Sports => Football => Topic started by: kingman on August 02, 2006, 08:07:40 AM

Title: Club Sando Thread
Post by: kingman on August 02, 2006, 08:07:40 AM
Club Sando win again in SFA.
By: Mervyn Stewart (Express).

Club Sando won their second game in succession when they handed San Fernando Giants a 4-2 whipping in Sunday's southern derby at Skinner Park, San Fernando.
Last week Monday, Club Sando won their opening fixture when they edged F&E Diamond United 2-1 courtesy of a Jason Sambury double.
And on Sunday, they immediately made their intentions known when Sambury gave them the lead in the tenth minute of play and seven minutes later Romeo Williams doubled Club Sando's advantage when he hit home a one-time effort.
Giants were left reeling from those two early strikes but they gradually began to create some scoring opportunities as they attempted to claw their way back into the game.
And five minutes before the break, they reaped some reward for their efforts as Andell Grant found himself unmarked on the edge of the six-metre box and he gratefully buried his shot in the back of Club Sando's net.
After the break Giants looked the more enterprising team and within nine minutes they found themselves back on even terms when Obassie Gabriel got his name on the scorecard to tie it up at two goals apiece.
But just when Giants felt they could at least get a share of the points, Club Sando exploded with two goals in a seven-minute span.
First, Jason Joseph lost his marker in the 75th minute and blasted a powerful shot past the Giants goalkeeper and seven minutes later Akil Noreiga put the last nail in Giants' coffin with an athletically-taken item.
In other games contested in the Leonson Lewis Division, Barrackpore United hammered F&E Diamonds by a 9-1 margin, while Fire Service got the better of X-Men 2-1.
Mario Latroy scored a five-timer and Sean Jarvis added a hat-trick in Barrackpore's huge win, while a goal apiece from Kevin Benjamin and Nelinho Mierez did the trick for "Fire".
And in the Leroy De Leon Division, Point Fortin Civic Centre humbled Hermitage Youths Organisation 3-0; Alutrint La Brea All Stars turned back Palo Seco SC 2-1; Uprising Youths defeated Los Iros FC 1-0; and Penal All Stars played to a 2-2 draw with Playaz FC.

Title: Club Sando not joining Pro League.
Post by: Flex on July 09, 2014, 02:02:08 AM
Club Sando not joining Pro League.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Club Sando will remain a National Super League club this season, after failing to meet the financial requirements to join the professional league.

Finishing as 2013 runners-up, a point behind Guaya United in the semi-profession, second-tier Super League, Club Sando had always indicated an interest in joining the Digicel Pro League for the  2014-2015 season.

However, they are unable to meet some financial demands required to play Pro League football, including the $400,000 registration fee.

Coached by former St Ann’s Rangers coach Anthony Streete last season, Club Sando attracted  former Pro League players  from W Connection, St Ann’s Rangers and San Juan Jabloteh, including Devon Modeste, Teba McKnight, Kemuel Rivers, goalie Andre Marchan, Dwayne Charles, Corneal Thomas, Kern Cupid and Ryan Fredericks.

But Technical Director Muhammad Isa confirmed that Sando will stay at the lower level.

“We are playing in the Super League,” Isa confirmed. “The problem is financial. They were asking us to pay a certain amount of money by the end of June and we couldn’t make that.

“Now that we know what they are asking for, the plan is to put them in place before the end of next season,” Isa added.

No withstanding the disappointment, Isa said that Club Sando remain intact as a team and that they may even have some better players this season.

“We have the same core of players from last year and I even think we have some better players, ” Isa declared. “Almost everybody (is staying with the team), just one player has not made up his mind what he wants to do.”

Isa felt that the disappointment of not playing Pro League football was temporary and the extra year gives Club Sando time to become an even stronger club. He also added that coach Streete also has to decide whether to stay with Club Sando or return to St Ann’s Rangers, his former team to whom he went on loan in March, near at the end of the Pro League season.

“So far he (Streete) has been working by us,” Isa said. “But that is a decision that still has to be worked out. At the moment, he is still with us.”

Title: Re: Club Sando not joining Pro League.
Post by: Tiresais on July 09, 2014, 02:37:41 AM
Really sad to see that - the Pro League should have been clamouring to get their gates at the games.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2014, 06:31:55 AM
Really sad to see that - the Pro League should have been clamouring to get their gates at the games.

it is sad in one way, but Club Sando executives are being realistic.  "Doh hang your hat where you hands cyah reach".
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2014, 09:03:40 AM
Yea Deeks, ah wonder if Defence Force and Police have to pay a fee to?

