General => General Discussion => Topic started by: AB.Trini on July 23, 2005, 09:12:30 AM

Title: UNC Thread
Post by: AB.Trini on July 23, 2005, 09:12:30 AM
Why UNC objects to CEPEP?

Could someone tell me why  a soical program like CEPEP, design to assist and help the unemplyed in TNT acquire  work and  contribute positively to society is  under attack by the UNC?

Title: Re: Why UNC objects to CEPEP?
Post by: Feliziano on July 23, 2005, 10:04:11 AM
its just another version of a '10 days' or whatever you want to call it.
Look who running the companies that are involved..all PNM cronies.
Look who they employing..all PNM badge holders.
90% pf the people who working for Cepep ent interested in having a proper future..all they care bout is collecting a check every fortnight and then spending it on stupidness.
its the same happy go lucky nonsense still going in the country...no wonder we can't progress as a people.

when the UNC was in power at least they tried to get people away from the saem kinda dependency the PNM was doing for 30 years by creating trade schools and actually making people work towards goals rather than the next box of KFC or sneakers.

Its simple maths...dependency = votes.. regardless of the performance of the political party..so i would say the PNM have it made for the next 2 elections..just because people like freeness and just dont like to work hard for anything.

so i would say its up to you and how you view the world and then put things into perspective and see if its right or wrong, good or bad or necessary or unnecessary...As you can figure out i feel CEPEP is a waste...i hope its isn't 'temporary' as the crime wave either lol.

Anyway i don't support either political party..but what i learned is that the role of the opposition party is to oppose and make the government look bad, regardless of whether or not the country is going backward or forward. We actually made more progess during the UNC that all the PNM years combined..so what if there was corruption during the UNC..at least they spend some on the country and improve some things...Now is like back to the 70's & 80's when we had we oil boom and everybody just filling their pockets.
Post by: doc on July 23, 2005, 10:41:01 AM
its just another version of a '10 days' or whatever you want to call it.
Look who running the companies that are involved..all PNM cronies.
Look who they employing..all PNM badge holders.
90% pf the people who working for Cepep ent interested in having a proper future..all they care bout is collecting a check every fortnight and then spending it on stupidness.
its the same happy go lucky nonsense still going in the country...no wonder we can't progress as a people.

when the UNC was in power at least they tried to get people away from the saem kinda dependency the PNM was doing for 30 years by creating trade schools and actually making people work towards goals rather than the next box of KFC or sneakers.

Its simple maths...dependency = votes.. regardless of the performance of the political party..so i would say the PNM have it made for the next 2 elections..just because people like freeness and just dont like to work hard for anything.

so i would say its up to you and how you view the world and then put things into perspective and see if its right or wrong, good or bad or necessary or unnecessary...As you can figure out i feel CEPEP is a waste...i hope its isn't 'temporary' as the crime wave either lol.

Anyway i don't support either political party..but what i learned is that the role of the opposition party is to oppose and make the government look bad, regardless of whether or not the country is going backward or forward. We actually made more progess during the UNC that all the PNM years combined..so what if there was corruption during the UNC..at least they spend some on the country and improve some things...Now is like back to the 70's & 80's when we had we oil boom and everybody just filling their pockets.

Feliziano:

That almost sounding like a UNC campaign speech. The little I know about Cepep indicate that it was conceived with good intentions. As with all programs administered by TT gov'ts, proper oversight could alleviate the missteps that occured.
From your understanding, what were the goals of the program, and what would be your approach to achieve a similar objective?
Post by: real madness on July 23, 2005, 11:21:34 AM
UNC will oppose everything because they are the "opposition".  If PNM was in opposition, they would oppose as well.

CEPEP being run by PNM cronies.  It was the same with UNC, NAR, etc.  That is how politics is in TnT.  The party in power always have their people involved in everything.

People are always quick to criticise but never offer an alternative solution.
Post by: Feliziano on July 23, 2005, 12:00:27 PM

Feliziano:

That almost sounding like a UNC campaign speech.

sorry but i didn't mean to come out sounding like i supoort the UNC or saying whatver they do and did was right either.
I just want to see the people and the country as a whole prosper.
so yuh think i could give Manning a run?

From your understanding, what were the goals of the program, and what would be your approach to achieve a similar objective?

ill get back to you on that part of the subject sometime later on today...but as Real Madness say "That is how politics is in TnT.  The party in power always have their people involved in everything."..and they create and do things to get 'their' people involved in sharing the wealth.
Title: UNC Thread
Post by: TriniCana on January 09, 2007, 10:58:18 PM
UNC: Bring back hangings
Trinidad Express
Wednesday 10th January 2007

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar says killers should be hanged.

"I believe that we need to seriously examine the actual implementation of the death penalty.

"Yes, I am speaking about bringing back hanging. We live in drastic times now and drastic measures are necessary," she said at the United National Congress's Monday night People's Forum at Gasparillo.

Persad-Bissessar said it was past the stage of counselling hardened, cold-blooded killers and supporting them with taxpayers' money, as the People's National Movement government has done.

"We need to focus more on victims' rights and victims' needs," she said.

She said crime had reached such a state that criminals had made extortion a new business.

"Businessmen are being forced to pay these criminals bribes to keep them from murdering, or raping, or kidnapping their relatives,"she said, adding that it would take only drastic measures to deal with them.

"We are a nation under siege. While the criminals roam free in search of their prey, we huddle, petrified, behind burglar-proofed windows in self-imposed imprisonment," she said.

She said when the UNC was in government, it dealt aggressively with crime and that the party's current plans to solve crime included bringing in external experts.

This, she said, was the reason for bringing in former New York police commissioner Bernard Kerik.

Do you support hanging as a means of solving crime? Tell us what you think. E-mail us at express@trinidadexpress.com.

Title: Re: UNC: Bring back hangings
Post by: TriniCana on January 09, 2007, 11:04:28 PM
You all remember this discussion from last year ? I believe it was around the time the 7 year old was gruesomely murdered in the cane fields by the teenagers - his name can't come to mind, and 3 weeks after that murder, a man was caught red handed by police as he was about to sexually assault a child by the flyover in Chaguanas I believe...only to be told by the child that this was constantly happening.

Let me hear what you all think about Kams suggestion

Let me put in my one liner from last year one time: "Let dem swing'
Post by: Themanfriday on January 09, 2007, 11:24:03 PM
My oppinion

THE LORD GIVETH  :angel:
THE LORD TAKETH
Giver of life. Is life Take life.

Having children my human nature would love revenge. Being a believer  :angel: I must forgive and leave it in GODS hands. If HE (GOD) tell de judge to kill de man den I good with it. :devil:
Post by: morvant on January 10, 2007, 02:50:15 AM
hang'em
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 07:19:45 AM
dang dang dang...I remember little Sean... :'( Sent around a letter of sympathy for signatures to send to his mom. It cut me deep, my boy isn't that much older.

Revenge and vengeance would be in my heart and I would want to make them pay for my lightless pain but the murderers were childen also - even if they were possessed. Says so much about our society when we have people like that in it.

Dunno...the system of justice is such that an innocent person may get framed but I can see how a hanging might prevent the next would-be criminal from taking a life.

Saddam was a murderer and he was hanged but nothing seems to have been solved. The war rages on and more troops are being sent.

T&T is tiny and the impact of a hanging might be greater but might it cause backlashes from the murderers to take lives more in order to make the government stop hanging or to go down in a blaze of gory?

Humanity can be so awful...we making music and art on one side and disembowelling a child on the other...
Post by: WestCoast on January 10, 2007, 07:51:41 AM
Wikipedia have everything  :o
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miscarriage_of_justice

then I went over to Amnesty International site
http://www.amnestyusa.org/abolish/index.do
Post by: Cantona007 on January 10, 2007, 07:59:49 AM

Capital punishment has never and will never solve anything. Don't equate justice with revenge.
This an old and emotive argument, and with emotions there are no winners. Some people believe in Capital Punishment, some don't. One side can't convince the other.
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 08:02:35 AM
You all remember this discussion from last year ? I believe it was around the time the 7 year old was gruesomely murdered in the cane fields by the teenagers - his name can't come to mind, and 3 weeks after that murder, a man was caught red handed by police as he was about to sexually assault a child by the flyover in Chaguanas I believe...only to be told by the child that this was constantly happening.

I don't believe in capital punishment.  Like another poster said Saddam hang and what has it solved.  While I cannot claim to have the answers to solving the crime situation, I don't think hanging is the answer.  Maybe the government could invest some money is SOLVING crimes.  How many criminals you hear being captured in TT.  Kidnapping is de new form of employment in de country but I cyar remember when las I hear anybody get ketch.  And so it continues.
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2007, 08:05:58 AM

"I believe that we need to seriously examine the actual implementation of the death penalty.

"Yes, I am speaking about bringing back hanging. We live in drastic times now and drastic measures are necessary," she said at the United National Congress's Monday night People's Forum at Gasparillo.
Instead of focusing on hanging people, dey should be focusing on crime prevention and detection. Focus on de implementation of laws and de solving of crimes. Focus on overhauling de Police Service, focus on training de police, focus on providing proper law enforcement resources. How yuh go study hanging people when yuh cyar even ketch and convict dem?
Post by: WestCoast on January 10, 2007, 08:09:33 AM
How yuh go study hanging people when yuh cyar even ketch and convict dem?
Tallman, I could post dis over in de Famous Quotes thread?
Post by: grskywalker on January 10, 2007, 08:14:24 AM

Instead of focusing on hanging people, dey should be focusing on crime prevention and detection. Focus on de implementation of laws and de solving of crimes. Focus on overhauling de Police Service, focus on training de police, focus on providing proper law enforcement resources. How yuh go study hanging people when yuh cyar even ketch and convict dem?

Don't you think that hanging would prove to be the best prevention for up and coming criminals. If you don't have a consequence in place what reason would there be to stop. Jail in Trinidad is a joke and we have no plans to accomodate an already overtaxed system
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 08:21:15 AM
Five years ago I would have said I do not support Captial punishment.
Today, I can't say it with a honest face.
Not after seeing and hearing about all these criminal acts - the murderers getting younger and the victims are children and senior citizens - both can't defend themselves.

I letting allyuh know one time, I have a real soft spot for children - WestCoast I breathing slowly  ;)

Niceness is dat you ManFriday ? I understand where you coming from with being a believer and revenge is not ours, but I can't see my child killer in court, smiling and having discussions with his lawyer on strageries on how to presuede the jury with lies and untruths when my child six feet under.

I don't think I'll have that emotional l strength even after ah pray to dey alimighty, maybe ah not as spiritually inclined like allyuh, but I need closure and it won't come with him behind bars.

Sean Luke (thanks coco) somebody baby eh only 6 and 2 teenagers or male adults as I sometimes call them, took a cane stock and allyuh know the rest. Forget chemically imbalance dis dat and dey other, that was pure WICKEDNESS.
Set ah example.

Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 08:21:25 AM
[quote  How yuh go study hanging people when yuh cyar even ketch and convict dem?

Ain't that the truth!!!
Post by: Cantona007 on January 10, 2007, 08:22:07 AM

Don't you think that hanging would prove to be the best prevention for up and coming criminals. If you don't have a consequence in place what reason would there be to stop. Jail in Trinidad is a joke and we have no plans to accomodate an already overtaxed system
The short answer to your question is no. Capital punishment has never been proven to be a deterrent to violent crime/murder. Again, Capital punishment is about revenge, emotions etc. not about justice or problem solving. Focus on the cause of crime, and you will have a just society.
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 08:22:41 AM
[quote .
Sean Luke (thanks coco)

Is not me who provide de name.  Ah tink was Queen...
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 08:23:48 AM
opps thanks Queen
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 08:26:08 AM
[quote

What good is prevention plan like that if you can't even catch the criminal.  Dem criminals know dat nobody eh really coming after dem, so de moving easy.  If dey know dat dey woulda get ketch AND the punishment was long-term hard labour jail, den I could see dat being a deterrant.  But nobody eh getting ketch.  So wha de hell it matter what so-call deterrant dey put in de other so-called justice system.
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 08:58:59 AM
You idiots is people like aalluh is make criminals lite  up and laugh oui ,well actually I agree with u even doh the ole testament say kill them.And even doh ,most ppl keep there anger in check for fear of the law , we should not hang them, the law shpould organize to kill them on the same day,save the court money.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 09:02:28 AM
we can't agree on this issue or have moral obstacles and Mr/Miss Murderer go about their business. They depend on our confusion and indecision in order to keep feeding on us.

