Sports => Football => Topic started by: LICKS4SO on July 06, 2005, 02:28:30 PM

Title: Maradona Thread
Post by: LICKS4SO on July 06, 2005, 02:28:30 PM
MARADONNA IS THE BEST...HERE's WHY

http://www.muchosucko.com/video-cananyofyoudothiswithaball.html

CUT AND PASTE.....I DUNNO HOW TO HYPERTEXT THE LINK.

Title: Re: MARADONNA IS THE BEST...HERE's WHY
Post by: FF on July 06, 2005, 02:39:12 PM

I eh want to stir up no hornets nest but before yuh make up yuh mind... try and get a copy of "Pele Eterno". You can get a download via bit torrent
Post by: LICKS4SO on July 06, 2005, 02:44:58 PM
YOU DO THAT WITH YA LACES UNTIED!!!
Post by: bada on July 06, 2005, 06:59:18 PM
Very impressive!! But yuh notice how much of a left footed player he is...he hardly use his right at all. Mind you, a brilliant left foot though.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 08, 2005, 09:14:52 AM

STEUPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That make Maradonna the best?

We use to do that during Lunch time at school. Matter of fact besides the laces untied....I do that while eating ah doubles

This fella do that and more

http://video.premiumtv.co.uk/rangersfc/video/mrwoo_hi.wmv

Pele ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maradonna is ah distant second.

Maradonna watch and learn from Pele...Pele aint learn nothing from Maradonna. 

Watch Pele DVD.
Post by: Coop's on July 08, 2005, 11:26:25 AM

STEUPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That make Maradonna the best?

We use to do that during Lunch time at school. Matter of fact besides the laces untied....I do that while eating ah doubles

This fella do that and more

http://video.premiumtv.co.uk/rangersfc/video/mrwoo_hi.wmv

Pele ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maradonna is ah distant second.

Maradonna watch and learn from Pele...Pele aint learn nothing from Maradonna. 

Watch Pele DVD.
This is one topic i don't argue about,i don't go by what anyone tells me i deal with what i've seen,i've actually seen both these players in action many times and Pele personally when he came to T&T,this is just my opinion Pele is a more complete player than Maradona,Pele would be my pick if i had to choose.
   But i must say for skills i'll go with Mr Woo it's the best i've seen,this guy is incredible is like he took everything players do and put it together.
Post by: jusme on July 08, 2005, 12:38:25 PM
This is one topic i don't argue about,i don't go by what anyone tells me i deal with what i've seen,i've actually seen both these players in action many times and Pele personally when he came to T&T,this is just my opinion Pele is a more complete player than Maradona,Pele would be my pick if i had to choose.
   But i must say for skills i'll go with Mr Woo it's the best i've seen,this guy is incredible is like he took everything players do and put it together.

good to know that you are making a judgement based on actual gameplay that you have seen.   All the tricks in the world, laces tied or untied, doh say anything about play on the field.  Watching highlight films could never replace watching a full 90 minutes either.
Title: maradona (ah likkle entertainment)
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 21, 2007, 11:49:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbaa2oTazMU                               http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDOCjJRmnOM
Title: Re: maradona (ah likkle entertainment)
Post by: kentsoulman on July 22, 2007, 08:12:12 PM
Even as an Englishman, I have to admit the guys got class.

I see in the first clip he's advertising Mars. Funny, that. I always thought he pushed Coke :rotfl:
Post by: truetrini on July 23, 2007, 07:36:48 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hHhaHSaTlQ&mode=related&search=
Post by: dcs on July 23, 2007, 10:20:30 AM
I wish dem young players would skip tackles instead of dis drop bawl and roll shyte.
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 23, 2007, 10:30:53 AM
I wish dem young players would skip tackles instead of dis drop bawl and roll shyte.
that is wuh they have to de when they know they goin and lose de ball,but diego was so superior he take he tackle, stumble and keep goin.
Post by: Texastrini on July 24, 2007, 11:47:20 AM
diego is the greatest yes
Post by: Peong on July 24, 2007, 12:16:01 PM
The jump-kick in de Bilbao keeper chest was brutal.
Title: Maradona..Maradona..Maradona
Post by: Filho on October 13, 2007, 02:27:53 PM
Most highlights of Il Grande Diego are of shooting, and dribbling..but what a sweet video of his amazing passing...Sketchy music but this will bring back memories and highlight an aspect of his game that everyone knows, but hardly gets props in the highlight reels...I watched this with my mouth wide open. What a boss...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--ACUzCCza8&mode=related&search=
Title: Re: Maradona..Maradona..Maradona
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 13, 2007, 02:54:15 PM
Wow. That little backheel at 2:43 past two men was pure cheek and almost downright rude. A lot of those passes were through heavy traffic under pressure. One thing Maradonna did beautifully was use not just balance but flexibilty to hit the ball with his body in completely unorthodox positions turned away from his target. It was near impossible to predict what he would do with the ball at his feet. 
Post by: freakazoid on October 13, 2007, 03:12:30 PM
yeah nice vid really overlooked that part of his game  but i can understand y i never saw  those great passes until now
is because they  rarely resulted in goals.
but was some really deft and accurate passes

i wouldnt be surprised if messi has seen 90% of the maradonna vids and clips available

and seen them over and over again
Post by: kounty on October 13, 2007, 10:13:47 PM
the fatman really was the Einstein of the football field.  He understand space and people relative speed like no other player could.  He know where to put the ball so that 3 men all rushin for it at the top speed, he know beforehand his player going and get it..whereas us lesser mortals thinkin' no way his man going and get that.  That is e=mc^2 of the football field - special relativity.
plus that man get even more props in my book, for being so great..and then showin that he is a mortal man too, and he had he weakness, and he fall down too....mortal man, jus like me...but a genius on the football field.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 14, 2007, 12:32:44 AM
diego was truly de boss on de field,forget de drama associated with him off de field,de man is ah legend.ah legend.zidane,ronaldinho,no way no how them could compare,they are good,they better than good they great,but diego is them daddy.
Post by: Ngozi on October 14, 2007, 02:51:08 AM
What a baller ..what a f**king baller......amazing
Post by: JDB on October 14, 2007, 04:35:01 AM
It had a thread on here recently where man was saying that Maradona wasn't that good and that Zidane this and Ronaldinho that and I just stay out of it.

Maradona and Pele is the only argument. Everything else is not even debatable.
Post by: Filho on October 14, 2007, 06:59:56 AM
It had a thread on here recently where man was saying that Maradona wasn't that good and that Zidane this and Ronaldinho that and I just stay out of it.

Maradona and Pele is the only argument. Everything else is not even debatable.

Hoss. That was me and noone was saying Diego wasn't that good. Anytime someone compars someone to Diego people always choose to think of it negatively, as in putting down Diego instead of just bigging up the others. Dais allyuh. In any case, why would I post this if I thought Diego wasn't that good. Lewwe leave that debate were it was and for some other thread. Let's try and keep this a pure Maradona appreciation thread  ;D :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on October 14, 2007, 12:22:05 PM
Let's try and keep this a pure Maradona appreciation thread  ;D :beermug:
Great player...

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/f/f7/Hand_of_God_goal.jpg/445px-Hand_of_God_goal.jpg)
Post by: dinho on October 14, 2007, 12:32:37 PM
i eh see him make a pass with de right foot yet...

:)
Post by: Touches on October 15, 2007, 06:50:24 AM
At min 6:06 he cyap a tall man with a chest trap.... :o

Pure skill
Post by: kiffysmooth on October 15, 2007, 08:25:24 AM

Thank yuh Omar. I torte is was jes me who recognize de man one footed bad bad.  Das why meh dont rate him like de rest ah brodders.  Him have lickle talent, but football is ah two footed game.  Some where arong 3 minutes totty five seconds he make ah right foot pass, but de ting look scrappy scrappy scrappy.  Anyway ah guess is whatever works for yuh.  I aint hot like Maradonna but one ting for sure I got two canons.  Left and Right.  Meh dont even know which foot is meh natural and yet meh still lickle clinical.
Post by: dinho on October 15, 2007, 08:34:16 AM

Thank yuh Omar. I torte is was jes me who recognize de man one footed bad bad.  Das why meh dont rate him like de rest ah brodders.  Him have lickle talent, but football is ah two footed game.  Some where arong 3 minutes totty five seconds he make ah right foot pass, but de ting look scrappy scrappy scrappy.  Anyway ah guess is whatever works for yuh.  I aint hot like Maradonna but one ting for sure I got two canons.  Left and Right.  Meh dont even know which foot is meh natural and yet meh still lickle clinical.

woy, hold on dey pardnah! i eh boarding that maradona-bashing train with you at all..

de man one-footed bad yes, but like rivaldo that one foot better than most men two foot and hands too.. (hence reason for smiley face)

i rate him as one of de best ever, and i give him his props, but in that clip de right foot was definitely for standing only, and nuff times i see him run around it to get onto de left...

nice clip though..

Post by: kiffysmooth on October 15, 2007, 08:43:08 AM
Omar....me aint bashing de man.  Him good.  I say de man got talent.  He magical.  BUT him still one footed bad bad.  Das why I dont rate him as others would. 
Post by: kicker on October 15, 2007, 09:31:08 AM
Omar....me aint bashing de man.  Him good.  I say de man got talent.  He magical.  BUT him still one footed bad bad.  Das why I dont rate him as others would. 

Like Omar said, his one foot was better than many others' 2 feet....

Question to ask yourself is- How did his "one footedness" hamper him? bcuz to me, it didn't really seem to.
Post by: Tallman on October 15, 2007, 11:05:15 AM

Question to ask yourself is- How did his "one footedness" hamper him? bcuz to me, it didn't really seem to.

From Lounging with Leonson Lewis (http://www.thewarriornation.com/content/view/90/36/):

WN: Rohan Pirali asks “Leo I played against you in the days of Santos vs Bionic Bunch. As a player you could only play with your left foot, you virtually never used your right. As a coach for kids today, how important is it for kids to use both feet?”
LEONSON: It’s important, but not totally important. The best coaches would tell you that one good foot is better than two mediocre feet. One foot that is extraordinary is better than two normal feet. But as a coach, you still want to encourage kids to use both feet, at least to be able to make a pass, or trap, but if you have a player with a left foot like Leroy Spann, something out of the ordinary, someone with a foot like a hand, why worry about another player with two mediocre feet? I hope I have answered his question and at the same time hit him a little bit. Leave me with my friggin one foot [laughs].
Post by: Midknight on October 15, 2007, 11:40:10 AM
Ah have to say even as a Brazilian fan and a confirmed Argetina hater, this is the part of the game where ah give him win over Pele anyday. Too bad Argentina didn't have strikers like Pele to receive dem caviar Primadonna use to serve up :devil:
Post by: Green Beret on October 15, 2007, 03:45:21 PM

From Lounging with Leonson Lewis (http://www.thewarriornation.com/content/view/90/36/):

WN: Rohan Pirali asks “Leo I played against you in the days of Santos vs Bionic Bunch. As a player you could only play with your left foot, you virtually never used your right. As a coach for kids today, how important is it for kids to use both feet?”
LEONSON: It’s important, but not totally important. The best coaches would tell you that one good foot is better than two mediocre feet. One foot that is extraordinary is better than two normal feet. But as a coach, you still want to encourage kids to use both feet, at least to be able to make a pass, or trap, but if you have a player with a left foot like Leroy Spann, something out of the ordinary, someone with a foot like a hand, why worry about another player with two mediocre feet? I hope I have answered his question and at the same time hit him a little bit. Leave me with my friggin one foot [laughs].

That Leonson Lewis fella is a genious. Think of all the so-called great 2-footed players who cannot even wash Diego's jock-strap. It just would have been UNFAIR, for him to have both feet. Can you imagine???
Post by: Observer on October 15, 2007, 04:28:19 PM
You know who I really admired for his passing was Valderama. Recently I watched the WC 94 qualification against Argentina. Talk about vision.
Post by: jai john on October 15, 2007, 04:48:54 PM
You know who I really admired for his passing was Valderama. Recently I watched the WC 94 qualification against Argentina. Talk about vision.

....and how many left footed passes have you seen him make ? De man was good ....could screen and pass .....and still looks young. He is my ideal coach for T&T senior team ...think of soca and style with a flamboyant coach like Pibe ...opens a lot of doors for our players and will get us to realise football is not about two linesmen and air traffic control !
Post by: Observer on October 15, 2007, 05:36:49 PM

....and how many left footed passes have you seen him make ? De man was good ....could screen and pass .....and still looks young. He is my ideal coach for T&T senior team ...think of soca and style with a flamboyant coach like Pibe ...opens a lot of doors for our players and will get us to realise football is not about two linesmen and air traffic control !

What people don't realize is that Diego could use his right foot, He screened with it, passed with it and he did shoot with it. But like many he simply had little use for it unless needed  ;D
Post by: palos on October 15, 2007, 05:42:12 PM

Has Valderama coached anyone?  Any level of success?  If not, what makes you think he would be an "ideal coach" for T&T?  Because he used to play that way?  Wenger used to play football so in he playing days?
Post by: jai john on October 16, 2007, 05:03:41 PM

Has Valderama coached anyone?  Any level of success?  If not, what makes you think he would be an "ideal coach" for T&T?  Because he used to play that way?  Wenger used to play football so in he playing days?

Let me list some of the reasons why I like him as a candidate...I wont comment on the fact that he has not coached anyone .....fellas like Klinsman, Becks, etc, would prove my point ..also I find it strange that you did not protest Carrington's appointment to the nationak team ...

1. His football  style ....if you have ever seen him play you would know that he was always in charge on the field and had very good positional awareness...a natural leader and coach on the field
2. His image ...he is immensely popular, especially in our hemisphere and would increase the profile of the team...we would get celebrity status .....similar to the effect that Gullit had on Chelsea.
3. He knows football and has played professionally in Latrin America and the USA....our most formidable opponent when WC qualifying time approaches
4. He is very aware of T&T's football and gave us a good chance of qualifying last time ...when we did !
5. We need a coach who can command the respect of our professionals and he does that ...
6. We would certainly attract more competitive teams for practice games to help in our build up if it was known that someone of his profile was at the helm..
Just some points that I have considered in making a pitch for Valderrama.
Title: Diego Maradona Thread
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 17, 2008, 04:20:57 PM
Maradona: I would coach Argentina
(Reuters) Friday 17 October 2008

Diego Maradona said on Friday he would like to coach Argentina following the surprise resignation of Alfio Basile the previous day.

"I would be really delighted, who wouldn't, to coach the national team," he said in a telephone interview when asked if he would like a chance. "I am completely willing and at the disposal of the Argentina team."

Maradona has appeared as an outsider in the race to replace Basile, with Miguel Angel Russo, Sergio Batista, Diego Simeone and Carlos Bianchi seen as the clear favourites.

The former captain appears more likely to be given an assistant or advisory role, especially if Batista, his team mate in the 1986 FIFA World Cup™-winning side, is given the job.

Jose Luis Brown, a defender in 1986 and coach of the under-17 side, may also be given a role in a Batista-led team.

"Batista and Brown have more experience than me," said Maradona, who had two brief stints as a coach in the early 1990s with provincial club Deportivo Mandiyu and then Racing Club.

Maradona said he was taken aback by Basile's resignation which followed a run of indifferent performances and results this year.

"I was surprised and I'm sorry about it. I think the situation could have been turned around," he said. "You reach a moment when you don't get the results and the confidence drops. This means the team loses it's strongest points, which are it's passing, playing one-twos and enjoying the game."

Basile quit one day after Argentina lost 1-0 to Chile in a South Africa 2010  qualifier, their only defeat so far this year and their first against their neighbours since 1973.

Title: Re: Maradona: I would coach Argentina
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 17, 2008, 04:25:22 PM
as a huge argentina supporter and maradona de best player ever (in my book),i eh tink he will make ah good coach.ah good motivator,yes.
Post by: sammy on October 17, 2008, 04:48:32 PM
as a huge argentina supporter and maradona de best player ever (in my book),i eh tink he will make ah good coach.ah good motivator,yes.

i not an Argentina supporter, but big side is big side and they suppose to be doing better than that. It would be interesting to see him coaching the side, but how stable is he?
Post by: Deeks on October 17, 2008, 04:55:45 PM
He should be given the opportunity. I don't see why not? Please guys, don't say great players don't make good coaches. Give him the opportunity to at least fail.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on October 17, 2008, 11:30:05 PM
but how stable is he?

Good point sammy....ah would say he more stable than d jackass Piccio on this site... ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 18, 2008, 07:28:47 AM
Maradon is too subjective with his liking for players.  He would need a serious neutralizer around him, to preserve some objeective balance.  He's been more of an ambassado than in the mix of things, when it comes to the game.  He is not ready to take such a role, in my opinion.
Post by: vapotrini on October 18, 2008, 11:38:38 AM
Loved the guy on the field but no way in the world I want him to coach Argentina. For starters, his daughter is going out with Aguerro, for that reason alone I wouldn't put him in - conflict of interest.

I hope the youth coach gets the job, it's looking like he might. 
Post by: asylumseeker on October 18, 2008, 12:52:26 PM
Loved the guy on the field but no way in the world I want him to coach Argentina. For starters, his daughter is going out with Aguerro, for that reason alone I wouldn't put him in - conflict of interest. I hope the youth coach gets the job, it's looking like he might. 

Tough sell. How do you feel about fathers coaching sons? This factor won't be the disqualifying factor.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 18, 2008, 12:54:44 PM
Maradon is too subjective with his liking for players.  He would need a serious neutralizer around him, to preserve some objeective balance.  He's been more of an ambassado than in the mix of things, when it comes to the game.  He is not ready to take such a role, in my opinion.

Good talk, although we could debate what constitutes subjective. If he shows up at Viamonte with Batista, he'll probably still need a neutralizer.
Post by: Dutty on October 18, 2008, 01:00:43 PM

Free cocaine is ah hell of a motivator for any team oui
Post by: vapotrini on October 18, 2008, 09:06:56 PM
Loved the guy on the field but no way in the world I want him to coach Argentina. For starters, his daughter is going out with Aguerro, for that reason alone I wouldn't put him in - conflict of interest. I hope the youth coach gets the job, it's looking like he might. 

Tough sell. How do you feel about fathers coaching sons? This factor won't be the disqualifying factor.

