Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: big dawg on October 11, 2006, 07:07:31 AM

Title: NBA Season 2006-07 Thread.
Post by: big dawg on October 11, 2006, 07:07:31 AM
Well Folks..

There are a handfull of us who seem to show year round support for the NBA..

The 2006-07 Season is nearing and we can place all reports, scores, news, rumors, trades and yes even Raptors report for the crew from T-dot.

Pre-season games has begun and the off-season has been filled with trades, player signing, waivers and not to mention the "cut arse" by team USA in the Basketball World Championship..

Let me hear all predictions... :beermug:

Title: Re: NBA Season 2006-07 Thread.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 11, 2006, 11:20:55 AM
my first prediction,a team from de west winnin de championship.
Post by: sinned on October 11, 2006, 01:37:16 PM
hopefully spurs or mavs
Post by: Quags on October 11, 2006, 08:49:09 PM
Yah want some here   ;D raptors win beat Boston 118 -112  ,2 and 0

Post by: Dutty on October 12, 2006, 07:06:34 AM
how men right off de heat and detroit in de east for the championship so?

Indiana self might make it,, if they allow stephen jackson on de court with he 9mill   ;D

Ah know the old juzzey nets and dem aint goin no where though  :devil:
Post by: palos on October 12, 2006, 08:28:24 AM
Of all de new Raptors.....ah bettin Garbajosa go mek de biggest impact this season....yes...includin TJ Ford.

Ah quietly hopin Anthony Parker emerge as a solid player in de NBA as well.

Chris Bosh will be a first team NBA All Star this season.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 12, 2006, 08:51:00 AM
how men right off de heat and detroit in de east for the championship so?

Indiana self might make it,, if they allow stephen jackson on de court with he 9mill   ;D

Ah know the old juzzey nets and dem aint goin no where though  :devil:
de heat is an old team and detroit will be without de services of ben wallace.but yuh neva know.i like mavs or suns.
Post by: trinbago on October 12, 2006, 09:03:38 AM
My rank for the East:

Chicago
Toronto
Miami
NJ

Cavaliers
Detroit
Orlando
Indiana
Boston
Philly
New York
Atlanta
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 12, 2006, 09:32:54 AM
My rank for the East:

Chicago
Toronto
Miami
NJ

Cavaliers
Detroit
Orlando
Indiana
Boston
Philly
New York
Atlanta
yuh have to raise cleveland,lebron is de best right now plus he have good support.
Post by: DeSoWa on October 12, 2006, 04:43:18 PM
My rank for the East:

Chicago
Toronto
Miami
NJ

Cavaliers
Detroit
Orlando
Indiana
Boston
Philly
New York
Atlanta

Nah look de real ting here  ;D

Cavs
MIA
CHI
IND
PHI
NYK  ;D

Post by: Quags on October 13, 2006, 08:07:06 AM
Of all de new Raptors.....ah bettin Garbajosa go mek de biggest impact this season....yes...includin TJ Ford.

you go win that bet,this a bigman not no kid the refs hugging and joking with him already rookies don't get that . Dear i say rookie of the year ,cause he's cluch and polised !
Post by: big dawg on October 13, 2006, 09:15:25 AM

you go win that bet,this a bigman not no kid the refs hugging and joking with him already rookies don't get that . Dear i say rookie of the year ,cause he's cluch and polised !

As much as I agree with everything highlighted.. Do you guys honestly beleive that Toronto can go deep in the play-offs with that roster??

Post by: Quags on October 13, 2006, 11:15:36 AM
We go be happy to make the playoffs ,but once in anything can happen  8) .............wait ...with this roster ,yes! ,not this year but yes this could be a chapiomship calibar team ,when the players mature !
Post by: big dawg on October 14, 2006, 07:41:37 AM
Yes... Now is my prediction...

I predict that with or without Ben Wallace, Detroit taking the title... mark  dem words..

Post by: daryn on October 14, 2006, 03:09:04 PM
is there going to be a NBA fantasy league for people on the board?  if people are interested a league could be made at yahoo, and there could be a draft and everything.  season starts oct 31st.
Post by: Quags on October 15, 2006, 08:04:04 AM
Dunt dunt dunt ,dunt dunt dunt ,duntaaaaaaa riising up back on my feet ..

Today 1pm   New Jersey     Toronto   ,ACC  Bosh vs Wince

Ah predicting a Toronto victory ,as we kick they nasty arse  ;)

Game available on Raptors TV for CAN based

a link for those interested http://www.fan590.com/  click wait for the ad to end .
edit bosh out injured

edit ar the sweet taste of victory ,where supporter , we kicked it kickedit real good.Kris humpries was
great ,the whole bench clicking .The ref hard on bargs cheating really .So next (http://www.invision.smileyville.net/smilies/vio%20(9).gif)
Post by: real madness on October 31, 2006, 09:15:58 AM
Top 2 in the East...Miami and Chicago...
Top 2 in the West...Spurs and Mavs..Suns might challenge seriously if Amare is healthy.
Post by: palos on November 01, 2006, 09:19:30 AM

a link for those interested http://www.fan590.com/  click wait for the ad to end .
edit bosh out injured

edit ar the sweet taste of victory ,where supporter , we kicked it kickedit real good.Kris humpries was
great ,the whole bench clicking .The ref hard on bargs cheating really .So next (http://www.invision.smileyville.net/smilies/vio%20(9).gif)

DE SCORE (http://www.thescore.ca/24h.asp) bringing de game from 7:30 tonite (Channel 53 in de T Dot) as well.
Post by: palos on November 01, 2006, 09:27:54 AM

As much as I agree with everything highlighted.. Do you guys honestly beleive that Toronto can go deep in the play-offs with that roster??

