Sports => Football => Topic started by: Carib-Briton on November 09, 2006, 02:20:21 PM

Title: That Player Who Never Reached Their Potential!?!
Post by: Carib-Briton on November 09, 2006, 02:20:21 PM
This might seem a bit negetive but I was talking to a friend (He plays Pro Ball over here)
and we were talking about players that never reached their potential....

One that came to mind was
Daniel Montenegro He played for Argentina Under 20's he was a bad baller Attacking Midfielder he's made a Decent Career For himself but I always thought he could do alot better.

Darius Vassell is another.

I might get slewed for this one Aimar is still young (hes doing ok at the mo) but I wonder WTF happend at Valencia because is was obviously better than showed.

I know everyone doesn't & can't be the best but I just thought this would be an Interesting topic.

There was lots we mentioned but I haven't got all day!
Title: Re: That Player Who Never Reached Their Potential!?!
Post by: Grande on November 09, 2006, 02:30:43 PM
interesting post, this list could go on...sadly

Kleberson
Diego Tristan
Dwarika
Dwayne DeRosario if he doh get out of the MLS

more to come later
Post by: palos on November 09, 2006, 02:32:22 PM
Hardest
Post by: Dutty on November 09, 2006, 02:33:48 PM
Hardest

ah win $5...ah know you waoulda say first...but ah tort you woulda post first
Post by: Jahyouth on November 09, 2006, 02:38:01 PM
Russell Latapy.

And, no, I don't mean it as a joke either.
Post by: Andre on November 09, 2006, 02:42:49 PM
daniel addo (ghana)
nii lamptey (ghana)

http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/SportsArchive/artikel.php?ID=101140

dwarika (t & t)
Post by: futbolfan on November 09, 2006, 02:51:58 PM
Russell Latapy.

care to clarify...... :beermug:
Post by: FF on November 09, 2006, 02:55:21 PM
Russell Latapy.

Don't think he need to.... Yorke is undoubtedly the most SUCCESSFUL baller from Trinidad... when you look at the pure talent of Russel Latapy, jahyouth clearly believes this should have translated into even greater success and world acclaim than say Yorke!
Post by: futbolfan on November 09, 2006, 03:00:37 PM
Russell Latapy.

Don't think he need to.... Yorke is undoubtedly the most SUCCESSFUL baller from Trinidad... when you look at the pure talent of Russel Latapy, jahyouth clearly believes this should have translated into even greater success and world acclaim than say Yorke!

respect  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2006, 03:09:47 PM
I would add silvio spann
Post by: jai john on November 09, 2006, 03:09:58 PM
hardest
Nixon
Dwarika
Bert neptune
Chet hewit
Roger castle
Bertram O Brien
Ron la forest
Alvin corneal
Ian Clausel
Verron Skinner
walter Allibey
Russel latapy

Int. scene

Michael Owen
¨El burrito ´ Ortega
Pablo Aimar
....Diego maradona !!!
Post by: Jumbie on November 09, 2006, 03:15:27 PM
Dwarika... I really thought he had more in him. After seeing him in Canada a few years back.. he easily stood among the 22 that were on the field.

Who knows, maybe he did reach his potential ... one can only be as good as one wants to be.

I also thought that Kanu and Kluivert was going to be abit bigger!
Post by: futbolfan on November 09, 2006, 03:19:14 PM
from T&T  Nkosi Blackman, Ian "de dread dribbler" Clauzel, Nixon, Colvin Hutchinson, Sean Boney....infact dat whole under 20 squad dat make it to de u-20 wc.

international players would be... Veron, Owen, Rai(brother of Socrates),Aimar,Kluivert...it havetomuch.....
Post by: marcus on November 09, 2006, 03:34:09 PM

Vijay Samaroo

Post by: ANC2 on November 09, 2006, 03:42:08 PM
hardest
Nixon
Dwarika
Bert neptune
Chet hewit
Roger castle
Bertram O Brien
Ron la forest
Alvin corneal
Ian Clausel
Verron Skinner
walter Allibey
Russel latapy

Int. scene

Michael Owen
¨El burrito ´ Ortega
Pablo Aimar
....Diego maradona !!!

Tough one on Berta because he was boss and is injury that lick him up.
What about Brian John, Keito Joseph, Wendell Moore and Carlyle Andrews

How about England  ;D ;D
Post by: Daft Trini on November 09, 2006, 03:43:23 PM
Brent Rahim
Clint Marcelle
Leslie Fitzpatrick.
Angue Eve.
Garvin Lewis.

Gascoigne he was ah waste of talent. He decided that he wanted to be a tempermental artist and he did. f**k him self up.

Joe Cole people still waiting for him to be the next Gazza.

I idolized Ivan Sampson, Wesley Webb and Marvin Faustin but since they only toyed abroad i will add them too.

Man does talk about C. Ronaldo, and R. Carlos bullet free kicks. I remember back in de day for Rangers, when Faustin size up for a free kick, no body move. Man afro and high top fade use to be leaning from the direction the ball flew in. So I feel he never reach that full potential.

All de players in de Strike Squad, you all gave us hope but....

Post by: Daft Trini on November 09, 2006, 03:44:55 PM

Vijay Samaroo

I played against him many times and feel he was only hype for de leagues..... I think that he reach whey he was supposed to be.

Post by: Carib-Briton on November 09, 2006, 03:49:53 PM
I would add silvio spann

True Stories
Post by: Jefferz on November 09, 2006, 03:52:24 PM
I just surprised this specific subject passed as many as 2 posts without someone mentioning Hardest.

Hardest is quickly becoming an expression for failure...

Dred ah coulda bin ah rel could footballer... buh ah pull ah hardest.

Dred ah coulda graduate from college... buh ah pull ah hardest dred.