Not to me it isn't. He has already been quoted as saying how Aguerro is better than Messi... that tells me everything I need to know about his views. Besides, who has he coached before? You're gonna let some guy with next to no coaching experience coach your national squad because of his past exploits on the field? I for one think that's crazy. I'd much rather someone with an established background running my side.
Post by: WestCoast on October 28, 2008, 02:45:44 PM
It's Official
the commentators of Jason and Carlos game say so ;)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 28, 2008, 03:22:05 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=586727&sec=worldcup2010&cc=5901
Post by: Filho on October 28, 2008, 03:28:21 PM
How is Mourinho going to deal with the fact that there is now a coach that is more famous than him  :-\
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 03:33:41 PM
How is Mourinho going to deal with the fact that there is now a coach that is more famous than him  :-\

Maradona wouldnt be able to outfox Mourinho even if Maradona had 11 Messi's lining up for him.
Umm ... on second thoughts, well at least he wouldn't win the mental battle.
Post by: dinho on October 28, 2008, 03:36:22 PM
so if maradona, with zero coaching experience could coach Argentina den who is Latas?
Post by: Filho on October 28, 2008, 03:47:27 PM
so if maradona, with zero coaching experience could coach Argentina den who is Latas?

breds..not that i feel Latas is necessarily the best candidate to coach T&T now...but Latas have more coaching experience than Diego. Plus, he's not a mentally unstable, coke snorting, ego maniac.

on the other hand, a blind orangutan could coach Argentina and they go still beat us...bad
Title: Maradona appointed Argentina Coach
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 03:50:14 PM
Int Football - Maradona appointed Argentina coach
Eurosport - Tue, 28 Oct 21:36:00 2008

Argentinian legend Diego Maradona was named coach of the national side after he came out of a meeting with Argentinian Football Association president Julio Grondona.

More StoriesBasile resigns as Argentina coach
"Diego will be the next coach of the national team," said 1986 World Cup-winning coach Carlos Bilardo, who will be director of football for the national team.

The 48-year-old Maradonna - who almost singlehandedly led Argentina to the 1986 World Cup trophy - won crucial support last week in his bid to become the next Argentina coach when the man charged with finding Alfio Basile's successor threw his weight behind the former Boca Juniors, Napoli and Barcelona.

"I'd like Maradona to be the next coach," said Noray Nakis, the president of the Argentina Football Association selection commission.

Basile resigned a fortnight ago after a World Cup qualifying defeat to Chile which left them in third place after 10 matches, seven points adrift of leaders Paraguay.

Maradona faced competition for the job from Carlos Bianchi, the former coach of Boca Juniors, whom he led to four national league titles, San Lorenzo coach Miguel Angel Russo and Sergio Batista who took the Under-23 squad to Olympic gold in Beijing in August.

AFP
Title: Re: Maradona appointed Argentina Coach
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 04:04:46 PM
If it go keep him sober gr8
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 04:10:03 PM
If it go keep him sober gr8

I don't think the coach is subject to random drug tests.

However, this is an interesting situation. While Im not sure if Maradona has ever been arrested on drug charges - I believe some countries refuse visas to those with convictions/ arrests on their records. How does this bode for Maradona if he does indeed have a history of officially documented drug related offenses?
Post by: weary1969 on October 28, 2008, 04:12:59 PM
Who said anyting bout drug testin? One hopes he will b coachin and not snortin
Post by: Deeks on October 28, 2008, 04:13:41 PM
Good Luck!!! It is your turn now!!!!!!
Post by: Toppa on October 28, 2008, 04:15:49 PM
 :o
Post by: Observer on October 28, 2008, 04:17:39 PM
Right! Lets start the betting pool. How long he lasting.

I say August 2009.
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 04:18:13 PM
Right! Lets start the betting pool. How long he lasting.

I say August 2009.

Until Brasil beat them.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 28, 2008, 10:39:43 PM
Looks like Bilardo will be the neutralizer ... in the first instance at least. The sideline team is likely to be Pedro Troglio, José Luis Brown and maybe Sergio Batista.
Title: Maradona get de wok.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 29, 2008, 07:27:24 AM
Maradona has been appointed coach of the Argentina National Team. .
Title: Re: Maradona get de wok.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 29, 2008, 07:31:14 AM
(http://www.timesonline.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00234/MARADONA-385_234483a.jpg)

Diego Maradona will be confirmed as the new Argentina coach next Tuesday.

The 1986 World Cup-winner says he is on the verge of accepting the job after a meeting with Julio Grondona, the president of Argentinian Football Association (AFA) late last night. Luis Segura, the secretary of the AFA, has since confirmed that Maradona will replace Alfio Basile, who stepped down on October 16 citing personal reasons.

"My first job will be watching the players," Maradona said. "I'll try to talk to them one by one and then work at the training camp in Ezeiza with them.

"I arrived from Georgia at 10am and three hours later I was having a shower to meet Julio. As I was going to the meeting, I thought it was some kind of hidden camera show.

"The direction Julio wants for the national team is the same I have. My job will be watching the players and picking up the ones who are in the best form."

The Argentina squad boasts some of the world's best players, but they are struggling to qualify for the 2010 World Cup captain, having won only one of their past seven qualifying matches to lie third in the South American Zone.

"I'm putting everything aside for this," Maradona added. "There is nothing that can make me look past the national team. Today my path is the national team, my task is to talk to the players and build a solid group. I am sure the guys and Argentinian football will pull through.

"I think we must make the players understand that our shirt is the most important thing, that they cannot exchange money for glory.

"Glory is much more than money. I know they know that, but we must make them remember that every day. We have enough quality to calm the nation. The road to the World Cup is not easy, but I believe in the Argentinian players.

"Everybody wants to play at the World Cup but we must show our traditions and our style on the field."

Meanwhile, Lionel Messi has given his full backing to Maradona's appointment, despite the former Argentina captain calling the Barcelona forward a selfish player earlier this month.

"Those are things that you say at the time," Messi said. "I know Diego appreciates me and I don't hold any grudges. There's no problem. He's a great and I admire him for what he gave to Argentine football."

"I'm optimistic. The generation that won the Olympics is coming up. In 2006, if we had been a bit more fortunate in the (quarter final) with Germany we would have won.

"Argentina has gone too long without winning the World Cup."

Times Online (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/international/article5037458.ece)
Post by: Cantona007 on October 29, 2008, 07:39:19 AM
If true; this can't be good news.  >:(
I can hope for the best though...
Post by: Ngozi on October 29, 2008, 07:42:59 AM
Maradona has been appointed coach of the Argentina National Team. .

Love him as a player not so much as a coach...backward move ....let's see how things unfold
Post by: fari on October 29, 2008, 07:48:22 AM
he will have the players respect (some would say reverence) but how can that translate to results on the field.  time will tell.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 29, 2008, 08:19:11 AM
Wonder what he'll wear to work?

(http://www.lanacion.com.ar/anexos/fotos/99/913499.jpg)
What he wore at Racing (1995)

(http://www.lanacion.com.ar/anexos/fotos/98/913498.jpg)

Post by: Filho on October 29, 2008, 08:47:33 AM
Diego will be alright if he listens to the advice of Bilardo, the man who took Argentina to back to back Wc finals. Maradona just has to motivate the players and take his time and pick up some tactical nous from Bilardo, and slowly incorporate that with his own knowledge as a player and his own pesronality. But he may be better off not trying to do too much at once. Lean on the wiser, more experience heads in the earlies
Post by: Observer on October 29, 2008, 09:17:57 AM
Diego will be alright if he listens to the advice of Bilardo, the man who took Argentina to back to back Wc finals. Maradona just has to motivate the players and take his time and pick up some tactical nous from Bilardo, and slowly incorporate that with his own knowledge as a player and his own pesronality. But he may be better off not trying to do too much at once. Lean on the wiser, more experience heads in the earlies

Interesting he should turn to Bilardo, who he had a falling out with (maybe Bilardo tried to warn him about the drug issues at the time). It will be interesting to see how he approaches the games as Bilardo has been out of football (so to speak) for a while. Compound that with Diego's documented inability to listen and Bilardo's love of defensive football (first).
He has surrounded himself with plenty of experience, all WC winners. After all the old talk, it would be interesting to see how this unfolds. I for one can't wait till they play again
Post by: spideybuff on October 29, 2008, 09:37:13 AM
This provides us with extra motivation to avoid the playoff spots for the World Cup 2010...cause this appointment could very well end up with Argentina coming 5th in Conmebol!!

So Maradona at Argentina, Latas at Trinidad...who say Zizou to replace Domenech next? And isn't Stoichkov coaching Bulgaria too?

Just turn to your most legendary player and hope for the best seems to be the way to go for national teams now...
Title: Maradona is a Coach Now?!
Post by: Ponnoxx on October 29, 2008, 01:11:39 PM
http://www.goal.com/en/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=936809

Maradona New Coach Of Argentina
Football legend Diego Armando Maradona has been appointed as the new coach of the Argentina national team.
Maradona had been in a four-way tussle with Carlos Bianchi, Miguel Angel Russo and Sergio Batista to take over from Alfio Basile, who resigned a fortnight ago after a World Cup qualifying defeat to Chile.

Earlier this evening there was speculation that Maradona may win the race and now it has been confirmed that El Pibe d'Oro has indeed been appointed as the new national team coach of Argentina.

Although many expected one of the three other candidates to be his assistant, the responsibility will be given to Carlos Bilardo, who coached Argentina when Maradona guided them to the 1986 World Cup.
"We just had a meeting, we are happy about what was said for the Argentine national team," stated Maradona.

Although AFA president Julio Grondona has yet to announce it to the press, reports suggest that the official presentation will take place on Thursday the 30th of October, when Maradona turns 48 years old.

"I can't open the present yet, we have to wait because we have to continue to talk," the 1986 World Cup winner affirmed in declarations to radio La Red.

Maradona also stated that he will be the only person in charge to select who plays for the national team: "I will choose the team, I will be the only one to do so. Of course I will be listening to Carlos (Bilardo) in everything, because you can't avoid listening to a man who knows so much," he added.

"I think the project will be exactly how Julio (Grondona) would like it, in what I want, and in what Carlos wants," added Maradona.

When asked who his coaching team will consist of, he said: "I still have to choose my right hand. I have to talk to Checho (Batista) and with Tata Brown. Afterwards we will decide with Carlos."

The former coach of Deportivo Mandiyu and Racing Club also stated that he will take the players who play in the local Argentine competition into consideration: "We have been talking about this, the directors know this very well. When the national team needs it, the directors have to put on the Argentina shirt. With that base we will do well."

Maradona admitted that he has to put a "winning mentality" into the heads of all Argentine players, those who ply their trade in the domestic Argentine competition, as well as those in Europe.

Grondona called Maradona on Tuesday, after "El Diez" arrived from Tiflis, Georgia, and soon he notified him that he would replace Alfio Basile as the new coach of Argentina. Maradona will sign a contract that will expire after the end of the 2010 World Cup qualifiers, of course with an option for an extension, depending on his performance.

Gregory Sica

Title: Re: Maradona is a Coach Now?!
Post by: acb on October 29, 2008, 01:16:26 PM
I thought goal.com articles were banned from being posted on the forum?

lol.
Title: Re: Maradona is a Coach Now?!
Post by: WestCoast on October 29, 2008, 01:22:05 PM
I thought goal.com articles were banned from being posted on the forum?

lol.
I think Boss is spearheading that initiative ;D
Post by: Deeks on October 29, 2008, 03:53:08 PM
Who say Latas coaching in TT?
Post by: Bakes on October 29, 2008, 04:06:04 PM
Int Football - Maradona appointed Argentina coach

My 'hate' has officially crystallized... lol
Post by: giggsy11 on October 29, 2008, 04:35:19 PM
Cah wait for Pele tuh tro in he 2cents on this, yuh know he commin some mess!
Post by: acb on October 29, 2008, 05:50:14 PM

If you feel Rafa used to wilt under Mourinho mind games .... just wait til Pele get hold of Maradona before the Brasil v Argentina clash - Young and Restless South American style!!
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2008, 06:05:13 PM
Omar pass d offerin plate yuh preech dey
Post by: giggsy11 on October 29, 2008, 06:15:10 PM

If you feel Rafa used to wilt under Mourinho mind games .... just wait til Pele get hold of Maradona before the Brasil v Argentina clash - Young and Restless South American style!!

Jus imagine if Pele geh tuh coach Brasil, can yuh imagine wah dey will be like against each other on the sidelines? Dey could charge pay tuh view jus tuh watch dem.
Post by: jai john on October 29, 2008, 07:40:41 PM
Diego touch on ah serious point dere ... the fact that the majority of nationals are playing in Europe and not necessarily playing the south american brand. Maybe its because they leave so young !! Its about a mentality of winning rather than not losing if one looks for the sutle difference.
It is about doing the unthinkable ( in Europe ) that makes South american ball so exciting. The Euro cannot compare in entertainment with the copa libertadores Cup. So i am glad diego realises that the style must be put back to Argentinian ball ...look at the team list ...no way they should lose or draw with teams like chile and peru !! with or without Riquelme !
I see my all time famous defender Jos Luis Brown is in the team ...wayyyy..I remember dat man refusing to come off after he dislocated ( a shoulder) I think ?? ..he made a hole in his shirt and played on !!!!
Diego still looking good in the showboating tournament ...maybe now dem fellas have a coach who bigger dan dem and dey go pull up dey socks.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 29, 2008, 09:45:21 PM
Diego touch on ah serious point dere ... the fact that the majority of nationals are playing in Europe and not necessarily playing the south american brand. Maybe its because they leave so young !! Its about a mentality of winning rather than not losing if one looks for the sutle difference.
It is about doing the unthinkable ( in Europe ) that makes South american ball so exciting. The Euro cannot compare in entertainment with the copa libertadores Cup. So i am glad diego realises that the style must be put back to Argentinian ball ...look at the team list ...no way they should lose or draw with teams like chile and peru !! with or without Riquelme !
I see my all time famous defender Jos Luis Brown is in the team ...wayyyy..I remember dat man refusing to come off after he dislocated ( a shoulder) I think ?? ..he made a hole in his shirt and played on !!!!
Diego still looking good in the showboating tournament ...maybe now dem fellas have a coach who bigger dan dem and dey go pull up dey socks.

yeah brown was my favourite argentine defender, then ruggieri.
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 29, 2008, 11:57:51 PM
...As much as I have a love-hate thing with Diego and a hate-respect-hate thing with his Argentinian compatriots, I would hate to see this turn out to be a photo copy of the Mexico-Hugo Sanchez debacle....But, I like what Giggsy and dem sayin'.  Dunga should let Pele be honourary head coach for the remainder of the WCQ's!  Dat would really be a "get out yuh popcorn" scene.   :D
Post by: asylumseeker on October 30, 2008, 01:37:47 AM
Well forum, the latest word is that neither Brown nor Batista will step up to join Diego. They have declined in favour of continuing with the junior national team. If yuh ask me, while I believe their sincerity in working with the youths, ah feel dem fellas might be operating on a diplomatic mission of self-preservation and career protection. With Brown (U-17s) and Batista (U-23s/20s and Olympic success) dem fellas on a trajectory that could reap success without having to engage with Diego and any potential fallout/damage to their friendship.

De scene is as follows: Bilardo wants to observe play from high in de stands ... so Diego is looking for a right hand man to sit with him on de sideline during the games (Basile had Panadero Diaz and some smokes as his "silent" partners ) ... At the moment, Troglio remains the go to guy for this role. Troglio is the man running Paraguayan outfit Cerro Porteño (the club Geremi used as a bridge to get to Europe) but his allegiance is likely more to Argentina for a couple reasons ... 1) it's Argentina and 2) he only jes geh de wuk after Ardiles geh fired so it might not be hard to walk away from it ... ah think unlike Brown and Batista, he could jump out on de limb on this one because his career path hasn't been as clear/stellar ... this is a step up .... who knows wha could happen ... someone in Argentina might actually want to hire him again.

Meanwhile the crosstalk going on heavy ... Tevez has advised Messi via an interview on Argentine radio ... that he needs to chill out a lil ... during the same session he buss de shot that Maradona needs to think more with his head and less with his heart ... great balls of fire! :rotfl:

I can't see this arrangement wukkin without some therapy sessions. If this doh wuk, Grondona go hadda deal with Bianchi one time.

Anyway, here's de squad Diego mooted last week before he was named as de man ...

Carrizo; Angelleri, Demichelis, Heinze and Papa; Mascherano, Gago and Di María; Messi, Agüero and Tevez.

Form your conclusions accordingly ... buh leh me help stir de fire ... no Zanetti ...

Post by: acb on October 30, 2008, 02:38:54 AM
This piece of maddness called the Maradonian Church Hand of God is taking things a little too far. This is ABSOLUTE MADDNESS.

(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/e7/fullj.c66e425558e051c3035630a9439c0ce6/c66e425558e051c3035630a9439c0ce6-getty-fbl-argentina-maradona-church-birthday.jpg)
Daniel Astilleta poses with his one month old daughter Bianca after she became a member of the Maradonian Church The hand of God, a religion dedicated to the Argentina's greatest ever soccer player Diego Maradona, displays books to sell during their Christmas celebration the night before Maradona's 48th birthday in Buenos Aires on October 29, 2008. A congregation of hundreds gathered at the Hand of God chapel to pay due respect at midnight on the occasion of the new Argentina's national soccer team coach birthday. AFP PHOTO / DANIEL GARCIA (Photo credit should read DANIEL GARCIA/AFP/Getty Images)
Post by: Zeppo on October 30, 2008, 06:23:34 AM
Maradona laughs off inexperience claims

Diego Maradona, expected to be named Argentina coach in the next few days, said he laughed off suggestions he was too inexperienced for the job.

One of the game’s greatest players, and also one of its most troubled and volatile, Maradona is expected to get the job despite having had only two short coaching stints in the mid-1990s totalling 23 games.

“People have spoken a lot about experience but I have had 20 years with the Argentina national side,” said Maradona, who captained his country to World Cup victory in 1986 but was kicked out of the finals in 1994 after failing a doping test.

“So it makes me laugh when they say I’m inexperienced,” added Maradona, who since retiring has fought off drug addiction, alcohol-related liver disease and obesity and at one stage four years ago spent 10 days in intensive care.