Those countries with the death penalty. Has it solved it?
Those without?

There are other factors...economy is on the top. T&T's income has outstripped its ability to handle it. Millionaires are being made among the already rich while the already poor gaze longingly from the galvanized roofed hut.

Compre why the name calling?
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 09:14:18 AM
You idiots is people like aalluh is make criminals lite  up and laugh oui ,well actually I agree with u even doh the ole testament say kill them.And even doh ,most ppl keep there anger in check for fear of the law , we should not hang them, the law shpould organize to kill them on the same day,save the court money.

This is why I doh like tuh share meh opinions anymore on dis board.  Yuh cyar make yuh point widout calling people name?  When yuh call we idiots, dat go make you right and we wrong?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 09:20:33 AM

This is why I doh like tuh share meh opinions anymore on dis board.  Yuh cyar make yuh point widout calling people name?  When yuh call we idiots, dat go make you right and we wrong?

Doh worry coco, compre cool he jus hot over de topic.  To me I am at ends with everything, I want to say hang dem but the morals behind dat go cause more problems.  I want to say leave it up to de legal system but den what legal system we talking bout because trini doh have anything dat go make a killer stop doing what he doing.  Eventually as I have alwasy stated, it go have one man dat have the money and will power to begin and end everything in terms of crime in trini.  It is jus ah matter of time and situation dat go give birth to dis hater. :beermug:
Post by: Patterson on January 10, 2007, 09:27:47 AM
I doh understand this bring back hanging talk. Hanging is a part of the law of the land, you commit murder which is a capital offence then you should be hanged. It's not a matter of a deterrent or not. Is the law!!!
As far as i see the gov't breaking the law by not carrying out its obligation of hanging
I say time to clear out death row ... hang dem on de promenade. Wednesdays at 9am...Fridays at 12 noon
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 09:34:37 AM
Quote: "Doh worry coco, compre cool he jus hot over de topic"

not to get away from the topic at hand but these are adults no? You can be as hot as you like on a topic and still respect your audience no? You could even cuss and carry on, no new cuss words have been invented for a while, but why name call?

*steupse*
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 09:45:54 AM

not to get away from the topic at hand but these are adults no? You can be as hot as you like on a topic and still respect your audience no? You could even cuss and carry on, no new cuss words have been invented for a while, but why name call?

*steupse*

I know what you mean but I was jus trying to cool things down.  Jus wanted coco to keep posting dis all
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 09:48:00 AM
peacemaker eh? lol. then talk to the offender not the offended.

That would be like chastizing the victim for walking home at night rather than hanging the murderer for attacking.  ;D
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 09:48:37 AM

*steupse*

I know what you mean but I was jus trying to cool things down.  Jus wanted coco to keep posting dis all

thanks fuh de sentiments...but ah already make meh point and would only be repeating mehself anyway.  Ah learn meh lesson to make me point once and hush up because den people does start tuh call meh names directly and get orn ignorant.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 09:53:17 AM
Quote: "because den people does start tuh call meh names directly and get orn ignorant."

I can't get that figured out at all...it seems to show a weakness in your argument if you need to resort to calling names, not so?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 09:55:37 AM
peacemaker eh? lol. then talk to the offender not the offended.

That would be like chastizing the victim for walking home at night rather than hanging the murderer for attacking.  ;D

Now yu talking.....Some blame have to be rested on de victim for not paying attention to de potentially deadly situation LOL
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 09:58:12 AM
I on this board ah year and something
and I know this is only 22 posts in it, but it is dey first time I ever read a thread that everybody right.
I have a piece to add in here...it does not justify anything but here goes.

Back in dey UNC days when Ramesh said to hang the 7 dole chadee crew (yess you and me know dat dat hanging was not because of the family being murdered, but files woulda have been opened if they were to stay alive). The morning when they were quickly hung and buried, Trinidad and Tobago went into a state ah shock, upset dat it happened - religious groups start to rant and rave, dey devil take over dey land, oh dey government shouldn't take lives. We heard it all. But didn't the crime wave that was sweepin the land all of ah sudden dropped, and when I say dropped, the worst crime then was somebody getting bounce on dey street.
Why is it that a young girl have to go on a hunger strike because of the crime situation.  What else ?

Its a new breed of criminals coming up, this batch don't have a conscience and the word compassion is not part of their vocabulary. Can they be saved - I don't know.
Tallest Tallman I read ya well, but I still have it in meh mind to let somebody swing

Set an example.

Compre dat is not you :-\
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 09:58:32 AM
dragon..I coming home late from cleaning somebody house or as a night watchman and you who waiting fuh me under de bridge breathing hard and I get killed and you vex wid me?
Post by: dcs on January 10, 2007, 09:58:38 AM
Quote: "because den people does start tuh call meh names directly and get orn ignorant."

I can't get that figured out at all...it seems to show a weakness in your argument if you need to resort to calling names, not so?

Allyuh is trinis and complaining that people calling yeh names?
Is called picong.  Just relax and doh study it.
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 09:58:57 AM

Totally...but dat doh mean people doh do it.  Like ah tell yuh before...yuh still new.  Yuh go figure it out all in good time.
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 09:59:59 AM
dragon..I coming home late from cleaning somebody house or as a night watchman and you who waiting fuh me under de bridge breathing hard and I get killed and you vex wid me?

girlllll meh chest  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 10:01:03 AM

Yuh cyar be a real Trini if dat is your explanation of picong!!
Post by: dcs on January 10, 2007, 10:02:45 AM
Don't you think that hanging would prove to be the best prevention for up and coming criminals.

NO.  They are not afraid to die...look at the murder rate.  For domestic violence it might help but the gang related killings it will have zero effect.  Dey more fraid the other criminals than the VERY SLIM chance of facing the hangman.

Jail in Trinidad is a joke and we have no plans to accomodate an already overtaxed system

I hope u mean the justice system...ie policing and courts.  That very different from the jail itself.....u calling the jails home easy?  Cah agree if that is what you saying....cell phone or no cell phone.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 10:02:56 AM

dcs, that name calling isn't picong. Ah know picong well...
and it isn't trini...
Trini is about making light of a grisely situation. It's about jokes and damn jokes and ole lie. It's not about insulting, it is about levity.
Post by: dcs on January 10, 2007, 10:03:28 AM

I feel yuh really is ah idiot   :devil:
I am joking BTW....allyuh girls sensitive today.
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 10:04:38 AM
like ah talk to blasted soon  >:( ah jus say meh thread going nice ...allyuh doh mash up meh thread
we talkin bout hanging here...doh let meh red shade starta show nah :devil:
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 10:07:18 AM
yuh trying to harness de tread Sister Gertie?
Good luck...ah wayward y'know?
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 10:10:41 AM
yuh trying to harness de tread Sister Gertie?
Good luck...ah wayward y'know?

me ain't doubt ya nah...but as dey saying does 'if have two ah ya in dey world'  ;D
Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 10:11:02 AM
like ah talk to blasted soon  >:( ah jus say meh thread going nice ...allyuh doh mash up meh thread
we talkin bout hanging here...doh let meh red shade starta show nah :devil:

Which is why I does limit meh postings!!  Steups.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 10:13:16 AM
but...but...I like mashing up de good sister's thread...ah want to see what happens when she get vex...

I new here... :rotfl:
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 10:15:55 AM

Of course if yu know dat de place dangerous yu should take precautions ie take ah different route, find da friend, walk wid ah knife LOL
Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 10:18:44 AM
I don't know if I'm for or against the whole capital punishment thing. However.. it seems that everyday I read the online papaers I have ah reason to say "shoot he c**t in public for everyone to see - set examples" no judge, no jury.. just clean-up from ah f**king side!

I feel sorry for my people... they will never know how beautiful an experience it was to grow up in Trinidad and Tobago. People were respectful of you and your property, kids were kids, adults commanded respect, life was simple, the feeling of being safe anywhere at anytime.. imagine kids are not even safe in school anymore.

Where did we go wrong? Remember all this happend in a space of 10-15 years eh!

Blame Stern John?

Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 10:21:34 AM
dragon? Walk wid a knife? And kill de killer? Dat makes me...lemme see uhmm...2 plus 2 is tree den add de...dat makes me a killer too! So I gettign heng fuh you? No Way Dragon Ball Z!

It only have one trail leading to my hut, ah cah take a next route becaw ah go fall in de drain dat wasa dig up and leave half do since 1934
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on January 10, 2007, 10:27:20 AM
You all remember this discussion from last year ? I believe it was around the time the 7 year old Sean Luke was gruesomely murdered in the cane fields by the teenagers - his name can't come to mind, and 3 weeks after that murder, a man was caught red handed by police as he was about to sexually assault a child by the flyover in Chaguanas I believe...only to be told by the child that this was constantly happening.

Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 10:29:32 AM
but...but...I like mashing up de good sister's thread...ah want to see what happens when she get vex...

I new here... :rotfl:

psssttt she does tun to Rookmin V. Maharaj  ;D

back tur dey hanging now.

thanks d1onlysexysugar, but wait ah now catch ya handle dey yes
d 1 only sexy sugar....papa
okay back to dey hanging ;D

Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 10:30:57 AM
dragon? Walk wid a knife? And kill de killer? Dat makes me...lemme see uhmm...2 plus 2 is tree den add de...dat makes me a killer too! So I gettign heng fuh you? No Way Dragon Ball Z!

It only have one trail leading to my hut, ah cah take a next route becaw ah go fall in de drain dat wasa dig up and leave half do since 1934

LOL, So what yu go let de person rob and kill yu??  It is called self defence.  No jail time nuttin fu you.  Yu know what I mean.  Dey mus have something yu could do to prevent supa dangerous situations from happening.  In de same token, if de person coming for yu den yu as* is grass lol
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 10:33:40 AM
this board ful ah self righteous individuals!

As tallman rightly said!

Yuh cyar ketch dem, when yuh ketch one, dey getting orf.

So we need to examine wey de real problem lies.

Inside us as a society.

We lorse we soul in T&T...well, we actually losing it.

We need to become ah community once again!

easy dollars making man do awful things...and remember when ah cat walk in ah oven and make young ones dey is not loaves ah bread.

We have something called social reproduction going on in T&T.

criminals begetting criminals...is jes de new brn crooks taking it tuh ah whole new level.

Projects for all the glorification it does get from certain posters here, is not de best place tuh raise chirren...and worse yet, if is chirren making chirren in dem places.

Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 10:39:39 AM

Projects for all the glorification it does get from certain posters here, is not de best place tuh raise chirren...and worse yet, if is chirren making chirren in dem places.

well said!
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 10:40:11 AM

LOL, So what yu go let de person rob and kill yu??  It is called self defence.  No jail time nuttin fu you.  Yu know what I mean.  Dey mus have something yu could do to prevent supa dangerous situations from happening.  In de same token, if de person coming for yu den yu as* is grass lol

..but dragon, there are cases where I could say you was coming for me and in self defence I kill you. All de time you was just coming from de cane field wid yuh cutlash to say howdy.
De police sya yuh shouldn't fight...as a female who not really that big and tall, how can I defend myself? Yuh go give meh chance to use meh cell phone?

~~~~

Trutrini, all about getting the same way.

I was raised in Scarborough, Ontario. Look at it now.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 11:05:43 AM

..but dragon, there are cases where I could say you was coming for me and in self defence I kill you. All de time you was just coming from de cane field wid yuh cutlash to say howdy.
De police sya yuh shouldn't fight...as a female who not really that big and tall, how can I defend myself? Yuh go give meh chance to use meh cell phone?