Man ah coulda take care ah meh chile... buh ah pull ah rel hardest.
Post by: Cowen on November 09, 2006, 04:17:47 PM

Vijay Samaroo

I played against him many times and feel he was only hype for de leagues..... I think that he reach whey he was supposed to be.

I beg to differ. This fella was real good ... played against him while he played with Gasparillo Youths .....man was genuine ... not sure what happened
Post by: Observer on November 09, 2006, 05:04:04 PM
I  cannot agree with some of the big names mentioned because most of them had successful careers.
Some names do come to mind is Denilson from Brazil. Palermo of Argentina, some may say Anelka and all of Holland is waiting on Van da Vart.
Post by: Filho on November 09, 2006, 05:14:35 PM
Me   ;)
Post by: kounty on November 09, 2006, 05:19:45 PM
croc
Post by: palos on November 09, 2006, 05:22:36 PM
Jughead
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2006, 05:38:01 PM
I would add silvio spann

True Stories

when spann signed in itlay i say to meh self he would be ah big one.....
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on November 09, 2006, 06:05:56 PM

Vijay Samaroo

I beg to differ. This fella was real good ... played against him while he played with Gasparillo Youths .....man was genuine ... not sure what happened

OK I with DC on this one man.  I played against Vijay for years from form 1 till we leave school and the man fed up eat beat and get out played.  I no saying he wasn't good but not what this topic is about he not even close to it.
Post by: vb on November 09, 2006, 06:09:43 PM
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika
Terry "jughead" St. Louis

Always expected Faustin and Hutson to play abroad.

Doh blame Ngosi, he break a leg and was never the same after dat.

Post by: Feliziano on November 09, 2006, 06:31:55 PM

Vijay Samaroo

OK I with DC on this one man.  I played against Vijay for years from form 1 till we leave school and the man fed up eat beat and get out played.  I no saying he wasn't good but not what this topic is about he not even close to it.
ah have to add me 2 piece here too
that fella was overhyped big time.

Tenorsaw..what ever happen to Blacksmith Gomez..wasnt he in your time also?
i think he was one of the best to ever come out of South zone.
Post by: Ngozi on November 09, 2006, 06:47:24 PM
I'd have to go with shawn garcia , brent rahim , marcelle , jamerson , sherwood , ivan sampson , kona hislop....faustin didnt really get an opportunity ya know but he talented i guess dwarika...on an international level I'd go with ariel ortega , anelka , cisse , god this is an endless list to be real
Post by: legal alien on November 09, 2006, 06:58:33 PM
 I wonder if it's o.k to include  denilson?
Post by: trini supporter on November 09, 2006, 07:30:15 PM
Latapy,Rahim,Dwarika,Requelme and kluivert
Post by: Daft Trini on November 09, 2006, 07:47:41 PM

Vijay Samaroo

Aye Cowen I played with Gasparillo Youths and Gasparillo Ambassadors. Who you was playing for back then Union Hall or Marabella Youths or PaP.....?
Post by: SUPA on November 09, 2006, 07:56:57 PM
Ah pick Latapy, but ah not sure if it should be potential or not geeting de right break. Cuz de skill and touch de breddah have, he should have played for ah club big as Man U, or better. No disrespect tuh Yorkie, but Latapy should have achieved the things he did and more. I would also definitely add Dwarika. Internationally, ah would go wid Ortega from Argentina, dat man was being called de next Maradona, by a lot of people. Some how or de other, he reach ah brick wall and stop right dey. Bless.
Post by: fordy on November 09, 2006, 08:04:01 PM
I'd have to go with shawn garcia , brent rahim , marcelle , jamerson , sherwood , ivan sampson , kona hislop....faustin didnt really get an opportunity ya know but he talented i guess dwarika...on an international level I'd go with ariel ortega , anelka , cisse , god this is an endless list to be real

fully agreed with yuh list...but differ on kona hislop. injuries kill him while he was playin pro in england.
Post by: Touches on November 09, 2006, 08:09:32 PM
Marvin Raeburn.....bess left footed schoolboy in Colleges league with speed.

Sean Boney....we lorse a beast, he making Onandi Lowe look small.

D Moze brothers....not the keeper or the youngest one, the other two.

Darren Lewis

Brent Rahim...Imagine this man went Newcastle as a schoolboy and pop down

Leslie Fitzpatrick...Went Roda JC as a schoolboy

Martin Robertson...A short white boy for QRC who had a bess touch.

Miguel Mitchel......dat coulda beat and tun up men

Sterling Smith

Jeremy Shortt

Marvin Oliver....when he was younger that was tears.

Wesley Webb another man who just fall orf d radar.

Clint Marcelle

Stern John......what Stern was in Columbus crew...to Forest...to what he is now.

Silvio Spann

Hardest

Anthony Sherwood....he never recover from dat break foot he get in the stadium.

Dwarika...described by the Scottish as the most skilful since Pele. Arnold was d fist player to do behind d back chip pass the length of the field accurately.

Nixon

Richard Theodore....Rip

This fella who in jail for selling drugs Adrian Narine...Narine was lil mad but he was Joe Public big player for a lil while.

The one who get discovered too late...Reynold Carrington

Evans Wise

St Anthonys and Fatima men go remember this indian youth...Gary Gibbings....he had potential. Whatever happen to he?

Post by: fordy on November 09, 2006, 08:26:22 PM

Darren Lewis

Sterling Smith

Jeremy Shortt

Clint Marcelle

Stern John......what Stern was in Columbus crew...to Forest...to what he is now.

Silvio Spann

Hardest

Dwarika...described by the Scottish as the most skilful since Pele. Arnold was d fist player to do behind d back chip pass the length of the field accurately.

Nixon

Richard Theodore....Rip

This fella who in jail for selling drugs Adrian Narine...Narine was lil mad but he was Joe Public big player for a lil while.

