Sports => Football => Topic started by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 08:28:38 PM

Title: USA vs Canada - Women
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 08:28:38 PM
Gold Cup Final 

HT    USA 1 - 1 Canada
Title: Re: USA vs Canada - Women
Post by: che on November 26, 2006, 08:30:09 PM
Go! Canada GO!  :wavetowel:
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 08:54:52 PM
who were the scorers?
Post by: Milan!!! on November 26, 2006, 08:59:41 PM
yeh man..meh money on Canada....lets go Canada....rest it on de US!!!!
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 08:59:41 PM
Hermus for Canada I think.....

62 min - 1-1
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 09:09:50 PM

72 min  1-1
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 09:18:10 PM
too bad Kara Lang is injured...she has the talent to change a game
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 09:20:00 PM

82 min  1-1

The game is end to end, Canada's goalie Erin Macleod (Vancouver Whitecaps) forced to make a couple of big saves.
Post by: Warrior till death on November 26, 2006, 09:27:48 PM
goallllllllllll
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 09:32:25 PM
Hermus of the Vancouver Whitecaps scored for Canada.

Game ends at 94 minutes, 1-1.

OT about to start, 2- 15 minute halves, then PK's.

Game notes:

Canada's coach ejected at 85 min for criticizing the ref.

Christine Sinclair not her normal self tonight, as she battles an injury.
Post by: WestCoast on November 26, 2006, 09:39:09 PM
Canada's coach ejected at 85 min for criticizing the ref.
after i saw how he got on during the Jamaica game, I am not surprised at all.
Come on Canada, beat dem Yanks
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 09:54:03 PM

15 min OT  1-1

The second 15 min OT period about to start. 

The teams are looking stretched and fatigue is starting to set in.
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 09:55:50 PM
Fatigue seems to have taken over de game but hopefully Canada can hold out for the winner

Natasha Kai sweet too bad, I eh go lie. She could get it.
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 10:04:34 PM

114 min  1-1

Both teams fatigued, Canada soaking up some pressure.......
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:07:10 PM
Fatigue seems to have taken over de game but hopefully Canada can hold out for the winner

Natasha Kai sweet too bad, I eh go lie. She could get it.

Yeah yeah yeah, she could get it!!  Same fuh de Trini ting on de Canadian squad: Candace Chapman and de nex one: Robyn Gayle.
Post by: black chinee on November 26, 2006, 10:10:01 PM
man dis game is real pace boi... Canada's Keeper sweet too bad... ohhhh no penalty for de Yanks :-\ :-\ not a good call at all
Post by: Bitter on November 26, 2006, 10:10:47 PM
TIEF!!!!

That is some BULLS#$#@!!!!!

Post by: Patterson on November 26, 2006, 10:11:12 PM
penalty was rubbish
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 10:11:35 PM

Canada absolutely robbed, with a completely bogus PK awarded to the US on the 120 minute.  Unbelievable.

US  2-1
Post by: Tenorsaw on November 26, 2006, 10:11:50 PM
Dat referee needs to be shot.  Atrocious decision.
Post by: black chinee on November 26, 2006, 10:13:24 PM
TOTAL rubbish PK.... RUBBISH ref take dis :duel: :whip:
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 10:14:05 PM

Gayle given a penalty for literally standing in the box.  What a complete joke.  

Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:15:17 PM
Hard luck dey, Canada, y'all played a whole lot better than I expected/predicted.  I am very impressed with how far Canada has come.  The penalty was a tough decision but a fair one.
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:15:46 PM
Absolute garbage...dat referee deserves to be shot!
Assanine decision by the ref at the most ridiculous time of the game.
The ref was rubbish throughout the game, but to make a call like that....total robbery.
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 10:16:18 PM
I bitter. That penalty call was 4king madness. It just seem like pure spite by the ref. THAT is what yuh will call a penalty for, and at THAT time?!

Fire that ref
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 10:16:38 PM
Hard luck dey, Canada, y'all played a whole lot better than I expected/predicted.  I am very impressed with how far Canada has come.  The penalty was a tough decision but a fair one.

A fair decision ?  The american ran into Gayle's back.  Only a complete moron would call that a penalty.

