Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: Flex on September 07, 2006, 02:29:25 PM

Title: Brian Lara Thread
Post by: Flex on September 07, 2006, 02:29:25 PM
'Lara' to get the axe.
By: Mark Pouchet (Express).

No play will be possible at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba for the warm-up matches of the International Cricket Council (ICC) West Indies Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2007.
But ICC WI CWC Local Organising Committee (LOC) CEO Anand Daniel stated that this country will still host those matches which will be shifted to either the National Cricket Centre in Balmain, Couva or the UWI ground in St Augustine.
With ICC and Global Cricket Corporation (GCC) inspectors, headed by ICC CWC's venue development director Don Lockerbie, bearing down on Tarouba for thorough and decisive inspections today, from 8:45 a.m., the "Lara", part of the PNM's planned $850 million elite sports complex at Tarouba, is likely to receive the thumbs down from the ICC inspectors.
"The Brian Lara Stadium is unlikely to be ready enough to be handed over to the ICC by November 30," Daniel admitted. "The ICC inspectors are coming with their construction experts and they know from the weather patterns and from the comparison with other regional venues that we are several months behind and so, it is very unlikely that we will be able to catch up, if not impossible."
On Tuesday, Lockerbie reported that the rain had been "devastating" to the progress of the construction of the Stadium, and that the ground was in danger of losing its status as a pre-tournament venue.

The threat is now reality.

The bane of the completion of the project, which is being overseen by the Urban Development Company of Trinidad and Tobago (UdeCoTT), has been inclement weather and a prolonged delay in the delivery of steel.
The LOC thought they had made up for the continued postponement with their first contingency plan-the use of temporary seating to be provided by France-based GL Events. But the insurmountable delays at the project site in Tarouba have meant that, although the pitch and outfield are ready, no foundation has been laid for the temporary seating to be supplied by the French company that has provided such facilities for Olympic and World Cup events in the past.
"Any kind of temporary structure needs a structure, a foundation to be laid on, "Daniel explained, "and that base is unlikely to be finished. Also, we should have placed the orders for those (temporary seatings) now because they will take a few months to arrive. But with the deadline for ordering equipment coming at the end of September, the rain has played havoc and it won't make any sense now."
However, their second alternative plan, which Daniel said was accepted with "satisfaction" by Lockerbie and company, will see the warm-up matches, to include Pakistan, South Africa, Canada and Scotland in January and February next year, shifted to the NCC and the UWI Ground.
"He (Lockerbie) is very comfortable with our contingency and strategy," Daniel explained. "I think if we didn't have an alternative that the CWC would have realised there was a bigger problem and we would have been in some trouble."
But is the LOC disappointed that the Brian Lara Stadium will not be an ICC WI CWC 2007 warm-up match venue?
"No, it's not a disappointment," Daniel said. "We have always felt it would be difficult to finish in time given the rain and the other delays. Of course it's a disappointment for the country but the positive thing is that it will be easy to move those matches to the other venues and so, we will still be able to host them here."
After visiting Tarouba, the ICC inspectors will travel to the tournament venue, Queen's Park Oval, at 2 p.m., before touching down at the other two T&T practice venues-the NCC in Couva and the UWI Ground in St Augustine. Those venues have already received the "thumbs up" from the ICC officials. The next stop for Lockerbie and company is Antigua.
The assessment team toured Barbados on Monday and were in Grenada on Tuesday. They will be in Jamaica to visit Sabina Park on September 13. They will also complete an inspection of the Greenfield Stadium project in Trelawny, in the country's north-west, on September 14.

Title: Re: 'Lara' to get the axe.
Post by: palos on September 07, 2006, 04:17:31 PM
Good.  We should have nutting to do wit CWC.  Leh dem hold dey CWC elsewhere.
Post by: Rastaman on September 07, 2006, 04:30:12 PM

And why is this ???

I ask foolishly.
Post by: palos on September 07, 2006, 06:02:04 PM

And why is this ???

I ask foolishly.

Jes my opinion.
Post by: dwolfman on September 12, 2006, 10:14:19 AM
How much money eventually went into that before it was halted?
Post by: ann3boys on September 19, 2006, 02:54:37 PM
from what I hear, the work will continue, and more than likely it will be ready for the actual matches but not for the warm-ups.
the playing pitch is down, but it is the stands not done.

Title: 'Lara the greatest among his peers"
Post by: Organic on November 04, 2006, 02:56:31 PM

Having to name one "great" batsman from among three contemporary favourites is a tricky task at any time. Yet a high-profile panel of former greats stuck its collective neck out and picked Brian Lara over Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar for his ability to dominate attacks consistently and over a period of time.

The panel - John Wright, Ian Chappell, Tony Greig and Ravi Shastri - had gathered for Cricinfo's fortnightly discussion The Round Table, hosted by Sanjay Manjrekar. Saturday's discussion, part of the new audio service, Cricinfo Talk, was debating the question, How good is the modern batsman?

The issue was discussed under the canvas of four trends: One, the fact that the 2006 Champions Trophy has served up only one score in excess of 300; two, that perhaps this was the golden age of batting pitches; three, that techniques were not being tested enough; and four, that averages belied sheer batting talent.

All four panelists immediately identified the change in the nature of Indian pitches during the Champions Trophy. While the prolonged monsoon yielded an under-prepared pitch in the earlier games at Mumbai's Brabourne Stadium, the last few matches at the other venues had ball dominate bat for an altogether un-Indian reason - bounce and carry.

Wright, the former New Zealand opener and India coach, noted how pitches today were marketed differently, and how curators were attempting to suit various conditions. Chappell and Shastri singled out Daljit Singh, the curator of the PCA Stadium in Mohali, for praise for his effective work on a pitch that "produced an even contest, and good matches" and was "the best" in India.

Shastri highlighted how the Mohali pitch had exposed India's batsmen - with bounce and carry, and some lateral movement - against Australia and how, as a result of a lack of sixes, India were forced to push for the ones and twos but failed to do so in the manner that Australia did.

Another factor raised was that of the one bouncer per over rule, which Shastri favoured. "It's a good rule, because it gives the bowler a chance to dictate terms and leave that doubt in the batsman's mind," he said. Noted Wright, "The front-foot play was diminished considerably. Batsmen needed to rely more on technical expertise, such as balance and shot control. Survival on flatter pitches is easier, but we saw with the bounce and movement than many batsmen struggled. It was quite unlike Indian conditions."

Greig summed it up - "It's simple: the pitches play up, the batsmen struggle" - while commenting on how batsmen weaned on flat pitches were suddenly finding unpredictable surfaces tough to handle. All four experts agreed that the Champions Trophy had exposed certain modern day batsmen.

In 2006, there have been 12 batsmen who averaged over 50, around three times the number of even a decade ago. So how does this square with the notion of declining quality? The consensus was that batsmen in the contemporary era were up against weaker bowling as against batsmen till the mid-1990s. Chappell was quick to point out that he would have included Mark Taylor and Michael Slater as the opening pair in an all-time Australian XI over Matthew Hayden and Justin Langer, for their ability to dominate quality bowling attacks. He gave the example of Hayden, whose average soon after he debuted at the international level was in the 20s and who couldn't progress beyond a certain level. On his phenomenal return, notably in the series against India in 2001, Hayden averaged in the 60s and Chappell noted how this could have been because of the difference in bowling quality.

"Teams like Zimbabwe and Bangladesh have diluted the bowling," said Chappell. "If you look back at the '90s, you had a more formidable bowling attack going up against batsmen. You had Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis operating in tandem, Allan Donald was there, Australia, as they've almost always done, had a formidable attack, and even West Indies had Curtley Ambrose and Courtney Walsh. Today, that's not the case, as the pace just isn't there."

Pace brought up the issue of helmets. It was argued that today's batsmen relied too much on safety precautions. Wright, having played just a small amount of his cricket without a helmet, pointed to successful batsman like Gary Sobers, Greg Chappell and Viv Richards, who not only scored runs against very fast bowlers while batting without helmets, but also dominated attacks.

Chappell was emphatic: "I didn't ever honestly think that a bowler was going to bowl to hit me. We backed our instincts and our skills. The only way I ever thought I'd get hit on the head was by my own mistake, if I'd top-edge a hook back onto my skull." Greig stressed on how the batsman's courage was not being tested enough, and that certain aspects of batting had gone astray.

So how does one identify greatness? It's a feel that one gets from watching a batsman, was the consensus, and the statistics usually back it up. Shastri pointed out that while technique and ability were definite criteria, what mattered most was consistency.

The panelists were asked to name their greats, and the common names from the past included the two Richards, Garry Sobers, Graeme Pollock, for their ability to score consistently throughout their careers.

And so to Tendulkar, Lara and Ponting. The panel's choice was clear, Lara over Ponting. Sunday's face-off just got more interesting.

