Sports => Football => Topic started by: kingman on June 15, 2006, 04:54:09 PM

Title: Crouch pulled up over controversial goal
Post by: kingman on June 15, 2006, 04:54:09 PM
(http://sport.orf.at/fussball/060615-436/gruppe_b_crouch_big_a.jpg)

Trinidad and Tobago defender Brett Sancho insists his side were robbed of World Cup glory after claiming he was fouled by England striker Peter Crouch when scoring the opening goal in a 2-0 win in Nuremberg.

Crouch was mobbed by his team-mates after climbing above Sancho to head home an 83rd-minute cross from England skipper David Beckham to break the deadlock.

But pictures broadcast later on German television appeared to indicate Crouch had tugged at the dreadlocks of the Gillingham player before netting.

Sancho said: 'We are gutted, just gutted with the result. It was really heart-wrenching. The first goal was definitely a foul by Crouch. He was all over my back but we didn't get the decision.

'The second goal (from Steven Gerrard) came when they hit us on the break as we tried to get back - but the first one was the crucial one so late in the game and I was fouled.

'Crouch was all over me. He was definitely pulling me back and that meant I couldn't get to him.

'But don't forget, we are tiny Trinidad and Tobago and there is no way that the referee (Toru Kamikawa) was going to blow that whistle and disallow the goal.'

Crouch had given no indication of there being any controversy over his sixth goal in five games for his country when interviewed, before Sancho's gripes came to light.

The Liverpool striker said: 'It was great to score in a World Cup and it was a special moment for me. I was still thinking about a first-half miss of mine.

'But, with our delivery into the box, especially with David Beckham from the right, you are always going to get other chances and thankfully I managed to take the second one.

'I've got six goals in five games and I am really enjoying it. I am loving it playing for England at the moment and with the creative players we've got in the side, you are always going to get chances.

'Thankfully they've been going in and hopefully there are more to come.'

Title: Re: Crouch pulled up over controversial goal
Post by: paddy on June 15, 2006, 04:56:38 PM
He pulled his dreds real hard  -- shoul've been red carded, no question.
Post by: Preacher on June 15, 2006, 05:06:38 PM
i tell allyuh that was a foul..But this is WC....
Post by: trinindian on June 15, 2006, 05:17:39 PM
kingman could you please post your source, so the intergity of the article cannot be question. thks
Post by: Ponnoxx on June 15, 2006, 05:21:14 PM

kingman could you please post your source, so the intergity of the article cannot be question. thks
That is soccernet pardner....It also on foxsportsworld.com....I say staright away that was a foul...But the ref wasn't going to give T&T that...If was England it would have been different....And STERN JOHN GOAL WAS NOT OFFSIDE
Post by: 1989 on June 15, 2006, 05:23:00 PM
Can T&T appeal this?
Post by: Daft Trini on June 15, 2006, 05:28:25 PM
I have been a fan of de game for a long time. I personally think that de referees have a personal vendetta against us. I know that dey are cracking down on tackles and shirt tugging but give me a break. If yuh ah trini dey giving yuh a card quick, quick. Shaka's card was unmerited and so was a few others.

Crouch pulled de man blasted dreds, Dat is why he was looking so calm because he concience was bothering him. So he ah do no damn robot dance.

Post by: Ponnoxx on June 15, 2006, 05:35:36 PM
Can T&T appeal this?
Unfortunately no...But I know all we have to do is win the next game and we could get in the second round...Paraguay out of it so they will play with less intensity ,and we could beat them and Rooney will be available next game for a longer period of time I am sure...We could do it still....The thing is we played with heart and passion and I loved every second of this so far
Post by: SweetParkie on June 15, 2006, 05:43:57 PM
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/match/19/photos.html?i=16&d=1

Check out the picture above No. 17 in the gallery of the TT ENG match!!!
I agreed from the begining it was a foul!
Post by: Daft Trini on June 15, 2006, 05:47:09 PM
De pic also on soccer net too. f**k that Peter Crotch.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 15, 2006, 06:53:37 PM
crouch is ah cheat, granted yuh do what yuh have to do to get by, and hope de ref eh pick it up, but de defining moment for me was in the 1st half when he went up for a header with sancho(ah think) and de ball OBVIOUSLY come off he head and went out for a goalkick and da friggin man raising he hand for a corner....god doh like ugly dred...watch and see wey england end up....
Title: The Hand of Crouch
Post by: RazorGrass on June 15, 2006, 07:48:20 PM
** THE HAND OF CROUCH **

How can anyone with eyes not see that this is a clear foul?

YOU SIMPLY CANNOT HOLD ON TO A PLAYER'S HAIR AND TURN HIM AROUND AND IT NOT BE CALLED A FOUL!!!!

In 1986 Maradona fisted in the ball, that was called 'The Hand of God'.

Today we have 'The Hand of Crouch'.

The only bit of hair on the defender's head that is facing that direction is the hair in Couch's hand!

Come on! What is Crounch doing? A hairdressing course on the football field? He is tugging at the defender's hair and this goal should NOT have been allowed!

What more evidence do you need? You cannot do that to a player and not be penalised!

Don't tell me the ref did not see. He has assistant refs who spot when a ball goes over the line way on the next side of the field! This is all about the 'big guns' finding their way to the next rounds plain and simple.

I have taken the time to ZOOM in since some people clearly have 2" monitors.

In some parts of the world this is called CHEATING ... in others, professional play.

How much you want to wager that if a T&T player had done this they would have been SENT OFF IMMEDIATELY.

Ridiculous!

(http://www.trinibase.com/the_hand_of_crouch.jpg)
Title: Re: The Hand of Crouch
Post by: Warrior till death on June 15, 2006, 07:49:09 PM
dat pic was taken when de ball was in de net already... :-\
Post by: Dutty on June 15, 2006, 07:53:18 PM
so how he still up in de air? rocket boosters on he shoes?
Post by: BahJon on June 15, 2006, 07:54:12 PM
It serious...but it funny too because...

DAT MUS BE WHY BERTIE SAY CUT THAT INGKUCF tING OFF

heh heh heh

Post by: RazorGrass on June 15, 2006, 08:00:13 PM

Wow! Clearly you have watched the Matrix 200 times too many.

I didn't THINK in a thousand years I would have to show more of the picture. But, here goes.

(http://www.trinibase.com/the_hand_of_crouch_2.jpg)
Post by: Storeboy on June 15, 2006, 08:04:59 PM
The man have fistful of hair.  Well, it is all over but that is what it takes for them to beat us!  God bless the Soca Warriors.  Now we have to beat Paraquay 3:0 and hope England help us out and beat SWEDEN
Post by: ndookie on June 15, 2006, 08:05:47 PM
Boy , i done trying to get this off my mind...and then this piece of evidence come up..

That ref making a set ah bad call whole game , i not surprised this happen anyway..

Steups
Post by: The_Ice on June 15, 2006, 08:09:35 PM
thank god!!!i knew that was a foul... i start crying when that goal happen... i seriously thought that we were going to draw... i hope they fine crouch at least... if he didnt score the game would have been played differently and might have ended with it 0-0
Post by: BigToe on June 15, 2006, 08:11:39 PM
Ironic that this thread was started...I wanted to start one but was trying to think of a subject name.

England fans were dead quiet for at least 60 minutes of the match. The world now knows that Crouch cheated and for a country that prides itself on fair play and respect of the game, one of their stars should forever be labeled a cheat.

It took MIGHTY Engerlund (If I hear that chant one more time, I going to kick some limey ass) 84 minutes to score a cheated goal. It also require some drastic subs by Erickson to try to make a difference.

For 85 or so minutes, we played with one of the World Cup favorites. Our lads have nothing to be ashamed of. In fact, all Trinis should walk tall in Germany. Not only are we the adopted team of this World Cup, we have gained respect by holding Sweden to a draw and, if not for a cheater, possibly doing the same to England.

We know that, come Tuesday, it's do or die...win or go home, Hoefully Engerlund will do their part and we take care of business in Kaiserslauten...
Post by: Jah Gol on June 15, 2006, 08:15:01 PM
At first I thought it was a good goal but I just saw the video on TV6.They say it is big controversy all over the German media.  Without a doubt that was a foul. He clearly pulled Sancho's dreds. No appeal can be made. The referee missed it and that's all that matters. It means that we can be even more proud of our team. The second goal came late when we were pushing for an equaliser.In my heart the scoreline is 0-0.

One more thing, If one more person tell me I biased for hating Peter Crouch as a footballer I will lose my mind. He's a bloody shitsnake.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 15, 2006, 08:25:09 PM
if ah didnt want to kill d refree before, ah want to murder he mudderc**t now.whole judgement game we gettin bad calls, now dis.
ah cyah take it right now.

we cyah change it now, but if dat shithound didnt score, d whole nature of d game woulda change

laventille rhthym section better find he an d refree an blow out dey mudderc**t.

f**k you refree, f**k you crouch, england,F**K YOU.

bless!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on June 15, 2006, 08:30:19 PM
if ah didnt want to kill d refree before, ah want to murder he mudderc**t now.whole judgement game we gettin bad calls, now dis.

we cyah change it now, but if dat shithound didnt score, d whole nature of d game woulda change

laventille rhthym section better find he an d refree an blow out dey mudderc**t.

bless!!!

Densil get a yellow for holding on to a man jersey .Lampard do the same and get call for a foul alone.Steups. I saw lampard hit shot and he was clearly offside and there was no call. The referee is just an asshole.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 15, 2006, 08:35:53 PM
dat refree like he only promoting panty man football. since when holding a man shirt is straight yellow card. one little touch on a engalnd player, whistle blow, when men running in on we hard hard, climbing on we back, pulling out we hair. nothin! steups!!

