Sports => Football => Topic started by: 1989 on July 09, 2006, 03:06:20 PM

Title: Zidane
Post by: 1989 on July 09, 2006, 03:06:20 PM
I think so.
Title: Re: Zidane
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 03:08:18 PM
Can't blame him fully....but he surely didn't do their cause any favors.
Post by: Lower St. John on July 09, 2006, 03:10:03 PM
No need to look far for a scape goat.  This game looked like it was heading to Penalties anyway and it was a forward who missed France's penalty.

Sad to see a great career end on that note.

Blessings
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 09, 2006, 03:10:42 PM
No need to look far for a scape goat. 

Exactly, allow dem England traits.
Post by: Grande on July 09, 2006, 03:12:35 PM
Hero to Zero boy

I really am beginning to wonder if Materazzi tell him something to provoke the head butt...i see they were exchanging words but then Zidane like he changed his mind, WALK BACK and butt him out of de blue

neverrtheless i hope he is not remembered for this stain in his otherwise great career once it all blows off
Post by: Rymizx on July 09, 2006, 03:15:16 PM
as captain he has a responsibility to lead. This he failed to do in extra time at 110mins. That there was where he lost out on ah fairy tale ending.
Post by: marcus on July 09, 2006, 03:15:21 PM
His sending off was close to end, it did not matter....

France played well, but penalties are are game of chance.... like rolling a dice

Who knows whether or not Zidane would have converted a spot kick...

Who knows whether or not someone else would have missed, every action affects the other....

France did not lose the football game, they lost the penalty kicks....

I think it was a very even game, Italy played well in the first and France pressured in the second....

Would like to know what the hell Materazzi said to Zidane
Post by: 1989 on July 09, 2006, 03:18:08 PM

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.
Post by: Grande on July 09, 2006, 03:20:42 PM

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.

not necessarily man

Zidane's last two penalties weren't that convincing nah....in the semis it was almost saved and the final both Trezeguet and Zidane's PK's hit the post, only difference was Zidane went in and Trez didn't both by a NARROW-ass margin
Post by: jub02 on July 09, 2006, 03:21:18 PM
What make me sad is everytime i see it i start to dislike zidane. i cant help it.
Post by: Lower St. John on July 09, 2006, 03:21:29 PM

Blessings

Yuh cah convince me that Trezeguet would not have been one of the five taking penalties.  If a defender stepped forward and missed during the penalties then yuh argument might be stronger!!  Point the fingure in the right direction bredo.

Blessings.
Post by: kingman on July 09, 2006, 03:26:27 PM

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.

How do you know for sure that Zidane would have scored?

Post by: firebun on July 09, 2006, 03:27:31 PM
Not sure if the answer is yes, or no but one thing for sure, when you act like an ass you will get treated like one.  

big up Soca Warriors for always maintaining discipline throughout the world cup, we certainly showed the world that we have moire class than dem big team.

Congrats Italy! better you than France! :beermug:

Ah cyar wait for the next set ah qualifiers.  Big up to the Pro League!
Post by: jose on July 09, 2006, 03:33:50 PM
materazzi said"i f**ked your wife last night,bare back.
Post by: Bob on July 09, 2006, 03:41:37 PM
Don't try tuh butter up wat he do nah. He's de captain and he lose he cool jes so off ah some words. He's ah mature grown ass player that shouldn't have happened man, leave that type ah attitude fuh Rooney. Sad thing is that this will be wat ppl will remember de most about him. It rell unfortunate.
Post by: Toppa on July 09, 2006, 03:43:51 PM
No.
Post by: Toppa on July 09, 2006, 03:46:34 PM

???

Didn't think Zidane understood that much Italian...or did Materazzi say this in French?

Either way...wey you hear dah from?
Post by: kingman on July 09, 2006, 03:47:21 PM

He said figlio di putana (which is translated to mean son of a bitch) and then while Zidane was running off Materazzi told him about his mother. I am not saying Zidane is right for head butting Materazzi but those Italians are dirty, cheap, play-acting players and for that matter, should be treated for the type of players they are.

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/ec/Zidane-big.gif)

Look how he fly down on the ground quick quick when it happen. All that was not even necessary.

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....this came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

Post by: Midknight on July 09, 2006, 03:51:08 PM
seeing that is not the first time zidane do that kind of crap in a high profile match i won't go and put the blame on the italians. While it is obvious that materazzi said somehting to provoke him that was a pretty awful headbutt. Is not like he put his face up against the other guy and he pretend to fall down. A lash like that when you not expecting it woulf make even goliath fall down....
Post by: Grande on July 09, 2006, 03:51:24 PM

He said figlio di putana (which is translated to mean son of a bitch) and then while Zidane was running off Materazzi told him about his mother. I am not saying Zidane is right for head butting Materazzi but those Italians are dirty, cheap, play-acting players and for that matter, should be treated for the type of players they are.

Look how he fly down on the ground quick quick when it happen. All that was not even necessary.

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....he came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

kingman i would like your source for this breds, thanks  :beermug:
Post by: pecan on July 09, 2006, 03:51:55 PM
does not matter what Materazzi said .. I am sure French players have made similar comments

he left France one man short and was not therre for the penalty shots

We will never know if Zidance would have converted hi shot.

What we do know is that HE WAS NOT THERE TO TAKE A SHOT -and that my friends is a guarantee not to score.

He has to shouldera large part of the responsibility.
Post by: doublet750 on July 09, 2006, 03:52:56 PM
take that down na ..it sad to watch da end of a career hapenin over and over wit stupidness on his part.... :-[.........as a youth man i am disapointed as i se this from  aman i look up to in footbal and worse off as captain i the final.....i was inspired whn i saw him do da becknbauer heroics and then dejected watchin him do tht act.
Post by: jub02 on July 09, 2006, 04:19:37 PM

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....he came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

kingman i would like your source for this breds, thanks  :beermug:

What did he say about his mother?
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 04:23:53 PM
regardless of what was said..Zidane was wrong, plain and simple..as for what was said, there will be rumors..I am sure Zidane and Materazzi will have different versions of what was said.
Post by: jub02 on July 09, 2006, 04:24:56 PM
regardless of what was said..Zidane was wrong, plain and simple..as for what was said, there will be rumors..I am sure Zidane and Materazzi will have different versions of what was said.

yeah we all know it wrong..but i wanna no what he said..it might make me like zidane a bit more agian
Post by: sinned on July 09, 2006, 04:51:31 PM

yeah we all know it wrong..but i wanna no what he said..it might make me like zidane a bit more agian

if it was ah english player got headbutt you woulda care what the englishman say? or if it was we trini get headbutt like that allyuh would be complaining? no. plain and simple - that is a red card if i ever see one
Post by: marcus on July 09, 2006, 04:52:51 PM

You know what I am not a french supporter or a big Zidane fan, but I was supporting France over Italy.....

WHEN I SAW THE FOUL I REALISE SOMETHING NASTY HAD TO BE SAID!!!

AND I LIKED HOW ZIDANE REACTED, FOR THAT I RESPECT HIM!!!!

SOMETIMES CERTAIN THINGS IN LIFE MUST BE PERSERVED, CHERISHED AND PROTECTED

WHEN ANOTHER TRAMPLES ON THOSE THINGS, INSTINCT SURFACES.....

SOME THINGS ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN WINNING..... I SAW A MAN PROTECTING HIS IDEALS!
Post by: Grande on July 09, 2006, 04:55:44 PM
I don't think the French ppl (those who know football) will blame Zidane though, and far less Trezeguet. Midknight, what's the general mood regarding this over there?
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 05:01:40 PM

You know what I am not a french supporter or a big Zidane fan, but I was supporting France over Italy.....

SOME THINGS ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN WINNING..... I SAW A MAN PROTECTING HIS IDEALS!

protecting his ideals?..so basically yuh saying it is right to resort to violence when offended.

instinct..after the lil tussle..Zidane ran past de man, stoped..turned around..faced him..they had an exchange of words then head butt..that doh look like instinct to me....so if yuh respect him for head butting ah man that is ur choice..i respect him for being a great footballer...i respect him for leading france to WC final at age 34.

You are correct that some things are more important than winning but that is not a good justification for his actions.
Post by: ANC2 on July 09, 2006, 05:07:37 PM
racist Italian must have said something. Zizou doh do dem things. I bet him say something racist
Post by: sinned on July 09, 2006, 05:10:25 PM
racist Italian must have said something. Zizou doh do dem things. I bet him say something racist

I like how allyuh defending a headbutt and calling people racist without knowing exactly what happened -- all we see was the headbutt and that just disgusting wha Zidane do..when Henry and Eto get taunted in Spain they should go run into the stands and headbutt people nah?? or why Henry didnt go headbut Araganoes the spanish coach man?? he reall miss out dey ent??
all this is just assuming Materazzi said something racist
Post by: marcus on July 09, 2006, 05:13:34 PM

protecting his ideals?..so basically yuh saying it is right to resort to violence when offended.

instinct..after the lil tussle..Zidane ran past de man, stoped..turned around..faced him..they had an exchange of words then head butt..that doh look like instinct to me....so if yuh respect him for head butting ah man that is ur choice..i respect him for being a great footballer...i respect him for leading france to WC final at age 34.

You are correct that some things are more important than winning but that is not a good justification for his actions.

The only thing I sorry for is that he should have done it right..........

Butt de man in he face!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Toppa on July 09, 2006, 05:17:00 PM

I like how allyuh defending a headbutt and calling people racist without knowing exactly what happened -- all we see was the headbutt and that just disgusting wha Zidane do..when Henry and Eto get taunted in Spain they should go run into the stands and headbutt people nah?? or why Henry didnt go headbut Araganoes the spanish coach man?? he reall miss out dey ent??
all this is just assuming Materazzi said something racist

Ent.
Post by: trini_chris on July 09, 2006, 05:21:16 PM
yall are just assuming. none of yall were there and actually know what happened. as a young person i have just lost respect for zidane. ppl always talking about how youths violent etc and this is the example that we gettin from the older heads. so allyuh stop tryin 2 defend d man and realise that he was WRONG. what ever happened to walking away. i'm sure if it was someone like rooney or cristiano ronaldo who did this it woulda be a next story. this is the worst i c 4 d whole world cup. SHAME ON YOU ZIDANE.
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 05:22:28 PM

The only thing I sorry for is that he should have done it right..........

Butt de man in he face!!!!!!!!!

marcus yuh eh easy...i hear yuh.
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 05:24:14 PM

???

Didn't think Zidane understood that much Italian...or did Materazzi say this in French?

Either way...wey you hear dah from?

Not sure if that's what he said, but Toppa, Zidane played for years in Italy, so I'm sure he understands Italian quite well.
Post by: NC on July 09, 2006, 05:25:42 PM
It ayways amazes me how people could stay so far from a situation, not have the facts and arrive at hard and fasr conclusions????  All of you all who know what he should have done ... do you know what you would have done, if it was you under the psycho;ogical and physical pressure that these guys endure???  I am not daying that he was right or wrong, but what i am saying is that we are all humans before we become, footballers , pastors, doctors etc., and do make mistakes from time to time.  If he did say something racist, them maybe, just maybe Zuidane did deal with it right ... because this is 2006 and racism has no place in our society.  And until you have been the victim of racial abuse, you are not entitled to decide what anyone should do in that circumstance.
Post by: Midknight on July 09, 2006, 05:36:59 PM
I made it a point of not going out tonight, so i can't tell you too much about the mood of the french supporters, but the media seem to be playing down the whole thing. Neither Zidane nor Trezeguet are being treated as scapegoats.

That said, i sense that a lot are dissappointed by Zidane's action and he's somehow damaged his 'holier than thou' status...

I've actually heard very few calling to find out what materazzi said.

That said, this is just the Politically Correct side i have here...

i think on the arc de triomphe it was projected, zizou we love you and thank you les bleus
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 05:41:00 PM

Blessings

I hate to hear that,how you know that for sure,you have a crystal ball under yuh bed,maybe you should say zidane chances of scoring from the penalty spot are greater than trezeguet.........
Post by: sinned on July 09, 2006, 05:41:44 PM
It ayways amazes me how people could stay so far from a situation, not have the facts and arrive at hard and fasr conclusions????  All of you all who know what he should have done ... do you know what you would have done, if it was you under the psycho;ogical and physical pressure that these guys endure???  I am not daying that he was right or wrong, but what i am saying is that we are all humans before we become, footballers , pastors, doctors etc., and do make mistakes from time to time.  If he did say something racist, them maybe, just maybe Zuidane did deal with it right ... because this is 2006 and racism has no place in our society.  And until you have been the victim of racial abuse, you are not entitled to decide what anyone should do in that circumstance.

Well let we forget what Martin Luther King Jr say about racism and non-violence nah. Let we forget Gandhi and them other non-violent leaders against racism -- let we idolize Zidane instead nah -- headbutt all the way -- forget Luther King Jr and Gandhi (them men neverr face racism and know what it feel like nah)

All that is assuming is racism we talking bout. Allyuh just fraid to ZIDANE WAS WRONG!
Post by: E-man on July 09, 2006, 05:46:04 PM
It was a shocking to see. Couldn't believe he did it. It's one of those moments you want to rewind and erase if you could. It put a real damper on the final - that's for sure.
Don't know if it cost France the game, but it was wrong. The red card had to come out.
Post by: NC on July 09, 2006, 05:48:30 PM

Well let we forget what Martin Luther King Jr say about racism and non-violence nah. Let we forget Gandhi and them other non-violent leaders against racism -- let we idolize Zidane instead nah -- headbutt all the way -- forget Luther King Jr and Gandhi (them men neverr face racism and know what it feel like nah)

All that is assuming is racism we talking bout. Allyuh just fraid to ZIDANE WAS WRONG!

The reason we still having to deal with racism, is because of what Martin and them said.  Other leaders had better solutions ... we cannot judge Zidane to be wrong when we do not know what the facts are, let wait and hear first.  There were other leaders that had ideas that would have eliminated this thing already.  But again if you never had to deal with it first hand, then please you are not in a position to judge Zidane or anyone ... if it is racism he was dealing with??
Post by: weary1969 on July 09, 2006, 05:49:17 PM
No it did not. 2 words come to mind Temporary Insanity
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 05:50:49 PM

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....this came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

Kingman for rumour control president...........Listen I ent hear what the italian may have said,but all in all the world surely saw what zidane did and that matters.

Kingman ah tell yuh what leh we meet on ah football field and ah go head butt yuh in the chest by surprise and yuh go see how quick quick quick you go hit the ground................Tell meh when yuh ready.
Post by: A.B. on July 09, 2006, 05:52:20 PM
OK so I got this directly from the adidas rep attached to the FRENCH team.  Don't give me some time to think of how to get info.  I go find it out if I want to badly enough. 

So it went something like this, he says:

"Get off me"

"What is your problem?"

"I dont like men all over me like you just were"

"Oh please, all you arabs are fags anyhow"

POW!

