General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jumbie on January 17, 2007, 02:10:19 PM

Title: New T&T passport
Post by: Jumbie on January 17, 2007, 02:10:19 PM
All ah hearing on the radio (TnT) is that there's a new passport coming out soon. According to what the ads say, supposedly some immigration (ports outside Trinidad and Tobago) usually gives citizens grief with the current passport. This new passport is supposed to have better secutiy features.

My question is this..My TnT passport does not expire until 2008, are these new passports "a must" ?  Or is it just recommended to get the new one?

Title: Re: Passport Question.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 17, 2007, 02:12:34 PM
All ah hearing on the radio (TnT) is that there's a new passport coming out soon. According to what the ads say, supposedly some immigration (ports outside Trinidad and Tobago) usually gives citizens grief with the current passport. This new passport is supposed to have better secutiy features.

My question is this..My TnT passport does not expire until 2008, are these new passports "a must" ?  Or is it just recommended to get the new one?

Ah didn't hear anything bout it but I am assuming dat you have until yu old one expires and den you change it to de new one.  Dis is what happened to me when I had to change to de current one.
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 17, 2007, 02:16:35 PM
Don't know if this will answer your question.

http://www.ttmissions.com/forms.html

Excerpt from this link:

Passport Renewals

This application kit is for holders of Trinidad and Tobago citizenship who want to obtain a new Trinidad and Tobago passport. Please note that passports issued prior to Feb. 1, 1994 are no longer valid. Holders of these passports will need to apply for a new “T- series” passport.
 Requirements for Passport Renewals (135KB)

Passport Extensions
Please be advised that the Trinidad and Tobago Government is proceeding to introduce a new machine readable passport for issuance to citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. As a consequence, effective Monday 11th July, 2005, the current Trinidad and Tobago passports will not be renewed/replaced; however the holders of the current type passports may apply for an extension of the validity of those documents. An extension would be granted valid for two (2) years (NO CHARGE). * More Information

Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 17, 2007, 02:17:03 PM
Jus checked de website and it didn't have anything on a new passport being issued.  Will dig some more
Post by: Jumbie on January 17, 2007, 02:53:30 PM
Yea.. as mentioned, they have the ads playing on the radio. I think the new one comes out in Feb.

Post by: Jumbie on January 17, 2007, 03:05:02 PM
Update.. just heard that the new passport was launched today by the national security ministry. The new one has some sort of finger print id thing embedded.

Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 17, 2007, 03:10:56 PM
Well look at dat and de passport office website doh ahve nutting on it.  As usual, keep us posted Jumbie :beermug:
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 17, 2007, 03:24:45 PM
Well my TT passport expires this September anyway, so I guess I will be getting one of those new ones soon enough
Post by: dcs on January 17, 2007, 03:50:40 PM
The new ones are for 5 years and not 10 years like the old ones.

Trinidad Express
New-type passports from today (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161083918)
Wednesday, January 17th 2007

AFTER today, the Immigration Division will no longer be issuing and extending the current passport.

This as Immigration, a division of the Ministry of National Security, will be commissioning the new Machine Readable Passport (MRP) System today.

In an advertisement in the daily newspapers yesterday, the Ministry of National Security said that the issuing of passports under the MRP system would come into effect from January 24.

At a post-Cabinet press briefing last week, Minister of National Security, Martin Joseph, said the new passports would cost $250, which is $100 more than the old ones.

He said the passport would also run for a term of five years instead of the ten years of the previous passport.

The minister said the Immigration Division will soon host a press conference to alert the public on the details of the MRP.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 18, 2007, 12:27:53 PM
them guyanese might get them b4 we do. :devil: :devil:
Title: FGI: Miami Consulate website
Post by: asylumseeker on September 12, 2007, 08:58:31 AM
www.ttcgmiami.com
Title: Re: FGI: Miami Consulate website
Post by: Andre on September 12, 2007, 10:15:15 AM
i hear they real helpful there.

make sense since a Naps man running things.
Post by: PantherX on September 13, 2007, 03:58:58 PM
I took my wife there to renew her passport and the service although slow was pretty good.
Post by: Socafan on September 15, 2007, 09:29:34 PM
I took my wife there to renew her passport and the service although slow was pretty good.

Slow is not the word, and it was me alone in there the SEVERAL times that I had to go to pickup a passport that I was told was ready over the phone, which could not be found when I drove ALL THE DAMN WAY TO THE OFFICE. They need a better phone system to help the receptionist, when she is there, and that writing in book thing she and her relief doing remind me of the '60's from before I was born.

Mustbe was me alone then who find they need real improvement.

On the other hand they were all quite friendly in a very Trini sort of way so man just keep cool collect mi passport 2 weeks late and went about mi business.

Wha' yuh go do.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 16, 2007, 03:14:18 PM
They need a better phone system to help the receptionist, when she is there, and that writing in book thing she and her relief doing remind me of the '60's from before I was born.

This exists elsewhere in our diplomatic universe and I understand fully your reaction. Tip of the iceberg.

There is so much that needs to be done in the arena it ain't funny. That said, there are some other things that can be remedied without tapping the public purse.

Has anyone seen a passport application form recently? Why are the frigging blocks (for filling in one's name) so tiny? It's a challenge to make the letters fit. Even the crossword puzzle blocks in a newspaper are bigger.

Also, there are not enough blocks to accommodate the length of several typical names. Wth?

http://www.ttmissions.com/documents/Passport_Form_A.pdf

Ah mean, assuming your pop's full name is 'Robert Ramkissoon' de blasted thing won't fit ... and we all know that several Trini names are more involved than this (Sumintra Buswahroopsingh comes to mind ;)) ... and that's interpreting the full name absenting the middle name or even initial.

The form itself bears no indication of being a document produced by the Gov't of T&T ...

Also, with respect to Item #7 ... declaration of recommender ... it is conceivable that the recommender is NOT a citizen of Trinidad & Tobago yet the form does not accomodate this reality.

And, dahs jes de form  ...

Title: New TT passport
Post by: fishs on September 06, 2008, 04:09:03 AM
Home based I need some help.
Mih passport only have about a square inch of free space left so I need a new passport.
I can't get one here so I'll be home for 10 days this month.

Is it possible to get one in that time and can I do it without bribing somebody ?
Title: Re: New TT passport
Post by: Quags on September 06, 2008, 05:25:00 AM
don think so ,last I heard is months .
Post by: fishs on September 06, 2008, 05:47:43 AM

Nah yuh joking, The last time ah change it in 2004 it take 3 days but ah paid a lil extra to fast track it.
Now with the machine readible ah expect it to take a lil longer but not months.
Post by: dcs on September 06, 2008, 06:24:31 AM

Nah yuh joking, The last time ah change it in 2004 it take 3 days but ah paid a lil extra to fast track it.

You have to get an appointment and I not sure but I doh think it have available for this year...but u cud call the TTPOST number they have and see.

People have been going offices far from where they live to get it...like Pt Fortin and Tobago.  By next year EVERYBODY need to get the new passports so u can imagine the lines, waiting times.  When u actually get the appointment set aside about 2-3 days and try to make it midweek.
Getting a new passport might be the most difficult thing to do these days.  Check and see if u can get it from a consulate abroad...not sure if they started doing that yet.
Post by: Dr. Rat on September 06, 2008, 07:23:10 AM
How much for a Trini Passport again?
Post by: fishs on September 06, 2008, 07:59:09 AM

You have to get an appointment and I not sure but I doh think it have available for this year...but u cud call the TTPOST number they have and see.

