General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on April 26, 2007, 08:23:43 PM

Title: Montano: I’m not involved
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 26, 2007, 08:23:43 PM
Montano: I’m not involved
By Cordielle Street
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news14.html

SOCA artiste Machel Montano is denying claims that he fired any punches in a brawl which landed a 24-year-old Princes Town man in hospital nursing head injuries.

However, Montano, through his mother Elizabeth, admitted that he was at Zen nightclub located on Keate Street, Port-of-Spain, when the incident occurred early yesterday morning.

Hours earlier, on Wednesday evening, Montano held a private appreciation function for his band members, supporters, Government officials and members of the media on the Zen rooftop.

Members of Montano’s HD entourage, including soca artiste Kernel Roberts, were liming with the artiste at the time of the incident.

Roberts has also denied being involved in the fracas.

Montano supplied a statement to police officials at the Belmont Police Station late yesterday evening although he was reportedly not contacted by the investigators.

In a telephone interview yesterday evening, Elizabeth said: “Yes, he was there but he had to ward off an intoxicated guy coming at him and he had to ward off some ladies inside the club.”

“When he came out of the club he was accosted by them again, but Machel did not hit anyone,” she said.

“I know my son and the kind of relationship Machel and I have, if he told me he did not hit anybody, I believe him.

“Right now, he is feeling totally destroyed by the people who would say hurtful things about him and the incident, and they were not even there.”

According to Elizabeth, the incident, in which Russell Pollonais was beaten outside of the nightclub, has left Montano traumatised.

“Machel will speak to his fans about the incident at a later date because he was very traumatised by the incident,” she said.

“Especially by the negative publicity and the negative statements.”

Montano, who is scheduled to perform in Barbados tomorrow and in Tobago at the Plymouth Jazz Festival on Sunday, is expected to hold a press conference next week.

Elizabeth also said the incident may cause her son to migrate permanently.

She said, “He is thinking about migrating because he has done so much for everybody and tries to accommodate everybody and he feels that he is not accepted and loved.”

©2005-2006
Title: Re: Montano: I’m not involved
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 26, 2007, 08:25:13 PM
Victim unwilling to call names

RUSSELL Pollonais, the 24-year-old Princes Town man who was reportedly beaten unconscious during a brawl outside Zen nightclub, is refusing to name his attackers.

Pollonais, who is hospitalised with head injuries, was one of the patrons at the club for the weekly Rah Wednesday parties where the incident occurred at approximately 2.30 am.

Three soca artistes, including Machel Montano and Kernel Roberts, have been linked to the brawl.

Montano and Roberts have denied any direct involvement in the violent incident.

Pollonais, who was hospitalised up to late yesterday evening, told the Guardian he was not willing to speak to the media about the incident, and would need a few days before addressing the matter.

He did give a detailed statement to the police, who visited him at the hospital yesterday.

Pollonais, who said he listened to various radio programmes yesterday morning from his bedside, denied that any of the people who were giving first-hand accounts were friends who attended the club with him that night.

“I don’t know anything about that. I have been listening to the radio whole morning and people are saying all kind of things... That is why I don’t want to speak to the media right now, but when I say what I have to say, people may not like what I say.”

The Princes Town man, whose face was swollen and bruised, had a few of his plaits shorn before a CT scan on the back of his head.

He was also expected to have another CT scan done of the front portion of his head. His left eye was nearly swollen shut and he was still wearing his “club clothes.”

His white T-shirt was splattered with blood around the collar. CS
Post by: TrinInfinite on April 26, 2007, 08:30:19 PM

RUSSELL Pollonais, the 24-year-old Princes Town man who was reportedly beaten unconscious during a brawl outside Zen nightclub, is refusing to name his attackers.

Pollonais, who is hospitalised with head injuries, was one of the patrons at the club for the weekly Rah Wednesday parties where the incident occurred at approximately 2.30 am.

Three soca artistes, including Machel Montano and Kernel Roberts, have been linked to the brawl.

Pollonais, who was hospitalised up to late yesterday evening, told the Guardian he was not willing to speak to the media about the incident, and would need a few days before addressing the matter.

He did give a detailed statement to the police, who visited him at the hospital yesterday.

Pollonais, who said he listened to various radio programmes yesterday morning from his bedside, denied that any of the people who were giving first-hand accounts were friends who attended the club with him that night.

“I don’t know anything about that. I have been listening to the radio whole morning and people are saying all kind of things... That is why I don’t want to speak to the media right now, but when I say what I have to say, people may not like what I say.”

The Princes Town man, whose face was swollen and bruised, had a few of his plaits shorn before a CT scan on the back of his head.

He was also expected to have another CT scan done of the front portion of his head. His left eye was nearly swollen shut and he was still wearing his “club clothes.”

he fraid nah..... Fear God and no one else oui......

God is de BOSS....
Post by: Organic on April 26, 2007, 08:40:03 PM

God is de BOSS....
see hwo headlines is.. de man say eh go talk. i feel he go take money and hush up. dais the track record.
i sure no one in here know that it had a stabbing incident outside red967fm studios and macehl and doggie slaughter was involved.
imagine u get stabbed and eh press charges..
steups..
allyuh doh worry machel go be wining low for canrival next yr and people go be paying to se ehim normal.
trinidad is de most indiciplined and fickle socitey ind e kiss meh ass world.
Post by: WestCoast on April 26, 2007, 08:57:17 PM
God is de BOSS....
he just waiting to see how things going ;)
Post by: sweetiepaper on April 27, 2007, 06:13:50 AM
De man waiting to eat ah food. Somebody go pay some nig dollars
Post by: Benchwarmer on April 27, 2007, 06:22:27 AM

see two headlines is.. de man say eh go talk. i feel he go take money and hush up. dais the track record.
i sure no one in here know that it had a stabbing incident outside red967fm studios and macehl and doggie slaughter was involved.
steups..
allyuh doh worry machel go be wining low for canrival next yr and people go be paying to se ehim normal.

but them ting is go on in the US to......ppl believe artist and ting follow different rules and laws
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 06:23:43 AM

see two headlines is.. de man say eh go talk. i feel he go take money and hush up. dais the track record.
steups..

but them ting is go on in the US to......ppl believe artist and ting follow different rules and laws
but in de US machel is nuttin..
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 27, 2007, 08:03:57 AM
Hmmm its obvious some people having something personal against Machel....The man just saying he had nothing to do with the incident but some people see it as "he trying to take he name off de heat"...*shakes head*...Now if he is guilty I believe he should do the crime..but I will not jump to conclusions...Now I can bet my last dollar the Trinbagonians who are fast to attack Machel before looking at the issue on both sides are around the age of 40 and older....Alot of the older generations did not like the way the man sing and therefore think they now find a reason to attack the man...Now am going to listen to his song "what they say dey say"
Post by: Organic on April 27, 2007, 08:07:46 AM
Hmmm its obvious some people having something personal against Machel....The man just saying he had nothing to do with the incident but some people see it as "he trying to take he name off de heat"...*shakes head*...Now if he is guilty I believe he should do the crime..but I will not jump to conclusions...Now I can bet my last dollar the Trinbagonians who are fast to attack Machel before looking at the issue on both sides are around the age of 40 and older....Alot of the older generations did not like the way the man sing and therefore think they now find a reason to attack the man...Now am going to listen to his song "what they say dey say"
i am way younger than 40 i am in my 20's. and i think u not grasping the subtlties of pr and its purpose. No where in that article did he express remose for the incident as it relates to the victim. he has made the whole issue about him and what he has goen though. which is sheer crap. no one is jumping to conclusions seeig that it had eye witness accounts and video clips which are failing to be aired all off a sudden.
and as i said already this is not the first ciolent incident he has been involved in.

there have even been incidents that ahve been swept under the rug.. s stabbing incident outside red967fm. it it walks and quaks like a duck........
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 27, 2007, 01:48:29 PM
hoe i wit u...i in my 20's and have been told by pple present that machell was involved in provoking de whole incident...tellin pple who they think they are cuz he is machel...i real laff wit that one...apparently he really tink he de pope or sumting...
but Trinidad love machel too much...he eh go get in no trouble...say he lil sad piece to the press and everyone go feel sorry for him
Post by: Feliziano on April 27, 2007, 04:23:55 PM
hoe i wit u...i in my 20's and have been told by pple present that machell was involved in provoking de whole incident...tellin pple who they think they are cuz he is machel...i real laff wit that one...apparently he really tink he de pope or sumting...
but Trinidad love machel too much...he eh go get in no trouble...say he lil sad piece to the press and everyone go feel sorry for him
i with allyuh on this too  ;D
whiteboy if yuh say yuh people see it..well ah know for sure it did happen
de man ent even show no sympathy to the man lying in ah hospital bed
then he mother come pulling de typical "bandit mother' line.."he was ah good boy and he never do nobody nuttin"..steups
so waht if he traumatised?..gangsters doh get traumatised..he sounding like ah teeenager who couldnt get a date for de damn prom..steups
Post by: lickslikefire on April 27, 2007, 08:08:01 PM
i am way younger than 40 i am in my 20's. and i think u not grasping the subtlties of pr and its purpose. No where in that article did he express remose for the incident as it relates to the victim. he has made the whole issue about him and what he has goen though. which is sheer crap. no one is jumping to conclusions seeig that it had eye witness accounts and video clips which are failing to be aired all off a sudden.
and as i said already this is not the first ciolent incident he has been involved in.

there have even been incidents that ahve been swept under the rug.. s stabbing incident outside red967fm. it it walks and quaks like a duck........

doh forget Montano crew beat KMC pianist last year in NY for labour day weekend

doh forget Montano slap on Carnival Monday

doh forget.......

*long flicking steups*
Post by: Quags on April 27, 2007, 08:33:49 PM
I agree with alyah too  ;D ,....but maybe he is just a misunderstood ignorant genius e.g ahh other misunderstood geniuses.
Post by: WestCoast on April 27, 2007, 10:02:56 PM
he sounding like ah teeenager who couldnt get a date for de damn prom..steups
so I hope he ent have no Neverland Ranch (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neverland_Ranch) in TnT wid ah seta yung boys. :devil:
Post by: A.B. on April 28, 2007, 12:00:47 AM
Genius. Yeah right.  Lara maybe. Machel HELL NO.
Post by: Feliziano on April 28, 2007, 05:09:30 AM
next thing yuh know he go have to visit ah shrink for he trauma..steups
not to change the talk..but he parents still on hard drugs?
Post by: Patterson on April 28, 2007, 09:26:33 AM
Ah tief dis from a next forum...was modified wit photoshop

Apparently after the incident with Danah in Zen.... Machel's mother and Danah's father joined forces and Machel's mother said that her son in now slapping for God.
(http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/4552/machelmq3.jpg)
Post by: Dutty on April 28, 2007, 10:23:03 AM
how everybody findin de lord dey minute dey leave Zen?

Soong name de place very appropriately in trute
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 28, 2007, 06:32:13 PM
ah hope the pastor doh start to geh she he blesin . wat ah thing
Post by: WestCoast on April 28, 2007, 06:43:08 PM
when she say "slapping for the Lord"
does she mean he can beat up people in the name of the Lord, next thing she go call for him to sing about "Killing gay people" like in Jamaica.
What lord she mean?
not mines
Post by: Feliziano on April 28, 2007, 08:10:57 PM
when she say "slapping for the Lord"
does she mean he can beat up people in the name of the Lord, next thing she go call for him to sing
about "Killing gay people" like in Jamaica.
What lord she mean?
not mines
ah was wondering the same exact thing
Title: Machel tells his side
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 28, 2007, 08:52:49 PM
Local entertainer Machel Montano yesterday said he had no intention of leaving T&T.

In a statement, issued by advertising agency Valdez and Torry International, Montano also denied allegations of violent actions towards anyone at the Zen nightclub on Keate Street, Port-of-Spain, in the early morning hours of April 26.

According to the Valdez and Torry statement, Machel states that “he was in the company of a few friends, and without his security detail, when a female patron grabbed him from behind and started dancing on him.

“Machel obliged and the woman who was not known to him subsequently left. She then returned shortly after and started to “whine” (sic) on him. At this point he politely declined and moved to another location in the club.

“Machel then met up with a female acquaintance at the club and started to dance with her. The unknown woman and a male companion followed and proceeded to dance alongside Machel and his partner.

“Machel and his female friend moved away and were again followed,” the Valdez and Torry statement said.

“At some point the unknown woman’s partner threw a full drink with ice on Machel’s female friend. Machel then complained to the male companion of the unknown woman. The man then became aggressive and violent towards Machel resulting in him pushing Machel and Machel defended himself by pushing him back.

“At this point Zen security intervened and escorted the gentleman out of the club. About a half an hour later Machel tried to leave and was met with the angry congregation of the ejected patron and his posse.

“This group continued hurling insults at Machel and Johnny Soong. The same unknown woman then spat at Machel and threw a shoe at him. Zen security then surrounded Machel to protect him and move him away from the menacing group.

“Machel was escorted onto the pavement across the road from the club only to be pursued by the unknown woman and her female friends, one of whom spat at him yet again. Machel was then escorted to his vehicle by Zen security and left,” the advertising agency’s statement said.

The agency said that Machel “is disappointed at the totally distorted view of events being given and on his return to Trinidad will give a full statement on the matter to set the record straight.”

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited
Designed by: Randall Rajkumar-Maharaj · Updated daily by: Sheahan Farrell

Title: Re: Machel tells his side
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 28, 2007, 09:08:26 PM
If I had some anonymous name that would not be said. I didn't even know anything about this until i woke up this morning to an email from someone I know who was 2 feet away from the actual scuffle outside talking about how Mr Man was threatening to spray people with gunfire etc.  This was sent to me by a concerned person and I was asked to say something about this and not let it get swept under the "trini rug".

Thanks for showing yuh cards though, cuz clearly you have something against opinions that somehow differ from yours.  You don't know what I know, both past and present relating to this and other incidents and I have ALREADY seen the damn camera phone film!

Clear this up ATO what does the film show? or in my granny words  is machel telling "story" ? does it contradict or confirm his statments  on the incident. 8)
Post by: A.B. on April 28, 2007, 09:40:28 PM
Let the thing play out nuh.  He has now made a statement.  Let the accusers make their counter now.  IS all yuh men that does go movies and want to know the end.

Let me ask you this.  You hiring Anand Ramlogan unless you damn sure you have a case?  Would Anand take the case?

Hmmm

Post by: A.B. on April 28, 2007, 09:41:14 PM
uhm, its not a real Front Page it was doctored  :rotfl:
Post by: Feliziano on April 28, 2007, 09:52:12 PM
uhm, its not a real Front Page it was doctored  :rotfl:
ok..like we get ketch bad  ;D
Post by: Feliziano on April 28, 2007, 09:56:08 PM
so all dat went on, with Machel on the other side of the road, and man still get beat up?  ???
plus he didnt have his security detail at the party?

Machel..yuh better change yuh PR firm...real weak 'story'  ;)
Post by: Patterson on April 28, 2007, 09:57:47 PM
i readin de comments and wonderin cuz i put it up as joke and i  state the image edited wit photoshop...guess i shoulda bold it or something
Post by: A.B. on April 28, 2007, 10:15:43 PM

I think this part of the drama is called dramatic irony if I remember mih high school education right....anyone else remember what that is?

You should have been taught that when yuh was learning Shakespeare etc
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 28, 2007, 10:25:47 PM
That's why I was just watching all the Trinbagonians who was quick to bash Machel..and I just shook my head...Trinis need to listen to both sides of a story before dey start dey bachhanalist attitude...Some man jump on Machel like if they was there when the incident happened...but I was not surprise that Trinbagonians reacted like this because our behaviour is just a bi-product of our bachannalist society...After reading just the first report about the incident in Club Zen "Some man was ranting and raveing like ah skettle in ah Jamaican passa passa video"..If yuh dont like de man music then jus say so but dont wait for some shit to happen to blame him without knowing anything about what happened Steupse!!...
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 28, 2007, 11:22:25 PM
Doh be to surprize wen that bubble buss , it had people who called up on wack fm radio station an said shame on he marchael and crew for beeetin up the man ok, dem in trini we out here , but here wen the bubble go buss  wen the man in hospital make he statement then all zandolee go be runnin for cover.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 29, 2007, 12:18:26 AM
there is ALWAYS 3 sides to de story.your side,my side and de TRUTH.que sera sera.
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 29, 2007, 03:44:26 AM
Let the thing play out nuh.  He has now made a statement.  Let the accusers make their counter now.  IS all yuh men that does go movies and want to know the end.

