General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2006, 07:30:14 AM

Title: Earthquake in Trinidad
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2006, 07:30:14 AM
The PC is running on UPS . Power is gone. It Lasted about 10 seconds. Fairly strong. All my family safe. I presume not many were hurt.
Title: Re: Earthquake in Trinidad
Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 07:33:36 AM
I just happended to call my friend in Point Lisas not knowing about the earthquake and she told me that they felt it very very strong up there but she doesn't know yet how the rest of the island fared.  Their land lines were knocked out.
Post by: fari on September 29, 2006, 07:40:01 AM
my pardner in gulf view (south) say he bracing for tsunami :o   i think he overreacting but i hope that dont happen
Post by: pecan on September 29, 2006, 07:48:06 AM
the news say magnitude 6
Post by: Girl Warrior on September 29, 2006, 07:50:18 AM
I'm in Point Lisas, the building literally was jolted. We actually thought that there was an explosion on one of the plants close by. In parts of Port of Spain electricity got knocked out and my mom said in San Fernando everything was swaying. One of my friends was driving and he felt a jolt too and stopped cause he thought someone hit him. Out by NGC some men was working on a scaffolding, ah hear it was real speed to come off and retreat to saftey. Pressure!
Title: Earthquake!
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 07:50:58 AM
Apparently there was a really strong earthquake in Trinidad about a half-hour ago.  Don't know the offical magnitude or where the epicenter was.  What I do know is that a relative of mine back home said that it was the strongest they ever felt and that Diego Martin is now without electricity.

Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 07:51:33 AM
I'm in Point Lisas, the building literally was jolted. We actually thought that there was an explosion on one of the plants close by. In parts of Port of Spain electricity got knocked out and my mom said in San Fernando everything was swaying. One of my friends was driving and he felt a jolt too and stopped cause he thought someone hit him. Out by NGC some men was working on a scaffolding, ah hear it was real speed to come off and retreat to saftey. Pressure!

Keep us posted nah!!!  Glad yuh safe.
Post by: monty on September 29, 2006, 07:58:50 AM
I hear parts of the hilton damage significantly and the runway in Piarco damage

a big one…around a 6!

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/recenteqsww/Maps/10/300_10.php
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 08:01:13 AM
I just happen to call my Mom today about 15 minutes after the event and the poor woman heart was racing.  She said it was the strongest she ever felt in her life and stuff was falling everywhere. She lives in Diego Martin and the power is out as well...phones still seem to work though.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 29, 2006, 08:03:37 AM
boy I run outside we
I thought the apartment was coming down

my roomate jes turn over like somebody shaking he foot

this time alarm going off and bachanal in the place
current now come back

I feel like chicken licken
(http://www.schmidt-lehrmittel.de/shop/artikel/bilder/88144.jpg)
Title: Re: Earthquake!
Post by: FF on September 29, 2006, 08:03:55 AM
Apparently there was a really strong earthquake in Trinidad about a half-hour ago.  Don't know the offical magnitude or where the epicenter was.  What I do know is that a relative of mine back home said that it was the strongest they ever felt and that Diego Martin is now without electricity.

No power in Trincity too
Post by: Dutty on September 29, 2006, 08:04:36 AM
I just happen to call my Mom today about 15 minutes after the event and the poor woman heart was racing.  She said it was the strongest she ever felt in her life and stuff was falling everywhere. She lives in Diego Martin and the power is out as well...phones still seem to work though.

Good to hear...at least shes safe

At this point, you will probably here some very 'enhanced ' stories commin out of trini...until we get the actual truth

Hope there are no aftershocks
Title: Earthquake in T&T
Post by: samo on September 29, 2006, 08:09:13 AM
Heard T&T had a big eathquake.. Hope everyone is alright
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 08:12:14 AM

Good to hear...at least shes safe

At this point, you will probably here some very 'enhanced ' stories commin out of trini...until we get the actual truth

Hope there are no aftershocks

Thanks.

Some one earlier in the thread stated that you can't get Tsunamis in the Atlantic Ocean...is this true, or is it just semantics with words i.e. Tsunami vs Tidal Wave???
Post by: Quags on September 29, 2006, 08:14:38 AM
semantics...one is pacific the other atlantic.
Post by: Jumbie on September 29, 2006, 08:17:31 AM
I juss call.. people eh even know what going on..no news etc. Maybe is time TnT put some measures in place for a disaster. My sis juss tell meh when the quake hit she run for a doorway..people watching she like she mad. However, she mentioned that if you work for BP you'll probably be the most prepared people in TnT..they big on safety/security.