And at the 120 minute !  Give me a f*cking break !
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:17:23 PM
 The penalty was a tough decision but a fair one.

What was fair about that penalty horse?
What game were you watching?
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:19:12 PM

Did the defender play the ball or the forward?
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 10:19:35 PM

Like yuh smoking de mango chow as well or what?

The US player crash into the back of the defender by her own self. Gayle didn't even see her.
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 26, 2006, 10:24:08 PM

Literally seconds away from penalty shots for the Gold Cup, and the ref steals the match. 

Incompetance or bribery, Canada was robbed.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:24:41 PM

The US player crash into the back of the defender by her own self. Gayle didn't even see her.

I will watch de replays again, but the way it looked to me, was that the forward had an opportunity to get to the ball and the defender turned her back and bodied her of the ball.  If it were a shoulder to shoulder battle I wouldn't view it the same way.
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:25:10 PM

Chow, watch the replay good, the defender Gayle, just stood her ground. The forward crash off off Gayle and drop to the ground
Post by: WestCoast on November 26, 2006, 10:25:14 PM
perfect argument for Video replay
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:28:19 PM
If dat same play had occurred on the opposite end of the field all of you would have been calling for a penalty.  The time of the game has no significance as to whether a referee should make a call.......if he/she sees the offence.  Whether a foul is committed  in the first minute of the game or in the last.
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:31:05 PM
Truss meh, even if that was an option, that ref would have still given that penalty.
That kinna shit is inexcusable. The thing is it was not even a tricky call...it was such a poor decision, particularly given the timing and what was at stake.
Post by: Grande on November 26, 2006, 10:32:14 PM

I will watch de replays again, but the way it looked to me, was that the forward had an opportunity to get to the ball and the defender turned her back and bodied her of the ball.  If it were a shoulder to shoulder battle I wouldn't view it the same way.

yeah breds watch it again
Post by: WestCoast on November 26, 2006, 10:33:06 PM
Truss meh, even if that was an option, that ref would have still given that penalty.
That kinna shit is inexcusable. The thing is it was not even a tricky call...it was such a poor decision, particularly given the timing and what was at stake.
the Video replay judge would have over ruled the on field ref,
no?
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:35:01 PM

Chow, watch the replay good, the defender Gayle, just stood her ground. The forward crash off off Gayle and drop to the ground

I did watch the replay good, Jr Sams, and I AM trying to be fair, but, with all due respect, I think that the defender did a little more than just stand her ground. The forward seemed to have had the advantage to at least get a foot to the ball and the defender did bump into her.  Not only that, but the defender's momentum was not taking her in the same direction as the ball.  In English football, maaaaaaaaybe that might not have been called, but in my view it was a foul.  Respect.
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:36:08 PM
If dat same play had occurred on the opposite end of the field all of you would have been calling for a penalty.  The time of the game has no significance as to whether a referee should make a call.......if he/she sees the offence.  Whether a foul is committed  in the first minute of the game or in the last.
Nah chow, it really doh matter who the call was against. Is the principal of the matter and the discretion of the ref. I know the ref is human, but a good ref would not have made that kinna call, and the timing of the call is crucial indeed. Remember the iffy call in the world cup that the ref gave to Italy against Australia?
Last minute of play too...
Post by: WestCoast on November 26, 2006, 10:41:06 PM
we all know the ref is human, so that is why we need video replay

when I think about how MANY games have been screwed up because of shitty refs I am amazed that the WORLD does not demand video replay.

like de famous hand of God game, man I LMAO dat day saying "look at a big organisation allowing dis 
$#!T"
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:43:05 PM

I did watch the replay good, Jr Sams, and I AM trying to be fair, but, with all due respect, I think that the defender did a little more than just stand her ground. The forward seemed to have had the advantage to at least get a foot to the ball and the defender did bump into her.  Not only that, but the defender's momentum was not taking her in the same direction as the ball.  In English football, maaaaaaaaybe that might not have been called, but in my view it was a foul.  Respect.
I guess we will differ on this one.....hard way to lose either way though. Out of curiosity,
would you have given a foul against Canada if that identical play happened in midfield?
Post by: jr sams on November 26, 2006, 10:44:17 PM
the Video replay judge would have over ruled the on field ref,
no?

