Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 08, 2005, 11:07:28 AM

Title: T&T vs Panama Thread.
Post by: Flex on July 08, 2005, 11:07:28 AM
Greetings:

As usual, any updates/scores on the game vs Panama will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look to scrappy with un-necessary headlines and postings.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at these sites:

* SW Online (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?board=2.0).
* SW Online Live Chat (http://pub31.bravenet.com/chat/show.php/2600553436).
* Gold Cup Official Site (http://www.us.terra.com/goldcup2005/).
* Vibe 105fm (http://www.homeviewtnt.com).

N.American TV Viewers:
Sat, 9 July - 7:00 pm - Galavision - Panama vs. Trinidad & Tobago.

T&T TV Viewers:
Sat, 9 July - 7:00 pm - TV-6 - Panama vs. Trinidad & Tobago.

Head To Head Gold Cup Battle:

Never met in a Gold Cup match.

Groups, Standings & News. (http://www.socawarriors.net/Caribbean_football.htm)

Crew Meet Up;

According to Tallman, as far as seating arrangements go, there hasn't been a general consensus, but I think we will sit in the K or L section (right by the 18 yard line next to the scoreboard). That is where I always sit when I go there.

More T&T Supporters. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2070.msg13842#msg13842)

Gold Cup Prediction Standings after second day:

Players  HT  FT  GoalScorers  Total

Supporter .......1  1  4  6
Socapro ..........1  4  1  6
Touches .........0  2  3  5
Sam ...............0  2  3  5
Flex ................0  2  3  5
dwolfman ........0  5  0  5
Dtool ..............1  2  2  5
Soccerdaddy ....0  2  2  4
Sando .............0  2  2  4
Samo ..............0  2  2  4
Real Madness ....0  1  3  4
Tongue ...........1  1  1  3
Andre Samuel ...0  2  1  3
Spideybuff ........1  1  0  2
Jah Goal ...........0  2  0  2
Trinimuse ..........0  0  0  0
Palos ................0  0  0  0

Join the prediction today. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2218.msg14869#msg14869)

Good Luck Trinidad & Tobago Warriors.
Title: Re: T&T vs Panama Thread.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on July 08, 2005, 12:56:29 PM
just to let you know the real score of the game on sat 9th july 2005

T&T: 2                    PANAMA: 1

(birchall (40)             (dely   (80)
(john  (55)
Post by: sting_pana on July 08, 2005, 02:11:19 PM
Poor man!

WE BEAT COLUMBIA!!!

It's IMPOSIBLE, I mean IMPOSIBLE that Your SQUAD can beat Columbia!

And YUH think You can beat us?

BULLSHIT!!!!

We have new players that not played in thye last meet!

Post by: FF on July 08, 2005, 02:24:13 PM
Poor man!

WE BEAT COLUMBIA!!!

It's IMPOSIBLE, I mean IMPOSIBLE that Your SQUAD can beat Columbia!

And YUH think You can beat us?

BULLSHIT!!!!

We have new players that not played in thye last meet!

Stingk Panty you really funny boy.. what new players allyuh have? two 40 year old twins who played when we give allyuh 6... The lil youth man keeper good and he win tha game for allyuh but luck does only last so long ... and fyi our squad can and has beaten Columbia in that same Orange bowl... check your history
Post by: Flex on July 08, 2005, 02:36:47 PM
Panama could get another “Dennis” blow.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Scottish-based striker Collin Samuel could force his way into Leo Beenhakker’s start team for Trinidad and Tobago’s second 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup encounter against Panama at the Orange Bowl Stadium from 7pm on Saturday.
The Dundee United striker came off the bench in Wednesday’s 1-1 draw with Honduras to play in an outside left position and almost stole the winner when his shot late in the game crashed off the top of the crossbar and he also a close penalty call go against him.
That seemed to be enough to convince Beenhakker that the striker from North Manzanilla was worthy of a start as the “Warriors” go after a win to strengthen their chances of reaching the quarter-finals.
The “Warriors” had Thursday off but were back on the training pitch on Friday morning, this time at St Thomas’ University which was not favoured by Beenhakker as the playing surface there was below standard. Nevertheless, Beenhakker got in a 75 minute session with his players.
He was however left contemplating whether the team could have one other session late on Friday as weather conditions threatened to worsen following the Hurricane Dennis warnings.
“We were not happy with the ground this morning and I have been left hoping that we can train one more time weather permitting,” Beenhakker said.
Second session or not, skipper Stern John and company realize that they must win to gain some comfort ahead of Monday’s closing group match against Colombia. And while tall defender Dennis Lawrence was a hero back in Port of Spain last month with the second goal against the Panamanians, he no doubt will be looking to inflict another “hurricane” blow on them this time around.
"It’s a big game for us again,” John told TTFF Media following the session. “We know we need to win this one to get through to the quarter final stage. It’s not going to be easy because the Panama team is a bit different with the Valdes brothers back in the team and they will be coming at us after the game we won last month. But we know we, including myself as the skipper, need to work harder in this game to pull it off.
Samuel too was raring to go in what is his second Gold Cup appearance, having been in the team for 2002 tournament under Rene Simoes.
“I’ll be delighted to have a chance of starting this game and especially if I can get on the scoresheet and help the team to a win. I really thought the shot in the last game was going in. I went for it at first and then said maybe I should move in a bit closer. The shot took a deflection off the defender so maybe that’s why it went that high. But tomorrow I could get the chance to play in what I see as my favourite position on the left so hopefully I can do some damage,” the former Falkirk striker said.
Though taking part in light training on Friday, midfielder Carlos Edwards and Brent Sancho are still unlikely to feature in Saturday’s match which will precede a second game between Colombia and Honduras. Only Glenton Wolfe with a hamstring blow, was able to take part in the full session. The team is not expected to feature any further changes with Kelvin Jack sure to keep his spot following a solid display in the goal against Honduras while the defense including Avery John and Cyd Gray was able to hold its own.
“This is an important game for us simply because it is in fact the next game,” Beenhakker told TTFF Media. “We know how Panama plays and they know how we play. We still have to play them in a next World Cup qualifying match. This time it’s a situation where both teams are trying to progress in the Gold Cup,” was all he added on the encounter.
Panama’s Jose Hernandez said his team would be going for the win.
“It’s an important game for us. Trinidad beat us  a couple weeks ago and we know they are a strong team but we will try our best to make things happen differently this time,” he said.
For Saturday’s game, a larger T&T presence is expected in the stands with at least 400 strong supporters along with a  “Warrior Girls” section backed by steelpan and tassa rhythm sections set to cheer on Beenhakker’s men.

