General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: kingman on April 20, 2007, 11:07:50 AM

Title: Daddy should blame/slap daughter not Akon......steupssssss!!!!!!
Post by: kingman on April 20, 2007, 11:07:50 AM
Pastor in Disgust with Akon's Behaviour.
Source: Trinidad Express

(http://www.red967fm.com/pics/f7f9888f-48c2-42fd-9c13-ae2e7e967b32akon.jpg)

Pastor Dave Alleyne of the Flaming Word Ministry of Chaguanas has come to the Defence of his 14-year-old daughter whose raunchy dance with international superstar Akon of Senegal can be seen worldwide on youtube.

Alleyne describes the racy dance video of his 14-year-old daughter and Akon as "atrocious" but said that Deena was taken advantage of when she attended a concert at which Akon, a hip hop and R&b artiste was featured.

Alleyne said, "she likes dancing and won a competition" but she became a victim in a situation where she had no control.

Deena was filmed dancing with the superstar during his performance at the Zen Nightclub last Thursday in Port of Spain.

She had won the first stage of a competition which carried prizes, including a "free trip" to Africa.

There was however no free trip to Africa as at the end of the competition, Akon said he was Africa.

In defense of his daughter, Alleyne says children are exposed to pop culture and are fascinated by pop stars.

Title: Re: Daddy should blame/slap daughter not Akon......steupssssss!!!!!!
Post by: kingman on April 20, 2007, 11:12:23 AM
Two things...

First off, what the hell a 14 year girl doing in Zen? When I was 14 I was still watching movies and/or playing video games with my brother late at night. I did not see a "real" party until 18/19 years old and back in my times violence wasnt a big issue as it is now. The most me and my brother use to go was we little $1 Jam, Frolic and Bazzar.  ;D

Secondly, base on the video on youtube, this girl is obviously more developed than other 14 year old. Why her parents have her exposed to such vice and going out looking like that? She could easily get men in trouble because I would have guess that she was maybe 22-24.  :devil:

Post by: Dutty on April 20, 2007, 11:48:58 AM
Is ah common thing for dem lil girl to lie and say they goin one place and end up another
I'm sure she didnt leave her house lookin like dat..probably changed at a friends house

I doh know how old you are but 14 year olds now and 14 year olds back then is like night and day..

you pay ONE dollar to go to ah bazzar?...when was dat? de 1950's?
How much was for de bran tub and chair plane in your days?
Post by: Organic on April 20, 2007, 11:58:35 AM
Is ah common thing for dem lil girl to lie and say they goin one place and end up another
I'm sure she didnt leave her house lookin like dat..probably changed at a friends house

I doh know how old you are but 14 year olds now and 14 year olds back then is like night and day..you pay ONE dollar to go to ah bazzar?...when was dat? de 1950's?
How much was for de bran tub and chair plane in your days?
to an extent yes. but i think it depends on where you were raised yes. cause growing up i know it had some padnas ah mine...that about alllyuh age now that use to do some kinda thing.
the badess and dem when i was young wasnt easy also.
i guess dat is to do with parenitng also.
i use to lime form young but with in reason and thank god had meh moms to guide meh and ah lil head on meh shoulder.
but is a combination of more than one factor
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 20, 2007, 05:31:14 PM
pastor need to tend to he flock more carefully.it have alot ah wolves out thereeeeee. :devil: :devil:
Post by: pioneertrini on April 20, 2007, 05:43:55 PM
look di video http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/akon%2Btrinidad/video/x1r5u3_akon-trinidad
Title: Pastor's daughter: I'm done with hip hop
Post by: Patterson on April 20, 2007, 10:29:41 PM
Trinidad Express
Pastor's daughter: I'm done with hip hop
Deena plans to dance for the Lord now
Kristy Ramnarine kramnarine@trinidadexpress.com

Saturday, April 21st 2007

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2007/04/21/n12.jpg)
 Deena and brother, Ian Alleyne, president of the T&T Crime Watch Association,

Deena Alleyne says she is sorry for her raunchy dancing with Senegal-born US artiste Akon at the Zen nightclub on Thursday.

A video clip of the act was posted on the YouTube-Broadcast Yourself website but later pulled after a notification to YouTube by Universal Music Group, which claimed that showing the material was copyright infringment.

Konvict Muzik, a record label owned and founded by Akon, is a subsidiary label of Universal Records. Universal Music Group owns the American record label.

The clip was also highly publicised on other websites including Vh1 in the United States and Metro in the United Kingdom.

"This whole hip hop thing is a guise and I don't want any part of it, I don't want to be any part of it," said Alleyne during an interview at Chaguanas yesterday.

"Look at what I have to go through with one mistake that I made. My dad warned me every time and I didn't listen. I am sorry.

"Every time he warned me. Everyday my dad would say 'it is not for you, it is not for you, you do not have to go this way', but I refused to listen.

"I don't want any part of it, not only Zen, everything. The whole hip hop thing, music and clubbing, I don't want to be part of it."

Alleyne told the Express that an older friend purchased the ticket for her to attend the event last week. During an interview on Thursday, owner of the Zen nightclub, Johnny Soong said the age limit for the event was 18 years and over.

"I know a lot of my friends who were my age and were there," she said.

"They asked for ID in VIP because you have to be 21 years and over to go up in VIP, but anyone was allowed to go in the general admission area."

The teenager who admitted that her biggest passion is dancing said she thought that she was only taking part in a normal dance competition.

"I thought it was going to be normal," Alleyne said.

"I got carried away, I started to dance as well but I never thought it was going to be like that. I was shocked, my head was hitting the floor.

"I got carried away in the spotlight, and with the crowd cheering. Everything was so fast, it was so quick."

She said after the competition she felt really bad but everyone was congratulating her.

"When I went off the stage, everyone came telling me thanks for representing. You did well. That was so good. So I felt a little ease afterwards like, okay, it wasn't that bad after all," Alleyne added.

She described the past week as the worst in her life and wished that she could change it.

She said her father, pastor Dave Alleyne, did not know she attended the club and only learned of it after seeing a picture of her in the newspaper last week.

"He saw the pictures and I told him about it as well because I did not want him to hear it from anyone," she said.

"But when he saw the video it really did take a toll on him. He always warned me about this. He doesn't allow me to go to parties, he would always say 'it is not for you, it is not for you'."

Alleyne has been criticised by many for her lewd dancing at the Zen nightclub.

However, she said her classmates and the members of her church are being very supportive.

"There were two teachers who came and spoke to me and they really stood by me and told me that it was a mistake I made and that I would learn from it," she said.

Alleyne said she plans to continue with her school studies and focus on spending more time with her family.

As for her love of dancing she plans on joining the dance ministry in her father's church, Flaming Word Ministry and use her talent to serve God.

Post by: Socaman on April 20, 2007, 11:19:40 PM
Now she's daddy little innocent girl....
Post by: Organic on April 21, 2007, 06:46:39 AM
the pt is we hadda hope she learn form the incident. she far form innocent lil gyul. but better she learn now. than u see she in dad n sons holding down a pole and capo and chinne smiling broad and wavign they singles lol  ;D
Post by: Trini Madness on April 21, 2007, 09:02:05 AM
in de next 3 years she go run away with a 30 year old man who wukkin taxi.  :devil:

the pt is we hadda hope she learn form the incident. she far form innocent lil gyul. but better she learn now. than u see she in dad n sons holding down a pole and capo and chinne smiling broad and wavign they singles lol  ;D

Post by: fari on April 21, 2007, 11:35:39 AM
innocent...please...look at that girl face...she is trouble
Post by: Cantona007 on April 21, 2007, 01:09:13 PM
What I am not hearing in any of this is that Akon basically assaulted that girl. It's all well and good to talk about the girl's character and judgment, but really, what about Akon? Whether she was 14 or 40, are we saying that it is OK for a guy to carry on so with a woman (any woman) in public like that? Does anyone REALLY think that she expected that level of violence to be associated with a "dance" or a "little wine"?? Even if she did, does that make it right? Is anyone suggesting that she "look fuh dat"? I wouldn't lie... I was REALLY bothered when I saw that video... bothered about that girl/woman who would carry on so on a stage, but even more bothered that a grown man would do that shit to another human being. Let's keep it balanced.
Post by: fari on April 21, 2007, 01:50:27 PM
hm, u right dread...akon take advantage. i personally ent listening to that man music anymore and i hope if he ever have the gall to go back trinidad that trinis pelt him with toilet paper (cause he is a shythead). 
Post by: Organic on April 21, 2007, 03:18:53 PM
akon eh know how to treat women dais plain to see
Post by: TriniCana on April 21, 2007, 05:07:53 PM
What I am not hearing in any of this is that Akon basically assaulted that girl. It's all well and good to talk about the girl's character and judgment, but really, what about Akon? Whether she was 14 or 40, are we saying that it is OK for a guy to carry on so with a woman (any woman) in public like that? Does anyone REALLY think that she expected that level of violence to be associated with a "dance" or a "little wine"?? Even if she did, does that make it right? Is anyone suggesting that she "look fuh dat"? I wouldn't lie... I was REALLY bothered when I saw that video... bothered about that girl/woman who would carry on so on a stage, but even more bothered that a grown man would do that shit to another human being. Let's keep it balanced.