Let me ask you this.  You hiring Anand Ramlogan unless you damn sure you have a case?  Would Anand take the case?

Hmmm

unless i'm mistaken, i believe that the victim's father is a partner of Pollonais & Blanc, a large law firm in PoS that have a talent for civil litigation. So i don't think this one is going to fade away and be forgotten. I think this time Machel and his groupies have bitten off more than they can chew
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 29, 2007, 06:19:50 AM
SOCA STAR Machel Montano yesterday emphatically denied allegations made against him of violent actions towards individuals at the Zen nightclub in Port of Spain.

Furthermore, he said he has no intention of migrating.

In shedding light on the series of events which unfolded on April 26, Montano said he was socialising with a few friends, without his security detail, when a female patron grabbed him from behind and started dancing on him.

Montano obliged and the woman, who was not known to him, subsequently left. She returned shortly after and started to wine on him and, at this point, he politely declined and moved to another location in the club, Montano said in a statement, issued last night by advertising agency Valdez and Torry International.

Montano then met a female acquaintance at the club and started to dance with her. The unknown woman and a male companion followed and proceeded to dance alongside Montano and his partner, according to the statement. Montano and his female friend moved away and were again followed.

At some point, the unknown woman's partner threw a full drink with ice at Montano's female friend and Montano then complained to the male companion of the unknown woman.

The man then became very aggressive and violent towards Montano, resulting in him pushing Montano. Montano, the statement said, defended himself by pushing the man.

At this point, Zen security intervened and escorted the gentleman out of the club. Half an hour later, Montano tried to leave and was met by the angry ejected patron and his posse, the release stated.

The group continued hurling insults and the unknown woman spat at Montano, throwing a shoe at him. Montano was escorted by Zen security and was pursued by the unknown woman and her female friends, one of whom spat at him yet again, the statement added. At this point, the statement said, Montano left. - See Page 16

Post by: lickslikefire on April 29, 2007, 07:57:32 AM
SOCA STAR Machel Montano yesterday emphatically denied allegations made against him of violent actions towards individuals at the Zen nightclub in Port of Spain.

Furthermore, he said he has no intention of migrating.

In shedding light on the series of events which unfolded on April 26, Montano said he was socialising with a few friends, without his security detail, when a female patron grabbed him from behind and started dancing on him.

Montano obliged and the woman, who was not known to him, subsequently left. She returned shortly after and started to wine on him and, at this point, he politely declined and moved to another location in the club, Montano said in a statement, issued last night by advertising agency Valdez and Torry International.

Montano then met a female acquaintance at the club and started to dance with her. The unknown woman and a male companion followed and proceeded to dance alongside Montano and his partner, according to the statement. Montano and his female friend moved away and were again followed.

At some point, the unknown woman's partner threw a full drink with ice at Montano's female friend and Montano then complained to the male companion of the unknown woman.

The man then became very aggressive and violent towards Montano, resulting in him pushing Montano. Montano, the statement said, defended himself by pushing the man.

At this point, Zen security intervened and escorted the gentleman out of the club. Half an hour later, Montano tried to leave and was met by the angry ejected patron and his posse, the release stated.

The group continued hurling insults and the unknown woman spat at Montano, throwing a shoe at him. Montano was escorted by Zen security and was pursued by the unknown woman and her female friends, one of whom spat at him yet again, the statement added. At this point, the statement said, Montano left. - See Page 16

N.B. This is only his side of the story....I am one of the biggest Machel Montano fans, so I am not a hater

but try to keep that in perspective.....Machel version of the story is not necessarily the truth :beermug:

I for one expected him to deny it....cause I sure yuh didn't expect him to say he slap de man, and had his goons beat de man almost to death.....
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2007, 08:23:28 AM
That's why I was just watching all the Trinbagonians who was quick to bash Machel..and I just shook my head...Trinis need to listen to both sides of a story before dey start dey bachhanalist attitude...Some man jump on Machel like if they was there when the incident happened...but I was not surprise that Trinbagonians reacted like this because our behaviour is just a bi-product of our bachannalist society...After reading just the first report about the incident in Club Zen "Some man was ranting and raveing like ah skettle in ah Jamaican passa passa video"..If yuh dont like de man music then jus say so but dont wait for some shit to happen to blame him without knowing anything about what happened Steupse!!...
nah we had enough legitimate eye witness down dey  ;D
yuh sure you and Augi is the seame person
Ato yuh better watch Jaydees..he have yuh on he radar as a Machel basher  ;)
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2007, 08:24:51 AM
i readin de comments and wonderin cuz i put it up as joke and i  state the image edited wit photoshop...guess i shoulda bold it or something
ah think ah did only read the part where yuh say yuh theif it  ;D
ah really need new glasses yes
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2007, 08:32:44 AM

I think this part of the drama is called dramatic irony if I remember mih high school education right....anyone else remember what that is?

You should have been taught that when yuh was learning Shakespeare etc
you mean that is like when Machel tellign us he side of the story but at the same time he opening up we eyes to his hypocrisy cause we know more bout what actually going on than him?
Post by: A.B. on April 29, 2007, 09:24:22 AM
 :rotfl: Actually it's when you know something important that one of the main characters doesn't know - if I remember right.
Post by: Organic on April 29, 2007, 09:38:49 AM
:rotfl: Actually it's when you know something important that one of the main characters doesn't know - if I remember right.
you as ind e audience right
Post by: WestCoast on April 29, 2007, 10:35:41 AM
so I get ketch
all right good one there :-[ :-[
I going to have to watch allya from now on  :devil:
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2007, 11:13:47 AM
you as ind e audience right
we know more bout what going on than him..cause we in the audience right?
Post by: A.B. on April 29, 2007, 02:14:16 PM
Yes de audience. ;D
Post by: real madness on April 30, 2007, 12:13:18 AM
If machel is guilty then he should pay the penalty..i heard nuff people say machel does move real dread but I never saw it with my own two eyes so I cant really comment...the only incident I have evr seen was ah day in Pres, he and Bro Michael got into it...Machel side of the story was bro Michael was picking on him..Bro Michael side of the story was machel was being rude and disrespectful..anyway Bro Michael put some serious hand on machel and that was it..end of story..
Post by: A.B. on April 30, 2007, 08:06:02 AM
http://www.trinicenter.com/tnt/2007/270407b.html
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 30, 2007, 08:29:46 AM

Injured Brandis Brown Speaks About Brawl at Zen
TrinidadandTobagoNews.com
April 27, 2007

Brandis Brown, another injured party in the brawl in club Zen around 2:30 a.m. yesterday morning involving Machel Montano and his entourage, gave his account of what transpired in the club.

Speaking on CN3 news, Brandis said an eighteen year old was slapped after he accidentally spilled a drink on a female friend of the Soca artiste. He explained,

"I saw Machel, so I asked him, 'Why you slap the young boy for?' If you see the young boy...he is eighteen years and he is no big fella. And with that Machel asked me, 'You were f***king there?' and started approaching me; he and everybody who was with him. Next thing he hit me with, I think, a glass he had in his hand. He hit me with it and everybody else jumped in and started beating me."

Brandis said he tried to run, and was followed by a group of about fourteen men. He is still nursing a red eye from being hit with the glass and has other bruises. He said his friend, Russell Pollonais, was beaten when he tried to save him. Russell remains hospitalized.

Attorney Ramlagon who was retained as council for the injured parties, said he intends to get justice for the young men. Mr. Ramlogan said,

"I would be filing a civil claim against all those who brutalized Brandis and his friend for damages, for assault and battery, for the injuries they inflicted upon these two young fellas in circumstances where it was totally avoidable, totally unnecessary and they take good advantage of them."

On TV6 news, Machel Montano said that he would issue a statement following his busy schedule this weekend. He said any recording of the incident would show that he did not hit anyone. Machel is performing at the Plymouth Jazz Festival and he is also carded to perform at the closing ceremony of World Cup Cricket in Barbados.

Investigations into the incident are continuing.
Post by: Pro-Jayz on April 30, 2007, 08:33:15 AM

April 27, 2007

Brandis Brown, another injured party in the brawl in club Zen around 2:30 a.m. yesterday morning involving Machel Montano and his entourage, gave his account of what transpired in the club.

Speaking on CN3 news, Brandis said an eighteen year old was slapped after he accidentally spilled a drink on a female friend of the Soca artiste. He explained,

"I saw Machel, so I asked him, 'Why you slap the young boy for?' If you see the young boy...he is eighteen years and he is no big fella. And with that Machel asked me, 'You were f***king there?' and started approaching me; he and everybody who was with him. Next thing he hit me with, I think, a glass he had in his hand. He hit me with it and everybody else jumped in and started beating me."

Brandis said he tried to run, and was followed by a group of about fourteen men. He is still nursing a red eye from being hit with the glass and has other bruises. He said his friend, Russell Pollonais, was beaten when he tried to save him. Russell remains hospitalized.

Attorney Ramlagon who was retained as council for the injured parties, said he intends to get justice for the young men. Mr. Ramlogan said,

"I would be filing a civil claim against all those who brutalized Brandis and his friend for damages, for assault and battery, for the injuries they inflicted upon these two young fellas in circumstances where it was totally avoidable, totally unnecessary and they take good advantage of them."

On TV6 news, Machel Montano said that he would issue a statement following his busy schedule this weekend. He said any recording of the incident would show that he did not hit anyone. Machel is performing at the Plymouth Jazz Festival and he is also carded to perform at the closing ceremony of World Cup Cricket in Barbados.

This guy saying Machel and everyone who was with Machel jump him and beat him down..and Machel is saying that he did not hit anyone and also said that any video clip of the icident will prove that he did not hit anyone....so does anyone have any video clips so we can settle this ??....My opinion is that so many people jump this man that he just asssumed Machel jumped him also
Post by: morvant on April 30, 2007, 08:33:56 AM
lard man get beat out de club every week

allyuh have nuttin better to talk bout?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 30, 2007, 08:41:37 AM
Boy i hope d truth come out
Post by: Feliziano on April 30, 2007, 01:20:58 PM

April 27, 2007

This guy saying Machel and everyone who was with Machel jump him and beat him down..and Machel is saying that he did not hit anyone and also said that any video clip of the icident will prove that he did not hit anyone....so does anyone have any video clips so we can settle this ??....My opinion is that so many people jump this man that he just asssumed Machel jumped him also
yeah Ato have ah copy on he pc..we organising ah lime to go check it out  ;)
Post by: dinho on April 30, 2007, 01:29:57 PM
Ato have de video clips and sticking hard.. He like he have "View only" rights on youtube..

Ay Ato... i will trade you the West Indies dressing room story for de video clip.. PM me nuh...
Post by: A.B. on April 30, 2007, 07:37:50 PM
u have the dressing room story on video lol, cuz u done tell that story arredi...
Title: Still working on the story?
Post by: dcs on May 02, 2007, 10:11:16 AM

Cops waiting on Machel (http://newsday.co.tt/crime/0,56414.html)

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Wednesday, May 2 2007

ALTHOUGH he promised to visit them on Monday to give his side of the story in the Zen fracas, Belmont police yesterday said that soca star Machel Montano has not done so and they are wondering about the reason for the keep back.

A police source involved in the investigations, told Newsday that Montano called the station saying he would be arriving at 10 am yesterday, but he never showed. Up to press time last evening, Montano had not yet arrived at the station.

Last Thursday at about 8.30 pm, Montano went to the station and told officers that he could not deal with the fracas issue until his return to Trinidad on Monday. He reportedly told officers he had to concentrate on performances in Barbados on Saturday and at the Plymouth Jazz Festival in Tobago on Sunday.

On Monday, Montano failed to show at the station as he reportedly was unable to return to Trinidad owing to delays in transportation.

Montano has been linked to the fracas, in which three patrons were beaten and one of them hospitalised for a day with head and body injuries. In a statement released last Saturday, Montano claimed that he was the one attacked.

Meanwhile Janelle Lee Chee, one of the victims in the Zen fracas, yesterday said she was so traumatised by the incident that she is constantly looking over her shoulders fearful of being attacked by someone.

Grace Pollonais mother of Russel Pollonais — the man hospitalised following the fracas — said he was resting at the family’s Princes Town home and she preferred not to elaborate on the incident as this is her son’s wishes.

Judy Blackett, an aunt of three female British citizens who were visiting at the time and who were involved in the fracas said the three were also badly shaken by the incident.

A letter on the incident was lodged at the British High Commission by the three British citizens who were involved in the fracas.

The three are expected to leave for England on the weekend.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 02, 2007, 11:49:50 AM
Ok machel this not looking good
Post by: d1onlysexysugar on May 02, 2007, 03:16:20 PM
ah wasn't dey so ah ent no wat happen .................. but alyuh ... Machel spent most of his childhood in Siparia n yet still u will never here any ting bout he & Siparia  ....... he ent loved there n he knows dat ...... he 2 aggressive ... there was ah time he get on real nasty wit ah K.F.C. sales rep cuz he refuse 2 join d line n she didn't want 2 sell him ......... he real dissed her
Siparia fete was dis weekend n he ent even perform 1 nite ......  :-[
Post by: A.B. on May 02, 2007, 08:55:20 PM
Uh oh.  This remind me of the Dave Chapelle Show episode where he show the reverse of how black people and white people get arrested.  The black man drug dealer on the phone telling police he cyah come down cuz he busy that time, while the white man who is a white collar criminal they bust in d house at dinner time, feel up he wife, shoot he dog  :rotfl:

So the cops waiting while he decide if to come and give them a bligh lol.

Act 1, Scene 4
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2007, 06:01:09 AM
ah wasn't dey so ah ent no wat happen .................. but alyuh ... Machel spent most of his childhood in Siparia n yet still u will never here any ting bout he & Siparia  ....... he ent loved there n he knows dat ...... he 2 aggressive ... there was ah time he get on real nasty wit ah K.F.C. sales rep cuz he refuse 2 join d line n she didn't want 2 sell him ......... he real dissed her
Siparia fete was dis weekend n he ent even perform 1 nite ......  :-[

So he feel he should get special treatment
Post by: dcs on May 03, 2007, 06:07:17 AM

Just hear on the radio....journalists and them was at the Belmont Police station waiting for Machel only to find out Machel was on a plane to the Bahamas to record music.

Maybe the police should fly there and meet with him in between tracks?
Post by: Organic on May 03, 2007, 07:08:58 AM

Just hear on the radio....journalists and them was at the Belmont Police station waiting for Machel only to find out Machel was on a plane to the Bahamas to record music.

allyuh feel machel on allyuh plebs...steupssssssssssssss
accoridng to de man" allyuh know who is me i is machel"
 soooooooo until ato get fed up or talkd at gyul into making the clip public he go act liek si all hearsay....
so expect this to peter out soooooooooooon
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2007, 07:10:34 AM

machel  mmm ah feel he  guilty . well he better record music cause he may have to  forking ova some change
Post by: pass(10trini) on May 03, 2007, 08:10:35 AM
Me eh know much about Machel eh but the both times I saw him in public he was getting orn like a real arsehole. I feel he mother and them did miss the boat on he upbringing.

Post by: dcs on May 03, 2007, 08:30:38 AM
De whining crim in im inal  have a gig at the Apollo in Harlem on Saturday so Belmont police...book yuh tickets to the Big Apple if you want an interview.

