Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on October 23, 2006, 06:26:13 PM

Title: Clyde Leon Thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 23, 2006, 06:26:13 PM
W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation.
...out for a month.
By: Vinod Narwani (ttproleague).

W Connection defensive midfielder Clyde Leon will be under the surgeon’s knife to repair a cruciate ligament on October 25th. He suffered the injury while playing a practice game against Grenada recently.
"When it first happened, it was a bit hard," said Leon. "Things, however, are a bit better now than before."
At one stage, Leon was told that the injury may have him on the sidelines for up to six months, since it was feared that he tore the ligament; however, his last visit to the specialist confirmed that he can return to the field of play much sooner than expected after the problem is corrected through surgery.
"What the doctor saw from the MRI scan was that the cruciate ligament did not have a tear. He is going to do orthopedic surgery and is confident everything is going to be fine in four weeks time."
Due to the minor obstacle at this stage, Leon is concentrating on another career also relating to football, which is managing to keep him in high spirits.
"When I am through with my playing days, I plan to take up coaching.
"I will be with the W Connection coaching staff during their sessions, taking up notes as a means of analyzing the game.
"I am privileged to be guided by our technical director Mr. Stuart Charles-Fevrier," said the Savonetta Boys utility player.
Leon said the W Connection players and staff continue to provide words of encouragement during this tough time, hence, he feels even more pumped up to execute whatever duties are humanly possible at this stage.
"They tell me that my healing process should be a slow and steady, emphasizing that I should not rush my recovery. The guys gave me the assurance that they will stand by me 100 percent.
Leon made his senior national debut for Trinidad and Tobago earlier this year against Japan, where they lost 2-0.
Reflecting on the experience, he said it was an enjoyable one.
"It was a good experience for me with the national team for the first time, getting to be among those who played in the World Cup. Being able to have advanced facilities provided me the motivation to go out there and give it my best shot."
Title: North East Stars release Shandell Samuel.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 23, 2006, 06:32:47 PM
North East Stars release Shandell Samuel.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague)

Ace North East Stars and Vincentian striker Shandell Samuel was released by the club on Friday after several events of misconduct.
As a result the talented striker was unable to play in his team’s 2-1 loss to United Petrotrin in the quarterfinals of the Toyota Classic last Friday.
Samuel last played for the Sangre Grande based team on Tuesday in League action, coming on as a substitute against United Petrotrin and was later substituted in that game which his team went on to win by a 2-1 margin.
Club owner Daryl Mahabir confirmed Samuel’s departure, he told ‘ttproleague.com’, "Yes, I handed him the letter on Friday and this was long over due. His persistent misconduct over the last couple of months was intolerable".
"It started back in August when he left the club, saying that his mother was ill, he was asked to bring proof in writing since he had missed an entire week. He failed to do so and was fined. He then left for home again in September to play with the St Vincent national team in the Digicel Caribbean Cup without notice after we had asked him to stay for our First Citizens semifinal game."
"He then verbally abused the coach and team management in his last league game after he was substituted, and that was the final straw with the club. Apparently he has no respect for the people in charge and he never came to understand the professionalism of the TT Pro League."
Mahabir admitted Shandell is a young talent saying, "He started off well with six goals in five matches after joining the club at the beginning of the season, but it seems he thought he got bigger than the game from there on and it started to show by his constant disrespect to the clubs rules and regulations."
"Shandell was always complaining of injuries when he had to train but was always fit when it came to matches. I have always tried talking with him personally on his attitude and general conduct and I thought that he would change," ended the North East Stars owner.
The 23 year old Vincentian scored 7 goals for the season in the Pro League with the Sangre Grande based team.
North East Stars technical director Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings had similar sentiments, "The last stick that broke the camel’s back was when he used abusive language and actions towards the bench after I substituted him against Petrotrin in our last League game."
"When I first cane to North East, they had already experienced problems with the player. He would leave the club without permission to go play for his country (St Vincent and the Grenadines) and this is disrespecting to the club rules."
"When foreigners come here I think they should show a higher level of professionalism and respect to the club. His pending matters and recent ones caused the team management to do what they had to do."
Title: Re: Pro league news: W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 23, 2006, 06:35:56 PM
Boy i love dat  pro league site
Title: Re: Pro league news: W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation
Post by: trinbago on October 23, 2006, 06:41:52 PM
Everyone wants to play for their country...including TnT players abroad...but they all have to follow regulations
Title: Is Clyde Leon the next Anthony Rougier Utility man Extroadinaire?
Post by: TrinInfinite on November 29, 2006, 10:19:46 AM
The reports and comments I have gotten from different sources say this man is good with the ball at his feet, can play any position, has pace, dribbling skills, can trap well and pass, but on top of that defend well. When I get the japan game i will take a look at mr.leon and see his skills but what do people think back home, is this man as talented as i have heard or is it all grande charge? ??? somebody give me an indept scouting report about this player and whether he is a good aerial player as well...

God is de BOSS...
Title: Re: Is Clyde Leon the next Anthony Rougier Utility man Extroadinaire?
Post by: KND2 on November 29, 2006, 10:30:06 AM
TI
We have to treat anything you say with a pound of salt.
Your Jammott reputation proceeds itself.

So please say no more, even if this guy is good, your goat mouth will blight him. :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: TrinInfinite on November 29, 2006, 11:09:37 AM
TI
We have to treat anything you say with a pound of salt.
Your Jammott reputation proceeds itself.

So please say no more, even if this guy is good, your goat mouth will blight him. :rotfl: :rotfl:

i thought you was de goat mouth of the site, plus yuh see what meh bredda doin in de pro league :beermug: ;D
Post by: Jumbie on November 29, 2006, 11:10:53 AM
 :rotfl:  :rotfl: buh look ting eh.. even KND ressin talk on you.. even "Goat Mouth" vibes  :rotfl:

you bess register with another name again oui!
Post by: TrinInfinite on November 29, 2006, 11:17:18 AM
:rotfl: :rotfl: buh look ting eh.. even KND ressin talk on you.. even "Goat Mouth" vibes :rotfl:

you bess register with another name again oui!
TI is TI, i fine bredda ;D dont need to change my name, man only have talk on the net...
Post by: shooter on November 29, 2006, 05:51:36 PM
from my experience playing with him he is one of trinidad's fastest developing players...we both played at Princes Town in 2000 and 2001...He was a big part of us winning the intercol that year. He has matured into a strong dynamic and yet composed player on the ball...Honestly i wll say yes he is going to be a big part in T&T's football..he is currently out with an injury....hope he will recover soon though....i watched him play when i was home for the summer...he reminds me of Reynold Carrington though....bless up to meh breadren Frank as i does call him......
Post by: breezers on November 29, 2006, 06:43:14 PM
from my experience playing with him he is one of trinidad's fastest developing players...we both played at Princes Town in 2000 and 2001...He was a big part of us winning the intercol that year. He has matured into a strong dynamic and yet composed player on the ball...Honestly i wll say yes he is going to be a big part in T&T's football..he is currently out with an injury....hope he will recover soon though....i watched him play when i was home for the summer...he reminds me of Reynold Carrington though....bless up to meh breadren Frank as i does call him......

Yeah Shooter...ah agree with yuh dey!! Ah hope he have ah speedy recovery doe.

Blessings!!
Title: Re: W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation.
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2008, 06:42:43 AM
Glad he get better now.....
Post by: vb on July 09, 2008, 06:54:14 AM
Gally still working with NE Stars.I thought he left last year.

I assume Clint Marcelle is Coaching/

Post by: Sam on July 09, 2008, 07:03:01 AM

Kakahole, this post was from 2006, Gally not there no more.

Marcelle is de coach, I hear Rougier leave de club. And Marcelle not on contract with them no more, he just there for now, de manager f00cking up.
Post by: royal on July 09, 2008, 08:33:41 AM

Kakahole, this post was from 2006, Gally not there no more.

Marcelle is de coach, I hear Rougier leave de club. And Marcelle not on contract with them no more, he just there for now, de manager f00cking up.

is not the manager brother is the owner.The manager leave the club too.
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2008, 08:54:19 AM
So Darryl Mahabir leave de club ?, who is de new manager now then ?
Post by: royal on July 09, 2008, 09:33:38 AM
Darryl was not the manager this year it was another fella they brought in,Darryl was just the owner.But I suppose as he was putting out the money he was involve in everything  including player decisions,letting go players without talking to the coach and them men could'nt take that plus some other things so they left.
But still yet all the best to NE Stars   
Title: What's Leon's role in de midfield?
Post by: behind-de-bridge on September 25, 2008, 02:19:19 PM
Help mih people. Is Clyde Leon a ball winner, a playmaker, a defensive or attacking midfielder. From the bits I've seen of him ah cyah make out what he does to deserve being in de midfield and to keep being picked.
Title: Re: What's Leon's role in de midfield?
Post by: Ngozi on September 25, 2008, 02:26:43 PM
I wouldnt pick him in front of teleford as a defensive mid
Post by: palos on September 25, 2008, 02:48:15 PM

I would.  Telesford spends too much time on the ground in desperate tackles.  That's an indication of lack of positioning and speed.  Telesford gives the impression that he doin plenty (yes he does fight the game) but in reality, he inefficient.

Leon might not be as rugged, but he's a better tackler, better passer, & shooter of the ball.  He's also quicker and has better positioning in general than Telesford.

