Sports => Football => Topic started by: ffreturns on January 02, 2006, 09:35:29 AM

Title: Best ever T&T XI
Post by: ffreturns on January 02, 2006, 09:35:29 AM
I have decided to make  list of my best ever 11 for T&T .

Shaka Hislop

Anthony Rougier

Brian Williams                                                                                      Marvin Faustin

Marvin Andrews

Ronnie Mauge                           Leroy DeLeon

Russell Latapy                          David Nakhid

Steve David                            Warren Archibald
Title: Re: my best ever t&t 11
Post by: truetrini on January 02, 2006, 09:47:59 AM
Ronnie Mauge?  Brian Williams?  Rougier?

And No Dwight Yorke?
Title: Re: My best ever T&T 11
Post by: College on January 02, 2006, 09:55:10 AM
what??
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2006, 10:19:31 AM

And No Dwight Yorke?
LOL
Post by: saga pinto on January 02, 2006, 10:29:08 AM
Here goes:Goal keepers: earl carter, jean moutet,winston phillips

defenders: brian williams        clayton morris    tyrone de labastide                     marvin faustin

middle:     dwight yorke        russell  latapy          leroy de leon

up-front:steve david          alvin corneal            warren archibald.

Post by: dumpalewie on January 02, 2006, 10:39:39 AM

And No Dwight Yorke?
You know what i'm saying??
Post by: Tallman on January 02, 2006, 10:54:48 AM
What is the criteria for this best 11? Is it based on performances in T&T colours, is it based on an entire career, or is it just based on perceived "ability"?
Post by: royal on January 02, 2006, 11:48:15 AM
I want to know too.What de hell is it base on.It had so many good men who wore T&T colours in the past that we hadly here about today men like Mathew Nunes who old timers believe is the best footballer we ever produce,Shay Seymour one of our first pros in England in de '50's and so on .You must have a sure criteria for selection.Ever is a problem because you ain't living forever ;D
Post by: Sam on January 02, 2006, 12:10:51 PM
First 11.

Coach - Sprangalang.
Assistant - Abu Bakar.

R.Boynes
B.Panday, E.Williams, G.Chambers, P.Manning
ANR Robinson, W.Dookaran, R.Maraj, K.Rowley
H.Chin Lee, G.Richards

Subs:
Bissessar, H.Manning, K.Valley, Yemin, C.Pantin, D.Montano, R.Deosaran, M.Joseph.

Second 11.

Coach - Sundar Popo.
Assistant - Socapro.

D'Hitman
Blackie, KMC, B.Garlin , D. E.Slaughter
G.Flex, M.Montano, M.Dan, T.Prescott
D.Garcia, S.Winchester.

Subs:
F.A. Lyons, Ataklan, Ajala, D.Belfon, Crazy, Shadow, G.Grant, A.Samaroo.
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2006, 01:33:07 PM
First 11.

Coach - Sprangalang.
Assistant - Abu Bakar.

R.Boynes
B.Panday, E.Williams, G.Chambers, P.Manning
ANR Robinson, W.Dookaran, R.Maraj, K.Rowley
H.Chin Lee, G.Richards

Subs:
Bissessar, H.Manning, K.Valley, Yemin, C.Pantin, D.Montano, R.Deosaran, M.Joseph.

Second 11.

Coach - Sundar Popo.
Assistant - Socapro.

D'Hitman
Blackie, KMC, B.Garlin , D. E.Slaughter
G.Flex, M.Montano, M.Dan, T.Prescott
D.Garcia, S.Winchester.

Subs:
F.A. Lyons, Ataklan, Ajala, D.Belfon, Crazy, Shadow, G.Grant, A.Samaroo.
:rotfl: You Couldn't Throw Fay ann Up Front wid Destra?  :rotfl:
Post by: chunk-a-loonks on January 02, 2006, 03:27:46 PM
Somehow Sammy Llewelyn have to feature in the mix.
Post by: oconnorg on January 03, 2006, 05:31:41 AM
I have decided to make list of my best ever 11 for T&T .

