Leo and Lincoln Phillips at all.  Is one thing if the men in the positions doing a bad job, then you could make a case for having the job, but both the coach and the TD are doing good work.
What is Gallys current occupation, what he doing right now to say he should be TD or head coach, or does he think he deserve it based on past performance?
Somebody tell gally yuh do big up yourself by putting down the next man, even I think Latas should have played the last 20mins of each game, but to say he fraid of Latas personality that is why he did not play him...come on man!
I would like an explanation of why he did not play (defensive liability is not good enough) but being afraid of his persoanlity is rubbish.
The more I read that article the more Gally sound like Al Bundy "I scored 4 touch downs in 1989"
Post by: supporter on July 09, 2006, 03:03:18 AM
altho i agree with him regarding more playing time for latas during the WC, if we opened up our game to play more offense instead of defense, we wouldve been conceding goals left and right.
Post by: kappy on July 09, 2006, 05:54:16 AM

gally hull yuh ass

in truth ... sour grapes ...
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 06:36:01 AM
de part about Beenie keeping Latapy out the England game doh make any sense. what purpose it serving for the coach to sabotage the team?

I totally disagree with you,I'll tell you why,gally said it right in the last 20mins of the game england was fustrated,spent,bringing on latas would've stalled erickson plans of bringing on a forward,because of latas attacking capabilities,enoug said talk done wrong move on beenies part and I agree with gally on this one.............peace.   
Post by: ANC2 on July 09, 2006, 06:44:38 AM
Easy for Gally to speak when he is not under stress of the job. eg: "Latapy and Yorke can't play together" What happen to that Gally?

Anyway he made some very good points and yes Gally should be involved in T&T Football somewhere
Post by: shivadee on July 09, 2006, 06:47:35 AM
That interview with Gally shows this mans SORE ATTITUDE. And he knows that on his best day with angels in the heavens and demons from hell at his side, he as coach could NEVER make it to the World Cup, EVER EVER. from this interview you can see He has too much PRIDE in himself...FIRST problem. Typical typical attitude. TALK dont get you to world cup Gally. SO the next best thing to do is to speak in hind sight. You seeing allot of these kinda talkers on the forums these days, woulda coulda shoulda, fox and the grapes. loosers...all of them.
Post by: Touches on July 09, 2006, 07:17:20 AM
This man sound like he swallow a bitter pill dry dry without water and it stick somewhere in he gullet.

Post by: MickeyRat on July 09, 2006, 07:23:37 AM
Stupss.......

Didn't we have this discussion last week?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2006, 07:25:23 AM
Gally had some good poits, his point of playing Latas in the last 15 mins against England makes sense but it easy to say that after the fact.  However, he is very critical of Leo when he himself used to preach shit about latas and yorke cant play at the same time..how they play the same way...up to this day i cant see where latas and yorke are the same type of players.  It appears that he wants the job of national coach, i doh blame de man for 2 reasons..he had some success in the past and every coach has the ambition of coaching the national team.  But i think he going about it the wrong way by criticising Beenhakker..he should talk about what he is capable of doing to be successful and not what Leo did wrong..he sounding like Hugo Sanchez.  In the meantime he needs to caoch a lil local club or ah national youth team and demonstrate he could still handle his business...coaching doh cut it.

how did Carapichaima Snr Comp do by the way?
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2006, 07:36:41 AM
Gally,
If perchance you're reading this, permit me to say my two cents.

Every Trinbagonion is PROUD of the '73 AND '89 teams. No one and nothing can erase the sentiments and memories those two teams have creared. No one doubts your great love and committment to the local game and its unique kaisoca Soccer. However, your approach to the administration (even if you feel you have legitimate reason for agnst) is counter productive, and actually leaves a bad example for others to follow. There is too much "I" in your language. Lincoln is successful partly because he seems to know how to work with others (who may somtimes be antagonistic toward him). Any, be it Trinidad or anywhere in the world, groun you work with will pose ego problems and pettiness issues. You just need to put the game before yourself.

Just my two cents.
Post by: pecan on July 09, 2006, 07:39:31 AM
pettyness galore
Post by: GyurlTrini on July 09, 2006, 07:47:08 AM
lol, hmm, he does sound alot like sour grapes in truth. he might have a few good points about Latas there, but, as some people said before, it is easy to say those things in hindsight and especially so when you weren't the coach incharge. It probably would have been nice for the 72 & 89 teams to have visited with the current team, but I wonder if anyone even bothered to make the necessary arrangements for that to happen, also we have to consider if Beenhakker would have allowed it, given that he wouldn't know those players and probably wouldn't have wanted his men around people with negative vibes (assuming that the members of those teams were a little jelous of not having the opportunity to play in the world cup themselves).

There's really alot of things to consider there before making statements like what Gally made about the coach etc.
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2006, 07:52:19 AM
I find Gally make good points, maybe "not all", but "some" was good.
Post by: dcs on July 09, 2006, 07:57:18 AM
Gally may have a legitimate beef.

What is he supposed to do if he is deliberately overlooked for appointments because of the bad relationship he has with people in charge?
Seriously...what else can he do but go to the public.  I don't think he needs to tear down the coach but I suppose once he gone public he will say what he feel?

I don't like how he throwing words for Lincoln as if he is an adversary.  Would he refuse a position as U-23 coach?

If one of the problems people have with him is that he is difficult to work with, then he is just reinforcing that now with the way he is cutting down people for no good reason...NONE...there is no good reason for doing it.  I find it pointless to criticize Leo at this point after the fact.  U take the good with the bad....fact is if we followed someone else's game plan or approach we probably wouldn't have been there in the first place.

My suggestion is to focus his criticism to those that deserve it in the administration but do not unfairly attack your FELLOW coaches....yes...Leo is your fellow coach...doesn't matter if he from foreign.  And you should consider people who go abroad to work then come back bring experience which may have been their intention in the first place so don't be foolish and say I was here longer than you!!

It would be great to see a SW.net interview with Gally that is frank and honest and extensively addresses attitudes and the real problems we face.
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 08:01:39 AM
I know the man personally,because he coached me at a time when college football in trini was boss,he was always involved in every aspect of the game,so I ask of all don't judge because you may disagree with him for taking a stance on what he saw as the teams flaws on a coaching level,he would be doing an injustice to himself if he did,nt sound off at some point,if anyone is qualified to do it,is gally he earns that right.