I didn't really believe it until i matched it up to this, it kind of fits....but I will wait to see if he actually let's this out or makes something else up.  If it does, it better fit this video.  Something was being said which led to this.  Until then, I will believe it, because it is the kind of thing that a tired frustrated athlete might do, and as I said it matches the video.

The video: http://youtube.com/watch?v=NBV52GPhNjw&feature=Recent&page=6&t=t&f=b
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 05:52:36 PM
It is laughable that Materazzi can say anything that should provoke that sort of reaction from Zidane. The captain of team in the WC final, his last game ever, arguably the greatest player of our generation......nah, he should be able to brush off anything. He has too much experience to fall for that. Without the facts, we should not assume Materazzi said something racist. I know it seems impossible that Zidane would snap for an ordinary insult...

Out of curiosity, how could Materazzi upset Zidane with racist slurs? Zidane is of Algerian descent, but he is not Arab. He is white and has even gone on public to say he has never been treated diffrently except he was seen as a poor foreigner when he was growing up in marseille in 'La Cite'...but he was never been terated as anything but white. With all the black players on France's team, Zidane is the last I would expect to snap. But who knows...without the facts..all we know is Zidane really lost it
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 05:54:06 PM

I ent want you on my side boy,the minute ah man say something nasty to you is blows.............
Post by: RasIred on July 09, 2006, 05:56:02 PM
Well hmm..........it was disappointing to see Zizou exit on such a WRECKLESS challenge, even though he has done this sort of thing before, I do feel Materrazzi had to have told him something pretty INSULTING for him to act out as he did. I do not condone Zizous actions , but he is not a lunatic !! I do agree as the captain he should not have fell to the Materazzi BAIT, but I guess it just showed that he is HUMAN after all......

France should have buried their kicks , Italy was perfect and they won..... :beermug:

Zizou thanx 4 everything ....U still one a the best in my book.....Vive Zizou :beermug:
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 05:57:05 PM
OK so I got this direclty from the adidas rep attached to the FRENCH team.  Don't give me some time to think of how to get info.  LOL.

So it went something like this:

"Get off me"

"What is your problem?"

"I dont like men all over me like you just were"

"Oh please, all you arabs are fags anyhow"

POW!

I didn't really believe it until i matched it up to this, it kind of fits....but I will wait to see if he actually let's this out or makes something else up.  If it does, it better fit this video.  Something was being said which led to this.  Until then, I will believe it, because it is the kind of thing that a tired frustrated athlete might do, and as I said it matches the video.

The video: http://youtube.com/watch?v=NBV52GPhNjw&feature=Recent&page=6&t=t&f=b

I could undertsand Zidane losing his cool about the Arab slur but I still think he wrong for de head butt but as NC say, being in the situation and watching it on TV is 2 different ting...no one could be 100% sure of how they will act if they were in Zidane's position.  I 95% sure i wouldn't head butt Materazzi but sometimes that 5% could take over.
Post by: A.B. on July 09, 2006, 05:58:44 PM
If your parents are from Algeria, aren't u Algerian in some way?  He says he is a non practising Muslim
Post by: slates on July 09, 2006, 06:00:18 PM

If indeed something nasty and disrespectful was said, then I feel you Marcus. I eh mad at Zidane for doing what he did.

It was wrong, yes, but sometimes... yuh have to do what yuh have to do.

I've been spat on before, on the football field, and at that moment, forgot everything else. Dat wasn't going down without a forceful response, red card or not.

Post by: Grande on July 09, 2006, 06:07:39 PM
It is laughable that Materazzi can say anything that should provoke that sort of reaction from Zidane. The captain of team in the WC final, his last game ever, arguably the greatest player of our generation......nah, he should be able to brush off anything. He has too much experience to fall for that. Without the facts, we should not assume Materazzi said something racist. I know it seems impossible that Zidane would snap for an ordinary insult...

Out of curiosity, how could Materazzi upset Zidane with racist slurs? Zidane is of Algerian descent, but he is not Arab. He is white and has even gone on public to say he has never been treated diffrently except he was seen as a poor foreigner when he was growing up in marseille in 'La Cite'...but he was never been terated as anything but white. With all the black players on France's team, Zidane is the last I would expect to snap. But who knows...without the facts..all we know is Zidane really lost it

you don't have to be of a certain race to be offended/provoked by a slur directed at that race

watching the video again, Zidane was definitely provoked by something Matzerratti said, but simply no one knows what it was yet
Post by: Warrior till death on July 09, 2006, 06:09:16 PM
ANOTHER SENSELESS POLL FROM 1989

WHY WOULD YOU BLAME ZIDANE FOR LOSING THE MATCH
when it went down to penalties
and trezeguet miss ???
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 06:11:33 PM
(http://img312.imageshack.us/img312/2103/zidane6ki.gif)
Post by: saga pinto on July 09, 2006, 06:23:28 PM
Wait wait,like I missing something hear,from what I saw and what the announcers were saying is they were both exchanging words,so why is it that materazzi did'nt react and zidane did.

I tell you , it doh matter what verbal assault was exchanged,Zidane was wrong plain and simple.....     
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 06:24:19 PM

you don't have to be of a certain race to be offended/provoked by a slur directed at that race

watching the video again, Zidane was definitely provoked by something Matzerratti said, but simply no one knows what it was yet

I agree..but unless you are of that race...chances are you are not going to explode...you may be offended and disgusted, but I doubt your boiling point will be near that of someone who is actually of that race.

Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 06:25:24 PM
Wait wait,like I missing something hear,from what I saw and what the announcers were saying is they were both exchanging words,so why is it that materazzi did'nt react and zidane did.

I tell you , it doh matter what verbal assault was exchanged,Zidane was wrong plain and simple.....
http://zidanewheeee.ytmnd.com/
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 06:33:26 PM

just because they exchanged words doesn't mean that they both said offensive stuff..........

but yes, Zidane was wrong.
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 06:34:13 PM
If your parents are from Algeria, aren't u Algerian in some way?  He says he is a non practising Muslim

If this is a response to what I wrote then you are not understanding correctly. I said he is Algerian, but he is not an Arab. Not everyone with fair or olive skin from North Africa is Arab. There are many diffrent 'races' and Zidane's people are not considered Arab. If anyone insulted Zidane by calling him an 'expletive' Arab..he would probably laugh at their ignorance. He'd probably find it very offensive and disgusting, but with all his experience and everything he must of gone through..I cannot see him going nuts over that. I feel it had to be something else..
Post by: tempo on July 09, 2006, 06:37:14 PM
So is ZZ a Berber? I feel something else was saud
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2006, 06:43:19 PM

WOI!! it have some REAL insane people dat does post here oui
Post by: NC on July 09, 2006, 06:44:09 PM
A GEAT LEADER ONCE SAID IF YOU DO NOT STAND FOR SOMETHING YOU WILL FALL FOR ANYTHING ... I GUESS HE CROSSED THE LINE WITH ZIDANE AND HIS ACTIONS WILL BE JUDGED BT HIS CREATOR.  HE HAD A GREAT CAREER AND WHILE IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT IT ENDED THIS WAY ... MOST OF US MAY NOT AGREE WITH HIS ACTIONS IN THIS GAME, I AM SURE BY NOW HE AND ALL DOES NOT AGREE WITH HIS ACTION ... HE IS STILL ONE OF THE GREATEST PLAYERS TO HAVE PLAYED THE GAME.  AND HOPEFULLY HIS ACTIONS WILL PREVENT ANPTHER PLAYER IN THE FUTURE FROM MAKING SUCH COMMENTS IF TRUE!!!
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 06:45:19 PM

If this is a response to what I wrote then you are not understanding correctly. I said he is Algerian, but he is not an Arab. Not everyone with fair or olive skin from North Africa is Arab. There are many diffrent 'races' and Zidane's people are not considered Arab. If anyone insulted Zidane by calling him an 'expletive' Arab..he would probably laugh at their ignorance. He'd probably find it very offensive and disgusting, but with all his experience and everything he must of gone through..I cannot see him going nuts over that. I feel it had to be something else..

Zidane's parents are from Kabylie (A particular region in Algeria)

His parents are Kabyle (an Arab "race" of people from that region in Algeria)......and he was raised muslim.....

This is what I was told by a french friend of mine who is also Kabyle.........so it might be a glory fight down scene  ;D....

According to wilkepdia, he currently describes himself as a non-practicing Muslim....
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 06:45:44 PM
So is ZZ a Berber? I feel something else was saud

Yep..he is
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2006, 06:48:17 PM
(http://img312.imageshack.us/img312/2103/zidane6ki.gif)

Zizou lick up the death star and all oui........when dem net boy done wit graphics ah cyah wait to see what else he headbuttin

and if allyuh must know zizou is ah pumpkin vine trini,, his action was merely a tribute to ray apollon  :D
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 06:50:21 PM

Zidane's parents are from Kabylie (A particular region in Algeria)

His parents are Kayble (an Arab "race" of people from that region in Algeria)......and he was raised muslim.....

This is what I was told by a french friend of mine who is also Kayble.........so it might be a glory fight down scene  ;D....

According to wilkepdia, he currently describes himself as a non-practicing Muslim....

Kabyles are a type of Berber people and they are not Arab. Look up the definitions of Kabyle or more importantly Berber...not Arabs. No disrespect to your friend
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 06:50:37 PM
http://epicmaterazzi.ytmnd.com/

http://zidanewantscandy.ytmnd.com/

http://worldcupfatality.ytmnd.com/

(http://imagesocket.com/images/zidane29b.gif)
Post by: scooby on July 09, 2006, 07:00:53 PM
anyone who ever played football can`t tell me that the play early in the game was not an intentional foule when henry was almost knock to hell out, the Italian captain was delibrate but smart in the way he layed henry out , yes zz you disapointed your yeam and country, for this they will not award you the golden boot aldo you deserve it
Post by: morgz on July 09, 2006, 07:06:04 PM
regardless of what was said he was wrong two wrongs just don't make a right
anyone whos played competitively knows that your you play psycological games to your advantage
as a coach once said he who gets into your head controls you and zidane was manipulated he fell for it hook line.....well you know the rest
Post by: NC on July 09, 2006, 07:07:31 PM
nEVER KNEW IT HAD SO MUCH PHILOSOPHERS ON THIS FORUM ... YOU LEARN EVERY DAY.
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2006, 07:07:59 PM

Kabyles are a type of Berber people and they are not Arab. Look up the definitions of Kabyle or more importantly Berber...not Arabs. No disrespect to your friend

Kabyles (kəbīlz') , people, predominantly agricultural, of North Africa, whose center is the rugged Kabylia region of Algeria. Of uncertain origin, they form one of the larger divisions of the Berbers. Known for their fierce resistance to the successive conquerors of the region, they were slow to adopt the Muslim religion and Arabic speech and in Great Kabylia (the central and southern region of Algeria) they still retain their vernacular.

Some people of Kabyle origin refer to themselves as Arabs.......Kabylie is loosely referred to as an Arab region.....understandably so beause of the significant Arab presence/influence/rule in that region of the world dating way back, and lasting centuries...... Zidane's parents are muslim....The muslim religion was impressed upon Kabyles by Arabs.....So to say that someone of Kabyle/Berber origin is not Arab might not necessarily be "accurate" depending on the particular case.........

....anyway........
Post by: Feliziano on July 09, 2006, 07:08:33 PM
thinking back after the incident today..ah don't think this is the first time Zidane get ketch with this headbutting thing.
that head butt was really outta le bluez..even Matteraxxi ent see it coming hence the wrestling gymnastic/theathrics deathblow ;D
the lesson here is don't play "Yo Momma" games with other people if yuh cant handle it lol
Title: Why Zidane snapped!
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2006, 07:12:30 PM

Why Zidane snapped

Video replay killed the World Cup star Zidane
JONATHAN COATES
THE line between genius and madness has perhaps never been thinner.

A famous journey that began in 1986, when a 14-year-old son of Algerian immigrants was offered a place at the academy of AS Cannes, wound up in Berlin last night with an almighty bang. Whether it was an explosion or an implosion, only Zinedine Zidane can really be sure, but certainly a great career could not have been closed in a less apt, gratifying or sensible way.

Had there been an element of altruism at play - say Zidane had committed a professional foul to deny Italy a last-minute winner - it would have been an understandable reason for the maestro to sabotage his own swansong. Yet there was nothing to be gained from lowering his head and charging into Marco Materazzi's chest, and such a great deal to be lost.

In years to come most admirers will only want to recall the real Zidane, feinting and gliding between opponents, backheeling a pass or issuing a thunderous volley. The lasting damage to his popularity will not be as deep around the world as it might be in France, where they don't readily forgive. But surely the most pain will be felt by the man himself. Had France limped out of the World Cup with a whimper it wouldn't have been because of their greatest player. But when the only difference between the capture and loss of a trophy is a captain for ten minutes of extra time and one less mature, composed penalty taker in the shoot-out, there can only be one target for recrimination. Zidane will find it hard to look in the mirror this morning and if he holds good on that plan to retire, 50 years is a long time to live in fear of one's reflection.

Despite a smattering of indisciplined incidents over the years, Zidane is no Eric Cantona. He did become the first Frenchman to be sent off in a World Cup finals, with a stamp on Saudi Arabia's captain when France began their home campaign in 1998, and in 2000 he incurred a five-match ban for two straight sendings-off in the Champions League, on for a headbutt on Hamburg's Jochen Kientz. But generally Zidane has come across as the very antithesis of the red-blooded primate, lashing out at the slightest invitation. For all the gesticulations, spats and histrionics indulged in by peers, Zidane has tended to retaliate to attack with nothing more aggressive than a cold stare.

From television footage of the incident, Materazzi might have nipped the French midfielder in the chest as they grappled over a ball. However, after the players parted the Italian can only have said something that inflamed his opponent and caused the retribution. Why Zidane snapped, only he can explain.

"There a moments, when you take blows for 80 minutes, I'm not saying I'm excusing it but I can understand," said the French coach, Raymond Domenech. He clearly believed Materazzi's incitations were more goading than they appeared on television, but admitted he could not condone what happened. "It was too bad, a totally useless gesture. We regret it and he also regrets it."

Domenech made no further attempt to explain the actions of his captain, which he conceded had had a permanent bearing on his team's hopes. "I don't know. I think Materazzi was perhaps involved. Something must have happened," he said. "I don't think Zidane decided out of the blue to react in such a way that he was sent off.

"We missed Zidane a lot in the last 10 minutes. His absence weighed heavily on the match.

"Yes, we can say that Zidane being sent off was the killing moment of the game. Especially in extra time - the Italian team were obviously waiting for the penalty shoot-out."

Intriguingly, Domenech ventured more readily into discussions on what happened after Zidane's headbutt. He had scathing words for referee Horacio Elizondo, claiming that he took the unprecedented step of asking a fourth official to examine video footage of the incident before making his decision.

Domenech claimed: "The referee saw nothing, the assistant referee saw nothing and then we have the fourth official seeing the video replay and telling the referee."