~~~~

Dis is why we have to have a proper judicial system dat will figure out if you talking good talk or jus trying to get off with killin ah person.  As for yu oder statement, ah know ah gyul dat could put me down anytime she wanted, will power, self defence training and not being afraid to use yu training will help you out of any situation when someone attackin yu.  De people who attackin yu doh have real training so dey bound to make a mistake and it is up to you to know when to pounce and give dem some good pressure.  Den again it could be ah police/armyman dat robbin yu too????  It is my experience dat when someone trying to rob yu go make ah mistake yu just have to know when to hit back (dis is with or without training)  Anyway dis jus me yes, I go lickdown anyone that want to hurt me or my loved ones because I doh want nobody rallying back and if dey do dey go have to think twice before dey come after me.
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 11:06:16 AM

~~~~

well is all about lorsing yuh innocence.
and queen some ah dem ole talk here is throwmn my ay, but ask meh if I care.

as I said too many self righteous people here.  dey too good and dey shit does smell like cake and ice cream...it doh stink at all.

steups!
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 11:11:41 AM
boy I doh have de answers nuh. Ah feel is a lil bit'ah dis and a lil bit'ah dat is de right answers. We have to try plenty ting to determine which go work.

Dragon ah have ah belt in tai-kwondo but it too tight now...lol. Ah took self defence and all dat but de day ah need it, ah go know what I am made of.
If yuh rush meh chile doh, den tings plenty diff'rent...in de back of meh head, whey meh cave woman instink still living, ah feel ah could make a name fuh mehself...
All meh edumakation, all meh high heel shoe and hair-do going out de door.
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 11:13:40 AM

I feel yuh really is ah idiot   :devil:
I am joking BTW....allyuh girls sensitive today.
Daiz wha I saying  :rotfl: I just on kix oui ,I don't think any body is idiots ,is not really picong either then ,is just ah little f-up  ;D.
And capital punishment is not a way to fix the problem ,is a way to get rid of the monsters in our communities .....i going back to work now .
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 11:17:08 AM
Quote: "is not a way to fix the problem ,is a way to get rid of the monsters in our communities."

Daiz not de same ting?
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 11:20:35 AM
Quote: "is not a way to fix the problem ,is a way to get rid of the monsters in our communities."

Daiz not de same ting?

I doh see how increasing hangings does stop crime at all.  But hear nah if dat is what de opposition could come up with jes illustrates how bankrupt ALL dem politicans are in T&T....sad
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 11:24:44 AM
While we beating up we politicians, we here voting some real soucoyant in Canada and de US...lol

Dem in T&T is poor cousin in moral bankruptcy when yuh look at Bush and Harper and Blair and dey cohorts...

Not to say we should let we lil island slide but look pries playing mas, who is we?  ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 10, 2007, 11:27:49 AM

As tallman rightly said!

Yuh cyar ketch dem, when yuh ketch one, dey getting orf.

So we need to examine wey de real problem lies.

Inside us as a society.

easy dollars making man do awful things...and remember when ah cat walk in ah oven and make young ones dey is not loaves ah bread.

We have something called social reproduction going on in T&T.

criminals begetting criminals...is jes de new brn crooks taking it tuh ah whole new level.

two words... moral restoration.....

God is de BOSS...
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 11:30:12 AM
Ah need to talk to de boss.

Granny tell meh when de body bad, check yuh head....so I need a word wid de Boss...
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 11:37:53 AM
boy I doh have de answers nuh. Ah feel is a lil bit'ah dis and a lil bit'ah dat is de right answers. We have to try plenty ting to determine which go work.

Dragon ah have ah belt in tai-kwondo but it too tight now...lol. Ah took self defence and all dat but de day ah need it, ah go know what I am made of.
If yuh rush meh chile doh, den tings plenty diff'rent...in de back of meh head, whey meh cave woman instink still living, ah feel ah could make a name fuh mehself...
All meh edumakation, all meh high heel shoe and hair-do going out de door.

I know what yu mean, ppl try to rob me back in de day and I would jus react and not think.  Des days, I learn from de crap that happened to me and now I does think before I react.  I do de simple things to figure out what happening around me.  Take for instance I living in ah good area in TO yu doh hear bout nobody getting rob or nuttin but when I come of my bus to walk up my street and ah find it ah bit darker dan usual ah does take de time to notice little things.  Like ah go check to see who breakin de corner with me, or if I feel someone following me ah does cross de road (not because ah afraid but because ah want to see who dey).  Right now ah does tell me wife de same thing, if yu find dat ppl bothering yu simply cross de street if yu could and see who still dey.  If yu cah see try to figure out what around yu dat yu could use as a weapon ie rocks, bottles, wood etc.  If all else fails and yu get hold try to stay close to yu attacker and bite, or headbut, or grab balls and pull.  After all dat if dey doh let yu go screem fire someone always comes out to macoo LOL

As for de hanging thing, truetrini has de master plan.  I wish dat it could come to pass but dem politicians and dem don dutty de waters wid de corrupt ways and thinking and now it trickle down to the general population and it keep feathering out to everyone.  Soon yu go fine dat every man jack goh have ah gun walking de road
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 11:42:48 AM
While we beating up we politicians, we here voting some real soucoyant in Canada and de US...lol

Dem in T&T is poor cousin in moral bankruptcy when yuh look at Bush and Harper and Blair and dey cohorts...

Not to say we should let we lil island slide but look pries playing mas, who is we?  ;D

no doubt, but look how we eh packing we bags and running home eh...ah wondering why?

Can it be de situation in we small hole much worse dan in we big hole?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 11:50:23 AM

no doubt, but look how we eh packing we bags and running home eh...ah wondering why?

Doh think dat ah doh want to go home and help, but if ah cah support my family because to get ah job home yu really have to pull strings and on top dat ah have to deal with someone trying to rob/kidnap/beat me up or me family.....And to make matters worst, ah doh want to be de only man dat want to make de move home.  If I go home and start up de change talk and no one supporting dat den all is for nothing.  Anyway let me keep my a** here yes
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 11:53:13 AM

Doh think dat ah doh want to go home and help, but if ah cah support my family because to get ah job home yu really have to pull strings and on top dat ah have to deal with someone trying to rob/kidnap/beat me up or me family.....And to make matters worst, ah doh want to be de only man dat want to make de move home.  If I go home and start up de change talk and no one supporting dat den all is for nothing.  Anyway let me keep my a** here yes

i agree with yuh fella, relax.  lol

I eh going back dey tuh live at all.....unless tings take ah drastic turn fuh de better.

I much prefer wey i is now dan moving back to dat shit home.  I feel so much safer in de burbs right wey I living!
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 10, 2007, 12:00:12 PM

i agree with yuh fella, relax.  lol

I eh going back dey tuh live at all.....unless tings take ah drastic turn fuh de better.

I much prefer wey i is now dan moving back to dat shit home.  I feel so much safer in de burbs right wey I living!

Ah not hot yet LOL.  It does jus bother me when dis topic come up.  For years before all dis happening (pre Sept 11th) ah wanted to try to make a difference, but in de end it doh make sense when ppl doh want change......Ah could talk till ah blue in de face but if people doh want meaningful change den all is lost.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 12:06:16 PM
tings happening here, in de burbs same way. Look at dem ads you getting pack up in your postal mail...missing kids...missing adults, rapes, murders. I think New Orleans alone had 8 murders in the first 7 days of the year.
People don't want hangings. The Katrina flood emptied a maximum security jail and most of the men are missing or have re-offended on capital crimes.

We had a law abiding mom in her home shot and killed on New Year's day in Toronto. Serial killers, uni-bombers, planes flying into buildings, a war killing off what is equal to half of Laventille.

Suburbs here? Check the child molester site. One living down your street. Imagine right here, one lives down the street from TWO primary schools...

Home is tough, getting tougher but here ain't no bed of roses. Money nice, house big and we still crossing de street in de night.
Post by: dcs on January 10, 2007, 12:25:52 PM

While things home are bad it not on the level of Armageddon that u might perceive from news or talking to people.
Just wanted to point that out since moving back home came up.  If you have a family and already established away I doh think many wud advise to move back.  U can contribute from abroad in any case.

Is more for the younger ones to decide if they want to live there and I will encourage them to do so.  Some things worth fighting for and it is far from a lost cause.
Post by: Cantona007 on January 10, 2007, 12:32:31 PM
tings happening here, in de burbs same way. Look at dem ads you getting pack up in your postal mail...missing kids...missing adults, rapes, murders. I think New Orleans alone had 8 murders in the first 7 days of the year.
People don't want hangings. The Katrina flood emptied a maximum security jail and most of the men are missing or have re-offended on capital crimes.

We had a law abiding mom in her home shot and killed on New Year's day in Toronto. Serial killers, uni-bombers, planes flying into buildings, a war killing off what is equal to half of Laventille.

Suburbs here? Check the child molester site. One living down your street. Imagine right here, one lives down the street from TWO primary schools...

Home is tough, getting tougher but here ain't no bed of roses. Money nice, house big and we still crossing de street in de night.

:applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 12:40:15 PM
*takes ah bow fuh Cantona an' fall headlong into de orchestra pit*

OW!
Post by: warmonga on January 10, 2007, 12:50:37 PM
NO TO THE DEATH PENALTY IN TRINDAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is to much inncent man innah deathrow right now  trust me!!!!!!!!
war!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: grskywalker on January 10, 2007, 12:54:34 PM
NO TO THE DEATH PENALTY IN TRINDAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is to much inncent man innah deathrow right now  trust me!!!!!!!!
war!!!!!!!!!!!

Like yuh have some partners in there or what
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 12:54:49 PM
war!!!!!!!!!!!

so you is a peacemonga den, star?
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 12:55:24 PM
war!!!!!!!!!!!

oh shims.. :devil:
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 01:35:16 PM
Ppl think trini is first world ,ah doubt that it getting like the olewest ,anything u say could result in a battle.So treat it same way  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjvaD4RgLVo&mode=related&search=
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 01:53:52 PM
 :'( :'( oh lord wha happen tur meh good thread ?  :'( :'(
ah lef it fur 2 hours and wha take place ??
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on January 10, 2007, 01:59:10 PM

yea dats my name .... it should b d 1 & only s. s. but .....  :beermug:

i ent have nuttin 2 say bout day hangin cuz den all who agrees is jus as guilty of murder as d murderer him self ... God is indeed boss    sorry dey jefferz

Post by: Jefferz on January 10, 2007, 02:10:21 PM

yea dats my name .... it should b d 1 & only s. s. but .....  :beermug:

i ent have nuttin 2 say bout day hangin cuz den all who agrees is jus as guilty of murder as d murderer him self ... God is indead boss 

funny is suppose yuh tryin tuh say indeed buh it more soundin like yuhz an atheist... god is what? indead?

in any case... I cant say i have a definite side for this... but its interesting solution... we goin primitive for modern times?

I dont know though why this is a huge improvement or step back, because really it is of no consequence when the system cant even convict de criminals.
Post by: ribbit on January 10, 2007, 02:38:19 PM
from that article, kamla talking about victims and victim's rights. is this what the victims advocate - the death penalty? i would be surprised if this is a unanimous position. and kamla posing as a champion for victims?  :-\  thaz a very safe place to stand. no one going to challenge anyone standing next to a victim, even if they talking tata.
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 02:44:44 PM
Down in trini ,ppl hurt strangers ,not knowing if that person is good or not ,he could still get shot.Hanging is brutal ,but i never seen the sence in have ppl look at your tombstone and say,"He was a good man who didn't beleive in violence.He's a good man ...and dead.'
Nah man,if ppl who beleive in law ,justice and a decent life are to be shot down by those who beleive in violence,it don't make sence to me.Is ok to beleive in justice and accepting ppl but nothing rung in having a big rope.
Check this by Blackstone
"that the whole should protect all it's parts,and that everypart should pay obedience to the will off the whole ; or,in other words,that the community should guard the rights of each individual member,and that[ in return for this protection] each individual should submit  to the laws of the community; without which submission of all it was impossible that protection could be extended to any ."
last i check god not living down here ,if he was he would make lots ah ppl just poof , himself.amsure.
I done latez  :beermug:
Post by: pecan on January 10, 2007, 03:02:15 PM
The death Penalty is only satisfy the primal need for vengeance ... if done expediently there may be some incarceration costs savings.