I would like guys on this site to think for second,if no one objected or expressed how they feel it would'nt be a democracy and at the end of the day don't matter what you do or say you'll be criticized for doing it anyway.      
Post by: andre samuel on July 09, 2006, 08:11:32 AM
This a straight case of Gally Cummings having a problem with Lincoln Phillips!!

I know Lincoln Phillips has been trying to do a job but I can say it has been done before.
I was technical director on two occasions and had a proper structure in place from the Under-15s go right up to the national team. So there ain't nothing new that Lincoln is doing

I've given my life to the country and others have given theirs abroad-and they come back and hold big jobs and I'm out only because I have an opinion of my own, and it appears you can't have that these days.

His comments are filled with so much venom, its not funny!!

altho i agree with him regarding more playing time for latas during the WC, if we opened up our game to play more offense instead of defense, we wouldve been conceding goals left and right.

this is so true supporter!!
Post by: Storeboy on July 09, 2006, 08:24:17 AM

I totally disagree with you,I'll tell you why,gally said it right in the last 20mins of the game england was fustrated,spent,bringing on latas would've stalled erickson plans of bringing on a forward,because of latas attacking capabilities,enoug said talk done wrong move on beenies part and I agree with gally on this one.............peace.   

Is allright to look back and criiticize.  Hindsight is always 20/20 as they say.  Ask Gally why he let the US beat TT in 1989.  Was it bad coaching?  Why didn't he do this or that?  Blame him!  (Ah guess we did that)  But did he like it?  Did he think that was  appropriate?  What goes around comes around.  Why would you mess with a team or change the philosophy that holding England for 83 minutes?  Beenehaker gamble and he loss.  He is in place to make strategic opinions on coaching.  We tried - for the first time, I mght add -  and did creditably. Tough luck but let's stop the personal attacks and accusing this person of bad mind and this group of vindictiveness etc, etc.  Nobody truly thought we could contain England for that long.  In the end we had a good experience and we must build on it.  But with his attitude of sour grapes, he surely is not the appropriate person to lead the team to 2010.  Talk about bad mind and vindictiveness.  That is Gally Cummings!
Post by: kappy on July 09, 2006, 08:29:57 AM
I know the man personally,because he coached me at a time when college football in trini was boss,he was always involved in every aspect of the game,so I ask of all don't judge because you may disagree with him for taking a stance on what he saw as the teams flaws on a coaching level,he would be doing an injustice to himself if he did,nt sound off at some point,if anyone is qualified to do it,is gally he earns that right.

I would like guys on this site to think for second,if no one objected or expressed how they feel it would'nt be a democracy and at the end of the day don't matter what you do or say you'll be criticized for doing it anyway.      

Pinto ... don't try to shroud Gally's overtly negative and destructive points in a democracy argument ... he has seen an opportunity where he can stake a personal claim ... in self intrest ... b/c of all the local coaches who could do anything with a team it will be him ... he's a good coach ... but he should not discredit the team and coach for what they have achieved ... to make himself a better candidate he should be suggesting ways to improve and build a solid foundation for TnT football.  his approach is entirely wrong at this point ... unless the powers that be swallow their pride for the sake of our country we would be waiting another 40 years or more for this opportunity to come again.
Post by: Cocorite on July 09, 2006, 08:36:49 AM

Kappy. . . .I wit yuh on this one.

wrong approach. . .
Pinto ... don't try to shroud Gally's overtly negative and destructive points in a democracy argument ... he has seen an opportunity where he can stake a personal claim ... in self intrest ... b/c of all the local coaches who could do anything with a team it will be him ... he's a good coach ... but he should not discredit the team and coach for what they have achieved ... to make himself a better candidate he should be suggesting ways to improve and build a solid foundation for TnT football.  his approach is entirely wrong at this point ... unless the powers that be swallow their pride for the sake of our country we would be waiting another 40 years or more for this opportunity to come again.
Post by: Jefferz on July 09, 2006, 08:46:45 AM
The man sounds like an egotist... He is so desperate for recognition and for the post itself...
Post by: Mr Mc on July 09, 2006, 08:55:40 AM

this site is all about objection and personal opinion, and still thers is almost total agreement that he is a bitter human being, that says alot.

Gally feel he have some great insight into the game that allows him to say "Latas should have played more" stueeps every man woman an child came up with that same thought.

The only thing Gally has earned is respect for a job well done, and now a very bad reputation...nothing is owed to him  I dont know why people does always feel they entitled to future earnings on past results.

Post by: davyjenny on July 09, 2006, 08:56:10 AM

hey breds, read the article again i guess you did not undrstand what he ment which i myself agree with him. bennie wanted to playa defensive game but with latapy in that style of game would change because latapy is an attacking player but beenhakker prefer the defensive style of play meaning, our team would now become open for attacks that's all  
Post by: Tongue on July 09, 2006, 08:57:18 AM
What has Gally done progressively since leaving the team in 89? Has he done any coaching courses? Or he know too much tuh attend....or he going on pass glory? Even BSC did some cousres or observational work.
Post by: mr.talented on July 09, 2006, 08:57:24 AM
gally could haul...

most of trinidad would rather latapy come on and we could oooo and aaaaahhh and get bout 3 or 4...
Post by: mr.talented on July 09, 2006, 08:58:49 AM
point is we reach the world cup, nobody never carry we before...and this isnt the best lot of players we ever had...

so God bless ben lion...gally could lick my salt nuts...who vex lorse...
Post by: ribbit on July 09, 2006, 09:33:27 AM
What has Gally done progressively since leaving the team in 89? Has he done any coaching courses? Or he know too much tuh attend....or he going on pass glory? Even BSC did some cousres or observational work.

good point. from his comments, he doh acknowledge de value of practical coaching experience from outside...

But you were pleased with us getting to the World Cup?