Evans Wise

St Anthonys and Fatima men go remember this indian youth...Gary Gibbings....he had potential. Whatever happen to he?

martin robertson had great touch...he ended up in holland and to my knowledge he still might be there(psv) and miguel mitchell was playing pro in canada but he has a serious illness which shortened his career. but all and all yuh list is on point. and as for gary de last i know he was in new york playin for ah trini team there.
Post by: marcus on November 09, 2006, 08:31:28 PM

MICHAEL FORGINE - RIP

Post by: big dawg on November 09, 2006, 08:32:55 PM
We cyar leave out ....

Colvin Hutchinson... this man made the trip to Aston Villa in 1988 with Dwight Yorke on the opportunity of a lifetime....

while Dwight lived the English dream..this guy came back home and practically faded into society..  I cannot even remember this guy in a warriors uniform there after... and if he did ..it probably was not for major competition...

Latapy never played in the EPL, La Liga or Serie A.. so I guess you can say he never reached his potential..
Post by: fordy on November 09, 2006, 08:33:51 PM
nicholas benjamin, garvin leacock, jason suite, zane obrien
Post by: SUPA on November 09, 2006, 09:19:16 PM
nicholas benjamin, garvin leacock, jason suite, zane obrien

Due respect tuh yuh choices, but dem players yuh pick dey, dey were alright but ah doh think there were many people expecting big things from dem. So therefore, ah wouldn't say dat dey didn't reached there potential. Bless.
Post by: Pointman on November 09, 2006, 10:01:43 PM
Latapy,Rahim,Dwarika,Requelme and kluivert

Kluivert??? :o

Are you serious?
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2006, 10:17:46 PM

Latapy never played in the EPL, La Liga or Serie A.. so I guess you can say he never reached his potential..

So what he played in the CL with porto and uefa with boaviista he was out there   clubs dont stick when it come to buying good/big  players

yuh could add jerol forbes to that list ah though he would ah be in the england now
Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 09, 2006, 10:29:45 PM
Joel Gibbons, dat man was good.
The Koo brothers (Roger and Ronald)
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2006, 10:31:23 PM
there was a sherwin gomez? that used to go mucurapo in the late 90's i always though he would ah be big
Post by: dumpalewie on November 09, 2006, 10:40:51 PM

MICHAEL FORGINE - RIP

You must be a Presman

Post by: Daft Trini on November 09, 2006, 10:50:16 PM

MICHAEL FORGINE - RIP

Fuh real.... Rip Brother.

Post by: Daft Trini on November 09, 2006, 11:01:00 PM
Shawn Boney could be on that list too. Peter Prosper....Bobby Zamora and Jlloyd Samuel, yes I add them even though they play EPL and played England youth. Which one ah them likely to make the World Cup. (since yuh cayr put all yuh eggs in one basket)

Dwarika and Nixon should not be on this list. They reach they full potential. They like to play dem a$$ games and they played it in the highest standards. Now in football they never reached their full potential.
Colin Rocke, Irasto Knights could be in that list too. Kevin Jeffery following also.

I know man ah go agree with me on this but Kerry Jameson because with all the tallent he had, he never made it out ah here.

Plus Ato Boldon and this is purely football because he was a deadly and fast winger I heard.
Post by: Midknight on November 10, 2006, 05:19:20 AM
So what he played in the CL with porto and uefa with boaviista he was out there   clubs dont stick when it come to buying good/big  players

Can you give a list of seasons, opponents played and minutes etc?
Post by: SUPA on November 10, 2006, 05:52:58 AM

So what he played in the CL with porto and uefa with boaviista he was out there   clubs dont stick when it come to buying good/big  players

yuh could add jerol forbes to that list ah though he would ah be in the england now

Dat part highlighted, ah want tuh make sure ah understand what yuh saying dey. Are you saying Latapy didn't play at a bigger club, cuz he is not ah good or big player? Porto is big, but there is much bigger clubs dan Porto, like Man U, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, the 2 Milans, Juventus, just tuh name ah few. With the talent Latapy have, in my opinion these ah de type of clubs he should have played for, so he didn't reached his true potential. Bless.
Post by: fatman on November 10, 2006, 08:44:17 AM
 UP TO A YEAR AGO BLACK SMITH WAS PLAYING MINOR LEAGUE IN MORUGA, HE HAD PUT ON A BIT OF WEIGHT .APART FROM DWARIKA .SHERWOOD AND ROCKE ,DARYLL EDWARDS FROM PRESANTATION COLLEGE WINNING TEAM WAS APLAYER OF GREAT POTENTIAL THAT FEW PLAYERS OUTSIDE OF SOUTH KNOW ABOUT .I AGREE LATAPY STILL UNDERACHIEVED.
Post by: fatman on November 10, 2006, 08:51:52 AM
i dis agree with several on the list of touches ,just to let you know reynold caqrrington was known by national coaches for years playing school ball wth siparia and after with defence force he was always a wll known footballer,you how ever are right his national appearances came when he was past his best.
Post by: grskywalker on November 10, 2006, 08:59:27 AM
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika

Yeah I have to agree with youColin Rocke his bro Jason and Kona Hislop, were players who never made it internationally either by choice or injury. Hey how about this guy Legandre I think his first name was Andre or Louis, from San Juan Senior Comp
Post by: real madness on November 10, 2006, 09:00:05 AM
UP TO A YEAR AGO BLACK SMITH WAS PLAYING MINOR LEAGUE IN MORUGA, HE HAD PUT ON A BIT OF WEIGHT .APART FROM DWARIKA .SHERWOOD AND ROCKE ,DARYLL EDWARDS FROM PRESANTATION COLLEGE WINNING TEAM WAS APLAYER OF GREAT POTENTIAL THAT FEW PLAYERS OUTSIDE OF SOUTH KNOW ABOUT .I AGREE LATAPY STILL UNDERACHIEVED.