Click here for photos from Friday's session. (http://www.tnt.fifa.com/cda/cda_container/0,1503,countryCode%3Dtto_docID%3D79925_localeID%3D102_siteCategoryID%3D2250_siteID%3D1002_subPage%3D-cda-media-news-newsDetail,00.html)
Post by: Trinimassive on July 08, 2005, 03:52:09 PM
Panama could get another “Dennis” blow.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Scottish-based striker Collin Samuel could force his way into Leo Beenhakker’s start team for Trinidad and Tobago’s second 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup encounter against Panama at the Orange Bowl Stadium from 7pm on Saturday.
"It’s a big game for us again,” John told TTFF Media following the session. “We know we need to win this one to get through to the quarter final stage. It’s not going to be easy because the Panama team is a bit different with the Valdes brothers back in the team and they will be coming at us after the game we won last month. But we know we, including myself as the skipper, need to work harder in this game to pull it off.

But tomorrow I could get the chance to play in what I see as my favourite position on the left so hopefully I can do some damage,” the former Falkirk striker said.
Though taking part in light training on Friday, midfielder Carlos Edwards and Brent Sancho are still unlikely to feature in Saturday’s match which will precede a second game between Colombia and Honduras. Only Glenton Wolfe with a hamstring blow, was able to take part in the full session. The team is not expected to feature any further changes with Kelvin Jack sure to keep his spot following a solid display in the goal against Honduras while the defense including Avery John and Cyd Gray was able to hold its own.

So the main things in this is that Stern seems certain to be playing/ at least starting. And he love that captain armband although it's not the first time he captain the team.

Samuel seems certain to start on the left and it sound like he want that position so hopefully he goes out there and stamp his name there. That's a good thing.
Edwards and Sancho still not 100% so they out.
Based on the info Cyd Gray will start again. He didn't do too bad so that is not bad info. But it only bad if Rahim is starting because there was no chemistry or understanding there at all.

Either way the squad should be able beat Panama but hopefully Carlos is back for Columbia.

Post by: BigToe on July 08, 2005, 04:32:52 PM
Stinkpunanny:

Surprised you're back. One round of ass-whooping not good enough. You actually have the stones to show your face here. You beat Columbia by the grace of god. Don't expect the same against us or Honduras for that matter.

Post by: Flex on July 09, 2005, 02:34:34 AM
T&T vs Panama game postponed 24, Spann injured.
T&T Express.

Hurricane Dennis disrupts Gold Cup.
The advancing Force 4 Hurricane Dennis has caused a 24-hour delay in each of the next two game days of the CONCACAF Gold Cup Group A at Miami's Orange Bowl.
The seriousness of the storm, which has already caused havoc in parts of the Caribbean, especially Cuba, led to State and City of Miami authorities ordering many emergency procedures, including the closing of the Orange Bowl.
The double-header scheduled for tonight at the Orange Bowl will now be played tomorrow, with Honduras versus Colombia at 19:00 and then Panama up against Trinidad and Tobago at 21:00.
The matches scheduled for Monday will now go ahead on Tuesday, with Colombia versus Trinidad and Tobago at 17:00 and then Honduras playing Panama at 19:00.
CONCACAF general secretary Chuck Blazer said: "We are sorry for the fans, both at the Orange Bowl and in front of their TV sets, who were anticipating the Gold Cup games on their scheduled days but we understand full well why the decision was made. It is better to be safe than sorry."
And Trinidad and Tobago's 'Warriors' were bedded down at the Intercontinental Hotel in Miami yesterday because of the poor weather conditions, reports Ian Prescott.
The hurricane was located well over 100 miles away, but at 6.45 p.m. yesterday, the effects were being felt in Miami. Fair conditions were quickly giving way to scathing rain and swirling winds that were bending trees.
At the Intercontinental Hotel, Sam Phillip, one of T&T's two assistant managers, said the Warriors have been virtually corralled at their hotel and no one was going anywhere until conditions improved.
"Right now, there is plenty wind out there so no one is going nowhere. None of the teams have been able to train this afternoon."
With Dennis predicted to move somewhere between Louisiana and Miami, and with a hurricane watch out for Miami, Dade County where the Orange Bowl is located, the Warriors are making only tentative plans.
"Well, we still have training planned for the morning and the match against Panama tomorrow night, but for now we can't really make any plans. We just have to wait and see," said Phillip. Midfielder Silvio Spann picked up a slight injury during yesterday's morning session.

