Sports => Football => Topic started by: Grande on November 07, 2006, 06:51:05 PM

Title: What is your lowest moment as a football diehard?
Post by: Grande on November 07, 2006, 06:51:05 PM
For Arsenal fans it may be losing to Barcelona in the CL final after some shady refereeing (according to the Arsenal fans themselves)

For Man United fans it could be what transpired today  :devil:

For relatively young T&T fans who can't recall the full blow of 1989, it could be various attempts to qualify in games since then - even in the 2006 attempt - or losing to England, or dat 1-1 draw with Bahrain dat had everybody twitching and bitter for a good few days

For de older heads, it could be what happened in 1974 versus Haiti.

allyuh get my drift. Now reflect on your lifelong experiences with T&T football, or de history of yuh club, and let we see what some forumites used to grieve about (or still are).

Title: Re: What is your lowest moment as a football diehard?
Post by: che on November 07, 2006, 07:10:36 PM
Has to be 1989.  :'(
Post by: weary1969 on November 07, 2006, 07:13:14 PM
What stop me goin to the stadium foryears was in 1988 when Jerren Nixonwas an Under 16. We came through the first wrong unbeaten including beating the US. In the 2nd round Canada beat we then we draw with somebody cyah remember and thenin the final game whenhe have tobeat the US we lost with a late goal. man I wanted to cuss.

For my salvation sake I say J stay away fromthe stadium support but stay away.

Of couse Nov 19 1989. I was in my 1st yr in UWI in JA and when we lost I could not even call home because of the backward phone system. It was hard real hard.
Post by: che on November 07, 2006, 07:22:21 PM
What stop me goin to the stadium foryears was in 1988 when Jerren Nixonwas an Under 16. We came through the first wrong unbeaten including beating the US. In the 2nd round Canada beat we then we draw with somebody cyah remember and thenin the final game whenhe have tobeat the US we lost with a late goal. man I wanted to cuss.

For my salvation sake I say J stay away fromthe stadium support but stay away.

Of couse Nov 19 1989. I was in my 1st yr in UWI in JA and when we lost I could not even call home because of the backward phone system. It was hard real hard.

Yes Ja still have backward phone system, but at least we finally made it  :D
Post by: palos on November 07, 2006, 07:33:35 PM

November 19, 1989 to be exact.  Doh get any lower dan dat.  Dat traumatise a generation until November 16, 2005.  Matter of fact, ah goin home now and watch dah Bahrain game again.
Post by: weary1969 on November 07, 2006, 07:36:11 PM
Thank God we finally made it is the understatement of the century.
Post by: che on November 07, 2006, 07:38:45 PM

November 19, 1989 to be exact.  Doh get any lower dan dat.  Dat traumatise a generation until November 16, 2005.  Matter of fact, ah goin home now and watch dah Bahrain game again.

I watch de sweden match every night before i go to bed. :wavetowel:
Post by: WestCoast on November 07, 2006, 07:45:58 PM
December 1973 against Haiti. Cant find the exact day. 10th or 11th maybe

THE GREATEST DAY was June 10 2006 against Sweden.  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

"At Dortmund on June 10, as Sweden swarmed the outnumbered Warriors in World Cup battle, Yorke stood firm with a combination of successful tackles and smart interceptions that were matched by a spectacular show from goalkeeper Shaka Hislop."
Post by: fari on November 07, 2006, 08:26:12 PM
whattt...big topic. i have had plenty.

Nov 19th 1989, meh earth strong to boot, having to take that loss as an 11 yr old was hard, parents couldn't say nothing to console meh.

1990, Pres went tobago to play signal hill and them tobago rangotang hit allahar in his head with a piece of wood or something so. we lors the game and play the next match in protest...eldo or gustine or some one of them east schools put like 5 or 6 on us, if i remember correctly one of we subs score a long range shot tho. the funny thing was that the bench give a kind of sarcastic cheer when the fella score.

this year i had two, arsenal lost to barca. that one hurt cuz i wanted them to win to rub it in the faces of all the haters.

then france lost on penalties, i really feel it for hnery more than anything, that is real sourness to reach 2 big finals and lose both.

