Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 05, 2005, 04:30:20 AM

Title: T&T vs Honduras Thread.
Post by: Flex on July 05, 2005, 04:30:20 AM
Greetings:

As usual, any updates/scores on the game vs Honduras will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look to scrappy with un-necessary headlines and postings.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at these sites:

* SW Online (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?board=2.0).
* SW Online Live Chat (http://pub31.bravenet.com/chat/show.php/2600553436).
* Gold Cup Official Site (http://www.us.terra.com/goldcup2005/).
* Vibe 105fm (http://www.homeviewtnt.com).

N.American TV Viewers:
Wed, 6 July - 9:00 pm - Galavision - Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago.

T&T TV Viewers:
Wed, 6 July - 10:30 pm - TV-6 - Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago.

Team Preview:

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO: One of the three qualifiers from the Caribbean are making their fifth overall appearance at the Gold Cup. Despite winning the Caribbean crown on eight occasions, Trinidad & Tobago's best performance at the CONCACAF event was reaching the semifinals in 2000. Leo Beenhakker is at the helm of the Soca Warriors.

HONDURAS: Were runners-up at the 2005 UNCAF Nations Cup held in Guatemala and earned their seventh berth to the CONCACAF Gold Cup. The catrachos best finish at the CONCACAF event was second-place, losing a 4:3 penalty kick thriller to the USA in the 1991 final. Honduras is once again guided by technical director Jose De La Paz.

Head To Head Gold Cup Battle:

01-Feb-1998 - Oakland, USA - HON vs TRI 1:3 (0:2), Ref: Peter Pendergast (JAM). Report. (http://www.concacaf.com/matchReport.asp?fltab=2&dvab=A&gmid=1&lgid=1073&seid=1998)

T&T's Gold Cup record vs Honduras:

P  W  L  D  F  A
1   1  0  0  3  1

Last games played by 2 teams:

Honduras 2 vs Canada 1 - Friendly - 02-Jul-2005. Report. (http://www.concacaf.com/view_article.asp?id=3070)
T&T 0 vs Mexico 2 - World Cup Qualifier - 08-Jun-2005. Report. (http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/050609/6/3u2x.html)

Probable Honduras Line-Up - 3-5-2.
Victor Coello; Junior Izaguirre, Erick Vallecillo, Asthor Henriquez; Luis Guifarro, Maynor Figueroa, Oscar Garcia, Danilo Turcios, Mario Berrios; Wilmer Velasquez, Francisco Ramirez.

Key Subs:
Milton Nuñez, Hendry Thomas.

Groups, Standings & News. (http://www.socawarriors.net/Caribbean_football.htm)

Crew Meet Up;

According to Tallman, as far as seating arrangements go, there hasn't been a general consensus, but I think we will sit in the K or L section (right by the 18 yard line next to the scoreboard). That is where I always sit when I go there.

(http://www.gotickets.com/images/charts/OrangeBowl_football.gif)

More T&T Supporters. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2070.msg13842#msg13842)

Good Luck Trinidad & Tobago Warriors.
Title: Re: T&T vs Honduras Thread.
Post by: Sam on July 05, 2005, 07:49:21 AM
                              Hislop                       
Charles          Andrews      Lawrence       Sancho
Edwards          Eve             Birchall          Avery
                     John             Jones

We have to win this or de Panana game, so we need to field a experience eleven, man like Spann and them will get they chance vs Colombia if we beat Honduras or Panama and get a book for de next rounds.
Post by: Touches on July 05, 2005, 08:37:24 AM
Look a nice downloadable schedule.yuh need adobe though.

I real pissed as the schedule saying games is 7 and 9 pm.....we hadda wait till quite 10:32 to see the second game alone.

But TV6 go play up in they tail and advertise thay they showing over the 2002 world cup games on Saturdays.

Instead they give us a repeat of the game or show the matches we miss.

PLease channel 4 and 16 come to our rescue and show all the gold cup games.

http://www.concacaf.com/competitions/goldcup/2005/downloads/GC2005_english_scheduleV4.pdf
Post by: palos on July 05, 2005, 12:08:55 PM
Went to de Canada vs Honduras game wit Savannah Boy.  SH was dey in he capacity as Assistant coach to Canada National team (Congrats SH...man movin up de ranks...go soon be Canada senior men's national team coach.. ;) )

Honduras takes advantage of Canadian breakdowns to score 2-1 victory. Honduras play a 3-5-2 formation with a kinda sweeper in #21 Vellecillo and de 2 outside men but still central. Statistically the opening half appeared even.....

De 2 wide players #14 Oscar Garcia and #13 Mario Berrios saw A LOT of the ball and were quite effective against Canada's wing backs. Garcia in particular played a lot of give and go balls with #19 Turcios.

Honduras playmaker was #3 Maynor Figueroa who looks very experienced and composed on the ball. Canada countered to neutralise Figueroa by cutting down on the room he initially had to play with.