Shaka Hislop

Anthony Rougier

Brian Williams Marvin Faustin

Marvin Andrews

Ronnie Mauge Leroy DeLeon

Russell Latapy David Nakhid

Steve David Warren Archibald

what de fire clawt ... Well yesss!!
Post by: football king on January 03, 2006, 08:23:38 AM
shaka

brian williams
jb
craig
faustin

latas
spann
nahkid
yorke(put him here so i could fit stern)

stern
ron la
Post by: RGarcia on January 03, 2006, 10:14:24 AM
 :rotfl: Sam yuh aint easy nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but yuh have to find a space fuh General Grant  :devil:
Post by: samo on January 03, 2006, 11:12:45 AM
T&T First 11.

Coach - Patriot
Assistant - socapro

Flex,Tallman, Sam,Touches
Samo, palos, TT,jdb
maxg,jumbie,vb

Subs:
Oconnorg, Big M,Davidephraim,andresamuel,MrMC, morvatman

Saga League:

Captain: Sagapinto
Peter Minshall
Richard Ragoobarsingh
Michael Jackson

I cyah think, yuh could add names...

Post by: Trini_fan on January 03, 2006, 11:24:40 AM
Somehow Sammy Llewelyn have to feature in the mix.

I agree ;D
Post by: Israel on January 03, 2006, 12:21:05 PM
shaka

brian williams
jb
craig
faustin

latas
spann
nahkid
yorke(put him here so i could fit stern)

stern
ron la

footballking, may i ask which craig is dis u talking bout?
Post by: saga pinto on January 03, 2006, 01:00:56 PM
T&T First 11.

Coach - Patriot
Assistant - socapro

Flex,Tallman, Sam,Touches
Samo, palos, TT,jdb
maxg,jumbie,vb

Subs:
Oconnorg, Big M,Davidephraim,andresamuel,MrMC, morvatman

Saga League:

Captain: Sagapinto
Peter Minshall
Richard Ragoobarsingh
Michael Jackson

I cyah think, yuh could add names...

Coming to think about it minshall,ragoobarsingh was two serious ball men in dey days,and as fuh mj he playin with them bahrain balls every week until he master it.
Post by: FF on January 03, 2006, 01:38:08 PM

footballking, may i ask which craig is dis u talking bout?

Garnett Craig!!

Careful dey Israel.... yuh showing yuh youth!!

Craig was one of the best stoppers ever produced in Trinidad...
Big and strong all around... played in de late seventies I believe.....
One of de older heads go come and educate yuh just now....
Post by: football king on January 03, 2006, 01:41:01 PM
FF is correct Israel-he was a good one.
Post by: grskywalker on January 03, 2006, 01:51:19 PM
No Trini team would be complete without Leonson Lewis on the left wing
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2006, 02:01:44 PM

YES i was wondering when someone would finally say da!

Like dem men never saw him ever play a match.

He must have been the quickest player T&T has ever had. Not many men had pace like him.

and he could hit de ball hard too (and on de go)
Post by: Israel on January 03, 2006, 07:07:34 PM
Tanx FF and footballking, I was unfortunate to see Garnett Craig play dats why I asked which Craig. D only craig i saw play was Demmin and I know he aint good in a T&T shirt. But tanx fuh d heads up fellas.

Respeck
Post by: Big Magician on January 03, 2006, 07:14:31 PM
this iis in  my viewing time 75 to present...

ince

arab nelson/roughier      andrews  morris        joel rahim

edwards                nakhid  latapy            l. spann (fadda)

yorke   s. john
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2006, 07:16:36 PM
wam to Lewis boy Bigs? :rotfl:

atleast yuh mus have he as ah steady sub
Post by: Big Magician on January 03, 2006, 07:32:48 PM
jeff...leo is a real good friend and someone i grew up with....top class player....great pro....but is bout balance and positions.....he was a better striker than a winger for me....of course he will be in my 18 man squad
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2006, 07:44:32 PM
jeff...leo is a real good friend and someone i grew up with....top class player....great pro....but is bout balance and positions.....he was a better striker than a winger for me....of course he will be in my 18 man squad
hmm yea cant say i know quite enough to balance out the team the ALL time team. I only have know so much of the T&T national squad startin from a select few strike squade players to current so a trust yu'd put out a nicely co-prdinated team.

