Sports => Football => Topic started by: Toppa on April 23, 2007, 12:54:07 AM

Title: The race for La Liga title is on!!
Post by: Toppa on April 23, 2007, 12:54:07 AM
Real beat Valencia 2-1 on Saturday...Barca lost to Villa Real 0-2 today cutting their lead at the top to just one. So Sevilla are in second place an Real in third...just two point separating Real from Barca. mwahaha!

Anway...ah fed up of the board being doiminated by schupid EPL, lets' talk about the most attractive and exciting league in football.

Spanish Primiera.
Title: Re: The race for La Liga title is on!!
Post by: Themanfriday on April 23, 2007, 03:30:00 AM
Talk wit yuhself  ;D

Post by: jai john on April 23, 2007, 08:10:19 AM
Real beat Valencia 2-1 on Saturday...Barca lost to Villa Real 0-2 today cutting their lead at the top to just one. So Sevilla are in second place an Real in third...just two point separating Real from Barca. mwahaha!

Anway...ah fed up of the board being doiminated by schupid EPL, lets' talk about the most attractive and exciting league in football.

Spanish Primiera.

You know it will probably take the introduction of a trini footballer to spark interest in la liga ...... lets say a young TT footballer to a club like Villareal perhaps  ::) until that happens then the board will be dominated by EPL and even the lower leagues in England and Scotland.Of course many will miss the fact that the world's best players and teams  play in La Liga, according to the stats, but we have no local interests there do we ?
In terms of excitement the EPL has a strong case but for attractive football I agree with you that La Liga leads the way.
Villareal , meanwhile has completed the second round double by beating both Real Madrid and Barcelona ...but not even the Barcelona fans noticed ... :angel:...
Post by: Peong on April 23, 2007, 08:20:33 AM
Barcelona get their asses handed to them.

Looks like  Riquelme's departure has not had any negative effects at Villareal.
Good for them.
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2007, 09:02:32 AM
i feel the waning la liga interest is because of CNC and dey shit...

We dont really get spanish football on cable again.. Not even a lil La Liga highlight show... And as for Italian football, i fed up now of switching on the tv to see the same few teams always playing.. Catania, Messina, Torino and Cagliari.. Only the worst games they showing...

So men must talk bout EPL only if that is all being fed.

La liga is still the best league.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2007, 09:25:43 AM
Go Sevilla   f**k Barca and Madrid
Post by: Filho on April 23, 2007, 09:56:31 AM
La Liga is sweet..but the top 5 teams can't seem to put together a winning run lately and the inconsistency is baffling. Sevilla seem to suffer from nerves when on top and only seem to win when they are chasing Barca. Barca's away form in 2007 has been simply abysmal. They played Villareal off the park yetserday....I think Villareal had maybe four shots on goal...yet Barca lost that game 0-2. Barca learned the most cruel lesson in football. They made endless chances..but if you don't score  :-\ Not sure what is wrong with them. Real Madrid could win the whole thing even though they are playing some dour football. But their away record is superb and that is why they are still in the hunt. It's close..it's exciting...but Lord is it frustrating. Top flight football at its best and worst. The 4th place race with Valencia, Zaragoza and Atletico is...The way things going, they could sneak into the title race too
Post by: Toppa on April 23, 2007, 10:05:50 AM
La Liga is sweet..but the top 5 teams can't seem to put together a winning run lately and the inconsistency is baffling. Sevilla seem to suffer from nerves when on top and only seem to win when they are chasing Barca. Barca's away form in 2007 has been simply abysmal. They played Villareal off the park yetserday....I think Villareal had maybe four shots on goal...yet Barca lost that game 0-2. Barca learned the most cruel lesson in football. They made endless chances..but if you don't score  :-\ Not sure what is wrong with them. Real Madrid could win the whole thing even though they are playing some dour football. But their away record is superb and that is why they are still in the hunt. It's close..it's exciting...but Lord is it frustrating. Top flight football at its best and worst. The 4th place race with Valencia, Zaragoza and Atletico is...The way things going, they could sneak into the title race too

But to me that's what makes La Liga so exciting and the fact that you've got so many teams chasing the title, shows superior quality of the football and the greater level of competition (not trying to turn it into an EPL vs La Liga debate). Ah does rate Barca, but Real is muh first team and even though ah want them to get rid of Capello, ah still backing them for the League title. Hala Madrid!
Post by: Israel on April 23, 2007, 10:10:45 AM
La Liga fan here. I think La Liga proves that is has a lot of depth.

Go Barca
Post by: breezers on April 23, 2007, 11:17:40 AM

But to me that's what makes La Liga so exciting and the fact that you've got so many teams chasing the title, shows superior quality of the football and the greater level of competition (not trying to turn it into an EPL vs La Liga debate). Ah does rate Barca, but Real is muh first team and even though ah want them to get rid of Capello, ah still backing them for the League title. Hala Madrid!

jus tuh add with dat in la liga yuh more likely tuh get ah bottom dweller winning games against dem big teams on ah more consisitent basis when compared tuh dah Boo League in England...Anyway fuh all de men who like nice football....Barca have de title lock!! Sevilla wouldn't be able tuh hole dey nerves and keep up with de chase...however, yuh alwayz have tuh fear madrid..but ah doh think dey have all dat gas man...settling fuh 2nd best in de world eh bad ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Grande on April 23, 2007, 11:23:15 AM
I real excited about Sevilla...they are a quality team without the big names. Even as  Barca fan I won't mind if Sevilla take the league title.

Post by: jai john on April 23, 2007, 11:23:40 AM

I think you made a good case here to illustrate the quality of La liga. The fact that the top teams cant take it easy is testimony to that fact. You were a little hard on Sevilla who, unlike the others, still have European committments. It is not easy to play both competitions, especially when at this stage you cant take chances and rest your top players. Top flight football at its best shows the willingness of the lesser teams to fight the big guns. THe fact that Real  or barca loses is evidence that the league is strong were it not so then Scotland would have a claim to have the best league in Europe as their top 2 probably have the best record in any league in the world.
Post by: breezers on April 23, 2007, 11:50:01 AM
I real excited about Sevilla...they are a quality team without the big names. Even as  Barca fan I won't mind if Sevilla take the league title.

yeah yeah..ah agree with Sevilla being ah nice lil team and dey have some good talent in men like Chevanton, Luis Fabiano and Kanoute..but is no pity fuh dem...Barca all de way fuh de league..Ah backin Sevilla in de UEFA cup doe..........
Post by: breezers on April 23, 2007, 12:13:20 PM

Spanish Primiera.

Madrid highlights against Valencia....Good finish from muh fellow Dutchman!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFRW1aTXUgU
Post by: Toppa on April 23, 2007, 12:14:02 PM

jus tuh add with dat in la liga yuh more likely tuh get ah bottom dweller winning games against dem big teams on ah more consisitent basis when compared tuh dah Boo League in England...Anyway fuh all de men who like nice football....Barca have de title lock!! Sevilla wouldn't be able tuh hole dey nerves and keep up with de chase...however, yuh alwayz have tuh fear madrid..but ah doh think dey have all dat gas man...settling fuh 2nd best in de world eh bad ;D ;D ;D

Doh worry, Real Madrid have plenty gyass. N Barca just making it easy fuh us.
Post by: kicker on April 23, 2007, 12:44:17 PM
You were a little hard on Sevilla who, unlike the others, still have European committments. It is not easy to play both competitions, especially when at this stage you cant take chances and rest your top players.

Good point...
Post by: Filho on April 23, 2007, 03:23:05 PM
You were a little hard on Sevilla who, unlike the others, still have European committments. It is not easy to play both competitions, especially when at this stage you cant take chances and rest your top players.

Good point...

that is a good point for the last month or so, but Sevilla has gone top of La Liga and and missed out on chances to pull away from Barca on a few occasions, long before Barca, Madrid and most recently Valencia were knocked out of Europe. I am not just describing their recent form. This merry yoyo dance at the top of La Liga has been going on for months. I understand how European football may affect them more as they don't have the depth of a Barca...but in theory they also aren't playing against the same quality of teams as Barca in Europe. So I can't really use Europe as an excuse until very recently.

La Liga going to be heart-attack down to the wire...plus it looking like a Sevilla - Barca Copa Del Rey final...although given Barca's away form..you cyah count them in the final yet
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2007, 03:33:24 PM
peong .........which game u watch, barca loss  yes but thats something that always holds true in football when u fail to score your chances u will pay plain and simple.

and mr grande man what kinda supporter u be, how can u not mind if sevilla win d league :o.....thats like ah man utd fan saying they  n mind  chlesea winning d league.  u fail to  realise sevilla still in the running for 3 trophies
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2007, 03:40:57 PM
peong .........which game u watch, barca loss  yes but thats something that always holds true in football when u fail to score your chances u will pay plain and simple.

and mr grande man what kinda supporter u be, how can u not mind if sevilla win d league :o.....thats like ah man utd fan saying they  n mind  chlesea winning d league.  u fail to  realise sevilla still in the running for 3 trophies

point exactly about Mr Grande

d man is talk level shittt

check any C.Ronaldo or EPL related thread
Post by: Grande on April 23, 2007, 10:26:35 PM

freakazoid and Small Mag,

I do not exclusively support any club. I said I am a barca fan in this thread but they are just one of MANY.

I am not a diehard fan of any one club.

This stance helps me appreciate the different leagues and teams that world football has to offer in a more fulfilling way.

A couple of my friends are diehards of particular teams, and as such, their respective views on football are quite limited, if not biased. This is fine for some but not for me.

Check this thread for what I mean:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=22970.0
Post by: Jah Gol on April 24, 2007, 05:47:41 AM
I am a hard core La Liga supporter. I said in an another thread that this year belong to the EPL team ( that much is not really disputable) but Spain maintains a high quality of play from top to bottom. Its just a very competitive league with a lot of quality. Villareal's form has waned tremendously this season but watch any of their games and you'd see the quality they possess. When Barca beat them earlier this season (when Ronnie scored the outragous Bicycle kick) ,Villareal actually had a decent game but just couldn't match Barca's class at the Nou Camp.

It is still the best football to watch IMV.