Italy coach Marcello Lippi defended Materazzi for his reaction to what was clearly a powerful assault, but agreed that the officials had conducted a trial by television.

Lippi said: "You will realise that it was not Materazzi who got the attention of the referee. It was the fourth and fifth officials looking at the video at the edge of the pitch. We did not do anything. They saw it and they called the attention of the referee.

"When the French fans see television tomorrow they will see what happened and they will think differently. Materazzi was not acting. He took a blow and he was hurt."

Lippi paid tribute to Zidane's career and urged him to rethink his decision to retire. "I am sorry because I hold him in great esteem," Lippi said. "I told him that before the game. I was sorry for him to go. It is a shame if he goes on this note. That is if he does go, because I told him before the game that he should not retire."

Lippi added: "This World Cup has given opportunities to two people who have suffered. One is Cannavaro. He is the greatest defender in the world. He is just the best but Buffon comes close.

"Buffon did not make the save from the penalties but he influenced Trezeguet's mistake. I have seen matches end up in penalty shoot-outs and the ones I have lost are the ones where the players didn't want to shoot. My boys wanted it really strongly tonight and that's why we scored all five."

Lippi took Francesco Totti off and thought he was struggling for fitness after playing throughout the semi-final against Germany. "He paid the price of 120 minutes against Germany. That took it's toll. He had not recovered his optimum form."

Italy's fans launched into a huge celebration as they became world champions for the first time since 1982.

Lippi said: "Thanks to our fans because we felt their closeness. It filled us with hope and pride and joy at a time when we really needed it.

"This was a special match. I don't know if it was a penalty to France but there was a wonderful reaction from my team.

"We always hoped we could make it. We were dangerous all over the pitch but we were playing against a good team. We did a great job in the penalty shoot-out. We kept our cool and did not miss one."

Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 07:12:46 PM
BTW I like how you all sit in your comfy homes 1000 miles away, and turn a legendary player into a villian because he doesn't follow the 7th heaven code of conduct manual. If put in the same position, most of you all would have knocked his ass out with a Shoryuken uppercut.

(http://www.consumating.com/photos/12817/large/45914.jpg)

Zizou for the win!!!

(http://img70.imageshack.us/img70/757/zidanesf9ee.gif)

(http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/66/zidane2cv.jpg)
Title: Re: Why Zidane snapped!
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 07:15:37 PM
I hope Matarazzi dies. Seriously.
Post by: 1989 on July 09, 2006, 07:16:22 PM
ANOTHER SENSELESS POLL FROM 1989

WHY WOULD YOU BLAME ZIDANE FOR LOSING THE MATCH
when it went down to penalties
and trezeguet miss ???

You have a serious comprehension disorder.  Please ask someone to help you to understand what you read - and start again from the first post.
Post by: biga84 on July 09, 2006, 07:17:34 PM
BTW I like how you all sit in your comfy homes, and turn a legendary player into a villian because he doesn't follow the 7th heaven code of conduct manual. If put in the same position, most of you all would have knocked his ass out with a Shoryuken uppercut.

(http://www.consumating.com/photos/12817/large/45914.jpg)

I sorry I aint go lie if someone tell me something like that then all hell go break out whether its a world cup final, qualifer or a fete match. I aint know how men could stand behind a no racism banner then go say foolishness like that. Zidane will always be a excellent footballer no matter what allyuh, the man who get a nice head in he chest or the whole Italian federation think.
Post by: Trini on July 09, 2006, 07:25:19 PM
Big up Zizou!
This Trini still rate yuh.
Yuh make a mistake yes, but we all do.
You have been the best footballer since Maradonna, in my opinion even better than him (but that is another debate).
You ruled the world for about 8 years, you will be remembered for those glorious moments you gave us.
I see the Italians nearly kill you today with 3 tackles.
God alone know how much abuse you take in addition to that, which the cameras and refs didnt pick up.
All the footballers here who play competitive football know out on the field it can be a real war and battlefield. I consider myself a real cool fella, but it had times i come up against players who I just lost my cool with and reacted, mind you I never got caught and sent off.
Big up Zizou!
Because of you I was backing France slightly more, but I still love Italy to death too.
INteresting point...after Zindane do that act, not an italian react and oppose the big man. That to me says a lot about what was going on....
Post by: monty on July 09, 2006, 07:26:08 PM

Don't worry... I am sure one day your wish will come true.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on July 09, 2006, 07:34:24 PM
ah feel he call zidan ah 'goat' an zidan just walk off, then zidan say to heself, yuh know what, I eh taking dat, an decide to show him how ah real goat does operate.
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 07:58:01 PM
BTW I like how you all sit in your comfy homes 1000 miles away, and turn a legendary player into a villian because he doesn't follow the 7th heaven code of conduct manual. If put in the same position, most of you all would have knocked his ass out with a Shoryuken uppercut.

put in what position? This is the problem...we have no idea what position Zidane was put in.
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 08:07:41 PM

Kabyles (k?b?lz') , people, predominantly agricultural, of North Africa, whose center is the rugged Kabylia region of Algeria. Of uncertain origin, they form one of the larger divisions of the Berbers. Known for their fierce resistance to the successive conquerors of the region, they were slow to adopt the Muslim religion and Arabic speech and in Great Kabylia (the central and southern region of Algeria) they still retain their vernacular.

Some people of Kabyle origin refer to themselves as Arabs.......Kabylie is loosely referred to as an Arab region.....understandably so beause of the significant Arab presence/influence/rule in that region of the world dating way back, and lasting centuries...... Zidane's parents are muslim....The muslim religion was impressed upon Kabyles by Arabs.....So to say that someone of Kabyle/Berber origin is not Arab might not necessarily be "accurate" depending on the particular case.........

....anyway........

I see what you are saying. I guess we are both right. Seems to me that the defintion is saying they are not Arabs and adopted the Muslim religion (and Arabic language in some parts...) with some resistance. Some refer to themselves as Arabs but this could be because of the Arabic influence, mixing with Arab peoples or just not wanting to waste time describing the difference...who knows. But it seems clear to me that they are not of Arab origin and most do not consider themselves Arabs. I only say Zidane is not Arab because in a biography I read of him they made a point of distinguishing his people from Arabs. People will always choose to identify themselves as they feel depending on their personal preferences, appearance and circumstances....and as with all classifications, the lines are not always clear and defined..a man could have one white parent and one black parent and consider himself mixed, while his sister might consider herself black (bad analogy.....but hopefully the point was made).....anyway, back to making up reasons why Zidane lost his cool  ;)
Post by: Filho on July 09, 2006, 08:10:08 PM

...because???

And just so you know..you win first prize for the most disgusting post ever. Wish that on noone
Post by: Trini Madness on July 09, 2006, 08:11:38 PM
Big up Zizou!
This Trini still rate yuh.
Yuh make a mistake yes, but we all do.
You have been the best footballer since Maradonna, in my opinion even better than him (but that is another debate).
You ruled the world for about 8 years, you will be remembered for those glorious moments you gave us.
I see the Italians nearly kill you today with 3 tackles.
God alone know how much abuse you take in addition to that, which the cameras and refs didnt pick up.
All the footballers here who play competitive football know out on the field it can be a real war and battlefield. I consider myself a real cool fella, but it had times i come up against players who I just lost my cool with and reacted, mind you I never got caught and sent off.
Big up Zizou!
Because of you I was backing France slightly more, but I still love Italy to death too.
INteresting point...after Zindane do that act, not an italian react and oppose the big man. That to me says a lot about what was going on....

couldnt say more... :applause: :applause:
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 08:26:15 PM

I nominate this post for most a$$hole post of the year..nah..that award to small...most a$$hole post ever on de forum...nah that honour too small..from now on when somebody post real rubbish we will call it an "Augi" and also name the most retarded post of year in ur honour (The Augi..Oscars and Grammy want nutten with u).

Post by: berris on July 09, 2006, 08:46:39 PM

I nominate this post for most a$$hole post of the year..nah..that award to small...most a$$hole post ever on de forum...nah that honour too small..from now on when somebody post real rubbish we will call it an "Augi" and also name the most retarded post of year in ur honour (The Augi..Oscars and Grammy want nutten with u).

:rotfl:  an yuh say i does drink bitters pardner... :rotfl: :rotfl:  buh I eh blame yuh for giving de man de jackass award ...yuh eh lie  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Gazza on July 09, 2006, 08:53:22 PM
If he made a racist remark for true.He deserve it.
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2006, 08:55:43 PM
So who go win de first 'Augi' of 2006?

Gally Cummings or Augi?

Ah tink we could make ah gold version of dis and present it to de winner

(http://www.angosturabitters.com/billboard_LANG.jpg)

de runner up will have to eat some raw shadoe benny leaves
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 08:57:40 PM

Yes, because a racist, maco asshole should always be tolerated.

Dude insulted Zizou about his mother and sister (sexually and racially). Zidane should have aimed a little more to the right over Matarazzi's heart.
Post by: Feliziano on July 09, 2006, 08:58:47 PM

Gally Cummings or Augi?

Dutty ah ent like de design ah award nah
it looking too much like meh Spanish flag
yuh trying to say something in smart or wah? ;D
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 09:02:21 PM

Dude insulted Zizou about his mother and sister (sexually and racially). Zidane should have aimed a little more to the right over Matarazzi's heart.

So you were on de field to know exactly what was said?  Do you wish death on everyone that offends you?..Wait, did Materazzi offend you?  My point is wishing death on someone is cruel and pure ignorant.  Anyway, I apologise for disagreeing with you before I get treated like materazzi..i sorry boss...u will not hear a peep out of me regarding ur comment..once again..i sorry boss.
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2006, 09:02:42 PM
nah look de spanish flag here  ;D

(http://img.infoplease.com/images/home/conflag4.gif)
Post by: lickslikefire on July 09, 2006, 09:05:57 PM

dred...take some time and cool off and think before yuh post, because yuh making yuhself look even more dotish, if that's possible...
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2006, 09:10:02 PM

Well, I have real good information that de italian was insulting zidane evil mother-in-law and wicked step sister
zidane was so happy somebody agree wit him that he was simply bowing in reverence and appreciation...but he get ah lil too close
Title: Zidane's red card was just, butt broke rules?
Post by: takenoprisoners on July 09, 2006, 09:10:25 PM
Zidane's red card was just, butt broke rules?
Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:00 AM IST
By Mitch Phillips

BERLIN (Reuters) - The most memorable moment of the World Cup final, Zinedine Zidane's butt to the chest of Italian defender Marco Materazzi, was rightly punished by a red card even though the officials did not appear to see it happen.

The incident in the second period of extra time brought a premature end to the great midfielder's career and he can have no complaints about the justice of it.

He might, however, have cause to question its legality as it is against FIFA rules for TV pictures to be used as a basis for a refereeing decision.

Zidane had been an ever-increasing influence in the match, in which he opened the scoring with a penalty in the seventh minute and almost won with a wonderful header in the 104th only to be denied by Gianluigi Buffon.

Then, after a French attack broke down early in the second period Zidane trotted back from the Italian area exchanging comments with Materazzi.

Something the Italian said obviously hit a raw nerve as Zidane stopped, walked back towards him and landed a fierce butt on his chest.

VOCIFEROUS BUFFON

Materazzi collapsed, Zidane continued on his way and the game continued. It had not gone completely unseen, however as several Italian players, with Buffon the most vociferous, approached the nearest linesman demanding action.

Replays were shown on the hundreds of televisions in the media seats, raising an audible gasp.

As the mayhem continued on the pitch Argentine referee Horacio Elizondo consulted his linesmen and, so it was later discovered, the fourth and fifth officials, who have access to TV but may have seen the incident live.

The result was the red card and Zidane, who was also sent off for stamping during the 1998 World Cup, walked away from football for ever.

Both coaches confirmed that the decision had been taken by the off-pitch officials, both Spaniards, but each coach took a different view on what that meant.

"It was not Materazzi who got the attention of the referee, it was the fourth and fifth officials who pointed out what happened," said Italy's Marcello Lippi.

"The French spectators didn't know what happened, they'll know when they read the newspapers tomorrow."

France's Raymond Domenech said: "The referee saw nothing, the assistant referee saw nothing and then we have the fourth official saying to the referee what happened.

"We have video in football and then the fourth official tips off the referee."

France striker Thierry Henry said: "If they want to use video evidence it's not for one incident, they should use it for everybody and they should look at Materazzi too."

Nobody in the French camp was saying what passed between the two players but David Trezeguet said: "Zidane can leave here with his head held high. There is more than football in life."

Materazzi refused to talk about the incident
Post by: SweetParkie on July 09, 2006, 09:11:44 PM

Are you for real?

L O S E R!!!
Post by: Trini Madness on July 09, 2006, 09:12:03 PM

haha ent? they love that flag.
Post by: berris on July 09, 2006, 09:13:03 PM

Gally Cummings or Augi?

Just becuz Real Madness name de 'asshole' award after you yuh have tuh win it fust ...steeeeuuuppppssss .....PRESENTING AUGI THE FIRST WINNER OF THE AUGI AWARD.....
congratulations breds !
Post by: real madness on July 09, 2006, 09:13:11 PM

:rotfl:  an yuh say i does drink bitters pardner... :rotfl: :rotfl:  buh I eh blame yuh for giving de man de jackass award ...yuh eh lie  :rotfl: :rotfl:

I eh bitter..i read his post and i thought mih eyesight was failing mih so i came back 15 mins later and read it again hoping mih eyes were deceiving mih..i was hoping he deleted the post but he didnt so i had to respond.
I against racism like a lot of others, i have exeprienced it myself but i will not wish death on anyone...i does even try to do the right thing and pray for those type of ppl.  if it is possible to prove materazzi made a racist comment i all for severe punishment but definitely not de death penalty... ;D
Title: Re: Zidane's red card was just, butt broke rules?
Post by: Trini Madness on July 09, 2006, 09:15:29 PM
By Mitch Phillips

BERLIN (Reuters) - The most memorable moment of the World Cup final, Zinedine Zidane's butt to the chest of Italian defender Marco Materazzi, was rightly punished by a red card even though the officials did not appear to see it happen.

The incident in the second period of extra time brought a premature end to the great midfielder's career and he can have no complaints about the justice of it.

He might, however, have cause to question its legality as it is against FIFA rules for TV pictures to be used as a basis for a refereeing decision.

Zidane had been an ever-increasing influence in the match, in which he opened the scoring with a penalty in the seventh minute and almost won with a wonderful header in the 104th only to be denied by Gianluigi Buffon.

Then, after a French attack broke down early in the second period Zidane trotted back from the Italian area exchanging comments with Materazzi.

Something the Italian said obviously hit a raw nerve as Zidane stopped, walked back towards him and landed a fierce butt on his chest.

VOCIFEROUS BUFFON

Materazzi collapsed, Zidane continued on his way and the game continued. It had not gone completely unseen, however as several Italian players, with Buffon the most vociferous, approached the nearest linesman demanding action.