there were some lean times in pres in the mid 90s also, schools like ptown put the hurt on us a couple times. i remember one time jurawan put a stink wrong address or cutback on corbie.  steups, i might be wrong but i know he put it on some pres player.
Post by: grskywalker on November 07, 2006, 08:27:48 PM
no game was ever more important. NOV 19TH 89 was the ultimate disappointment
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 07, 2006, 08:34:54 PM
i was born in 90'  so i never experienced d hurt of 89'

but i have had good bit of low moments...

not in order:

Utd losing to Benfica(05-06)...Utd getting knocked out by Porto(03-04)

Utd losing to assanal at home(06-07) and in FA Cup final  after completely outplaying them for 120 mins (04-05)

Utd losing to Chelsea(05-06)

England losing to Portugal (euro 04' and world cup 06')

Tnt... Ja loss at home in hex....   Canada loss at gold cup....  5-1 Guatemala loss...   Colombia loss in gold cup 05'..... Loss against Paraguay...   Draw with Bahrain 1-1...

When Becks and Ruud left Utd....

as you can see i suffered alot lol

Post by: weary1969 on November 07, 2006, 09:57:34 PM
SM if u born in 90 I sure in your mother's womb u felt the hurt of Nov 19
Post by: Padams on November 07, 2006, 10:17:27 PM
Definitely Nov 19, 89 after dat dreadful day I felt like I walked through the valley of the shadow of death......Until....that great day of Nov 16, 05...God came and walked with me in the valley and delivered me from evil...he saved me from what seemed an eternity in football hell...
Post by: DeSoWa on November 07, 2006, 11:23:06 PM
On that dreadful day, 1 wk 1 day after my 17th b/day...I went into skinner park, paid my 5 dollars way in advance to watch the game on the big screen, hoping to continue my b/day celebrations with the big DJ sound systems already setup for the big fete. Walked around with ah big smile on me face meeting up all my friends preparing for what was to be the biggest day in our history, we done have ah holiday the next day, everything red sellout....but in the end all that was left was 1 million people with red eyes and disappointment! That was the lowest of lows for me..and I would never forget that day. But there was a rainbow after all, even though it took 16 long yrs to show up, but it did and I am happy to also witness the highest of highs  ;D

Post by: davidephraim on November 08, 2006, 04:16:04 AM

I concur...
Post by: Remie on November 08, 2006, 05:30:04 AM
When Spurs lost to West Ham on the last day of the season and missed out on Champions League football to Arsenal.

But then again, it will make it even sweeter when we do get in the Champions League, just like it was that bit sweeter to beat Chelsea after so many years.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2006, 05:48:29 AM

1990, Pres went tobago to play signal hill and them tobago rangotang hit allahar in his head with a piece of wood or something so. we lors the game and play the next match in protest...eldo or gustine or some one of them east schools put like 5 or 6 on us, if i remember correctly one of we subs score a long range shot tho. the funny thing was that the bench give a kind of sarcastic cheer when the fella score.

Ah sorry Fari, but dat was one a de sweetest Intercol match I ever take in.....and to be honest mih eh see ah single thing in de game till around de 80th minute when Pres. Score....before dat ah was too busy jumping to a boss Riddim Section it has going....when Pres score de whole ah Shaw Park came to a complete standstill....
Den we hit all yuh back in bout de space a 5 minutes....ah think de game end 3-1....
Den it was St. Augustine all yuh play in the 3rd place play offs and dey hit all yuh some ridiculous figure like 10 or 11......(double check dat eh, but ah remember de score was real outrageous)...

p.s mih ent no rangotang.... ;D

Anywho.....I digress....NOVEMBER 19TH 1989   :'(.....have to be de lowest....ah was 15 at de time....now in 5th Form....we done start to party home aready long before de game start and finish.....ah never did come up with an adjective to describe how dat game leave me feeling for 16 years.....ah hollowness dat November 16th 2005 cure!!!.....
Post by: Daft Trini on November 08, 2006, 06:59:50 AM
Had to be 1989, I remember after the game. I told my father i needed to go to the bathroom to pee and I started to cry. I did not want to show my parents I was crying even though I was twelve.

Benedicts loosing big 5 and intercol in 1995.

Latas leaving the field after the Paraguay game. It brought some sad emotions on. The Little Genuis would never don our colours again and that made me sad.