To answer the question posed by the thread, I see him as a defensive midfielder.  As I understand it, a defensive midfielder's primary roles are to provide cover for the defence, help to maintain the shape of the team, deny space and put pressure on the opposition when they have the ball, win the ball back, and accurately pass the ball to the more creative players on his team.
Post by: sub1 on September 25, 2008, 03:09:41 PM

Well Maturana aint have nothing on you. Telesford/Fitzpatrick, two wildmen that seem to tickle Ngozi's fancy. At least the fitzpatrick era come and gone lets hope its the same for Telseford. BTW anybody with half a football brain wouldnt even compare Leon and Telesford as def-mids. Clyde leon is a def-mid. Telesford is defender who thinks he is more than that. Sadly for T&T he aint.
Post by: Sando prince on September 25, 2008, 03:22:20 PM
Both Leon and telesford have yet to impress me in one game...yes we can explain the duties of a defensive mid but which one of these midfielders fulfill that duty?..atleast Leon has potential.to be a defensive mid..Telesford in my opinion should playas a defender instead of a midfielder although he is not all that good in that position either..
Post by: behind-de-bridge on September 25, 2008, 03:37:28 PM
So hold up selector! If Leon is a def midfielder, we need a playmaker (like a young latas) and a ball winner (like Paul Ince in his Man U days). If we do not have these player types in the middle of the park, crapeau smoke we pipe. For me Yorke cannot do either of those roles effectively now and is also def midfield.
Post by: palos on September 25, 2008, 03:52:55 PM
So hold up selector! If Leon is a def midfielder, we need a playmaker (like a young latas) and a ball winner (like Paul Ince in his Man U days). If we do not have these player types in the middle of the park, crapeau smoke we pipe. For me Yorke cannot do either of those roles effectively now and is also def midfield.

Ball winner - Birchall
Play Maker - Yorke
Def Mid - Leon or Hyland
Wide Midfielder - Edwards
Wide Midfielder - Daniel

Bear in mind that part of a defensive mid's primary duties is to try and win the ball back.  Birchall & Leon / Hyland would be what you call defensive mids.
Post by: Sando prince on September 25, 2008, 03:59:12 PM
Palos so what yuh would class Whitley?
Post by: sub1 on September 25, 2008, 04:10:57 PM

Ball winner - Birchall
Play Maker - Yorke
Def Mid - Leon or Hyland
Wide Midfielder - Edwards
Wide Midfielder - Daniel

Bear in mind that part of a defensive mid's primary duties is to try and win the ball back.  Birchall & Leon / Hyland would be what you call defensive mids.

With a fit whitley and collin samuel in reserve (I have purposely left out the magician simply becz I have him on the sidelines callin the shots) do you all realise that we have a pretty strong midfield. I would dare say one of the strongest in concacaf. If only we had a real TD instead of that joker we could have been leading the group now.
Post by: palos on September 25, 2008, 04:35:33 PM

Injured.

Joke aside.....(sadly Whjtley is injured so it eh no joke) Whitley is versatile enough to assume either the defensive midfielder or play maker role.  In THIS team, assuming all other things equal i.e. no random selection policies a la Maturana, it would mostly depend on Yorke's availability as to what role he would play for me.
Post by: palos on September 25, 2008, 04:44:08 PM
With a fit whitley and collin samuel in reserve (I have purposely left out the magician simply becz I have him on the sidelines callin the shots) do you all realise that we have a pretty strong midfield. I would dare say one of the strongest in concacaf. If only we had a real TD instead of that joker we could have been leading the group now.

I think a lot of the blame has to go with Jack Warner as well.  Yes, Mats is a leading contributor, but he can only play who he is told is available.  He dropped Birchall it's true, but both Yorke & Hyland were made unavailable to him for the last 2 matches.  In addition, I don't know if Samuel was available to be selected (i.e. still in TTFF bad books) so not sure if he responsible for that omission either.

I would still prefer Kerry Baptiste to Samuel (even though they don't exactly play the same position) but I understand why Samuel has been recalled.
Post by: Sando prince on September 25, 2008, 04:45:37 PM

Injured.

Joke aside.....(sadly Whjtley is injured so it eh no joke) Whitley is versatile enough to assume either the defensive midfielder or play maker role.  In THIS team, assuming all other things equal i.e. no random selection policies a la Maturana, it would mostly depend on Yorke's availability as to what role he would play for me.

Nah I know he injured jus curious to know how you would class him...and de hyland def mid ting is another debate, cause some people will argue he is more of an attackin mid...I believe as his career develop we will see which one he fits better
Post by: jai john on September 25, 2008, 06:09:10 PM

[/quote]

Yes selector ...pull up ! It's comments like these that cause huge disappointments later if left unchallenged. T&T has  one of the strongest midfield in Concacaf ? ..you came up with this all by yourself ? ...after only three games in a group in Concacaf ? ...you considered the other group in your analysis ? ..you have seen the USA, Mexico, Honduras  and Costa Rica ???
...we are so good that a 40 year old could walk een in dat star studded midfield just so ?
These players you speak off have demonstrated this capability against .............??????
I must be missing a lot here ..maybe you coiuld help me on this  ???
Post by: sub1 on September 25, 2008, 06:42:03 PM

Yes selector ...pull up ! It's comments like these that cause huge disappointments later if left unchallenged. T&T has  one of the strongest midfield in Concacaf ? ..you came up with this all by yourself ? ...after only three games in a group in Concacaf ? ...you considered the other group in your analysis ? ..you have seen the USA, Mexico, Honduras  and Costa Rica ???
...we are so good that a 40 year old could walk een in dat star studded midfield just so ?
These players you speak off have demonstrated this capability against .............??????
[/quote]

Jai John I have read many of your posts and as such I realised that you, among others would not have understood what I wrote. Go read it again young man and see if you can get the meat of the matter. The highlighted part is 1) correct in the first part. As for the second part I would have to know whether you left school before or after common entrance. I take it its before, hence the lack of comprehensive ability. So my friend, start off by re-reading my post and give me the gist of it.
Post by: weary1969 on September 25, 2008, 06:44:57 PM
Whitley is ah playmaker d defencive mid tink eh he game
Post by: kingman on September 25, 2008, 07:45:30 PM
Palos, big respect on your critique. I think all your observations could not be said any better.

All other men who saying that Telesford wild, I beg to differ. I just think he is inexperience  and that may account for some of his actions. He works hard and fights the game and I love that. As Palos said, his position is poor hence the reason he is always on the ground. But I rather see that,that a bunch of players not even trying.

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 25, 2008, 08:01:38 PM
he could sit in the middle of the bench...thats his role

a lil harsh yes...but he's no Birchall...we've seen how he cant handle the big games .... vs USA he was poor and vs Guatemala he was ok
Post by: fatimarima on September 25, 2008, 08:53:08 PM
Help mih people. Is Clyde Leon a ball winner, a playmaker, a defensive or attacking midfielder. From the bits I've seen of him ah cyah make out what he does to deserve being in de midfield and to keep being picked.
This is what people get confused about.  This single specific role people like to assign to players is the down fall of our football.  A player has to be all of the above, not just one. If Clyde Leon is on the field he should be a playmaker/ball winner/defensive player/attacking player. If a player is starting that should mean that his overall ability and desire to perform these roles consistently and competently is greater than a player who is not starting.  A player may get specific instuctions or assignments but the overall role always includes both ball wining and attacking /playmaking.  I am tired of playing on teams where guys dont defend because they consider themselves as "an attackin midfielder". or the reverse case where guys dont move forward and attack because they are "defensive midfielders".  If people want to win, then the whole team has to make up their minds to attack and defend as a team. Everybody has to transition from defense to attack and also from attack to defense.  The single role crap cyah work at all.
Post by: arrow on September 25, 2008, 10:44:03 PM
Daniel is no wide midfielder.  Yes he's playing there currently but that really because we have no better options for the left and he's a left footer.  This has been going on for some time, we've used men like Theobald, Whitely, Spann, Rahim etc. in the wide midfield positions but noone would really argue they are wide midfielders.
Post by: palos on September 25, 2008, 11:58:06 PM
Daniel is no wide midfielder.  Yes he's playing there currently but that really because we have no better options for the left and he's a left footer.  This has been going on for some time, we've used men like Theobald, Whitely, Spann, Rahim etc. in the wide midfield positions but noone would really argue they are wide midfielders.

Ok.  So Daniel is no wide midfielder.  He himself prefers to play central midfield.  But as you say, we weak on de left side and he's a natural left footer.  We've played 3 games and scored 4 goals in this phase of WCQ thus far.  3 of the goals have been scored by Daniel.  He has played wide midfield in those 3 games.  Where do you propose he play in our 4th? 

A footballer supposed to play wherever his team needs him.  In my opinion, yuh cyah argue with success unless yuh doh think Daniel's performances have not been successful.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on September 26, 2008, 12:02:42 AM
This is what people get confused about.  This single specific role people like to assign to players is the down fall of our football.  A player has to be all of the above, not just one. If Clyde Leon is on the field he should be a playmaker/ball winner/defensive player/attacking player. If a player is starting that should mean that his overall ability and desire to perform these roles consistently and competently is greater than a player who is not starting.  A player may get specific instuctions or assignments but the overall role always includes both ball wining and attacking /playmaking.  I am tired of playing on teams where guys dont defend because they consider themselves as "an attackin midfielder". or the reverse case where guys dont move forward and attack because they are "defensive midfielders".  If people want to win, then the whole team has to make up their minds to attack and defend as a team. Everybody has to transition from defense to attack and also from attack to defense.  The single role crap cyah work at all.

Breds, I've played and watch enough footie to know that being assigned a role on de team does not mean that is all you do. Have'nt you see goalies take free kicks and score goals etc? Having said that if you have 3 def minded midfield players, plus 4 defenders, you are practically defending with 7 men behind the ball. You might get a few 'honourable' 0-0 draws, but you are not going to win many games like that.
Post by: jai john on September 26, 2008, 05:31:30 AM

Jai John I have read many of your posts and as such I realised that you, among others would not have understood what I wrote. Go read it again young man and see if you can get the meat of the matter. The highlighted part is 1) correct in the first part. As for the second part I would have to know whether you left school before or after common entrance. I take it its before, hence the lack of comprehensive ability. So my friend, start off by re-reading my post and give me the gist of it.
[/quote]

Nope ! tried that ...still cant make sense of it. I guess if common entrance is the standard to understand this article then i must be overlooking something . Please break it down for those of us who did not pass common entrance ...
the part that gets me is ... " I would dare say one of the strongest in Concacaf " ... help me with dis nah ...
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 26, 2008, 07:53:23 AM

True, there is a distribution of capabilities/roles expected from ALL players, but within this distriubution, it leans quite heavily to one of these capabilities/roles specific to position.  Attacking midfielders do have to defend, but the lion share of creativity within the midfield falls on their shoulders, likewise wing backs attack and play roles in this regard (a la Roberto Carlos and others), but closing down wing plays and being part of that defensive set up is their main role.  General concept applies to any position on the field, of course with some variations w/formation....
Post by: Storeboy on September 26, 2008, 08:08:30 AM
I hope that I am seeing this Latapy call up as it should be.  I think too much is being made of his on field contribution.  I think that his call up is primarily to set him up to take over from Maturana by the end of this year, if hopefully we make the hex.  I think that after these two games against Guatemala and the USA, if we can pull off two wins, we will be seeing the team controlled by Latapy and Yorke.  Both will be playing less and less and having more influence in coaching, selection, and technical decisions.  At least I hope so.   God help us!
Post by: fatimarima on September 26, 2008, 09:43:55 AM

Breds, I've played and watch enough footie to know that being assigned a role on de team does not mean that is all you do. Have'nt you see goalies take free kicks and score goals etc? Having said that if you have 3 def minded midfield players, plus 4 defenders, you are practically defending with 7 men behind the ball. You might get a few 'honourable' 0-0 draws, but you are not going to win many games like that.