Nope.  I'll settle for 40 wins.  7 more than last season.  If we make the playoffs in the process....BONUS.  What I am hoping for is that in 3 years, the Raptors will be the best team in the EAST.
Post by: Quags on November 01, 2006, 10:49:19 AM

edit bosh out injured

DE SCORE (http://www.thescore.ca/24h.asp) bringing de game from 7:30 tonite (Channel 53 in de T Dot) as well.
Yes the Day finally here ,I wonder if we win if supporter go show he face or run away lol. This game might be tough ,as  whip NY  in there last game ,scoring sumting like 140  :o in preseason .So I hope
that was an anomoly ,as the raps last performance fell off after jose calderon came off.We need TJ
Ford playing tonite or we might lose , unless they just stepped off the gas against the bulls and were going to blow away NJ tonite .
Post by: Quags on November 01, 2006, 01:42:17 PM
Game of the day and preview of the atlantic division chapionship  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/7324/gtfinishedwc4.jpg)
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 01, 2006, 02:54:13 PM
de defendin champs get they ass wash from de bulls last nite.de bulls will reach de conference finals.watch and see
Post by: supporter on November 01, 2006, 06:05:49 PM
Well im expecting at least a 10-point win from the nets to start off the season, especially against easy opposition. Cant wait to see kristic, kidd, jefferson, and VC get rollin. But with the Raptors being my 2nd team, id like to see Bosh's improvement, and hopefully the raptors dont take the licking from us too hard and bounce back in game two with a win
Post by: DeSoWa on November 01, 2006, 09:44:43 PM
CAVS VS WAS

Cavs with ah lucky win..but ah go take it  ;D

WAS 94 : CAVS 97

Post by: big dawg on November 01, 2006, 09:53:53 PM
CAVS VS WAS

Cavs with ah lucky win..but ah go take it ;D

WAS 94 : CAVS 97

I did'nt get to see the game... cant't understand how
gilbert only trow up 7 points...
Post by: DeSoWa on November 02, 2006, 06:58:04 PM
Showdown in Texas Tonight.

SAS vs DAL

Spurs taking this one  ;D ...come on Duncan!!!

Post by: fari on November 02, 2006, 08:32:51 PM
any knicks fans on here??  they still in a rebuilding phase but i hoping for big things from them. balkman is meh boy, the man was a fans favorite here in columbia.   in the east i feel is between miami, detroit, chicago and maybe new jersey. i was impressed by chicago last playoffs, they play a real unselfish, hardnosed ball.
Post by: supporter on November 03, 2006, 05:31:22 PM
Nets vs Mavs for the NBA Finals. Nets in 7.
Post by: big dawg on November 03, 2006, 05:40:10 PM
Nets vs Mavs for the NBA Finals. Nets in 7.

it have men here who certain that Toronto going to represent the Eastern Conference... ;D
Post by: big dawg on November 03, 2006, 05:44:22 PM
any knicks fans on here??

As a long time Knicks Fan..I sit back and watch the front office jinx the squad...It kinda hard to support a team that dissapoint you for the past 4 years or so.. but say wah.. we 1-0. let see how the season un-ravel    :beermug:
Post by: big dawg on November 05, 2006, 04:23:23 PM
Well the Heat playing like  National Flour Mills.... and New Orleans, Utah and Los Angeles playing a pretty decent brand of Ball thus far..

Its only 3 games in the season.. and even though it very early in the season I can tell you already which teams headin for a lottery pick.. but I wont do that just yet.. it have fellas would get vex and start to pm meh.. ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 07, 2006, 03:41:18 PM
keepin ah close eyes on philly too.iverson and webber deserve ah championship.
Post by: fari on November 07, 2006, 06:51:47 PM
anybody know about the fantasy league for the nba??   if someone start a league for the forumites i would be down with that.
Post by: big dawg on November 08, 2006, 07:48:16 AM
Who would have taught that the Hornets and the Jazz would be 4-0 and the only undefeated teams in the league...

Post by: DeSoWa on November 08, 2006, 05:36:45 PM
Who would have taught that the Hornets and the Jazz would be 4-0 and the only undefeated teams in the league...

.... and Dallas winless!  :o

Post by: daryn on November 08, 2006, 10:50:16 PM
big win for the knicks tonight.  Francis was injured so Isiah had to play Crawford.  hopefully, he will stick with that lineup.  also Channing Frye need to get his act together now.   

nobody was interested in the fantasy league, so I just ended up starting one with pardners from school.  I'd think about joining another one, but I doh get the impression there is sufficient interest on de forum.
Post by: Quags on November 08, 2006, 11:07:56 PM
Toronto win to  ;D
Post by: big dawg on November 09, 2006, 06:35:46 AM

.... and Dallas winless! :o

The Western Conference champions still winless......yikes
Post by: Andre on November 10, 2006, 01:58:04 PM
dallas beat the suns last night.

anybody interested in a socawarriors.net NBA fantasy league? yahoo still open. we need bout 10 people to have a good league.
Post by: DeSoWa on November 10, 2006, 02:12:06 PM
dallas beat the suns last night.

anybody interested in a socawarriors.net NBA fantasy league? yahoo still open. we need bout 10 people to have a good league.

I am game, let me know. Oh and NOH lost last nite too.

Post by: big dawg on November 14, 2006, 06:17:21 PM
RACE FOR MVP

I know it kinda early...but I want to make an early prediction...