:applause: :applause:
you know it strange eh
in another thread similar to this one, people voiced their opinion about Akon and said he assaulted this girl on the stage, and got lamblasted because this is suppose to be "our culture" - she look for that and so on

now its a different tune in this thread...
interesting interesting
Post by: WestCoast on April 21, 2007, 05:10:54 PM
very GOOD point Cantona007
another thing is
why do we have to talk about slapping anyone
just promoting an assault
Treat people with respect and maybe they respond in kind
Post by: Trini Madness on April 21, 2007, 05:23:46 PM

you make a very good point......and akon would most likely walk away from this.
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 21, 2007, 06:36:55 PM
Ah wonder if wen dem 14 yr old go the bar if  the bar man doz ask for ID or jus look for money ,beside that they 14 yr old chilren have no right in any night club sound to me like it have no law to protect the youth from being taken advantage of .
Post by: Grande on April 21, 2007, 09:13:10 PM
Akon is a self-professed muslim and practices polygamy, having 3 wives

just throwing dat in, interpret that however you may
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2007, 08:49:51 AM
she with some friends in some party

(http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e124/xxtrini2dbonexx/degirl12.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on April 22, 2007, 08:54:26 AM
so would YOU like to have pictures of your daughter splashed across the internet like this
easy nuh

I know allya going and say you found it on her Space or what ever it is called but lets be grown ups about it here nuh
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2007, 08:58:54 AM
Steeps aye she  pic was in the papers and on  trini scene with akon picking she up etc so ease off..... Plus westcoast the internet is public domain ...
Post by: ribbit on April 22, 2007, 09:01:37 AM
Akon is a self-professed muslim and practices polygamy, having 3 wives

just throwing dat in, interpret that however you may

so he have room for a 4th ent? ???
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 22, 2007, 10:45:46 AM
alyuh check i95fm umbala dealing with the same topic zen night club
Post by: WestCoast on April 22, 2007, 11:08:54 AM
I 95 direct audio link
http://www.i955fm.com/nowplaying.aspx

a caller is saying it is the school problem when kids buy tickets in uniform
I believe that it is the Night Club that should be checking the age.

now he talking about calling a woman a "Thing"
now they are talking abut a function at Country Club ???
maybe should be a different show
nothing to do with under age people in Clubs

Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 22, 2007, 12:31:55 PM
Hinds calls for legal action against Akon
Ruth Osman

Sunday, April 22nd 2007

Minister in the Ministry of National Security Fitzgerald Hinds has called for legal action to be taken against R&B/ hip hop star, Akon.

During a recent performance at Club Zen, the entertainer "dry-humped" Deena Alleyne, 14.

The act, which imitated sexual intercourse has opened a national debate on who should bear the most blame for the incident.

"Akon means 'convict' and I feel he should be a 'convict' in Trinidad and Tobago," Hinds said, "having possibly committed a criminal offence of lewd dancing in public".

The minister was speaking to the media after the PNM general council at Balisier House, Port of Spain, yesterday.

He called Deena "young and wild and stupid", but berated those present for not coming to her aid.

"Notwithstanding her stupidity, she deserved the protection of adults. And I saw adults in that function cheering on that convict," he said.

Club owner, Johnny Soong, also came under fire from the minister, who said that he should ensure that the legal age limit (18) is enforced.

"This country has been good to him (Soong) and his forbears ... and they owe it to this country, in the spaces they create for entertainment, to protect the young, foolish people of this nation from themselves and the likes of 'Kon'," he said.

Hinds expressed his intention of dealing with the issue in Parliament on Wednesday during his contribution to the Equal Opportunity debate.

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2007, 12:48:31 PM
Hear this minister the person who should get fine is The club owner ......
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 22, 2007, 02:37:43 PM
 I personally cant see how Akon should be blame for what went on in the club any body to to carry the blame iz the club owner for allowing minors in his club .
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on April 22, 2007, 06:20:51 PM
allyuh ppl ah lil too hard on akon...de man musbe watch one two passa passa clips on youtube n think say wat he saw in jamaica represents de caribbean  :devil:

is not akon tuh blame nah is de ppl responsible fuh zen n she parents
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 22, 2007, 07:52:03 PM
Yuh know the onll thing ah blaming Akon for iz the disrespect of the black woman but  anything after that iz the owner of ZEN night club .
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2007, 08:21:49 PM
Yuh know the onll thing ah blaming Akon for iz the disrespect of the black woman but  anything after that iz the owner of ZEN night club .

When machel had them dancers back then that neva bodda people .... even when he had that dancehall queeen they enva consider it lewd ... boy trinis
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 22, 2007, 09:27:05 PM
Warrior this woman was makin apperances and being paid she know wat she was doinda 
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 22, 2007, 09:37:11 PM
Ah did not complete my statement,come on warrior dey was being paid for they apperances , so do not compare the two ,this iz ah 14 yr old innocent or not i dont know , but the fact iz she was taken advantage of , think for a minute if that was yer dauter wat yer would want to do .
Post by: TriniCana on April 22, 2007, 10:41:12 PM
I personally cant see how Akon should be blame for what went on in the club any body to to carry the blame iz the club owner for allowing minors in his club .

How much of allyuh in allyuh day went to clubs and didn't get catch ???
doh point allyuh fingers atall to dey owner. His only concern is how much money pullin ein dat night. Let dey mudda and fadda wonder where dey child is at dat hour.

But Zu you honestly think Machel or Shurwain could go to Senagal, where they supposedly treat dey women like royalty, go on dey public stage and perform like that ? Man is one spear in dey ass eh....

Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 23, 2007, 06:02:42 AM
Hinds calls for legal action against Akon
Ruth Osman

Sunday, April 22nd 2007

Minister in the Ministry of National Security Fitzgerald Hinds has called for legal action to be taken against R&B/ hip hop star, Akon.

During a recent performance at Club Zen, the entertainer "dry-humped" Deena Alleyne, 14.

The act, which imitated sexual intercourse has opened a national debate on who should bear the most blame for the incident.

"Akon means 'convict' and I feel he should be a 'convict' in Trinidad and Tobago," Hinds said, "having possibly committed a criminal offence of lewd dancing in public".

The minister was speaking to the media after the PNM general council at Balisier House, Port of Spain, yesterday.

He called Deena "young and wild and stupid", but berated those present for not coming to her aid.

"Notwithstanding her stupidity, she deserved the protection of adults. And I saw adults in that function cheering on that convict," he said.

Club owner, Johnny Soong, also came under fire from the minister, who said that he should ensure that the legal age limit (18) is enforced.

"This country has been good to him (Soong) and his forbears ... and they owe it to this country, in the spaces they create for entertainment, to protect the young, foolish people of this nation from themselves and the likes of 'Kon'," he said.

Hinds expressed his intention of dealing with the issue in Parliament on Wednesday during his contribution to the Equal Opportunity debate.

Hinds slammed for calling pastor's daughter stupid
Richard Charan and Kristy Ramnarine

Monday, April 23rd 2007

Junior National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds has been slammed for describing as wild and stupid, a pastor's 15-year-old daughter caught dirty dancing on stage with hip-hop and R&B singer Akon.

Akon himself remained non committal on the controversy that has attracted overseas attention.

A member of Akon's road team reached by the Express yesterday said the artiste was not available for comment on the controversy and a call by Minister in the Ministry of National Security, Fitzgerald Hinds for legal action to be taken against Akon, who is from Senegal, West Africa.

Hinds, at the PNM's general council at Balisier House, Port of Spain on Saturday said Akon committed a criminal offence of "lewd dancing in public" with the girl.

Akon left Trinidad shortly after his performance on April 12.

Yesterday, the family of shamed schoolgirl Danah Alleyne issued a statement supporting her and asking that people forgive and forget.

Her brother Ian Alleyne said of Hinds's comment "we have the second coming of Jesus Christ in Trinidad, because he (Hinds) is the only human being who has never done anything wrong in his entire life".

Alleyne said his sister was "not dumb or foolish, and whoever is without sin should cast the first stone" at her.