True ting dat.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 10:56:37 PM

I guess we will differ on this one.....hard way to lose either way though. Out of curiosity,
would you have given a foul against Canada if that identical play happened in midfield?

I Just watched the replay again, Jr Sam, at least five times.  The ball came in from the left side, the forward was running straight up the middle and had her body angled to where the ball came from-she was not even thinking about the defender nor was she facing her.  The defender came across from a point halfway between the middle of the goal and the far post, just above the six-yard line.  The forward attempted to play the ball and the defender didn't, she simply crashed into her while turning her back and the ref blew IMMEDIATELY.  The defender was the one that initiated contact while denying the forward a goal-scoring opportunity-the ref had no choice but to call a foul, Jr Sam, and, to answer your question, I would have called that foul, no matter who committed it or where it was committed.
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 26, 2006, 11:04:43 PM
Nah chow, it really doh matter who the call was against. Is the principal of the matter and the discretion of the ref. I know the ref is human, but a good ref would not have made that kinna call, and the timing of the call is crucial indeed. Remember the iffy call in the world cup that the ref gave to Italy against Australia?
Last minute of play too...

I have to respectfully disagree with you again, Jr Sams:  The timing of a call has no bearing on whether or not a call should be made.  A football match is 90 minutes + injury time, not 89 minutes and 30 seconds. and I would say that, had that "foul" in the italy-Australia game been a legitimate foul, then the ref had every right to call it......but it was a flat-out DIVE and the italian should have been shown a card for simulation.  The defender went to ground and made no contact with the damned italian.  He pushed th ball and while the defender was on the ground and making no further attempt to hinder his progress, he proceeeded to throw himself on the ground.  THAT WAS A TIEFIN REFEREE!!   
Post by: ricky on November 26, 2006, 11:49:22 PM

when I think about how MANY games have been screwed up because of shitty refs I am amazed that the WORLD does not demand video replay.

like de famous hand of God game, man I LMAO dat day saying "look at a big organisation allowing dis 
$#!T"

what league you know that has video for JUDGEMENT calls on a FOUL?
steupps  ::)
ent is JUDGEMENT for the video man too?...it not deciding if a ball cross a line or was caught
I assure you that ref is standing by her call even if we all, well expect mango, dont agree, so how is it right for someone else to JUDGE it over her?  steupps again
Post by: Savannah boy on November 27, 2006, 12:09:02 AM
Whatever de refree do.  De score ended jes de way it should have.  As long as WF pissed, we happy.  Iit seems every time dey play de U.S....he monkey glands does raise up before de clash (cause he does play Canuck and fight down he roots on dis forum) and den he does go in a corner and hide like ah sour puss after de game done.
Post by: WestCoast on November 27, 2006, 12:11:44 AM
Whatever de refree do.  De score ended jes de way it should have.  As long as WF pissed, we happy.  Iit seems every time dey play de U.S....he monkey glands does raise up before de clash (cause he does play Canuck and fight down he roots on dis forum) and den he does go in a corner and hide like ah sour puss after de game done.
WTF is a Trini?
Ya Lie!!!!!
(http://www.smileyhut.com/confused/wtf.gif)
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2006, 02:20:21 AM
bottom line better team won.  I found the penalty very harsh though and I was routing for the USA.

Hard call and hard luck timing as well.

Penalties should have decided this game...wait nah...it did! :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on November 27, 2006, 04:26:18 AM
$#!T"
what league you know that has video for JUDGEMENT calls on a FOUL?
steupps  ::)
ent is JUDGEMENT for the video man too?...it not deciding if a ball cross a line or was caught
I assure you that ref is standing by her call even if we all, well expect mango, dont agree, so how is it right for someone else to JUDGE it over her?  steupps again
You are absolutly right
it would not be used for such decisions as you pointed out
Post by: Jumbie on November 27, 2006, 06:32:21 AM
Tampon Tester (aka WF) I have to agree .. that penality was crap. However I have to ask..what were your thoughts on the Canadian staff? It was very obvious that the Canadian girls were very tired and could not mount a proper attack. In my opinion the only real hope they had was to go to the pen shootout. Why did they not stack the middle and def area and just keep the americans under control instead of trying to mount some real half ass attacks. Why did they not bring in that sub earlier with the fresh legs to help out?