But if yuh try to look at it objectively, i doh tink it does much more.

Replace de death sentence with a life sentence.  Keep de monsters aways from society.  The cost of incarcerations is a cost dat a civilized society should be prepared to pay.

As i said in another post, when my wife cousins were brutally murdered, none of the immediate family argued that de killers should be killed. But yuh better believe that we all wanted the killers to go to jail for life plus a day or two.

Dais my two cents .... and if that is Righteous, den so be it. 
Post by: socachatter on January 10, 2007, 03:40:43 PM
The death Penalty is only satisfy the primal need for vengeance ... if done expediently there may be some incarceration costs savings.

But if yuh try to look at it objectively, i doh tink it does much more.

Replace de death sentence with a life sentence.  Keep de monsters aways from society.  The cost of incarcerations is a cost dat a civilized society should be prepared to pay.

As i said in another post, when my wife cousins were brutally murdered, none of the immediate family argued that de killers should be killed. But yuh better believe that we all wanted the killers to go to jail for life plus a day or two.

Dais my two cents .... and if that is Righteous, den so be it. 

pecan yuh say basically what i wanted to say.  studies have shown that capital punishment does NOT serve as a deterrent to crime.  as for getting rid of the bad man...i feel a civilized society has to take responsibility for what it produces.  this crime wave is comeuppance (spl?) for all of us.  the country is failing its citizens.  and i not talking about handouts here but allyuh intelligent so know what i mean.  yuh reap what yuh sow.  capital punishment to me is a barbaric response by the state to its own failure to create better individuals.

on a primal level though Pecan.  i feel if they put me in the cell with that man who brutalized 4 year old amy anamanthudo, i would rip him to shreds with meh bare hands.  and ah will hang fuh dat with a smile on meh face.

which brings me to de next topic...allyuh hear the latest about the expnm woman (a psychologist) who went on tv this morning and accused higher ups in the pnm of rampant child molestation?

Post by: cocoapanyol on January 10, 2007, 03:46:13 PM
[quote which brings me to de next topic...allyuh hear the latest about the expnm woman (a psychologist) who went on tv this morning and accused higher ups in the pnm of rampant child molestation?

Yuh  better start anodder thead and expand on dat.
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 04:14:34 PM
Chatter i ain't hear bout dat...drop it here or open another thread...me ain't care, but ya rise meh curiousity.
ah Ex PNM woman, ah scatchin meh head on dat one...
Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 04:31:41 PM
studies have shown that capital punishment does NOT serve as a deterrent to crime.

How does one study something like this to know if it does or not? Juss curious.

The problem with TnT is that every fluking thing have to be political. Why can't a citizen make a comment or have an opinion, without the person reading or listening affiliating that citizen with a political party?

Post by: dcs on January 10, 2007, 04:35:09 PM

They also brought that Kirk fellah...he was part of the Guilliani crime plan crew that was here lil while ago.

Doh know if that was posted before but he setting up office in T&T with people staffing it and will be returning periodically....I believe the government said they willing to work with him but I wasn't following it much other than the headlines.
Post by: socachatter on January 10, 2007, 04:36:10 PM
studies have shown that capital punishment does NOT serve as a deterrent to crime.

The problem with TnT is that every fluking thing have to be political. Why can't a citizen make a comment or have an opinion, without the person reading or listening affiliating that citizen with a political party?

huh?
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 04:48:22 PM
One more ting then ah done ,crime in trini ein't get worse since they stop the death penalty .
Post by: pecan on January 10, 2007, 05:05:52 PM

here is anecdotal info ... throughout the history of mankind, various cultures and societies have had a form of death penalty.  So if it use to work, we would still have it all over de world and we would have zero crime. 

De reason why we have serious crime is dat a small % of the population are scocipaths and dey doh really care because dey believe dat dey not going to get ketch.

So we need a justice system to deal with criminal expediently.

And for the others who doh develop a set of values that say you have to respect your brethen .. den we neeed to lead by example and teach dem from a young age.

A somewhat rhetorical question when it comes to good and evil/ right and wrong

Are 'white lies' acceptable?

Human nature begin what it is will eventually demonstrate that we will all draw de line in different places.  We will all have a different view on what is right and wrong, what is acceptabla and not acceptable.  From non-consequential actions on one extreme to serious criminal activity at the other end.

But i ramble

Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2007, 05:46:21 PM

me eh saying tings doh happen in de burbs, and by de way New Orleans can hardly be described as de burbs, but wey I living, we had one murder in many many years and it was two mexican fighing over football.

I live in a very safe place, relatively speaking.  And as far as the child molestors go...we have one living about 5 miles down de road...lol   he move ah was told but de megan site still list him at de old addy.  I was told people used to go by de man house an blow horn all day and night.

And Queen, I never hear about anyone getting kidnapped in smithfield.  :)

burbs in my area real small and very quiet and safe.   Dat is why I doh live in New York etc.

http://www.city-data.com/city/Smithfield-Virginia.html

Crime in Smithfield (2004):
0 murders (0.0 per 100,000)
0 rapes (0.0 per 100,000)
7 robberies (103.4 per 100,000)
5 assaults (73.9 per 100,000)
14 burglaries (206.8 per 100,000)
259 thefts (3825.7 per 100,000)
17 auto thefts (251.1 per 100,000)
City-data.com crime index = 249.8 (higher means more crime, US average = 315.1)

Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 06:32:22 PM

huh?

studies have shown that capital punishment does NOT serve as a deterrent to crime. And Jail does?

How does one study this? What methods are used? Even better..who did the study?
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 06:40:58 PM
TrueTrini, ah know New Orleans is not ah suburbs! Oh gawshe man! Ah take jogafee in school. Ah suburb is a piece of land completely surrounded by water..no wait, dats ah island...sorry. Anyway, ah know New Orleans is a whole city. I living in a suburb dat look like country, cow and farm an' ting and people who tink ah Ford F250 is ah luxury car and have tree teet in dey mout.

Yes it still have pockets of sanity in the world, even in beloved T&T.

But tanks fuh de stats eh? I was sitting here fretting over SmithField...could hardly sleep...

...as fuh dat molester. Yuh say he move but de site still showing he ole address? How you know de man ent move closer dan 5 miles?
No me nuh. I not stannign bail fuh no town, city or suburb...it have crazy people all how. Doctor lawyer beggarman and teef. Some of de worse criminal living in big house on top de hill wid trophy wife Constance and daughter Tiffany and son Chad. When yuh hear de shout, Constance have a wiccan coven in de basement, Tiffany on meth and chad wants to be a girl...not me nuh.
Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 06:43:50 PM
one more ting ,before ah leave , 8) . When we send these nefarious crimals in jail for 200 years .Then we send a small hood een for a year and a half ,to hang with them ,ain't we really really creating a training ground for scum bags ?
Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 06:44:25 PM

here is anecdotal info ... throughout the history of mankind, various cultures and societies have had a form of death penalty.  So if it use to work, we would still have it all over de world and we would have zero crime. 

De reason why we have serious crime is dat a small % of the population are scocipaths and dey doh really care because dey believe dat dey not going to get ketch.

So we need a justice system to deal with criminal expediently.

And for the others who doh develop a set of values that say you have to respect your brethen .. den we neeed to lead by example and teach dem from a young age.

A somewhat rhetorical question when it comes to good and evil/ right and wrong

Are 'white lies' acceptable?

Human nature begin what it is will eventually demonstrate that we will all draw de line in different places.  We will all have a different view on what is right and wrong, what is acceptabla and not acceptable.  From non-consequential actions on one extreme to serious criminal activity at the other end.

But i ramble

You eh have to try and convince me one way or the other..I know how you stand on ths issue and I respect your opinion...so to everyone elses who made a comment on the issue.

Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 06:47:06 PM
Jumbie ah doh want yuh respect ah want yuh agree wid me!!
*beats Jumbie in he head wid ah parasol after each word*
Post by: Blue on January 10, 2007, 06:52:36 PM

huh?

studies have shown that capital punishment does NOT serve as a deterrent to crime. And Jail does?

How does one study this? What methods are used? Even better..who did the study?

Even if it doesnt act as a deterrent, hangin dem would save money and space in jails.

Personally I dont believe in rehabilitation for murderers - everyone else, but not dem. I feel once you take a life, you lose the rights to your own, and I really dont think the govt should be paying to keep someone in jail for the next 40 years.

We dont have unlimited resources, so why spend money rehabilitating a murderer when you could spend the money on a more worthy person?

Hang dem, shoot dem, or put dem all in one cell and  :flamethrower:

Then spend the money saved on:
- educating and caring for the next generation
- improving the health services
- improving the police services
- the list could go on and on...

Post by: Quags on January 10, 2007, 06:56:53 PM
So far we have 2 reasons not to hang them 1. God would'n like it 2 .It mean   :rotfl:
ok ah done for real now  :-X
Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2007, 07:00:35 PM
Jumbie ah doh want yuh respect ah want yuh agree wid me!!
*beats Jumbie in he head wid ah parasol after each word*

:rotfl:  :rotfl: Like you feel I is Koffi Anan...or some Un diplomat?

long day.. needed that laugh.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 10, 2007, 07:03:13 PM
Boy de day ah stop laughing is time to bury me oui..

Koffi had it to do eh? If I was he, all now I in jail fuh going in de White House and hauling back and lacing Bush wid one GawdSlap...jail meh fuh dat. Put meh in de cell Karla Homolka jes vacate.
Post by: TriniCana on January 10, 2007, 07:06:28 PM
So far we have 2 reasons not to hang them 1. God would'n like it 2 .It mean   :rotfl:
ok ah done for real now  :-X

Thanks eh... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
"it mean"
Compre meh chest go buss :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Quags on January 11, 2007, 01:05:37 AM
hahaha they argument weak ,so called bad man nah fraid to kill you ,but you might have apprehensions  :rotfl:.
Funny guess is like Al Pachino say in scar face ,look at the bad guy ,u never seen ah bad guy like this "lol",you need them .Well I like don't like killers and kidnappers of the innocent there scum ,and let them die where they stand.
Post by: Feliziano on January 11, 2007, 05:34:51 AM
i look at it as population/reproduction control
plus not having them in jail saving tax payers money plus limiting the number of AIDS carriers.
but anyway hanging ent go solve anything.
Post by: warmonga on January 11, 2007, 02:39:33 PM
war!!!!!!!!!!!

as a matter of fact I do.. I have my best friend in there , my cousin and and a friend I use to deal wid back in de days. and trus mi dey aint no murderer. Killing a man doesnt mek yu a murderer . Shooting a man or chopping  a man in a heated argument is Manslaughter its not murder.. Also nuff cops does charge people wrongfully innah Trinidad and set dem up. Trinidad Justice system is not good enough, dey rely on witneses,  dey have nothing like forensic findings there . And nuff witness lie because de cops tell dem to lie..
I aint god to wish death upon no one!!!!!!!
war..
Post by: dcs on May 17, 2007, 10:57:57 AM

CCJ no hanging court (http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,57244.html)

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Thursday, May 17 200
By ANDRE BAGOO 7

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/aktualnosci/153front.JPG)

IN WHAT may be interpreted as a response to Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s assertion that the Privy Council is standing in the way of hangings and that, as such, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) should become Trinidad and Tobago’s final court of appeal, the President of the CCJ has said that those who feel the CCJ is a “hanging court” had better think otherwise.

“If you would like to know whether the court is a ‘hanging court’, I would suggest that you disregard what others may say on the subject and instead read what the Judges themselves have said in their judgments in Joseph v Boyce,” President of the CCJ Justice Michael de la Bastide said yesterday.

De la Bastide, who was addressing a South Chamber of Industry and Commerce luncheon at Crowne Plaza, Port-of-Spain, was referring to the capital appeal case of Joseph v Boyce which was handed down last November by the CCJ.

In that case, a panel comprising de la Bastide himself and Justices Rolston Nelson, Duke Pollard, Adrian Saunders, Desiree Bernard, Jacob Wit and David Hayton ruled that the Barbados Mercy Committee was wrong in ordering the execution of two convicted murderers before they had exhausted international appeals of their convictions.

In the judgment, the court was at pains to emphasise that “the death penalty is a constitutionally sanctioned punishment for murder” which “falls within internationally accepted conduct on the part of civilised states” and that “courts have an obligation to respect constitutions and laws that retain capital punishment.”