;) i kno yu'd put he on in de second half so he could buss a goal in de opposition ass doh.  :D
Post by: grskywalker on January 09, 2006, 12:54:21 AM

YES i was wondering when someone would finally say da!

Like dem men never saw him ever play a match.

He must have been the quickest player T&T has ever had. Not many men had pace like him.

and he could hit de ball hard too (and on de go)

And doh forget the volley he had against Crystal Palace
Title: All Time Best
Post by: Benjie on May 19, 2006, 09:18:33 AM
Around this time we all start tio think of who was the best team or player or who had the best beat or shot on goal. We all get nostalgic for the better times when players played like players and wasn't as lucky as now. We realise that maybe we wrong but we strong and unwilling to back down.

Anyhow after that stirring introduction I want to propose that we name for us the best all time eleven for trinidad as a farewell gift to latas as he leaves or to thumb your nose at him if you feel that he doh deserve ah place on the team. any how I would like to propose that Players be selected from only senior teams. They should have gained at least 5 caps and have played within the last 50 years.

I realise that The old stagers will plump for the legends of old and the Young fries will select the newbies but this exercise for me is fun and also information seeking about the realitive ability of players especially in defence whether it is true that the skill level has dramatically fallen or this period is an abberation.

Title: Re: Best ever T&T XI
Post by: real madness on May 19, 2006, 11:02:21 AM
ronnie mauge..that is the funniest thing i see in a while....this is a difficult topic because I heard a lot of great things about players like BobbY sookram, Lincoln Phillips, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, Steve David, Warren Archibald, Alvin Corneal, etc...but I have never seen them play..so me picking a best XI would be pointless...I am looking forward to posters like Coops and the other forumites who have actually seen these guys play and probably played against them....In the past 20 years, probably only Yorke and Latapy will make the best XI.

Post by: injunchile on May 19, 2006, 11:21:33 AM
                                       Joey Gonzales- Pat Gomez- Lincoln Phillips

Tyrone Delabastide         turton Bros          Spooner

Gally Cummings   De Leon    Sedley Joseph     Shay Semour  A Casual man who use to sring up Milo man Burnett.

Horace Lovelace Matthew Nunes  Carlton Franco  Alvin Corneal   Len Leggard.
Post by: injunchile on May 19, 2006, 11:30:12 AM
Since The Strike Squad- Lets narrow it down.

Earl Carter

Williams          Andrews     Morris      Faustin

Latapy   Whitley    Jamerson    Leonson Lewis   Evan Wise                 YOrke                               
Post by: FF on May 19, 2006, 11:41:18 AM
Since The Strike Squad- Lets narrow it down.

Earl Carter

Williams          Andrews     Morris      Faustin

Latapy   Whitley    Jamerson    Leonson Lewis   Evan Wise                 YOrke                               

Injunchile... ah like de team.... but I would take out wise...

Beat this side

------------------------Earl Carter------------------------

Williams-------Andrews-------Morris------------Faustin

------------------Jamerson-----Nakhid---------------------
Yorke------------------------------------------------Nixon
---------------------------Latapy---------------------------
--------------------------Leonson-------------------------
Post by: Coop's on May 19, 2006, 11:55:22 AM
ronnie mauge..that is the funniest thing i see in a while....this is a difficult topic because I heard a lot of great things about players like BobbY sookram, Lincoln Phillips, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, Steve David, Warren Archibald, Alvin Corneal, etc...but I have never seen them play..so me picking a best XI would be pointless...I am looking forward to posters like Coops and the other forumites who have actually seen these guys play and probably played against them....In the past 20 years, probably only Yorke and Latapy will make the best XI.