And who pays or paid it?

Companies to dam cheap in T&T and the government allowing all these foreign companies to harvest we local stuff for nothing.

Texaco and Shell is perfect examples.

Petrotrin and T&TEC is two local companies who do nothing for the community and sports.

Post by: Football supporter on July 09, 2014, 09:44:58 AM
Yea Deeks, ah wonder if Defence Force and Police have to pay a fee to?

And who pays or paid it?

Companies to dam cheap in T&T and the government allowing all these foreign companies to harvest we local stuff for nothing.

Texaco and Shell is perfect examples.

Petrotrin and T&TEC is two local companies who do nothing for the community and sports.

If you recall, this bond nearly stopped Central from entering. However, it is there for a good reason. The idea is that if your club cannot pay players and staff, (as with South End) the money will be taken directly from your deposit. It protects the players and staff and ensures that any club entering the league is not doing so on a whim.

I believe this initiative only came into place in 2012 so Central were the first to pay it. Defence Force wouldn't need it as the players are paid as soldiers. Same for those who are officers in the Police.

But I agree with you about these big companies. Trust me, it's almost impossible just to get a meeting with a representative of these big companies. Globally, the generally accepted practice now is for 1% of profits to be used for CSR. Sponsoring sports teams would also fall under promotion and marketing budgets.

Traditionally in Europe, the big clubs all began as factory teams. Because the big local employer wanted a happy workforce, he would buy uniforms, goal posts etc and probably build a small stadium for the local club.

That was 100 years ago.

I guess that happened back in the day with cricket and regional football, but these guys just don't support professional football. Maybe it is the Warner effect, as many supported the 06 team.

Fact is, we really need the govt to step in and meet with these guys and offer incentives to invest in sport.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2014, 10:38:15 AM
Back in the 60s when we had zone leagus, SFL was the quasi-pro league. That was a factory league. All the factory clubs had their own grounds and I was told all were well maintained. Plenty north men went south to play and started families in south.  I don't know what to say about Petrotrin and TTec. It has to be management decision to gut the football program. They do not have football at heart.
Post by: maxg on July 09, 2014, 10:39:45 AM
Surprised sam say PetroTrin...is this not true
http://www.petrotrin.com/Petrotrin2007/CSR.htm
and
http://www.petrotrin.com/Petrotrin2007/Sport.htm

that has changed ?

http://safaripublications.com/shell/#/1/
Post by: Tiresais on July 09, 2014, 11:04:31 AM
Didn't know that about the bond FS, really interesting and a great initiative.
Post by: Football supporter on July 09, 2014, 11:29:26 AM
Back in the 60s when we had zone leagus, SFL was the quasi-pro league. That was a factory league. All the factory clubs had their own grounds and I was told all were well maintained. Plenty north men went south to play and started families in south.  I don't know what to say about Petrotrin and TTec. It has to be management decision to gut the football program. They do not have football at heart.

Hence: I guess that happened back in the day with cricket and regional football, but these guys just don't support professional football. Maybe it is the Warner effect, as many supported the 06 team.
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2014, 11:51:36 AM
Maybe it is the Warner effect, as many supported the 06 team.

That also is the reason!
Title: Club Sando Thread
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2015, 04:30:56 PM
Club Sando to join Pro League

Super League team Club Sando will join T&T Pro League!

They will begin competing from the 2015/16 season.

Title: Re: Club Sando to join Pro League
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2015, 04:40:16 PM
That is nice. Time Sando have a team in the pro-league. Also I hope they find financial backers with a long term commitment.
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2015, 04:52:20 PM
I hope they get Skinner Park but then for Carnival season they will be in trouble....

Post by: Flex on January 30, 2015, 04:55:06 PM
Club Sando unveiled as newest Pro League club.
ttproleague.com.

Super League champs to compete at Pro League next season

Newly crowned 2014-2015 Super League champion, Club Sando, has been accepted as the newest TT Pro League club and will compete at the 2015-2016 season, which is set to begin in September.

Meanwhile Club Sando’s youth teams at Under-13, Under-15 and Under-17 levels will have their taste at the 2015 Youth Pro League, which will run from March to July of this year.

TT Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene unveiled Club Sando, represented by owner Edison “Eddie” Dean and technical director Muhammad Isa, during a press conference at the Pro League's office in St. Augustine on Friday morning.

Skeene said that the TT Pro League’s board of directors had reviewed the application of Club Sando, who have been campaigning in the Super League for a number of years and had been successful, and saw it fit to accept the San Fernando club into the TT Pro League fold.

