Sports => Football => Topic started by: Israel on June 29, 2006, 01:20:48 PM

Title: Your World Cup All Star team
Post by: Israel on June 29, 2006, 01:20:48 PM
Name your starting 11 and your seven subs.

Mine is                      Torress         Ronaldo

Rosicky                     
 Lahm                                                              Appiah

Essien

Zambrotta                                                        Miguel
                               Terry       Sancho

Cech

** Appiah has a free role.

Subs.
Yorke for Essien
Edwards for Miguel
Heinze for Zambrotta
Kingson for Cech
Riquelme for Rosicky
Shevchenko for Torres
Messi for whoever he wants

Title: Re: Your World Cup All Star team
Post by: Israel on June 29, 2006, 06:10:32 PM
Appiah have a free role and Zambrotta is a converted winger to left back.
Post by: marcus on June 29, 2006, 06:56:36 PM
                                          Oswaldo

Miguel                      Nesta                      Terry

Viera

Robben                                                                   Ribery

Rosicky                   Ballack                   

Ronaldinho   

Henry 

Pressure
Post by: mr.talented on June 29, 2006, 08:18:44 PM
hmmm...lemme try not to be english bias here... ;D

Zuberbuhler

Cafu          Ferdinand             Cannavaro       A.Cole

C.Ronaldo          Makalele        Riquelme        Robben

Rooney          Tevez

Bench

Hislop
Marquez
Terry
Heinze
Latapy
Gerrard
Park
Messi
Torres
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 30, 2006, 12:05:09 AM
                                                              Buffon
Miguel                                       Terry                                   Ayala                      Lahm

Yorke

Ballack                                                                                                     Riquelme
                                                           Ronaldinho

Klose                      Ronaldo

Bench

Zuberbuhler
Ze Roberto
Kaka
Viera
Essien
Maxi Rodriquez
Fernando Torres
Cannavaro
Ji-Sung Park
Robben
Marquez
Hislop
Post by: Jefferz on June 30, 2006, 05:40:12 AM
Name your starting 11 and your seven subs.

Mine is                      Torress         Ronaldo

Rosicky                     
 Lahm                                                              Appiah

Essien

Zambrotta                                                        Miguel
                               Terry       Sancho

Cech

** Appiah has a free role.

Subs.
Yorke for Essien
Edwards for Miguel
Heinze for Zambrotta
Kingson for Cech
Riquelme for Rosicky
Shevchenko for Torres
Messi for whoever he wants

this is a very good team... all i would do is switch Ribery for Miguel and also put in Crespo for Ronaldo.
Post by: dumpalewie on June 30, 2006, 06:02:39 AM
                                                              Buffon
Miguel                                       Terry                                   Ayala                      Lahm

Yorke

Ballack                                                                                                     Riquelme
                                                           Ronaldinho

Klose                      Ronaldo

Bench

Zuberbuhler
Ze Roberto
Kaka
Viera
Essien
Maxi Rodriquez
Fernando Torres
Cannavaro
Ji-Sung Park
Robben
Marquez
Hislop
I like your team except Marquez for Terry(almost gifted Ecuador a goal).

Kaka for Ballack(No goals yet)

Riquelme as playmaker and Deco or Viera to replace Ronaldinho(No Show)
Post by: jub02 on June 30, 2006, 06:18:21 AM
Ok.

Casillas

Miguel                               Marques                       Terry                        A.Cole

Viera

Kaka                                                                                           Ronaldinho
                                                      Gerrard

Rooney
                                                                   Henry

Subs :
Dida
Riquelme
Torres
J.cole
Nesta
Edwards
Beckham
Messi

Post by: doc on June 30, 2006, 06:26:23 AM
However yuh spin it, Muntari, Maniche and Cannavaro have earned their place.
Post by: scooby on June 30, 2006, 06:48:01 AM
ronaldinho and any ten or ronaldinho for stern john, latas for denzil and the rest of tand t squad and we good to go lol if not al yuh wait till the world cup over then pick the all star team
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on June 30, 2006, 09:08:42 AM
WTD how yuh cud say ronaldo to slow for israel's attack
u obviously spent most ah yuh life looking at football and not participation, get yuh eyes checked