This is the hardest thing to do,anybody who can come up with a best T&T X1 that will satisfy everybody i'll give them the Humming Bird medal,the reason it's so difficult for most is they came around in different times.
          I know i've played and seen a lot and there were players before that i heard off but did not see,i'm not even going to attempt to name a team because it hurts to leave out such good players.
           It's a good Topic though,from the teams selected you get an idea of who now start looking at Football and who watching it long time,who played the game and who did not,who like quality players and who like dandy men,who could be a good Coach and who can't.
           What i'm trying to say is when people look at players they all see something different,that's the reason for all these different teams being posted here but i like that,you can see from this how difficult a Coach's job is.
Post by: vb on May 19, 2006, 01:52:26 PM
I eh see enough of the old timers...but certainly...Corneal, Gally, De Leon, Spann, Lellwyn, Pat Gomez and Tiger Phillips deserve consideration.

How many of you have heard of Babsie Daniel AKA "Dribbling Jesus." or Roy Seon....legends from the 1940s who ppl were still writing about up to the 80s and 90s.

Anyway from the last 25 years.

Shaka

B. Williams                           Dog ....  Whitley                Ainsley Weekes

Angus Eve                           Nakhid.......Latas                 L. Lewis

Yorke/Stern(the 1999 version)

Subs: John Granville, Ince

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Anybody who see Eve in his younger days would understand why he dey. Back in the 2001 qualifiers...he had Mex looking sorf as hell, as he constantly just ghosted past them.

The problem with the wingers is that they were poor crossers, this is why I started with Eve ahead of Marcelle. I was tempted to put Yorke as left winger, but how can you ignore what he did with MU as a striker.

Truth is if I had this team I could mix and match...but this is just fantasy anyway.

Remeber this is just form the last 25 yrs.

Post by: chunk-a-loonks on May 19, 2006, 07:29:10 PM
vb...interesting you call Roy Seon. He was way way before my time but I met him about 20 years ago in England. My parents and some ole timers can stop talking about him as probably the best dribbler of all time from TnT.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 19, 2006, 11:39:43 PM
I eh see enough of the old timers...but certainly...Corneal, Gally, De Leon, Spann, Lellwyn, Pat Gomez and Tiger Phillips deserve consideration.

How many of you have heard of Babsie Daniel AKA "Dribbling Jesus." or Roy Seon....legends from the 1940s who ppl were still writing about up to the 80s and 90s.

Shaka

B. Williams                           Dog ....  Whitley                Ainsley Weekes

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Anybody who see Eve in his younger days would understand why he dey. Back in the 2001 qualifiers...he had Mex looking sorf as hell, as he constantly just ghosted past them.

The problem with the wingers is that they were poor crossers, this is why I started with Eve ahead of Marcelle. I was tempted to put Yorke as left winger, but how can you ignore what he did with MU as a striker.

Truth is if I had this team I could mix and match...but this is just fantasy anyway.

I was reading the list and preparing to ask onn my post about  Ron La but dis man here beat meh to it.  Wait nuh, dize Len leggard I see a man put dey?!? Lenny from de Vale?  Who went QRC?   What about Bert Neptune? anybody agree that maybe he should be mentioned?
Post by: Coop's on May 20, 2006, 03:27:30 AM

I was reading the list and preparing to ask onn my post about  Ron La but dis man here beat meh to it.  Wait nuh, dize Len leggard I see a man put dey?!? Lenny from de Vale?  Who went QRC?   What about Bert Neptune? anybody agree that maybe he should be mentioned?
        I can't say if Bert should be mentioned or not but will say he is the best dribbler of the ball i've seen in T&T.
Post by: Benjie on May 20, 2006, 04:22:32 AM
For me

Lincoln Phillips
Brian Williams Dexter Francis Carlton Franco Marvin Faustin
Gally Cummings Kerry Jamerson Leroy de Leon
Russell Latapy Dwight Yorke Warren Archibald

Noel Llewellyn
Steve David
Leonson Lewis
Tyrone De La Bastide
Wilfred Cave
Charlie Spooner
Carlton Hinds
Earl Carter
Post by: Tongue on May 20, 2006, 07:11:17 AM
No room for Bert Grell?
Post by: vb on May 21, 2006, 03:57:30 PM

Shaka

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Imagine I forget about J. Nixon :o
Post by: Storeboy on May 21, 2006, 07:10:30 PM
All yuh memory so short.  How could you have a best TT XI without Everard "Gally" Cummings.  Well to each his own!
Post by: vb on May 21, 2006, 07:15:22 PM
Storeboy,

pay attention to the posts nah.