Ah juss hope meh lill hut eh get mash dong.

Post by: Dutty on September 29, 2006, 08:17:58 AM
From Denver

Earthquake Details
Magnitude
6.0 (Strong)

Date-Time
• Friday, September 29, 2006 at 13:08:27 (UTC)

= Coordinated Universal Time
• Friday, September 29, 2006 at 9:08:27 AM

= local time at epicenter

Depth
62.6 km (38.9 miles)

Region
OFFSHORE SUCRE, VENEZUELA

Distances
• 41 km (26 miles) NW (305°) from PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad
• 63 km (39 miles) ENE (66°) from Guiria, Venezuela
• 123 km (76 miles) WSW (252°) from Scarborough, Tobago
• 157 km (98 miles) E (83°) from Carupano, Venezuela

Location Uncertainty
horizontal +/- 5.6 km (3.5 miles); depth +/- 6.2 km (3.9 miles)

Parameters
Nst=199, Nph=199, Dmin=896.2 km, Rmss=0.89 sec, Gp= 65°,
M-type=moment magnitude (Mw), Version=6

Source
• U.S. Geological Survey, National Earthquake Information Center
World Data Center for Seismology, Denver

(http://www.iris.edu/seismon/views/eveday//imgs/topMap.eveday.gif)
Post by: Girl Warrior on September 29, 2006, 08:25:16 AM

Keep us posted nah!!!  Glad yuh safe.

Thanks...
I ain't feel any aftershocks since this thing happened. Has anyone?
Title: Big Earthquake jus hit T&T
Post by: Trini on September 29, 2006, 08:37:12 AM
strongest quake i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas.
Burst pipeline in Mt Hope.
But allyuh done know how trinis are with rumours...

Hope everybody ok.
Title: Re: Big Earthquake jus hit T&T
Post by: andre samuel on September 29, 2006, 08:40:08 AM
It was the biggest i ever felt in my life.

Pressure!!

ah didnt love dat atall!!
Post by: Trini on September 29, 2006, 08:44:24 AM
ok andre, ah correct it.

Allyuh men mind in the gutter!
Post by: Grande on September 29, 2006, 08:47:48 AM
strongest i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas.

Hope everybody ok.

Trini dat have to be the strongest ever if you feel it quite in Texas  ;D

under all seriousness

hope no lives were lost and no major injuries

Post by: dwolfman on September 29, 2006, 09:38:56 AM
I was in a taxi waiting by the traffic light at Jerningham (spelling?) Ave. when I feel the car start to shake. I say a man bump the taxi and eh want to stop so I swing around only to see the car about 15 feet behind us and no one else in the car react. So I say I mad. Is only going down Charlotte St. that I see no current in a couple buildings and a woman on her cell holding her chest. By the time we reach Park St. quite a few people - including many Republic Bank employees - were outside. Still a few more people were holding a hand to their chest. Nelson St. Boys was already evacuated and the students neatly organised in classes in the school yard. I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

All here in Tacarigua people felt it (by the time I got here), but there's current so is work as usual. I heard someone here talking about damage to the runway at Piarco. Not sure if that's a rumour though.
Post by: Girl Warrior on September 29, 2006, 09:41:52 AM
strongest quake i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas

Hope everybody ok.

I would have known (or be dead or injured) if there were explosions in point lisas. One ammonia plant is down though and there were a couple power outages
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2006, 09:42:29 AM
Current just came back on in Trincity.
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2006, 09:44:34 AM
I heard it was confirmed that it was the strongest we ever had.
Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 09:46:56 AM
[quote I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

The resilience of Trinis.   ;D
Post by: Dutty on September 29, 2006, 09:56:03 AM
[quote I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

The resilience of Trinis.   ;D

or maybe dem was done drunk and swayin,,so dey eh feel nuttn
Post by: TriniCana on September 29, 2006, 11:02:07 AM
Glad everyone is okay

just called home to hear meh mudda heart in she hand still
she good china break but she say is materialitic ting....now ting like dat does confused me
cause when ah break she coffee cup when ah was small, she cut meh ass and ask meh if i didn't know how much it cost >:(

ah hang up yes >:(
Post by: WestCoast on September 29, 2006, 11:08:19 AM
great that all is ok

buh ah geh ah email from meh pardner and he say is nuttin to worry bout as he an de "tick ting" (his words not mines) were tryin somting new and boat ah dem went bradap on de grong
so he say doh worry :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
he is ah real joker yes :D
he now tellin meh he cyar find he camera phone :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: palos on September 29, 2006, 11:23:04 AM
Glad everyone is okay

she good china break but she say is materialitic ting....now ting like dat does confused me
cause when ah break she coffee cup when ah was small, she cut meh ass and ask meh if i didn't know how much it cost >:(

:rotfl:  U harsh woman.. ;D
Post by: E-man on September 29, 2006, 11:42:32 AM
Rock and Roll people! Sounds like everyone is ok - hope so.