I voting for Yao Ming and I'll tell you why... the man averaging 27 and 10..the man shooting almost 90% from the stripe and he running the floor like a point guard...he posting up against anybody and he calling for the ball with no fear.. T Mac is finally accepting that the team is Yao's

His average and steadly increased over his time in the league and He made Shaq look like Eddie Curry the other nite by putting up 35..

once again its very early in the season..and I know some will dis-agree (especially those who think the Toronto winnin the crown)  ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on November 14, 2006, 06:37:15 PM
MVP Race in de East: AI, LeBron, Wade

West: Duncan, Boozer, Brand

Post by: Quags on November 14, 2006, 06:42:27 PM
This Tracy McGrady you speak of ,his name sound familiar hmmm :-\
Post by: fari on November 18, 2006, 12:55:31 PM
heat dismantled by knicks...true, shaq didn't play but still, a win is a win.

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/18/sports/basketball/18knicks.html
Post by: big dawg on November 18, 2006, 01:55:16 PM
heat dismantled by knicks...true, shaq didn't play but still, a win is a win.

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/18/sports/basketball/18knicks.html

For the first time this season.. the Knickerbockers looking like a playoff bound team.. (not saying that they making the post season) but they beginning to mend and understand their teamates.. I predict that Crawford days for coming off the bench are numbered...
Post by: supporter on November 19, 2006, 11:27:26 AM
knicks actually doing something by playing more of robinson and the white boy and less of starbury and franchise
Post by: TrinInfinite on November 19, 2006, 11:40:59 AM
knicks actually doing something by playing more of robinson and the white boy and less of starbury and franchise

marbury is a boss player either way you cut it, de man however is not a leader, dey need a true leader on the squad, it saddens me to see how the knicks have fell from grace, they have always been my team since i could remember...
Post by: big dawg on December 02, 2006, 02:35:07 PM
Who else say Adam Morrison winnin rookie of the year  :beermug:
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 02, 2006, 06:36:08 PM
Who else say Adam Morrison winnin rookie of the year :beermug:

good pick :beermug:
Post by: daryn on December 07, 2006, 10:15:05 PM
Suns beat Nets in one of the highest scoring games in NBA history 161-157 (double overtime).  I think the Nuggets and Pistons play a 166-162 game back in the early 80s
Post by: Quags on December 07, 2006, 11:19:34 PM
Suns beat Nets in one of the highest scoring games in NBA history 161-157 (double overtime).  I think the Nuggets and Pistons play a 166-162 game back in the early 80s
:rotfl: :rotfl: it good
Title: Sixers going to trade Iverson
Post by: daryn on December 09, 2006, 10:15:04 AM
PHILADELPHIA (AP) -- Allen Iverson and the Philadelphia 76ers appear headed toward a bitter parting.

Iverson is talking about bolting Philly -- and the Sixers might finally be ready to show their franchise player the door.

"We're going to trade him," Sixers chairman Ed Snider said Friday night.

"At a certain point, you have to come to grips with the fact that it's not working. He wants out and we're ready to accommodate him."

Iverson's 11-year career in Philadelphia took another tumultuous turn Friday when the former NBA MVP hinted that a trade might be best after the Sixers sent him home and ruled him out of their next two games.

"As hard as it is to admit, a change may be the best thing for everyone," Iverson said. "I hate admitting that because I love the guys on the team and the city of Philadelphia. I truly wanted to retire a 76er."

Snider said Iverson has "probably" played his last game with the Sixers, ending a career that placed him with Julius Erving, Charles Barkley and Wilt Chamberlain among the team's greats.

"I think it's time for him to move on, for us to move on and find out where everything stands," Snider said. "I really didn't see it coming because Allen says all the right things."

In a surprising turn of events, Iverson was banished by the club and didn't play in Philadelphia's 113-98 loss to Washington on Friday night. Team president Billy King said the move was not a suspension and Iverson's future would be re-evaluated after Saturday night's game at Orlando.

King and coach Maurice Cheeks said Iverson was sent home because he did not practice on Thursday and left Wednesday's blowout loss at Chicago with back spasms. However, the move to bench their captain comes with Iverson's name swirling in heavy trade rumors.

King would not say before the Sixers' game against the Wizards if Iverson had asked for a trade or if he was actively trying to trade the four-time NBA scoring champion. Snider confirmed that Iverson did ask this week to be dealt.

"Allen was not able to practice yesterday because of the back and today Mo made a decision not to play him tonight or tomorrow," King said. "We told him to just take the night off and tomorrow."

However, Iverson told a different story. Iverson, whose off-court behavior and coaching clashes often overshadowed his gritty, highlight-reel play, released a statement through agent Leon Rose stating that he told the Sixers he was healthy enough to play.

Iverson said he was told not to participate in shootaround and instead watched from the sideline. He joined the Sixers in the huddle, then was told by Cheeks not to come to the Wachovia Center.

"In my entire career, even the doctors haven't been able to tell me not to play," Iverson said. "I've played through injury and illness. I think everyone knows how much I love being out on the court, competing and winning. That's why it was so disheartening to be told that I couldn't play, knowing that I was ready. It hurt even more to be told not to come at all."

Iverson, second in the league with 31.2 points per game, left Wednesday night's 121-94 loss at Chicago in the second half, complaining of the spasms, and did not practice Thursday. The Sixers are 5-13 and have lost six straight and 13 of 15 overall.

"This season has been very frustrating for everyone," Iverson said. "We've lost 12 of 14 games and nothing seems to be working. I have expressed my frustration to my teammates, however, I have continued to give 100 percent night in and night out. Apparently, it hasn't been enough to help our team win."

Even with the Sixers sinking toward another lottery-bound season, Snider said Cheeks and King's jobs were safe.

The losses and Iverson's petulance also have led to a splintered relationship with Cheeks. Iverson left a practice last week reportedly after a disagreement with Cheeks and skipped a team bowling function for season-ticket holders later that night. He apologized and was fined by the organization.

"It happens," Cheeks said. "Sometimes coaches and players disagree."

Cheeks said he expected Iverson to finish the season in Philadelphia.