Replays were shown on the hundreds of televisions in the media seats, raising an audible gasp.

As the mayhem continued on the pitch Argentine referee Horacio Elizondo consulted his linesmen and, so it was later discovered, the fourth and fifth officials, who have access to TV but may have seen the incident live.

The result was the red card and Zidane, who was also sent off for stamping during the 1998 World Cup, walked away from football for ever.

Both coaches confirmed that the decision had been taken by the off-pitch officials, both Spaniards, but each coach took a different view on what that meant.

"It was not Materazzi who got the attention of the referee, it was the fourth and fifth officials who pointed out what happened," said Italy's Marcello Lippi.

"The French spectators didn't know what happened, they'll know when they read the newspapers tomorrow."

France's Raymond Domenech said: "The referee saw nothing, the assistant referee saw nothing and then we have the fourth official saying to the referee what happened.

France striker Thierry Henry said: "If they want to use video evidence it's not for one incident, they should use it for everybody and they should look at Materazzi too."

Nobody in the French camp was saying what passed between the two players but David Trezeguet said: "Zidane can leave here with his head held high. There is more than football in life."

allyuh see that? that just tells yuh something. everyone should be looking at materazzi not zidane.
Post by: MickeyRat on July 09, 2006, 09:17:08 PM
"Bott ah de Year"
Post by: SweetParkie on July 09, 2006, 09:17:28 PM
Please..how can Zidane be balme for their lost? His arsehole behaviour surely affected their morale, but the game was already in the 2nd half of the extra time! Being sent off in the 109/110th minute?. The coach took off Ribery, Henry and brought on David knowing it might go to penalties...
Post by: DeTrini on July 09, 2006, 09:20:00 PM
Zidane is a fool, racist comment or not, he let the italian win the match and rob him of his crowning moment. Certainly there is a time that a man has to fight, but when 1 billion people are looking and the Pride and Dream of a nation is on the tip of your boot,  I am sure  we can all find a better way to use our head.  Remember they lost by one Penalty. Zidane is a tug, no matter what, I would not want him to be an represent me, He can't keep his cool.  He now joins the ranks of the other  ear biting , knee shattering  fools  who have graced our TV sets over the years.. What a Shame.
Title: It is being reported that Materazzi told Zidane
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2006, 09:24:35 PM
It is being reported that Materazzi told Zidane

"figlio di putana" which translated means "Son of a bitch" and then when Zidane was walking away he said something about his mother sexually and racially.

This is what they are saying on Big Soccer and that French TV is reporting this.

Remember Zidane speaks Italian to.

http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=380538
Title: Re: It is being reported that Materazzi told Zidane
Post by: Organic on July 09, 2006, 09:32:52 PM
is zidane muslim?? cause if he is.lol dem dont take kidnly to ppl dissing thier female relatives especially if its sexual..lol i eh saying head butting was right....but dred he woulda work for somehting from me during the game...one kick in he mudda c**t..oops i did it also..lol
Post by: AB.Trini on July 09, 2006, 09:33:54 PM
Funny  it doh matter if yuh talk that talk in German, French Italian Trini or Jamacian, man this get heated for them kinda talks. hahahahhahahaha

Post by: RasIred on July 09, 2006, 09:33:58 PM
Zidane is a fool, racist comment or not, he let the italian win the match and rob him of his crowning moment. Certainly there is a time that a man has to fight, but when 1 billion people are looking and the Pride and Dream of a nation is on the tip of your boot,  I am sure  we can all find a better way to use our head.  Remember they lost by one Penalty. Zidane is a tug, no matter what, I would not want him to be an represent me, He can't keep his cool.  He now joins the ranks of the other  ear biting , knee shattering  fools  who have graced our TV sets over the years.. What a Shame.
I disappointed too......but ZIDANE IS STILL A BOSS.....HEAD BUTT OR NO HEAD BUTT
Horse Zidane is human being ..........everybody have they breaking point . Zizou reached his own while on the pitch. Look I eh saying he was right , but damn the man has shown the world over and over that he is a legned and this 1minute of madness should not tarnish his image... Shit yes he should have known better but he decided that Materazzi had to pay for his comment....sometimes in the heat of the moment you do not always make the RIGHTdecision.....I know he probably rgret the head butt as soon as he say Materazzi on the ground , but was too late then.

ZIZOU.........U still great for me...........I HAVE U BACK 120% ...... ;D
Post by: RasIred on July 09, 2006, 09:40:27 PM
Eh Zizou ..I eh care whatever you do good by me  ;D.

One lil millisecond of madness and people coming out to lynch the WIZARD  >:(.........Hull allyuh tail.......Zizou I understand you boy.........as a veteran he say shit this lil flicking Matefazzi come wid this shit......BLAP take butt

Yeah all yuh go say he let down the team , but shit that ........the man HUMAN

Zizou just gimme the call and I go send out the memo ...... ;D

Good game for Italia they sink they penalties, France still had they chance even after the Bald WIZARD get send off , so you cah blame Zizou......I knowmen go say mentally he throw them off but they could a pull through .......then victory woulda be SWEETER  ;D
Post by: skatetackle on July 09, 2006, 09:48:38 PM
DeTrini, you off base man. TREZEGUET! miss the penality, ZZ ain't cause France to lose he just acted on instinct and payed the penality.. no pun intented.  :D
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 09, 2006, 10:24:36 PM

50 years is a long time to live in fear of one's reflection.

true

I sorry to see him bow out so
dem Sat afternoon in 96/97 watching Juventus play was the best
the man give we so much
easy Zizou
If I ever have a son I go name him Enzo
Post by: Savannah boy on July 09, 2006, 10:35:12 PM
Didn't think Zidane understood that much Italian

Yuh have over 1000 posts and yuh dunno where Zidane played in his career?  Anyway, I would not say Zidane was a goat.  Is not like Italy score when he left in overtime.
Post by: Babalawo on July 09, 2006, 10:45:35 PM
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 09, 2006, 11:06:21 PM

LOL, bad to de bone yes.
Post by: Warrior till death on July 09, 2006, 11:11:52 PM
Zidane reacted as Materazzi called him a "Hag stanco " which is Tired Hag in english....thiis was reported from a journalist on skysports after an interview with zizou
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 09, 2006, 11:16:01 PM

if it was ah english player got headbutt you woulda care what the englishman say? or if it was we trini get headbutt like that allyuh would be complaining? no. plain and simple - that is a red card if i ever see one

I'm not saying no, but it was the timing of the card!!!
Post by: ndookie on July 09, 2006, 11:18:48 PM

haahhaahhaha , man , where you get that from ... now , i hadda get tha game..
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 09, 2006, 11:18:57 PM
yall are just assuming. none of yall were there and actually know what happened. as a young person i have just lost respect for zidane. ppl always talking about how youths violent etc and this is the example that we gettin from the older heads. so allyuh stop tryin 2 defend d man and realise that he was WRONG. what ever happened to walking away. i'm sure if it was someone like rooney or cristiano ronaldo who did this it woulda be a next story. this is the worst i c 4 d whole world cup. SHAME ON YOU ZIDANE.
\
NAh I have to say if it was a racist remark what would you have done?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 09, 2006, 11:26:33 PM

You know what, if Materazzi said something racist, Zidane right and he should have drop some studs in he ass too.  I think it is time they stop this sh*t, I've seen it all the time and people say it go racism go die down, but you know what it hasn't and it will not.  It is time people kick some ass to make it happen.  I doh know what Materazzi say but if it was a racist statement (and I could see Materazzi saying something like that) den he lucky to only leave with what he get. :devil:
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 11:38:40 PM

So you were on de field to know exactly what was said? 
Yes yuh dumb c**t. It was caught on Brazilian television. I saw the transcript on television. Check bigsoccer.com

Damn fool Trinis. Allyuh always talking before finding out de facts.

In any case, I hope everyting Matarazzi said about Zidane's female relatives happens to his relatives tenfold. f**king c**thole need a scissors in he skull.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 09, 2006, 11:42:10 PM

Is funny we have to hear bout refreeing again...now dem breaking the rules too.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 09, 2006, 11:42:12 PM
all of you better watch out before I give you a Zizou :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

but as I have posted, if it was a racist statement, de man should have gotten more.
Post by: Augi on July 09, 2006, 11:53:28 PM
It was also on Brazilian TV as well. I applaud Zidane in everything he did.

And no he didn't cause France to lose. Penalty kicks are a crappy way to decide games. They should go into sudden death instead and keep playing 15 minute periods. Every period you are allowed 3-5 subs, or something like that. Hell let the bench play out the match, anything except those crappy penaltys.
Post by: davidephraim on July 10, 2006, 12:02:19 AM
I am ashamed of all of allyuh. Everybody talkin bout de cuss but what about that butt?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Boy that was a hell of a butt. I play it back bout 5 times and get real jones. Zidane and that butt will go down in history for me. My WC experience was complete after dat.  Maturazzi or wha ever he name is go possibly not tell ah guy dem same words no more because yes he did get de player carded but he also get a good butt in his  ass.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  What a butt!! somebody got to get it on youtube....
Post by: Savannah boy on July 10, 2006, 12:08:13 AM
It already on youtube.  Ray Apollon award for sure.  Ah real coconut.  Zizou go wake up with whiplash. I fine he get foul plenty today and de ref did not blow de whistle.  Dis probably built up some of the frustration.  But anybody who say Italy was de better team before penalties have to be ah big time piper.
Post by: fishs on July 10, 2006, 12:39:38 AM
I am ashamed of all of allyuh. Everybody talkin bout de cuss but what about that butt?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Boy that was a hell of a butt. I play it back bout 5 times and get real jones. Zidane and that butt will go down in history for me. My WC experience was complete after dat.  Maturazzi or wha ever he name is go possibly not tell ah guy dem same words no more because yes he did get de player carded but he also get a good butt in his  ass.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  What a butt!! somebody got to get it on youtube....

Ah doh agree, if yuh going tuh give ah maqn ah coconut yuh have tuh aim fuh he nose an take him out.   :devil: :devil:
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 01:25:58 AM
is zidane muslim?? cause if he is.lol dem dont take kidnly to ppl dissing thier female relatives especially if its sexual..lol i eh saying head butting was right....but dred he woulda work for somehting from me during the game...one kick in he mudda c**t..oops i did it also..lol
well he is from a muslim country... Algeria... He should have f**kin behaved himself... I dont care... I have been told all kinda shit in football camps in Trinidad... fellahz say meh mudda is a white piece ah shit... buh I jes keep my head down and if I wanna take out my frustration Ill do it by scoring... thats how yuh turn yuh enemies into your admiries...

what he did was stupid and it will bring shame to his mother much more so than any racial slur would have...
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 01:32:28 AM

Gally Cummings or Augi?

nice... I say we prepare for a tie.
Post by: saga pinto on July 10, 2006, 03:05:50 AM

One lil millisecond of madness and people coming out to lynch the WIZARD  >:(.........Hull allyuh tail.......Zizou I understand you boy.........as a veteran he say shit this lil flicking Matefazzi come wid this shit......BLAP take butt

Good game for Italia they sink they penalties, France still had they chance even after the Bald WIZARD get send off , so you cah blame Zizou......I knowmen go say mentally he throw them off but they could a pull through .......then victory woulda be SWEETER  ;D

I love Zidane just as much as you do,but all this melodrama could've turned into something way more serious,like he could ah stop the man heart or breathing, possibly killing him,then all ah we who love zidane so much would've been singing ah different tune.

That actually is assault in my book subject to criminal charges,it's amazing how people could embrace those actions as heroics without even considering the end result..............     
Post by: Pompey on July 10, 2006, 03:13:33 AM

I love Zidane just as much as you do,but all this melodrama could've turned into something way more serious,like he could ah stop the man heart or breathing, possibly killing him,then all ah we who love zidane so much would've been singing ah different tune.

That actually is assault in my book subject to criminal charges,it's amazing how people could embrace those actions as heroics without even considering the end result..............     

it was assault, but lets face it, it was a bit of a "I don;t want to hurt myself by butting him in the face" type head butt wasn't it. Looked a bit ;D girly to me
Post by: Midknight on July 10, 2006, 03:33:56 AM

it was assault, but lets face it, it was a bit of a "I don;t want to hurt myself by butting him in the face" type head butt wasn't it. Looked a bit ;D girly to me

Yes, a real man woulda stamp materazzi in de balls after he throw him down right?  ::)
Post by: Pompey on July 10, 2006, 04:02:30 AM

Yes, a real man woulda stamp materazzi in de balls after he throw him down right?  ::)

a real man would have walked up to him, told him he would see him after the game, then scored the winning goal.
Post by: Midknight on July 10, 2006, 04:07:37 AM

a real man would have walked up to him, told him he would see him after the game, then scored the winning goal.

glad to see how objective you can be when England and Rooney aren't in the picture  ;)
Post by: Midknight on July 10, 2006, 04:18:27 AM
By Mitch Phillips

VOCIFEROUS BUFFON

allyuh see that? that just tells yuh something. everyone should be looking at materazzi not zidane.

Typical trini. Ah man keep quiet, something have to be wrong with him.

For all you know the man refuse to take the phone call because he been receiving death threats...or worse yet, he gasping for breath all now

I won't get involve in the 'tarnished reputation' stupidness but I like how it have 2 sets of rules for 2 sets of people. If was a Italian, a Portuguese or an Argentine do that headbutt, nobody woulda even stop to ask what the other man say...let alone condone it...

For those who does be debating whether stuff like this merit a red (or a yellow and a stern warning), they should realise that a red card function is not only to punish a man for doing shit on the field, is also to protect him from reprisals later on and keep the game decent. The best example was Bouhlarouz taking pieces out of Ronaldo leg in the Portugal-Holland match. That man stay on and look how that game degenerate. What you think woulda happen if Zidane had headbutt that man so and then the game continue normal normal? I bet you somebody leg woulda break or a brawl woulda start before the match done...
Post by: sjahrain on July 10, 2006, 04:31:31 AM
I have not read all the posts on this issue but this my take on this

Fifa should investigate this because if it is that the Italian made some racists comment to Z Z,then its all hypocritical on Fifa and my reasoning is simple,during the knockout stages of this world cup,the captains of teams playing were all reading out a message about ridding the beautiful game of racism and for the world champions to be flying under the radar on this sucks

Should it prove that it was a case of some racial insult,I will blame Z Z for caving in the man chest,yes he got a red card but I am sure the next time that such an idea came to that Italian`s mind he would remember with agony the pain he felt the previous time such ugliness came past his lips

I still think what he did was wrong but I am not Z Z,I was not in the soup,just looking on

So its up to Fifa to clear this up
Post by: Jah Gol on July 10, 2006, 05:49:16 AM
I never had a problem with France I just never supported their style of football. After hearing what Henry said he just confirmed once and for all that I cannot support that country. That head butt was plain and simple the ugliest incedent of the entire World Cup. What could the Italian players have said or done to warrant that kind of retaliation from Zidane. That was madness. Like song says " A big man like you ......?"
Title: Can Zidane be chrage?
Post by: Coach on July 10, 2006, 06:12:52 AM
Can Materazzi press for an assult charge against Zidane, this incident was a away from the ball and no matter what someone say, you can't take matters into your own hands. Let say Materrazi had gotten seriously hurt, then, would Zidane be charge, I see it happened in other sports, where players got hurt intentionally away from the play and charges were laid by the player who got hurt.
Title: Re: Can Zidane be chrage?
Post by: RasIred on July 10, 2006, 06:18:21 AM
Well if he press charges against Zizou........he would have to say what he told the wizard and I have a feeling that aint gonna happen.