The name of this thread is that he tell his story....imagine papers get his statement PRONTO but police waiting how long now?
Post by: socachatter on May 03, 2007, 12:20:45 PM
hold yuh breath on dat video.  :rotfl:   it say on de radio dat machel having press conference this afternoon.   will pass on details as and when...
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2007, 04:21:44 PM
Machel Montano Faces the Media…he Denies Hitting Anyone at Club Zen One Week Ago. \\
http://www.i955fm.com/News.aspx?id=1678

Soca artiste Machel Montano is saying he never laid a hand on anyone at Club Zen on the night a reported fight took place.

It is said during the fight two men, Brandis Brown and Russel Pollonais were beaten, and Machel Montano was the attacker.

The two men have since said they will take legal action.

Speaking at a media briefing today, Mr. Montano says he was attacked by fans in the general section of the Nightclub.

The incident at the club happened in the midst of another controversy involving international singer Akon and local girl Danah Alleyne.

Facing the media for the first time since last Wednesday’s situation, Machel Montano said his name was thrown into the spotlight in order to sensationalise what really happened.

Post by: A.B. on May 03, 2007, 06:38:14 PM
Ay ay I thought it didnt have any clips? Chupidee Ato only talkin ting lol.  So what air on tv 6 News just now?  :rotfl:
Post by: Feliziano on May 03, 2007, 06:42:21 PM
Ay ay I thought it didnt have any clips? Chupidee Ato only talkin ting lol.  So what air on tv 6 News just now?  :rotfl:
Ato ah ent have TV6..so send me the clip nah  ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2007, 07:57:14 PM

ok ATO i did not see it on tv6  so machel in the fight ato. since it air you could talk now!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2007, 08:48:22 PM
Ato yuh jess sticking fuh spite AH FEL
Post by: WestCoast on May 03, 2007, 09:40:07 PM
ok ATO i did not see it on tv6  so machel in the fight ato. since it air you could talk now!!
good point DWarriorMan ;) ;)
Post by: A.B. on May 04, 2007, 03:08:45 AM
Apparently the clip that air on tv6 kinda shaky and inconlclusive - I ent see it yet I ent in Trinidad either, I was told.  There are better ones out there  :devil:  People went from "it eh have no clips" and "it would ah surface already" to this now lol.

Post by: Trini _2026 on May 04, 2007, 05:04:16 AM
well talk about the conclusive clip yuh see then nuh
Post by: Themanfriday on May 04, 2007, 05:07:02 AM
Open de files Ato open de FILESS ;D
Post by: WestCoast on May 04, 2007, 06:24:35 AM
Ato, ya sticking like a picoplat on laglee ;D ;D
Post by: Socaman on May 04, 2007, 07:00:01 AM
Machel Montano is again claiming he was the victim at last Thursday's incident at the Zen nightclub, which left 24-year-old Russell Pollonais injured and warded at hospital.

After giving a full statement to the Belmont Police yesterday, Montano held a press conference at the VIP lounge of the Jean Pierre Complex in Mucurapo, where he made the statement. His attorney, Anthony Vieira, and friend Maleka Gonsalves, who was dancing with Montano at the time the incident started, were also present.

"I was not the instigator of any of the actions that took place on that night and I have made no offer to settle anything with anybody," Montano said.

"No settlement offer has been made and my lawyers have not received any sort of invitation to settle from anyone. We are not even trying to settle this situation because we are claiming innocence."

The soca artiste said a lot of false statements were made about him since the incident.

"Firstly I did not burn anyone. Secondly I did not slap anyone. I did not hit anyone with a glass or a cup and definitely I did not knock out anybody," he said.

"There were also some reports that I took security there on that night. I did not take any security detail. I went with a few of my friends; we were continuing a night of celebrations. I did not have a large entourage that night with me either, the only people were my closest friends who I normally go to Zen with."

During a TV6 interview last Thursday, Montano's mother, Elizabeth, said her son was planning to migrate. Yesterday, Machel said the statement was false.

"A few of the things I've been hearing in the media which are not correct, I am not migrating out of Trinidad and Tobago, I am not leaving Trinidad and Tobago."

Gonsalves also gave an account of what transpired, supporting Montano's story.
Post by: dinho on May 04, 2007, 07:12:23 AM

That clip on TV6 was like Blair Witch project.. Yuh cyah see nothing happening, just voices and unidentifiable figures...

Until I see video evidence of Machel pelting a lash he innocent in my books. Dat in your clip Ato??
Post by: Socaman on May 04, 2007, 07:58:39 AM
ah luv this site.. :rotfl: Ato them boyz on yuh heels

Ay ay I thought it didnt have any clips? Chupidee Ato only talkin ting lol. So what air on tv 6 News just now? :rotfl:

That clip on TV6 was like Blair Witch project.. Yuh cyah see nothing happening, just voices and unidentifiable figures...

Until I see video evidence of Machel pelting a lash he innocent in my books. Dat in your clip Ato??
Title: Montano’s statement
Post by: dcs on May 04, 2007, 09:44:04 AM

Montano’s statement (http://guardian.co.tt/archives/2007-05-04/news7.html)

Trinidad Guardian
Friday 4th May, 2007

My name is Machel Montano. I am 32 years of age and I am an entertainer. This is my account of what transpired at Zen nightclub in Port-of-Spain in the early hours of Thursday, 26 April, 2007.

Earlier that night, that is to say on Wednesday, 25 April, 2007, I attended an appreciation function at Zen’s Rooftop. This was a function hosted by Xtatik Limited thanking all those who had taken part in the Madison Square Garden event, the 2007 album, the AC5 show and the HD bus.

This was a big year for us and those events have opened a lot of opportunities for my group and for soca as an international genre.

This was our chance to thank all the people who had helped and supported us and to let them see how we are trying to create a movement that would encourage cultural exchange and bring harmony to different peoples. The event was very successful.

My friend Marvin Fermin (he is also my personal assistant/driver) and I left the function probably around 10.30 pm. We usually go by Kernal Roberts (Katch) to pass time before heading out to lime.

This night was no different. The lime was me, Marvin; Kernal Roberts, drummer, musical director and songwriter; Joel Fevek (Zan), a singer who tours with me both as a solo artist and songwriter; Rodney le Blanc (Benjai), he and I write together on an almost daily basis; Jason Ragoo (Snoop), a sort of family relative/friend who, lives by Kernal; Tishard Barrington, a friend and sometimes writer; and Bill Moore.

We sat down by Kernal, by the piano and also the pool. We limed at Rainorama in Diego Martin until about 12.30 am on Thursday, 26 April, 2007.

The group of us mentioned above then went to Zen since we hoped to hook up with some foreign guys and girls who we met when we were leaving the appreciation function. They were going into Zen as we were heading out. Those persons (two guys and two girls) had indicated to me that they were foreign students doing an exchange programme at UWI on soca music and they had just completed a project about me.

When we arrived at Zen we headed straight to the centre bar in the general admission area. The VIP was closed that night. As anticipated, we met up with the foreign students who were from Michigan. They were the first people we got to hang out with. One of the girls name was Tricia.

The crowd in Zen that night was kind of small. I noticed that the front portion of the bar to the stage was kind of empty and I chose to hang around by that spot as my liming area that night since I felt safe and comfortable there.

My security detail which usually comprises three to four persons was not with me that night because I wanted to relax and mingle privately.

I was dancing with one of the foreign girls who we met and after a while I got tired of this and moved away. I went by the bar to be by myself.

While facing the bar, as I stood up, a girl came and grabbed me from behind. I had seen this girl earlier. She was a sort of dougla. Not fair, but not dark. She was kind of busty. I would describe her as thick and big bottomed. She and her group had been partying around us and I remember making eye contact with her.

This girl came behind me and started wining on me. I didn’t do anything. I just stood there because that is something that happens to me a lot. She finished wining on me and stepped close to me. She said in my ear “yuh know is me who was dancing with you just now.” I said yes and that was it. She went her way and I went off to talk to a couple friends.

Now from the time I came into the club there was this fella in a stripe shirt who kept coming by me and saying things. He kept pushing his head in my face and speaking in a garbled manner. This guy was short and of African descent. He appeared to be drunk.

I moved away. I kept constantly away from this guy but somehow it would happen that he would get close to me. I remember going and saying to Marvin “that guy there looking like he trying to cause trouble... let’s keep an eye on that.”

After chatting with friends and dancing with a couple of girls I just wanted to stand and relax for a little while. While doing that the same dougla girl and some other girls came back by me trying to wine on me again.

I had on a pair of long shoes and they were mashing my foot on occasions. I eventually asked them “Is there any way all you could shift a lil bit,” —because there was nowhere else I could retreat to since the bar was behind me.

They didn’t take me on but continued dancing around me. The dougla girl tried to throw her bottom on me. I moved away. This seemed to have irritated her because she asked me “wha happen?” I explained that it was not like that. It’s just that I was not feeling to dance with anybody at that moment, and that I was just taking a little moment for myself.

Just then a friend of mine, Maleka Gonzales, came up to me. She and I then started dancing together.

While Maleka and I were dancing, the dougla girl and the guy in the blue stripe shirt started dancing around us. I just feel wetness on me and then I see it on Maleka. Her pants were soaked and I was wet too. There was a glass on the floor and a lot of ice around me and Maleka.

I went to speak to the guy about throwing the drink and he lunged at me. I pushed him off and the Zen security came and took the guy away.

As security was taking the guy in the stripe shirt out of the club all the other people who was with him started to follow him out. In his crew I remember seeing the dougla girl among the group. There was also a tall girl, a fat girl, and a dark-skinned girl with glasses. They were all fretting and carrying on while heading out with the guy.

I stayed inside the club talking to Maleka. As far as I was aware everything had died down and settled down. Sometime after Kernal then came to me and said that there were people outside carrying on and cussing. He felt we should leave because they were causing a scene outside the club. We then left the club.

To my surprise, when we reached the staircase we encountered a group of about 15 people who started cursing and abusing us. The dark-skinned girl with glasses was carrying on about how she had spent $400 to go to my show and another $100 to come here. The fat girl was also cursing and making a lot of noise.

At some point someone pelted a side of shoe at me. One of the girls also spat at us. All I said is “why all ya doh go home because all ya didn’t see anything.” I was referring to the incident which took place in the club earlier.

Some guys who were with the girls (one of whom I now recognise from the newspapers reports to be Brandis Brown) were also hurling insults at us and saying things.

At one point, Snoop was facing me and he threw the contents of the cup that was in his hand up into the air (he did not throw the Styrofoam cup). I think that Brandis Brown is the fella who got wet from the drink. Brandis Brown said ‘nah!’ Then he and others grabbed Snoop and pulled him to one side.

At this point three or four members of Zen Security surrounded me. They carried me across the street and had me against a fence. I believe that they did this to protect me.

I don’t know what happened after at the entrance. At one point I remember seeing the girls approaching in my direction and the security holding them back. This made the girls more irate. Tishard and Marvin were there with me.

Tishard told the girls that they should go home. But they kept on cussing and carrying on. The security restrained one of the girls but she got away and spat at me. The spit landed on Tishard who was in front of me. Tishard raised his hand as if to hit the girl at which point the security let the girl go and tackled Tishard.

When security was holding Tishard I told them that “is she who spit on us... all ya not protecting us.” At this point, I looked across to my right and I saw a fella on the ground. I was in the middle of the street and the fella on the ground was more on the left side. He was about 15 to 20 feet away from me. I have no idea as to what actually happened to cause him to be on the ground.

Marvin said let’s go and I went with him. There were still a lot of people milling around in the area when we left. I went straight home from there. I was not involved in any fight outside of Zen.

I heard several and different versions of what happened in the media. I was scheduled to leave T&T on Friday morning (27 April) to go to Barbados to perform at the Brian Lara farewell (end of Cricket World Cup). I wanted to make sure that the police heard from me what had happened before leaving.

Although I was not approached by the police, I went to the Belmont Police Station about 7.00 pm on Thursday, 26 April.

I met police officers there. I sat down and waited for an hour. Then an officer (who I think was a Superintendent) asked me to bear with them because they had been at this all day.

I hadn’t eaten and was very tired due to lack of sleep. However, I sat and waited for about another hour. When they came back I asked if it was okay if I could leave now and return another day. The police said it was.

I have read the above statement and the contents stated in it are true and correct.

Signed

Date 3/05/07
Post by: A.B. on May 04, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
The other vid is not perfect but it ent Blair Witch that is for sure, so that tells me there is more than one.
Post by: JayTheWrecker on May 04, 2007, 12:42:44 PM
Ato, if your clip is as good as you say it is (and i have no reason to doubt you) don't you think that you have a duty to forward it to the investigating police officer in T&T?.. after all, we are discussing a case of violent assault and actual bodily harm.... and it's possible that your vid clip might be conclusive in proving the guilt or innocence of the parties concerned...
Post by: Organic on May 04, 2007, 12:45:40 PM
Ato, if your clip is as good as you say it is (and i have no reason to doubt you) don't you think that you have a duty to forward it to the investigating police officer in T&T?.. after all, we are discussing a case of violent assault and actual bodily harm.... and it's possible that your vid clip might be conclusive in proving the guilt or innocence of the parties concerned...
:applause: :applause: :applause:
now listen de politican wilggle out ah this.
maybe we should let the authorities know..he have evidence and make them subpoena him.
Post by: Socaman on May 04, 2007, 01:31:38 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl:alyuh not easy nah
:applause: :applause: :applause:
now listen de politican wilggle out ah this.
maybe we should let the authorities know..he have evidence and make them subpoena him.
Post by: socachatter on May 04, 2007, 01:34:42 PM
 :wavetowel: :applause: :rotfl:
allyuh dread too bad yes!
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 04, 2007, 04:07:14 PM

ATO  iis not a  SNITCH come on JayTheWrecker
Post by: WestCoast on May 04, 2007, 04:26:53 PM
ATO  iis not a  SNITCH come on JayTheWrecker
I doh tink he like Cam'ron (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26974.msg301867#msg301867) needa  ;)
allya relax, the wheels of justice turn slowly ;)
especially in TnT
Title: Re: Montano’s statement
Post by: futbolfan on May 04, 2007, 06:00:58 PM

Montano’s statement (http://guardian.co.tt/archives/2007-05-04/news7.html)

Trinidad Guardian
Friday 4th May, 2007

My name is Machel Montano. I am 32 years of age and I am an entertainer. This is my account of what transpired at Zen nightclub in Port-of-Spain in the early hours of Thursday, 26 April, 2007.

a girl came and grabbed me from behind. I had seen this girl earlier. She was a sort of dougla. Not fair, but not dark. She was kind of busty. I would describe her as thick and big bottomed. She and her group had been partying around us and I remember making eye contact with her.

This girl came behind me and started wining on me. I didn’t do anything. I just stood there because that is something that happens to me a lot. She finished wining on me and stepped close to me. She said in my ear “yuh know is me who was dancing with you just now.” I said yes and that was it. She went her way and I went off to talk to a couple friends.

The dougla girl tried to throw her bottom on me. I moved away. This seemed to have irritated her because she asked me “wha happen?” I explained that it was not like that. It’s just that I was not feeling to dance with anybody at that moment, and that I was just taking a little moment for myself.

While Maleka and I were dancing, the dougla girl and the guy in the blue stripe shirt started dancing around us. I just feel wetness on me and then I see it on Maleka. Her pants were soaked and I was wet too. There was a glass on the floor and a lot of ice around me and Maleka.

I went to speak to the guy about throwing the drink and he lunged at me. I pushed him off and the Zen security came and took the guy away.