Jamie Alter in Mumbai

November 4, 2006
Title: Re: 'Lara the greatest among his peers"
Post by: Organic on November 04, 2006, 03:04:02 PM
I remeber some game agaisnt australia in the caridbbean a couple of years ago when they worked lara over good wiht bounces and nuff balls tot he body.
lara stuck it out and made i cant remeber if ti was 50 plus or he went on to make 100.
all i remeber was it was a real gutsy performance..and i relaised lara was maturing alot as a team player.
captain.
Post by: TrinInfinite on November 04, 2006, 04:03:59 PM
lara has always been de bess, its de wicb and selectors and former captains bc of jealousy kept him down and out of the team....
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 04, 2006, 04:18:22 PM
lara has always been de bess, its de wicb and selectors and former captains bc of jealousy kept him down and out of the team....
strong sentiments...i agree lara been one of the greatest cricketing players and minds ever...but still didnt help that he wasnt mature enough for the role that was required by him. Furthermore it didnt help our Cricketing Board is de worst ever...dem cant get nuttin right.
Nuttin better dan watching lara bat and dominate any bowling attack....
Post by: Bourbon on November 05, 2006, 12:50:13 PM
See that 157 he make against australia in the caribbean standing up with walsh to save that test?? That was the best innings ever. Lara on fire is a thrill to watch. His placement sets him above others.
Post by: dwolfman on November 06, 2006, 01:56:05 PM
The score was actually 153.  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2006, 05:26:09 PM
153 N.O. TO BE EXACT
Post by: Bourbon on November 06, 2006, 09:12:23 PM
He deserve a extra boundary for the cover drive he hit to win it doh!!!  ;D
Title: Lara upbeat ahead of Aus clash..
Post by: Pro-Jayz on March 25, 2007, 10:06:40 PM
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/wc2007/content/current/story/287250.html

The West Indies captain Brian Lara says his team will not crumble when they face the defending champions Australia in the opening match of the World Cup Super Eights in Antigua on Tuesday.

Both teams have had confident starts to the tournament, winning all three opening games, and they set up a mouth-watering opening to the second stage. Lara intends to fight fire with fire when the two sides meet at the new Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

"I know it is a different class of opponents in the game on Tuesday, but we've played well against Australia in the recent past and we expect to do well if we play to our strengths," Lara said. West Indies beat Australia in the group phase of the Champions Trophy and also upstaged them in one match in the DLF Cup in Kuala Lumpur. Australia, though, did not stumble in the finals of both those tournaments.

However, Lara felt West Indies, buoyed by home support, were a better side now. "We are very consistent," he said. "We're building to the point where we want to get on to the bigger games, the Australians, the South Africans, the biggest teams in the tournament. So far we've performed really well. I'm proud of the guys."

The Australia captain Ricky Ponting was equally upbeat ahead of the clash. "The West Indies are a very dangerous team, they are on home soil, they should know these conditions very well and they have great crowd support from all over the Caribbean," Ponting said. "But it starts now. Every step you take in this tournament becomes more and more exciting."

© AFP
Title: Re: Lara upbeat ahead of Aus clash..
Post by: Dr. Rat on March 26, 2007, 05:39:46 AM
Why Lara looking like he just wake up stale drunk?
(http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/Cricket/WestIndies/marquees/lara_brian_v_ireland_marquee.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on March 26, 2007, 07:31:11 AM
(http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/Cricket/WestIndies/marquees/lara_brian_v_ireland_marquee.jpg)
Rat, dais de man GAME face  ;)
Post by: Dr. Rat on March 26, 2007, 08:02:41 AM
Rat, dais de man GAME face ;)

I go hate to see he angry face!
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2007, 08:10:06 AM
This is it boy ,this coulda be the finals oui !!Man I wish Sarwan was as dynamic as he was in the last world cup ,he could lead us rite tru them ,the last WC Pakistan had to hit him in the head ,and send him to hospital to stop him .He came back and still almost did it .
Post by: WestCoast on March 26, 2007, 09:28:13 AM
Rat, dais de man GAME face ;)
I go hate to see he angry face!
we all know that he gets his BAT to do his talking.

Go WI
Post by: dinho on June 11, 2007, 12:33:25 PM
Brian Lara: My favourite things [/size]

Brian Lara is not here as a player this summer, but a fascinating new exhibition shows off the memorabilia that contributed to his unforgettable career. The former West Indies captain talked to Angus Fraser about bats, balls and jackets

THE INDEPENDENT

Published:Saturday, June 2007

England's bowlers are not missing Brian Lara, who retired from international cricket during the World Cup. England supporters, though, have the opportunity to remain on familiar terms with him in one sense, and to look closely at the bats with which he broke records and the memorabilia he has collected during his remarkable career at a wonderful exhibition at Lord's.

"These items have not exactly been collected by myself," Lara admitted as he gave me a personal tour of the exhibition. "When I walk away from scoring 375, of course I am going to take that bat out of my cricket bag and put it away. This, after all, is my world record bat. I have also got bats from other players. We would exchange a few things at the end of a series. Sometimes I swap bats with a player, sometimes a bit of kit, sometimes someone just gave me a bat with a message on it. Here I have bats with messages signed by Sachin [Tendulkar], Haydos [Matthew Hayden], Graeme Smith, Kevin Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff.

"I have accumulated a lot over the years, and visitors who come to see me in the Caribbean like to see them. They are normally on show in my house. My whole family knew the significance of Lord's from an early age, so to occupy some real estate here is a huge thrill."

It would be easy to believe that Lara's greatness was all down to natural talent. In fact, he worked as hard as any cricketer, and the curator at the Lord's museum became aware of his attention to detail as we looked around. Hanging from the ceiling in the middle of the colourful display is a huge circular construction with cricket balls hanging down from it. Each ball depicts where Lara scored runs during his world record total of 400. The balls signifying fours hang slightly lower than those showing ones and twos and the sixes even lower still.

There was a small empty rectangular area in the middle of it all to indicate where the pitch was and, after close inspection, Lara told them they had got it the wrong way round - that the pitch should be pointing in a different direction. He knew exactly where he scored his runs, where the sixes and fours had been hit, and what the wagon wheel should look like.

There is one innings, Lara's first Test hundred, that is not represented because he cannot find the bat with which he scored 277 against Australia in 1993. Lara would love to know where it is and get it back. I asked him whether he had a memento of the feat? He said: "Yes, my daughter." Lara's daughter, Sydney, is named after the venue where he announced himself as a great player as a 23-year-old.

There are two reasons why Lara agreed to the exhibition. First, to show it off. Second, to make people aware of the foundation set up in memory of his parents, the Pearl and Bunty Lara Foundation.

"The foundation is in my parents' name," he explained. "It is about six years old and it is fuelled by the characteristics of my parents really. My dad was outstanding with myself and my brothers and sisters. There were 11 of us and he had to provide for us all. My mother was less enthusiastic about cricket, she was more into caring. She was known as one of the mothers of the village I grew up in. She would invite any young kid into our house for food or anything she could offer.

"They were tremendous in our upbringing. It is just something we want to do to maintain their legacy. Over the years we have reached out to quite a few people. We have given money to cancer societies in Trinidad and to homes for the underprivileged."

The Brian Lara exhibition is open to those attending matches at Lord's, price £3, and to those who go on organised tours. To book, e-mail tours@mcc.org.uk.

The Jacket signed by Nelson Mandela

This jacket signed by Nelson Mandela is another of my most prized possessions. I was lucky enough to go and see him and I could not leave without getting something signed. I did not have anything so I took off the suit jacket I was wearing and asked him if he would sign it. I did not mind not being able to wear my Hugo Boss suit again.

I was aware of Nelson Mandela through my parents in the Seventies when I was a kid. He was a revered figure. I had a very good understanding of what he stood for as a child. The rebel tours by West Indian sides in the late Seventies and Eighties were also a significant part of my understanding of what was happening in South Africa. I sat with Mr Mandela for an hour and it was probably the best hour of my life, in terms of meeting him and being in his company. He is an amazing man.

The 366 Ball

The ball Lara hit to score his record-breaking 366th run in 1994, signed by the England bowlers who bowled at him that day)
When Lara pulled Chris Lewis for four to break Sir Garfield Sobers' world record score, a party like never before broke out at the Antigua Recreation Ground. Hundreds of spectators climbed over fences and ran on to the pitch as they rushed to congratulate their hero. Lara kissed the pitch, Sobers made his way to the middle - it took 10 to 15 minutes for the umpires, Darrell Hair and Steve Bucknor, to clear the ground.

With the playing area devoid of spectators, the umpires looked at each other, then the players, and asked: "Who has got the ball?" The square-leg fielder ran to the boundary and, amazingly, found the ball resting against the boundary rope.

At the end of the West Indian innings, I went into the umpires' room and asked if I could have the ball to give to Brian. They said they were going to use it as a spare. I told them it was a piece of cricket history. After signing it myself and then getting Andrew Caddick, Philip Tufnell, Graeme Hick and Lewis to sign it, I presented Lara with the ball at the end of the Test. Lara did not remember me giving him the ball but, after I had reminded him, he told the curator to "make sure the Fraser signature is showing when it is on display so that people can see that I smashed him about".

The 501 Helmet

The exhibition was being completed when I met Lara and he asked the curator what was to be put in one of the empty, clear Perspex containers . The curator told Lara that the signed blue helmet he wore when he scored 501 [for Warwickshire against Durham in 1994] would be placed in the box.

Lara did not seem overly pleased with the idea, suggesting that it would be better if the box contained things he wore while scoring 375 against England. Lara said that he was briefly returning to Trinidad and would bring back the shirt, boots and thigh guard he wore. His reaction left me in doubt as to which innings gave him the most pride.

The 28 Ball

On 14 December 2003 Robin Petersen, an unremarkable left-arm spinner, ran up to bowl the penultimate over of the third day's play for South Africa. Graeme Smith, the captain, attempting to lure Lara into a false shot, kept the field up at the Wanderers Ground in Johannesburg. It was too good an opportunity for Lara, who was unbeaten on 150, and he proceeded to smash the over for 28, breaking the world record for the number of runs scored in an over of Test cricket. Petersen presented Lara with the ball, signed by himself, at the end of the Test.

