Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on July 08, 2006, 11:09:40 AM

Title: T&T vs Jamaica in August.
Post by: Sam on July 08, 2006, 11:09:40 AM
I hear the Soca Warriors will be in Toronto for an invitation match against the Reggae Boyz on August 27th ?

Can anyone confirm this or will T&T stay home and celebrate Independence ?
Title: Re: T&T vs Jamaica in August.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 08, 2006, 11:11:43 AM
serious lol

why toronto.... i wanna see games man!
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 08, 2006, 11:24:18 AM
No it is  not the national  teams just a throw together community game
Post by: biga84 on July 08, 2006, 11:29:07 AM
No it is  not the national  teams just a throw together community game

Hey Triniman  u know about this? give we some info
Post by: palos on July 08, 2006, 11:30:00 AM
I hear the Soca Warriors will be in Toronto for an invitation match against the Reggae Boyz on August 27th ?

The game is advertised for Lamport Stadium in Toronto

Source: Torontolime.com

Sunday August 27th, 2006
Tux Ent presents...
"Clash of the Caribbean" - Soccer Salute 2006
Trinidad Soca Warriors vs Jamaica Reggae Boyz
At: Lamport Stadium - King & Dufferin (downtown Toronto)
Featuring: Live Soca Performances & Live Reggae performances
Music by: Killawatts sound crew & many more Top DJ's from all over
Adm: Limited Early bird tickets $30
Info: 647.237.1889
Tickets go on sale June 27 @ www.ticketmaster.ca or call 416 870-8000
V.I.P tickets for the venue and one of the after Party venue go on Sales July 2006
After Party info coming soon

Now....WHO go be on either team is the question.  I'm not convinced this is an "official event" and seeing that the EPL starts on August 19 and the League Championship & SPL start earlier than that...I cyah see the clubs releasing our players for a fete match in Toronto.

It might be a total local squad or even some past players like Faustin etc thrown in the mix but I doubt many of the CURRENT Soca Warriors will be involved.  More likely a promoter's hype to get people to come out and nex ting yuh know is man who livin in Toronto and does take a sweat showin up fuh de game and people askin....which one is Stern John?

You never know tho.

Post by: biga84 on July 08, 2006, 11:33:59 AM

Sunday August 27th, 2006
Tux Ent presents...
V.I.P tickets for the venue and one of the after Party venue go on Sales July 2006

Now....WHO go be on either team is the question.  I'm not convinced this is an "official event" and seeing that the EPL starts on August 19 and the League Championship & SPL start earlier than that...I cyah see the clubs releasing our players for a fete match in Toronto.

It might be a total local squad or even some past players like Faustin etc thrown in the mix but I doubt many of the CURRENT Soca Warriors will be involved.  More likely a promoter's hype to get people to come out and nex ting yuh know is man who livin in Toronto and does take a sweat showin up fuh de game and people askin....which one is Stern John?

You never know tho.

Steupsss I hope it aint no put together foolishness..maybe I should take a sweat!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Grande on July 08, 2006, 03:36:50 PM
who knows who will be on the team

i will still go anyway oui

check meh for the match report  ;)
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 08, 2006, 04:40:34 PM
meh padnah puttin dis 2gether, de line-ups 2 b announced soon, will keep everyone updated ;D
Post by: lickslikefire on July 08, 2006, 04:48:56 PM
what a pack of shit....i just come back from sweating hockey in lamport stadium....that stadium is utter shit....i doh understand why they would have professionals play on astro turf

anyways i go be dere  ;D
Post by: #8 on July 08, 2006, 07:39:02 PM

Sunday August 27th, 2006
Tux Ent presents...

Now....WHO go be on either team is the question.  I'm not convinced this is an "official event" and seeing that the EPL starts on August 19 and the League Championship & SPL start earlier than that...I cyah see the clubs releasing our players for a fete match in Toronto.

It might be a total local squad or even some past players like Faustin etc thrown in the mix but I doubt many of the CURRENT Soca Warriors will be involved.  More likely a promoter's hype to get people to come out and nex ting yuh know is man who livin in Toronto and does take a sweat showin up fuh de game and people askin....which one is Stern John?

You never know tho.

Steupsss I hope it aint no put together foolishness..maybe I should take a sweat!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Atiba Charles and Anthony Wolfe already confirmed to play on de 27th for de Warriors(select team)...It's a Unite De Nations theme match...NOTHING TOO dramatic ;D

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee

Title: FRIENDLY GAMES ??
Post by: SHOCKER on July 09, 2006, 05:07:18 AM
CAN ANYONE CONFIRM IF WE HAVE ANY FRIENDLY GAMES SCHEDULED THIS MONTH OR NEXT MONTH AND IF SO WHO AGAINST , THANKS
Title: Soca Warriors vs Reggae Boyz
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 04:44:51 PM
Well... The until the Digicel Cup comes up we will have to sit here and wonder which side is better. Obviously this being  www.socawarriors.net... we are obviously going to be bias...

But try your best to lay down your points on which team is better at this point and why.
Title: Re: Soca Warriors vs Reggae Boyz
Post by: dcs on July 10, 2006, 05:02:49 PM

Steupse.

Why we even talking about them...they doing anything to get back in the limelight and we obliging   ???
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 05:07:22 PM

Steupse.

Why we even talking about them...they doing anything to get back in the limelight and we obliging   ???

I would simply like to hear what people think... i dont care about the limelight... it eh no world popularity contest... (which we are by the way winning)
Post by: dcs on July 10, 2006, 05:11:53 PM
Where is Jamaica?

Dais my answer   ;D

Nah serious...I was surprised nobody bring up anything about Jamaica when talking about the Soca Warriors with people on the outside.

Right now our side is better...use the England games as a benchmark...they were taken apart quite easily.

They also at a rebuilding stage.
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 05:13:14 PM
Where is Jamaica?

Dais my answer   ;D

Nah serious...I was surprised nobody bring up anything about Jamaica when talking about the Soca Warriors with people on the outside.

Right now our side is better...use the England games as a benchmark...they were taken apart quite easily.

They also at a rebuilding stage.

precisely what i plan on doing.
Post by: dcs on July 10, 2006, 05:16:28 PM

Really and truly COSTA RICA is the team we should be focusing on.

Dem is trouble and if we making a push for automatic qualification is dem we have to get past.

JA on the same level as Honduras, Guatemala...beatable if we get our house in order.

Costa Rica lil more difficult and in WC qualifying they have gotten a lot of points off of us.
Post by: PortValeChris on July 10, 2006, 05:18:11 PM
I'm english so not biased.  I voted for the Soca Warriors (or if you are an ignorant english TV presenter or journalist- Soccer Warriors)  But as I've spent so long on this site it's almost my second home I think I'm getting a little biased.  We've even had the warmest summer for a long time.
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 05:23:39 PM

Really and truly COSTA RICA is the team we should be focusing on.

Dem is trouble and if we making a push for automatic qualification is dem we have to get past.

JA on the same level as Honduras, Guatemala...beatable if we get our house in order.