Oh yeah. Since I left Fatima college I've dedicated myself to our football, nothing else. Some people do it part-time and halfway. If is one person who has been involved in football all my life, is Gally Cummings. I didn't go away and coach foreign teams, I stayed right here and worked with our boys for our football and it was a dream to see our team get to the World Cup; and it finally came true.

the faster our coaches learn, the faster our players will progress. and this "doh go off de island" mentality slows our coach's rate of learning. football is an international ting.
Post by: dombasil on July 09, 2006, 10:21:02 AM
Gally talking a whole set of bitter tata. He disqualify himself for the job by saying that Kaka and Ronaldinho small.
I am not saying that Beenhakker is perfect but he is in a completely different class to Gally. The man is just making a complete ass of himself.
Yes, all that Beenhakker needed was for Gally and dem coming into the camp and starting to tell man that they shoud be playing and causing disunity in the team.
Post by: marcpurcell on July 09, 2006, 10:30:02 AM
Gally,
WHAH!!! WHAH!!! WHAH!!!
Stop with the sour grapes. It looks sad to see you trying to knock a coach who has gotten us to a world cup when you failed!

Don Leo got T&T playing way above our capabilty and there is not a current player on the squad who can say differently. I am not saying that he is perfect and not without faults however the man inspired a group of lower league players to play the hardest 270 minutes of their life.

Gally that Trinibago style you were talking about would have gotten us 6 versus Sweden and England easily. We have been playing a Trinibago style for a long time and we got our ass run all over the field.  If you don't believe me look at our games before Leo got here under Bertile and company. That included a 5-1 cut arse versus a shit team Guatemala last year. If playing the Trinibago style that would have embrassed us on the World stage looks more attractive than the boring international style that gave us pride and recognition; sign me up for boring.

That is football get over it.
Post by: duscam on July 09, 2006, 11:04:35 AM
not only was this article bad mind,but real egotistical..I do this and I do that
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 09, 2006, 11:17:14 AM

Is allright to look back and criiticize.  Hindsight is always 20/20 as they say.  Ask Gally why he let the US beat TT in 1989.  Was it bad coaching?  Why didn't he do this or that?  Blame him!  (Ah guess we did that)  But did he like it?  Did he think that was  appropriate?  What goes around comes around.  Why would you mess with a team or change the philosophy that holding England for 83 minutes?  Beenehaker gamble and he loss.  He is in place to make strategic opinions on coaching.  We tried - for the first time, I mght add -  and did creditably. Tough luck but let's stop the personal attacks and accusing this person of bad mind and this group of vindictiveness etc, etc.  Nobody truly thought we could contain England for that long.  In the end we had a good experience and we must build on it.  But with his attitude of sour grapes, he surely is not the appropriate person to lead the team to 2010.  Talk about bad mind and vindictiveness.  That is Gally Cummings!

What f**kery ah hearing ..........De man never say he doh like Lincoln.....All de man was saying is dat his job was done in TNT before. He didn't have anything wit Lincoln. Dat statement was for TTFF an dem. When you get exposed to de f**kery of TTFF and J W you will understand the man grief and gripe.

Post by: pass(10trini) on July 09, 2006, 11:19:40 AM

Well let meh tell yuh.........A lot of couses and seminars around the world.
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 09, 2006, 11:24:06 AM
point is we reach the world cup, nobody never carry we before...and this isnt the best lot of players we ever had...

The same high and almighty JW and de mafia of world Football dat yuh so look highly up to is de one yuh should be looking to when yuh talk about not reaching World Cup.
Post by: mr.talented on July 09, 2006, 11:29:15 AM

The same high and almighty JW and de mafia of world Football dat yuh so look highly up to is de one yuh should be looking to when yuh talk about not reaching World Cup.

well if we talking mafia it eh matter who coach?...why bring ben in the first place?
jack could get we anywhere!!!
*bullsh!t...*
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 09, 2006, 11:35:03 AM

well if we talking mafia it eh matter who coach?...why bring ben in the first place?
jack could get we anywhere!!!
*bullsh!t...*

Glad to know, because he have a long way to go still before TNT ever forgive him for his transgressionsHe may die before he ever eperience peace in TNT. :beermug:
Post by: mr.talented on July 09, 2006, 11:36:28 AM
:P
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 11:36:57 AM

I don't think men are opposed to his view, and the fact that it is a little different....the way it came off was a little bitter, and that doesn't always go down well.
Post by: Lower St. John on July 09, 2006, 11:52:45 AM
The truly sad thing about this interview with Gally is that the underlying (or overlying) tones of comments are shrouded in bitterness towards the Coach and the Administration.  But in saying that I thought that he had a couple of good points.  

When it comes to criticizing a coach, it is very easy to do such, the day after.  It real easy to say "He shoulda do this or he shoulda do that after the game."  Steups.  We will never know how the game would have played out.  But we can see how the coach tactics played out for the most part and for me Gally hinted at most of our sentiments when he said that he was happy that we were not disgraced.  Is that not a credit to the coach noting the talent of the present team and the opposition which we were meeting???

I would take any abuse for the following statement but I think "many men (including some on this forum) following the Soca Warriors journey to the World Cup and during the World Cup have an overly inflated opinion of how good this team is/was."  If we were to play this so-called kaiso-football of an attacking nature we would have gotten a handfull of goals in each match (especially with Yorke playing all out in attack).  Other than Yorke show me the Makelele or Vieria, Deco, Gatuso, or Lampard on our team that one minute shooting at goal and the next minute clearing ball of our goal line that would allow for more a midfield player who is purely attacking to be on the field for 90 minutes.  Not to mention a World Class back four.  Steups.  We have neither!!

Gally - There is no need to attack another coach to highlight your credentials.  And by the way Gally your credentials cannot even be written on the same paper as Beenie Man but that does not take away from your accomplishments to Trinbago Football.