Buoyed by an ambitious owner/CEO Edison Dean, a board of directors that includes Steve Goopeesingh, Marlon Zoe, Derek Lange and Muhammad Isa, and dedicated players and fans, Club Sando's arrival at the Pro League is now a reality.

Isa, who said it is a very proud moment, explained that while Club Sando are very thankful for acceptance into the TT Pro League, it was something the club had worked very hard to achieve.

“Our organisation has worked very hard to achieve this,” Isa said. “Three years ago Dean called a meeting with two of the key stakeholders, which were Derek Lange and myself. Our club was approaching 25 years (of existence in 2015), and we decided that at 25 years we want to play at the highest level in the country, which is the TT Pro League.

“We started to work on it two years ago. We didn’t just want to pay our way into the TT Pro League. We wanted to come into the TT Pro League as Super League champions. The management and staff worked very hard to win the Super League and today we are very much honoured to be in the TT Pro League as the Super League champions.”

Club Sando enjoyed their best years at the Super League in the last two seasons since the arrival of former St. Ann’s Rangers coach, Anthony Streete. In 2013-2015 Club Sando finished runners-up in the both the league (by one point less) and knockout competitions behind Guaya United – another Super League outfit ambitious of entering the Pro League.

One season later Club Sando celebrates the 2014-2015 Super League title in the year of celebrating their 25th anniversary, and to top it off, the club is now preparing for the highest tier of football in Trinidad and Tobago—the TT Pro League.

Club Sando, which also fields a team in the Southern FA, will have the next eight months to prepare for life in professional football.

“We will continue to play the high brand of football that we played in the Super League and I will assure you that we will be competitive in the TT Pro League,” Isa assured. “Our coach (Anthony Streete) cares about the style of football that we play. He always emphasized that he wants people to follow the team, so he always emphasized a quality standard from the players. He wants to bring back the fans to football and that’s why we have a [huge fan support] right now because of the style of football that we produce.”

In 2013 Club Sando, which boasts a number of former Pro League players, etched themselves into history, becoming the first second tier team of the Trinidad and Tobago football system to reach the Toyota Classic Final but went under 2-0 against W Connection in the title match.

“We hope that Club Sando’s journey and their stay in professional football is long and fruitful,” Skeene said. “They have a dynamic organisation and now a vibrant brand, which is the TT Pro League. And I want to tell them that they are joining a group of like-minded individuals who have the growth of professional football at heart and who continue to work daily to ensure the sustainability and viability of professional football in Trinidad and Tobago.

“Paramount in the mind of the League is that clubs are able to honour players’ contracts and we know that Club Sando will bring value and credibility to the TT Pro League. The League has been resilient and has an indomitable desire to make professional football sustainable and viable in the long term.

“The growth pattern thus far has been challenging but continuous. We must continue to be strategic in the process and not overstep ourselves. Expansion is one of the League’s main objectives, however, it must be in key areas, strategic and community based. The Club Sando model, we feel, is the correct one for sustainability in professional football.

“Club Sando have all the ingredients to be successful and that’s why they have been accepted today into the TT Pro League. They have the correct ingredients. Their name is tied to the community of San Fernando where it is situated, and will play matches in the area that is represented by the club and players. We welcome Club Sando and we expect that their entry in professional football will bring rich rewards.”

Skeene also said that continued interests of local clubs to join the TT Pro League and even interests from abroad with investors and so on who are willing to join and add to the management structures of some present clubs, are the rewards of a committed strategic marketing plan and the vision of the League to become the best in the Caribbean and push on to rival the other merging leagues in the Caribbean and Central America.

He said that while the road has not been easy, the League is reaping the rewards of committed club owners such as Jerry Hospidales (San Juan Jabloteh), David John-Williams (W Connection) Darryl Mahabir (North East Stars), Jamaal Shabazz (Caledonia AIA), Richard Fakoory (St. Ann's Rangers) and so on, who “have given their lives to professional football in Trinidad and Tobago”.

“When other clubs see the professionalism of the (TT Pro League) clubs, they are interested in joining the TT Pro League,” said Skeene.

Post by: King Deese on January 31, 2015, 02:57:08 AM
But wait, you are joining a so called pro league but you don't have a sponsor in place, and where or what is your home field?. If you have none of those ingredients set up in place already then you are setting yourself up for disaster. Damn, when is this backward kind of elementary schoolboy kind of thinking going to end? Why is Skeene encouraging this kind of hairbrain scheme? This is perpetual madness. This is like putting the frigging cart before the horse. SMFH.
Post by: Football supporter on January 31, 2015, 07:21:33 AM
But wait, you are joining a so called pro league but you don't have a sponsor in place, and where or what is your home field?. If you have none of those ingredients set up in place already then you are setting yourself up for disaster. Damn, when is this backward kind of elementary schoolboy kind of thinking going to end? Why is Skeene encouraging this kind of hairbrain scheme? This is perpetual madness. This is like putting the frigging cart before the horse. SMFH.