The floundering Sixers missed the playoffs last season for the second time in three seasons, leaving King to proclaim at the NBA draft lottery it was time to "change the culture." It has changed, but arguably for the worse.

Iverson reportedly was nearly dealt last offseason to Boston, and complained the trade talk took a toll on him and his family. A late July visit from King finally assured Iverson he wasn't going anywhere, and Iverson repeated a familiar pledge in training camp that he wanted to end his career with the Sixers.

"I always wanted to stay here because of the loyalty, but it's all I know," he said then.

Iverson, the No. 1 pick in the 1996 draft and a seven-time All-Star, has won four scoring titles, two All-Star game MVPs and the MVP award in 2001 after taking the Sixers to the NBA finals.

"He's one of the greatest basketball players of all time, he has incredible talent, he's done a lot of great things for this organization and we wish him well," Snider said.

With his rants about practice, his run-ins with the law and former coach Larry Brown, and a failed rap career, Iverson was often a magnet for trouble off the court.

Iverson and Brown formed a turbulent combination during the six seasons they spent together in Philly. Brown criticized Iverson for taking too many shots and accused him of being selfish at times.

Iverson often arrived late for practice or missed them entirely for various reasons. In one infamous blowup at the end of the 2002 season, he repeated "talking about practice" nearly 20 times during a rambling monologue. He now pokes fun at the memorable meltdown.

Brown and Iverson eventually reconciled and Brown selected his former guard co-captain of the 2004 United States Olympic men's basketball team.

"I appreciate that in my 11 years in Philadelphia, the fans have always stood by me, supported me, and gone to bat for me," Iverson said.

Post by: Dutty on December 10, 2006, 07:33:00 PM
so wuh iverson do this time to make this the straw on the camel back??

is so much time they threaten to trade and it never happen....all these years he miss practice when he eh feelin it..if he go this weeka and drop a couplke 40 pt games....talk done

Pat croce still own that team?
Post by: daryn on December 10, 2006, 08:24:23 PM
so wuh iverson do this time to make this the straw on the camel back??

is so much time they threaten to trade and it never happen....all these years he miss practice when he eh feelin it..if he go this weeka and drop a couplke 40 pt games....talk done

Pat croce still own that team?

well he get ban from the team's facilities, so it sounds like they serious about moving him dis rounds.  Also despite all the trouble over the years, I think this is the first time he ever actually come out and say he want to be traded.

I think Croce is still part of the ownership group but he isn't team president anymore.  he had a short-lived talk show (around 2004 if I remember correctly), after he left the sixers
Post by: daryn on December 10, 2006, 08:27:40 PM
another article from espn.com

Source: Sixers looking to pull off trade by Tuesday
By Chris Sheridan
ESPN.com

Allen Iverson's 11-year tenure in Philadelphia is on track to end as soon as Monday night.

A source close to Iverson has told ESPN.com that Sixers brass met Sunday to go over the various trade proposals that have come in over the past few days. One or two three-team trade proposals were expected to be explored Monday, and the source said the Sixers were inclined to pull the trigger shortly thereafter -- either Monday night or Tuesday.

While the Sixers are apparently looking to pull the plug on the trade quickly, Iverson will be inactive for Monday's game against Portland.

The source indicated the Minnesota Timberwolves were not seriously in the running, and the attention being paid to Denver and Boston was being overblown.

"The offers are better than what was out there last summer," the source said.

The source said the Sixers seemed determined to avoid having the Iverson divorce linger anywhere near as long as last year's protracted Ron Artest trade saga in Indiana, which dragged on for nearly seven weeks before he was dealt to Sacramento for Peja Stojakovic.

"The best offers are the ones that come at the beginning," a well-placed Pacers source told ESPN.com on Saturday, looking back on that drama and comparing it to what's happening in Philadelphia with Iverson.

Sixers chairman Ed Snider has already said definitively that Iverson will be granted his wish and be traded, something Iverson asked for last Monday -- a day after the Sixers lost by 11 at home to Minnesota as Ricky Davis jawed with front-row spectators while scoring 14 fourth-quarter points to lock up the win.

Amid speculation that Davis, or Mike James, and rookie Randy Foye might be the centerpieces of a deal that would send Iverson to Minnesota, Timberwolves owner Glen Taylor on Friday night told the St. Paul Pioneer-Press: "There's no trade. It isn't that I don't like him, just money-wise it wouldn't work out."

And although Taylor backed off those comments somewhat on Saturday, ESPN.com's source, who because of his closeness to Iverson was being kept abreast of all developments, indicated the 76ers weren't enamored of either Davis or the additional pieces they'd have to take back from Minnesota to make the salaries match.

Unlike last year's Artest saga, when his relatively small salary ($6.8 million) gave the Pacers a myriad of options to consider, the Sixers have a limited number of proposals to sift through due to the number of players it would take, in most cases, to have salaries that add up within the range ($13.75 million to $21.5 million) of what is needed to match Iverson's salary (he makes $17.2 million this season, $19.1M in 2007-08 and $21.1M in 2008-9) for the trade to work under NBA rules.

The Celtics have the advantage of being able to add Theo Ratliff's $11.7 million contract into the mix, while the Memphis Grizzlies would be one of the few teams able to offer Philadelphia cap relief for next summer through Eddie Jones' expiring $15.7 million contract -- if not for the inconvenient fact that team president Jerry West's hands are tied because of the pending sale of the team, precluding him from making trades.

Dallas also could offer a package starting with two expiring contracts (Jerry Stackhouse and Austin Croshere), as could New Orleans (Desmond Mason and Mark Jackson add up to almost $13 million), while the Charlotte Bobcats are far enough under the salary cap to take back Iverson in a trade in which the salaries would not have to even come close to matching.