Yesterday's Group C Results:

RSA 2 (Philip Davis, Elrio Van Heerden) vs MEX 1 (Francisco Rodriguez).

JAM 4 (Luton Shelton, Ricardo Fuller, Andy Williams, Jermaine Hue) vs GUA 3 (Carlos Ruiz 3).
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2005, 06:27:51 AM
it real windy and raining hard.  Electricity gone in meh hotel and is only meh lap top battery dat leh meh get online.

I eh so syre dat de game go play tommorow either nah. 

On anodder note, Miami and ft Lauderdale real sweet we.
Post by: oconnorg on July 09, 2005, 01:23:26 PM
Stink panty is real kicks in trut oui ..

But de man have ballz..!!  Thats my assumption anyway>!!
Post by: Big Magician on July 09, 2005, 01:28:10 PM
Flex is spann out injured for d game or will he be able to play on sunday?   also..please post our injured list that will miss the panama game  thanks
tnt tnt tnt
Post by: Flex on July 09, 2005, 03:03:30 PM
I will get an update for you.... standby..
Post by: Flex on July 09, 2005, 04:43:22 PM
Spann and Charles is ok... no injury... never had...

Edwards and Wolfe slight, Sancho have it a lil bad, he needs about 7 - 9 days recovery....
Post by: Big Magician on July 09, 2005, 06:15:42 PM
thanks man     gud news   hope sanch recovers fast
Post by: arrow on July 10, 2005, 09:46:00 AM
 updated training photos  (http://www.tnt.fifa.com/cda/cda_container/0,1503,countryCode%3Dtto_docID%3D79927_localeID%3D102_siteCategoryID%3D2181_siteID%3D1002_subPage%3D-cda-media-news-newsDetail,00.html)
Post by: Flex on July 10, 2005, 11:04:40 AM
Panama have 4 yellow cards..

Felipe Baloy (Brazilian Based Defender)
Carlos Rivera
Julio Medina
Alberto Blanco

T&T have 2..

Brent Rahim
Avery John
Post by: Savannah boy on July 10, 2005, 03:54:24 PM
Dis dotish Panamanian eh know we bus Columbia arse before.
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 10, 2005, 07:25:01 PM

Stern just gave up one
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 10, 2005, 07:33:26 PM
DOg scores !!!
Post by: palos on July 10, 2005, 07:38:14 PM
Was it Dog or Stern?  Murray sayin is Stern.  Lawrence now get book.
Post by: Ngozi on July 10, 2005, 07:38:55 PM
how is spann and colin samuel looking and what position are they both playing?
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 10, 2005, 07:45:49 PM

Silly goal by panama

Spann looks very very good
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 10, 2005, 07:49:59 PM

Panamanians roughing up Stern every chance that they get

Spann just had an excellent shot on goal
Post by: Bally on July 10, 2005, 07:50:58 PM
the play by play shocks
Post by: Strip on July 10, 2005, 08:01:01 PM
stern not doing anything at all
Post by: soccerdaddy on July 10, 2005, 08:04:11 PM
Fellas lets get real. Cyd Gray have no right to be on the field. What is beenie man doing. How the hell you could try to head a ball that is at ground level. Why is Atiba Charles not in the game?
Post by: Marcos on July 10, 2005, 08:04:31 PM
Boy Cyd Gray look good headin dat ball dat was rollin on the ground.
Great effort. It led to a goal being scored AGAINST us
Post by: trinimuse on July 10, 2005, 08:07:25 PM
atiba charles for gray...dammit...dem boy looking bun....why have a midfield if the defence not using Birchall, spann and samuel?
Post by: Feliziano on July 10, 2005, 08:10:37 PM
we looking fairly ok...what formation we playing?..4-3-3 or a diamond 4 in the middle?..thats what i was saying before that we have to play more narrow instead of the wing thing.
I like how Spann dropping deep now and then to pick up the ball and spread it but then the other side to that is Birchall and the rest of the midfield not getting involved much so far cause the ball missing the midfield when it going upfield due to the defence playing too much long ball up to Stern...I won't even bother commenting on Stern john and Cyd Gray,they just making man flecking blood pressure go up.
Post by: Andre on July 10, 2005, 08:15:43 PM
so we looking alright?

beenie still experimenting or what?
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 08:30:18 PM
the midfield has not been involved in any plays as yet... the game kinda boring actually. No knocking of any sorts
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 08:34:15 PM
the referee is a asshole too... giving dog a yellow card for a 50/50 challenge
Post by: royalian on July 10, 2005, 08:41:24 PM
great save by jack...i fustrated with these impossible passes tt tryingto force and giving away de ball
Post by: trinimuse on July 10, 2005, 08:54:38 PM
Stern not helping the team at all, last time I checked, this was a team sport... BENCH him!!!!!!1
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 09:01:32 PM
well panama just score 2-1
Post by: Jayerson on July 10, 2005, 09:02:57 PM
I cannot believe that Stern is going two games playing like this and not getting subbed. His performance is dimal at best and we have Glenn on the bench.
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 09:03:20 PM
we come back and score.. beautiful header by glenn
Post by: Marcos on July 10, 2005, 09:05:44 PM
check my posts, i have been calling for cornell glenn to play on d left for a very long time now.
poi shot cornell
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 09:06:15 PM
Game done 2-2