Blessings.
Post by: Tongue on July 09, 2006, 03:23:18 PM

and he has done what with it?
Post by: Feliziano on July 09, 2006, 07:16:34 PM

ent he was coaching Fatima or was it Carapichima?
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 01:36:06 AM

yeaaaa... hmmm Fatima... Carapichima... looks like Gally's profile might just stand up to Leos after all!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 10, 2006, 05:51:28 AM

yeaaaa... hmmm Fatima... Carapichima... looks like Gally's profile might just stand up to Leos after all!!

how did Carapichima do last year by the way oh and he is TD of San fernando star worlds strikers
Post by: Jah Gol on July 10, 2006, 07:24:02 AM
Here's how I feel about Gally's comments. The point about bringing on Latapy against England made sense and in fact I agree with him. The point about Trinidad qualifying about without a structure is and infinite truism that I wouldn't even try to contradict. Everything else he said was prime A-grade GOBAR. Everybody knows that Latapy and Yorke and others of that generation were the products of a youth system and as unsophisticated as it was it was effective. What exactly is he insinuating ? That focusing on a modern youth system does not lead to a good national team. Apparently Gally doesn't remember that the U20 team was recently embarrassed by Haiti and Dominica. These are the men who in 5 years will make up a significant proportion of the national team. We had  an U14 team two years ago that really impressed me. I'm now hearing of an U16 tournament coming up but that team rarely trained when the U14 tournament ended. The Americans have their players in camps for months. We want to know why they continue to improve. The truth is what Lincoln is doing is new because his approach is systematic one where players develop from amatuer youths into world class pros. It involves a range of stakeholders and puts an emphasis on the contribution of the community to players' development. That, in my mind has never been implemented on a massive scale.

I advise Gally and men like him to find a Pro-League team and contribute. Allow the league to develop and become more competitive.
Post by: Marcos on July 10, 2006, 07:46:58 AM
This man talking real shite here boy.
He seems to be the one threatened by Leo.
Plus,
what style of football this man talking about boy? haha
because a man could do a spanner he feel we have a real good attack.
When Latas came on in the final game we were only a goal down due to an own goal.
After Latas came on they actively SCORED on us.
Great player? ABSOLUTELY
Defensive liability? YES

Post by: dcs on July 10, 2006, 08:09:58 AM
We had  an U14 team two years ago that really impressed me. I'm now hearing of an U16 tournament coming up but that team rarely trained when the U14 tournament ended. The Americans have their players in camps for months. We want to know why they continue to improve. The truth is what Lincoln is doing is new because his approach is systematic one where players develop from amatuer youths into world class pros.

How much responsibility does Lincoln have to take for the U-16 team not being in training?
He's been at the helm for a while.
One of the panelists suggested there has been no preparation that he knows of (I believe is this tournament he was referring to).

I doh know if they have been training or not but if they haven't what is the reason....funds supposed to be available.  Is he getting trouble accessing the funds?
Post by: Observer on July 10, 2006, 08:22:20 AM
This man talking real shite here boy.
He seems to be the one threatened by Leo.
Plus,
what style of football this man talking about boy? haha
because a man could do a spanner he feel we have a real good attack.
When Latas came on in the final game we were only a goal down due to an own goal.
After Latas came on they actively SCORED on us.
Great player? ABSOLUTELY
Defensive liability? YES

It is all theory! If If If If look lets be honest, even if we accept that Don Leo used a more defensive structure. We were still out shot in every game and quite frankly I for one believe that we would have conceded more goals had we played differently.
Look opening game vs Sweden, Leo know we had to keep it tight. Get use to the WC not go down goals and lose confidence. Shaka and the defense made sure of that. Then we went down to 10 men. What did don Leo do, put o an attacker. I meh self gasp at first, I say de man have grapefruit for balls.
But say wha it made believers of the team, it unified the team. But check good when we had the ball is not like we did not play and just boots the ball down field. The team try to build and play. Yes sometimes we had to relieve pressure by playing long up to Stern and he did well, but my point is the players had freedom to play.

then against England, we did well held them, created chances, some may argue better chances than against Sweden. 10 minutes left 0-0 would dem men if they were coaching really bring on Latas??? Please!

The Latapy thing is the only argument, men falling back on. Yet men forget that Latapy after the Guatemala game really under performed. So Latapy making that much of a difference is a theory. Much like all of France calling for Cantona & Ginola before WC 98.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 10, 2006, 08:55:19 AM
We had  an U14 team two years ago that really impressed me. I'm now hearing of an U16 tournament coming up but that team rarely trained when the U14 tournament ended. The Americans have their players in camps for months. We want to know why they continue to improve. The truth is what Lincoln is doing is new because his approach is systematic one where players develop from amatuer youths into world class pros.

How much responsibility does Lincoln have to take for the U-16 team not being in training?
He's been at the helm for a while.
One of the panelists suggested there has been no preparation that he knows of (I believe is this tournament he was referring to).

I doh know if they have been training or not but if they haven't what is the reason....funds supposed to be available.  Is he getting trouble accessing the funds?

The team has been training i think  as stated in the express article   ken elie is the coach
Post by: maxg on July 10, 2006, 10:49:34 AM
When yuh want ah interview or consideration for ah wuk, buh the company not considering yuh atall. And the only people willing to give you ah ear is the media, cause dem jus like bachanal...Tell dem, I have nothing to say, cause it go sound bad....and wait and see how much phone call yuh go get 'cause yuh didn't say nuthen bad'.

He want the work, and he answer the questions asked of him honestly. If he doh get the wuk, at least he could live with himself for being who he is....and not being who everyone wish him to be, ah nice quiet fella, everybody like, without achieving any of his goals..

I don't agree with everything he say, but that doh mean he must hush he mouth and blend in with the wall....That is not him... Yuh doh think he can do the job because of his mouth(does that really matter),  or yuh doh like his approach or abilities or credentials, fine doh hire him...buh yuh cyar tell him doh speak he mind...wheter he wrong or right....wha is only certain ppl allowed dah privelidge ? If I point out some chupidness BeenE had said (or done), would that make me ah BeenE hater or bitter ?...wha bout wha Panday, or Manning or the fella in the square ? ...Wha bout chupidness I self say or done...then again, nobody media or otherwise ask me, ent ?
Post by: Tongue on July 10, 2006, 12:33:06 PM
When yuh want ah interview or consideration for ah wuk, buh the company not considering yuh atall. And the only people willing to give you ah ear is the media, cause dem jus like bachanal...Tell dem, I have nothing to say, cause it go sound bad....and wait and see how much phone call yuh go get 'cause yuh didn't say nuthen bad'.

He want the work, and he answer the questions asked of him honestly. If he doh get the wuk, at least he could live with himself for being who he is....and not being who everyone wish him to be, ah nice quiet fella, everybody like, without achieving any of his goals..