Some of us chose only from the last 25 years.

It real easy just to throw in one name.

Try picking a team, with subs..see who you would leave out. It's not that mundane.

Post by: sjahrain on May 22, 2006, 04:18:00 AM
              Gerald Figeroa....Shaka Hislop

Brian Williams  Russell Teashera  Marvin Andrews  Clayton Morris

Gally Cummings  Russell latapy   Leory Deleon  Leory Spann

Warren Archiebald   Dwight Yorke

Subs
Sammmy
LaForest
Buggy Haynes
Leon Carpet
Post by: vb on May 22, 2006, 06:05:02 AM
              Gerald Figeroa....Shaka Hislop

Brian Williams  Russell Teashera  Marvin Andrews  Clayton Morris

Gally Cummings  Russell latapy   Leory Deleon  Leory Spann

Warren Archiebald   Dwight Yorke

Subs
Sammmy
LaForest
Buggy Haynes
Leon Carpet

Well, I eh go lie.

Yuh have a wicked side dey.

Post by: Baygo Boy on May 22, 2006, 08:13:19 AM
What I will like to know is who you guys think are the three best T&T defensive midfielders ever-  :beermug:
Post by: vb on May 22, 2006, 09:51:20 AM
Ah see men picking side, with players they never see play, so I decide to join de fantasy too.

Tiger Phillips

B. Williams                          Dog/Garnette Craig                 A. Weekes

Latas/Nakhid

L. Lewis                                                                         L. DeLeon

Yorke/Gally

Subs
Joey Gonsalves
Shaka
Bert Grell
C. Morris
Skinner?? from Trinity College
Leroy Spann
Marcelle
Birchall
J. Nixon
Alvin Corneal
Steve David
Ron La forest

I honestly think Bomber Theodore and Rougier should be considered. Roug was the perfect utility man...defense, midfld or even up front...and speed to boot.

I've heard a lot about Tesheira, Archibald and some of the other oldsters, but just don't enough to rate them. On my first side up on top, I totally forgot about Craig, Skinner and Nixon for a squad of the last 25 years.

Title: Trinidad fantasy team
Post by: kingman on July 15, 2006, 11:16:04 PM
Pick your all time fantasy team. It must mostly comprise of pass players but can also include a couple current players (preferable no more than 3). If you would like, name your subs as well.

3-5-2 formation

Lincoln Phillips

Clayton Morris

Richard Theodore - Dick Furlonge     

Dom Basil Matthews

Terry St. Louis - Clint Marcelle - David Nakhid - Leonson Lewis

Ian Clauzel - Dwight Yorke

Subs

Earl Carter
Leroy DeLeon
Warren Archibald
Sedley Joseph
Carlton Franco
Russel Latapy (I giving him a beenie)  ;D
Brent Sancho

Flex, I want to hear your squad now. I have a bomb squad here (with real depth)  :D

Title: Re: Trinidad fantasy team
Post by: fishs on July 16, 2006, 01:37:49 AM
 Shit side.

Where Gally ?
 Where Steve David ?
 Where Russel Tesheira ?
 Where Alvin Corneal ?
 Where de tank?
 Latas on the bench .

Like yuh make up that team to cause argument or what ?
Post by: Trinione on July 16, 2006, 04:02:21 AM
Latas on de BENCH!!!  ??? ??? ???
Post by: duscam on July 16, 2006, 06:28:33 AM
latas on the bench and st louis startin?
Post by: kingman on July 16, 2006, 08:18:48 AM
Shit side.

Where Gally ?
 Where Steve David ?
 Where Russel Tesheira ?
 Where Alvin Corneal ?
 Where de tank?
 Latas on the bench .

Like yuh make up that team to cause argument or what ?

:rotfl: So because I don't have these guys on my team my team is shit?  :rotfl: Pick your side pal and bring your best game forward. I am waiting. This is MY team  ;D

Duscam and Trinione, so because Latas on my bench my team is shit? I is the coach and I have real tactics up these sleeves  :D  Is Italy team shit? Is France team shit? Is Argentina team shit? Is Mexico team shit? Watch the players they had coming off the bench in the world cup. That is the key to any great team; a lot of depth and tactical moves.