People have been going offices far from where they live to get it...like Pt Fortin and Tobago.  By next year EVERYBODY need to get the new passports so u can imagine the lines, waiting times.  When u actually get the appointment set aside about 2-3 days and try to make it midweek.
Getting a new passport might be the most difficult thing to do these days.  Check and see if u can get it from a consulate abroad...not sure if they started doing that yet.

I keep reading about all the problems but I thought that was for people that applying for the first time, ah guess yuh suggesting ah try England ?
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on September 06, 2008, 09:53:27 AM
fish is no scene dred..jus call and explain de scene and they will link yuh..yuh might have to go down to the new office in point or grande
i called and told them i was leaving for school and i got an appointment this month self
the hardest part is actually gettin thru on the phone
Post by: dcs on September 06, 2008, 09:53:52 AM
O...and u have your electronic cirth certificate already?
I think u need that...and if u doh have it then it slows things down a lot.

But yea find out everything u can about getting it outside...i know they supposed to eventually be able to process applications from abroad but i dunno what the timeline for that is/was
Post by: weary1969 on September 08, 2008, 10:16:06 AM
U need d new birth paper worst case scenario is dat u get an extension
Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2008, 10:18:58 AM

I keep reading about all the problems but I thought that was for people that applying for the first time, ah guess yuh suggesting ah try England ?
Dat might be yuh best bet. Yuh would probably get de older passport, but at least it good fuh 10 years unlike de new one which is only good for 5 years.
Post by: ann3boys on September 08, 2008, 11:02:28 AM
well, you have to have the electronic birth cert, yes, but without an appt you can go to the offices and prepare to sit and wait. Try to get there early- their appts go by the hour e.g. 9-10 or 11-12 so try to go on the half hour,e.g. 11.30 and you should get a number...
then you have to pay double $500 and ask for the pp to be done in a week. normal is now up to 6 weeks min.
if you explain your situation they are generally willing to help- go with a nice attitude and you'll get through
good luck
Post by: Touches on September 08, 2008, 12:59:34 PM
Ann3boys have the answer...

Best bet go to a consulate outside of TT and do it there.

I did mine in Miami...it took a few hrs. I dropped off the old one in the morning, went bayside lime, come back around 2 and it was ready.

I going and try that same skeff in a few months time.
Post by: fari on September 08, 2008, 03:42:58 PM
thanks for the advice guys...mine expiring nex year so i going and send it miami like i did the last time.  i called them back in 99 and they were helpful, hopefully i get the same treatment this time.

Post by: elan on September 09, 2008, 08:48:18 PM
In NYC my breddrin get it in 30 minutes.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 14, 2008, 04:38:34 AM
Passport paralysis

Sunday, September 14th 2008 (Express)

The heavily advertised new arrangements suggest a radical departure from the old days of lining up well before dawn simply to get a number that gave one a chance of that brief interview necessary for obtaining a machine readable passport.

But has anything really changed? It is true than some manage even to secure that passport appointment. But this newspaper continues to be inundated with letters complaining of the inability to make contact with the hotline to secure the appointment, or of the dates of the granted appointments, some even granted for 2009.

Many have simply complained of bureaucratic runaround or even of the requirement of a particular colour of ink. It is true nevertheless that it is possible to have accelerated treatment on compassionate grounds, but each is dealt with on an individual basis and an applicant never really knows until he or she actually visits a passport office whether the application qualifies.

One really irksome requirement is the submission of a computerised birth certificate, seeing that these are generated from exactly the same database from which hand-written copies were at one time made available for a small fee in postage stamps.

Obtaining a computerised birth certificate can also be a challenge, especially if the applicant is elderly, where the Ministry expects applicants to name persons who may corroborate information. Errors nevertheless occur.

The provision of a passport is the function of the Public Service operating under the management of a Minister in accordance with policies that are determined from time to time by Cabinet.

Minister Cox informs the nation that from December 31st 2009 all old non-machine readable passports will become invalid, giving the approximate number of them being in excess of 400,000. It is also claimed that that the Immigration Division produces about 1400 machine readable passports each week so that anyone, even a SEA student, doing the arithmetic will tell you that it will take a few years to replace the old passports. What then? Thousands of citizens after December 31st 2009 simply trapped within the country unable to travel.

Each administration repeats the mantra of reforming the public service to ensure that it provides necessary services to the public, but there is little evidence of any serious change.

Minister Browne may suggest that we do not have a culture of service in the Public Service, indirectly shedding the matter to the Public Services, while public servants will lay the blame on the Minister and Cabinet for the system that it is supposed to operate and the failure to provide the human resources. And who suffers? But readers can be sure of one thing-not everyone actually has to go through the process to obtain a new passport.  
Post by: weary1969 on September 14, 2008, 03:29:05 PM
Dat situation wit d passport is d worse. Praise Jehovah I get minds
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2008, 09:47:24 AM
Well yes. Garth St. Clair on i95.5 FM jes call tuh make an appointment tuh renew his passport. Dey tell him de earliest date available is December 9, 2009 in Point Fortin. He say dat he want tuh apply in Port of Spain. Dey give him ah date of February 17, 2010.
Title: Re: New T&T passport
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 12, 2008, 09:58:36 AM
is all them guyanese in trini floodin de system.
Post by: grimm01 on December 12, 2008, 11:45:22 AM
The passport situation is real toomfoolery. My passport expire in 2005 and get extended bout 3 times now. Every time I call the DC consulate they telling me new passports not yet available. I down to 3 blank pages. Yuh mean yuh can't allocate passports for the foreign based?

I making a couple turns next year and two pages already put aside for visa stamps. Maybe i will get a new passport once all meh pages used up.
Post by: elan on December 12, 2008, 01:10:33 PM
I believe everyone need to have the new passport by 2009. I went to renew my VISA and they only give me 1 year on my F-1 when I have a couple years left in college. My passport also expires in 2012. My daughter got her passport home in a few days.

Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2008, 02:58:05 PM
Grimm boi anytime I hear dat consulate get bomb I know is my sis. She tired cuss dem bout dis extension story
Post by: grimm01 on December 12, 2008, 07:53:18 PM
Grimm boi anytime I hear dat consulate get bomb I know is my sis. She tired cuss dem bout dis extension story

Weary at this rate I feel I could apply for US citizenship and get that passport before the new T&T one come thru.
Post by: Deeks on December 12, 2008, 08:48:10 PM
You know how long I trying to get passports for my daughter and son.
Post by: weary1969 on December 12, 2008, 10:36:57 PM
Grimm u have a pt.
Title: T&T Passport Information
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on March 26, 2009, 12:41:18 PM
Not sure if this was posted already:

Any person born in Trinidad and Tobago is entitled to a free (first copy) of the new Computer Generated Birth certificates (CBC) please go to the web-site www.legalaffairs.gov.tt and down load the application for a new birth certificate.
The following instructions are attached:-
You must be the owner of the birth certificate
A parent or guardian of the owner of the birth certificate  (you must be authorized in writing if you are not the owner /guardian of the owner to obtain a copy of the new birth certificate)
a letter of authorization must be accompanied by a valid government ID (Driver's Lic etc to obtain copy of certificate if you are not the owner)
All applications must be completed in full.
(You can send this info. to T&T for a relative to obtain new certificate on your behalf)