To my surprise, when we reached the staircase we encountered a group of about 15 people who started cursing and abusing us. The dark-skinned girl with glasses was carrying on about how she had spent $400 to go to my show and another $100 to come here. The fat girl was also cursing and making a lot of noise.
Date 3/05/07

So in ah nutshell, ah big ting try to brace Machel, he blank she....she see him dancing wid ah bess/baddess, and in ah jealous rage she wet dem down wid ah long island ice tea when Machel confront she, de drunken boyfriend/cousin step in to oppose Machel and get real licks...
This whole thing is Machel fault because if that was Yorke yuh could bet yuh bottom dollar that he woulda be in ah corner hugging up dat big ting  for the rest ah de  night....and when Stern and Birchall lookin for him, is because he and de bigs slip thru ah side door and heading up by Lara to spend de nite........
Post by: dcs on May 04, 2007, 11:38:56 PM

YEs....everybody who have a clip supposed to email it to the belmont police and crash they Inbox   ::)

If allyuh was paying attention to what he was saying about the video and the person who sent it you might think the police already have the video.

nice try Organic/Polished Hoe/PH/schitzo  :P
Post by: A.B. on May 05, 2007, 02:05:39 AM
Is not my clip and the person who took it is a female withholding it as some sort of "ace" in case this gets swept under the rug for any reason.  I would never hesitate if I thought it would help a victim, no matter if it was my own family member.  Cam'ron is a damn liar because them rappers quick to run for help when things go bad trust me, my ex used to manage Lil Kim, and in fact I sorry to say is my house she was in for weeks in LA while she was doing all that to her body/face :(.

Someone send me this - why do people send me stuff you ask? I dunno cuz I have a website I guess. 

(http://www.atoboldon.com/images/Gangsta Socaboy.jpg)
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 05, 2007, 03:35:15 AM
Hmm ato yuh know little kim now eh.. she will give if u all  meet next time ... dont let foxy brown know
Post by: A.B. on May 05, 2007, 11:17:37 AM
Foxy and Kim both in a mess, just for different reasons  :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on May 05, 2007, 12:28:03 PM
so when dem ignorant people who ancestors from Europe treat TnT people like shit, we does call dem "Colonialists"
so my question to my learned fellow forumites is this
when local Super Star TnT People treat their fellow TnT people like shit what we going and call dem?
Post by: Pro-Jayz on May 05, 2007, 12:31:58 PM
so when dem ignorant people who ancestors from Europe treat TnT people like shit, we does call dem "Colonialists"
so my question to my learned fellow forumites is this
when local Super Star TnT People treat their fellow TnT people like shit what we going dem?

what specifically are you referring to..?......and come with facts ..no he say she say shit
Post by: WestCoast on May 05, 2007, 12:58:13 PM
Ahrite then, In my sentence anyone could substitute "Local Super Star TnT People" with either Politicians, or business people or who ever you want to put in there.
I ent making a specific reference to ya parder, Machel at all.

"when local Business/Politicians/Super Star TnT People treat their fellow TnT people like shit what we going and call dem?"
maybe it should be a thread of its own.
Post by: Pro-Jayz on May 05, 2007, 01:02:25 PM
Ahrite then, In my sentence anyone could substitute "Local Super Star TnT People" with either Politicians, or business people or who ever you want to put in there.
I ent making a specific reference to ya parder, Machel at all.
:devil: de man is not my padner... I'm just not the typical Trini who believes de little bachhanal rumours...
Post by: WestCoast on May 05, 2007, 01:07:31 PM
:devil: de man is not my padner... I'm just not the typical Trini who believes de little bachhanal rumours...
Cool man, but we all have to admit that this sort of shit happens in many places where the person of power WILL be treated differently than the average peson on the street, and sometimes ALL the evidence  will never make it to the police.

There was this politician here who got in an accident and he told the police it was not him.
well nothing was done UNTILL  video evidence from a camera phone PROVED it was in fact he who was driving the car, so he HAD to resign.
People in Power WILL try things like that man.
Post by: Pro-Jayz on May 05, 2007, 01:21:39 PM
Cool man, but we all have to admit that this sort of shit happens in many places where the person of power WILL be treated differently than the average peson on the street, and sometimes ALL the evidence  will never make it to the police.

There was this politician here who got in an accident and he told the police it was not him.
well nothing was done UNTILL  video evidence from a camera phone PROVED it was in fact he who was driving the car, so he HAD to resign.
People in Power WILL try things like that man.

I do agree that people in power or people have celebrated status do get treated differently...and it should not be this way...but dont you believe that people in power or people who have celebrated status should be judged fairly also?...Not everytime there is no evidence means that the person in power is hideing the evidence  from the public or police...it could very well mean there is no evidence....try and see it from a neutral perspective
Post by: WestCoast on May 05, 2007, 01:29:58 PM
I personally have Not said that Machel has in fact done anything in this situation.
I have made mention to what other people say, that he does in fact have a propensity to act this way.
Post by: socachatter on May 08, 2007, 09:03:42 AM

las night on de tv news dey say that the police shut down the whole akon investigation because they cannot get the public to support them with any evidence.  ah wondering if the same thing go happen with machel? ah hope de  video make it intuh de hands ah de police already!  as ah matter of civic duty.  i hope who ever has dis video can be persuaded to pass it onto the proper authorities
Post by: JayTheWrecker on May 15, 2007, 01:35:30 AM
so, it's fair to say that this whole debacle looks like it's going to be swept under the rug. Ato, does your lady friend still intend to play her ace in the hole? nah....didn't think so  :-X
Post by: TriniCana on May 15, 2007, 10:27:32 AM

las night on de tv news dey say that the police shut down the whole akon investigation because they cannot get the public to support them with any evidence.  ah wondering if the same thing go happen with machel? ah hope de  video make it intuh de hands ah de police already!  as ah matter of civic duty.  i hope who ever has dis video can be persuaded to pass it onto the proper authorities

Socs and you Jay still thinks there is a video on Machel?

assumingly there is/was one, don't you not think it would have been made public already ?
what does this person who claim they have a video clipping have to prove?

Trinidad small....if somebody in the forum make mention to someone else that there is a video clippin of the assault, eventually it will reach that appropriate ears....

stay tune
Post by: socachatter on May 15, 2007, 03:39:48 PM
girl i just sittin here quiet quiet...waiting for de video or de dramatic irony.  Whichever manifests itself first. 
Post by: JayTheWrecker on May 20, 2007, 06:16:28 AM

assumingly there is/was one, don't you not think it would have been made public already ?

Trinidad small....if somebody in the forum make mention to someone else that there is a video clippin of the assault, eventually it will reach that appropriate ears....

stay tune

i have no doubt that such a video exists and that Ato and his female friend are in possesion of it

but i do have serious doubts about it eventually reaching the appropriate ears

when it comes to tackling crime in Trinidad, especially violent crime, we hear plenty talk and statement of intent, but when push comes to shove, all that talk and statement of intent is worth approximately jack shit

here's a prediction

50 US bucks say the police will eventually drop the case due to lack of evidence and Ato's friend will still be sitting on that video clip. Anyone want to take that bet?
Post by: TriniCana on May 20, 2007, 09:22:54 AM

stay tune

i have no doubt that such a video exists and that Ato and his female friend are in possesion of it

but i do have serious doubts about it eventually reaching the appropriate ears

when it comes to tackling crime in Trinidad, especially violent crime, we hear plenty talk and statement of intent, but when push comes to shove, all that talk and statement of intent is worth approximately jack shit

here's a prediction

50 US bucks say the police will eventually drop the case due to lack of evidence and Ato's friend will still be sitting on that video clip. Anyone want to take that bet?

don't predict anything Jay...

I think it's a personal responsibity by the whosoever that proclaimed they have that "so call" video to hand it over to the people in charge of the investigation not so ?

What are the penalities of withholding evidence of this nature in Trinidad. Anybody knows ???

Continuously "sweeping" things under the rug, you don't think eventually that rug would get bumpy ???
Post by: dcs on May 20, 2007, 11:17:24 AM

What are the penalities of withholding evidence of this nature in Trinidad. Anybody knows ???

Continuously "sweeping" things under the rug, you don't think eventually that rug would get bumpy ???

Real people have the same attitude this rap fellah Cam'ron talk about in this other thread (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26974.msg301867#msg301867)...not selling out people kinda ting.
Post by: WestCoast on May 20, 2007, 02:00:43 PM
I say there IS a video, but does not CLEARLY show "anyone of importance" doing anything wrong ;)
jmho
Post by: A.B. on May 21, 2007, 03:32:00 PM
If it gets to that it will anonymously show up in the right hands.  Trust me.
Post by: TriniCana on May 22, 2007, 08:58:28 AM
I don't understand.

If someone claimed to have something solely in their possession, how can it "show up" anonymously into the right hands???

Post by: WestCoast on May 22, 2007, 09:31:20 AM
I don't understand.
If someone claimed to have something solely in their possession, how can it "show up" anonymously into the right hands???
maybe de negotiations still going good ;)
if dat was my video i going big
Post by: Patterson on May 23, 2007, 05:19:37 PM
de tv6 news said that arrest warrants would be issued tonite...... warrant will be issued for a "well known entertainer" also
Post by: A.B. on May 23, 2007, 05:22:42 PM
Wow, and here I thought I would be first to post that lol. Yeah 3 warrants issued.  Serving them tonight.
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2007, 05:49:02 PM
interesting turn of events

I wonder who day talking about ;D ;D
Post by: A.B. on May 23, 2007, 05:56:59 PM
Oh sorry. Kernel, Benjai and Machel
Post by: TriniCana on May 23, 2007, 06:19:05 PM
de tv6 news said that arrest warrants would be issued tonite...... warrant will be issued for a "well known entertainer" also

well that was fast service 24 pappyo :o

Patterson let me know whats happening please
Post by: Organic on May 23, 2007, 06:36:39 PM
hmmmmmm i wonder if de video made it into the babylon hand?
Post by: socachatter on May 23, 2007, 06:51:49 PM
charges being laid against 4 persons. warrants issuing tonight.  court appearance expected tomorrow.
Post by: TriniCana on May 23, 2007, 07:01:56 PM
charges being laid against 4 persons. warrants issuing tonight.  court appearance expected tomorrow.

Chatter who girl ??? any names and what dey charges are yet ?

TV6 news shoulda done already
ah find ya lapsing :rotfl:

doh buff meh
Post by: socachatter on May 23, 2007, 07:12:27 PM
girl tv6 ent really give no names.  dont think they can until arrests are made.  ah will watch the 10 o'clock and see if they have any developments.  i would guess machel, benjai, kernel and...tuh be honest ah forget who de next one was. 
Post by: TriniCana on May 23, 2007, 07:27:00 PM
girl tv6 ent really give no names.  dont think they can until arrests are made.  ah will watch the 10 o'clock and see if they have any developments.  i would guess machel, benjai, kernel and...tuh be honest ah forget who de next one was. 

alrigh dat go do, infact lemme call meh peeps back home dat go know bout dis fasss before dey go in dey bed

ah get dis from dey Guardian Newspaper jus now...dem men working overtime oui

ASSAULT charges are expected to be laid against four popular entertainers today.

They are also expected to be charged with using obscene language and assault occasioning bodily harm.

The charges stemmed from a fracas outside a Port-of-Spain nightclub.

Senior police officers said yesterday that instructions to charge the entertainers were given after the file containing statements and medical reports from victims involved in a reported scuffle was examined.

They said the warrants were expected to be issued today by a Justice of the Peace at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates Court. However, they said, police were hoping the entertainers surrender instead of being arrested on the warrant.

A source said the file was returned to investigators yesterday with instructions from Senior Superintendent Steven Waldron to prosecute the entertainer.

The file had been sent to Waldron two weeks ago, but was returned to officers to conduct further investigations to clear up certain issues.

At least one of the entertainers, sources said, was in lengthy meetings with his attorneys yesterday.

—reporting by Camille Clarke
Post by: Bourbon on May 23, 2007, 09:25:52 PM
Well....i could tell yuh how eye witnesses go describe de scene in court.

All she say she wanted...was one wine from him
All she say she needed was a little bit of his time.
He never expected she to act so when rejected
Not for a wine.
Somebody drink throw way..machel went ballistic
De gyal male friend jump in....he collect a jump kick.
De whole scene get crazy
was real comess around we in no time
cuz of one small wine......
Post by: Organic on May 23, 2007, 09:28:20 PM
Well....i could tell yuh how eye witnesses go describe de scene in court.

All she say she wanted...was one wine from him
All she say she needed was a little bit of his time.
He never expected she to act so when rejected
Not for a wine.
Somebody drink throw way..machel went ballistic
De gyal male friend jump in....he collect a jump kick.
De whole scene get crazy
was real comess around we in no time
cuz of one small wine......
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug: yuh talented burbon
Post by: TriniCana on May 24, 2007, 03:08:38 PM
any other news yet ?

dem newspapers lapsing and like nobody in dey media sector wanna open dey mouth boy

steups
Post by: dcs on May 24, 2007, 04:18:02 PM
any other news yet ?

dem newspapers lapsing and like nobody in dey media sector wanna open dey mouth boy

steups

puzzling it was not mentioned in any of the news casts I listened to.
Post by: TriniCana on May 24, 2007, 04:28:43 PM
any other news yet ?

steups

puzzling it was not mentioned in any of the news casts I listened to.

exactly

so what's going on there in sweet Trinidad and Tobago
did somebody get into MATT or wha
Post by: dcs on May 24, 2007, 06:18:20 PM

If the video went straight into police hands we won't see it.  If that is the case the person who turned it while managing to keep it away from the public should be applauded.  But dis is still speculation.

I not quite understanding what the delay is if the reports are accurate that "Senior police officers said yesterday that instructions to charge the entertainers were given after the file containing statements and medical reports from victims involved in a reported scuffle was examined."

I hope nobody meddling.
Post by: TriniCana on May 24, 2007, 08:08:11 PM

If the video went straight into police hands we won't see it.  If that is the case the person who turned it while managing to keep it away from the public should be applauded.  But dis is still speculation.

I not quite understanding what the delay is if the reports are accurate that "Senior police officers said yesterday that instructions to charge the entertainers were given after the file containing statements and medical reports from victims involved in a reported scuffle was examined."

I hope nobody meddling.

Speculation....only that.

Now dcs this is how I'm thinking about this. Let's say for argument sake, that the said "video" did reach the hands of the investigators in this case.  From what we heard and understand, the video give enough "details" on the night in question. Faces of the 4 or 5 - 6 people who are involved, were most prominent.
What is the hold up? Are they making sure it's Machel dreadlocks and Kerwyn's hat in the video ?

The said "video" was shot from a cell orcamcorder, I honestly can't remember, but there is a said "video"
Thie said "video" only reached the hands of the investigtors let's say last week. The incident happened about 2 months ago (confirm please). Let's say also that for that period of time there wasn't any copies of the said "video" made.

Give me a good reason why you applauding this, while 1 person lied up in hospital, other people were tramatised by the incident, and reptuations were dragged in mud.
You don't think as soon as the word investigation came to light, that said "video" should have shown its face?
Trump card played ?

Anyway like you - i'm speculating.

If MAPP involved ah waiting for Victor to say something about this.

Post by: dcs on May 24, 2007, 10:47:26 PM
Well there isn't anything to indicate when the "video" went to the police.  It could have been right away for all we know.  The public have no "right" to see something that is potential evidence in a case....I am happy that it did not make its way online.  Maybe after the case if there is one.

Plenty of the time that pass was from waiting on King Machel to talk to the police.  I would assume the rest of the time they spent doing follow up investigations....and because of the high profile nature covering all of their bases....they would need a solid case.

And I think is only 4 weeks not two months...like yuh working real hard  ;D
Post by: dcs on May 24, 2007, 10:54:59 PM
Four artistes expected to surrender to police
Trinidad Guardian
Friday 25th May, 2007

FOUR popular entertainers are expected to surrender to police today on charges of assault and using obscene language arising from a recent fracas outside a Port-of-Spain nightclub.

Charges against the four were expected to be laid yesterday, but were not.

However, sources said further investigations had to be carried out to clear up certain issues.

The charges are now expected to be laid in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates Court after which arrest warrants will be obtained for the four.

Sources said the entertainers had indicated to police they were willing to give themselves up and would surrender once the warrants were ready.