Gazza's tears in Italia 90.

Cheated by that lanky assed Crouch and knowing that dem ref ah do nutten.....

Last match ah ever play in Highschool. Man I started to cry at the 77min.

The death of Mike Forgenie.

Post by: Observer on November 08, 2006, 07:53:00 AM
1973 in Haiti dat hurt because of two reasons Robbery and Not going to the WC.
1989 Ooch!
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 08:39:41 AM
Ah fuhget....1 more.  It wasn't de lowest..but meh 2nd lowest

Brazil lorse 3-2 to Italy in WC 1982.  Fuss and only time ah ever cry after a football match.  On November 19, 1989...ah was in de stadium and ah couldn't even cry...ah was jes too numb.  But dat Brazil lorse did bring meh to tears.
Post by: Johpants on November 08, 2006, 08:47:56 AM
Nov. 19, 1989. I never had a tabanca like that football tabanca after that game. I couldn't fall asleep that night I was good depressed. I never want to feel that way again and I guess after Nov 16, 2005 nothing in football could hurt as much.
Post by: Quags on November 08, 2006, 08:51:17 AM
My lowest football moment ,is when I moved to Canada ....and realize I will never ever be able to play small goal everyday AGAIN!!    :'(  :'(
Post by: Andre on November 08, 2006, 08:56:59 AM
1st: nov. 19, 1989

2nd: the disappointing world cup qualification campaign for the 94 world cup after coming so close in 89.

3rd: the embarrassing world cup qualification campaign for the 98 world cup.

Post by: superoli on November 08, 2006, 08:59:16 AM
November 19, 1989
that was the lowest of low and if we had lose to Bahrain I think I might have given up on football for ever.
Post by: dwolfman on November 08, 2006, 09:07:57 AM
In school it's a tie between when we were up 2-0 to Fatima on we grounds and Marvin Raeburn put in one of the most spectacular performances I've ever seen of a schoolboy and we lost 3-2 or when we take a 5-0 beating from QRC on QRC grounds.

1986 when Brazil got knocked out on penalties by France and again in 1998 getting blown out by France in the final. With T&T playing in this year's WC it didn't hurt as much to have them get knocked out, plus they weren't playing great football.

The winner is November 19th 1989. I was in form 1. I could remember my mother cussing a man who was pushing me. To heap on all the insult of the pressure to get into the stadium we lost... that was the low point for me.
Post by: dinho on November 08, 2006, 09:13:00 AM
1st: November 19, 1989

2nd: I doh care, who vex loss.. When Baggio kick that penalty overbars in the 1994 world cup because he is my favorite player of all time, and esp because he never kick no penalty so in serie A prior to that.. it was a total shock, i nearly cry with that one.. Yes i was backing italy all the way!!!

3rd: when that crouch goal went in.. i was real low for all of 10 minutes until i walk down the steps leading out the stadium and realize is fete... all sourness wash away

4th: When Caniggia scored that goal against brazil in the 1990 world cup off the pass from maradona.. totally againsit the run of play, cause brazil had them under the gun... i think alemao hit post with two successive bullet just before that
Post by: Touches on November 08, 2006, 09:35:11 AM
Alyuh men memory short or alyuh just get numb after 89.

Now really and truly no arsenal lorse or no club or other country game could phase me as I get accustommed to taking lix as a TT supporter...but they have some cutarse we collect that hurt meh bad. It had more to do with meh surroundings and who I was with than the actual game itself.

Also other campaigns have meh bitter and also games in the other age groups where we coulda qualify and then do shit in the last game.

Lowest moment for me have to be 89....sitting down in that stadium wasn't easy:

Other worse moments in no particular order.

Losing to JA on Ash wed in the 2001 Hex...Me alone in meh TT jersey in Miami with over 1000 Jakans in the omni areana watching it on a screen. The 25 or so other trinis did not wear red...dey didnt sing the national anthem and dey feel shame. I alone defend we and get some good cuss and beer pelt on me and cup and thing....This mudder arse Tyrone Marshall...he will never score a fluke like that in history. And Yorke and Stern..steupss...score a kiss meh arse hattrick vs Arsenal 3 days before and use out all he magic dust. and couldnt score on JA 3rd string keeper who collect he first cap... Stern just was stern.