Pasdah's team but on performance in tournament thus far

Dida
Cafu            Terry      Juan     Avery John
                          Lucio
Kaka                 Yorke          Crespo 
                  Ronaldo  Klose

Bench

Ze Roberto (very Solid)
Aaron Lennon (great performance)
Essien
Maxi Rodriquez
Fernando Torres
Cannavaro
Robben
Marquez
Hislop
P.Crouch (just tuh give trouble up front)
Robinho
Lahm
Post by: football king on June 30, 2006, 09:43:41 AM
TOUGH SQUAD TO PICK
GK-DIDA

DEF-NESTA, CANNAVARO, AYALA
MID(real hard time here)-ballack, kaka, essien, rosicky, riquelme
FWDS-KLOSE, RONALDO.

That midfield real hard to pick
Post by: Bianconeri on June 30, 2006, 12:43:51 PM
some of these pics real odd...
i haddda sound off..sorry

Ronaldinho cah be in that at all...he havin a REAL quiet WC...Ze Roberto HAS to be there frm Brazil....Sagnol hadda be there... Ayala hadda be there...
ze roberto and makelele playin like the 2 best Defensive mids now
lemme see who i could put..

Formation 3-5-2

Goalkeeper - Cech (real wanted buffon..)

Defense CB's Cannavaro, Ayala,  Marquez

Midfield - Defensive mids - Ze Roberto, Makelele,

Centre Mid - Yorke(woulda put essien but hadda represent)

Attacking mids..they jus roamin - Riquelme , Kaka

Forwards - Klose....man is like bound to score at WC now and Torres

now i eh pickin on who reach further...i pick here on performance...

on ma bench

Sagnol and Miguel and Lahm...eh start cause is 3 Cb's i startin, Terry

Mids - Essien, KAka , rosicky , Carlos Edwards , Gattuso , Zambrotta(could go to defense too)

forwards/wingers - Ronaldo, Robben, Maxi Rodriguez(real toil not to start him),

Keepers - Buffon, Shaka

most probably i leave someone out but i eh know who i could pull out there
Post by: Bianconeri on June 30, 2006, 12:45:33 PM
hadda sound off...i eh know how Ronaldinho, Ballack, Henry and rooney in some sides...they either quiet or eh playuin up to standard...i like all a dem..but they cah be dere on performace....if thas YOUR dream team...thas cool...but no way could they be on a WC all -star side
Post by: Warrior till death on June 30, 2006, 12:57:06 PM
some of these pics real odd...
i haddda sound off..sorry

Ronaldinho cah be in that at all...he havin a REAL quiet WC...Ze Roberto HAS to be there frm Brazil....Sagnol hadda be there... Ayala hadda be there...
ze roberto and makelele playin like the 2 best Defensive mids now
lemme see who i could put..

Formation 3-5-2

Goalkeeper - Cech (real wanted buffon..)

Defense CB's Cannavaro, Ayala,  Marquez

Midfield - Defensive mids - Ze Roberto, Makelele,

Centre Mid - Yorke(woulda put essien but hadda represent)

Attacking mids..they jus roamin - Riquelme , Kaka

Forwards - Klose....man is like bound to score at WC now and Torres

now i eh pickin on who reach further...i pick here on performance...

on ma bench

Sagnol and Miguel and Lahm...eh start cause is 3 Cb's i startin, Terry

Mids - Essien, KAka , rosicky , Carlos Edwards , Gattuso , Zambrotta(could go to defense too)

forwards/wingers - Ronaldo, Robben, Maxi Rodriguez(real toil not to start him),

Keepers - Buffon, Shaka

most probably i leave someone out but i eh know who i could pull out there

Post by: Bianconeri on July 01, 2006, 12:28:50 AM
whappen dere ....
eh seein a reply and ya have a quote of ma post
Post by: lunz on July 01, 2006, 01:01:21 AM
My team