Not sure how your last two sentences relates to my post. You may need to read my post again.
Post by: maxg on September 26, 2008, 09:52:59 AM
So what about Oliver ?
Post by: palos on September 26, 2008, 10:20:40 AM
So what about Oliver ?
He sayin nutting as usual.  Jack puppet.  8)
Post by: maxg on September 26, 2008, 10:24:46 AM
So what about Oliver ?
Sorry, I meant Marvin Oliver.
Post by: fatimarima on September 26, 2008, 10:40:33 AM

True, there is a distribution of capabilities/roles expected from ALL players, but within this distriubution, it leans quite heavily to one of these capabilities/roles specific to position.  Attacking midfielders do have to defend, but the lion share of creativity within the midfield falls on their shoulders, likewise wing backs attack and play roles in this regard (a la Roberto Carlos and others), but closing down wing plays and being part of that defensive set up is their main role.  General concept applies to any position on the field, of course with some variations w/formation....

"Attacking midfielder" and "defensive midfielder"  are just labels to me.   It's a viewers label based on a players percieved strength.  Its not an actual complete role. The lion share of creativity does not have to fall on a specific midfielder's shoulders if the capabilities of the entire midfield is balanced.  Its the same case for wining the ball.   Why shouldn't we encorage players to be just as good in both attack and defense? We should strive for excelence.  I have found that the attitude of " I will do most of the attacking and you handle the ball wining" causes an unnecessary imbalance, which makes both attacking and defending a more difficult task.  
Post by: palos on September 26, 2008, 10:40:55 AM
So what about Oliver ?
Sorry, I meant Marvin Oliver.

Jes playin bro... ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 26, 2008, 11:08:49 AM

"Attacking midfielder" and "defensive midfielder"  are just labels to me.   It's a viewers label based on a players percieved strength.  Its not an actual complete role. The lion share of creativity does not have to fall on a specific midfielder's shoulders if the capabilities of the entire midfield is balanced.  Its the same case for wining the ball.   Why shouldn't we encorage players to be just as good in both attack and defense? We should strive for excelence.  I have found that the of causes an unnecessary imbalance, which makes both attacking and defending a more difficult task.  

Not sure I agree w/this as I see it as a coaches label, yes, we are all viewers on this forum (though some of course are coaches so no disrespect), but it's ok, we can agree to disagree, in a nutshell, I am saying there is a distribution and all have to contribute in all areas, but from an analytical viewpt. most players will be capable of contributing more in one area than another b/c of their honed (coached) and natural abilities -- the ideal is that we can all contribute equally in all of these areas, but pragmatically speaking, this does happen, so players are played in positions to their strengths (all things being equal: no injuries, opponent scouting etc).  These types of players that you describe are utility players and of course exist, but not every player is capable of performing at the highest level in every position on the field and in every aspect of the game.  I'll stick to TT for examples: Marvin Andrews has scored goals for TT, mainly w/his head, that does not mean his strengths are in the attacking 3rd as we all know, defending is his strength, hence he's one of our best sweepers in our lifetime.  Dwight in the twilight of his career has adjusted to be an individual w/strengths in the defensive 3rd still w/some skills in the attacking 3rd and scoring arenas, but his undeniable strength at the peak of his career was as a pointer.

Striving for excellence and contributing on any part of the pitch is a given (IMHO), at various positions on the pitch however, you are required to contribute more in one area than in another  -- that's my only pt.  Not disagreeing that players need to be well rounded and capable of contributing in any aspect of the game (ball winning, hustling, attacking, etc) which in fact they ought to do
Post by: fatimarima on September 26, 2008, 11:24:15 AM
Yeah, all of what you said is true.  I was referring specifically to the midfield though.  The forward, midfield and defense are clearly defined positions with true roles.  My gripe was with the idea of separating midfielders in to specific roles of either "defensive or attacking".  I am saying that midfielders can and should be both.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 26, 2008, 11:39:57 AM
Yeah, all of what you said is true.  I was referring specifically to the midfield though.  The forward, midfield and defense are clearly defined positions with true roles.  My gripe was with the idea of separating midfielders in to specific roles of either "defensive or attacking".  I am saying that midfielders can and should be both.

Ahh, one of the joys of electronic communication!  Get you now, hmmm, can you name one professional midfield that functions like this?  Hard for me to come up w/one example, this sounds more like the Dutch concept which is more of an ideology to me than a pragmatic feasibility...
Post by: jai john on September 26, 2008, 11:45:51 AM

Ahh, one of the joys of electronic communication!  Get you now, hmmm, can you name one professional midfield that functions like this?  Hard for me to come up w/one example, this sounds more like the Dutch concept which is more of an ideology to me than a pragmatic feasibility...

To be fair there are examples of such players ..but they are in the minority. Their situation represents the ideal but I agree it is not very common. Eissien, Fabregas, Mascherano ( recent development ) Xavi, Senna etc. can be termed complete in this regard.
Our problem is that our players have not yet mastered either function so to expect them to do both is not  " pragmatically feasible " gosh allyuh fellas go kill meh wid dese big words yes !!
Post by: fatimarima on September 26, 2008, 11:51:45 AM

some examples

strike squad TT example- Kerry jamerson, (good offensive combo with latas but still a ball winer)
Gahna example -  Essien
German example- Lothar matheus....bruise and bullet
Greece midfield the year they win eurocup
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 26, 2008, 02:05:51 PM
Not to beat a dead horse, but apart from these, can you name more?  Essentially from a statistical viewpt., tough to come up w/the "complete" midfield based on this def., is the proof in the pudding?

Hard luck on de delay, was bubblin a coal pot
Post by: fatimarima on September 26, 2008, 06:24:57 PM
Sure, there are lots of examples of guys who dont limit themselves to a single role when they play midfield.  Even Whitley during the WC qualifiers in the build up to WC 2006 was a ball winer and an ofensive threat in the midfield. Right now Yorke is also a ball winer and an offensive threat in our midfield.  I think Birchall plays that way as well. Its just a matter of getting the rest of the guys to adopt that attitude and play that way consistently.   You mentioned the Dutch before, and you are correct....Edgar Davids "the pit bull" as well as Clarence Seedorf, and Overmars played aggressive in both attack and defense while playing in the midfield.  Eve Latapy in his younger days did his share. He read the game so well that he was able to intercept passes, steal balls off oponents feet etc. He was so magnificent in attack that people overlooked and ignored the things that he did defensively.  In the past Carlos Edwards did good offensive and defensive work while in the midfield.  Its just a matter of getting all our midfielders to adopt this complete role consistently and together.
Title: Clyde Leon ?
Post by: christiano on June 29, 2009, 08:52:21 PM
Great talent ! is he injured ? Is he playing for W lately ??
Title: Re: Clyde Leon ?
Post by: just cool on June 29, 2009, 09:54:00 PM
Who dat shyte snake!! yuh eh see how much chances pancho give him like he's ah relative and the man just bummed every time. clyde leon needs tuh stay where he is, in the PFL.

BTW, trent noel took his place and rightfully so.
Post by: Tallman on June 30, 2009, 05:43:45 AM
He had hernia surgery last month.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 30, 2009, 09:45:12 AM
Who dat shyte snake!! yuh eh see how much chances pancho give him like he's ah relative and the man just bummed every time. clyde leon needs tuh stay where he is, in the PFL.

He eh dat bad :devil: but I did find Pacho stuck with him a bit too long while suffering Trent on the bench.  Now that Trent has cracked the lineup we can plainly see the difference in quality between the two.  Ah wouldn't say he's ah hong doh.
Post by: just cool on June 30, 2009, 12:22:25 PM

He eh dat bad :devil: but I did find Pacho stuck with him a bit too long while suffering Trent on the bench.  Now that Trent has cracked the lineup we can plainly see the difference in quality between the two.  Ah wouldn't say he's ah hong  doh.
Well then allow me tuh say it!
Post by: weary1969 on June 30, 2009, 12:26:50 PM

He eh dat bad :devil: but I did find Pacho stuck with him a bit too long while suffering Trent on the bench.  Now that Trent has cracked the lineup we can plainly see the difference in quality between the two.  Ah wouldn't say he's ah hong  doh.

:rotfl: all yuh good oui

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 30, 2009, 12:35:50 PM

Allyuh rell f**k up oui :rotfl:
Post by: Big Magician on June 30, 2009, 02:02:23 PM
nope
Post by: Ngozi on June 30, 2009, 02:19:55 PM
A better question would be could he possibly changed into a defender for the national team maybe a sweeper or a stopper cuz thats what we need!
Post by: weary1969 on June 30, 2009, 02:24:44 PM
nope

Short and 2 d pt.
Post by: palos on June 30, 2009, 02:34:11 PM
nope

Short and 2 d pt.

QUICK!!!  Call Police!  Immigration!  Anybody!!

Somebody teef weary password!!   If was de REAL weary, we ALL know dah BM post was RIPE fuh a cosign ;D
Post by: weary1969 on June 30, 2009, 02:38:15 PM
nope

Short and 2 d pt.

QUICK!!!  Call Police!  Immigration!  Anybody!!