Heard from my mother-in-law in Point-a-Pierre, so they still have phone down there. Looks like it was centered closer to North though.

6.1 is pretty good - can do some damage if centered in the right place. I've been through a couple of those -including the 89 Loma Prieta quake here in California - that was even a 7.1 or something.

(http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/shakemap/global/shake/tfa2_06/download/intensity.jpg)
Post by: pecan on September 29, 2006, 11:53:36 AM
Things mus be Ok .. here is a recent exchange between an ex-pat and his cousin

> >To: "<***@hotmail.com>
> >Subject: Earthquake
> >Date: Fri, 29 Sep 2006 10:04:24 -0400
> >
> >You OK?.
> >
> >
> >
> >Your cousin overseas
> >
-----Original Message-----
>From: [***@hotmail.com]
>Sent: Friday, September 29, 2006 12:28 PM
>To: xxx@yyy.com
>Subject: RE: Earthquake
>
>
>Just a little shaken, but otherwise fine.
>
>Your cousin in T&T
>

>To: "'***@hotmail.com>
>Date: Fri, 29 Sep 2006 13:05:26 -0400
>
>
>How shaken were you cousin?
>
>I know you said 'just a little shaken', but with a 6.0 magnitude, the
>effects may remain for a while.  I hope the shock will not sway you and the
>country from remain stable in the days to come.  On the other hand, if you
>tremor any time you feel the earth move under your feet, that will
>inevitably leave you on shaky ground.  But I suspect that mentally, you are
>as solid as a rock and few bumps along the road will not be unlike the
>gentle rocking of the motion of the ocean, assuming of course that the
>tides >remain in your favour.
>
>Trusting that all is in order and you do not feel like every thing is
>falling down around you,
>
>I remain your faithful cousin overseas
>

Sent: Friday, September 29, 2006 1:42 PM
To: xxx@yyy.com
Subject: RE: Earthquake

Thanks for the nice vibrations you are sending us. It has stopped us from
quaking and the walls from tumbling down. It seems that some shifting plates
caused the whole plate-shifting experience. And all the commotion excited
the pictures on my wall and they all started swinging, but they quickly came
back down to earth. But I won't let it sway me. This whole experience has
left me rocking to the song "I feel the earth move under my feet."

Your shaken but not stirred cousin in T&T

Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 11:56:38 AM
Glad everyone is okay

Oh gaaawwddd...ah like that one dread...LMAO.. :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 11:57:45 AM
Things mus be Ok .. here is a recent exchange between an ex-pat and his cousin

> >To: "<***@hotmail.com>
> >Subject: Earthquake
> >Date: Fri, 29 Sep 2006 10:04:24 -0400
> >
> >You OK?.
> >
> >
> >
> >Your cousin overseas
> >
>From: [***@hotmail.com]
>Sent: Friday, September 29, 2006 12:28 PM
>To: xxx@yyy.com
>
>
>Just a little shaken, but otherwise fine.
>
>Your cousin in T&T
>

>To: "'***@hotmail.com>
>Date: Fri, 29 Sep 2006 13:05:26 -0400
>
>
>How shaken were you cousin?
>
>I know you said 'just a little shaken', but with a 6.0 magnitude, the
>effects may remain for a while.  I hope the shock will not sway you and the
>country from remain stable in the days to come.  On the other hand, if you
>tremor any time you feel the earth move under your feet, that will
>inevitably leave you on shaky ground.  But I suspect that mentally, you are
>as solid as a rock and few bumps along the road will not be unlike the
>gentle rocking of the motion of the ocean, assuming of course that the
>tides >remain in your favour.
>
>Trusting that all is in order and you do not feel like every thing is
>falling down around you,
>
>I remain your faithful cousin overseas
>

Sent: Friday, September 29, 2006 1:42 PM
To: xxx@yyy.com
Subject: RE: Earthquake

Thanks for the nice vibrations you are sending us. It has stopped us from
quaking and the walls from tumbling down. It seems that some shifting plates
caused the whole plate-shifting experience. And all the commotion excited
the pictures on my wall and they all started swinging, but they quickly came
back down to earth. But I won't let it sway me. This whole experience has
left me rocking to the song "I feel the earth move under my feet."