Zizou youhave been the most influential player for another world cup........I don`t think he should be judged on the head butt alone.........apart from that he is still a genius  ;D
Post by: ann3boys on July 10, 2006, 06:20:42 AM
I am really shocked to see some comments supporting that DISGRACEFUL display by Zidane. SHAME!!! SHAME!!! SHAME!!!  that butt could have actually killed - cracked the sternum or some ribs or something...
I don't care what was said- there's NO excuse!!!
Title: Re: Can Zidane be chrage?
Post by: fishs on July 10, 2006, 06:35:16 AM
If de eyetie an Zizou expose what transpired, it might have plenty more head butt an gunshot to come.
Post by: lickslikefire on July 10, 2006, 06:48:09 AM
I still not understanding how men still trying to defend Zizou's actions....there's nothing Materazzi could have said that would make it all better.....players of all calibres hear dat shit and I am positive Zidane has heard those kinda insults before....especially playing in Italy and Spain for so long....the man simply had a moment of madness....he's human.....doh try to justify de man actions though......
Post by: pecan on July 10, 2006, 06:50:33 AM

Yes yuh dumb c**t. It was caught on Brazilian television. I saw the transcript on television. Check bigsoccer.com

In any case, I hope everyting Matarazzi said about Zidane's female relatives happens to his relatives tenfold. f**king c**thole need a scissors in he skull.

Augi ...

Where all dis venom and hostility coming from?  Wishing death on somebody suggest yuh have some tings to deal with boy.

But den again, yuh might have a point ..the next time somebody call me a racist name or I even tink dey being racist, ah go head butt dem.
Post by: ttcom on July 10, 2006, 06:59:22 AM
I was not happy with the coconut that italian got but people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. If everyone on this forum tell me that in your entire adult life never had fit of rage when:

someone cut you off on the car.
bump into you without saying sorry
blow cigerette smoke in you face in a party
call you a bitch
for jamaican( suck you mother)
call you a batty man(fag, homo, gay etc)

Several of the above statement I had paid my respect to the person say it  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: RasIred on July 10, 2006, 07:02:45 AM
I was not happy with the coconut that italian got but people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. If everyone on this forum tell me that in your entire adult life never had fit of rage when:

call you a bitch

Several of the above statement I had paid my respect to the person say it  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

TTCOM........I hear u, I NOT  condoning the actions but we could understand............Right now I am feeling Tres Bleus...damn that was tough way to go
Title: Kids in the future and Zidane
Post by: Coach on July 10, 2006, 07:08:06 AM
Down the road, if millions of kids who saw the game and if they did someting stupid like Zidane, would they be saying, hey Zidane, my idol did it so can I.
Title: Re: Kids in the future and Zidane
Post by: Dutty on July 10, 2006, 07:12:15 AM
Nah...children know right and wrong

Even if parents were cheering on zidane at home,,,they would know "ok pops like dat move,,,but coach wont"

I waitin to see who go collect de first zizou for kanaval 2007
Post by: lickslikefire on July 10, 2006, 07:12:58 AM

call you a bitch

breds i know men kicksing and ting...but it's not like he on a street corner by himself and someone tell him about he mudda and he butt de man.....

he was on a football field, with 10 odder men....they are part of a team......

de man is a professional, the captain of france, and moreso he in de flicking world cup final representing his Nation...there's many ways yuh could get back ah de man odder than butting him on television in front of millions of people and letting his nation down.....but as i said before, it had to be a moment of madness, cause that's not the Zidane we all know and love
Title: Re: Kids in the future and Zidane
Post by: NC on July 10, 2006, 07:13:04 AM
I often wonder how a brain that espouse such ideas is wired???  So where are these kids parents and or guardians that should be their idols.  I have a kid that play and is not at all concerned about what he saw yesterday, because according to most he is being raised well.
Post by: g on July 10, 2006, 07:18:40 AM
Nah...children know right and wrong

Even if parents were cheering on zidane at home,,,they would know "ok pops like dat move,,,but coach wont"

I waitin to see who go collect de first zizou for kanaval 2007

Actually it may be a good lesson, He butt d man and got sent off, his team lost the match, and unfortunately his career ended on a very sour note.....

Do the crime and you do the time.
Post by: Sam on July 10, 2006, 07:26:03 AM
Zidane is still de boss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: kingman on July 10, 2006, 07:28:39 AM
Zidane is still de boss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ent.....Everybody make mistakes. I am not saying what he did is correct but men do worst than that, Zidane just get catch.

Post by: Jah Gol on July 10, 2006, 07:48:37 AM
What kind of world do we live in ? OK Zidane didn't commit genocide or any thing but plain and simple he was wrong. Men talking about understanding ? Steups
Post by: Weh-it-is on July 10, 2006, 07:50:45 AM
What can someone say to you as ah man during the game....that will make you want to hit him ah hard boute is the question?

1. Ah sleep with yuh wife last night!  ;D

2. A racial comment...ummm like... You're a white nigga with the rest of niggas on your team! :challenge:

3. You're sexy Zadine can I have you after the game you're hot... like them fags! :o  

4. That's why you're losing all yuh hair nigga!  :rotfl:

Soilders what ever tha man say I know he chest well hurting he...oh gosh when i see that boute... it was like I geh thee boute yes! Zadiane well boy yuh went out with ah bang! oh Lord! Like Zadine is ah ram goat!
Post by: Dutty on July 10, 2006, 08:03:10 AM
Lemmih see how much materazzi allyuh could lick dong in 30 seconds  :devil:

move the mouse and click
http://www.corriere.it/Primo_Piano/Sport/2006/07_Luglio/10/pop_zidane.shtml
Post by: ttcom on July 10, 2006, 08:05:09 AM
Professional. I recall in japan the member of congress throwing a shoe at the opposition. In the US Arnold(Governor of Cali) called someone girlie man. In the senate one senator told another that he'll beat him like he stole something(my words not the senator's)
Post by: Dutty on July 10, 2006, 08:08:43 AM
Professional. I recall in japan the member of congress throwing a shoe at the opposition. In the US Arnold(Governor of Cali) called someone girlie man. In the senate one senator told another that he'll beat him like he stole something(my words not the senator's)

Dick Cheney tell ah u.s. senator to "go f**k himself"..ON de senate floor

de man shoulda give him ah zizou
Post by: pecan on July 10, 2006, 08:16:29 AM
Lemmih see how much materazzi allyuh could lick dong in 30 seconds  :devil:

move the mouse and click
http://www.corriere.it/Primo_Piano/Sport/2006/07_Luglio/10/pop_zidane.shtml

this new video game is very addictive  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: real madness on July 10, 2006, 08:17:48 AM

Well it is good that you are more informed than the rest of us regarding what was said.  I never said Materazzi was right to say whatever he said.  However, you have some serious issues..wishing death on someone and saying he need a scissors in his skull proves u have some serious issues..anyway...to make matters simple and to avoid you trying to shoot me because I disgaree with you( I realize violence is your solution to problems)...I am a dumb c**t...and you are a highly intelligent human being.  

Have a great day.
Post by: pecan on July 10, 2006, 08:27:44 AM

Well it is good that you are more informed than the rest of us regarding what was said.  I never said Materazzi was right to say whatever he said.  However, you have some serious issues..wishing death on someone and saying he need a scissors in his skull proves u have some serious issues..anyway...to make matters simple and to avoid you trying to shoot me because I disgaree with you( I realize violence is your solution to problems)...I am a dumb c**t...and you are a highly intelligent human being.  

Have a great day.

I echo what Real Madness say so das is make me a dumb **** too.  But i doh understand why yuh have to insult the c**ts.  If dey get upset they might retaliate.  Jus make sure dey doh have no teeth.
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2006, 08:40:38 AM
has any footballer got a red card for trashtalking an opponent?

if a footballer is abusing the ref or linesman, then he up for a card. but what about an opposing player?

Post by: RasIred on July 10, 2006, 08:48:54 AM
fawkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk all leave ZIZOU let him be nah..........

Eh Dutty I like the video game , I find it is making me feel alot better.......I am aiming for the face instead of the belly :)

Yeah the man lost his cool, I am sure he regretted the move as sson as it happened, howver I love the hovering over Materazzi at the end " U said something " ? Yeah well Italia had the last laugh the won...........but Zizou just gimme a message he say all yuh chill allyuh piggy before u get a butt

ZIzou GREAT fOOTBALLER...........eXCELLENT hEAD BUTTER   :beermug:

I am feeling better now ....not as TRes Bleus
Post by: Pompey on July 10, 2006, 08:54:58 AM
we will of course never know how hard that head butt actually was. you can tell from watching them that they go down rather easily (No pun intended ;D)
Post by: Trinimassive on July 10, 2006, 08:58:20 AM
What can someone say to you as ah man during the game....that will make you want to hit him ah hard boute is the question?

2. A racial comment...ummm like... You're a white nigga with the rest of niggas on your team! :challenge:

3. You're sexy Zadine can I have you after the game you're hot... like them fags! :o  

Soilders what ever tha man say I know he chest well hurting he...oh gosh when i see that boute... it was like I geh thee boute yes! Zadiane well boy yuh went out with ah bang! oh Lord! Like Zadine is ah ram goat!

I find yuh use that n word so freely is like it turn yuh on sayin it.

Ah say that because when ah see yuh use it twice in one line ah say to meself while ah reading yuh post.....ah bet he go use it again eh...and yuh didn't disappoint.  Ah doh know ah just feel yuh get hard while typing ???

Like yuh want butt in yuh chest :chilling:
Post by: jub02 on July 10, 2006, 09:34:28 AM

glad to see how objective you can be when England and Rooney aren't in the picture  ;)

but when it was involving england and rooney ..u all say it rooneys fault and told us to stop blaming ronaldo..now the situation changed and it aint england..most u yuh say it aint zidane fault.. ::)
Post by: Filho on July 10, 2006, 09:50:27 AM
Well I don't want to spread rumors but this is what is circulating in France. I have 2 good friends in Paris who both sent me identical transcripts from different Parisian blogs...but I myself cannot check the source. So take this with that disclaimer.....it's a pretty nasty accusation against Materazzi. For the record, i still think Zidane should not have reacted the way he did. I'd rather he told his players to stop and then they all joined hands and walked off the field in unity..that would have been a powerful statement, but pretty difficult giving Zidane would be jeapordizing the careers of some of his teamates (FIFA would hate such an act)..plus at the heat of the moment...well let's just say hindsight is 20/20

"after another unsuccessful french play, the italians get the ball and start a counter attack. Trezeguet, Gattuso, Zidane, Materazzi and Buffon are the only players still in the italian side.
During that play Materazzi was holding Zidane with his both arms and pulling his shirt.
As the players walk back to the french side, Zidane shows his jersey to Materazzi and tells him,"

Zidane: "Ordinanza de tirare il costume!!"  (stop pulling my shirt)

Materazzi:"Taciti, enculo, hai solamente cio che merite..." (Shut up asshole, you only get what you deserve)

Zidane: "si e cio..." (yeah... right...) and he starts running,

Materazzi adds: "meritate tutti ciò, voi gli enculato di musulmani, sporchi terroristici" (you all deserve this, you muslim bastards, you f**king terrorist)

and then what we all saw on tv.

Post by: jub02 on July 10, 2006, 09:54:54 AM
does zidane speak italian?

if thats true..its real harsh racism. but he stil shudnt head butt. winning would be a better way of revenge..i noe dat and i 15..suppose it wuz jus the heat of the moment
Post by: kicker on July 10, 2006, 09:55:59 AM
does zidane speak italian?

yes he played in Italy (Juve) for a number of years
Post by: Observer on July 10, 2006, 09:58:53 AM
British Papers said The man told him W"Why don't you play for your own country, is Because your mother is a Terrorist."
Post by: davidephraim on July 10, 2006, 10:00:44 AM

Ah doh agree, if yuh going tuh give ah maqn ah coconut yuh have tuh aim fuh he nose an take him out.   :devil: :devil:

Dat woulda been a more productive butt but it would not have been as funny. It definetly win de funny butt award, is in de man chest he get dah coconut :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: real madness on July 10, 2006, 10:01:11 AM
Zidane's agent says he was provoked by Materazzi

July 10, 2006
BERLIN (Ticker) - French captain Zinedine Zidane remains mum, but his agent attempted to justify his actions.

Playing in his final game in the World Cup final on Sunday, Zidane was given a red-card ejection after headbutting Italy's Marco Materazzi in the chest in the 110th minute. Italy went on to win the game, 5-3, on penalty kicks.

Zidane's agent Alain Migliaccio claimed on Monday that Materazzi insulted the French-born son of Algerian immigrants.

"He was very sad for everything that happened but this is life," Migliaccio told Radio Five Live. "He is a human being not a god. I know Zizou (Zidane) well and even though he hasn't told me exactly what Materazzi said, I know that he was provoked.
"He will not reveal what Materazzi said to him but he will in one or two days' time explain why he had such a reaction. When he is calmer he will speak."

In an odd twist, FIFA awarded the 34-year-old Zidane the Golden Ball as the player of the tournament following a vote taken before his red card ejection.

Since he has retired, Zidane will escape suspension unless he returns to the game as a coach - something Migliaccio believes is unlikely.

"He will rest for six months and he has a lot of commitments with his sponsorship contracts, for example with Danone, and his children foundation," Migliaccio said. "I think if he decides to coach he will only coach youngsters."

Zidane received sympathy from teammates and opponents, however some of the Azzurri players insisted the butt that led to his sending off was not out of character for a man who has had 14 career dismissals.

"I saw the incident afterwards on TV. It was a ugly reaction but in football sometimes these things can happen," Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon said. "However, this is not the first time Zidane has done something like this."

Zidane was the hero of the 1998 World Cup-winning team, but in that tournament he served a two-match ban for stomping on a Saudi Arabian opponent.

"Zidane is a champion and it's very sad that his career has ended in this way. But what he's done was unforgivable," said Italy's Francesco Totti.

Materazzi, who like Zidane has also had a checkered disciplinary record, refused to comment on the incident.

France's players believed Zidane must have been prompted by Materazzi.

"I don't know what happened, but it must have been something bad for Zizou to react in that way," France defender William Gallas said. "It's a pity but sometimes when you are playing it's very difficult to contain your emotions when someone is trying to provoke you like that. I am very sad for him (Zidane) as this was his last World Cup. We all wanted to win this for him so he could go out on a high."