Somebody teef weary password!!   If was de REAL weary, we ALL know dah BM post was RIPE fuh a cosign ;D

Nah it eh ripe 4 a cosign my signature 4 a post like this

1 word NOOOOOOOOOOOO
2 words HELLLLLLLL NOOOOOOOOOO
3 words ARE U CRAZYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Post by: Eldo man on June 30, 2009, 02:47:34 PM
Is long time now i ent post a comment... i does just read de shit men does post... First of all when man still talking about "TRAP" in foot-ball, yuh could tell they real outdated. trap is weh ah man kill ah ball dead in a game...u talking u 10 foot-ball... now ah days man first touch does take them away from pressure and in space... watch de best players on de worl stage yuh will see what I'm talking about..... maybe Rougier use to real trap ball in he days..but again is trini... hoperfull in de next up coming WC qualifers we players ent trapin ball....
Post by: Lower St. John on June 30, 2009, 04:58:15 PM
Hope not. Jack of all, Master of none.

Blessings
Post by: Jay10 on July 01, 2009, 07:31:39 AM
Is long time now i ent post a comment... i does just read de shit men does post... First of all when man still talking about "TRAP" in foot-ball, yuh could tell they real outdated. trap is weh ah man kill ah ball dead in a game...u talking u 10 foot-ball... now ah days man first touch does take them away from pressure and in space... watch de best players on de worl stage yuh will see what I'm talking about..... maybe Rougier use to real trap ball in he days..but again is trini... hoperfull in de next up coming WC qualifers we players ent trapin ball....

I think he means he has good control and technical skill...its the same as wen Us call players outside backs...das not shit boss...is just a local term...and fyi dere are many times wen u control and the ball has to be as close as possible 2 u to maintain posession... :beermug:
Post by: Fyzoman on July 01, 2009, 03:06:29 PM

I think he means he has good control and technical skill...its the same as wen Us call players outside backs...das not shit boss...is just a local term...and fyi dere are many times wen u control and the ball has to be as close as possible 2 u to maintain posession... :beermug:

man dis ah trinibagonian forum man, if ah man say 'trap' we know wha he mean man.
Post by: injunchile on July 04, 2009, 09:23:07 AM
Well said Fyzoman- Just as when we say - Tabanca is not the same as gilted. Back back instead of reverse.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 05, 2009, 09:14:21 AM

man dis ah trinibagonian forum man, if ah man say 'trap' we know wha he mean man.

ent..who eh know what trap mean...eldo, yuh sure u from trinidad?
Post by: kingman on October 27, 2009, 07:16:16 AM
Leon off to Birmingham
W Connection take on Joe Public tonight
By: Ian Prescott

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2009/10/27/ex-sports2.jpg)

W Connection will be without stalwart defensive midfielder Clyde Leon tonight when they take on new Digicel Pro League champions Joe Public in a match which will decide the 2009 Pro League Big Six champs.

Leon, 26, is currently in England having a one-week trial at Premier League club Birmingham City.

W Connection owner David John Williams confirmed that the Trinidad and Tobago midfielder was in England and said the trial was arranged due to a relationship between Birmingham manager Alex McLeish and his club.

"Clyde has a wonderful opportunity," John Williams said. "It's up to him to make the best of it."Â

But even without Leon, W Connection are expected to be formidable opponents when they take on Joe Public from 7 p.m. at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva in the battle for the Big Six title.

Going into the final match, both teams are level on ten points, but Joe Public have a better goal difference. A draw will be enough for Joe Public to clinch the Big Six, while W Connection must win to steal the honours.

The match is of greater significance to W Connection (44 points), who are also battling former Pro League champions San Juan Jabloteh (45 points) and Caledonia AIA of Morvant-Laventille (44 points) for second place in the Pro League.

Along with new champs Joe Public, the Pro League runners-up will qualify to contest the 2010 Caribbean Club Championship, which is a qualifier for the CONCACAF Champions League.

Reigning Caribbean Club champs W Connection were unlucky last week when just failing to reach the quarter-finals of the CONCACAF Champions League.

And the other contenders for second-place in the Pro League will also be in action tonight.

Currently second, Jabloteh face a difficult Ma Pau team at Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, while Caledonia AIA entertain Defence Force at Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar.

Title: Re: Leon off to Trails at Birmingham
Post by: weary1969 on October 27, 2009, 07:18:37 AM
Good luck
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 27, 2009, 07:31:51 AM
I really hope he does well and proves his detractors wrong.  Despite our almost always negative overview of CL he is in fact a very industrious holding mid and has good vision passing the ball.  Some of us see him as a laborer but I think that is an insultive term to use for a player that has as many workable skills as Leon does.  All the best CL make or break you are still one of our own and many of us (despite the criticisms) I hope still want to see you succeed.  Do yuh ting fella!!!

Thanx Kingman fuh de info.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 27, 2009, 07:35:54 AM
great news,hope he impresses,gets a contract,gain some experience.lord knows we defense needs improving.
Post by: palos on October 27, 2009, 08:25:49 AM
great news,hope he impresses,gets a contract,gain some experience.lord knows we defense needs improving.

Yuh know he not a defender right cap?  8)

Good luck Clyde.  Carpe de forkane diem!!
Post by: Jah Gol on October 27, 2009, 08:51:46 AM
Good luck.
Post by: KND2 on October 27, 2009, 09:25:31 AM
dispite the complaints on this site he is a good player.

He have a good bullet as that goal scored in the champions league showed.

His only issue is lack of pace but england is the best place to work on speed of play.
Hopefully he get picked up.
Post by: kicker on October 27, 2009, 09:33:45 AM
Hope he has a good compass and equipment...I heard those trails in Birmingham are long & winding, and the terrain is rough...those who get lost, could be lost for good....

Seriously though- good luck to Clyde...The more players we have at high levels of competition, the better. 
Post by: Peong on October 27, 2009, 09:57:41 AM
Good luck to de bredda!
Post by: Midknight on October 27, 2009, 10:25:28 AM
well blow me down...

go brave young man, go brave

lol@kicker
Post by: spideybuff on October 27, 2009, 11:02:57 AM
This could be great news for us. Leon is our best def mid locally but somehow on the international stage he just didn't play like he normally does. I doh think there is anywhere better in the world for a DM to improve his game than in the EPL .

How they get that link though? That come out of nowhere
Post by: Deeks on October 27, 2009, 04:21:30 PM
Boa Sorte, man!!!!
Post by: morvant on October 28, 2009, 04:06:16 AM
I goin and play ah lotto
Post by: Cocorite on October 28, 2009, 08:24:39 AM
I goin and play ah lotto

Nah, you wrong fuh dat, breds  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: fishs on October 28, 2009, 08:29:35 AM

Hope he finds the right " trail"
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 28, 2009, 09:07:34 AM
boy now getting out at 26 !!!
Post by: elan on October 28, 2009, 09:09:21 AM
I goin and play ah lotto

:shameonyou:   :angel:
Post by: HEARNAR on October 28, 2009, 09:36:12 AM
Best of luck CL.
Post by: noize on October 28, 2009, 10:39:00 AM
 ;D what's next ??...Theobold getting ah call too???  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:.... anyways Good luck CL
Post by: Marcos on October 28, 2009, 02:11:28 PM
this would be HUGE dred
A defensive mid playing at prem-level?
Post by: Daft Trini on October 28, 2009, 02:24:44 PM
look and see it go be ah... "he had a nice trial, impressed the coaches but was not what Birmingham was looking for" He is not an EPL player.... Prove me wrong Leon.... :beermug:
Post by: just cool on October 28, 2009, 02:49:30 PM
this would be HUGE dred
A defensive mid playing at prem-level?
Don't like his game, but i wish him all the best. make that money.
Post by: Sando on November 12, 2009, 06:34:32 AM
Wonder if Leon got signed yet ? ....  ;)
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 12, 2009, 07:45:47 AM
Wonder if Leon got signed yet ? ....  ;)

signed ? hmmmm well he sure not making waves like how peltier did 2 years back !!!
Post by: FireBrand on April 29, 2010, 12:17:21 PM
Leon could return to Oldham.
TTFF Media.

National team and W Connection midfielder Clyde Leon  is hopeful of returning to English club Oldham Athletic for a second trial in the lead up to the new season.

Leon spent close to two weeks at the club on trial earlier this year after an initial trial with Premiership club Birmingham City. However, a successful application for a UK work permit is what stands in the way of Leon possibly playing in the English Leagues.

“Everything is in place for a return in terms of the club liking what they saw of me but it’s all down to whether the work permit application is successful.  I trained with the club and the staff liked what they saw and they told me that I would be recalled but it depends on whether the permit comes through,” Leon said.

“I went to Birmingham first and the feedback was positive but they made it clear that they were looking for a player who had more experience at the Premiership level and so they made arrangements for me to join Oldham a week later.”

While Leon is hopeful of returning to Europe, he is focused at the moment on doing well for W Connection and Russell Latapy’s senior team with which he is expected to lead the midfield against Chile on May 5.

“It’s a good to start off the season with a win over Jabloteh and my focus is there at the moment and also for the national team.”

Title: Re: Leon could return to Oldham
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 29, 2010, 01:15:00 PM
Leon could return to Oldham.
TTFF Media.

National team and W Connection midfielder Clyde Leon  is hopeful of returning to English club Oldham Athletic for a second trial in the lead up to the new season.

Leon spent close to two weeks at the club on trial earlier this year after an initial trial with Premiership club Birmingham City. However, a successful application for a UK work permit is what stands in the way of Leon possibly playing in the English Leagues.

“Everything is in place for a return in terms of the club liking what they saw of me but it’s all down to whether the work permit application is successful.  I trained with the club and the staff liked what they saw and they told me that I would be recalled but it depends on whether the permit comes through,” Leon said.

“I went to Birmingham first and the feedback was positive but they made it clear that they were looking for a player who had more experience at the Premiership level and so they made arrangements for me to join Oldham a week later.”

While Leon is hopeful of returning to Europe, he is focused at the moment on doing well for W Connection and Russell Latapy’s senior team with which he is expected to lead the midfield against Chile on May 5.