The first ball was cut to the cover-point boundary for four, the second and third struck mightily over long-on for six, the fourth and fifth smashed back over the bowler's head for four and the sixth deftly cut to the third-man boundary.

Graeme Smith brought on Petersen just before the close and after I hit the first ball for four he brought in mid-on. Then I hit the next ball for six and he brought in deep square-leg. I thought: "What was going on?" This was the last over of the day. He was trying to lure me and I suppose he would have settled for going for 10 to 15 runs to get me out. But it proved to be quite an expensive gamble.
Overseas Personality of the Year award from the 1994 BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards

Brian Lara won the award after breaking cricket's two most prestigious world records in a remarkable seven-week period. At the Antigua Recreation Ground on 18 April 1994 Lara passed Sir Garfield Sobers' world record Test score of 365, and then at Edgbaston on 6 June he broke Hanif Mohammad's record for the highest individual score - 499. Lara's unbeaten 501 came off 427 balls, containing 62 fours and 10 sixes.

In terms of recognition, the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year award means most to me. It is a prized possession, especially when you look at the past winners. The likes of Muhammad Ali, Sir Garfield Sobers, and Michael Jordan before me and Tiger Woods since make it very, very special. These are awesome sportsmen to be considered on a par with.

The 375 Bat

On 12 April 2004, 10 years after initially breaking Sir Garfield Sobers' world record for the highest individual score in Test cricket, Lara reclaimed his throne from Matthew Hayden (who had made 380 for Australia v Zimbabwe in October 2003) with a brilliant unbeaten 400 against England. But it is the innings of 375 in 1994 of which he is proudest.

Of all my personal stuff the thing that means most to me is the bat that I scored 375 with in Antigua. I would not say that I had a favourite
bat. Obviously each of the bats I broke records with mean a lot but when you play at international level you keep getting the best from your manufacturer.

They all have a slightly different shape and weight. The one thing they must have is a very good, a very light pick-up - I must not feel much in my hands. Generally most of the bats that I use are not heavy. The grip is a very important factor as well. I use two rubbers.

I liked the Gray Nicholls scoop when I first started. I was a teenager. Gordon Greenidge and Jeffrey Dujon used to use them. It was the style, the in-thing, the new bat back in the late 1980s.

I would modify my bats slightly when they arrived. The early bats I got from Gray Nicholls had a spongy material underneath the rubber, and because of that I used one rubber. With my MRF bats, though, there is just a handle with thread wrapped around it and I would put two rubbers on them.

Title: Re: Brian Lara: My Favorite Things
Post by: Tallman on June 11, 2007, 01:48:09 PM
I use two rubbers.
Better safe dan sorry.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2007, 01:18:38 PM
I use two rubbers.
Better safe dan sorry.
sometimes they does buss. :)
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2007, 06:41:23 PM
When not used according to manufacture specifications
Title: Lara interested in WICB Presidency
Post by: vb on March 04, 2015, 12:26:31 AM
http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/story/842589.html

Former West Indies captain Brian Lara is open to standing for the post of WICB president in future. Although Lara's expression of interest has come too late for the WICB elections scheduled this Saturday, his decision could still spell hope for Caribbean fans who have grown tired of the failures of the administration and the widening divide with its players.

Lara, one of the leading batsmen of his generation, said Azim Bassarath, Trinidad & Tobago Cricket Board president, had asked him whether he would have any interest in running for the WICB presidency. Currently doing commentary during the World Cup, Lara said what strengthened his resolve was the growing lack of faith in West Indies cricket from the outside world.

"Mr Bassarath had suggested that I should get involved and he and his board would seriously consider supporting me," Lara told the Trinidad Guardian. "I am here in Australia with most of the top administrators and players, and even they appear to be concerned at the state of our cricket. The way they speak is like they have little faith in our future. I am ready to get involved."

Lara has never been shy of taking on the administration. One of West Indies' greatest-ever players, Lara was involved in bitter disputes with the WICB during his days as a player and as captain. Lara brought a strong individuality to his batting, yet as captain he was never as successful - West Indies won only 10 of 47 Tests with him in charge, and 59 out of 125 ODIs. Yet with his batting Lara could united the Caribbean like no one else, and the possibility of him returning as an administrator could come as a happy move for the supporters of Caribbean cricket.

"If you are a West Indian, and understand what cricket means to us, you have to feel that we could do a lot better than we are currently doing," Lara said. "We have had so many talented young men coming up and suddenly, they just disappear off the scene, while our cricket continues to decline. Nobody appears to care about them."

Lara's criticism of the current WICB administration, led by Dave Cameron, had become increasingly vocal. Last November, speaking to ESPNcricinfo in Sydney, Lara said that West Indies' pullout from the India tour was a watershed moment. He said communication was missing between the administrators and players and without that trust West Indies cricket would face a lot of problems while continuing to languish at the bottom of the ICC rankings. Currently West Indies occupy the No. 8 spot in both Tests and ODIs.

Lara said he would always remain biased towards the players. "There's so much cricket being played now where players can make a living outside the West Indies under different administration. Yes maybe that could be a difference, but the ultimate thing is you're playing for the West Indies, you want to play for the West Indies, you love the West Indies. And I would love one day where guys are playing for West Indies and money not being an issue because they're making so much money outside of that.

"But that can only happen if you have the relationships with the board and all the stakeholders. There's no trust, everybody wants their piece of the pie and that's it. Unfortunately until we have better relationships, West Indies cricket is going to be very problematic."

Despite being in control for two years and once again a favourite to retain the presidency, Cameron has lost some original supporters, such as the TTCB. In the previous elections held in 2013, the T&T board led by Bassarath had supported Cameron. But this time it has opted to ally behind Joel Garner, the former West Indies fast bowler, who has cast his hat into the ring representing the Barbados Cricket Association.

Bassarath said the reason he approached Lara was because he was the "ideal person" for the job. "I believe that Brian would be an ideal person to lead West Indies cricket and, as a matter of fact, I approached him a few months ago about such a possibility," he said. "But unfortunately, he is too late for us to nominate him for the elections which will take place on Saturday. The constitution of the WICB does not allow us to nominate him at this late stage, since nominations closed one month before the elections.

"The presence of someone as great as Lara on the West Indies board can give us so much credibility and stature in the eyes of the rest of the world. It's a pity he is unable to be part of this year's process."
Title: Re: Lara interested in WICB Presidency
Post by: ribbit on March 05, 2015, 04:19:35 PM
de way de west indies team constituted, any prez ketchin' real horrors. instead of just one paceman aiming bouncers at your head is every nation. good luck dey mr lara.
Title: Re: Lara interested in WICB Presidency
Post by: Deeks on March 05, 2015, 06:53:42 PM
Glutton for punishment!
Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2015, 03:12:02 PM
Brian Lara and Dwight Yorke to feature in CPL charity match

http://www.oneindia.com/sports/cricket/brian-lara-dwight-yorke-to-feature-cpl-charity-match-1794618.html

Basseterre (St. Kitts), July 2: Batting legend Brian Lara and outstanding former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke, will highlight the Caribbean Premier League charity match at Warner here. Lara, a former West Indies captain, will joined by Yorke, who won a historic three trophies in a season in 1999 with United, in the game which will be played between a Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis XI and the Sir Vivian Richards XI here on Thursday, reports CMC.

The game will also feature a plethora of former West Indies and international players, with Ian Bishop, Stuart Williams and Daren Ganga, along with Australian Damien Martyn and Englishman Darren Gough set to participate. Top West Indies women's batsman, Stafanie Taylor, will also be in action.

Title: Re: Brian Lara Thread
Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2015, 03:14:00 PM

Brian Lara to stage clinic on eve of CPL final

West Indies batting legend Brian Lara will host a clinic here for thousands of children, ahead of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) final later this month.

(http://ste.india.com/sites/default/files/2015/07/07/377549-brian-lara-conf.gif)

The former West Indies captain, a CPL Twenty20 ambassador, will stage the event on July 25 - the eve of the grand final at Queen’s Park Oval, reports CMC.

"Passing on my skills and experience to youngsters is something that has always been really important to me and I’m excited about this chance to work with all these talented kids in my home town," said Lara.

"CPL is all about inspiring West Indians of all ages to get excited about cricket again, and I hope events like this will help us find our next generation of cricketing legends."

Lara is considered by many as the finest batsman of the contemporary era, gathering 11 953 runs from 131 Tests at an average of 52. His career aggregate is the most by a West Indies batsman.

He scored 34 centuries and still holds the world records for the highest ever score in first-class cricket and the highest individual Test score in a Test innings.

Damien O’Donohoe, the CPL’s chief executive, said he was thrilled by the idea.

"Brian is a living legend and it’s going to be amazing to see the positive impact his masterclass will have on the local kids who will attend," O’Donohoe said.

"This year’s CPL has seen thousands of children entertained and inspired by the best cricketers from the West Indies and across the world. The CPL players have attended schools across the region, speaking to the children about what it takes to make it to the top of whatever profession they choose.

"Brian’s masterclass will be the perfect way to sign off this programme of events with the children of Trinidad and, fingers crossed, we may even identify the next Brian Lara while bringing the biggest party in sport to the Queen’s Park Oval."