GREAT is the SOCA WARRIORS an we SHALL PREVAIL!!!
bless!!!
Post by: The_Ice on June 15, 2006, 08:37:34 PM

bless!!!

Densil get a yellow for holding on to a man jersey .Lampard do the same and get call for a foul alone.Steups. I saw lampard hit shot and he was clearly offside and there was no call. The referee is just an asshole.

in almost all games the refreeing was retarded... like some of them does pick their favourites b4 the match and stick to them... lol... but really thing like this does get on my nerves... some kinda action should be taken
Post by: kandi_tt on June 15, 2006, 08:38:40 PM
ah get mehself drunk then sober up an come home to see dis.......ah effine pissed now.........
Post by: Bourbon on June 15, 2006, 09:50:43 PM
So it wasnt just me alone. No scene. Just remember......God doh sleep.

In 1966 england win a world cup on a goal dat didnt cross de line. Dey scrunt fuh de next 40 years........only now dey hoping dey could do someting.

In 1986 maradonna do he hand of god bizness......and while dey win world cup......now....it seem like no matter how much potential argentina have.....dey never seem to realise sucess that they deserve. 

Rivaldo after de dive and beat up like a snake on de ground after he get lash on he foot and make a man get send off. He career had a immediate fall from grace.....now sometimes yuh doh even remember he still playing football.

No scene. We played hard....and were handed the shorter end of the stick. No scene. We go live.
Post by: Verteidiger on June 15, 2006, 10:12:39 PM
Aye..Crouch is a RANK SHITSNAKE...
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 15, 2006, 10:12:51 PM
So it wasnt just me alone. No scene. Just remember......God doh sleep.

In 1966 england win a world cup on a goal dat didnt cross de line. Dey scrunt fuh de next 40 years........only now dey hoping dey could do someting.

In 1986 maradonna do he hand of god bizness......and while dey win world cup......now....it seem like no matter how much potential argentina have.....dey never seem to realise sucess that they deserve. 

Rivaldo after de dive and beat up like a snake on de ground after he get lash on he foot and make a man get send off. He career had a immediate fall from grace.....now sometimes yuh doh even remember he still playing football.

No scene. We played hard....and were handed the shorter end of the stick. No scene. We go live.

Brilliant :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: paddy on June 15, 2006, 11:48:32 PM
Cheating rat Crouch.

A moral victory for T&T then.

Post by: croc on June 16, 2006, 01:16:31 AM
I was wondering why Sancho did not seem to jump high with him to put him off...now I know why.....sad sad sad. Warriors ah still love yuh.Keep fighting!!!!
Post by: Midknight on June 16, 2006, 04:07:30 AM
Warrior till death...You want more conclusive evidence?

http://youtube.com/watch?v=H2WxxwYBvrk&search=crouch%20hair

Nuff said. God doh sleep. England ent winning this cup, whatever happens against Sweden...
Post by: redtrinigirl on June 16, 2006, 04:16:37 AM
People, England are aware that Crouch is ah damn cheat!

Last night on BBC and ITV (the 2 stations with the broadcast rights to the games) BOTH panels of experts said flat out, it was a foul, and "we were lucky to get away with it". They slow motioned it, looked at it from different angles, they freeze framed it. THEY KNOW. One even said "Oh my God! I can't believe he did that! Good thing the referee didn't see it."

It take dirty tactics from a lame, akward beanpole to turn the game. Doh care how much goals he scores for Liverpool, his only gift is his height. He is not that good. Cause earlier in the game when he got clear shots at goal, he missed by a mile everytime.

But the Germans and American media have picked up on it though. Now, we have a man as a FIFA Vice-President. Does he count for anything BESIDES fattening Blatter and dem pocket? Not to mention his own. Can he use his position to launch a protest, something. England, and Crouch, have to be "named and shamed". It doh matter bout reversing goal or anything, they get the three points regardless. All hats off to Gerrard, a real footballer. But we CANNOT let England get away with feeling the mighty lions come and maul de island boys. They must be embarrassed about it.

And now more than ever, I cannot wait for Germany or my great neighbours Argentina to knock those arrogant, cheating bastards out of the world cup. I would go for another team, but the pain caused would not be the same if someone other than their two greatest football enemies knocked them out.

Come on Germany, come on Argentina!
Post by: Midknight on June 16, 2006, 04:30:21 AM
And now more than ever, I cannot wait for Germany or my great neighbours Argentina to knock those arrogant, cheating bastards out of the world cup. I would go for another team, but the pain caused would not be the same if someone other than their two greatest football enemies knocked them out.

Actually what I want is for them to beat Sweden, win the group and then loss to Ecuador  :devil:
When we beat Paraguay as we need to, we will get the Germans.
If we loss to them, there will be absolutely no shame losing to the hosts/most successful european nation.
If we win...we will go back and laugh at the limeys  :rotfl:
Post by: ttgapers on June 16, 2006, 05:00:14 AM
Warrior till death...You want more conclusive evidence?

http://youtube.com/watch?v=H2WxxwYBvrk&search=crouch%20hair

Nuff said. God doh sleep. England ent winning this cup, whatever happens against Sweden...

God definitely not going to sleep. Cheaters never prosper! Fire bun Crouch. The man all forget to do the robot.
Post by: Pompey on June 16, 2006, 05:08:40 AM
Have you got a photo of the "Tackle" that got Lampard a yellow? thought not.

Brent Sanho dived and got a fellow a yellow card, so maybe you are right, God does not sleep.
Post by: ttgapers on June 16, 2006, 05:20:09 AM

Brent Sanho dived and got a fellow a yellow card, so maybe you are right, God does not sleep.

that's fine, but it didn't cost England a goal right? It also did not cause England to change their entire tactics, right?

get my drift?

ttgapers
Post by: Fyzoman on June 16, 2006, 05:20:55 AM
this forum is the friggin best...razorgrass, big up! yuh eh easy wid the zoom in pics, dat make meh day....i thought he hold sancho dreds only just before de cross come over and then let it go, but now it look like "SHITSNAKE" had ah hold of it de whole time....thanks razor
Post by: Pompey on June 16, 2006, 05:37:13 AM

that's fine, but it didn't cost England a goal right? It also did not cause England to change their entire tactics, right?

get my drift?

ttgapers

what if it was a second yellow?

it's not the same I know but both sides are guilty of taking advantage. It happens in top level football.
Post by: trini_chris on June 16, 2006, 05:44:29 AM
i hate peter crouch, now more than ever. damn you to hell CROUCH. damn yuh nasty, stinkin cheater
Post by: MEP on June 16, 2006, 05:45:29 AM
Ok having looked at England's first goal about 100 times... when the play is slowed down Sancho was clearly fouled.....when Crutch clutched his dreads it actually caused him to spin around that's why he never jumped.....if the ref wasn't gaping he would have caught that he was about 10 yards outside the penalty area  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Midknight on June 16, 2006, 05:58:40 AM
what if it was a second yellow?

it's not the same I know but both sides are guilty of taking advantage. It happens in top level football.

It wasn't. Point.

Congratulations. I Robot just invented a new and revolutionary way to cheat, after inventing a new and revolutionary way to celebrate goals. Maybe he'll invent a new and revolutionary way to win games and tournaments - ON TALENT AND TEAMWORK  ::)
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 05:59:33 AM
Could you NANCY's stop bellyaching for one second and tell me where SANCHO's hand is in that picture? Looks like it's pushing CROUCH in his torso if you ask me. Just face the fact you played a good game for 85 minutes then relaxed and let it slip away. This whining is annoying.
Post by: Midknight on June 16, 2006, 06:11:04 AM
Could you NANCY's stop bellyaching for one second and tell me where SANCHO's hand is in that picture? Looks like it's pushing CROUCH in his torso if you ask me. Just face the fact you played a good game for 85 minutes then relaxed and let it slip away. This whining is annoying.
Can't believe you joined just to be able to say that...

Other than the fact that Sancho didn't get a hand up until after the ball was goalbound (check out the video as well) may i politely point something out. This is socawarriors.net. If its annoying you

Get the f*** off OUR board!!!

Cheers  ;D

Post by: MEP on June 16, 2006, 06:12:22 AM
Aye Arsehole shitbrick.. .I'm am basing what I am saying on the fact that I have the game recorded and after looking at if quite a few times.....the refs should have made the call...
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 06:15:00 AM
So it's you one have DVR? SANCHO was in a bad position and couldn't get up in the air because he was in the process of turning around saw CROUCH elevate and tried to push him off balance. Goal. Game done. Move on.
Post by: RasIred on June 16, 2006, 06:17:06 AM
Bricktop .......even REAL 100% English fans...............thought the same thing so it aint Bellyaching we just showing something. If this was the reverse the English PRESS would HAVE THIS SHOT ON EVERY FLICKING NEWSPAER IN THE uk...................SO KEEP QUIET wid that shit Steven Gerrard was the one doing the bellyaching

So just let us SOCA WARRIORS vent a bit as we have to let this sink in
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 06:18:12 AM
Can't believe you joined just to be able to say that...
Well if your members wouldn't post the link to this thread on my website maybe I wouldn't.
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 06:24:46 AM

Oh please  ::) you folks whined & complained about that Maradonna hand of god incident for decades

world cup after world cup english supporters had their skirts blowing in their eyes because of that incident,granted nothing could have stopped that gerrard rocket....but if a foul had been called on the beanpole, that could have been a big turning point as there were only 8 minutes left

Nevertheless...congrats on your 1-0 victory
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 06:27:07 AM
Oh please  ::) you folks whined & complained about that Maradonna hand of god incident for decades

world cup after world cup english supporters had their skirts blowing in their eyes because of that incident,granted nothing could have stopped that gerrard rocket....but if a foul had been called on the beanpole, that could have been a big turning point as there were only 8 minutes left

"You folks"? What makes you think I'm English? Why would a foul have been called on the play though?
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 06:30:07 AM

"you folks"? What makes you think I'm English?

well whether your welsh, hungarian, iraqi or from bora bora....my apathy is overwhelming

Nevertheless us "nancys are bellyaching" because we tend to naively beleive in fiar play at the highest levels of the game

with rgard to why?? a foul would called by holding someones hair and snapping their neck rendering them incapacitated INSIDE the penalty area?....gee..I dont know ::)
Post by: Midknight on June 16, 2006, 06:33:38 AM
"You folks"? What makes you think I'm English? Why would a foul have been called on the play though?