darrel edwards was a very good player but i don't think he even get call for ah national youth team...i wonder how many good players like him don't get opportunities.
Post by: superoli on November 10, 2006, 09:12:55 AM
reading these names is real interesting, as plenty of them live here or lived here in London
Post by: Carib-Briton on November 10, 2006, 09:19:42 AM
reading these names is real interesting, as plenty of them live here or lived here in London
Who lives here now? They still kick ball?
Post by: pardners on November 10, 2006, 10:21:23 AM
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika

Yeah I have to agree with youColin Rocke his bro Jason and Kona Hislop, were players who never made it internationally either by choice or injury. Hey how about this guy Legandre I think his first name was Andre or Louis, from San Juan Senior Comp

I think the name was Andre LeGendre...he used to play for St. Augustine.  Big powerful striker, but I wouldn't put him on the same list with some of the other names men calling here.

But yuh know plenty men will differ because at some point in time we would have liked particular player because he play for we school or club or whatever reason.  Maybe the men live up to their own potential, who knows ?  If we talking about who play should have played for the elite clubs around the world or gotten international fame and glory, well that is another story by itself.
Post by: Ngozi on November 10, 2006, 10:30:26 AM
boy some men calling some names dey sah  black smith was a big big baller louis legendre darryl edwards them fellas was some real talented ones ...big big ballers
Post by: fatman on November 10, 2006, 10:52:06 AM
 sean le gendre{foward} and louis legendre{defender} were two different players  it was louis who was the talented player he played along side kona hislop and the bennet brothers for a national youth team lois was a sweeper capable of playing midfield a very talented player in deed.i believe we are talking of very talented players not players who ran through the college league of which i can name hundreds i am looking at very talented individuals who could have been dwight yorkes if times or circumstances were better .another name from san juan is the former u19 skipper of latapy et al kurt barrington a defender par excellence.people who went to school in the north ,east or south  tend to have biases toward there zones ,i went to fatima in the north but was amazed by daryll edwards and his ability to cross and run the line any one can give updates on the the careesr of these  players even if it was just in a us college i would really like to know what became of rocke ,barrington ,louis legendre ,daryll edwards ,brent bennet ,ian cluazel ,emmerson dubisson,sherwood.even guys like garth pollanais from the original green machine i would love to find out about these guys careers.
Post by: Jahyouth on November 10, 2006, 11:15:01 AM
Russell Latapy.

Exactly.

When you look at the raw talent that Latas had as a youth, and what he has done in comparison to less talented individuals both on the local (Yorke) and world scene, without a doubt Latapy has failed to reach his true potential.

Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 10, 2006, 11:15:40 AM
Another blast from de past, I thought that Jason Gatt was ah good player (Big Saints man)
Daniel Peters(thought that he would make it big)
Post by: Jahyouth on November 10, 2006, 11:19:45 AM
Another blast from de past, I thought that Jason Gatt was ah good player (Big Saints man)

Horse, Jason Gatt was real sh!t.  come better than that nah man.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 10, 2006, 11:21:25 AM

I was young back den, I just thought that with more effort on his part he would have made a good player.  So why was he playing on de saints team  ??? ???  If it had better players, Gatt should be riding pine  Yu do think so?
Post by: Jahyouth on November 10, 2006, 11:26:51 AM

I was young back den, I just thought that with more effort on his part he would have made a good player.  Yu do think so?

Horse, Gatt had a first touch like ah elephant.  But he was big, strong and fast so those mistakes were easy to rectify in the little boy Colleges League environment.

Now if you want to look at push and run men that coulda go somewhere, call a name like Jason Rocke.  He was a beast.  Decent first touch, and could butt like anything. 
Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 10, 2006, 11:28:18 AM

I was young back den, I just thought that with more effort on his part he would have made a good player.  Yu do think so?

Horse, Gatt had a first touch like ah elephant.  But he was big, strong and fast so those mistakes were easy to rectify in the little boy Colleges League environment.

Now if you want to look at push and run men that coulda go somewhere, call a name like Jason Rocke.  He was a beast.  Decent first touch, and could butt like anything. 

True, true :beermug:
Post by: Warrior till death on November 10, 2006, 11:28:49 AM
Russell Latapy.

Rusell Latapy never reached his potential?! u hadda be kiddin me
maybe he was never as successful as he could have been
he is looked up from everyone in falkirk...there is a monument in his name...
he is a basically a king
i could go on forever and ever
but i in de middle of doin work
Post by: UPRISING on November 10, 2006, 11:32:48 AM

Darren Lewis

Sterling Smith

Jeremy Shortt

Clint Marcelle

Silvio Spann

Hardest

Nixon

Richard Theodore....Rip

Evans Wise

Touch dais a big big list yuh have dey...but some would differ on a few points...

Marvin Raeburn.....bess left footed schoolboy in Colleges league with speed  ... yuh might want to consider Nixon for that position

The Moze brothers (played with all of them at Saints..) Kevin aka Slapper ..was the best one ..Darragh was probaby one of the best def. mids at CIC..

The memory of Miguel Mitchel ...VERY GOOD PLAYER ... and Wise rippin up the North zone... brings back memories of when Miguel beat CIC whole midfield and defense from right to left side in a intercol match in the stadium (had mih boy Ian Briggs kneeling down along the way) ...and den bark it onto the cross bar!!!  and Wise at CIC grounds wit jus drag after drag!! dem 2 fellas put St. Anthony's on the college league map!! oh gawshhh...memories dred!

Anybody remember when playing in the Stadium as a schoolboy was de shh!?  now everybody running out there regular regular..the stadium come jes like another field now! ...my how tings change!

Sterling Smith ..one ofthe best in his day ..Bertille real check for dis man at the U16 level back in de day...I en know why he en make it...must have been when he went to QRC from Belmont..