For Passport applications only after you have received your Computer Generated Birth Certificate
Please visit the website www.immigration.gov.tt
Click on downloads on the left hand side of the page and download passport application forms.
For those of us living on the west coast after filling out our applications for our new birth certificates we  may send a letter to a relative or friend who will be authorized by us  to receive our  new birth certificate. (which can then be mailed back to us)  There are embassy offices in Washington DC., Florida and New York City. I have been told by Mr De Leon If enough of us on the West  Coast receive our new Birth Certificates and we contact the  T& T Embassy in Washington DC it will be arranged for a representative to come to the West Coast to take our photos as well as fingerprints so that we may receive our new passports without having to travel to Washington  DC to do so.
The Trinidad and Tobago Embassy in Washington DC # 202-467-6490.
Please forward this information to as many nationals as you know so that we may all get our new birth certificates as well as passports.  (You will also see information for children born (either parent) to nationals of T & T at the time of their birth, documents  that can be downloaded for their passports.
Title: Re: T&T Passport Information
Post by: The_Ice on March 26, 2009, 01:08:49 PM
good info for those who want their passport processed as soon as possible following their appointment.btw does anyone have an idea of how long its taking now to receive ur passport following ur appointment?mine is at the end of june and im hoping to go to toronto during september for a couple weeks.not having a valid passport right now is a real inconvenience.i hope the rest of ya'll at least got urs by now.
Post by: FF on March 26, 2009, 01:27:45 PM
I guessing they don't deliver to the U.S. ? (birth certificate I talking bout)
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2009, 01:30:47 PM

Nah, yuh have tuh get somebody home to do it for you. Just download and fill out de application form, and get a notarized letter stating that you allowing de person to submit de application on your behalf. Send everyting tuh de person home, and dey could organize it for you.
Post by: WestCoast on March 26, 2009, 02:24:21 PM

Nah, yuh have tuh get somebody home to do it for you. Just download and fill out de application form, and get a notarized letter stating that you allowing de person to submit de application on your behalf. Send everyting tuh de person home, and dey could organize it for you.
cool
Thanks as ALWAYS TM
Post by: ann3boys on April 03, 2009, 05:48:29 AM
hey TM for the birth certificate, I sent in and got mine through the mail- local courier.
I would think it is the same for overseas applicants. all you have to do is put a local address for it to be delivered to.

Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2009, 06:01:36 AM
hey TM for the birth certificate, I sent in and got mine through the mail- local courier.
I would think it is the same for overseas applicants. all you have to do is put a local address for it to be delivered to.

Yeh, the person who applies for it on your behalf will provide their local mailing address.
Post by: ann3boys on April 03, 2009, 06:02:37 AM
right ;D
Post by: elan on April 03, 2009, 11:22:44 AM
Stueps who want ah TT passport.

I need to renew mines rel bad, it eh funny.  
Post by: weary1969 on April 03, 2009, 01:11:02 PM
Stueps who want ah TT passport.

I need to renew mines rel bad, it eh funny.  

Wish u luck wit dat
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 03, 2009, 05:24:04 PM
2yrs ago i purchase one ah mean i send for a birthpaper in trini and i got it , is there a new one or the one i have is the same new alyuh talking bout
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 03, 2009, 05:47:47 PM
2yrs ago i purchase one ah mean i send for a birthpaper in trini and i got it , is there a new one or the one i have is the same new alyuh talking bout

If you have the new electronic b-paper, yuh good to go, this is what is needed for the new machine readable passport, see here

http://www.gov.tt/citizen/service.aspx?id=%7BFD38A07F-80B6-467D-ADD9-DB065B99DBEA%7D
Post by: Flex on April 04, 2009, 07:29:47 AM
New York office (http://www.ttcgnewyork.com/)
Post by: ann3boys on April 06, 2009, 02:23:11 PM
the good news is that turnaround processing time for the new passports is <2 weeks
  I should say 'supposed to be' but really- the times have been seriously reduced- especially if you send it to the NY centre
try it ;D
Post by: weary1969 on April 06, 2009, 09:24:12 PM
the good news is that turnaround processing time for the new passports is <2 weeks
  I should say 'supposed to be' but really- the times have been seriously reduced- especially if you send it to the NY centre
try it ;D

Thanks 4 d info will let d sis know.
Post by: fari on April 08, 2009, 06:33:17 PM
i apply for the new birth certificate in february, the man say it will take 4 months.  like they does mail it from trinidad to miami and from there i guess they will mail it to you.     i feel i will apply for the passport extension and hope i could get it within a few months time at least.
Title: Machine readable passports available in Miami
Post by: Tallman on May 22, 2009, 08:00:58 PM
The New Machine Readable Passport

Dear Fellow Citizens of Trinidad And Tobago.

Please be advised that the Consulate General in Miami Florida is accepting applications for processing of the Machine Readable Passports. All first time applicants for this passport must appear in person (your picture will be taken at the Consulate) and it is suggested that persons wishing to apply call the Consulate at 305-374-2199 ext 325 to make an appointment. Walk-ins will also be entertained but to prevent long wait times making an appointment is preferred.

The cost for the passport is $60.00.US, plus return postage cost is $17.50 US(if applicable) made payable by money order to The Consulate General of Trinidad and Tobago.

Please note that for persons not living in the State of Florida, the Consulate General plans to schedule visits to States falling under the jurisdiction of the Consulate in order to facilitate the applications for Machine Readable Passports. These States include, Alabama, Louisiana, North and South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Texas, Kentucky and Mississippi

Checklist (http://www.ttcgmiami.com/continuationmrp.htm)
Frequently Asked Questions (http://www.ttcgmiami.com/FAQ.htm)
Post by: Brownsugar on May 23, 2009, 06:18:00 AM
Birth certificates are processed in a matter of minutes now....

Yeah that's what we talking bout!!...onward to Vision 2020!!
Post by: The_Ice on May 23, 2009, 10:02:42 AM
anyone know how long it taking to process after the appointment locally?
Post by: weary1969 on May 23, 2009, 07:09:43 PM

1st ting is 2 get d appt right now dat is 2010 u gettin an appt. Approx 3/12 u can pay more 4 d rush and get it quicker.
Post by: The_Ice on May 26, 2009, 12:57:56 PM

1st ting is 2 get d appt right now dat is 2010 u gettin an appt. Approx 3/12 u can pay more 4 d rush and get it quicker.

my appt. is at the end of next month (called to make the appt. abt 9 months ago)... if i could pay to get it rushed i would do that. i already missed out on 2 vacations w/ my family b/c of the amt of time i had to wait for this appointment. anyways what u mean by 3/12? 3 months? if so that's a real long wait. they still have posted on their site that its taking a matter of days.lol
Post by: weary1969 on May 26, 2009, 02:24:58 PM

my appt. is at the end of next month (called to make the appt. abt 9 months ago)... if i could pay to get it rushed i would do that. i already missed out on 2 vacations w/ my family b/c of the amt of time i had to wait for this appointment. anyways what u mean by 3/12? 3 months? if so that's a real long wait. they still have posted on their site that its taking a matter of days.lol

Yes  months that is how long I know people wait.
Post by: Montjoy on May 27, 2009, 02:04:50 AM
My kids have TnT Passports through me. They were both born in Germany. They have international birth certificates never had TnT birth certificates. Do they need a new birth certificates in order to renew their passports?
Post by: Michael-j on May 27, 2009, 06:25:58 AM
My kids have TnT Passports through me. They were both born in Germany. They have international birth certificates never had TnT birth certificates. Do they need a new birth certificates in order to renew their passports?