“It’s a good to start off the season with a win over Jabloteh and my focus is there at the moment and also for the national team.”

we are ranked 91 now ... players better start looking at other leagues
Post by: Deeks on April 29, 2010, 03:23:25 PM
If a team really want you they will take no matter the rankings. Is just that everybody wants to play in England.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 29, 2010, 06:30:15 PM
If a team really want you they will take no matter the rankings. Is just that everybody wants to play in England.
Team could want him all day, but ranking affects his work permit.
Post by: Deeks on April 29, 2010, 09:10:39 PM
Team could want him all day, but ranking affects his work permit.

In England. They can try somewhere else. If you want it you can really try
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2010, 07:18:37 PM
just cool, look yuh boy  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/v/HW2O5wjwjz4
Post by: trinipepper on August 18, 2010, 10:46:16 AM
He is a simple player to me. He can play every position on the field. He reads the game well if only he would have some help... a good defensive midfielder.. right now it have real pull stone and shit hound on the T&T Men National team that should have the spotlight who cant even pass the ball to a player, read the game and trap a ball...They should not even make the team... 
Post by: Tallman on November 12, 2010, 05:32:15 AM
Leon confident of T&T’s Gold Cup qualification
T&T Guardian

Soca Warriors captain, Clyde Leon, is quietly confident his team, the Soca Warriors, can reach the semifinal stage of the Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals in Martinique, which will secure a Concacaf Gold Cup spot in the USA next year. The Soca Warriors, seven-time winners of the regional crown, qualified for the eight-team finals after topping its Second Round Group F qualifiers at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella, on Saturday with wins over St Vincent and the Grenadines (6–2), Guyana (2–1) and Haiti (4–0). In Martinique, the Soca Warriors, who failed to qualify for the previous tournament under Colombian coach, Francisco Maturana, will compete in Group H with the host country, last year’s beaten finalist Grenada and the winner of Group G (Antigua & Barbuda, Suriname, Cuba and Dominica) which kicks off at the Antigua Recreation Ground, today.

The Soca Warriors’ will kick off the Finals with a match against the Group G winners on November 26 at the Pierre Aliker Dillon Stadium.
The other group will comprise defending champion and four-time winner, Jamaica, Guyana, Guadeloupe and the Group G runner-up. The winner of the Digicel Caribbean Cup will receive US$120,000 and the runners up US$70,000. Speaking ahead of the finals, Leon, who missed the 4–0 win over Haiti because of a hamstring strain, said, “Being in the same group as the host nation Martinique means that we will be up against the home crowd, but I think we are ready for the challenge.

“Grenada and Martinique are good teams also and I don’t expect they will be easy to overcome, but we are also getting better game by game and I am not worried about the opposition right now. We just have to do our homework and go out there and keep that momentum going from our last three matches,” Leon said. The T&T team is carded to resume training on Monday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, while the T&T Football Federation and team management are still in the process of finalising an international friendly for November 17, which is a Fifa international date. Nicaragua initially agreed to host T&T from November 15 to 18, but travel complications have forced a cancellation.
Title: Re: Leon confident of T&T’s Gold Cup qualification
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2010, 09:17:33 PM
 :beermug: skipper
Post by: Flex on June 29, 2011, 05:08:30 AM
Leon leaves Connection, joins T&TEC.
T&T Guardian Reports.

National senior football captain Clyde Leon has left W Connection, penning a one-year-contract with T&T Pro League new team T&TEC.

Leon made the move just about a month ago and has been training with last year’s Bmobile National Super League champion since leaving the Savonetta-based club.

Leon yesterday shared that he made the decision following the end of his contract with Connection. The 27-year-old midfielder signed with W Connection in 2003 and had been on trials abroad at English clubs Birmingham City and Oldham Athletic.

He has 38 appearances for the Soca Warriors and captained the national team last year during the Digicel Caribbean Cup.
Title: Re: Leon leaves Connection, joins T&TEC.
Post by: Deeks on June 29, 2011, 03:02:55 PM
Man looking for wuk! Good luck.
Title: Re: Leon leaves Connection, joins T&TEC.
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2011, 06:45:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/0SO4uFO1xOU
Post by: Flex on August 04, 2011, 05:09:59 AM
Leon joins Colombian club.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Former W-Connection mid-fielder, Clyde Leon has signed to play in the Colombia Professional Division One League with team Corporacion Deportivo Itagüí Ditaires.

Leon was assisted in getting the contract by Mercuri Caribbean Limited who through their Brazilian contacts, secured the contract for the Trinidad and Tobago player.

Mercuri Caribbean has been working with Leon and his agent for some time to get a foreign contract. Leon welcomed the challenge as it will help him grow and excel as a player .

He was originally carded to play for T&TEC in this year’s local Professional League but his aspirations have escalated him to the Colombian First Division.

Leon left on Saturday to meet with the general manager of Corporacion Deportivo Itagui and Mercuri’s Caribbean partner. The local player is expected to conduct a medical examination on Monday and should begin training with his new team shortly.
Title: Re: Leon joins Colombian club.
Post by: andre samuel on August 04, 2011, 06:55:38 AM
Leon joins Colombian club.
T&T Newsday Reports.

He was originally carded to play for T&TEC in this year’s local Professional League but his aspirations have escalated him to the Colombian First Division.

Escalated him...........hmmmmm

Hope it works out!!
Post by: asylumseeker on August 04, 2011, 07:32:36 AM
It is an eye-catching choice of words, but perhaps supportable to some degree ... especially dependent on what the player gains from the opportunity. He's likely to be the only foreigner on that squad.

Anyway, the report is mistaken at least with respect to "Professional Division One". The team is a Primera A squad, fairly recently promoted from what would have been the First Division (Primera B).
Post by: KND2 on August 04, 2011, 07:43:47 AM
if it is the top division it will be good, Columbia have a good league.

he will learn the possesion game which will help the national team midfield.

We need to try to get more men into south and central america leagues.
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 04, 2011, 07:56:40 AM
Surprising that the proximity of Trinidad to South America and Mexico has not led to greater interest in our players securing contracts in those leagues.  The language barrier might be an issue, but outside of the UK, it's the same thing.
Post by: Sam on August 04, 2011, 08:02:19 AM
Who is Clyde Noel (http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,144993.html)

An bet yuh is Joel Bailey who worte that article.
Post by: #4 on August 04, 2011, 08:34:58 AM
According to Wikipedia, Itagui made history last season by being the first "Primera B" (second division) side to make it to the final of the Colombian Cup (Copa Colombia), where they lost to Deportivo Cali in the final. For those who are familiar with Colombian football, they did it by beating teams like Tolima, Atletico Nacional, Once Caldas, Medellin, and Millonarios in the process. It's a relatively young club (founded in 1991), so there really isn't much other club history to discuss.

That being said, this seems like a nice move for Leon... congrats and good luck to him. :thumbsup: After seeing all the Colombians who have came through the Pro League, it's about time that we see a Trini in Colombia. Who knows- maybe he'll be the first Trini to play in Copa Libertadores someday :beermug: (someone please correct me if a Trini has already done this).
Post by: royal on August 04, 2011, 09:52:23 AM
Any move out of TT pro league is ah good move
Post by: Jack Horner on August 04, 2011, 11:26:09 AM
Good luck to Clyde, Pfister loves this guy a lot ! He said he is impress with his attitude and discipline.

Jack will raise again !!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: King Deese on August 04, 2011, 12:46:45 PM
Good luck to Clyde, Pfister loves this guy a lot ! He said he is impress with his attitude and discipline.

And no mention of his technical skills and ability to read the game?
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........
Post by: just cool on August 04, 2011, 02:00:18 PM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........
I don't know what yuh mean by that deese but if yuh saying in ah nut shell that leon is ah shit snake, then i with yuh on that.
Post by: frico on August 04, 2011, 04:12:38 PM
Ah wonder why dis boy going Colombia ent Colombian players daz come in TT to play dey football.
Post by: fish on August 04, 2011, 04:18:05 PM
Ah wonder why dis boy going Colombia ent Colombian players daz come in TT to play dey football.

Ent Brazilian players does come to TT to play dey football?
Post by: King Deese on August 04, 2011, 11:32:54 PM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........
I don't know what yuh mean by that deese but if yuh saying in ah nut shell that leon is ah shit snake, then i with yuh on that.
That is exactly what I mean. And how the hell Latas makes this man captain of the national team is beyond me.
Post by: frico on August 05, 2011, 02:44:09 AM

Ent Brazilian players does come to TT to play dey football?
Ah cant thank yuh enuff for that bit of info,i'll use it in my project. ;D
Post by: loyalist on August 05, 2011, 08:41:00 AM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........
That is exactly what I mean. And how the hell Latas makes this man captain of the national team is beyond me.

that is rel ignorance as usual...as i always say....fans have the right to say whatever they feel like because that is what a fan do. So much other national players trying to get a contract and cant see there way, the guy get ah opportunity and thy the nonsense allyuh talking. What level ah football allyuh ever play to judge ah player. Every time ah player get ah opportunity to go on trial... once is not somebody favorite player.... they being attacked. Grow up and be logical...not brainless....NORMEL.....
Post by: Arazi on August 05, 2011, 08:47:07 AM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

that is rel ignorance as usual...as i always say....fans have the right to say whatever they feel like because that is what a fan do. So much other national players trying to get a contract and cant see there way, the guy get ah opportunity and thy the nonsense allyuh talking. What level ah football allyuh ever play to judge ah player. Every time ah player get ah opportunity to go on trial... once is not somebody favorite player.... they being attacked. Grow up and be logical...not brainless....NORMEL.....

Leave them Loyalist, they can't see it. So leave them.

I'll say this Clyde Leon is the type of player the avg Trinidadian fan/onlooker wouldn't rate but he is a quality player. But once you doh pelt blade, hit men spanner, pipe bullet or play killer thru passes yuh not good. Leon is a boss for the position he plays, that's why Pfister rate him and he get this contract.
Post by: loyalist on August 05, 2011, 09:31:51 AM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

I'll say this Clyde Leon is the type of player the avg Trinidadian fan/onlooker wouldn't rate but he is a quality player. But once you doh pelt blade, hit men spanner, pipe bullet or play killer thru passes yuh not good. Leon is a boss for the position he plays, that's why Pfister rate him and he get this contract.
He does a lot of off the ball work that lots of trinidadian footballers lack, marking, tracking covering space. He has been around the national team since u 20's, and coaches come and go have him on the national team. So he has to be doing something different to be around the national set up.
Post by: dinho on August 05, 2011, 09:37:03 AM
Regardless of whatever people personal opinions is about the player, the bottom line is a national player getting an opportunity to ply his trade outside in a different league and environment. More likely than not that will be of benefit to him and by extension our national programme.