(continue) (http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-latammaradona&prov=reuters&type=lgns)
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 30, 2008, 07:25:19 AM

My favourite Argentinian defender is Daniel "Passa-Passa" Passarella!.....Argentina could do with his iron fist right now.  Brazil done qualify!  :devil:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 30, 2008, 08:46:03 AM

My favourite Argentinian defender is Daniel "Passa-Passa" Passarella!.....Argentina could do with his iron fist right now.  Brazil done qualify!  :devil:

passarella was before my time, i have seen highlights of him and he was good from what i saw.  I doh get carried away with highlights because highlights always have the best stuff not when you do real $hit..men like to compare old players using highlights to current players and dat don't make sense.
Post by: giggsy11 on October 30, 2008, 10:12:09 AM

passarella was before my time, i have seen highlights of him and he was good from what i saw.  I doh get carried away with highlights because highlights always have the best stuff not when you do real $hit..men like to compare old players using highlights to current players and dat don't make sense.
\
I here yuh about why yuh doh geh carried away with highlights, so does that mean yuh only rate up players yuh see play for the full 90 on a regular basis?
Post by: Zeppo on October 30, 2008, 12:19:38 PM
Is it Maradona's time?

Maradona is seen as a part of an alternative Argentine holy trinity, along with Che Guevara and folk saint Gauchito Gil.

There is a side to Argentina that is all logical debate, putting the world to rights over a cup of coffee.

But there is another side of wild emotionalism. Football brings both sides to the surface - the profound tactical debates and the desperate commitment of the fans.

Maradona runs on emotion. As a player he was able to turn it into physical energy. As a fan he is similar, taking off his shirt and swinging it round his head as he leads the chanting.

(continue) (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/timvickery/2008/10/is_is_maradonas_time.html)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 30, 2008, 02:29:15 PM

\
I here yuh about why yuh doh geh carried away with highlights, so does that mean yuh only rate up players yuh see play for the full 90 on a regular basis?

yeah, i cant talk about george best and beckenbauer because i never watch dem men play football on ah weekly basis. I can only offer an opinion from maradonna come down, otherwise i will be talking out of my ass.
And doh tell mih go watch  ah 90 minute video about Pele, Charlto, etc. because I could trun round and make ah 90 minute video about hardest and say he is ah boss.... ;D
Post by: palos on October 30, 2008, 03:05:07 PM

IMO....Daniel Passarella is easily Argentina's best ever defender.  Yuh right about highlights doh.  Highlights could never do a man like he justice.  Boss Boss Boss player dat.  Joe Luis Brown is JOKE compared to El Gran Capitan.  One of the best ever defenders in the history of the game.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 30, 2008, 07:58:27 PM

IMO....Daniel Passarella is easily Argentina's best ever defender.  Yuh right about highlights doh.  Highlights could never do a man like he justice.  Boss Boss Boss player dat.  Joe Luis Brown is JOKE compared to El Gran Capitan.  One of the best ever defenders in the history of the game.

the best defender i saw in my time was bergomi, how would you rate passarella against him?
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 30, 2008, 08:13:39 PM

I hear yuh Bredda, you are very well entitled to your own system of evaluation, and I could respect that.  Don't feel I was preachin' to yuh, I was jess droppin a name into the talk.  I really do wish you could have seen the games of that '78 Wold Cup though.  Argentina was by far one of the most impressive and dominant teams (just arkse any Peruvian  :devil:) ever to play in a WC and they don't really get recognized for it.  I know the Final between them and Holland is available on dvd.  I have it on vhs somewhere in meh collection.  But trust when I tell you he was good.....it wasn't based on no highlights.  :beermug: 
Post by: palos on October 30, 2008, 08:54:55 PM

the best defender i saw in my time was bergomi, how would you rate passarella against him?

Breds.....no disrespeck...but ah say Passarella was one of de best ever defenders in de history of de game.  Bergomi not even one of de best defenders in de history of Italy.  And Italy is defence faddah.  Dat is how great...not good Passarella was.
Post by: Deeks on October 30, 2008, 09:01:42 PM
The man is going to be 48 yrs old, when should he coach Argentina, when he reach 58. It long overdue. IF they lose he will just get fired. Just like Hugo. Is that shameful? Not to me! The so called know it all pundits may think so.

Look some people say the best players don't make good coaches. That may be true to a point. We don't know if Pele or Eusebio would have made good coaches. I don't think they were encouraged or they probably never tried hard enough to be coaches. lesser known players tend to be better coaches. That is also true to a point. Alex Ferguson was no great player. Steve McLaren was no great player either. But look at their resumes.
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 30, 2008, 09:22:16 PM

Breds.....no disrespeck...but ah say Passarella was one of de best ever defenders in de history of de game.  Bergomi not even one of de best defenders in de history of Italy.  And Italy is defence faddah.  Dat is how great...not good Passarella was.

.....I think that Argentinian side of the late 70's was a side full of total footballers without even knowing they were playing "total football"  ;D
Pace fuh days and ball movement to make yuh head spin!  "Passa-Passa" was the main reason I was into that team....and I am not even a man that "like" defenders.  The man was  a boss.  A machine.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 31, 2008, 06:18:48 AM
The man is going to be 48 yrs old, when should he coach Argentina, when he reach 58. It long overdue. IF they lose he will just get fired. Just like Hugo. Is that shameful? Not to me! The so called know it all pundits may think so.

Look some people say the best players don't make good coaches. That may be true to a point. We don't know if Pele or Eusebio would have made good coaches. I don't think they were encouraged or they probably never tried hard enough to be coaches. lesser known players tend to be better coaches. That is also true to a point. Alex Ferguson was no great player. Steve McLaren was no great player either. But look at their resumes.

Pele says he's received numerous offers to coach ... even to this day ... who can doubt him? It wouldn't take a stretch of the imagination to believe a Qatari or Saudi try to link him. And national teams too ... he declined to be specific, but he did say not Brazil :)

It doesn't appear he was interested in going the coaching route.
Post by: Observer on October 31, 2008, 07:36:49 AM
Pasarella was by far one of the greatest defenders of the late 70's and 80's. A  footballers, footballer. Technically sound with a thunderous shot, good in the tackle and unstoppable in the air for his height. Talk about score goals from Free kicks and headers. I think he scored quite a few goals for Argentina in his career as a defender.
Very much like Beckenbauer, not as smooth but ruthless in the tackle. Funny you mention Bergomi, he learned his trade next to Pasarella at Inter. He was a student.
Post by: Filho on October 31, 2008, 07:46:06 AM
Pasarella was by far one of the greatest defenders of the late 70's and 80's. A  footballers, footballer. Technically sound with a thunderous shot, good in the tackle and unstoppable in the air for his height. Talk about score goals from Free kicks and headers. I think he scored quite a few goals for Argentina in his career as a defender.
Very much like Beckenbauer, not as smooth but ruthless in the tackle. Funny you mention Bergomi, he learned his trade next to Pasarella at Inter. He was a student.

You say dat like de student doh often surpass de master  ;)

Doh know much about Passarella except whatn little I've seen in highlights and read. but his reputation is of the best of his generation
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 31, 2008, 08:08:19 AM

I am probably biased with bergomi when comparing him to baresi and other great defenders because the first time i saw him play was in the 82 world cup final where he had rummenigge under serious manners...even when cesare maldini was under pressure leading up to the 1998 world cup he recalled bergomi although he was out of the intl scene for about 5 years.  I can't argue that he was better than passarella but i would still rank him as one of the top 5 defenders in the last 25 years.
Post by: Sam on October 31, 2008, 10:11:42 AM
What Does Maradona Mean for Argentina?
By Daniel Altman (NY Times).

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/10/31/what-does-maradona-mean-for-argentina/

Lobby for something long enough, and you just might get it. For years, Diego Maradona said what an honor it would be to coach Argentina’s national team, going so far as to present the position as the logical capstone to his career in soccer. Few Argentines thought the opportunity would arrive so soon.

Though a genius on the pitch – he still shows off his skills in a made-for-television five-a-side league that pits famous veterans of South American national squads against each other – Maradona has little experience as a coach. In his only stint with a major team, he led Racing Club to a record of two wins, three losses and six draws before abandoning the post.
Yet even more worrying to some Argentines is Maradona’s roller-coaster lifestyle, punctuated by frequent medical problems and political pronouncements. If he is indeed confirmed as coach of the national team, in Argentina the decision will seem both controversial and inevitable. Here is what some participants in my weekly pick-up game in Buenos Aires had to say about his potential selection:

“I love Diego, and without having experienced Diego I wouldn’t love the national team as much. But, come on man…”
“Why lie? I knew he wasn’t prepared, that out of 23 matches as a coach he won three, that anyone else would have been better, except Simeone… I don’t care about the result, I believe that the greatest creator of magic should have an opportunity.”

“If you want to give him an opportunity, start him with the under-17s and then move him up.”
“He did a noble and honest job when he was a player. His work as coach will come from the gut, not from the head, and maybe that will be good for the team.”
“Well now, what is the transitive property that means a good player has to be a good coach?”
“Yes, we Argentines have a great confusion with past ‘glory’ (Perón! Perón!).”
“Actually I’d rather see Maradona as president than as coach.”
“Enough beatifying Maradona. My mother is the person I love the most in the world, but that’s no reason to make her coach of the national team or president of the republic.”

“If it goes badly for Maradona, we will have entered – as a society – a dilemma which, if not insoluble, will at least be an intolerable stigma for a long time. How can you hate the one you love?”

“I have officially lost all hope that someday Argentina will be a better country than Uganda. If people who drank milk every day before they were one year old think this way, we’re really in for it.”

“I just bought the Trinidad and Tobago jersey! Come on, Trinidad, we’re going to the World Cup!”

The discussion then broke down into an argument about whether soccer was the most forceful embodiment of all society’s awfulness, or whether it was a game in which 22 people kicked a ball around.
Post by: palos on October 31, 2008, 10:35:04 AM
I can't argue that he was better than passarella but i would still rank him as one of the top 5 defenders in the last 25 years.

Gaetano Scirea (the best of them all in my opinion, my favourite defender of all time RIP)
Franco Baresi
Paolo Maldini
Fabio Cannavaro
Allessandro Nesta

in my opinion were all better than Bergomi in de last 25 years.  And daz just Italian.

Den yuh had man like Rudi Krol, Beckenbauer of course, Passarella, Zmuda from Poland, Morten Olsen from Denmark, Tresor from France....all boss players.

Doh get meh wrong.  Guisseppi Bergomi was a top class defender.  Amongst the best of his time.  But not in the class of some a dem men dey.  More in line with Tresor, Zmuda, and Morten Olsen.

Respeck
Post by: asylumseeker on October 31, 2008, 01:54:36 PM
I can't argue that he was better than passarella but i would still rank him as one of the top 5 defenders in the last 25 years.

Gaetano Scirea (the best of them all in my opinion, my favourite defender of all time RIP)
Franco Baresi
Paolo Maldini
Fabio Cannavaro
Allessandro Nesta

in my opinion were all better than Bergomi in de last 25 years.  And daz just Italian.

Den yuh had man like Rudi Krol, Beckenbauer of course, Passarella, Zmuda from Poland, Morten Olsen from Denmark, Tresor from France....all boss players.

Doh get meh wrong.  Guisseppi Bergomi was a top class defender.  Amongst the best of his time.  But not in the class of some a dem men dey.  More in line with Tresor, Zmuda, and Morten Olsen.

Respeck

Yuh call two sacred names dey and is jes goosebumps ... yuh coulda make it 6 and throw in Gentile.

Anyhow, testament to Passarella ... there was never any significant question about him ascending to manage Argentina. It was a question of when rather than not at all. A figure similarly situated to him today would be Simeone. When not if.

Dunga and Passarella make a compelling comparison, both as players and coaches. Similar grit. Similar captaincies. Similar destinations. And ah feel similar results.

It's funny how two players with personalities that don't mesh (Passarella and Diego) both assume the privilege of coaching the national team on the strength of distinctly opposing credentials and both on the heels of Basile.

Post by: dinho on October 31, 2008, 03:45:51 PM
Ferguson on Maradona:

Ferguson wanted to speak with Tevez on Friday - but only about Maradona.

The Argentina FA have sprang a major surprise by naming the legendary forward as their new coach.

There has been some speculation that Maradona will be at Old Trafford to see Tevez in action, although neither the player, nor the United department that organises tickets for such dignitaries, have been informed of his impending arrival.

"There has been no application for a ticket from the Argentina FA so far," revealed Ferguson.

"But listening to Carlos, all the players are delighted so it could work.

"He will be an inspirational figure to the team. He has also brought in Carlos Bilardo, who was the coach of the team he won the World Cup with in 1986.

"There is a combination there. The calming influence and experience of Bilardo will be good for Maradona."

But the mere mention of Maradona's name was enough to spark a row at United's Carrington training complex as a dressing room divided over whether the Argentina superstar could be rated above Pele as the best player of all time.

"As soon as we spoke about Maradona, a great debate started in the dressing room about who was the best player in the world.

"It was a good discussion and got a few people fired up."

And who won?

"They are still fighting."

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8741520/Striking-dilemma-no-problem---Fergie (http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8741520/Striking-dilemma-no-problem---Fergie)
Post by: Jahyouth on November 02, 2008, 06:31:57 AM
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Talked to some Argentines about this and they are also upset.  Maradona?

I would be surprised if he is still coach 3 months from now
Post by: WARRIORKING on November 03, 2008, 10:28:35 AM
Maradonna may do better than we think. "cocaine is one hell of a drug"
Post by: MATADOR on November 03, 2008, 10:45:25 AM
Maradonna may do better than we think. "cocaine is one hell of a drug"

You wouldnt be speaking from personal experience now would you?? ;D

Just joking man.. :beermug:
Title: Maradona unfairly labelled a cheat
Post by: rotatopoti3 on November 03, 2008, 02:58:17 PM
BBC
Tim Vickery
3 Nov 08, 03:43 PM

Dante - or it may have been Silvio Dante from the Sopranos - is supposed to have said that the hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in times of great moral crisis maintain their neutrality.

With that in mind, I felt the need to comment on the feedback from last week's blog, which was about Diego Maradona taking over as coach of Argentina.

Many posts from English readers attacked Maradona as a cheat, which I think is an injustice. I don't recall a player being cheated against as much as Maradona.

When his career began in the mid-70s it is calculated that players were running an average of around 5,000 metres per game. Twenty years later this figure had doubled. This is effectively the span of Diego's playing days. He was active at a time of intense physical development - but played almost his entire career before the mid-90s clampdown on the sliding tackle.

Maradona played the game without the protection from referees that today's stars take for granted. Some of the tackles that were aimed against him would nowadays be worth not only a red card, but a jail sentence as well. Virtually every time he took the field he was on the end of intimidation and violence, as opponents sought to reduce his effectiveness by any means possible.

That 1986 World Cup quarter-final against England is no exception. The film of the tournament shows Terry Fenwick's elbow being pushed into Maradona's face.

It is hardly surprising that those who are on the end of constant cheating develop a cynical side. Older Brazilian referees recall that Pele was a master of conning them into giving free kicks, linking arms with a defender and bringing both of them down while making it appear that he had suffered the foul.

Certainly I think that if I spent years being kicked, jostled and elbowed I might feel within my rights to punch one into the back of the net in the heat of the moment.

It is true that different cultures approach these things in different ways. Bobby Charlton tells the story of how at a Fifa meeting of former players he called for a crackdown on diving.

Someone he calls "an old South American international" apparently replied; "Don't you think, as a professional, that if we can get away with creating an advantage for our side, we really should be applauded?"

I believe there is more tolerance of this type of behaviour in South America, where showing the cunning necessary to get away with something is widely praised. In Brazil it is often said that beating a big rival with an illegal goal adds extra pleasure to the victory.
But before we English try to claim the moral high ground we should forget any notions of perfection.

In his autobiography Martin Peters writes about the game at home to Poland in 1973, which England had to win to qualify for the following year's World Cup. Peters was a magnificent player, and though I've never met him personally, has always come across as an upstanding man.

But 35 years ago, with England a goal down and time running out, he confesses that: "It was looking desperate, and in such circumstances desperate measures are sometimes required." He was tackled inside the area by Poland's left back, "He barely touched me but I went flying. I dived. It wasn't a penalty, but the referee didn't see it that way."

The resulting goal was not enough to qualify England for the World Cup. But Peters' frank admission should be enough to destroy any illusions about England having some natural monopoly on the concept of fair play.

It is unjust, then, to throw the label of cheat at Maradona - just as it is unwise to view him as a god. He is a human being, with remarkable talent, but also with flaws. Indeed, just as with Pele, it is probably the case that his flaws were part of his drive towards greatness.

On the field Maradona gave so much pleasure to so many that he deserves to enjoy a contented and fruitful second half of his life. That's why, although he wouldn't have been my candidate, he should be congratulated on becoming Argentina's new coach - for two reasons.

Firstly because he has recovered sufficiently from his problems to be able to take on the position.

Secondly because he is prepared to put himself on the line. There are many who think that a great idol should never put his prestige at risk. I disagree. That's for museum pieces. Maybe some of the best places in heaven are reserved for those brave enough to keep seeking a new challenge.
Title: Re: Maradona unfairly labelled a cheat
Post by: kaisocagoals on November 03, 2008, 03:13:20 PM
Vickery is always a good read...

That said though, Diego has been through it all...

we will see if he is, over time, comparable to Der Kaiser...
Post by: Deeks on November 03, 2008, 05:38:58 PM
 Diego did some dives in his time. But he use to get some good wood in he tail in Spain and Italy. What about that WC game against Cameroon. Them foul was blatant. But Cameroon was good otherwise.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 03, 2008, 05:45:45 PM
The question is does he have the patience to coach the players who are not as gifted mentally and physically as himself?
Post by: jai john on November 03, 2008, 06:15:16 PM
The question is does he have the patience to coach the players who are not as gifted mentally and physically as himself?

so can he coach any team then ?
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 03, 2008, 06:17:39 PM
Dunga: I Was Very Inferior To MaradonaCarlos Dunga, the coach of Brazil, believes Diego Maradona won't have any problems adjusting to his new role, despite his lack of experience as a coach...
The coach of the Brazilian national team, Carlos Caetano Bledorn Verri 'Dunga', affirmed on Monday that lack of experience in a coaching role won't be a factor when Diego Maradona begins his latest challenge with the Argentine national team, because "he played for the national team for twenty years."