Well i can't imagine anyone else comin gon here to tell us to stop bellyaching and using the word 'nancy'. Oh wait, maybe you're just a reggae brit...

A foul would have been called because your striker used an illegal manoeuvre to get the better of his marker...and not only was it illegal, but it was unsporting and possibly dangerous...
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 06:38:11 AM
well whether your welsh, hungarian, iraqi or from bora bora....my apathy is overwhelming

Nevertheless us "nancys are bellyaching" because we tend to naively beleive in fiar play at the highest levels of the game

with rgard to why?? a foul would called by holding someones hair and snapping their neck rendering them incapacitated INSIDE the penalty area....gee..I dont know ::)

I suggest you watch the play again without bias. CROUCH in no way prevented SANCHO from getting up in the air to challenge for the ball. SANCHO simply got turned around then tried to push CROUCH off balance. "Snapping their neck rendering them incapacitated"? What game were you watching?
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 06:43:30 AM

with rgard to why?? a foul would called by holding someones hair and snapping their neck rendering them incapacitated INSIDE the penalty area....gee..I dont know ::)
I suggest you watch the play again without bias. CROUCH in no way prevented SANCHO from getting up in the air to challenge for the ball. SANCHO simply got turned around then tried to push CROUCH off balance. "Snapping their neck rendering them incapacitated"? What game were you watching?

Fire up your DVD friend...slow it.. speed it up..zoom on it..get a tight frame...put pink elephants around the screen shot if need be

but watch it again and see sanchos head get yanked and his head twist HARD....if that happens to anyone,, you cant jump

This is all a moot point, your own press and football pundits acknowledge the beanpole "got away with it"

What goes around comes around...........congrats on your  1-0 win
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 16, 2006, 06:44:55 AM
At first I thought it was a good goal but I just saw the video on TV6.They say it is big controversy all over the German media.  Without a doubt that was a foul. He clearly pulled Sancho's dreds. No appeal can be made. The referee missed it and that's all that matters. It means that we can be even more proud of our team. The second goal came late when we were pushing for an equaliser.In my heart the scoreline is 0-0.

One more thing, If one more person tell me I biased for hating Peter Crouch as a footballer I will lose my mind. He's a bloody shitsnake.

The refree cheat cheat cheat cheat cheat us! Why is Fifa allowing this to go on... It hurt me as a player and a fan of the soca Warriors knowing how far we've come from!  It was plain to see that he was agiants our team from the beggining and he would not even game England any cards.
Post by: Bricktop on June 16, 2006, 06:47:13 AM
congrats on your  1-0 win

??? ??? ??? Not too sure why you would congratulate me for England winning.

Post by: biga84 on June 16, 2006, 06:49:31 AM

Fellas dont even bother with this clown   the link above clearly shows Sancho's hair being pulled but let them English talk  we not giving up!!!
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 16, 2006, 07:00:31 AM
Like he want it on ah billboard?? Or he need he glasses!!! :rotfl:
Title: fellas doh bag on me eh: You see why bsc doh like long hair in his team
Post by: davyjenny on June 16, 2006, 07:19:20 AM
bsc never like players with rasta hair styles and long hair in his team
nothing against our team but opponents will use these things to their
advantage.Just my take.
Post by: ribbit on June 16, 2006, 07:19:35 AM

he name Bricktop for a reason - like everyting above the shoulders make out of brick.
Post by: Sando on June 16, 2006, 07:26:18 AM
advantage.Just my take.

Post by: Weh-it-is on June 16, 2006, 07:27:03 AM

he name Bricktop for a reason - like everyting above the shoulders make out of brick.

Like he need ah wheel barrow to carry around he head because it to heavy!!  :rotfl:
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 16, 2006, 07:32:46 AM
advantage.Just my take.

Geh tie up with them dread players! I played against some man in on Trinam in Brooklyn and the youths would used theys hair to slap me in me face on certain moves! So dreads could be a good thing and a bad thing according to its usesage or purpose!
Title: Re: fellas doh bag on me eh: You see why bsc doh like long hair in his team
Post by: RasIred on June 16, 2006, 07:34:22 AM
advantage.Just my take.

So what about individualism............Everybody ahve to be clean cut  ?? That is flicking bullshit, waste a time. The Old colonial powers tried this a long time ago...............BIG UP ALL THE RASTA ballers........Bald HeAD............no hair FOOTBALLERS........iT DOH HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH skiLL

dAVE jENNY hULL YOU MC...........u sound like a closet racist. Trinidad have plenty of them in disguise............We DOH NEED SUPPORTERS like You.............Go support ENGLNAD or one dem teams a bullah...........yeah I still on the rampage  :beermug:
Post by: elan on June 16, 2006, 08:17:35 AM
Don't worry about Crouch no coach in they right mind would pick him. He will never see the English national team again, after they get rid of the Erikson.
Post by: JDB on June 16, 2006, 08:26:46 AM

Pompey you really comparing a yellow card to a game changing goal?

You have to be crazy.
Post by: elan on June 16, 2006, 08:29:27 AM
I don't know if some of you read these ost or have posted here....

http://forums.go.com/soccernet/forum?forumID=46&byThread=true&start=0&campaign=comm&src=371301
Post by: Pointman on June 16, 2006, 08:53:14 AM
Can T&T appeal this?
Unfortunately no...But I know all we have to do is win the next game and we could get in the second round...Paraguay out of it so they will play with less intensity ,and we could beat them and Rooney will be available next game for a longer period of time I am sure...We could do it still....The thing is we played with heart and passion and I loved every second of this so far

Paraguay might play with equal or more intensity just to save face. I can't imagine them being resigned to go back to Paraguay having lost three games...especially one to T&T.  Having said that I hope our boys come out with real intensity in order to get a victory. I am still immensely proud of our boys. England had to use every gun in their arsenal to get that victory. BIG UP THE SOCA WARRIORS!!
Post by: kingman on June 16, 2006, 09:00:32 AM
They are going to talk about crouch goal on espn in a bit. Stay tuned!

Post by: RazorGrass on June 16, 2006, 09:19:55 AM
this forum is the friggin best...razorgrass, big up! yuh eh easy wid the zoom in pics, dat make meh day....i thought he hold sancho dreds only just before de cross come over and then let it go, but now it look like "SHITSNAKE" had ah hold of it de whole time....thanks razor

You are welcome. I did it because some ppl on another forum were insisting there was no proof of a foul and I wanted to have a pic that WE could see exactly what happened.

Now that pic is on the net for all who want to see to see and it shall be online for decades to come ... doubt me? Then just do a search for 'The Hand of God' and you will still see pics of Mardona's cheated goal from 20 years ago!

I am calling this 'The Hand of Crouch' and we won't ever forget it. The only way England beat us was by CHEATING!
Post by: jub02 on June 16, 2006, 09:21:17 AM
Look like he is tuggin his shirt to me.
Even if he did tug his dreds..u cannot say any player wud not do that.
Post by: Tongue on June 16, 2006, 09:26:37 AM
the verdict is in ....they spoke about it and both determine it was no big deal. Whats the big deal everybody tugs and whats a lil hair tug. Both are fools....matter of fact dey bigger than fools! Wynalda is ah f**king arse and Judy Foudy is a muddahc**t...plain and simple! Ah waiting tuh hear de excuses for cut arse the US going and get tomorrow.
Post by: USgalWARRIORbf on June 16, 2006, 09:27:30 AM
i dunno who that was that just made that comment about sancho dreads, but lord, that was one of the most uncalled for comments ive ever heard in sports commentary.  maybe because i have locs im a bit more partial but Im American, and Im very tempted to write a letter to espn for that shit.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 16, 2006, 09:29:57 AM
ah just see cacahole wynalda and julie foudy give dey two cents about the hair pulling by crouch, julie just talk some shyte and asshole eric say yuh shouldn't come to the world cup with dreds, and yeah yuh actually seeing-in the replay-brent head snap around when "SHITSNAKE" pull he hair while the cross was comig over...
Title: Eric Wynalda: "Just don't come to the WC with dreadlocks"
Post by: Preacher on June 16, 2006, 09:31:25 AM
Just saw it on ESPN...They talked about the Crouch foul and both Foudy and Eric...was backing Crouch..since when is a foul warrented?  That's why They be bawling tomorrow...Them does vex me yes....If i ever see he I have to try real hard to not take God out ah my thought yes.... >:(
Post by: USgalWARRIORbf on June 16, 2006, 09:36:40 AM
http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/news/story?page=contact/espntv

that link will take you to the "contact espn" page where u can leave your comments/concerns/complaints, as i just have.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 16, 2006, 09:40:08 AM
yea i jes see that....ah get rel vex once he said "dont come to world cup with dreads" steups......and de lady say she defending crouch......they is rell a$$holes yes.
Title: Why all the hating
Post by: Source on June 16, 2006, 09:40:14 AM
Why is it that ESPN's Julie Foudy and Eric Wynalda hating on T&T?  It's like they embarras to give us some credit.
Title: Re: Why all the hating
Post by: whistler91 on June 16, 2006, 09:41:37 AM
CUZ THE USA LOSS!!!!

they already singled us out as the weakest team and expected the worse, we together with their team proved them wrong. Let them talk!
Post by: kingman on June 16, 2006, 09:45:16 AM
You guys hear what this fool Eric Wynalda say on ESPN2? After slowing down the game (with constant replays) and it was evident that Crouch pulled Sancho hair, Eric said, "don't come to the world cup with dred locks." "Cut your hair." "It was your fault."