Like most Pro League teams, Sando will rely on the subvention to fund most of their programme. It is very difficult to get corporate T&T interested in sponsoring clubs, but once you are in the Pro League it becomes a bit easier. Their shirt front will bring them sponsorship. The rest is up to their marketing skills.
I am very pleased to see Sando stepping up and I hope they can add further to the improving face of professional football in T&T.
Post by: Sam on January 31, 2015, 08:40:51 AM
Ah glad for them, but de League should make sure they have it together before accepting them, not like Point Fortin who almost pull out after they first year. And NE Stas and T&TEC who could not compete in de CFU/CCL because they broke and take away a place from another team who coulda play in de tournament instead.

These clubs have no set of marketing skills.

Steve David from Point know evreything.

Post by: AB.Trini on January 31, 2015, 09:32:32 AM
I would like to think that the criteria for admittance, besides financial sustainability, and a performance bond, would be some presentation of a marketing plan, procurement of sponsorship or potential plan to attract a fan base and a commitment from fans in the form of prepaid season tickets!!!! Ah shucks what am I thinking - is TNT  I with oh shims and I thinking North American . Lol
Post by: Deeks on January 31, 2015, 10:29:34 AM
I would like to think that the criteria for admittance, besides financial sustainability, and a performance bond, would be some presentation of a marketing plan, procurement of sponsorship or potential plan to attract a fan base and a commitment from fans in the form of prepaid season tickets!!!! Ah shucks what am I thinking - is TNT  I with oh shims and I thinking North American . Lol

If the league was to follow your criteria, it will be a four team pro league.DF, Connection, Police, and probably Central.
Post by: King Deese on January 31, 2015, 12:04:36 PM
'Once you are in the league, it becomes easier and their shirt front will bring them sponsorship'. What? Aye, put down the crack pipe. That's how its done? Swing for the fences and hope you hit a home run? How come Ma Pau, TTEC, and Joe Public, well I don't know about Joe Public, didn't find it easier? Just to name a few.
Post by: Deeks on January 31, 2015, 01:15:51 PM
'Once you are in the league, it becomes easier and their shirt front will bring them sponsorship'. What? Aye, put down the crack pipe. That's how its done? Swing for the fences and hope you hit a home run? How come Ma Pau, TTEC, and Joe Public, well I don't know about Joe Public, didn't find it easier? Just to name a few.

Breds, you yourself said this is Trini and not US where you are living. Thie local business entities are not as robust and strong as foreign. Our local business community is not sold on TT pro football. Untill the teams start winning regional competitions, that is when they will jump in. The locals will have to beg and scrape for finance. That is just the way it is. MauPau was a Casino backed team. They had some players but not really impressive. Never felt anything for them because of the financial backers of the team. I felt there was never a long term commitment. TTec is government team. Only DF and Police will get the resources to play that type of football. WASA, Petrotrin and the govt teams will not get that type of support. Then there is politics in that also. Ironically, if the govt stop financial support, the pro league will probably fold.

So give the Sando team a cheer or two for making the effort to bring a team in Sando. I thought Connection would filledthe void. But John  Williams identified more with the Central TT. As far as the playing field, they can play in Skinner Park, and Mannie when it becomes available.
Post by: dreamer on January 31, 2015, 04:03:13 PM
Been nice reading all the comments.
With life being so uncertain & bachannal news everywhere you turn, iz hard to know sometimes when you're encountering truly good news.
Something tells me that Club Sando entering the expensive big stage IS good news. They watched others' mistakes & thought long & hard.
They proved themselves, showed ambition, resolve and consistency.
They planned and planned (not a well known Trini trait these days) and researched ... then announed.
There are (correction) some high calibre players on these teams that have no right playing in no Super League. The players stayed there, I suppose, recognizing what was coming to a theatre near you. Congrats to them.
Good luck Club Sando
Good news & slowly building hopeful feelings at the TT Proleague .... but not at the TTFA where progress looks bleak with the current crop.
Post by: coache on January 31, 2015, 11:32:45 PM
Congrats to de Sando team!
Post by: Football supporter on February 01, 2015, 08:21:59 PM

I think, basically, that you can talk to corporate sponsors all day long, but until they actually see progress, they won't step in. Sando could have joined last year but decided to spend another year in Super League to consolidate. As a Super League club, they probably have no full time employees. Stepping up will mean they will be employing around 30 people. That's a big commitment. I admire the fact that they didn't rush in and I suspect they have two or three potential sponsors to negotiate with.