I don't agree with everything he say, but that doh mean he must hush he mouth and blend in with the wall....That is not him... Yuh doh think he can do the job because of his mouth(does that really matter), or yuh doh like his approach or abilities or credentials, fine doh hire him...buh yuh cyar tell him doh speak he mind...wheter he wrong or right....wha is only certain ppl allowed dah privelidge ? If I point out some chupidness BeenE had said (or done), would that make me ah BeenE hater or bitter ?...wha bout wha Panday, or Manning or the fella in the square ? ...Wha bout chupidness I self say or done...then again, nobody media or otherwise ask me, ent ?
[/u]

ENT ENT!!! ;D ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 01:26:10 PM

how did Carapichima do last year by the way oh and he is TD of San fernando star worlds strikers

hmmmm Gally ratin up!  ::)
Post by: elan on July 10, 2006, 02:45:19 PM
Re: Gally says T&T football have too much bad mind....from Express
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2006, 10:24:17 AM » 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote from: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 08:36:01 AM
Quote from: grimm01 on July 09, 2006, 01:34:35 AM

Wasn't it Gally that took "spiderman" out and put in that other fella that got string up from half field against the USA? Wasn't the reason being that "spiderman" to old and we should go with youth?

Gally need to chill out. To put yourself in the same coaching class as "The Don" and the TD you have be really full of it. He need to try and get Star World to do something before berating men in a higher class. Doing courses and stuff from around the world don't help when you cannot apply it.

Look at the differences. Leo took us out of the desert, dehydrated and starving and led us to the feast and now when the cow is fat, all the butcher want to slaughter. Gally was at the feast in 1989 and led the team to the desert. So much for "I am holier than thou."

Post by: Bitter on July 10, 2006, 03:23:17 PM
"That other fella" name was Michael Maurice, and he did a fine job, all around between the posts.

I like how the only people who could criticize in here is people on this forum. I guess talking to weself is ok, but if the ole talk and bitterness get out into the papers then is a problem. Better Gally had login to the forum and just make a post.

All that aside, I still respect the man past accomplishments. Not every endeavour ends in success.
Post by: injunchile on July 10, 2006, 04:25:37 PM
Give Gally the Olympic team and let us see what he can do. It was the same Gally against the USA when a draw was needed, had no clue what to say to the players at half time, when it was to be the coach's finest moments in motivating the team.
 Check out Morris's book on the Strike Squad experience, not forgetting that he did not want to play Nakid. Also he said Yorke and Latapy cannot play at the same time.

I know the man hurt ,but he coming across as Sour Grapes and the timing bad,
Post by: Rastaman on July 10, 2006, 04:39:04 PM
"That other fella" name was Michael Maurice, and he did a fine job, all around between the posts.

I like how the only people who could criticize in here is people on this forum. I guess talking to weself is ok, but if the ole talk and bitterness get out into the papers then is a problem. Better Gally had login to the forum and just make a post.

All that aside, I still respect the man past accomplishments. Not every endeavour ends in success.

This is the exact point that I made on th last Gally thread.... Everybody else saying all kinda thing on here but getting down on Gally for saying the same thing plenty other people saying.... It dosen't matter if he want the job or not anybody could talk their mind.

I don't agree with everything he say, but that doh mean he must hush he mouth and blend in with the wall....That is not him... Yuh doh think he can do the job because of his mouth(does that really matter), or yuh doh like his approach or abilities or credentials, fine doh hire him...buh yuh cyar tell him doh speak he mind...wheter he wrong or right....wha is only certain ppl allowed dah privelidge ? If I point out some chupidness BeenE had said (or done), would that make me ah BeenE hater or bitter ?...wha bout wha Panday, or Manning or the fella in the square ? ...Wha bout chupidness I self say or done...then again, nobody media or otherwise ask me, ent ?

Ahhhh....wisdom there... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: whayuhsay on July 10, 2006, 10:24:58 PM
Ah know de Beenie butt likers would want to know who de hell is Gally to be questioning Massa Beenie, well, de man hit de nail on de head. But as true colonial servants, continue mashing orp any local who dare question allyuh master Beenieman....
Post by: whayuhsay on July 10, 2006, 10:29:00 PM
Ahhmmm, allyuh really young boy, let meh tell yuh, Michael Maurice is one ah de best, if not de best goalkeeper ever come out of TnT!

I never forget dat game against Flamengo in de National Stadium, Zico et al cyar string Maurice...

Blame dat mistake on de BS 4 hour bus ride that de team endured before dat game!

Wasn't it Gally that took "spiderman" out and put in that other fella that got string up from half field against the USA? Wasn't the reason being that "spiderman" to old and we should go with youth?
Post by: whayuhsay on July 10, 2006, 10:31:38 PM
1.3 million people want to know why Russell Latapy didn't play in the England game?
A: I would have played him. In the last 15 minutes, England was frustrated, you could have seen it. If we had put Latapy on before [English coach Sven-Goran] Erikkson substituted his own, Erikkson would have had to put on a defender, not an attacker. In a way, when Latapy is on the field, is a threat to Beenhakker.
The team is a better team when Latapy is on the field; we all know that, we all saw that! But Beenhakker wants that team to play defensive and Latapy is offensive; and because of Latapy's leadership qualities and his inspiration as a player and a person, he knows the team will go forward too much. So he has to keep it out! In other words [chuckling], Latapy has such a strong personality that Beenhakker is afraid of him.

It was a deliberate ploy to retain control by the coach?
A: That's my feeling! That's what I see!

But Latapy came on in the last game and we lost?
A: Because he came on when we were one-down! Latapy was the last substitution in the last game! He should have started.

He smokes 40 cigarettes a day, though, and doesn't have the lungs?
A: Rubbish! How much did Ronaldinho run in this tournament? And he's still the best player in the world. Didn't Latapy play the whole game against Guatemala? And we won? Stern John scored. Stern John, Dwight Yorke, are better players, the entire team is a better team when Latapy's on the field.
Latapy's experienced enough, whether he smokes cigarettes or not. If you let the ball do the work, you're not going to be tired. We coaches all see things differently but I think there times in games that were earmarked for him [like] the last 20 minutes.
Post by: whayuhsay on July 10, 2006, 11:21:22 PM
To the local haters, just remember, if Gally had 3.5 spots in 1990, the Strike Squad would have qualified.  Beenie is de only coach to have that 3.5 spots luxury for CONCACAF.
Post by: triniairman on July 10, 2006, 11:28:02 PM
Gally want to coach Trinidad and that will never happen,all of a sudden everybody think they could of done a better job,Beenie got us to the wc and to my knowledge NOBODY ELSE DID THAT,let Gally shut he stink ass
Post by: whayuhsay on July 10, 2006, 11:28:54 PM
If Gally had 3.5 spots, would Strike Squad have qualified?