Instructions to charge the entertainers were given after the file containing statements and medical reports from victims involved in a reported scuffle was examined. (JL)

No charges yet in Zen fracas (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161152063)
Trinidad Express
Friday, May 25th 2007

Investigations continued yesterday but up to last night charges had not been laid against four people in the April 26 Zen nightclub fracas which involved soca star Machel Montano, his friends and a group of patrons.

Princes Town resident Russell Pollonais was injured and hospitalised following the incident.

Charges are expected to be laid in the matter.

Police questioned four people as well Pollonais and some of his friends during their investigation.

The Express understands that Senior Superintendent Stephen Waldron of the Port of Spain Division has given instructions and officers are in the process of laying charges.
Post by: Dutty on May 25, 2007, 11:14:25 AM

I hope nobody meddling.

In Trinidad??

nooooo dat go never happen....if is one ting we known for is integrity in de justice system...rich man and poor does get de same treatment under de law  ;)
Post by: socachatter on May 25, 2007, 07:39:03 PM
so no arrests yet.  there was supposed to be an identificatin parade but machel failed to turn up anf the police did not have sufficient persons to conduct the parade.  ::)
Post by: TriniCana on May 25, 2007, 08:03:50 PM
so no arrests yet.  there was supposed to be an identificatin parade but machel failed to turn up anf the police did not have sufficient persons to conduct the parade.  ::)

this thing starting to become really funny yes.
so dey having ah id parade to do what now ?
dey using plexiglass or 2 way mirror?  infact what police station in trinidad and tobago have that ?

the video didn't give much evidence or what ?
Post by: dcs on May 26, 2007, 12:47:27 AM

arite..lemme get this straight.
He blank them AGAIN?  This is what...the third time?  How many times that have to happen before they issue a warrant and go find him?
Post by: TriniCana on May 26, 2007, 07:12:07 AM
well Caribana and Nothingham Carnival coming up
so most likely he blanking them until afterrrrr dey festivals

man hadda make he money for bail some how ent

so is only Machel blanking or all 4 of them ???

*edit*
allyuh intefering with his gigs man

Carnivalissima
Harbourfront Centre, Toronto, Canada - 06.10.07

This spectacle of the senses is a bold celebration of Carnivals of the World – Brazilian, Caribbean, European, Latin, Lenten Winter Festivals (Venice, Switzerland, Brussels, Spain), and Mardi Gras. Showtime is 4:30PM. FREE SHOW TO THE PUBLIC

Post by: socachatter on May 26, 2007, 03:57:27 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl:  de man ride out yes!  he gorn tuh perform in the US of A
Post by: dcs on May 26, 2007, 10:55:59 PM

ID parade before charges against 4 (http://newsday.co.tt/crime/0,57783.html)

Saturday, May 26 2007

POLICE officers were unable to carry out identification parades yesterday on three of the four suspects in the fracas outside Zen nightclub, because they were unable to find 21 persons resembling the three suspects.

The ID parades were scheduled to take place at 11 am and the three suspects turned up as scheduled. However, officers of the Port-of-Spain CID who were sent to the streets of Port-of-Spain to get persons fitting the description of the three, turned up empty-handed.

Senior officers told Newsday that they needed 21 persons to facilitate the three separate ID parades, but they were unable to get the required amount.

In frustration, officers abandoned the search yesterday and put it off for next week.

The ID parades were ordered after it was discovered on Thursday that it was not done as part of the investigations into the fracas outside the Zen nightclub which took place on April 26. The ID parades, a police source said, were ordered to be done in order to plug any legal loopholes.

One of the persons who is under probe in the fracas left the country yesterday for North America and is expected home on Monday.

A file passed on by Snr Supt Steve Waldron to lay charges against four persons, remained at the Belmont Police Station yesterday.
Post by: dcs on May 26, 2007, 10:56:54 PM

sooooooooo.....this kinda thing happen often?
Post by: TriniCana on May 27, 2007, 07:14:41 AM

sooooooooo.....this kinda thing happen often?

I laughing yes....

You ain't see them police need ah hard slap ?
I'm sure by the time the suspect reaches back, they will have another excuse because the said suspect has another gig in Canada in June...

"In frustration, officers abandoned the search yesterday and put it off for next week."
What frustration ??? I'm sure all of them and dey children get free tickets for VIP section in Alternative 6 nex year already
Post by: cocoapanyol on May 28, 2007, 12:03:46 PM

what dat mean..."sufficient persons".  If is 4 people who charge and Marchel eh come, it dat leave 3?  Ah not too bright eh, but ah sure dat 4 take away 1 does leave 3.  An if Machel eh show up, ain't he supposed tuh be charged on failure tuh attend too?

An finally, yuh need a parade fuh people tuh know who Machel be?  It have anybody in Trinidad and Tobago who doh know what Machel look like?  Add dem udder 3 entertainers.

Now..is true dat yuh have tuh follow de "letter of de law" and ting so as not tuh infringe people rights and den have case throw out court and what not eh, but why it couldn't ah have ah "parade" wid de udder 3 and den fix up Machel after.

I real confuse yes.
Post by: dcs on May 28, 2007, 12:45:20 PM

Is it 7 people for each suspect...to get 21?

It doh have no rent a dread in de streets of Port of Spain looking like dem fellahs?  Dat so hard to believe.

And as a side note.  They could just pull me off the street dry so for ID parade?  Suppose dem point at you now  :o....I hope they doh keep that on record with yuh name and thing even if they letting you go.
Post by: cocoapanyol on May 28, 2007, 01:15:43 PM

Is it 7 people for each suspect...to get 21?

It doh have no rent a dread in de streets of Port of Spain looking like dem fellahs?  Dat so hard to believe.

And as a side note.  They could just pull me off the street dry so for ID parade?  Suppose dem point at you now  :o....I hope they doh keep that on record with yuh name and thing even if they letting you go.

I would think that that is de whole point of ah ID parade though.  If dey pull you orf de street and de witness point tuh you, den dey know dat de witness not credible.  But den again, dis is not CSI, so ah doh know how ting does go dong in Besson Street Police Station and de res ah dem divisions.
Post by: dcs on June 01, 2007, 03:05:49 PM

Zen ID parades today (http://newsday.co.tt/crime/0,58129.html)
Friday, June 1 2007

POLICE officers investigating the alleged fracas outside the Zen nightclub last month will carry out three identification parades today at the Port-of-Spain CID.

Newsday learned that police have been experiencing difficulties in getting 21 persons fitting the description of three of the four suspects in the probe.

Yesterday, officers told Newsday that all the arrangements have been put in place for the ID parades to take place today.

Following the parades, the police will decide on how to proceed with the matter.

Snr Supt Steve Waldron, head of the Port-of-Spain CID, has already given instructions for four suspects to be charged in that matter.
Post by: A.B. on June 01, 2007, 04:50:26 PM
Big shock.  Guess who they didn't charge.....
Post by: Organic on June 01, 2007, 04:55:40 PM
Big shock.  Guess who they didn't charge.....
yuh mean machel...well  of course after all wey de video clip ....??? ah thought u sya it woulda make its way if needs be....dohw orry allyuh go wai till he slap again
Post by: TriniCana on June 01, 2007, 05:35:41 PM
<stares>

Post by: TriniCana on June 01, 2007, 07:13:55 PM
maybe is jus me girl....but <shakes her head>

ah waiting for sir dcs to com-ein and ah wanna hear he lyrics.....

dcs ah shoulda bet ya ah case ah alexandar keiths or 3 doubles wid extra pepper and ah apple j

Post by: dcs on June 02, 2007, 02:23:01 AM
well...ah think he didnt get charged cause he didn't show up for the id parade.  hmmm...wey dat video in trut?

u sure?  they cud drag tings out geez.  I eh see no video so I will just have to trust the police.  U hope people learn something but time will tell.
Post by: dcs on June 02, 2007, 02:29:37 AM

3 Zen suspects identified (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161156082)
Kristy Ramnarine kramnarine@trinidadexpress.com
Trinidad Express
Saturday, June 2nd 2007

Three suspects in the April 26 Zen nightclub fracas were yesterday positively identified during an ID parade at the Central Police Station, Port of Spain.

The fourth suspect, a local artiste, was not present.

Charges against the three men are expected to be laid over the weekend.

The charges follow weeks of investigation by Belmont police.

Police interrogated four entertainers as well as victim Russell Pollonais and some of his friends during their investigation.

Princes Town resident Pollonais was injured and hospitalised following the incident.

Pollonais, who was released from hospital earlier this month, returned to his job at Caroni Rebar Fabricators Ltd last week.

The 24-year-old man suffered a broken nose and injuries to his head.

The Express understands that Senior Supt Stephen Waldron of the Port of Spain Division has given instructions and officers are in the process of laying charges.

Post by: dcs on June 02, 2007, 02:39:01 AM

Armmm...sooo....the police is usually be so nice?  Like working around your schedule and ting...if you cah make it small ting...come when yuh ready?

If the other 3 getting charge then we can assume there is reasonable evidence for the police to lay those charges....I would think they would want to get the 4th Id'd right away to have this dealt with quickly.

Ah say wha....is only 5 weeks...enough time to write 10 alternative screen play.....recruit a cast and then put on de play to reinact (with instant replay, freeze frame and slow motion all LIVE) for the police to see what really went on.
Post by: TriniCana on June 02, 2007, 02:55:07 AM

Armmm...sooo....the police is usually be so nice?  Like working around your schedule and ting...if you cah make it small ting...come when yuh ready?

If the other 3 getting charge then we can assume there is reasonable evidence for the police to lay those charges....I would think they would want to get the 4th Id'd right away to have this dealt with quickly.

Ah say wha....is only 5 weeks...enough time to write 10 alternative screen play.....recruit a cast and then put on de play to reinact (with instant replay, freeze frame and slow motion all LIVE) for the police to see what really went on.

he in canada dis weekend....
Post by: socachatter on June 04, 2007, 06:49:50 PM
waaaaaaaayyyyyyyyy  suh!  machel on approx. 4 assault charges and charge of using obscene language.  most of the charges are against him, roberts and zan. they were in court today.  next court date set for 12th june.
Post by: dcs on June 05, 2007, 02:47:15 AM

hmmmm.

ok Cana...I think that should prove their was a tape that showed something significant enough for the police to lay charges...especially how they move like they didn't want to.   I don't think they would lay the charges on eye witness account only.

I feel he will get the obscene language for sure...if it on tape he wouldn't be able to deny it so he might plead guilty to that. (doh think that one too big)

The assault charges...well that go be a long court case...and if they working around his schedule it might take a while.  I don't want to see his career suffer because I think he just need to be slapped back to reality and stop causing trouble because he have a supporting cast to back him up.  I doubt he get into these situations in other countries eh...even when he around fans.
Title: Machel faces 5 charges.
Post by: Flex on June 05, 2007, 04:54:45 AM
Machel faces 5 charges.
By: Jada Loutoo (Guardian).

Zen fracas follow-up

4 soca artists charged with assault, cussing
Magistrate grants bail
Montano wants case heard in July

Soca artiste Machel Montano has been slapped with five charges, arising out of the alleged brawl outside Zen nightclub in Port-of-Spain in April.
Also charged are songwriter/producer Kernel Roberts, son of the late calypso legend Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) and entertainers Joel “Zan” Fezeck and Rodney “Benjai” Le Blanc.
All four appeared before a Port-of-Spain magistrate yesterday afternoon and were granted bail.
The four sat in a drab prisoners’ holding cell—in contrast to the glitz of a concert stage to which they are accustomed—but nonetheless centre stage in the Four A courtroom, where they appeared before Senior Magistrate Lianne Lee Kim.
Montano has been placed on $50,000 bail for allegedly assaulting Brandis Brown and Russell Pollonais outside the nightclub on April 26, and three additional charges of unlawfully assaulting Jenelle Le Chee and Gerard Bowrin and using obscene language.
He pleaded not guilty to the latter three charges.
The first two were laid indictably, and he was not called upon to enter a plea.
Roberts, whose bail was set at the same sum, had his reduced to a $25,000 cash bail after his lawyer Daniel Khan informed the court that there was an outstanding mortgage on the property he intended to use.
Roberts was charged with assaulting Brown and Pollonais.
Le Blanc, who is facing only one charge of assaulting Pollonais, was placed on $30,000, while Fezeck had his bail fixed at $50,000 for the two charges of assaulting Brown and Pollonais.
All four are expected to return to court on June 12, and Montano’s lawyer, Dana Seetahal, SC, said her client was anxious to have the case started sometime in July, since he has travel engagements in August.
Twenty-four-year-old Pollonais of Princes Town was reportedly beaten unconscious during the alleged brawl outside Zen during the early hours of April 26.
His friend Brown, 21, also suffered injuries and instructions to charge the entertainers were given after the file containing statements and medical reports from victims involved in a reported scuffle was examined.
Earlier in the day, the four reported to the Port-of-Spain Criminal Investigations Department offices on St Vincent Street, Port-of-Spain, where they were booked.
Montano and Roberts, dubbed in the local entertainment industry as the dynamic soca duo, took home the 2007 Road March title with the runaway hit Jumbie.
Fezeck’s teaming with Patrice Roberts for Sugar Boy earned him a third place win in the Road March race, while Le Blanc’s solo career, after his split from the Asylum band has also earned him accolades.

The charges

• It is alleged that Machel

Montano, Kernel Roberts and Joel Fezeck on April 26 at Keate Street, Port-of-Spain, assaulted Brandis Brown, occasioning actual bodily harm.

• It is also alleged that on

April 26, all three and Rodney Le Blanc assaulted Russell Pollonais outside Zen nightclub, occasioning actual bodily harm.

• Montano has been charged

with unlawfully assaulting Jenelle Le Chee and Gerard Bowrin at the nightclub.

He has also been charged with using obscene language outside Zen.

The legal team

• Dana Seetahal, SC,

represents Machel

Montano.

• Keith Scotland Daniel

Khan represent Kernel Roberts

• Felix Celestine represents

Joel “Zan” Fezeck

• Rajiv Persad, John Heath

and Shalini Khan represent Rodney “Benjai” Le Blanc.
Post by: kicker on June 05, 2007, 11:27:41 AM
Show me allyuh hand now, lemme see yuh hand now.....show meh all de hand dem who doh wah no war no war...
Post by: JayTheWrecker on June 06, 2007, 01:26:48 AM
i doubt very much if the police have a video in their possesion, at least not one that they can use in court. I could be wrong on this but i don't think a video sent anonymously would be admissible as evidence. I think any such evidence has to be verified with at least a signed statement or an affidavit from the person who took it. And that just ain't gonna happen.
Title: Re: Machel faces 5 charges.
Post by: real madness on June 06, 2007, 02:00:20 PM
Let the games begin
Title: Machel to answer charges next month
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2010, 08:34:47 AM
Machel to answer charges next month
By Indarjit Seuraj (T&T Guardian)

International soca artiste Machel Montano will go on the witness stand on January 28 to give evidence in his own defence to three assault charges laid against him following a fracas at the Zen nightclub, Port-of-Spain, three years ago. Yesterday, magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor called on Montano and three other entertainers to answer the charges against them after overruling no-case submissions made by the defence. “All four defendants are being called upon to answer the charges,” Baboolal-Gafoor said in the Port-of-Spain Fifth Court yesterday. Montano, 35, was accompanied by relatives and friends. The magistrate said after reviewing the submissions from the defence, she found there was enough evidence for the accused to answer the charges. Montano, 35, Joel “Zan” Fezeck, Kernel Roberts, 28, songwriter/producer and son of the late calypsonian Lord Kitchener, and Rodney “Benjai” Le Blanc are on trial before Baboolal-Gafoor on the charge of assaulting Russell Pollonais.

Montano, Fezeck and Roberts also are charged with assaulting Brandis Brown. Montano also faces further allegations of assaulting Jenelle Le Chee and Gerard Bowrin and using obscene language. The charges stem from a fracas outside the nightclub on Keate Street, Port-of-Spain, on April 26, 2007. A spokesman said when the trial was next heard Dana Seetahal, SC, attorney for Montano, would adduce evidence from her client while under oath. The soca superstar will then be cross-examined by prosecutors. George Busby leads the prosecution for the State.