Barca will still take the league and cup.
Post by: Trini on April 24, 2007, 06:07:28 AM
That is a real boss goal real score vs Valencia (Ruud's goal).
The approach play is one of the best I have ever seen.
The finish was exquisite.

A goal to rival Messi's last week...

title race open!
Post by: breezers on April 29, 2007, 03:06:38 PM
Well it look like we goin right down tuh de wire...Barca, Sevilla & Madrid all win dey matches dis round...but judging by de last few games..ah feel Barca have de easiest route..So we should & would be victorius!! ;D ;D 

Barcelona  1 - 0  Levante                 (62 pts)
FC Sevilla   3 - 1  Espanyol                (61 pts)
Athletic Bilbao   1 - 4   Real Madrid     (60 pts)

BARCELONA
Real Sociedad    v  Barcelona
Barcelona  v  Real Betis    
Atlético Madrid  v  Barcelona
Barcelona  v  Getafe    
Barcelona   v  Espanyol
Gimnastic de Tarragona     v  Barcelona

SEVILLA
Real Madrid  v  FC Sevilla
FC Sevilla  v  Recreativo Huelva
Deportivo La Coruña  v  FC Sevilla
FC Sevilla  v  Real Zaragoza
Mallorca  v  FC Sevilla
FC Sevilla  v  Villarreal

REAL MADRID
Real Madrid  v  Espanyol
Recreativo Huelva  v  Real Madrid
Real Madrid  v  Deportivo La Coruña
Real Zaragoza  v  Real Madrid
Real Madrid  v  Mallorca
Post by: Toppa on April 29, 2007, 05:12:56 PM
Hala Madrid!!
Post by: Filho on April 29, 2007, 05:32:21 PM
Well it look like we goin right down tuh de wire...Barca, Sevilla & Madrid all win dey matches dis round...but judging by de last few games..ah feel Barca have de easiest route..So we should & would be victorius!! ;D ;D 

Barcelona  1 - 0  Levante                 (62 pts)
FC Sevilla   3 - 1  Espanyol                (61 pts)
Athletic Bilbao   1 - 4   Real Madrid     (60 pts)

BARCELONA
Real Sociedad    v  Barcelona
Barcelona  v  Real Betis    
Atlético Madrid  v  Barcelona
Barcelona  v  Getafe    
Barcelona   v  Espanyol
Gimnastic de Tarragona     v  Barcelona

SEVILLA
FC Sevilla  v  Recreativo Huelva
Deportivo La Coruña  v  FC Sevilla
FC Sevilla  v  Real Zaragoza
Mallorca  v  FC Sevilla
FC Sevilla  v  Villarreal

REAL MADRID
Real Madrid  v  Espanyol
Recreativo Huelva  v  Real Madrid
Real Madrid  v  Deportivo La Coruña
Real Zaragoza  v  Real Madrid
Real Madrid  v  Mallorca

I worried for Barca. Their away form has been abysmal in 2007. 4 points in 4 months of football...it's one of the reasons we even talking about a title race. Plus they playing Atletico Madrid away...the one team that has had their number for the past 3 years....home and away. I hoping they could pull it of but poor away form and only managing to scrape 1-0 wins in their last 2 home games means Barca is clearly not in top form. Madrid and Sevilla have tougher fixtures...but Barca inability to win on the road in 2007, means that this is most likely going down to the wire for true.

Barca all the way!
Post by: JDB on April 29, 2007, 06:22:21 PM
I am not a La Liga afficionado like allyuh men but it definitely looking like Madrid have the best chance provided that they beat Sevilla next week.

After all the weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth over Capello it seems like he still has Madrid as close to the title as they have been since Del Bosque.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2007, 06:53:13 PM
Finally something exciting happening in this piece a shit league

Go Sevilla
Post by: skins on April 29, 2007, 07:23:53 PM
Barcelona going to win again.
Post by: Israel on April 30, 2007, 02:15:04 PM
But it seems as if Madrid has the hardest schedule. This will be an exciting finish.
Post by: FF on April 30, 2007, 02:27:12 PM
But it seems as if Madrid has the hardest schedule. This will be an exciting finish.

I kinda agree....

but for Barca... that Atletico game and dat last game of the season game against Nastic is worries... with their away form.... hmmm

de problem for Madrid is that they probably have to WIN all their remaining games and dat... in any other season would still be a tall order...

Sevilla if they could see off Madrid next week can take that momenutm forward but they too have a nasty 3 game run in at the end...

But with all dat ah still watcing dat Atletico game and especially dat Nastic game for Barca... allyuh realize dey scrape against Getafe this weekend... if it come down to that Nastic game... ah know real "maletin" going and pass....
All Barca fans really ent want dat to come down to the wire at all at all
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 12:37:36 PM
Real Madrid vs Espanyol. Ah doh know de score buh Espanyol juss score.
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 12:40:15 PM
Wha de arrrrse! Is 3-1 Espanyol n first half eh even dun yet. Real better make ah come back!
Post by: FF on May 12, 2007, 12:50:09 PM
Wha de arrrrse! Is 3-1 Espanyol n first half eh even dun yet. Real better make ah come back!

Kameni, Rufete and Pandiani on fire....

ah feel Real could do it though.... about 70% possession so far...

I eh know how long Espanyol could hold out.... but they very dangerous on de break
Post by: Filho on May 12, 2007, 01:01:41 PM

I eh go lie..it will be very ironic if Real Madrid loses at home to the other team from Barcelona. Espanyol resting plenty of their top players too. No De La Pena, no Raul Tamudo, no Zabaleta. Usually I would want Real to blow this side out the water. But is crunch time and Barca needs all the help it could get  ;D
Anyway..game far from over. Real Madrid could more than come back from this. This game definitely have more goals..if Real Madrid score the next goal..they will go on to win. Espanyol lucky that the Uruguayan have his scoring boots on today. When is the last time anybodys score a first half hattrick against Madrid.

Ruud on fire...every game is goals
Real missing Robinho.

Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:12:11 PM

I eh go lie..it will be very ironic if Real Madrid loses at home to the other team from Barcelona. Espanyol resting plenty of their top players too. No De La Pena, no Raul Tamudo, no Zabaleta. Usually I would want Real to blow this side out the water. But is crunch time and Barca needs all the help it could get  ;D
Anyway..game far from over. Real Madrid could more than come back from this. This game definitely have more goals..if Real Madrid score the next goal..they will go on to win. Espanyol lucky that the Uruguayan have his scoring boots on today. When is the last time anybodys score a first half hattrick against Madrid.

Ruud on fire...every game is goals
Real missing Robinho.

:D

Buh Raul score so is 3-2 Is ah new Real dis second half, dey attcking n ting.
Post by: FF on May 12, 2007, 01:16:18 PM
3-3 now...

doh frighten Toppa darling...

Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:17:44 PM
3-3 now...

doh frighten Toppa darling...

Gooooooool! Look Espanyol wa fight! lol
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:23:41 PM
Casillas just make ah decent save dey.
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:25:33 PM
Waaay Real "tekking it to dem".
Post by: FF on May 12, 2007, 01:47:16 PM
FATHER LORD YES!!!!!!!

GOAL
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:49:58 PM
About time!!! 4-3 F*ckers!!!
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:51:21 PM
FATHER LORD YES!!!!!!!

GOAL

N it was ah swet setup n ting eh. How he pull back de ball from de defender smooth smooth...nice. He geh ah yellow card buh he eh business.
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:52:50 PM
The King is back!!
Post by: Jah Gol on May 12, 2007, 01:54:20 PM
Yuh can't beat the Spanish league for pure football. Barca still taking it though.
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 01:56:14 PM
Yuh can't beat the Spanish league for pure football. Barca still taking it though.

Never. Real have Barca bommie right now! This game was real good. Espanyol never had a chance in the second half.
Post by: Filho on May 12, 2007, 01:59:17 PM
Big big win for Real Madrid

Dat was excitement. Ah hoped Espanyol could hold out for at least a draw, but like I said at the end of the first half...if Real madrid score the first goal this half, they will win. Every Real Madrid game is real excitement now. Unrecognizable from the team at the start of his season.

Oh well Barca..yuh just hadda do it the hard way  ;)
Post by: FF on May 12, 2007, 01:59:38 PM

Never. Real have Barca bommie right now! This game was real good. Espanyol never had a chance in the second half.

LOL

Barca have to bounce back from that Cup drubbing tomorrow.... otherwise I'm afraid to say, the wheels going and fall off
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 12, 2007, 07:12:59 PM
All Goals
http://www.dailymotion.com/alyty/video/x1yqfd_real-madrid-vs-espanyol/1
Post by: Gladman on May 12, 2007, 09:08:27 PM

LOL

Barca have to bounce back from that Cup drubbing tomorrow.... otherwise I'm afraid to say, the wheels going and fall off

Wheels fallin off when,them fellahs done recover from tha cup defeat.Betis nex in line 4 ah lesson.
Post by: WestCoast on May 12, 2007, 09:12:04 PM
All Goals
Thank you :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Toppa on May 12, 2007, 09:42:01 PM

LOL

Wheels fallin off when,them fellahs done recover from tha cup defeat.Betis nex in line 4 ah lesson.

Plz. Dun recover wey? We go see how well dey recover when dey meet Betis tomorrow.
Post by: Trini Madness on May 12, 2007, 10:04:51 PM
MADRID!!!!!  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Toppa on May 13, 2007, 10:36:49 AM
Hopefully Barca tutu dong deyself today.  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on May 13, 2007, 11:06:55 AM
F*ck Barca 1 up from ah penalty.
Post by: Filho on May 13, 2007, 01:11:23 PM

Game tie..big guns tied on top the table with Sevilla in close pursuit. Didn't see the game, but obviously that is a tata result for Barca :-\ La Liga is presha dis rounds..Come on Barca..u hadda find another gear somewhere  ;D ;D

Next week the drama continues..same time, same channel ;)
Post by: Toppa on May 13, 2007, 02:31:54 PM

Game tie..big guns tied on top the table with Sevilla in close pursuit. Didn't see the game, but obviously that is a tata result for Barca :-\ La Liga is presha dis rounds..Come on Barca..u hadda find another gear somewhere  ;D ;D

Buh Barca on top cos of goal difference. When Real win next wekk they'll take it officially.