The whet we  get in Saprissa from Costa Rica under Porterfield it was about 4.......Cyd was labelled the ultimate shithound and never recover until Beenie give him a chance...he still tootoo down heself in the goldcup but that day Medford and Wanchope beat him and rinse him inside and out.The side just show no fight no ambition nuttin.

The 7 we collect in Mexico........that game send Shurland David mad....rumor was dey start to call d man Blanco...fuss he get tun up.

Gold Cup loss to Canada.

A time we had USA 2-0...Dwarika score in a Gold Cup match and I say yessss.....we doing it.....Only to lorse 3-2.

We had a rough patch when Porters now come when Vincey beat we, Bdos draw with we and we crown it off by collecting 4 in the Stadium from Jamaica...Dwarika went in on Onandi lowe full blade and get swat orf like a fly....Lemme tell alyuh something...Dat was RF greatest moment and crowning glory on this site. He never smile and coast on we so much since dat day.

When bertille went with a local squad and we get wash in a Digicel cup losing to Cuba, Bimshire run we and some other small sland beat we.That happen just the other day when seabra was playing.

The 4 we collect from scotland and d shit we play...even doe man here say we beating scotland. Imagine Quashie from portsmouth and this next shithound from Manu (I think it was fletcher) was schooling we.

I sit up a morning about 2am on meh computer and see we lorse to Thailand...watching on a windows media screen. When I tell yuh I cuss. I say some flicking midget and all roughing we up...how low can you go.

The 5 from guatemala

The last 16minutes from the end when Guatemala score to make it 2-1 in the stadium and I say our World Cup dream is over. Thank You stern for cussing we and scoring.

Playing shit vs St Kitts and Vincey when Bertie was in charge.

When England score with 10 min to go.....I really thought we coulda do it. That goal hurt meh like yuh wouldnt believe.

Post by: Bourbon on November 08, 2006, 09:58:31 AM
I was in de stadium in 89.....buh i was 2 years old at the time so it eh really sink in to me.
When i was in form 1 and was my first intercol....think we loss 3-2 to st anthonys.....dat drive me to tears.
Form 3 when we was playing eldo in de veledrome...and had to play into some hurricane strength wind.....Scott sealy hit a bullet dat went overbars....fus de breeze strong....de ball blow back into play.We was 2-0 down....den come back 2 all...den loss on penalties.
Not getting a chance to see the guatemala game from this hex gone here......had to depend on livescore.com......see 0-0 for de whole game.....say....YES we gettin a point!......den as de 90 minute mark come up.....jus see 5-1.....since den i cyar trust livescore.
Touches call some ah dem games dey....de 4 from jamacia kill me too. Digicel cup was de worst.
Dat england game.....i lie down depressed....cuz dat day real madness went on wit me dat jus cap it of.
Brazil in world cup 98 and 2006....both at the hands of france.
Had some others too....but those were the major ones.
Post by: dinho on November 08, 2006, 10:01:53 AM
The whet we  get in Saprissa from Costa Rica under Porterfield it was about 4.......Cyd was labelled the ultimate shithound and never recover until Beenie give him a chance...he still tootoo down heself in the goldcup but that day Medford and Wanchope beat him and rinse him inside and out.The side just show no fight no ambition nuttin.

With all due respect, even though i sure this topic get beat out on this site back in dem days, that was all PORTERFIELD fault... i mean, how you will watch medford continuously abuse one man for so long and do nothing to stop it? that is torture! sadomasochism!!

cyd even try to cuff down de man and escape a red.. then still get beat.....

hurt a man confidence like that?
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2006, 10:28:39 AM

With all due respect, even though i sure this topic get beat out on this site back in dem days, that was all PORTERFIELD fault... i mean, how you will watch medford continuously abuse one man for so long and do nothing to stop it? that is torture! sadomasochism!!

Angus Eve also have tuh take some responsibility. He wasn't helping Cyd ah tall, he was exposing him.
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 10:41:43 AM

Angus Eve also have tuh take some responsibility. He wasn't helping Cyd ah tall, he was exposing him.