The CPL bowled off on June 20 in Barbados and is currently ongoing.

http://zeenews.india.com/sports/cricket/brian-lara-to-stage-clinic-on-eve-of-cpl-final_1626148.html

Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2015, 03:15:31 PM

Dr. Rowley and Brian Lara tonight at Red Steel v Tallawahs

https://www.facebook.com/teamrowley/photos/a.234269306766338.1073741831.225483240978278/402737263252874/?type=1 (https://www.facebook.com/teamrowley/photos/a.234269306766338.1073741831.225483240978278/402737263252874/?type=1)

(https://scontent-lax1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xft1/v/t1.0-9/11751441_402737263252874_3533111347573809531_n.jpg?oh=f35c9abefc40192e37a1e815abd6af5b&oe=564CE29C)
Post by: Sando prince on July 28, 2015, 03:18:28 PM

Cricket legend Brian Lara shook off the rust of retirement to roll back the years on Sunday in a batting series master class.
Lara faced up to some of the country's promising players giving them some advice along the way

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/sports/bran-lara-shares-his-skills
Post by: Sando prince on August 10, 2015, 01:03:46 PM
From last year ; https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10152380157725610/ (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10152380157725610/)

Twenty years ago this week, West Indies batsman Brian Lara broke Sir Garfield Sobers's 36-year-old world record for the highest score in a Test innings. The legendary left-hander surpassed his compatriot's 365 not out as he scored 375 against England at Antigua's Recreation Ground in a historic match played from 16-21 April 1994. Here is a clip from his innings.
Post by: Sando prince on August 18, 2015, 11:19:13 PM

Brian Lara - A Living Legend's Cricket Journey

https://www.youtube.com/v/hq4qSJlUIpY
Post by: Sando prince on September 11, 2015, 06:00:56 AM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20150909/LOCAL/150909537/AR/0/AR-150909537.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)
Fatima's pride: Retired star West Indies batsman Brian Lara, centre, chats with pupils from his alma mater Fatima College, following yesterday's swearing-in ceremony at Queen's Hall, St Ann's. —Photo: CURTIS CHASE

Lara: PM Rowley has my full support

QUEEN'S HALL

CRICKET legend Brian Lara is batting for Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and hopes he is able to secure two consecutive terms in office.
Lara, however, has remained tight-lipped on whether that support will be made evident by him joining Rowley's Cabinet as Sport Minister.
Lara, a double world record holder in cricket, was among those present at Queen's Hall in St Ann's yesterday to witness first-hand the swearing-in of Rowley as the country's seventh prime minister.

He is calling on citizens to rally around Rowley for the sake of the country.
“We have a new leader now, new ideas, and I want to wish him the best and I just want him to know he has my full support.
“I think all leaders need full support, so it is really good that the country has turned out and said to the rest of the world or said to themselves that listen, we want somebody new, so it is amazing just to be in this environment and I am very touched by actually what is going on.
“They have a great responsibility in a very suppressed situation, so his true leadership has to come out,” Lara said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150909/sports/lara-pm-rowley-has-my-full-support
Post by: Deeks on September 11, 2015, 06:33:26 AM
Breds, one thing I know is that Brian would love the his namesake stadium to be completed and put into long overdue use. Is time we get international and Test cricket in South.
Post by: Michael-j on September 11, 2015, 05:26:40 PM
Brian Lara is now the special envoy to the prime minister. His first assignment is to visit Dominica to determine what assistance they require in the aftermath of the hurricane.
Post by: Sando prince on September 11, 2015, 05:38:12 PM
Brian Lara is now the special envoy to the prime minister. His first assignment is to visit Dominica to determine what assistance they require in the aftermath of the hurricane.

Brian Lara will travel to Dominica to meet with Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerritt.

A release from the Office of the Prime Minister said that Prime Minister Dr  Keith Rowley announced that the legendary cricketer will meet with Dominica's Prime Minister on Monday.

"Mr Lara, in the capacity of special envoy, will hold discussions with Prime Minister Skerrit to determine how Trinidad and Tobago may further assist its CARICOM neighbour in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Erika, which devastated the island on August 27, 2015, killing over 20 persons," the release said.

http://www.looptt.com/content/lara-goes-dominica-special-envoy

Post by: Sando prince on September 11, 2015, 06:23:06 PM

(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/10430449_10207981960936687_2466160165487178302_n.jpg?oh=38ac15039a0a588fcd8842a3cfc8a266&oe=56689F39)
Post by: Sando prince on September 14, 2015, 10:57:13 PM
VIDEO Report: https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/videos/944264362282423/

T&T special envoy Brian Lara met with the Prime Minister of storm-ravaged Dominica Roosevelt Skerrit today, on behalf of the Trinidad & Tobago Government.
Post by: Deeks on September 15, 2015, 05:50:14 AM
What are the chances of Lara stadium in Tarouba gets completed in this term? Or do you think the Govt should sell it to a conglomerate, on the condition that they complete it and has Lara's name on it.
Post by: Sando prince on September 17, 2015, 04:24:45 PM
What are the chances of Lara stadium in Tarouba gets completed in this term? Or do you think the Govt should sell it to a conglomerate, on the condition that they complete it and has Lara's name on it.

Dr Rowley had stated on more than one occasion during the election campaign that his Government will ensure the Brian Lara stadium is completed.
Post by: Sando prince on September 17, 2015, 05:21:22 PM
Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Brian Lara met with Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit in Roseau on Monday. Watch this short clip of PM Skerrit speaking to Brian Lara.

https://www.youtube.com/v/-kg82F6biaM
Post by: Sando prince on September 17, 2015, 05:22:20 PM

Brian Lara tells PM Roosevelt Skerrit that more help is on the way

https://www.youtube.com/v/MtScXL8zKF8
Post by: Sando prince on September 19, 2015, 09:26:27 AM

(http://www.cricket.com.au/~/media/News/2015/09/18BrianLara.ashx?mw=768)

Lara to headline charity match

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/dominica-tropical-storm-erika-brian-lara-west-indies-cricket-charity-match/2015-09-18 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/dominica-tropical-storm-erika-brian-lara-west-indies-cricket-charity-match/2015-09-18)

West Indies great to play in charity game aimed to fund relief efforts in Dominica

West Indies legend Brian Lara will be the headline act in a charity cricket match in Barbados next week that will help raise funds for recovery efforts in Dominica. The tiny island nation was hit hard last month by Tropical Storm Erika, which killed 31 people and left hundreds of homes destroyed. Authorities estimate the damage from Erika at upwards of $US200 million ($A278.88 million). Lara and fellow Caribbean heroes like footballer Dwight Yorke and sprint star Yohan Blake will take part in the match at Kensington Oval on September 26. Each team will consist of six West Indies cricketers and five regional celebrities and the West Indies Cricket Board said all proceeds from the match will be donated to the Dominica Emergency Relief Fund.

"Like most people in the Caribbean, we’ve all seen the devastating effect of these weather systems on Dominica, and we got together and tried to determine what we could do to assist,” said WICB president Whycliffe 'Dave' Cameron.  "West Indies cricket has brought the people of the Caribbean together like nothing else, so the WICB and our players are committed to doing our part to help in the face of disaster, as has occurred in Dominica. "Using the power and contribution of cricket, so that the recovery efforts underway in Dominica can continue and life can steadily be restored to normal in the island is very crucial.” Dominica, a mountainous and heavily forested island with a population of around 70,000 people, played host to the Australian cricket team in June. The Australians beat the West Indies inside three days in the first Test at Windsor Park in the capital Roseau, while they also recorded a Test victory there back in 2012. Several Australian players took time out during their visit this year to explore the island's beautiful forests, and also visited the country's famous natural springs.
Post by: Sando prince on September 19, 2015, 09:28:23 AM

https://instagram.com/p/7vgCFpPemR/ (https://instagram.com/p/7vgCFpPemR/)

T&T’s Brian Lara meets British Prime Minister David Cameron at a reception ahead of tomorrow's Help for Heroes Twenty20 cricket match, at NO 10 Downing Street in London, England. The Prime Minister held the reception for those taking part in the Twenty20 cricket matches at the Kia Oval tomorrow, which will be held to raise funds for Help for Heroes.
Post by: Sando prince on September 27, 2015, 05:52:07 PM

(http://www.cricket.com.au/~/media/News/2015/09/27lara.ashx?mw=768)

Lara stars in Dominica charity match

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/west-indies-charity-match-dominica-brian-lara-funds-raised-tropical-storm-erika/2015-09-27 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/west-indies-charity-match-dominica-brian-lara-funds-raised-tropical-storm-erika/2015-09-27)

Trinidadian great makes unbeaten 68 as funds are raised following tropical cyclone Erika
West Indian legend Brian Lara wound back the clock in Barbados today (Sunday), starring in a charity match aimed at raising funds for the Caribbean country of Dominica. The tiny island nation was hit hard last month by Tropical Storm Erika, which killed 31 people and left hundreds of homes destroyed.

Authorities estimate the damage from Erika at upwards of $US200 million ($A278.88 million). Lara and fellow Caribbean heroes such as footballer Dwight Yorke and sprint star Yohan Blake took part in the match at Kensington Oval.

Trinidad great Lara, 46, batted through the innings with an unbeaten 68 as the University of West Indies side made 6-154. Those runs were chased down by the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI with seven wickets in hand courtesy of a typically big-hitting performance from Kieron Pollard. Legendary Windies quick Sir Curtly Ambrose and Shivnarine Chanderpaul were also among the crowd favourites, while Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels and Shane Shillingford were among many current players who took to the field for the cause.