Oooh, my bad. Real still on top becos of head-to-head superiority or whatever. Hala Madrid!
Post by: Filho on May 13, 2007, 07:11:31 PM

Buh Barca on top cos of goal difference. When Real win next wekk they'll take it officially.

Oooh, my bad. Real still on top becos of head-to-head superiority or whatever. Hala Madrid!

Real Madrid is on top because of superior head to head with Barca.
Real away to Recre next week. Real could win that given their strong away from, but it will be difficult. Recre still playing for a spot in the UEFA Cup.
Barca away to Atletico Madrid. Usually, that is straight licks for Barca even when Barca playing well  :'( The 'logic' of football means, now that Barca purging, they actually have a chance  ;D
Sevilla away to Depor. If Madrid and Barca lose, Sevilla can go back top with a win. They will be going all out. I backing Sevilla here altho' Depor is a decent enough outfit.
Valencia away to Mallorca..I betting Valencia wins this one.

La Liga is just too tight to call. On form, Real Madrid looking like they could take it, but they have a difficult final four games.
Barca in trouble, but they have too much quality in the squad to write off...plus...daiz meh team  :devil:
Sevilla could be top of the table next week..who knows.
Valencia still in the hunt..only 4 points off the top...

Lewwe see how this drama shaping up next Sunday.

EL QUE NO SALTA
ES MADRILENYA

BARCELONA  ;)
Post by: Grande on May 13, 2007, 09:17:24 PM
Fire for Real and Barca...Sevilla for the title
Post by: Observer on May 14, 2007, 08:22:23 AM
I like how things shaping up. It must be very difficult to keep a team like Barca motivated, simply because of their achievements over the last few years. Sevilla & Real are hungry for some success and Real in particular look as though they have the bit between their teeth. Though they still look like a poor team defensively. That is not to say Barca defending any better. I suspect Rjkaard will stop rotating now and play a settled line up and simply lock down the league. Sevilla looks a very balanced side but they still battling on several fronts. That being said several membes of that squad can score goals and they are arguably the quickest team in th league.
No one talking about Valencia in the race, yet they could make a late run for it. Lately they have not been scoring with consistency, depending a one or two individuals and that could hamper them.
Great run for the tape, I love it. My money on Sevilla they play with a passion I enjoy
Post by: Filho on May 14, 2007, 12:09:03 PM

No one talking about Valencia in the race, yet they could make a late run for it. Lately they have not been scoring with consistency, depending a one or two individuals and that could hamper them.
Great run for the tape, I love it. My money on Sevilla they play with a passion I enjoy

Valencia is definitely in the running. I made sure to mention them. Only problem is that they almost as bad as Barca on the road. 4 horse race for sure. La liga is dramas..I've been following Portugal as well. Most here don't, but that league has one game to go with Porto on top, Sporting 1 point behind and Benfica a further point behind Sporting. Good drama there...backing Barca and Benfica. So far things not quite going to plan.   ;D ;D But it ain't over til it's over
Post by: Observer on May 14, 2007, 01:10:30 PM
Benfica is a good shout especially if yuh watch the schedule. Sporting have a tough game Sunday against 4th placed Balenense.
Post by: Toppa on May 15, 2007, 06:42:07 PM
Gone in 60 seconds (ahaha!)

Gone in 60 seconds: Barcelona's title hopes
Goals for Real Madrid and against Barcelona in the 89th minute of week 34 have turned the La Liga title race on its head.
Sid LoweMay 14, 2007 4:32 PM
A lot can happen in 60 seconds. Nicolas Cage can steal your car. Gary Barlow can steal your heart. And Real Madrid can steal your title, leaving you a quivering, empty-handed, teary-eyed wreck, half the man you used to be.

Just ask cowering Carles Puyol, the footballer whose terrified, defeated face is plastered across the covers of this morning's papers, from La Vanguardia to Sport and AS to El Periódico. Gone is the fearless Captain Caveman of yore; instead Puyol looks up at Frank Rijkaard, sheer panic in his eyes as if he's just discovered the coach clinging to him is not a mild-mannered Dutchman after all but a flesh-eating zombie who hasn't had a decent meal in weeks. Hardly surprising, really, because sixty seconds - sixty measly seconds! - could have cost FC Barcelona the league title and Puyol knows it.

Never mind, pedants, that Madrid and Barça actually played 24 hours apart, the title race has turned on a solitary minute: the 89th of the 34th week of the La Liga season - a minute that, as Rijkaard admitted, left Barça "banging our heads against the wall."

Jornada 34, minute 89, and Madrid are drawing 3-3 with Espanyol, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Raúl and Jose Antonio Reyes having hauled back a brilliant Walter Pandiani hat-trick. Jornada 34, minute 89, and Barcelona are winning 1-0 against Real Betis, Ronaldinho having scored an early penalty. Barça are four points clear at the top of the table, with just four games to go and Madrid are third, four points adrift, their challenge over. But then something happens: Madrid score. And so do Betis. Gonzalo Higuaín bursts through at the Bernabéu: 4-3! Rafael Sobis bursts through at the Camp Nou, 1-1! One minute, two goals, four points and half a title.

All of a sudden Real Madrid are top for the first time since October 2005 and on course for a first trophy in four years; all of a sudden Barcelona, knocked out of the Copa del Rey after being obliterated by Getafe, abused by their fans and mocked by opponents, are on the verge of dropping out of the title race too. It's crisis time in Catalunya and the hankies are out at the Camp Nou.

That might sound like an exaggeration, considering Madrid and Barça are level on 66 points, separated only by their head-to-head record, that Sevilla lurk just two points further back, and that there are still four matches remaining. But much as this weekend's turnaround was dramatic it also felt definitive because, while it was unexpected, at the same time there was something deeply predictable about it - a sense that it was merely the confirmation of a deeper trend. Rarely has a single minute so perfectly portrayed and perpetuated two teams' state of mind. Somehow you knew Madrid would get the winner, and somehow you knew that Barça would get caught. More to the point, physically exhausted, psychologically vulnerable, tactically shambolic, and deeply divided, somehow Barça knew it too.

All season, Barcelona have let their rivals off the hook; all season, Madrid have been let off the hook. While the failure to kill off opponents eats away at Barcelona's confidence, the failure of opponents to kill them off has boosted Madrid's. Even before they were top, there was euphoria in Castilla and panic in Catalunya as Barça looked desperately, nervously over their shoulder like a terrified businessman on the escalator at Tottenham Court Road. AS's marvellously tasteful invention, the Barça crapping-yourself-ometer, has been rocketing off the top of the scale (or perhaps seeping out the back of it). Today, gloated Catalan-bashing Tomás Guasch, "it's up to 450 crapahertz!"

You can certainly smell the fear, each game reinforcing a feeling of impeding doom at Camp Nou. If, as Jorge Valdano famously put it, football is a state of mind, Barcelona are sunk and Madrid are flying. A flying shit on a stick perhaps, but flying nonetheless. Forget the football: just look at the momentum, the conviction, and the results. Just look at this weekend: Madrid rode their luck but also showed the same spirit, determination, belief, effectiveness and fitness that has led to them winnning eight of the last nine since the 3-3 draw in the Camp Nou derby, snatching victory from the jaws of defeat to the backdrop of a roaring stadium. Barcelona had no luck but also showed the same lack of spirit, determination, belief, effectiveness and fitness that has led to them winning just three of their last six - and only just win those - snatching a draw which might as well have been a defeat from the jaws of victory to the backdrop of a murmuring, irritable stadium.

As usual, Barça dominated possession, creating chance after chance but didn't take advantage. They could have been five up at half time, but only scored one and with every minute that passed they grew more and more nervous, more aware of the risk of the threat closing in. "So, the wolf got to Barça's door," one columnist wrote, but the tragedy was he didn't even have to huff or puff for Barça to welcome him in. Yet again Barça did not so much shoot themselves in the foot as blow their entire sodding leg off with a blunderbuss. With a minute to go, and with Rijkaard having taken off Lionel Messi and Ronaldinho to "protect" the lead (like Barça know how to do that) they conceded a free kick, turned their backs, strolled away and still managed to look surprised when Sobis ran through unchallenged to score, changing everything.

No wonder they're going mental in Madrid and crazy in Catalunya, Marca screaming "It's real!" and AS jeering "Barça sink, Madrid are leaders!". Meanwhile, Sport sent out a gigantic yellow "SOS", but you can't help feeling it's too late. Fatalism hangs over the Camp Nou and the league is no longer in Barça's hands. Somehow, it's in Madrid's. Faith may not move mountains, but it can win titles.

Results:

Real Madrid 4 - 3 Espanyol, Sevilla 2 - 1 Recreativo, Getafe 1 - 4 Atlético, Nastic 1 - 3 Real Sociedad, Celta 1 - 2 Levante, Osasuna 1 - 4 Villarreal, Racing 0 - 2 Mallorca, Athletic 1 - 1 Deportivo, Barcelona 1 - 1 Betis, Valencia 2 - 0 Zaragoza.

Title run-in:

Madrid (66 points): Recre (A), Depor (H), Zaragoza (A), Mallorca (H)
Barcelona (66 points): Atlético (A), Getafe (H), Espanyol (H), Nastic (A)
Sevilla (64 points): Depor (A), Zaragoza (H), Mallorca (A), Villarreal (H)

If all three teams finish tied at the top, Madrid will be champions.
If Madrid and Barcelona finish tied at the top, Madrid will be champions.
If Madrid and Sevilla finish tied at the top, it would go to goal difference and Sevilla currently have +27 to Madrid's +21.
If Barcelona and Sevilla finish tied at the top, Barcelona will be champions.

Post by: Socapro on May 16, 2007, 10:06:32 AM
All Goals

Hey SM, I just actually notice yuh caption above Rooney' picture!

Wayne Rooney:Greatest Player in the World!

I know you are a Man Boo supporter and all dat jazz but do you honestly believe that caption or just trying to show your devotion to your team?

Seriouly and in all honestly!?