Video and photo images of Danah having simulated sex on a stage at Club Zen in Port of Spain, have been posted on dozens of websites.

The images have generated an international debate about the singer, the music and the values of the women involved in his performances.

Danah is the daughter of pastor of the Flaming Word Ministry, Dave Alleyne, and sister of the Trinidad and Tobago Crime Watch head Ian Alleyne.

Pastor Alleyne has defended his daughter's action.

He said she was taken advantage of. The girl, a third form secondary school pupil, made a public apology last Friday. She said going to the club was wrong and did not know Akon would treat her in such a manner.

Club owner Johnny Soong has also defended his business. He said an 18 years and over age limit is enforced and Danah somehow slipped through.

On Saturday Hinds said Akon could face a charge of lewd dancing in public, and called Danah "young and wild and stupid".

Ian Alleyne said yesterday "my sister is depressed. She has acknowledged her mistakes and clearly we must give (her) a tomorrow. I am not only defending myself and my sister. I am defending every young person who at that age made mistakes in their lives".

Alleyne said condemning young people when they erred was a sure way to make the problem worse.

"How many people when they were (Danah's) age didn't make a mistake in their life? The only person is (Hinds). A statement like his will scar any person" said Alleyne.

He said that while Danah's actions had hurt deeply their father, Pastor Alleyne "he is first a father and he loves his daughter deeply and like any other parent is trying to deal with this. he is standing by her".

Alleyne said that the issue of underage children at clubs was more prevalent than most people know and that Hinds "must protect our young people".

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2007, 06:13:36 AM
Warrior this woman was makin apperances and being paid she know wat she was doinda 

I am talking about   what is considered "lewd" dancing did have nothing to be with woman know wha she doing and getting paid etc...
Post by: lickslikefire on April 23, 2007, 06:27:48 AM

I am talking about   what is considered "lewd" dancing did have nothing to be with woman know wha she doing and getting paid etc...

I eh go lie...you's talk real tata boy....

how yuh go compare paid dancers that was at ONE machel concert to what Akon did......it is totally different......get it out of yuh head....passa passa shit is not trini culture.......

next thing, what Akon did was not only disrepectful to black woman but to all of our Trinbagonian women.....i don't know why men had to bring race into this

Mad Rass talking sense in dis part of his post...i actually feel this is what happened:

de man musbe watch one two passa passa clips on youtube n think say wat he saw in jamaica represents de caribbean  :devil:

Post by: Organic on April 23, 2007, 06:46:22 AM

how yuh go compare paid dancers that was at ONE machel concert to what Akon did......it is totally different......get it out of yuh head....passa passa shit is not trini culture.......

next thing, what Akon did was not only disrepectful to black woman but to all of our Trinbagonian women.....i don't why men had to bring race into this

Mad Rass talking sense in dis part of his post...i actually feel this is what happened:

de man musbe watch one two passa passa clips on youtube n think say wat he saw in jamaica represents de caribbean  :devil:

cause race is an easy cop out. people does blame race for something when t hey eh want to discuss the real issue at hand
Post by: grskywalker on April 23, 2007, 07:23:32 AM
Look how innocent she look in that picture, very scary indeed. I also blame the management of Zen for not screening their patrons because no child under 18 should have been in that club period.

Now I love meh little jump up and wine down from time to time but this passa passa ting from Jamaica specifically the dance called Hot fuk has been popping up everywhere and it is no surprise to see men like AKON and other artists performing this way and molesting women in the name of entertainment.
So while we crucify DON IMUS for his racist comment we should all speak out about the contamination of our youth from these so called "artists".
Post by: TriniCana on April 23, 2007, 07:33:37 AM
Look how innocent she look in that picture, very scary indeed. I also blame the management of Zen for not screening their patrons because no child under 18 should have been in that club period.

Now I love meh little jump up and wine down from time to time but this passa passa ting from Jamaica specifically the dance called Hot f**k has been popping up everywhere and it is no surprise to see men like AKON and other artists performing this way and molesting women in the name of entertainment.
So while we crucify DON IMUS for his racist comment we should all speak out about the contamination of our youth from these so called "artists".

thank you, thank you....
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 23, 2007, 07:36:10 AM
I think I'd prefer to deal with the Don Imus of the world rather than those who claim to represent me and look like me then destroy me. At least I recognize Imus.

..and those who said 'she asked for it'...
 ??? what does that make you?
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on April 23, 2007, 08:03:42 AM

i agree wit u 2 d point dat ... dis kinda drag dollin women is common n i agree dat akon can't b blamed dat he ent know d lil girl age ... but ah still ent givin him right 2 drag another woman n yes d gov't should come down hard on d club n d damn pastor should keep ah lid on his flock

if it was another child .... he self would have cried her down i'm sure....
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 08:08:14 AM
..and those who said 'she asked for it'...
 ??? what does that make you?
some fellas does want to beat up day own women....dat is part of the problem
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 23, 2007, 08:14:54 AM
there are lots of 'parts' to this problem....

reading the responses, they are glaring...
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 23, 2007, 08:26:03 AM

Now I love meh little jump up and wine down from time to time but this passa passa ting from Jamaica specifically the dance called Hot f**k has been popping up everywhere and it is no surprise to see men like AKON and other artists performing this way and molesting women in the name of entertainment.

\

Lord fadder!!  Finally.  Thank you.  :applause: :applause: :applause:

We cyar expect white man/people tuh treat us wid any respect when we do treat ourselves wid any!!
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 23, 2007, 08:27:34 AM

i agree wit u 2 d point dat ... dis kinda drag dollin women is common n i agree dat akon can't b blamed dat he ent know d lil girl age ... but ah still ent givin him right 2 drag another woman n yes d gov't should come down hard on d club n d damn pastor should keep ah lid on his flock

Age is irrelevant except that we discover after the fact that she was 14.  If that woman was 30, my opinion of him and the behaviour would be the same.
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on April 23, 2007, 10:34:25 AM

Age is irrelevant except that we discover after the fact that she was 14.  If that woman was 30, my opinion of him and the behaviour would be the same.

... but ah still ent givin him right 2 drag another woman

Post by: cocoapanyol on April 23, 2007, 11:18:24 AM

... but ah still ent givin him right 2 drag another woman

yuh see tuh me if yuh eh blame him fuh de age but yuh blame him fuh de behaviour, it cancel it out.  but ah get what yuh tryin tuh say.
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2007, 01:02:34 PM
for the record, there are some more pics of this girl circulating on the internet today from same zen with a "wardrobe malfunction" and also some pics from home and elsewhere...

People real trying to mash in and crucify this girl yes..

remind me of a certain crowd with stones...

Post by: Benchwarmer on April 23, 2007, 02:48:34 PM
for the record, there are some more pics of this girl circulating on the internet today from same zen with a "wardrobe malfunction" and also some pics from home and elsewhere...

People real trying to mash in and crucify this girl yes..

remind me of a certain crowd with stones...

yeah.. i now see them pics......steups.. some half naked pics of a 15 year old girl....

I don't how alyuh people could blame one person....is either is everybody or nobody at all.....

The club, the security, the artist, the girl( yes the girl) the parents and the friends... nobody could take the whole blame for this...
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2007, 03:20:13 PM

next thing, what Akon did was not only disrepectful to black woman but to all of our Trinbagonian women.....i don't know why men had to bring race into this

Look here licks get yuh facts straight i neva said "passa passa* was trini culture please dont type untrue  things .  2 macheal had them  dancers as part of his tour a few years ago not no one time . He evn had this dancehall queen from japan also  3  missonary eh the only positon  :devil:  so doh come with that..
Post by: lickslikefire on April 23, 2007, 05:27:01 PM

Look here licks get yuh facts straight i neva said "passa passa* was trini culture please dont type untrue  things .  2 macheal had them  dancers as part of his tour a few years ago not no one time . He evn had this dancehall queen from japan also  3  missonary eh the only positon  :devil:  so doh come with that..

breds, so what yuh implying....what's yuh point?

yuh bawl machel have dancers on some tour doing "lewd dancing".....what's de point of bringing that up......how is that related to this incident....

having paid dancers doing "lewd dancing" on some tour is totally different than a major hip hop artist "molesting" a 14 year old girl on stage....
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 06:27:46 PM
I don't how alyuh people could blame one person....is either is everybody or nobody at all.....
The club, the security, the artist, the girl( yes the girl) the parents and the friends... nobody could take the whole blame for this...
Obso-flipping-lutely
but there are a few things that each one of the people you mention have to do to prevent this from happening in the future.
The club HAS to be more aware of who they let in and the kids have to realise that their time WILL eventually come so hole some strain and enjoy your life as it is and not try to be like Big people so soon.
and de Parents HAVE to check up on their kids.