Who is this cocksucker Eric? He was never really no big star in my books

Post by: Feliziano on June 16, 2006, 09:48:50 AM
and it have man here talking bout we should back the USA??..steups
we have to support the region but them Yanks feel they above everybodye else yes

I saying MEXICO all de way to the semis...ah know it have ah bunch ah allyuh go back Angola today and the rest ah them African side..but hear this nah...none ah them making second rounds.
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 09:52:19 AM
http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/news/story?page=contact/espntv

that link will take you to the "contact espn" page where u can leave your comments/concerns/complaints, as i just have.

Why bother...the outcome is not going be changed...and we will be simply viewed as whiners by those who already biased one way or another

Then again maybe we could ask judy if she enjoys getting her hair pulled hard when she takin................ :mackdaddy:
Post by: Pompey on June 16, 2006, 10:00:16 AM

Pompey you really comparing a yellow card to a game changing goal?

You have to be crazy.

do you think Sancho wouldn't have done it if Lampard was already on a yellow. Would he not have done it if it was i th England penalty area?

it happens, pretty much all players do it and they do it to gain an advantage. Crouch looks like he got away with it and it changed the game.

Like I say, it's not right, but it happens.
Post by: Johpants on June 16, 2006, 10:03:36 AM
Dutty yuh not good nah but ah wish you would really ask that question.
Post by: pecan on June 16, 2006, 10:04:16 AM

Wow! Clearly you have watched the Matrix 200 times too many.

I didn't THINK in a thousand years I would have to show more of the picture. But, here goes.

(http://www.trinibase.com/the_hand_of_crouch_2.jpg)

More pics from a german Newspaper

(http://i6.tinypic.com/14l7z4j.jpg)

GERMAN NEWSPAPER „BILD“:
“MEAN BRAID ATTACK BEFORE THE 1:0! FOTO EVIDENCE!
ENGLISCHMEN CROUCH PULLS THE BRAIDS OF BRILLIANT T&T DEFENDER BRET SANCHO, FINALLY OPENING THE ROAD TO VICTORY FOR ENGLAND.
HE MIGHT BE A HEROE NOW FOR HIS COUNTRY-FELLOWS, HOWEVER THE FOTO EVIDENCE SHOWS TO THE REST OF THE WORLD THAT ENGLAND COULD ONLY BEAT T&T BY BYPASSING FAIRNESS!
T&T HAD ALMOST EMBARRASSED ENGLAND AND EVEN HAD CHANCES TO WIN ”
http://www.bild.t-online.de/BTO/sport/wm2006/aktuell/06/16/england-crouch-haareziehen/england-crouch-haareziehen_2B_23.html

Also hear that Sancho propose to his fiance on TV just before this goal (the TV did it on his behalf).  Any body here that rumour??
Post by: The_Ice on June 16, 2006, 10:11:21 AM
You guys hear what this fool Eric Wynalda say on ESPN2? After slowing down the game (with constant replays) and it was evident that Crouch pulled Sancho hair, Eric said, "don't come to the world cup with dred locks." "Cut your hair." "It was your fault."

Who is this cocksucker Eric? He was never really no big star in my books

:applause: :applause: :applause: :rotfl:

gorsh man... let the US team wait til next qualifiers and see what these ppl would say abt t&t... or maybe wait until tuesday and see what they'll say next if we win and get thru
Post by: Augi on June 16, 2006, 10:14:12 AM
All I saying is that THE OLD COLONIAL MASTER'S OPPRESSION OF THE RASTA MAN CONTINUES...
Post by: MEP on June 16, 2006, 10:17:32 AM
Welcome Bricktop to the BEST forum in the world

here is my suggestion
Take your penis firmly in hand, tug on it real hard   and violently insert it in your arse.
Have a great day
The SO CALLED GREATEST FOOTBALL NATION in the world has to CHEAT to score a goal
VERY WELL DONE your nation must be SO PROUD
and SOD OFF BUDDY

he sound like one ah dem small totee man so he probably cyah do that
Post by: takenoprisoners on June 16, 2006, 10:24:08 AM
Pompey, in the 79th minute Lampard went right thru Birchall's legs from behind, an even more
violent tackle than his  first yellow. No yellow given, Lampard was already on one yellow. The referee did not have the intestinal fortitude to call it. The game was refreed inconsistently.
It is obvious that there is  much peer pressure on these referees .Some of them may get ostracized
by their peers. They always favour, even if subconciously, the ESTABLISHMENT.
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 10:25:30 AM
Dutty yuh not good nah but ah wish you would really ask that question.

done  :afro:..and sent

"I want to address the inane ramblings beetween Eric and Judy regarding the match beetween England and Trinidad and Tobago

Lets just ignore the fact that every footballing expert views this as a foul

Eric displays unbridled ignorance when stating Sancho brought the foul upon himself because of his choice of hairstyle

Moreover, although Judy seems like she considers pulling hair from behind a delightful fetish in the throes of ecstasy
Most humans consider it an unpleasant experience"
Post by: valleyman on June 16, 2006, 10:30:15 AM
The refereeing in this world cup has been totally atrocious
It is time to abandon the idea of having low class referee's
from lower federations referee in a world cup just because they
from various regions in the world. B etter to get referee crews from
champions league at least they have a clue. FIFA has to realise that
bad refereiing will kill the progress of football in non european, non south american
regions

Post by: ttgapers on June 16, 2006, 10:35:14 AM
i just personally feel bad about it as a supporter.

however FIFA need to have something in place to address these things. ok, the scoreline cannot be changed, however Crouch should be able to have a yellow card given to him for it, or a fine for unsportsmanlike conduct or something.

the referee if adjudged by an independent panel to be in a position to make the call, and did not, should also be punished for it.

in all reality if this was a knockout game, we would be royally screwed. at least we still have a fighting chance to still progress.

ttgapers/supa
Post by: Pompey on June 16, 2006, 10:41:40 AM
All I saying is that THE OLD COLONIAL MASTER'S OPPRESSION OF THE RASTA MAN CONTINUES...

:rotfl: :rotfl: ::)
Post by: JDB on June 16, 2006, 11:00:23 AM
Let me tell allyuh something.

In 1998 England had a Sol Campbell goal against Argentina called off because of a Shearer foul on the keeper. In 2002 a Terry foul had a goal against Portugal disallowed.

Neither of these fouls were committed by the player who actually took advantage and scored the goal. they were "off the ball" and still called.

I could guarantee if that was another big country that goal would be disallowed. Only because it is a small country with no pedigree the Ref didn't blow.

FIFA has pretty much admitted that although they like the Cinderella stories of the small teams, it is in the best interests of the tournament if the big teams go through.

They find that Spain and Italy had rough rides last time and so ther are determined that the big sides get the benefit of the doubt. They can't risk having teams like Turkey, US, Senegal and Korea in the 1/4s again. There is no other explanation for the ridiculous bias we are seeing in the refereeing at this tournament.
Title: Sancho's Dreadlocks
Post by: Misty in Roots on June 16, 2006, 12:15:57 PM
24 hours after the game, German TV is now showing Crouch (or is it Crutch..?) pulling Sancho's dread locks while jumping for a header.

The damn batty man  didn't get spotted by the lino or the ref. Shame.

A reason why we should now use a second ref with access to technology that helps refs spot hidden or ambiguous decisions. Wha ya tink..?
Title: Re: Sancho's Dreadlocks
Post by: Rani5 on June 16, 2006, 12:21:15 PM
I agree! referee have too much power.. they need access to replays or they need more linesmen or smthg.. Poor decisions by Refs can change the whole damn game.. worse yet.. constant bad refereeing can not only disillusion players but fans too!  Referees need some sorta help to ensure that they are 1.) CORRECT and 2.) FAIR

but despite the obvious bad refereeing yesterday, we still play damn good and stuck in there.. BIG UP DE WARRIORS  :beermug:
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 16, 2006, 12:22:28 PM
Nice idea but this is the wrong sport for it.  Everytime a questionable call is made coaches and refs. will be calling into the box for the vid ref to call the play.  Football too fast and that type of technology will kill de game we love so much.
Post by: KND2 on June 16, 2006, 12:24:50 PM
You did not see Sancho pulling the man shirt and basically pushing him.

Sancho was the one fouling why?

Because he made no Attempt to play the ball!

Crouch Played the Ball, that is the Key!

Yes Sancho Head get raff
But all that in the game.

Put yourself on the other side

How the ass the ref could call that a foul,

That is not a foul!

These things happen in a crowed box.
Post by: Rastaman on June 16, 2006, 12:28:20 PM
I was just about to post this. It showed before the last match...A clear foul.  Sancho looked awkward like he turned the wrong way but the replay clearly showed what Crouch did.....A real shame it should has stayed nil-nil.
Post by: Trinimassive on June 16, 2006, 12:29:56 PM
The problem with that technology is that it will probably dramatically slow the game down. Cause every call somebody go want to see replay. But if the call is ONLY for goals scored that is an ok idea but the amount of offsides in a game...yuh just cant play replays and keep the game flowing.

But on Sancho's dreadlocks.....I could only imagine what former "coach" BSC saying...