Just curious to know!  8)

Btw I belive that Stern John is a more prolific goal scorer than Ronaldo because I am a Soca Warriors supporter and I dead serious!  ;)

Post by: Toppa on May 19, 2007, 12:11:48 PM
Valencia vs Mallorca today. Game just start. Hoping Valencia lose just to be on the safe side. But the real day of reckoning is tomorrow...Barca vs dey Bogie team and Real vs Reactivo. Real playing first and Barca playing two hrs later so if Real win that'll be more pressure on Barca still.
Post by: Toppa on May 19, 2007, 01:51:05 PM
Shit!! Valencia score in the last minute!  >:( Come on Mallorca! Equalise!!
Post by: Toppa on May 19, 2007, 01:58:08 PM
Final score 0-1 to Valencia who are now third on the table - one point behind Real and Barca with Sevilla now in fourth. The latter three teams all play tomorrow so we'll see...

Hala Madrid!
Post by: doublet750 on May 19, 2007, 04:21:55 PM
did u see d play that joaquin score from ??? villa top of d box feed in sub jorge lopez around d penalty spot d man just turn and backheel/flick d ball into d path of oaquin who at d top of d 6 bury it far post just inside d post(get hard jam too) but mallorca didnt deserve that

JOKANOVIC have a flikin USSR rocket on he foot....fist touch of d game froma  freekick like 35-40 yrds out striaght down d middle he blazes it on d floor and barely miss d post leaving skid marks on d pitch wit d ball in d 6 yard box....then with no backlift just a standstil like hit from outside d box he shake d crossbar for ah good minute even after d ball hit it smh....hardluck good game

leme see sumtin barca...doh underestimate huelva doh madird fellas thy cut madrid arse 3-0 at home in d bernabeu...but i feel it might b different now d way los blancos have steam
Post by: Filho on May 20, 2007, 07:47:22 AM
Today is presshaaaahhhhh

I could barely handle it  :D If Barca lose and Madrid win then Madrid practically win the title cuz they could afford to lose one of their last 3 games and still win the title becasue of head to head. And Madrid eh losing their 2 remaining home games. So if Real wins, Barca will really feel the heat. But that is what it is all about..them fellas getting paid the big bucks to give us this kinda top class entertainment....Common BARCA.
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 10:43:56 AM
Today is presshaaaahhhhh

I could barely handle it  :D If Barca lose and Madrid win then Madrid practically win the title cuz they could afford to lose one of their last 3 games and still win the title becasue of head to head. And Madrid eh losing their 2 remaining home games. So if Real wins, Barca will really feel the heat. But that is what it is all about..them fellas getting paid the big bucks to give us this kinda top class entertainment....Common BARCA.

Hala Madriiiiiiiiiiid!
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 10:48:06 AM
Sevilla just score to make it 2-1
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 11:04:01 AM
Ooooooh Madrid playing in Black. Dy wey ah saying!
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 11:15:18 AM
Robinho score baby! 1-0 to Madrid and de game nuh too long start!
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 12:17:40 PM
Robinho draw ah penalty and Rudd convert it. 2-0 to Madrid. Tremble Barca TREMBLE!!  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 12:37:15 PM
*sigh* 2-1 Reac got a penalty.
Post by: Cantona007 on May 20, 2007, 12:37:36 PM
 Recreativo is putting up a good fight... penalty
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 12:40:09 PM
i am confused. how can head to head be used in a league format.? reeal madrid lead the table even though barca has a better goal difference by 13 goals
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 12:47:17 PM
goalasoooooo        take dat toppa
 r madrid 2- rec 2
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 12:48:52 PM
Nooooooooooooo!! 2-2
Post by: Cantona007 on May 20, 2007, 12:50:07 PM
That centre forward from Rec has been worries all game  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on May 20, 2007, 12:53:42 PM
ROBERTO CARLOS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3-2
GO MADRID !!!!!
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 12:54:01 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssss!!!
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 12:55:42 PM
steupessssssssssssssssssssss

real madrid win yes

ah really dont see barcelona beating athletioc madrid and espanyol.......... that is we 2 boogie side and we will need real madrid to drop points

sighhhhhhhhhhh
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 12:56:27 PM
I love Madrid!!!!!
Post by: Cantona007 on May 20, 2007, 12:58:28 PM
Hard luck on Recreativo. They didn't lie down...
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 01:01:26 PM
right now we blue vex nothing under 3 for athletico 2day
 we cutting win >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Peong on May 20, 2007, 01:03:25 PM
That was a big result for Real.
Nice action in dat game.  
Barca - Atletico on next.
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 01:04:32 PM
right now we blue vex nothing under 3 for athletico 2day
 we cutting win >:( >:( >:(

Yeah right! lol Leh we see Barca geh bore today! Look dey game goan start now.
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 01:42:21 PM
thats how we do it bounce it around like  ah pin ball and then  shake d net.......messi-dona

barca 1 d other team 0
Post by: skins on May 20, 2007, 01:47:39 PM
Hope Barcelona win yes.
Post by: freakazoid on May 20, 2007, 01:49:55 PM
toppa ah done talk 3 - 0 in d 1st half

right now we still vex so it could be 3 more in d second
 :( :( :(
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 01:50:27 PM
Wha de mudda arse is dis going on here boy. 3-0? Anyway, even if dey win Real still topping de table.
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 01:52:10 PM
toppa ah done talk 3 - 0 in d 1st half

right now we still vex so it could be 3 more in d second
 :( :( :(

lol Well yuh call it. Still eh goan help allyuh case in the big picture though. Allyuh still have to wait on us to slip up, n dah eh look like it happening porque somos los reyes de remontadas!! 2-1 4-3 3-2
Post by: Filho on May 20, 2007, 01:54:18 PM
Great half by Barca...

Need to keep playing in de 2nd half. If they try to just defend they will get punish...THe conditions are real shite and Barca saw how you could score 3 goals in 4 minutes. I eh like Torres at all..Barca defense has no answer for him..anytime he run at them, mankind on their back. This game have real drama left. Time to finish this off and get that Atletico Madrid monkey off dey back.

Niceness...so far.

Come on Barca!!!!
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 01:54:41 PM
Ah wonder if Atletico sell dis game to Barca just to badmind Real!!  >:(
Post by: Filho on May 20, 2007, 01:59:25 PM

I could ask the same of Espanyol when they played against Madrid with a B side and then take off their next 3 best players in the 2nd half (including Pandiani wh scored a hattrick) ;)

Atletico is only 1 point ahead of Villareal for the final UEFA Cup spot. Nobody eh selling nothing. Atletico playing their substitute goalie and he looking a lil' green..He was clealry at fault for 2 of the goals.

I have to give Real Madrid credit for their ability to win games that they shouldn't....while Barca contrives to lose games that they should win. It's the biggest difference between the two since January and what has the season so tight at this point. La Liga is it..

Common Barca!
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 20, 2007, 02:00:06 PM

Yuh know dem two ain't like each other.  good showing by Barca so far.  I really believe that Real will choke down the stretch.
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 02:04:48 PM

Yuh know dem two ain't like each other.  good showing by Barca so far.  I really believe that Real will choke down the stretch.

Hell no Real eh choking. We have all de momentum right now. Barca just struggling to survive. This game was touted as dey hardest so dey taking it seriously. Now watch them lose against a supposedly easy side.  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 02:20:12 PM
So is how much offside goal Barca go geh so?
Post by: kicker on May 20, 2007, 02:48:52 PM
6-0

Barca found their scoring shoes today...

The race is on.

GO MADRID !!
Post by: Filho on May 20, 2007, 02:57:51 PM

doh whine...dat first goal was marginally offside if at all. Ray eye kinda cokey..and they score 5 more, so no excuses. Plus Maxi Rodriguez shoulda collect a straight red for that tackle on Iniesta. The Kings eh ready to give up the throne yet ;D

Toppa..every side does get a break now and den. You doh tink Real get score some offside goal this season..What about Real Madrid pulling strings so Beckham could play against Sevilla when he got a yellow card the week before that meant he should have been suspended. All referees in Spain protested this week by refusing to hand in last week's yellow cards to the league to allow all suspended players to play this weekend. As the Capital club, Real Madrid has a reputation of getting more breaks than anyone in Spain. You ahve to ask yourself how many other teams have the 'political' clout to get a suspended player's card rescinded so he could help them win a top of the table clash the following week  ;)

Good weekend for everyone...nothing has changes except we one game closer to the finish...

Big weekend again next rounds..I will catch allyuh laterzzzz

BARCELONAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Post by: Grande on May 20, 2007, 02:58:30 PM
6-0

now that is a cutarse...big side is big side
Post by: Toppa on May 20, 2007, 03:05:59 PM

doh whine...dat first goal was marginally offside if at all. Ray eye kinda cokey..and they score 5 more, so no excuses. Plus Maxi Rodriguez shoulda collect a straight red for that tackle on Iniesta. The Kings eh ready to give up the throne yet ;D

Toppa..every side does get a break now and den. You doh tink Real get score some offside goal this season..What about Real Madrid pulling strings so Beckham could play against Sevilla when he got a yellow card the week before that meant he should have been suspended. All referees in Spain protested this week by refusing to hand in last week's yellow cards to the league to allow all suspended players to play this weekend. As the Capital club, Real Madrid has a reputation of getting more breaks than anyone in Spain. You ahve to ask yourself how many other teams have the 'political' clout to get a suspended player's card rescinded so he could help them win a top of the table clash the following week  ;)

Good weekend for everyone...nothing has changes except we one game closer to the finish...

BARCELONAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Yeah, yeah ah know. Ah eh hating really cos ah was feeling bad for Barca at the beginning of the game. How dey goan lose de title and all that. And then as long as Real still at de top, ah glad Atletico get ah proper cut arse cos dey fans were saying that they wouldn't be upset if Atletico lost if it meant that Real weren't going to top the standings.
Post by: FF on May 20, 2007, 03:48:07 PM

BARCELONAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Doh come with that political sh!t.... Aznar gone long time.... everybody know Zapatero is a Barca man....  ;)
Post by: Filho on May 20, 2007, 04:30:50 PM

BARCELONAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Doh come with that political sh!t.... Aznar gone long time.... everybody know Zapatero is a Barca man....  ;)

So cuz I use the wod plitical in inverted commas, you jump to who is the Prime Minister of Spain? heheh  ;D ;D...when I talk about Becks getting a bligh, I don't think it really reaching that far breds. Still, yuh cyah deny that only a 'connected' side could pull off dat Beckham bligh. Doh get meh wrong..is not Real alone, but I just responding to Toppa comment on Barca first goal. And yeah...everyone knows that Zapatero is a Barca man..dat is why Marca and the Madrid press doh business these last 2 seasons when Barca won the title..Everything was a pro-Barca conspiracy  ::) ::)
Post by: Jah Gol on May 20, 2007, 06:18:15 PM
I love Spain.
Post by: breezers on May 20, 2007, 09:40:24 PM
6-0

Dun noe!! Big team is Big team!! We ha dis ting lock!!!

Barca  4 Life!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on May 21, 2007, 03:28:53 AM
highlights (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwV_AWoF0a0)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 21, 2007, 04:48:50 AM
6-0

lmao

big side is big side unles dey beat big side

athletico is no roma
Post by: freakazoid on May 21, 2007, 05:27:10 AM
yeah no roma............ more like ah AC ::) ::)
Post by: Gladman on May 21, 2007, 10:54:15 AM
6-0

lmao

athletico is no roma

Ok FA cup less Manu :loser:
Post by: Filho on May 21, 2007, 12:22:46 PM
6-0

lmao

athletico is no roma

true dat, but Barca beat Atletico at Atletico..what happened when ManU played Roma in Rome again?

Small Mag is a closet La Liga fan...fus he does follow la Liga and jumby every La Liga post ;D ;D. His 'disdain' for Real Madrid and Barca is born out of respect, cuz noone really knows anything about sides they really consider to be shite  ::)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 21, 2007, 02:11:22 PM
laaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhd boy Kicker
yuh see how big side does do it

and after yuh write off Roberto Carlos after he do shit in the Super Classico is he self and to come back and save all yuh skin in the dying moments to rescue the 3 points

real drama still to come in this La Liga season
Post by: kicker on May 21, 2007, 02:16:14 PM
laaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhd boy Kicker
yuh see how big side does do it

and after yuh write off Roberto Carlos after he do shit in the Super Classico is he self and to come back and save all yuh skin in the dying moments to rescue the 3 points

real drama still to come in this La Liga season

Talkin' about big side....wha play off wid CIDI over the weekend? and more importantly what were the individual contributions (you, touches, swima, paddi & his wild red man cousin).....
Post by: Toppa on May 22, 2007, 08:44:34 PM
Black Bag Fever Dividing Spain (Clubs paying other clubs to beat their rivals e.g. Barca offering Deportivo money if they beat Real - a lil "incentive")

As La Liga reaches the final three matches with the title still wide open the familiar phenomenon of what’s become known as 'Black Bag Fever' is starting to break out across the Iberian peninsula…
The concept is very simple: behind-the-scenes execs from one club offer another club some under-the-table money to another club. 
The image is clearly one of a black bag being passed from hand to hand and thus the word 'Maletín' (literally small case or briefcase) is short for a cash payment offered in return for a win.
This could be seen as a damnable if the cash is offered in return for throwing a match, but the jury is still out on how cash offered as an incentive to win is moral, immoral – or just amoral.
After all, if that is the case then every single non-amateur player and club exec is guilty as they receive payment in order to win matches – a clearly ludicrous situation.
Then again, others will point out that these payments are designed to deliberately sabotage other clubs by spurring outside players to raise their performance to down a rival.
A third group would just shrug shoulders and say "¿Y Que?" ("So What?").  They may exist, they may not, but they really shouldn’t be a cause for bedwetting paranoia.
The issue is a perennial one and many players are now voicing their opinions on the subject as the race comes down to the wire and the conditions for 'Black Bag Fever' reach the perfect setting: a situation where a win or loss can dictate the championship winner – and losers.
Getafe man Javier Casquero will face FC Barcelona next round as admitted the system does exist and that there is no shame in accepting payment for something that would be done anyway.
"Right now theres been nothing mentioned, but if there is an offer from outside for us to win, which we will try to do anyway, it’s definitely welcome.  We may already be qualified for the UEFA Cup but we always play to win – it’s about honour", he stressed. In that case, the theory goes that a low-ranking member of the Real Madrid hierarchy will contact an opposite number at Getafe and make an offer to be communicated to the players before the match – a certain amount payable in the event of a win. Getafe Full-back Javier Paredes thought that perhaps the best thing for all concerned would be to legalise these type of payments.  "I feel that these payments should be legal – if your club pays you to win as well there cannot be a problem", he explained."However, to be paid to lose is a different kettle of fish.  Professional players have victory in their blood, even in a game of beach tennis, so we always play to win", he added, echoing a sentiment held by many players in Spain.Team-mate Mario Cotelo coaxed a giggle or two out of the assembled reporters at the Getafe press conference by pointing out that the 'Maletínes' "are like Bin Laden; everybody knows they exist but nobody can see them. This is a subject that always comes up when theres a tough finish to the Liga", going on to fit in with the others in a blanket denial that they had been offered anything.  One of the key characteristics of a 'Maletín' is that people may give their thumbs up – but never openly admitting to receiving a red cent. Deportivo de la Coruña midfielder Joan Verdú also spoke out in an interview with Spanish radio station COM Ràdio. Verdú, who signed for the Galician side after graduating from the Barcelona B academy, was also in favour of positive payments.
"The team will do everything that we can to win against Real Madrid at the Bernabéu, theres no need for bonuses to guarantee that much, but I’m in favour of anything that encourages you to win and that is legal, so my phone is on in case I get a call from Barcelona", he quipped.
FC Barcelona star Lionel Messi simply didn’t see the need to offer this sort of financial incentive to professional players who are already well-paid.   "They [the next three rivals to face Real Madrid] don’t need extra encouragement", he commented." The fact that reputations are at stake means that people will still play to win no matter if they receive a bit on the side.  Therefore I really don’t se the need to offer bonuses to third parties.  We just need to do what we can and see how things pan out at the end." Good, bad or just neutral, the 'Maletín' is bound to be mentioned in the wake of a number of results that will occur this weekend, but mostly just as a scapegoat. Some clubs will cry blue murder and wave fists and legal writs at others, but to no avail.  That’s for sure.  The only uncertain point is if these payments really do make a difference…and if the club that benefits can rest on the laurels of a guilt-free title.
Post by: D.H.W on May 22, 2007, 08:55:44 PM
toppa barcelona winning it dis season  ;D just thought i would tease you i gone  :P
Post by: Toppa on May 22, 2007, 09:01:34 PM
toppa barcelona winning it dis season  ;D just thought i would tease you i gone  :P

Post by: breezers on May 22, 2007, 11:43:53 PM

Fuh Real!!! Sevilla & Real goin & drop pts against Zaragoza!!
Post by: Peong on May 23, 2007, 07:25:31 AM
Time for Torres to move from Atletico yes.
After 3 goals everybody just hangin they head.
Ah see Aguero come off the bench but didn't do anyting.
Post by: Filho on May 26, 2007, 12:09:06 PM
...and Villareal continues their unstoppable drive into the UEFA CUP. They just beat Valencia at Valencia..and that is no easy feat. They have probably ended Valencia's title hopes and any hopes of automatic CL qualification. Villareal is arguably the best team in Spain right now. And Forlan is absolutely on fire..He now has 17 league goals with 12 of those coming since January

Post by: Filho on May 26, 2007, 12:52:18 PM
Madrid up 1-0 at the half
They deserve their lead but the actual goal was not legit as Van Nistelroy clearly punched the ball. Unfortunately the referee did not see it. That's how the agme goes. Depor looking good in spurts, but all in all Madrid have this game under control. RM looking very good in the center of the midfield and Robinho, Becks and V Nistelroy all look lively but the defense letting Depor rattle them now and then...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 26, 2007, 12:55:12 PM
They deserve their lead but the actual goal was not legit as Van Nistelroy clearly punched the ball. Unfortunately the referee did not see it. That's how the agme goes. Depor looking good in spurts, but all in all Madrid have this game under control. RM looking very good in the center of the midfield and Robinho, Becks and V Nistelroy all look lively but the defense letting Depor rattle them now and then...

i taking in d game online

Madrid playing better but looking dull.. they need to pik up their game

Becks looking good..

Ruud Binho and Raul knocking good as well

kinnda boring game but i still watching
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 26, 2007, 01:40:59 PM
3-1 80'

Raul 58' Ruuuuuuuuuuuuuud 75'

Lame Game but at least Ruud scored :)
Post by: FF on May 26, 2007, 01:57:14 PM
They deserve their lead but the actual goal was not legit as Van Nistelroy CLEARLY punched the ball. Unfortunately the referee did not see it. That's how the agme goes. Depor looking good in spurts, but all in all Madrid have this game under control. RM looking very good in the center of the midfield and Robinho, Becks and V Nistelroy all look lively but the defense letting Depor rattle them now and then...

Typical Azulgrana goggles.....

This was not clear at all.... and ah know is de same GOL tv feed we watch.... to me it look like it come off Jorge Andrade head...

EDIT: Oh fawk man Getafe!! Arready!  >:(

EDIT AGAIN: PAPAYO red card for Ronaldinho oui  :o  :o
Post by: Jah Gol on May 26, 2007, 02:51:37 PM
That red card is real shit.

The man get kick 3 times on the ground before he retaliate.

Common Sense ref, common sense !
Post by: futbolfan on May 26, 2007, 02:57:05 PM

To make matters worse, de man who foul him and kick him did not receive a caution.....
Post by: FF on May 26, 2007, 02:57:19 PM

anodder man wearing de goggles  :P
Post by: Filho on May 26, 2007, 04:07:06 PM

anodder man wearing de goggles  :P

the only man wearing goggles is you. even the commentators eventually noticed, but they were right..doesn't matter. They replayed the perfect angle and paused the ball on Ruud hands. You hadda be kidding. Why you think 2 minutes after the goal they repeatedly kept showing a slow motion and pausing the ball on Ruud hands. FF come nah man..In any case..Real Madrid deserved to win and won easily.