Shaka

Lucio           Terry           Juan              Sorin

Beckham       Kaka           Zidane            Ronaldinho

Henry         Robinho

Post by: ANC2 on July 01, 2006, 08:30:30 AM
                                                  Buffon

Lucio                      Cannavaro
    Sagnol                                                                                     Zambrotta
                                                  Pirlo

Ballack                              ZeRoberto

Kaka                                                         

Ronaldo                             Klose
Post by: Observer on July 01, 2006, 08:48:29 PM
                                                         Buffon

Thuram                    Cannavaro
      Sagnol                                                                                       Lahm

Zakora                   Pirlo

Zidane

Ballack                                   Manich

Klose                       
Post by: palos on July 01, 2006, 09:07:44 PM
You really have Sagnol ahead of Miguel and Thuram ahead of John Terry?  Surprising.  I would even have Galas ahead of Thuram.  The rest ah cyah quarrel with although I would also replace Maniche with Schweinsteiger.
Post by: JDB on July 01, 2006, 09:11:35 PM
I surprised to see Miguel getting left out by anybody. He was outstanding in Euro2004 and is a dead lock for best RB of this tourney too in my opinion.
Post by: dotless007 on July 01, 2006, 10:46:25 PM
                        shaka hislop

carlos edwards     dennis lawrence  brent sancho  cyd gray

birchall     yorke     whitley    collin samuel

latapy

stern john     
Post by: Observer on July 02, 2006, 06:33:32 AM
                        shaka hislop

carlos edwards     dennis lawrence  brent sancho  cyd gray

birchall     yorke     whitley    collin samuel

latapy

stern john     

U still picking Sten John over Glenn boy  ;D
Post by: jub02 on July 02, 2006, 07:47:44 AM
Now wat happen. All i hear is everyone sayin ronaldinho is not performing at all..yet u all put him in ur squad.
Post by: Bianconeri on July 02, 2006, 11:00:02 PM
JDB---Miguel make my side 4 sure...but not startin since i have it as a 3-5-2...
but it go be between him and Sagnol--dat man eh lettin nothin pass him..if ya play any wing backs
Post by: football king on July 04, 2006, 08:49:17 PM
change meh team

buffon

ayala miguel canavarro
essien, ballack, pirlo, zidane, ballack, riquelme
klose

6 midfielders cause i couldn't pick 5  had to include pirlo after today
Post by: arvinder on July 04, 2006, 09:24:58 PM
                                            buffon

carlos edwards         cannavaro                     ayala                   lahm

kaka                    zidane                              riquelme              robben

messi                             klose

bench:
shaka
ronaldinho(d greatest although he didnt show up for this world cup but he would 2010 ;D ;D)
gerrard
lucio
zambrotta
maxi rodriguez
yorke
schweinsteiger
saviola
latapy
torres
deco

Title: FIFA WC squad only has 2 non-Europeans in it
Post by: behind-de-bridge on July 07, 2006, 08:40:20 AM
Check it out.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/5158636.stm
Title: Re: FIFA WC squad only has 2 non-Europeans in it
Post by: behind-de-bridge on July 07, 2006, 08:42:00 AM
Actually 3 non-Europeans
Post by: Pompey on July 07, 2006, 08:44:49 AM
Actually 3 non-Europeans

considering the last eight consisted of only two non european teams, it's hardly surprising.
Post by: ricky on July 07, 2006, 08:51:34 AM
Ballack???
he was crap this WC....... IMO
Title: FIFA World Cup 2006 All Star Team
Post by: Andre on July 07, 2006, 10:47:58 AM
Fifa's World Cup squad of the tournament

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Jens Lehmann (Germany), Ricardo (Portugal)

Defenders: Roberto Ayala (Argentina), John Terry (England), Lilian Thuram (France), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal)

Midfielders: Ze Roberto (Brazil), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France), Michael Ballack (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy), Luis Figo (Portugal), Maniche (Portugal)

Strikers: Hernan Crespo (Argentina), Thierry Henry (France), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Francesco Totti (Italy), Luca Toni (Italy)
Post by: Bianconeri on July 07, 2006, 11:05:20 AM
i supportsomeof those pis..some off in my opinion...and players missin
Sagnol, and Miguel..
terry eh bound to be there...
Maxi hadda be there instead of crespo