At half time, Honduras bought on #20 Hendricks Thomas and he became their de facto playmaker with Figueroa pushing up more and making the blind run across the defence. They all like to play the long diagonal pass to the wings to exploit space.

Honduras has 2 strikers who are ok. They each scored excellent goals....#9 Francisco Ramirez got a breakaway about 30 yards from goal and with 2 defenders pressuring him, tucked away a tidy finish in the 52nd min. The goal of the game came from #10 Wilmar Velasquez who had all the time in the world to volley home a left sided cross from #13 after a Canadian player lost the ball. #9 got a long ball that surprised the Canadian defence and made a one time cross to he striking padnah cutting out the Canadian central defender and with no one else around, Velasquez hit an unstoppable one time volley past a helpless Canadian keeper in the 56th min. No chance and great finish.

Other than that, they didn't show anything too dangerous to me.

Basically Honduras is beatable in my opinion. Their 3 central defenders are quick.... certainly quicker than  Stern, but if balls are played into feet of Stern, we should be ok once they control as they are expected to.  If we use Glen, he could unsetlle anybody wit he pace.  De #21 Vellecillo at de back look impressive to me.

We should have a significant aerial advantage. Not because of height but because that is one of our strengths and I didn't sense that they were very strong in the air, but they a good on the ground.

It would be interesting to see how Carlos Edwards performs against the #13 Berrios. He & #14 make a lot of overlapping runs but that also causes space to be exploited when they got caught out of position. We need someone who can run and take-on the defence in my opinion...especially on their right side (our left).

Game ended up 2-1 to Honduras, Canada scoring off a header by Kevin McKenna from a corner in the 70th. Canada has 2 mobile strikers which caused the Hondurans some problems but they don't have the 1 v 1 skills to truly exploit that weakness. We need to play a mobile forward together with Stern or else we won't have that ability to exploit that weakness either. This makes the midfielders who follow up to support the play that much more important. We should also shoot the ball instead of trying too many intricate plays.

Honduran goalie is decent. He didn't make any noticeable mistakes and came for the ball well when he had to. Didn't have to stop too many shots. Perhaps we can try shooting low along the ground at him.

For me....danger-men for Honduras are the 2 wide players #13 & #14 and the 2 play makers #3 and # 20. Forwards have shown they will finish if given the opportunity. Honduras probably had 3 decent chances all game and scored 2.

If we play to we potential and take it to de Honduran's, we should beat dis team based on their performance against Canada.
Post by: Touches on July 05, 2005, 12:26:50 PM
Excellent Scouting Palos,

Yuh could take Nahkid job breds. But I hope Lincholn and Beenie and the boys see this before tomorrow.

On a serious note.....as yuh talking about the wingers giving trouble.

You think we could insert cyd to just mash up one easy easy. I know Avery will do the job and make his presence felt but in terms of steel in the middle how you think their middle will match up against ours. Are they speedy and tenacious or are they skills men who need room.

I breathe a sign of relief when I see no Pavon and no Davids Suazo as they were the trouble men.

Also you said the two fwds are finishers but are they speedy men who take it to defenders? I having flashbacks of Tallest and Dog with men running at them.

That said I still feel we will beat this team 1-0 or 2-1 tomorrow.
Title: All who going to the Game...check these fetes after and the new band for sale
Post by: Touches on July 05, 2005, 12:40:10 PM
Oh gosh I vex I missing out

It seems Orange bowl go be nice this weekend

http://www.fetebusters.com/
Post by: palos on July 05, 2005, 12:47:53 PM
Touches.....de good ting fuh we is de wide men does stay wide.  Dey doh cut een at all so Dog & Tallest safe.  De 2 strikers dem have Dog & Tallest should be able to handle dem.

Interestin point you mek dey bout Cyd.  Cyd have de athleticism and recovery speed to deal wit dem fellas and yuh done know somebody go be limpin and it eh go be Cyd.  Ting is...Atiba showin me he have dah same ability but better sense.  If either coulda play on de leff side we woulda have soometing decent on both flanks.  As it is, yuh know Avery go have #14 Garcia hot.  He have to make sure he get help from de coverin midfielder because dey love to play give and go.

#13 Berrios is de one ah fraid.  He lil bit eh....look like he bout 18 but he bad.  Carlos could take he to school but he go real have to wuk on de defensive end to handle Berrios overlappin.

#3 Figueroa is de man from Honduras we have to watch for.  Most of de plays does eedah go through he or end up wit he involved somehow.

To answer yuh question bout de Honduras middle men...surprisingly they weren't that skillful in terms of what you accustomed seeing from Latin/Central American ballers.  Nobody really stood out from that perspective to me.  Is not like dey have a Wilton Lopes, a Latas, a Theodore Whitmore etc.  Den again....neither do we.
Post by: santacruz on July 05, 2005, 01:41:08 PM
is anybody sure if 106fm bringing the game?
Post by: Big Magician on July 05, 2005, 01:58:45 PM
excellent palos....now ah know what ah looking forward to...tomorrow nite in de orange bowl...me and small magician now settle into the place where we staying....hope to bounce up you guys tomorrow nite....tnt tnt tnt....
Post by: Socapro on July 05, 2005, 02:41:48 PM
Hey Palos, thanks for dem posts yuh make in this string, very useful. Lets hope Beenie helpers are reading this forum or our scouts made similar useful observations!