"There's nothing new. He played for the Argentine national team for twenty years. His experience as a player favours him. If he manages to transmit all of his experience, and some things of his football, he will surely bring good results," Dunga stated during a press conference in Rio de Janeiro, after announcing his latest Brazil squad.

As occured with Dunga when he was appointed the coach of the Selecao in 2006, Maradona's arrival has been heavily criticized, because he lacks sufficient experience to occupy such a high-profile position.

Dunga played down declarations made by Maradona, affirming that the current coach of Brazil "kicked" players when he was a player and him, on the contrary, "avoided them."

The 1994 World Cup winner said he is "very happy" to have played against an "extraordinary" footballer like Maradona was. He admitted that "El Diez" was in a "league of his own", but he was happy to have achieved "the same" as him at an international level.

"God gives each one of us a talent. I was very inferior to him, I was aware of my limitations, I had to look after my body a lot, my career and my posture, earn the confidence of my teammates and my fans," concluded Dunga.

Post by: palos on November 03, 2008, 06:18:42 PM
THIS IS WHAT MARADONA FREQUENTLY HAD TO PUT UP WITH (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpcBkpOf4z8)

I doh think any other player in the history of the game had to endure that level of consistent fouling.
Post by: Filho on November 03, 2008, 09:34:26 PM
THIS IS WHAT MARADONA FREQUENTLY HAD TO PUT UP WITH (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpcBkpOf4z8)

I doh think any other player in the history of the game had to endure that level of consistent fouling.

A little bit extreme no? That was a brutal tackle (look up the Butcher of Balboa) that put Diego out of the game for a long time. If he frequently had to put up with that, you woulda never heard of him. The second set of wildness in your video is actually Maradona involved in a brawl. I not sure what caused it, but its not a convincing piece of evidence of him being mistreated on the field of play.

No sense measuring who get the worse tackles. Jai brought up a good point how the older fellas didn't get as much protection. I guessing men like De Stefano, Puskas etc..used to get real mash up too. But to many it took a turn for the worst at the 1966 WC when Pele basically got attacked every time he touched the ball. Either the yellow card, or red card, or both were invented after WC 66 after FIFA realize the new tactics to stop Pele.

As for Diego...he was up there too. When they doh know how to stop yuh  :-\

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTVrWBoqAko
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 04, 2008, 07:42:35 AM
maradona really had ah sweet touch so too pele.i eh know who better,but de two ah them definitly in ah class above de rest.de 2 greatest ever.
Post by: Filho on November 04, 2008, 09:56:00 AM
maradona really had ah sweet touch so too pele.i eh know who better,but de two ah them definitly in ah class above de rest.de 2 greatest ever.

arguing who better is real kix..but useless. my favorite part of the video is the beginning when they jess breeding opponents for spite

Post by: capodetutticapi on November 04, 2008, 12:33:05 PM
Maradona Already Set To Quit?New Argentina coach Diego Maradona is set to be officially unveiled later this evening but his reign as leader of the national team has already got off to a less than perfect start as fireworks have started to fly between him and president of the AFA Julio Grandona...
The former Napoli man has already caused some friction over the choice of his right hand men, and Grandona has objected.

Maradona wants his assistants to be Oscar Ruggeri and Alejandro Mancuso, both former Argentina internationals.

However, the president of the Argentinean FA wants El Pibe d'Or to be assisted by Sergio Batista and Josè Luis Brown with Oscar Ruggeri as team secretary.
The 1986 World Cup winner is not too keen on those choices and it's here where problems may occur.

"I am trying to show Ruggeri a strong right arm and I hope he understands," Maradona told Radio De La Red.

"I will insist with Grandona and we will see what happens. There is still a long way to go and if things go well then we will all save ourselves, if not then we will all go under."

El Pibe d'Or is likely to resist demands from the AFA as he shows his stance towards the national team. Reports have even suggested Maradona may quit before he even starts.

de drama begins.
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 07:04:55 PM
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/ac/fullj.1eaba39d860e94e034667ffd0745adc4/1eaba39d860e94e034667ffd0745adc4-getty-83556732ly053_diego_maradon.jpg)

Somebody just commented that coaches are not subject to random drug testing.  
Post by: acb on November 04, 2008, 07:07:38 PM
Gimmics and follies start.
Don Diego, why are you wearing two watches???

(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/20/fullj.20c4aea008906a5e583a1506d9260c19/20c4aea008906a5e583a1506d9260c19-getty-83556732ly014_diego_maradon.jpg)
Post by: asylumseeker on November 04, 2008, 07:30:45 PM

A little bit extreme no? That was a brutal tackle (look up the Butcher of Balboa) that put Diego out of the game for a long time. If he frequently had to put up with that, you woulda never heard of him. The second set of wildness in your video is actually Maradona involved in a brawl. I not sure what caused it, but its not a convincing piece of evidence of him being mistreated on the field of play.

No sense measuring who get the worse tackles. Jai brought up a good point how the older fellas didn't get as much protection. I guessing men like De Stefano, Puskas etc..used to get real mash up too. But to many it took a turn for the worst at the 1966 WC when Pele basically got attacked every time he touched the ball. Either the yellow card, or red card, or both were invented after WC 66 after FIFA realize the new tactics to stop Pele.

As for Diego...he was up there too. When they doh know how to stop yuh  :-\

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTVrWBoqAko

Gee, look! ... at 1:35 he actually uses his right foot
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 10, 2008, 05:17:55 PM
Mascherano Accepts Captain's Armband
Liverpool midfielder Javier Mascherano has decided to accept the offer of his country's captaincy.
Argentina's new captain will be Javier Mascherano after all. The player had expressed some reservations about taking on the role when it was revealed last week that new coach national team coach Diego Maradona wanted him as the skipper.

Mascherano felt that he was not quite ready for the role just yet but seems to be singing a different tune as Maradona's persuasive charms seem to have worked their magic.

"I've convinced him," Maradona told Radio La Red. "I explained to him what I thought about him and told him what I thought he could give the team. He can transmit much of what he does in the centre of the pitch - we're not asking him to be a leader immediately."

Argentina's form in World Cup Qualifying has been patchy at best so far, and Maradona has moved quickly to change the mentality of the team. One of his first actions as coach was to decide to replace veteran Javier Zanetti as skipper. It will be interesting to see what other decisions are made in the wake of Maradona's visit to Europe last week to speak with senior players.

Post by: acb on November 10, 2008, 05:40:23 PM

More reason for me to pull against Argentina. Just when in the last couple years I was starting to like them. My dislike started for them when they knocked out Brasil in Italia '90. It ended when Maradona buried that bullet from the top of the box in USA '94.

I liked Maradona as the player, not the person he became after football. Too much drama queen antics.
I just don't like Mascherano because of his cheap amd brutish tactics - and the Liverpool factor. After seeing the stunt he pulled off on Aliadiaire, he lost all my respect. 
Post by: jai john on November 11, 2008, 07:32:06 PM

More reason for me to pull against Argentina. Just when in the last couple years I was starting to like them. My dislike started for them when they knocked out Brasil in Italia '90. It ended when Maradona buried that bullet from the top of the box in USA '94.

I liked Maradona as the player, not the person he became after football. Too much drama queen antics.
I just don't like Mascherano because of his cheap amd brutish tactics - and the Liverpool factor. After seeing the stunt he pulled off on Aliadiaire, he lost all my respect. 

Well I sorry to hear dat but Mascherano is de future while zanetti is de past . ... so mascherano had your respect before he pulled a cheap stunt ? ...I wonder how he got that respect ? Yuh tink is dat same ting Diego seein in him why he make him captain ?
Post by: acb on November 11, 2008, 07:38:08 PM
both played well enough in the WC, and then in his first season in the EPL battled well with West Ham. Didn't see much West Ham games, but the ones I saw he played fair and tough.

When he moved to Liverpool and I started seeing more of him play, I started to see a part that I didn't like - which was magnified even more by the Aliadiere incident.

I don't question Deigo's reason. There is no logic behind it.
Post by: jai john on November 11, 2008, 07:49:21 PM
both played well enough in the WC, and then in his first season in the EPL battled well with West Ham. Didn't see much West Ham games, but the ones I saw he played fair and tough.

When he moved to Liverpool and I started seeing more of him play, I started to see a part that I didn't like - which was magnified even more by the Aliadiere incident.

I don't question Deigo's reason. There is no logic behind it.

Are you aware that he has won two olympic medals and a world youth cup and has been a regular with Argentina's senior team since a teenager ? Have you read comments from the liverpool manager about his contribution to the team effort in the middle ? Did you consider why he was chosen by Argentina's olympic coach as one of the senior players to play in de olympics ? maybe theses are some of the things Diego considered ... just guessing or maybe stating de obvious.
Post by: jai john on November 11, 2008, 07:56:49 PM
Just a correction ..he did not win a world youth cup but the team finished first in  the south american qualifiers ..just to say a bit more check this out ...it also says why Diego chose him to be captain. tell me if you still think there was no logic in his choice ..

Javier Alejandro Mascherano (pronounced IPA: [ˌmaskeˈɾano]) (born 8 June 1984) is an Argentine football player who plays as a defensive midfielder. He plays for Liverpool and is captain of the Argentina national team.

Mascherano began his career in at River Plate. He earned his first senior honours in 2003–04, winning the Primera División Argentina. He also won an Olympic gold medal with Argentina in the Athens Games and finished runner up in the Copa América 2004. He moved to Brazilian side Corinthians in 2005, winning the Brazilian Série A in his first season. Mascherano moved to Europe, signing for Premier League side West Ham United. However, unusual contract terms with Media Sports Investments blighted his brief time at the club and at the beginning of 2007 he joined Liverpool on loan.

He was runner up in the UEFA Champions League in his first season on Merseyside and again finished runner up in the Copa América with Argentina. He officially signed for Liverpool in February 2008 for £18.6 million, parting ways with Media Sports Investments. He won a second Olympic gold medal with Argentina in the Beijing 2008 Games, the first male footballer to achieve this since 1928. He was appointed captain of the national team by new head coach Diego Maradona in November 2008.

Mascherano's two most used nicknames (in Argentina) are Masche and Jefecito (Little chief).[1][2] Former Argentine footballer Jorge Valdano regards him as one of the best holding midfielders in the world.[3]

In September 2001, Mascherano was part of the Argentina team that finished fourth in the 2001 FIFA U-17 World Championship. His impact at youth levels was such that he made his senior international debut before playing a single minute for River Plate's first team. That international debut came in a friendly against Uruguay on July 16 2003.[34]

Halfway through the 2003–04 Apertura (Opening) championship Mascherano was called up to play in the 2003 FIFA World Youth Championship. Argentina again finished fourth with Mascherano the team's outstanding player.[35] Mascherano was however suspended for the third place match.

In January 2004, Mascherano joined up with Argentina's under-23 team for the South American Pre-Olímpico tournament in Chile. Argentina won the tournament.

At the end of the 2003–2004 season Mascherano was included in the squad for the 2004 Copa América. Argentina lost to Brazil on penalties in the final, but Mascherano impressed enough to be voted Argentina's player of the tournament by his team-mates.[35]

In August 2004, Mascherano was part of the gold medal-winning Argentine team at the 2004 Summer Olympics.

In June 2005, Mascherano joined up with the national team for the Confederations Cup in Germany. Argentina met Brazil in the final and lost 4–1.

In the 2006 World Cup, Mascherano played every minute of every game for Argentina.

He was sent off whilst playing for Argentina against the USA in a friendly at Giants Stadium for a foul challenge on Freddy Adu on 87 minutes.

In July 2007, Mascherano scored his first two goals for the senior Argentina's team during the Copa América 2007 and was widely selected as the best Argentine player in a squad full of stars.[36]

In 2008 Mascherano was selected to represent Argentina in the Olympic games in Beijing as one of their over-23 year old players. Mascherano was thrilled at the call up saying "It's important for any athlete to defend the gold medal. I might be the only person from my country ever to do it and I'll go down in history."[37] Argentina won the tournament making Mascherano the second Argentine sportsman ever (after polo player Juan Nelson) to win two Olympic gold medals.

Soon after being appointed head coach of Argentina, Diego Maradona announced he wants Mascherano to be the team's captain. "I want Mascherano to be my captain because I believe he is the Argentinian player who is closest to the idea I have about the Argentinian shirt - sweat for it, sacrifice for it, being a professional, being close to the team-mate," he said. "I will convince him. He will be my captain."[38]

On 10 November 2008, Mascherano accepted Diego Maradona's offer to become Argentina captain.[39]
Post by: acb on November 11, 2008, 08:02:49 PM
well hopefully the new responsibility as well as past experiences will give him a better grounding and he will resort to less cheap tactics from the ones he previously displayed - including the infamous rant at the ref when he got sent off last EPL season.

He is a good player - who happened to have two bust ups that I saw, and thus didn't like - so who knows if he'll turn it around into something positive. Only time will tell.
Post by: jai john on November 11, 2008, 08:15:27 PM
well hopefully the new responsibility as well as past experiences will give him a better grounding and he will resort to less cheap tactics from the ones he previously displayed - including the infamous rant at the ref when he got sent off last EPL season.

He is a good player - who happened to have two bust ups that I saw, and thus didn't like - so who knows if he'll turn it around into something positive. Only time will tell.

Turn what around ...you eh read dem files up dey or what ? Nah ....Diego eh guessing . You might not like argentina because of some incident or incidents with Mascherano but do you like brazil ? ever see the 1974 team play ?
Look how sir Alex cool down rooney and did the same with cantona ..the test for diego is how to mold all these Young stars into a world cup winning team. Just about everyone on this team has won something already at club level at least .
Title: Maradona mania grips Scotland
Post by: assrancid on November 16, 2008, 08:22:15 PM
Maradona mania grips Scotland

By David McDaid

Maradona's arrival sparked chaotic scenes at Glasgow Airport

There's blood on the Glasgow pavement and my good shoes are ruined.
You'd be forgiven for thinking this was a boozy Saturday night out - but this was just a Sunday morning's work.
No ordinary Sunday, it must be said, because at 1104 GMT Diego Armando Maradona arrived in Scotland - and Glasgow Airport went wild.

I'd been to the airport before to try to grab a word with football teams arriving.
I was almost run over by John Carew's luggage trolley just last month when Norway came for their World Cup qualifier.

But nothing had prepared me for this.
"Sharpen your elbows," I was told, "It's going to be chaos."

And indeed it was.

A special walkway was cordoned off, extra police were in attendance, as well as all the press officers the Scottish Football Association could muster.

More than 100 journalists, cameramen and fans - Scottish, English and Argentine - staked out the best place to yell a question, get a shot, or beg an autograph.

Every man, woman and child, watched the Arrivals board nervously.
I got a spot towards the front of the line, all the while thinking, "What if he doesn't stop here?" "Would I be better over there?" "have I pressed record on my microphone?" and "I can't mess this up!"

Is Maradona the greatest footballer of all time?

I ran over the Spanish in my head.

And then, the Arrivals hall doors opened... and Maradona appeared.

As my journalistic professionalism evaporated, I froze in amazement, got a grip, checked my microphone, thought of my questions, and checked my microphone again, all within the space of a single second.
With his well-documented problems with drugs and his weight firmly behind him, he looked remarkably healthy.
Then, as Maradona walked past, I seized my moment: "Senor Maradona, una pregunta en Castellano por favor!" ("Mr Maradona, a question in Spanish please!")

But he didn't stop. My chance was fast disappearing.
I'm not the pushiest, brashest hack in the press pack, but in desperation I yelled: "Como se siente estar aqui en Escocia," ("How does it feel to be in Scotland?")
Without breaking his stride, Maradona looked over his right shoulder: "Muy contento." ("Very happy.")

Arguably the greatest footballer the world has ever known. And he spoke to me. Even though it was only two words.

Maradona scored his first ever international goal at Hampden in 1979

For a split-second I thought I could hang up my mic, since any other sporting personality would surely pale into insignificance.

But with the adrenalin doing its job I wanted more.
With my cameraman in tow I ran ahead of the great man.

This wasn't too difficult as the once spritely midfielder, who danced round five England players on his way to scoring the goal voted by Fifa as the greatest goal in the history of the World Cup in 1986, is now hampered by a noticeable limp.

That, and the fact he was mobbed by the ravenous journalists.
With my face pressed into some photographer's back, I held my mic above the crowd.
I couldn't see Maradona as he edged towards the team bus, with the police ushering the media hoard backwards.
That's when my shoes were stomped out of shape, and someone must have caught a camera lens in the mouth.
More questions, more questions, I thought.

"How do you feel to be returning to where you scored your first goal for Argentina? Do you have a word for the Scottish public?"

Nothing. I tried again, with a bit more resignation.
"Show us the hand of God! Do you fear the threat of James McFadden?"
Other than assistant coach Terry Butcher, I wonder if he can name any member of the Scotland party for Wednesday night's friendly at Hampden Park.

It was worth a try, but the new Argentina coach wasn't feeling very chatty.
He signed a few autographs before climbing aboard his bus, and as he sat back in his seat he puffed his cheeks and I read his lips in Spanish: "What a commotion!"

He was visibly taken aback by the welcoming committee.
One man, Kevin Schreiner, managed to get his shirt signed by his idol.
His voice quivered with emotion: "I don't have words to explain. I have my whole family here. It's really incredible.

"To me and to all Argentines he is a God for us. Not just the Hand of God.
"Now as our coach hopefully, with his experience, we can get there starting on Wednesday."

It was only when the coach moved off, we realised there were some of the present day superstars on board too.
Gabriel Heinze and Fernando Gago have probably not felt so invisible for a long, long time.

As the crowd cleared and we counted our bruises, I got on the phone to a couple of friends: "Guess who I've been speaking to?
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 17, 2008, 07:59:02 PM
Maradona Takes First Training SessionDiego Maradona took charge of his first official training session as the coach of the Argentine national team in Glasgow on Monday afternoon, as his side prepare for Wednesday's highly anticipated friendly against Scotland...
On Monday afternoon Diego Armando Maradona formally commenced work as the coach of the Argentine national team in Glasgow, Scotland.
Argentina will face the Scots in a friendly match at Hampden Park on Wednesday.