Each team consisted of six West Indies cricketers and five regional celebrities and the West Indies Cricket Board said all proceeds from the match would be donated to the Dominica Emergency Relief Fund. "Like most people in the Caribbean, we’ve all seen the devastating effect of these weather systems on Dominica, and we got together and tried to determine what we could do to assist,” said WICB president Whycliffe 'Dave' Cameron.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CP3gB05WcAAKcia.jpg)

"West Indies cricket has brought the people of the Caribbean together like nothing else, so the WICB and our players are committed to doing our part to help in the face of disaster, as has occurred in Dominica. "Using the power and contribution of cricket, so that the recovery efforts underway in Dominica can continue and life can steadily be restored to normal in the island is very crucial.”

Post by: Sando prince on September 27, 2015, 06:11:32 PM

(http://www.cricket.com.au/~/media/News/2015/09/27lara.ashx?mw=768)

Lara stars in Dominica charity match

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/west-indies-charity-match-dominica-brian-lara-funds-raised-tropical-storm-erika/2015-09-27 (http://www.cricket.com.au/news/west-indies-charity-match-dominica-brian-lara-funds-raised-tropical-storm-erika/2015-09-27)

Trinidadian great makes unbeaten 68 as funds are raised following tropical cyclone Erika
West Indian legend Brian Lara wound back the clock in Barbados today (Sunday), starring in a charity match aimed at raising funds for the Caribbean country of Dominica. The tiny island nation was hit hard last month by Tropical Storm Erika, which killed 31 people and left hundreds of homes destroyed.

Authorities estimate the damage from Erika at upwards of $US200 million ($A278.88 million). Lara and fellow Caribbean heroes such as footballer Dwight Yorke and sprint star Yohan Blake took part in the match at Kensington Oval.

Trinidad great Lara, 46, batted through the innings with an unbeaten 68 as the University of West Indies side made 6-154. Those runs were chased down by the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI with seven wickets in hand courtesy of a typically big-hitting performance from Kieron Pollard. Legendary Windies quick Sir Curtly Ambrose and Shivnarine Chanderpaul were also among the crowd favourites, while Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels and Shane Shillingford were among many current players who took to the field for the cause.

Each team consisted of six West Indies cricketers and five regional celebrities and the West Indies Cricket Board said all proceeds from the match would be donated to the Dominica Emergency Relief Fund. "Like most people in the Caribbean, we’ve all seen the devastating effect of these weather systems on Dominica, and we got together and tried to determine what we could do to assist,” said WICB president Whycliffe 'Dave' Cameron.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CP3gB05WcAAKcia.jpg)

"West Indies cricket has brought the people of the Caribbean together like nothing else, so the WICB and our players are committed to doing our part to help in the face of disaster, as has occurred in Dominica. "Using the power and contribution of cricket, so that the recovery efforts underway in Dominica can continue and life can steadily be restored to normal in the island is very crucial.”

Lara still a genius at age 46  :)

Match Highlights (Not Great Quality)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BELIvKZuKUw

Post by: Sando prince on October 09, 2015, 04:27:30 PM

‪#‎FlashBackFriday‬ ‪#‎OnThisDay‬ in 1999, Brian Lara hit a blistering 45-ball century on his way to 117 off just 62 deliveries against Bangladesh at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The West Indies won the match by 109 runs.

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153628264815610 (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153628264815610)
Post by: Sando prince on November 06, 2015, 04:22:58 PM

Tendulkar to play alongside Lara in Cricket All-Stars

http://www.espncricinfo.com/cricket-all-stars-series-2015-16/content/story/937499.html (http://www.espncricinfo.com/cricket-all-stars-series-2015-16/content/story/937499.html)

In a random draw conducted Thursday in Times Square, Tendulkar drew Lara as well as former Indian teammates VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag. Tendulkar also no longer has to spar with Glenn McGrath, having picked the Australian pacer for his side in a bowling group that also includes Curtly Ambrose, Shaun Pollock and Muttiah Muralitharan.
Post by: Sando prince on December 06, 2015, 07:45:01 PM

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153730046340610 (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153730046340610)

25 YEARS AGO TODAY!!! West Indies legend Brian Lara made his Test debut in the West Indies's 3rd Test against Pakistan in Lahore on December 6th, 1990. Lara who, describes his debut as "amazing", scored 49 runs in that match (it ended in a draw).
Title: Lara lashes players for chasing T20 $$$
Post by: Flex on December 10, 2015, 02:54:19 AM
Lara lashes players for chasing T20 $$$
(Sydney Morning Herald)

The West Indies bowling coach hit back at critics who say the side lacks passion and talent, insisting the squad will prove their naysayers wrong.

Champion batsman Brian Lara says it is no surprise there is a shrinking pool of youngsters aspiring to play for the West Indies, above all else because current senior players are setting a bad example by chasing cheques in Twenty20 competitions.

But Lara also said the players were not totally culpable, slamming the “badly run” West Indies Cricket Board and hinting there would be an upheaval in Caribbean cricket administration because the WICB was ignoring member nations’ leaders and “acting like a law unto themselves”.

“What you’re talking about is a badly run cricket board, and [when] the player relationship with board members is not really good you’re going to head in the direction where you feel comfortable,” Lara said on Fox Sports’ Inside Cricket. “The guys don’t trust the board any more. They don’t even trust the players’ association. I mean, what choice do they have?”

Brian Lara laments that current young cricketers did not have the sort of role models who were in the great West Indies teams.

Former Australia captain Allan Border sympathised with the circumstances that have led the likes of Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo to focus on domestic Twenty20 tournaments, such as the looming Big Bash League where they will represent Melbourne Renegades, ahead of playing for the West Indies.

“The reality is you’ve got an offer of $2 million here [in IPL] and $100,000 there [from the West Indies]. I mean, what decision are you going to make? You want to play for your country, yes, but that is just poles apart,” he said.

“We’ve got to work out some sort of compromise so it’s county first and franchise-cricket second.”

Lara said he was inspired during his childhood by watching the dominant West Indies team, and its cornerstone players. He lamented current young cricketers did not have those sort of role models.

“You’ve got youngsters coming in and [critics] saying they don’t have the passion to play for the West Indies team, but that can only come from examples,” Lara said.

“I believe that the example being set now is that guys are heading off to franchise cricket, everyone wants to make a lot of money out of the game, and the West Indies seems to be very much secondary. If that’s the example, then you’re not going to get the passion from the youngsters.”

Former Australia vice-captain Brad Haddin said while he welcomed hearing retired players such as Sir Garfield Sobers and Curtly Ambrose speak about their deep affection for West Indies cricket, he wanted current senior players such as Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Bravo to publicly do the same.

“It’s great to see the past players with passion for the game, but I’d like to see some of the current crop step up, front the media and say ‘We’ve got the same passion about moving West Indies cricket forward’,” Haddin said on Inside Cricket.

Lara, however, doubted the capacity of Samuels, 34, and former one-day captain Bravo, 32, to be able to do as Haddin suggested.

“They don’t know West Indies cricket, they don’t have an understanding of the history, so how could they be passionate? They just want to know where they can get the next cheque to pay their bills—which is understandable,” Lara said. “But you’ve got to play a sport because of the passion you develop over the years. They would not be able to handle a press conference like that.”

The only time Lara deviated from his criticism of the WICB was its decision to install bowling all-rounder Jason Holder, 24, as captain in all formats. He said he hoped it would be a landmark appointment for the West Indies.

“I think the West Indies have an opportunity with a young man like that...to build something around him. South Africa did it in about 2003 with Graeme Smith. Maybe this is an opportunity,” Lara said.

“Support him, don’t worry about the results too much, and see whether you can build something over the next ten years with him.”

Lara urged Holder, if given the opportunity by winning the toss on Thursday, to bowl first in the series-opening Test against Australia, believing it would be “impossible” for the team to make enough runs batting first to put pressure on the home team. He said paceman Jerome Taylor could be a key bowler, but had to be supported to ensure the pressure he created did not dissipate at the other end.

Title: Re: Lara lashes players for chasing T20 $$$
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2015, 08:12:49 AM
Brian, you on the losing side of this argument. 2million for 3 weeks big bash as oppose to 100 thousand for a test tour. No brainer.
Title: Re: Lara lashes players for chasing T20 $$$
Post by: Quags on December 10, 2015, 11:04:07 AM
Your wrong Brian , history is now each generation will have their own heroes to worship, just like the current TnT crop worshipped you.
This next crop will have all these new millionaires to look up too , its fine even if from the thousands of kids who pick up the sport we find two test players that a good return , especially when you consider thw Wicb won't pick them anyways .
Post by: Sando prince on January 18, 2016, 01:34:25 PM
(http://www.thecricketmonthly.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/141900/141942.3.jpg)

Fly Lara fly

The method behind the genius, the early-morning vision behind the epics

http://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/954549/fly-lara-fly

RAHUL BHATTACHARYA | JANUARY 2016

Lara is a beautiful name. Rhythmic, small and epic. It is a classic film theme, an animated heroine, and in cricket it is a poem that sings like a song. Like in Jean "Binta" Breeze's "Song for Lara":

if de bowler fine a reason
ah will answer wid a rhyme
any kine a riddim
in mi own time

The answers in any kind of riddim, the innings orchestral. They beat about the body, stay in the system. Like steel band resonation, like the Renegades doing "Pan in a Rage", or "Four Lara Four" for that matter, batting that vibrates long after it is over, slowing perhaps but never coming to a stop.

That is one way (though only one) of thinking about the results of the Cricket Monthly exercise. It's a list tingling with the Lara sensation. Consider his rough contemporaries who have no entries in the 50: Sanga, Jayawardene, Inzamam, Chanderpaul, Hayden, Kirsten, Ponting, Kallis, Tendulkar. Lara? Four. For the 50 years in consideration, nobody has as many, batsman, bowler or allrounder. Four Lara Four! All four in the top 30, three in the top 20, one of those in the top five: 153 not out in Barbados.