I don't think so.....only persons born in T&T are entitled to a T&T birth certificate. You will need to provide your
new T&T birth certificate and proof of your relationship with them ( their German certificates) inorder to renew their passports.
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 27, 2009, 05:39:02 PM
peps i went today to apply for my new passport and the people at the consulate was having a lot of problems with birth papers and the way people names are spelled different to the name on the passports so peolpe please check your passport and make sure that the names are spelled the same and correctly
Post by: weary1969 on May 27, 2009, 06:27:26 PM
peps i went today to apply for my new passport and the people at the consulate was having a lot of problems with birth papers and the way people names are spelled different to the name on the passports so peolpe please check your passport and make sure that the names are spelled the same and correctly

All kind of mistakes on dem new birth paper.
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 28, 2009, 04:19:13 PM
gul the darm thing started with the old ones them and they contuning so the people in the consulate in ny that is checking them out real good he say the reason for that is because it have non trinbagonions with birthcertificates claiming to be nationals so that is why they have to straiten things out right now .
Post by: weary1969 on May 28, 2009, 06:22:35 PM
gul the darm thing started with the old ones them and they contuning so the people in the consulate in ny that is checking them out real good he say the reason for that is because it have non trinbagonions with birthcertificates claiming to be nationals so that is why they have to straiten things out right now .

Dat is d story 4 d US. Peeps havin d same problems is like d peeps who print d textbook. Only errorssssssssss
Post by: D.H.W on June 04, 2009, 10:39:10 AM
lord i nearly dead today getting my passport. 1 letter missing and i had to go back home then to come back, for the person to write it over for me  :-\ , but it was quick otherwise. i tired   :(
Post by: Michael-j on June 14, 2009, 08:32:40 PM
Can anyone tell me what happens when you're applying for a new machine readable passport but your old passport contains a US visa that is not expired?? Do you need to apply for a new visa???..or do they give you back the old passport along with the new one??

I remember a few years back my passport expired but my visa was still good....when I renewed my passport they just stapled the old pport to the back of the new one....does anyone know if they will also do this with the new machine readable pports???
Post by: The_Ice on June 14, 2009, 08:41:39 PM
Can anyone tell me what happens when you're applying for a new machine readable passport but your old passport contains a US visa that is not expired?? Do you need to apply for a new visa???..or do they give you back the old passport along with the new one??

I remember a few years back my passport expired but my visa was still good....when I renewed my passport they just stapled the old pport to the back of the new one....does anyone know if they will also do this with the new machine readable pports???

they will transfer the visa to the new passport as far as i know... i believe they sed that on the immigration office website
Post by: Michael-j on June 15, 2009, 06:21:11 AM

they will transfer the visa to the new passport as far as i know... i believe they sed that on the immigration office website

Thanks bro  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: ann3boys on June 15, 2009, 01:18:46 PM
actually you can still travel with the US visa - just attach the old and new passports (staple) remember to ask back for your old passport tho'-
the US people say that there is no such thing as transferring a visa- it's considered a new application- so my advice is to use it until it expires...
you never know when they will refuse your application- their officer on the tv the other day said that approx. 60-75% of Trinis overstay a visit- so all of us are treated with suspicion...
Post by: dwolfman on June 15, 2009, 02:51:15 PM
Yeah, to the best of my knowledge you don't transfer the visa. What I've known people to do is travel with the expired passport and present it at immigration. That sounds risky to me since they need to stamp the valid passport on entry to the country, but the 2 people I know who've done it have done it successfully. I am not sure what was said (if anything) at immigration, maybe I can ask.

What another friend of mine did was when he reapplied he brought the expired passport with the valid visa in it in addition to the other information he had to present. They inspected the passport and his travel habits and then they cancelled the one in the expired passport and issued a new visa in the machine readable one.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 15, 2009, 04:09:37 PM
correct..jus walk with yuh old passport with the visa..the visa itself is machine readable...so is no scene
Post by: Michael-j on June 15, 2009, 04:26:26 PM
Thanks for the info fellas  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: g on June 16, 2009, 08:48:35 AM
I surely not going into the US embassy unless i have to but check dis

The new passports only valid for 5 years i think.

My existing Visa on my old passport for 10 years valid till 2017

When i get my new passport in 2010 it will be valid till 2015 and i will have to get a new one again.

Which means I probably have to walk around with 3 passports just in case some Immigration officer decide to ask ten questions  ???
Post by: ann3boys on June 16, 2009, 12:11:12 PM
 ;D good luck with that :rotfl:
once an immigration officer in Miami asked my sister why her picture in the passport had her smiling- said she had to smile for him to id her...little gods ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on June 16, 2009, 12:13:24 PM

When i get my new passport in 2010 it will be valid till 2015 and i will have to get a new one again.

Which means I probably have to walk around with 3 passports just in case some Immigration officer decide to ask ten questions  ???

No you will only have to walk around with the current passport and the one with the VISA.  Then again, having all three passports will show your travel history to decidely unfriendly immigration officials at foreign airports like the ones in Toronto...most unfriendly setta immigration people I ever met...
Post by: dinho on June 16, 2009, 12:24:20 PM

No you will only have to walk around with the current passport and the one with the VISA.  Then again, having all three passports will show your travel history to decidely unfriendly immigration officials at foreign airports like the ones in Toronto...most unfriendly setta immigration people I ever met...

i take it you've never been to antigua?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 16, 2009, 02:25:27 PM

No.  Dem worst than the Canadians??!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2009, 11:18:55 PM

D ABSOLUTE WORSE AIRPORT IN D WORLDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
Post by: g on June 17, 2009, 07:53:36 AM

No.  Dem worst than the Canadians??!!

Nah, Barbados beat back all ah dem.

I will never forget the stare i get from the Lady Immigration Officer. She actually told me to make sure and leave after 4 days I planned to stay. 

Post by: dwolfman on June 17, 2009, 05:25:52 PM

Nah, Barbados beat back all ah dem.

I will never forget the stare i get from the Lady Immigration Officer. She actually told me to make sure and leave after 4 days I planned to stay. 

Coming and going dey like bad dog in Barbados. I never had too many problems coming in, but nuff people I know catch dey ass. Going though, before I cut my dreds, they used to make me shake it out every single time without fail plus go through my bag. My teammates used to let me go first because they know by the time they done with me I walking on the plane last.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 17, 2009, 05:33:31 PM
when i lived in bdos i used to get hold every single time. I spent hours in that immigration and customs many times. I can't stand that place.
all kinda ridiculous questions.
Toronto I have had good experiences. Altho I was traveling with my leg all bandaged up after surgery so maybe that's why.
Post by: dcs on June 19, 2009, 09:39:49 AM

When is the new deadline to get the machine readable passports...it was extended not so?
Post by: dcs on June 19, 2009, 09:53:44 AM
Now to see who exactly refusing entry.
All this time people thinking is a hard deadline set by us making the old passports invalid by our deadline.

Cah find any info on the Immigration website (http://www.nationalsecurity.gov.tt/)..at least not easily.

Another call to collect new passports (http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/06/10/another-call-collect-new-passports)
DIXIE ANN DICKSON
Published: 10 Jun 2009
Trinidad Guardian[/color]

The non-readable passports could remain in circulation until November 2015, he said, but travellers may be refused entry by other countries.
Post by: big dawg on June 19, 2009, 10:43:21 AM
All this time people thinking is a hard deadline set by us making the old passports invalid by our deadline.