Gallas' central defensive partner Lilian Thuram refused to blame Zidane for France's loss and also felt that he was responding to provocation.

"You would rather play 11 against 11 but we cannot say it (the sending-off) turned the match," said Thuram, another veteran of the 1998 team. "Something obviously happened but I don't know what exactly as I had to go to the anti-doping control after the match."

Zidane announced in April he would retire after the World Cup. He appeared to be writing a glorious final chapter to his career when he scored on a penalty shot in the seventh minute. But Italy tied the game in the 19th minute on a header by Materazzi.

P.S. Zidane's agent should be fired because he does not know what was said to Zidane but Augi knows.
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2006, 10:04:04 AM

Blessings

more speculation: back one game, saha took a senseless yellow and was unavailable for the final as a result. if saha was available, he may have been on instead of trezeguet. trezeguet didn't have as much time on the pitch as saha - it's possible that saha might have made the penalty shot. perhaps, saha deserves some blame too?
Post by: berris on July 10, 2006, 10:08:41 AM

Ah say that because when ah see yuh use it twice in one line ah say to meself while ah reading yuh post.....ah bet he go use it again eh...and yuh didn't disappoint.  Ah doh know ah just feel yuh get hard while typing ???

yuh eh lie the 'n' word roll off he tongue like part ah he everyday language!!
Post by: Warrior till death on July 10, 2006, 10:09:12 AM

Is funny we have to hear bout refreeing again...now dem breaking the rules too.

The TV PICTURES WERE NOT SEEN BY THE REFEREE!
THEY SHOW IT ON TV YES BUT NOT ON THE ACTUAL SCREENS IN THE STADIUM
ANYTIME U SEE A REPLAY OF SOMETHING THEY DO NOT SHOW IT IN THE STADIUM
OTHER THAN THAT.,..EVERYTHING U SEE ON TV THEY SHOW ON THE SCREEN

THEY TEND NOT TO SHOW THE CONTROVERSIAL MOMENTS
Post by: Dutty on July 10, 2006, 10:16:52 AM
Under al de ole talk zizou was wrong

but materazzi is ah classic cheap shot man....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKGcUr0S-FU

he mus be really tell de man someting real stink
Post by: E-man on July 10, 2006, 10:23:13 AM
Well I don't want to spread rumors but this is what is circulating in France. I have 2 good friends in Paris who both sent me identical transcripts from different Parisian blogs...but I myself cannot check the source. So take this with that disclaimer.....it's a pretty nasty accusation against Materazzi. For the record, i still think Zidane should not have reacted the way he did. I'd rather he told his players to stop and then they all joined hands and walked off the field in unity..that would have been a powerful statement, but pretty difficult giving Zidane would be jeapordizing the careers of some of his teamates (FIFA would hate such an act)..plus at the heat of the moment...well let's just say hindsight is 20/20

"after another unsuccessful french play, the italians get the ball and start a counter attack. Trezeguet, Gattuso, Zidane, Materazzi and Buffon are the only players still in the italian side.
During that play Materazzi was holding Zidane with his both arms and pulling his shirt.
As the players walk back to the french side, Zidane shows his jersey to Materazzi and tells him,"

Materazzi:"Taciti, enculo, hai solamente cio che merite..." (Shut up asshole, you only get what you deserve)

Materazzi adds: "meritate tutti ciò, voi gli enculato di musulmani, sporchi terroristici" (you all deserve this, you muslim bastards, you f**king terrorist)

This jives pretty much with what Ato heard from the adidas rep.
Title: Zidane apparently called "dirty terrorist
Post by: real madness on July 10, 2006, 10:53:38 AM
World-Zidane apparently called "dirty terrorist"

PARIS, July 10 (Reuters) - France captain Zinedine Zidane was apparently called a "dirty terrorist" by Marco Materazzi before he head-butted the Italy defender in Sunday's World Cup final, the anti-racism group SOS Racism said on Monday.

"According to several very well informed sources from the world of football, it would seem that the Italian player Marco Materazzi called Zinedine Zidane a 'dirty terrorist'," SOS Racism said in a statement.

Zidane, the son of Algerian immigrants, was shown a red card after the incident and Italy went on to win on penalties after the match was tied 1-1 following extra time.

The Paris-based group called for an inquiry and said world soccer's governing body FIFA had recently toughened sanctions against racism.

"It's for this reason that SOS Racism asks in a determined fashion for FIFA to shed light on this altercation and that sanctions laid out in the official rules be applied should this be the case," SOS Racism said.

Neither Zidane nor Materazzi have spoken in public about what had passed between them before the incident. French television reported that Zidane would talk about the incident "in the coming days".

Post by: kandi_tt on July 10, 2006, 11:02:18 AM

(http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h249/kandi_tt/image001.gif)

damn rite...shoulda aim lower.....

looked to me like Zidane walked away from the initial goading and then Materazzi continued the incitement causing Zidane to then react....
Post by: real madness on July 10, 2006, 11:11:42 AM
Hopefully FIFA can prove materazzi is guilty for whatever he said.  It might be hard to do because I doubt he and Zidane will have the same story.
However, if it is actually possible to do so, then I think Materazzi should receive at least a 2 year ban from all football (not death or ah scissors in his head).
Post by: Midknight on July 10, 2006, 11:15:36 AM

but when it was involving england and rooney ..u all say it rooneys fault and told us to stop blaming ronaldo..now the situation changed and it aint england..most u yuh say it aint zidane fault.. ::)

Hoss doh call my name with any of them lemmings...
Post by: kandi_tt on July 10, 2006, 11:20:55 AM
most of the clips i found only shows seconds before the actual headbutt...this one show a good angle from sometime before......

http://youtube.com/watch?v=urqDJ7KrB7M&search=zidane%20-%20france%20vs%20italy

Post by: davidephraim on July 10, 2006, 11:26:04 AM

(http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h249/kandi_tt/image001.gif)

damn rite...shoulda aim lower.....

looked to me like Zidane walked away from the initial goading and then Materazzi continued the incitement causing Zidane to then react....

Dread, Zidane butt de man in he solar plex :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: 

Kandi that graphic real mad... very kewl...
Post by: DeTrini on July 10, 2006, 11:29:04 AM

I was waiting to see how long it would take for someone to grace us with a little fraudian slip.  According to Sigmund Freud it results from the operation of unconscious wishes or conflicts and can reveal unconscious processes in normal healthy individuals.    What do you have to say for yourself?
Post by: real madness on July 10, 2006, 11:35:46 AM
World-Materazzi denies calling Zidane "dirty terrorist"  

ROME, July 10 (Reuters) - Italy defender Marco Materazzi denied on Monday reports that he had called Zinedine Zidane a "dirty terrorist" seconds before the France captain head-butted him in Sunday's World Cup final.

"It is absolutely not true, I did not call him a terrorist. I'm ignorant. I don't even know what the word means," the Italian news agency Ansa quoted Materazzi as saying after the Italian team returned to Rome.

I guess Zidane was hearing voices..just like he heard a voice that told him to come out of retirement.

It would be nice for Materazzi to admit his wrongdoing but he might not want to face the consequences of such a move.
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2006, 12:16:01 PM
big up for matarazzi. :thumbsup: 

after the 7th minute penalty and goal he give for a light foul on malouda, he real turn it around with better defense, a goal (over vieria no less) and a crucial PSO kick. filling in for nesta he had an excellent tournament. that kind of mental fortitude is what makes a good footballer - plenty small footballer lorse dey head over less.

feel bad for zidane, but it look more calculated than people saying. he turned and went back. AND he decided to do this with only a few minutes left in the game and italy comfortable to play out the period.

old nursery rhyme about sticks and stones - that is what man have to learn. even Augi with he scissors-talk is just squeezing out tata. is when the line is crossed from talk to action that problem doz start.
Post by: RasIred on July 10, 2006, 12:19:09 PM
World-Materazzi denies calling Zidane "dirty terrorist"  

ROME, July 10 (Reuters) - Italy defender Marco Materazzi denied on Monday reports that he had called Zinedine Zidane a "dirty terrorist" seconds before the France captain head-butted him in Sunday's World Cup final.

"It is absolutely not true, I did not call him a terrorist. I'm ignorant. I don't even know what the word means," the Italian news agency Ansa quoted Materazzi as saying after the Italian team returned to Rome.

I guess Zidane was hearing voices..just like he heard a voice that told him to come out of retirement.

It would be nice for Materazzi to admit his wrongdoing but he might not want to face the consequences of such a move.

Who on this board expect Matefazzi to say exactly what he told Zidane.. ???..........U have to be real innocent and naive to believe that woudl happen. It is gonna be a he said kinda batle.............Zizou I still puzzled by the butt, but to expect Materzzi to make a statement incriminating himslef is not likely. i CAH DEFEND THE BUTT, but if a racial statement was made it should be punished how they go find out is another story....Hopefully one a dem big fluffy microcphones picked up something.........We need CSI Berlin to run through the footage ........ ;D
Post by: Weh-it-is on July 10, 2006, 12:19:22 PM

Let me straiten you out real quick paps! Where i grew up we talk to each other like that and it’s no big deal with the so called n word because I know who I am! I was only trying to figure out what could have made Zadiane that upset to have him do such! Now back to you and the head butt... only if you're ready to lay in the hospital yuh could try yuh hand/head!  :chilling:
Post by: pecan on July 10, 2006, 12:40:20 PM

Here is a comment made my Italian friend when I showed him this transcript:

Begin Quote
It’s amazing what jealousy can conjure up. Those evil Italians! I remember my own soccer days when we were referred to as ‘greasy wops’, but at least we waited till after the game to retaliate. In all sports the goal is to taunt your opponent into making a mistake. Whatever Materazzi said, be it right or wrong it apparently worked in getting Zidane booted out of the game. Maybe he (Zidane) could do the right thing and take those transcripts (if they exist) and report them to FIFA.

Forza Azzurri!
End Quote

This nonsense goes on all the time ... it worked in Italy's favour this time.

Post by: FF on July 10, 2006, 12:46:51 PM
Man does stamp yuh foot.... kick yuh shins... spit in yuh face... grab yuh balls... Pablo Alfaro even stick he finger up ah man bamcee arready..... just to rile players and get dem to retaliate or throw dem off they game....

As a civilized human being and a professional sportsman it is your duty to rise above these incidents and conduct yuhself accordingly! However when tensions are high and the blood is hot... many times ppl do things they regret later!!

However I rather a man cuss me and meh family than spit in meh face or grab meh balls yes!!..... Is only words!!
Post by: superoli on July 10, 2006, 12:53:39 PM
and it not for other men not to sink to that low level to insult people ?
Post by: Weh-it-is on July 10, 2006, 12:54:44 PM
Man does stamp yuh foot.... kick yuh shins... spit in yuh face... grab yuh balls... Pablo Alfaro even stick he finger up ah man bamcee arready..... just to rile players and get dem to retaliate or throw dem off they game....

As a civilized human being and a professional sportsman it is your duty to rise above these incidents and conduct yuhself accordingly! However when tensions are high and the blood is hot... many times ppl do things they regret later!!

However I rather a man cuss me and meh family than spit in meh face or grab meh balls yes!!..... Is only words!!

Ent! Like they foget word are winds... touch meh nah and geh mash up! :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on July 10, 2006, 01:23:36 PM
Watch de replay carefully Materazzi pulled on his left nipple as they were fighting for de ball. Then he said something to him
Post by: pecan on July 10, 2006, 03:29:53 PM
Released at Mon Jul 10, 2:28 PM
By Jerome Pugmire
BERLIN (AP) - Was it something he said?

With France and Italy tied in extra time of Sunday's World Cup final, Zinedine Zidane head-butted Marco Materazzi in the chest and was ejected. France went on to lose on penalty kicks.

The day after, still no one knew what the Italian defender might have said to the French star.

"The Italians did everything they could do to provoke Zidane," France defender William Gallas said.

Seconds before, Materazzi had grabbed a handful of Zidane's jersey just as a French attack on goal passed harmlessly by. The two exchanged words as they walked back up the field, well behind the play. Then, without warning, Zidane spun around, lowered his head and rammed Materazzi, knocking him to the ground.

The Paris-based anti-racism advocacy group SOS-Racism issued a statement Monday quoting "several very well informed sources from the world of football" as saying Materazzi called Zidane a "dirty terrorist." It demanded that FIFA, soccer's world governing body, investigate and take any appropriate action.

FIFA, which reviews all red cards at the World Cup, would not comment on the specifics.

"This is a disciplinary matter now," FIFA spokesman Markus Siegler said. "I can't give any statements now."

Materazzi, meanwhile, was quoted as denying the terrorist comment

"It is absolutely not true, I didn't call him a terrorist, I don't know anything about that," the Italian news agency ANSA quoted Materazzi as saying when he arrived with his team at an Italian military airfield.

"What happened is what all the world saw live on TV," the Italian player said, referring to the head-butting.

Zidane's agent, Alain Migliaccio, was quoted by the BBC as saying the France captain told him the Italian "said something very serious to him, but he wouldn't tell me what."

Whatever it was, it was enough to infuriate Zidane.

"Zizou is someone who reacts to things," said Aime Jacquet, Zidane's coach at the 1998 World Cup. "Unfortunately he could not control himself. It's terrible to see him leave this way."

Even with the ejection, Zidane still won the Golden Ball as the World Cup's best player.

Zidane, who came out of retirement to help France qualify for the World Cup and said he would quit soccer completely after the tournament, got 2,012 points in the vote by journalists covering the tournament. The three-time player of the year beat Fabio Cannavaro (1,977) and Andrea Pirlo (715), both of Italy.

Zidane's red card was anything but unusual. He was sent off 14 times in his career at the club and international level.

At the 1998 World Cup, he stomped on a Saudi Arabian opponent. Sitting out a two-match ban, he came back to score two goals against Brazil in the final.

Five years ago with Juventus, he head-butted an opponent in a Champions League match against Hamburger SV after being tackled from behind.

The reaction to Sunday's outburst was mixed in France. President Jacques Chirac called Zidane "a genius of world football," and former Sports Minister Marie-George Buffet said Zidane's aggressive act was unforgivable for its effect on children watching the game.

"This morning, Zinedine, what do we tell our children, and all those for whom you were the living role model for all times?" French sports daily L'Equipe wrote.

Zidane, whose parents emigrated to France from Algeria, became a proud symbol of a multicultural France and is adored in Algeria.

In the mountains where Zidane's parents grew up, Atmanne Chelouah carried off a life-size cardboard cutout of the player at "Cafe Zizou" after the red card.

"We are very disappointed," Chelouah said. "He should have kept his cool."

But lashing out is nothing new to Zidane, who grew up playing on concrete in an impoverished immigrant neighbourhood of Marseille, where fouls and insults are met with instant retribution.

Perhaps he could never shake off that you-or-me mentality.

"You can take the man out of the rough neighbourhood, but you can't take the rough neighbourhood out of the man," striker Thierry Henry said Sunday.