At 6:20 pm Maradona entered the field of Celtic Park, as his squad waited for his arrival on the centre circle. Dressed in the official gear of the national team, a beanie and gloves, Diego stood in front of his players with physical trainer Fernando Signorini.

Before beginning the session Maradona and Signorini spoke to the players for five minutes, and once the conversation ended they began working.

The only four players who didn't listen to the chat were German Denis, Ezequiel Lavezzi, Lisandro Lopez and Luis 'Lucho' Gonzalez. They joined the group 15 minutes later.

Maradona is still waiting for the rest of his squad to arrive in Scotland, including home-based players Daniel Montenegro, Cristian Villagra and Emiliano Papa.

Yesterday Maradona affirmed that Lionel Messi will be a key member of his squad, even if he wasn't released for the friendly. He also said Juan Roman Riquelme will wear the number 10 shirt.Despite speculation from the world-wide press that attended the training session, Maradona did not give any indication of what his starting XI would look like, or even the formation which he will opt for against Scotland.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 17, 2008, 08:48:00 PM
Lucho welcome back
Post by: Filho on November 18, 2008, 08:03:21 AM
Lucho welcome back

Big player - understated, skillful and effective. Doh whinge, doh dive. One of a handful of Argentine ballers I really like.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 18, 2008, 11:53:44 AM
So, question fuh an Argentine fly on de wall ... when ah man like Lucho show up and doh geh a sweat after flying in from far ... wha does happen ... tape it and post it here, so we could learn nah.

Apples and oranges? Okey doke. Ah figet is a big, bomb squad dey have.
Post by: jai john on November 18, 2008, 01:37:20 PM
So, question fuh an Argentine fly on de wall ... when ah man like Lucho show up and doh geh a sweat after flying in from far ... wha does happen ... tape it and post it here, so we could learn nah.

Apples and oranges? Okey doke. Ah figet is a big, bomb squad dey have.

You must have missed Diego's first object lesson to the team...it is an honour to wear your country's shirt .. if you are selected on the squad ..that too is an honour. You can only make yourself available by being there . There are 16 or so players on the squad but only 11 can take the field at any given time.... If you are not in the first 11 you stay on the bench and wish the team well ..you dont gripe bout how you come from far and eh get pick ...only hounds does gripe so ..big players does play ..get the point.
You know how much bench the great brian lara make before he debut ? the man was scoring centuries and still benching ..he went all around the caribbean in a 5 test series and eh play once, even though he was scoring centuries against the tourists in first class games.
We have some force ripe players who feel they have some devine right to start on the national team based on some third division achievements..... We still have things to learn !
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 18, 2008, 08:44:53 PM
Maradona tells English to let 'Hand of God' dropUpdated: November 18, 2008, 2:28 PM EST 82  GLASGOW, Scotland (AP) - Diego Maradona thinks it's time the English stopped complaining about the handball goal he scored against their team at the 1986 World Cup. After all, it's not as though England hasn't benefited from controversial decisions by a referee.

Maradona has been in Scotland preparing for his debut as Argentina coach but many British journalists are just as interested in his contribution to a 2-1 win over England 22 years ago.

The 'Hand of God' at work in the Azteca Stadium at the 1986 World Cup. (Bongarts / Getty Images)

Maradona famously punched the ball into the net for the opening goal of that quarterfinal victory - instantly becoming a hate figure in England and burnishing his image as a hero back home - but he said Tuesday that was no worse than England being awarded a dubious goal during its 1966 World Cup final win.

"England won a World Cup with a goal that was plain to see to everyone that it did not cross the line," Maradona said. "So I don't think it is fair that people should judge me when stuff like that goes on."

England beat Germany 4-2 in extra time in the '66 final, but was only awarded its crucial third goal upon the intervention of a linesman. German players insisted that Geoff Hurst's shot, which bounced down off the bar, never crossed the line and replays more than 40 years later are still inconclusive.

"He missed by that much," Maradona said to laughter, holding his hands about a meter (yard) apart. "You didn't have action replays in those days."

But not everyone is likely to appreciate the humor in Maradona's remarks.

Scotland assistant manager Terry Butcher was part of the England defense breached by Maradona at the 1986 World Cup and has already said he will not offer his opponent the traditional post-match handshake on Wednesday.

Maradona also beat Butcher twice in a weaving run before scoring Argentina's second goal in that win, but the defender was irked by what he saw as deliberate cheating and an initial insistence that nothing untoward had happened.

Not that Maradona is concerned.

"I'm not going to seek him out," Maradona said through a translator. "I don't know why Butcher has taken this attitude. I don't quite understand. I will let Butcher get on with his life and I'll get on with mine.

"I'm not going to lose any sleep over it. If he doesn't shake my hand, I'll still be alive tomorrow."

Post by: dinho on November 18, 2008, 08:55:58 PM
20+ years to the day and Terry Butcher still toting dem feelings.. so much so that he bawl he will not shake the man hand..

Butcher need to let go.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 18, 2008, 09:15:13 PM
20+ years to the day and Terry Butcher still toting dem feelings.. so much so that he bawl he will not shake the man hand..

Butcher need to let go.
that is pure proof how important ah WC trophy is.imagine if it was de final.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 19, 2008, 08:44:30 AM
Also 'proof' that Maradona is going to stir the pot ... this is a moment when diplomacy should have been applied ... with Diego it's 'contents not as advertised'.
Post by: Fyzoman on November 19, 2008, 01:48:17 PM
Butcher damn right, let Maradona haul he c&%T....comparing he thief goal to that Hurst goal, steups.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 19, 2008, 02:12:12 PM
Butcher damn right, let Maradona haul he c&%T....comparing he thief goal to that Hurst goal, steups.
u does real hold ah grouse boy.doh forget argentina did win eh. ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 19, 2008, 05:59:07 PM
Maradona handed winning start(AFP) Wednesday 19 November 2008
Diego Maradona's first match as head coach of Argentina ended with a 1-0 friendly win over Scotland at Hampden Park on Wednesday.
Maradona, who as one of football's greatest players inspired Argentina to victory at the 1986 FIFA World Cup™ had demanded a fighting performance from the South Americans before this game. But Maxi Rodriguez's eighth minute goal was all that separated the sides at full-time after Argentina, who made a lively start, faded after the interval.

Scotland recorded a famous friendly win over then world champions Argentina at Hampden in 1990, but they never looked like they were going to repeat the feat despite a better second-half performance.

Maradona, revered in Scotland for his two goals, including the infamous 'Hand of God' effort that helped eliminate England in the quarter-finals of Mexico 1986, had walked out to a hero's reception.  The diminutive legend, back at the ground where he scored his first international goal as a teenager in 1979, was greeted by banners proclaiming 'Diego Armando Maradona, amigo, hero' and others announcing converts to the 'Church of Maradona.'

The Argentine players looked out to impress their new boss from the start and only 90 seconds had passed before their first chance with Martin Demichelis rising highest to a Rodriguez corner but his header went high over the bar. Newly-appointed captain Javier Mascherano, who plays in England for Liverpool, was next to try his luck and goalkeeper Allan McGregor did well to palm away his fierce volley.

Argentina took the lead through Rodriguez after an excellent passing move in the eighth minute.  Manchester United's Carlos Tevez cut in from the right and neatly found Jonas Gutierrez, who provided the pass for the Athletico Madrid striker to slickly slip the ball under McGregor.

Maradona, who barely celebrated the goal, made his first appearance pitch-side in the 18th minute to shout instructions to his players. And it seemed to work as a minute later Tevez played a perfect pass to Ezequiel Lavezzi who outpaced Alan Hutton to drive a powerful shot which was saved by the feet of McGregor.

Scotland's first chance came in the 22nd minute when a Kris Commons cross from the left found James McFadden in the box but his shot on the turn was deflected out for a corner. Tevez then had a good chance when Inter Milan's Javier Zanetti cut the ball across from the right wing but he blasted over. Bayern Munich defender Demichelis was robbed of the ball in his own box by McFadden in the 42nd minute but the Scot's weak effort was easily saved by keeper Juan Pablo Carrizo. The half ended on a nasty note when Celtic's Gary Caldwell was booked for a tackle from behind on Tevez, which incensed Maradona.

Scotland brought on Lee Miller for Chris Iwelumo at the break and the big striker was soon knocking down a Commons free-kick which Carrizo almost spilled at the feet of the advancing McFadden in the 55th minute. In the 70th minute Miller found some space at the edge of the box but his shot was deflected out. Fellow sub Shaun Maloney found Miller from the resulting corner but the striker's header was well wide of the post.
Post by: socachynee on November 19, 2008, 07:19:45 PM
Diego chalk up first win
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 24, 2008, 07:07:06 PM
Englishman Arrested For Trying To Murder Maradona
According to reports from the Argentine press, an Englishman was arrested for attempting to decapitate Diego Maradona with a machete when El Pibe d'Oro made his debut as the coach of Argentina last Wednesday...
An Englishman was arrested on the day when Diego Armando Maradona made his official debut as the coach of Argentina against Scotland, after planning to decapitate the Argentine football legend.

The aggressor was identified as Ian Wellworth, a 43-year-old, who was detained when found in the possession of a machete outside Hampden Park Stadium.

It has been claimed that he was hoping to enact revenge on Maradona for his controversial "Hand of God" goal against England back in the 1986 World Cup.

Wellworth, who resides in Middlesbrough, made a bet on the game, and had borrowed money, but lost everything because of the result, including his wife, who left him.

The amount of money in question was €600, but if England had won the World Cup he would have earned five times the amount.

"I bet £500 that England would win the World Cup in Mexico, and I would have claimed five times the amount if successful," declared Wellworth.

"I borrowed the money from a loan shark, and in the end I had to pay back £125,000 (€148,000)."

The aggressor added that he wanted to cut off Maradona's "little head and to make him pay". He also called the 48-year-old an "Argentine cheat."

According to reports, the detained person is currently unemployed and suffers from psychiatric problems.

Wellworth's detention was only made public almost one week after the incident took place. He faces up to five years in jail

It must be noted that there have been no reports on these events in the British press yet.

Title: Maradona states terms for staying on as Argentina coach
Post by: palos on July 26, 2010, 11:14:15 AM
Maradona states terms for staying on as Argentina coach

SOURCE: (http://www.thestar.com/sports/soccer/article/840218--maradona-states-terms-for-staying-on-as-argentina-coach)

(http://media.thestar.topscms.com/images/d2/79/0ce1fc494bccb301825a72d2abd4.jpeg)

Venezuela's President Hugo Chavez welcomes Argentina's soccer coach Diego Maradona at Miraflores Palace in Caracas July 22, 2010

BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA—Diego Maradona will stay on as coach of Argentina if he's able to keep his entire staff.

Maradona is due to talk with Argentine Football Association president Julio Grondona and laid out his conditions ahead of the meeting.

"If they touch the kit man, if they touch the massage therapist, I'm out," Maradona said Monday. "I want to continue with the coaching staff, plus some others, and that nobody touches any of them.

"I'll have a chat with Grondona this week, and this week it will be resolved whether I continue or not. It depends on what Grondona says and whether he accepts what I ask for. I'm eager because I've spoken with the players, with all the guys, and I have their support."

It is not known if Maradona will seek to renew his contract through to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The soccer legend, who captained Argentina to the 1986 World Cup title, was speaking to America TV on Monday upon arrival from Caracas, where he visited Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez.

Asked if he had analyzed the video of Argentina's 4-0 loss to Germany in the World Cup quarter-finals, Maradona said: "I haven't seen it and I won't see it."

Maradona said he had spoken by phone with Grondona since that defeat, which left the nation so dismayed and disappointed that no official ceremonies were held to welcome the team back.

Argentina President Cristina Fernandez has publicly supported Maradona, and a legislator has proposed building a monument to honour him. But many Argentines want him out, blaming his lack of coaching experience for failing to make the most of a team that included many of the world's best players, including Barcelona star Lionel Messi.

Title: Re: Maradona states terms for staying on as Argentina coach
Post by: asylumseeker on July 26, 2010, 01:26:39 PM
Well, if ever there was an opportunity to say adiós ...

Grondona: "Diego, pero bueno ... a mi no me importa quien lleva el equipaje, pero no me gusta el maricón terapeuta y quedo muy incómodo con su rendimiento terapéutico en Sud Africa" ... "Shit, after your trip to that fancy spa in Italy you should know that maldito massage therapist is boo!"  ... Me eh want him NO where near de squad ... We need one like de one Brazil have years now ... no me jodas Diego!"

Maradona: "Viejo pendejo, me voy ... voy a renunciar el proyecto ... all for one and one for all. I spoke to Comrade Chavez and he show meh dat ..."

Grondona: (smiling to himself :), but not wanting to seem too eager, interrupts the legend) "Discúlpeme Diego, por favor, Diego ... piense en ti mismo y la nación" ... please reconsider your position!"

Maradona: "Nah, nah ... I good! ... better to leave now with my pride and prestige at the highest point in many years nah ... plus ah hear the players' opinions should be discounted because dey feel Kun woulda sell dem out if they spoke freely. Yuh dun know he would do anything fuh more playing time ... De mi corazón Grondie, thx for de opportunity ... buh listen dis: Somos amigos. Escúcheme bien viejito, ah feel you should ride out wid me and retire same time ... It'll make a statement to the public ...

Trust meh! Bialo could make a nice statement, dahis if he could geh a free minute from that guy Fuentes from Trinidad y Tobago who always texting him asking him how to spin dis and dat every damn minute. Soldier, ah ketch hell in South Africa answering all dem damn questions by mehself."

Grondona: "Con respeto Diego ... Retire? Noooo yet! Yuh gehhin in me and Havelange affairs ... Sepp, Yack, me and João still have matters arising. Plus ah have a standing bet with Teixeira and meh son. Never mind  :-X ... LOOK is me who make yuh. If you go I hadda go too ... ah eh ready yet, hold strain nah! Wha yuh want? Yuh could hold training in Cuba when yuh feel ... take dem men Varadero and chill. Ah go pay for it" :idea: Name it yuh have it."

Maradona: Aight ... new terms then ... I want Riquelme deported. Leh Bialo come up with some ting ting with La Presidenta de Kirschner saying he really from Paraguay nah ... nah, not Paraguay... last qualifying rongs dey real gih we hell. Me eh care, just make it so nah.

También, ah want some friendlies to make we look DANGEROUS nah. Call Yack to arrange nah. While we in Cuba we could play Belice, Yack squad, Antigua, Puerto Rico and Puerto Rico Islanders (bueno, to link up wid de compadres :chilling:) ..."

Quiero muchas cosas. Ah want Pupi Zanetti back too, pero Cambiasso could besa mi culo."
Post by: Jah Gol on July 26, 2010, 01:33:25 PM

Maradona: Aight ... new terms then ... I want Riquelme deported. Leh Bialo come up with some ting ting with La Presidenta Kirschner saying he really from Paraguay nah ... nah, not Paraguay... last qualifying rongs dey real gih we hell. Me eh care, just make it so nah.

Post by: dinho on July 27, 2010, 03:56:11 PM
Maradona out as Argentina coach

http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/worldcup/story/Maradona-out-as-Argentina-coach-after-conflict-with-FA (http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/worldcup/story/Maradona-out-as-Argentina-coach-after-conflict-with-FA)

Diego Maradona is out as Argentina's soccer coach, his stay ending after nearly two years on the job and a humiliating exit in the World Cup quarterfinals.

The Argentine Football Association said Tuesday it would not renew his contract. The federation had offered Maradona a four-year contract through the 2014 World Cup, but Maradona said he would do so only if his entire staff remained.

That was unacceptable to Argentine Football Association president Julio Grondona. He had asked for several assistants to be replaced. One of them was Maradona's close friend Alejandro Mancuso. The federation said its executive committee unanimously decided to not keep Mardona.

Possible successors include two club coaches in Argentina: Alejandro Sabella of Estudiantes and Miguel Russo of Racing. The federation, however, would likely need to hire an interim coach for the Aug. 11 exhibition game against Ireland in Dublin.

The decision comes 21 months after Maradona began his erratic coaching term and a little more than three weeks after Argentina was eliminated in the World Cup in South Africa with a 4-0 loss to Germany.

The 49-year-old Maradona became Argentina's coach in November 2008, replacing Alfio Basile and taking over a team he led to the 1986 World Cup title. His results were mixed. He had little coaching experience, and his team absorbed two of the worst losses in the country's history: a 6-1 rout at Bolivia in World Cup qualifying and the recent World Cup defeat to Germany.

Argentina played with attacking flair in South Africa, with Lionel Messi setting up scoring strikes by Gonzalo Higuain and Carlos Tevez. Maradona, dressed on the sideline in a gray suit, was an enthusiastic cheerleader, but that could not compensate for his team's deficiencies. The loss to Germany exposed Argentina's frailties on defense and lack of midfield speed.

Messi, widely regarded as the game's best player, left with World Cup without scoring a goal. Maradona never explained why Messi - he was left to roam the field on his own - wasn't scoring.

"Nobody ever told me where to play. So I shouldn't have to tell Messi where to play, either," Maradona said.

Maradona is a fabled figure in Argentina who has fought off cocaine and alcohol addiction. He grew up in a Buenos Aires slum, and his escape from poverty has endeared him to many. But he has worn out his welcome in other quarters.

Maradona ruffled the government of President Cristina Fernandez, who twice invited the coach to meet with her. But cabinet chief Anibal Fernandez said Maradona failed to respond or answer the phone, forcing the president's secretaries to leave messages.

Fernandez had been openly supportive of keeping Maradona as coach, and one legislator has proposed building a monument to honor him.

Two weeks ago, the federation offered Maradona the chance to extend his contract. But Maradona put off meeting with Grondona to travel to Venezuela at the invitation of a friend - President Hugo Chavez.

Maradona's relationship with key individuals in Argentine soccer was also tense. He barred federation leaders and businessmen with commercial ties to the organization from practices in South Africa while allowing reporters to enter.

Still, Maradona had many supporters.

"I want Maradona to stay," Interior Minister Florencio Randazzo said Tuesday in an interview on radio La Red. "We will support his decision. If he leaves we will miss him."