After 2 rounds:

Honduras - 4
Panama - 4
T&T -2
Columbia -0
Post by: Bally on July 10, 2005, 09:07:00 PM
i have been sayin Glen could be on the left
Post by: soccerdaddy on July 10, 2005, 09:07:29 PM
Why the hell glenn has not played before. I cyah believe this entire message board recognise that stern needs to be subbed and beenie not doing shit. I am so mad.
Post by: chinee boi on July 10, 2005, 09:09:05 PM
boy now we had to win de columbia game to qualify for de next round...presssureee!!!
Post by: Feliziano on July 10, 2005, 09:10:11 PM
what can i say..this was a real crap game and the referee didn't help either.our second half was poor,we didn't create anything at all from open play except the goal in the dregs.i hope kelvin jack saw the benefit of releasing the ball early as the panama keeper did and he still parrying too much balls.what position was Spann playing in the second half?...was it as a headless chicken?
and now we need to beat colombia to guarantee a spot or draw and wait and then they going to hit we bout flipping 4.
Post by: Andre on July 10, 2005, 09:11:19 PM
that was close.

we need a tie against colombia to go through as a thrid place team. that will give us 3 pts.

jam, s. africa, and mex. look likely to go through. if we going through as a # 3 we fighting it out with the cuba-canada winner (both on 0 points). if they tie, we set.
Post by: monty on July 10, 2005, 09:11:43 PM
boy now we had to win de columbia game to qualify for de next round...presssureee!!!

not only that, we have to watch how the panama vs honduras game plays out
if they draw and hopefully we win, then it will be down to goals scored/difference
Post by: Jayerson on July 10, 2005, 09:14:52 PM
So I guess we have to beat Colombia to get at least 3rd spot and hopefully that might be a best 3rd place result, we could still win the group but that seems unlikely now. I don't know what else to say, Father help us.
Post by: Rodney on July 10, 2005, 09:16:00 PM
God it late!

if we win by 2 goals we through reguardless of the Hond-Panama result

if we draw good chance to go through as third place team due to Canada and Cuba having nil points, Canada would have to win by 4 and cuba by 6 to be sure of knocking us out!

come on T&T just doh loss guys!!!
Post by: Andre on July 10, 2005, 09:16:17 PM
...I don't know what else to say, Father help us.

I think He did tonight.
Post by: Feliziano on July 10, 2005, 09:16:23 PM
anybody know the average age of the team?...i feel is close to 30 and thats too damn old and especially none of them fellas any special or irreplaceable.As soon as this WC campaign doen is to drop every one of them.
I feel i made a bad investment in going to Hartford..i shoulda gone Vegas instead again yes..but then again i have to support my country.
Post by: Jayerson on July 10, 2005, 09:25:34 PM
...I don't know what else to say, Father help us.

I think He did tonight.

You know, you're damn right. Two mediocre preformances at best and we're damn lucky to have two points. Is the Canada Cuba game before our next game, since the games have shifted I'm not entirely sure. 
Post by: Andre on July 10, 2005, 09:28:22 PM
i think they both on tuesday. can-cub might be later due to time zones.
Post by: Jayerson on July 10, 2005, 09:28:47 PM
On gamecast on Soccernet, they're saying Colin Samuel scored, GoldCup saying it's Glenn.
Post by: Lower St. John on July 10, 2005, 09:30:20 PM
It has been a while since I have posted anything on the site but all I have to say is "Bench Stern."  We cannot continue to pick players purely on past performance.  Give the youngs a chance and let Stern look on from de bench.

Having seen Stern in action, I now know why the Coventry City fans were so hard on him.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2005, 09:39:32 PM
Well ah had a good lime on the chat and listening tuh the game on 105. Based on the following, I would conclude that Panama certainly had avery formidable attack and had the majority of the possessions.

All yuh could hear was Tajada. Moreno and Medina. These men were dangerous. We have to consider that Panama had some very good results aganist Mexico and the Usa prior to losing to us. They proably came to us on a high and underestimated us in teh WCQ; we were at a low and needed a win.

Tonight that team was a different story. They applied real pressure on our defense. Keep in mind all our starting defense are with yellow cards!!!!!!!!!

It appears that Birchall was due to for astinker of a game; tonight the man was off, but you know ah  feel that man has the quality to bounce back from this game and show a different game face next game.

The jury is till out on Stern; I know we need a striker a bonafide striker like a Borgettie from Mexico or a Ruiz. I am not the coach and far from me to tell aman of Beenie's experience and knoweldge what to do. But in mu humble opinion Stern has consistently shown that he is ineffective;  It's time to make a call and BENCH that man for the next game.

Fo rhis first game under Beenie, Spann had a crediable game; three shots two over the bar and one wide. Keep that man in the starting line up. Start Cornel Glen; he deserves it. Coming off the bench with 8 minutes to go scoring that crucial goal and showing the  passion as he did; all this after getting cut from the last  WCQ. This is the kind of fortitute and passion , desire and determination we need to  see form our players.

