Sports => Football => Topic started by: royal on December 06, 2006, 08:48:02 PM

Title: Ah Disturbing Pattern
Post by: royal on December 06, 2006, 08:48:02 PM
I was elated like every one else when we qualified for the World Cup.I'm sure I speak for everyone , it was a lifelong dream,some longer than others.However I see a pattern in Trinidad sports for a long time now and I did'nt mention it before to see if football will be different.
The pattern is, after we've reach a historic landmark,there is absolutely no momentum to continue or follow through.We just don't build.It takes us years to even get back to where we were,farless move forward.
Remember Crawford '76,no more Olympic  gold and only Boldon two decades after bring some glimmer of hope.World Netball Team of '79,World Champions,dominated the Caribbean Netball for over 10 yrs straight,now sometimes we placing 4th in the Caribbean.Claude Noel and Leslie Stewart world boxing champions in the '80's.We doh even have a boxer (except female) in the top 10 in any weight class.The list can go on and on.We weren't even mention, the great weightlifting champions we had ,who were world beaters like Rodney Wilkes and Brandon Bailey,now the sport is almost defunct in T&T.
This brings me to our football.I've advocated on this forum for years and a few other too,we cannot settle on building a team or teams but an entire program.We have to spread the net real wide capturing talent everywhere without bias.Our football has began to slide like the others after the historic occasion.If we don't watch ourselves we'll be taking some steps backward too.Can we build on this momentum or is it lost already ?
Title: Re: Ah Disturbing Pattern
Post by: Observer on December 07, 2006, 07:42:26 AM
Royal no one wants to hear that and its a pity. Talking about development of programs come like talking about the need to protect the environment. No one will listen until its too late.
For all Trinidad & Tobago boast and brag about money, we cannot get anything right in terms of our structure. Education (including Sports and Arts), Medical, traditional industry etc. remains a mess.
I say turn it over to the people that run Carnival because they have that cork. Man can log on a year in advance and find out anything about Carnival.
Post by: Socapro on December 08, 2006, 08:51:35 AM
Yuh strike the nail Observer.

They say Trinis have a "Carnival mentality" so why not let the folks who run Carnival run the entire country?!  ;) 

I honestly believe that T&T will rise quickly to a world class level in most areas if we gave Carnival band leaders & organisers the job of running some of our other industries from Carnival to Tourism to Music to Sports!

Its time for us to spread our year-long comittment to a cause we enjoy (our Carnival mentality) out to all other areas of life in T&T. We will be world beaters in all areas without a doubt!
I say let folks who run and organise our carnival run the damn country!
Who's with me? :chilling:
Post by: Milan!!! on December 08, 2006, 09:00:02 AM
I concur!!!
Post by: saga pinto on December 08, 2006, 09:04:03 AM
I ent so convinced it go work,but I'm liking the idea,keep it coming...............
Post by: jai john on December 08, 2006, 09:06:31 AM
With regard to football ...why not find a way to get rid of the cancer ...Jack.... eating everything and destroying anyone or anything that opposes him ? The disturbing pattern may be widespread in society but there are sectors which are well run. Surely the answer is to get rid of the deadweight and blockers which clog the system and replace with new people and ideas.
There is a profit in carnival so there is seriousness ....there is no profit in doing your government work well as the system for advancement is based on seniority...the fact that someone sat on chair before you makes him or her " better than you "  so why bother ?
This malaise spreads to other sectors where performance is not monitored and accountabilty is substituted by partisanship. So in the TTFF the hangers on vote for each other regardless and we , the public accept the situation with a shrug of the shoulder and do nothing.
Putting carnival people in place with the same system of prevailing incentives will result in the same result.... You cant expect different results if you continue to do the same things !
See how we have already accepted another defeat by the under 20's ???  Blame de players ...is dey fault...dey eh good....none ah dem eh ready ...etc.
I wonder if a school was performing as badly as the TTFF and our children went there if we would have been as forgiving ? ...just my unchanging statement again folks ..bear with me ...
Post by: weary1969 on December 08, 2006, 09:18:04 AM
I have been a career public servant ie 13 yrs (it does feel like dog yrs) We doh plan for nuttin in this country check the planning units in the Ministries and you will realize that they are understaff with unqualified people.