Following that Roberts, Fezeck and Le Blanc will each present their cases. Roberts is represented by Keith Scotland, while Fezeck is being defended by Larry Williams. John Heath and Shalini Khan appear for Le Blanc.

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/machel%20montano%201.jpg)
Title: Machel Montano guilty on five criminal charges
Post by: Bitter on December 10, 2012, 09:36:44 AM
BREAKING NEWS - Machel Montano guilty on five criminal charges
...to be sentenced January 17, 2013

By Darren Bahaw News Editor
Story Created: Dec 10, 2012 at 10:48 AM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 10, 2012 at 11:11 AM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/BREAKING-NEWS---Machel-Montano-guilty-on-five-criminal-charges-182817341.html

Montano, the reigning Power Soca Monarch and Road March king, along with Kernel Roberts, the son of legendary Calypso icon Lord Kitchener, Joel "Zan" Feveck, a member of Montano HD Family, and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc, best known for his patriotic song, Trini, were all charged with a series of criminal offences arising out a fracas outside the Zen nightclub, in Port of Spain in April 2007.

After postponing her decision on two consecutive occasions, Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor, presiding in the Port of Spain Magistrates Court, delivered her decision to a packed courtroom this morning.

Montano was found guilty on four charges of assault against Gerard Borwin, Brandis Browne, Janelle Lee Chee and Russell Pollonais.

Montano was also found guilty of using obscene language during the same incident.

Roberts, the composer of several of Montano's hits, was also found guilty on two charges of assault while Benjai, who was charged with two offences of assault and Feveck, who was charged with a single offence of assault, were found not guilty.

Magistrate Baboolal-Gafoor adjourned the matter to January 12, 2013, after hearing pleas of leniency from the attorneys representing the two men.
She ordered that they remain free on bail pending her decision.
Post by: fari on December 10, 2012, 01:10:38 PM
man done start to put de memes on facebook...lordddd
Post by: Dutty on December 10, 2012, 01:21:27 PM
Look like he lash de wrong people chile

well at least we know the justice system does still wukk in T&T.

Post by: Bourbon on December 10, 2012, 01:32:04 PM
(http://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/429500_10151165795138240_4598288_n.jpg)

Either way eh go matter.

Slap on the wrist and ting cuz yuh know is Machel.

Jail time go just mean he go win Prison Soca Monarch.
Post by: weary1969 on December 10, 2012, 02:37:31 PM
(http://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/429500_10151165795138240_4598288_n.jpg)

Either way eh go matter.

LOL is his 1st offence so he eh getting NO JAIL. Next charge is Fraud where the 5million dollar song he get pay 4 d independence?
Post by: Bourbon on December 10, 2012, 03:27:11 PM

Either way eh go matter.

LOL is his 1st offence so he eh getting NO JAIL. Next charge is Fraud where the 5million dollar song he get pay 4 d independence?

Dahs expecting too much. Creativity doh work with deadlines. And even if is a problem..dey could always have Section 35.
Post by: Tallman on December 10, 2012, 04:09:17 PM
(http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/430785_474589629258842_1637037290_n.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on December 11, 2012, 08:40:03 AM
Tickets 4 Machel Monday avialable Fredrick St Prison front gate. D Water Taxi will shuffle patrons from Carerra who wish to attend.
Post by: Socapro on December 11, 2012, 01:56:25 PM
MMHD will not be seeing any jail time, Kamla & her PP government will ensure that.

We would quicker see Jack Warner make ah jail or the TTFF administration resigning for incompetence before we see MMHD do jail time.
Post by: elan on December 11, 2012, 09:34:07 PM
Men rel fighting Machel boy whey sah.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on December 11, 2012, 11:02:24 PM

lol...doh worry these same people will be wining to machel music during carnival.
Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2012, 12:02:31 AM

Machel is ah ass... I personally witness dat fella slap ah deejay in Convention Center in Miami b/c he thought the deejay was messing up.  People laugh it off, big kicks "doh mess up de man set... kyah kyah kyah".  Dis from de same man known for cussing he own mother stink... over who knows what.  Question mih source if yuh want, but it solid.  I wasn't there at this Zen incident but it is in keeping with a pattern of behavior so it doesn't surprise me.  Whatever backlash he getting is well-deserved.
Post by: pecan on December 12, 2012, 07:01:38 AM

Montano was found guilty on four charges of assault against Gerard Borwin, Brandis Browne, Janelle Lee Chee and Russell Pollonais.

Montano was also found guilty of using obscene language during the same incident.

It have a law against using obscene language?

Mods, how cum allyuh eh lay any charges against those who break the law on this forum?

Post by: lefty on December 12, 2012, 07:32:21 AM

It have a law against using obscene language?

Mods, how cum allyuh eh lay any charges against those who break the law on this forum?

we in international waters
Post by: fari on December 12, 2012, 07:43:46 AM
from the express today

"Ah cyah bear the thought that our Groovy Soca Monarch could turn-out to be our GOLDEN GROVEY MONARCH. Fadder put ah hand!"       ;D
Post by: elan on December 12, 2012, 11:15:21 AM

Machel is ah ass... I personally witness dat fella slap ah deejay in Convention Center in Miami b/c he thought the deejay was messing up.  People laugh it off, big kicks "doh mess up de man set... kyah kyah kyah".  Dis from de same man known for cussing he own mother stink... over who knows what.  Question mih source if yuh want, but it solid.  I wasn't there at this Zen incident but it is in keeping with a pattern of behavior so it doesn't surprise me.  Whatever backlash he getting is well-deserved.

Me eh even talking about that.

But as yuh bring it up, one thing leads to another
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on December 12, 2012, 02:25:19 PM
Kavelle still in de picture?
Title: Machel must quit or be fired
Post by: Flex on January 04, 2013, 06:52:18 AM
Machel must quit or be fired
By LAUREL V WILLIAMS (NEWSDAY)
Friday, January 4 2013

SOCA superstar Machel Montano must quit his post of TT’s Goodwill Ambassador to the United Nations (UN) or be fired from that post, because of his conviction by the courts on charges of assault and using obscene language.

This is the call being made by president of the International Radio Emergency Support Coalition (IRESC) Julien Mervyn Dedier. In a one-page letter dated January 1, addressed to UN Women Caribbean Sub-Regional Programme Director Roberta Clarke, in Barbados.

The letter stated: “Machel’s action is not in keeping with the United Nations’ theme on the elimination and prevention of all forms of violence against women and girls.”

Montano, the reigning Power Soca Monarch and Road March King, was found guilty by Port-of-Spain Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor last month on four charges. The charges stemmed from a fracas outside the Zen nightclub, in Port-of-Spain, in April 2007. Three of the charges were for assaulting patrons Gerard Bowrin, Brandis Browne, Janelle Lee Chee and Russell Pollonais. The fourth charge against Montano was for using obscene language during the same incident.

Also charged with offences out of the same incident were Kernel Roberts, the son of legendary Calypso icon Lord Kitchener, Joel “Zan” Feveck, a member of Montano HD Family, and Rodney “Benjai” LeBlanc. Roberts was also found guilty on two charges of assault while LeBlanc and Feveck were found not guilty.

“Machel’s action and convictions, is enough for him to be removed as Goodwill UN Ambassador,” the letter added. Sentencing against Montano and Roberts is expected to be handed down on January 17.

John Hubertson of the UN’s public information department said that the secretariat office does not appoint Goodwill Ambassadors and it is up to UN agencies to appoint respective ambassadors.

Hubertson noted that the office had not yet received any correspondence regarding Montano. He was unable to find Montano’s name on the list of goodwill ambassadors worldwide and questioned whether the soca artiste’s title of UN Goodwill Ambassador was accurate.

Post by: palos on January 04, 2013, 06:36:04 PM
Remove Jack fuss....den tork bout Machel
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 17, 2013, 08:25:18 AM
just heard marchel get 5 yrs with community service unconfirm report.
Post by: D.H.W on January 17, 2013, 10:51:02 AM
LATEST: Sentencing for Machel Montano deferred to Feb 25
Post by: Michael-j on January 17, 2013, 11:10:42 AM
LATEST: Sentencing for Machel Montano deferred to Feb 25

This country is a f$%king joke  ::)
Post by: Controversial on January 17, 2013, 11:22:49 AM
just heard marchel get 5 yrs with community service unconfirm report.

excuse my ignorance but what does 5  years with community service mean? is that 5 years in prison and community service or 5 years of community service?

if you assault a woman in north america, its jail for sure, but in trinidad you get a slap on the wrists according to weary, trinidad still backward...
Post by: Bakes on January 17, 2013, 11:23:01 AM
Was speaking to an insider in Trini last night, relative of one of the convicted, and she pointed out some things that kinda make me sit up and take notice... such as the fact that Benjai wasn't convicted, despite the fact that he was one of the two who were fighting, according to her.  That she wasn't called on to testify despite being an eyewitness... that one of the victims is a Pollonais, relative of some high-ranking lawyers in TnT... whose firm the judge on this case used to work for (and nobody ask him to recuse himself?).  That the victims just went after the two men with money.  Interesting points... even if you allow that she was being a little biased.
Post by: Jumbie on January 17, 2013, 12:24:16 PM
Was speaking to an insider in Trini last night, relative of one of the convicted, and she pointed out some things that kinda make me sit up and take notice... such as the fact that Benjai wasn't convicted, despite the fact that he was one of the two who were fighting, according to her.  That she wasn't called on to testify despite being an eyewitness... that one of the victims is a Pollonais, relative of some high-ranking lawyers in TnT... whose firm the judge on this case used to work for (and nobody ask him to recuse himself?).  That the victims just went after the two men with money.  Interesting points... even if you allow that she was being a little biased.

In a case like this, is there are obligation by the judge to recuse himself without being asked?
Post by: weary1969 on January 18, 2013, 06:56:00 AM

In a case like this, is there are obligation by the judge to recuse himself without being asked?

1st it was a Magistrate and 2nd it is a herself to be recused.
Post by: Flex on January 31, 2013, 07:02:07 AM
TSTT drops Machel
By Joan Rampersad (Newsday).
Thursday, January 31 2013

Management at the Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (TSTT), failed to act on an instruction from its board of directors, led by former Police Commissioner Everald Snaggs, to cut sponsorship ties with soca star Machel Montano immediately after he was convicted of five criminal charges last December, Newsday sources disclosed yesterday.

It was only after the board met last week and again gave the directive to TSTT management that the company, which is majority owned by the State, withdrew its sponsorship of the soca star.

“TSTT wishes to advise at this time that it is suspending all existing arrangements with Machel Montano and the company,” the company said in an emailed release yesterday.

Montano has been endorsing TSTT’s bmobile brand for close to eight years, as TSTT, in turn, has made significant investments in the reigning Soca Monarch and Road March champ’s concerts.

On December 10, 2012, Magistrate Maureen Babo-olal-Gafoor found Montano guilty of five criminal charges of assault and using obscene language during a fracas five years ago, outside the Zen nightclub in Port-of-Spain.

Newsday sources said TSTT management was reluctant to suspend ties with the entertainer after the verdict, although they were told to do so by the board.

TSTT even continued to promote Montano among its main entertainment endor-

sers, and had scheduled him to perform in a mid-day show billed “Powder Wednesday” as part of its week- long Soca in bSquare concerts at Woodford Square, Port-of-Spain.

However, new advertisements yesterday announced that the line-up had been changed to feature KI & JMC 3Veni, Prophet Benjamin, Swappi, 5 star Akil, Cassie and Lyrikal, all backed by The Unit Band in a show renamed “Imagine Wednes-day”.

TSTT’s actions come after calls were made by interest groups for the company to stop sponsoring Montano with taxpayers’ money because of his conviction.

Also convicted last December was Montano’s bandmate and songwriting partner Kernel Roberts, son of late calypso icon Aldwyn “Lord Kitchener” Roberts, who was found guilty of two assault charges.

Montano and Roberts were due to be sentenced on January 17, but the matter was adjourned to after Carnival on February 25.

When contacted yesterday, Snaggs, TSTT’s chairman would only confirm the company had suspended its arrangements with Montano, but declined to state when the decision was taken, and the reasons.

All he would state was that the company was trying to manage information going out to the public and had authorised Head of Public Relations & External Affairs, Camille Salandy to be the only one to comment on the company’s behalf.

When contacted, Salandy referred to the issued statement then said, “I can’t give anything more than what I am authorised to say.”

But sources said following the board’s latest instructions, TSTT management called in Montano and informed him of the decision.

In its release, TSTT reiterated that it is a long-standing supporter of the nation’s culture.

Meanwhile, there have been mixed reactions on social media to TSTT’s dropping Montano from its sponsorship, with some commending the company for its decision, while the star’s fans sided with him. Montano’s mother and manager Liz Montano declined comment on the issue yesterday, referring questions to the entertainer who did not return calls.

Montano still has a commercial deal with State-owned airline, Caribbean Airlines Ltd which is a sponsor of his “Machel Monday” concert.

Post by: D.H.W on January 31, 2013, 07:35:35 AM
Tstt have no morality. Imagine they didn't want to cut ties with him, what example that setting.
Post by: palos on January 31, 2013, 12:23:39 PM
Tstt have no morality. Imagine they didn't want to cut ties with him, what example that setting.

Kamla and she government eh cut no ties wit Jack Warner so whaz yuh point?
Post by: Socapro on January 31, 2013, 02:30:00 PM

Kamla and she government eh cut no ties wit Jack Warner so whaz yuh point?
Title: Machel says “I’m sorry”
Post by: Socapro on February 18, 2013, 02:59:50 PM
Machel says “I’m sorry” (http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/machel-says-im-sorry)
Sun, February 17, 2013 - 3:47 PM

Soca star Machel Montano has apologised to the assault victims involved in the fracas outside a nightclub in Port of Spain in April 2007.

Finally freed from the burden of competition, Montano was last weekend able to take his mind away from the stage and Carnival 2013.

The double Soca Monarch winner was found guilty on four charges of assault against Gerard Bowrin, Brandis Browne, Janelle Lee Chee and Russell Pollonais on December 10 last year.

He was also found guilty of using obscene language during the incident which took place outside the Zen nightclub, Keate Street.

Montano, along with songwriter Kernal Roberts, the son of calypso icon Lord Kitchener; Joel "Zan" Feveck, a member of Montano HD Family; and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc were all charged with a series of criminal offences arising out of a fracas outside the nightclub.

Roberts was also found guilty on two charges of assault while Benjai and Feveck were found not guilty.

Montano will be sentenced on the five charges on February 25.

In an exclusive interview with the Sunday Express, Montano took time to reflect on the last year and issued an apology to the victims of the incident at the Zen.

"Now that it has all come to an end," he said, "I take the time to reflect and I admit it has been an emotionally demanding year for me, to say the least. I travelled to different continents to record, completed two albums, toured the world and dealt with the unfortunate five-year court case before me. I am grateful to my family, friends, fans and well-wishers for all the support I have received.

"I'd like to express my regret and apologise to the victims and their families for the series of events that have affected their lives over the past few years. The actions on that day five years ago have produced unintended consequences and for that I am deeply sorry. My hope is that we learn from this unfortunate incident and become pillars in our communities to ensure these calamities never happen again."

Montano expressed humility and wonder in his ability to "still be relevant" in the industry and praised the works of the younger generation of artistes.

"What an amazing season it was!" he said. "Great music and art from all. There were many great songs from all the known soca stars and also the up and coming artistes like Cassie, Lyrikal, Yankey Boy, KI, Ravi B and more, which added great flavour to Carnival 2013. I am humbled that after more than 30 years of being in the public eye, I can still be relevant and also help support the talent and future of our music."

Montano also extended congratulations to Road March winner Austin "SuperBlue" Lyons.