Your shaken but not stirred cousin in T&T

Humour does run in yuh family ah see.   ;D
Post by: Patterson on September 29, 2006, 12:29:38 PM
Just had an aftershock around 2.25pm that was kinda heavy and i in bago
Post by: pecan on September 29, 2006, 12:36:43 PM
yeah .. meh cuz jes told me as well
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 12:38:19 PM
Buh wha dee ass is this...ah jus call me mom home in TnT and she tell me there was another one AGAIN not more than 5 minutes before I called...ah tell her "like ah goh have to stop calling, ah seem to be causing it"?   ;D

Streess yes
Post by: warriorchic on September 29, 2006, 12:54:29 PM
Yeah we had an aftershock at around 2:24 PM tt time. It was not as intense as the first one though
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 01:02:18 PM
Earthquake Details

Magnitude   5.5 (Moderate)

Date-Time   ·  Friday, September 29, 2006 at 18:23:09 (UTC)= Coordinated Universal Time ·  Friday, September 29, 2006 at 2:23:09 PM = local time at epicenter

Location   10.790°N, 61.870°W

Depth   89.7 km (55.7 miles) set by location program

Region   OFFSHORE SUCRE, VENEZUELA
Distances   40 km (25 miles) WNW of PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad55 km (35 miles) ENE of Guiria, Venezuela130 km (80 miles) WSW of Scarborough, Tobago140 km (90 miles) S of SAINT GEORGE'S, Grenada

Location Uncertainty   horizontal +/- 8.9 km (5.5 miles); depth fixed by location program

Parameters   Nst=109, Nph=109, Dmin=899.6 km, Rmss=0.89 sec, Gp=122°,M-type=body magnitude (Mb), Version=7

Source   USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)

Event ID   ustfbp
Post by: dyansie on September 29, 2006, 01:43:14 PM
it had a second one
Post by: TriniCana on September 29, 2006, 01:51:19 PM
Well I ain't calling home again fur dat nah  >:(

Ah really don't wanna hear "look chile - I push ya ass out, ah could push ya back in easy"  ::)

So allyuh keep meh updated.  :devil:
Post by: TriniCana on September 29, 2006, 01:58:55 PM
ONLY IN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

* earthquake on ah Friday just in time fur weekend and early start tur after work lime
* earthquake in full swing and everybody headin fur Western Main Road St James and early bird special by Bunty
* earthquake happening on pay day - so excuses tur dey wife is, girl steups, dey line long at dey bank, so I ain't worry tur join in...
* god is a trinidadian so nothing ain't go happen tur we....so girl trus' in dey lord and pass dey drinks :beermug:
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 02:20:29 PM

* earthquake on ah Friday just in time fur weekend and early start tur after work lime
* earthquake in full swing and everybody headin fur Western Main Road St James and early bird special by Bunty
* earthquake happening on pay day - so excuses tur dey wife is, girl steups, dey line long at dey bank, so I ain't worry tur join in...
* god is a trinidadian so nothing ain't go happen tur we....so girl trus' in dey lord and pass dey drinks :beermug:

Brodder yuh give me a serious Tabancca dey with that talk...I outside for 5 years and ah does still ketch the vibe to hit a lil Pelos on a Friday (ah know Pelos gone through now)....[sigh] nothing like sweet TnT  when it come to impromptu limes especially on a Friday afterwork.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 29, 2006, 02:28:51 PM

Brodder yuh give me a serious Tabancca dey with that talk...I outside for 5 years and ah does still ketch the vibe to hit a lil Pelos on a Friday (ah know Pelos gone through now)....[sigh] nothing like sweet TnT  when it come to impromptu limes especially on a Friday afterwork.

Ah jus waiting for Cana to reply to dis one...in anodder thread she jus boast about finally proving to be ah ooman and now dis  :o  :rotfl:

Post by: TriniCana on September 29, 2006, 03:59:39 PM

DeSoWa ya whatless - but ah like it ;D

Dear Phensic

Welcome to dey bestest forum it have on dey internet. Here you would meet all kinda people. Man, Woman, Boy, Girl and Animal.  Some, treat you like family and invite you to their house for Sunday callaloo, others well let me just say brace ya back. Lemme introduce meh self. I am dey one dey call TriniCana aka MuFF PuFF aka Rookmin V. Maharaj....some does call meh whatless and slacker, others call meh bitch.  :'(

Anyways, if you look closely at my profile you will notice that there is nothing to reflect that I am a Brodder...infact Sir Phensic if you look down at my signature; let me post it for you to understand where I'm coming from.
"Milk, Milk, Lemonade around the corner Fudge is made". This should be able to rectify any mis-understanding in your mind that I am man. Unless you know of Men that have man boobs. Just point me in their direction, because I'll have ah view words for them.