Costa Rica lil more difficult and in WC qualifying they have gotten a lot of points off of us.

well said... thats what i would really like... see us consistently beating them... giving them trouble in their own backyards... draws and wins... and really to see us consistently contesting the US and Mexico for the top group spot is what i think we all want.
Post by: Grande on July 10, 2006, 05:25:40 PM
I'm english so not biased.  I voted for the Soca Warriors (or if you are an ignorant english TV presenter or journalist- Soccer Warriors)  But as I've spent so long on this site it's almost my second home I think I'm getting a little biased.  We've even had the warmest summer for a long time.

the journey now start PVChris

stay on board  :beermug:

Jefferz to answer your question we are without a doubt the better team at the moment, realistically speaking  :beermug:
Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 05:27:37 PM

yea man... thanks FOR the "Warm" support... all the Vale fans have been great... Even if Chris was to further his career with a bigger club we will never forget you guys... you are his flesh and blood.  :beermug:
Post by: big dawg on July 10, 2006, 05:50:17 PM
people talk about jamaica "own us" for the past decade.. and Jamaica went to WC before us..

and now as we went to Germany it ehh no secret that the Yardies now gunning for us.. all this Caribbbean Unity ...out the door...this is not Cricket..

The question is.. What has Jamaica done in the recent memory.. they bombed out of the prelim in quailfiing and the lucky they didnt get 10 from England just the other day..

We are all Trinis on this site (well most of us are) and we will obiousily pick the warrriors. but put all b.s aside..pound 4 pound we are the better team TODAY.. its up to us to keep it that way...let dem yardies talk and hire big time coach

and as dcs say.. we should be studying about Costa Rica.. since it seems that the USA and Mexico are regulars (despite their perfromance in Germany)

Post by: Jah Gol on July 10, 2006, 07:17:47 PM
people talk about jamaica "own us" for the past decade.. and Jamaica went to WC before us..

and now as we went to Germany it ehh no secret that the Yardies now gunning for us.. all this Caribbbean Unity ...out the door...this is not Cricket..

The question is.. What has Jamaica done in the recent memory.. they bombed out of the prelim in quailfiing and the lucky they didnt get 10 from England just the other day..

We are all Trinis on this site (well most of us are) and we will obiousily pick the warrriors. but put all b.s aside..pound 4 pound we are the better team TODAY.. its up to us to keep it that way...let dem yardies talk and hire big time coach

and as dcs say.. we should be studying about Costa Rica.. since it seems that the USA and Mexico are regulars (despite their perfromance in Germany)

I am pro Caribbean unity but when it comes to football I would feel insulted if Jamaica eva better Trinidad again. We need to groom our players understand the importance of that rivalry like the Barca - Real derby. We must make it a priority to beat them at all levels consistently. I ent have a problem with Jamaica, I won't cuss nobody country but anything like that. But I want the see the day we make them into whipping boys.
Post by: Reggaefan on July 10, 2006, 08:00:31 PM

I m surprised that so many posters here reading so much into the recent results vs England and Australia. Fact is Jamaica never really had proper preperation for those games, last time Jamaica had any sort of half decent preperation for a game/tournament was the gold cup, where they got to the quarter finals.

Jamaica not making it to the Hex is just a matter of bad luck....imagine a situation where you went unbeaten on the road, but yet only able to muster up one point at home, where traditionally you have had your better results.

Trinidad was struggling to beat St. Kitts at one point, until teh master coach took over control. the rest is history.

I personally believe that Jamaica and T&T playing a friendly game any time soon would see victory for Reggae Boyz. There is something about playing T&T that make a Jamaica team go out and get the result.

I predict Jamaica, Mexico and the USA will qualify automtaically for Africa 2010. Costa Rica, T&T and Honduras will batlle it out for the other half spot (if it still remains after).

My opinion.

Post by: Savannah boy on July 10, 2006, 08:07:27 PM
We eh care bout de past.  What have you done lately reggae fart?
Post by: Padams on July 10, 2006, 08:10:14 PM

I m surprised that so many posters here reading so much into the recent results vs England and Australia. Fact is Jamaica never really had proper preperation for those games, last time Jamaica had any sort of half decent preperation for a game/tournament was the gold cup, where they got to the quarter finals.

Jamaica not making it to the Hex is just a matter of bad luck....imagine a situation where you went unbeaten on the road, but yet only able to muster up one point at home, where traditionally you have had your better results.

Trinidad was struggling to beat St. Kitts at one point, until teh master coach took over control. the rest is history.

I personally believe that Jamaica and T&T playing a friendly game any time soon would see victory for Reggae Boyz. There is something about playing T&T that make a Jamaica team go out and get the result.

I predict Jamaica, Mexico and the USA will qualify automtaically for Africa 2010. Costa Rica, T&T and Honduras will batlle it out for the other half spot (if it still remains after).

My opinion.

Wake Up Reggae Fan.....Your dreaming  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I guess being Jamaican you have no choice, but to say what ur saying...so ah won't go to hard and u...But Seriously dude...WAKE UP!!!!
Post by: Filho on July 10, 2006, 08:25:07 PM
all this ole talk about who is better is shit. the question is, can we beat them. the only thing that matters is head to head. in football, results against a 3rd party means absolutely nothing. England may beat JA 6-0 and beat us 2-0 and it does not guarantee a damn thing or even mean that we are better. and when heated rivals meet..form means nothing. Barcelona could be bottom of the table and R Madrid could be top...when the superclassico reach, all bets are off. it is the same for JA and T&T. JA always does better against the US than we do...because they know how to match up against the US style of play better than us..but when they meet us..that doh men crap.

Right now..we theroretically should beat JA. BUT WE HAVE NO BRAGGING RIGHTS...last head to head..they cut our arse. In fact, the beating us like is a joke in recent years..at all levels. So cool all this shit bout we make WC and we eh get pile up by England. T&T has done nothing to prove they can beat Jamaica. Anything else is empty braying to make ourselves feel better. Until we actually go out and beat Jamaica, they better than us. All who vex with that..too bad. Cuz if we had the record over JA that they have over us..we would be laughing at any attempt to analyze on paper why they were better than us. Sure we better on paper..but football is played on a field. It real simple...whoever win the next match is the better side..and will remain so until the next match..everything else is ole talk
Post by: palos on July 10, 2006, 08:33:49 PM
I am pro Caribbean unity but when it comes to football I would feel insulted if Jamaica eva better Trinidad again. We need to groom our players understand the importance of that rivalry like the Barca - Real derby. We must make it a priority to beat them at all levels consistently. I ent have a problem with Jamaica, I won't cuss nobody country but anything like that. But I want the see the day we make them into whipping boys.

Ah respeck yuh opinion but dat "Caribbean Unity" thing is a myth.  De biggest challenge "Caribbean Unity" faces is Caribbean People.  In all honesty, "Caribbean Unity" is an even bigger oxymoron than "Military Intelligence"  As the purest example of that, I give you...."The West Indies cricket team".

Now don't get me wrong.  It make plenty sense IN THEORY, but the sooner people realize and accept that this "concept" will never work...politically, socially, economically...the better off ALL the people of the Caribbean will be. 

Jes my opinion.

Post by: Jefferz on July 10, 2006, 08:43:40 PM
Reggaefan yuh mudda woke yuh up everyday by slappin yuh in de face wit ah cookin pan awa?

how yuh so incredibly dottish... everything is an excuse... your opinion is about as steady as Courtney Love in a crack house.