Best of luck Leon!
Post by: just cool on August 05, 2011, 10:52:36 AM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

I happen to share deese's sentiment so jump on my case too. no one said anything about his trial, ah man mention that Pfister likes this guy's work ethic and deese replied to it.

he never mentioned anything about the trial, but rather the guy's lack of technical ability and his inability to read the game, and he's right, the guy is a very poor passer, ball handler and finisher. hek, even birchall whom i don't rate as much as allyuh is way better than this guy in terms of passing and attacking, and latas hung him out to dry.

yes it's good to have a work horse in the middle, but latas was playing with two in the middle of the park, and as starters (leon and trent noel)! that's why the team lacked creativity for so long. i not saying that yuh don't give leon ah run, but he has tuh learn how to make ah proper 30 yard pass, and not just once but @ least three times in ah game.

we have better options than this guy, even bleeder is ah better option, and ppl on here does dog bleeder to no ends and i don't see allyuh running to defend his honor.

anyway, i wish the fella all the best, hope he lands the contract and learn from the spanish dem how to be ah better player. on another note, i would bet any amount ah money that pancho is the one who got him that trial (since pancho was another one who was infatuated with this skilless player).
Post by: Arazi on August 05, 2011, 11:42:29 AM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

I happen to share deese's sentiment so jump on my case too. no one said anything about his trial, ah man mention that Pfister likes this guy's work ethic and deese replied to it.

he never mentioned anything about the trial, but rather the guy's lack of technical ability and his inability to read the game, and he's right, the guy is a very poor passer, ball handler and finisher. hek, even birchall whom i don't rate as much as allyuh is way better than this guy in terms of passing and attacking, and latas hung him out to dry.

yes it's good to have a work horse in the middle, but latas was playing with two in the middle of the park, and as starters (leon and trent noel)! that's why the team lacked creativity for so long. i not saying that yuh don't give leon ah run, but he has tuh learn how to make ah proper 30 yard pass, and not just once but @ least three times in ah game.

we have better options than this guy, even bleeder is ah better option, and ppl on here does dog bleeder to no ends and i don't see allyuh running to defend his honor.

anyway, i wish the fella all the best, hope he lands the contract and learn from the spanish dem how to be ah better player. on another note, i would bet any amount ah money that pancho is the one who got him that trial (since pancho was another one who was infatuated with this skilless player).

Cool i eh fighting you or Deese, my post was directed to loyalist.

But by saying it have better options and LISTING Bleeder as one, you still fail to recognise what Leon does in his position that impresses coaches et al.

He plays his position to a tee. If Trent Noel run with him and midfield and it lack creativity that on Noel who supposed to be the more offensive player. Mind you I thought Leon was shit just like alyuh till it had some WCQ, I think it was El Salvador in the Stadium and they subbed him off and I saw firsthand exactly what he was doing for the team, because he replacement a then over the hill Dwight just well didn't or perhaps COULDN'T do. El Salvador start to boss the midfield and run the game essentially after he came off.

His game is to plug gaps, clog passing lanes and link the defense to the midfield. Perhaps the best international example of a player currently playing his role is Barcelona's Sergio Busquets (also widely regarded as the weakest link at Barca)

I would agree however, if you playing Leon it is important to have another CM who would complement in our else you're in problems.
Post by: Big Magician on August 05, 2011, 01:41:05 PM
good luck leon...play de fitball

not surprised by the Pfister talk on Leon
hear from national players that leon trains very well...so
Post by: lefty on August 05, 2011, 04:18:27 PM
Cool i eh fighting you or Deese, my post was directed to loyalist.

But by saying it have better options and LISTING Bleeder as one, you still fail to recognise what Leon does in his position that impresses coaches et al.

He plays his position to a tee. If Trent Noel run with him and midfield and it lack creativity that on Noel who supposed to be the more offensive player. Mind you I thought Leon was shit just like alyuh till it had some WCQ, I think it was El Salvador in the Stadium and they subbed him off and I saw firsthand exactly what he was doing for the team, because he replacement a then over the hill Dwight just well didn't or perhaps COULDN'T do. El Salvador start to boss the midfield and run the game essentially after he came off.

His game is to plug gaps, clog passing lanes and link the defense to the midfield. Perhaps the best international example of a player currently playing his role is Barcelona's Sergio Busquets (also widely regarded as the weakest link at Barca)

I would agree however, if you playing Leon it is important to have another CM who would complement in our else you're in problems.

arazi I will take it under advisement dat d second man in the middle was d one who supposed to do d creating, but he need dat linking pass, dat Leon almost always never provided ....had said before and I would say it again hughton Hector and bleeder ....yes bleeder was working well in the early CC quali against Haiti apairing dat was never seen again in the semis .....and I willin to bet dem would have gotten us to the semi ............if Latas did learn anyting from d prelims dem two was doing it attackin defendin trackin and hughton was gettin bleeder to push up and make things happen.... one feeding effectively of d other..................and all dat while as u say plug gaps, clog passing lanes and link the defense to the midfield.... so u tell me.............

ah could see him being d forward line of defense after a lead is established maybe
Post by: College on August 05, 2011, 05:03:43 PM
good luck leon...play de fitball

not surprised by the Pfister talk on Leon
hear from national players that leon trains very well...so

Thats important, football not for stupid people..
Post by: King Deese on August 05, 2011, 10:16:40 PM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

Watch, thank you Just Cool. I have seen Mr Leon play against an inferior team like Grenada and I was not impress with his game. I wish the man all the best in Columbia because in Columbia some of those teams are financed by some of the country's drug lords as in back in the days when Pablo Escobar Jr. was alive. If you make a mistake that cost your team the championship or a chance to make it to a tournament, you could end up a dead man. I just hope that Mr. Leon is aware of that.

Colombian Soccer - A Brief History

Although some clubs have existed since as far back as 1913, a Colombian soccer league was not formed until 1948.

Following a dispute with FIFA the Colombian Football League spent its early years outside FIFA with its clubs and national team suspended from international football. This occured at the same time as a players strike in Argentina which meant that many top Argentinan footballers moved to Colombian teams attracted by higher salaries resulting from a strong Colombian Peso. Even Alfredo di Stefano, one of the greatest players of all time, played 4 seasons in Colombia.

Bogota club Millonarios (for whom Alfredo di Stefano played) in particular were able to form a star-studded squad which for several years competed with the best clubs in Europe including famous victories against Real Madrid at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid.

The Colombian soccer federation eventually rejoined FIFA, the Argentine football strike ended and Colombia's economy lost much of its strength as the country fell into what was known as "La Violencia". Colombian soccer, now unable to attract soccer players of the same ilk as di Stefano would never again see the same level of talent and glory.

The 50s and 60s had been dominated by Millonarios, but during the 70s teams such as Atletico Nacional (from Medellin), Deportivo Cali (from Cali), Independiente Santa Fe (from Bogota) and Atletico Junior (from Barranquilla) emerged as pretenders to challenge for Millonarios' crown as soccer kings of Colombia.

However, in the final season of the 70s a team called America de Cali claimed the league championship. It would be the "Red Devils" of Cali that would dominate the next decade in Colombian soccer and usher in a darker side to the game.

Bank-rolled by the Orejuela brothers of the Cali drug cartel America de Cali contracted numerous stars, principally from Argentina. At one point there was even talk of one Diego Armando Maradona moving to America de Cali. With a squad full of the likes of Juan Manuel Battaglia and Willington Ortiz America de Cali won 5 consecutive championships during the 80s (from 1982 to 1986). America also appeared in 3 Copa Libertadores finals during the 80s (South America's version of the Champion's League), but incredibly lost all 3 finals.

While the Orejuela brothers were pumping illicit money into America de Cali, Pablo Escobar was busy doing the same thing at Atletico Nacional, as was Jose Gonzalo Gacha at Millonarios. However, the support of the drug cartels was not only financial. They also used violence to intimidate opposing teams and referees.

During the 1989 season a referee was assassinated and the Colombian soccer federation took the decision to cancel the season.

Despite the suspension of the domestic Colombian soccer season Atletico Nacional became the first Colombian team to win the Copa Libertadores.

Atletico Nacional defeated Olimpia of Paraguay in the final which was played at El Campin stadium in Bogota as their own stadium, El Atanasio Giradot, had been closed due to Atletico Nacional's suspected involvement in the assassination of the Colombian referee.

Whereas the 50s and 60s had been golden eras for Colombia's domestic soccer, during the 90s it was the turn of Colombia's national team. With quality of the likes of Rene Higuita, Carlos Valderama, Faustino Asprilla, Freddy Rincon and Andres Escobar Colombia reached all 3 World Cups during the 90s.

In 1990 they successfully negotiated the group stage of the tournament only to lose to Cameroun in the 2nd round following an infamous error from eccentric goalkeeper Rene Higuita.

Despite the disappointment of 1990 the Colombian national team went from strength to strength. They easily qualified for the 1994 World Cup during a campaign which included an extraordinary 5-0 victory over the mighty Argentina in Buenos Aires.

This victory, along with their attractive brand of passing football, brought them huge praise. Among those dishing out the plaudits was Pele who famously predicted Colombia to win the 1994 World Cup. In the end the 1994 World Cup would become the lowest point in the Colombian soccer team's history.

After so much promise Colombia flopped. They lost their first game 3-1 to Romania followed by a 2-1 defeat to USA , the first of the American goals an own goal scored by Colombian defender Andres Escobar. A 2-0 victory over Switzerland in the last game was too little too late. Colombia finished bottom of Group A.

Colombia returned to home to immense disappointment. However, disappointment would soon be replaced by tragedy and shame. On the night of 2 July 1994 Colombian defender Andres Escobar, scorer of the now infamous own goal, was assassinated outside a nightclub in Medellin. The killer apparently shouting "Gol" with each shot fired.

The news travelled around the world and cemented Colombia's image as a violent, lawless place.