I know a couple here who catching Beans from day young girl, she 15 goin orn 35. She does drive she boyfren car plus OTHER  :o things I am sure. I know it takes two to tango but as her parents I know it is very tough.
Man..... Thank GOD my two offsprings did not turn out so eh
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2007, 07:11:37 PM

breds, so what yuh implying....what's yuh point?

yuh bawl machel have dancers on some tour doing "lewd dancing".....what's de point of bringing that up......how is that related to this incident....

having paid dancers doing "lewd dancing" on some tour is totally different than a major hip hop artist "molesting" a 14 year old girl on stage....

now yuh amp it up to ah next notch  molesting ...  :whistling:
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 07:24:14 PM
Yes, we ALL have to realise that it was Technically sexual molestation

"Legal definition (U.S.)
In every state and federal jurisdiction of the United States, the law states that a minor below the age of consent in that state or jurisdiction cannot consent to sexual activity of any sort involving a partner (with certain exceptions). Such sexual activity is legally considered child abuse."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Child_sexual_abuse
when we ALL finally change our thinking this type of activity will become less and less.
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 23, 2007, 07:39:35 PM
                                                         Pastor’s daughter controversy

Manning to tackle Zen owners   

A pensive looking Danah Alleyne, 15, glances towards the ceiling as she sits in her brother’s office in Chaguanas on Friday. Photo: Adrian Boodan

PM appalled

Forgive Danah
Zen should share blame
Police should take action.
This type of thing should never happen in T&T again.
BY RADHICA SOOKRAJ

Prime Minister Patrick Manning is calling on the public to forgive the actions of teenager Danah Alleyne, who has been publicly ridiculed after participating in a raunchy dance with international rapper Akon, on April 12.

In fact, the PM, says the owners of Club Zen are responsible for Alleyne’s humiliation and should never have allowed such an incident to occur in the first place.

He has vowed to take up personally the issue with them.

Manning insisted that this type of thing should never happen in T&T again.

The PM was speaking to reporters after the formal handing-over ceremony of La Romaine Government Early Childhood Care and Education Centre and La Romaine High School.

He told reporters he first saw the video of the dance on television on Sunday night.

Manning said he did not ever want to see the racy dance again.

“I have been taking very careful note of this matter and the owners of Zen owe it to the public to take responsibility in this matter.

“I will be interfacing with them on this matter, because that kind of thing should never be allowed to happen in this country again.

“Some foreign artiste comes into this country and is allowed to do whatever he or she feels like and then we ascribe blame all over the place.”

Saying the owners of the place had a responsibility in the first instance, Manning added:

“They should never have allowed an act of that kind to occur. What else goes on in Zen or anywhere else in Port-of-Spain or Trinidad? We don’t know.

"But this is something I have taken careful note of.”

Asked whether he believed Akon should face charges for his lewd actions, Manning said:

“I don’t know what the law is. I haven’t checked the legal aspects of this. It is not for me to say who should be charged and who should not be charged; but certainly the law enforcement officers should take whatever action is necessary in this matter.”

He refused to comment on statements made by junior National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds, who described Alleyne as “stupid and wild.”

Manning said, however, the public must remember that Alleyne was a minor and should be forgiven.

“Yes (she should be forgiven). She is 14 years old. Therefore, it is quite clear that she was misled. I saw the video on TV last night (Sunday), and I don’t want to see it again in my life.

"I have no doubt that she was misled in all of that. She had lost control of that situation. That is why I raise issues with the owners of Zen.”

HELP FOR DANAH

Education Minister Hazel Manning says the ministry’s students support services have been contacted to provide assistance for Alleyne.

Asked whether she believed both Akon and Zen owners should be held accountable for the incident, the minister said she did not want to offer any other comment except to say that the whole affair was unfortunate.

Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 07:47:25 PM
“What else goes on in Zen or anywhere else in Port-of-Spain or Trinidad? We don’t know.
I would fathom a guess that it happens more than we are willing to admit.
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 23, 2007, 07:48:36 PM
                                                         Pastor’s daughter controversy

Manning to tackle Zen owners   

A pensive looking Danah Alleyne, 15, glances towards the ceiling as she sits in her brother’s office in Chaguanas on Friday. Photo: Adrian Boodan

PM appalled

Forgive Danah
Zen should share blame
Police should take action.
This type of thing should never happen in T&T again.
BY RADHICA SOOKRAJ

Prime Minister Patrick Manning is calling on the public to forgive the actions of teenager Danah Alleyne, who has been publicly ridiculed after participating in a raunchy dance with international rapper Akon, on April 12.

In fact, the PM, says the owners of Club Zen are responsible for Alleyne’s humiliation and should never have allowed such an incident to occur in the first place.

He has vowed to take up personally the issue with them.

Manning insisted that this type of thing should never happen in T&T again.

The PM was speaking to reporters after the formal handing-over ceremony of La Romaine Government Early Childhood Care and Education Centre and La Romaine High School.

He told reporters he first saw the video of the dance on television on Sunday night.

Manning said he did not ever want to see the racy dance again.

“I have been taking very careful note of this matter and the owners of Zen owe it to the public to take responsibility in this matter.

“I will be interfacing with them on this matter, because that kind of thing should never be allowed to happen in this country again.

“Some foreign artiste comes into this country and is allowed to do whatever he or she feels like and then we ascribe blame all over the place.”

Saying the owners of the place had a responsibility in the first instance, Manning added:

“They should never have allowed an act of that kind to occur. What else goes on in Zen or anywhere else in Port-of-Spain or Trinidad? We don’t know.

"But this is something I have taken careful note of.”

Asked whether he believed Akon should face charges for his lewd actions, Manning said:

“I don’t know what the law is. I haven’t checked the legal aspects of this. It is not for me to say who should be charged and who should not be charged; but certainly the law enforcement officers should take whatever action is necessary in this matter.”

He refused to comment on statements made by junior National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds, who described Alleyne as “stupid and wild.”

Manning said, however, the public must remember that Alleyne was a minor and should be forgiven.

“Yes (she should be forgiven). She is 14 years old. Therefore, it is quite clear that she was misled. I saw the video on TV last night (Sunday), and I don’t want to see it again in my life.

"I have no doubt that she was misled in all of that. She had lost control of that situation. That is why I raise issues with the owners of Zen.”

HELP FOR DANAH

Education Minister Hazel Manning says the ministry’s students support services have been contacted to provide assistance for Alleyne.

Asked whether she believed both Akon and Zen owners should be held accountable for the incident, the minister said she did not want to offer any other comment except to say that the whole affair was unfortunate.

So Manning has no idea whatsoever about the law pertaining to this type of activity in T&T?.....and then he refuse to comment on the shit his Minister said......Steupse
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 07:53:46 PM
1) I think he right not to give his personal opinion about the situation and he should leave it up to the Attorney General department to follow through with the investigation.
2) and on his ministers comment, maybe he does not want the immediate focus to shift from the original situation to what a minister has to say about the participant.
jmho
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 23, 2007, 08:01:17 PM
1) I think he right not to give his personal opinion about the situation and he should leave it up to the Attorney General department to follow through with the investigation.
2) and on his ministers comment, maybe he does not want the immediate focus to shift from the original situation to what a minister has to say about the participant.
jmho
I understand your two points....but it is an insult to the intelligence of the country if one of your ministers were to address a situation like this and then you (the leader of the country) has nothing to say about it...also if he chooses to let the Attorney general take legal action in this matter then he should just say say that!!..Dont be giving the impression that you have no legal knowledge of what can happen as a result of this situation at Club Zen...Who is he trying to fool?....Steupse..
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 23, 2007, 08:03:08 PM
jus imagin that happen here in USA wah alyuh feel might happen .
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 23, 2007, 08:07:36 PM
jus imagin that happen here in USA wah alyuh feel might happen .
If it reaches to the media (like what happened at Club Zen) then the state authorities will most likely shut the Club down...America have strict laws regarding underage kids being given access to clubs that serve alcohol...Now I know there are clubs who go around these laws but they are only taking  risks so they can generate income and they know dat they will only be caught if something serious was to happen at the Club (like Zen)...I know alot of Clubs that got shut down for stuff like this when I used to live in N.Y..
 and of course alot of clubs get shut down for re-accuring violence that happened at the clubs
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 08:10:23 PM
I kinda know what you mean but lets be fair
sometimes even dem lawyers in de Attorney general dept does take their time to consider all aspects of the law to aply it to some situations.
Post by: dcs on April 23, 2007, 08:20:03 PM

Licks...I have to agree with triniman about the lewd dancing.  Whether it paid or not it is still illegal....we talking law not morals.