Also, the Pro League do require the production of a business plan which would include marketing etc.
Post by: Tallman on February 16, 2015, 11:50:24 AM
Scoreboard’s George Mathison profiles Club Sando, the T&T Pro League’s newest team.

https://www.youtube.com/v/-Jqgh7FegZo
Post by: King Deese on February 16, 2015, 05:31:08 PM
So, how many tickets have Sando generated or have projected to generate in anticipation of their entry into this pro league. What about their fan base? Do they have that? I am going to stop right there because I don't think they can even answer those questions. How in the f*%king world? SMFH.
Post by: Deeks on February 16, 2015, 06:05:22 PM
So, how many tickets have Sando generated or have projected to generate in anticipation of their entry into this pro league. What about their fan base? Do they have that? I am going to stop right there because I don't think they can even answer those questions. How in the f*%king world? SMFH.

I don't know the number of their fan base, but they are one of the better supported teams in the Sando area. I am sure they will have a decent crowd at Skinner park. And if they do well, I think they could be the best supported team in the pro league.  They have from Point a P to Princess T. But  yes, this organization has work to do for them to be successful.
Post by: Sando prince on February 17, 2015, 03:01:44 AM

I hope Skinner Park will be the team home venue. Sando people have an emotional attachment with Skinner Park.
Post by: elan on February 17, 2015, 10:30:22 AM

I think, basically, that you can talk to corporate sponsors all day long, but until they actually see progress, they won't step in. Sando could have joined last year but decided to spend another year in Super League to consolidate. As a Super League club, they probably have no full time employees. Stepping up will mean they will be employing around 30 people. That's a big commitment. I admire the fact that they didn't rush in and I suspect they have two or three potential sponsors to negotiate with.

Also, the Pro League do require the production of a business plan which would include marketing etc.

Corporate sponsors would rather spend US$50,000 - US $70,000/year to send their children to high school in the US than put it back into the community where their kids benefited from playing.

I think people need to start challenging some of these businesses that do nothing for the community.
Post by: dreamer on February 19, 2015, 10:24:30 AM
Scoreboard’s George Mathison profiles Club Sando, the T&T Pro League’s newest team.

https://www.youtube.com/v/-Jqgh7FegZo

The no nonsense Mr disciplinarian passion of Anthony Streete was encouraging to hear on this video.
I hope Club Sando's presence is felt and pushes the proleague.  Good luck to captain  McKnight who is clearly a man who has been exposed and knows what he wants with the team. The manager Mr Zoe, will have to do some homework on his interviews though.
Post by: Flex on July 04, 2015, 05:21:59 AM
Club Sando looking for players
T&T Express Reports

Club Sando, the new local Pro League club, are on the hunt for players to boost their 2015-2016 squad.

The San Fernando-based team will be conducting screening for their professional team today at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium training field from 9 a.m.

Interested players are asked to walk with a red and white jersey.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2015, 08:05:35 AM
Has the club expressed an interest in foreign players or will management be going purely local?
Post by: Deeks on July 04, 2015, 10:40:02 AM
Has the club expressed an interest in foreign players or will management be going purely local?

breds, I born the wrong time, yes!. Imagine this team begging Trinis to come a play pro! ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2015, 12:44:22 PM

breds, I born the wrong time, yes!. Imagine this team begging Trinis to come a play pro! ;D

:)

It might not be as easy as we think ... here is what I noticed.

The article says "9am today" ... so if yuh seeing it in print, yuh had to have woken up early. The online version of the article was published at 8:30pm on July 3rd ... so ah fella would have had to have been attentive during the window between 8:30pm and lehwe say  6 o'clock and maybe 7am.

God forbid a man wake up a lil late this morning and then realize what it is he missing. Early birds and worms ... or jes worms if yuh din know bout it.

Post by: Football supporter on July 04, 2015, 03:58:01 PM

:)

It might not be as easy as we think ... here is what I noticed.

The article says "9am today" ... so if yuh seeing it in print, yuh had to have woken up early. The online version of the article was published at 8:30pm on July 3rd ... so ah fella would have had to have been attentive during the window between 8:30pm and lehwe say  6 o'clock and maybe 7am.