Another team that can't be totally dismissed is the New York Knicks, who are in the unique position of being able to take back both Iverson and Chris Webber in a trade. Because the salaries of Iverson and Webber add up to nearly $38 million, the Knicks would have to offer at least $30.4 million worth of contracts back -- a total that could be reached with a package of Steve Francis, Quentin Richardson, Malik Rose and Channing Frye.

And although the Sixers would prefer to trade Iverson to a Western Conference team, they're going to take the best offer that's out there, East or West, even in their own division -- and they're going to do it soon.
Post by: ribbit on December 11, 2006, 11:28:00 AM
look at the standings today - every single division except for the East Atlantic has an above .500 division leader. stern david running the league into the ground. the players running the league into the ground. ugly ball. cyah watch nba. no way.   >:(
Post by: Quags on December 11, 2006, 06:15:40 PM
If Toronto had cap space I waoulda make an offer  :-\ ,but we dotish coach would want him to train ,so I woulda fire the coach .And hire ,one who would just send him a game plan  :) ...that boy just need rest .
Post by: ribbit on December 16, 2006, 10:31:36 PM
nuggets-knicks (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/basketball/nba/12/16/nuggets.knicks.brawl.ap/index.html?cnn=yes). this is what makes the nba unwatchable.
Post by: Quags on December 17, 2006, 07:41:42 AM
What thw heck ,lol ,I always say Mello is ah punk . And Denver coach look for that to ,U can't diss ah team like that ,leading 20 and men still doing reverse dunks ,it's an unwritten rule .
Post by: big dawg on December 17, 2006, 12:43:15 PM
nuggets-knicks (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/basketball/nba/12/16/nuggets.knicks.brawl.ap/index.html?cnn=yes). this is what makes the nba unwatchable.

well doh watch it.. me and millions of other Basketball fans around the globe will watch it for you.

Melo more than likely will get about 5-10 games..plus loss of pay and a hefty fine. Marty Collins will get share as is Nate Robinson...

Stu Jackson will probably take a 2 days to figure out the true fines.. dem players better get their check books ready.

Post by: ribbit on December 17, 2006, 03:34:26 PM

well doh watch it.. me and millions of other Basketball fans around the globe will watch it for you.

boss, i doh watch nba any more - for a while now. i think since the lockout. trouble is that brawls like this make mainstream news which is what i follow. and this seems to be the only kind of mess coming out in the news concerning the nba. is either that or kobe bryant rape charge. that's the nba.

i forget - the other nba news that makes the mainstream news is when a franchise folds up.
Post by: Quags on December 17, 2006, 03:50:07 PM
Well then you should stop watching the news ,cause is obviously sensationalist news reporting,always negative stuff they force feeding everybody.
Post by: daryn on December 17, 2006, 06:39:37 PM
for some reason certain elements in the media have an agenda to portray the NBA as thuggish.

the NBA have this one brawl in 2 years (not saying that it right).  Every baseball season it does have a couple benches-clearing brawls.  It not uncommon to see NFL players throwing punches/shoves after the end of the play.  Yet the NBA in particular has a reputation of being full of thugs.

Even when you listen to the talking heads discussing the issue there is a difference in the language they use to talk about the issue.  This season had a fight in baseball (involving the white sox, can't remember the other team).  All the experts explain it away by using words like 'competitiveness', 'frustration' etc.  Suspensions were very short and the fight only made news the day after.  Now this NBA brawl is 'shameful', 'violent', 'thuggish' and 'disgusting' and people will still be talking about it when they doing postseason wrap-ups.

Post by: big dawg on December 17, 2006, 07:00:54 PM
You Make the Call...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zj0jae4E72E
Post by: Quags on December 17, 2006, 07:09:20 PM
thz big ,mello is ah bitcha he sucker punch the man and then run steuppss.,and that smith <nuggets> is ah nut .
Post by: daryn on December 18, 2006, 09:28:58 PM
crucial OT win for the knicks tonight over the Jazz.  Charlotte next up on wednesday.
Post by: Dutty on December 19, 2006, 08:00:32 AM
for some reason certain elements in the media have an agenda to portray the NBA as thuggish.

the NBA have this one brawl in 2 years (not saying that it right).  Every baseball season it does have a couple benches-clearing brawls.  It not uncommon to see NFL players throwing punches/shoves after the end of the play.  Yet the NBA in particular has a reputation of being full of thugs.

Even when you listen to the talking heads discussing the issue there is a difference in the language they use to talk about the issue.  This season had a fight in baseball (involving the white sox, can't remember the other team).  All the experts explain it away by using words like 'competitiveness', 'frustration' etc.  Suspensions were very short and the fight only made news the day after.  Now this NBA brawl is 'shameful', 'violent', 'thuggish' and 'disgusting' and people will still be talking about it when they doing postseason wrap-ups.

True enough,, the wording used by the sportswriters tends to sway opinions one way or another

Too many tats, braids and iced out chains  in the league....on the stars
They want the league squeaky clean like back in the heydays of jordan.....back then the bad boys was man like barkley, malone and oakley...and even dem fellahs was conservative dressers

You have a point about the bench brawls in baseball...HOWEVER you have to remember that the baseball and NFL fights are contained on the field
Them NBA boys spillin into the crowd and landiin in people lap all kinda wileness....besides the lawsuit dey will get in dey ass by somebody who might end up with a broken arm or something if it continues

Consider the fact that a lot of those front row seats are high paid season ticket holders...if de league start to alienate dem fellahs,,dey dogs dead..dais de bread and butter
If the seats not fillin...de merchandise aint sellin

They even trying to tone down the fights in hockey....make it more mainstream

Bottom line,, it affectin david stern and dem money$$$$$$$$

Once yuh 4kin wit ah man pocket...chit does get serious
Post by: daryn on December 19, 2006, 10:43:48 AM

True enough,, the wording used by the sportswriters tends to sway opinions one way or another