Post by: ANC2 on July 16, 2006, 08:59:27 AM
This is always difficult especially since it don't have that many old heads here.

I mean a best ever T&T team without mention of Carlton Franco, Dilbert Charlo, Raymond Maraldo etc.
Man talking about Tiger Phillips a man who was good yes but gave up some 12 goals in 6 games for T&T in Qualification?????. What about Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Barclay. Nakid before, Aleong, Leon Carpett or Tony Douglas, Wendell Moore was a better player than Nakid. No mention of Bert Neptune. I could go on but once I see names like Clauzel I have to bow out.
Post by: berris on July 16, 2006, 09:04:57 AM
                                                     SHAKA

(capt)
BRIAN WILLIAMS               SELWYN MURREN            JB MORRIS     'BEE' PHILLIPS

GALLY      LATAPY    DE LEON    LEROY SPANN

DWIGHT  STERN JOHN

SUBS --   Spiderman Carter
              Kelvin Barclay
             Theshera
             Sedley Joseph
             Arab
             Fuastin
             V.Skinner
             Tony Douglas
             Carlos Edwards
             Carpette
             Steve David
             Sammy
             Archibald (both ah dem)
             Ron La (once he eh touchin)

P.S Before al yuh crticize meh for picking Stern John,yuh cyar have yuh best ever TnT 11 and leave out yuh all time leading goal scorer ! ;)                          
Post by: Rodney on July 16, 2006, 09:07:44 AM
This is based only on players I have seen either first hand or on video and in posistions I find they have or would have given their best performances for T&T. Many others could be included based on what I have read, namely Warren Archibald, Lincoln Phillips, Bert Grell etc but, never saw them play so..here goes:

Hislop

Carlos Edwards....Brian Williams....Marvin Andrews....Marvin Faustin

Dwight Yorke

Leonson Lewis..... Russel Latapy....Leroy DeLeon

'Gally' Cummings

Steve David.....Stern John

Subs.
Earl Carter (sorry I always preferred Carter to Maurice)
Dexter Francis
Jan Steadman
Clayton Morris (as Def Mid only!)
Evans Wise (when not too over indulgent with the dribbling)
Leroy Spann
Clint Marcelle   
Post by: big dawg on July 16, 2006, 09:11:40 AM
I'm not sure why some fellas leaving out Selywn Murren.. He'll be the captain if you ask me..

This is the kinda thread that can go go on and on and on......
Post by: berris on July 16, 2006, 09:20:22 AM
I'm not sure why some fellas leaving out Selywn Murren.. He'll be the captain if you ask me..

check my 11
Post by: berris on July 16, 2006, 09:38:35 AM
                                       Joey Gonzales- Pat Gomez- Lincoln Phillips

Tyrone Delabastide         turton Bros          Spooner

Gally Cummings   De Leon    Sedley Joseph     Shay Semour  A Casual man who use to sring up Milo man Burnett.

Horace Lovelace Matthew Nunes  Carlton Franco  Alvin Corneal   Len Leggard.

Spooner dread !!! de next side go geh bout 10 penalty dah man cudda play stink  :rotfl:....and is right back he used tuh play.
Post by: big dawg on July 16, 2006, 09:48:10 AM

check my 11

I was not refering to you bredda....
Post by: Filho on July 16, 2006, 12:22:30 PM
Stern John cannot make no side before Leonson Lewis... ;D
Post by: Socapro on July 16, 2006, 12:56:05 PM
I have decided to make  list of my best ever 11 for T&T .