I look forward to your continued support and ole talk in the forum and I hope you enjoy your stay. So introduce yourself to the rest of us nah. Like what part of the world ya sitting in, Chinese ?

Brest Regards
Cana  ;D
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on September 29, 2006, 04:04:36 PM
it was the strongest i've ever felt ... (after 9 a.m.) numerous parents  San do Girls' started callin, askin if we gonna over school early cuz other schools in town were over ...d aftershock was round 2.00 p.m. thank God there weren't any reported deaths so far ... have a safe wk. end folks... go 2 church...  :angel:
Post by: DeSoWa on September 29, 2006, 04:06:02 PM
Ah feel after reading dis, he go have to take 2 Phensic and go lie down oui  ;D

Post by: pecan on September 29, 2006, 04:07:06 PM

Dear Phensic

Welcome to dey bestest forum it have on dey internet. Here you would meet all kinda people. Man, Woman, Boy, Girl and Animal.  Some, treat you like family and invite you to their house for Sunday callaloo, others well let me just say brace ya back. Lemme introduce meh self. I am dey one dey call TriniCana aka MuFF PuFF aka Rookmin V. Maharaj....some does call meh whatless and slacker, others call meh bitch.  :'(

Anyways, if you look closely at my profile you will notice that there is nothing to reflect that I am a Brodder...infact Sir Phensic if you look down at my signature; let me post it for you to understand where I'm coming from.
"Milk, Milk, Lemonade around the corner Fudge is made". This should be able to rectify any mis-understanding in your mind that I am man. Unless you know of Men that have man boobs. Just point me in their direction, because I'll have ah view words for them.

I look forward to your continued support and ole talk in the forum and I hope you enjoy your stay. So introduce yourself to the rest of us nah. Like what part of the world ya sitting in, Chinese ?

Brest Regards
Cana  ;D

Cana, I was visualizing but never would I call yuh names other that MuFF PuFF, Trinicana, Cana Rookmin.  De las ting I need if for two oman here in London to have me in dey cross hairs .. Dat eh good for life.

Now Phensic calling yuh "Brodder"  ..... Phensic, doh call she names or yuh go live to regret it.
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 04:40:07 PM

Dear Phensic

Brest Regards
Cana  ;D

Dear TriniCana aka MuFF PuFF aka Rookmin V. Maharaj (whatless, slacker, etc...)

I was hoping to post a reply before yuh get a chance rest it on meh but the browser end up crashing and I had to get back to wok anyways...*grin*...but alas I am back now fair maden and your chastisement proved to be more Cordial than Coarse, for which I humbly thank thee [Phensic takes a bow].  Thank you for your engaging welcome and acceptance...and I appreciate the humor too.  ;)

Good people don't let my stars misguide you, I have actually been on this site since June 2005 (that may not be long compared to most of you, but its not like yesterday), its only within the last three months or soo that I decided to actively post. Before that I was only a reader (obsiously not a critical one else I would have discovered Madame Cana's gender before my error). However, I am new to the General Discussion area as I have spent more of my time in the SocaWarriors Forum.

I am located in Boston Massachusetts, been here for the last 5 years. I am really loving this site more and more and actually had the good fortune to meet Flex and TallMan(I believe)  in person at the TnT vs USA game back in 2005 in Connectecut via my old padner Samo.  Ah think dey posted a pic of all of us somewhere on this site...anyways...

Thanks for the warm, sincere and humorous welcome TriniCana and ditto to the rest of you..."folks" (ah doh have time to read all ah allyuh profiles to the genders correct).  ;D

Cheers

Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 05:05:09 PM

Dear Phensic

Brest Regards
Cana  ;D

Dear TriniCana aka MuFF PuFF aka Rookmin V. Maharaj (whatless, slacker, etc...)