Added team trainer Fernando Signorini: "I have no doubt they didn't want him. Maradona is like a stone in the shoe of power."
Post by: weary1969 on July 27, 2010, 04:27:23 PM
Adios el loco
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 27, 2010, 04:35:25 PM
as a brazil fan, i vex, no way dem could beat brazil with diego coaching.
Post by: weary1969 on July 27, 2010, 04:36:13 PM
as a brazil fan, i vex, no way dem could beat brazil with diego coaching.

Post by: D.H.W on July 27, 2010, 05:36:24 PM
good riddance
Post by: jai john on July 27, 2010, 06:01:52 PM
Viva Riqui !! looks like I could yet get a chance to see Juan Roman Riquelme in Argentina's colours ...
I thought it was over for him but the naming of Sergio Baptista who  ...played against our  defense force in the national stadium, gives me some hope.

Baptista won the last olympics with Argentina , naming Riqui as captain so he might still see a place for the " slow magician " ...I eh read dat nowhere eh so I copywriting dat !

well " the slow magician " had stated that he did not see the game as Don Diego did and so withdrew from the team , as leading goalscorer in the qualifiers .

He recently had surgery and is expected to miss three games for Boca in the apertura ...if he stays ...

Argentina will meet Spain as part of their bicentenial celebrations ...what a mouth watering prospect to see who controls the middle ...with Xavi, iniesta, Xabi alonso and Fabregas vs Riquelme, Mascherano, Cambiasso and Pastore ( yes I think he is Argentina next midfield general )

Playing at home is a different prospect ...

I await the AFA and Baptista
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 27, 2010, 06:42:14 PM
i liked sergio batista as a player and he has had good success in coaching so far, he should be a good chocie but grondona is ah mad man, he might appoint caniggia next.
Post by: kicker on July 27, 2010, 09:26:56 PM
Viva Riqui !! looks like I could yet get a chance to see Juan Roman Riquelme in Argentina's colours ...
I thought it was over for him but the naming of Sergio Baptista who  ...played against our  defense force in the national stadium, gives me some hope.

Baptista won the last olympics with Argentina , naming Riqui as captain so he might still see a place for the " slow magician " ...I eh read dat nowhere eh so I copywriting dat !

well " the slow magician " had stated that he did not see the game as Don Diego did and so withdrew from the team , as leading goalscorer in the qualifiers .

He recently had surgery and is expected to miss three games for Boca in the apertura ...if he stays ...

Argentina will meet Spain as part of their bicentenial celebrations ...what a mouth watering prospect to see who controls the middle ...with Xavi, iniesta, Xabi alonso and Fabregas vs Riquelme, Mascherano, Cambiasso and Pastore ( yes I think he is Argentina next midfield general )

Was Baptista the last U-20 coach?

I remember him playing for Argentinos Juniors against Defence Force- scored a goal with his chest did he?

Also his long hair and beard made him easily recognizable in his playing days...

Wish him the best. 
Post by: jai john on July 28, 2010, 07:51:33 AM

Yes he was the

Was Baptista the last U-20 coach?

I remember him playing for Argentinos Juniors against Defence Force- scored a goal with his chest did he?

Also his long hair and beard made him easily recognizable in his playing days...

Wish him the best. 
Yes he was the last coach who failed to get them to the youth WC finals. This is probably the reason he did not get the job ahead of Diego since he had coached Arentina to the olympic gold.
I dont remember who scored the goal in the game Argentinios juniors vs defense Force although I saw the game. It however remains the best game I have seen from a T&T team although the DF lost 1-0.
Baptista was unmistakeable with is long hair and beard a look most footballers avoid. To his advantage he has managed the youth stars during the Olympics many of whom are now on the senor team.
He is however an interim coach while they consider a more permanent replacement.
I am hoping I could get across to see the game against Spain ....ah done miss WC in  germany and South Africa ! Ah go lose meh credebility as a footbal critic if ah kyah testify to seeing at last one big game live!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 28, 2010, 08:56:20 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sergio_Batista
Post by: jai john on July 28, 2010, 08:08:53 PM
"Unfortunately [Roman] had a problem with Diego. I have a friendship with him. If Roman gets fit and is playing well, of course he will have a chance of being called up," the ex-Argentinos Juniors and Godoy Cruz head coach concluded.
sergio Baptista 

Now this is interesting ....must look in the crystal ball more often
Post by: asylumseeker on July 29, 2010, 12:11:49 AM
Maradona hits out at 'betrayal'

Diego Maradona has accused the Argentine Football Association (AFA) of "lies and betrayal" after his contract as national coach was not renewed.

Maradona claimed national team manager Carlos Bilardo "worked in the shadows" to oust him after Argentina's quarter-final exit at the 2010 World Cup.

He also accused AFA president Julio Grondona of lying about his future.

"They called me to put out a fire and we put it out. I've given everything, everything," he stated.

Maradona's 20-month reign as Argentina manager ended on Tuesday after he rejected demands to change his backroom team, leading to the AFA voting not to renew his contract.

"Grondona lied to me. Bilardo betrayed me," he said on Wednesday.

"When we were in mourning [after the 4-0 defeat by Germany at the World Cup], Bilardo was working in the shadows to get me fired.

"Grondona, in the dressing room after we had been knocked out of the World Cup in South Africa, told me in front of witnesses and the players that he was very happy with my work and that he wanted me to carry on.

"On our return to Argentina, things started to take on a bizarre twist and on Monday I met with Grondona.

"After five minutes, he told me that he wanted me to continue, but that seven of my technical staff could not stay. When he told me this, he was saying that he didn't want me to carry on in the job.

"He knows that it is impossible for me to stay as coach without my colleagues."
BINGO!!!

Argentina under-20 coach Sergio Batista has become caretaker boss following Maradona's departure.

He played alongside Maradona at the 1986 World Cup, which was won by an Argentina team managed by Bilardo.

Post by: Big Magician on July 29, 2010, 12:17:13 AM
F#CK DEM and F#CK HE...we have we own magician to deal wit
Post by: asylumseeker on July 31, 2010, 03:10:42 AM
The silence is deafening ... everybody scatter jes so?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 01, 2010, 08:54:57 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=810954&sec=global&cc=5901

July 30

Former Argentina boss Daniel Passarella has backed Estudiantes coach Alejandro Sabella to succeed Diego Maradona with the Albiceleste.

Sabella looks likely to be the first former Sheffield United player to coach Argentina

Sabella, who worked alongside Passarella during his time in charge of Argentina, took charge of Estudiantes in March 2009 and led the team to success in the Copa Libertadores.

It is now reported that he will be confirmed as the new coach of the national side on Friday, taking the reins after completing his upcoming commitments with his club.

Post by: giggsy11 on August 01, 2010, 09:52:47 AM
Please dey realize that he needed tuh go and dey take the opportunity to help him along his way. Dey don't want tuh go tru the circus again!
Post by: asylumseeker on August 01, 2010, 05:04:02 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=810954&sec=global&cc=5901

July 30

Former Argentina boss Daniel Passarella has backed Estudiantes coach Alejandro Sabella to succeed Diego Maradona with the Albiceleste.

Sabella looks likely to be the first former Sheffield United player to coach Argentina

Sabella, who worked alongside Passarella during his time in charge of Argentina, took charge of Estudiantes in March 2009 and led the team to success in the Copa Libertadores.

It is now reported that he will be confirmed as the new coach of the national side on Friday, taking the reins after completing his upcoming commitments with his club.

It wasn't long ago that many were saying Diego Simeone was the hottest property and a likely successor for this position (when he was at Estudiantes) ... now his value has fallen and Sabella is seen as the shizzle?
Title: Yorke: Maradona will bring an aura
Post by: Tallman on May 18, 2011, 03:34:11 PM
Yorke: Maradona will bring an aura
By Jaydip Sengupta (XPRESS)

Former Manchester United striker and 1999 treble winner Dwight Yorke believes Diego Maradona's appointment as Al Wasl coach is an inspired move by the Dubai club. Speaking to XPRESS during his visit to Abu Dhabi in his capacity as AD Sports pundit, the former Trinidad and Tobago star said: "He will bring an aura and a presence that not many guys could bring and the interest a man like him generates can only be good for football in this part of the world."

Yorke however added: "Having said that, the jury is still out on his ability as a manager. You look at his record and it's not particularly great. That may change, but as it stands he's not proven himself as a manager yet."

Despite questions over Maradona's managerial qualities, Yorke says there's no doubt about the Argentine's greatness as a player.

"When you talk about the best players in the history of football, Maradona has got to be right up there. I'm such a massive fan of what the guy could do. I feel sorry for anyone who had to defend against him because you wouldn't know whether to back off or close him down, he was brilliant. To me, he was the best player I ever watched play.

"People watch [lionel] Messi now and think he's bringing a new dimension to football, but he is only doing now what Maradona was doing 20 years ago. You watch some of the clips of him during his days at Napoli, he was doing great things."

And the man who averaged a goal in every two matches during his 95-match stint with Manchester United hit out at criticism of the current side despite it winning its 19th Premier League title.

"I think too many people aren't giving the team the credit they deserve. A lot of people have gone on about the fact that this team isn't great to watch, and they aren't as good as the team of 1999 etc etc… what's all that about? I don't understand where people are coming from.

"You can only beat the teams that are in front of you and they have done that day in, day out. It's not about being pretty, it's about winning. So I think the comments are unfair on the effort the team and the manager have made this year. It's a reflection on the other teams in the league if Manchester United can be a lesser side and still win the league title. More people should give the side the credit they deserve," he said.

Talking of the Red Devil's chances in the Champions League final, Yorke said: "One thing that is for sure is that Manchester United will do it their way. They're going to play the Manchester United way. They'll highlight the threats that Barcelona have and work out what needs to be done to minimise those threats.

"And then they'll work on making the most of their strengths. So don't tell me Barcelona can't be beaten. They can definitely be beaten."

(http://gulfnews.com/polopoly_fs/dwight-yorke-1.809888!image/3145981284.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_475/3145981284.jpg)

(http://gulfnews.com/polopoly_fs/maradona-1.809887!image/754865397.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_475/754865397.jpg)
Title: Re: Yorke: Maradona will bring an aura
Post by: fitzinho on May 18, 2011, 03:45:25 PM
Yorke doing big things internationally boy
Title: Re: Yorke: Maradona will bring an aura
Post by: chinee boi on May 18, 2011, 04:17:55 PM
Big Up Yorkie!!!
Title: Diego
Post by: elan on October 30, 2013, 10:10:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/4vashrNoXTE#t=144
Title: Re: Diego Maradona Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on October 31, 2013, 04:14:01 AM
... in the age of stylized, choreographed warm-ups, what's interesting about DAM's warm-up is he's doing his own DAMn thing. A pleasure to watch.
Title: Super Mario evil twin strikes again
Post by: maxg on January 28, 2014, 09:53:00 AM
http://espnfc.com/video/espnfc/video/_/id/1695537?cc=5901 (http://espnfc.com/video/espnfc/video/_/id/1695537?cc=5901)
Title: Re: Maradonna Thread
Post by: Tiresais on January 28, 2014, 02:20:13 PM
He is such an asshole
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2014, 02:30:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/nWdmwxjxdgY#t=15

http://www.cadena3.com/contenido/2014/07/24/131988.asp?titulo=Maradona-llego-a-Cordoba-para-jugar-un-partido-de-exhibicion

“Me sorprendió que Diego no hizo ningún pedido extraño. Sólo nos solicitó agua y Gatorade", contó.

In a lil benefit sweat from Thursday ... the organizer said he was surprised Diego didn't ask fuh anything but some water and Gatorade.

Look at the joy he gets from playing and yuh get a sense of the agony he must have when he's away from the ball, and it's just life.
Post by: Tiresais on July 27, 2014, 02:49:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/nWdmwxjxdgY#t=15

http://www.cadena3.com/contenido/2014/07/24/131988.asp?titulo=Maradona-llego-a-Cordoba-para-jugar-un-partido-de-exhibicion

“Me sorprendió que Diego no hizo ningún pedido extraño. Sólo nos solicitó agua y Gatorade", contó.

In a lil benefit sweat from Thursday ... the organizer said he was surprised Diego didn't ask fuh anything but some water and Gatorade.

Look at the joy he gets from playing and yuh get a sense of the agony he must have when he's away from the ball, and it's just life.

Yea you can bet it's related to his drugs and weight problems - depression amongst ex-footballers is shockingly high apparently.
Post by: diamondtrim on July 27, 2014, 04:47:30 PM
Diego is a God....he loves and plays football like no other. Tell me any other person who shows such unbridled joy when playing the game.
Post by: loyalist on July 28, 2014, 01:42:08 PM
Diego is a God....he loves and plays football like no other. Tell me any other person who shows such unbridled joy when playing the game.
Ronaldinho
Post by: diamondtrim on July 28, 2014, 01:49:00 PM
Ronaldinho

Will give you Ronaldinho.....if only because he has shown a similar love for the game. Diego still shows a sort of umbilical attachment to the game though....
Post by: FireBrand on July 28, 2014, 02:31:44 PM

Edson Arantes do Nascimento  ;)
Post by: Tiresais on July 29, 2014, 04:46:44 AM

Sir Stanley Matthews - The Wizard on the ball :p You don't play until you're 45 for the National Team and into your 50's at club level without an intense love of teh game.
Title: Re: Maradona Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2015, 07:12:09 PM
Maradona's father, "Don Diego," dead at 87
EFE

Diego Armando Maradona's father, the Argentine soccer icon's greatest admirer and biggest supporter in difficult times, died Thursday after a long convalescence due to respiratory and cardiovascular ailments. He was 87.

"Don" Diego Maradona, also known to his friends as "Don Chitoro," had been in an induced coma and on a respirator at Buenos Aires' Los Arcos hospital since the beginning of June because of his health problems.

He had been hospitalized at the same facility for 10 days in May due to a urinary tract infection and also was treated for pneumonia there last October.

Born in the northern province of Corrientes in 1927, Don Diego drove a ferry in his youth and later worked at a chemicals factory; he was the father of nine children, the oldest of whom, Diego Armando, was born on Oct. 30, 1960.

Don Diego's health deteriorated after the death of his wife, Dalma Salvadora Franco, better known as "Doña Tota," in November 2011.

In July 2014, he was uninjured in a fire at his home in Buenos Aires that was caused by a short circuit.

Don Diego's death is a major loss for Maradona, who always thanked his parents in public for their sacrifices in helping him achieve his dreams.

"If I hadn't had a family that made a huge effort to pay for the bus and the train, I wouldn't have had the career that I did," Maradona, who led Argentina to victory in the 1986 World Cup, said on one occasion.

"My father went to work at 4:00 in the morning every day. I trained Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I remember that the buses were full. He would hold on to the handrail, lean against me and sleep," Maradona added.

After returning hurriedly to Argentina a few weeks ago to accompany his father, Maradona, who is planning a bid to succeed Sepp Blatter as president of FIFA, asked "all Argentines to pray for my old man."

"I have a lot of trust in God. I have a lot of trust in (Pope) Francis, and I know that with the help of God and Francis my old man can keep going," Maradona said after his first visit to the hospital.

(http://estaticos03.marca.com/imagenes/2015/06/26/futbol/futbol_internacional/argentina/1435271537_extras_noticia_foton_7_0.jpg)
Maradona's father with Messi

"Había meses que tenía que ir a pedir plata para poder pagarme el colectivo para que yo pudiera entrenarme. La vida del futbolista no es fácil, lo único que cuenta es la familia."

"There were months on end that I had to ask for bus fare so that I could get to practice. The life of a footballer isn't easy; the only thing that counts is family".

--- Maradona recalling his parents.

RIP Don Diego, father of Diego Armando Maradona. Without him, there would have been no Diego Armando.
Post by: Deeks on June 26, 2015, 07:19:45 PM
RIP, Don Diego.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 28, 2019, 05:08:30 PM
The Five Years at Argentinos Juniors that propelled Diego Maradona to Greatness
By Aidan Williams (thesefootballtimes.co) (https://thesefootballtimes.co/2019/10/28/the-five-years-at-argentinos-juniors-that-propelled-diego-maradona-to-greatness/)

Argentinos Juniors have long been renowned in Argentina as the cradle of the stars, a place where several greats have been nurtured and gone on to legend. Some of Argentina’s finest have come through the academy of Los Bichos Colorados, inclusive of Juan Román Riquelme, Claudio Borghi, Sergio Batista, Fernando Redondo and Esteban Cambiasso.

But there is another name that sits above all of those in the pantheon of Argentine greatness, which is also the name that adorns the stadium in La Paternal, not far from the centre of Buenos Aires which Argentinos call home. “Argentinos Juniors is my home. Every time I hear the name of the stadium, I get shivers down my spine,” said the player in question. Their stadium is named Estadio Diego Armando Maradona, with a plaque at the main entrance reading: “The best player of all time made his career debut in this stadium on October 20, 1976.”

Diego Maradona’s time with Argentinos Juniors began when he was eight. One of his childhood friends, Goyo Carrizo, from the Siete Conchitas (Seven Little Pitches) – a barren, hard ground when the young boys of Villa Fiorita played – had gone to train with Argentinos. When the coach, Francis Cornejo, was looking for new blood to come for a trial, Carrizo, one of the best players in Cornejo’s young team, spoke up. “Sir, I’ve got a friend who’s better than me,” he said.  “Can I bring him next week?” When he got a positive response, Goyo asked Diego, who was keen, naturally.

A few days and numerous bus rides later, Maradona’s talents shone through at the Las Malvinas training ground of Argentinos Juniors. “They say people witness at least one miracle in their lives, but most do not even realise. I certainly did,” Cornejo wrote in his book, Cebollita Maradona. “My miracle occurred on that rainy Saturday in 1969, when an eight-year-old kid, an age I could not believe, did things with the ball that I’d never seen in my life.”

In spite of his talent, the young Diego’s short stature made the coaches suspect he was younger than eight, fearing he was too young to be included in their youth system. “They gave me a trial, but they thought I was lying about my age and made me bring my papers the next day,” Maradona remembered. Their fears were unfounded, of course, and with a high level of trust developing between the coaches and Maradona’s father, Diego stayed with Argentinos when other clubs would certainly have been more convenient.

As he developed through the ranks, he first became known to the fans of the club when, as a teenager, he was a ball boy in a top-tier match. Maradona was given the ball at half-time and told to show off his skills in the centre circle. He began bouncing it from instep to thigh to head to shoulder and back again, with the crowd enjoying the show from their young prospect.