"As I reflect on my season, I am very happy to have retained my titles in the Power Soca Monarch (which he shared with SuperBlue) and the Groovy Soca Monarch. I thank my entire team for making this dream a reality. The Power was quite a challenge and I salute SuperBlue for giving me a gladiator-like battle. It was great fun for me. As for the Road March, I say hats off to Super. We were all moved by his return to competition and performances. He is an iconic legend and deserving of all the fruits of his labour. I am truly happy for him," Montano said.
Title: Re: Machel says “I’m sorry”
Post by: Bakes on February 18, 2013, 06:54:35 PM
Couldn't have been crafted any better than if a publicist had drafted it... not one time admitting personal involvement or responsibility.
Post by: Socapro on February 18, 2013, 08:49:22 PM
Couldn't have been crafted any better than if a publicist had drafted it... not one time admitting personal involvement or responsibility.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 20, 2013, 12:49:05 PM
Absolutely well-crafted. I don't think that would be lost to the attentive eye.
Post by: weary1969 on February 25, 2013, 01:02:46 PM
MACHEL FINED, NO PRISON TERM (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MACHEL-FINED-NO-PRISON-TERM-193075161.html)
...Montano to pay $27,000 in fines, compensation
By Rickie Ramdass rickie.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

SOCA superstar Machel Montano will serve no prison time.

Montano was this afternoon ordered to pay fines and compensation totaling $27,000, for beating four persons and using obscene language.

Entertainer Kernal Roberts was also ordered to pay a fine and compensation for assaulting two persons.

The ruling was delivered by Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor in the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court.

The sentence had to be adjourned to this afternoon, because the magistrate became trapped in the traffic gridlock caused by the blockade of the highway by protesting Sea Lots residents
this morning.

On December 10 last year Montano was found guilty by the magistrate of assaulting Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard

Bowrin and using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub on the morning of April 26, 2007.
Roberts was found guilty of assaulting Pollonais and Browne.

Joel "Zan" Feveck and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc had also been charged along with Montano and Roberts, but they were both found not guilty of the charges brought against them.

During the trial, which lasted more than five years, Montano had given ten days of evidence. During his testimony, Montano had denied the charges brought against him, stating instead that he was the one who was attacked by the group and spat at.

In passing sentence, Magistrate Gafoor-Baboolal said she had taken into account Montano good character, and that he had made a valuable contribution to the country.

However, the magistrate said that despite this, the two offences of assault occasioning actual bodily harm were very serious and the court had to send a message that such behaviour would not be tolerated.

She said that given the seriousness of the offences, she did not believe that community service should be imposed.

For the offence of common assault against Gerard Bowrin, Montano was fined $300 and ordered to pay $1,000 compensation. On the charge of common assault against Lee Chee, he was fined $300 and ordered to pay $1,500 in compensation.

On the obscene language conviction, he was reprimanded and discharged. For beating Browne, Montano was fined $3,000 and ordered to pay $3,000 in compensation.

For beating Pollonais, he was fined $10,000 and ordered to pay $8,000 in compensation to his victim.

Montano was told that should the fines and compensation not be paid by March 4, he could serve as much as two years in prison.

Roberts was also sentenced to pay a fine of $3,000, and pay compensation of $3,000 to Browne.

For beating Pollonais, he was fined $10,000 and ordered to pay $8,000 in compensation or serve as much as two years in jail.

The State was represented by attorney George Busby, while Dana Seetahal SC and Keith Scotland represented Montano and Roberts respectively.

Post by: weary1969 on February 25, 2013, 01:09:22 PM
MACHEL FINED, NO PRISON TERM
...Montano to pay $27,200 in fines, compensation

SOCA superstar Machel Montano will serve no prison time.

Montano was this afternoon ordered to pay fines and compensation totaling $27,000, for beating four persons and using obscene language.

Entertainer Kernal Roberts was also ordered to pay a fine and compensation for assaulting two persons.

The ruling was delivered by Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor in the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court.

The sentence had to be adjourned to this afternoon, because the magistrate became trapped in the traffic gridlock caused by the blockade of the highway by protesting Sea Lots residents
this morning.

On December 10 last year Montano was found guilty by the magistrate of assaulting Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard

Bowrin and using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub on the morning of April 26, 2007.
Roberts was found guilty of assaulting Pollonais and Browne.

Joel "Zan" Feveck and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc had also been charged along with Montano and Roberts, but they were both found not guilty of the charges brought against them.

During the trial, which lasted more than five years, Montano had given ten days of evidence. During his testimony, Montano had denied the charges brought against him, stating instead that he was the one who was attacked by the group and spat at.

In passing sentence, Magistrate Gafoor-Baboolal said she had taken into account Montano good character, and that he had made a valuable contribution to the country.

However, the magistrate said that despite this, the two offences of assault occasioning actual bodily harm were very serious and the court had to send a message that such behaviour would not be tolerated.

She said that given the seriousness of the offences, she did not believe that community service should be imposed.

For the offence of common assault against Gerard Bowrin, Montano was fined $300 and ordered to pay $1,000 compensation. On the charge of common assault against Lee Chee, he was fined $300 and ordered to pay $1,500 in compensation.

On the obscene language conviction, he was reprimanded and discharged. For beating Browne, Montano was fined $3,000 and ordered to pay $3,000 in compensation.

For beating Pollonais, he was fined $10,000 and ordered to pay $8,000 in compensation to his victim.

Montano was told that should the fines and compensation not be paid by March 4, he could serve as much as two years in prison.

Roberts was also sentenced to pay a fine of $3,000, and pay compensation of $3,000 to Browne.

For beating Pollonais, he was fined $10,000 and ordered to pay $8,000 in compensation or serve as much as two years in jail.

The State was represented by attorney George Busby, while Dana Seetahal SC and Keith Scotland represented Montano and Roberts respectively.

Post by: Socapro on February 25, 2013, 01:27:44 PM
They can't lock MM up while Renwar walks free for even bigger crimes against the nation!  :devil:
Post by: congo on February 25, 2013, 01:29:32 PM
Waste of forking tax payers money. After 5 years of court hearings the sentence is a 20 thousand dollar fine. Not even some community service or anything. This really needed to take 5 years. The Judiciary should be ashamed.
Post by: Toppa on February 25, 2013, 02:08:05 PM
(https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc6/165949_486690624711484_2015222871_n.jpg)
Post by: Toppa on February 25, 2013, 02:18:23 PM
(https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/551384_486700608043819_2026038080_n.jpg)
Post by: soccerman on February 25, 2013, 02:21:58 PM
$27,000 in fines???? That's it.....you could get away with anything in Trini
Post by: asylumseeker on February 25, 2013, 02:33:22 PM
Compensation is less than the fine. Hellacious.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 25, 2013, 02:34:37 PM
Waste of forking tax payers money. After 5 years of court hearings the sentence is a 20 thousand dollar fine. Not even some community service or anything. This really needed to take 5 years. The Judiciary should be ashamed.

Precisely meh brodda. Precisely.
Post by: Bakes on February 25, 2013, 03:24:02 PM
It was always highly unlikely that Machel was going to be jailed for this.
Post by: Bakes on February 25, 2013, 03:24:50 PM

Not necessarily.
Post by: Sam on February 26, 2013, 05:14:52 AM
T&T is de worst place in de world sah, you could get away with anything here...

SLAP ON WRIST
By LAUREL V WILLIAMS
Tuesday, February 26 2013

HAVING been convicted last year of assaulting four persons outside a Port-of-Spain nightclub in 2007 and for using obscene language, soca superstar Machel Montano got a virtual “slap on the wrist” when he was fined $13,700.

The punishment was handed down by Port-of-Spain Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor yesterday after sentencing was on Thursday January 17, postponed to yesterday, which allowed Montano freedom to compete and win millions of dollars in several competitions during the Carnival season.

As he emerged from the courthouse yesterday, a smiling Montano gave the thumbs up and said he was moving forward as he has a legacy to carry on.

Baboolal-Gafoor was supposed to have delivered the sentence at ten o’clock yesterday morning but the case was stood down to 1 pm as the magistrate, like so many other commuters, got caught up in massive early morning traffic gridlock caused by a fiery protest by Sea Lots residents who blocked the Beetham Highway as they called for swift justice against a policeman whose car crashed into and killed a Sea Lots woman and her two children on Sunday.

Baboolal-Gafoor also ordered Montano — the Groovy Soca Monarch and joint Soca Monarch — to pay a total of $13,500 in compensation to the four assault victims. She warned that failure to pay the fine and compensation on or before next week Thursday (March 7) would result in Montano serving two years in prison.

The magistrate reprimanded and discharged Montano of the only non-violent charge from the incident — that of using obscene language. She also fined songwriter Kernel Roberts, who was charged with two counts of assault arising out of the same incident, $13,000 and ordered him to pay $11,000 compensation to two assault victims.

Wearing a broad grin as he stood next to Roberts outside the courthouse yesterday, Montano said: “Our work is not done, we have work to do. We have legacies to carry on and we have fans and people who are depending on us. We have a lot of people working under us, so we are not going to turn our backs on anything . We are moving forward and putting this behind us and going with full confidence in the Lord.”

The case was first called yesterday in the Seventh Court before Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers- Caesar who informed the packed public gallery that the resident magistrate (Baboolal-Gafoor) was late due to traffic. The matter was then stood down.

When the case was recalled shortly after 1 pm, police had to shut close the doors of the courtroom as persons, most of them supporters and family, tried to get inside.

Montanto was last December, found guilty of assaulting Gerard Bowrin, Brandis Browne, Janelle Lee Chee and Russell Pollonais at the Zen nightclub in Port-of-Spain on April 26, 2007. The court had also found Montano guilty of using obscene language.

Roberts, son of the late calypso legend Aldwyn “Kitchener” Roberts, was found guilty of assaulting Brown and Pollonais. Two other artistes, Joel “Zan” Feveck (a member of Montano’s HD Family) and Rodney “Benjai” Le Blanc were found not guilty of charges laid against them arising from the same nightclub brawl.

Baboolal-Gafoor yesterday noted that at any point during the incident, Montano and Roberts could have taken advantage of the club’s VIP car park and left. She noted that this was not done. In passing sentence on Montano, Baboolal-Gafoor said she took into consideration his previous good character. She added that there were several testimonials presented to the court attesting to Montano’s “good character” and contribution to society.

On the offence against Bowrin, Montano was fined $300 and $1,000 in compensation. For the offence against Lee Chee, Montano was fined $400 and $1,500 in compensation. Montano was fined $3,000 in the case with Brown and $3,000 in compensation. He was also fined $10,000 and ordered to pay $8,000 in compensation to Pollonais.

Baboolal-Gafoor fined Roberts $10,000 and $3,000 to cover his two charges with $3,000 and $8 000 in compensation to the victims. On being told of the figures they would have to pay in fines and compensation, both Montano and Roberts smiled in court, before they left.

Asked if he would make a public apology to the victims, Montano declined to comment and ended the interview. Later in the evening, Montano took to his Twitter page and expressed approval of the punishment and said he was happy the case is over.

Post by: fishs on February 26, 2013, 07:14:48 AM

This thug aint going to change.... something in the future coming
Post by: D.H.W on February 26, 2013, 07:30:01 AM
Judge is a great imps. Setting a example with a small fine, after 6 years? This thing should of been completed the same year.
Post by: grimm01 on February 26, 2013, 08:32:05 AM
I was wondering how his conviction impacts his visa and ability to travel to the US. I went to college with a fella who got arrested in his home country for drugs and lost his visa without even going to court (this happen even though his family was political connected) so I know the US can move dread. I saw an article in the Express today that says that Machel visa is subject to cancellation because of the conviction.

So for all his skinning and grinning outside the court it might still have repercussions for his actions all these years later. But then again Kamla might just give him a diplomatic passport if he doh have one already.
Post by: AB.Trini on February 26, 2013, 11:07:41 AM
Two setta laws in TnT - one for the rich privileged and one set for the destitute  and downtrodden.
What ever happened to the minister's son who planass ah man?
Whatever happened to the son of a rich business man in Grande who allegedly murdered a young gyul about a year ago?
How could a junior minister  get away from ah breathalyser test outside Zen?
I mean the examples go on and on......this case is another example of the polarization in our society
Post by: Bakes on February 26, 2013, 11:35:42 AM
That reporter eh even make any pretense of objectivity.  The judge did the proper thing (in light of the arguments raised by Dana), in postponing sentencing until now... very irresponsible of the journalist to insinuate that it was done so as to let Machel make he millions fuh carnival.  As for the notion that this is a "slap on the wrist"... where is the data that shows what the usual range of sentence/fine is for this particular charge?  How does this stack up... more/less lenient?  Irresponsible journalism... and I not even a Machel fan.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2013, 12:18:49 PM

Not necessarily.

What do you have in mind?
Post by: soccerman on February 26, 2013, 03:36:28 PM
That reporter eh even make any pretense of objectivity.  The judge did the proper thing (in light of the arguments raised by Dana), in postponing sentencing until now... very irresponsible of the journalist to insinuate that it was done so as to let Machel make he millions fuh carnival.  As for the notion that this is a "slap on the wrist"...where is the data that shows what the usual range of sentence/fine is for this particular charge?  How does this stack up... more/less lenient?  Irresponsible journalism... and I not even a Machel fan.
That's the question right there. I went through from page one of this thread and scanned through to look for the penalties for such charges and couldn't find anything, not even estimates of what the minimum or maximum senario's could be for being found guilty for the charges. So it's tough to say for sure if he got a slap on the wrist but I still personally feel that penalties the were very lenient I just have nothing to compare it to.

Post by: Bakes on February 26, 2013, 03:56:34 PM

From a purely rhetorical standpoint it is entirely feasible that the injuries actually caused by Machel were less than the criminal penalties in place.  This is a strange (though not unusual) brew of criminal and civil penalties and the two really don't need to correlate.

Soccerman... the CJ just two years ago publish a book of sentencing guidelines. Up until now judges and magistrates was just making up they own thing... so of course we end up with glaring inconsistencies... and injustices.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2013, 06:17:55 PM
Now that I know what you're referring to, I'll comment.

From a purely rhetorical standpoint it is entirely feasible that the injuries actually caused by Machel were less than the criminal penalties in place.  This is a strange (though not unusual) brew of criminal and civil penalties and the two really don't need to correlate.

Soccerman... the CJ just two years ago publish a book of sentencing guidelines. Up until now judges and magistrates was just making up they own thing... so of course we end up with glaring inconsistencies... and injustices.

Lamentable state of affairs. To be fair though ... because the impression could be created that no other actors have been addressing this, you should note that (Messrs. Jamadar and Mohammed aside), the powers that be moved to address this matter via the Sentencing Commission. It's been a longstanding plague. 

RE: the "up until now ..." part ...

While the publication presents historical parameters, I don't know that the unfettered discretion that existed pre-publication is now formally restricted or bound. 

(Jamadar is a thoughtful man. Went to the same school as Carmona).

You will find no argument here regarding the correlation point. Certainly not the direction I was heading in. Instinctively I find the outcome incongruous but not otherwise.

In closing, I now await Rachel P's promised comments on the incident and her contention that she was there and up to now no one has asked her squat.
Post by: Socapro on February 26, 2013, 07:00:17 PM
That reporter eh even make any pretense of objectivity.  The judge did the proper thing (in light of the arguments raised by Dana), in postponing sentencing until now... very irresponsible of the journalist to insinuate that it was done so as to let Machel make he millions fuh carnival.  As for the notion that this is a "slap on the wrist"... where is the data that shows what the usual range of sentence/fine is for this particular charge?  How does this stack up... more/less lenient?  Irresponsible journalism... and I not even a Machel fan.
Post by: Socapro on February 26, 2013, 07:11:25 PM
Here is the Express article!!

Expert: Visa trouble for convicted Machel Montano (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/Expert__Visa_trouble_for_convicted_Machel_Montano-193173951.html)
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 25, 2013 at 10:56 PM ECT

SOCA superstar Machel Montano's United States visa is supposed to be automatically revoked because of his four assault convictions, former consular officer of the US State Department attorney, Randy Depoo, has said.