I was hoping to post a reply before yuh get a chance rest it on meh but the browser end up crashing and I had to get back to wok anyways...*grin*...but alas I am back now fair maden and your chastisement proved to be more Cordial than Coarse, for which I humbly thank thee [Phensic takes a bow].  Thank you for your engaging welcome and acceptance...and I appreciate the humor too.  ;)

Good people don't let my stars misguide you, I have actually been on this site since June 2005 (that may not be long compared to most of you, but its not like yesterday), its only within the last three months or soo that I decided to actively post. Before that I was only a reader (obsiously not a critical one else I would have discovered Madame Cana's gender before my error). However, I am new to the General Discussion area as I have spent more of my time in the SocaWarriors Forum.

I am located in Boston Massachusetts, been here for the last 5 years. I am really loving this site more and more and actually had the good fortune to meet Flex and TallMan(I believe)  in person at the TnT vs USA game back in 2005 in Connectecut via my old padner Samo.  Ah think dey posted a pic of all of us somewhere on this site...anyways...

Thanks for the warm, sincere and humorous welcome TriniCana and ditto to the rest of you..."folks" (ah doh have time to read all ah allyuh profiles to the genders correct).  ;D

Cheers

Well...welcome Phensic...ah like de name. :beermug:
Post by: TriniCana on September 29, 2006, 05:07:27 PM
Oh look another man with ah excuse...but you are most welcome Phensic :beermug:
But you forget one important detail in your reply.

Chinese ? ;D

Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 05:10:27 PM

Chinese ? ;D

Thank you...but dahlin, you loose meh on the chinese ting  ???
Post by: Phensic on September 29, 2006, 05:11:39 PM
Thank you too cocoapanyol  :)
Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 05:13:11 PM

Chinese ? ;D

Thank you...but dahlin, you loose meh on the chinese ting  ???

Daise because yuh wasn't hanging out in dis area.  But ah go let Cana answer dat.  She could talk fuh sheself.   ;D
Post by: cocoapanyol on September 29, 2006, 05:13:43 PM
Thank you too cocoapanyol  :)

YW
Post by: dwolfman on September 29, 2006, 07:37:04 PM
That second one catch meh. I not call that no aftershock nuh... especially at 5.5 that was a proper piece of quake in we craw! The office get quiet quiet when it hit we... not a person made a sound except for a muttered "oh gawd!"  :D

Meh Jamaican bredren sent me a text message after each (he lives and works here in Trini):
Msg1 - "Bomboclat earthquake in Trinidad wa fi kill de Jamaican! Mi no use 2 dem ting de. Mi nearly piss mi pants!"
Msg2 - "Aftrschks! Mi heart is flipping weak! Mi can't tek d pressure! Mi nerves! Cho bombo!"

:rotfl: I call him and if yuh hear how shaky he voice was sounding. He say he accustomed to hurricane where yuh does get the warning it coming.  ;D
Post by: dwolfman on September 29, 2006, 07:45:17 PM
Rock and Roll people! Sounds like everyone is ok - hope so.

Heard from my mother-in-law in Point-a-Pierre, so they still have phone down there. Looks like it was centered closer to North though.

6.1 is pretty good - can do some damage if centered in the right place. I've been through a couple of those -including the 89 Loma Prieta quake here in California - that was even a 7.1 or something.

(http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/shakemap/global/shake/tfa2_06/download/intensity.jpg)

Wait nuh! Why San Juan in central Trinidad? The government move it and eh tell nobody or what? I sure the maxi drive past the Croisse this afternoon.  ;D
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 29, 2006, 09:09:50 PM
 tv6 news said there was one casualty. some man was on a ladder painting a house when d aftershock hit. d neighbour said after d after shock , he hear dis loud noise. on checkin he see d man lifeless body on d ground. didnt ketch d man name though. Sad!!

bless!!!
Post by: pecan on October 04, 2006, 08:59:08 AM
Date: Tue, 03 Oct 2006 19:47:05 +0000

EXTRACT FROM DOUG COPP'S ARTICLE ON THE "TRIANGLE OF LIFE", Edited byLarry Linn for MAA Safety Committee brief on 4/13/04.

My name is Doug Copp. I am the Rescue Chief and Disaster Manager ofthe American Rescue Team International (ARTI), the world's most experienced rescue team. The information in this article will save lives in an earthquake. The first building I ever crawled inside of was a school in Mexico City during the 1985 earthquake. Every child was under their desk.  Every child was crushed to the thickness of their bones. They could have survived by lying down next to their desks in the aisles. It was obscene, unnecessary and I wondered why the children were not in the  aisles. I didn't at the time know that the children were told to hide under something. Simply stated, when buildings collapse, the weight of the ceilings falling upon the objects or furniture inside crushes these objects, leaving a space or void next to them.