SOME responsibility?  Cyd shoulda buss he flikkin head.  None a de central defenders did come across to help him needah.  Dem Ticos was playin dey own lil game against Cyd in dat game...especially de 2nd half...and not a man move to give he some help.
Post by: Filho on November 08, 2006, 10:45:01 AM
1) Nov 19th

2) Losing to JA in T&T while trying to qualify for USA 1994...and we had just res' three on them in the Caribbean Cup final..play all over them and loss 1-2, 2 weeks later. Went JA and draw and we were out. steeups

3) Fatima collecting 5 from St Mary's in the last game of Big 7 after beating everybody. Went Tobago and mash up Yokie and Signal Hill (the favorites). Just needed a tie in that last game and Kona Hislop run we ragged. (We had mash up Saints going and coming in the league...but oh lawd..dat was tears

4)Brazil losing to Argentina in 1990. Brazil was looking robotic all WC, but against Argentina they came to life. If you see knock..ball hit the post or crossbar a total of 4 times and just wouldn't go in..And them Maradon and cannigia salt dem

5) Brazil v France 1998 Final..steeups

6) T&T losing to Canada in a GoldCup semis after dominating the game. Nakhid even miss a penalty
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2006, 11:01:40 AM
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game  :devil:.
Post by: Rodney on November 08, 2006, 11:15:44 AM
Yep, as with everyone 89...but also Pres losing tuh El'do in 87 after bussing up CIC in the semi. Ah get lef by the coach at the stadium with no money being to busy feeling sad....(when dey do name check some arse say yes when meh name call). That was a long and memorable journey back tuh the southland.

And in the UK ....having tuh watch Forest get relegated to league one with two crap QPR goals. It was even worse cause ah was in the QPR fans section (easiest way to get a seat). So instead of just feeling like shit, only a set of thoughts bout mass murder going through meh head. Thankfully, ah aint that brave/stoopid. Ah went home and cry like ah prick with meh wife only making joke after joke....suicide was considered till ah realised most options required me to experience pain.  :'(
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 11:29:23 AM
Nakhid even miss a penalty

Dat was a surprise to you?
Post by: Touches on November 08, 2006, 11:45:53 AM
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game :devil:.

Its true I was meaning to type dat one........ how could I forget that.....setta shit dem men play.

No only did we have dem fellas to hang, but the effort and the drama to get ticket and den get into the game and den see dat shit....steupppsss.

Post by: TrinInfinite on November 08, 2006, 11:47:08 AM
2002 qualifiers when we find out latas and yorke staying seperately from the team and we to costa rica, which killed our WC campaign, sortly after yorke and latas announced retirement, i was depressed for months... this is also added to our poor campaigns in the 90's....
Post by: dwolfman on November 08, 2006, 11:51:19 AM
Actually, any loss to Jamaica has been a really low point as a T&T football fan. Anytime we don't beat Bimshire is also quite depressing.
Post by: ttcom on November 08, 2006, 11:52:37 AM
Were can I start. I do it by Decade

70's

Peru sellout to Argentina.
Holland lost in the final.

80's

Def Force lost to Argentino Juniors
Brazil lost to Italy
France lost to West Germany
who remember the jump kick the german keeper give the french midfielder.

France losing to West germany again.

Trini lost to USA

90's

Trini beating jamaica to take the shell cup and lose the next week in WCQ.
second leg draw to jamaica at the office.

00's

Gold Cups lose to canada
my boy nakid miss the penalty

05 gold cup in miami.
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 12:49:11 PM
90's

Trini beating jamaica to take the shell cup and lose the next week in WCQ.
second leg draw to jamaica at the office.

Yeah...dah was a harsh one in trute.  JB and Maurice combne to score a own goal in de Stadium in de fuss leg.  We rell trow way goals in dah game sah.
Post by: Slade on November 08, 2006, 01:00:34 PM
It's got to be 1989
Post by: SHOTTA on November 08, 2006, 01:22:35 PM
seeing stern throw away d penalty in the first half against mexico an den herin from forumites panama on top by bout 2

dat england lorse did real hurt meh too d first goal after so much work was pain

5-1 although that score help meh find dis board i was shame in my area cuz real men kno i is a die hard
and d land a chewing gum beat we

rudd and becks leavin untd

yorke forcin stern out birmingham
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 08, 2006, 01:52:00 PM
Peru selling out to Argentina in '78

John D beating Mucorapo in de Oval

Brazil losing to Italy in '82.....when all they needed was a draw!! HEARTBREAK!!