On another occasion, when doing his thing at half-time in a clash with Boca Juniors, the crowd started clapping along and shouting for him to stay on the pitch even when the teams had come out for the second half. Such was the impact of his impromptu demonstrations that, even at such a tender age, this was clearly a talent destined to make a mark on the game. As his reputation grew, he had to perform his tricks with both the ball and an orange on national television.

Maradona’s rise to prominence with Argentinos Juniors happened remarkably fast. Within the space of a few years he rose from the lowest youth ranks to the senior team. In 1974, aged 14, Maradona’s youth side won their championship. He played a couple of matches at the next level before being moved up to a higher age group. A few months later he was moved up again; a handful more games and he was moved once more, this time to the first team.

On 20 October 1976, still only 15-years-old, the young, diminutive Diego Maradona made his debut for Argentinos Juniors’ first-team against Tallares de Córdoba. During training the week before, the manager, Juan Carlos Montes, had told Maradona he’d be on the bench for this game. But not only that, Montes told young Diego to be well prepared as he’d be coming on. 

Early in the second half, with Argentinos 1-0 down, his moment had arrived. Maradona described the moment in his autobiography, El Diego: “Montes fixed me with a stare, as if he was asking me, ‘Do you dare?’ I held his stare, and that was my answer.” Maradona trotted on to the field in the iconic red shirt with white sash, wearing the number 16.  Montes’ final words to his young protégé as he was about to embark on the first rung of the ladder to footballing greatness were: “Come on Diego, play like you know how … and if you can, nutmeg someone.”

Maradona did as he was told, dummying and nutmegging his marker Juan Domingo Cabrera to receive an “ole” from the crowd, hailing the arrival of a special talent. He was still a young teenager, just 15, promoted early, playing in a man’s game. But he was a young player with the skills and, importantly, the wherewithal and savvy to avoid the brutality aimed at him on the pitch. “That day I felt I had held the sky on my hands,” recalled Maradona poetically.

Argentinos Juniors lost that first match of his, but as Diego himself described, “I had started a long and beautiful history with Argentinos Juniors, an unforgettable history.” It was the start of an astonishing career that would touch the sky, but the global glory, fame and infamy were still to come.

Before all of that, he spent five years at Argentinos Juniors, scoring 115 goals in 167 appearances, almost all as a teenager following his rapid ascent from the barrio to the big time. In his autobiography, he describes the rise as “too fast”, and it seems easy to suggest that some of his future troubles stem from how quickly he was thrust into the limelight. 

The spotlight shining on him from that very first appearance was all because of his age, his astonishing skills, and how well he played. He was loved not just for his talents, but because he epitomised the Argentine myth of the pibe – the street kid with the skills to “make his way through life with a combination of charm and cunning, encouraged almost, never to mature into adulthood,” as described by Jonathan Wilson in Angels With Dirty Faces.

A more apt description of Maradona you would struggle to find, and even in his early career he typified this ideal. That first season saw him play 11 times, scoring twice against San Lorenzo just two weeks after his 16th birthday. A debut with the national team followed in early 1977, with this significant step still coming having only played those initial 11 games for Argentinos Juniors.

As Maradona’s career took off, the huge disappointment at being cut from the 1978 World Cup squad at the last moment scarred him, but also served as a motivational tool. He realised that anger was fuel for him, and he channelled that into his performances for Argentinos. Within a few days of his devastating World Cup disappointment, he starred in a 5-0 win for Argentinos Juniors over Chacarita, scoring two and assisting two others.

His desire to fight his way up, added to his focused anger over his World Cup snub, helped propel him to become better and better. In Argentinos, he had a team that was also fighting continually against the odds; a small fish in a big pond, the footballing metaphor of Diego himself: youthful, small in stature, always fighting his way, always battling his corner.

With a fired-up Maradona, Argentinos’ form picked up, pushing them to fifth in the Metropolitano in 1978, their young attacker the top scorer with 22 goals. With that, further international recognition came his way, initially through the youth team, with senior coach César Luis Menotti heavily involved. It was at the 1979 World Youth Championship, in a squad building towards the 1982 World Cup, that he first came to global prominence.

Shortly before that global breakthrough, Argentinos had declared Maradona non-transferable. However, this prompted the obvious question of how a club of their limited means would manage to pay for Maradona in order to keep him, especially in view of the offers that were by now regularly streaming in domestically and from overseas. A deal was struck with Austral, a domestic airline, to sponsor Argentinos’ shirts, which increased the revenue sufficiently to keep Maradona in the short-term at least. Without that, the Argentinos Juniors story, and indeed the story of Maradona playing in Argentina, would have been a significantly shorter one.

In the 1979 Metropolitano, he scored 22 goals to finish as joint top scorer, a feat which propelled Argentinos to joint second place with Vélez Sarsfield. They had to play a deciding playoff, but Maradona watched from the sidelines as his teammates lost 4-0, disciplinary trouble in a friendly just beforehand leaving him suspended for the big match.

When not in disciplinary trouble, the goals kept on coming: 12 in the 1978 Nacional and 25 in the 1980 Metropolitano, both as top scorer again, keeping his inexorable rise on track. He missed out on a title playoff again, this time through illness, and again Argentinos lost in his absence. It was another disappointment for Maradona and Argentinos, but for a club of their size to come second in a national championship was a remarkable achievement that had come about largely thanks to their still-teenage superstar. Soon after, Maradona would score his 100th goal in early 1980, when he was still only 19.

Further evidence of Maradona being spurred on by anger came in a decisive clash with Boca Juniors in the 1980 Nacional. The Boca goalkeeper, Hugo Gatti, was quoted as saying that Maradona was a good player but overhyped, and that he was “a fatty”. Naturally, Gatti claimed to have been misquoted, and attempted to smooth things over by saying as much to Maradona ahead of the match.

No matter the truth of the matter, though, Maradona used the alleged insult to inspire his performance. He scored four goals (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFxp2XCrc50) past an overwhelmed Gatti, sending Argentinos through to the Nacional quarter-finals at the expense of the larger, grander club. The Boca fans, appreciating the standout performance from the star being formed in front of them, sung Maradona’s name – an act that stirred a profound feeling in Maradona, a burgeoning love that would have a significant effect on his future.

Maradona would again miss the decisive games in the Nacional for Argentinos as the national team came calling, taking part in the Mundialito tournament in Uruguay. It was the start of 1981 and Maradona’s time at Argentinos Juniors was almost at an end. He was rapidly outgrowing them, and the need to move to a club more befitting his new stature was becoming increasingly apparent.

River Plate had already made a significant offer, and the temptation to join the likes of Ubaldo Fillol, Daniel Passarella and Américo Gallego must have been substantial. Had he done so, a club already dominating the domestic scene would likely have ascended further still. Boca, meanwhile, were in financial difficulty and were playing poorly. Maradona, though, was becoming far more at home fighting the odds than having them stacked in his favour. It was the way he liked it, what brought the best out of him. Where, further down the line, Napoli would be a better fit than Barcelona, so too were Boca a better fit than River.

There were press reports claiming Maradona was on his way to Boca, reports which Maradona claimed in his autobiography were planted by his own agent to stir Boca into action. When Argentinos Juniors played River around that time, he was insulted from the stands for seemingly turning them down. It made things more certain in his mind, but with Boca lacking the funds to buy him, a loan deal was struck initially, with payment to follow in due course.

For Argentinos, this was far from ideal. Not only were they losing their star man but they were also missing out on a windfall transfer fee from River, though there would be a subsequent payment from Boca. This was partially mitigated by a hastily arranged friendly match between Boca and Argentinos, Maradona’s last appearance in the red and white, where he played the first half for his old club and the second for his new.

The manner of his departure, and the effect it had on Argentinos, a small club punching significantly above its weight, meant there would be a few run-ins between Maradona and Argentinos fans in the future, but the club that had nurtured him had to let him go. It had been a beautiful beginning but the young maestro was now too big for the place where he discovered his ability to channel his anger as a fuel, and to use his skills to dominate opponents. The tone of his future career had been set, and would never leave him, but Diego Maradona’s time with Argentinos Juniors was at an end.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 28, 2019, 05:17:09 PM
The Five Years at Argentinos Juniors that propelled Diego Maradona to Greatness
By Aidan Williams (thesefootballtimes.co) (https://thesefootballtimes.co/2019/10/28/the-five-years-at-argentinos-juniors-that-propelled-diego-maradona-to-greatness/)

Diego Maradona’s time with Argentinos Juniors began when he was eight. One of his childhood friends, Goyo Carrizo, from the Siete Conchitas (Seven Little Pitches) – a barren, hard ground when the young boys of Villa Fiorita played – had gone to train with Argentinos. When the coach, Francis Cornejo, was looking for new blood to come for a trial, Carrizo, one of the best players in Cornejo’s young team, spoke up. “Sir, I’ve got a friend who’s better than me,” he said.  “Can I bring him next week?” When he got a positive response, Goyo asked Diego, who was keen, naturally.

This should be Siete Canchitas. Una concha is a completely different animal. ;D
Post by: soccerman on October 29, 2019, 02:14:24 PM
There's a documentary on HBO on Maradona, it really gives you an insight on his life during his years in Italy in the 80's and the WC in 86 and 90. He was bigger than a rockstar in Naples and the people treated him like a God, you can see given the accomplishments he helped the club achieve. Also the Italian fans were racist as hell, some of their chants during games towards Napoli were astonishing :o
Post by: asylumseeker on October 29, 2019, 02:33:46 PM
There's a documentary on HBO on Maradona, it really gives you an insight on his life during his years in Italy in the 80's and the WC in 86 and 90. He was bigger than a rockstar in Naples and the people treated him like a God, you can see given the accomplishments he helped the club achieve. Also the Italian fans were racist as hell, some of their chants during games towards Napoli were astonishing :o

There's also a recent one on National Geographic, not sure if it is the same.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 14, 2019, 02:58:14 PM
Suddenly ah bunch a younguns are appearing claiming to be Maradona's offspring. His lawyers are busy.
Post by: Flex on November 26, 2020, 05:20:23 PM
Football legend Maradona has died
JELANI BECKLES (NEWSDAY).

FOOTBALL legend Diego Maradona, 60, has died. Arguably the greatest footballer of all time, the Argentine had had health complications for a number of years.

Maradona led Argentina to the 1986 World Cup title, ending his career with 34 international goals in 91 appearances. His most memorable goal came against England in that World Cup, dribbling from his own half to score a sensational solo effort.

Maradona made his full international debut at age 16, against Hungary, in 1977.

During his illustrious playing career, he played for several prestigious clubs, including Barcelona, Napoli and Boca Juniors.

(https://talksport.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/5/2020/11/NINTCHDBPICT000622359891-e1606425731359.jpg?strip=all&quality=100&w=960)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EnxoekTXUAMEatg.jpg)
Every Napoli player tonight wearing the #10 shirt to honour Diego Maradona 🙏

Post by: soccerman on November 26, 2020, 08:43:58 PM
Big respect to Napoli. HBO has an excellent documentary on Diego Maradonna where they give insight to the life of Diego, the footballer and Maradonna the celebrity. It shows how his life turned upside down with the nightly partying and drugs through the influence of the mafia in Naples. What was impressive was how he turned Napoli into a European powerhouse when they were considered to be a joke in Italian football.
Post by: Flex on November 27, 2020, 07:27:18 AM
Shaka, Yorke, Hart pay Maradona tributes.
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

THE death of football maestro Diego Maradona has prompted millions of tributes to pour in for the former Argentina captain, rated the greatest player of his generation and one of the very best ever footballers the world has produced.

And figures in local football have continued to add their voices to those mourning his death. Among them have been former national coach Stephen Hart and 2006 FIFA World Cup players Shaka Hislop and Kenwyne Jones, all of whom gave tribute on social media.

Hart said: “Diego personified every child with a ball’s dream of how football should be played. His caress of the ball was as mesmerising as what he did with it after. Diego brought romance to the game!”

Former Newcastle, West ham United and T&T goalkeeper Hislop reflected on both Maradona’s football skill which saw him win everything at club and national level, and his human frailties, which included a long history of drug addiction which even saw him being sent home from the USA 1994 FIFA World Cup due to a positive test.

“Diego Maradona was both genius and human in equal measure. He was courted by kings and a knight for the impoverished. He was capable of brute strength but yet played the game with an artistry unequalled. His life and career were the highest representation of the beauty and responsibility of this game, but also its pressures,” Hislop wrote.

“(The year) 2020 has taken a lot from all of us, and has done so again. Ray Clemence was a childhood idol of mine. But this year has also provided opportunity to take pause and reflect, to reminisce, and remind ourselves what’s important, and now, the difference this game has made in all our lives.”

A man of few words at times, Jones simply said: “S.I.P to the legend that is Maradona, condolences to your family and thank you for the joy you brought to football.”

Dwight Yorke: Thanks for the moments Diego!

I am indeed saddened by the passing of arguably of the best players of our lifetime. Diego was a larger than life sort of figure. We grew up wanting to be like him as a player. He inspired so many of us with his magical displays on the football pitch. It was hard not to like him and not admire what he was as a footballer who gave us so much memories and joy.

I had the opportunity interact with him on a few occasions and what a privilege it was, the last time being the FIFA Legends match leading up to the FIFA Best Awards in Zurich in 2017. We played on opposing teams in a most memorable game amongst friends.

A great talent that will live on forever. RIP

Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2020, 04:55:38 PM
Big respect to Napoli. HBO has an excellent documentary on Diego Maradonna where they give insight to the life of Diego, the footballer and Maradonna the celebrity. It shows how his life turned upside down with the nightly partying and drugs through the influence of the mafia in Naples. What was impressive was how he turned Napoli into a European powerhouse when they were considered to be a joke in Italian football.

I was surprised by that move to Napoli. I thought it would be either, AC, Inter or Juve, not Naples.
Post by: soccerman on November 28, 2020, 09:37:33 AM

I was surprised by that move to Napoli. I thought it would be either, AC, Inter or Juve, not Naples.
Yea it was a slap in the face move by Barca to teach him a lesson it felt like, and the fact they prolly didn't want to send him to a big club that would've been dominant with him on the team.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2020, 07:07:41 AM
Diego Maradona Doctor Under Investigation In Soccer Legend's Death
By Jaclyn Diaz, NPR

Police searched the home and offices of the personal doctor of deceased soccer legend Diego Maradona, amid questions over his medical treatment.

Argentine prosecutors announced Sunday they are investigating the death of Maradona as well as his personal doctor, Leopoldo Luque, five days after the former player's death.

Maradona reportedly suffered a heart attack Nov. 25 at his home following surgery that took place weeks prior to relieve swelling in his brain. He was 60. Luque was the neurosurgeon for that procedure.

Police raided the offices and home of Luque outside Buenos Aires Sunday, according to Buenos Aires Times. Police took information related to Maradona's medical history, computers, notebooks, and other documents.

The investigation stems from questions that were raised by Maradona's family over the circumstances surrounding his Nov. 25 death, prosecutors said Sunday.

Maradona's lawyer, Matias Morla, had posted Thursday on Twitter, demanding an investigation into the soccer legend's death. His focus was over the slow response time for emergency services after they were called to assistance the ailing Maradona, he said.

No charges have been filed against Luque.

Luque, during an emotional news conference Sunday, denied any wrongdoing. He called Maradona an "unmanageable" patient, but emphasized his love for the man.

"You want to know what I am responsible for?" Luque asked rhetorically through tears at the news conference. "For having loved him, for having taken care of him, for having extended his life, for having improved it to the end."

Luque said Maradona refused to go to a rehabilitation center following his surgery, and instead chose to recover at home. Luque said he "did everything could."

The death of Maradona, who is considered a national hero in Argentina, devastated thousands in the South American country.

Leopoldo Luque denies wrongdoing as Maradona death probe heats up
Buenos Aires Times

The home and offices of Diego Maradona’s personal doctor, Leopoldo Luque, were raided on Sunday as the investigation into the late football legend's death took a dramatic twist.

In scenes broadcast live on national news channels, two locations in the City neighbourhood of Belgrano and Adrogué, Greater Buenos Aires, were searched by police, with a number of items taken away.

Luque, Maradona's personal doctor, then appeared on national news channels, granting an impromptu press conference, at which he denied any wrongdoing and said he did "everything he could, up to the impossible" for the late footballer, describing him as an "unmanageable" patient.

Earlier in the day, prosecutors in San Isidro said they were investigating Luque for involuntary manslaughter after meeting with members of Maradona's family. Almost simultaneously, local 24-hour news channels began showing police officers raiding the doctor's surgery and home.

A statement from the prosecutors' office later said they had begun analysing material gathered and clarified that "no decisions have been made at the moment regarding the procedural situation of any person." It added that officials had seized items related to Maradona’s medical history, including computers, notebooks, prescription pads and other documents.

Concerns

The probe was triggered by concerns raised by Maradona's daughters Dalma, Gianinna and Jana over the treatment he received for his heart condition at his home in Tigre, north of Buenos Aires, judicial sources said.

Maradona died of a heart attack on Wednesday aged 60, and was buried on Thursday at the Parque Jardín Bella Vista cemetery on the outskirts of the capital.

"Our investigations are ongoing, we are talking to witnesses including members of the family" of Maradona, a source close to the San Isidro investigation said.

"The clinic had recommended that he go elsewhere to be hospitalised, but the family decided otherwise. His daughters signed for him to be discharged from the hospital," said a family member, on the condition of anonymity.

Later in the day, Luque (no relation to Maradona's former Argentina team-mate of the same name), gave an emotional televised press conference.

"You want to know what I am responsible for?" the 39-year-old doctor asked between sobs. "For having loved him, for having taken care of him, for having extended his life, for having improved it to the end."

The doctor said he did "everything he could, up to the impossible" and considered himself a "friend" of Maradona and saw him "as a father, not as a patient."

Luque had posted a photograph of himself with Maradona when the former player left hospital on November 12, eight days after the doctor operated to remove a brain blood clot. Maradona returned home to Tigre where he received round-the-clock medical care and could remain close to his daughters.

"He should have gone to a rehabilitation centre. He didn't want to," said Luque who called Maradona "unmanageable."

'Nothing to hide'

Luque said he did not know why there was no defibrillator in case of a heart attack in Maradona's home in Tigre, and made clear that the home care was not his responsibility.

