Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on August 19, 2006, 10:36:06 AM

Title: Which player in world football now reminds you of Latapy??
Post by: dinho on August 19, 2006, 10:36:06 AM
De little magician on he way out... missing him already.. no one quite like him nuh..

but can you think of any other player in football now who remind you of Latas??

for me, watching this man brand, vision and touches, its.. Ivan De La Pena
Title: Re: Which player in world football now reminds you of Latapy??
Post by: Gladman on August 19, 2006, 10:42:54 AM
Leston Paul
Post by: Ngozi on August 19, 2006, 11:06:47 AM
Deco remind me of him a little bit ...craftly with an acomplished first touch
Post by: palos on August 19, 2006, 11:32:14 AM
Nobody.
Post by: Blue on August 19, 2006, 01:10:04 PM
Sean Wright-Phillips
Post by: big dawg on August 19, 2006, 01:13:52 PM
Nobody.

Once again NOBODY
Post by: SUPA on August 19, 2006, 01:24:59 PM
Nobody. Yeh and ah dead serious 2.
Post by: thane on August 19, 2006, 01:56:21 PM
Sean Wright-Phillips
we not talking height!!! ...why evryting on is always a joke on dis site...gosh boy...............cyah believe ah man wud even tink abt wright philips...much less type it....yuh bored? :devil:
Post by: jai john on August 19, 2006, 02:21:49 PM
De little magician on he way out... missing him already.. no one quite like him nuh..

Hardest  :devil: :devil:
Ok ...maybe in the past ..dead serious now !
Post by: Trini Madness on August 19, 2006, 05:35:44 PM
No one.....he is one of a kind
Post by: Warrior till death on August 19, 2006, 06:06:50 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

how much similar u want?? lol
Post by: FF on August 19, 2006, 06:07:44 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

BWA AH HA HA HAH A HA HA

:'(

ah laugh til ah cry oui  :rotfl:
Post by: Jah Gol on August 19, 2006, 06:28:48 PM
I started wathing football religiously around 1998, I was 14 then. I have never seen a player with Latapy's style.
Post by: trinbago on August 19, 2006, 06:29:26 PM
NO ONE !!NO ONE !!
NO ONE !! NO ONE !!

Post by: Filho on August 19, 2006, 07:00:22 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

Davids is a defensive midfielder nicknamed the Bulldog. He ain't no creative player...never was...just a midfield destroyer with a nice touch.

The player today who most remind me of Latas...other than Latas  ;D ;D is Diego (small Brazilian maestro at Werder Bremen). I would not have said so before, but like his style change little bit since he went to Porto. Watched his first 2 Bundesliga games...shades of Latas to me, but still not quite the same. 2nd place goes to Rosicky (Arsenal)
Post by: Grande on August 19, 2006, 08:02:13 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

boy hook me up with whatever you smokin nah
Post by: sinned on August 19, 2006, 08:53:39 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

Davids is a defensive midfielder nicknamed the Bulldog. He ain't no creative player...never was...just a midfield destroyer with a nice touch.

The player today who most remind me of Latas...other than Latas  ;D ;D is Diego (small Brazilian maestro at Werder Bremen). I would not have said so before, but like his style change little bit since he went to Porto. Watched his first 2 Bundesliga games...shades of Latas to me, but still not quite the same. 2nd place goes to Rosicky (Arsenal)

I think Rosicky have a turn of pace or two on Latapy even in Latpay's day whereas Latapy was a more creative passer than rosicky is right now
Post by: SUPA on August 19, 2006, 09:48:31 PM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

Leave de pipe ah lone.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 19, 2006, 11:56:59 PM
NOBODY!!

But maybe.........John Obi Mikel :nailbiting:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 20, 2006, 12:14:32 AM
EDGAR DAVIDS

similar look
similar style of play
similar age

now doh come and say yuh was joking cause yuh serious

you think about what you say before you say it, the question is which players reminds you of Latapy and the only person that come to your mind is Latapy

you trying to compare 2 different players
2 greats though but different players

oh and Latas was born in 68 and Davids was born in 73
Post by: andre samuel on August 20, 2006, 06:27:15 AM
ah going and drop ah bomb for alyuh................sean de silva!!