Shaka Hislop

Anthony Rougier

Brian Williams                                                                                      Marvin Faustin

Marvin Andrews

Ronnie Mauge                           Leroy DeLeon

Russell Latapy                          David Nakhid

Steve David                            Warren Archibald

Who is the local coach to add to the mix? Gally, BSC or SH?!  ;)
Title: Best ever T&T team?
Post by: Tiresais on February 15, 2014, 01:56:38 PM
Apologies if there's an older thread, couldn't find it. If you had to select an 11 with 5 subs who would you pick? Too ignorant right now to answer that, but definitely interested in hearing some opinions on the best the twin-isles had to offer.
Post by: socalion on February 15, 2014, 04:35:13 PM
Nice topic ,this  is a subject  to last for decades... i have to admit too many excellent  players i've seen wear the red, white and black to name a best T&T XI . ah mean really good players .... Trinidad and Tobago is blessed with  real home grown  talent no doubt about that.....
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2014, 05:34:27 PM
Nice topic ,this  is a subject  to last for decades... i have to admit too many excellent  players i've seen wear the red, white and black to name a best T&T XI . ah mean really good players .... Trinidad and Tobago is blessed with  real home grown  talent no doubt about that.....

It is difficult to pick a best XI, because of so many talented players that came thru.

XI vs Argentina in PanAm games 67.
XI vs Mexico in Haiti 73 for 74 WC
XI vs USA in Torrance for Italy WC
XI vs Bahrain in Bahrain
XI vs Sweden in Germany
XI vs England in Gemany
Post by: Tiresais on February 16, 2014, 03:49:03 AM

It is difficult to pick a best XI, because of so many talented players that came thru.

XI vs Argentina in PanAm games 67.
XI vs Mexico in Haiti 73 for 74 WC
XI vs USA in Torrance for Italy WC
XI vs Bahrain in Bahrain
XI vs Sweden in Germany
XI vs England in Gemany

Well you could start with what XI you think was the best out of that lot, then look at the team and decide who you could substitute. For England, I actually think our WC winning team had some considerable weaknesses ('Wingless wonders' after all), so I'm happy to sub in greats like Sir Tommy Finny (RIP, "Tom Finney should claim income tax relief ... for his 10 dependents.") and Sir Stanley Matthews (these two were probably the best footballers ever to play, because off the pitch these guys were perfect gentlemen and total professionals).
Post by: dtool on February 16, 2014, 08:34:45 AM

Every thing is relative to the period ....

Check a nice read for the old timers by Professor Courtenay Bartholomew Date Published: 2010-12-08 Source: Trinidad Express

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/Football_in_the_Savannah-111501984.html
Post by: Banter Banton on February 16, 2014, 08:56:11 AM
My best TnT team ( started going games as a kid so from 98' onwards)

----------------------------------Shaka-----------------

----Cyd--------------Andrews----------Lawrence----------A.John

----------------------Dwight-----------Birchall

-------Carlos------------------Latapy---------------Dwarika

-------------------------------Stern
Post by: Deeks on February 16, 2014, 11:27:08 AM
Like dtool said, everything is relative. Banton picked his team based on his age. I would not disagree with his choice because these guys played with heart to make it on the big stage. But I could also say Bert Grell could have played as a stopper or defensive mid-field with ease on that team. But Bert was from a different era. Football was different.
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 06:19:25 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/F0Kiojie5QY

Goalkeeper:
Lincoln Phillips

Defenders:
Marvin Faustin, Selwyn Murren, Clayton Morris, Brian Williams

Midfielders:
Russell Latapy, Everald Cummings, Leroy De Leon

Forwards:
Warren Archibald, Dwight Yorke, Steve David
Post by: asylumseeker on August 28, 2017, 07:53:39 AM
Would have liked to have seen the guests build their XIs prior to filming. In my view, that would have permitted the discussion to be more penetrating than it was. Nevertheless, some golden nuggets still emerged.

Tallman, what's the distribution of caps among the guests?
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2017, 08:54:42 AM
No Bert Grell?
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 10:26:17 AM
No Bert Grell?

Who he replacing?
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2017, 10:42:48 AM
Marvin or Clayton.
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 10:43:44 AM
Tallman, what's the distribution of caps among the guests?

Steve David (16)
Alvin Henderson - no data
Anthony Rougier (67)
Anthony Clarke (only played out football for T&T)
Narmada Wilson (never represented T&T at football)
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2017, 10:45:41 AM
Marvin or Clayton.