Barca's game was magnificent. Great 1-0 victory to stay in the hunt. Ronnie reacted poorly and deserved the red. Big players get kicked...he should have known better. But Barca responded with grit and style...could have scored a few early in the 2nd half. At the end it was just defending for dear life. Big win. If Zaragoza salt Sevilla tomorrow it's down to just the big two. No matter what, Valencia's season is over.

FF...doh dig no horrors..but I recommend you watch the replay again. GolTV pause the replay with the ball exactly on Ruud hand, in the first half, at the interval  and during the 2nd half. I think you have on some Merengue goggles  ;D

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=204128&cc=5901

The Depor players were furious, with Van Nistelrooy looking to have handled the ball in the lead-up to the goal, but the referee waved away their protests.
Post by: FF on May 26, 2007, 04:42:25 PM
Me ent saying no....  by de way yuh like these goggles or wha? 8)

I just find it was not all dat clear from de replays i see.... anyhow

bamsee twitching time now.... who going and choke first.... Real have de harder run in... but Barca doh have Ronnie and Edmilson against Espanyol....
Barca was admirable today de way dey fight up and still manage to control de game after de red... other teams woulda totally fall apart

Real now have had what 6 or 7 straight wins....

Will Real's run end this season or next? Can Barca close off strongly? Can Sevilla stay in de hunt? Where is Toppa today? 

Stay tuned folks
Post by: D.H.W on May 26, 2007, 04:54:08 PM
small mag i like yuh signature lol  :D  :devil:
Post by: jai john on May 26, 2007, 09:25:06 PM
...and Villareal continues their unstoppable drive into the UEFA CUP. They just beat Valencia at Valencia..and that is no easy feat. They have probably ended Valencia's title hopes and any hopes of automatic CL qualification. Villareal is arguably the best team in Spain right now. And Forlan is absolutely on fire..He now has 17 league goals with 12 of those coming since January

What filho ..like you want me to retire ? With glowing comments like that I dont need to say anymore about Villareal ...except maybe that ..is 6 straight victories at the death including those against barcelona and Vallencia  ::)
Post by: Jah Gol on May 26, 2007, 10:19:13 PM
Is this really a red card ? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qP3Bbrwi7E)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 26, 2007, 10:36:28 PM
small mag i like yuh signature lol  :D  :devil:

haha thanks

except the person that made the sig spelt Mourinho wrong

on the sig it says Morinho
Post by: Deeks on May 27, 2007, 05:23:11 AM
Good Morning Guys,
                                Did anybody see the goal Diego Forlan scored for Villareal vs Valencia. It was a great. Actually it was the back-heel pass he got from a guy called Franco. He ran to the pass and shoot  the ball pass the keeper with Miguel breathing down his neck. Fine goal
Post by: Jah Gol on May 27, 2007, 05:28:32 AM
Welcome to Spain (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQxNlBlkwBA)
Watch d pass (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0ehCZzr_gU)
Post by: jub02 on May 27, 2007, 08:29:27 AM
Is this really a red card ? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qP3Bbrwi7E)

de man kick out !
= red card
Post by: Toppa on May 27, 2007, 12:08:02 PM

bamsee twitching time now.... who going and choke first.... Real have de harder run in... but Barca doh have Ronnie and Edmilson against Espanyol....
Barca was admirable today de way dey fight up and still manage to control de game after de red... other teams woulda totally fall apart

Will Real's run end this season or next? Can Barca close off strongly? Can Sevilla stay in de hunt? Where is Toppa today? 

Stay tuned folks

Ah couldn't watch de game dreads! Ah on vacation and internet was down in de hotel. Steupsssss Hala Madrid!
Post by: Filho on May 27, 2007, 12:20:15 PM

Stay tuned folks

Ah couldn't watch de game dreads! Ah on vacation and internet was down in de hotel. Steupsssss Hala Madrid!

Ahhh Toppa drop in. A la liga thread without Toppa just eh right...
Anyhow, licks for Madrid next week. Zaragoza in yuh mimosa. We winning the title without Redcardinho

Visca El Barca
Post by: Toppa on May 27, 2007, 12:33:12 PM

Stay tuned folks

Ahhh Toppa drop in. A la liga thread without Toppa just eh right...
Anyhow, licks for Madrid next week. Zaragoza in yuh mimosa. We winning the title without Redcardinho

Visca El Barca

lol We'll handle Zaragoza de same way allyuh handle Atletico Madrid, oh frighten. Ah just watched the highlights of the Real match and Deportivo had play dem rough boy! BUh small ting. Hala Madrid!
Title: Rijkaard Mashes Schuster's "Kicking" Tactics
Post by: Jah Gol on May 27, 2007, 01:53:51 PM
Frank Rijkaard was furious after the physical treatment his team received in their win against Getafe on Saturday evening and blamed Bernd Schuster for sending out his team to kick his players.
The Dutch coach said that he was upset with the German's attitude before the game and highlighted the aggressive manner in which the visitors played.

Barça were reduced to ten men when Ronaldinho kicked out after being fouled by David Belenguer and was angered that his team were punished while Getafe were left alone.

"You could see the mentality and the desire was that of their coach," Rijkaard said.

"He talked about kicking people before the game even started. His attitude could have had an effect on what went on out there. From the first minute onwards he was complaining.

"He would need to win 10 or 20 cups playing like that for me to agree with his way of doing things."

After opening the scoring after two minutes, Ronaldinho was then sent off just before half time and showed his frustration as he left the pitch.

"We saw that Ronaldinho was very affected by it all when he was leaving the field," Rijkaard continued.

"When a player is kicked a lot during a game, there comes a moment when you are annoyed after one particular tackle. All I can say is that it is a shame for the way we play, which is to create and focus on attacking in the opposition half, when we commit one error and a card is shown to a player to have him sent off.

"It surprised me because we do not have a team that is dirty. Our idea is to move the ball quickly and to keep possession. We should act more like the Getafe players maybe and when there is minimal contact we should throw ourselves about, shout out and call for cards.

"When my players go over they get up quickly because they know about football."

After playing for 50 minutes with a player less, Barça garnered all three points and Rijkaard was delighted.

"We had to work very hard to complete our task with ten players," he said. "But they were only able to create things near the end, when we were tired."

Schuster himself had been equally angered by what he had seen and criticised the referee, Alfonso Pérez Burrull, for his display.

"The bigger team has been favoured, just like always," he said, before focussing on a penalty that he believes should have been awarded when Belenguer went down in the area.

"To not blow for that was horrendous, but we are used to it now. When the bigger teams are playing for something they always have things go their way that little bit more."

The visitors' trainer believed that his side were well behaved and that they played extremely well.

"We have been better than Barça and took them on head-to-head and the percentage of possession was very even," he had continued. My team were outstanding and the only bad thing is that we could not find a way to goal. There was nothing more we could have done."

After hearing Schuster's words, Rijkaard responded uncharacteristically as he jibed: "If that was lesson in football, I'd quite happily take one of those every Sunday."

goal.com (http://www.goal.com/en/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=313117)
Post by: Filho on May 27, 2007, 03:40:41 PM
If DAT is what Zaragoza coming wit' next week..I go start crying from now ;). Plus Diogo get a red card. The great thing is Zaragoza not certain of a UEFA Cup place so they will play hard. Hopefully their home form right now is considerably better than their away form
Post by: Toppa on May 28, 2007, 09:33:41 PM
If DAT is what Zaragoza coming wit' next week..I go start crying from now ;). Plus Diogo get a red card. The great thing is Zaragoza not certain of a UEFA Cup place so they will play hard. Hopefully their home form right now is considerably better than their away form

Barca goan be real weak next match. Ronaldinho, Eto'o and Edmilson suspended. Ha!!
Post by: Jah Gol on May 30, 2007, 12:05:34 PM
Barcelona’s Ronaldinho Banned For Nou Camp Clash With Espanyol, Available For Final La Liga Game Against Gimnastic

Barcelona will be without Brazilian star Ronaldinho for their next La Liga match, which is at Nou Camp against local rivals Espanyol this weekend, in what could be a blow to their chances of retaining the Spanish title. However, the punishment of missing just one match is also a relief to the defending champions.

27-year-old Ronaldinho will be available for the final match of the season against relegated Gimnastic Tarragona.

Ronaldinho, who is currently the fourth-highest goal-scorer in La Liga with 20 league goals, had been sent off against Getafe last weekend for kicking out at defender David Belenguer, after the attacker had been at the receiving end of cynical challenges for most of the match and was deemed to have been provoked by the Spanish Federation's Disciplinary Committee.

The Catalans and Real Madrid have same number of points with two games remaining but the latter are on the top of the table due to better head-to-head record. Any slip-up for Frank Rijkaard’s side coupled with victory for Real is likely to decide the fate of the title in the remaining outings.

http://www.worldcuplatest.com/barcelona-s-ronaldinho-banned-for-nou-ca-4545.html
Post by: Toppa on June 07, 2007, 07:30:45 PM
Look allyuh boy backing Madrid to win de title.

"Real Madrid will win the League because they deserve it"

Leo Beenhakker analysed this last stretch of the League and the thrilling Zaragoza-Real Madrid face-off. He's quite the authority in the matter. He trained Real Madrid and Zaragoza for the space of four seasons each, and with the Whites he ended up winning three La Liga titles. Precisely in his first League, he lived the same exact situation as the Merengues will experience on Saturday, playing the penultimate game in Zaragoza with the Aragonese trying to assure a UEFA position and Real Madrid the League. The result back then was 3-1 for the Madridistas. He follows Spanish football “very closely” from his native country of The Netherlands. “I am absolutely convinced that Real Madrid will be the League champions,” confessed the former Madrid coach via telephone.
Same story all over again but twenty years later. Do you remember the 1987 game?
I remember it as if it were yesterday. It was my first season training Real Madrid and I was going back to Zaragoza to face the team I had coached two years back. We won 3-1 and then became League champions in a tough competition just after the World Cup. It was a very special encounter for me.
Saturday is like a replay, right?
Yes, it's a very similar situation. We were up against the opportunity of winning the title there and we took advantage of it. It was very special for me because it was my first title in my first year with Real Madrid. I think that the team managed by Fabio Capello has the same chance now.