Post by: Cowen on August 20, 2006, 06:42:33 AM
ah going and drop ah bomb for alyuh................sean de silva!!

big small man ...  :beermug:
Post by: Feliziano on August 20, 2006, 06:45:18 AM
ah think allyuh should stick to watching SSFL to see who remind allyuh ah Latapy.
In my opinion, anybody hitting man spanner, dragging man down de line, controlling de game and passing like ah boss go be just like Latapy.
but then we all know how Hardest and them end up lol

anyway i think Latapy was real good..not great
maybe he was the best ever Trini though
Post by: Daft Trini on August 20, 2006, 08:17:58 AM
There is only one ORIGINAL DON GARGON, DE MASTER DRIBBLER. WHO RUN THINGS:- Latas and only latas could remind me ah latas.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 20, 2006, 08:54:36 AM
ah think allyuh should stick to watching SSFL to see who remind allyuh ah Latapy.
In my opinion, anybody hitting man spanner, dragging man down de line, controlling de game and passing like ah boss go be just like Latapy.
but then we all know how Hardest and them end up lol

anyway i think Latapy was real good..not great
maybe he was the best ever Trini though

I am a little confused: if Latas was real good but not great (In YOUR Opinion, I guess) then how could he be still "...maybe...the best ever Trini though" (In YOUR Opinion, too, I guess)? 
  Unless, what you're implying is that the best standard of player that we can produce in T&T is "real good" and never "great" so therefore, to be regarded as one of T&T's best ever, one can only be "real good"?     So I guess men like: Shaka, Dwight Yorke, Earl carter, Sammy Llewellyn, warren Archibald, etc. are/were only "real good"?  Ok.
Post by: BigToe on August 20, 2006, 06:30:42 PM
Nobody.

Agreed
Post by: ß!aCkÒuT on August 20, 2006, 07:04:22 PM
As many hav already said NO ONE....The man is simply UNIQUE
Post by: Darkromeo on August 20, 2006, 07:57:30 PM
NObody for my part. Latas was and still is ah class act. Latapy is Latapy and no one could ever come close to playing like him cause each player in d end is different. unless alyuh hav plans on making ah clone.

By d way i got no probs wit d clone jus make sure he in t&t colours

(http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/2798/birchalsigqz4.jpg)
Post by: Coach on August 20, 2006, 09:40:22 PM
Zidane same flair, both are mids.
Post by: Themanfriday on August 21, 2006, 12:40:25 AM

When it comes to seeing the whole game of play I could agree with that one
Post by: Filho on August 21, 2006, 04:46:05 AM

Sorry..but Zidane is an absolute original in his own right and has done things on a field that noone even tries. Latas is a boss...but Zidane is the absolute modern day great. We starting to get a lil' carried away now. Same flair..boss? Zidane will trap a ball with more flair than any player on the planet...forget about the rest of his game. Latas eh start to flick, cap and roly poly man like dat yet. And you ever see Latas butt a man in his chest like dat? steeups..Latas butt technique eh want nutten wit Zidane  ;D (is de ras)

Respek coach..If dat is what you think, cool. Cyah fault you for bigging up one of our own. But I really feel Zidane in a class above Latas
Post by: Jah Gol on August 21, 2006, 05:32:25 AM
I never saw him at his peak. How good was he ?
Post by: scooby on August 21, 2006, 05:11:10 PM
let the talk done nobody latas is boss and that is finall. I am happy to have the oppunity to watch from the very early stages, and also can someone tell the T and T have an under 13 or under 14 before latas came around
Post by: palos on August 21, 2006, 05:19:49 PM

Sorry..but Zidane is an absolute original in his own right and has done things on a field that noone even tries. Latas is a boss...but Zidane is the absolute modern day great. We starting to get a lil' carried away now. Same flair..boss? Zidane will trap a ball with more flair than any player on the planet...forget about the rest of his game. Latas eh start to flick, cap and roly poly man like dat yet. And you ever see Latas butt a man in his chest like dat? steeups..Latas butt technique eh want nutten wit Zidane  ;D (is de ras)