Undoubtly we have to have a decisive win over Columbia. I said this again and again; this game was not going to be easy nor was it a sure thing to win. I knew Panama would be altering their attack and approach to this game. LESSON LEARNED: YUH CYAR TAKE ANY GAME FUH GRANTED!!!!!!

Columbia will be no push over; Those Latin teams  startegy is to come at us early and  raise the pepper under we skin; yes we have to be physical, but we have to play smart. We have to control  the game and maintain possession. Tonight's game showed what happens with the slightest mistake at this level. Yes Gray misplayed the  ball but who was marking Tajada?

We have to be ready for Columbia; Every game is a playoff or us. Our soccer road is not paved with GOLD nor GOALS. we have to be so ready or else we back in training for August!!!!!!
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 10, 2005, 09:51:13 PM

Everyone is saying bench Stern John and those in authority not listening.  Maybe Beenhaker has seen enough yet.  I add my voice to the chorus   bench Stern John , give the unknowns a chance.   There are two strikers who play for Arnos Vale: Michael Carrington, and Emo, they and all the other previously mentioned should be given a tryout.

My vote for man of the match is Marvin Andrews.  He had an excellent game.  The yellow card was very unfair.
Post by: Preacher on July 10, 2005, 09:56:53 PM
Fellas ah feel this one.....thank you for everybody posting and keep we updated.  To the fellas that went down ah know you dissappointed but ofcourse the lime was good  ;D . If history repeats itself i would say that we would most likely beat Columbia because we expected to loss.  Why do we alway have to put ourselves in these kinda positions.... ???   Any body here a shrink our have any views.

On the Sten issue:  Check the video of the goal the white boy score...and tell me you who you think Stern giving thumbs up to?  ;D  The man in with Beenie...I think

God bless all ah allyuh fellas and your lives.  Flex boy this is one of the few places where Trini people could retain their ethnicity and culture.  Thanks
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2005, 10:00:37 PM
Preacher: ah like what  yuh say here:"Flex boy this is one of the few places where Trini people could retain their ethnicity and culture.  Thanks"

I second this !!!!!
Post by: supporter on July 10, 2005, 10:01:22 PM
I WILL SAY IT FOR THE 86TH TIME- PLAY CORNELL MORE OFTEN!!PLEASE! BENCH WHINY ASS STERN.

what a horrible performance by all the players. glen,dog and smauel the only ones that play decent.  now its a must win vs colombia. this is easily the worst performance by the socawarriors under leo thus far.
Post by: Touches on July 10, 2005, 10:02:17 PM
We ent play to win, we did not play positive football in any way and a draw is a decent result.

The game shoulda end up 1-0 or 2-1 when Andrews hit the post.

Marvin Andrews is man of the match.....doe mind the 2nd Panamanian goal.

Spann is a worker, Whitley yuh lorse yuh place.

Samuel is the man for now on the left.

Upfront......oh lorse Beenie please put Stern on the bench and Start Glenn or Jones.

Cyd....that had to be the GOAT play of the century. Is like an attack of dunceeness hit him. Why you would bend down, kneel and stretch to put yuh head on a ball the height of a blade of grass. Then to make matters worse yuh butt the ground instead of the ball, and the ball hit yuh head and spin away.

Cyd son......yuh recover eh and had a ok game but with that play I feel Atiba going and replace yuh next game.

CLAP CLAP CALP to Glenn..........what a jump and header. Thank YOU

CLAP CLAP CALP to Eve.....yuh run on and move lil jokey but that final play and cross pay for yuh plane ticket to miami.

CLAP CLAP CLAP to Jones, I like how yuh show some muscle and fight and the willingness to run at men.......I will have to give you a small tap on yuh head for passing the ball to Stern in the box instead of unleashing a bullet....c'mon, you just rip 5 men and run from the half line...... be a HERO!

Birchall.....were you on the field? you were too quiet today, the freekicks were not good and yuh passing was a let down. tighten yuh belt and Adjust yuhself for the next game.

Scotland not too bad, but not too good neither.

Theobold.......breds yuh have a a doubles paper finish. Light light and little substance, just barely getting the job done. You make the TV highlight clip 4 times, and each time you was on the ground coming second. You need some gym and some lasco.

Spann.....Clap clap clap, you was lil lost second half but yuh see them blade yuh pelt breds and the balls you win. Big play. I like the attempt to shoot at goal.........yes you do something we fwds ent do whole game, take a clap for that. Also the passing was good, hope to see you next to Birchall next game.

Tallest handle it cyar complain, Avery also do he wuk..in fact the defence play good except the piece of shit play that cyd put down. If cyd didnt do that we woulda have a good game.

Finally I am certain now that the team play to Leo instructions with that long ball hit and hope to Stern.........so beenie take a steups for that.

No way a whole 90 min could pass and not one play run the the two center mids. Birchall ent get one pass, neither did Spann. Every ball they get was a scruffle ball that they intercept or tackle a man for.

This side missing Edwards and Yorke badly. but I think the new look midfield with Samue or Glenn. Or a upfront Yorke, Jones/glenn combo will fix this team.