Some real tata coaching moves by the staff.

BTW.. that Chris sinclar.. must be the longest pregnancy on record.. for the pass 4 years that lady have ah big belly... unless it's ah beer belly. ah hear she can't drink ah glass of milk..it immediately turns into yogurt with all the ugly she posses!

Overall Canada played their best game of the tourney, but came up short on a tata call by the ref.

Anybody notice the legs on the ref? Yard fowl face, but killa legs oui
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 27, 2006, 06:58:30 AM
Tampon Tester (aka WF) I have to agree .. that penality was crap. However I have to ask..what were your thoughts on the Canadian staff? It was very obvious that the Canadian girls were very tired and could not mount a proper attack. In my opinion the only real hope they had was to go to the pen shootout. Why did they not stack the middle and def area and just keep the americans under control instead of trying to mount some real half ass attacks. Why did they not bring in that sub earlier with the fresh legs to help out?

BTW.. that Chris sinclar.. must be the longest pregnancy on record.. for the pass 4 years that lady have ah big belly... unless it's ah beer belly. ah hear she can't drink ah glass of milk..it immediately turns into yogurt with all the ugly she posses!

Overall Canada played their best game of the tourney, but came up short on a tata call by the ref.

Crack Whore, we finally agree on something.  That penalty was total rubbish.

I wonder if that would have been called if the game wasn't on US soil ?
Post by: Jumbie on November 27, 2006, 07:13:11 AM

Crack Whore, we finally agree on something.  That penalty was total rubbish.

I wonder if that would have been called if the game wasn't on US soil ?

men and women don't make a diff.. Canada always seem  to get the shaft by refs in this region.

Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 27, 2006, 07:19:03 AM

I appreciate the unbiased view.

Not surprised that all the Yanks on the forum think it was a legit call. 

I wonder why everyone in the world hates the ugly american ?
Post by: pecan on November 27, 2006, 07:36:22 AM
The penalty call was schupid ...

I only ketch the last 40 minute or so but based on what I saw, US played the better game.
Post by: jr sams on November 27, 2006, 07:46:58 AM

I Just watched the replay again, Jr Sam, at least five times.  The ball came in from the left side, the forward was running straight up the middle and had her body angled to where the ball came from-she was not even thinking about the defender nor was she facing her.  The defender came across from a point halfway between the middle of the goal and the far post, just above the six-yard line.  The forward attempted to play the ball and the defender didn't, she simply crashed into her while turning her back and the ref blew IMMEDIATELY.  The defender was the one that initiated contact while denying the forward a goal-scoring opportunity-the ref had no choice but to call a foul, Jr Sam, and, to answer your question, I would have called that foul, no matter who committed it or where it was committed.
Chow, watching it again, I kinna agreeing with your analysis on the play. It did look a bit clumsy on the part of the defender, but it definately was not blatant and I still maintain that it was a harsh call.
That being said, I must admit that USA looked better in extra time. Canada was definately fatigued and they were not attempting to control the ball. I do not think they strung together more than two passes in the extra time period. Christine St Clair got no service from the mids, and when Canada brought the ball out, they were just kicking aimlessly and sending some real pull-stone passes to the wingers and forwards.
In the end, tough loss .
What is really sad is that there are talented players on the squad and the Womens Soccer Program is badly under funded, yet the women play their hearts out and have vastly improved over the years.
If this was 5 years ago, USA would have washed Canada's ass
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 27, 2006, 07:54:53 AM

I only ketch the last 40 minute or so but based on what I saw, US played the better game.

The game itself was fairly even.  Canada definetly looked more fatigued in OT, and the US had the better chances.  Not too surprising considering the US was playing at home (as per all Gold Cups). 

In PK's anything could have happened, especially considering the pressure would have been on the US, being favourites and playing at home.  As Jumbie said earlier, Canada was shafted again. 