God forbid a man wake up a lil late this morning and then realize what it is he missing. Early birds and worms ... or jes worms if yuh din know bout it.

This is an error, but part of the learning curve for Sando's marketing and publicity. If you want an article in the press, you have to send it at least three days before. So, if you want it in Fridays paper, you would send it Tuesday night. Sometimes, it may get published Thursday or Saturday, but Friday would be usual. You need to send it as late as possible, say after midnight so it is top of the in box the next morning.
Post by: Controversial on July 05, 2015, 10:26:22 AM
who are the players on their side already???
Post by: vb on July 06, 2015, 04:03:49 AM

Did you listen to the interview? They mentioned about five names three times during the interview. They seem to not want to announce their roster, I'm guessing because they are still talking to players from other teams.

They have two national U-20 players (forgot the names but one of the names was Indian), Kern Cupid, Mknight and ??? forgot that name too.  :)
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2015, 07:38:57 AM
Akeem Humphrey and Kishun Seecharan ...
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2015, 08:35:22 AM
The T&T pro league is a dead horse league, they leader have no dam sense.

As a pro league team requirements should be needed to compete.

All this media, marketing, stadium, etc etc should be requirements.

Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2015, 08:46:33 AM

Did you listen to the interview? They mentioned about five names three times during the interview. They seem to not want to announce their roster, I'm guessing because they are still talking to players from other teams.

They have two national U-20 players (forgot the names but one of the names was Indian), Kern Cupid, Mknight and ??? forgot that name too.  :)

didn't watch the interview... excuse my ignorance... i hope they open to new players outside of who playing in the pfl currently and have a development plan in place
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2015, 12:05:06 PM
Sam, valid points.

As a professional club, requirements must be met like operating like one, you cannot have a professional club running it amateurs.

These club must should a 2 year blue print before being accepted into the league.

Dexter Skeene has to fix some of these tweaks in the system.

Does anyone have a contact for Club Sando?, email and phone.

I have a few players to recommend.

Post by: vb on July 06, 2015, 01:56:55 PM
Flex,

this is the contact info from their website.

© 2015 Club Sando FC

39 Farah Street
Les Efforts West
San Fernando

Tel: (868) 678 7673
Fax: (868) 652 3864
Email: deanscoating@hotmail.com
Post by: vb on July 06, 2015, 03:32:17 PM

Just remembered Devon Modeste and Charles Pollard. I think Pollard must be old as hell now. ;-)

Post by: Flex on July 06, 2015, 04:21:11 PM
Flex,

this is the contact info from their website.

© 2015 Club Sando FC

39 Farah Street
Les Efforts West
San Fernando

Tel: (868) 678 7673
Fax: (868) 652 3864
Email: deanscoating@hotmail.com

Thank you

Post by: Football supporter on July 06, 2015, 05:16:38 PM

Just remembered Devon Modeste and Charles Pollard. I think Pollard must be old as hell now. ;-)

Nah, he calls Marvin Oliver "Uncle"  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Flex on August 23, 2015, 09:05:09 AM
Club Sando FC pages

http://clubsando.wix.com/csfc

https://www.facebook.com/clubsandofc

Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2015, 08:51:15 PM
Club Sando’s Head Coach, Anthony Streete, and Team Administrator, Eddison Dean, discuss the club’s upcoming inaugural season in the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League. We also hear from players Kern Cupid, Keith Williams, Kevon Woodley, Jack Wheeler, Kevon Neaves, Amritt Gildharry, Allan Salcideo, and Anthony De Larosa.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Wq2O4ic2HsI
Post by: Tiresais on August 29, 2015, 06:03:44 AM
Anyone know the story behind the texans? Looks interesting
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 29, 2015, 06:46:07 AM
Club Sando’s Head Coach, Anthony Streete, and Team Administrator, Eddison Dean, discuss the club’s upcoming inaugural season in the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League. We also hear from players Kern Cupid, Keith Williams, Kevon Woodley, Jack Wheeler, Kevon Neaves, Amritt Gildharry, Allan Salcideo, and Anthony De Larosa.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Wq2O4ic2HsI

I saw Javon sample in the vid has he left central ?
Title: Club Sando star, Kemuel, talks about football, life and jail.
Post by: Flex on February 05, 2017, 07:32:24 AM
Club Sando star, Kemuel, talks about football, life and jail.
By Carlotta Rivas (Wired868).

Many Rivers to cross

Twenty-eight year old Kemuel Rivers started the 2016/17 Pro League season as Club Sando’s captain and heartbeat. But the utility player, who is particularly at home in defence or midfield, then had his season disrupted by a six week stint in jail for allegedly robbing a casino.