I want you posters to look at all the top teams in the world and even those in this gold cup. No successful one have a trap and screen fwd
duo unwilling to run at goal. All of them have men with speed who could take it to you. Imagine TT get some counter attack and we run fwd to stop and cut back and pass the ball back to the keeper. Is to continue runing and spank something at the goal.

But Leo bring one postive to the team......we score from a Set piece, and we hit the bar on a set piece. Something that ent happen in a long long time.

The team revealing itself, and the more men play is the more they proving to we they ent cutting it.

Post by: FF on July 10, 2005, 10:04:17 PM
I WILL SAY IT FOR THE 86TH TIME- PLAY CORNELL MORE OFTEN!!PLEASE! BENCH WHINY ASS STERN.

what a horrible performance by all the players. glen,dog and smauel the only ones that play decent.  now its a must win vs colombia. this is easily the worst performance by the socawarriors under leo thus far.

Spann played well until he get bun... Eve played his 15 mins well also...Glen and Dog really showed hunger tonight... they really wanted this game....

I will also add Lawrence he played well too man
Post by: supporter on July 10, 2005, 10:06:38 PM
yeah,i give sp[ann some credit, he look like the only one realling caring. however,lawerence pick up a needless card and was at fault for the 1st panama goal(along with gray) for not marking his man.
Post by: Flex on July 10, 2005, 10:10:07 PM
Stern John fell 8 times, some without even touching the ball...

Spann is a boss...

4 weak links today, Gray, Birchall, Stern (every game) and Theobald....

When will it end ??
Post by: palos on July 10, 2005, 10:12:18 PM
When will it end ??

August 17 in Hartford Connecticut...
Post by: Preacher on July 10, 2005, 10:16:23 PM
We ent play to win, we did not play positive football in any way and a draw is a decent result.

What is it about our minds that we seldom harness the potential that we know we have.  The best of football ever look was with the Strike squad.  Not that they started out with a great team they became that.  I meet Galye Cummings once for 2hours... and I feel that got a mental edge being around a coach like that.  

Seems like we need some positive re-inforcement our something......

Am I missing something here Alberta wha you think?
Post by: Preacher on July 10, 2005, 10:18:03 PM
Ah think ah use the quote thing wrong Touches only say the first line
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2005, 10:28:08 PM
Preacher,
You are  on to what defines a championship team; You have heard me say over and over again The mental set is 95% of the game. Our players need to cultivate a sense of what it means to representTNT what it means to play at this level on a consistent basis.

All jokes aside, when you read of men ole talking, dvd and eating prior to a game of this magnitute yuh know someone is thinking this is a party 'outing' filed trip.

If I read  that the coach had these men studying plays, watching film, analyzing plays and going over strategies I would say good. If I know man riding the stationary bike; working out in a gym all dat go indicate a mental set but take nothing aside; yuh have tuh relax the team as well but  is how and when that choice must be made.

That Strike Squad was one of a kind!!!! iI stil have meh golf shirt of that team with all the players name on the back and let meh tell yuh that has been my coaching shirt fuh years. Yuh see that team had a conviction; a work ethic and a determination to leave evrything on the field. Egos were kept in check and men had a one for all attitude. No man was bigger than the team. I have a feeling that  SOME players today, once they have made the professional rank  feels like they deserve automatic place on the team and that they don't have to work hard on the field but that the other man will provide them with the ball!!!!!!!!!!

We need to restore a national pride; a work ethic and a pride about who we arae and what we stand for. We have the potential like you allude to to be a team with finesse , physical attributes, and polish. I believe that Beenie is slowly putting  the piecies together. This game tonight could well be our TURNING POINT.
Post by: Flex on July 10, 2005, 10:38:19 PM
Beenhakker is becoming another St Clair, it seems he have faith in certain players as they continue to fail in every game,,, sad.... if it was based on performance Stern John would have been droped from the final 18, even 20.

Stern John is the biggest let down, Densill Theobald is another weak link.

Kelvin Jack should not start, he had one good game vs HON...

Cyd Gray is a mistake waiting to happen, he proved that today when Panama score to tie up the game.

look for full report tomorrow...
Post by: AB.Trini on July 10, 2005, 10:43:07 PM
WHEY 'STING PANA'?