I already make my predictions in the Predictions game including goalscorers in T&T v Hon game!  8)
Post by: soccerdaddy on July 05, 2005, 02:50:06 PM
Nice report palos. I wonder how you reason that we could beat Honduras tho. You did not indicate any weaknesses they have. It sound like they are a decent team with playmakers who could take it to our defence. Formation wise from what you report like we okay wit the 4-4-2.

I love the way the team looking now but I still have reservations. I see our problem being that we do not have speedy wingers who could take it to defenders. Carlos has the skill but not the speed and he does not track back well. Glenn have the speed and the willingness to take on men but he ball control very suspect and doh talk about his defense. Samuel may be an x-factor at left mid, but with that size look like he wheels have flat tires. I know beenie man go figure out something tho. Go Warriors.
Post by: palos on July 05, 2005, 04:16:39 PM
In reply to soccerdaddy

Well I did indicate that if we played a mobile striker with Stern we could give the Honduran defence problems just like the Canadian attack.  I also said that we should enjoy a significant advantage in the air as well as when Honduras' wide players overlapped, they left a lot of space for the opposition to exploit when they lost the ball.

I think those could be classified as areas we can exploit and weaknesses on their part.
Post by: supporter on July 05, 2005, 05:32:50 PM
i believe the runner up in our group would play the winner of group B, which would be the usa. although we can challenge them, i wouldnt want to play them before the aug 17th match. thus, we should definetly be aiming to win the group.
Post by: arrow on July 05, 2005, 09:01:49 PM
i believe the runner up in our group would play the winner of group B, which would be the usa. although we can challenge them, i wouldnt want to play them before the aug 17th match. thus, we should definetly be aiming to win the group.

Aim to win the group?  I hope Beenie Man logs on to this forum before tomorrow and picks up on this masterful tactical plan.  Hopefully the scouts from Honduras, Colombia and Panama don't get word of this first.
Post by: palos on July 05, 2005, 10:24:30 PM
Aim to win the group?  I hope Beenie Man logs on to this forum before tomorrow and picks up on this masterful tactical plan.  Hopefully the scouts from Honduras, Colombia and Panama don't get word of this first.

Lawd.....like yuh ingest some serious aloes boy arrow.  Yuh songin bittah dey sah.  ;)
Post by: truetrini on July 05, 2005, 11:24:47 PM
arrow like yuh get eh get ah personal message from triniman or wha?

Yuh sounding like ah priest who he have no alter boys.
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 02:34:18 AM
Good wok Palos,,,, well done... how much corners did Honduras have..

With Carlos out, ah feel Gray might be a better option and leave Eve more center, we cant use to inexperience midfielders like Spann and Birchall to run things off.
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 06:24:33 AM
Colombia mixes experience with youth at Gold Cup.
EFE News.

(http://img.terra.com.br/i/2005/05/09/227910-2143-ga.jpg)

Some fresh faces have been added to the Colombian national team's roster at the Gold Cup. Colombia head coach Rueda has also included some veterans and international players in the mix with the intent of improving upon the nation's last Gold Cup performance, in which it was eliminated in the quarterfinals.
Among the starters currently playing abroad are Galatasaray goalkeeper Farid Mondragon, River Plate midfielder Jairo Patiño and defender Jose Julian De La Cuesta with Spanish club Caringdiz.
Though Medellin forward Cesar Valoyes is the only newcomer to crack the starting lineup, Rueda noted that he called up the younger players "with the thought in mind that they will assume the responsibility of (becoming) starters."
With World Cup qualifiers looming, Rueda also sought to underscore that Colombia would not field an inferior team that might sully the nation's soccer reputation.
"We need a balanced lineup because the Gold Cup is a demanding tournament, with teams from Central and North America that have very strong players and so we have to bring a team that represents us well," he said.
"We are going to face teams like Mexico, which has spent a lot of time together, and the United States, which is having a good qualifying season. Those are very strong teams and the other teams from Central America have been making a lot of progress, that's why this is a tournament that is very risky and unpredictable."
Among the younger set, Rueda has placed his bets on Aldo Leao Ramirez, Luis Martinez and Juan Carlos Ramirez of Santa Fe, and Hector Hurtado and Humberto Martinez of Nacional. The two teams recently vied for the local club championship, in which Nacional defeated Santa Fe 2-0.
Colombia joins Honduras, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago in Group A, which will play in Miami's Orange Bowl. Colombia takes on Panama as part of the opening doubleheader on July 6.
The Gold Cup competition will be among three four-team groups, with the top two teams from each advancing to the next round. Two third-ranked teams will also qualify for the quarterfinals.
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2005, 07:02:06 AM
(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20050705/capt.flla10307052208.concacaf_gold_cup_flla103.jpg)
CONCACAF president Jack Warner, left, greets Honduran assistant soccer coach Richardson Smith, right, as Trinidad and Tobago soccer coach Leo Beenhakker, center, looks on during a news conference, Tuesday, July 5, 2005, in Miami. The news conference officially kicks off the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup soccer tournament, which will launch with first-round matches at Miami's Orange Bowl July 6, 9 and 11. ...(AP Photo/Luis M. Alvarez).
(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20050705/capt.flla10407052230.concacaf_gold_cup_flla104.jpg)
Colombian soccer coach Reinaldo Rueda, left, talks with CONCACAF president Jack Warner before a news conference Tuesday, July 5, 2005, in Miami. The news conference officially kicks off the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup soccer tournament, which will launch with first-round matches at Miami's Orange Bowl July 6, 9 and 11 with the participation of Colombia, Honduras, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago men's national soccer teams. ...(AP Photo/Luis M. Alvarez).
Title: Jason Scotland to start against Honduras
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2005, 07:12:30 AM
Jason Scotland to start against Honduras
By Shaun Fuentes