So instead a building on momentum we happy,, jump, wave when good things happen and just hope that they continue to happen no plans to insure future success
Post by: jai john on December 08, 2006, 10:46:18 AM
I have been a career public servant ie 13 yrs (it does feel like dog yrs) We doh plan for nuttin in this country check the planning units in the Ministries and you will realize that they are understaff with unqualified people.

So instead a building on momentum we happy,, jump, wave when good things happen and just hope that they continue to happen no plans to insure future success

That is exactly my point. We love import substitution as a solution to all problems ...we have a food problem Import, a labour shortage...never mind the thousands or so unemployable youths arouind...import, a football coaching problem...import( never seek to train any locals abroad ).... problem with the level of players home ...look outside etc. no change !
Same ole same ole !
Post by: ribbit on December 08, 2006, 11:03:20 AM
I was elated like every one else when we qualified for the World Cup.I'm sure I speak for everyone , it was a lifelong dream,some longer than others.However I see a pattern in Trinidad sports for a long time now and I did'nt mention it before to see if football will be different.
The pattern is, after we've reach a historic landmark,there is absolutely no momentum to continue or follow through.We just don't build.It takes us years to even get back to where we were,farless move forward.
Remember Crawford '76,no more Olympic  gold and only Boldon two decades after bring some glimmer of hope.World Netball Team of '79,World Champions,dominated the Caribbean Netball for over 10 yrs straight,now sometimes we placing 4th in the Caribbean.Claude Noel and Leslie Stewart world boxing champions in the '80's.We doh even have a boxer (except female) in the top 10 in any weight class.The list can go on and on.We weren't even mention, the great weightlifting champions we had ,who were world beaters like Rodney Wilkes and Brandon Bailey,now the sport is almost defunct in T&T.
This brings me to our football.I've advocated on this forum for years and a few other too,we cannot settle on building a team or teams but an entire program.We have to spread the net real wide capturing talent everywhere without bias.Our football has began to slide like the others after the historic occasion.If we don't watch ourselves we'll be taking some steps backward too.Can we build on this momentum or is it lost already ?

good point. is it the goals being set that are at fault? everyone wants to be in SA in 2010 but there is little talk of where the football program should be in 2010.
Post by: Coop's on December 08, 2006, 11:08:40 AM

That is exactly my point. We love import substitution as a solution to all problems ...we have a food problem Import, a labour shortage...never mind the thousands or so unemployable youths arouind...import, a football coaching problem...import( never seek to train any locals abroad ).... problem with the level of players home ...look outside etc. no change !
Same ole same ole !
      Was there a program some years ago where our government used to pay students scholarships and they had to come back and serve the country for a number of years in return,it's something i heard about i could be wrong.
Post by: jai john on December 08, 2006, 03:18:51 PM

Same ole same ole !
      Was there a program some years ago where our government used to pay students scholarships and they had to come back and serve the country for a number of years in return,it's something i heard about i could be wrong.

That is still so .
Post by: Preacher on December 09, 2006, 10:24:36 AM
fellas I think people will do well at what inspires them and nothing inspires national excellence in us.  I think we are just to young a nation.  Our people are still deciding what it means to be a Trinidadian in regaurds to the rest of the world.  This question has been answered in regards to the Caribbean hence, for years we have dominated sports there. USA, Italy and other large vountries in football have a global view of themselves so their sports programs are designed and built to portray that.  The truth is most small countries that were robbed from in the earlies by larger countries never really become world powers at anything, just check the stats.  So to assume that a young nation like us will ever become a staple on the big stage is wishful thinking.  We don't have the money nor the knowledge, and more recently the talent.  I happen once and it could happen ten more times, but in succession is doubtful.  The carnival idea might be a brilliant one though when you think about it.  So royal boy enjoy the ride cause we ent no way near the destination.  ;)