And WC..as bad as this was...we should try to keep things accurate.  By the definition you gave (not even trini law BTW) it is not molestation.  Unless u want to argue provocative dancing is sexual activity and I don't believe that will hold up in court.

This thing is snowballing and people getting into a frenzy when they should just pipe down...leave the damn girl alone instead of further victimizing her like a pack of hungry wolves.

Akon and the owner of Zen have enough legal (and political...better believe) clout to survive this.  Right about now it is being blown way out of proportion.  The PM should not have been drawn into this by Hinds and his foolish opportunism.
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2007, 08:45:58 PM
And WC..as bad as this was...we should try to keep things accurate.  By the definition you gave (not even trini law BTW) it is not molestation.  Unless u want to argue provocative dancing is sexual activity and I don't believe that will hold up in court.

Ok, thanks for that DCS, but what I probably should have said is that the laws are meant to protect the innocent/underage members of society and yes I know she is a wild child but that is why the laws are there. Adults HAVE to take responsibilty.
Post by: dcs on April 23, 2007, 08:55:51 PM
Ok I definitly agree with you when u put it like that.   :beermug:

The other thing that is disturbing me more than anything else at this point is the reaction of the T&T public to this?  Have me wondering about my own reaction.  Ah mean no problem calling something wrong if it is but yuh does beat a stranger child?

This thread is about the parent handling punishment but from what I hearing we going overboard circulating pictures (some indecent?) and taking swipes at her (facebook I think).  If anything I have to thank the PM for standing up for the girl (and I doh like to thank him for nutten eh)

Are we trying to outdo Akon in abusing this girl?   :-\ 
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2007, 09:07:27 PM
Plus this thing they say is a sexual act when yuh in a fete and yuh dancing behind ah woman and she put the hands down on the ground or she grab on to the sumting   and bend she back and yuh grab she hips  back what position is that :whistling:

how about when them guys pic ladies up in fete an start dance with them and the lady grinding up her mid section u  is that simulating a sexual act also?  :devil:

I saw the performance with machel and the dance hall queen and she wrapped her legs around machel but her head between his legs and started shaking up her mid section etc etc

by your morals thats OK

Akon only did it  missionary style and a little eating (forget the girl age because she was suppose to be ova 18)

http://www.m2dezine.com/wukupnuff/pictures/soca_or_die_5/soca_or_die_5.html

Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 06:47:05 AM
Yes, we ALL have to realise that it was Technically sexual molestation

"Legal definition (U.S.)
In every state and federal jurisdiction of the United States, the law states that a minor below the age of consent in that state or jurisdiction cannot consent to sexual activity of any sort involving a partner (with certain exceptions). Such sexual activity is legally considered child abuse."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Child_sexual_abuse
when we ALL finally change our thinking this type of activity will become less and less.

Thank you very much!!
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 06:50:18 AM
jmho

He has to give his opinion as the LEADER of the country.   Hopefully, it would be a good opinion and that his opinion as a so-called leader and his opinion as an individual would be the same.
Post by: WestCoast on April 24, 2007, 08:40:57 AM
jmho
He has to give his opinion as the LEADER of the country.   Hopefully, it would be a good opinion and that his opinion as a so-called leader and his opinion as an individual would be the same.
check my response earlier here
jmho
I understand your two points....but it is an insult to the intelligence of the country if one of your ministers were to address a situation like this and then you (the leader of the country) has nothing to say about it...also if he chooses to let the Attorney general take legal action in this matter then he should just say say that!!..Dont be giving the impression that you have no legal knowledge of what can happen as a result of this situation at Club Zen...Who is he trying to fool?....Steupse..
I kinda know what you mean but lets be fair
sometimes even dem lawyers in de Attorney general dept does take their time to consider all aspects of the law to aply it to some situations.
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 08:51:17 AM
Ok I definitly agree with you when u put it like that.   :beermug:

The other thing that is disturbing me more than anything else at this point is the reaction of the T&T public to this?  Have me wondering about my own reaction.  Ah mean no problem calling something wrong if it is but yuh does beat a stranger child?

This thread is about the parent handling punishment but from what I hearing we going overboard circulating pictures (some indecent?) and taking swipes at her (facebook I think).   If anything I have to thank the PM for standing up for the girl (and I doh like to thank him for nutten eh)

Are we trying to outdo Akon in abusing this girl?   :-\ 

Well said.  Thank you. 
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 08:52:38 AM
WC ..what yuh was trying tuh say in de above post?  Yuh quote sumtin but i eh see no comment.  Do I need tuh change meh glasses?
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 08:55:50 AM

Licks...I have to agree with triniman about the lewd dancing.  Whether it paid or not it is still illegal....we talking law not morals.

This thing is snowballing and people getting into a frenzy when they should just pipe down...leave the damn girl alone instead of further victimizing her like a pack of hungry wolves.

Akon and the owner of Zen have enough legal (and political...better believe) clout to survive this.  Right about now it is being blown way out of proportion.  The PM should not have been drawn into this by Hinds and his foolish opportunism.

Not so sure i agree because this thing is/was all over the internet and therefore, the world and some people were saying this behaviour is part of the Trini culture which it is NOT.  I think as the leader of the country, he does have a responsibility to correct that misrepresentation and to help protect that child from further abuse.
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2007, 09:00:57 AM
My take on the situation: There are different layers of responibility in this situation, and none seemed to have played their part:

1- No matter how old the girl is/was- Akon's action was inappropriate. There is a video of him humping Tara Reid (popular actress) in one of his shows- it was alot less offensive, and Reid was actually enjoying it (or so it appeared). I refuse to believe that Deena enjoyed that dance. Akon is an artist who is paid to entertain and provide enjoyment through music & performance so fine, but I think he overstepped the bounds by putting someone through that "dance"- which did not appear to be entertaining or enjoying for the "dance" partner. (then again, maybe it was.....)

Ok- so Akon is not playing his part....who next?

2- Daddy is somewhat at fault, but only somewhat- Youngsters will find ways to escape the bounds of their parents for adolescent fun....... such is life, then, now and always..

3- In the event that daddy didn't do his part, the club also had a responsibility. If the club has an age limit policy, they are responsible for enforcing it- and the girl should not have gained entry.

Ok Daddy & Zen screwed up, who else is there?

4- The girl (Deena) has to take some responibility- she put herself in the situation.

Ok the girl is only 14...yuh live and learn, yuh make mistakes..... give her a bligh..but still all is not lost....

5- The patrons should have voiced their disapproval of the actions as well while it was happening instead of cheering it on.....(if they really did think it was inappropriate- maybe they didn't)

6- The DJ should have stopped the music and

7- Security should have stepped in and removed the girl from the situation.

At the end of the day, everyone has to take responsibility for his/her actions and we as people don't always need to find one shoulder (other than one's own of course) to lay all the blame upon. No one party exercised his/her parental, institutional, social or human responsibility, so of course in the end:

8- Various media as usual are also to blame. In the typical fashion, they have exploited an unfortunate incident under the guise of public service.

...and life goes on.
Post by: WestCoast on April 24, 2007, 10:03:13 AM
excellent Post Kicker
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 24, 2007, 12:37:42 PM
My take on the situation: There are different layers of responibility in this situation, and none seemed to have played their part:

1- No matter how old the girl is/was- Akon's action was inappropriate. There is a video of him humping Tara Reid (popular actress) in one of his shows- it was alot less offensive, and Reid was actually enjoying it (or so it appeared). I refuse to believe that Deena enjoyed that dance. Akon is an artist who is paid to entertain and provide enjoyment through music & performance so fine, but I think he overstepped the bounds by putting someone through that "dance"- which did not appear to be entertaining or enjoying for the "dance" partner. (then again, maybe it was.....)

Ok- so Akon is not playing his part....who next?

2- Daddy is somewhat at fault, but only somewhat- Youngsters will find ways to escape the bounds of their parents for adolescent fun....... such is life, then, now and always..

3- In the event that daddy didn't do his part, the club also had a responsibility. If the club has an age limit policy, they are responsible for enforcing it- and the girl should not have gained entry.

Ok Daddy & Zen screwed up, who else is there?

4- The girl (Deena) has to take some responibility- she put herself in the situation.

Ok the girl is only 14...yuh live and learn, yuh make mistakes..... give her a bligh..but still all is not lost....

5- The patrons should have voiced their disapproval of the actions as well while it was happening instead of cheering it on.....(if they really did think it was inappropriate- maybe they didn't)

6- The DJ should have stopped the music and

7- Security should have stepped in and removed the girl from the situation.