"Ah tell that Kiss me A$$ Sancho bout dah hair yuh know...dem dreads hair was always gehhin in dey way...and allyuh taut this skinny ass Tibigonian was crazy....Just wait till that Been fella gone....is I in allyuh A$$ againAGAIN." :devil: :devil:
Post by: freakazoid on June 16, 2006, 01:01:44 PM
it was almost imposible for a ref to spot crouch holding sancho's hair given the location of the playas and where the ball came from. but crouch climbed all over sancho and in that regards i believe its a foul
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 16, 2006, 01:09:13 PM
I showing all them Trini Haters the vid of Crouch giving Sancho a new hair style and ah crack neck.  All they could say is dat is part of de game.  I want to know what game dey playing b/c all I could see dey is a man going to hospital.  Ah think that Sancho stood a better chance if he had dropped to the ground and beat up and get on like he just get shoot or something yes.
Post by: RasIred on June 16, 2006, 01:12:56 PM
Freakazoid does have a point............After 25 hours I can say the Refree WOULD not have been bale to make the call . We only saw it because it was Magnified and in slow motion..................so I cannot really balme the Ref for this call, however I do balme the ref for reffing like a flicking Pansy, like he wants English citizenship

Rs bless the warriorssssssssssssss
Post by: Blue on June 16, 2006, 01:15:28 PM
sorry, but it seems to me like crouch was pulling d man dreads up, not down....sancho didnt jump, end of story.  :rotfl:

but seriously, the defenders were faultless, whole game. if anything we could have taken off theobald a few minutes earlier,cuz he was obviously exhausted and was leaving cyd to cover beckham and lennon which was impossible and inevitably led to the goal  - but we were immense and if Paraguay come at us anything less than 100%, we gonna be celebrating on Tuesday.
Post by: Trinimassive on June 16, 2006, 01:39:16 PM

Yes Sancho Head get raff

That is not a foul!

KND Crouch used Sancho hair for liftoff...he use the man to get an advantage and the advantage resulted in a goal.

Yuh doh have to choose to be on the wrong side of discussions so much to get noticed yuh know :-\

That was a foul.
Post by: whistler91 on June 16, 2006, 01:49:04 PM

Yes Sancho Head get raff

That is not a foul!

KND Crouch used Sancho hair for liftoff...he use the man to get an advantage and the advantage resulted in a goal.

Yuh doh have to choose to be on the wrong side of discussions so much to get noticed yuh know :-\

That was a foul.

I will have to side with Trinimassive on this one. It was obviously a foul. I would like you to show me where in the rule book you can pull at someone's hair while playing any sport a matter a fact.

Besides, it isn't only us (trinis) debating whether it is a foul or not, but alot of other people....for example you saw earlier in the thread that the German press and all had something to say about it. The fact that it is attracting all that attention should mean something. Foul!
Post by: PantherX on June 16, 2006, 03:25:21 PM
I feel that this is more of an argument against dreds than against crouch  ;D.

If it was me I was playing ballhead!
Post by: RazorGrass on June 16, 2006, 04:22:31 PM

Yes Sancho Head get raff

That is not a foul!

What narcotic you on?

Try to jump with someone holding DOWN your head! Sancho never even got a chance to jump for the ball!

They were both facing the ball when it was crossed and then Crouch held on to Sancho's hair so tightly that he not only SPUN HIM AROUND 180 degrees and Sancho NEVER EVEN LEFT THE GROUND since Crouch was holding his hair and his head down!

Again I say - SAY NO TO DRUGS! It affects the eyesight.

http://www.trinibase.com/the-hand-of-crouch.htm
Post by: scrunter2 on June 16, 2006, 04:26:47 PM
Well if the ref could not see what happened to his assistance...he was in a perfect position to raise his flag.
Could anyone explain to me why Cyd  got a yellow .

LONG LIVE FAIR PLAY   LONG LIVE THE SOCA WARRIORS.

GOD BLESS.

ps Isn't the coach of England a citizen of Sweden? Alyuh get my drift.
Post by: Aymir on June 16, 2006, 04:27:26 PM
wasnt crouch called for like four or five fouls for jumping on people back in the england game against paraguay....?

and didnt the shitsnake crouch said after the game that he was going to change the way he challenged for balls in the air..?

now this is what the shitsnake did and people defending this cheat on tv?

crouch is a cheat....no two ways about it and he will come out himself and say it sometime that he foulde sancho and he sorry and by then of course it will be too late.

Post by: Trinimac on June 16, 2006, 07:37:51 PM
Sancho should have listed to Bertle St Clair. He should have been a pork eating ballhead. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Viperist on June 16, 2006, 08:03:12 PM
yo that pic says it all crouch is a motherF$#@  with his anerexic arse!!!!! dread i have liverpool and anyone who plays for them even former michael owen.
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2006, 09:00:09 PM
This one is for the doubters like KND

Let the vid circulate on the net for eternity

http://trinidadtobago.worldcupblog.org/1/hand-of-crouch.html

I movin on and studyin Paraguay
Post by: Verteidiger on June 16, 2006, 09:22:17 PM
PPl of the board..

The evidence is plain and clear to see...Is there anything that can be done..?? at all?? I find it is so hard to just "forget" about it when we fought so hard and so well. Can we e-mail anybody..anything??

And I doh understand why these Yankee "commentators" have nothing good to say bout Trinidad and Tobago at all... First Cobi Jones talk a pack of shit..now Eric Wynalda and them..gosh boy..why they doh just be happy??
Post by: BigToe on June 16, 2006, 10:42:40 PM

Take your head out of Pompey's ass. It was a foul and that lanky fowl playing forward will always be known as a cheat.

Oh, and by the way Pompey, you, too, can now remove your head from the inner depths of Bricktop's bamcee hole.

Post by: Midknight on June 17, 2006, 01:00:28 AM
Well what a surprise... ::)

http://wc2006a.telegraph.co.uk/Document.aspx?id=295AFA8D-C6CD-44FF-8B95-E9AB1E2102BF

so much for that...
Post by: takenoprisoners on June 17, 2006, 08:41:40 AM
Congrats from all over.

CONCACAF General Secretary Ted Howard felt proud over the “Soca Warriors” achievement thus far.
“Congrats on another brilliant effort from T&T. I did not see the hair pulling but certainly thought that Crouch had held him down. Nothing can be done about that now except to say that T&T is the surprise of the tournament and enormous credit to all for preparing the team so thoroughly. You have made CONCACAF proud,” Howard stated in a message to CONCACAF President Jack Warner. The FIFA Vice President also relayed that both he and FIFA President Sepp Blatter felt “T&T were unlucky not to get a foul called on Crouch’s goal and that Stern John’s goal was not offside.”
“But we shall live to fight another day and believe me we will fight with all the passion and determination that we have shown the world so far,” Warner added.
FIFA General Secretary Urs Linsi praised T&T for it’s showing in Germany following the loss to England. “Compliment to your team again. What you have done is the very best promotion for football,” he stated.
Post by: The_Ice on June 17, 2006, 08:49:46 AM
Well what a surprise... ::)

http://wc2006a.telegraph.co.uk/Document.aspx?id=295AFA8D-C6CD-44FF-8B95-E9AB1E2102BF

so much for that...

steups wtf... uncle jack should start putting out some money in this matter... fifa sux donkey balls!!!
Post by: Tongue on June 17, 2006, 08:50:01 AM
out of all of dis was the ref in a position to see the foul? remember the tv pickup alot that game officials dont. this foul just goes to show how frustatrted the english forward was havin to go to that extreme 'win by any means necessary'. So from now on, I doh want tuh hear nutten bout 'the hand of God'.
Post by: The_Ice on June 17, 2006, 08:58:53 AM
out of all of dis was the ref in a position to see the foul? remember the tv pickup alot that game officials dont. this foul just goes to show how frustatrted the english forward was havin to go to that extreme 'win by any means necessary'. So from now on, I doh want tuh hear nutten bout 'the hand of God'.

if u watch the replays the linesman was exactly in line with the challenge on sancho and looking straight at it... i dont know what gone on there with that man... like he slow or sumthing
Post by: scrunter2 on June 17, 2006, 09:01:28 AM
Dem American fellas too shame.Dey say all kinda tings bout we den and come and get dey arse cut with dey best team on de field by de same team dat beat we in a fete match style game by de same margin yuh think dey go say anything good about us?
Post by: Lstat on June 17, 2006, 09:16:07 AM
We doh hadda worry about this anymore. The replays speak for themselves, we know the warriors played their hearts out, and played fair and square. Crouch will forever be known as a cheater, that's fine by me, tall lengus limey ass that he is  :) .I am proud to be a Trinbagonian! Lewwe forget about this and send out some positive vibes for the Paraguay match!

GO WARRIORS!
Post by: supporter on June 17, 2006, 11:25:29 AM
those cheaters will get crushed in the next round. damn cheats. pathetic foul by crouch
Post by: jai john on June 17, 2006, 06:21:00 PM
Can T&T appeal this?

Excuse me sir ...did the Paraguay caach say he wanted to lose to even T&T ? Where did you get the info that the Paraguay team will play with less intensity ?
I beg to disagree ..in fact I expect an even more determined Paaguay team ..you know the one that beat Argentina to qualify for the WC in the final game ..or do you
Post by: Socapro on June 17, 2006, 08:22:01 PM
Excuse me sir ...did the Paraguay caach say he wanted to lose to even T&T ? Where did you get the info that the Paraguay team will play with less intensity ?
I beg to disagree ..in fact I expect an even more determined Paaguay team ..you know the one that beat Argentina to qualify for the WC in the final game ..or do you

I agree. We will have to fight tooth & nail to beat Paraguay but hopefully we can come out of that game with at least a 2 goal margin victory & England and Sweden will not conspire to draw so that they both go thru regardless of if T&T beats Paraguay.