Montano will require special permission from the US Department of Homeland Security, in the form of a waiver, in order to get a new US visa, Depoo said yesterday.

Depoo, a member of the American Immigration Lawyers Association, made the statements during a telephone interview with the Express yesterday.

The US Embassy in Port of Spain yesterday said it could not comment specifically on Montano's "individual visa case" in response to a query from the Express.

However, the US Embassy yesterday stated: "Generally speaking, visa applicants who have been convicted of serious crimes are ineligible for a visa to travel to the United States."

Montano was yesterday ordered to pay fines and compensation totaling $27,200, for beating four people and using obscene language.

Songwriter/producer Kernal Roberts was also ordered to pay a fine and compensation for assaulting two people.

On December 10 last year, Montano was found guilty by the magistrate of assaulting Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard Bowrin and using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub on the morning of April 26, 2007.

Depoo yesterday said once an individual is convicted of a crime that carries a maximum penalty of more than one year in prison then their US visa is supposed to be automatically revoked.

The charge of assault occasioning actual bodily harm, which Montano was convicted for, carries a maximum term of imprisonment of five years, according to Section 30 of the Offences Against the Person Act, Chapter 11:08.

The charge of common assault, which Montano was also convicted for, carries a maximum sentence of a fine of $4,000 and a term of imprisonment for two years.

"Once a person is convicted of any crime of moral turpitude that has a maximum penalty of more than a year in prison then, if the convicted person has a visa, that visa will be automatically be revoked and you know longer qualify for a visa, you have to get special permission from the Department of Homeland Security for a waiver to travel," Depoo said.

"The convicted person will not be able apply to travel to the United States unless they get a waiver. You do not qualify for a visa unless you get a waiver," he said.

Depoo said if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back.

"The embassy monitors the media and they will put that (revocation of the visa) on the computer so if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back," Depoo said.
Post by: Bakes on February 26, 2013, 07:16:49 PM
Lamentable state of affairs. To be fair though ... because the impression could be created that no other actors have been addressing this, you should note that (Messrs. Jamadar and Mohammed aside), the powers that be moved to address this matter via the Sentencing Commission. It's been a longstanding plague. 

RE: the "up until now ..." part ...

While the publication presents historical parameters, I don't know that the unfettered discretion that existed pre-publication is now formally restricted or bound. 

(Jamadar is a thoughtful man. Went to the same school as Carmona).

You will find no argument here regarding the correlation point. Certainly not the direction I was heading in. Instinctively I find the outcome incongruous but not otherwise.

In closing, I now await Rachel P's promised comments on the incident and her contention that she was there and up to now no one has asked her squat.

Well the "unfettered discretion" will be no more fettered than it was before for sure.  If anything judicial officers will subject themselves to scrutiny from their peers, the local bar and discerning members of the public if they stray too far from the guidelines.  Unless the guidelines are codified however and in the process made mandatory... the status quo will likely continue.

As for the penalties... bear in mind also that the law provides civil remedies, which if some are to believe, is the real objective here.
Post by: Socapro on February 26, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Fans relieved (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/Fans_relieved_-193173761.html)
By Verdel Bishop

Following the ruling yesterday that soca superstar Machel Montano will not serve jail time for the four assault charges of which he had been convicted, the few fans waiting for word of the outcome outside the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court breathed a sigh of relief.

Montano along with songwriter/producer Kernal Roberts, who was also convicted of assaulting two of the victims, were ordered to pay fines and compensation.

Montano's mother, Liz Montano said she was pleased with the outcome. 

" I am pleased; I feel very good because these are two guys I believe in very much. I think they have contributed a lot to society. I am happy for them," Montano said.

Robert's aunt Patricia Faltine was also pleased with the outcome. She said she never stopped praying.

"I have been praying for Kernal. I am happy that he will not face a jail term. I am so relieved. We can move on and put this behind us," she said.

Jean Marc Gittens, producer and long-time friend of Roberts said he was relieved it was finally over.

Soca artiste, Cassiano Sylvester (Cassi) was also celebrating. 

"Machel can move on with his life and continue his musical journey," Sylvester said.

Sydney Williams, 39, said she was pleased with the outcome. She said she has been following the case since it started about five years ago. "Everybody makes mistakes. Machel made a mistake but that doesn't mean he deserves to be put in jail. He has contributed a lot to society. I think he is a great person who made a bad decision. I am happy with the judge's decision.

Most people admitted they did not expect a jail term for Montano.

Jason Maxwell said the fine was a fair ruling. "Everybody was debating what would happen but I knew that whatever the outcome would be they wouldn't jail Machel; plenty people knew that too. I wish Machel all the best in his future because everybody makes mistakes.  Machel should learn from this experience and continue his successful career," Maxwell said.
Post by: Socapro on February 26, 2013, 07:25:29 PM
Machel spared jail (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/Machel_spared_jail-193173911.html)

SOCA STAR Machel Montano was yesterday spared a possible jail sentence after he was convicted of four assault charges and instead ordered to compensate the victims of the attack as well as pay fines to the court.

In her ruling delivered shortly after 1 p.m., Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor rejected a submission for Montano and songwriter Kernal Roberts, who was also convicted on two assault charges, to serve community service for the offences.

Baboolal-Gafoor's decision came almost six years after Montano's first court appearance.

On December 10, last year, Montano was found guilty of assaulting Gerard Bowrin, Janelle Lee Chee, Brandis Browne and Russell Pollonais during a fracas at the Zen nightclub at the corner of Keate and Frederick Streets, Port of Spain, on April 26, 2007.

Roberts was found guilty of assaulting both Browne and Pollonais. Two other artistes, Joel "Zan" Feveck and Rodney "Benjai" LeBlanc's who were also charged alongside Montano and Roberts, were found not guilty.

The magistrate ordered Montano to pay compensation totalling $13,500 and fines totalling $13,700. Roberts was ordered to pay compensation totalling $11,000 and fines totalling $13,000.

Montano, 38, the reigning Groovy Soca Monarch and joint Power Soca Monarch champ, faced an additional charge of using obscene language, but he was reprimanded and discharged for that offence.

Failure to pay the fines could see both Montano and Roberts facing up to two years in prison. Both men were allowed until March 4 to pay the compensation and fines.

Speaking to the media after the decision, Montano said the duration of the matter was a trying time for him to stay strong and focused.

"But I live one day at a time and I will continue to do that. The love I received from my fans and my family is very much appreciated because love is what keep me going. I also want to say thanks to all of the attorneys who represented us over these years," he said.

Yesterday's hearing was initially scheduled to be called during the morning period, but it was delayed as Baboolal-Gafoor became trapped in the traffic gridlock caused by the blockade of the Beetham Highway by protesting Sea Lots residents.

At 10 a.m., police officers opened the doors leading to the Seventh Court where the matter would later be called. Media workers, along with supporters of the men tried to squeeze their way into the room.

Among the supporters were president and founder of Caribbean Prestige Foundation William Munro along with soca artistes Darryl "Farmer Nappy" Henry and Cassiano "Cassie" Sylvester.

Less then a minute later, Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar called the matter. Only present at that time was Roberts. The matter was stood down for a brief period and re-called shortly after upon Montano's arrival.

The magistrate informed both the prosecution and defence attorneys that Baboolal-Gafoor became trapped in traffic and asked that the matter be stood down until 1 p.m., when she would deliver her ruling.

Again, as the doors leading into the courtroom were opened during the afternoon period, there was a mad rush to enter.

Baboolal-Gafoor proceeded to outline her considerations before arriving at her ruling.

"Having considered the authorities and the submissions by both the prosecution and the defence, the court concludes that these two offences (assault against Brandis Browne and Russell Pollonias occasioning actual bodily harm), amounts to aggravated assault. The ambit of community service is not applicable in these instances," said the magistrate.

The case put forward by the prosecution, led by Senior State Attorney George Busby was that Montano, Roberts and a group of other men had gone to the nightclub in April 2007, to celebrate Montano winning that year's Road March title with "Jumbie".

Later that night, Montano and his entourage left the club and went to Roberts' home before returning to the club shortly after.

It was while in the club that a woman by the name of Helen Ganga proceeded to "wine" on Montano twice. After Montano refused to dance with the woman a third time, an altercation took place between him and Bowrin, resulting in Borwin spilling a drink on Montano and one of his (Montano's) female friends.

In turn, Montano slapped Bowrin to the face and grabbed Lee Chee by the arm. The argument later escalated into a brawl outside the club with Montano and Roberts physically assaulting Pollonais and Browne.

The men first appeared in the Port of Spain Court for the offences on June 4, 2007, before Magistrate Lianne Lee-Kim. During the early stages of the trial, the matter was prosecuted by then Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Carla Brown-Antoine, who replaced by Busby after she was appointed a High Court judge.

Baboolal-Gafoor said, she had also taken into consideration that both Montano and Roberts had clean criminal records and that they have both made positive contributions to this country. She also noted that several written testimonials were submitted to the court outlining the men's good character.

"But the court has to also take into consideration that these are serious offences and that a clear message has to be sent that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated.

"The entire thing should have ended inside the club. Machel Montano and Kernal Roberts could have left the club. The group (Pollonais and other) did retaliate but there was no evidence led that it was a physical attack.

"What is crystal-clear is that Mr Montano attacked Mr Brandis Browne, slapping him with a glass and Mr Pollonais was similarly attacked," said the magistrate before passing sentence.

Following the hearing, both men left the courthouse and hurried over to the Abercromby Street office of attorney Keith Scotland, who represented Roberts.

Asked if attorneys would be appealing Baboolal-Gafoor's ruling, Scotland said he would have to consult with Montano's attorney Dana Seetahal SC to determine the way forward.

"It is an option, so the decision to appeal has not been counted out," said Scotland.

The ruling Machel Montano Assaulted Gerard Borwin: fined $300 or two months imprisonment. Compensation of $1,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Janelle Lee Chee: fined $400 or three months imprisonment. Compensation of $1,500 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Brandis Browne occassioning actual bodily harm: fined $3,000 or six months imprisonment. Compensation of $3,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Russell Pollonais: fined $10,000 or two years imprisonment. Compensation of $8,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Obscene language: reprimand and discharged. Kernal Roberts Assaulted Brandis Browne occasioning actual bodily harm: fined $3,000 or six months imprisonment. Compensation of $3,000 or six weeks imprisonment. Assaulted Russell Pollonais: fined $10,000 or two years imprisonment. Compensation of $8,000 or six weeks imprisonment. All payments to be made on or before March 4, 2013.
Post by: Socapro on February 26, 2013, 07:28:57 PM
...Too late for victims to sue (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/___Too_late_for_victims_to_sue-193173731.html)
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

THE four people beaten by entertainer Machel Montano and songwriter Kernal Roberts are only entitled to the $24,500 compensation ordered by the court yesterday.

The Express was told that since the matter is over four years, the people beaten by the men cannot file lawsuits in the Civil Court.

Montano was found guilty last year for the April 26 2007 assault on Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard Bowrin.

He was also found guilty for using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub.

Before Montano was charged, Browne met with then civil attorney Anand Ramlogan at his office in San Fernando, to prepare a civil action.

Ramlogan said then "My client has been approached to settle the matter, but we will allow the Director of Public Prosecutions to do his job."

Ramlogan said his client had given a statement to the police "but regardless of the outcome, I will be filing a civil claim for the injuries sustained by Brandis, because I believe that advantage was taken of this young man".

The lawsuit was never filed.

Ramlogan could not be contacted by cellphone last evening.

Attorney Kevin Ratiram yesterday told the Express, "The limitation period for filing a civil lawsuit (for such an offence) is four years from the date of the incident.

Four years having passed from the date of the incident, the victims are prevented from initiating any civil or High Court action against Machel Montano or anyone else who is alleged to have assaulted them at the time of the incident."
Post by: Bakes on February 26, 2013, 08:27:30 PM
Here is the Express article!!

Expert: Visa trouble for convicted Machel Montano (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/Expert__Visa_trouble_for_convicted_Machel_Montano-193173951.html)
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

SOCA superstar Machel Montano's United States visa is supposed to be automatically revoked because of his four assault convictions, former consular officer of the US State Department attorney, Randy Depoo, has said.

----

Depoo yesterday said once an individual is convicted of a crime that carries a maximum penalty of more than one year in prison then their US visa is supposed to be automatically revoked.

The charge of assault occasioning actual bodily harm, which Montano was convicted for, carries a maximum term of imprisonment of five years, according to Section 30 of the Offences Against the Person Act, Chapter 11:08.

The charge of common assault, which Montano was also convicted for, carries a maximum sentence of a fine of $4,000 and a term of imprisonment for two years.

"Once a person is convicted of any crime of moral turpitude that has a maximum penalty of more than a year in prison then, if the convicted person has a visa, that visa will be automatically be revoked and you know longer qualify for a visa, you have to get special permission from the Department of Homeland Security for a waiver to travel," Depoo said.

"The convicted person will not be able apply to travel to the United States unless they get a waiver. You do not qualify for a visa unless you get a waiver," he said.

Depoo said if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back.

"The embassy monitors the media and they will put that (revocation of the visa) on the computer so if the convicted person travels to the United States they will be sent back," Depoo said.

This is when I have a problem with people presenting themselves as "experts" or otherwise racing to seem authoritative on matters.  I say this both with regards to Depoo and Joel Julien.  Depoo is speaking about American law and Julien interpreting it in such a way as to confuse local law.  To wit: Once a person is convicted of a crime which UNDER US LAW would carry a penalty or more than one year in prison.  The US State Dept. will not, and cannot rely on penalties in foreign jurisdiction when implementing policy, to do so would be to yield inconsistent and at times inequitable and absurd results. 

One doesn't even need to be versed in the law to understand this.  Consider for instance the fictitious Middle Eastern state of Shariastan, where it is perfectly legal to beat your wife within an inch of her life without penalty.  Under Depoo's (apparent) explanation and Julien's interpretation, that person would face no visa restriction whereas in Canada it might get you an attempted murder charge and a mandatory 5-year stint.

Depoo needs to be careful and offer either a caveat or a better explanation.  Apparently he didn't realize he dealing with a 'journalist' who still having issues sorting our his homophones.
Post by: Bakes on February 26, 2013, 08:57:16 PM
...Too late for victims to sue (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/carnival/articles/___Too_late_for_victims_to_sue-193173731.html)
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

THE four people beaten by entertainer Machel Montano and songwriter Kernal Roberts are only entitled to the $24,500 compensation ordered by the court yesterday.

The Express was told that since the matter is over four years, the people beaten by the men cannot file lawsuits in the Civil Court.

Montano was found guilty last year for the April 26 2007 assault on Brandis Browne, Russell Pollonais, Janelle Lee Chee and Gerard Bowrin.

He was also found guilty for using obscene language outside the Zen nightclub.

Before Montano was charged, Browne met with then civil attorney Anand Ramlogan at his office in San Fernando, to prepare a civil action.

Ramlogan said then "My client has been approached to settle the matter, but we will allow the Director of Public Prosecutions to do his job."

Ramlogan said his client had given a statement to the police "but regardless of the outcome, I will be filing a civil claim for the injuries sustained by Brandis, because I believe that advantage was taken of this young man".

The lawsuit was never filed.

Ramlogan could not be contacted by cellphone last evening.

Attorney Kevin Ratiram yesterday told the Express, "The limitation period for filing a civil lawsuit (for such an offence) is four years from the date of the incident.

Four years having passed from the date of the incident, the victims are prevented from initiating any civil or High Court action against Machel Montano or anyone else who is alleged to have assaulted them at the time of the incident."

Again... the same critique, this attorney shouldn't be making such conclusive pronouncements without knowing the details of the case.  The statute of limitations may in fact be four years, but there are any number of factors which may toll the clock, one of them may in fact be the state's prosecution of the same offense (in fact in the UK this may even be mandatory, as recent racism in football incidents imply).  If this also the case in TnT or a consideration, then they may still be able to sue.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 13, 2013, 05:03:27 PM
... The State has appealed.