Moving to the US on '85 and having nothing but Mexican football to watch on tv (no Inter-col, no English, Brazilian football, nutting!!)

Brazil losing to France in '86

1989! say no more!!  I was playing for one of the top ameteur teams in El Paso at the time and after we drew with the US on their soil i was SURE!!!!! we was going to win that game and I used to PONG the only american that was on our team in anticipation of a sure victory (ironically, he was trying to unseat me from my position) and after that game I had to avoid that man for days....but he was in the same company as me......he pong me for weeks

....That Maradonna defense-splitting through pass to Caniggia in '90

WC Final in '98

Post by: Daft Trini on November 08, 2006, 01:53:33 PM
Like yuh fuhget how yuh feel after we draw 1-1 with Bahrain. Yuh didn't even want tuh lime after de game  :devil:.

Fuh real Tallman. When all dem stars also use to dis we team and say they cayr come home because they need to focus on their career. Plus everytime the TTFA screwing with de team.
Post by: dwolfman on November 08, 2006, 02:03:54 PM

Outside of the 98 final, 86 quarterfinal and the 2-0 to T&T loss to Paraguay I eh think it have another WC match that hurt meh so much.

Men talking about that 2-0 to England, but we defended whole game and except for Glen and Edwards we never showed any attacking intent. That game ended as it should when one team only wants to defend, tough as that may be for us to take.
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 02:14:24 PM
Men talking about that 2-0 to England, but we defended whole game and except for Glen and Edwards we never showed any attacking intent. That game ended as it should when one team only wants to defend, tough as that may be for us to take.

Fuh real.   De 6 we coulda colleck had we done otherwise woulda be preferable.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 08, 2006, 02:20:48 PM

Outside of the 98 final, 86 quarterfinal and the 2-0 to T&T loss to Paraguay I eh think it have another WC match that hurt meh so much.

Thanks for reminding me, I forget to put this on meh list: Not seeing Latas get more playing time in the WC.

I honestly thought after the Sweden and England games that we would have done better against Paraguay in truth.  The atmosphere in that stadium was priceless.

Post by: WestCoast on November 08, 2006, 02:32:38 PM
Fuh real.   De 6 we coulda colleck had we done otherwise woulda be preferable.
tell meh de winning 649 numbers for tonite nuh ;)
tirtysix million Canadian oui...i go geh ya a little sumting

buh wait din we come close to scoring in dat game?
"The longer the half went on, the more jittery England appeared to become and they reached the end of the opening 45 minutes grateful not to be a goal down after Trinidad twice went close to scoring.
Their best chance came on the stroke of half-time when England needed a goal-line clearance from John Terry to rescue them after Stern John had tried to bundle in a looping effort from Carlos Edwards.
John had sent English hearts fluttering in the 37th minute, when Dwight Yorke's corner from the left eluded everyone
only to be headed wide by the Coventry striker at the far post. "
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17819.msg179771#msg179771
It is Obvious that we did have some offence!!!
I STILL proud no arse of de Warriors.
Post by: che on November 08, 2006, 02:38:46 PM
Ah real low point for me was when one of my friends who doh really care about de warriors went germany.
And to make matters worse he came back home in ah england jersey. I ask de man to name two players other than Yorke and Latas and he say he know St. John, de tall man and de white boy.  >:(
Post by: Remie on November 08, 2006, 02:45:40 PM
Ah real low point for me was when one of my friends who doh really care about de warriors went germany.
And to make matters worse he came back home in ah england jersey. I ask de man to name two players other than Yorke and Latas and he say he know St. John, de tall man and de white boy.  >:(

St. John.

Boy, that is a good one  :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2006, 02:55:36 PM
ST. John that good. It sad that the real diehards could not make it but the waggonist did add colour. Like the guy who I told see u in 2010 and he ask me weh the next Wc will be.