We need to do well not just for ourselves but for the sake of CONCACAF!

Will be nice to see T&T facing Germany in the 2nd round!  8)
Post by: Pompey on June 18, 2006, 07:54:46 AM

Take your head out of Pompey's ass. It was a foul and that lanky fowl playing forward will always be known as a cheat.

Oh, and by the way Pompey, you, too, can now remove your head from the inner depths of Bricktop's bamcee hole.

What you having a go at me for? or are you just having a go cos I'm English.

dickhead. ::)
Post by: pioneertrini on June 18, 2006, 08:15:18 AM
Crouch is from by me, And people i tellin yuh if I see that man about i will find it very hard not to beat he muddac**t and end his career, i knows its football but boi he get me vex  >:(
Post by: Organic on June 18, 2006, 08:19:42 AM
Crouch is from by me, And people i tellin yuh if I see that man about i will find it very hard not to beat he muddac**t and end his career, i knows its football but boi he get me vex  >:(
lol..man jus tell him nex ttime he want to run his hand through ah big man hair..ask him first. dont jus grab..that could be consured the wrong way
Post by: marcel on June 19, 2006, 01:27:42 AM

how can that crouch man say he is happy?
he made a lower than low action
i hope england will be out as soon as possible
if they want to win this way...loosers

but with the way they play they will be out within two games

i could not believe what i was seeing on tv!!!
it was not easy to see (that croutch is a bastard,probably a thief when he was young,he can hide these low actions quite good)
they dutch commentators were very very surprised when they showed it
and when they asked that crouch looser what happened he just denied it!!!!
ps. is crouch a sort of zombie??
Post by: rasajoy on June 19, 2006, 09:21:09 AM
I would not expect truth from a liar anyway. He must deny it why not
Post by: TriniCana on June 19, 2006, 08:02:39 PM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=UJrHkMc5_J8&mode=related&search=crouch%20hair
if this is already somewhere in this thread...lemme know and i will delete..
ya good pardner Dutty beat ya to it
http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=17661.msg180332#msg180332

Post by: berris on June 19, 2006, 08:29:48 PM

Ray Charles cudda see that was a foul ....asswipe !!!!!
Post by: Pompey on June 20, 2006, 02:58:32 AM

Ray Charles cudda see that was a foul ....asswipe !!!!!

if youlook at my profile, you can check all the posts I've made on this subject. show me the one where I have denied it was a foul.

then come back and apologise ::)
Post by: rasajoy on June 20, 2006, 05:33:22 AM
Crouching to conquer
Suzanna Clerke Tuesday, June 20 2006

I told myself I wouldn’t write this column when I was vexed. I found all sorts of things to do in the interim — changed my msn name to ‘Crouch is a nastiness,’ checked out video highlights of the goal that clearly showed that good for nothing, dry, haggard, thin foot, knock-kneed, classless, cheating and oh so appropriately named bastard pulling Sancho’s hair. I even read English commentaries on the controversy that either did not comment at all or dismissed it completely.

Imagine Ian Wright saying it serves him right for having long hair, a comment that reeks of hirsutian jeolousy! If it had been one of our rough and ready, dumpling and saltfish and yard fowl raised boys who had pulled the hair of their precious Beckham or Rooney, the streets of England would have been washed several times over with the blood of poor Trinbagonians.

Okay, I know that doing these things really would not have helped me to calm down, would have instead and in fact had, riled me up even more. But to tell the truth, I wanted to be riled up. I wanted to be angry and livid and worked up and outraged and pretty much every other word that can be used to describe how more or less every one of us is feeling or has felt since the truth about that 83rd minute goal came out.

I’d planned on writing about our boys anyway before the outcome of Thursday’s match — and I do mean our boys, the way that they have played skilfully and with hearts on sleeves, like true warriors, giving us something to feel proud of and hopeful for. They’ve accomplished a real sense of unity that so many government administrations have spoken about and thrown money behind but all failed to accomplish. I had always intended that this week’s column be a continuation of sorts of last week’s. But, according to Switch in The Matrix, “Not like this.”

I’d been planning a wonderfully triumphant column, starting with the week long wearing of red, black and white; strangers driving their cars with the flag billowing at the side or, in one case, blocking the entire back glass. Then I would have moved on to describe the day, the actual day of the match spent anxiously waiting for four o’clock then running off to catch the tube to meet with friends at Piccadilly Circus, exit number one, to head to the pub to watch our boys. I wanted, I expected — and yes, it still ended up being a stand off between first and third, developed and developing, former coloniser and former colonised. And in the end they resorted to what colonisers did for centuries and, unfortunately, still do. They cheated.

Interviewed by the BBC before the Trinidad and Tobago vs Iceland game back in February they asked who I thought would win. I’d said naturally I thought we would, that although logic and common sense should indicate differently, national pride dictated that we believe this to be true. Of course, it hadn’t come out quite as articulate as this, it being very hard to be eloquent when one’s toes are frozen in pointy boots and the light being shone in one’s eyes makes it impossible to see anything other than the microphone being thrust in one’s face.

And I guess I could still make it a column of triumph, a column of congratulation for the group of footballers considered minor in all the ways that success in the world of football is measured. For yes, the money is fabulous, and so too, I guess, the endless supply of girls willing to give freely of their services for the chance to boast of the experience. It’s wonderful to make the front page of the papers, to have one’s lifestyle offered up by the media as one to be envied and emulated.

But how much more wonderful is it to not have all this and yet still hold one’s own? How much greater is it to know that yes, one may have lost, but at least one’s winning was not aided by a referee’s oversight. After the game on Thursday several English supporters saw us with flag in hand and clad in red, white and black and congratulated us on a game well played. “You were just unlucky,” more than one fan said. “You guys could have won, you were just really unlucky.”

And maybe that is a victory in itself, the recognition of the possibility that we can and we could. The fact is, we will never know what may have happened had Peter Crouch not braced his header with Sancho. The English media have praised him for breaking the deadlock. He will probably be able to negotiate a higher salary, drive a better car, improve his statistics. Maybe we would have lost anyway. But I think not. What I do know is that we must also remain in praise of our team who have done so well when nobody aside from their fellow countryman (and not even all of us) expected them to. And remain proud. And I’m still dressing in red, white and black.

Comments? Please write suszanna@hotmail.com

Post by: Pompey on June 20, 2006, 05:45:23 AM
Crouching to conquer

I told myself I wouldn’t write this column when I was vexed. I found all sorts of things to do in the interim — changed my msn name to ‘Crouch is a nastiness,’ checked out video highlights of the goal that clearly showed that good for nothing, dry, haggard, thin foot, knock-kneed, classless, cheating and oh so appropriately named bastard pulling Sancho’s hair. I even read English commentaries on the controversy that either did not comment at all or dismissed it completely.

Imagine Ian Wright saying it serves him right for having long hair, a comment that reeks of hirsutian jeolousy! If it had been one of our rough and ready, dumpling and saltfish and yard fowl raised boys who had pulled the hair of their precious Beckham or Rooney, the streets of England would have been washed several times over with the blood of poor Trinbagonians.

and yes, it still ended up being a stand off between first and third, developed and developing, former coloniser and former colonised. And in the end they resorted to what colonisers did for centuries and, unfortunately, still do. They cheated.

Sorry, but those two statements take away any sympathy I have with the author. why the f**k does someone want to bring a political statement into a game of football.
Post by: Organic on June 20, 2006, 05:54:57 AM
Crouching to conquer

and yes, it still ended up being a stand off between first and third, developed and developing, former coloniser and former colonised. And in the end they resorted to what colonisers did for centuries and, unfortunately, still do. They cheated.

Sorry, but those two statements take away any sympathy I have with the author. why the f**k does someone want to bring a political statement into a game of football.

pompey...come fella behonest with your self. the english are known for thier am.."over zealous" support ot thier football team at times. maybe the author really over did it but how far away is she form the truth. if someoen else.. , not even saying trini but what is anyone had pulled becks hair or rooney and scored... or for that amtter to kindanegate the race talk even ferdinands hair, the english especially thier beneveolent press woulda be up in arms.  so i cant disagree with her. there have been (am....here i do it again) numerous dispalys of over zealousness and relatilation if u will by english fans for seemly lesser acts of in justice agasint thier team.  i know how u guys like your football si all good. we do also and if we had scored ah smiliar goal we mayhave been acting the same dismissve way. who knows. but if england does bow out of the competetion with ah controversial goal scored agaisnt them.....alluh better shhhhhhhh we have a saying" do so dont like so"
Post by: Pompey on June 20, 2006, 06:12:16 AM
Crouching to conquer

pompey...come fella behonest with your self. the english are known for thier am.."over zealous" support ot thier football team at times. maybe the author really over did it but how far away is she form the truth. if someoen else.. , not even saying trini but what is anyone had pulled becks hair or rooney and scored... or for that amtter to kindanegate the race talk even ferdinands hair, the english especially thier beneveolent press woulda be up in arms.  so i cant disagree with her. there have been (am....here i do it again) numerous dispalys of over zealousness and relatilation if u will by english fans for seemly lesser acts of in justice agasint thier team.  i know how u guys like your football si all good. we do also and if we had scored ah smiliar goal we mayhave been acting the same dismissve way. who knows. but if england does bow out of the competetion with ah controversial goal scored agaisnt them.....alluh better shhhhhhhh we have a saying" do so dont like so"

the emotions about the goal are understandable. I have seen us go out on penalties, and by the "Hand of God" do I understand. But this author is trying to turn this into a Black v White thing. "Blood of Trinibagonians on the streets of England, Colonisers always cheat. wtf, these remarks are tantamount to inciting racial hatred.