2nd Half 
48 min » The final whistle is blown.
46 min » Goal!!! Trinidad and Tobago scores! Glen gets an equaliser for his side.
45 min » Goal!!! Panama scores! Tejada gives his side the advantage.
43 min » Avila replaces Phillips in Panama.
40 min » Andrews(Trinidad and Tobago) almost break the deadlock with a nice header that hits the near post and finally Medina rescues his goalkeeper.
39 min » Tejada strikes a free kick for Panama but the ball goes wide.
36 min » Tejada fires a shot but goalkeeper Jack saves for Trinidad and Tobago.
36 min » Penedo makes a save for Panama.
34 min » Medina(Panama) floats a free kick in the penalty box but goalkeeper Jack makes a save.
31 min » Panama are content to retain possession at the moment, confidently knocking the ball around midfield.
28 min » Brown replaces Julio Valdes in Panama
25 min » Jones replaces Scotland in Trinidad and Tobago.
24 min » Eve replaces Theobald in Trinidad and Tobago.
23 min » Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Jack makes a save.
21 min » Birchall has a shot blocked.
19 min » Rivera (Panama) is flagged for offside.
16 min » Marvin Andrews is cautioned by the referee, after challenging Mitre from Panama.
12 min » Stern John(Trinidad and Tobago) is flagged for offside.
8 min » Panama has dominated the early stages of the second half.
5 min » Spann commits a foul on Blanco(Panama).
3 min » Trinidad goalkeeper Kelvin Jack makes a save.
2 min » Birchall is cautioned by the referee.
2 min » Blanco replaces Gomez in Panama
1 min » Penedo(Panama) makes a great save after a shot from John.
The second half begins.
1st Half 
45 min » The referee blows for half-time.
44 min » Gray commits a foul on Phillips(Panama).
42 min » Panama are content to retain possession at the moment, confidently knocking the ball around midfield
39 min » Gomez commits a foul on Samuel(TyT).
39 min » Penedo(Panama) makes a save.
37 min » Panama coach, Jose Hernandez, looks concern in the bench.
36 min » Medina fires a shot but the ball is deflected off the legs of Andrews(TyT)
34 min » Baloy(Panama) has also a yellow card.
33 min » Mitre is cautioned by the referee.
30 min » Dely Valdes(Panama) commits a foul.
26 min » Baloy commits a hard foul after challenging Stern John(TyT).
23 min » Goal!!! Panama scores! Luis Tejada takes advantage of some lax defending by Trinidad and Tobago and scores the equaliser.
21 min » Lawrence is cautioned by the referee.
20 min » Panama responds by keeping the possesion of the ball in midfield.
17 min » Goal!!! Trinidad and Tobago scores! Andrews sends the ball into the net.
15 min » Much of the game is being played in midfield at the moment, with both teams looking to pack the centre of the field before feeding long balls to their strikers.
10 min » Mitre commits a foul after challenging Scotland.
8 min » Goalkeeper Jack from Trinidad and Tobago makes a save.
5 min » Stern John(Trinidad and Tobago) fails to connect a cross from Samuel and misses a golden opportunity to score the first goal.
5 min » Penedo(Panama) makes a save.
4 min » Tejada fires a shot from over 25 metres but his effort goes over the crossbar.
2 min » Panamá is wearing red. Trinidad and Tobago are all white.
1 min » The match begins.

Good evening and welcome to the live webcast of the game between the national teams of Panama and Trinidad and Tobago.

nama Trinidad
Penedo

Rivera

Moreno

J. Torres

Baloy |

Medina

Tejeda

Mitre |

Phillips (Avila)

Gómez (Blanco)

Julio Dely Valdes (Brown)

Jack

E. John

Andrews |  

Lawrence |  

Birchall |  

S. John

Spann

Samuel

Gray

Theobald (Eve)

Scotland (Jones)

Coach: José Hernández Coach: Leo Beenhakker
Post by: Babalawo on July 10, 2005, 10:45:43 PM
Are we still in the running to qualify for the next round. or are we eliminated?
Post by: Preacher on July 10, 2005, 11:48:00 PM
We have to beat Colombia.....
Post by: Babalawo on July 11, 2005, 12:06:00 AM
Oh brother, Maybe Stern can pull out a hattrick again, but i know the colombians will be gunning 4 him
Post by: dcs on July 11, 2005, 01:41:48 AM

Poor Stern.  I feeling sorry for the man.  The coach leaving him out there and he just can't get things going and in the process men calling for he head.  Leo, give the man a rest and bring him on later....maybe he will feel less pressure and will want to prove people wrong.  Would it help if he ignore everybody else and just play for himself with the only mission to score....nothing else...just keep your main focus as scoring and run at everything hard.  I cah even bash the man no more...he need help.

The man get RAPE by a Panama defender (allyuh see dat?) dat just sum up his night. He also managed to block a shot by one of our own players (bad luck maybe but geez an.). 
Dem panamanians was getting on rude in the back there flicking ball and all kinda gallery.

One thing though....coming back to score that goal will do this team a lot of good.  Things not going good now but pieces are being found.  Normally I would be making real noise for Cornell to play but Beenie real systematic...people doh really walk into the side just so.  But if you perform with the little bit of time you get or in training you might get more.

I doh know what to say about Scotland.  Samuel was a real surprise...he cud still cut back on the burgers but it might be a good bit of muscle he carrying as he was very good at challenging the opposition for the ball.....dat was a big plus...and took on a few players (lost it sometimes too).

At one point in the game I looked at the position of our players on the field.  There was a giant gap between the front line and the back line with nothing in between.  There was only the option of hitting a long ball.  There wasn't any skillful midfielder calling for the ball.  They might want to dedicate a couple training session to just dribbling..beatsing and protecting the ball when you can't pass....maybe play some soca to give them some rhythm  ;D

The Trini possee left that stadium celebrating while the Panamanians slunk out after that miracle goal. We will meet them again...right now we have a rivalry going with them and all future games go be real good.  I think they should invite them to the Digicel as a guest team.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 11, 2005, 02:07:44 AM
We seem to be taking plenty pressure in de second half of games. Also, we not kicking a lot of corners. Dat is a stat dat shows yuh how much possession we had in a game in de odder team's half. Usually de team wit de most corners is dominating the possession in de most crucial areas of de field. Correct meh if I'm wrong but ah think we had more yellow cards than corners won 3-2. We had about de same amount of shots - 8 a piece.

