General => General Discussion => Topic started by: E-man on November 02, 2006, 03:09:58 PM

Title: Have you ever been called a TriTob?
Post by: E-man on November 02, 2006, 03:09:58 PM
I'm now reading an article on the upcoming Austria game and see the headline say "TriTobs" Never heard that reference before so I googled (http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rls=RNWE,RNWE:2004-25,RNWE:en&q=tritobs) it - seems to be just a German language thing. The only pages that came up are in German. I never heard it used until now. Didn't notice the term used at all during the World Cup.

Title: Re: Have you ever been called a TriTob?
Post by: DeSoWa on November 02, 2006, 03:29:58 PM
Been called many names in my life, but never ah "TriTobs"  ;D da sound like some tribe from Africa  :rotfl:

Post by: TriniCana on November 02, 2006, 04:05:54 PM
wha dey neck is dat

me ain't know if tur cuss dey person or tur blush :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on November 02, 2006, 05:18:57 PM
E-Mann, people can call me any ting, as long as day ent call me "late for Supper"  ;D ;D ;D ;D
ya kno I is ah man who like he food ;) ;)
Post by: E-man on November 02, 2006, 05:32:00 PM
I was digging a little further. The contraction (of Trinidad and Tobago) looks like it came from a guy who bet on T&T during the Sweden game. On this page (http://www.allesaussersport.de/archiv/2006/06/10/england-%E2%80%93-paraguay/) in the comments it says:

Comment by Spundflasche Sat, 10 Jun 2006, 19:58
Yeah! Just won 3 Euros. I'll mark the occasion to create a nicer nickname than "Trinis" and will call the boys "TriTobs" from now. (pronounced similar to the soda) We'll see how many sports journalists take my lead.

Looks like a few did, but google only turns up about 3 pages. I guess he means this particular fizzy drink:

(http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B000A42TMS.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V1122386402_.jpg)

Post by: DeSoWa on November 02, 2006, 05:46:19 PM
see how ting does start  ;D next ting dey break it down and jus start calling us Trobs  :rotfl:

Post by: dcs on January 22, 2007, 01:02:22 PM
Have mercy.

Ok...yuh think the people from the island of Tobago would be happier if we were referred to as  "Tritobs" instead of "trinis" ?   :-\

whey storebay....Baygo Boy...any people from the island of tobago have anything to say?

I ain't looking for an argument...just some middle ground.
Post by: pecan on January 22, 2007, 01:19:57 PM

dis beginning to look like ppl in identidy crisis .... steupss