Shawn Garcia is a next man that was supposed to blow up...one of the most solid defenders in college history

Sherwood was definitely one of TT best ..the injury done him..even though he is a legend at VCU...

And I will add myself (CIC 88-90) to the list of men that en reach dey potential ..I en giving names because I en able wit some ah de killas on dis site!! ;D

Post by: Dutty on November 10, 2006, 11:35:25 AM
REAL name pass here boy

Ay touches..dem moze brothers is de redhead freckleface fellahs yuh talkin about??...cyah remember de older one name but he had a stocky build ...he was real good

One ting dat ketch mih doh..is allyuh sayin Kona Hislop played pro ball in england??
I thought he had serious knee injures since CIC ..and finish ball from back then
Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 10, 2006, 11:36:34 AM

The memory of Miguel Mitchel ...

Hey did Miguel pass away or something??  Just asking
Post by: UPRISING on November 10, 2006, 11:41:34 AM

JahY,
wit all due respect I play wit both ah dem men Gatt and Rocke at Saints..even play wit Gatt up here in College...

The man did the best with what he had ...and he workd hard at it...so did Rocke..and college league wasnt no lil boy league back den boss...it has real bruisers out dey fella..you know dat....it wasn't like how it now where half de players nashy nashy!

Gatt is a man that was scoring real crucial goals for saints and he developed his game to where he was a perennial all-conference player in west virginia ..so give respek where it is due....

J. Rocke, once he became his own player (and not solely Colin R younger brother) ...he was a beast ..leading the nation in scoring!  in the start he was all speed (see Thiery H. in his young days) ...then he,with hard work became a pure striker....

If yuh talking Saints forwards ...Kona Hislop was the best I have seen ...not sure how he stacks up to the men in the earlier days ..but in my time...Kona gets the vote!

Gabre Cummings in another man that did not reach his potential ....size was the main problem ..dribbling and shooting ...young Gally was a dan!
Post by: UPRISING on November 10, 2006, 11:45:08 AM

Nah nah ..hard luck dey boss...I was not speaking in THAT context ..I should have said "my memory" instead of "the memory"

Hard luck..
Post by: Jahyouth on November 10, 2006, 12:30:43 PM
Russell Latapy.

he is a basically a king

Bossman, is Falkirk yuh say yuh know.  Since when them is a big team?

Latas had talent to put any Man Utd, Inter Milan or Real Madrid midfielder to shame. 

With his talent it shoulda be one of them big big clubs where he is a king now.  Not an also ran in a bush league like Falkirk.
Post by: grskywalker on November 10, 2006, 12:38:27 PM
ah another man who use to make headlines is HAYNES from JOHN D big strong mother and deadly in front of goal. He use to terrorize the North Zone back in the day
Post by: Dutty on November 10, 2006, 12:38:42 PM
Russell Latapy.

he is a basically a king

Latas had talent to put any Man Utd, Inter Milan or Real Madrid midfielder to shame. 

With his talent it shoulda be one of them big big clubs where he is a king now.  Not an also ran in a bush league like Falkirk.

Lawd  :devil:..ah hope ned or none ah dem falkirk men read dis...dey go cuss blue
Dias kinda harsh

Remember is not talent alone...is attitude too

Latas in he younger days wouildnt take no shit from no manager....people rep as a 'troublemaker' in pro sports will close plenty doors on dem
Post by: dwn on November 10, 2006, 12:41:17 PM
1. johnnier montano. a colombian midfielder. anyone remember him from back in the day when foxsports used to show the tournoi u20 tournament in france? was a big prospect. went parma at about 17 and then just dissappear.

2. alex. thought he woulda reached further.
Post by: Jahyouth on November 10, 2006, 12:42:41 PM
ah another man who use to make headlines is HAYNES from JOHN D big strong mother and deadly in front of goal. He use to terrorize the North Zone back in the day

Oye, Timothy Haynes went Arima.  He was on the Arima team that clash with Sando tech in what was probably one of teh greatest games EVER in the history of the Colleges League.

Haynes was also on the Strike Squad, but didn't make the final cut.
Post by: grskywalker on November 10, 2006, 12:47:43 PM
I stand corrected, but do you remember the guy I talking about!! Tallman help meh out. MID 80's VB yuh cah remember ??? ??? ??? He was real poison
Post by: SUPA on November 10, 2006, 01:23:36 PM
sean le gendre{foward} and louis legendre{defender} were two different players who both played for san juan it was louis who was the talented player he played along side kona hislop and the bennet brothers for a national youth team lois was a sweeper capable of playing midfield a very talented player in deed.i believe we are talking of very talented players not players who ran through the college league of which i can name hundreds i am looking at very talented individuals who could have been dwight yorkes if times or circumstances were better .another name from san juan is the former u19 skipper of latapy et al kurt barrington a defender par excellence.people who went to school in the north ,east or south  tend to have biases toward there zones ,i went to fatima in the north but was amazed by daryll edwards and his ability to cross and run the line any one can give updates on the the careesr of these  players even if it was just in a us college i would really like to know what became of rocke ,barrington ,louis legendre ,daryll edwards ,brent bennet ,ian cluazel ,emmerson dubisson,sherwood.even guys like garth pollanais from the original green machine i would love to find out about these guys careers.