Beenie using dis tournament to look at players and try a few things. Now we in a must win situation to move on and play some meaningful games. Ah know we miss Sancho, Yorke and Edwards in our line up. Plenty of us want to see Spann, Glenn, Jones and now Samuel starting. We still playing musical chairs and have Rahim and Theobold playing out of position. Seaton/Whitley out of favour again. Scotland eh really take we by storm.

Dis Gold Cup Campaign has experiment written all over it. I am happy that we are a more physical team and we starting to put ah end to dis soft goal business...although Cyd Gray give we a candid camera moment today. Defensively, we are fairly compact. However, de transition from defense to midfield need to pick up. If our midfielders ending up in well inside we half all de time and dey receiving ball under pressure...wit dey back facing de opposition more often than not, then we eh going far in de GC. De long ball seemed to pop up today.
Post by: Rodney on July 11, 2005, 03:06:06 AM
Are we still in the running to qualify for the next round. or are we eliminated?

God it late!

if we win by 2 goals we through reguardless of the Hond-Panama result

if we draw good chance to go through as third place team due to Canada and Cuba having nil points, Canada would have to win by 4 and cuba by 6 to be sure of knocking us out!

come on T&T just doh loss guys!!!
Post by: boss on July 11, 2005, 04:15:11 AM
Some photos fuh allyuh...

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/53222325.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DED2E72DB43C85B44586A28D84B1D4BCD6621B2AC3A62513D3)

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/53222321.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DED2E72DB43C85B4455867CCB6CD50D49E621B2AC3A62513D3)

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/53222304.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DED2E72DB43C85B4452F128A6500F08B03621B2AC3A62513D3)

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/53222173.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DED2E72DB43C85B445D7F71B584835DCAF621B2AC3A62513D3)

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/53222162.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DED2E72DB43C85B4454AF8AE21FC4E0DB9621B2AC3A62513D3)
Post by: Redditch Valiant on July 11, 2005, 05:26:12 AM
How did Chris Birchall play today? Someone said he was a weak link - was it his fault?
Post by: Marcos on July 11, 2005, 05:56:15 AM
chris didn't play well today but the goal scored against us was Gray's fault.
The team looked a little better than the last game but the performance was still very disappointing.
Lawrence, Andrews, Spann, Samuel, Glenn and Eve are to be commended for their performance.
Despite this commendation, they still made mistakes.
The rest real shit down themselves. I know they are better than what they showed.
Men who place on the line or gone:
Cyd Gray
Theobold
Stern
Scotland
Jack (Shaka plz)
Post by: doc on July 11, 2005, 06:44:02 AM
Common fellas gih mih a match report nuh :(
Post by: sting_pana on July 11, 2005, 06:45:48 AM
Im here!

1. Honduras
2. Panama
3. T&T
4. Columbia

Your squad is behind us! hehe...Can you Think YOU can beat us?.....You are lucky..in the last minute!

Bye and good luck with the Columbians!
Post by: FF on July 11, 2005, 06:49:27 AM
Im here!

1. Honduras
2. Panama
3. T&T
4. Columbia

Your squad is behind us! hehe...Can you Think YOU can beat us?.....You are lucky..in the last minute!

Bye and good luck with the Columbians!

Haha Pana congrats on qualifying... but can you guys beat us?? you still never have!!
Post by: sting_pana on July 11, 2005, 06:52:41 AM
Haha Pana congrats on qualifying... but can you guys beat us?? you still never have!!

Thanks..I'm very happy...I think You not....because Your squad have a VERY difficult game with Columbians.!

Post by: bada on July 11, 2005, 06:55:34 AM
Beenhakker is becoming another St Clair, it seems he have faith in certain players as they continue to fail in every game,,, sad.... if it was based on performance Stern John would have been droped from the final 18, even 20.

Stern John is the biggest let down

I have a feeling that beenie is hoping that Stern will improve if he plays more games. I cannot see any other reason why he will persist with Stern (who seems to be coming more and more of a complainer on the field, whether it is with his players or with the match officials).
Post by: Jayerson on July 11, 2005, 07:00:51 AM
Jack has potential but potential doesn't win matches, he is punching out too many damn ball and his distribution isn't up to mark, he has faults that could prove costly. Why is Cyd Gray in the squad, my girlfriend called me from Trinidad to say Gray like he smoking something. In my opinion, Gray, Jack and Stern need a rest.
Post by: arrow on July 11, 2005, 07:22:25 AM
How did Chris Birchall play today? Someone said he was a weak link - was it his fault?

Birchall played like he took Beenie's advice and not only went out to Mangos on Saturday night but went to Space and Gold Rush afterwards and got home at 2pm on Sunday afternoon.
The man hardly touched the ball all game and the few times he did he lost possession.  Not what you want from your central midfielder.  How can someone go from being voted player of the game one match to the worst player on the field (tied with Stern) in the next?
I think Chris did have one try at goal but Stern decided that not only does he not want to score any goals he also wants to try to prevent anybody else on the team from scoring as well and blocked his shot.
Post by: Andre on July 11, 2005, 07:42:53 AM
Gold Rush is an inspirational and a blessed place.

if dem boys had spent some quality time there, the levels of their game would surely be raised.

mango's is a tourist trap.

space is shit.