Post by: Organic on June 20, 2006, 06:31:13 AM
SEE POMPEY dais y u eh get trinis. we does talk plenty we hardly ever act. lol trust me she could say what she want. that wont incite racial nuttin. relax. even when we have genuine reasons to feel agrieved we rarely do anythign. thats the bane of free spiritied and over joyyous ppl i guess. but i am sure the engish werent saying its the defender fault he didnt ..... blah blah y maradona handled th ball. no. and shouldnt she feel a lil bitter that  that comment was made by such a promonment figure in english football. and no one even really saying anythign about it . it really his fault his hair is long i agree dais his perogative, wasnt becks hair long. i think generealy trini more angree of the lack of acknolwdge ment that ti was a blatant infrignement  as happen witht he hand of god. the english press is mum about it. we all know nothing will be done about it. but they should act like it never happned and its sancho's fault who didnt even complain mind u.  he didnt protest in the least. what ah professinol eh. rio has long hair. i hope someoen doest pull it. and he is black. eh. so i eh inciting nuttin racial. just tit for tat.
Post by: Pompey on June 20, 2006, 06:44:38 AM
SEE POMPEY dais y u eh get trinis. we does talk plenty we hardly ever act. lol trust me she could say what she want. that wont incite racial nuttin. relax. even when we have genuine reasons to feel agrieved we rarely do anythign. thats the bane of free spiritied and over joyyous ppl i guess. but i am sure the engish werent saying its the defender fault he didnt ..... blah blah y maradona handled th ball. no. and shouldnt she feel a lil bitter that  that comment was made by such a promonment figure in english football. and no one even really saying anythign about it . it really his fault his hair is long i agree dais his perogative, wasnt becks hair long. i think generealy trini more angree of the lack of acknolwdge ment that ti was a blatant infrignement  as happen witht he hand of god. the english press is mum about it. we all know nothing will be done about it. but they should act like it never happned and its sancho's fault who didnt even complain mind u.  he didnt protest in the least. what ah professinol eh. rio has long hair. i hope someoen doest pull it. and he is black. eh. so i eh inciting nuttin racial. just tit for tat.

we'll beat Sweden for you tongiht, just keep your end of the bargain and beat Paraguay. Trust me, that happens and you will have 40 million Englishmen cheering you on against Germany. :cheers:

If Germany beat you the same way we did, there will plenty to read about in the English press ;D
Post by: Organic on June 20, 2006, 08:12:57 AM

we'll beat Sweden for you tongiht, just keep your end of the bargain and beat Paraguay. Trust me, that happens and you will have 40 million Englishmen cheering you on against Germany. :cheers:

If Germany beat you the same way we did, there will plenty to read about in the English press ;D
will do man will do :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: takenoprisoners on June 20, 2006, 09:42:10 AM
http://trinidadtobago.worldcupblog.org/1/hand-of-crouch.html
Had a look at the video and the still photos do not show what really happened. When Crouch yanked on Sancho's hair, Sancho was facing the goal. As Crouch tugged on his hair, Sancho had to rotate his body 180 degress counterclockwise in the direction of the tug otherwise he could have sustained a neck injury.
Forget about the goal , forget about cheating , this was a calculated move on Crouch's part which could have resorted in serious injury. The only thing that was missing was Sancho did not fall to the ground  and feign injury. He is a bigger man for that!!!
Trinidad and Tobago might be small but the team has been exemplary on an off the fleid, despite such a flagrant incident.
FIFA has missed an opportunity to come down hard on Crouch. When will they?
Post by: sprog on June 20, 2006, 09:45:33 AM
Dont worry he'll get what he deserves
Post by: Flex on July 10, 2006, 04:28:47 AM
Crouch: I pulled Sancho’s locks.
T&T Newsday.

England forward Peter Crouch has made a confession in the British press that he did tug the dreadlocks of Trinidad and Tobago’s Brent Sancho to score the crucial first goal for his team in the World Cup match in Nuremberg, Germany on June 15.
In an interview with journalist Rob Draper of the Mail yesterday, the six-foot seven-inch tall Crouch made the confession.
The article under the headline “Oh well, at least Crouch will be strutting his stuff again” on pages four and five stated:
“Crouch also confesses that his breakthrough goal against Trinidad was lucky to be allowed. The striker was seen to tug the dreadlocks of defender Brent Sancho as he climbed to head the opener in England’s 2-0 win.”
The article quoted Crouch as saying “Yeah, I did it but I honestly didn’t realise until after the game. It must have been instinctive. When I watched German TV that night, though, I knew. They constantly repeated it.”
It appears that the incident will be on the sports pages of the British press on a regular basis similar to the Diego Maradona incident when the Argentina player handled the ball to score a crucial goal against England in a quarter-final encounter in the 1986 World Cup tournament in Mexico.
England were knocked out of the tournament after the controversial goal which is often referred to as the “Hand of God” goal. In the same newspaper an article by Patrick Collins, Chief Sports Writer in Berlin for the Mail yesterday wrote under the headline “Cheats? Talk to Shearer and Lineker.”
Collins was reviewing comments by the two ex-England players concerning the England/Portugal match.
Collins wrote: “Incidentally, we haven’t mentioned England’s match with Trinidad and Tobago, the one in which Peter Crouch headed the crucial first goal after yanking aside the dreadlocks of defender Brent Sancho.
“I don’t recall Shearer and Lineker mentioning that piece of cheating, either. Probably slipped their minds.”
Trinidad and Tobago continue to get good reviews from the British press and football fans for their performance in the three match in their debut at the World Cup Finals in Germany.
Post by: dctrini1 on July 10, 2006, 05:01:54 AM
You guys who think the refree should have called a foul against Crouch should petition FIFA to introduce video replay if a team complains about an infringement while a goal is scored. There have been many cases in this world cup when as fans we blame the refree but in a lot of cases we had the option of a second and third look when the refree only has one and to me it would have been difficult for the ref to get that one.
Post by: skatetackle on July 10, 2006, 08:08:38 AM
Well, really and truly it's up to the players to crowd the ref and help get the goal appealed there and then, especially in that scenario. Look at the final, how long after the ref make the call to book ZZ. if there is an on pitch protest it must be dealt with. I blame the, Crouch, the Refs then we. I personally didn't see the infraction from my vantage point (live in stadium) when it occured but I wasn't 20 feet from the pitch, but with 5 enforcers watching the game this is not acceptable. Anyway 31 teams get knocked out so we ain't do so bad.
Post by: Rastaman on July 10, 2006, 02:59:43 PM
Well lucky for Zidane the 4th official saw his antics. Unluky for us he and most people did not see what Crouch did. Or maby he did and because we did not protest and sorround the referee we got nothing....Says a lot for fair play.
Title: HE SHOOTS... SHE SCORES
Post by: kingman on July 11, 2006, 10:17:13 PM
Don't know how true it is, but I guess it still worth reading

(http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/images/homepage/n1_05.jpg)    (http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/images/homepage/n1_06.jpg)
By Bethany Usher and Rob Kellaway
SOURCE :- news of the world

Coke-hoovering blonde Abi Clancy watched boyfriend Peter Crouch score a hat-trick for England... then sneaked off for a night of lust with a builder, the News of the World can reveal.

As HE was celebrating the goals against Jamaica with his famous robodance, SHE was plotting a sex session with an ex-lover behind his back.

Wannabe model and singer Abi, 20, confessed her cheating AND her huge cocaine habit to Crouch hours before the vital World Cup game with Trinidad and Tobago.

Rumours emerged that there were pictures of her bingeing on mounds of cocaine at a party, crudely exposing her breasts as blobs of the drug hung from her nose.

Crouch, 25, FORGAVE her, then went on to score the goal that took England through the group stages.

She made a grovelling apology to his father Bruce, who immediately ordered her back to England.

Abi, who'd been bankrolled with thousands of pounds by Crouch to enjoy herself with the other WAGs at their luxury hotel in Baden-Baden, flew home in disgrace.

Blow

But within hours, the coke-fiend blonde was cheating on him AGAIN with the same ex-boyfriend.

A Crouch pal said last night: "He expected her at least to behave herself after all that. This new betrayal will be a huge blow."

Abi was seen cheering in the stands with Posh, Coleen McLoughlan and the other WAGs five weeks ago as she watched the 6-0 World Cup warm-up win over Jamaica at Old Trafford, Manchester.

But the next day she rushed to the arms of her lover Ben Lunt, 23, below.

The builder picked her up from her parents' house and took her to his home in Tue Brook, Merseyside, for a night of passion.

Abi emerged around 7.20am the next day and got a taxi home. Friends say Ben had no idea she was also going out with the beanpole Liverpool striker until he read it in a newspaper afterwards.

A close friend revealed: "Ben was gobsmacked.

"He didn't even know Abi had been to the Jamaica game. She had been secretly dating Peter for months, but had done her best to keep it quiet so she could see Ben too.

"She even turned down an invitation to Posh and Becks' pre-World Cup party in case she was photographed with Peter. Ben confronted her after reading the stories but Abi denied it. Then she went to Germany to support Peter at the World Cup. He was devastated."

Abi spent her time partying and shopping with the other WAGs— wives and girlfriends—in Baden-Baden. She was welcomed with open arms by fellow Scousers Coleen and Alex Curran.

But they gave her the cold shoulder after they heard about pictures of her taking cocaine.

Some, snapped two years ago, show the drug around her nose. Others—taken just before she met the Liverpool star—are more graphic.

They show Abi spooning cocaine into her nose with a HOUSE KEY to get high.

In one snap there is cocaine residue on her hand after she's wiped her nose and in another she looks heavily under the influence of the Class A drug.