This space is what Icall   the "triangle of life". The larger the object, the stronger, the less it   will compact. The less the object compacts, the larger the void, the greater the probability that the person who is using this void for safety will not be injured. The next time you watch collapsed buildings,  on television, count the "triangles" you see formed. They
are everywhere. It is the most common shape, you will see, in a collapsed building. They are everywhere.

TEN TIPS FOR EARTHQUAKE SAFETY

1) Most everyone who simply "ducks and covers" WHEN BUILDINGS COLLAPSE, arecrushed to death. People who get under objects, like desks or cars, are crushed.

2) Cats, dogs and babies often naturally curl up in the fetal position. Youshould too in an earthquake. It is a natural safety/survival instinct. You can survive in a smaller void. Get next to an object, next  to a sofa, next to a large bulky object that will compress slightly but leave a void next to it.

3) Wooden buildings are the safest type of construction to be in during an earthquake. Wood is flexible and moves with the force of the earthquake. If the wooden building does collapse, large survival voids are created. Also, the wooden building has less concentrated, crushing weight. Brick buildings will break into individual bricks. Bricks will cause many injuries but less squashed bodies than concrete slabs.

4) If you are in bed during the night and an earthquake occurs, simply roll off the bed. A safe void will exist
around the bed. Hotels can achieve a much greater survival rate in earthquakes, simply by posting a  sign on the back of the door of every room telling occupants to lie down  on the floor, next to the bottom of the bed during an earthquake.

5) If an earthquake happens and you cannot easily escape by getting out thedoor or window, then lie down and curl up in the fetal position next to a sofa, or large chair.

6) Most everyone who gets under a doorway when buildings collapseis killed. How? If you stand under a doorway and the doorjamb fall forward or backward you will be crushed by the ceiling above. If the door jam falls sideways you will be cut in half by the doorway. In either case, you will be killed!

7) Never go to the stairs. The stairs have a different "moment of frequency" (they swing separately from the main part of the building).The stairs and remainder of the building continuously bump into each other until structural failure of the stairs takes place. The people who get on stairs before they fail are chopped up by the stair threads - horribly mutilated. Even if the building doesn't collapse,stay away from the stairs. The stairs are a likely part of the building to be damaged. Even if the stairs are not collapsed by the earthquake, they may collapse later when overloaded by fleeing people. They should always be checked for safety, even when the rest of the building is not damaged.

8 Get Near the Outer Walls Of Buildings Or Outside Of Them If Possible - It is much better to be near the outside of the building rather than the interior. The farther inside you are from the outside perimeter of the building the greater the probability that your escape route will be blocked.

9) People inside of their vehicles are crushed when the road above falls inan earthquake and crushes their vehicles, which is exactly what happened with the slabs between the decks of the Nimitz Freeway. The victims of the San Francisco earthquake all stayed inside of their vehicles. They were all killed. They could have easily survived by getting out and sitting or lying next to their vehicles. Everyone killed  would have survived if they had been able to get out of their cars and sit or lie next to them. All the crushed cars had voids 3 feet high next to them, except for the cars that had columns fall directly across them.   

10) I discovered, while crawling inside of collapsed newspaper offices andother offices with a lot of paper that paper does not compact. Large voids are found surrounding stacks of paper.

SPREAD THE WORD AND SAVE SOMEONE'S LIFE...
Post by: WestCoast on October 04, 2006, 10:28:18 AM
Wait nuh! Why San Juan in central Trinidad? The government move it and eh tell nobody or what? I sure the maxi drive past the Croisse this afternoon.  ;D
dem ent easy eh :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
san juan dong by ato stadium
Post by: E-man on October 04, 2006, 11:35:07 AM

3) Wooden buildings are the safest type of construction to be in during an earthquake. Wood is flexible and moves with the force of the earthquake. If the wooden building does collapse, large survival voids are created. Also, the wooden building has less concentrated, crushing weight. Brick buildings will break into individual bricks. Bricks will cause many injuries but less squashed bodies than concrete slabs.

In California most residential homes are wood frame, BUT we don't have hurricanes to contend with, so for us it's the safest construction. In the Caribbean, though not so much in Trinidad you have to strike a balance - The cinder block is more common. (I still don't know why getting a house build that way in Florida is such a problem. A lot of contractors don't seem to like it.