Colombia again qualified for the 1998 World Cup, but many of their most influential players were past their prime, retired, or in the tragic case of Andres Escobar, deceased, and they once again failed to progress from the group phase. It would be Colombia's last World Cup for some time: they did not qualify for any of the World Cups the following decade.

Just so you know.
Post by: andre samuel on August 06, 2011, 06:37:35 AM
Leon is a good player!!

He is an excellent reader of the game!  Players of his mould hardly get any respect from the average football fan, because they only tend to observe the game in highlights.

Most coaches tend to trust the players that work hard in training rather the ones who show excellent technical ablilty.

Also, just because Pfister mentions a man's good attitude and discipline in training, it doesnt mean that he is not technically good as well.  It is the same way that if a coach says a player is gifted technically, we dont assume that he lacks discipline.

The basis of this topic (or stray in topic) is poor

I agree with ur sentiment Arazi

Post by: asylumseeker on August 06, 2011, 10:28:03 AM
Relatively ancient history? I think Colombian football has earned the right to move on and forward. Professionals in Colombia have a players association that's gained influence and the landscape of the old era has transformed.

Anyway, I would prefer to focus on this deal. Usually these threads have a lot of "congratulations" and "good luck" ... this one? Not so much ... iz like ppl not sure what to make of it.

The player is contracted. He's not on trial ... some comments on the thread seem to be viewing  these as one and the same. What I gather is that an opinion of the player was solicited from Pacho Maturana. The Newsday article references Mecuri's Brazilian contacts ... yet Colombian sources indicate the deal was brokered via Peru. At the end of the day, I like the move.

Post by: just cool on August 06, 2011, 02:15:31 PM
Leon is a good player!!

He is an excellent reader of the game!  Players of his mould hardly get any respect from the average football fan, because they only tend to observe the game in highlights.

Most coaches tend to trust the players that work hard in training rather the ones who show excellent technical ablilty.

Also, just because Pfister mentions a man's good attitude and discipline in training, it doesnt mean that he is not technically good as well.  It is the same way that if a coach says a player is gifted technically, we dont assume that he lacks discipline.

I would have to disagree with yuh on this one. i've seen loen play up close and personal on ah few occasions and i'm not impressed. yes he's ah work hosre, and he does all the moping up, but he is clueless going forward, and quite frankly i would much rather have ah criss birchall any day!

IMO leon is ah brainless player who tends to make terrible offensive decisions ever so often in ah serious game situation. his shooting is terrible, his passing is so so, and offers very little offensively. give me hyland or birchall as startes and maybe bring leon off the bench as ah finisher, but if i ever see this fella start ah game again for the NT over players like hyland and birchall, i will be extremely disappointed.

PS: claude makalele, obi mekelle,  tom huddelston, rameress, micheal bradely and our own khaleem hyland just to name ah few are all the same type players, but they all offer a lot more going forward, unlike our friend in question mr loen.
Post by: AirMan on August 06, 2011, 02:45:42 PM
I seen Leon play for both club and country and WAS NOT impressed but still good luck to the man on his new adventure. Hopefuly he has improved from the last time i seen him play.
Post by: loyalist on August 06, 2011, 02:46:20 PM
Leon is a good player!!

well said andre
Post by: breezers on August 06, 2011, 05:58:13 PM
Leon is a good player!!

well said andre

c0-sign!

Congratz and Best of luck muh bredda!
Post by: fish on August 06, 2011, 06:27:16 PM
Colombian League better than TT Pro League. 

Clyde Leon, good luck. Play yuh ball!

The End

Post by: andre samuel on August 07, 2011, 04:59:01 AM
Leon is a good player!!

I would have to disagree with yuh on this one. i've seen loen play up close and personal on ah few occasions and i'm not impressed. yes he's ah work hosre, and he does all the moping up, but he is clueless going forward, and quite frankly i would much rather have ah criss birchall any day!

IMO leon is ah brainless player who tends to make terrible offensive decisions ever so often in ah serious game situation. his shooting is terrible, his passing is so so, and offers very little offensively. give me hyland or birchall as startes and maybe bring leon off the bench as ah finisher, but if i ever see this fella start ah game again for the NT over players like hyland and birchall, i will be extremely disappointed.

PS: claude makalele, obi mekelle,  tom huddelston, rameress, micheal bradely and our own khaleem hyland just to name ah few are all the same type players, but they all offer a lot more going forward, unlike our friend in question mr loen.

Two things that you said that i would like to point out.  Your whole point about him not being able to contribute offensively...........lol, not every player on the field is there to contribute offensively. 

And secondly, the players that u called out......Makelele? Obi Mikel?  You need some better examples than that.

Just as i said, some people only observe the game in highlights, I'm not saying that leon is world class, but he aint the shithound you are making him out to be. 
Post by: Arazi on August 07, 2011, 07:05:50 AM
Leon is a good player!!

Just to add to Andre's comment above, Claude Makelele received the very same criticism from the Real Madrid president Florentino Perez when he decided not to resign the Frenchman, here's the quote:

"We will not miss Makélelé. His technique is average, he lacks the speed and skill to take the ball past opponents, and ninety percent of his distribution either goes backwards or sideways. He wasn't a header of the ball and he rarely passed the ball more than three metres. Younger players will arrive who will cause Makélelé to be forgotten"

Zinedine Zidane then famously said upon the subsequent signing of David Beckham :

"Why put another layer of gold paint on the Bentley when you are losing the entire engine?"

Now as a Chelsea fan I can tell you Makelele offered very little going forward, but his play was crucial to Frank Lampard being that ok English youth to at one point to 2nd in POTY ratings.

In fact the only Makelele goal I remember for Chelsea greatly resembles Leon's goal for W Connection in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HW2O5wjwjz4

Now I not disputing if the players are good or better than Leon. I would dispute that they play similarly to him in the holding role too and exactly how and what effect they'd have in the middle. Yeah they'd be better offensively but would they do the same job he does babysitting the defense?

as for lefty pointing out the bad game he had against Grenada, i didn't actually see that game so I can't comment on how poor he was, but I see that Grenada game and raise you the HEX game vs the US in the stadium where he and Trent Noel smothered the hell out of the US midfield.

Clyde Leon is the kinda player the average fan will watch and see nothing special/flashy, he makes simple passes/plays but his reading of the game isn't ordinary, but of course only people on the pitch and coaches/players who really know the game will notice it. As such when things don't go well, he's one of the first players men will look to say, "What he do whole game?". In fact that happen in that same US game after we concede the goal.

He's not the player kids will think about emulating, but he's kind of player other players appreciate having in their set up, bcuz he makes it easier for them/frustrating for their opponents.

Either way all the best, let's hope the stint improves both him and T&T footy.
Post by: lefty on August 07, 2011, 07:40:34 AM
Clyde Leon is the kinda player the average fan will watch and see nothing special/flashy, he makes simple passes/plays but his reading of the game isn't ordinary, but of course only people on the pitch and coaches/players who really know the game will notice it. As such when things don't go well, he's one of the first players men will look to say, "What he do whole game?". In fact that happen in that same US game after we concede the goal.

I don't particularly care for a flashy game, in fact I have advocated a simple passing game like the US used effectively against us............the problem is that while he does his defensive duty his linking, if only for that one little pass to the attacking mid is lacking....so yeah he'll smother the hell out of the other teams attack but we'll always be defending because the ball almost never gets forward once its at his feet....maybe its just confidence and like Theobald he will shine with someone more dynamic like Hector partnering him but that is still left to be seen

............ good luck to him in any case
Post by: dreamer on August 07, 2011, 08:55:30 AM
C'mon guys. Cut out de toxic fight down of a man who yuh should be happy to see geh a break in farrin.

Remember the happy moments he created for fans right here:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=50651.0

Who say Leon cyah be inspiring and shoot like a rocket?

Post by: just cool on August 07, 2011, 01:43:49 PM
C'mon guys. Cut out de toxic fight down of a man who yuh should be happy to see geh a break in farrin.

Remember the happy moments he created for fans right here:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=50651.0

Who say Leon cyah be inspiring and shoot like a rocket?

Is there any local players you don't like? well for me there are plenty, clyde leon being one of them, so is seon power, aklie edwards, makkan hislop, andre pachecco, evens wise, and marvin andrews (of lately). yuh cyar like every body, it's not reality.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 09, 2011, 02:18:03 PM

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.........

Watch, thank you Just Cool. I have seen Mr Leon play against an inferior team like Grenada and I was not impress with his game. I wish the man all the best in Columbia because in Columbia some of those teams are financed by some of the country's drug lords as in back in the days when Pablo Escobar Jr. was alive. If you make a mistake that cost your team the championship or a chance to make it to a tournament, you could end up a dead man. I just hope that Mr. Leon is aware of that.

Colombian Soccer - A Brief History

Although some clubs have existed since as far back as 1913, a Colombian soccer league was not formed until 1948.

Following a dispute with FIFA the Colombian Football League spent its early years outside FIFA with its clubs and national team suspended from international football. This occured at the same time as a players strike in Argentina which meant that many top Argentinan footballers moved to Colombian teams attracted by higher salaries resulting from a strong Colombian Peso. Even Alfredo di Stefano, one of the greatest players of all time, played 4 seasons in Colombia.

Bogota club Millonarios (for whom Alfredo di Stefano played) in particular were able to form a star-studded squad which for several years competed with the best clubs in Europe including famous victories against Real Madrid at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid.

The Colombian soccer federation eventually rejoined FIFA, the Argentine football strike ended and Colombia's economy lost much of its strength as the country fell into what was known as "La Violencia". Colombian soccer, now unable to attract soccer players of the same ilk as di Stefano would never again see the same level of talent and glory.

The 50s and 60s had been dominated by Millonarios, but during the 70s teams such as Atletico Nacional (from Medellin), Deportivo Cali (from Cali), Independiente Santa Fe (from Bogota) and Atletico Junior (from Barranquilla) emerged as pretenders to challenge for Millonarios' crown as soccer kings of Colombia.

However, in the final season of the 70s a team called America de Cali claimed the league championship. It would be the "Red Devils" of Cali that would dominate the next decade in Colombian soccer and usher in a darker side to the game.