You need to wake up and realize that all the indisiplin on the JA team is finally coming back to counter the team's talent... T&T at this time are way ahead of them... they need to get their shit together if they want to be able to even contest us in the future.
Post by: Tillamawnin on July 10, 2006, 08:49:42 PM
all this ole talk about who is better is shit. the question is, can we beat them. the only thing that matters is head to head. in football, results against a 3rd party means absolutely nothing. England may beat JA 6-0 and beat us 2-0 and it does not guarantee a damn thing or even mean that we are better. and when heated rivals meet..form means nothing. Barcelona could be bottom of the table and R Madrid could be top...when the superclassico reach, all bets are off. it is the same for JA and T&T. JA always does better against the US than we do...because they know how to match up against the US style of play better than us..but when they meet us..that doh men crap.

Right now..we theroretically should beat JA. BUT WE HAVE NO BRAGGING RIGHTS...last head to head..they cut our arse. In fact, the beating us like is a joke in recent years..at all levels. So cool all this shit bout we make WC and we eh get pile up by England. T&T has done nothing to prove they can beat Jamaica. Anything else is empty braying to make ourselves feel better. Until we actually go out and beat Jamaica, they better than us. All who vex with that..too bad. Cuz if we had the record over JA that they have over us..we would be laughing at any attempt to analyze on paper why they were better than us. Sure we better on paper..but football is played on a field. It real simple...whoever win the next match is the better side..and will remain so until the next match..everything else is ole talk
Can I get an Amen!! It is good to see someone on here talk sense when it comes to the two teams.  It is also surprising that so much weight can be put on a meaningless friendly, where we took three days to bring our team together and prepare for that match against England who was like T&T finetuning for the World Cup. I am sure that under similar circumstances as us, T&T would not have faired better. You cannot read anything into the England/Jamaica match, as you will certainly be misled. As the good man Filho said, wait until we meet on the field of play. Over the past decade Jamaica has beaten T&T more than T&T has beaten Jamaica.  Apart from the just concluded WC, Jamaica has consistently out performed T&T in every aspect of the game, both at the junior and senior levels. We have been ranked above T&T more times than T&T ranked above us by FIFA in the past ten years. I also think that you would have a slight edge if we were to meet now, only because of the long preparation you have had and under the guidance of a quality coach.  Dwight York's leadership and experience in the World Cup also helped a lot to stabilize the team and give it some direction. How much longer will York be around to play that role? It will be interesting to see when we have to meet again. . .

Post by: ribbit on July 11, 2006, 12:40:48 AM
T&T should study Costa Rica and let Jamaica study Panama.
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 11, 2006, 05:11:36 AM

My opinion.

RF tekah  :applause: As ah matter ah fack.......tek :applause: :applause: :applause:

True colours. Doh hide dem .

Bring it out an lets see dem.. Ice gold , black and green.

But we go tek Red, White and black.

Hold it dong !
Post by: fishs on July 11, 2006, 05:59:05 AM
If TT have to play Jamaica in one months time I believe TT will rest it on Jamaica, but Jamaica football in disarray , they doh even really have a coach an nuff men retire recently.
As Jefferz say , the real measure will be the nex Gold Cup (an ah willing to bet money our football will be in disarray for similar reasons by then)
Post by: Reggaefan on July 11, 2006, 07:40:40 AM
Reggaefan yuh mudda woke yuh up everyday by slappin yuh in de face wit ah cookin pan awa?

how yuh so incredibly dottish... everything is an excuse... your opinion is about as steady as Courtney Love in a crack house.

You need to wake up and realize that all the indisiplin on the JA team is finally coming back to counter the team's talent... T&T at this time are way ahead of them... they need to get their shit together if they want to be able to even contest us in the future.

Jamaica will beat T&T, no matter who is playing the better ball. For that matter, Jamaica will beat any caribbean team that steps on the field.

Dont forget that St Kitts, St. Vincent, Cuba etc were scaring the crap out of your team 15 months ago. Yeah, you improved for the world cup.....
but on the same field with Jamaica...its only one team winning the game.

I'll go off the result of the last game between the two countries. Guess who won?

Post by: truetrini on July 11, 2006, 07:47:05 AM

Jamaica will beat T&T, no matter who is playing the better ball. For that matter, Jamaica will beat any caribbean team that steps on the field.

Dont forget that St Kitts, St. Vincent, Cuba etc were scaring the crap out of your team 15 months ago. Yeah, you improved for the world cup.....

I'll go off the result of the last game between the two countries. Guess who won?

yuh too confident of de past!

Dat is what happened tuh T&T football, de admin and de fans lived in de pst and let de football development slide....what happened was dat we lose we upper hand.

Jamaica will have a hard time beating T&T breds.

They always do...even when dey do win it is no walk in the park!
Post by: CarenageBoy on July 11, 2006, 08:02:25 AM
I don't think we should waste time asking which team is better. Of course, T&T is the better team right now. However, JA continues to have a richer and wider talent pool.

This is something that we will have to work on if we are to continue to remain competitive in the long run. We need to explore the talent available in an untapped 43 percent of our populations. If we can get more Indo-Trinbagonians involved, we could increase our talent base. Jamaica can call on large pool of local and foreign-based talent for a given game. Their resources in this area are larger than ours. This is not just because they have more than twice our population. It's also because their population is more homogenous. The overall cultural interests of their youth would lean more consistently in the same direction. This is not a flaw of T&T, but it underscores the need to involve the Indo-T&T youth if we are to be successful.
Post by: Weh-it-is on July 11, 2006, 08:14:58 AM

Jefferz to answer your question we are without a doubt the better team at the moment, realistically speaking  :beermug:

The ice needs to be broken with a good ass wopping to JA! Then we shall move forward... because they're like a torn in our side! Even though we made it to the world cup we must face them head on and battle to show them who's boss now.
Post by: Reggaefan on July 11, 2006, 11:03:10 AM

Dat is what happened tuh T&T football, de admin and de fans lived in de pst and let de football development slide....what happened was dat we lose we upper hand.

Listen man, T&T have improved...but I maintain that my team, the ReggaeBoyz, are still a steap ahead of the Warriors. Agaian, if you use the England vs Jamaica game as a benchmark, you do so at your own peril. Jamaica vs T&T and Jamaica vs England are two different scenarios.
Bring in a decent coach into Jamaica nd let him work with our team for about 3 months....that all we need right now...and we could use a pretty much local based 11 to run over your world cup team.

With the talent pool Jamaica has right now, as long as a good coach comes in place...an automatic qualification for the next world cup looks good in my books.  Money is about to be spent on the programme, big things in the works.

Can T&T accompany Jamaica to the next world cup?? I hope so, but alot of that depends on wether or not Jack well and deal to hang on t o0the half spot...that way you could play off with Bahrain again.  ;D

Post by: Reggaefan on July 11, 2006, 11:05:59 AM

that 6-1 thumping in Jamaica some year ago seemed like a pretty easy walk in the park from where I was sitting in the stadium...
I admit it will be harder to do now.... ;)
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 11, 2006, 11:21:53 AM

RF ah see yuh talkin bout preparation and who win de last time....remember we loss to the northerners wit ah developmental side in decaribbean cup. it wasn't any full strength team we play wit

that 6-1 thumping in Jamaica some year ago seemed like a pretty easy walk in the park from where I was sitting in the stadium...

RF ah see you talkin bout prep.. and who win las time....remember we loss to the northerners wit a close 2-1 game and wit an experimental side in de caribbean cup. It wasn't no easy game so 'ride out' wit yuh talk.