Coventry City striker Stern John and Jason Scotland will lead Trinidad and Tobago's strike force in tonight's 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup opener against Honduras at the Orange Bowl Stadium.

Leo Beenhakker made the disclosure on the eve of the match as he announced his starting team following dinner at the Inter-Continental Hotel on Tuesday night after the team was allowed to take a walk around Bayside from  around 6pm.

Also starting in goal will be Kelvin Jack while Glasgow Rangers defender Marvin Andrews, well monitored by Beenhakker and the team physio Zeph Nicholas throughout the tour so far, will start at the back with Dennis Lawrence.

Brent Sancho, who trained for the entire camp so far, including Tuesday's final session at the University of Miami Ground, got a little pinch in his hamstring again but is not considered serious. The only cause for concern is the thigh strain to Carlos Edwards and he will not be in action today.

"I think we have prepared well for the game and the whole tournament as a matter of fact," defender Avery John told TTFF Media. "All the guys want to do well because they know aside from the World Cup qualifiers, a lot is also at stake in this Gold Cup and it's been a while since we did well in it. I was not part of the team which reached the 2000 semi-finals but now I can safely say that we look to be ready to do pretty well this time around."

The chance to start is a good bit of news for Scotland who is coming off the disappointing news that his application for a workpermit was turned down in Scotland, blocking him from signing a two-year deal with Dundee United.

Beenhakker will hold a light session on Wednesday with the players who are not in the start team to face Honduras.

Check back later for the full line up.
Post by: arrow on July 06, 2005, 07:18:08 AM
If Beenie announced his starting lineup already, how come Fuentes doh name the rest?
I glad for Scotland, must have been impressive in training.  Hope he's in the right frame of mind and this helps him win his appeal.  And Glen we know can do some damage coming on in the 2nd half.  Or perhaps Beenie will try him on the left side?
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2005, 07:27:21 AM
More updates/photos from Shaun Fuentes here. (http://www.tnt.fifa.com/cda/cda_container/0,1503,countryCode%3Dtto_docID%3D79906_localeID%3D102_siteCategoryID%3D2250_siteID%3D1002_subPage%3D-cda-media-news-newsDetail,00.html)
Post by: Sando on July 06, 2005, 07:32:34 AM
Also starting in goal will be Kelvin Jack.... !!!!

Btw, Nice update and Photos Shaun... keep them coming...
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 07:44:16 AM
Yeah, good job Shaun..

Maybe Jack showing something special in training, lets hpe Shaka teach him a thing or 2 over the past week though... Jack must be more aggressive in de air. Ah feel Shaka might get we goalkeeper coach if we qualify for de world cup and Ince come back.. ?

Good Luck T&T..
Post by: arrow on July 06, 2005, 07:46:17 AM
Hopefully Shaka lends him a pair of gloves so Jack can grip the ball this time
Post by: El Socorro on July 06, 2005, 08:03:33 AM
Good Luck Fellas. 
Post by: Brej on July 06, 2005, 08:05:51 AM
yeah boy last time jack hurt ma heart
Post by: Tongue on July 06, 2005, 08:51:38 AM
thanks for the info and pictures. it's refreshing to see more and more pictures of the team during training and games. these were't too available in the past..... make us prouder with a victory 2nite WARRIORS!
Post by: soccerdaddy on July 06, 2005, 09:03:24 AM
Beenie is a man believe in loyalty he eh go drop yuh just so. I believe througout this gold cup the job is Jack own to lose. If we get two good result from Honduras and Panama then Shaka might get a save in the match against Colombia. I feel Beenie going with the same team that start against Mexico except for Dwight and now Carlos of course. So Scotland get the start and ah feel Rahim or Eve might slot in for Carlos.