Fatman according tuh de lil football brain ah have, Sean Legendre is also called "Greyie", a short stocky breddah, dat was gifted in scoring goals. He was from Gustine, not San Juan. He use tuh play fuh de police team also, if I'm wrong anybody cud correct meh.Bless.
Post by: fatman on November 10, 2006, 01:37:23 PM
 i stand corrected, sean was from gustine sorry and. louis was definitely from san juan he was an exquisite defender. thanks for the correction
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 10, 2006, 04:01:55 PM
I think Kona would have seen his potential come to fruition had he not been plagued by them knee injuries.  He was on Trials with Newcastle when the last one hit him. Injuries also sidelined Sean Constantine, and I will add Roger Guiseppi to the original list, as well as Colin Rocke, Andrew Ali, Ross Russel and Sherwin Besson and my favourite Colleges' League player of all time: Ian Clauzel 

Nice thread.   :beermug:
Post by: Lower St. John on November 10, 2006, 04:52:24 PM

Oye, Timothy Haynes went Arima.  He was on the Arima team that clash with Sando tech in what was probably one of teh greatest games EVER in the history of the Colleges League.

This was the last Intercol Final I saw before leaving home and with the star power on show that night in the National Stadium, I am hard press to think of a better game.  I second this opinion.  MArvin Faustin put tears in meh eyes with that goal to win the game.

Timmo was pure worries.  did not want to come up against him as a defender.  Timmo had speed, decent control and a wicked eye for goal.

Blessings
Post by: QRC_boy on November 10, 2006, 05:36:06 PM
What about Marvin Gordon? And Justin Latapy......Michel Peters for CIC...Hirandi Elie or Hisham Gomes..What about that crap striker that switch from CIC to QRC...Vladimir Suite...He never really do much and never make a National team.....

But I must agree with a man... when I usesd to watch Intercol back in late 80's and into mid 90's men had size. Now if you 5'8" you is a giant men nashy and short....
Post by: Warrior till death on November 10, 2006, 05:36:49 PM
Russell Latapy.

he is a basically a king

LIKE YOU ENT REALISE HIS AGE
he not fit enuff to make those big sides nemore
so wam to Porto and Rangers ?? eh
Porto was a big side in his days.......and as far as i can remember..Latas scored 30+ goals for them...incl champions leage goals

on closing i will give u a list of all Latapys Achievements as a football.....den u deciede whether he never reached his potential or not

# Scottish Premier League player of the month (August 2006)
# Scotland's Division 1 winner's medal with Falkirk in 2004/2005
# Scotland's Division 1 Player of the Year in 2004/2005
# Bell's Cup winner's medal with Falkirk in 2004
# Nominated for the BBC Scotland “Off The Ball” Overseas Player of the Year in 2004
# Bell's Player of the Month (April 2004)
# Nominated for the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2000
# T&T Olympic Committee Sports Personality of the Year in 2000
# Hibernian's Player of the Year in 1999/2000
# Scotland's Division 1 Player of the Year in 1999/2000
# Scotland's Division 1 winner's medal with Hibernian in 1999/2000
# Hibernian's Player of the Year in 1998/1999
# Portuguese Super Cup winner's medal with Boavista in 1996/1997
# Cup of Portugal winner's medal with Boavista in 1996/1997
# Portuguese Super Liga winner's medal with FC Porto in 1995/1996
# Portuguese Super Liga winner's medal with FC Porto in 1994/1995
# T&T Chaconia Medal Silver (World Cup Squad) in 1989
# Edinburgh Evening News Sports Personality of the Year in 1999
# T&T Footballer of the Year in 1996
# T&T Humming Bird Medal Gold (for Sport) in 1996
# T&T Footballer of the Year in 1989
# T&T Footballer of the Year in 1985
# T&T Footballer of the Year in 1983
Post by: fordy on November 10, 2006, 06:07:38 PM

Nah nah ..hard luck dey boss...I was not speaking in THAT context ..I should have said "my memory" instead of "the memory"

Hard luck..

uprisisng...miguel is very ill..not too sure if yuh knew that...but thats what cut short his pro career in canada.
Post by: che on November 10, 2006, 06:51:55 PM
What about Kona Hislop? ( Shaka younger Brother) he was a  real good lefty.
Ian Clausell rule Compre in the 79-81 period.
Timothy  Haynes (Arima)
Coach Osbourne son from Pres. 86

These players all should have done better after their school years.
Post by: Lower St. John on November 10, 2006, 06:53:12 PM

on closing i will give u a list of all Latapys Achievements as a football.....den u deciede whether he never reached his potential or not

# Nominated for the BBC Scotland “Off The Ball” Overseas Player of the Year in 2004

Boss I think yuh might be missing what some men trying to say about Latas, although your post might be truly in line with the topic.  But when it is all said and done and yuh compare Yorke and Latas on potential and talent and then compare their achievements (yes in a team sport), yuh have to admit that the World has missed out on one of the truly gifted players in Latas.  Hence the argument that he never reached his true potential.  Latas achievements as listed above pale in comparison to Yorke (Just indicate a Champions League Winner and the story done). Yorke has won every cup in England as a core player.  Latas potential is on that type of stage not on running things in the Scottish Premier and First Divisions.  Yorke was an EPL star, recognized any where in Europe as being part of the ManU treble winning team.  I think unfortunately that Latas will always be compared to Yorke in terms of achievement and most men on this site will put him on top of Yorke in terms of potential.  Rightly or Wrongly that is the facts.

Blessings

Blessings
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 10, 2006, 07:23:56 PM
There must be a reason why big club neva buy latas .... but to say he neva reach his full potential is rubbish... why did he end up in scotland of all places  in the first division with hibernia ... people here have an inflated view about latapy i come to realize.
Post by: FF on November 10, 2006, 08:00:29 PM
1. johnnier montano. a colombian midfielder. anyone remember him from back in the day when foxsports used to show the tournoi u20 tournament in france? was a big prospect. went parma at about 17 and then just dissappear.

dwn yuh call ah big name in Montaño there..... that man used to mash up in Fifa 2000 back in de day haha ha haha
Post by: fari on November 10, 2006, 08:29:07 PM
i went university with a older gentleman who went cic in the late seventies or so. anytime we start to talk football the man used to be raving about ian "dread dribbler" clauzel.  the man had to have been something. i wish it had some film or something of him in action.

also, dwn, i agree with u about alex, he is nowhere on the map.

what about the young argentine d'alessandro, he was big with river plate but he isnt mashing up the world like he should.

diego is another youth who isnt big like he should be. in santos he was the man, robinho was kinda in his shadow but now you hardly hearing about him, unless u follow bundesliga.
Post by: vb on November 10, 2006, 08:43:38 PM
I believe the Haynes some of you want to talk about is Brian Haynes, played in the MLS.