Post by: Reggaefan on July 11, 2006, 12:56:34 PM

RF ah see yuh talkin bout preparation and who win de last time....remember we loss to the northerners wit ah developmental side in decaribbean cup. it wasn't any full strength team we play wit

RF ah see you talkin bout prep.. and who win las time....remember we loss to the northerners wit a close 2-1 game and wit an experimental side in de caribbean cup. It wasn't no easy game so 'ride out' wit yuh talk.

yeah, your team was experimenting....
so was our team.

no hard feelings man...its just that I have gotten so used to Jamaica beating you over the years at all levels, that its sorta hard for me to see a RBZ team losing to your side.
Post by: MickeyRat on July 11, 2006, 01:29:40 PM
I say we even now.
Post by: Socapro on July 11, 2006, 01:47:36 PM
I saw we even now.

With kinda rat$hit yuh talking dey breds?!  ;)

Ghana give them 4 -0 and right now I think T&T and Ghana on a completely different level to JA, we should be looking for a friendly against Ghana not an unfriendly & wasted exercise against JA as this point!

Right now T&T vs JA is a no contest! T&T 4 - 1 JA and JA only getting a goal due to one of our defenders possibly feeling sorry for them in injury time & heading the ball into our own goal so that the Ja government doh loss complete faith with their rebuilding programme for 2010!

I praying that they can afford and get Erickson as they new head coach whether part-time or full time as it will mean we will have one less team to worry about during the 2010 qualification series!   ;D
Post by: MickeyRat on July 11, 2006, 01:49:00 PM
I saw we even now.

With kinda rats$hit yuh talking dey breds?!

Ghana give them 4 -0 and right now I think T&T and Ghana on a completely different level to JA, we shopuld be looking for a friendlu against Ghana not an unfriendly wasted exercise against JA as this point!

Right now T&T vs JA is a no contest! T&T 4 - 1 JA due to one of our defenders possibly feeling sorry for JA in injury time & heading the ball in our own goal so that the Ja government doh loss complete hope with their rebuilding programme for 2010!

I praying that they can afford and get Erickson as they new head coach whether part-time or full time as it will mean we will have one less team to worry about during the 2010 qualification series! ;D

Just so! 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 11, 2006, 01:50:46 PM
allyuh is still take on dis JA yardie bitch..... just ignore him and his jelous ways towards TnT

he will come with dis "meh yute y u hate JA so much shit" and let the "caribbean unify" and ghow he is half trini

f**k off..see u in 2008 to knock yuh ass out in d last 4 
Post by: MickeyRat on July 11, 2006, 05:03:46 PM
Check http://www.socawarriorssc.com/socawarriors/scripts/match_listing.php?ml=1 (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/socawarriors/scripts/match_listing.php?ml=1) for d full match listing. "Page designed and maintained by Tallman"    :beermug:

And check our record against Jamaica (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/socawarriors/scripts/match_statistics.php).....25W, 24L.....that sounds pretty even to me.

Thanks for that piece of information.  It so even it eh funny.  Socapro, take ah quick read before yuh run off yuh cat. 
Post by: Jefferz on July 11, 2006, 05:43:26 PM

aright thanks for confirming what i said in my earlier post.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 06:41:32 PM
When you think about it, I don't think this is a game but more so a clash of various artist from both countries.

Why would  two Caribbean powerhouses select to play a friendly in Canada? and why in August? most of the palyers do have club commitments at this time?
Title: Canada Takes On Jamaica This Labour Day in Montreal...
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on July 11, 2006, 07:31:40 PM
I was a bit more enthused about this match when Canada had a coach.  If we don't have our knew coach in place shortly, these games will mean little:

Canada Takes On Jamaica This Labour Day in Montreal

Ottawa, Ontario – The Canadian Soccer Association is pleased to announce that the Men's National Team will play a home and away series of international friendlies against Jamaica this fall.
The first match between the two nations is scheduled for Monday, September 4 (Labour Day) at 4:00 p.m. in Montreal at the Complexe sportif Claude-Robillard.

The second match will take place in Kingston, Jamaica on Sunday, October 8th. The kick off time is still to be determined.
Canada has fared very well against the Reggae Boyz in recent history, outscoring the islanders 14-6 with five wins and only one loss in eleven meetings between the two countries. The last encounter took place on September 2, 1999 in Toronto with Canada's Jim Brennan scoring the only goal of the match in the 53rd minute.
"This is a very good two game series versus Jamaica. They are a quality team with some very good players so we are excited about the challenge,” said Canadian head coach Frank Yallop.
“We are also looking forward to playing in Canada, especially in Montreal, where we hope to continue our recent run of good performances"
Canada is now undefeated without allowing a goal in their last three friendlies since November 16, 2005 with a 1:0 win over Luxembourg, a 0:0 draw with the United States on January 22nd, 2006 in San Diego, California, and most recently a 2:0 win over Austria on March 1st, 2006 in Vienna, Austria.

Matches

Canada vs. Jamaica
Monday, September 4 @ 4:00 p.m.
Complexe sportif Claude-Robillard - 1000, rue Émile-Journault – Montreal, QC, Canada

Sunday, October 8 @ TBD - Kingston, Jamaica
Title: Re: Canada Takes On Jamaica This Labour Day in Montreal...
Post by: saga pinto on July 11, 2006, 07:37:56 PM
That should be ah easy win for canada,if they allow the national hockey team to play ;D
Post by: AB.Trini on July 11, 2006, 07:42:38 PM
eheh Brap WF just come upon the d site just so; yuh ehe even  wait for ah hand ah fig  or some dasheen yuh come in and pull out?

Yuh eh even comment on we ranking? on we new coach? on we play at W.C yuh post yuh  article and it  biased for so on how they handle Jamaica. Lawd WF? yuh does miss this site eh? Tell yuh partner SHart that  he should look into coming back tuh he roots and helping the youth team now. Read about the new plans we have nah WF.

Another case of  a country using Jamacia as a warm up before  they tackle the Warriors.

Oh gosh at least  say something positive about the Warriors nah?

Oh yeah yuh have tuh read this...yuh might laugh....

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=18575.0
Post by: chinee boi on July 11, 2006, 08:29:03 PM
boy last time i check dis is ah trini football site.....which part in Trinidad Canada and Jamaica is  :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 12, 2006, 05:53:33 AM

look at the team in that 6-1 thumping it was  our semi  pro league 11 it even had a few vincy on the team
Title: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Jamaica Invitational - Toronto CA
Post by: TriniCana on July 13, 2006, 02:47:46 PM
I'm not sure if this was posted up already....if it was,  I'll delete.

http://www.ticketmaster.ca/event/10003CD4C60B5256
Title: Re: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Jamaica Invitational - Toronto CA
Post by: palos on July 13, 2006, 02:49:35 PM
I'm not sure if this was posted up already....if it was,  I'll delete.

http://www.ticketmaster.ca/event/10003CD4C60B5256

It was.  It bein merged.
Title: Re: Trinidad & Tobago vs. Jamaica Invitational - Toronto CA
Post by: RasIred on July 13, 2006, 02:49:55 PM
Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhh I in that for sure....Bless Cana, thas a good find  ;)