Too many tats, braids and iced out chains  in the league....on the stars
They want the league squeaky clean like back in the heydays of jordan.....back then the bad boys was man like barkley, malone and oakley...and even dem fellahs was conservative dressers

You have a point about the bench brawls in baseball...HOWEVER you have to remember that the baseball and NFL fights are contained on the field
Them NBA boys spillin into the crowd and landiin in people lap all kinda wileness....besides the lawsuit dey will get in dey ass by somebody who might end up with a broken arm or something if it continues

Consider the fact that a lot of those front row seats are high paid season ticket holders...if de league start to alienate dem fellahs,,dey dogs dead..dais de bread and butter
If the seats not fillin...de merchandise aint sellin

They even trying to tone down the fights in hockey....make it more mainstream

Bottom line,, it affectin david stern and dem money$$$$$$$$

Once yuh 4kin wit ah man pocket...chit does get serious

I understand the economic motives behind the league's moves to deal with the situation.  I would even say that none of these particular set of fines/suspensions is really unfair.

My issue is with the 'climate' in the media.  When it comes to sports, issues are exactly as big as ESPN thinks they should be, and gullible fans just go along with it.  Barry Bonds doing steroids is a big deal.  Mark McGwire doing steroids is a small deal.  Sammy Sosa doing steroids?  well everybody likes Sammy Sosa so we don't talk about that.  Arguably the best defensive player in the NFL tests positive for steroids and he gets a measly 4 game suspension, that doesn't get mentioned either.

The mass media is very self-important and that self-importance is self-perpetuating.  Example: all the hoopla surrounding TO signing with the cowboys.  Everybody knows what the pros and cons of signing TO are, so if the Cowboys decide to bite the bullet and sign the man so be it.  If a story arises then fine, go ahead and report on it.  Instead the entire preseason espn have updates on how much of a distraction TO is.  what exactly does the distraction consist of?  well precisely that lots of reporters are camped out at the training camp reporting what a distraction TO is.

what you're saying about the danger to fans is, in a strict sense, accurate.  However commentary along that line is in a minority, at least from what I've caught of the coverage.  When it was made it came across as disingenuous.  You're just as likely to get injured by a man jumping into the stands to save a ball (which happens nightly) than by a bi-annual fight spilling into the stands for a few seconds before it gets broken up. 

You hit the nail on the head with the fact that people have problems dealing with the ice, braids and tats. All I'm saying is that as discerning fans people should be able to tell how much of the NBA's "image problem" is legitimate and how much of it is so because the mass media decided it should be so.  if there was a brawl in baseball the coverage would die down a lot faster and there would be a lot less vitriol towards the people involved.  Unless Pedro push down an old man again.
Post by: Dutty on December 19, 2006, 02:31:07 PM

Arguably the best defensive player in the NFL tests positive for steroids and he gets a measly 4 game suspension, that doesn't get mentioned either.

what you're saying about the danger to fans is, in a strict sense, accurate.  However commentary along that line is in a minority, at least from what I've caught of the coverage.  When it was made it came across as disingenuous.  You're just as likely to get injured by a man jumping into the stands to save a ball (which happens nightly) than by a bi-annual fight spilling into the stands for a few seconds before it gets broken up. 

You hit the nail on the head with the fact that people have problems dealing with the ice, braids and tats. All I'm saying is that as discerning fans people should be able to tell how much of the NBA's "image problem" is legitimate and how much of it is so because the mass media decided it should be so.  if there was a brawl in baseball the coverage would die down a lot faster and there would be a lot less vitriol towards the people involved.  Unless Pedro push down an old man again.

Well truthfully, the NFL doh have no strict policy on steroid use in the nfl, like in other sports...so dem cyah make no noise about dat

I disagree with you there about diving for the ball and fighting in the stands...vast difference beetween wiping out a few people in the first row while trying not to injure yuhself ...and peltin some hard hand at your opponent and whatever fan close by will colleck some hurry cuff too
Keep in mind is not two roly poly fat man fighting

dem fellahs does average 250lbs ++..pure muscle and dey han hard...if a grandma in the third row collect ah elbow..is REAL stress fuh she..for months
I think d. stern an dem get very serious since ron artest actually chase down a paying customer....I not sayin de fellah was right.......but I cah recall and NFL or MLB game where a 'fan' actually get caught and collect some licks

as for pedro...he shouldnta push de ole man down.  :D  ...he coulda well step aside wit he quick reflexes and let de man make ah ass of he self
ah laugh...but he shouldnt have done dat
Post by: daryn on December 19, 2006, 04:08:26 PM

Well truthfully, the NFL doh have no strict policy on steroid use in the nfl, like in other sports...so dem cyah make no noise about dat

the point I was making is precisely that there is no uproar about the leniency of the steroid policy.  whereas in baseball there was a huge uproar when the steroid policy was deemed to be too lenient.  not only that but most of the animousity in baseball is directed towards people that the media had previously deemed to be dislikable e.g. Bonds and Canseco.

I disagree with you there about diving for the ball and fighting in the stands...vast difference beetween wiping out a few people in the first row while trying not to injure yuhself ...and peltin some hard hand at your opponent and whatever fan close by will colleck some hurry cuff too
Keep in mind is not two roly poly fat man fighting

dem fellahs does average 250lbs ++..pure muscle and dey han hard...if a grandma in the third row collect ah elbow..is REAL stress fuh she..for months
I think d. stern an dem get very serious since ron artest actually chase down a paying customer....I not sayin de fellah was right.......but I cah recall and NFL or MLB game where a 'fan' actually get caught and collect some licks

I not trying to say that the probability of a fan getting injured in a brawl is the same as a fan getting injured by someone jumping into the stands.  Just that given the frequency with which these very large men throw themselves into the stands, if the main reason was protecting the fans and/or avoiding lawsuits, maybe they would consider pushing the seats back a few feet any way.  anyhow, maybe it wasn't the wisest angle for me to pursue.