All ah allyuh, ah bunch of local haters/foreign lovers!

Gally want to coach Trinidad and that will never happen,all of a sudden everybody think they could of done a better job,Beenie got us to the wc and to my knowledge NOBODY ELSE DID THAT,let Gally shut he stink ass
Post by: triniairman on July 10, 2006, 11:44:29 PM

ok answer me this what has Gally done coaching wise to prove that he is worthy of coaching Tand Tnational team? WHAYUHSAY ABOUT THAT?
Post by: Jefferz on July 11, 2006, 12:05:21 AM

whuyyuhsay... All the other countries in concacaf have been moving light years faster than us... in developing their national teams... we have been stuck in the back seat since 1989... Yes Gally is a good coach... but he is no Leo Beenhakker... plain and simple.
Post by: whayuhsay on July 11, 2006, 12:23:40 AM
Why allyuh dodging meh question?

Just ansah yes or no, if Gally had 3.5 spots, would Strike Squad have qualified?
Post by: Jefferz on July 11, 2006, 12:37:00 AM
Why allyuh dodging meh question?

Just ansah yes or no, if Gally had 3.5 spots, would Strike Squad have qualified?
yes... he would have... but is it still 1989?
Post by: maxg on July 11, 2006, 01:02:05 AM
Another not so bitter man , unless maybe he want to be TD in smart !

Football colonisers
Theodore Lewis
Tuesday, July 11th 2006
Trinidad Exptress Online

This World Cup has revealed the extent to which football has now been colonised on several levels. First, the major centres of the game in the world, the great leagues and teams, are based in Europe. Second, these teams are coached by Europeans, who have imposed a rigid, efficient style of play on the game, that consists of massive amounts of defence, control of the ball, and one - or no more than two - forwards. Goals have been scarce because of cautious play.

Because the great players from all over the world now congregate in Europe, they are all affected by this new oppressive regime of football ideas.

In the old days, Brazilian players played in Brazilian leagues. Pele played most of his career for Santos. When a Brazilian team came out, such as in 1970 in Mexico, what they played was original, not at all affected by this monstrous formula. You were at the edge of your seat, waiting to see which new talent they were going to bring out this time. And that wait was usually rewarded, with the likes of Jairzinho or Paulo Caesar. Last World Cup we saw Ronaldinho as a raw player, this time they had gotten to him. He still plays with the greatest economy, but there is no one to play with. There is no forward line. No samba partners, just Ronaldo loafing, waiting for something. 

Proof that the game has been colonised can be seen with the proliferation of European coaches standing on the sidelines for teams like Ivory Coast, Togo, Ghana, and, of course, Trinidad and Tobago.

So we have a World Cup final and semi-final, with all European teams, the great and stylish African and Latin American teams, and our team, all by the wayside.

I read a piece based on an interview with Everard Cummings, and what he said was that there is a Trinidad and Tobago style of play, and it is premised on attack. And we never got to that, because we were playing defence, with Stern John up from alone, and with the great Russell Latapy on the bench. Everard Cummings is the greatest natural footballer we ever produced, and one of the greatest football minds. I am not against foreign coaches, I am just for local ones. For the same reason that I wanted Fr Clyde Harvey to be our Archbishop. We have to take up our beds and walk at some point. 

Let me say that the only way I would leave Latapy on a bench would be if he came into the stadium in a wheelchair. Only a foreign coach, who does not understand us well, could keep Latas on ice like that. Don't get me wrong; I am not ungrateful to the coach. I am just a Trini, and I can talk if I want. No one who understands the country could leave Latapy on a bench. Everard Cummings is right; they should have played him, and that would have freed up Yorke to roam a bit more, up front with Stern John.

France got to the finals because they brought back older and wiser players-Zidane, Thuram, Makalele and Viera.

In the old days teams used to have a forward line with five men. So five forwards, three mid-fielders, a stopper, and two backs. Then they went to 4-2-4. The modern colonised game has killed off forwards and the idea of flair. Now there is one forward, who has to be serviced. The game is largely tiresome to watch now, except when the South Americans and Africans play. 

These comments aside, this World Cup was just great for the country, sport always doing more than its share to sell us to the world. I felt some resentment when I heard that until the Soca Warriors, Haiti was the smallest country ever in the world cup. Our 1973 team played Haiti in Haiti, and lost having had several goals disallowed. How criminal it is that the world never got to see Warren Archibald, Everard Cummings, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, among others, on the World Cup stage.  

We must not forget that prior to this year, we have had two very close calls with the World Cup. The Strike Squad was stopped by a single goal. So we are not a fluke, we are the real thing.

The question now is what do we do for an encore. I would get Gally Cummings, Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke to form a management/coaching unit, that would be completely in charge of getting us ready for 2010. Messi from Argentina is 19 years old. Adebayor of Togo is in his early 20s. Rooney7 is 20. There are boys who are now 15 years old in this country, who should be playing for us the next time. That means we have to renew our efforts in the schools. That is not a job for a foreigner.

- Theodore Lewis is a professor at the University of Minnesota.

Post by: ribbit on July 11, 2006, 02:13:14 AM

Football colonisers
Theodore Lewis
Tuesday, July 11th 2006
Trinidad Exptress Online

This World Cup has revealed the extent to which football has now been colonised on several levels. First, the major centres of the game in the world, the great leagues and teams, are based in Europe. Second, these teams are coached by Europeans, who have imposed a rigid, efficient style of play on the game, that consists of massive amounts of defence, control of the ball, and one - or no more than two - forwards. Goals have been scarce because of cautious play.

Because the great players from all over the world now congregate in Europe, they are all affected by this new oppressive regime of football ideas.