"I am a neurosurgeon," said Luque. "I am the person who has been taking care of him. I'm proud of everything I've done. I have nothing to hide. I am at the disposal of justice."

Maradona's lawyer, Matías Morla, had called for an investigation into claims that ambulances took more than half an hour to reach the star's house in response to an emergency call on the day of his death.

Luque said an ambulance should have been parked outside. "A psychiatrist had asked that there should always be an ambulance in front of his house. I don't know who is responsible for the fact that there was no ambulance," he said.

Diego "was very sad, he wanted to be alone, and it's not because he didn't love his daughters, his family, or those around him," Luque said. "He was brave."

A judicial source told AFP that no official complaint has yet been filed.

"The case was initiated because he is a person who died at home and no one signed his death certificate. It does not mean there are suspicions or irregularities," the source said, requesting to remain anonymous.

A preliminary autopsy report established that Maradona died in his sleep at noon on Wednesday of "acute lung oedema and chronic heart failure."

The prosecutor's office is awaiting the results of toxicological tests on Maradona's body. The three prosecutors working on the case have requested his medical records, as well as recordings from neighbourhood security cameras.

Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2020, 07:42:47 AM
Echoes of Michael Jackson and the challenges of navigating those waters. This situation has been building to 'this' for a minute, although Maradona's attorney is supportive of the physician.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2020, 08:24:07 AM

There's also a recent one on National Geographic, not sure if it is the same.

Just noticed yesterday that National Geographic Brasil (A Furia de Deus) and National Geographic Latinoamerica (La Furia de Dios) have released a documentary on Friday or Saturday. Not seeing any indication that it is officially available in English. They are on YouTube. The one referred to above may be the same; not sure.
Post by: Flex on November 30, 2020, 04:38:46 PM
Who is really the king of football — Pele vs Maradona
By Patrick Horne (T&T Guardian).

Dear Editor

It often galls me when a footballer - other than Pele - is referred to as the greatest ever, despite overwhelming evidence of Pele's supremacy in this regard. Statistics and achievements guide us to accurate decisions, and when the aforementioned are unparalleled, then, and only then is the title of “greatest ever” deserved. Brazilian legend Pele's statistics and achievements are unmatched! Ditto the intangibles such as leadership on and off the field, influence on the game and so forth.

In an article in a local newspaper on Nov. 27, 2020, (not Guardian) Trinidad and Tobago senior men's national team coach, Terry Fenwick, referred to recently-deceased Argentine football great, Diego Maradona, as “the greatest ever”. He also called Maradona the “best player the world has ever seen in football.”

To label Maradona, the “greatest ever” shouldn't be determined by one's fancy when Maradona's statistics and achievements pale in comparison to Pele's. Let's compare the players' careers: In World Cup play, Pele is still the only player to win three World Cup titles (1958, '62, '70), compared to Maradona's one (1986); the Brazilian is the youngest World Cup player and scorer (age 17 in Sweden, 1958) versus Maradona's first World Cup (age 22, 1982, Spain). Both players won the FIFA Golden Ball award as the best player in a World Cup tournament (Pele, 1970 and Maradona, '86), but Pele led Brazil as the first nation to win the World Cup three times to permanently retain the Jules Rimet Trophy.

Fenwick played for England in the '86 World Cup and recalls Maradona's second goal versus England in that tournament - when he dribbled past several England defenders to score - as the “best ever in world football.” This is debatable, because most who saw the highlight reel of a 17-year-old in the '58 World Cup receive a pass on his thigh, chip the ball over the head of the close-marking defender, spun off that defender and struck the volley shot before the ball hit the ground to score one of his six goals in four matches in the tournament, may think otherwise.

In all internationals, Pele outscored the Argentine by a whopping 43 goals; he racked up 77 in 92 internationals while Maradona reached 34 tallies in 91. In club play, Pele's 643 goals for Santos FC is unsurpassed for a club player. In an unimaginable career that spanned two decades, the Brazilian registered 1281 goals in 1363 matches on the way to becoming the first player to be declared a national treasure, by his country, untouchable to foreign clubs.

Pele, who turned 80 last October 23rd, was awarded Brazil's Gold Medal, was voted Footballer of the Century in 1999 by the IFFHS (International Federation of Football History and Statistics) and was named Athlete of the Century by Britain's Reuters News Agency. Other awards include the Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire and the BBC's Lifetime Achievement Award. Pele was named the Athlete of the (20th) Century by the National Olympic Committee.

Nick-named “The Black Pearl” for his valued stature in the game and universal popularity, Pele became soccer's worldwide ambassador. His visit with Santos FC to Lagos, Nigeria in 1967, stopped a civil war in that African nation; enemies stopped the killings to watch “The Black Pearl” in action.

At age 73 in 2013, Pele was awarded the FIFA Ballon d'Or award, the annual award bestowed on the best club player in Europe. When the award was opened to all players, then FIFA President Sepp Blatter recognized that had he played in Europe, Pele would have been a Ballon d'Or winner. At the awards ceremony, Blatter said of Pele,” When we think of football, we think of his name above all others. No other player has had such an influence on the sport or touched so many people. His verve and skill will never be forgotten.”

Very importantly, in a world where black achievements are marginalized, it is imperative that black footballers know the truth - the facts - about the black man who overcame miserly surroundings to stand alone at the pinnacle in their game. This is a powerful inspiration for black youngsters.

Editor's Note:

Patrick Horne is a T&T national who resides in the USA and is the author of the book, Black Pioneers of the North American Soccer League (1968-84).

Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2020, 08:23:02 PM
A rebuttal is tempting.
Post by: Flex on December 01, 2020, 01:03:31 AM
‘Diego was like a Shakespeare play; he was THE man!’ Hart on meeting Maradona.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

“[…] Diego was larger than life and he couldn’t go anywhere and relax. I’m sure it must be like that with Cristiano [Ronaldo] and Messi and Pelé. They have no lives.

“You have to see it to believe it… It was unbelievable to think someone has to live like this, has to go through life like this…”

HFX Wanderers head coach Stephen Hart, a former Trinidad and Tobago and Canada national team head coach, talks to Wired868 about his meeting with iconic late Argentina football star, Diego Maradona:

Wired868: You might be one of a handful of Trinbagonians who saw Diego Maradona play live. Tell us about that.

Stephen Hart: It was World Cup 1994. Argentina was playing Nigeria. You sort of held your breath in anticipation because he was making a return to football… It was a special occasion for everybody because he was making his comeback and he was larger than life.

Wired868: What do you remember of him on the field that day?

Hart: He just had an awareness of everything around him; a complete sort of awareness of teammates, [opposing] players. He was an ‘in command’ type of individual, in the sense of always wanting to be on the ball in every part of the field. He was a maestro. Just the way he carried himself, he had something about him. Even when he began coaching, he would always walk with his head high.

You would never see Diego with his head down; he would have his head held high, chest out. His body language was always that of a competitor, that of a leader, that of a winner. That day [at the USA World Cup], you could sense that even with teammates around him who were stars in their own right, like [Gabriel] Batistuta, etc, you could tell that he was the man. There was just no question.

Wired868: Long after, you saw Lionel Messi up close when Trinidad and Tobago played Argentina. How do you compare the two, in terms of their mannerisms and approach to the game?

Hart: I don’t think you can compare the two in terms of mannerisms. Messi is just pure football. He just looks like someone who wants to play, enjoy his football and leave. Whereas Diego, he was just different. It is hard to explain. Messi is… I don’t want to say unassuming because he is also larger than life from a footballing context; but Diego was the ultimate competitor. You got the feeling that he was fighting for an entire nation.

Wired868: Was there anything about Maradona and his technique that stood out against Nigeria?

Hart: Everything! (Laughs) He could use the inside of his foot, the outside, the heel, everything. Everything! For me, he was beyond technique. All the greats are beyond technique; it is more about their vision and their intellect—how they use their technique in game situations—that stand out.

Wired868: Was there any internal conflict for you as a Brazil supporter on that day?

Hart: No, no, no. (Laughs). I can admire a footballer. You grow up with Brazil and the love for that jersey; but Maradona? (Widens his eyes) You appreciate footballers regardless of where they come from. I was a big admirer of Philippe Vorbe from Haiti and yet we had that constant battle with them [in the 1970s]. Nah, no conflict.

Wired868: That Nigeria match was Maradona’s last competitive game for Argentina. How did you feel when you found out after that he failed a drug test [after the match]?

Hart: I just remember feeling a sense of disappointment. When I heard it was a diet drug… I know there are rules and regulations that you have to respect, but I felt like: really?! That’s how he is going to go out?!

It was almost a feeling of being betrayed [when you’re looking forward to] seeing one of the great players in the game return. I sort of sympathised with him to be honest.

Wired868: And there was another time you saw him play?

Hart: He had returned to Boca and I went to see him play in Buenos Aires. But he was not the same. He was carrying on his rebellion, but he was not the same.

Wired868: And then you met him as a coach…

Hart: As Canada coach, I took the team to play Argentina in Buenos Aires in 2010. After the game, I went to tell him good luck in the Copa [del Mundo], and through a translator he said: ‘come, come in the dressing room away from the vultures’. (Laughs) He was funny. He had a real hate relationship with the media, even though he appeared to love the limelight.

So he took me into the Argentina dressing room and he insisted that all his players come and shake my hand and show the head coach of a country the respect he felt was deserved [even though they just beat us 5-0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74o56r25uuM&feature=emb_title)]. That was rewarding. I seldom ask footballers or coaches for a photo. But Diego and Pelé, yes; and George Weah because he complimented me! (Laughs)

Carlos Bilardo was in the dressing room as well at the time. He was his advisor and obviously he was the [Argentina] coach in 86. I told Bilardo I was an admirer of his team from 1986 and he said thank you for that; but he was very much to the side, because Diego was the centre of everything. It was quite a zoo, quite a mess. I remember looking at him and saying I don’t ever want that to be my life.

I remember Diego asked me what I thought of his team and I told him I liked how his team was playing, and it was true. They were fluid. In fact, they were absolutely flying. He just allowed them to play. There were no big set of tactics really.

I said we didn’t take the best Canada team there because it was not a Fifa date, so it was difficult [to get the players]. And he said thank you for not injuring any of the players. (Laughs) I told him the guys looked like they are playing for you and they look very, very comfortable, and as though they understood fully what they had to do.

I remember Messi did not play. They said he hurt himself before the game in the dressing room. But they had [Carlos] Tevez and [Gonzalo] Higuain and [Angel] Di Maria. I remember [Gabriel] Heinz was in an interesting battle with Dwayne De Rosario and he gave no quarter; and Maxi Rodriguez was controlling things. But it was really the movement of Tevez that was causing us no end of difficulty.

And then they called a sub and who else but [Sergio] Aguero comes on. By that time we had tired of chasing the ball, and [Aguero] twists the defence inside out and scored with one of his trademark chop to the left and bang…

We started off well and we had our moments but they wear you down. They were patient. And I remember when they scored a couple goals the crowd started to sing—but not for the players. They were chanting: Diegooo, Diegoooo…

You can image what the Estadio Monumental is like when it is packed and everybody is carrying on. You are aware of what it is like to be in a real lion’s den.

Wired868: You said it was like a zoo. What do you mean?

Hart: You would not believe what it was like outside the dressing room. If I say there were 200 reporters, I’m probably under the number of media that was waiting there. Diego was larger than life and he couldn’t go anywhere and relax. I’m sure it must be like that with Cristiano [Ronaldo] and Messi and Pelé. They have no lives.

You have to see it to believe it… It was unbelievable to think someone has to live like this, has to go through life like this. Everywhere they went and in any country, there is no escaping it. But in an Argentina [the sight of Diego] was like blood in the water for sharks.

Wired868: What stands out for you about Diego?

Hart: Diego was like a Shakespeare play for me. I am not going to judge him for his lifestyle. I purely admire him for what he brought to football. I think being left footed made a difference. I remember when I saw Mario Kempes and that style of very direct, penetrative dribbling—it was very different from anything I had seen before. And then Diego came along and he was very similar but he could also drop deep and be creative, very much like how Messi is.

[…] And of course for Diego it was the time of man marking. But Diego’s power! Even though he was maybe five foot five, he was an absolute physical specimen. He would just run through tackles. You couldn’t knock him off the ball; he would stay on his feet if he felt it was to his advantage.

I was shocked at how powerful he was. He was elegant, yes, graceful, maybe. But power—a lot of power.

Wired868: Was it difficult as a coach when you’re telling players about the importance of being two-footed and they could say: but look at Diego…

Hart: Very few of the great left footers are two footed. It is very rare that you see that. [Ferenc] Puskas? No. Kempes? No. Diego? No. Messi? Messi could use his right foot but he is always much more left footed.

You try to encourage a young player and tell him you don’t have to be two footed, but when the ball comes on your weaker foot it shouldn’t let you down. You should be confident enough to make the play and confident enough to take the shot [with your weaker foot].

But I remember a quote from Puskas and he said if I had taken the advice to make my right foot better, my left foot may not have been that good. And that probably sums it up the best.

Wired868: How would you rank Maradona among the greatest to play the game?

Hart: He was certainly the greatest of his generation, and one of the greatest of all time. But I do not like to compare people from different generations.

Wired868: Would you like to say anything in closing?

Hart: No, I think that’s everything… Actually, did you see the documentary of Maradona coaching in Mexico? There is a line in that when he was asked: ‘do you have any regrets in your life in football?’ And Diego said: ‘sometimes I wonder how good I could have been if I didn’t do drugs’.

That for me is heartbreaking. But it is the story of so many great artists, unfortunately.

Videos

Remembering Diego Maradona: football legend dies aged 60 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BaYf8yGHgI&feature=emb_title)

Diego Maradona ● Craziest Dribbling Skills Ever ► HD (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JLVmBJEzXhk&feature=emb_title)

Post by: Deeks on December 01, 2020, 03:03:15 AM
This argument will never die. People born in the mid 50s and after,  straddle both their eras. We mostly saw Pele in his prime thru newsreel and later video. We saw Maradona in his prime in real time. We saw the best of Cruyff in real time. Those who like Maradona would say he won the WC single handily, but Pele needed superstars around him. Like Argentina does produce shithongs. Really! 3 of the top 10 players ever are from Argentina. DiStefano, Maradona and Messi. just like Michael Jordan had shithongs around him when the Bulls won 6 NBA. Argentina may have just as good or better players than Brazil, but the Brazilian brought "Magic" to the game. And Pele was of that  "Magic" era.

Pele was a bona fide STRIKER. Diego was a bona fide attacking MID FIELDER. Different positions. Pele would not be as an affective midfielder as Diego. And Diego could not play as a striker like Pele. As a matter of fact, Pele and Maradona combo would have been the best. Messi-CR7 combo would have been the best also.

The younger generation would say Diego, the older would say Pele. I say both, with Pele slightly ahead.

Post by: Cocorite on December 01, 2020, 01:11:19 PM
This argument will never die. People born in the mid 50s and after,  straddle both their eras. We mostly saw Pele in his prime thru newsreel and later video. We saw Maradona in his prime in real time. We saw the best of Cruyff in real time. Those who like Maradona would say he won the WC single handily, but Pele needed superstars around him. Like Argentina does produce shithongs. Really! 3 of the top 10 players ever are from Argentina. DiStefano, Maradona and Messi. just like Michael Jordan had shithongs around him when the Bulls won 6 NBA. Argentina may have just as good or better players than Brazil, but the Brazilian brought "Magic" to the game. And Pele was of that  "Magic" era.

Pele was a bona fide STRIKER. Diego was a bona fide attacking MID FIELDER. Different positions. Pele would not be as an affective midfielder as Diego. And Diego could not play as a striker like Pele. As a matter of fact, Pele and Maradona combo would have been the best. Messi-CR7 combo would have been the best also.

The younger generation would say Diego, the older would say Pele. I say both, with Pele slightly ahead.

Deeks,
 I really LOVE this perspective. Well said. Good balanced take.

We also tend to prefer the superstar of our era.
Post by: Deeks on December 01, 2020, 04:23:41 PM
We also tend to prefer the superstar of our era.

True dat!!!!
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2020, 05:50:26 PM
Just remembered in the US WC, Said Al Owairan scored a goal just as brilliant as Diego.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxDNewTtlXU
Post by: asylumseeker on December 10, 2020, 06:16:48 PM
Just remembered in the US WC, Said Al Owairan scored a goal just as brilliant as Diego.

Always found that goal to be underrated or understated ... especially since he ran through the spine of the team.
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2020, 07:51:29 PM

Always found that goal to be underrated or understated ... especially since he ran through the spine of the team.

I think so too. Funny thing, I had tickets for that game and sold it to my mechanic. I went to the other games. That Saudi team was real good. They gave Holland a real run for their money. The US WC was real good. Hot like hell in that RFK cauldron that summer.
Post by: Flex on May 21, 2021, 12:47:57 AM
Seven medical professionals charged with homicide in death of Diego Maradona
Chris Cwik
Yahoo Sports

Seven medical professionals were charged with homicide in the death of soccer legend Diego Maradona, according to ESPN.

Maradona died in November, two weeks after having brain surgery. He was 60.

Following Maradona's death, an investigation was launched. Prosecutors charged seven people in the death, including his neurosurgeon, according to ESPN.

Leopoldo Luque, the neurosurgeon who performed a successful brain operation on Maradona, and psychiatrist Agustina Cosachov, who treated the former Napoli star, are among the seven individuals charged. The two have denied any wrongdoing.

Prosecutors have asked that the individuals charged with homicide not be allowed to leave Argentina.

Medical board said Diego Maradona's medical team acted 'reckless'

Prosecutors also had a medical board review the actions of Maradona's medical team to determine how it handled the situation. The medical board found that Maradona's medical team acted in an "inappropriate, deficient and reckless manner" with Maradona. Leaked audio between Maradona's doctors and entourage also suggested Maradona was not treated properly leading up to his death.

Members of the medical team, including two nurses, a nurse coordinator, a doctor and a psychologist, were also charged in Maradona's death.

If found guilty, those accused could face eight to 25 years in prison.

Post by: Brownsugar on May 22, 2021, 02:04:32 PM

I saw that goal as it happened.  Hear nah, ah bawl out when he scored.....still one of the top 10 goals in WC history....