At this year's World Cup, where Zidane sat out one match for getting two yellow cards in the first round, he sent a message to his teammates. In a rare television interview, he said, "We die together."

They were ready to go as far as they could for him, yet he punished them.

"He'll carry that weight for a long time," France coach Raymond Domenech said of Zidane's latest red card.

Zidane nearly won the match with a late header after giving France an early lead with a penalty, taking two steps forward to slowly chip the ball into the air while goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon dived to his right.

It was his third goal of the tournament and sixth in the last 10 major tournament matches. He scored three at the 2004 European Championship.

Zidane's teammates had all wanted to help him win one last trophy. Failing that, they refused to kick him when he was down.

"For all that Zidane has done for the national team, you have to say 'Thank you and well done,"' said striker David Trezeguet, the only player to miss his penalty kick in the shootout.
Post by: Blue on July 10, 2006, 03:39:01 PM
The BBC hired an Italian lip reader to study the video.

They are reporting that Materazzi said, "I wish a terrible death to you and your family" (I guess that rolls off the tongue in Italian), which was what caused Zidane to trip, as he had found out earlier in the day that his mom is seriously ill.

Everything he had said up to that point was pretty mundane (he actually told Zidane to calm down in the first instance).

Title: Help Zidane
Post by: PortValeChris on July 10, 2006, 05:13:22 PM
Just drag Zidane towards the advancing french players then click on your mouse thing.   Not sure if this should be in the joke section.  Apologies if it's already been posted.

http://tonaz.altervista.org/zidane.html
Title: Re: Help Zidane
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2006, 05:16:19 PM
Why not do one for Rooney and for Crouch; that ought to  cheer the blokes up  .I find this a bit daff.
Post by: LICKS4SO on July 10, 2006, 05:17:35 PM
nice...
Post by: PortValeChris on July 10, 2006, 05:19:51 PM
Why not do one for Rooney and for Crouch; that ought to  cheer the blokes up  .I find this a bit daff.

If I could find one for Rooney and for Crouch then I would definitely post it,
especially for you. ;)
Post by: Organic on July 10, 2006, 05:42:47 PM
words are win my ass wars been started for less.let some one say somin bout my queen nah. i from de old school...say somin bout my mudda get ready for a fight. words are wind is what ppl who use to get bobolise use to say ..lol
Post by: Midknight on July 10, 2006, 06:11:31 PM
Well according to one source, this was the conversation:  ;D

Materazzi: Dooooood... I bet you can't knock me over with that bald head of yours...

Zidane: Oh sure I could...

Materazzi: Yeah right... there's no way

Zidane: Well not right now, I mean this is a tied World Cup final...

Materazzi: See... I knew you were chicken. Come on, I'll bet you..

Zidane: You'll bet me what...

Materazzi: I dunno... maybe like a million euros...

Zidane: I already have plenty of money, come on, get real this is a World Cup final... there is no way I'd do something stupid like that to get me thrown out of a game... we are almost at penalties...

(pause)

Materazzi: Oh I got it... a night with Barthez's wife...

<thwack>

Big up to lotharis1 on bigsoccer...
Title: What On Earth Did Materazzi Say?
Post by: Feliziano on July 10, 2006, 06:28:16 PM
What On Earth Did Materazzi Say?

Raymond Domenech might have made himself look silly with the claim that Marco Materazzi "put on a show" after Zinedine Zidane headbutted him, but there's no doubt that the Italian must have said something. But what? What would wind up a man who's won everything in football?

Here are F365's (very brief - we're pressed for time) thoughts...

* "Bruno Cheyrou is the new you. And he's better."

* "Baldy."

* "You play like you're English."

* "See all these names tattooed on my arms - this is your mother, this is your sister, and this is your wife."

* "You might have been a Real Madrid legend, but you never played at the School of Science with Scott Gemmill."

And here are yours:

"Cor, you sweat more than your wife does!" - Bradley Kirrage, Dartford.

"How do quadriplegics open doors?" - Luke Hartley

"In my spare time, I'm a journalist for Marca." - Muhammad Odeh

"Your daughter's having Wayne Rooney's lovechild." - Andy Wood, Beckenham

"I've got hair growth formula on my shirt..." - Leo Bennett

"I don't care what FIFA says, Jermaine Jenas is better than you." - Matthew Slocombe

"I bet you a fiver you can't headbutt me in the chest." - Leo Stevens

"I bet I can do a better Rhino impression than you." - Stev McConnell

"Hey Zizou, Boumsoung is warming up...I think that's your lot for tonight." -Charlie, Saints fan in London

"My name's worth more than yours in Scrabble." - Keith Price

"Show us your butt." - Mark C

"Are you Jenas in disguise?" - Owen Haskins

"You wouldn't have cut it at Everton, either." - Mervyn Hickey

"We in Italy still think your wife wears the trousers..." - Andy Woodward

Post by: Bitter on July 10, 2006, 07:17:21 PM
http://photos.empics.com/g78/p27/386325.htm
Post by: Organic on July 10, 2006, 11:10:00 PM
THIS IS DE ARTICLE...WITH CLAIMS OF RACIAL SLURS AND MUDDA TALK...HEAD BUTT IN HE MUDDA c**t FOR REAL !!!
http://www.guardian.co.uk/france/story/0,,1817473,00.html?gusrc=rss
Post by: triniairman on July 10, 2006, 11:35:34 PM
i heard from the commentators during the finals that Zidane might be heading to the MLS, the New York Red Bulls to be exact.
Title: Lip-reader reveals what riled Zidane
Post by: lunz on July 11, 2006, 01:20:08 AM
here is the story..
http://football.guardian.co.uk/worldcup2006/story/0,,1817551,00.html?gusrc=rss#article_continue

Title: Re: Lip-reader reveals what riled Zidane
Post by: PantherX on July 11, 2006, 01:30:12 AM
I don't care what he was called (or not), he was representing his country in the World Cup final and probably cost his team the game.

These are the moments that reflect one's true character and Zidane clearly showed his.
Title: Re: Lip-reader reveals what riled Zidane
Post by: Toppa on July 11, 2006, 02:54:07 AM
I don't care what he was called (or not), he was representing his country in the World Cup final and probably cost his team the game.

These are the moments that reflect one's true character and Zidane clearly showed his.

Steups Why does that have to be a display of his true character? From many reports the Italian said something racist or something about his family...I read somewhere he talked about Zidane's mother, who was in the hospital during the match. I'm not excsing the head-butt, but given Materzzari's extremely norotious reputation, I'd rather give Zidane the benefit of the doubt.
Title: Anyone hear about a Zidane news conference today?
Post by: marcus on July 12, 2006, 10:59:10 AM
Anyone hear about a Zidane news conference today?
Title: Re: Anyone hear about a Zidane news conference today?
Post by: sinned on July 12, 2006, 11:00:12 AM
2 pm TT time I think (That is what I read : 8:00pm Paris time)
Post by: rocwell on July 12, 2006, 11:01:45 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=373767&cc=5901
Post by: Dutty on July 12, 2006, 11:02:42 AM
I think this is the commercial that preceded it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=js0vOgjBfD8&search=%20A%20NEW%20WAY%20TO%20SOLVE%20PROBLEMS
Post by: real madness on July 12, 2006, 11:11:32 AM
Report: FIFA president says Zidane could be stripped of best player award

July 12, 2006

MILAN, Italy (AP) -- FIFA president Sepp Blatter says Zinedine Zidane could be stripped of his Golden Ball award for the best player at the World Cup due to violent conduct.

"The winner of the award is not decided by FIFA, but by an international commission of journalists," Blatter said in Wednesday's La Repubblica. "That said, FIFA's executive committee has the right, and the duty, to intervene when faced with behavior contrary to the ethic of the sport."

Zidane head-butted Italian defender Marco Materazzi in the chest after the two exchanged words on the field in extra time of Sunday's World Cup final. He was sent off and Italy won its fourth title on penalties.

FIFA's disciplinary committee opened an inquiry Tuesday into Zidane's behavior. Such inquiries are routine when a player receives a red card in an international match. World soccer's governing body has declined to say whether Materazzi's conduct also is being investigated.

Zidane was awarded the Golden Ball on Monday, ahead of Italy's Fabio Cannavaro and Andrea Pirlo. The ballot box was open until after the end of the final, making it unclear how many votes were cast before or after the incident.

Blatter said he was "very hurt" by Zidane's violent reaction and that "to see him act like that made me feel bad, for him and for fair play."

Legal challenge to World Cup result by French lawyer

AFP
July 12, 2006

PARIS (AFP) - A French lawyer plans to mount a legal challenge to the World Cup final result to establish whether the expulsion of Zinedine Zidane was within the rules.

Zidane, the French captain and playmaker, was sent off in the second period of extra-time of Sunday night's match in Berlin for a blatant headbutt on an Italian player.

But the off-ball incident was missed by the refree and his linesmen and it was only after consulation with the fourth match official that the decision to red card Zidane was taken.

Italy went on to win the World Cup shortly afterwards 5-3 on penalties.

Lawyer Mehana Mouhou, however, said he intended to ask a Paris court to question the fourth official to ascertain whether he had illegally used videotape to check what had happened.

"If a judge determines that illegal methods were used, the proper consequences must be drawn," he said.

"That means that Zidane should never have been sent off and it would be impossible to predict what the match result would have been and it should be replayed."

Mouhou said he was acting on behalf of "several football clubs."

Post by: jub02 on July 12, 2006, 11:36:21 AM
Report: FIFA president says Zidane could be stripped of best player award

July 12, 2006

MILAN, Italy (AP) -- FIFA president Sepp Blatter says Zinedine Zidane could be stripped of his Golden Ball award for the best player at the World Cup due to violent conduct.

"The winner of the award is not decided by FIFA, but by an international commission of journalists," Blatter said in Wednesday's La Repubblica. "That said, FIFA's executive committee has the right, and the duty, to intervene when faced with behavior contrary to the ethic of the sport."

Zidane head-butted Italian defender Marco Materazzi in the chest after the two exchanged words on the field in extra time of Sunday's World Cup final. He was sent off and Italy won its fourth title on penalties.

FIFA's disciplinary committee opened an inquiry Tuesday into Zidane's behavior. Such inquiries are routine when a player receives a red card in an international match. World soccer's governing body has declined to say whether Materazzi's conduct also is being investigated.

Zidane was awarded the Golden Ball on Monday, ahead of Italy's Fabio Cannavaro and Andrea Pirlo. The ballot box was open until after the end of the final, making it unclear how many votes were cast before or after the incident.

Blatter said he was "very hurt" by Zidane's violent reaction and that "to see him act like that made me feel bad, for him and for fair play."

Legal challenge to World Cup result by French lawyer

AFP
July 12, 2006

PARIS (AFP) - A French lawyer plans to mount a legal challenge to the World Cup final result to establish whether the expulsion of Zinedine Zidane was within the rules.

Zidane, the French captain and playmaker, was sent off in the second period of extra-time of Sunday night's match in Berlin for a blatant headbutt on an Italian player.

But the off-ball incident was missed by the refree and his linesmen and it was only after consulation with the fourth match official that the decision to red card Zidane was taken.

Italy went on to win the World Cup shortly afterwards 5-3 on penalties.

Lawyer Mehana Mouhou, however, said he intended to ask a Paris court to question the fourth official to ascertain whether he had illegally used videotape to check what had happened.

"If a judge determines that illegal methods were used, the proper consequences must be drawn," he said.

"That means that Zidane should never have been sent off and it would be impossible to predict what the match result would have been and it should be replayed."

Mouhou said he was acting on behalf of "several football clubs."

LOL! It should be replayed ..that would go down a storm in italy. :rotfl: I wouldnt be suprised if an actual war broke out

Post by: MEP on July 12, 2006, 11:39:07 AM
Some of you'll just don't get it do you...there are limits....are you competing fairly when you have to resort to taunts to instill a reaction from your opponent? Zidane might have been on the world stage but like most of us he is still human and is thereby subjected to frailty of human nature. Who amongst us have not have something said to us and have reacted negatively to it.
Post by: sinned on July 12, 2006, 11:57:40 AM
the press conference/interview is about to start in Paris. Does anyone have access to read/watch this interview what is going on live?
Post by: sinned on July 12, 2006, 12:03:49 PM
Paris - French football icon Zinedine Zidane on Wednesday said he was sorry for head-butting an Italian opponent during the World Cup final against Italy.

But he said in a French television interview that defender Marco Materazzi had brought on the gesture by insulting him with some "very hard words".

"I want to ask for forgiveness from all the children who watched that. There was no excuse for it," he said.

"I want to be open and honest about it because it was seen by two or three billion people watching on television and millions and millions of children were watching."

Asked what exactly Materazzi had said, Zidane would only say that it was "very personal and concerned his mother and his sister".

Zidane was sent-off for the head-butt to Materazzi's chest in the second period of extra-time in Sunday's final in Berlin.

Italy went on to win the World Cup on penalties after the match had finished tied at 1-1 after extra-time.

While Italians celebrated their fourth World Cup crown, France and the rest of the world wondered just what had made the 34-year-old skipper and footballing genius act in the violent way he did in what was the final game of his career.

Source: Independent Online
Post by: jub02 on July 12, 2006, 12:40:25 PM
so he aint gonna tell us wat he said for real?  ::)
Post by: sinned on July 12, 2006, 12:44:56 PM
Zidane doesnt look like he wants to say but he denied Materazzi called him a terrorist:

http://ca.today.reuters.com/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=sportsNews&storyID=2006-07-12T182844Z_01_L12760960_RTRIDST_0_SPORTS-SOCCER-WORLD-ZIDANE-COL.XML&archived=False
Post by: RasIred on July 12, 2006, 12:45:09 PM
Zidane is pure class..........I did not expect him to say what Matzzi told him. I always expected him to APOLOGIZE to all his fans for his behaviour. Real man does take blame when they wrong..........not point fingers.

ZIZOU I have faith bredda......thanks 4 the ups and downs  :beermug:
Post by: Blue on July 12, 2006, 12:45:28 PM

Were u expecting him to come on national tv, in front of millions, and say, "his exact words were, 'your mother is a f****g wh@re' "?  :rotfl:

Could u imagine Beckham coming on d BBC and saying that?  

Post by: Dutty on July 12, 2006, 12:48:53 PM
righto..story done...chapter is closed

no racism..he stink talk de man family,, 3 times..zizou was wrong.....but shoulda kick him in he throat

zizou is still the king
Post by: jub02 on July 12, 2006, 12:50:43 PM

Were u expecting him to come on national tv, in front of millions, and say, "his exact words were, 'your mother is a f****g wh@re' "?  :rotfl:

yes
Title: Oh what a great thing Zidane did :-)
Post by: trinfax on July 12, 2006, 01:30:32 PM
Zizou at the time may not have realised what a great thing he was doing for the great sport of football by his actions.