Over their history West Indies rarely lost a Test in Barbados, and Barbados really is no place to lose a Test. There, in a taxi or in a bar they shred your pretensions

This is an article about remembering Lara and what I remembered is something that he remembered when I interviewed him in 2002 and which I had been curious about ever since.

I also remember one of my good school friends, Nicholas Gomez, giving me a book on Michael Jordan. He had an entire page on how he went about visualising what's going to happen in a game. I tried that sort of method for a while, I've seen that the success rate is very, very good. Before my 153 not out against Australia in Barbados, I remember calling my friend Gomez, the same guy who gave me the book. Six o'clock in the morning, the last morning of the Test match and we went about planning this innings against the best team in the world. And it was amazing to see how it just came to fruition.

So I got in touch with Nicholas Gomez in Trinidad and asked him to remember it. Before Barbados was Jamaica and before Jamaica is where we begin.

When Nicholas Gomez received the call at home on March 12, 1999, the following things had already happened. Lara had almost not taken West Indies to South Africa over a pay fight ; Lara had overseen a 5-0 defeat there. Lara was placed on "probation" against Australia and West Indies responded by falling for 51 before his home crowd in Port-of-Spain, their lowest total at the time. And now he was in Jamaica, where public opinion was doubly ranged against him, because he was seen to have hustled their man Courtney Walsh out of the captaincy.

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/e1/bf/c7/e1bfc7b3d40a6a5bd019fe53f9df67f9.jpg)

Gomez's phone rang and it was Brian Lara. "He calls me and he says, 'I'm really, really down. I don't know if I'm taking the field tomorrow.' I'm thinking, that's a serious t'ing going on! 'What!' I tell him, 'Let's talk this through.' We spend an hour on the phone. He says, 'I have to go to a team meeting now but could I call you back?' I say, 'Sure, Brian, anytime.' I jump off the phone and I say to myself, I need to think what to do. So I made a decision that I am going to go to the airport at 4.30 the next morning, I'm going to try and get a ticket, get on a flight and go to Jamaica, right."

Gomez was then in his mid-30s, nine years into a career with Ernst & Young Trinidad & Tobago, where he had just become partner. He knew Lara from the days of Fatima College, which is, in fact, a secondary school. Back when "Brian was a very, very small, minute, little individual" with "arms as slim as - you cannot imagine how small". When Gomez was 17 and Fatima cricket captain and Lara was 13 and had already broken into the first team. Gomez remembers a match from that time. The top order had gone for nothing but at the bottom, which was the only place he got to bat, little Lara held up an end re-mark-ably, to use Gomez's emphasis. "He was so small that he couldn't drive the ball past cover." So he got all his runs with deflections and manoeuvres and in this way got himself close to a hundred. Time was running out and the school principal was watching from the stands, but Gomez found it hard to declare the innings. In the big picture, a first hundred for the prodigy would be more valuable than anything the declaration would achieve. So he didn't. Lara got the century, Fatima got their opponents to nine down, missed the outright victory.

Read More; http://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/954549/fly-lara-fly
Post by: Sando prince on January 29, 2016, 10:52:49 PM

Muralitharan: Lara hardest to bowl to

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160128/sports/muralitharan-lara-hardest-to-bowl-to

Legendary off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan has identified former West Indies master batsman Brian Lara as the most difficult batsmen he has ever bowled to.

The 43-year-Muralitharan, here to compete in the inaugural Masters Champions League along with Lara, admitted the former West Indies captain often dominated him during their career battles.

“I have played against lot of great batsmen but one person I found very hard to bowl to is Brian Lara,” the Sri Lankan said.

“I have played a lot of Test matches against him and he was one of the best players of spin and so he dominated me.”

Murali, as he is affectionately known, finished an illustrious career top of the bowling charts in both Tests and One-Day Internationals. He picked up an astonishing 800 Test wickets from 134 Tests at an average of 22 and claimed 534 scalps from 350 ODIs at 23 runs apiece.

The 46-year-old Lara, meanwhile, topped the all-time West Indies run-scorers list with 11 953 runs from 131 Tests to be sixth on the all-time international list.

In one memorable series against Murali in Sri Lanka 15 years ago, Lara smashed 688 runs in three Tests at an average of 114.

Both former stars are two of the main attractions in the MCL which bowled off Thursday, with Lara leading the Leo Lions and Muralitharan lining up for Gemini Arabians.

Despite having suffered at Lara's hands in the past, Muralitharan said things would be different in the MCL.

“In MCL I don't think I may have to worry much about him because he is much older than me and I think I will be better off than him,” Muralitharan joked.
Post by: Sando prince on March 31, 2016, 03:49:36 PM

Brian Lara Celebrating Victory Of West Indies Against India in T20 Semi Final 2016

https://www.youtube.com/v/ozFqeuookNE
Post by: Sando prince on April 20, 2016, 09:36:11 PM

Where were you 22 years ago to the day, when Brian Charles Lara did the unthinkable at the Antigua Recreation Ground against England?
https://www.facebook.com/csportslive/videos/1157025157682448/
Post by: weary1969 on April 21, 2016, 08:58:03 AM

Where were you 22 years ago to the day, when Brian Charles Lara did the unthinkable at the Antigua Recreation Ground against England?

At work in SFGH.
Post by: Sando prince on April 21, 2016, 01:25:15 PM

At work in SFGH.

Ah remember dat day like yesterday. My eyes glued to meh grandma Tv in Chagaunas
Post by: boss on April 23, 2016, 02:11:08 PM

Crammed into the school AV room with students and teachers. He was on 360+ when the bell rang for the end of lunchtime. No one moved.  :beermug:
Post by: Sando prince on May 02, 2016, 01:35:32 PM

Happy Birthday to the Prince of POS  :beer mug:

https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/photos/a.1495363504057007.1073741829.1494304490829575/1726835240909831/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/photos/a.1495363504057007.1073741829.1494304490829575/1726835240909831/?type=3&theater)
Post by: Sando prince on June 11, 2016, 08:47:40 PM

Lara continues to give back :applause:

Cricket legend Brian Charles Lara is back on the cricket field and looking to score big again. No he's not eyeing a West Indies return, but he's putting his years of experience to good use to benefit the youth of T&T. He's the driving force behind the bmobile Rising Stars Development Programme which was launched at the National Cricket Centre.
WATCH: https://www.facebook.com/csportslive/videos/1194407097277587/
Post by: Flex on February 02, 2017, 03:29:19 PM
Kumar Sangakkara names his batting GOAT
The great Kumar Sangakkara says he'd give away all his runs and accolades just to be able to bat like his hero!

https://www.facebook.com/cricketcomau/videos/10154194319584313/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED

Post by: Controversial on February 04, 2017, 12:01:58 PM
Ah love this thread... in fact I rather read this thread than the West Indies updates lol
Post by: vb on September 10, 2017, 09:24:45 PM

BRIAN LARA CALLS OUT FORMER WEST INDIES TEAMMATES IN BRUTALLY HONEST SPEECH
News Corp Australia Network
September 6, 2017 5:49pm

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/cricket/brian-lara-calls-out-former-west-indies-teammates-in-brutally-honest-speech/news-story/4c8b7ad98766c430144a9eb8c71eaad2

BRIAN Lara has hit out at former West Indies greats, calling their behaviour when they ruled the world over an unprecedented 15-year period as ‘truly embarrassing’.

And his former teammate Michael Holding is far from happy about the accusation.

Lara delivered an often explosive MCC Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey lecture at Lord’s this week where he focused on the gamesmanship employed by the West Indies team of the 80s and 90s.

Lara, who holds the record for the highest Test score of 400 not out, also reflected on his own behaviour claiming his team had at one stage played “the game in a way it should never, ever be played,” during the West Indies period of rule.

But it was his condemnation of some of the legends of the game — including fast bowlers Colin Croft and Michael Holding — that raised plenty of eyebrows.

Central to his disgust were three particular series featuring great Windies teams of the past. The first in 1980 was in New Zealand, the second in Pakistan eight years later and the third an England tour of the Caribbean in 1990.

During the series against the Kiwis, fast bowlers Croft and Holding infamously lost their tempers, with Croft shoulder charging the umpire on his follow through and holding kicking the stumps down when an appeal was rejected.

“The highest-ranked team in the world has the responsibility to ensure that the integrity of the game is upheld every single time they play,” Lara said.

“And that the spirit of cricket is with them every time they enter the field.

“I grew up at a time when West Indies dominated the world. For 15 years from 1980, the West Indies never lost a Test series.

“And just before that, Colin Croft decided he was going to take a piece out of Fred Goodall’s shoulder and ran into him during a Test Match. Michael Holding decided he was no longer a cricketer, he was a footballer and he kicked a stump.

“I’m sure the occurrences during that period had a big effect on cricket.”

Holding — now a respected commentator in England — hit back in a scathing critique of Lara.

“Brian Lara can say whatever he likes and I will not listen. I was never a Brian Lara fan and I never appreciated the way he played,” Holding told Press Association Sport.

“As for having a big effect on cricket, I’m very glad about it. It brought the international panel (of umpire)] into force. But it wasn’t just us — there were other incidents involving Mike Gatting and (Arjuna) Ranatunga.”