In the old days, Brazilian players played in Brazilian leagues. Pele played most of his career for Santos. When a Brazilian team came out, such as in 1970 in Mexico, what they played was original, not at all affected by this monstrous formula. You were at the edge of your seat, waiting to see which new talent they were going to bring out this time. And that wait was usually rewarded, with the likes of Jairzinho or Paulo Caesar. Last World Cup we saw Ronaldinho as a raw player, this time they had gotten to him. He still plays with the greatest economy, but there is no one to play with. There is no forward line. No samba partners, just Ronaldo loafing, waiting for something.Â

Proof that the game has been colonised can be seen with the proliferation of European coaches standing on the sidelines for teams like Ivory Coast, Togo, Ghana, and, of course, Trinidad and Tobago.

So we have a World Cup final and semi-final, with all European teams, the great and stylish African and Latin American teams, and our team, all by the wayside.

I read a piece based on an interview with Everard Cummings, and what he said was that there is a Trinidad and Tobago style of play, and it is premised on attack. And we never got to that, because we were playing defence, with Stern John up from alone, and with the great Russell Latapy on the bench. Everard Cummings is the greatest natural footballer we ever produced, and one of the greatest football minds. I am not against foreign coaches, I am just for local ones. For the same reason that I wanted Fr Clyde Harvey to be our Archbishop. We have to take up our beds and walk at some point.Â

Let me say that the only way I would leave Latapy on a bench would be if he came into the stadium in a wheelchair. Only a foreign coach, who does not understand us well, could keep Latas on ice like that. Don't get me wrong; I am not ungrateful to the coach. I am just a Trini, and I can talk if I want. No one who understands the country could leave Latapy on a bench. Everard Cummings is right; they should have played him, and that would have freed up Yorke to roam a bit more, up front with Stern John.

France got to the finals because they brought back older and wiser players-Zidane, Thuram, Makalele and Viera.

In the old days teams used to have a forward line with five men. So five forwards, three mid-fielders, a stopper, and two backs. Then they went to 4-2-4. The modern colonised game has killed off forwards and the idea of flair. Now there is one forward, who has to be serviced. The game is largely tiresome to watch now, except when the South Americans and Africans play.Â

These comments aside, this World Cup was just great for the country, sport always doing more than its share to sell us to the world. I felt some resentment when I heard that until the Soca Warriors, Haiti was the smallest country ever in the world cup. Our 1973 team played Haiti in Haiti, and lost having had several goals disallowed. How criminal it is that the world never got to see Warren Archibald, Everard Cummings, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, among others, on the World Cup stage. Â

We must not forget that prior to this year, we have had two very close calls with the World Cup. The Strike Squad was stopped by a single goal. So we are not a fluke, we are the real thing.

The question now is what do we do for an encore. I would get Gally Cummings, Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke to form a management/coaching unit, that would be completely in charge of getting us ready for 2010. Messi from Argentina is 19 years old. Adebayor of Togo is in his early 20s. Rooney7 is 20. There are boys who are now 15 years old in this country, who should be playing for us the next time. That means we have to renew our efforts in the schools. That is not a job for a foreigner.

gally did alot for t&t football but i don't think it is up to gally to "define" what t&t football is. defining t&t football as just "attacking football" neglects, even belittles, the progress that has been made by this generation of footballers. if it is one thing this world cup has demonstrated is that t&t can play defence as well!!

some may attribute this style of play to the "coloniser" but isn't football (and cricket for that matter) the coloniser's game anyway?

the recent strides in t&t football are an evolution. perhaps the goal should be that t&t can play any style of football depending on what is required - i.e. what we want.
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 11, 2006, 04:14:52 AM
Re: Gally says T&T football have too much bad mind....from Express
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2006, 10:24:17 AM » 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote from: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 08:36:01 AM
Quote from: grimm01 on July 09, 2006, 01:34:35 AM

Gally need to chill out. To put yourself in the same coaching class as "The Don" and the TD you have be really full of it. He need to try and get Star World to do something before berating men in a higher class. Doing courses and stuff from around the world don't help when you cannot apply it.

Look at the differences. Leo took us out of the desert, dehydrated and starving and led us to the feast and now when the cow is fat, all the butcher want to slaughter. Gally was at the feast in 1989 and led the team to the desert. So much for "I am holier than thou."

LOL......yuh could tell dis is ah young chicken...... :D

He talking bout Spiderman better than Michael...... :D

For your information Michael Maurice save we from nuff goal in we pweffen.....So wha de best keepers get string up at some point in their time, is only human we dealing wit.

If it was Carter we wouldah have bout 3-5 goals in we tail in every match......After de Costa Rica game Gally mek de change cause Cater get string up nuff time ..........

Dese fellas talking and eh know nothing bout ah Professional like Gally Cummings..Leh meh tell yuh, Warner once he dey running tings Gally eh have no chance tuh mek coach cause Gally doh hold no water in  he mouth to tell nobody nuttin. Jack still holding the belief of ah colonial system.....

Yuh know.....ah could understand when ah youth man open he mouth and say dem shite in ignorance but when ah hear fellas who supposed to know de the difference Gally made in 89 and made de world stand up and tek notice ah TNT as a potential footballing nation ah does jes ha tuh shake meh head and say ' Is Trinis ah dealing wit nuttin go change.' Such ah  great 'footballing mind' and we jes willing to throw him on de wayside.

Anybody remember when we beat USA in 94 dat it was Gally who was at de head ah the technical team jes after takin reigns. Den for some unknown reason Jack say we want ah foreigner to head de National team.

Bad mind ah go kill demmmm................

Ah done posting on dis subject cause that above post done tell meh what ah dealing wit....

Hold it dong !
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 11, 2006, 04:27:54 AM

Football colonisers
Theodore Lewis
Tuesday, July 11th 2006
Trinidad Exptress Online

In the old days, Brazilian players played in Brazilian leagues. Pele played most of his career for Santos. When a Brazilian team came out, such as in 1970 in Mexico, what they played was original, not at all affected by this monstrous formula. You were at the edge of your seat, waiting to see which new talent they were going to bring out this time. And that wait was usually rewarded, with the likes of Jairzinho or Paulo Caesar. Last World Cup we saw Ronaldinho as a raw player, this time they had gotten to him. He still plays with the greatest economy, but there is no one to play with. There is no forward line. No samba partners, just Ronaldo loafing, waiting for something. 