Totti--hmmm nah
i a italian ..and i cah see how he there ahead of essien and some other players
torres and all missin
Post by: jub02 on July 07, 2006, 12:10:15 PM
balllack played good like 20 mins then he jus was limping the whole time.
what the hell is toni doin in there?!?! i still think he aint that good
Title: World cup all star team announced by FIFA
Post by: andre samuel on July 07, 2006, 12:23:12 PM
The Mastercard All Star Team featuring the 23 most impressive players at the 2006 FIFA World Cup™ has been revealed - and Italy are the team best represented.

Seven members of the Italy squad that will contest Sunday's Final with France were included in the All Star team, while opponents France and the two beaten semi-finalists Germany and Portugal all contribute four players each. Argentina, Brazil and England - three sides who fell at the quarter-final stage - are also represented in the team.

The Mastercard All Star Team is as follows:

Goalkeepers
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Jens Lehmann (Germany), Ricardo (Portugal)

Defenders
Roberto Ayala (Argentina), John Terry (England), Lilian Thuram (France), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal) 

Midfielders
Ze Roberto (Brazil), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France), Michael Ballack (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy), Francesco Totti (Italy), Luis Figo (Portugal), Maniche (Portugal)

Forwards
Hernan Crespo (Argentina), Thierry Henry (France), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Luca Toni (Italy)

Title: Re: World cup all star team announced by FIFA
Post by: SHOTTA on July 07, 2006, 12:25:54 PM
not one ma who team aint make it past d firs round??

one englishman???

i seeing the daily starr headlinnes already

and personally john terry was real jazz throughout this whole cup
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 07, 2006, 12:26:56 PM
i tink de warriors could beat da side ;)
Post by: jub02 on July 07, 2006, 12:27:17 PM
personally i wud have gerrard in there
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 07, 2006, 12:31:03 PM
The Mastercard All Star Team featuring the 23 most impressive players at the 2006 FIFA World Cup™ has been revealed - and Italy are the team best represented.

Seven members of the Italy squad that will contest Sunday's Final with France were included in the All Star team, while opponents France and the two beaten semi-finalists Germany and Portugal all contribute four players each. Argentina, Brazil and England - three sides who fell at the quarter-final stage - are also represented in the team.

The Mastercard All Star Team is as follows:

Goalkeepers
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Jens Lehmann (Germany), Ricardo (Portugal)

Defenders
Roberto Ayala (Argentina), John Terry (England), Lilian Thuram (France), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal) 

Midfielders
Ze Roberto (Brazil), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France), Michael Ballack (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy), Francesco Totti (Italy), Luis Figo (Portugal), Maniche (Portugal)

Forwards
Hernan Crespo (Argentina), Thierry Henry (France), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Luca Toni (Italy)

that is shit,how could you have a wc team and no american on de side,utter disgrace :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:what de no.5 team will say about that.
Post by: Trinione on July 07, 2006, 01:02:43 PM
Now wat happen. All i hear is everyone sayin ronaldinho is not performing at all..yet u all put him in ur squad.

but Jub2 you put Gerrard, and worse yet, Rooney in your squad so you not in a position to question others!
Post by: jub02 on July 07, 2006, 01:13:28 PM

but Jub2 you put Gerrard, and worse yet, Rooney in your squad so you not in a position to question others!
I put gerrard in coz he deserve a place. rooney i jus put in because i just did..jus like u lot put some trini player in
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 07, 2006, 01:14:01 PM
My side

GK- Buffon, Lehman and Ricardo

Def- Zambrotta,Cannavaro,Thuram,Gallas,Lahm,Pernia.

Mid- Beckham, C.Ronaldo, Ze Roberto, Kaka, Zidane, Viera, Ballack, Pirlo, Maniche, J.Cole.