Just basing this on my following of the saga (seeing the coverage the next morning on ESPN, listening to talk radio yesterday and this morning, reading articles online as well as in the NY papers, as well as a couple conversations with fellow sports fans on my campus) I definitely get the impression that people genuinely believe that the NBA is full of thugs to an extent that other leagues aren't.   Maybe I get unlucky in what coverage I happen to catch, but I ent hear but relatively few people are making the argument about keeping the fans safe.

Now, I eh saying dem men was right, but when avid baseball fans telling me that they can't watch the NBA because the players don't know how to conduct themselves, it doh really make any sense to me.  that's all.
Post by: big dawg on December 19, 2006, 04:21:12 PM
Iverson traded to Denver

Iverson
The Denver Nuggets have reached an agreement in principle with the Philadelphia 76ers to acquire Allen Iverson, according to NBA front-office sources.

The trade, some two weeks after Iverson demanded a trade in Philly, would send Andre Miller, Joe Smith and two 2007 first-round picks to the Sixers for Iverson and perhaps another minimum-salaried player or two. It was expected to be completed later Tuesday, barring any snags, and sent to the league for approval.

The Sixers scheduled a 5:30 p.m. (EST) news conference on Tuesday, while the Nuggets planned to meet the press at 6 p.m. (EST).

The Sixers had been hoping to take back only expiring contracts in any Iverson deal, unless they were receiving a top-flight young player like Minnesota's Randy Foye or Shaun Livingston of the Los Angeles Clippers.

But with Philly and Denver struggling to find a third team to join in to make the deal more financially enticing for the Sixers, they decided to end an auction that began in earnest when Iverson's demand to be traded was confirmed by Sixers chairman Ed Snider on Dec. 8.

This deal will bring Philly a former league assist leader in Miller, Smith's expiring salary of nearly $7 million and those two first-round picks in June -- projected to be in the 20s -- to go with their own lottery pick. Miller is averaging 13 points and 9.1 assists per game -- third-best in the NBA -- while Smith, an 11-year veteran, has played little this season, averaging only 13.5 minutes and 5.1 points per game.

The Nuggets' interest in Iverson dates to last February and has only increased since the Sixers made him available to the whole league earlier this month. Their chief motivation is pairing Iverson with Anthony in coach George Karl's up-tempo attack, but acquiring Iverson now -- just a day after Anthony and J.R. Smith were suspended for 15 and 10 games, respectively, for their roles in Saturday night's fight with the New York Knicks -- gives a much-needed jolt to Denver's depleted roster.

Miller

Smith
Iverson won't be able to play with his former teammate from the 2004 U.S. Olympic squad until Anthony is reinstated for a Jan. 20 game at Houston.

Anthony and Iverson are currently the top two scorers in the league at 31.6 and 31.2 points per game, respectively. No two teammates have ever finished a season with both having averages over 30 points per game. Only twice have teammates finished 1-2 in the league scoring race, and the last time that happened was with the Nuggets. In the 1982-83 season, Alex English and Kiki Vandeweghe were 1-2. The 1954-55 Warriors had Neil Johnston at No. 1 and Paul Arizin at 2.

Miller, who led the NBA in assists with 10.9 per game for Cleveland in 2001-02, makes $8.7 million this season and has $19.2 million left on his contract over the following two seasons.

It's apparent, though, that the Sixers decided it was better to absorb Miller's contract now -- along with the opportunity to have three first-round selections in what scouts are calling the deepest draft in years -- as opposed to dragging out the Iverson saga further.

Iverson has been in exile for the past 11 days, languishing on the Sixers' inactive list while still accruing his per-game earnings of $156,218.

Iverson, 31, has a career 28.1 ppg scoring average in 11 NBA seasons, all in Philadelphia. He led the Sixers to the 2001 NBA Finals, where they lost to the Los Angeles Lakers in five games, but the team has seen little playoff success since.

He was Rookie of the year in 1997 and MVP in 2001. He has led the NBA in scoring four times, most recently in 2005, finishing in the league's top three every year since 1999, and twice led the league in steals

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=2702501
Post by: Quags on December 19, 2006, 06:57:25 PM
He go struggle in Denver ,with out training ,is ar good deal . But mello go have to share this might be problem .
Post by: daryn on December 21, 2006, 09:22:38 AM
another double overtime win for the knicks.  knicks 6-6 in the month of december.
Post by: Dutty on December 21, 2006, 09:28:40 AM
Ah kinda miss what EXACTLY it is iverson do this time to vex the owners

wuh he do?
Post by: daryn on December 21, 2006, 10:10:51 AM
Ah kinda miss what EXACTLY it is iverson do this time to vex the owners

wuh he do?

well he was on tv last night; his side of the story is that he went to Billy King (team president) and he pointed out the facts that 1) they not playing his style of basketball and 2) they not even winning to justify it.  He say if that was to remain the situation he wanted out.  He claims never to have asked for a trade, but that is a matter of semantics I guess.