Post by: RasIred on July 13, 2006, 02:53:59 PM
Palos. might wah make it a sticky ....just a thought .....cause I go clean forget bout this . It some forgetfull boardies who go forget.
Post by: TriniCana on July 13, 2006, 02:55:52 PM
Thanks Palos :beermug:
Post by: Grande on July 13, 2006, 03:41:54 PM
Palos. might wah make it a sticky ....

second that

GTA ppl we going to dis fuh sure

anybody want to make de trip to Montreal fuh the Canada vs. Jamaica game...see how SH doing, maybe get an interview from him too?

is the long weekend...and Montreal does always be a nice lime fuh obvious reasons  ;)
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 13, 2006, 04:10:01 PM

second that

anybody want to make de trip to Montreal fuh the Canada vs. Jamaica game...see how SH doing, maybe get an interview from him too?

is the long weekend...and Montreal does always be a nice lime fuh obvious reasons ;)

yea i in dat, we go make a trip for the long weekend and see de game, sounds good :beermug:
Post by: Grande on July 13, 2006, 05:50:04 PM

second that

is the long weekend...and Montreal does always be a nice lime fuh obvious reasons ;)

yea i in dat, we go make a trip for the long weekend and see de game, sounds good :beermug:

cool man  :beermug:

that youth Atiba Hutchinson on the Canadian national team is a Trini too - currently playin in Sweden
Title: How many members from the World Cup team will be in Toronto
Post by: Slade on August 10, 2006, 09:08:21 AM
Does anyone know how many members on the World Cup team, will be coming for the exibition game at Lamport Stadium on August 27th...
Post by: Toussaint on August 10, 2006, 12:45:01 PM
When you think about it, I don't think this is a game but more so a clash of various artist from both countries.

Why would  two Caribbean powerhouses select to play a friendly in Canada? and why in August? most of the palyers do have club commitments at this time?

Two caribbean powerhouses?

Here is how I grade the top concacaf teams:

Mexico 8/10, USA 7/10, Costa Rica 6/10, Canada 5/10, Jamaica 5/10, Honduras 5/10, Panama 5/10, TnT 5/10, Haiti 4/10, Cuba 4/10, Guatemala 4/10, El Salvador 3/10, SKN 3/10, Nicaragua 2/10, the rest 1/10.
Post by: Filho on August 10, 2006, 12:45:59 PM

Mexico 8/10, USA 7/10, Costa Rica 6/10, Canada 5/10, Jamaica 5/10, Honduras 5/10, Panama 5/10, TnT 5/10, Haiti 4/10, Cuba 4/10, Guatemala 4/10, El Salvador 3/10, SKN 3/10, Nicaragua 2/10, the rest 1/10.

Well, he didn't say two Concacaf powerhouses...he said two Caribbean powerhouses. Since you gave T&T and JA the highest scores of the caribbean teams, i guess you agree.
Post by: dcs on August 10, 2006, 03:08:56 PM

Is this nothing more than a fete matach?

If so take out the Soca Warriors and ReggaeBoyz part of the billing.
Post by: Toussaint on August 10, 2006, 05:01:09 PM

Well, he didn't say two Concacaf powerhouses...he said two Caribbean powerhouses. Since you gave T&T and JA the highest scores of the caribbean teams, i guess you agree.

Not quite so. Ja and TnT have been the most succesfull Caribbean teams in recent years; but, they're no powerhouses for Haiti and Cuba. BTW, Both teams came out victorious in their last encounters with the 'powerhouse'. However, based on the warriors' good performance in the WC, I consider TnT the best caribbean team untill they play a relatively strong caribbean sides like Jamaica, Haiti, and Cuba.

If you were to grade Germany and Spain, wouldn't you give the Germans a higher grade than the Spaniards? But, would that make Germany a 'powerhouse' when compared to Spain? The same goes for the caribbean. Jamaica and TnT are not that superior to Haiti and Cuba to call them 'the  two powerhouses'.

I stand by what I said in my previous post. All the teams I gave a 5/10 grade are favorites to post victories against the ones I gave 4/10. However, those teams are so close in strenght that a victory of a 5/10 team over a 4/10 team is not garanteed.
Post by: che on August 10, 2006, 05:15:01 PM
If we are playing a full team Sept against  Jam in Trinidad. Which players are we bringing for the fete match  in toronto?
Post by: Filho on August 10, 2006, 07:19:36 PM

Not quite so. Ja and TnT have been the most succesfull Caribbean teams in recent years; but, they're no powerhouses for Haiti and Cuba. BTW, Both teams came out victorious in their last encounters with the 'powerhouse'. However, based on the warriors' good performance in the WC, I consider TnT the best caribbean team untill they play a relatively strong caribbean sides like Jamaica, Haiti, and Cuba.

If you were to grade Germany and Spain, wouldn't you give the Germans a higher grade than the Spaniards? But, would that make Germany a 'powerhouse' when compared to Spain? The same goes for the caribbean. Jamaica and TnT are not that superior to Haiti and Cuba to call them 'the  two powerhouses'.

I stand by what I said in my previous post. All the teams I gave a 5/10 grade are favorites to post victories against the ones I gave 4/10. However, those teams are so close in strenght that a victory of a 5/10 team over a 4/10 team is not garanteed.

The term powerhouse is barely more than a figure of speech that is assigned based on historical results, current form and subjective opinion. Anyway, did Alberta ever say that Haiti and Cuba weren't powerhouses as well? Did I? Alberta didn't call T&T and JA THE two powerhouses. Just 2 powerhouses. I never said that either nor implied that when I observed your rankings. You are debating a point which was never made
Post by: Filho on August 10, 2006, 07:26:31 PM

u r supremely ignorant. that was not our National team..There were even non-Trinis on that team. That is no excuse, it is a fact. Your football federation marketed it as our national team and tief yuh money. You got a league select with a few national players sprinkled in. So get your facts straight...And read my posts..I doh shy away from the fact that JA regularly beats T&T now and that no matter what kinda form either team in, it will be a close game. So I eh crying yuh down out of National Pride...i just educating yuh so yuh could stop talking mess.
Title: Tickets for T&T vs Jamaica at Lamport Stadium Aug 27th
Post by: Slade on August 19, 2006, 10:46:54 AM
Hey I herad that the tickets are $45.00 advance and $60.00 at the gate, is that true.

Title: Re: Tickets for T&T vs Jamaica at Lamport Stadium Aug 27th
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 19, 2006, 10:48:33 AM
yea bredda, it turnin out 2 b a real yardman affair >:(
Title: Re: Tickets for T&T vs Jamaica at Lamport Stadium Aug 27th
Post by: Slade on August 19, 2006, 10:58:44 AM
Yuh going ..
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 21, 2006, 07:42:39 AM
But #8 should be playing in dat game.  Are we going?  ??? ??? ???
Post by: biga84 on August 27, 2006, 09:12:42 AM
anyone going to this today?
Post by: Reggaefan on August 27, 2006, 09:48:37 AM

u r supremely ignorant. that was not our National team..There were even non-Trinis on that team. That is no excuse, it is a fact. Your football federation marketed it as our national team and tief yuh money. You got a league select with a few national players sprinkled in. So get your facts straight...And read my posts..I doh shy away from the fact that JA regularly beats T&T now and that no matter what kinda form either team in, it will be a close game. So I eh crying yuh down out of National Pride...i just educating yuh so yuh could stop talking mess.