However, it also issued the strong warning that “the death penalty... should not be carried out without scrupulous care being taken to ensure that there is procedural propriety and that in the process the fundamental human rights are not violated. Death is a punishment which is irrevocable.”

De la Bastide pointed out that all CCJ judgments are readily available on the CCJ’s web-site and will soon be published in the West Indian Reports, a series of law reports published by Butterworths (Lexis Nexis) in England.

Yesterday, the former Chief Justice took the opportunity to warn that it would be a “tragedy” if after all of the money spent to establish the CCJ (which is now financially supported by its own trust fund), it was left to languish in the wake of political agendas.

“I think it would be a great tragedy if, for whatever reason, be it competition for political ascendancy or simply the timorous conservatism of a post-colonial mentality, the CCJ should be denied the opportunity to fulfil its true potential. If that were to happen, it would mean that an opportunity had been lost which might not return for many generations.”

When asked whether his comments were aimed specifically at the Prime Minister, De la Bastide told Newsday that the comments themselves said enough.

In the Joseph v Boyce case four men had been charged with the murder of Barbadian Marquelle Hippolyte, 22, on April 10, 1999. They were offered a deal by Bajan prosecution authorities that would have allowed them to plead guilty to manslaughter.

Joseph and Boyce did not accept this deal and fought the charges against them. They were found guilty of murder and sentenced to hang.

A HUMBUG TO HANGINGS
Manning wants to replace Privy Council (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161142182)

Trinidad Express
Sunday, May 6th 2007
Earl Manmohan Scarborough

Patrick Manning

Prime Minister Patrick Manning wants hangings to be resumed in Trinidad and Tobago.

He said the Privy Council, sitting thousands of miles away in London, had from time to time put impediments in the way of hangings being carried out here.

However, he said, he was hoping that after the next general election-which was not too far away-his new government would get the required numbers to pass legislation making the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) the final appellant court.

"It is high time we have our own appellant court," he told a receptive audience at the fourth Public Consultation on Crime at the Signal Hill Secondary Comprehensive School on Friday night.

Manning recalled that when the UNC was in government they informed Caribbean governments that they were in support of the CCJ, hence the reason why it was sited here, but the moment that party was out of government it withdrew its support.

"You will get the opportunity not too long from now to decide and I wait with bated breath to see what you will do," he told his audience which included National Security Minister Martin Joseph, THA Chief Secretary Orville London and top officials from the protective services.

Manning said like many people, "we believe that capital punishment is an essential element in crime fighting".

He said as bad as the criminals were they were afraid of their life being taken away.

"An essential element of that package has to be the return of capital punishment. I am a strong supporter of capital punishment," he stressed.

He said the police recently adopted a new policy that "if you confront me with a gun it is a fight to the finish. So if you confront the police with a gun it is a fight to the finish. There is no other way. One thing the criminals are afraid of is death.

"If you develop a proper relationship with your maker, you no longer have to be afraid of death. I am not afraid of death. If you ask me I am not afraid of death and if the good Lord decides to take my life so be it, but while I remain I would be a thorn in the side of the criminals in this country," he said.

The Prime Minister also revealed government's determination to fight drug trafficking, which, according to a recent UN Report, was the single most important reason for the rise of crime and the deterioration of the levels of security enjoyed by citizens and visitors alike.

He said a team from Scotland Yard who worked in Trinidad and Tobago in 1995 had advised that this country was small enough to eradicate the drug trade.

He added that the first step was to install ten radar sites, two in Tobago with a command centre in Port of Spain to give 360-degree coverage of the country's coastline. He said the high quality coastal radar system bought from Israel also encompasses the islands of Grenada, St Vincent and the Grenadines and St Lucia to the north of Trinidad and Tobago where two sites were also installed.

He noted that surveillance could be done as far north as Martinique. Each radar cost US$1.5 million.

In addition, he said, the two C26 surveillance aircraft were being upgraded and four armed helicopters were being purchased, as well as the installation of an Air Traffic Control radar system to work in conjunction with the Israel system to track low flying aircraft.

In terms of sea surveillance, Manning outlined that three fast patrol boats, each 89.9 metres long were being purchased, the first to be delivered in March 2009; the conversion of two Coast Guard vessels in the short term for military activity at a cost of $29 million, the purchase of six interceptor fast patrol boats and the upgrade of the Coast Guard bases in Trinidad and in Tobago.

That is a very formidable arsenal and the drugs dealers have already began to run, he assured his listeners. audience.
Post by: truetrini on May 17, 2007, 11:05:16 AM
all who want to bad mouth Manning can do so eh, but I feel de man trying he best to deal with crime.

but de fact remains we have ah crook ah mook and ah dook trying tuh win we votes.

****sigh****
Post by: Quags on May 17, 2007, 11:36:30 AM
I tink am gonna change my stance on hangings ,after seeing a documentary on it . Appraently its far from an exact science .In the movies they drop the person ,his feet shake and he dies .....rite .
Wrong a lot of things can go wrong where the ppl suffer sometimes for hours ,or they appear dead but are still alive ,iT WAS SO BAD IN THE STATES WITH BLOChed hangs that ,a Dr had to take it on himself to go to every hangin in all the states to supervise them .
 So I say they should not Hang ppl

Get the Electric Chair and FRY Them  :devil:
Post by: grskywalker on May 17, 2007, 11:38:01 AM

The short answer to your question is no. Capital punishment has never been proven to be a deterrent to violent crime/murder. Again, Capital punishment is about revenge, emotions etc. not about justice or problem solving. Focus on the cause of crime, and you will have a just society.

Tallman and Cantona you are both right and wrong at the same time. My question is;
 how do you prevent extortion/kidnapping/torture of another human being?
We all have read the torture stories from our fellow citizens now what can we do for them?
What measures of penalty are you in favor of?
Who speaks for the dead victims and their grieving families?
Do you feel life in prison is enough?

I think about the brutality of the Commissiong killings in front of their grandchildren. I think about the LYNDON "IRON" JAMES  arrested in the Vindra killings, who himself was already accused of murder but got off because of missing witnesses who failed to provide testtimony out of fear of their lives and I ask is there a punishment equal to the pain they have caused, other than death itself?
Post by: Dr. Rat on May 17, 2007, 11:40:36 AM
ah wonder if is because ah set of Indian getting kidnap?
Post by: dcs on May 17, 2007, 12:03:52 PM

What is in place to rehabilitate criminals?

We want to punish people or stop crime?
Post by: TriniCana on May 17, 2007, 12:12:38 PM
steups we come back with this again ???

again i say, set an example, let them swing
i stand by that statement - the only person to judge me, is dey almighty.
me and he/she go have dat debate..
Post by: dcs on May 17, 2007, 12:22:45 PM

If the almighty is the only one to judge how yuh go hang people.

It doesn't work...pure revenge and bad mind...has nothing to do with solving crime problems.
Post by: Quags on May 17, 2007, 12:55:46 PM
ah wonder if is because ah set of Indian getting kidnap?
I didnt read today article ,so me einèt no why u say that . But any body who helping distroy Trini should go down ,no part is bigger than the whole.
Title: Reform
Post by: dcs on May 18, 2007, 12:27:23 PM
Govt introduces training for ex-criminals (http://newsday.co.tt/politics/0,57334.html)
Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Friday, May 18 2007
By NALINEE SEELAL

Prime Minister Patrick Manning revealed on Wednesday night that 500 persons who have had backgrounds of being involved in crime, are now being trained in heavy duty vehicle maintenance and construction.

Manning was speaking at the Public Consultation on Crime at the Success Laventille Composite School on Wednesday.

He added that when the country experiences a decline in serious crime it is because of the efforts on the part of the Government.

The Prime Minister noted that the Government has put in place 120 social programmes to assist persons who are jobless and who want to live a law abiding life.

According to Manning, very soon generic social workers will be visiting every home in Trinidad and Tobago to ascertain what problems the families face and if assistance is needed in the form of counselling.

He pointed out that young people need an alternative to a life of crime and if the energies of the young people are not properly channelled then they could be easily swayed towards a life of crime.

He said that one of the major initiatives in the fight against crime is creating jobs for the unemployed.

“One of the solutions to the problem of crime is jobs because it goes some distance in getting young people to do positive things with their lives,” said the Prime Minister. He strongly defended the CEPEP programme and added that the country is much more cleaner as a result of the work being carried out through CEPEP.

On another note, the Prime Minister was high in praise for the police and forensic officers who worked towards arrests in the investigation into the murder of Chaguanas businesswoman Vindra Naipaul Coolman.

Manning said that he took a special interest in the case and was impressed by the manner in which the officers went about in making a major breakthrough.

“If this is a preview of what is taking place in the fight against crime, then citizens should rest assured that every effort is being made to reduce crime,” said the Prime Minister.

Minister of National Security Martin Joseph who also addressed the gathering said that reducing crime requires that the public have trust and confidence in the police so that they will cooperate with the police and assist them in addressing crime, testifying in court and working to solve community problems.

“To achieve this objective the Police Service is implementing the Policing for People initiative.

Five police districts have been selected as pilots for the initiative, and they include the Arouca, Chaguanas, Morvant, San Fernando and West End Police Stations which will cover 75 communities with a population of 148,142 according to CSO’s information and the successes of this initiative will be replicated in police station districts throughout the country.” said Minister Joseph.
Title: Give me 5 reasons I should support d UNC?
Post by: weary1969 on October 09, 2007, 10:10:27 PM
I await d reasons
Title: Re: Give me 5 reasons I should support d UNC?
Post by: Dr. Rat on October 10, 2007, 06:54:49 AM
Ah see like yuh still waiting.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 10, 2007, 07:27:42 AM
Ah see like yuh still waiting.

Weary ah have to ask.....yuh serious bout dat question?....yuh strike mih as a serious woman.....ah wha mek yuh take dis road?...

Dr. Rat.....yuh nearly floor mih yes.... :rotfl:
Post by: WestCoast on October 10, 2007, 07:33:40 AM
....ah wha mek yuh take dis road?...
maybe weary tinkin of votin fa dem :devil: :devil:
Post by: warmonga on October 10, 2007, 08:57:11 AM
we need Repairs to teh Stadiums UNC Built
We need Repairs to the New Airport UNC Built
we need the get raid of Manning
We football will go further with UNC
And finaly UNC Could Get de police to lock up Manning for Supporting Crime against Indians and any other charges they couold get on him!!!!!!
Warmonga..
I could go on if yu want mi too..
"I go buss Manning head if I ever see him in person!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on October 10, 2007, 11:44:53 AM
I just want to know d reason as some cult members may b on dis site
Title: The UNC Internal Elections Thread
Post by: Brownsugar on February 08, 2014, 05:18:33 AM
If I'm not mistaken, was due since last year......so far   *crickets*

So whenever they get around to it.....the thread is here.....
Title: Re: The UNC Internal Elections Thread
Post by: Brownsugar on May 18, 2014, 07:57:45 PM
The last thing I heard was that this bunch was going to have their election after the PNM's..........I eh holding mih breath.......... ::) ::)
Post by: weary1969 on May 18, 2014, 09:12:12 PM
 :rotfl: this is 4 d joke section.
Post by: Socapro on May 19, 2014, 01:49:59 AM
With a revitalized PNM, right now Kamla and the PP are in trouble but if they are clever enough they may decide to elect a new leader to help save any remaining chance of them fooling the people of T&T for a second time in a row and winning the next general elections.

The people of T&T are not as blind and stupid as the UNC/PP would like them to be to vote them back in with a clueless leader who sanctions being surrounded by crooked ministers who are only there to fill their pockets.

Kamla will have to go if the UNC is to stand any chance of fooling the general population again and winning the next general elections.
Post by: weary1969 on May 19, 2014, 10:15:19 AM
With a revitalized PNM, right now Kamla and the PP are in trouble but if they are clever enough they may decide to elect a new leader to help save any remaining chance of them fooling the people of T&T for a second time in a row and winning the next general elections.

The people of T&T are not as blind and stupid as the UNC/PP would like them to be to vote them back in with a clueless leader who sanctions being surrounded by crooked ministers who are only there to fill their pockets.

Kamla will have to go if the UNC is to stand any chance of fooling the general population again and winning the next general elections.

Replaced with who Jesus Christ? It eh have nobody in that lot who we want to see.