The pictures were taken at a dance musical festival in Liverpool in August last year. One onlooker recalled: "Abi was really bubbly that night, a real whirlwind.

"Suddenly she had this wrap of cocaine in her hand. There looked like a gram, worth about 60 quid. She was being very open about it, she did not give a t*ss who saw her. She used a key to snort it. I don't know if she realised she was having her picture taken by someone on a mobile phone."

Another source said: "Peter's parents heard about the cocaine and they were furious.

"They were horrified at him being associated with someone who takes drugs and they feared it would distract him from doing his job for England in Germany."

After being sent home, Abi—who is due to star in the next series of Britain's Next Top Model starting on July 24—flew straight to London for crisis talks with her management about how to save her career.

But after a number of photo-shoots she returned to her native Liverpool—and the arms of her former lover Ben.

While Crouch was training and giving interviews to the press in Germany on Thursday, June 22, Abi and Ben met up at a bar where they shocked revellers by kissing and holding hands.

They went for a meal at the Shangri-La Chinese restaurant and karaoke bar before booking a room at Sir Thomas Hotel nearby.

They emerged from the hotel looking dishevelled and in the same clothes at around 11 the next morning. An eyewitness said: "No one could get over the way they were behaving in the bar.

"Everyone knew she's supposed to be going out with Peter Crouch, but she was all over Ben.

"At one point a girl went over and told her she was a slut for messing around behind Peter's back.

"The pair of them started shouting at each other, but Ben went over and rescued Abi.

"They were literally all over each other. She was wearing a little silver dress and he kept rubbing his hand across her back. She looked stunning and the lad couldn't resist her."

Devious Abi, who used to date Ben's twin brother Joe, managed to convince her secret lover that she was not really going out with Crouch after all.

Damaged

A pal said: "That's why he agreed to see her again. Abi is used to getting whatever she wants.

"She went out with Joe, but it didn't stop her going after Ben. She says she loves Ben, but it didn't stop her going off with Peter.

"Now going out with Peter isn't stopping her sleeping with Ben.

"Abi has always wanted to be famous and she'll do anything to get there. She doesn't care who she hurts.

"Now she's in serious trouble. She is damaged goods and will find it hard to get modelling jobs."

Title: Re: HE SHOOTS... SHE SCORES
Post by: Trini Madness on July 11, 2006, 10:25:11 PM
that is just really f-ed up!!!!  :o
Title: Re: HE SHOOTS... SHE SCORES
Post by: Kingk on July 12, 2006, 12:16:04 AM
i guess she wasnt impressed with his robot :devil:
Post by: Pompey on July 12, 2006, 07:04:38 AM
desperate to be famous model shags footballer and takes drugs scandel  :o

Sounds like the next candidate for a reality tv show. ::)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 13, 2006, 02:25:11 PM
hm   perfect replay of crouch pulling sancho's hair....  hear the reaction from the german fans

http://youtube.com/watch?v=H2WxxwYBvrk&search=crouch%20pulls%20%20hair
Title: Odds against England
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 13, 2006, 04:25:33 PM
Odds against England
By John Sinnott
BBC Sport

If you are still getting over England's abject World Cup campaign, brace yourself for some more bad news.

And it has nothing to do with former national boss Sven-Goran Eriksson's conservative management style or striker Wayne Rooney's combustible temper.

The bad news is that the odds remain heavily stacked against England winning a major tournament any time soon.

That is because endemic fault lines run from top to bottom of England's football pyramid.

Dutchman Johnny Metgod played for Nottingham Forest and Tottenham during the 1980s and remembers then the question being posed as to why England always fell short in comparison to their continental neighbours.

"In England you are still talking about it," Feyenoord assistant manager Metgod told BBC Sport. "That says it all for me."

Eriksson's team - dubbed England's golden generation - travelled to Germany with great things expected of the likes of Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard and Rooney.

Yet the England side never quite gelled, with those three players in particular enduring a frustrating tournament.

And former England manager Graham Taylor believes there will be no fix to the national team's problems.

In fact, he is so pessimistic he thinks England may struggle like Scotland have done in recent years.

Taylor attributes England's international malaise to the self-interest of the Premiership clubs.

"Do our clubs come first? Of course they do," Taylor told BBC Five Live Sport.

"Every two years we play an international tournament in the heat of the summer and we expect the team to come out and win.

"We never really properly prepare for international tournament football.

"When I look at our under-21 team and the clubs the players come from I wonder what will happen to our national team in 10 years."

It is not only at the game's apex that there are problems.

At youth level, England is breathlessly playing catch-up with the rest of Europe.

"For me, the difference is the quantity of training in England and France," Spurs sporting director Damien Comolli told BBC Sport.

"Over four years between the ages of 12 and 16 a French boy would receive 2,304 hours of training. That is twice as much as England - where you would be given 1,152 hours.

"Those four years are crucial - they are the most important years in youth football - both physically and technically. It is difficult to catch up when you are 17 or 18.

"It is like a musician, it doesn't matter whether he is English or French, the one who works more becomes better."

STREET FOOTBALL

Comolli believes the best youth systems in Europe are in France, Spain, Holland and Portugal.

France reached the World Cup final, Portugal the semis, while Spain and Holland conducted stylish campaigns and were considered unfortunate to go out at the last-16 stage.

"The work of the academies in those four countries is based purely on technique between the ages of 12 and 16," added Comolli.

"Competition comes on Saturday but for the rest of the week they just play with the ball.

Tottenham are one of the few Premiership clubs - Manchester United are another - who have taken the step of employing a dedicated skills trainer.

Dutchman Ricardo Moniz, who joined Spurs from PSV Eindhoven last season, uses technical drills devised by the Dutch coach, Wiel Coerver.

Coerver's method is aimed at improving the technical rather than tactical ability.

"Moniz does a great job," said Comolli. "You can see the improvement in the kids in just a short time."

Comolli paid tribute to the work of former Liverpool boss and current Lyon coach Gerard Houllier, who helped set up France's academy system.

Houllier wanted to recreate street football within a more organised structure - a philosophy Dutch clubs have also implemented.

"In youth football we are trying to get back to basics," said Metgod.

"When I was a youngster I was playing in a street - it forms your character in a natural way - but you can't do that because it is too dangerous.

"In Holland we are in position where we need the youngsters. We need them to do well for the club and if they move on their transfer fee can help keep the club going.

"If I want to be very blunt I would say the best coach at the club should be involved with the youth teams. That is the future of the club.

"You need to start going with the best coaches with the boys from seven. That is when they learn the fastest.

"At Feyenoord we try and bring back former first-team players to let them work with youth players and also help them develop as coaches.

"There are not a lot of clubs in the world that can say we don't need a youth development programme but it is also something you have to devote a lot of money to."

CONTROL
Former Everton and Scotland midfielder John Collins, who also played for French Ligue 1 club Monaco, goes further than Comolli in arguing that the French academies develop a different type of player than their English counterparts.

"The emphasis is not just on producing young footballers, it is about producing rounded young people," said Collins.

"There is a lot of emphasis on education because the players live at the academies.

"They come in at the age of 14 and it's train, school class, train, school class.

"They are under complete surveillance all the time. They have to work at their grades and are assessed each month.

"At Monaco there were 14 classrooms within the club's stadium.

"I always thought the youngsters were more rounded, had better manners and better discipline.

"They are not allowed to swear and they have to eat properly.

"It is all about the little things - but the little things matter. That 2% improvement is what makes the difference.

"Monaco is a club that has produced David Trezeguet, Thierry Henry, Lilian Thuram and Emmanuel Petit. It's not a big club with a lot of money, it's a producing club."

Just down the road from Monaco on the French Riviera is Cannes, a club that is not even in Ligue 1 but its academy produced France internationals Zinedine Zidane and Patrick Vieira.

Title: ESPN Sportscenter: Hairy Situations
Post by: acb on December 05, 2008, 11:34:06 AM
Just showed Crouch pulling Sancho's hair on Sportscenter.
Not good review from commentator on Crouch's infringement ... said it was a "double whammy"
Post by: elan on December 05, 2008, 01:38:49 PM
Watch meh Sancho had Crouch in he pocket, up until then. Sancho put a lot of pressure on Crouch in the air where Crouch could not connect properly, I believe he was told at half time how to gain the advantage on Sancho. The one time Sancho did not get to go up with him he score.
Title: Re: ESPN Sportscenter: Hairy Situations
Post by: Bakes on December 05, 2008, 02:05:42 PM
Just showed Crouch pulling Sancho's hair on Sportscenter.
Not good review from commentator on Crouch's infringement ... said it was a "double whammy"

Lol... they been replaying it all morning, in conjunction with other sports-related hair-pulling incidents.  Was quite surprised that it was even on their (ESPN) radar two and a half years later.
Post by: acb on December 05, 2008, 11:09:51 PM
I wonder what tags they have for that footage in their library.

hair, pulling, rastaman, T&T, England, worldcup, germany
Title: Is not only CROUCH does pull hair
Post by: Warrior30 on December 06, 2008, 11:28:42 AM
http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/football/blog/dr_saturday/post/Louisville-takes-out-night-of-dread-on-Jourdan-B?urn=ncaaf,127181

check that link out
Title: Re: Is not only CROUCH does pull hair
Post by: Bakes on December 06, 2008, 11:42:51 AM
http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/football/blog/dr_saturday/post/Louisville-takes-out-night-of-dread-on-Jourdan-B?urn=ncaaf,127181

check that link out

Yeah Warrior... that was the context in which they brought up the Crouch incident, they showed that highlight then pointed out other infamous moments involving hair-pulling, including Troy Polamalu and Larry Johnson being tackled by the hair.