Snider(team owner) says that Billy King came to him and said that Iverson asked to be traded.  the organization decided they'd accomodate him.  That was the first time he'd ever asked to be traded and they didn't think it was worth having a disgruntled star on the books, so they tell him to stay home and they will trade him as soon as possible.       
Post by: Quags on December 21, 2006, 10:36:13 AM
I tink Cheeks stab Allen in the back ,to save his job. Since is Allen wanted him too ,but they losing so he blame Iverson for practice.You telling me the former coach of the Portland Jailblazers ,stressed out over one star who brings 100% evernite ,for missing practice ,like cheeks could teach Allen anything ,Iverson is one of the greatest of all time !. Also Charles Barkley hate iverson ,and him and cheeks were teamates and friends ,all this is JMO but charles might have  part in this also .
Post by: daryn on December 21, 2006, 10:45:23 AM
the man is 31 and he always have some nagging injuries,  the only reason to build around him is if he giving you a chance to win right now.   No sense being mediocre for the rest of his career and then terrible for a few years after that.

for whatever reason, the team hasn't been significantly better than mediocre since the year they make the finals. 
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 21, 2006, 11:58:52 AM
the man is 31 and he always have some nagging injuries,  the only reason to build around him is if he giving you a chance to win right now.   No sense being mediocre for the rest of his career and then terrible for a few years after that.

for whatever reason, the team hasn't been significantly better than mediocre since the year they make the finals. 
injuries or not,AI is de toughest player it have in de nba.he win countless scoring titles over de years.he will definitly bring someting to de nuggets.
Post by: futbolfan on December 21, 2006, 12:22:27 PM

injuries or not,AI is de toughest player it have in de nba.he win countless scoring titles over de years.he will definitly bring someting to de nuggets.

true statement....people always question his off the court lifestyle and antics, but they fail to realize that you are guaranteed to get 100% from him in every game. Is he selfish? maybe, but Jordan and Kobe were just as selfish until Pippen and Shaq were brought in as side kicks. No one superstar can win a championship by himself, and the Phili organization is to blame because they did not bring in any noteworthy players to compliment Iverson's talents.
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 21, 2006, 12:24:56 PM

true statement....people always question his off the court lifestyle and antics, but they fail to realize that you are guaranteed to get 100% from him in every game. Is he selfish? maybe, but Jordan and Kobe were just as selfish until Pippen and Shaq were brought in as side kicks. No one superstar can win a championship by himself, and the Phili organization is to blame because they did not bring in any noteworthy players to compliment Iverson's talents.

Well said!!
Post by: daryn on December 21, 2006, 01:24:33 PM

he will definitely bring something to the nuggets.  but from philly perspective is a trade they had to make.  the team not playing good, they was loaded with big contracts to players who not particularly young (AI, Webber, Dalembert, Kenny Thomas).  Of those big contracts AI had the only one people would be willing to take on.  now on top of all that, he wasn't happy to be there anymore.  As good as he is and as hard as he plays they had to deal with the reality: the team they had wasn't going any direction in particular.  They get an above average point guard and two first round draft picks in return.
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 21, 2006, 03:01:53 PM

he will definitely bring something to the nuggets.  but from philly perspective is a trade they had to make.  the team not playing good, they was loaded with big contracts to players who not particularly young (AI, Webber, Dalembert, Kenny Thomas).  Of those big contracts AI had the only one people would be willing to take on.  now on top of all that, he wasn't happy to be there anymore.  As good as he is and as hard as he plays they had to deal with the reality: the team they had wasn't going any direction in particular.  They get an above average point guard and two first round draft picks in return.

No matter how good you are (in any job) if yuh eh happy, yuh not going tuh perform at yuh bes...so de trade should be good fuh everybody in the long run.  Sometimes things need to shake up ah lil bit. Is like ah drink dat settle too long, yuh have tuh shake it up fuh de flavour to come back.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 22, 2006, 12:34:38 PM
he makin he debut tonite against de kings so lewwe see.
Post by: daryn on December 22, 2006, 09:50:05 PM
3 in a row for the knicks.  1 game above .500 for the month of december if I'm not mistaken.
Post by: Quags on December 22, 2006, 10:24:28 PM
Good going Daryn ,u guys almost catching up on us  ;D
http://www.nba.com/standings/team_record_comparison/conferenceNew_Std_Div.html
Post by: big dawg on December 22, 2006, 11:06:15 PM
Good going Daryn ,u guys almost catching up on us ;D

I did'nt know there was a race to see who not making the play-offs  ;D
Post by: daryn on December 23, 2006, 10:34:10 PM
Good going Daryn ,u guys almost catching up on us  ;D

haha, now we had a setback again tonight.  bad timing too, tough game against detroit then a small road trip ahead.
Title: sixers allegedly agree to buy out chris webber's contract
Post by: daryn on January 10, 2007, 03:54:51 PM
 PHILADELPHIA (Ticker) -- Forward Chris Webber may have played his last game with the Philadelphia 76ers.

The Philadelphia Daily News is reporting that Webber and the 76ers have agreed on the terms of a buyout for the remainder of his contract.

The reported deal would provide the Sixers with some salary cap and luxury tax relief and comes on the heels of the blockbuster trade that sent superstar guard Allen Iverson to the Denver Nuggets for Andre Miller, Joe Smith and two first-round picks.

The 76ers (9-25) have the worst record in the Eastern Conference.

Webber, who turns 34 in March, is listed on the team's salary cap at $20.7 million this season and $22.3 million in 2007-08.

A five-time All-Star, Webber has been limited to 18 games this season due to ankle and foot problems and is averaging 11.0 points, 8.3 rebounds and 3.4 assists. He has not played in 10 of the team's last 13 games, including Tuesday's 98-89 loss to the Detroit Pistons.

Acquired from the Sacramento Kings in February 2005, Webber averaged 20.2 points, 9.9 rebounds and 3.4 assists in 75 games last season with the Sixers. It marked the most games Webber played since 1999-2000, when he also appeared in 75 games with the Kings.

The 6-10 Webber was selected by Orlando with the No. 1 overall pick in the 1993 draft and traded to Golden State. He spent four seasons with the Warriors, four with Washington and six-plus campaigns with Sacramento and entered the 2006-07 season with career averages of 21.6 points, 10.4 rebounds and 4.4 assists.

© 2007 SportsTicker Enterprises, LP