The charges were subsequently dropped, leaving Rivers free to continue with his career.

Wired868 initially spoke to Rivers before his arrest but decided not to publish until we heard from him subsequent to his release. He agreed to speak one on one with Wired868:

When were you born?

I was born on the 5 May 1988.

Where is your home town?

I am from Waterloo.

What school did you attend?

I attended Waterloo High School.

What is something most people do not know about you?

That I can play the guitar pan and I am a christian and also sing in the choir. I belong to the Firm Foundation Ministry church.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

I play cricket and I am also taking coaching courses. I like to lime so I love spending time with my friends.

What pushes you to succeed?

Through my God, I learnt that hard work always pays off. And my brother, Isaiah Rivers, who died five years ago when he drowning in a pond. He motivated me to press on as a footballer. We used to play football together [and] whenever I play a match I am playing for him. (Isaiah Rivers apart, Kemuel Rivers still has four brothers and five sisters).

How did you start playing football?

To be honest since I know myself I playing football. My mother and them say since I was a baby I played football.

What was your earliest football memory?

Playing football with my older brother, Isaiah. He is the one who motivated me to play football and attended all my matches. The times we spent playing football together were my best times in my life.

How would you describe yourself as a person?

I like to laugh, I am a family person and most of all I love the Lord. I am a very passionate person and whatever I do I give my all. I am a very determined person.

Who was your most important coach(es) and why?

That would have to be Stuart Charles-Fevrier from W Connection. He gave me my first break. He is not just a coach, he is a teacher. If there was something you did not understand, he will get into your head to help you understand the play.

He would tape every match we played and show us the mistakes we made and how we can improve. If Stuart Charles was not in my life I would not have been the player I am.

What makes you stand out as player?

I am a team player and an excellent striker actually. I started out playing as a striker, then I was attacking midfielder and now I am a defender. I would also say it’s my work rate and quality on the ball. From the time the game starts, the team can expect a good dead ball whether it is from a corner, free kick outside of the box or a penalty.

I will give my blood for the game and my team because I love to win.

Who is your favourite player?

(Widens eyes) Lionel Messi! He is my favourite player because first of all he is a left footed like me. His mastery of the ball is out of this world. When Messi takes up that ball and runs through fellas, it is breathtaking. I try to mimic him but for now that is just a dream.

What is your favourite team?

That would have to be Barcelona.

What is your ambition in the game?

My ambition is to gain an international contact for myself. It does not matter where in the world it is. I would like to have that so that I can help my family.

How far do you hope to go?

As high as my skill and talent can and will take me. Then I would like to take up coaching, which will be the best way to stay around and continue to be a part of my sport.

What is your best moment in football so far?

When I was very young and now started playing in the Pro League with W Connection, I was chosen to go to England by international scouts. Going to England was a very exciting experience for me. I was very young and it was the first time away from home for me and the trip was very long.

The place was very cold and we spent two weeks there showing our skills against other players… [But in the end] they said we were not what they were looking for. They were looking for something unique. Even though I didn’t get a contract, it was a good experience and I learnt a lot from the training sessions.

You were arrested for robbery but eventually released after the charges were dropped. What happened?

I would say it was just bad company at the moment. I was going through some bad breaks and I let myself be influenced to do the wrong thing.

I was with someone who I was trying to help him out. He plays football just like me but I am the one who got the big break and I could identify with what he was going through. I had really tried to help him but nothing was happening for him.

What can you say about how you felt being locked away in a cell?

I felt frustrated. It had moments I felt like I could cry and wished I could have just turned back the hands of time and walk away. I felt disappointed in myself knowing that I was a respected person in my community and everyone looked up to me. I was the only player in my community to reach the highest level of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

I felt like I let down my whole community, my family, my team and all those who believed in me and myself. Yet they all stood by me, that makes me feel real bad…But to look on the bright side, people make mistakes and I will show people the person I am by bouncing back and coming back stronger. I will prove to people this is the real me and that was really a mistake.

Did you feel there was anyone you could have turned to before you got in trouble?

Yes. There were a lot of people I could have gone to. But really it was my pride that hindered me from sharing what I was going through.

How did your friends and family react when you were in jail?

My bigger brother [Jude Rivers] stood by me a 100 percent. He had the church praying while he was running up and down getting things done for me because my mother was only crying.