Cah find any info on the Immigration website (http://www.nationalsecurity.gov.tt/)..at least not easily.

Another call to collect new passports (http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/06/10/another-call-collect-new-passports)
DIXIE ANN DICKSON

The non-readable passports could remain in circulation until November 2015, he said, but travellers may be refused entry by other countries.

Real, Real Real Bullshit...

Emagine you jump on a plane and go Europe for a vacation. Visa everything is tact. then they send yuh back because your passport not updated because YOUR Govt passport office have issues and cyar give yuh the new one just yet..
Post by: weary1969 on June 19, 2009, 11:18:47 AM

DIXIE ANN DICKSON

Emagine you jump on a plane and go Europe for a vacation. Visa everything is tact. then they send yuh back because your passport not updated because YOUR Govt passport office have issues and cyar give yuh the new one just yet..

COSIGNNNNNNNNN. My advice 2 peeps wit d old passport doh travel after dec 09.
Post by: FF on June 19, 2009, 11:19:33 AM

DIXIE ANN DICKSON

Boy... trinbago now tell meh the new york office tell him come next year May for he appointment  :o

wey saah... D.C. looking like the best bet... me, i still waiting for my birth paper to reach
Post by: weary1969 on June 19, 2009, 11:51:57 AM

DIXIE ANN DICKSON

Boy... trinbago now tell meh the new york office tell him come next year May for he appointment  :o

wey saah... D.C. looking like the best bet... me, i still waiting for my birth paper to reach

I C dey export d nonesense appt in 2010 2 get yuh passport
Post by: fari on June 19, 2009, 11:55:00 AM

DIXIE ANN DICKSON

me too...the fella in charge of them in the miami consulate is one kicksy fella...he folksy too bad.

Post by: fari on July 04, 2009, 10:02:09 AM
update...i get my birth certificate yesterday and all the info is correct (thank god b/c i hear horror stories from friends).  now to call miami consulate to get an appt for the new passport.  on the website they say they plan to go to states in the southern US, anybody have any inside links as to when they plan to start this?  i don't mind going down to MIA but if i could save a trip...
Post by: Saywha on July 04, 2009, 10:38:05 AM

Hey wannabe MJ  ;D, dey will give you back de old one and you could staple it to the new one.  That's how I did mine and I travelled with it last month and everything was ok.  jes make sure dey give you back the old one along with de new one.

Post by: dwolfman on July 06, 2009, 08:51:37 AM
Why allyuh encouraging man to staple the passports? That is uneccessary and I think prohibited in these new machine readable passports. All you need to do is have both in your possession.
Title: Joseph promises end to long wait for passports
Post by: Tallman on October 30, 2009, 08:21:47 AM
Joseph promises end to long wait for passports
By Gail Alexander (T&T Guardian)

Moves are on to correct the current situation where members of the public are being given appointment dates way into 2010 to renew their passports, National Security Minister Martin Joseph has said. “That is going to be corrected,” Joseph said at yesterday’s weekly Government media briefing. He said the situation would be revised. Mechanisms were also being implemented to accommodate those who had received 2010 appointment dates to renew their passports and who needed to travel earlier, he added. Joseph said it was initially taking 54 days—from application to completion—to process passports. It was now down to 32 days, he said.

He said that in a week, the time frame would be down to 20-plus days. “At the end of the day we’ll reach a point where it will only take ten days for machine readable passports,” Joseph said. Joseph said renewals would have a different, shorter processing period. Appealing for members of the public to collect the 26,000 passports now ready, Joseph said the situation was posing “security challenges” for the Immigration Department. He said the passports were completed on the basis that the owners needed to travel quickly. Joseph said almost 60 per cent of people in T&T now had machine readable passports.
Post by: Cantona007 on October 30, 2009, 08:40:28 AM
All this is fine; I assume this refers to if you are in T&T. What is the situation if you are in the US or some other country? It is ridiculous that, wherever you live in the US you HAVE to go to Miami, DC.NY to get the new passport. This is a fiasco.
Post by: weary1969 on October 30, 2009, 11:12:28 AM
All this is fine; I assume this refers to if you are in T&T. What is the situation if you are in the US or some other country? It is ridiculous that, wherever you live in the US you HAVE to go to Miami, DC.NY to get the new passport. This is a fiasco.

Brudder I went immigration on Fredrick St  NT yday deh eh even have adult forms. All ah we up d creek witout a paddle.
Post by: Jumbie on October 31, 2009, 07:30:40 AM

Yuh right! Dem in Toronto is the wuss. I have come to point now where I does say I have ear problems and the flight make me can't hear.. write down your questions for meh  :rotfl: And I does talk loud loud so they really feel I can't hear.

I juss tired of they stupid questions and treating me for as the immigrant that I am.. when my wife and kids getting smile and "welcome back home ladies".
Post by: fishs on October 31, 2009, 08:31:11 AM
Why allyuh encouraging man to staple the passports? That is uneccessary and I think prohibited in these new machine readable passports. All you need to do is have both in your possession.

Lol, I have the old one with the visas and the new one, but I thought it looked weird me presenting 2 passports when I travelling until I bounce up a Nigerian with 4. On the flight (whilst holding my nose) he tell mih he is ah businessman and travels regularly and sometimes forgets which old passport has which visa so he does travel with all of them also to go to most countries he needs visas.
After he tell mih he was a businessman from nigeria I secure mih passports, wallet and ipod, pull up the lil divider screen and pray for the best.
Post by: Cantona007 on October 31, 2009, 01:49:56 PM

Lol, I have the old one with the visas and the new one, but I thought it looked weird me presenting 2 passports when I travelling until I bounce up a Nigerian with 4. On the flight (whilst holding my nose) he tell mih he is ah businessman and travels regularly and sometimes forgets which old passport has which visa so he does travel with all of them also to go to most countries he needs visas.
After he tell mih he was a businessman from nigeria I secure mih passports, wallet and ipod, pull up the lil divider screen and pray for the best.

:rotfl: Sad but true...
Post by: STEUPS!! on October 31, 2009, 05:50:28 PM
26,000 ppl still to collect their new passports according to d min. of national security
Post by: weary1969 on November 01, 2009, 04:02:22 PM
26,000 ppl still to collect their new passports according to d min. of national security

Dat figure just dont make sense
Post by: TriniCana on November 01, 2009, 06:06:17 PM

26,000? Nah!!

Not the way I heard of people cussing to get their passport back. Who waiting months upon months AFTER they applied for their passport.

So what the Minister trying to say is people not really interested to get their passport back? He full ah shit oui!

steupses!
Post by: weary1969 on November 01, 2009, 07:16:47 PM

26,000? Nah!!

Not the way I heard of people cussing to get their passport back. Who waiting months upon months AFTER they applied for their passport.

So what the Minister trying to say is people not really interested to get their passport back? He full ah shit oui!

steupses!

Dey singin dat sound bout uncollected passports 4 yrs.
Post by: E-man on November 04, 2009, 04:08:55 PM
Uncollected passports pose security problem
tnttimes.com (http://tnttimes.com/golive/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=150:news-friday-october-30&catid=34:news-news&Itemid=69)

Over 26,000 of the new machine readable passports are waiting at the Immigration Division to be collected by applicants. Minister of National Security Martin Joseph revealed yesterday that the failure to deliver the uncollected passports is costing his Ministry an “exorbitant” amount of money in addition to creating a “security challenge” for the Ministry. Joseph is pleading with applicants to ensure that they collect the newly issued passports and advertisements will start appearing in the media this weekend urging applicants to collect their passports at the various Immigration Division offices.