This thread has mentioned a lot about what to do during an earthquake, but not what to do after. One of the biggest hazards after is fire especially due to ruptured gas lines. Knowing were to shut off your gas main is important - but only do it if there is damage to the line - and having a wrench handy. Fasten or hang a wrench near the valve and keep it there.- A great way to make a buck in California is going door to door with wrenches painted bright neon colors to fit the gas mains.

Other stuff:
-Damaged electrical wiring: Shut off power at the control box.
-Downed or damaged utility lines: Stay away from downed lines even if power appears to be off.
-Fallen objects in closets and cupboards: Displaced objects may fall when you open the door.
-Check your telephone: Make sure each phone is on its receiver. Telephones that are off the hook tie up the telephone network unnecessarily.
-Clean up potentially harmful materials and/or medicines which may have spilled. -Use flashlights or battery-powered lanterns. Do not use lighters, matches, candles, or lanterns until you are sure there are no gas leaks.
-Use your telephone only in the event of life-threatening emergencies.
-Turn on a battery-powered radio for information, damage reports, and for information on volunteering your assistance.
-Keep streets clear for emergency vehicles. Cooperate with public safety officials.

Post by: E-man on November 16, 2006, 07:53:53 PM
Anyone feel this 5.0 quake (http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/recenteqsww/Quakes/usvccn.php) yesterday - or too busy studying the Warriors lose? We had a little tsunami action in California from that 8.1 in Japan - washed away a couple of piers up north.

Post by: Patterson on November 16, 2006, 08:44:02 PM
Anyone feel this 5.0 quake (http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/recenteqsww/Quakes/usvccn.php) yesterday - or too busy studying the Warriors lose? We had a little tsunami action in California from that 8.1 in Japan - washed away a couple of piers up north.

felt it alright sitting at the PC watching the match but i just brushed it off.......it was really light
Post by: kandi_tt on November 16, 2006, 11:13:17 PM
all i was thinking about was all d tv's and huge mirrors mounted on d wall at trotters...presshahhhh
Post by: TriniCana on November 16, 2006, 11:48:48 PM
all i was thinking about was all d tv's and huge mirrors mounted on d wall at trotters...presshahhhh

good one Kandi

ya was close tur dey...ah hope ya had ya camera sling roun ya neck - jus incase eh
Post by: soccerman on August 21, 2018, 06:31:54 PM
From some videos I saw this evening it looks like Trinidad got hit with a decent earthquake that caused some destruction.
Post by: Deeks on August 22, 2018, 03:07:40 PM
Are we lucky or what? There have been earthquakes of that magnitude in various parts of the world which causd tremendous damages and deaths. Luckily no known casualties. Is it because of the time of the day the earthquake hit. Or the length of the tremor.  Or did our infrastructure withstood the tremors at this time. Whatever it is, we should thank our lucky stars about the outcome. Somebody whatapps this tidbit.

Haiti 2010
7.0 magnitude
316,000 casualties

China-2014
6.1 magnitude
617 casualties

Indonesia-2018
6.9 magnitude
469 casualties

Trinidad-2018
6.9 magnitude
Zero casualty

Repent Trinis. Go and take a bush bath and count your blessings.

Post by: Deeks on August 22, 2018, 05:04:11 PM
Another tidbit sent about yesterday's tremor. Some contrast between Haiti tremor and the one that happen with TT-Ven. They said the earth surface absorb a lot of the shock. The 7.0  tremor Haiti experienced in 2010 occurred 14 km beneath the earth's surface, while yesterday's tremor occurred 123  km below the earth. The epicenter was 25 km from Port au Prince, while TT was approx. 140 km from the epicenter. So that is why it was not so deadly.
Post by: Sando prince on August 22, 2018, 06:58:15 PM
From what I know, no one lost their life yesterday and that is great news!
Post by: Sando prince on August 22, 2018, 06:59:17 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/9UuLQuhVRgA
Post by: lefty on August 22, 2018, 07:30:52 PM
it was deep and bit out to sea, dais why we not flat now

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/how-did-t-t-escape-devastation/article_fca13088-a613-11e8-ad6e-df645481894b.html
Post by: Brownsugar on August 23, 2018, 09:02:20 AM

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/how-did-t-t-escape-devastation/article_fca13088-a613-11e8-ad6e-df645481894b.html

God is ah Trini!! 
Post by: lefty on August 23, 2018, 04:33:33 PM

God is ah Trini!! 
dat goh put we in trouble one ah dese days
Post by: Deeks on August 23, 2018, 04:49:11 PM

God is ah Trini!! 
dat goh put we in trouble one ah dese days

I agree. Too close for comfort.