ST- Klose, Podolski, Henry, Torres

---Buffon---

--Zambrotta---  ---Thuram--   ---Cannavaro--    --Pernia--

---Viera--

--C.Ronaldo--        ---Zidane--        ---Pirlo---         ---J.Cole--

---Henry---

Post by: jub02 on July 07, 2006, 01:17:33 PM
My side

GK- Buffon, Lehman and Ricardo

Def- Zambrotta,Cannavaro,Thuram,Gallas,Lahm,Pernia.

Mid- Beckham, C.Ronaldo, Ze Roberto, Kaka, Zidane, Viera, Ballack, Pirlo, Maniche, J.Cole.

ST- Klose, Podolski, Henry, Torres

---Buffon---

--Zambrotta---  ---Thuram--   ---Cannavaro--    --Pernia--

---Viera--

--C.Ronaldo--        ---Zidane--        ---Pirlo---         ---J.Cole--

---Henry---

Yeah thats a good team
Title: F365's World Cup Awards
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2006, 04:51:18 AM
Advertisement of the World Cup: Northern Rock's series depicting Michael Owen wrapped in an England flag alongside the question 'Can we have him back in one piece please?'. The answer is no.

Advertisers of the World Cup: Asda. Having originally signed up Wayne Rooney to be the face of their World Cup advertisement blitz, they then swapped to Michael Owen in late April after deciding that Rooney wouldn't recover from his broken foot in time - only for Rooney to return ahead of schedule and Owen to be crocked against Sweden following two miserable performances.

Card Counter of the World Cup: Graham Poll, although he did at least display an admirable self-depreciating sense humour by quitting international football in Andy Cole style shortly after he was sent packing by FIFA.

Conspiracy Theorists of the World Cup: The Sunni Students Federation. Outraged at the amount of time youngsters were spending watching the World Cup on television rather than praying, they held a protest march against 'a conspiracy to divert the attention of Muslim youth to an unproductive exercise'.

Continent of the World Cup: Europe. Home of six of the eight quarter-finalists, and all four of the semi-finalists.

Complaint of the World Cup: "We've suffered playing twice at 3pm in the blazing sun. It's a criminal schedule. Football has become a business and players are sacrificed. Players have died during tournaments before" - Japan coach Zico.

Runner-Up: "I told him it would be better for us if a he put a yellow jersey on. Brazil are unbeatable and untouchable" - Ghana coach Ratomir Dujkovic rages against the ref after being sent to the stands during his side's 3-0 thrasing by Brazil.

Defining Image of the World Cup: Zinedine Zidane's shockingly-violent head-butt (although, naturally, the technique was exemplary). After watching the forlorn France captain walk past the World Cup trophy, you just knew Italy would win on penalties. What a way to end a career.

Runner-Up: Cristiano Ronaldo's wink. Whatever its meaning, it perfectly captured the essence of a sneaky, cynical and mean-spirited tournament.

Description of the World Cup: 'The WAGs are anorexics addicted to shopping with hollow lobotomised heads' - Brazilian newspaper Gazeta Esportiva.

Disappointment of the World Cup: England. Five-and-a-half performances woefully incommensurate with well-justified expectations.

Runner-Up: The failure of referees to clamp down on cheating (i.e. diving) and their refusal to match an imaginary card with the real thing for their impostors.

Runner-Up to the Runner-Up: Ninety per cent of the matches in the knock-out stages. As Sven would say, "First half good, second-half not so good." Ultimately, this was a deeply unsatisfying tournament devoid of big-name performances and a team worthy of winning the sport's biggest prize.

Fatty of the World Cup:Ronaldo. All fifteen stones of him.

Runner-Up: Adriano. In fairness to Ronaldo, at least his immobility was regarded as a unexpected topic for discussion.

Finale of the World Cup: Italy's last-gasp victory over Germany. After 118 minutes of goalless action, the Azzuri produced two brilliantly-constructed goals in as many minutes to throw the hosts out of their own party.

Flop of the World Cup: Frank Lampard. 25 reasons why he should not be regarded as the second-best player in the world are now available.

Runner-Up: Ronaldinho. Did he produce anything worthy of note?