I hear the man say he in the tournament to win. This thing about trying out new men will sort itself out. As long as we continue to play winning football, the men who on the bench looking on will automatically step up when they get they chance. There is no better preparation for WCQ than beating good teams. Go Warriors.
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 09:30:00 AM
Yuh talking bull cock, loyalty should not get first choice, Shaka didn't turn us down he wanted to take care of business because he was dumped by Portsmouth, that doesn't mean he isn't loyal...

We should pick the BEST possible 11 from that 23 man squad.... bottom line, because everybody's here and willing...

Ince was loyal all de time and how he get drop vs Panama and dont tell meh is because of back pains eh...

Maybe Jack did better than Hislop in training and get he deserve pick... you pick a team based on form, following instructions, hard work, commitment, does the simple things, fitness etc etc.
Post by: football king on July 06, 2005, 10:07:49 AM
no doubt pick the BEST 11 available that fit in with the game plan or however the coach want to approach the game.

But wait if we qualify and latas fall into the category of best 11 and he want to come back then we should accept him-right or no?
anyway pick the best men
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 10:44:25 AM
Yuh cant pick a man who is not commited on interested in playing for T&T and if he not here to help us qualify and if we qualify and he want to join,,,, then I say NO !!!!!!!!!! because he didn't help us when we needed him the most.... what part of Jack story related to Latapy story..... or what you trying to get at.... if its the part where I said loyality, then I might be a little off, but my point is, we have 3 loyal keepers in camp, we just have to pick the best now.... how is that ??

Jack is loyal ..ok,,,,, Shaka also... Ince also... is not like Jack was here alone.... he did good and got his pick....
Post by: football king on July 06, 2005, 11:19:25 AM
SAM I JUST PLAYING BOSS i agree and had jack in my lineup which doesn't really matter but i would be dissapointed if jack don't start the majority of tt games-the man did his best when we needed it and i refuse to place any blame on him.
Post by: futbolfan on July 06, 2005, 03:05:43 PM
for de DC metro area crew. if yuh cyah get galavision de game showin at this sports bar
 9:00 PM
LIVE CONCACAF Gold Cup:
Honduras v. Trinidad
Lucky Bar $10 Minimum
1221 Connecticut Ave., NW, near DuPont Circle and Farragut N. Metro
 (202) 331-3733
Post by: supporter on July 06, 2005, 04:13:25 PM
ok arrow
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2005, 04:21:08 PM
Stern John to captain T&T for Gold Cup.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National Team head coach Leo Beenhakker announced during a team meeting after lunch today that Coventry City striker Stern John will captain the Trinidad and Tobago for the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign.
John takes over the role from regular captain Dwight Yorke who is not with the team in Miami as he takes in preseason preparations with new club Sydney FC in Australia.
Beenhakker added that Wrexham defender Dennis Lawrence will be the co-captain for the team during this tournament which the “Warriors” kick off tonight from 9pm against Honduras at the Orange Bowl Stadium.
Meantime, Brent Sancho was not included in the 18-man team, having suffered a reoccurring hamstring problem while Glenton Wolfe also picked up a slight injury and they will join Carlos Edwards in the stands. The two others left out of the 18 are goalkeeper Duarance Williams and midfielder Angus Eve.
The start team will see Kelvin Jack in goal, Marvin Andrews, Dennis Lawrence, Cyd Gray and Avery John in the defense, Chris Birchall, Densill Theobald, Aurtis Whitley and Brent Rahim in the middle with Stern John and Jason Scotland up front. The bench will have Shaka Hislop, Atiba Charles, Anton Pierre, Collin Samuel, Kenwyne Jones, Cornell Glen and Silvio Spann.
"I think we have prepared well for the game and the whole tournament as a matter of fact," defender Avery John told TTFF Media. "All the guys want to do well because they know aside from the World Cup qualifiers, a lot is also at stake in this Gold Cup and it's been a while since we did well in it. I was not part of the team which reached the 2000 semi-finals but now I can safely say that we look to be ready to do pretty well this time around."
The chance to start is a good bit of news for Scotland who is coming off the disappointing news that his application for a work permit was turned down in Scotland, blocking him from signing a two-year deal with Dundee United. Beenhakker will hold a light session on Wednesday with the players who are not in the start team to face Honduras.
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2005, 04:38:29 PM
Suprise to see Atiba on the bench, but I guess Leo is keeping him for Panama and Colombia, besides he needs to see Gray play and according to sub1.... read above.

Jack                   
Gray    Andrews      Lawrence      Avery
Birchall            Rahim             Theobald
                    Whitley                       
           John              Scotland               

I think its a good line up, however, now that John is captain he will get to play every game even even if he's not performing well, I am suprise here because his work rate and contribution is the worst on the team.

Beenhakker continue to use Theobald on the left, why ? 3 games should show enough that he cant handle it ?? maybe Samuel and Glen will come on and prove him worng.

Birchall should go in his usual spot, right wing, Rahim center and move Whitley in his usual spot as an attackinmg midfielder.

Avery and Gray look good because they over lap and fast enough to fall back...

I think its a good team apart from that.. still would have liked to see Eve play some part.... he's another player who can come on and spark up some fire, but then again Jones and Glen could handle that..