At the end of the day, everyone has to take responsibility for his/her actions and we as people don't always need to find one shoulder (other than one's own of course) to lay all the blame upon. No one party exercised his/her parental, institutional, social or human responsibility, so of course in the end:

8- Various media as usual are also to blame. In the typical fashion, they have exploited an unfortunate incident under the guise of public service.

...and life goes on.

Well said.   :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Dutty on April 24, 2007, 02:20:58 PM
excellent Post Kicker

Boy when Filho and kicker come in yuh thread...yuh DONE yuh know
TOO much logic and clarity...dey does suck all de bacchanal right out de room

I convince dem fellahs was head prefects from Form 1 to 6.....must be does still iron dey collars and cuffs wit spray starch an ting
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 24, 2007, 02:35:15 PM
Yuh know wah bothering me bout this ,we getting on like we never make ah mixtake  , when yuh iz ah teenager the chemicals doh flow level it flow with waves ,becauz i culd remember wen i waz growin up mae father would tell me dont do this , dont go here  and that iz exactly wat ah would do , get likks today and ah gone again tommorow and do the  samething.so alyuh doh try to drive the gurl crazy , in life yuh have to pay to learn and ah feel she learn something that would last she ah lifetime , if for some reason alyuh feel tha she eh learn nottin an alyuh still want to brutalize she well he who with out sin pelt the first stone . doh forget we was once a teenager think bout the crazy things yuh did and getaway  wid it .
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on April 24, 2007, 02:39:25 PM
Yuh know wah bothering me bout this ,we getting on like we never make ah mixtake  , when yuh iz ah teenager the chemicals doh flow level it flow with waves ,becauz i culd remember wen i waz growin up mae father would tell me dont do this , dont go here  and that iz exactly wat ah would do , get likks today and ah gone again tommorow and do the  samething.so alyuh doh try to drive the gurl crazy , in life yuh have to pay to learn and ah feel she learn something that would last she ah lifetime , if for some reason alyuh feel tha she eh learn nottin an alyuh still want to brutalize she well he who with out sin pelt the first stone . doh forget we was once a teenager think bout the crazy things yuh did and getaway  wid it .

dat is understanderable .... but not 2 b compared wit dis situation ........ it 2 crazy 2 b compared wit ur petty crimes ....  :angel:
Post by: Jahyouth on April 24, 2007, 03:26:00 PM
Well it happen now and it done.  But why the internet lynching of the girl?  All over the net is pictures passing here and videos passing there.

Could you imagine how a 14 year old girl, or anybody for that matter, will be feeling now with all the public scrutiny, and any and everybody playing judge and jury?
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2007, 04:25:18 PM

I convince dem fellahs was head prefects from Form 1 to 6.....must be does still iron dey collars and cuffs wit spray starch an ting

hahaha... ;D

You'll be surprised- wasn't even a prefect, much less head prefect.... and I wear non-iron shirts.....cyah handle da drama in the mornin'  ;D  (yes I know that wasn't meant literally....or was it  :-\)

Filho on the other hand...he'll have to answer for himself  :beermug: :beermug:

Thanks fuh tryin' to call me out though...yuh wicked dutty.
Post by: Feliziano on April 24, 2007, 05:17:27 PM
excellent Post Kicker

yeah dem is just come and mash up people comess thread with dey technical or logical explanations  ;D
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 25, 2007, 06:56:43 AM
excellent Post Kicker

I does be glad fuh ah lil logic and clarity, so lef dem!!
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 25, 2007, 04:38:59 PM
Finaly the T&T gov finaly pass a law yuh must have ID for entry in fetes and clubs alyuh feel that go wuk
Post by: DeSoWa on April 25, 2007, 04:49:05 PM
Finaly the T&T gov finaly pass a law yuh must have ID for entry in fetes and clubs alyuh feel that go wuk

So what u/dey saying is dat ALL fetes and CLUBS are now 18 yrs and over...

Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 26, 2007, 06:23:07 AM

It should be 21 years and over!..............Ah thought the legal drinking age is In T&T is 21years and over (not sure)...so if that's true then clubs and fetes should be 21 and over..
Post by: Themanfriday on April 26, 2007, 06:25:02 AM
21 and over sounds good tuh me
Post by: johnny_ringo on April 26, 2007, 08:44:29 AM
i ent read the whole thread so gimmie ah blie if i repeat some stuff...

1. Since when they does check ID in trini? i drinkin, smokin & REAL partyin since i was 12 and i never get carded. The club, celebs, nuts, base , pier 1, edge, parrots etc etc etc....i hit all before i was 18.
i not sayin it right but why are people ACTIN so surprised now?

2. Ive seen ALOT of stuff WORSE than that happen in Celebs, nuts & even Zen....if allyuh remember "wining competetion" allyuh done know

3. I've seen our own Soca artist do pretty much the same thing with girl of all ages

4. Why is the trini media STILL wastin their time on this???? Vindra still missin, who de hell care bout some horny african & chupid lil gual

5. Ive personally seen ALOT of passa passa wanna be dancers in trini so wats the real issue???? Again im not sayin it right, but why people actin so shocked, surprised, holier than thou when all this stuff has BEEN going on

6. If Akon was in Africa, or the middle east, or some parts of europe would this have even happened???? Monkey know which tree to climb. Also whether or not we want to admit it this kinda lewd activities has been prominent in our culture for MANY years....cock back & roll

Post by: FF on April 26, 2007, 08:54:31 AM
All who talking bout ID and Over 21 drinking age and dis and dat....

all dat is rubbish....

Too much frigging cable TV... dias de whole damn problem... all who see de gyul HI 5 page.... it plain to see.... we have a new MTV generation now.... dese children being raised by the wrong role models...

Parents need to raise dey children not cable television.... talk done...

Post by: Peong on April 26, 2007, 09:18:22 AM

So if someting like this happen in a US club, you'd expect Bush to comment right?

Manning doh have to say nutting on de topic.
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 26, 2007, 09:40:31 AM

So if someting like this happen in a US club, you'd expect Bush to comment right?

Trinidad is NOT the US and the impact of this situation on the perception of our people and our country is not the same as if this happened in a US club.

I stand by my opinion.
Post by: DeSoWa on April 26, 2007, 11:04:46 AM

It should be 21 years and over!..............Ah thought the legal drinking age is In T&T is 21years and over (not sure)...so if that's true then clubs and fetes should be 21 and over..

As far as I know, the legal Drinking and Smoking age in Trinidad and Tobago is 18 Years, unless something changed recently.

Post by: Peong on April 26, 2007, 11:36:56 AM

Trinidad is NOT the US and the impact of this situation on the perception of our people and our country is not the same as if this happened in a US club.

I stand by my opinion.

This is a tabloid topic.
Let Manning go and do some real work.
Allyuh want to bother him with chupidness like dis.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 26, 2007, 11:38:55 AM
http://www.geocities.jp/m_kato_clinic/mini-age-alcohol-eng-1.html

Minimum Drinking Age : MDA
Minimum Purchasing Age : MPA  

Country                 MDA MPA Legislation
Trinidad and Tobago 16     -        Bans consumption

this site here say 18 for the minimum purchasing age.

http://63.134.214.153/Portals/0/download/all_pdfs/tables/Age_Laws.pdf

Post by: Quags on April 26, 2007, 02:06:40 PM
Any body who missed the video the first time ,.......is she screaming
http://www.westindiantube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=c9dcd35e62896010cd9f
Post by: dcs on April 26, 2007, 04:31:24 PM

I hear she have a new profile online and she doh give xy z what people say.   :-\
Post by: Toppa on April 26, 2007, 07:11:31 PM
If any ah allyuh men on facebook, check out de group "Akon and he church baddist" is kicks fuh days. And de girl is ah real bad ting in truth cos she had all kinna half-naked picture, picture with no top orn, all kinna slackness. And if allyuh wa' see de video go to www.westindiantube.com
Post by: legal alien on April 26, 2007, 07:50:19 PM
ok , i now seeing how big an uproar this is. i just watched it on you tube, and i think
the girl had no right to be there at that show. she's fourteen.  i dont know the girl's father, but he  shouldn't let her go.
 at the same time, akon wasnt  checking IDs, but he  should know better.
     these pastors cannot even be good fathers. and we supposed to have faith in the church. they( the clergy in general) are all a bunch of two bit hustlers.
  if you know you genuine and god fearin, good for you. i  need to see less hypocrisy before i have enough desire to go to church. i'll just stay home and listen creflo dollar and all the others.
      i dont have any problem with what akon did to her on stage, except that it did not look good with her  being under 18.
Post by: legal alien on April 26, 2007, 07:56:17 PM
by the way i  i don't think anyone should use  use a "....cast the first stone" defense, because you know she did not have to be in that siuation.
Post by: Organic on April 26, 2007, 08:01:11 PM
If any ah allyuh men on facebook, check out de group "Akon and he church baddist" is kicks fuh days. And de girl is ah real bad ting in truth cos she had all kinna half-naked picture, picture with no top orn, all kinna slackness. And if allyuh wa' see de video go to www.westindiantube.com
wow...well this may help some people change thier unmovable opnion of the young girl.  bust now this gettign sensationalised.
steups... as bad as this is it have much worse much much worse.
Post by: legal alien on April 26, 2007, 08:08:39 PM
wow...well this may help some people change thier unmovable opnion of the young girl.  bust now this gettign sensationalised.
steups... as bad as this is it have much worse much much worse.
her face makes me  feel sorry for her
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 27, 2007, 06:56:59 AM

I stand by my opinion.

