General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Organic on February 18, 2007, 08:33:16 AM

Title: Catch 22- Beauty and simplicity of circular logic
Post by: Organic on February 18, 2007, 08:33:16 AM
I read this masterpiece by joseph heller while i was in form 6. its easily one of the best books i have ever read. the macabre humor is to die for ;D.  any how i was trying to explain the concept to a fren just now (and i bored) so i decided to post this explanation as it were from the book its self enjoy.
Yossarian is the protaganist and Orr is his fello aviator. they are both americans stationed on a fictious island of the itlaian coast during world war 2.  no one wants to fly any more missions- because they are afraid of dying. so yosarrian went to the dr to see what could be done.. is there a way..yes

There was only one catch and that was Catch-22, which specified that a concern for one's safety in the face of dangers that were real and immediate was the process of a rational mind. Orr was crazy and could be grounded. All he had to do was ask; and as soon as he did, he would no longer be crazy and would have to fly more missions. Orr would be crazy to fly more missions and sane if he didn't, but if he was sane he had to fly them. If he flew them he was crazy and didn't have to; but if he didn't want to he was sane and had to. Yossarian was moved very deeply by the absolute simplicity of this clause of Catch-22 and let out a respectful whistle.

Title: Re: Catch 22- Beauty and simplicity of circular logic
Post by: JDB on February 18, 2007, 09:08:03 AM
This is easily onre of my favourite books of all time and very re-readable.

I remember trying to make a timeline of the events chronicled in the books because I was so obsessive about the chronology of the stories.
Post by: Organic on February 18, 2007, 09:19:39 AM
This is easily onre of my favourite books of all time and very re-readable.

I remember trying to make a timeline of the events chronicled in the books because I was so obsessive about the chronology of the stories.
yeah it not in chronological order..lol. first time i tried to read it in form 4...was pressure i gave up. but it was worth it i read it about 3 times mehself
Post by: pecan on February 18, 2007, 03:36:06 PM
Never read de book but I often use the phrase "Catch 22".  Should read it one day
Post by: Organic on February 18, 2007, 05:33:31 PM
Never read de book but I often use the phrase "Catch 22".  Should read it one day
shoulda tell meh dat before i left my copy in trini  :-\
have u ever read the life of pi
Post by: pecan on February 18, 2007, 09:04:52 PM
shoulda tell meh dat before i left my copy in trini  :-\
have u ever read the life of pi

another one on the "to read" list