The Minister also indicated that there will very soon be a 10-day maximum waiting period for the collection of passports instead of the three months that currently obtains.
Title: Passport blues
Post by: zuluwarrior on March 29, 2010, 01:37:24 PM
Passport blues
One reporter’s trip to the Immigration Office
Aba A Luke
Published: 29 Mar 2010

On any given day, the Immigration Office is alive with the chatter of hundreds who’ve been granted appointments for that day.
Aba A Luke
Have you been to the Immigration Office to secure, collect or enquire about getting a new passport? If you have, you’d agree that the process is both time-consuming and, on most days, torturous. Having upgraded the system to create new, electronic passports, the immigration office here in T&T has also delved headfirst into a battle of sorts as they’re now faced with the task of documenting everything provided by every citizen who arrives for an interview. The pain experienced by the man on the street hasn’t gone unnoticed, with many people voicing complaints on public media forums. In fact, I myself faced the music when, on February 24, my appointment date arrived.

No one- hour process
Some 200 appointments are issued daily and, according to an inside source, the Immigration Department is understaffed. Having received an appointment for 10 am on February 24, I realised upon arrival that the possibility of leaving one hour later was absolutely absurd. Never mind the wait that lay ahead; what was even more outrageous to me was the general system and the apparent lack of necessary tools for the job. Entering the Frederick Street entrance, heat seemed to envelop me at the doorway. As I proceeded, I realised the heat wasn’t only around the doorway but also near the initial clerk who facilitated appointments for that day and the provided appointment forms.

I was taken by the reality that there were no computers with databases for these clerks to easily perform their day’s duties. A young lady looked toward me and politely asked if I’d come for a form or whether I had an appointment. In front of her was a stapled stack of papers with names and codes. Using a pencil, she identified my name and proceeded to let me know that I could take a seat to her left until my name was called. There were more people around me than there were seats and right there, I noticed the third issue with the system: how could those responsible schedule more appointments for one day than there are seats to facilitate the long wait?

Parents with their young children in tow were made to stand for long periods and, with less than ten officers available to facilitate step one of the process, the initial scan of documents, the process of securing a passport, which I was told would be merely one hour long, extended to over five hours. During my wait, I scanned the small room. Signs, many of which were made by hand with copy paper and Sharpie markers and stuck with Scotch tape, lined various areas of the wall, in a bid, I guess, to properly apprise citizens of necessary information. One such sign sought to inform the public that the cashier would be closed at 2.30 pm and, as such, only LINX payments would be accepted beyond that time. To the dismay of many, 2.30 pm was fast approaching and they were yet to meet with the authorising officer. Added to that, many of them did not come prepared to pay via LINX.

Lacklustre service
By 11.30 pm, the office was alive with noise as weary applicants, many of whom had arrived from as early as 7 am, began voicing their frustration. “It look like we go be here till 9 o’clock tonight, boy,” one man was heard telling his young son. Meanwhile, many officers were seen chatting among themselves, walking around and seemingly ignoring the fact that there were over 150 people waiting within the two areas of the office, for their scheduled appointments. Around 1.30 pm, there were still 50 people ahead of me. I listened in to the complaints of irritable applicants, some of whom were hungry and others who were merely angry. “Manning building all kinda high rise building but it don’t even have enough staff in here so citizens could get they passport—steups!” said one man. Eventually, by 4 pm, my number was called for a meeting with the authorising officer. By that time, the office was less crowded and for some reason, the system seemed to have been moving a little faster—maybe because it was almost time to go home!

The explanation
I walked into the cubicle and immediately began enquiring as to why the system seems so archaic. The Immigration officer calmly explained that the new system was meant to decrease any possibility of fraud. For this reason, there is the first channel through which a person’s application must pass before coming to his desk. He scanned my documents, noticing that I’d been sent away one week prior to obtain an affidavit as it related to an incorrect item on my birth certificate. This, he explained, was part of the reason for the long wait.

He said many citizens often show up at the office unprepared and, after waiting for hours on end, they’re made to go home and come back with all their required documents, in many cases, including affidavits. He further explained that the new process requires proper tracking of each person’s information—with copies of everything. I myself was told that I needed to go get one.

When I returned with my documents, the kind and courteous male Immigration officer prompted me to come back to him and within seconds, my documents were stamped and forwarded to the third officer, who would take my photo, and to whom I would then pay $250 for my TT passport—with LINX, mind you. After about 20 minutes my name was called, picture taken, money paid and date obtained to return for my spanking new T&T passport. My only fear, now, is whether I’ll be made to wait another six hours or so
Title: Re: Passport blues
Post by: doc on March 29, 2010, 02:10:40 PM
Good for him. My appointment is in Jan. 2012 ::)
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 29, 2010, 02:32:03 PM

Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2010, 09:26:28 PM

My expirin in 2012 but I cyah call now 4 d renewal appt.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 30, 2010, 07:35:15 AM

Barataria please doh laugh.....please....it real friggin annoying....
Post by: royal on March 30, 2010, 06:59:10 PM

US citizenship taking 10 weeks now from start to finish but to get a trini passport taking years !!!! 
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 30, 2010, 07:57:36 PM

Girl, trus meh, ah know, but ah cyar help but laugh at how ridiculous we culd be sometime, I still have to sign up for mine, not too long ago I got the electronic birth certificate, at de rate dey goin I mite head to Brazil fuh de 2014 WC before ah get mine  :devil:
Post by: dinho on March 30, 2010, 08:06:27 PM
some months ago, i went to find out about renewing my TT passport up here.. They give me an appointment for December 2011.. I had to ask the woman how she so sure i go still be alive.. lol
Post by: just cool on March 31, 2010, 02:25:36 AM
some months ago, i went to find out about renewing my TT passport up here.. They give me an appointment for December 2011.. I had to ask the woman how she so sure i go still be alive.. lol
That iz extremely and utterly ABSERD!! i have ah U.S. and trini passport, and my trini passport been expired, now what the fack, if i want another trini passport means i have tuh wait until kingdom come?  there must be some way around that!
Post by: truetrini on March 31, 2010, 07:13:59 AM
That iz extremely and utterly OBSERD!! i have ah U.S. and trini passport, and my trini passport been expired, now what the fack, if i want another trini passport means i have tuh wait until kingdom come?  there must be some way around that!

Write Manning ans ask why his 20/20 vision making people see the blues.
Post by: dinho on March 31, 2010, 07:52:09 AM
That iz extremely and utterly OBSERD!! i have ah U.S. and trini passport, and my trini passport been expired, now what the fack, if i want another trini passport means i have tuh wait until kingdom come?  there must be some way around that!

i am in the same situation.. the way around it is up until a certain date, they will give you an extension on your expired passport until the end of 2011.. and i cant remember what that certain date was..

but that still mean i have to go to the consulate and line up at 7am a weekday and then hope that i fall in one of the first 50 people they taking for the day... and i eh too keen on doing that until it warm up.
Post by: Jah Gol on March 31, 2010, 12:47:36 PM
I'm on the road coming back from the Point Fortin office. My appointment was made February 6, 2009. I'll spare allyuh the details. Reach 9:50am for an 11:00 appointment. Finish 2:33pm . I have to pick up next month.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 31, 2010, 01:22:43 PM
I'm on the road coming back from the Point Fortin office. My aptpointment was made February 6, 2009. I'll spare allyuh the details. Reach 9:50am for an 11:00 appointment. Finish 2:33pm . I have to pick up next month.