Stern Johna nd all teh others were there....the T&T national anthem was played, and the team wore red and white....
I dont care if you had 15 Brazilains on there...the resulty according to FIFA's web site reads Jamaica 6 Trinidad and Tobago 0.

Ifr anything, FIFA should suspend all yuh for using none T&T players on your national team. ;D
Post by: lickslikefire on August 27, 2006, 10:18:45 AM
anyone going to this today?

TI and I heading down....(Organic maybe) as well...pm me/TI if yuh want to link up man.... :beermug:
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 10:29:06 AM

Stern Johna nd all teh others were there....the T&T national anthem was played, and the team wore red and white....
I dont care if you had 15 Brazilains on there...the resulty according to FIFA's web site reads Jamaica 6 Trinidad and Tobago 0.

Ifr anything, FIFA should suspend all yuh for using none T&T players on your national team. ;D

That is some serious shit. How d hell you could have an a-team friendly with players who not eligible to play for one of the countries? Who is responsible for this?
Post by: Reggaefan on August 27, 2006, 10:32:58 AM

That is some serious shit. How d hell you could have an a-team friendly with players who not eligible to play for one of the countries? Who is responsible for this?

Jack Warner is FIFA himself...so dont ask me. Al I know is that the match was advertised as Jamaica vs Trinidad and tobago...the teams played in the Trinidad and Tobago uniform, the T&T flag was displayed on the flag pole, and teh T&T anthem was played. Turned out that there were two none-T&T nationals on the T&T team...One Guy from Sierra Leone, and another guy, dont recall where he is now. I believe the arguemnt at the time ws that these guys were in teh process of being neutralized.

The FIFA site today lists the game as Jamaica vs T&T, and not as Jamaica vs a T&T select.
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 10:53:55 AM

Jack Warner is FIFA himself...so dont ask me. Al I know is that the match was advertised as Jamaica vs Trinidad and tobago...the teams played in the Trinidad and Tobago uniform, the T&T flag was displayed on the flag pole, and teh T&T anthem was played. Turned out that there were two none-T&T nationals on the T&T team...One Guy from Sierra Leone, and another guy, dont recall where he is now. I believe the arguemnt at the time ws that these guys were in teh process of being neutralized.

The FIFA site today lists the game as Jamaica vs T&T, and not as Jamaica vs a T&T select.

i wasn't calling into question what you were saying. I checked the archives on this very sita and they are saying what you are saying, except for the fact that there were 3 and not just 2 players. Conteh for Sierra Leone used to heat up the old SPFL bakc in the day, but there was a barbadian and a vincentian as well. All I want to know is how these guys can play in an official friendly. And that "in the process of being naturalized" is shit. There is no rule that allows you to play for a country in an official match if you can't produce you passport on demand.

I'm not discounting the validity of the result. I'm contesting what is essentially a great oversight or a travesty on FIFA's part. My guess is if its listed as an a team friendly its because the TTFF listed the squad as an a squad, and since jamaica didn't protest (why would they? they won 6-1!) no one in FIFA ever looked back once at the result. I'm going to do some research, and it'd be interesting to see if any of those players ever played for their own country...

ps this is the report on the game
http://www.socawarriorssc.com/socawarriors/scripts/match_report.php?id=268&cid=562
Jamaica trounces T&T 6-1
Written by Trinidad Guardian
Monday, September 01 1997

Jamaica wished Trinidad and Tobago happy birthday in a big way. They trounced T&T 6-1 infront of the home fans in Kingston.

It was the biggest margin of victory for the Reggae Boyz over the Calypso Boys ever, passing the previous mark of 1-3 played in the same stadium.

This is really turning out to be big soccer war between the two countries. Jamaica were out to get the Trini's after a humuliating loss they suffered in Antigua.

The JFF were looking for a strong Trinidad and Tobago squad, however what they ended up was a squad with only one European professional in the lineup.

The T&T squad had four rookie players in the game and had just thrown together a team last week.

The Jamaicans on the other hand had all there "pros" at there disposal. It proved the difference as the amatuer team gave the Jamaicans all the room in the world to opperate.

Jamaica were up to 2-0 in the first 22 minutes of play on goals from their "Jamaican professional" Paul Hall.

Jerren Nixon only in the game because he is awaiting a work permit to complete his £300,000 transfer scored in the 36th minute.

Ricardo Gardner made the score line 3-1 and Barbadian defender Nicholas Pitt beat his own goalie Clayton Ince to put the score 4-1 at the end of the first half.

The second half was not much better for T&T as they gave Jamaica space to build a new National Staduim. Paul Young and Dean Sewell completed the "cut ass" for the Jamaicans.

Two Trinidad and Tobago players were ejected. Adaryl John and St. Vicentian, now Trinidadian Welsey John were kicked out for dissent.

The T&T team was so decimated by player's overseas that they included three non T&T players in Nicholas Pitt (Barbados), Welsey John (St. Vincent) and Unisa Conteh (Sierra Leone). All these players play in the Trinidad and Tobago Football League.

All in all, the Jamaican's deserve the victory as they were match fit and ready to play.
Post by: corncom1 on August 27, 2006, 10:56:31 AM
Reggaefan, finally!
Jamaica101 here under different name.
Why all the fuss. Today is the real thing where our U-16s will show them who are the real Princes of the Caribbean, although Haiti has that title by default.

PS. How many Jamaicans on this forum besides you?    
Post by: Sam on August 27, 2006, 11:01:29 AM
That T&T team RF talking about had four non T&T players; Nicholas Pitt (Barbados) who scored an own goal in that game, Welsey John (St Vincent) got a red card, Unisa Conteh (Sierra Leone) and some other player I cant remember his name. So he could talk all he want but he will never admit.

If we want to talk then right before Jamaica went to the world cup we buss they ass 2-1 in NJ, they play all they world cup stars.

If RF want to go back and talk almost 10 years now then we bust they ass to with some big margins and this is FIFA official event.

26-Feb-1947 Jamaica 0-6 Trinidad & Tobago (Friendly) Sabina Park.

8-Nov-1947 Trinidad & Tobago 6-0 Jamaica (CFU) Queen's Park Savannah.

6-Jul-1981 Trinidad & Tobago 4-0 Jamaica (CFU) Port-of-Spain.
Post by: corncom1 on August 27, 2006, 11:06:45 AM
I thought the Team that beat Jamaica in NJ in 1998 was an all star Caribbean Team and I also thought that Jamaica beat Trinidad 2-1 in the 1998 Copa Caribe after we return from France '98. ??? ??? 
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 11:08:58 AM
http://www.srcf.ucam.org/~nfm24/football/1997nca.html

31/08/1997, Kingston, National Stadium
Friendly International
JAMAICA             6 (Paul Hall 10', 22', Ricardo Gardener, Nicholas Pitt 45' OG, Paul Young,
                      Dean Sewell)
TRINIDAD/TOBAGO XI  1 (Jerren Nixon 36')
Referee:            Vanroy Burnes (Antigua/Barbuda).
Coaches:            Jamaica: René Simoes (Brazil).
                    Trinidad/Tobago: Bertille St. Clair.
Cards:              Jamaica: Gregory Messam [R].
                    Trinidad/Tobago XI: Wesley John [R], Adaryl John [R].
Notes:              The Trinidad/Tobago XI contained Trinidad League players, including
                    foreigners Nicholas Pitt (Barbados), Wesley John (St. Vincent/Gren) and
                    Unisa Conteh (Sierra Leone), but the game still awarded "caps",
                    and FIFA considers it to be a full international.