Bank-rolled by the Orejuela brothers of the Cali drug cartel America de Cali contracted numerous stars, principally from Argentina. At one point there was even talk of one Diego Armando Maradona moving to America de Cali. With a squad full of the likes of Juan Manuel Battaglia and Willington Ortiz America de Cali won 5 consecutive championships during the 80s (from 1982 to 1986). America also appeared in 3 Copa Libertadores finals during the 80s (South America's version of the Champion's League), but incredibly lost all 3 finals.

While the Orejuela brothers were pumping illicit money into America de Cali, Pablo Escobar was busy doing the same thing at Atletico Nacional, as was Jose Gonzalo Gacha at Millonarios. However, the support of the drug cartels was not only financial. They also used violence to intimidate opposing teams and referees.

During the 1989 season a referee was assassinated and the Colombian soccer federation took the decision to cancel the season.

Despite the suspension of the domestic Colombian soccer season Atletico Nacional became the first Colombian team to win the Copa Libertadores.

Atletico Nacional defeated Olimpia of Paraguay in the final which was played at El Campin stadium in Bogota as their own stadium, El Atanasio Giradot, had been closed due to Atletico Nacional's suspected involvement in the assassination of the Colombian referee.

Whereas the 50s and 60s had been golden eras for Colombia's domestic soccer, during the 90s it was the turn of Colombia's national team. With quality of the likes of Rene Higuita, Carlos Valderama, Faustino Asprilla, Freddy Rincon and Andres Escobar Colombia reached all 3 World Cups during the 90s.

In 1990 they successfully negotiated the group stage of the tournament only to lose to Cameroun in the 2nd round following an infamous error from eccentric goalkeeper Rene Higuita.

Despite the disappointment of 1990 the Colombian national team went from strength to strength. They easily qualified for the 1994 World Cup during a campaign which included an extraordinary 5-0 victory over the mighty Argentina in Buenos Aires.

This victory, along with their attractive brand of passing football, brought them huge praise. Among those dishing out the plaudits was Pele who famously predicted Colombia to win the 1994 World Cup. In the end the 1994 World Cup would become the lowest point in the Colombian soccer team's history.

After so much promise Colombia flopped. They lost their first game 3-1 to Romania followed by a 2-1 defeat to USA , the first of the American goals an own goal scored by Colombian defender Andres Escobar. A 2-0 victory over Switzerland in the last game was too little too late. Colombia finished bottom of Group A.

Colombia returned to home to immense disappointment. However, disappointment would soon be replaced by tragedy and shame. On the night of 2 July 1994 Colombian defender Andres Escobar, scorer of the now infamous own goal, was assassinated outside a nightclub in Medellin. The killer apparently shouting "Gol" with each shot fired.

The news travelled around the world and cemented Colombia's image as a violent, lawless place.

Colombia again qualified for the 1998 World Cup, but many of their most influential players were past their prime, retired, or in the tragic case of Andres Escobar, deceased, and they once again failed to progress from the group phase. It would be Colombia's last World Cup for some time: they did not qualify for any of the World Cups the following decade.

Just so you know.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-08-09/harvard-grad-swaps-cocaine-boss-for-ipo-as-colombian-soccer-club-rebuilds.html

(while ah on this ... Colombia's NT coach has just handed in his resignation this afternoon ... following an incident Saturday night in which he hit a woman after gulping couple rounds).
Post by: Flex on August 11, 2011, 07:56:36 PM
Leon looking to capitalize on Colombia move

Colombian-based player Clyde Leon prepared himself for an eventual move to an overseas Professional League a few weeks ago after entering into a contract with T&TEC with a clause that would allow him to depart once the opportunity came along.

That happened earlier this month as Corporacion Deportivo Itagüí Ditaires snapped up the player.

The former W Connection man  captained T&T last year and his style is liked by Otto Pfister who has observed the player in training for the past few weeks.

He will however not be available for T&T’s friendly internationalon August 21 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium but is likely to return for the September 2 2014 World Cup qualifier versus Bermuda at the same venue once selected by the German.

“When I signed with T&TEC I was looking ahead to a new challenge but I also signed a contract which would allow me to leave the club if something better came up for an overseas league.

I’m sorry I did not get to play a competitive game for the club because they offered me the opportunity and I wish them well in the 2011 season.

Personally I needed this move abroad because I want to broaden my experience and challenge myself against tougher opponents. I think the level in Colombia is of a really good level and they have a lot of experience here having played at several World Cups and produced several top players,” Leon said.

“I’ve been playing in practice matches and training every day. It’s been a smooth change over for me so far and I’m looking forward to the season. Hopefully I can lift my level of play while I’m here and offer a better option as a player for the national coach,” added the ex-Princes Town Senior Comprehensive player.

It is understood that former T&T and Colombia head coach Francisco Maturana played a role in the deal which was handled locally by Sheldon Scipio of Mercuri Caribbean on Leon’s behalf.
Post by: Cocorite on August 11, 2011, 09:28:33 PM
All the best Clyde. The coaches Mats, Otto and the new club coach, obviously see value to orchestrate a move.
Title: Re: The In Memory Of Thread
Post by: Tiresais on April 28, 2021, 07:50:49 AM
TTFA posted a message about Clyde Leon dying of a heart attack just now. Shocked, but I remember his heart being an issue a couple years ago? Someone will tell me if I'm wrong.
Title: Re: Re: The In Memory Of Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on April 28, 2021, 08:20:18 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E0EInWRXoAQii90?format=jpg&name=900x900)
Post by: soccerman on April 28, 2021, 10:01:22 AM
Wow RIP Clyde. I remember when we played USA in Nashville in 2009. When we went to the team hotel after the game, he came out and spoke to us in the lobby. My partner was venting to him and Clyde did his best to reassure him that the team will turn things around. Seemed like a cool fella.
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 29, 2021, 11:35:59 PM
Condolences to the family :( News.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 30, 2021, 04:46:33 AM
RIP in this clip he spoke about the UK opportunity @ the 3:20
https://www.youtube.com/v/ZtGh_DajeKo
Title: King of Enterprise Clyde Leon laid to rest
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2021, 11:46:56 AM
King of Enterprise Clyde Leon laid to rest
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

CLYDE LEON departed from us in the same humble fashion as he lived.

Yesterday’s sending off for the former Trinidad and Tobago national senior team captain was low-keyed and restricted to a few family members at the Heaven Pathway Funeral Home, San Fernando—the numbers limited due to Covid-19 protocols which prevented a large gathering.

Hailing from Enterprise, Chaguanas, Leon, aka Frank, aka, “The Truth”, was remembered as humble, soft-spoken, but one who loved to talk and also a positive influence on those who met him.

He was a footballer, coach and businessman, developing his brand “The Truth”, along with business partner, radio deejay/soca artiste Ding Dong, who has made a musical tribute to his friend.

Even though unable to be present at his sending off, many of those who knew Leon made tributes online.

His former teammate and Saudi Arabia-based current T&T men’s national team captain Khaleem Hyland wrote: “Rip Frank, your words will always be with us, so much good things we can say about you bro. Legend”.

W Connection Football Club CEO Renee John-Williams was very close to Leon at the club where he spent 15 years as player, captain and assistant coach. She said: “Rest in eternal peace Clyde”.

Former Princess Town Senior Comprehensive teammate Dean Logan said: “Rest easy my brother Clyde aka Frank, aka The Truth.”

There were many other tributes from friends and relatives, all with the common sentiment that Clyde Leon will not be forgotten by them.

There were also video presentations made by his former teammate and T&T goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams and current Barbados national team coach Russell Latapy, who installed Leon as T&T captain, when he was national team boss between 2009-2011.

“Clyde was my skipper in the national team and the reason for that was the quality he showed as a footballer,” Latapy recalled.

“He was strong, he was very intelligent and he was technically a good player, which he did not get enough credit for.”

W Connection head coach Earl “Ball Hog” Jean was feature speaker at Leon’s funeral service. Jean remembered Leon for his comical nature and being a gentleman and family man and great admirer of former W Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier

“We spoke late hours, at length, and it would be about three things; football, Stuarty (Charles-Fevrier) and the love of his life, Olivia.”

Jean said he got to know many members of Leon’s close-knit Enterprise family, who all lived near each other.

Jean said Leon’s aunt Val came to all his W Connection matches; his mother Sherry-Ann was very dedicated; and Leon also loved his sister La Toya who died five years earlier. Although no longer living in the community, Leon made sure that his son Khaleem was a regular visitor to Enterprise and his family there.

Jean remembered being hesitant the first time Leon invited him to the troubled Enterprise community, which often makes the news for crime and murders.

“You will be okay. I have your back. That is my people,” Jean recalled Leon saying. After that they both regularly visited the hot spot.

Jean also recalled that Leon was a key member of the W Connection team that competed equally with Mexican and United States clubs at CONCACAF level.

Leon played 230 matches for W Connection and scored 90 goals from a deep-lying midfield position, before heart issues prematurely ended his playing career.

He won two Caribbean Club and two T&T Pro League crowns among 16 titles won for W Connection before retiring during the 2011-2012 season following a one-year stint in Colombia.

“Clyde went on to win so many titles with myself and the formidable W Connection which we built, starring in midfield with the likes of Reynold Carrington, Elijah Joseph, Titus Elva, Gefferson Goulart from Brazil, Silvio Spann, Travais Mulrain, Andre Toussaint,” Jean said.

Leon was passionate about T&T and cherished having worn the captain’s armband for his country.

“His last game was played in Tobago, November 6, 2012. He always also maintained a high standard of play for his country and never failed to remind me of his enjoyment of playing with his fellow teammates, such as Densil Theobald, Silvio Spann, Cornell Glenn, Marvin Phillips, Trent Noel, Dwight Yorke, many others.

“He kept in touch with everyone at his alma mater. Princes Town was forever in his heart,” Jean said.

Restricted from attending his funeral, Leon was still serenaded by members of the Tropical Angel Harps steel band from Enterprise which he loved, and on a rainy day many members of the community came out to see him to his final rest when buried at the public cemetery.

And if in another place and another life somewhere, W Connection could assemble a good side, they already have three big players available—Atiba McKnight, Shahdon Winchester and now Clyde Leon, all gone too soon.

https://www.youtube.com/v/6QgFm0D6K9w