Let's face it...his sending off had very little impact on the game. France still dominated in the 10 mins that was left, italy still couldnt score and Trezeguet would have still taken that penalty as a striker. So the result most likely would have been the same. We can make that assumption.

However, instead of talking about 'brilliant' football or tough defence,  we are forced to talk about something I don't think FIFA wants to talk about.. RACISM IN FOOTBALL. Which one is carrying more news, Italy's victory or the head-butt? And the reason for the that is there had to be extreme provocation to prompt his actions.

So FIFA with all his show with players standing on front of the "Say no to Racism" banner before games must admit that it is a major problem and no longer give it just lip service and finally deal with the incidents that are happening in Spain and Italy as we can see that they also manifest in players.

So, thank you Zizou. I think the Master used your greatness in another format. Not to pleasure us with beauty on the field as you had done for many many years, but to place on the front burner the ugly monster that is racism
Title: Re: Oh what a great thing Zidane did :-)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 12, 2006, 01:35:21 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2006, 01:38:30 PM
It seems like the Zidane head butt had nothing to do with race.......All the race talk was based on speculation, that is slowly being laid to rest.

Zidane came out and said that Matterazzi insulted his mother and his sister, but did not mention race.

I haven't heard FIFA make any statements about fighting racism in response to Zizou's head butt.

I don't think that this incident has changed the landscape of football with respect to race....at least, so far it doesn't seem that way.
Post by: ttgapers on July 12, 2006, 01:39:36 PM
better article here (in more detail): http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=373767&cc=5739

Zinedine Zidane has publicly apologised for his sending-off in the World Cup final, but claimed he did not regret his actions against Marco Materazzi.

Zidane, who was captaining his country in his final match before retirement, stated that Materazzi insulted his mother and sister in the seconds leading up to the incident, which saw the France midfielder thrust his head into the Italy defender's chest.

'I reacted badly and I would like to apologise for it,' Zidane told Canal Plus. 'I would like to apologise because a lot of children were watching the match. I do apologise but I don't regret my behaviour because regretting it would mean he was right to say what he said.

'There was no tension with Materazzi before or during the match.

'He just put his hand onto my shirt and I told him to stop. I told him that if he wanted it I could give it to him at the end of the match.

'Then he said very harsh words to me and repeated them several times. I left but then I went back towards him and things went very fast. The words he said concerned my mother and sister.

'I heard them once, then twice, and the third time I couldn't control myself. I am a man and some words are harder to hear than actions. I would have rather been knocked down than hear that.'

'Afterwards I explained to the referee that I had been provoked, but my behaviour is not forgivable,' Zidane said.

Without Zidane, who had earlier given France the lead with a penalty, extra-time finished with the score locked at 1-1, and Zidane's team lost the penalty shoot-out 5-3 to Italy.

Asked whether he plans to attend FIFA hearings into the incident, Zidane said that he would seek to defend himself.

'I will go and I will tell everything I have just said,' he added. 'The reaction is always punished but if there is no provocation there is no reaction. The guilty person is the one who provokes.

'If I reacted that way, it is because something bad happened. Do you really believe that 10 minutes before the end of my career I would be able to make such a bad gesture? The provocation was very serious.'

The incident was a sad way to end what has been a glittering career for Zidane, but he insisted he would not change his mind about retiring.

'This is a decision I have made and I will not go back on it,' he said. 'This is definite. I will not play again.'

Materazzi himself, who scored the equaliser for Italy on Sunday, made a statement of his own while Zidane was speaking on French television.

'I didn't mention anything about religion, politics or racism,' he said. 'I didn't insult his mother. I lost my mother when I was 15 years old and still get emotional when I talk about it.

'Naturally, I didn't know that his mother was in hospital but I wish her all the best.

'Zidane is my hero and I have always admired him a lot.'
Post by: ribbit on July 12, 2006, 01:43:21 PM
i see this as two different things - racism on the pitch and racism in the stands.

honestly, i thought marc zoro had a chance to confront the latter issue by walking off the field in the game against inter. he was clearly upset. he would have caught heat for his actions but this more directly addresses the issue of racism in the stands.

imho, the latter issue is not addressed by the zizou incident.
Post by: Blue on July 12, 2006, 01:51:34 PM
It seems like the Zidane head butt had nothing to do with race.......All the race talk was based on speculation, that is slowly being laid to rest.

Zidane came out and said that Matterazzi insulted his mother and his sister, but did not mention race.

I haven't heard FIFA make any statements about fighting racism in response to Zizou's head butt.

I don't think that this incident has changed the landscape of football with respect to race....at least, so far it doesn't seem that way.

According to Reuters, Zidane actually denied that the word terrorist was used (dunno if that's true - anyone see the press conference?).

But trinifax point is still valid - regardless of what was said, it has gotten people thinking about racism.
Post by: cocoapanyol on July 12, 2006, 01:56:46 PM
I think that when something happens on the field between (or amoung) players to warrant such a drastic response that all players involved should be sent off, not just the one that reacted.  If the penalty was that strict, then players would think twice before goarded another one so badly as to see what happened in the final game.

As much as I was backing Italy, it tarnished the win in my mind.
Post by: Blue on July 12, 2006, 02:04:17 PM

yes

Well, if Becks was to do that, they would only be able to show it after the watershed, when lil kids like u have gone to bed  ;D
Post by: Socapro on July 12, 2006, 02:22:44 PM
Zizou at the time may not have realised what a great thing he was doing for the great sport of football by his actions.

Let's face it...his sending off had very little impact on the game. France still dominated in the 10 mins that was left, italy still couldnt score and Trezeguet would have still taken that penalty as a striker. So the result most likely would have been the same. We can make that assumption.

However, instead of talking about 'brilliant' football or tough defence,  we are forced to talk about something I don't think FIFA wants to talk about.. RACISM IN FOOTBALL. Which one is carrying more news, Italy's victory or the head-butt? And the reason for the that is there had to be extreme provocation to prompt his actions.

So FIFA with all his show with players standing on front of the "Say no to Racism" banner before games must admit that it is a major problem and no longer give it just lip service and finally deal with the incidents that are happening in Spain and Italy as we can see that they also manifest in players.

So, thank you Zizou. I think the Master used your greatness in another format. Not to pleasure us with beauty on the field as you had done for many many years, but to place on the front burner the ugly monster that is racism

I also put it to you that Crouch's pulling of Sancho's hair was an act of racism!! WE need to put this motion to FIFA so that discrimination against rasta/dreadlocks footballers can be combed out of the game!  I am sure BSC will agree with me! ;D
Post by: daryn on July 12, 2006, 02:26:02 PM
PARIS (AP) -- French soccer star Zinedine Zidane apologized for brutally head-butting an Italian opponent in the World Cup final, saying Wednesday that he had been taunted with harsh insults about his mother and sister.

Zidane repeatedly apologized to fans -- especially to children -- in his highly awaited first comments since Sunday's match. But he said he didn't regret the abrupt, violent outburst that marked the end of his 18-year professional career.

"I tell myself that if things happened this way, it's because somewhere up there it was decided that way," the 34-year-old midfielder said in an interview on TF1 television. "And I don't regret anything that happened, I accept it."

Zidane, soft-spoken and relaxed in two television interviews late Wednesday, did not explain exactly what Italian defender Marco Materazzi said that enraged him, but he said it was about his family.

"I would rather have taken a punch in the jaw than have heard that," he told the Canal Plus channel, stressing that Materazzi's language was "very harsh," and that he repeated the insults several times.

Zidane and Materazzi exchanged words after Italy broke up a French attack in extra-time. Seconds later, Zidane lowered his head and rammed Materazzi in the chest, knocking him to the ground.

Zidane was sent off, reducing France to 10 men. Italy went on to win in a penalty shootout with Zidane -- an excellent penalty-taker -- in the locker room.

The act of aggression marred the end of the World Cup, with many warning it would tarnish Zidane's formidable legacy. Zidane retired after the tournament.

The France captain stressed that he felt no regret "because that would mean (Materazzi) was right to say all that."

"There was a serious provocation," said Zidane, who said he had never had tensions with Materazzi before.

"My act is not forgivable," Zidane said. "But they must also punish the true guilty party, and the guilty party is the one who provokes."

For days, sports fans around the world have been riveted by the question: What could Materazzi have said to set Zidane off in the last few moments of his career? Media from Brazil to Britain hired lip readers to try to figure it out, then came up with different answers.

Materazzi has acknowledged he insulted Zidane, without giving specifics. At nearly the same moment Zidane was on TV, excerpts from an interview that Materazzi gave were posted on an Italian paper's Web site. He denied insulting Zidane's mother.

"I didn't say anything to him about racism, religion or politics," Materazzi told the Gazzetta dello Sport. "I didn't talk about his mother either. I lost my mother when I was 15 and even now I still get emotional talking about her."

Zidane "has always been my hero," Materazzi said. "I admire him a lot."

Despite the head-butt, Zidane was awarded the Golden Ball award for best player at the World Cup -- though FIFA president Sepp Blatter has suggested Zidane could be stripped of the honor.

"The winner of the award is not decided by FIFA, but by an international commission of journalists," Blatter said in Italian newspaper La Repubblica. "That said, FIFA's executive committee has the right, and the duty, to intervene when faced with behavior contrary to the ethics of the sport."

FIFA's disciplinary committee opened an inquiry Tuesday into Zidane's behavior. His red card was not unusual: Zidane was sent off 14 times in his career at the club and international level.

Despite his temper, Zidane is better known for his sportsmanship and dancer-like style with the ball. He is a national hero for the French and a symbol of a young, multicultural France. Born to Algerian immigrants, Zidane grew up playing on concrete in an impoverished neighborhood of Marseille.

President Jacques Chirac has had only kind words for Zidane since the match -- reassuring him that France still "admires and loves him." Many in France have already pardoned Zidane. A poll published Tuesday in Le Parisien newspaper showed that 61 percent of the 802 people questioned forgave Zidane.

Zidane said many people have asked him not to retire, but he said he would not change his mind.

"I won't go back on it, at least I hope so ... (the decision) it's definitive," he said.

Zidane told TF1 that he was "going to rest, and then move on to something else."
Post by: Grande on July 12, 2006, 02:57:01 PM
no one blames Zidane and he has his legacy

what does Materazzi have? More years to play, but forever will be known as the player who taunted a legend and put an ugly face to de game

Post by: Blue on July 12, 2006, 03:08:37 PM
no one blames Zidane and he has his legacy

what does Materazzi have? More years to play, but forever will be known as the player who taunted a legend and put an ugly face to de game

in italy he'll still b a hero 4ever. i sure he eh diggin no horrors...
Post by: duscam on July 12, 2006, 03:11:03 PM
he in 20 years all they go remeber is
1. italy win the world cup
2..they go remember zidzne as a good player
fullstop
Post by: FF on July 12, 2006, 03:16:30 PM
fullstop

NO WAY!!

What allyuh remember bout the 94 final?? eh?

exactly!!

When man think back bout the 2006 final... de enduring memory will be how Zidane butt de man!!
Post by: duscam on July 12, 2006, 03:27:46 PM
94 final brazil win...
what else happen
Post by: FF on July 12, 2006, 03:37:01 PM
94 final brazil win...
what else happen

doh play stupid nah man....  :P

either dat or yuh didnt watch it
Post by: Grande on July 12, 2006, 03:40:05 PM
fullstop

NO WAY!!

exactly!!

When man think back bout the 2006 final... de enduring memory will be how Zidane butt de man!!

no but duscam point prove right dey

of course Baggio miss de penalty

but even 10 years from then de main thing ppl remember is Brazil win

this Zidane thing won't last long, i feel ppl in 20 years ppl will remember Italy win it and that's all...ESPECIALLY since nobody blaming Zidane
Post by: Filho on July 12, 2006, 04:16:58 PM
fullstop

NO WAY!!

exactly!!

this Zidane thing won't last long, i feel ppl in 20 years ppl will remember Italy win it and that's all...ESPECIALLY since nobody blaming Zidane

Doh get tie up. A lot of people do blame Zidane. In a poll done in France, more than 30% of people say they will not forgive him...and that is France. Read other soccer websites and plenty people have written off Zidane as an a$$. But he is too huge a star...he will be forgiven by the general public, and moreso, by the media.

By the way...why is it people always blame Baggio for missing 'De penalty' in 1994. Italy missed 3 penalties...Baresi and massarro missed as well. Never before has one man been blamed so much for other people's mistakes

Post by: kicker on July 12, 2006, 04:21:35 PM
fullstop

NO WAY!!

exactly!!

Doh get tie up. A lot of people do blame Zidane. In a poll done in France, more than 30% of people say they will not forgive him...and that is France. Read other soccer websites and plenty people have written off Zidane as an a$$. But he is too huge a star...he will be forgiven by the general public, and moreso, by the media.

By the way...why is it people always blame Baggio for missing 'De penalty' in 1994. Italy missed 3 penalties...Baresi and massarro missed as well. Never before has one man been blamed so much for other people's mistakes

1. short term memory (Baggio kicked the last one)

2. Baggio was the biggest star on the team.....Iz always more fun to talk about the misfortunes of the biggest stars........When Becks kick away a pound of dirt and missed his PK in Euro 2004 against Portugal in the shootout, he wasn't the only one....but he was probably the only talked about over and over and over.............and over.....
Post by: Marcos on July 12, 2006, 05:28:40 PM
How about I remember Evani and Albertini were the only two Italians that scored their penalty.
Marcio Santos miss for Brazil I think.
Why d ass a defender was kickin dat penalty?
Post by: real madness on July 12, 2006, 05:44:34 PM
Agent suggests Materazzi-ZZ reunion

Marco Materazzi's agent believes a reunion between the Italy defender and Zinedine Zidane would make a 'nice moment'.

France legend Zidane was dismissed for headbutting Materazzi during the World Cup final defeat to the Azzurri, although it is unclear what the defender said to provoke the attack.

Claudio Vigorelli, Materazzi's agent, told BBC Radio Five Live: 'At the end of the day it is a thing between Zidane and Materazzi. My personal wish would be that one day they could meet again and maybe make a nice moment.' 

This agent real jokey..reunion??..he probably doh like materazzi and setting him up for ah next blowout...ppl should leave zidane alone..apparently it wasn't a racist comment so case closed.  Leave zidane with the award for best player and everybody move on.
Post by: doublet750 on July 12, 2006, 06:11:36 PM
do REMBER that zidane mother is from Algeria an african nation
Post by: kicker on July 13, 2006, 09:55:25 AM
How about I remember Evani and Albertini were the only two Italians that scored their penalty.
Marcio Santos miss for Brazil I think.
Why d ass a defender was kickin dat penalty?

yeah good memory.....just yesterday I was recallin' the pk line-up

Baresi- miss
Marcio Santos- Miss
Albertini-score
Romario-score
Evani-score
Branco-score
Massaro-miss
Dunga-score
Baggio-miss......

so come to think of it, to answer your question- Romario was the only attacking player to kick for Brazil....though I heard that Bebeto was supposed to kick the 5th.