Point Fortin??!!   :o :o....oh well never mind, I went Grande to get mine  ::) (this was before the appointment system was put in place).....I didn't realise that folks still had to go all over the country to facilitate the process.  In fact come to think of it, I heard a crazy story.  I made an appointment about 3 weeks ago for my mother and the date given was Jan 20, 2012.  I kept wondering how the hell it taking so long to get an appointment in Tobago??!!...surely the island eh have that much people to take up all those spots....then I heard that Trinidadians were actually making appointments for Tobago and making the trip across........now it sounds so crazy I still eh believe that..... :-\
Post by: grimm01 on March 31, 2010, 07:21:32 PM
A couple weeks ago ah call the NY Consulate, and ah get the passport line voicemail. Left a message and call back next day, same thing. Call again but ah keep pressing 0, eventually ah lady answer, before ah could say morning, she put meh on hold for 5 minutes.

The woman then told me, with what I presume was a straight face, that the next available appointment was in April 2011. I explained to her that my passport initially expired in 2005, had been renewed twice, the last expiration date was Dec 31 2009 and I have 0 blank pages left in it. After repeating my words and giving me some umm and ahhs, she eventually suggested that I try another embassy, wished me good luck and hang up...

Post by: fari on March 31, 2010, 07:30:13 PM
try  miami...i start and finish right dey...apply for the new birth paper everything thru that consulate
Post by: Tallman on August 16, 2010, 11:59:23 AM
Ah jes make an appointment today.

Dey tell meh de first one available is November 2011.  :rotfl:
Post by: Brownsugar on August 16, 2010, 02:32:18 PM

Yuh lucky....I made one for my mother earlier this year and the earliest available time was Jan 2012.....seems like things improving then..... ::)
Post by: Jah Gol on August 16, 2010, 03:38:31 PM
I collected mine two weeks ago. It took no more than 10 minutes in the office. I spent the whole day using public transportation to and from Point Fortin though.
Post by: Bourbon on August 16, 2010, 03:53:13 PM
I collected mine today.....could have done it about 3 weeks now doh.

De trick is getting the right office.
People hear grande office was quick...de appointments start a backlog.

I hear of people trying Point Fortin and Tobago.
Post by: D.H.W on August 16, 2010, 05:28:36 PM
make sure alyuh walk with all yuh documents , and they in order, the slightest thing that off, they does bitch about it. I nearly see fight break out , because a woman travel rel far , only to realize she doh have the documents, and nobody tell she to bring them.
Post by: Touches on August 16, 2010, 09:04:24 PM
Tallman under seriousness,

Just walk in the office bout 5:30-6 in the morning with yuh form fill out and yuh birth certificate etc and yuh safe.

The ting with TT post is just for them imps at the desk to generate a list and appointment....people doh come.

When I was there sitting down it had real people around me when I ask them how long ago they make appointment...all say they try a ting and walk in early this morning.

Then it had the others who come after 9 bawling they had a 8:00 appointment and they get a number and had to sit down like everybody else and wait.

Just come down and try a ting.

But u you in Miami....yuh could get tru fast.
Post by: Preacher on August 16, 2010, 09:27:16 PM

Not sure if u doin US side or TT...I'm heading to DC tmw for mine...They claimed that its very packed...They also told me don't expect to be done quickly.  :)
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2010, 06:11:25 AM
But u you in Miami....yuh could get tru fast.

Remember in Miami dey hadda also deal wit people who livin Alabama, Louisiana, North and South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Texas, Kentucky and Mississippi, plus de rest ah Florida.

Plus is still Trinis yuh dealing wit. Look I gone dey de odda day with meh niece tuh get ah letter from dem stating dat dey know she will be doing a semester in ah next country. De letter was one or two sentences, but ah hadda wait almost 3 hours for dat  >:(.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 17, 2010, 06:26:56 AM

Yuh lucky....I made one for my mother earlier this year and the earliest available time was Jan 2012.....seems like things improving then..... ::)

All ah alyuh real lucky, I call NY consulate de odder day and dey tell meh dat meh appt is Jan 8th 2013  :o
Post by: PantherX on August 17, 2010, 11:51:59 AM
I need a new passport but it looks like I'll be better off working on my US citizenship and getting a US passport than trying to get the new one from T&T.
Post by: real madness on August 17, 2010, 02:25:32 PM
That passport scene is real horrors.  I calling the DC office to set up an appointment but nobody answering phone at least when I called because other people getting through and making appointment.  A friend in Atlanta decided to just show up and he get through because one of immigration officers realized he was getting horrors from the clerk and decided to give him ah bligh when he found out they both went Fatima.  So I decided to follow suit and just show up in DC (I in California) before the office open. 

The clerk brace me and said no appointment equals no passport. On top of that she said that there was an immigration officer in California that day so I should have stayed there to get my passport (not that they updated their website for me to know such information or answered the phone to tell me).

I told her I not leaving the office until I get a passport even if it means I have to go home with her.  Everybody start to laugh so that get her more vex.

About every 30-45 minutes I went to the window and ask her to process my application, I continued to get brace and finally she got fed up of me and took my paperwork around 10:30 and I got through around 3 pm.
Post by: weary1969 on August 17, 2010, 02:32:17 PM
That passport scene is real horrors.  I calling the DC office to set up an appointment but nobody answering phone at least when I called because other people getting through and making appointment.  A friend in Atlanta decided to just show up and he get through because one of immigration officers realized he was getting horrors from the clerk and decided to give him ah bligh when he found out they both went Fatima.  So I decided to follow suit and just show up in DC (I in California) before the office open. 

The clerk brace me and said no appointment equals no passport. On top of that she said that there was an immigration officer in California that day so I should have stayed there to get my passport (not that they updated their website for me to know such information or answered the phone to tell me).

I told her I not leaving the office until I get a passport even if it means I have to go home with her.  Everybody start to laugh so that get her more vex.

About every 30-45 minutes I went to the window and ask her to process my application, I continued to get brace and finally she got fed up of me and took my paperwork around 10:30 and I got through around 3 pm.

It like yuh name Real Madness.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 17, 2010, 04:18:53 PM
i make an appointment earlier this year and they give me Nov 2011...steups.
Post by: JDB on August 17, 2010, 07:07:55 PM

I looking at September 2012.

I know people complaining about the US Embassy in the Kamla thread but at least they doing they business. Both the previous Gov't and this one completely fail on this issue. For all the Billions being spent on new buildings and Summit they coulda double the capacity for supplying these passports for a fraction of the cost. Get a next machine, next building, double staff etc because the backlog is ridiculous.

My passport expire since 2006 and I just went for my 3rd extension. The most recent one will only be until 2011 so since my appointment will not be until 2012 I will have to go back again. When I explain the silliness of giving an extension that they KNOW is not long enough they have no answer.

The situation real bad. When I went in 2006 and 2008 yuh could just show up around 9 - 10  am and wait and it wasn't too bad. Now because they have so many people without valid passports they could only see 50 people a day in NY and people lining up from 4.00 am in the morning. I make that run last week reach there 4.00 and see about ten people there already, some camp out from the previous night.

I will see what going on next week after I collect it. I need to travel to Germany on business and the German visa requirements are that your passport must be less than 10 years old, even if it has been extended by your gov't. I will see if they will brace meh. Plus yuh supposed to have two empty pages and I barely have that thanks to the jokers we have in government past and present.