Yes Legrende was boss for St. Aug. around 1981, alongside Garth Pollanais, who simply never lived up to  his hype. That's GP ah talking about not Legrende.

Post by: madmonn on November 11, 2006, 03:03:50 AM
i dis agree with several on the list of touches ,just to let you know reynold caqrrington was known by national coaches for years playing school ball wth siparia and after with defence force he was always a wll known footballer,you how ever are right his national appearances came when he was past his best.
I think Reynold 'Hippo Carrington played school ball with Fyzo alongside a guy called Sean 'Laddy' De Souza... who had de wickest fan...Hippo also played for Point Fortin Civic Center, Defence Force as mentioned and then W Connection
Post by: madmonn on November 11, 2006, 03:04:35 AM
I think Reynold 'Hippo Carrington played school ball with Fyzo alongside a guy called Sean 'Laddy' De Souza... who had de wickest fan...Hippo also played for Point Fortin Civic Center, Defence Force as mentioned and then W Connection
Post by: Carib-Briton on November 11, 2006, 04:38:18 AM

FOR REAL! I REMEMBER HIM. I'm glad I made this thread just to bring back a name like that to my head.
He REALLY should of done better.
Post by: samo on November 11, 2006, 05:43:46 AM
Men getting tie up with this word potential... Latas never reach his full potential???
Latas may not have played for the biggest clubs but he has definietly played and reached his potential...Allyuh know i am a big Dwarika fan, but he never made full use of the opprtunities that he got. People just calling names of men who look good in college, but how many players do we have plaing in college who never amount to being anything but an average footballer.
Look at Chinapoo, great talent but never played at the highest level...
Post by: truetrini on November 11, 2006, 07:23:12 AM
The fact that allyuh posting the names of so many college players illustrates the shittiness of dat league....in fact what that league has become.

Anyway..the three local players that come to mind the most are Nixon and Dwarika and Hardest.

Dem intercol ballers ...steups.
Post by: football king on November 11, 2006, 09:49:58 AM
Dwayne Demming, Dayne john, Brendan Moze,
Keith Farhina, Barney Sheppard.
sherwood but he had bad luck with injuries
Hutchinson was just bad timing
Post by: fatman on November 11, 2006, 12:46:36 PM
thanks madmonn
Post by: Carib-Briton on November 11, 2006, 01:21:43 PM
Men getting tie up with this word potential... Latas never reach his full potential???

I think so too
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 11, 2006, 03:59:08 PM
I looked out for devon leacock and micheal carringhton...
Post by: vb on November 11, 2006, 05:22:41 PM
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika

U know how long ah want to reply to this post, but ah just ddn't have time.

Ah drunk now but say what ah go try.

In addition to those I mentioned, how about

Dexter Sandy, a prodigy in From  2 playing intercol football for QRC, he seedm to disappear after his U -19 days.

Garth Pollanais some say the best after Clauzelle, but atim climaxed at the sr. level.

Andrew Ali...the Goalk Keeper from Mucurapo.

Ronnie Simmons, should have seen a lot more at sr.level, but execept for Alvin Corneal, Coaches seemed to have bias against this man.

Sean Ramdoo, but outside of the North most peopl have forgotten about him.

Dexter Skeene and Anton Corneal, probably paid the price for coming from Prestige schools, but were training with the Strike Squad before they buss a cuss in Gally ass in a training camp in P. Rico.

Latas spent the last few years of his greatness with HIBS and then getting spite from a Coach at Rangers.

At 37 he was ripping WC defenses, he was showing more poise and flair than Haggi or Stoichkov at 34.

Latas went from Porto, to Boavista to Hibs on his own steam. Nobody asked him to go.

I believe that what screwed him up, what that he had hoped to go to Villa, and Villa said yes to bribe Yrke to stay, but Yrke overs, went to MU and Latas get blank from Villa.

But the man spend like the next four years at Hibs. Perhaps he can explain that.

Latas' name should be on par with DY on the international stage. But outside the Caribbean and Portugal, who really knows this.

However, during his time at Porto, he did turn down an offer from Sampdoria.

Nixon, should have done better.

Angus Eve should have seen more pro ball abroad.

Post by: UPRISING on November 13, 2006, 02:08:40 PM

Hard luck..

uprisisng...miguel is very ill..not too sure if yuh knew that...but thats what cut short his pro career in canada.
Fordy,
Good lokin out bredda ... my prayers go out to the man ..he was a exciting player to watch and play against back in the day..

Respect.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 13, 2006, 03:08:10 PM
Colin Rocke,
Dwarika

U know how long ah want to reply to this post, but ah just ddn't have time.

Ah drunk now but say what ah go try.

In addition to those I mentioned, how about

Dexter Sandy, a prodigy in From  2 playing intercol football for QRC, he seedm to disappear after his U -19 days.

Garth Pollanais some say the best after Clauzelle, but atim climaxed at the sr. level.

Andrew Ali...the Goalk Keeper from Mucurapo.

Ronnie Simmons, should have seen a lot more at sr.level, but execept for Alvin Corneal, Coaches seemed to have bias against this man.

Sean Ramdoo, but outside of the North most peopl have forgotten about him.

Dexter Skeene and Anton Corneal, probably paid the price for coming from Prestige schools, but were training with the Strike Squad before they buss a cuss in Gally ass in a training camp in P. Rico.