So all diehards start to save for 2010
Post by: fatman on November 08, 2006, 04:18:02 PM
 the lost in 1989 touched an entire nation this was not a club, that this is a country where your navel string is buried, all the intercol ,savannah football , defence force trintoc games ,all you had heard about gally ,all the asl games ,basically your entire football life destroyed in front your eyes essentally piece of you died on that day.
Post by: morvant on November 08, 2006, 05:54:54 PM
when de costa rica man turn-up cox last year :rotfl: :rotfl:

when glen hit de bar

when jamrock beat we in de oval and latas and yorke say dey dun sweat
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 06:12:56 PM
when jamrock beat we in de oval and latas and yorke say dey dun sweat

Yuh have it in de wrong order.  Latas and Yorke say dey dun sweat and DEN nex game, Jamrock beat we in de oval.
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2006, 06:34:07 PM
when de costa rica man turn-up cox last year :rotfl: :rotfl:

Spann was guilty of letting de man pass him jes after de half-line without any sorta challenge.
Post by: Feliziano on November 08, 2006, 06:49:56 PM
November 19th.
That time when we lose to Jamaica after winning Shell Cup the month before.
Nahkid penaly miss against Canada.
Hand of God 86.
Everytime Spain fail in the WC
When Pres and Benedicts used to cut we arse for Intercol..(no more ah dat shit now eh?) ;D
Post by: palos on November 08, 2006, 06:52:10 PM
Hand of God 86.

Great goal eh?  8)
Post by: Lower St. John on November 08, 2006, 06:55:10 PM

70's

Bredo, I remember watching Peru play dat game and was so mad dat Brazil going home without losing a game.  I remember reading in the papers dat the the only man dat could have travelled home to Peru was Cubillas (most likely ah spelling the brother name wrong), but he fight hard agains Argentina in that game.  Big time sell out.  :'( :'(

As for the final.  As much as I did liek Kempes and Ardilles, ah really wanted the Dutch to win.  Dat game had really drama.  Wicked memories but a low point nonetheless.  :'( :'(

The funny thing is that it had real people pile in home by me to watch the game on a little black and white television. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Blessings
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 08, 2006, 08:09:17 PM
November 19th.
That time when we lose to Jamaica after winning Shell Cup the month before.
Nahkid penaly miss against Canada.
Hand of God 86.
Everytime Spain fail in the WC
When Pres and Benedicts used to cut we arse for Intercol..(no more ah dat shit now eh?) ;D

You should be on suicide watch by now  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on November 09, 2006, 10:52:39 AM
November 19, 1989
that was the lowest of low and if we had lose to Bahrain I think I might have given up on football for ever.

Fuh real, I woulda lost all hope of ever seeing TnT in World Cup....but dey time it right too cuz ah was planning to go to this World Cup loooonnnggg before TnT qualify (always wanted to go to a WC).....so ah was in real heaven when we beat Bharain....

Ah does look back at the newspaper clippings of dem Bharain players crying...and ah keep thinking....yes man somebody else cry for a change....  :)

Also, dat England goal after holding on for so long was really hard to take but like another post said....by de time I hit de stairs and see de sea of red.....all feelings of sorrow gone yes....aint no fans like us!!!..... ;)
Post by: Grande on November 09, 2006, 11:11:02 AM
Also, dat England goal after holding on for so long was really hard to take but like another post said....by de time I hit de stairs and see de sea of red.....all feelings of sorrow gone yes....aint no fans like us!!!..... ;)

Gerrard's goal hurt me far more than Crouch's goal. Dat was like adding insult to injury. After Crouch score I say well we have some time, we pushing, we could still pull off something. But Gerrard come jess so and it was like all the fight we fight come to nothing in that moment.

I was liming with Dutty, dragon, Hoe, chinee_boi, Ras I and a Toronto crew fuh de England game..I couldn't even lime with them after, fuss I was dejected...when Gerrard score I walk oustside, sit dong on the pavement and hold meh head. A Rasta feller come sit down next to me and start saying how this team does always make yuh cry etc etc. We run back inside at the uproar when Stern score, but dey say offside and that jess get meh plain bitter.

When I watch Shaka face after Gerrard score...I real feel fuh de man.
Post by: Jahyouth on November 09, 2006, 11:15:09 AM
Must be watching when the Bahrain man kick the ball out of Kelvin Jack hands and score.