Lara called the England series of 1990 “disturbing”. England had, against the odds, won the first Test in Jamaica and still had the opportunity to go two-up in the series on the final afternoon despite rain interfering in the second Test in Trinidad.

“I had never seen groundsmen and officials fight for man of the match. They moved lethargic, slow. If there was a wet spot someone went off the field, they came back with nothing in their hands, they took their time to ensure this game was not going to start any time soon,” he said.

“Eventually, it started with a couple of hours to go and England still had time. We bowled, in one hour, seven overs. It was dark and Graham Gooch had to call his troops from the field and West Indies grabbed a draw.

“This is maybe the most embarrassing moment for me as a young West Indian, watching a West Indies team time-wasting, playing the game in a way it should never, ever be played.”

He said England lost faith in the next Test when a decision went against them due to overzealous West Indies appealing, losing the match and then the series 2-1.

“As a West Indian, I was truly embarrassed. As a young cricketer who looked up to a lot of the individuals in the team, it was one of the saddest moments in the world. For me, I felt the West Indies being the best team in the world needed to play cricket in a different way.”

Michael Holding has returned serve to Brian Lara.
In his speech, he also mentioned that Pakistan were a couple of very poor decisions away from a series win.

Australia famously ended West Indies winning run in 1995 but Lara claims the rot had set in several years earlier.

“People talk about the Test series we lost in 1995 as the time we began to spiral,” Lara said.

“I felt we started to spiral years before that when the great players were playing.

“And if Pakistan or England got what they deserved in 1988 and 1990, I feel the West Indies officials would have taken a different look into what to do to save West Indies cricket at a time we had senior players who could have guided the younger players to have ensured we were on the right footing. But that didn’t happen.”
Post by: vb on September 10, 2017, 09:27:06 PM

Holding slams Lara

http://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/michael-holding-slams-brian-lara-s-criticism-says-not-interested-in-opinion/story-NUc737CW7Ab9L2tbYUZGcL.html

Michael Holding, one of the best bowlers for the West Indies during the period of the 70s and 80s, dismissed Brian Lara’s criticism of his conduct during West Indies’ 1980 tour of New Zealand, saying he has “never been interested” in the batting great’s opinions.

“I am not interested in whatever Brian Lara says. Never was, never will be,” that was Holding’s blunt response when PTI asked him to comment on what Lara said against the 63-year-old while delivering the MCC Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey lecture at Lord’s last Monday.

It is well-known that both the West Indies’ greats, Lara and Holding are not the best of friends. During the MCC lecture, Lara spoke about he was “embarrassed” by the unsportsmanlike conduct of the West Indies in the 80s and 90s.

He specifically spoke about an incident that took place during the series against New Zealand in 1980, when Holding kicked the stumps in frustration.

Read more

Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag remember Don Bradman on his birth anniversary

When West Indies greats gave Brian Lara most embarrassing cricket moment
“Michael Holding decided he was no longer a cricketer, he was a footballer and he kicked a stump. I am sure the occurrences during that period had a big effect on cricket,” said Lara at Lord’s.

While Lara took the opportunity to slam Holding yesterday, the “whispering death” has accused the legendary batsman of “getting away with murder” during his reign.

Holding, speaking to PTI over the phone from London, also spoke about the much hyped comparison of Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli, especially after the latter completed 30 ODI hundreds in the just concluded series against Sri Lanka.

“There is a long long way to go (before he gets close to Tendulkar’s record) but he is certainly a great batsman,” said Holding. Asked if Kohli is a a better batsman compared to Tendulkar or vice-versa, the Jamaican added: “Well, I don’t like comparisons.”

Though Kohli himself has said he is not chasing Tendulkar’s mind-boggling 100 international hundreds, the 28-year-old already has 47 centuries to his name. India have an envious Test record under Kohli with the team winning recently winning its eighth series in a row, albeit most of them were won in the sub-continent.

Holding said time will only tell if the current Indian team can win outside the sub-continent. The team has tough tours of England and South Africa lined-up next year.

“I don’t know. They have to do it to prove it. The proof of the cake is in the eating. So we will just have to wait and see what they do (outside the sub-continent). You can’t predict these things,” Holding said.
Title: Cook apologizes for eclipsing Lara
Post by: vb on January 06, 2018, 05:03:29 PM
https://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/Ashes/cook-apologetic-after-eclipsing-brian-lara-20171228

Cook apologetic after eclipsing Brian Lara
2017-12-28 14:27 SHARE THIS

Alastair Cook (Getty)
Related Links
So when WILL Steyn return for SA?
AB: Keeping wicket not ideal
CSA to secure Indian stars for Global League?

Cape Town - England opener Alastair Cook effectively apologised to West Indies legend Brian Lara for moving past him on the all-time Test runscorers list.

Cook also admitted that he feared for his place in the team after a lean run of form in the Ashes series.

The former skipper scored an unbeaten 244 to break another record, Viv Richard's mark of 208 as the highest score by an overseas batsman at the MCG.

Speaking after play on day three Cook revealed his frustration at not being able to influence the Ashes series.

When asked if he thought he might get axed Cook said: “You don’t know, do you?

“I would have been entitled to be…just because I literally hadn’t scored a run since Edgbaston.

“It was very frustrating.”

There is almost a sense that Cook has taken on board a little too much of the criticism fired his way during his time in the Test team.

Speaking of his progress up the all-time runscoring ranks he said: “I can’t really explain that, I probably feel a bit sorry for Brian Lara.

“(But) it’s obviously a special moment to see your name up there.

“Most of my runs are pretty ugly runs – quite hard work.”

Cook admits to struggling with self doubt for almost his entire career telling the post-play press conference: “I’ve doubted myself for 12 years – and I’ll probably continue to doubt myself.

“Obviously the longer it [a bad run] goes, the harder it becomes.

“So I suppose that’s why I’m quite proud…going to the well again and delivering a performance like that.

“It’s just a shame it’s three-and-a-half to four weeks too late. I’ll have to live with that for a long time.”
Post by: Sando prince on May 03, 2019, 06:54:17 PM

Yesterday the Prince turned 50! Happy belated Brian Charles Lara  :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/2580001962074649
Post by: Sando prince on June 25, 2019, 08:10:46 PM

Lara was rushed to hospital this morning but he good now

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/2717208735020637?__tn__=-UC-R
Title: Lara's Batting Brilliance, Tendulkar's Special Over Help Charity Match Relief
Post by: Flex on February 09, 2020, 03:19:51 PM
Lara's Batting Brilliance, Sachin Tendulkar's Special Over Help Charity Match Raise Money For Bushfire Relief
sports.ndtv.com

Despite a valiant effort from the Gilchrist XI, Ponting's side won by one run in the charity Bushfire Bash.

Brian Lara showed he still has what it takes with a stylish 30 not out as cricketing royalty helped raise money to aid Australian bushfire relief in a charity match Sunday. The West Indian legend stroked a series of lofted cover drives and straight drives, including two sixes, before retiring to give another batsman a chance in a star-studded Bushfire Bash at Melbourne's Junction Oval. His captain Ricky Ponting, coming in after Justin Langer was out, also hit 26 as his team made 104 for five from their 10 overs.

Adam Gilchrist smacked a six off the first ball in the run chase before being knocked over, then Shane Watson slammed 30 from nine balls, with Wasim Akram being punished.

But despite a valiant effort from the Gilchrist XI, Ponting's side won by one run.

"All the players have had a ball. They are all saying why couldn't we play more," said Ponting. "Well done to everyone involved. Sharing a dressing room with guys I spent 25 years with."

After the game, Cricket Australia tweeted that "thanks to the incredible generosity from Australia and around the globe, we've raised over AUD 7.7 million to support communities and families impacted by the recent bushfires".

Fundraising has been ongoing since the blazes began in September.

They left at least 30 people dead and thousands of homes destroyed, with many of the fires only brought under control in recent days after torrential rain swept across eastern Australia.

Highlights

Brilliant Brian delights with six-laden 30 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8EQzpl61nU)

Title: Re: Lara's Batting Brilliance, Tendulkar's Special Over Help Charity Match Relief
Post by: Flex on February 10, 2020, 07:13:12 AM
Lara shines as bushfire relief raises US$5M
T&T Guardian Reports.

MEL­BOURNE – West In­dies leg­end Bri­an Lara rolled back the years with a sparkling knock to head­line the star-stud­ded Aus­tralian bush­fire re­lief char­i­ty match, as or­gan­is­ers raised AUS$7.7 mil­lion (US$5 mil­lion) from the event in Aus­tralia on Sun­day.

The left-hand­ed Lara, one of the great­est bats­men to have played the game be­fore re­tir­ing 13 years ago, re­mind­ed fans of his seem­ing­ly ever-present class with a stroke-filled 30 in Ricky Ponting XI’s 104 for five off their al­lot­ted 10 overs.

Ponting, a suc­cess­ful for­mer Aus­tralia cap­tain, hit 26.

Lara ex­ud­ed the style which brought him 11 953 runs in 131 Tests, un­veil­ing a se­ries of loft­ed dri­ves and straight hits which brought him two six­es and fours.

He, like Ponting, all re­tired their in­nings to al­low oth­er bats­men a turn at the crease.

Ponting’s XI al­so fea­tured the likes of for­mer Test stars Matthew Hay­den, Brad Haddin and Wasim Akram.

In re­ply, Adam Gilchrist’s XI came up just short with 103 for six off their 10 overs, with for­mer Aussie Test stars Shane Wat­son blast­ing a nine-ball 30 and An­drew Symonds chip­ping in with 29.

Speed­ster Brett Lee snatched two for 11.