Post by: AB.Trini on August 24, 2015, 09:13:30 PM
Well - did the plan work? Steups never happened  what a joke
Post by: AB.Trini on August 24, 2015, 09:21:46 PM
Yuh still waiting? 8 years later lol
Title: Re: UNC Thread
Post by: Sando prince on October 23, 2015, 09:31:09 AM
(https://scontent-dfw1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/11058495_10208221583607104_6133235984761993881_n.jpg?oh=6028def52a97a753d66a2c774af601b7&oe=56C0F71D)
Post by: Sando prince on October 24, 2015, 07:45:50 PM
So de word as of now is KPB, Mickela and maybe Monilal in the race. Moonilal say he is considering buh we all know he really want that political leader office  :D

This will be an interesting internal election
Post by: asylumseeker on October 24, 2015, 07:52:05 PM
Predictable that Mickela would be in the mix.
Post by: Sando prince on October 26, 2015, 10:24:38 AM
(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/12063302_10208243962406560_9171361186419206482_n.jpg?oh=d9facf363337528a5d1ea2a30c7fd919&oe=56B79A22)
Post by: lefty on October 26, 2015, 04:02:38 PM
(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/12063302_10208243962406560_9171361186419206482_n.jpg?oh=d9facf363337528a5d1ea2a30c7fd919&oe=56B79A22)
Not by much but Ralph lil more capable of garnering wide support than coonilal, we need opposition dat actually viable, if only to keep PNM honest.
Post by: R45 on October 27, 2015, 03:25:33 PM
Not by much but Ralph lil more capable of garnering wide support than coonilal, we need opposition dat actually viable, if only to keep PNM honest.

Nah, as much as Moonilal will struggle to get support outside his base, Ralph Maraj would probably be worse. That man has been in every political party I'm sure, and if I'm not mistaken was even part of that Team Unity joke with Ramesh.

He is in the political labasse.
Post by: lefty on October 27, 2015, 03:37:02 PM

Nah, as much as Moonilal will struggle to get support outside his base, Ralph Maraj would probably be worse. That man has been in every political party I'm sure, and if I'm not mistaken was even part of that Team Unity joke with Ramesh.

He is in the political labasse.
Lol ah know, dais why ah say not by much.
Post by: Sando prince on October 27, 2015, 03:56:32 PM

"Former FIFA Vice President and UNC Chairman, Jack Warner, says he has "no desire to rejoin the UNC in any capacity..." In a release issued VIA his Facbook Page this afternoon Warner said "I have no desire to inflict the likes of Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the rest of the Cabal upon the people of T&T...” Warner was responding to call from the Member of Parliament for San Juan/Barataria Dr Fuad Khan, who said Warner, former AG Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, UNC Founder Basdeo Panday" -CNC3

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153657463855610:0 (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/posts/10153657463855610:0)

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12038519_10153657463855610_3425317540225603378_n.png?oh=97beecaf9afbf0ea889ceeb6045de808&oe=56BCFC41)
Post by: Sando prince on October 27, 2015, 04:15:04 PM

Seven UNC MPs backing Kamla

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10-26/seven-unc-mps-backing-kamla (http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10-26/seven-unc-mps-backing-kamla)

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has the support of at least seven of the 16 other UNC MPs, according to party insiders.

Persad-Bissessar is likely to face competition for the top party post from deputy political leader Roodal Moonilal and Vasant Bharath.

Moonilal is calling on UNC members to give him their opinion on whether he should contest the UNC leadership before he makes a decision by weekend.

Saying he’s having talks with supporters and others outside the party including founding members, Moonilal said yesterday, “I’m calling on all members to register their views with us before any decision.”

T&T Guardian learned Persad-Bissessar has been meeting several MPs on the issue. Some have expressed support for her—but several others remain non-committal—and there are expressions of support for Moonilal from at least four MPs to date.

On Sunday, San Juan/Barataria MP Fuad Khan, speaking from Mexico, said Persad-Bissessar should step down and contest the post of chairman. Deadline for nominations is November 20.

Replying to queries including when he’ll announce his decision, Moonilal said the situation before him is not of his personal making: “I’m being asked by many people...it’s the view of members, supporters, incumbent MPs, councillors and chairmen...I’ve been approached by a lot of people to go forward and because it’s a critical juncture and decision, we‘d welcome members’ views on it, Also, there have been alternative views emerging in the party—such as Dr Khan’s recently—and we need to look at those sort of views carefully.”

“I intend to speak with Dr Khan on his return to T&T. He’s a very senior, valuable member of our team and the only MP to have won a clear marginal seat so his views are very important to us.”

On whether he’d heeded Khan’s view that other former members like Jack Warner should return, Moonilal said he hadn’t talked to Warner, but had to speak to any member “...especially those who worked very hard over the years and have a greater stake in UNC’s future direction.”

Saying he preferred not to rush the decision on a possible challenge, he added, he was speaking to a wide cross section of T&T “...particularly founding members...and young professionals.” He made the latter points when asked if he’s consulting with UNC founder Basdeo Panday and daughter Mickela.

On whether he believed the battle may damage UNC, Moonilal said, “In 2010, we were able to mobilise for election very quickly after party elections so I don’t think a campaign can divide this party, it has great strength and resilience, and we have time—I don’t expect the PNM Government to collapse tonight.”

But at least one UNC MP supporting Persad-Bissessar has expressed concern about the exercise weakening the Opposition.

Naparima MP Rodney Charles, said yesterday, “If not properly managed this election could severely weaken the UNC. Contending factions need to give consideration about party before self and make the appropriate decision.”

Asked if he felt Persad-Bissessar still had strong stocks after losing five elections over the last term, Charles said, “Anybody who wins UNC’s poll will have to face local government polls, two by-elections, and Tobago House of Assembly polls in future as well as possible polls in five seats if the UNC wins its election petitions. One has to factor that in when you talk of losing.”

Charles was among several MPs who attended Persad-Bissessar’s leadership campaign launch last Saturday in Penal. Others were MPs Dr Lackram Bodoe, Suruj Rambachan, Christine Newallo-Hosein and David Lee. But several other MPs were absent.

Newallo-Hosein and Barry Padarath last week expressed support for Persad-Bissessar. Padarath said he hadn’t been invited to the meeting, but had gone after learning about it via media. He said it seemed invitations weren’t issued and it was a general gathering.

Bharath who didn’t attend last Saturday’s meeting said he hasn’t spoken to Persad-Bissessar on the election.

Whether he’s decided on contesting, Bharath said he’d been talking “to a lot of people—clearly there are differing views. One has to take all of those into account.”

MP Rudy Indarsingh said he didn’t attend the event since he was in his constituency. He said he hasn’t decided who he’s supporting.

MP Ramona Ramdial said she too hadn’t attended, saying, “Apparently it was a constituency thing. I haven’t decided who I’ll support; I know Mrs Persad-Bissessar is an option, I’m hearing Roodal Moonilal is an option also and there might be a third or fourth.”

Dr Tim Gopeesingh, not saying “yea” on either contender, said “I’m giving a lot of thought to it and will make a statement later on
Post by: Sando prince on October 30, 2015, 10:37:47 AM

Put all the rumours to rest eh. Big lal coming for the leadership

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151030/news/roodal-vs-kamla (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151030/news/roodal-vs-kamla)

Dr Roodal Moonilal — the man who former prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar anointed as her successor — is expected to announce today that he will be battling her for the leadership of the United National Congress (UNC)
Title: HOW TO SELECT A UNC LEADER IN PNM COUNTRY
Post by: Socapro on October 30, 2015, 11:54:32 AM
HOW TO SELECT A UNC LEADER IN PNM COUNTRY (http://sunshinett.com/epaper/128/files/assets/common/downloads/page0002.pdf)
Story by JACK WARNER
ISSUE 128 Friday 30th OCTOBER, 2015 (SunShineTT.com)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Socapro046/UNC%20Politicians.jpg) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Socapro046/UNC%20Politicians.jpg.html)

This is why the UNC will not win the next General Election to be held in this country. They lie too much.
All of a sudden they hit their supporters with the news that Internal Elections will be held on December 5, 2015.
The general response is “Huh?” Not even an exclamation but a question mark.

How could that be when prior to the General Election of September 7, 2015 when they failed to call Internal Elections, their Ag Chairman Khadijah Ameen stated that it was because the party was engaging in constitutional reform.

When did this reform end and where is the report?
When was it presented to the national membership and when was the vote taken?

This is just another case of betrayal and another reason for the membership of the UNC to look elsewhere for a leader except in the direction of Kamla PersadBissessar.

What is amazing is that even Dr. Roodal Moonilal, a possible contender for the leadership position based on his former rhetoric most likely was caught off-guard.

Just after election results were over and the leader of the UNC conceded defeat, Dr. Moonilal was asked the question about Internal Elections within the UNC.

His response then was that Internal Elections would take place in early 2016 since he felt that the party would take a hiatus
until after Christmas before getting down to business.

Lo and behold, Internal Elections are called for December 5, 2015.

Already there is a buzz on the ground, not really one of excitement but rather eager anticipation for the trash talking to begin.

Many are hoping that Kamla Persad-Bissessar does not put her hat in the ring to vie for the leadership.

Already many are talking about her audacity to remain in the Parliament as Leader of the Opposition and Political Leader of the UNC after having lost five consecutive elections.

Not only UNC supporters but also the national community now feels that she should take a page out of the book of former Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper who resigned after conceding defeat to the incumbent Justin Trudeau.

But those close to Kamla suggest that her resignation will never come because it is not just an obsession she has with power but an obsession that extends way beyond the concept of megalomania.

So UNC supporters expect to see her name on the ballot sheet contesting the post of political leader; only a miracle of gargantuan proportions would stop her.

Another possible candidate is Dr. Roodal Moonilal who was groomed by the great Basdeo Panday and identified as the heir apparent to Kamla Persad Bissessar.

But the feeling is that Dr. Moonilal has lost the political currency he once had during his early tenure in office.
There is no doubt that if Dr. Moonilal contests the post for political leader that he will win.

The UNC supporters will vote for him but the real problem is, having ascended to the post of Political Leader is he attractive enough to win votes outside the UNC base and elevate the UNC back into government?

The answer is no! A big fat No!

His latest outburst in the Parliament has virtually guaranteed that he will never see the Prime Minister’s seat of power ever in Trinidad and Tobago.

That “stink mouth” comment has angered the PNM supporters and Dr. Moonilal while he remains a major attraction within the UNC is nothing more than a pariah among the national community.

Since elections are a just over a month away, supporters need to be guided because when I was in the UNC my biggest peeve resonated in the reality that the ambitions of its leadership were never guided by how they were perceived on the political landscape and as such they contested a string of elections that has given the party the perception that it is best suited for the opposition.

The truth is that if the UNC is to return to power, it needs to elect leaders who are capable of swinging votes especially in traditional
PNM constituencies.

History will show that the UNC base always remains true and loyal to the party.

Anytime the UNC or a coalition wins a general election it is because disenchanted PNM voters have either decided to stay away from the polls or vote against their party as an act of protest.

This is why the PNM does not ever stay long in Opposition because once the conditions which gave rise to the protest are removed, as was the case with Patrick Manning, supporters returned to their original moorings and installed the PNM back into power.

That is why Trinidad and Tobago is called PNM country because even when the UNC is in government, it is the PNM supporters who put them there.

So returning Kamla to the post of political leader is a sure way of the UNC remaining among the Opposition benches until post 2025.

Dr. Moonilal is even worse because no PNM supporter will soil their fingers in support of a man who on a political platform also referred to their political leader as “stink mouth.”

The UNC is in real trouble; it has a leadership crisis.

The only possible person who has cross appeal in this country is Vasant Bharath and his attractiveness has diminished by his inability to bring home the seat of St. Joseph back into the house of the UNC.

True enough, he is in the Senate but he has registered one loss against his name and that is never a good place for one who has leadership ambitions to start.

This is a strategic move by Kamla Persad-Bissessar because she feels that given the current competitors, the deck is now stacked in her favour.

But UNC supporters must be concerned with the fallout they have experienced under her and ask themselves the question whether it is prudent to elect one who has been rejected five times at the polls or elect a virtual unknown, a young leader who can be groomed to take the party to excellence.