But ent Grell was ah midfielder?
Post by: pull stones on August 28, 2017, 01:53:02 PM

Goalkeeper:
Lincoln Phillips

Defenders:

Midfielders:

Forwards:
no stern John in that forward line up the highest goal scorer of all times in a red jersey and no molino and David nakid in that midfield?
Post by: Sam on August 28, 2017, 02:24:52 PM

Goalkeeper:
Lincoln Phillips

Defenders:

Midfielders:

Forwards:
no stern John in that forward line up the highest goal scorer of all times in a red jersey and no molino and David nakid in that midfield?

Lincoln Phillips, I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority.

Marvin Faustin, yes, left back, maybe Richard Theodore too.

Selwyn Murren,  I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority.

Clayton Morris, yes

Brian Williams, yes.

Russell Latapy, yes.

Everald Cummings,  I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority.

Leroy De Leon,  I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority.

Warren Archibald,  I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority.
Dwight Yorke, Yes for Man Utd. I prefer Stern John.

Steve David,  I never see him play, so its hard to say how good he was, but I will go with de majority. Ah feel Arnold Dwarika could be a good back up or even better he he days, he is only we top 3 goalscorers of all times for T&T even though he was a midfielder.

David Nakhid need ah mention, we best defensive midfielder ever.

And I feel Carlos Edwards could give  De Leon, a run for he spot.

Phillips
Faustin
Morris
Murren
Williams
Archibald
Nakhid
Latapy
Edwards
Stern
Dwarika

Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2017, 03:08:05 PM
Marvin or Clayton.

But ent Grell was ah midfielder?

Bert was a utility player. Could play anywhere in the back line and played a defensive midfield. Probably that maybe a problem trying to select him for a specific position. Then after the concacaf tournament  fiasco in 69, Bert never played for TT again. If allyuh selecting Archie and Dilly(two of my favorites) from that era, then Bert should be there.
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2017, 03:29:52 PM
It is very difficult to pick the best players ever. The circumstances at the time are different.  Guys in the the 60s never get to play national like England, Brazil, etc. The played plenty club team who came on tour.  TT did play Arg. in two PanAm games in the 60s and 70s. I don't know how you qualify that.   Each best XI should be selected by the decade. Then there are players who straddle two different decades.

Sam says that Nakhid was the best defensive mid-field player TT had. I beg to differ.  Maybe against Caribbean teams. Not against the concacaf teams. I think he was one of the best  distributors of the ball. If Nakhid and Latas playing in the middle, I would prefer a defensive midfielder to be present because them two eh putting in hard tackles to win ball. I have seen Dwight, Latas, David play in WC in Virginia, and the US neutralized our middle and won 2-0.
Post by: real madness on August 28, 2017, 04:00:43 PM
Richard Theodore was a central defender but also played as a right back.
Post by: just cool on August 28, 2017, 08:26:57 PM
i agree with every thing except phillips.

i think earl spiderman carter was our best keeper ever!! better than lovell who was boss, better than murice and better than the flying dutchman who was a legend in the semi pro league who never got a look at by the national selectors.

and wham tuh sammy Llewellyn man? that bredda was poison in his time. sammy is ah must.
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2017, 08:52:43 PM
Yep, Sammy was a boss player. He should be there too. And Carter is a legit choice also.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 28, 2017, 08:54:55 PM
It is very difficult to pick the best players ever. The circumstances at the time are different.  Guys in the the 60s never get to play national like England, Brazil, etc. The played plenty club team who came on tour.  TT did play Arg. in two PanAm games in the 60s and 70s. I don't know how you qualify that.   Each best XI should be selected by the decade. Then there are players who straddle two different decades.

Sam says that Nakhid was the best defensive mid-field player TT had. I beg to differ.  Maybe against Caribbean teams. Not against the concacaf teams. I think he was one of the best  distributors of the ball. If Nakhid and Latas playing in the middle, I would prefer a defensive midfielder to be present because them two eh putting in hard tackles to win ball. I have seen Dwight, Latas, David play in WC in Virginia, and the US neutralized our middle and won 2-0.

1996!  Drove 10 hours to see that game from Atlanta, was royally pissed at the end result