By having good players on the bench will push the ones on the field to do better... besides, we dont want Jones to get big headed, let him get hungry for more it will make him mentally stronger.

Woulda like to see Glenton in action though, sorry he injured.

Sancho need some of Andrews prays, he seems to be carrying that injury to long.

Hope Edwards get better soon, but glad someone else getting a chance.

De bench looks just as strong as de starting team.... maybe stronger.
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 07:14:26 PM
GO T&T

Best of Luck to the warriors
Post by: NC on July 06, 2005, 07:18:24 PM
Predicting T&T 4-o win.
Post by: Brej on July 06, 2005, 07:35:06 PM
glad to see tv6 showin it
Post by: monty on July 06, 2005, 07:41:04 PM
I watching now watching it delayed on the recorder and at the 20th minute. Stern throw away the easiest of sitters yes.
Start off just like Panama game last June
Post by: Strip on July 06, 2005, 07:43:33 PM
birchall wit ah lugers!!!!
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 07:43:55 PM
GOAL  Birchall
Post by: Brej on July 06, 2005, 07:44:57 PM
WHAT A GOAL BY BIRCHALL!!!
Post by: monty on July 06, 2005, 07:45:12 PM
what de mudda??? That is a beauty boy!
Post by: Mr Mc on July 06, 2005, 07:47:45 PM
27 min » Trinidad and Tobago scores! Christopher Birchall gets himself a great goal from almost 30 metres.

www.goldcup.org
Post by: Mr Mc on July 06, 2005, 07:54:22 PM
36 min » Trinidad is playing this game with intelligence, keeping possesion of the ball and defending well.
33 min » Ramirez tryes to equalize with a shot that goes out of play
31 min » Maynor Figeroa attempts a shot but fails to make a good connection with the ball and drags the effort well wide.
29 min » Honduras responds with an excelent chance inside the box but the ball goes out of bounce.
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 07:57:20 PM
Jack has earned his place in goal so far

Post by: Mr Mc on July 06, 2005, 08:02:17 PM
44 min » Honduras is dominating the game now. Trinidad does not seem to respond.
43 min » Honduras scores! free kick well executed by Maynor Figueroa.
40 min » Garcia almost tie the game with a great shot for Honduras but the goalkeeper from Trinidad saves it.
39 min » Turcios makes a great shot but the ball is intercepted by a defender from Trinidad.
Post by: trinimuse on July 06, 2005, 08:05:15 PM
Birchall vex wid dat Honduras goal boy, wha' happen wid de wall? what is Scotland doing?  It aint look like he in de game at all, we need a midfield spark, an' somebody better man mark dat Honduran left winger... we could still win dis----Glen for Scotland...
Post by: Feliziano on July 06, 2005, 08:12:34 PM
Halftime
The team seems unbalanced in my opinion.Overall i'm not that impressed right now,we can't even work the ball out of the back after we break up an attack.Apparently Jack doesn't know how to start a counter-attack,look and see how long he holds unto the ball when he has it.
Withough changing the formation I would say take Theobold and put him in the centre with Birchall(good goal by the way),sub Rahim and Seaton or whatever name on he Visa,then bring on Glen on the left and try out Samuel on the right.Also Cyd Gray just ent cutting it on this level,so lets hope we see Atiba Charles or Anton Pierre playing right back.
Come on T&T!!!!
Post by: royal on July 06, 2005, 08:12:47 PM
Fellas Theobold can't play that position,Stern refuse to take a shot and when he did he threw away a sitter.Our defenders headind balls down instead of up,Rahim playing....well let's say not well.Beautiful goal by Birchall though after a nice build up.Cyd gray ain't ready.
Must have some changes in second half.
Post by: Feliziano on July 06, 2005, 08:17:40 PM
we midfield just non-existent...dem fellas not even making runs off the ball,they can't even make a 5 yard pass properly.
Stern and Scotland playing too far aprt from each other if the plan is to play 'big & small" up front
This is just disappointing after all the hype after the Panama and Mexico games.Too bad Eve not in the 18..he woulda done a good job on the right for us.
Post by: Touches on July 06, 2005, 08:19:59 PM
ALyuh see why I say bench Stern tail.

He also breaks from the free kick and jump over the ball..........that is a no no you hadda take one for the team.

Rahim as I said does nothing for this side, Cyd trying but he eating some beat and the lil dunceeness taking over.

Theobold is being wasted on the left per usual.

Take off Cyd and Rahim.....Put Charles and Spann. Shift Birchall to the wing

in the 60th Take off Stern and put on Glenn.

Time for the long ball and trap and screen shit to done. Take ball and run at them.