The whole national executive needs to go and brand new faces with new energy and less baggage need to be installed.

My advice to all UNC supporters who I know will eventually traipse across to the ILP is to interrogate each candidate on what their intentions are as it relates to this coalition of convenience which does not exist.

NJAC, NAR and the rest are not even worth mentioning because they are not just dead but fully decomposed and bring no value to the UNC.
The COP is being kept alive via life support by the UNC.

The candidate whom the UNC supporters should choose must offer a clear direction as to what plans they have for euthanizing the COP.
If none exists, vote for their worst candidate and then join forces with the ILP and let us work to create a viable option to the PNM in government.
Post by: Sando prince on October 30, 2015, 12:41:29 PM
HOW TO SELECT A UNC LEADER IN PNM COUNTRY (http://sunshinett.com/epaper/128/files/assets/common/downloads/page0002.pdf)
Story by JACK WARNER
ISSUE 128 Friday 30th OCTOBER, 2015 (SunShineTT.com)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Socapro046/UNC%20Politicians.jpg) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Socapro046/UNC%20Politicians.jpg.html)

This is why the UNC will not win the next General Election to be held in this country. They lie too much.
All of a sudden they hit their supporters with the news that Internal Elections will be held on December 5, 2015.
The general response is “Huh?” Not even an exclamation but a question mark.

How could that be when prior to the General Election of September 7, 2015 when they failed to call Internal Elections, their Ag Chairman Khadijah Ameen stated that it was because the party was engaging in constitutional reform.

When did this reform end and where is the report?
When was it presented to the national membership and when was the vote taken?

This is just another case of betrayal and another reason for the membership of the UNC to look elsewhere for a leader except in the direction of Kamla PersadBissessar.

What is amazing is that even Dr. Roodal Moonilal, a possible contender for the leadership position based on his former rhetoric most likely was caught off-guard.

Just after election results were over and the leader of the UNC conceded defeat, Dr. Moonilal was asked the question about Internal Elections within the UNC.

His response then was that Internal Elections would take place in early 2016 since he felt that the party would take a hiatus
until after Christmas before getting down to business.

Lo and behold, Internal Elections are called for December 5, 2015.

Already there is a buzz on the ground, not really one of excitement but rather eager anticipation for the trash talking to begin.

Many are hoping that Kamla Persad-Bissessar does not put her hat in the ring to vie for the leadership.

Already many are talking about her audacity to remain in the Parliament as Leader of the Opposition and Political Leader of the UNC after having lost five consecutive elections.

Not only UNC supporters but also the national community now feels that she should take a page out of the book of former Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper who resigned after conceding defeat to the incumbent Justin Trudeau.

But those close to Kamla suggest that her resignation will never come because it is not just an obsession she has with power but an obsession that extends way beyond the concept of megalomania.

So UNC supporters expect to see her name on the ballot sheet contesting the post of political leader; only a miracle of gargantuan proportions would stop her.

Another possible candidate is Dr. Roodal Moonilal who was groomed by the great Basdeo Panday and identified as the heir apparent to Kamla Persad Bissessar.

But the feeling is that Dr. Moonilal has lost the political currency he once had during his early tenure in office.
There is no doubt that if Dr. Moonilal contests the post for political leader that he will win.

The UNC supporters will vote for him but the real problem is, having ascended to the post of Political Leader is he attractive enough to win votes outside the UNC base and elevate the UNC back into government?

The answer is no! A big fat No!

His latest outburst in the Parliament has virtually guaranteed that he will never see the Prime Minister’s seat of power ever in Trinidad and Tobago.

That “stink mouth” comment has angered the PNM supporters and Dr. Moonilal while he remains a major attraction within the UNC is nothing more than a pariah among the national community.

Since elections are a just over a month away, supporters need to be guided because when I was in the UNC my biggest peeve resonated in the reality that the ambitions of its leadership were never guided by how they were perceived on the political landscape and as such they contested a string of elections that has given the party the perception that it is best suited for the opposition.

The truth is that if the UNC is to return to power, it needs to elect leaders who are capable of swinging votes especially in traditional
PNM constituencies.

History will show that the UNC base always remains true and loyal to the party.

Anytime the UNC or a coalition wins a general election it is because disenchanted PNM voters have either decided to stay away from the polls or vote against their party as an act of protest.

This is why the PNM does not ever stay long in Opposition because once the conditions which gave rise to the protest are removed, as was the case with Patrick Manning, supporters returned to their original moorings and installed the PNM back into power.

That is why Trinidad and Tobago is called PNM country because even when the UNC is in government, it is the PNM supporters who put them there.

So returning Kamla to the post of political leader is a sure way of the UNC remaining among the Opposition benches until post 2025.

Dr. Moonilal is even worse because no PNM supporter will soil their fingers in support of a man who on a political platform also referred to their political leader as “stink mouth.”

The UNC is in real trouble; it has a leadership crisis.

The only possible person who has cross appeal in this country is Vasant Bharath and his attractiveness has diminished by his inability to bring home the seat of St. Joseph back into the house of the UNC.

True enough, he is in the Senate but he has registered one loss against his name and that is never a good place for one who has leadership ambitions to start.

This is a strategic move by Kamla Persad-Bissessar because she feels that given the current competitors, the deck is now stacked in her favour.

But UNC supporters must be concerned with the fallout they have experienced under her and ask themselves the question whether it is prudent to elect one who has been rejected five times at the polls or elect a virtual unknown, a young leader who can be groomed to take the party to excellence.

The whole national executive needs to go and brand new faces with new energy and less baggage need to be installed.

My advice to all UNC supporters who I know will eventually traipse across to the ILP is to interrogate each candidate on what their intentions are as it relates to this coalition of convenience which does not exist.

NJAC, NAR and the rest are not even worth mentioning because they are not just dead but fully decomposed and bring no value to the UNC.
The COP is being kept alive via life support by the UNC.

The candidate whom the UNC supporters should choose must offer a clear direction as to what plans they have for euthanizing the COP.
If none exists, vote for their worst candidate and then join forces with the ILP and let us work to create a viable option to the PNM in government.

Important to note Sunshine is Jack Warner newspaper. Same as Voice is Sat newspaper. So when Jack wrote this he forgot his significant role in the 2010 UNC internal election?

Post by: asylumseeker on October 30, 2015, 01:18:53 PM
That was 2010. Today is today.
Post by: Sando prince on November 01, 2015, 05:58:04 PM

BREAKING NEWS; Former Minister of Education Dr. Tim Goopeesingh, announces he is supporting Dr Moonilal as political leader of the UNC, in the party's upcoming internal elections.
Post by: lefty on November 02, 2015, 02:39:01 AM

BREAKING NEWS; Former Minister of Education Dr. Tim Goopeesingh, announces he is supporting Dr Moonilal as political leader of the UNC, in the party's upcoming internal elections.
Cabal members backing dey boy play, how dem plan on marketing dat creature as  a future PM is beyond me...people done aligning stink mouth with nigger already..... and who not doing dat, jus tink he too crass and boorish. Interesting times ahead folks.
Post by: Sando prince on November 02, 2015, 04:21:50 PM

C News;

"Dr. Tim Gopeesingh also revealed the underlying affairs within the UNC party. In the run up to September 7th that contributed to him deciding to endorse Dr. Roodal Moonilal as party leader. Dr. Gopeesingh also said, the last election that passed two months ago, in his opinion, signals the last of what he calls ''Ethnic Polarisation'' politics." See Video https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153668551650610/ (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153668551650610/)
Post by: Sando prince on November 02, 2015, 04:49:58 PM

BASDEO PANDAY ON UNC ELECTION

The founder of the United National Congress Basdeo Panday says the electoral process of the party is flawed. See Video https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153735582577996/
Post by: Sando prince on November 07, 2015, 02:31:41 PM

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/12191626_515168941984840_3517238183779243447_n.jpg?oh=f41c6ae5929bf30836e256cec2e5bb28&oe=56B4BF7A)
Post by: Sando prince on November 07, 2015, 02:32:01 PM

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/12191626_515168941984840_3517238183779243447_n.jpg?oh=f41c6ae5929bf30836e256cec2e5bb28&oe=56B4BF7A)

Vasant Bharath slate? hmmm
Post by: lefty on November 08, 2015, 03:21:31 PM
doh tink vasant  has real appeal with d UNC base ......I feel who reject kamla will choose moonilal it have ah element in d unc goh gravitate to he like a moth to a flame
Post by: Sando prince on November 08, 2015, 04:11:02 PM
doh tink vasant  has real appeal with d UNC base ......I feel who reject kamla will choose moonilal it have ah element in d unc goh gravitate to he like a moth to a flame

Time will tell. Right now there is no clear winner. I myself cyah predict who will win at the moment
Post by: Sando prince on November 08, 2015, 04:13:03 PM
It's now a 3 man race for the leadership of the United National Congress. ..this following the announcement by Vasant Bharath that he will challenge the current leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar for the post of political leader.
 And he also announced that after Divali, he will announce his slate. But the question is now, will he resign his post as an opposition senator?... See Video https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153680722230610/  (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153680722230610/)
Post by: Sando prince on November 11, 2015, 06:43:08 PM

Well look ting here eh   :D who woulda ever believe all of dem in this pic would be fighting in a dog fight today :rotfl:

Caption this https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/10153752916032996:0
Post by: lefty on November 12, 2015, 08:14:37 AM

Well look ting here eh   :D who woulda ever believe all of dem in this pic would be fighting in a dog fight today :rotfl:

some ah dem jurnos real vex d sweet pay day done......or maybe not....dey still trollin hard
Post by: Sando prince on November 12, 2015, 04:18:27 PM

JUST IN: Stacy Roopnarine the Chairperson of the UNC's Women’s Arm has thrown her support behind Vasant Bharath for Political Leader of the UNC
Post by: Bourbon on November 12, 2015, 07:35:08 PM

As  Cro Cro  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPSPDu22EKs) said..."Its Amazing how people can change."

Post by: Bourbon on November 12, 2015, 07:37:54 PM
(http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/download/file.php?id=383855&t=1)
Post by: Sando prince on November 14, 2015, 12:55:39 PM
Ok so we have Gopeesingh in full suport of Moonilal

then we have Fuad Khan and Stacy Roopnarine in full support of Vasant

I believe Ganga Singh, Clifton De Coteau and Marisa Ramdial supporting Kamla

Regardless who wins I see some major tension between sitting UNC Parliament members and other senior UNC leaders going forward. Should be interesting. 
Post by: Sando prince on November 21, 2015, 03:54:28 PM
VIDEO REPORT;  http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/-Kamla-Reveals-UNC-Election-Slate--2514---351980571.html  (http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/-Kamla-Reveals-UNC-Election-Slate--2514---351980571.html)

Kamla Reveals UNC Election Slate

Some unexpected names have been left out from Kamla Persad-Bissessar's slate in the UNC's upcoming leadership elections, notably, Suruj Rambachan and Rodney Charles and she dissociates the line-up from any perceived cabal. As the former Prime Minister campaigns to retain leadership of the party she led to defeat in the general election, she refers to hypocrites seeking to boot her out.
Post by: Sando prince on November 29, 2015, 07:07:13 AM
Election Day less than ah week leh we so what will happen. Kamla, Money-lal or Bar-rat? 😎
Post by: Sando prince on December 01, 2015, 04:48:50 PM
The incumbent Political Leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, has told party supporters that she's upset to see members of her former Cabinet run against her and challenge her capability and credibility. See Video https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153720689575610/
Post by: Sando prince on December 05, 2015, 07:49:25 PM

Preliminary Results coming in
Kamla Persad Bissessar 1684
Roodal Moonilal 184
Vasant Bharath 138

so it look like Kamla will win, eh we see what will happen
Post by: Sando prince on December 06, 2015, 07:51:17 AM

(https://scontent-yyz1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/12316452_10153653256465491_6123974072112384183_n.jpg?oh=9208c94d44ee1b929df3d42738c0193a&oe=56E7F12F)
Post by: Deeks on December 06, 2015, 01:54:16 PM
She is baaaaaack!!!!
Post by: Sando prince on December 06, 2015, 06:48:00 PM
She is baaaaaack!!!!

now we know for sure the UNC die hards not ready to let her go  :D
Post by: Jumbie on December 06, 2015, 07:04:56 PM
seems there was never real competition for the post. sad as she was a terrible PM and inefficient as the opposition.