Okay this is just wrong. If we had beat them 6-1, youlda see how fast they invoke the foreign players presence to say it wasn't an official match. This kinda crap shouldn't be alllowed to slide
Post by: Sam on August 27, 2006, 11:15:12 AM
I thought the Team that beat Jamaica in NJ in 1998 was an all star Caribbean Team and I also thought that Jamaica beat Trinidad 2-1 in the 1998 Copa Caribe after we return from France '98. ??? ???

Well de reason why I mention it was becuase RF talking bout JA beat T&T 6-1 and it wasn't a full T&T team it was a squad made up of caribbean players as four of them not from T&T. So if he want to count that then I will count this....

Well dont even compare de Copa Caribe because we is king of that. In 1999 we beat Jamaica, Cuba, Haiti, Guadeloupe and Grenada, de year after allyuh came back from de 1998 world cup. Then we beat South Africa, Jamaica and Colombia in friendly games around that same time.

MY point is, teams lose and win, RF cannot come here and talk shit.

We also beat Honduras (3-1) and Costa Rica (2-1) in de Gold Cup.
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 11:30:07 AM
This is really getting on my nerves now. I was aware of this game but never in my life did i think FIFA considered it an official friendly.

Nicholas Pitt played for barbados AGAINST us in 1998, less than a year after "representing" TnT. Wesley John actually played against us in a flicking world cup qualifier no less...in the last semifinal round.

Either these players were capped for Tnt, either the match wasn't an official match. If they were capped for Tnt then they illegally took the field against us later on. You can't have your cake and eat it too.

This isn't damn track and field... >:(
Post by: corncom1 on August 27, 2006, 11:57:20 AM
i will refute the fact that Trinidad is better than Jamaica.
On head to head this is what the stats. are for Jamaica vs Trinidad from 1935-2006:
JAMAICA                                                          TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
P     W    D   L   GF   GA  Success                        P   W   D   L   GF   GA   Success
57   24    8   25  68   75  49.12%                       57  25  8   24  75  68     50.88%
Now Trinis might give themselves the edge considering the slight percentage rate, but keep this in mind: Trinidad has never beaten Jamaica in World Cup qualifiers which I point out since Jamaica withdrew from the 1974 qualifers after 8 of our players were suspended and also Jamaica did not compete in the 1982 qualifiers.
The question is where do we start fresh to see who is the better team?
Post by: Reggaefan on August 27, 2006, 12:58:14 PM

Well de reason why I mention it was becuase RF talking bout JA beat T&T 6-1 and it wasn't a full T&T team it was a squad made up of caribbean players as four of them not from T&T. So if he want to count that then I will count this....

Well dont even compare de Copa Caribe because we is king of that. In 1999 we beat Jamaica, Cuba, Haiti, Guadeloupe and Grenada, de year after allyuh came back from de 1998 world cup. Then we beat South Africa, Jamaica and Colombia in friendly games around that same time.

Sam? you lieing again. Jamaica beat T&T 2-1 in the shell cup after returning from the Gold Cup in 1998. Onandi Lowe and theodore Whotmore scored, Stern John pulled one back for T&T.  If the squad that played Jamaica in Kingston was in fact not the T&T national team, thats something you and Jack should have pointed out to us before the kick-off..instead of at the end of the game. I bet you if it was a T&T victory we would never have heard a quat about players not being Trinidad nationals. And havent you guys since done the same thing with The Brazilian born player Seabra? Didnt he play for you guys in the Digicel Cup last year? Seems like its something you have done at least on one occasion since then.
Post by: Lionpaw on August 27, 2006, 01:00:45 PM

Sam? you lieing again. Jamaica beat T&T 2-1 in the shell cup after returning from the Gold Cup in 1998. Onandi Lowe and theodore Whotmore scored, Stern John pulled one back for T&T.  If the squad that played Jamaica in Kingston was in fact not the T&T national team, thats something you and Jack should have pointed out to us before the kick-off..instead of at the end of the game. I bet you if it was a T&T victory we would never have heard a quat about players not being Trinidad nationals. And havent you guys since done the same thing with The Brazilian born player Seabra? Didnt he play for you guys in the Digicel Cup last year? Seems like its something you have done at least on one occasion since then.

LOL. Look like T&T is a club.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 27, 2006, 01:02:51 PM

you cannot done eh
Post by: Reggaefan on August 27, 2006, 01:04:23 PM

Sam? you lieing again. Jamaica beat T&T 2-1 in the shell cup after returning from the World Cup in 1998. Onandi Lowe and theodore Whotmore scored, Stern John pulled one back for T&T.  If the squad that played Jamaica in Kingston was in fact not the T&T national team, thats something you and Jack should have pointed out to us before the kick-off..instead of at the end of the game. I bet you if it was a T&T victory we would never have heard a quat about players not being Trinidad nationals. And havent you guys since done the same thing with The Brazilian born player Seabra? Didnt he play for you guys in the Digicel Cup last year? Seems like its something you have done at least on one occasion since then.

you cannot done eh
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 27, 2006, 01:07:26 PM
Yuh just full ah chat what the score btw i hope JA win so we can fire corneal
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 27, 2006, 01:08:46 PM

1-0 HT TnT     Knox Penalty
Post by: Jefferz on August 27, 2006, 01:17:52 PM

1-0 HT TnT     Knox Penalty

2-0 Ryan put it into the net.
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 01:40:37 PM

Jamaica beat us in the 98 Caribbean Cup, We beat them twice in 1999, including the 1999 Caribbean Cup.

RF, I think this should clarify the situation

By: Joel Villafana - ttproleague.
03-Mar-2005 - Jose Luis Seabra is a disappointed man, as it now seems unlikely that he will be part of Trinidad and Tobago’s journey to Germany 2006—but the Brazilian born player is still hopeful that one day he still may become a ‘Soca Warrior.’
After months of uncertainty, it was revealed by Minister of Sports Roger Boynes, that under the current law, a non-citizen must wait seven (7) years to be granted citizenship after gaining residency.
Seabra was granted residency in January this year which allowed him to play for T&T in friendly internationals and regional tournaments, but in order to play at the international level F.I.F.A. requires that one must be a citizen to represent their country.

I can only assume that those three players (Conteh, Pitt and W. john) had residency status and that is why they were allowed to play on the Trinidad team. However, there is a big difference between seabra and pitt and john - seabra has never been capped by another country.

This would be a huge travesty if pitt and john played for their respective countries BEFORE playing in that friendly game. I haven't been able to verify it yet.

Seabra's case is different because there was an expressed desire on the part of the player to gain Trini citizenship. He was supposed to be a major part of bertille saint clairs world cup plans (He played in the two azerbaijan matches as well as the digicell cup matches). I'm not saying i agree with it, i'm just stating it as it is.The only reason it didn't work out is that the government was unwiling to fastrack his citizenship - kind of like the solomon kalou situation (and rightly so)

You can compare it to a hypothetical situation of Simoes wanting to draft in a british born player who is eligible for jamaican citizenship, with resident status in jamaica (because of his parents), but who but who doesn't actually have the passport yet becase he never bothered to do the paperwork. assume that he can get the citizenship in 28 days and there's a friendly in 25 days followed by a qualifier at the end of the month. If the guy has residency status, the coach can test him out in a friendly while his papers are being looked after, and play him in the qualifier 2 days after his citizenship is approved.