Post by: real madness on July 06, 2005, 08:26:59 PM
The same Cyd Gray as usual..nothing changed.  He need to go back to Tobago and see if he could pass the SEA exam again.
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 08:36:33 PM
LOL

Samuel warming up... I hope is for Stern
Post by: Mr Mc on July 06, 2005, 08:37:30 PM
60 min » Garcia makes a terrific shot but Kelvin Jack saves it again for Trinidad.
58 min » Nuñez has had a lively start to the second period and after ghosting past two defenders on the left flank he created some danger in Trinidad territory.
55 min » Honduras are really pushing forward in search of a second goal and Garcia almost comes close to score with a great shot. 
53 min » Yellow card for Emery John from Trinidad for a hard foul on Nuñez
50 min » Both teams are playing mostly in midfield right now.
48 min » Birchall tryes to put his team ahead in the scoreboard with a shot that goes wide over the right side.
46 min » Substitution in Honduras, Nuñez replaces Ramirez.
46 min » Honduras get the second half under way.
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 08:50:06 PM
The ref a little one sided with the cards
Post by: NC on July 06, 2005, 08:50:35 PM
Cannot believe that we do not have a capable forward to replace Stern.
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 08:55:15 PM
What a shot by samuel
 Frigging goalie faking...
Post by: monty on July 06, 2005, 08:57:10 PM
another nice shot.. at least they taking some long range shots
allyuh used the toilet picture with the shit stains last time for Stern... i afraid to see what image will be posted after this game
Post by: NC on July 06, 2005, 09:00:04 PM
Is this the same team that played against Mexico?  Don Leo looks disappointed.
Post by: jaffa on July 06, 2005, 09:03:45 PM
Can someone update score and minutes in?
Post by: Andre on July 06, 2005, 09:06:12 PM
1-1 @ 90

livescore.com
Post by: samo on July 06, 2005, 09:09:18 PM
GAme done 1-1.. I am a little disappointed. The team played well in spurts but was not as dominating as I thought they should be.. I can only say it could be a lack of real match practice..
Post by: monty on July 06, 2005, 09:12:16 PM
I must commend Jack and Birchall... really put in the best efforts for our side
Stern too lazy and looking for foul and doing nothing (seems to be the norm now). The side did not look as cohesive as the previous games. Too many loose balls and errant passes. Not good for a side that is in the midst of WCQ.

I expect them to improve over the course of the tournament tho....
Post by: Jayerson on July 06, 2005, 09:18:54 PM
I'm really disappointed, they looked good in spurts, some of the players looked a bit over their heads, Theobold & Rahim in particular. Glen should have started the game, Lord give me strength. I could understand Stern John starting but when he's playing like the way he is, there must be another viable option somewhere out there. What can I say, onward to Saturday.
Post by: Marcos on July 06, 2005, 09:19:10 PM
Very disappointing
Post by: Feliziano on July 06, 2005, 09:21:18 PM
yeah they looked like they lacked some match fitness..Dem boys like they went backwards in a way...i wonder if this tournament is to get rid of them fellas who not up to scratch.People like Gray,Rahim and Whitley should be nowhere near our national team.I sure it have better in the PFL.
If you look when Samuel take that shot,the play before that when he had the ball in the same area,he had to pass the ball backward and then the play was dead,so i guess he get fed up and went forward cause he know he ent getting no help.Then everytime we get the ball in a decent postion Mr.Stern John refuses to even show himself for a pass,no wonder why the play keeps breaking down.
is best we try a 4-3-3 with Hislop,Charles,Andrews,Lawrence,Sancho,Theobold,Birchall,Spann,Samuel,Stern and Jones ,with Glen and Scotland coming off the ben
Post by: LICKS4SO on July 06, 2005, 09:24:23 PM
YEAH...WE DID NOT LOOK GOOD...BUT WE GET AH POINT AND THAT MATTERS....SATURDAY WE GO LOOK BETTER
WHO KNOW AH OBEAH MAN?....GIVE HIM STERN NAME AND HE JOCKEY
Post by: Feliziano on July 06, 2005, 09:26:14 PM
YEAH...WE DID NOT LOOK GOOD...BUT WE GET AH POINT AND THAT MATTERS....SATURDAY WE GO LOOK BETTER
WHO KNOW AH OBEAH MAN?....GIVE HIM STERN NAME AND HE JOCKEY

LOL
we shoulda had 3 points if Stern didn't miss that sitter..we under pressure to make out the group now since Panama beat Colombia.
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2005, 09:27:47 PM
Look for stats tomorrow....

Not impress with Theobald on the left, Stern and Rahim...

Stern John was a big let down.... had nothing special and should not be captain as he cry down the players instead of lifting them...

Whitlley was also not to impressive....

However, Rahim did look ok in the second half.

Samuel MUST start.....

See u soon....

Atleast we tie... could have been worst.
Post by: soccerdaddy on July 06, 2005, 09:39:22 PM
Stern is a big time international and breaking up the walll before shot take and jumping over the ball. What arseness is this? Then he looking back like he vex goal score. Ah feel that might be the shortest stint of a trini captain. Bench for he next game in my book.

Admittedly they would have scored otherwise if that free kick didn't score, but we may have had a little more fight in the second half. I cah believe not having yorke and carlos make such a big difference. Birchie had a very good showing though. One point still better than none. We have to beat panama bad saturday. or just beat dem.