I thought everyone [at Club Sando] would have thought of me differently but my teammates and the club stood by me and gave their full support one hundred percent. I couldn’t make in there without that because being locked up not nice. I used to keep in touch with the team and when they had a big match, I called one of the players to see how the team was doing. And this guy, Keithy Simpson from Jamaica, I never really talked with him much. And when he heard that it was me the phone he said: “Let me speak to him.” And he asked me: “Rivers, you need anything?”

I told him: “No, my brother does handle me.” But he said: “I will still give [Jared] London something for you.”

I told him to just make sure and win the game for me. And he said he was praying for me and don’t worry I would be out soon.

That night in my cell I started to cry and felt a little happy to see this guy who I really don’t even know could give me such words of encouragement. It was hard to put into words how much of a mistake I had made.

When I came out, I sent the team a voice note that I was out and it seemed like the whole team was praying for me to come out. It took me three weeks [to be released].

Is there something you would like to say to your supporters?

I am very sorry for what I have done. It was truly a foolish mistake on my part. But that is not who I am.

Editor’s Note: Kemuel Rivers—who said he has not missed a day in church since his brush with the law—will have another chance to earn a professional contract abroad, as he leaves Trinidad for Iceland on Fantastic Friday, which is 24 February 2017.

Rivers is one of eight Pro League players who will attend trials in Iceland later this month.

Title: Re: Club Sando star, Kemuel, talks about football, life and jail.
Post by: Storeboy on February 05, 2017, 03:52:39 PM
I am very happy for him and he appears to have rehabilitated himself and is now on the right path. However, when you break the law knowingly and willfully, it is not just a mistake, it is a crime. So, use your opportunity well, brother!
Post by: gawd on pitch on February 06, 2017, 11:43:27 AM
I am very happy for him and he appears to have rehabilitated himself and is now on the right path. However, when you break the law knowingly and willfully, it is not just a mistake, it is a crime. So, use your opportunity well, brother!

Yuh read the article? He "allegedly" robbed a casino.. Charges were dropped. Knowing the police in TT, he was probably held by mistake. So your comment regarding his rehabilitation and " on the right path", also makes him guilty. Which he isn't. ..
Post by: Mose on February 06, 2017, 12:43:17 PM

Yuh read the article? He "allegedly" robbed a casino.. Charges were dropped. Knowing the police in TT, he was probably held by mistake. So your comment regarding his rehabilitation and " on the right path", also makes him guilty. Which he isn't. ..

But in the same article the player himself admits to having let himself be "influenced to do the wrong thing" and later  to being "sorry for what he has done" and called it a "foolish mistake".

I'm glad to see he's recognized his mistake(s) and has pledged to do better and I wish him the best. This guy could be real role model for plenty back home.
Post by: palos on February 06, 2017, 02:02:41 PM
Really nice and uplifting story.  Thanks for sharing.

Good luck Kemuel Rivers. 
Post by: Flex on December 21, 2020, 10:32:20 AM
Club Sando duo to join Portuguese Club Maia FC.
T&T Sport Diary.

Club Sando’s duo of Jarred Dass and and Martieon Watson have yesterday evening traveled to Portugal where they’ll join Portuguese Club Maia FC for a period of time.

Club Sando has an agreement with an agency In Portugal, 3D, where they intentionally ship players off to the lower league where they can have more playing time and possibly a better chance at landing a contract at a bigger club.

Dass and Watson will join Shaqkeem Joseph who has already been causing a stir in Portugal. According to Club Sando’s head coach Angus Eve, this is to be used as a gateway into Europe and we wish all these young players the very best!

Good luck!

RELATED NEWS

Club Sando duo off to Portugal
T&T Express Reports.

Club Sando’s duo of Jarred Dass and and Martieon Watson yesterday evening travelled to Portugal where they’ll join Portuguese Club Maia FC for a period of time.

According to a TT Sportdiary report, Club Sando has an agreement with an agency in Portugal, 3D, where they intentionally ship players off to the lower league where they can have more playing time and possibly a better chance at landing a contract at a bigger club.

Dass and Watson will join Shaqkeem Joseph who has already been causing a stir in Portugal. According to Club Sando’s head coach Angus Eve, this is to be used as a gateway into Europe.

Maia FC plays in the Porto Regional League, an amateur competition, and holds home matches at the Estádio Professor Doutor Vieira de Carvalho, which holds 15,000 spectators.

Maia never competed in the top division but between 1997 to 2006 had a nine-year spell in the second division before falling into the fourth division after two consecutive relegation.

Maia FC folded in 2008 due to serious financial problems, and began playing in amateur competitions, starting in the second regional division in Porto, and immediately achieved promotion to the first regional division.