Now it seems to me that the problem with the 6-1 match is that these players were never in the national team setup. They were picked to play this game simply for reasons of CONVENIENCE...the TTFF apparently barely bothered to put together a side.

Now no one (at least not myself) is griping about the result and trying to disqualify it because of the composition of the team. If you get comfort from beating up on a last minutes scratch up side more power to you ::) What i am saying is that in that case, that was a mockery of an A team match and IF EVER none of those players had residency status, or had already played with their countries, the match itself was a mockery of FIFA's eligibility rule sand should not be considered valid

As to why the TTFF never signalled it before the start of the match...well it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that if the TTFF put the players there in the first place its because itsconvenient for them to play so why the hell would they protest against their own smartman tactics ::)

In fact they still haven't signalled it - WHICH IS WHAT I'M COMPLAINING ABOUT IN THE FIRST PLACE
As far as i'm concerned, this is a classic case of no one says anything and everyone gets fine. The TTFF were paid their cut of the matchfees or whatever fee jamaica paid to organise the match, the jamaica public get a nice thumping of their arch enemies just before the world cup, the fringe players who'd never have seen a national cap get one, the foreign PFL players get a sweat against future world cup 'stars'. The only losers are the Trinidad supporters, but who the hell cares? We never stand up for anything anyway...
Post by: Reggaefan on August 27, 2006, 01:48:47 PM

Jamaica beat us in the 98 Caribbean Cup, We beat them twice in 1999, including the 1999 Caribbean Cup.

RF, I think this should clarify the situation

By: Joel Villafana - ttproleague.
03-Mar-2005 - Jose Luis Seabra is a disappointed man, as it now seems unlikely that he will be part of Trinidad and Tobago’s journey to Germany 2006—but the Brazilian born player is still hopeful that one day he still may become a ‘Soca Warrior.’
After months of uncertainty, it was revealed by Minister of Sports Roger Boynes, that under the current law, a non-citizen must wait seven (7) years to be granted citizenship after gaining residency.
Seabra was granted residency in January this year which allowed him to play for T&T in friendly internationals and regional tournaments, but in order to play at the international level F.I.F.A. requires that one must be a citizen to represent their country.

I can only assume that those three players (Conteh, Pitt and W. john) had residency status and that is why they were allowed to play on the Trinidad team. However, there is a big difference between seabra and pitt and john - seabra has never been capped by another country.

This would be a huge travesty if pitt and john played for their respective countries BEFORE playing in that friendly game. I haven't been able to verify it yet.

Seabra's case is different because there was an expressed desire on the part of the player to gain Trini citizenship. He was supposed to be a major part of bertille saint clairs world cup plans (He played in the two azerbaijan matches as well as the digicell cup matches). I'm not saying i agree with it, i'm just stating it as it is.The only reason it didn't work out is that the government was unwiling to fastrack his citizenship - kind of like the solomon kalou situation (and rightly so)

You can compare it to a hypothetical situation of Simoes wanting to draft in a british born player who is eligible for jamaican citizenship, with resident status in jamaica (because of his parents), but who but who doesn't actually have the passport yet becase he never bothered to do the paperwork. assume that he can get the citizenship in 28 days and there's a friendly in 25 days followed by a qualifier at the end of the month. If the guy has residency status, the coach can test him out in a friendly while his papers are being looked after, and play him in the qualifier 2 days after his citizenship is approved.

Now it seems to me that the problem with the 6-1 match is that these players were never in the national team setup. They were picked to play this game simply for reasons of CONVENIENCE...the TTFF apparently barely bothered to put together a side.

Now no one (at least not myself) is griping about the result and trying to disqualify it because of the composition of the team. If you get comfort from beating up on a last minutes scratch up side more power to you ::) What i am saying is that in that case, that was a mockery of an A team match and IF EVER none of those players had residency status, or had already played with their countries, the match itself was a mockery of FIFA's eligibility rule sand should not be considered valid

As to why the TTFF never signalled it before the start of the match...well it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that if the TTFF put the players there in the first place its because itsconvenient for them to play so why the hell would they protest against their own smartman tactics ::)

In fact they still haven't signalled it - WHICH IS WHAT I'M COMPLAINING ABOUT IN THE FIRST PLACE
As far as i'm concerned, this is a classic case of no one says anything and everyone gets fine. The TTFF were paid their cut of the matchfees or whatever fee jamaica paid to organise the match, the jamaica public get a nice thumping of their arch enemies just before the world cup, the fringe players who'd never have seen a national cap get one, the foreign PFL players get a sweat against future world cup 'stars'. The only losers are the Trinidad supporters, but who the hell cares? We never stand up for anything anyway...

You national association couldnt find the time to put together a side? What? You ran out of players? Jerron Nixon, Ince, John, And a host of other T&T nationals were in teh squad...so its hard to figure out why they would have to select players who were none T&T nationals. Anyway, Jack is a law unto himself, so there.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 27, 2006, 02:02:23 PM
Yes as he brings up past victories to feel good
Post by: Midknight on August 27, 2006, 02:58:10 PM
You national association couldnt find the time to put together a side? What? You ran out of players? Jerron Nixon, Ince, John, And a host of other T&T nationals were in teh squad...so its hard to figure out why they would have to select players who were none T&T nationals.

If you're so sure about it, find me some proof. Sometimes i wonder if you actually read what others post instead of just mouthing off. Nixon showed up because he was in T+T getting his work permit. Any others obviously didn't have club commitments. 4 of the players got their first caps for pete's sake

Anyway, Jack is a law unto himself, so there.
Something we'll always agree on
Title: SW 1 RB 0
Post by: skatetackle on August 27, 2006, 08:37:30 PM
TnT finally bag a goal. Way to go SW.  Yardy cyar own we as someone said previously.
Title: Re: SW 1 RB 0
Post by: Kingk on August 27, 2006, 08:54:45 PM
 :challenge: :chilling: :cheers:
Title: Re: SW 1 RB 0
Post by: doublesandsolo on August 27, 2006, 09:37:06 PM
Ah love it!!!!!!!!!!!! Go T n T up next WC qualification!
Title: Who win the T&T Vs JA game in T.O
Post by: Trini2dabone on August 27, 2006, 10:34:55 PM
anyone no who win dat game on sunday
Title: Re: Who win the T&T Vs JA game in T.O
Post by: palos on August 27, 2006, 10:54:27 PM
1-0 T&T
Title: Re: Who win the T&T Vs JA game in T.O
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 28, 2006, 06:46:21 AM
1-0 T&T

des d score for d fete match in toronto?
Post by: trinidad badboy on August 28, 2006, 05:33:08 PM
soca warriors by farrrrrrrrrrrr

u see that ass whopping the jam down ppl get from england in the pre world cup  :rotfl:
Post by: skatetackle on August 28, 2006, 06:42:50 PM
Did anyone in here see the game?
How did this TnT squad look overall compared to June or even against Japan?
What format did they play?
Which player looked most impressive?
Anyone...please, I will send a  :beermug: for you.