Goal of the Tournament: Argentina's 24-pass, nine-man navigation through the remnants of the Serbian defence.

Runner-Up: Fabio Grosso's 118th-minute strike against Germany. An unsaveable curler into the far corner that was still overshadowed by the simple brilliance of Andrea Pirlo's beautifully-weighted reverse pass.

Inappropriate Complaint of The Tournament: "We're going to war. You can't fight a war worrying about your wife or child. For one month, kiss them goodbye" - Bobby Robson's lament at the England players being allowed full access to their young ladies.

Inevitability of the World Cup: Germany winning a penalty shoot-out.

Runner-Up: England losing on penalties.

Individual Goal of the World Cup: The right-footed Maxi Rodriguez's stunning left-footed volley to defeat Mexico.

Runner-Up: The volley of Joe Cole, who, lest we forget is a right-footed player stuck on the left, for England against Sweden.

Irritation of the World Cup: The incessant question of 'Where do they get their energy from?'.

Runner-Up: FIFA's hitherto-unannounced rule change which stipulated that it was impossible for a footballer to commit a foul in the opening two weeks of June without earning a yellow card. Presumably, they outlawed the shoulder charge in the same meeting as well.

Least Memorable Match of the World Cup: Ukraine 0 Switzerland 0 (Ukraine win 3-0 on penalties). The worst penalty shoot-out in history to follow the worst game in World Cup history.

Runner-Up: Poland v Costa Rica. Well, can you remember what the scoreline was? Do you remember even knowing it in the first place?

Least Successful Short-Lived Appearance of the World Cup: Justo Villar. The Paraguay keeper conceded an own goal within two minutes of his World Cup debut, was stretchered off three minutes later with an ankle injury and wasn't seen again.

Man-Marker of the World Cup: Roberto Carlos. Last spotted on the edge of the 18-yard box along with half-a-dozen Brazilian colleagues while Thierry Henry rifled in France's winner from close range.

Match of the World Cup: Argentina 2 Mexico 1. Beautiful football interspersed with cracking goals as the World Cup reached its zenith.

Runner-Up: Germany 0 Italy 2. Other than Argentina-Mexico, the semi-final in Berlin was arguably the only knockout-stage match on a par with the best action from the group stage.

Misguided Nepotism of the World Cup: The decision of Serbia coach to Ilija Petkovic to give son Dusan Petkovic a surprise call-up. After a media furore, in which a former Yugoslav captain called Dusan's inclusion a "disgrace" and the front page of the country's best-selling newspaper raged against the 'nation's humiliation', a chastened Dusan returned home. "The pressure was too strong for me," he explained.

Missing Ingredient of the World Cup: The comeback. The only retort of note was achieved by Ivory Coast against Serbia in a dead rubber.

Runner-Up: The Dark Horse. Group C's billing of the Group of Death was only appropriate because it couldn't live up to its moniker. Ukraine earned plaudits for reaching the Q-Fs after losing 4-0 on their WC debut but only did so by beating Tunisia, Saudi Arabia and, on penalties, Switzerland in the worst game of the tournament.

Most Fortunate Injury of the World Cup: The loss of Kelvin Jack, after he suffered a last-minute injury on the way back to the dressing room after the warm-up session before the match with Sweden, was to prove a considerable boon for Trinidad and Tobago. Shaka Hislop received an unexpected call-up and then produced the performance of his career. That probably wasn't much of a consolation for the unfortunate Jack, of course.

Nostalgic Comparison of the Tournament: The Independent's reminder that, in 1966, the wives of the England players went on just two tournament excursions: A shopping trip to Golders Green shopping centre and a trip to the West End to watch The Black and White Minstrel Show.

Off-Field Fall-From-Grace of the World Cup: John Motson. Record numbers tuned in their digital televisions to BBC Radio Five during England matches in a bid to silence his increasingly-inane and deluded commentary.

Runner-Up: Sven-Goran Eriksson. Once linked with Real Madrid, ManYoo and Chelski, it is a measure of how rapidly his stock has collapsed in the past years that Sven is now linked with Aston Villa, Jamaica and 'a Champions League team'.