This is a tabloid topic.
Let Manning go and do some real work.
Allyuh want to bother him with chupidness like dis.

It's sad that you consider this to be "tabloid".  No doubt many others have that same opinion as you and a situation like this is bound to reoccur.  Running a country, IMO, is no different than running a business or a home.  It's not only BIG issues/things that keep it running well.

Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 07:36:37 AM
I have to agree that Manning does not need to be in this. The state isn't running the home and THAT is where this stems from. Too much government involvement gets you into situations like China, Iran and Iraq. Manning has much bigger fish to fry and chasing after this problem isn't even close to being on that agenda. T&T has a lot of festering wounds that he needs to keep his eye on. we cannot keep looking to Big Brother to fix ourselves.

This needs to be dealt with by that child, her family, the club. I'd like to see Akon unwelcomed but then again, there are some who think this was business as usual and no big deal.

If this young lady really isn't remourseful then why are we dithering over this still? Akon got his fee for the night?
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 27, 2007, 07:49:25 AM
See...you guys are looking at this from the standpoint one ONE girl, ONE person, ONE incident.  I am not suggesting that Manning try to solve her problem but the problem of the NATION.  My concern or view of the situation is from the attitude towards ALL women.  A government in my opinion has the responsibility to not just set budgets and meet with world leaders and such but to set good examples, to help LEAD the nation.  It is the degredation of women that concerns me and the total inability by many to see that.

The focus continues to be about this child and how she look fuh dat and how she parents tuh blame and how she shouldn't ah be dey and those very weak excuses.  No one is asking the question why we continue to see this as no big thing.

Who is this child and others like her.  Not the future of the country?  What example is this?  Why even if she was 44 does Akon and others like her feel that it is acceptable to behave this way and why do women continue to accept this kind of behaviour too.  

Our children are the future and if we don't see it as a responsibility of our leaders to ensure that the next generation is worthy of leading, then we are truly in a very very sad state.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 07:53:05 AM
I agree this is a people problem but I can't agree that the state should tell me how to run my home.
Manning's job is to set those budgets and handle my taxes and fix my roads and deal with my foreign policies. I cannot and must not abdicate my responsibilities. I am birthing the future of the nation among them, future PMs.

It isn't about this one child, it is about people and people need to handle themselves better. Manning can in no way, legislate responsibility.
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 07:55:40 AM
Ok how old is these girl i hope ova 18 cause i may be tempted to touch  :devil: .

tempted to touch

http://www.westindiantube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=50adb0e71943adc8015c

dancing to saucy
http://www.westindiantube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=6854880943e5c3cd9ca2

look at this little one
http://www.westindiantube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=b0e6ecb5b568ff5058f0

so now u patroling the internet looking for under age girls daning and posting thier videos on line to prove what mr??
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 27, 2007, 07:57:23 AM
Ok how old is these girl i hope ova 18 cause i may be tempted to touch  :devil: .

tempted to touch

dancing to saucy

look at this little one

so now u patroling the internet looking for under age girls daning and posting thier videos on line to prove what mr??

an abuse of technology
Post by: cocoapanyol on April 27, 2007, 07:57:49 AM
I done!!
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 08:00:09 AM

tempted to touch

dancing to saucy

look at this little one

an abuse of technology
still fail to see yuh pt? u acting liek people eh knwo dais a common occurance and by actually lookign for them and posting them here u encouraging it.
steups wah kinda slackness is this..de girl in her udnerwaer brudda man..i think u should get rid a dat link. in my opnion..steups
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 27, 2007, 08:09:37 AM

tempted to touch

dancing to saucy

look at this little one

an abuse of technology
still fail to see yuh pt? u acting liek people eh knwo dais a common occurance and by actually lookign for them and posting them here u encouraging it.
steups wah kinda slackness is this..de girl in her udnerwaer brudda man..i think u should get rid a dat link. in my opnion..steups

I am encouraging them to do that by posting it on socawarriors.net ?? now yuh have me lost
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 08:12:03 AM

tempted to touch

dancing to saucy

look at this little one

an abuse of technology

I am encouraging them to do that by posting it on socawarriors.net ?? now yuh have me lost
no! some of these giirls obviouly under age dude. so cause they parents fail to prevent this or miss it or even allow it eh amke it right.
lemme guess u eh have no children...a daughter do you. then u woulda understand
what u encouraging is nto them doing it. well maybe u r...cause if people lookign at it..then they will continue showing off..supply and demand.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 08:17:00 AM
no! some of these giirls obviouly under age dude. so cause they parents fail to prevent this or miss it or even allow it eh amke it right.
lemme guess u eh have no children...a daughter do you. then u woulda understand
what u encouraging is nto them doing it. well maybe u r...cause if people lookign at it..then they will continue showing off..supply and demand.

bingo
Post by: dcs on April 27, 2007, 08:48:21 AM

What he is doing is letting the concerned public know what is going on.  The people in this thread are for the most part talking about how we take care of our youths.  It was not posted for entertainment.  I understand what you'll talking about in circulating it but it is public domain!!!  That is the point.  Whether he send u a link or not it still there for the world to see.
If you have an issue take it up with the website or those responsible for the material being there.  And lack of awareness that these things exist is exactly why some of these things there. 

The main issue to me is not circulation because we have little to no control over that.  Best be aware and figure out how to prevent these things getting on the net in the first place.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 09:02:30 AM
yes but dcs...

I know there are kiddie porn sites out there. I could start a thread and list them here to point out their existence OR I can say "There are kiddie porn sites out there and we should lobby for their removal..."

Which choice might further promote those sites?
Post by: Peong on April 27, 2007, 09:05:13 AM
It's sad that you consider this to be "tabloid".  No doubt many others have that same opinion as you and a situation like this is bound to reoccur.  Running a country, IMO, is no different than running a business or a home.  It's not only BIG issues/things that keep it running well.

If yuh have a large home, yuh might need a maid, a gardener, or get yuh kids to wash de car, sweep de gallery, wash de clothes.

If Manning didn't delegate tasks and responsibilities he would be a poor PM.

The article said Manning refused to comment on Minister Hinds comments about de girl.
That is even less important.
You want the PM to get involved in commess.
Post by: dcs on April 27, 2007, 09:14:57 AM
yes but dcs...

I know there are kiddie porn sites out there. I could start a thread and list them here to point out their existence OR I can say "There are kiddie porn sites out there and we should lobby for their removal..."

I doh think this in the same vein as kiddie porn because that is undeniably illegal and forwarding such links is actually against the law.

Seeing is believing.  U tell people about u-tube or whatever and they say yea ok I already heard about that. U think people's response to the Akon incident would be remotely the same if people were told a video existed but didn't see it for themselves?  If people didn't see the video but only had verbal accounts I don't think it may have made it more than two days of public debate about our youths.

Same with parents...a lot of them would just say that is what the youths and them into these days.  They need to see it for themselves.
Post by: Blue on April 27, 2007, 12:13:10 PM
Dunno if these links have been posted before, but this story has gone international

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/wenn/20070424/ten-anger-over-akon-dance-c60bd6d.html
http://www.contactmusic.com/news.nsf/article/investigation%20into%20akon%20dirty%20dancing_1029363

A friend of mine also heard it on UK radio news earlier today.

In my opinion, Manning is making a mountain out of a molehill to the media. Personally I wish dey wud just drop the damn story - everyone who has ever been Zen or any other club in TnT knows that yuh dont have to be 18 to get in, especially if you are a girl. As long as yuh look old enough, yuh good - and to me, she looked old enough.

Blame her parents, fine the club, make them check IDs in the future and we good to go. Move on.
Post by: WestCoast on April 27, 2007, 12:14:35 PM
Blame her parents, fine the club, make them check IDs in the future and we good to go. Move on.
simple and to the point
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: grskywalker on April 27, 2007, 01:55:57 PM
This AKON is a real NUT oui  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 04:43:47 PM
yes but dcs...