Not much that can be done now except prepare for what matters the most, that being the World Cup.  The US is ranked #2 in the world, and Canada took them to the brink on American soil.  If we are well prepared, and play with that tenacity, Canada could concievably win the 2007 Womens World Cup.  They won't be favourites, but as they proved in Korea at the Peace Cup, Canada can knock-off the bigger countries.
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2006, 08:44:38 AM

The game itself was fairly even.  Canada definetly looked more fatigued in OT, and the US had the better chances.  Not too surprising considering the US was playing at home (as per all Gold Cups). 

In PK's anything could have happened, especially considering the pressure would have been on the US, being favourites and playing at home.  As Jumbie said earlier, Canada was shafted again. 

Not much that can be done now except prepare for what matters the most, that being the World Cup.  The US is ranked #2 in the world, and Canada took them to the brink on American soil.  If we are well prepared, and play with that tenacity, Canada could concievably win the 2007 Womens World Cup.  They won't be favourites, but as they proved in Korea at the Peace Cup, Canada can knock-off the bigger countries.

come on Winney.  Canada lacked imagination and were outplayed for al of the second half and throughtout extra time.

The USA failed to finish them off, in the end the better team won, albeit from a highly questionable call.
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 27, 2006, 08:52:18 AM

come on Winney.  Canada lacked imagination and were outplayed for al of the second half and throughtout extra time.

The USA failed to finish them off, in the end the better team won, albeit from a highly questionable call.

The mighty US, on home soil, could not beat Canada after 120 minutes, so the Ref had to gift them the game.  It's as simple as that. 

I love how the Americans try to justify the outrageuos call by the Ref by saying they were the better team in OT.  Sorry, but that doesn't justify anything, except to prove the US was not capable of getting the job done, and were sh*tting their pants going into PK's.
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2006, 09:52:16 AM
If you took time to read inbetween your moaning, you would see that i said the I found the penalty call to be questionable.

nontheless, the Americans are a mighty team and while not playing their best at present (same could possibly be said about Canada), they have a far more illustrious football history than Canada.

Please don't hate on me, I am a trini, and while I did back the USA over canada, I live in the USA, I found your team to be lacking in creativity and they looked really out of condition as compared to the USA team.

I care not about your baby cries, you lost to a better team, I concede a bit unfairly, but thats the way the chips somethimes fall when you play away from home and against better teams.

take a look at the way T&T lost to england in the last World Cup...unfair but the fact is we were outplayed and they got the victory.

take some solace in the fact that you are still going to the World Cup, there you can prove your migt against the World's other great teams.
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on November 27, 2006, 10:00:49 AM

If you took time to read inbetween your moaning, you would see that i said the I found the penalty call to be questionable.

nontheless, the Americans are a mighty team and while not playing their best at present (same could possibly be said about Canada), they have a far more illustrious football history than Canada.

Please don't hate on me, I am a trini, and while I did back the USA over canada, I live in the USA, I found your team to be lacking in creativity and they looked really out of condition as compared to the USA team.

I care not about your baby cries, you lost to a better team, I concede a bit unfairly, but thats the way the chips somethimes fall when you play away from home and against better teams.

take a look at the way T&T lost to england in the last World Cup...unfair but the fact is we were outplayed and they got the victory.

take some solace in the fact that you are still going to the World Cup, there you can prove your migt against the World's other great teams.

Why should I take solace in you admitting the obvious, that the 'penalty was highly questionable' (a nice way of saying total BS) ?  Canada was robbed, plain and simple.

Of course Canada will regroup and fight hard at the World Cup. 

Enjoy your tainted victory. 
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2006, 10:05:58 AM
hahahahaha  I enjoyed no victory.  I found the call to be questionable.  I disagreed with it and found that canada was robbed after holding out for 120 minutes.

Ok, does that satisfy you?

the pint I making is that you need to move on fella.  Coming second to the US is something that canada MUST be accustomed to by now!

regroup and come strong in the world cup.  I look forward to seeing your team perfor to their promise at least ONCE!

At all levels of the game.

Canada should not have lost that game especially since time had expired and especially since the call was not a clear call.  Clumsy challenge, but certainly not a penalty in my opinion.

Just move on fella.