Was like a Matrix moment oui.  Waiting to see what the referee was going and do was just pressure.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 09, 2006, 11:17:08 AM

70's

Bredo, I remember watching Peru play dat game and was so mad dat Brazil going home without losing a game.  I remember reading in the papers dat the the only man dat could have travelled home to Peru was Cubillas (most likely ah spelling the brother name wrong), but he fight hard agains Argentina in that game.  Big time sell out.  :'( :'(

As for the final.  As much as I did liek Kempes and Ardilles, ah really wanted the Dutch to win.  Dat game had really drama.  Wicked memories but a low point nonetheless.  :'( :'(

The funny thing is that it had real people pile in home by me to watch the game on a little black and white television. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Blessings

Man, you eh lie.  I think everybody everywhere was piling up in people house to watch dem games.  The atmosphere that those Argentinian people created for that WC is probably one of the most exciting environments I have ever seen on tv for a tournament.
Post by: legal alien on November 09, 2006, 07:25:56 PM

Yep, i was barely old enough in primary school to remember the excitement of november 19. i didn't know at the time though that all we had to do was tie. i just knew at the time that it was a big day and we were supposed to mash up the yankees.
     but i eh go lie . our 2002 qualifying campaigh really had me depressed for over a year or two after it became clear we wouldn't qualify. i really thought that was our year.
                since you talking moments, i agree that it's november 19th, 1989.
         november 16th, 2005, well, that ended 16 years of misery. it showed me that there is a God and that God is a trini. i still  cry every time i look at that replay of dennis lawrence scoring that goal.
Post by: fordy on November 09, 2006, 09:12:26 PM
well definitely nov 19th..i was there and it still hurts to think that one goal cud inflict such pain. brazil losing to france in 86...italy losing in 94. the only reason that hurt was because baggio carried that team on he back and for him to miss that penalty hurt alot. st. marys' looking the way they do right now!!! that shit still hurting!!! :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Peong on November 10, 2006, 08:25:09 AM

2nd: the disappointing world cup qualification campaign for the 94 world cup after coming so close in 89.

Add 2001 when our campaign ended up in disgrace.  My hopes got built up when we beat Mexico in the stadium with a Latas rocket, and then dashed to pieces as we got 1 point out of 27 possible in the first 9 games.
Plus I was in Howard when we lose 1-0 in Jamaica and I had to deal wit all dese bumboclaats givin me talk.

Those were some hard times.
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on November 10, 2006, 11:01:50 AM
1994 - Italy losing at the 94 world cup on penalties
to quote from the great Baggio,
"I made a mistake in 1994 and my countrey lost... for years later i decided to take another penalty. How many people watching belived i could do it, I'll neve know, what mattered was that I believed..." Roberto Baggio (Johnny walker ad)

2002 - The under-rated Germans made it to the finals of the World Cup. I was called german dog/pig but i supported them till the end.. straight tuh the Brazil defeat.
Post by: weary1969 on November 10, 2006, 02:47:54 PM
In the international area

Rossi 3 against Brazil in 82. The penalty that Zico and then Socrates miss against France in the PK's in 86. That feeling was a foreunner to how I felt on Nov 19th.

Cannigia goal in 90 Brazil play all over them and lose. Thank God in 94 we won the WC. Back to distress when France obeah Ronaldo  in 98. Thank God for 2006 and the redemption of 2002. Th elose in 2006 eh hurt meh so bad ans ehe Soca Warriors was at the party.

Brazil og gorm all yuh does age me.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 10, 2006, 02:59:57 PM

Add 2001 when our campaign ended up in disgrace.  My hopes got built up when we beat Mexico in the stadium with a Latas rocket, and then dashed to pieces as we got 1 point out of 27 possible in the first 9 games.
Plus I was in Howard when we lose 1-0 in Jamaica and I had to deal wit all dese bumboclaats givin me talk.

Those were some hard times.

ha yes i remember that also that was real hard ..... buh it was a lucky win
Post by: d_#1Trinba on November 10, 2006, 07:12:08 PM
zidane this summer...
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 12, 2006, 09:08:23 AM
1989 for sure. I was so hyped up that we were going to Italy, only for us to lose. That was a bitter pill to swallow.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 12, 2006, 09:14:59 AM