Spann to get a run instead of thoeobald. Atiba back in for gray. I doh know what beenie want to do with stern. Jack save he spot for next game.
Post by: FireBrand on July 06, 2005, 09:53:46 PM
Is it me, or do these Latin American teams seem faster and more skillful than our boys? I know we have a different style of play, but these Latin teams seem to pass better, maintain possession, produce less errors and are more aggressive. They make us look less confident and disorganized.
Apart from the few good chances we had at scoring I was not pleased with our performance. We did not look like the team that just came up against Panama and Mexico. I believe Leo will go back to the drawing board and work out the kinks. Anyway, looking forward to Saturday...Go Warriors!!!!
Post by: Touches on July 06, 2005, 10:02:21 PM
ALyuh now see when I give certain players a rank in my match report I does be correct in my assessment.

Jack and Birchall......handle it.

Tallest.......handle it

The rest of the side real play mess.

Theobold now have 5 games under he belt on the left side and do nuttin
Whitley  now have 5 games under he belt in the middle.....nuttin
Rahim gets another card for the second game in a row......also nuttin

Scotland one shot in the first half and then......nuttin

Avery play decent

Andrews look shakey but he hold out

Cyd......... oh lorse, Cyd get some sex in he tail, he run hard but he ent ready.

Samuel.shoulda shootinstead of cut back and look for foul and the one shot he let rip make the keeper dislocate he shoulder, shoulda do that some more.

Kenywne.....feel he is a star boy, trying to emulate stern and fall down.

We play like some lil bitches, letting Honduras run at us and rough us up. The stroke around in the back ent wukking and the long ball to we abortionist ent helping.

We ent get a cross from either flank for our fwds to head. We ent get any meaningful attack either. Any notion of a counter get stopped  because we knocking the ball back to the mid instead of the fwd going to goal.

lastly our dear beloved captain.....I really want to see who coming and defend him for that throw way he put down.

see dis here

(http://www.ecodayspa.com/yoga/images/b-meditationbench.jpg)

He should do the honourable and sit heself on that and say ...........COACH, give someone else a chance, I pulling stones too long now. I am not worthy of a starting place.

Post by: lil damo on July 06, 2005, 10:11:24 PM
Disappointed with this result. We played poorly and Stern and theobald need to ride the pine next game. Rahim had a decent second half so I would keep him for sat. game.

Would like to see Samuel in for Theobald on the left and Spann in for Whitley or Seaton, which ever name he going by this week. Cyd Grey should be replaced by Atiba Charles. Finally, I would revamp the forwards and START Jones and Glenn on Sat.

Of course almighty Stern will not get dropped so I would start Stern and Glen next game. Either way the team needs changes for Sat.
Post by: dcs on July 06, 2005, 10:28:40 PM

That pitch was lightening fast. For a while I was looking to see if it was astroturf.  It highlighted our less than perfrect control and passing but at the same time it kinda killed alot of Honduran attacks down the flank that just went out long.

It have a long break between now and Saturday for them to watch tapes of the game and adapt some things.
Shoot the damn ball....like they thinking twice before shooting except for Birchall who ready to fire
Run at the other team....that is the best way for us to create chances.
If the ball end up back by the keeper who have to boom kick consider that a failed play so try to move the ball forward and not just hold it hold it waiting on the next team to pressure you and you just passing back.

We hadda do better winning 50-50 balls and stop escorting players.  Fitness might be the reason.

Anyway, getting a point is ok for now.  At least we still earn a point even with the experiments.
Post by: FireBrand on July 06, 2005, 10:33:37 PM
Jack did save a good game, however he parries the ball a lot and a loafing striker will make him pay. the general consensus is "Stern needs to be benched"! Glen should be given his place. If Stern had scored that sitter it would have made the difference in the outcome of the game. We need a competent forward line. We are very inconsistent up front. Maybe Glen should start, but can't say who should be up there with him. We simply do not have prolific goal scoring forwards.
Birchall works and is an asset to the Warriors. Again, his goal was a beauty!
Post by: Touches on July 06, 2005, 10:47:39 PM
I notice Jack like to Punch shots instead of holding......He did it against Panama and against Mexico.

This is his style but I feel we go pay for one of them punches.

Other than that he kept a good game I doe mind if he in the post Sat again.

Post by: Savannah boy on July 06, 2005, 11:11:36 PM
Touches, where dat bench come from?  Allyuh men kicksy yes. Stern go cost we GC, WCQ all kinda thing while we wait for him to recapture his form.
Post by: Marcos on July 07, 2005, 05:17:23 AM
We should look at some positives.
Bircgall shot was amazing.
A BULLET IN D BEEHIVE!!!
Post by: Tongue on July 07, 2005, 07:09:58 AM
Marcos...is Jep ness boss....not BEEhive... ;D
Post by: oconnorg on July 07, 2005, 08:09:39 AM
At least he get de ness part rite.!!