I doh think this in the same vein as kiddie porn because that is undeniably illegal and forwarding such links is actually against the law.

Seeing is believing.  U tell people about u-tube or whatever and they say yea ok I already heard about that. U think people's response to the Akon incident would be remotely the same if people were told a video existed but didn't see it for themselves?  If people didn't see the video but only had verbal accounts I don't think it may have made it more than two days of public debate about our youths.

Same with parents...a lot of them would just say that is what the youths and them into these days.  They need to see it for themselves.

plenty ting went on back in the pre-YouTube days. Some of my friends went on to be respectable mothers and fathers, priests, nuns and teachers. One or two working de streets I hear...
Somebody asked me if things are getting worse or if things are getting aired.
Post by: dcs on April 27, 2007, 04:53:43 PM

YES..I wonder about that too.
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 04:55:18 PM
yes but dcs...

plenty ting went on back in the pre-YouTube days. Some of my friends went on to be respectable mothers and fathers, priests, nuns and teachers. One or two working de streets I hear...
exaclty. i not seeing naythign new..from when i was in my teens or the stories i heard from de older head on de corner. de kinda racket them tell me about men and women when they were young it comparable and in alot of cases worse than what i seeing or hearing about now.
is jus youtube etc have every body business all over de world.
anybody say ti getting worse..um remeber playing house..
i rmeber how far my "play house went".
this topic analysed inside out  and outside in.  it have mor epresseing matters in the world... people dying

Post by: Queen Macoomeh on April 27, 2007, 06:16:38 PM
well yes and no. As big as I am, I still get surprised by people. Call me naive or just plain chupid but some folks will say or do something and my mouth drops open. A lot has to do with your upbringing and exposure to the world I guess.

I would be scandalized if my daughter at 14 were to carry on this way but then I might buss a social wine and scandalize somebody else. Some forms of dancing and certainly the passa passa dance isn't my thing. We all had a girl like her in class. The one the boys used for target practice.

I have nothing more to say about the girl other than what I posted earlier. She isn't the first and the last. Ma used to tell me 'you can make the child but you can't make their mind.' I didn't really get that until I had my own. They will be their own person. I will try my best with them and then hope for some of it to take. On the flip side, some really nice people I've met have had hellions for parents but still came through alright.

Some things are changing though PH...I'm in the classroom often, there is a lack of accountability and an underlying anger in the youth...there is an ennui and an aged dispassion that I don't recall while I was growing up. In grade 1 to about 3 I see the fresh, eager faces and then it vanishes.
I remember us as being enthusiastic, energetic getting into all sorts of mischief yes, but knew when mummy or daddy came home we're in BIG cah cah...
..now...dunno...even when daddy or mummy come home and find Buffy in bed with the entire football squad they just close the door and go to watch Oprah.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 27, 2007, 11:29:26 PM
well the akon thing now reach VH1 best week ever...jus in case pple wanted to kno
Post by: Feliziano on April 28, 2007, 05:11:45 AM
well the akon thing now reach VH1 best week ever...jus in case pple wanted to kno
yeah we on we way to 2020 status early..the Manning project kicking into gear now  ;D
we doign all kinda thing to make international news..Lord alone whats next..steups..well could be the Machel thing lol
Post by: dinho on May 21, 2007, 02:47:17 PM
A brand new Danah Alleyne video!!

I jump ship, I cyah defend she no more, she's a baddis...

http://www.westindiantube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=4cbf16240daa92d8d50e
Post by: grskywalker on May 21, 2007, 02:56:05 PM
HA HAHA HA LLOOOOK TINNGG :o :o :o She is a wasi ting, is camera she like so!!! Doubt the father knew she went there too. She should ride the wave(pardon the pun) and get some opportunities abroard. The girl future looking bright.

Is always them Pastor children that is the most WASI :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 26, 2007, 07:01:26 PM
ha ha well wha daddy doing now
Post by: Feliziano on May 28, 2007, 07:38:28 PM
HA HAHA HA LLOOOOK TINNGG :o :o :o She is a wasi ting, is camera she like so!!! Doubt the father knew she went there too. She should ride the wave(pardon the pun) and get some opportunities abroard. The girl future looking bright.

Is always them Pastor children that is the most WASI :rotfl: :rotfl:

how come she appear in so much music video and the father and dem didnt know?
boy like she have natural talent  :o
well with all this international exposure ah hope she get a contract somewhere yes
Post by: rastafari on June 05, 2007, 07:30:57 AM
Her parent's have to take responsibility for what she did. She should not be allowed to go to a nightclub at that age.

Akon exploited her and other women for his personal entertainment. The man in the business for a while and he knows that most girls would do things like this ; just to be on the stage with him.

As was posted in another thread we are a nation of HYPOCRITES. We have a culture of Carnival, when we go to fetes, drink alcohol and  wine on each other in public.

Now i don't care who is vex with me, tell me something, nobody does anything about all dem little girls wining down de place at carnival time, some with big men in public.

Tell me allyuh never see this!

Who is setting the example?

You got that right. It is the adults and our leaders that give the impression that our way of life is good; the younger ones simply follow.

Check this! it is alright at Carnival time because that is we culture right but any other time it is wrong.

I am not condoning what happened in Zen. I only want to compare it to what happens at carnival time.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on June 07, 2007, 09:58:21 AM
Her parent's have to take responsibility for what she did. She should not be allowed to go to a nightclub at that age.

Akon exploited her and other women for his personal entertainment. The man in the business for a while and he knows that most girls would do things like this ; just to be on the stage with him.

As was posted in another thread we are a nation of HYPOCRITES. We have a culture of Carnival, when we go to fetes, drink alcohol and  wine on each other in public.

Now i don't care who is vex with me, tell me something, nobody does anything about all dem little girls wining down de place at carnival time, some with big men in public.

Tell me allyuh never see this!

Who is setting the example?

You got that right. It is the adults and our leaders that give the impression that our way of life is good; the younger ones simply follow.

Check this! it is alright at Carnival time because that is we culture right but any other time it is wrong.

I am not condoning what happened in Zen. I only want to compare it to what happens at carnival time.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:        well said
but ah fine is time we rest dis case  :angel:
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 10:00:49 PM
Well seems like time have mature some people....
http://www.newsday.co.tt/features/0,98710.html

Glorifest 2K9 – The colours of praise

Saturday, April 18 2009

(http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t76/TCana/2009-04-18-7-3B.jpg)
Danah Alleyne makes her debut as a gospel singer at Glorifest 2K9....

COLOURS, colours, colours, the colours of the people, the colours of praise. These were some of the lyrics that were sung by new gospel artiste Danah Alleyne during a high-energy performance at Glorifest 2K9.

Hundreds of believers converged at the Flaming Word Ministry compound, Caroni Savannah Road, Chaguanas, to participate in the fourth annual Glorifest.

Danah’s father, Bishop Dave Alleyne, President of Flaming Word Ministry, in his opening remarks expressed that even beyond prayer; praise is the key to national prosperity and has the potential to fix all social ills. This statement may seem ludicrous however it is the word of God that if the nation will praise him, the earth itself will bring forth her increase. He further stated that if we refuse to praise God the stones will rise up in our place and praise the Lord. This is the essence of Glorifest – A Festival of Glory.

The event was day two of the ministry’s annual Easter trilogy programme which began on Good Friday with a special production of ‘The Trial of Jesus’ and concluded on Easter Sunday with its resurrection theme ‘Be Not Silent’.

The programme featured many rising gospel stars of Flaming Word Ministry such as Sophia Star, FWM Blaze, FWM Glory Dancers,/Steppers, FWM Choir, Leah Lewis, Hayden (The Levite) Charles, the Original Diva. Also performing were many well known local gospel artistes such as Eccletic, Christ Dymension and Gita Dan.
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 10:17:43 PM
Dana overs Zen... she shaking she bamsee fuh Jesus now.

Do yuh thing Dana... dust off he hatas and get yuh holy ghost swagger on.
Post by: Montjoy on April 21, 2009, 03:36:14 AM
Dana overs Zen... she shaking she bamsee fuh Jesus now.

Do yuh thing Dana... dust off he hatas and get yuh holy ghost swagger on.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on January 13, 2010, 10:50:28 AM
THE PASTOR'S DAUGHTER IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWKUyxvV_E8&feature=related)
Post by: weary1969 on January 13, 2010, 10:53:41 AM
THE PASTOR'S DAUGHTER IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWKUyxvV_E8&feature=related)

Friend she neva left
Post by: lefty on January 13, 2010, 11:07:56 AM

dat ole.... 2007