Post by: lefty on December 07, 2015, 04:40:03 AM
Wonder if she deity status win out, or d recognition dat moonilal not going to take d party nowhere?
Post by: lefty on December 07, 2015, 07:05:49 AM
look d election also have bacchanal....claims of fraud and rigging all over d papers and news sights.....dese people can't even have an election dat even even gives d appearance of being above board and dem what to run a country good riddance to dem oui.....

.....of more concern is what are we too do if Rowley start playin d ass...because I don't want she and dat band of crooks no where near d treasury ever again
Title: Ballots Dumped: UNC Elections papers found in River
Post by: Socapro on December 07, 2015, 08:58:27 PM
Ballots Dumped: UNC Elections papers found in River
UNC election irregularities upset Moonilal (http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-12-06/ballots-dumped-unc-elections-papers-found-it-river)
Published: Monday, December 7, 2015 (T&T Guardian)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Socapro069/Ronnie%20Ramdeen%20shows%20United%20National%20Congress%20election%20papers%20which%20were%20found%20at%20Petrotrinrsquos%20Katwaroo%20Dam%20Katwaroo%20Trace%20Penal.png) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Socapro069/Ronnie%20Ramdeen%20shows%20United%20National%20Congress%20election%20papers%20which%20were%20found%20at%20Petrotrinrsquos%20Katwaroo%20Dam%20Katwaroo%20Trace%20Penal.png.html)
Ronnie Ramdeen shows United National Congress election papers which were found at Petrotrin’s Katwaroo Dam, Katwaroo Trace, Penal, yesterday. Challengers Dr Roodal Moonilal and Vasant Bharath are highlighting other alleged irregularities in Saturday’s internal elections.
PHOTOS: RISHI RAGOONATH.

Defeated leadership candidate Dr Roodal Moonilal is challenging the fairness of Saturday’s United National Congress (UNC) internal election, saying it was riddled with fraud and irregularities.

His claim came after over a dozen blank ballot papers were found on the bank of the Katwaroo Dam in Penal yesterday.

According to Moonilal, who led the Loyalists team, there were also reports of people seen with ballot papers outside polling stations in Central Trinidad, poor quality ink which could be wiped off, members’ names appearing several times on one list and in some cases the same names appearing in several constituencies. He said there were also instances where members were allowed to vote although their names were not on the voters’ list, while in some stations members whose names were not on the list but had a party card were not allowed to vote. Moonilal said his team also had a photograph of someone removing a ballot box from a polling station around 1 pm on Saturday, claiming that it was full and needed to be replaced. He said spoilt ballots were counted in Fyzabad.

“The overall assessment is that it was not fair and it was not free. The list was terribly inappropriate and that may have led to mass fraud,” Moonilal told the T&T Guardian in a telephone interview yesterday.

“I am not arguing that if all of the defects were taken that we would have been successful. Maybe the results would have been the same, but what this does is undermine the integrity and credibility of the system, and regrettably the persons who have won by this flawed process.”

During an interview last month, Moonilal had also raised concerns about the freeness and fairness of the election, saying that a member of the election committee had participated in a strategy meeting for re-elected political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar. Although the member subsequently resigned, he charged that several of Persad-Bissessar’s team members were presiding officers at the election.

Yesterday, he added, “We had very serious concerns at a time, particularly about the list. We were complaining for weeks about the lists, with several people’s names appearing three and four times.

“On election day, when you connect the dots and the vanishing ink, from ever since we have been involved in elections in this country, we have used a red ink that stays on your finger for days, sometimes weeks.” Although he was undecided on whether court action would follow, he said his attorneys were taking statements from witnesses.

He acknowledged Persad-Bissessar’s victory with over 15,000 votes, but questioned whether the result would have been the same if not for the irregularities.

“At this stage I cannot say whether or not we will embark on any court action, but certainly the party needs to take stock. We have to look at some of the statements we have from persons. You can only take court action if you have the requisite statements properly done,” he said.

“Court action cannot be on the basis of hearsay, it must be done in the basis of information that is presented by those persons who have witnessed wrong doing.”

Moonilal also questioned election committee chairman Rampersad Parasam’s claim that the ink used in the election was the same used by the Elections and Boundaries Commission. On Saturday, Moonilal demonstrated how easily the ink was removed from his finger using a “Wet Wipe.”

Calls to Persad-Bissessar’s phone yesterday went unanswered and she did not return calls or messages left.

Future uncertain

As to his future relationship with Persad-Bissessar, Moonilal said he had worked with her during her time as prime minister and Opposition Leader so nothing would change. He said he was also careful not to attack her during his campaign.

“I have worked with the Opposition Leader before as prime minister and shortly as Opposition Leader. Nothing will change and I was careful on the platform not to be attacking her. I have never raised issues of personality, that is not my kind of politics,” he said.

“We gave a vision and a programme for the party. In a sense, the Opposition leader, not withstanding how unfair the process was, has to continue to provide the leadership and I wish her the best with her new team.”

Although he expressed little confidence in the new executive, he said he would give his support. As for his role in the party, now that he is no longer an executive member but continues as the Oropouche East MP, he said, “I continue to represent my constituency in Parliament. I continue my parliamentary work. I have been in the party for many years as an officer, so that type of work will cease but I continue to hold on as a UNC member and supporter as much as I can.

“You have to give the new members of the executive, however unfair the process was to put them there, the space and the latitude to contribute as best they can. We don't have confidence in this new executive, but they have gone through a lot to be there and they must be given the latitude to make a contribution if that can.”
Post by: Sando prince on December 07, 2015, 09:05:42 PM

Moonilal not going down easy boi   ;D
Post by: Sando prince on December 08, 2015, 04:21:18 PM

(https://scontent.fsnc1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12342834_1186830111331722_5686921084964599947_n.jpg?oh=07600920f3f03641b91cce6be1837d5f&oe=572191FD)
Post by: Jumbie on December 08, 2015, 06:11:15 PM
these people so power hungry I won't put it pass dem (ones complaining) to have purposely done this. their problem is.. dey eh know how to take ah cutass and regroup. same blasted thing with the general elections.

hoping Dr Rowley and team can work on the crime situation in the next 4 so these fackers doh get ah sniff at leading again.
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 06:26:55 PM

Vasant Bharath: UNC is a dysfunctional party

WATCH: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/morning-brew/vasant-bharath-unc-dysfunctional-party

Post by: Sando prince on July 16, 2016, 04:08:45 PM

(http://loopassets.s3.amazonaws.com/styles/carousel_large/s3/thumbnails/image/kamla_persad_bisessar_rienzi_june_15.png?itok=kygGLHKZ)

UNC gets walking papers

http://www.looptt.com/content/unc-gets-walking-papers

The United National Congress (UNC) has been ordered to vacate its Rienzi Complex headquarters by July 31.

This, as the landlord said the party refused to meet the new rent requirement.

The $12,000 rent was raised to $25,000.

The property is owned by the All Trinidad General Workers’ Trade Union (ATGWTU).

Former UNC Chairman Jack Warner issued this statement via his Facebook page following the news of the party’s eviction:

“I empathise with the United National Congress (UNC), they having been evicted from the headquarters they have occupied since inception - Rienzi Complex - by the All Trinidad General Workers' Trade Union (ATGWU) which provided the base for the birthing of the party under Basdeo Panday in 1989.

I am informed that the ATGWU increased the rent for the property and the UNC is unable to pay the new amount, thus the UNC on Thursday was asked to vacate Rienzi Complex. The UNC has also been prohibited from holding functions, meetings and other exercises at Rienzi Complex, hence it's screening exercises had to be conducted in Siparia.
How the mighty is falling, and how swiftly so! What a contrast to the magnificent days of the past!

I wish them well in their return to glory.”
Post by: Bourbon on July 17, 2016, 09:06:16 AM
So.
After all the money getting redirect to financiers.
After all who build house....buy land...wash money...do this that the other.

UNC eh even think to build a building? Hm.

However it is wickedness to just double a rent with basically no notice.
Post by: weary1969 on July 19, 2016, 09:33:06 AM
So.
After all the money getting redirect to financiers.
After all who build house....buy land...wash money...do this that the other.

UNC eh even think to build a building? Hm.

However it is wickedness to just double a rent with basically no notice.

It happens all the time to the small man so not a tear will be shed.
Post by: Sando prince on August 21, 2016, 07:17:46 PM

High Court dismisses UNC election petitions

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/high-court-dismisses-unc-election-petitions

High Court Judge Justice Mira Dean-Armorer has dismissed the United National Congress’ (UNC) election petition matters.

The ruling was delivered just before 3pm at the Hall of Justice.

The decision means that the results of the 2015 elections stand.

On making her ruling, Justice Dean-Amourer ruled that the EBC had indeed acted illegally in extending the polls, but says it was not enough to invalidate the results.

She said in her ruling: "Torrential rains and flooding on the 7th September 2015, may have impelled the EBC to issue the directive which they did. Nonetheless, the uncontrollable weather conditions did not confer on the EBC the power to direct that the law be broken.

"The EBC, itself a creature of statute, ought at all times to abide by the clear dictates of the law and ought not to purport to dispense with those dictates even if faced with an apparently insurmountable problem.

"Accordingly, it is my view and I hold that the extension of the poll on the 7th September, 2015 was illegal and election officers who failed to close the poll at 6.00pm acted in breach of Section 27(1) of the Election Rules obedience to which is required by Section 35(1) of the ROPA."

In dismissing the petition, she added: "I have, in these Petitions, strove to hold the balance to protect the will of the majority while ensuring that the patent mistakes have not reduced the election of 2015 to a mere sham.

"For reasons stated supra, it has been my view that the election of 2015 in Trinidad and Tobago were substantially in accordance with the prescribed law and it does not appear to me that the breaches affected the result. It is therefore my view and I hold that the Petition should be and is hereby dismissed."

The UNC has indicated that they will appeal the ruling.

The UNC had asked the High Court to declare the September 7th, 2015 results in the constituencies of Toco/Sangre Grande, Tunapuna, St Joseph, San Fernando West, and Moruga/Tableland null and void because of what, it says, was an illegal decision by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to grant an additional hour for voting in Trinidad due to bad weather.
Post by: weary1969 on August 23, 2016, 12:48:38 PM

High Court dismisses UNC election petitions

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/high-court-dismisses-unc-election-petitions

High Court Judge Justice Mira Dean-Armorer has dismissed the United National Congress’ (UNC) election petition matters.

The ruling was delivered just before 3pm at the Hall of Justice.

The decision means that the results of the 2015 elections stand.

On making her ruling, Justice Dean-Amourer ruled that the EBC had indeed acted illegally in extending the polls, but says it was not enough to invalidate the results.

She said in her ruling: "Torrential rains and flooding on the 7th September 2015, may have impelled the EBC to issue the directive which they did. Nonetheless, the uncontrollable weather conditions did not confer on the EBC the power to direct that the law be broken.

"The EBC, itself a creature of statute, ought at all times to abide by the clear dictates of the law and ought not to purport to dispense with those dictates even if faced with an apparently insurmountable problem.

"Accordingly, it is my view and I hold that the extension of the poll on the 7th September, 2015 was illegal and election officers who failed to close the poll at 6.00pm acted in breach of Section 27(1) of the Election Rules obedience to which is required by Section 35(1) of the ROPA."

In dismissing the petition, she added: "I have, in these Petitions, strove to hold the balance to protect the will of the majority while ensuring that the patent mistakes have not reduced the election of 2015 to a mere sham.

"For reasons stated supra, it has been my view that the election of 2015 in Trinidad and Tobago were substantially in accordance with the prescribed law and it does not appear to me that the breaches affected the result. It is therefore my view and I hold that the Petition should be and is hereby dismissed."

The UNC has indicated that they will appeal the ruling.

The UNC had asked the High Court to declare the September 7th, 2015 results in the constituencies of Toco/Sangre Grande, Tunapuna, St Joseph, San Fernando West, and Moruga/Tableland null and void because of what, it says, was an illegal decision by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to grant an additional hour for voting in Trinidad due to bad weather.

Another victory for the UNC
Post by: mukumsplau on August 23, 2016, 03:54:17 PM
usain has to be the fastest on earth to hav avoiedd d blight kamla almost put on him  lol