Traditionally, Real Madrid have fared well at La Romareda. How do you think they will do on Saturday?
Yes, that's what history says, but we can't forget that Saturday's match is a final for both teams. Zaragoza are very strong at home, but the quality of the squad of Real Madrid and of its coach will surely spice things up. I think that Madrid are technically and physically capable of winning this game and the League title.

What is your opinion about the season of Real Madrid, especially during the last third of the championship?
It's been great. From the outside, through the eyes of the press and the TV sations, I know they've had a difficult year. I think many elements have factored in for this recovery. First of all, President Ramón Calderón and the Board of Directors have reiterated their confidence in Fabio Capello, which has proved crucial. Fabio is one of the great masters of modern football. Then, we need to take into account the huge amounts of pressure that Real Madrid are always under. They're just sticking their neck out from a very difficult few years. I am proud of how things are looking at the moment. Everyone reacted really well and, once again, Real Madrid has proved that it's a great Club, with strong-willed people who are doing what they have to do: play well and fight for success. The difficulties the Club came up against made the President, directors, squad, and fans join efforts. They've done real well and they deserve a 10.

Does this last stretch of the League, with three teams with title-winning options, increase the standing of Spanish football?
These endings are good for football in general. We lived this situation here in The Netherlands, where the championship wasn't decided until the very last week. The same thing happended in Germany, with three title contenders until the last matchday. This just comes to prove that football in general is a great spectacle, especially for the diehard fans and all other groups surrounding the sport. This is the greatness of football.

I can't end this interview without asking you to please make a prediction.
You know well enough that it's very hard to make predictions in football, but in this instance I can't forget my latent Madridismo. Training Real Madrid was the most important thing I've done in my professional coaching career. Still, I'll try to take feelings out of the equation. I think that the strength of spirit displayed by the Whites in this last patch of the League will make then win the title. Moreover, they deserve it. So, in this sense, I am absolutely convinced that Real Madrid will be the League champions.

http://www.realmadrid.com/articulo/rma40148.htm

Post by: Toppa on June 08, 2007, 04:55:28 PM
So I'll be missing the match tomorrow...*sigh*
Post by: Filho on June 08, 2007, 05:35:59 PM
So I'll be missing the match tomorrow...*sigh*

Might be a good thing ;D
Post by: Toppa on June 09, 2007, 06:48:44 PM
Dis league is real heart-attack ting oui! Well ah was keeping updated via the internet on my mobile...praise de LORD that Barca draw with Espanyol!!!
Post by: Filho on June 09, 2007, 06:50:43 PM
Dis league is real heart-attack ting oui! Well ah was keeping updated via the internet on my mobile...praise de LORD that Barca draw with Espanyol!!!

Toppzzz.. I eh give up yet..but Real Madrid looking good for this one. 90 minutes left
Post by: Jah Gol on June 09, 2007, 07:07:02 PM
The Best League in the World.
Post by: Raul on June 09, 2007, 07:52:44 PM
Just to mash up Mallorca now and we have it...
Post by: Toppa on June 09, 2007, 10:50:40 PM

Toppzzz.. I eh give up yet..but Real Madrid looking good for this one. 90 minutes left

lol Yuh'n give up yet? Have to admire the spirit, but don't you realise that the football gods are with Madrid? And allyuh eh see Messi Hand of God goal! Wha kinna shit is dah? Dy Maradona horn chile ah wha?
Post by: breezers on June 09, 2007, 11:21:44 PM

Easier said dan done paleeks...ah jus feel that allyuh go drop pts & we'll be right there tuh claim what is rightfully ours......

IN ARANGO WE  TRUSS ;D ;D
Post by: Toppa on June 09, 2007, 11:29:19 PM

Easier said dan done paleeks...ah jus feel that allyuh go drop pts & we'll be right there tuh claim what is rightfully ours......

Excuse...we DID drop points, n wha allyuh do? Or hor! Messi is ah cheater and cheaters never win!!
Post by: breezers on June 09, 2007, 11:34:25 PM

Excuse...we DID drop points, n wha allyuh do? Or hor! Messi is ah cheater and cheaters never win!!

we choke!! but is no scene..it eh over till de fat lady sing & she eh have no plans to sing soon cuz she loss she voice  ;D So ah promise yuh we go deliver once Arango do he part :devil:
Post by: Toppa on June 09, 2007, 11:56:07 PM

we choke!! but is no scene..it eh over till de fat lady sing & she eh have no plans to sing soon cuz she loss she voice  ;D So ah promise yuh we go deliver once Arango do he part :devil:

If you say so. Buh yuh hadda admit that Barca real throw wey game. I backing Madrid rel hard.
Post by: breezers on June 10, 2007, 12:06:29 AM

If you say so. Buh yuh hadda admit that Barca real throw wey game. I backing Madrid rel hard.

yeah me eh lying we rell carelessly drop pts by ah jus like u..ah backin muh team straight UP...ah going down dying IF ah have to...dis is one ship ah sinkin with(besides de warriors & Holland)

AH SAILING WITH DE BOAT SINK OR FLOAT...AH SAILING WITH DE BOAT!!!
Post by: Toppa on June 10, 2007, 12:23:10 AM

yeah me eh lying we rell carelessly drop pts by ah jus like u..ah backin muh team straight UP...ah going down dying IF ah have to...dis is one ship ah sinkin with(besides de warriors & Holland)

AH SAILING WITH DE BOAT SINK OR FLOAT...AH SAILING WITH DE BOAT!!!

Well awright, in about 10 yrs we'll dig up allyuh ruins.  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 10:35:04 AM
Final match day!!! Aaaaah!
:bringiton: :challenge: :duel:

And I won't be able to watch it!
:cursing:

I'm definitely going to be nervous.
:nailbiting: :nailbiting:

Best wishes to all the teams in contention...and by that I mean that if Madrid doesn't win I'll be depressed.
:cheers:
Post by: freakazoid on June 17, 2007, 10:51:11 AM
i am a barca fan...but in all fairness madrid deserves this title barca has repeatedly grabbed draws from the jaws of wins while madrid has done the opposite
Post by: Jah Gol on June 17, 2007, 11:00:44 AM
We played the better football this year and had a string of bad results recently . I don't like that stupid head to head rule. And I'm not saying that as a Barca fan alone but as football fan. It has the potential to reward negative football. I prefer goal difference then head to head. I still think Barca is deserving of the title.
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 11:12:46 AM
We played the better football this year and had a string of bad results recently . I don't like that stupid head to head rule. And I'm not saying that as a Barca fan alone but as football fan. It has the potential to reward negative football. I prefer goal difference then head to head. I still think Barca is deserving of the title.

I disagree (not because Real's ontop because of it). I think that if the title is down to two teams who are tied at the top, then it should be between them to decide who should be crowned champions - no results against other teams should matter. Clearly those two teams are at the top because of their own merits so it's more just to only consider their head-to-head to indicate which side is superior between the two of them.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 17, 2007, 11:52:22 AM
LOCAL BASED     TROTTERS AT 3PM
Post by: Jah Gol on June 17, 2007, 12:11:31 PM

I disagree (not because Real's ontop because of it). I think that if the title is down to two teams who are tied at the top, then it should be between them to decide who should be crowned champions - no results against other teams should matter. Clearly those two teams are at the top because of their own merits so it's more just to only consider their head-to-head to indicate which side is superior between the two of them.
I understand your point but we just have different views on this. I simply prefer goal difference to head to head.
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 01:07:40 PM
Did Ray Hudson just call Van Nistleroy "Horsey Face"?
Mallorca looking fiesty
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 01:21:56 PM
Fiesty in truth!
Real will get the last-minute tief-goal anyway.
This Kanoute business, Fifa vote for Club over country? I thought they supposed to co-ordinate international dates.

But say what, the Mafia get to change rules whenever they see fit.

As for Ray Hudson, he go have a stroke by the end of the day.

Squeaky-bum time in Madrid!!!
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 01:30:40 PM
Mallorca leading 1-0
Barca leading 1-0

half-hr gone in both games
Post by: g on June 17, 2007, 01:32:00 PM
Ray Hudson does aggravate meh ..... everytime a cross comes in d box he does start to scream like a gyul
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 01:37:49 PM
2-0 Barca, 35mins.....
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 01:38:27 PM
I feel Ray have wires hooked up to he jewels, everytime Ronaldinho get a ball or Real make a good play. The ydoes turn on the current in the booth. That is why he bawlin aiiieee and ting all the time...

3-0 Barca btw 38 mins.
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 01:41:10 PM
I feel Ray have wires hooked up to he jewels, everytime Ronaldinho get a ball or Real make a good play. The ydoes turn on the current in the booth. That is why he bawlin aiiieee and ting all the time...

3-0 Barca btw 38 mins.

Was just about to post this...yuh beat me to it Bitter
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 01:44:22 PM

3-0 Barca btw 38 mins.

the 3-0 or the wires to the stones?  ;D
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 01:49:56 PM

3-0 Barca btw 38 mins.

the 3-0 or the wires to the stones? ;D

Hahaha both ah dem!
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 01:51:13 PM
HT scores

Real Madrid 0-1 Mallorca

Gimnastic 0-3 Barca
Post by: freakazoid on June 17, 2007, 01:54:58 PM
ok niceness niceness. toppa where yuh?

simple equation madrid need two goals and with no van nistelroy,  they have to depend heavily on  beckham's dead ball.
Go mallorca   go

did anyone see messi goal wow  great finish reminds me of how i score with him on fifa 07
Post by: futbolfan on June 17, 2007, 02:08:48 PM
4-0 Messi just tief ah goal from Deco
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:09:26 PM
More tight bamsee in Madrid. I cyah believe they miss that!
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:11:03 PM
ok niceness niceness. toppa where yuh?

Same ting I'm thinking.

I'm gonna order Toppa some extra strong Kleenex off Ebay if it stays like this
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 02:11:54 PM
And to add for anyone interested,
Villareal jus score against Sevilla, so they up 1-0
Post by: Tenorsaw on June 17, 2007, 02:12:41 PM
Lets go Braca. Nothing for Real!
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:20:08 PM
Robinho crosses have no bite.  When Beckham put a cross in is always dangerous.