For­mer fast bowler Court­ney Walsh, who holds the West In­dies record for the most wick­ets in Tests, al­so fea­tured for the Gilchrist XI.

Since last Sep­tem­ber, bush­fires across most­ly east­ern Aus­tralia have killed 33 peo­ple and de­stroyed near­ly 28 acres of bush, forests and parks, and al­so leav­ing thou­sands home­less - CMC

Cricket Australia shortlist 23 players for Bushfire Relief match

Shane Warne (c), Ricky Ponting (c), Adam Gilchrist, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Brad Fittler, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Brian Lara, Dan Christian, Nick Riewoldt, Elyse Villani, Grace Harris, Holly Ferling, Justin Langer, Luke Hodge, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Phoebe Litchfield, Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh, Wasim Akram

Coaches: Sachin Tendulkar, Courtney Walsh

Post by: Sando prince on March 25, 2020, 05:33:42 AM

Prince Of POS, Brian Lara Sends Video Message Advice On COVID-19

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2020/03/prince-of-pos-brian-lara-sends-video.html
Post by: vb on March 30, 2020, 11:00:02 AM
Brian Lara, before the legend.

https://www.hail-caribbean-sport.com/young-brian-lara-before-the-legend
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2020, 11:12:10 AM

Classic, VB.
Post by: vb on March 30, 2020, 11:38:38 AM

Classic, VB.

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2020, 12:59:32 PM

Classic, VB.

:beermug: :beermug:

VB, that's an absorbing read.

I used to hear and overhear Lara stories as they were being shared by boys in his year, but I didn't have complete  context as an eyewitness.

All the stories had a tinge of building legend and hilarity. Then, one mid-day I saw him leaving the athletics side of the campus walking alone to the 'school side' with a bat and just the contradiction of his physique and where the bat met him on his body struck me. He didn't  look awkward with that bat when seemingly he should have been uncomfortable with it.

It's an image I somehow filed in my memory just due to the contradiction and the rumours of his quality.
Post by: vb on March 30, 2020, 06:22:19 PM

additional quotes have been added..Sagar just above the subhead "the best wickekeeper the WI never saw."
AND just below the Roland Holder photo, re Lara vs Pakistan in Toronto
Post by: vb on April 01, 2020, 12:59:30 PM
Ian Salandy who is in the U14 photo died earlier this morning in London, heart attack.

SMH.

RIP Ian.
Post by: Flex on April 14, 2020, 04:11:38 PM
Lara relives 400 record
T&T Guardian Reports.

Sunday (April 12) marked the 16th anniversary of West Indies legend Brian Lara's 400 not out against England at the Antigua Recreation Ground. In celebration of the historic occasion, the former batting star cricketer will today relive one of my greatest experiences in his life!

With the hope of putting a smile on everyone's face during the time of the COVID-19 pandemic, Lara said: "I never really expected to get such positive feedback from so many of you, so I am truly grateful for that. I am happy to partner with the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs (MYSA), T&T to bring another momentous occasion to you from where I stood."

The following is in his words:

This was a Test series, that all of us at one point wanted to forget. It was devastating, playing against our oldest rival England and being ripped apart game after game.

The history of our cricket in its early days was entrenched in colonialism so much so that in 1950 after we triumphed against England in England for the first time, the West Indies cricket team became the heart and soul of every West Indian.

The men in white flannels, donning the maroon cap were now representing and stood as that pillar of hope which was so desperately needed during those times.

The series in 2004 against England, started in Jamaica and after the first innings, England nor the West Indies had the advantage, but then disaster struck. We were bowled out for 47 in the second innings and suffered an embarrassing defeat.

The Queen's Park Oval, T&T was the venue for the Second Test and some more below par cricket caused us to suffer another defeat.

Now thinking about it there is so much similarity and relevance in how I felt then and what we are experiencing now as a nation.

Today we are suffering, everything is at a standstill. Our friends, family at home and abroad, our brothers and sisters throughout the Caribbean are all experiencing their toughest economic time.

Feeling frustrated, helpless and of course very scared, not sure how long your resources are going to last, because of what we are going through right now. We are fighting an invisible enemy that is partial to none. We are all feeling the same, healthy and willing to work but this COVID-19 virus has been able to push us back.

Our backs are now against the wall.

I felt the same halfway through the series against England. Two Test matches, 31 runs in four innings and I really didn't know where I was going wrong. I was confused and not sure how I was going to score runs.

But I kept aggressively working on the physical side of my game and quietly whenever I had alone time, kept saying to myself stay positive, things have to get better.

The third Test match came and a hattrick of defeats against England was the end result. During that Test, I took a couple of body blows but I hung in there and started feeling more confident about my game. Nothing to shout about I only got a couple of 30s but I felt that some batting form was coming back.

A statement that we hear a lot these days "flatten the curve" well the downward spiral I was on started to even out and I left Barbados with a lot more confidence than I arrived with. We won the toss in Antigua and there was some hesitance to bat first, every game before that we batted first with no success but it was impossible looking at the pitch to do anything but bat first.

I walked in after we lost a couple of wickets, started cautiously to ensure I got my eyes in, picked up what the pitch was doing and then I got into the groove.

Did I have the world record on my mind?

No, how could I when I only had 100 runs in six innings prior to that. I just wanted, first of all, to bat us to safety so we didn't lose all four Test matches to England.

When it became apparent that it could happen, the record could be regained?

I suppose late on the second day when the English bowlers looked tired and they all looked jaded in the field.

But what I really want to say is that I have learnt over the years the need to embrace feelings of helplessness, frustration and nervousness and use them and turn them into positives.

There is no greater feeling than when achieving and ascending in the face of extreme adversity.

We can overcome this and we will.

Right now is the best time to start putting together a plan for you and your family for the future.

Post by: Flex on August 06, 2020, 12:42:31 PM
Lara: Covid19 rumours false, distressing to family
JONATHAN RAMNANANSINGH (NEWSDAY).

LEGENDARY T&T and West Indies cricketer Brian Lara has denounced claims that he has tested positive for coronavirus.

On Wednesday, the 51-year-old took to Instagram and Twitter to reaffirm his global fan-base of the inaccuracy of this rumour.

Lara posted an image stating, “I have been tested for covid19 and the results confirm that I am negative for the virus.”

The multiple world record holder chose this medium to deny this claim by stating below the image, “I have read all the circulating rumours regarding me testing positive for coronavirus and it is important I clarify the facts. Not only is this information false, it is also detrimental to spread such panic in a community already feeling the distress of covid19 situation.”

Lara continued, “While you haven’t personally affected me, what causes concern is that spread of wrongful information is careless and causes unnecessary worry amongst a lot of people that would have been in my circle.

“This virus isn’t something we should use in a negative manner to create sensationalism. I hope and pray that all of us remain safe because it is noticeable covid19 is going nowhere in the future.”

Post by: Flex on September 08, 2020, 12:53:06 AM
Excitement builds over Lara film at TTFF
JELANI BECKLES (NEWSDAY).

A FILM about West Indies batting legend Brian Lara, 501 Not Out, will be the highlight of the opening night of the 15th edition of the T&T Film Festival (TTFF), on Wednesday.

The film festival will take place from Wednesday to September 15. The Lara documentary starts at 7 pm and will run for one hour and 48 minutes.

A media release said, “This year’s much anticipated opening night event and screening will be held online, so that cricket lovers and Lara fans in T&T and around the English-speaking Caribbean will be able to screen the film and share in the excitement.”

The Lara film was directed by award-nominated UK director and lifelong cricket fan Sam Lockyer. The film highlights Lara’s record-breaking innings for Warwickshire in 1994.

In the media release, Lockyer said, “I am truly honoured that 501 Not Out will be opening the TT Film Festival this year. I have fulfilled a long-held dream in making the film and I hope that it is a fitting tribute to the genius of Brian Lara, my childhood hero and the greatest cricketer to ever live.”

The media release said, “Featuring rarely seen archive footage and stills, the film explores Lara’s remarkable ascent in 1994 and celebrates his development in Trinidad. It features interviews with iconic names from the world of cricket, including some of his former international and county teammates from the historic treble-winning season, his friends and coaches in T&T and the Caribbean, fans who witnessed the marathon knock first-hand and those inspired by his heroics.”

Those interested can buy ticket bundles, with one bundle featuring as many as ten films.

Speaking to Newsday on Monday, TTFF office administrator Kamille Lynch-Griffith said there is a 600-ticket limit for each bundle.

Regular bundles cost US$5.25, but the Lara film costs US$7.50.

Lynch-Griffith, speaking about the Lara film, said, “We are very excited about it, and I think people are excited especially since CPL (Caribbean Premier League) is happening as well,”

Before the recent rise in covid19 cases, the TTFF was hoping to allow people to attend films.

“From early on we had decided we still wanted to see if we could have had a couple of in-person screenings at MovieTowne, but of course as the cases went up we had to pull everything to online.”

The films will be screened online at ttfilmfestival.com.

Tickets are also available on the website. They can also be bought in advance via online bank transfer, or at the TTFF office at 22 Jerningham Avenue, Belmont.

For more information on tickets, call the TTFF office at 323-3228 or e-mail hello@ttfilmfestival.com

Post by: Sando prince on April 12, 2022, 07:13:12 PM

Every true Cricket fan knows why this day April 12th is well known .. https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/photos/703811877631658

respect to the Prince BCL!
Post by: Sando prince on June 07, 2022, 05:20:39 AM
The Prince of POS at age 52 still got it!   :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/396394105703918