I read a piece based on an interview with Everard Cummings, and what he said was that there is a Trinidad and Tobago style of play, and it is premised on attack. And we never got to that, because we were playing defence, with Stern John up from alone, and with the great Russell Latapy on the bench. Everard Cummings is the greatest natural footballer we ever produced, and one of the greatest football minds. I am not against foreign coaches, I am just for local ones. For the same reason that I wanted Fr Clyde Harvey to be our Archbishop. We have to take up our beds and walk at some point. 

In the old days teams used to have a forward line with five men. So five forwards, three mid-fielders, a stopper, and two backs. Then they went to 4-2-4. The modern colonised game has killed off forwards and the idea of flair. Now there is one forward, who has to be serviced. The game is largely tiresome to watch now, except when the South Americans and Africans play. 

These comments aside, this World Cup was just great for the country, sport always doing more than its share to sell us to the world. I felt some resentment when I heard that until the Soca Warriors, Haiti was the smallest country ever in the world cup. Our 1973 team played Haiti in Haiti, and lost having had several goals disallowed. How criminal it is that the world never got to see Warren Archibald, Everard Cummings, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, among others, on the World Cup stage.  

Me eh care what nobody say. De bes piece ah ball we play for sometime untill Wold Cup 06 was under Gally. Attractive and attacking football and defense was always under control. Check all de games we play under Cummings we never up to dis day ever loss by more dan one goal.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 11, 2006, 06:15:38 AM
You can't compare 2006 with 1989.The Environment was different. The threat from competitors was much lower than it is now. Granted the 89 team probably had more 'talent' but to simply compare 06 to 89 brand is not fair to the quality of opposition we now face and to the advancements in physical and tactical training over the past 17 years. It is also probably fair to say that the 89 team played more attractive football. As much as we all love attractive football it is not the be all and end of football. Case in point, Ghana and Ivory Coast.

Gally's comment about T&T attacking more is erroneous and the facts as presented in Germany prove that. I said in an earlier thread that even though Trinidad played backs to wall defense against Sweden and England and Shaka was in inspired form I would invite people to review video of those games objectively and forget for a moment that you are Trinidadian. I observed that Sweden created at least 2 chances that were inexcusably unconverted and  England missed at least 4 sitters against us. Imagine how much more space we would have left behind if we attacked more against England. Against Paraguay well I don't need to comment on that, everybody saw it. What I'm getting at is Gally could say anything he wants after the fact. I might be saying this at the risk of some abuse but say it anyway. We worked hard, we had a good coach, a great leader on the park and WE WERE LUCKY. What we have is a corps of decent players with a few with the potential to be world class.

I tired talking about this issue. The national team is just the final product of community football, organised youth systems, and the professional league. We were the oldest team at the World Cup and should be more concernced with where we find a few creative players and two world class defenders to replace the twin towers of Andrews and Lawrence and how do we get Jones and Glen to play cohesively. Gally is a relic with a 1989 football mind.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 11, 2006, 06:31:37 AM
Pass 10 trini  how did that secondary school do with gally as head coach.???
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2006, 07:00:40 AM
Gally talks  a lot about his team and the attacking football they played. Is this fact or fiction? From my memory the most the Strike Squad score in a qualification game was 4 vs Guyana. After that I think the most they scored was 2 goals (in 2 games). From wnat I remember the rest was 1 goal games.

tallman where yuh? How many qualification games did Strike squad play? Goals scored? My memory saying about 15 or 16 goals in over 10 games

Just looking for info
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2006, 07:12:58 AM

Football colonisers
Theodore Lewis
Tuesday, July 11th 2006
Trinidad Exptress Online

Me eh care what nobody say. De bes piece ah ball we play for sometime untill Wold Cup 06 was under Gally. Attractive and attacking football and defense was always under control. Check all de games we play under Cummings we never up to dis day ever loss by more dan one goal.

Gally did a good job with the National Team. He brought football back to the people but Ok lets be objective.
 1989  The qualification

No Mexico in the competition:
USA were not a force in CONCACAF:
Guatemala, EL Salvador & Honduras were in a state of civil War:

So all the factors must be considered if one really wants to argue the point. One can argue till te cows come home about 3.5 places in the WC. 11 games to qualify versus 21. etc etc. really its all irrelevant.

Gally did a good job. Yes! Did we qualify. No!
Post by: maxg on July 11, 2006, 07:37:18 AM
Irregardless of style, or coaching philosophy. Do we have a coach at present ? Is the job available ? Is Whim more qualified than Anton or Latapy ? Should we wait till last 2008 to wait to see IF BeenE will be back ?
I think if we give anybody a learning oppurtunity from now(Gally, SH,Touches, Kandi, Triniman), is it possible they will improve in 3 years(avg. term) ? Where are the players of 2010 and further (14+) presently located ? Should we just wait to see who have Nationality by 2008, to have an idea who we might have, or should we start developing, training some young minds as of now ?
 Is a combo of Cummings(Local), Yorke(Foreign - retired from all playing- top level ), and Latapy (Foreign  - retired from all playing- top level) feasible ? to the tune that, if Gally is seeing Total attack, could the recent experience of Latapy and Yorke, inject the type of defensive startegies and coverage necessary to compliment (not oppose) a Gally or anybody elses startegies ?
Or do we plan on having a BeenE or similar to pull us out last minute again, his way only, and discard Yorke and/or Latapy, as we did every other national player we have had so far , incl. for a very long time, our present TD ? Would we repeat this same lucky formula in 2014 ?
Post by: dcs on July 11, 2006, 08:01:09 AM

As much as Gally is calling for attacking football the team back in de day had one of the most solid defenses we ever had.
Prior to 2005 I would say that squad was the only one that did not have serious defensive issues.

The same way allyuh say he shouldn't tear down Leo to highlight himself allyuh try not to unfairly attack the man...he deserve more respect than that.  Attack his comments if you want but he talking from the heart and I doh see how anyone could doubt his intentions....his whole life has been T&T football.

I wish he could be U-23 coach...or Youth TD and get Anton to either work with him (if that even possible) or focus more on a particular coaching assignment.  Lincoln is very diplomatic so possibly he could handle Gally. (all this might be pie in the sky but we wasting our resources)
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 11, 2006, 09:30:30 AM
Pass 10 trini  how did that secondary school do with gally as head coach.???

Eh hear nuttin bout dem yet....But did u ever hear bout rebuilding?