Questionable Outlay of the Tournament: The estimated £3m the BBC spent on inviting 300 of their employees to Germany. Was the presence of all of them a vital necessity?

Runner-Up: Any ticket for an England match bought from a tout. Whatever the fee, it was overpriced.

Player of the World Cup: Fabio Cannavaro. A class act in Italy's impeccable defence. Oozed authority.

Runner-Up: Well, it was going to be Zinédine Zidane...

Reincarnation of the World Cup: Dwight Yorke as a holding midfielder for Trinidad & Tobago. The former ManYoo striker made more successful tackles than any other player in the group stages of the tournament.

Sartorial Elegance of the World Cup: Dutch fans being forced to watch matches in their pants after officials deemed their trousers to advertise the wares of non-official World Cup sponsors.

Sideshow of the World Cup: The decadence of the inappropriately-nicknamed WAGS - the wives and girlfriends of the England players.

Runner-Up: The invaluable 'World Cup Deaths' blog. At the last count, the number of WC-related fatalities had topped the half-century mark.

Song of the World Cup: The England fans': 'I'd rather be a cabbage than a Swede'.

Stupidest Player of the World Cup: Alexander Frei. Booked for a handball against France that denied Swiss team-mate Djourou a clear header in front of an open goal from approximately one yard in the 92nd minute. How different France's World Cup might have been but for Frei's ridiculous stupidity.

Runner-Up: Zinédine Zidane. And how different the World Cup final may have been if Zidane didn't sully his career with that headbutt.

Tactical Innovation of the World Cup: The Saudi Arabia coach plotting his next move against the Ukraine with the aid of a miniature Subbuteo set.

Runner-Up: T&T coach Leo Beenhakker defying convention by reacting to his side being reduced to ten men against Sweden by introducing an extra forward from the bench.

Tasteful Punditry Exchange of the World Cup: Anchorman: "Craig, how will the Mexican goalkeeper approach this game, given what's happened to him this week?" Pundit Craig Forrest: "Well, his father passed away on Thursday - he'll be disappointed with that..."

Team of the World Cup: Buffon (Italy); Roberto Ayala (Argentina), Rafael Marquez (Mexico), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Philip Lahm (Germany); Esteban Cambiasso (Argentina), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France), Arjen Robben (Holland); Miroslav Klose (Germany), Fernando Torres (Spain).

Time-Keeping of the World Cup: "It was really difficult for us playing in that midday sun with that three o'clock kick-off" - David Beckham.

Thuggery of the World Cup: The assault of seven-year-old Hugo Clapshaw in a Glasgow park because he was wearing an England shirt.

Runner-Up: Maxi Rodriguez's kung-fu attack on a host of Germany players following Argentina's penalty shoot-out defeat.

Unnecessary Job of the World Cup: The fifth official. Permanently on stand-by to lift the scoreboard in the unlikely event of the fourth official suffering muscle cramps in both his arms.

Runner-Up: The third pundit on ITV. Did he get a word in before the adverts?

Unexpected Success Story of the World Cup: Owen Hargreaves. Booed by the England fans when he was introduced as a substitute in the Three Lions opener, the Bayern Munich finished the tournament as England's best performer. Although that's not saying a great deal.

Runner-Up: Germany, Portugal, France and Italy.

Verbal Comeback of the World Cup: "That is what losers do, they whinge and they cry." - The retort of Brazil's Carlos Alberto Parreira to the complaints of Ghana that the referee was biased.

Villain of the World Cup: Winking winger Cristiano Ronaldo. His theatrics = whether the perennial diving, his preaching to the referee or that infamous wink itself - were the embodiment of all that was wrong and sly with a tournamental all-too regularly besmirched by ugliness.

Post by: UPRISING on July 11, 2006, 01:14:42 PM
This is a BIG BIG SIDE! 

Buffon

- Canavarro     Lucio -
Thuram                                  Abidal

-Gerrard     Ze Roberto-

-Pirlo               Zidane           Kaka-

Klose

Bench:
Van Persie
Robinho