Is really thing to make yuh want to go the US citizenship route.
Title: US nut accepting old T&T passpoprts in 2011
Post by: jai john on January 02, 2011, 06:56:32 AM
I was wondering if anyone can verify that the US immigration will refuse entry to nationals of this country who attempt to enter US territory without machine readable passports 31 Dec 2010 ...
A friend was told by Immigration that from the new year its machine readable or nada ! Of course nationals have been encouraged to get the mew passport but the waiting list rivals methusalah's beard in length.
I dont want to speculate on the stress this would cause and would prefer to have this confirmed before I say any more ...
Title: Re: US nut accepting old T&T passpoprts in 2011
Post by: Bourbon on January 02, 2011, 08:28:11 AM
Hm.

Now I have a machine readable...but my US visa which valid until 2012 in my old one. In passport office they told me that i could carry both. If dis true....what would happen in a case like that?
Post by: Brownsugar on January 02, 2011, 08:48:28 AM
Hm.

Now I have a machine readable...but my US visa which valid until 2012 in my old one. In passport office they told me that i could carry both. If dis true....what would happen in a case like that?

Yes Bourbon, you have to travel with both passports....my US VISA is in my old passport and that's what I have been doing with no problems.  The issue doesn't seem to be the format of the passport but rather that you have the VISA and it is still valid.....

Dis reminds me, aye Weary we have a date with them pesky Embassy people this year girl....I will go first and tell yuh what dey do mih.... ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on January 02, 2011, 08:52:21 AM
Hm.

I'm in a similar position. I got my new passport last year but my visa from the old one expires in 2017. I came back from New York yesterday. I had both passports and US Immigration didn't tell me anything at all.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on January 02, 2011, 09:19:06 AM
i travelled last month and the officer said new passport only in 2011.  if visa in old passport and u have new passport, carry both in 2011 when travelling.
Post by: jai john on January 02, 2011, 12:03:26 PM
...could you imagine ...students returning to the US this week with their old unexpired passports ? Real drama also with those who work for oil companies etc ...one month in one month out ...the US Embassy must take some flack here if this is true ..for not informing the T&T population ...look ting if man who come down for Christmas on vacation kyah report for work this week because they kyah get an appointment with  immigration... line tpp long !
Post by: jai john on January 02, 2011, 12:06:24 PM
Hm.

I'm in a similar position. I got my new passport last year but my visa from the old one expires in 2017. I came back from New York yesterday. I had both passports and US Immigration didn't tell me anything at all.

Problem eh the visa ..but the lack of a machine readable passport ...dais de trouble for some.. you know we ( Vice President FIFA) done shaft Obama last month .. so I guess we could expect their cooperation in this matter right ?
Post by: AB.Trini on January 02, 2011, 05:18:31 PM
Which 'nut' in the U.S.A. came up with this plan?

:busshead: :busshead: :busshead: :busshead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: JDB on January 03, 2011, 10:57:09 AM
...could you imagine ...students returning to the US this week with their old unexpired passports ? Real drama also with those who work for oil companies etc ...one month in one month out ...the US Embassy must take some flack here if this is true ..for not informing the T&T population ...look ting if man who come down for Christmas on vacation kyah report for work this week because they kyah get an appointment with  immigration... line tpp long !

You cannot blame the foreign embassies. You have to balme the TnT government. This is not news to them.

I was refused a German Visa last year (that I needed for business travel) because they don't recognize PPs older than 10 years. Previously I had travelled on my magical, forever-extending TnT passport to Germany but they said that the new rules came into effect last Spring.

The government took forever to implement the passports and after implementation has shown little real interest in dealing with the backlog. In NYC they give you extensions until 2011 and say you can't get appointments until 2012. So what is the point of a one-year extension if you know you can't supply a PP in time.

Both the last government and this one drop the ball on this. All the money invested in infrastructure over the last decade nobody could see the benefit of doubling or tripling the capacity to supply passports for a fraction of the cost. they denying their own citizend the freedom of movement.
Post by: Andre on January 03, 2011, 12:15:14 PM
allyuh lucky allyuh could even get TT passport. they give me ah appt in november 2011 when i call in june 2010.
Post by: Touches on January 03, 2011, 12:46:13 PM
Andre,

Doh study that appointment, get yuh forms fill them out and go bout 6 in the morning and join the line normal.

That appointment thing ent too legit, when yuh reach go by the counter talk to the girl get a number and yuh go walk in the waiting room with the rest.

When I went real people say they just walk in and try a ting. Because plenty people doh come for their appointment.

Or yuh could just say is a emergency...pay $500 extra and get yuh passport in a week.

It have ways and means to do ting.
Post by: Tallman on January 03, 2011, 12:53:45 PM
Me eh see or hear nutten bout dat. Right now de only countries dat I see whose citizens are required to have machine readable passports to enter de US are those in the Visa Waiver Program (http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/without/without_1990.html).
Post by: Brownsugar on January 03, 2011, 12:57:26 PM
Andre,

Or yuh could just say is a emergency...pay $500 extra and get yuh passport in a week.

It have ways and means to do ting.

Why does paying $500 extra produce a passport in a week when it taking 2 years to get the appointment in the first place??  Ah might as well pay ah lil $2- 3,000 and watch dem make it right dey in front mih eyes....steups!!  Another issue for this clueless Minister of National Security to deal with.... ::)
Post by: weary1969 on January 03, 2011, 11:50:15 PM
Hm.

Yes Bourbon, you have to travel with both passports....my US VISA is in my old passport and that's what I have been doing with no problems.  The issue doesn't seem to be the format of the passport but rather that you have the VISA and it is still valid.....

Dis reminds me, aye Weary we have a date with them pesky Embassy people this year girl....I will go first and tell yuh what dey do mih.... ;D

Yes u go tell meh what happen.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 18, 2011, 07:48:04 AM
Update:

Read an advisory in the Guardian today from Min of National Security. 

You can now have earlier appointment dates if you call DirecOne @ 627-PASS (7277) between the hours of 1 - 4 pm Monday to Friday effective December 1st 2010.

They ask that the public exhibit some patience as it is anticipated that with the whole ah Trinidad and Tobago calling, dey system goh be overwhelmed so all yuh doh stress yuh self out when yuh call and take it easy.

The cost for a regular passport is $250.  A business passport is $350.   If yuh want yuh passport expedited faster the cost is and additional $300.

THERE ARE NO OTHER FEES INVOLVED.

The Immigration Division is also urging applicants to collect all yuh blasted passport at the office all yuh tell dem all yuh was going to pass back and get it....

Right, I going and harrass them this evening self...... ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on January 18, 2011, 12:44:40 PM
So ah call de number and after ah hit redial bout 6 - 7 times.  Ah get thru.  They put mih on hold for about 5 minutes then the young lady take mih through the process cool, cool and the next available date in Tobago was Jan 27th 2011.

Ah ask she for the next available date and she say Feb 7th 2011.  Ah take dat. So mih mom inside.  The young lady at the call centre was very professional and friendly...if the new Minister integral in improving the process well kudos to him.....
Post by: Babalawo on January 19, 2011, 12:03:26 AM
if you know anyone in passport office you can get it the next day. get the form and recommendations set, they interview you, take photo. and collect it in few days. thats what im doing  :devil:
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 19, 2011, 12:20:23 AM
Can anyone confirm having gone to the NYC consulate on any given day wherein one did not have an appt. on that day and were successful?  Would like to know before trekking down there at some unGodly hr to give this a shot