But he getting sub now.
Welcome to the MLS Becks
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:22:16 PM
1-1!
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:22:35 PM
1 more goal to sour the Barca fans...
Post by: breezers on June 17, 2007, 02:22:52 PM
Lets go Braca. Nothing for Real!
BIG TEAM!! LET'S GET IT!!!!!
Post by: freakazoid on June 17, 2007, 02:23:59 PM
steupsssssssssssssssss

mallorca lookin tired
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:33:53 PM
This game as good as the WC final.
All we need now is a headbutt.

Save!!!

Tight bamsee time in Barcelona
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:34:23 PM
and Toppa's head explodes with joy...
Post by: g on June 17, 2007, 02:34:37 PM
Hudson climaxes
Post by: 2cents on June 17, 2007, 02:34:52 PM
"this is heart attack football"...this commentator eh lyin. All season ah feel Real go take it from we....now look stinkin Raul come and do that. steupppppppppz
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:35:24 PM
Goal!!!!!

Keeper knock it off he own man into the goal.
Mallorca eh go do nothing now.
Diarra goal
Post by: breezers on June 17, 2007, 02:35:55 PM
come on Arango....giwwe it nah.....PLEASE!!!!
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:37:32 PM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!
Reyes!
Post by: 2cents on June 17, 2007, 02:37:42 PM
Ah blame Fifa!!! Reyessssss is a spirit!!!
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:38:08 PM
The Arsenal score again!
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:38:49 PM
The Arsenal score again!

Fook off, lol. He's Madrid lol Watch dem purchase him just for that now lol
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:39:04 PM
Hudson climaxes

He like a porn star, doh even need time to recharge.  ;D
Post by: freakazoid on June 17, 2007, 02:39:35 PM
capello is class in this home stretch of la liga he has made some substitutions that just turn the games on their head hats off to u madrid ah bitter but give  respect where respect is due
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:39:49 PM
Hudson climaxes

He like a porn star, doh even need time to recharge.  ;D
lmao  ;D
Post by: samo on June 17, 2007, 02:39:59 PM
3-1 so far.....Go Real!!!!!!!
Post by: trinikev on June 17, 2007, 02:43:54 PM
Real come back to take it......Congrats to them

I wanted Barca  pull it off, but dats how things go sometimes
Barca go get dem next yr tho  :devil:
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2007, 02:44:50 PM
Ray real hating on Tom Cruise and Nadal.
He doh want nobody messing up he afterglow.
Ray, yuh need a cigarette?
Post by: samo on June 17, 2007, 02:46:45 PM
2 0utta 3 for me...
Inter
Real
and Chelsea next season
Post by: 2cents on June 17, 2007, 02:51:36 PM
Big up Ray errtime still man....best North American commentator. All allyuh Real men big up  urself...i'm Barca till d end but we cyar win every year and we give Real too much chance droppin points right through. So pop allyuh champiple and celebrate...I'll give allyuh a 2-3 days b4 ah start hatin, hopefully we get Henry and things go nice, plus allyuh losin Becks and Carlos so better for us. bless
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 02:52:02 PM
Happy fuh Becks....that's about it.
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:54:11 PM
Beckham, van Nistelrooy, Selgardo and Diarra are Representing boy  ;D
Post by: Filho on June 17, 2007, 02:54:43 PM
:applause: :applause: :applause:

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

Well Done REAL MADRID. Too much excitement for me yes. Hard luck BARCA  :-[ :-[ Too little too late. Real Madrid deserved it..And they real do it in dramatic fashion. Sorry but la Liga is really it. Somebody better get Ray Hudson ah stag. De man gone clear. Well lemme go and lick meh wounds. Dat is football..You can't win them all. Next season we go start de drama again.

VISCA EL BARCA
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 17, 2007, 02:54:56 PM
REAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL...what a final day not good for de heart at all!!
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 17, 2007, 02:55:38 PM
REAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL...what a final day not good for de heart at all!!
:rotfl: I disagree, keeps the heart heal...... *Flat line*
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 03:07:40 PM
If I weren't in so much pain I would be overwhelmed with joy. Missed the match but my friend was keeping me updated. Can't wait to see the highlights!!
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 03:20:22 PM
If I weren't in so much pain I would be overwhelmed with joy. Missed the match but my friend was keeping me updated. Can't wait to see the highlights!!
Wha'm tuh you now?  Yuh sprain yuh pan wrist...or yuh mouth?
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 04:10:57 PM

lol Neither. So why yuh doh like Madrid? We too good, ent?  ;)
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 04:16:29 PM

Allyuh good...no doubt.  I doh like de idea of buying titles.  Same reason I find it hard to root fuh Chelsea, de Yankees or the Cowboys in American Football.  Your wallet ideally shouldn't be the difference where you can afford to stockpile all the good players...some of whom remain buried on the bench...doing nothing for you, the league or the sport, when they could be helping other teams.

Is it Madrid's fault they have money and willing to spend it?  Of course not.  But still doh mean I have to like it.
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 04:27:06 PM

Allyuh good...no doubt.  I doh like de idea of buying titles.  Same reason I find it hard to root fuh Chelsea, de Yankees or the Cowboys in American Football.  Your wallet ideally shouldn't be the difference where you can afford to stockpile all the good players...some of whom remain buried on the bench...doing nothing for you, the league or the sport, when they could be helping other teams.

Is it Madrid's fault they have money and willing to spend it?  Of course not.  But still doh mean I have to like it.

Buying titles how? Like buying the "best" players or kinna passing money?
Post by: JDB on June 17, 2007, 05:16:42 PM

Capello for me. Very happy to see him win La Liga again.

Work a miracle with Madrid this season.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 17, 2007, 05:19:48 PM
Take win Real. Take win.
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 05:48:12 PM
Take win Real. Take win.
Muchas gracias!!

Highlights and post match celebrations all the way to Cibeles!!

http://www.irangoals.com/2007/06/17/video-real-madrid-real-mallorca/

Cabron! Cabron! Saluda al Campeon!
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 05:54:47 PM

Buying up all the better players...

like I said, not their fault necessarily...but I'd prefer to see greater parity.
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 05:58:32 PM

Capello for me. Very happy to see him win La Liga again.

Work a miracle with Madrid this season.

Capello is an arrogant prick and his handling of Beckham was absolutely disrespectful.  More power to Real though...one doesn't have to like them, but they keep getting it done.
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 06:05:40 PM

like I said, not their fault necessarily...but I'd prefer to see greater parity.

Scene. That was part of the "Galacticos" era. We're trying to get Kaka now buh he only blanking us. 75 million pounds we offered Milan and Kaka a salary of 12 million pounds and full image rights. What he want again!?
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2007, 06:07:46 PM
Highlights of all Real's key matches.

http://www.marca.com/futbol/2007/campeon/claves.html
Post by: Filho on June 17, 2007, 06:16:11 PM

Honesty though..madird didn't win the title becasue of having the best players..it was a team effort. Man for man I think Barca is a deeper, more talented squad on paper
Post by: jai john on June 17, 2007, 06:32:45 PM
Congrats to the Real madrid faithful...sure didn´t look like they would win it early in the season. I am also celebrating our( Villareal´s , as if i needed to say )  re-entry into Europe next season and joining  Real madrid and Barcelona as the only teams in La liga history to win 8 consecutive games in La liga.
Numered among our exploits this season is the distinction of having beaten the top 4 teams in la liga this year in the second round. Add to that Boca´s 3-0 first leg victory, Riquelme´s imperious form this half of the season and ...I am jumpimg up to de ceiling...what ah wonderful feeling .....
Good football prevails !
Sorry Epl fans ...La liga provides the thrills down to the very end ....
Just hoping Riquelme stays with Boca long enough to play against AC Milan in the Intercontinental Cup...not likelly though ... just remembered seeing he and Palermo rip Real madrid, the champs of Europe, apart in an earlier version....
Congrats to Real fans again ....for a well desreved hard fought, ungalatico but effective performance...you can trust the Italians to just get it done without much fanfare ...just like in the world Cup.
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2007, 06:52:14 PM

Honesty though..madird didn't win the title becasue of having the best players..it was a team effort. Man for man I think Barca is a deeper, more talented squad on paper

My comments pertain to the fact that they've dominated Spanish football for as long as anyone can remember.  Good gate receipts, TV rights, merchandising and titles over the years have meant prosperity for the team.  In a classic case of the rich getting richer they were able to up the ante using their financial disadvantage.  For most of the past 100 years Spanish football has been Real vs. Barcelona...so Barca has been prosperous as well...while smaller clubs like a Seville, like Valencia...dem ketching dey nen nen to attract talent b/c they can't compete with the big boys.

Everything I just said about Madrid can also be said about the New York Yankees (yes another baseball reference, lol)... and what sticks in my craw so much is when you see talented players buried on the bench...it just seems wasteful and even gluttonous, buying more talent than you can use.  Look at Chelsea, man like Sean Wright-Phillips can't even get on the pitch.

but anyways...I ent trying to rain on their parade.
Post by: kicker on June 17, 2007, 08:23:39 PM
VIVA MADRID !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I watched the game by Filho, and I hadda admit I felt bad celebrating as Filho is a big Barca man and I knew he was feelin' it....but boy, I couldn't control myself...one of the most, if not the most dramatic climax to a seaon finale I could imagine....

I still think that Barca is the best team in Spain on paper, but Rijkaard didn't make the best decisions this year, and some of their key players didn't have the best of seasons....In the end, Madrid was coached in typical Capello fashion to grind out victories...and their away form this year won it for them...They were a team on a mission down the final stretch, and just could not be beat....

I was never a fan of Capello, but he's a proven winner and he deserves all the praise that he gets for his triumph this season.

MADRID 2006/7 !!!! La Liga title is back home where it belongs

El que no salta es Blaugrana..... :beermug:
Post by: Grande on June 18, 2007, 08:13:41 PM
yes Madrid congratulations. An era has ended (galactico) and perhaps another has begun.

All the top teams in La Liga should be very proud of themselves.
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2007, 09:30:14 PM
http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1764501