Latas spent the last few years of his greatness with HIBS and then getting spite from a Coach at Rangers.

At 37 he was ripping WC defenses, he was showing more poise and flair than Haggi or Stoichkov at 34.

Latas went from Porto, to Boavista to Hibs on his own steam. Nobody asked him to go.

I believe that what screwed him up, what that he had hoped to go to Villa, and Villa said yes to bribe Yrke to stay, but Yrke overs, went to MU and Latas get blank from Villa.

But the man spend like the next four years at Hibs. Perhaps he can explain that.

Latas' name should be on par with DY on the international stage. But outside the Caribbean and Portugal, who really knows this.

However, during his time at Porto, he did turn down an offer from Sampdoria.

Nixon, should have done better.

Angus Eve should have seen more pro ball abroad.

Dem is some serious name yuh call dey, sah.  Most people, of course, wouldn't have a clue about dexter but he was a man-boy among boys at QRC.
I would go as far as to liken him to wayne rooney as far as his physical prescence and attacking style on the ball is concerned, except that Dexter was alot more skillful and much better behaved.  :devil:
Post by: SOBRIQUET on November 13, 2006, 03:20:38 PM
Kevin Barrow from P'ville, that man had the wickedess drag eva. Pre-beat, the man head used to be turned the opposite direction to where he was running, then whap, a full 180 and the defender skin-out on the ground, makin chile. Thys how yuh does judge a good beat..Defender know exactly what coming, but still cyan do anything to stop the bleeding... Also Blacksmith, Glendon "Petty" Phillips and Mattack-- Three Moruga breddas that all had some tremendous upside ...
Post by: samo on November 13, 2006, 03:54:17 PM
This topoc gone to de dogs.....CB, the topic was a good one, well intentioned, but unfortunately, but not surprisingly it has gone like Holiday foods, it of course...
People calling all kinda names ah players who sweat it some sh!t, bush league and saying they eh reach they potential. With all de talented players playing in the US colleges every year, how come we don't hear about most of them... Look at a man like Stern, standout player in the MLS, and when he finally left it was not for a premership team. 95% of the names called so far cannot even shine Stern boots. We have plenty players who could dribble man, cap etc. but it does not mean, if they were given the opportunity that they would amount to anything more  than average baller.

Post by: Daft Trini on November 13, 2006, 07:08:38 PM
Kevin Barrow from P'ville, that man had the wickedess drag eva. Pre-beat, the man head used to be turned the opposite direction to where he was running, then whap, a full 180 and the defender skin-out on the ground, makin chile. Thys how yuh does judge a good beat..Defender know exactly what coming, but still cyan do anything to stop the bleeding... Also Blacksmith, Glendon "Petty" Phillips and Mattack-- Three Moruga breddas that all had some tremendous upside ...

What ever happen to him. I played against him in 93 and 94?
Post by: Blue on November 14, 2006, 03:19:46 PM
Javier Portillo, Real Madrid's next big thing for about 5 years running...now he playing for Gimnastic  :rotfl:

Francis Jeffers, prolific for England U21's, abysmal ever since
Post by: vb on November 14, 2006, 03:27:32 PM
Hasan Sas from Turkey, plays for Galatasaray.

was amazing for Turkey in the 2002 WC, when they made it to the semis, losing to Brazil 1-0.

When the Spaish and Italians came calling, Galat promptly tabbed him at 25 million US (basically not for sale).

He will spend the rest of his career in Turkey.

You'll find that most Fernerbache and Galatasaray players are very happy to do that. It means for them than even playing for Turkey. But when you are from the area, it's a kinda fanatacism that ppl like you and cah really understand.

Post by: Marky NYC on November 14, 2006, 03:53:42 PM
Russell Latapy.

he is a basically a king

LIKE YOU ENT REALISE HIS AGE
he not fit enuff to make those big sides nemore
so wam to Porto and Rangers ?? eh
Porto was a big side in his days.......and as far as i can remember..Latas scored 30+ goals for them...incl champions leage goals

Now compare that list to this one:

Some of Dwight’s achievements in the Game.

· Top-scorer for Blackburn Rovers in 2002/2003
· First non-English player to score 100 goals (in a 3-0 win at Derby County) in the Premiership in 2000/2001
· English Premier League winner's medal with Manchester United in 2000/2001
· English Premier League winner's medal with Manchester United in 1999/2000
· Top-scorer for Manchester United in 1999/2000
· 10th place in FIFA's World Player of the Year ranking in 1999
· English Premier League Golden Boot Award (18 goals) in 1998/1999
· Runner-up PFA Player of the Year in 1998/1999
· Voted to the PFA Team of the Year in 1998/1999
· Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee Sports Personality of the Year in 1998
· Aston Villa's Player of the Year in 1996/1997
· Top-scorer for Aston Villa in 1996/1997
· English Premier League winner's medal with Manchester United in 1998/1999
· English FA Cup winner's medal with Manchester United in 1998/1999
· European Cup winner's medal with Manchester United in 1998/1999
· Carling Player of the Year in 1998/1999
· Carling Player of the Month (for February) with Aston Villa in 1996
· Top-scorer for Aston Villa in 1995/1996
· Intercontinental Cup winner's medal with Manchester United in 1999
· Trinidad & Tobago Chaconia Medal Gold (for Sport) in 1999
· League Cup winner's medal with Aston Villa in 1995/1996
· Aston Villa's Player of the Year in 1995/1996
· Top-scorer for Aston Villa in 1994/1995
· Trinidad & Tobago Humming Bird Medal Silver (for Sport) in 1993
· Tobago House of Assembly Chief Secretary's Award in 2005
· TTFF "Player Of The Year" 2005.
· 2005 - Captain T&T to their first ever senior World Cup (2006).
· Australian A-League winner's medal with Sydney FC in 2005/2006