Respek coach..If dat is what you think, cool. Cyah fault you for bigging up one of our own. But I really feel Zidane in a class above Latas

It would be nice to see both a dem playin together on de same team at least for one game tho.  That would be sweet eh?
Post by: raj on August 22, 2006, 12:07:43 AM
pablo aimar from argentina is somwehat similar. But latas technique is hard to duplicate.
Post by: Carib-Briton on August 22, 2006, 05:05:37 AM

no one close enough but ball control and ability to weave in and out of players, kleb of arsenal has it talent.

I remember the first time I ever saw latas play for rangers, I think he set up marco negri in that game who was leathal in the SPL at the time.
Post by: spideybuff on August 22, 2006, 05:58:56 AM
Blasphemous thread !!  :devil:
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 22, 2006, 08:41:00 AM
All I have to say is Sando Tech!
Post by: ribbit on August 22, 2006, 12:03:21 PM
jay jay okocha
Post by: scooby on August 22, 2006, 02:23:39 PM
ribbit who you say jay jay who get real man is latas we stay stay focus
Post by: Blue on August 22, 2006, 04:10:21 PM
I'm in Scotland at the moment and caught the extended highlights of Falkirk's game at the weekend. I could see why Beenhakker kept Latas on the sidelines at the World Cup - Latas literally walked around the field whole match.

But his goal was pure class. He received the ball at the edge of the box, twisted to make space between a couple of defenders and then curled a shot into the top corner from the edge of the box with absolutely no backlift. Kinda reminded me of Ronaldinho versus Chelsea 2 seasons ago...maybe not quite in the same category, but it still showed how much skill the man has, even at his age. And the commentators here in Scotland have nothing but respect for Latas.
Post by: jai john on August 22, 2006, 04:26:07 PM
I'm in Scotland at the moment and caught the extended highlights of Falkirk's game at the weekend. I could see why Beenhakker kept Latas on the sidelines at the World Cup - Latas literally walked around the field whole match.

But his goal was pure class. He received the ball at the edge of the box, twisted to make space between a couple of defenders and then curled a shot into the top corner from the edge of the box with absolutely no backlift. Kinda reminded me of Ronaldinho versus Chelsea 2 seasons ago...maybe not quite in the same category, but it still showed how much skill the man has, even at his age. And the commentators here in Scotland have nothing but respect for Latas.

and you are seeing him at 38 ....try to get the under 16 tournament in Trinidad when latas ruled the roost or highlights of the strike squad warm up games aginst teams from Finland, Russia, colombia etc. Could name some others but that will suffice
Post by: kicker on August 22, 2006, 05:23:48 PM
Jajay Okocha.....I always thought that he and Latapy played similar roles and had similar styles of football:

1. Very Central in their positioning for the most part

2. Good on the dribble, especially in small tight spaces where they could stand their opponent up, and throw him off balance with body fakes....  as opposed to blowing by defenders at speed.....

3. Great passers

4. Good shot on either foot

5. Not overly concerned with defending

6. Not too sure of this, but JayJay look like he's bun some good weed when he ready....
Post by: Marcos on August 22, 2006, 10:15:45 PM
Another one of my favorite players.
A lil bigger than latas.
Latas' vision was second to none.
I would rate as high as or even higher than Zizou in that category.

Post by: dinho on August 23, 2006, 03:18:58 AM
what about...... marcelinho carioca??

diminutive, extremely skillful, probably one of the best players in the world that never made a big name for himself on the european stage, and leads you to wonder what if he played for a big team... highly respected in his native brazil as one of their best players for a while...
Post by: rastafari on August 25, 2006, 03:59:46 PM
Ronaldinho

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: *~*steph*~* on August 26, 2006, 09:34:07 PM
nobody cud take lataz placeee..that iz the man!!he iz the best .i missin him alreadyyyyy!! love u lataz lol!! :rotfl: :rotfl: