Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 23, 2005, 03:55:28 AM

Title: Shaun Fuentes Thread
Post by: Flex on March 23, 2005, 03:55:28 AM
The Pro-Look, with Shaun Fuentes.[/color]

Atiba Charles attracts UK interest.

W Connection defender Atiba Charles is expected to return to Oldham Athletic for preseason training in July.
The former national Under-23 player, currently with the senior team in Miami, spent two weeks at the club with fellow local player Andre Toussaint earlier this month, and was able to give a good account of himself, particularly during a Reserve game for Athletic which they lost 2-1 to Manchester United.
Scouts from Coventry City and a couple other clubs saw him and have also invited him for trials while word is that Falkirk of Scotland have also expressed willingness to see more of him.
“Overall it was a very beneficial experience for me. I thought things went pretty well and the manager at Oldham indicated that he was happy with what he saw,” Charles said on the weekend.
Silvio Spann, Marlon Rojas settle.

Defender Marlon Rojas made his first appearance for MLS side Real Salt Lake in a 2-2 draw with Colorado Rapids on Saturday.
The former Police and Joe Public player set up the equalising goal for forward Jason Kreis in the 70th minute.
Rojas has been with the team for the past week after recovering from a hamstring injury and is now fully fit for T&T’s match against Guatemala on Saturday.
“Things have gone really good. I am settling down in the city itself and preparations with the team have gone well. We have some really decent players in the team like Jason Kreis and Andy Williams out of Jamaica,” Rojas said.
Meantime, young midfielder Silvio Spann is coming off three appearances with Yokohama FC in the Japanese Pro League. He is making his return to the T&T line up since his last appearance in the World Cup qualifying semi-final round last year.
“The league there is very fast paced and as such I’ve got to be on my toes right through and stay injury free. The quality is good as well which makes it a very competitive League but so far I’ve fitted in well with the team and my hope is just continue keeping my game up both for them and the national team,” Spann said after training with the T&T team for the first time on Monday.
Fans call for Shaka Hislop.

Goalkeeper Shaka Hislop is currently the number one choice goalkeeper for T&T and maybe it’s about time that Portsmouth put him back in that position if they intend to stop their losing streak.
That’s what the Pompey fans have been calling for as Greek goalie Kostas Chalkias continues to concede goals. So far the former Panathinaikos keeper has let in 13 goals in six matches since taking Hislop’s place in January.
“I would be delighted to get back into the team. I’ve always kept myself prepared to play again. But I don’t make these decisions and am prepared for whatever happens. The manager hasn’t spoken to me,”said Hislop who is with the T&T side for the upcoming World Cup qualifier against Guatemala.
“The situation at Portsmouth is a tight one at the moment but I’ll see how it goes over the rest of the season. I’m pretty confident that things will work its way out.
Kenwyne Jones stays with Stoke.

Kenwyne Jones has scored two goals in six appearances for Stoke City and has agreed to stay with the club on loan until the end of the season.
Jones has also been on loan at Sheffield Wednesday where he ripped up the scoring charts and has been doing well at Stoke as well.
But he has his sights set on returning and establishing himself in the Premiership with Southampton.
“I have agreed to stay with Stoke but my plan is to return to Southampton because the Premiership is where I really want to play,”Jones said on Monday.
“But Stoke is in a relatively comfortable position and I have settled in there as well. The goals haven’t come as freely as when I was at Sheffield but I’ve managed to get a couple and hopefully I can go back and help to some good results.”
Carlos Edwards to come better.

Carlos Edwards remains keen to sign a new contract with English League One side Wrexham.
Having returned from a serious knee injury earlier this year, Edwards said that he will take some time to start ripping on the flanks again with Wrexham two spots from the bottom of the table.
“It hasn’t been easy so far but I’m getting there,”
Edwards said on Monday.
“Wrexham are not in the best of positions but hopefully we can survive but I also have some options that will be available to me so the most important thing is getting myself back into top shape,” he added.
“I have a series of matches to go into for the national team and I am hoping that I’ll be whipping them in constantly. I think we’re in with a good chance of picking up some points in these next two games.”
Title: Fuentes interviews with some players before today big game
Post by: Trini on March 30, 2005, 12:49:01 PM
www.guardian.co.tt

Shaka to bounce back...says Ince

Clayton Ince is backing compatriot Shaka Hislop to stand tall between the sticks for the ‘Warriors’ against Costa Rica today.

The Portsmouth custodian conceded a soft goal in Saturday’s 5-1 defeat as Guatemala recorded their biggest home win in World Cup qualifiers.

Ince, who sat on the bench, remained optimistic about Hislop’s and T&T’s future.

“I feel the hurt even though I was on the bench. We have to put that aside and improve. As a goalkeeper you always tend to pick up on your errors and make sure it doesn’t occur again. Shaka is a strong guy and he’s going to bounce back,” Ince said.

“Once required I’ll be there. It’s not a situation where there are number one and number two goalkeepers, we are both first call and it’s just up to the coach to use whichever one on the day.”

Sam hungry for goals

He’s been in good form of late for Wrexham in the English League Two and now he’s eager to get his name among the scorers for this country in World Cup action.

Hector Sam was a second half replacement for Leslie Fitzpatrick against Guatemala but was unable to have any impact on the scoreline. Now he’s desperate to hit the old onion bag.

“I’m just pumped up to get something in the net for my country. My last goal was against St Vincent last year and I haven’t done much more than that for some time and now is when it really matters. Hopefully we can all get it right on the day,” Sam said.

With Wrexham struggling to avoid relegation, Sam, Carlos Edwards and Dennis Lawrence may just well be playing their football elsewhere if the opportunity arises. Edwards looks more likely to move up to a higher ranked club but Sam is also hoping for a good call.

“It’s been well documented that Wrexham have been struggling especially with the administration situation but we’ll see how it goes from here. You always aim to play at a high ranked club and hopefully something will fall in our favour,” Sam said.

Glen gunning again

Guns blazing today. That’s what speedy striker Cornell Glen has on his mind ahead of today’s crucial 2006 World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica.

Glen missed the loss to Guatemala after failing to recover in time for Saturday’s match. He was however declared fit and appeared for Dallas FC in a 2-1 win over Colorado Rapids and is back in the T&T team for today’s game.

“I got the chance to come on against the USA and I was then looking forward to playing against Guatemala before the injury. That left me really disappointed but I’ll get my chance again hopefully on Wednesday. I know we are in need of some goals and points and it feels good to come back at a time when the team is in need of something inspiring which hopefully I can help bring. The Costa Ricans are always known for playing with pace but I believe that once we can put our heads together and get our feet down, there’s no reason why we can’t pull it off,” Glen said.

Rojas ready

Real Salt Lake defender Marlon Rojas is carded to line up for his club against New York/New Jersey Metrostars on the weekend. But he’s more interested in playing today against Costa Rica.

Rojas was a starter in the 2-1 loss to United States last month but was on the bench on Saturday and is keen to get back among the starters having recovered from a hamstring injury.

“I am one hundred percent ready again. The coach is the one who decides whether I play or not and when I’m called I’ll be ready,” Rojas said.

“We are accustomed to these situations and it’s a matter of us being able to rebound against Costa Rica. Deep down I believe the guys all want to get it right in this one.”

Pierre wants better this time

He was in the starting team which lost 2-0 to Costa Rica in the return match of the 2002 World Cup qualifiers at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Today, a fitter and more experienced Anton Pierre wants to help T&T to three points which will be more than the team had at the time of meeting the Costa Ricans back in 2002 when six games in the final round were already completed.

“This game is probably the most important of my career because it has much more significance than 2001,” Pierre said. “I think now being able to be in the squad is an achievement but it’s more than that now because we have to get into the habit of beating teams. I’m confident that we can bounce back but it’s going to be hard and we must be prepared for a rough battle.”

The likes of Nigel Pierre, Arnold Dwarika, Nigel Henry, Keyeno Thomas, Angus Eve, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Silvio Spann, Atiba Charles, Brent Sancho, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones and others are all carrying the same thoughts ahead of what is undoubtedly the most crucial game up to this point of the campaign.

Shaun Fuentes is the press officer for the CFU/TTFF—email shaunfuentes@yahoo.com

Title: TnT Players Round-Up, With Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Flex on June 15, 2005, 03:09:46 AM
Leo to decide on Gold Cup squad by next week.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Leo Beenhakker will make a decision by the beginning of next week on his selection of players to represent this country at the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States next month.
Beenhakker is likely to take a 20-man squad to Ft Lauderdale from June 27 for a training camp ahead of T&T’s opening fixture against Honduras on July 6 and he sees the upcoming three Group stage matches as useful warm ups before the second half of T&T’s final round World Cup qualifying campaign. The provisional list released by CONCACAF is not an indication of T&T’s  squad for the tournament as Beenhakker may have other options as well.
The team’s progress within the last month was also evident in the latest FIFA World Rankings released which showed a four-place jump for the “Warriors” to 58th spot.
The Dutch-born coach also held a meeting with goalkeeper Clayton Ince on Tuesday but there has been no indication of an automatic reinstatement for the Crewe Alexandra custodian following his late call for leave from the team before it headed off to Monterrey last Monday for the qualifier against Mexico.
Ince has since stated that he wants to return to the team but Beenhakker is yet to say whether he will consider him for the Gold Cup. Team manager Bruce Aanensen stated that there has been no indication from Beenhakker on whether Ince will be in the Gold Cup squad, though adding that “the coach has indicated that the door is not closed on him”.
“There’s  a big advantage for us now with the Gold Cup at this stage of our campaign because at least it gives me a chance to work with the guys for at least a couple weeks. I think we can make good preparations out of the first three matches. Of course our intention is to win but the bigger picture is obviously the World Cup and we will use this to build ourselves into an even better team,” Beenhakker told TTFF Media.
Team skipper Dwight Yorke has spoken of there “ being a good attitude and togetherness among the guys,”  which obviously Beenhakker wants to maintain whether there may be one or two changes to the team for matches coming up.
Yorke has held open discussions with players in front of team officials on terms and conditions and this has gone down well with those concerned.
“The team is enjoying a good momentum right now and we intend to keep this up right until the end of the campaign. I think we will be an even far better prepared team for the next match,” Yorke said.
In related news, striker Hector Sam has been offered a new deal by Wrexham and is expected to let them know this week whether he will in fact continue his career at the club.
Sam was second half substitute in T&T's 2-0 loss to Mexico on Wednesday and returned to London along with some of his other teammates following the match.
Sam, scorer of 12 goals for the club last season including a hattrick against Oldham Athletic, has been made the new offer and according to agent Mike Berry, should make a decision soon on whether he will stay there. Teammate Dennis Lawrence is still attached to Wrexham but Carlos Edwards has already left the club, taking up a new offer from Championship League side Luton Town.
News from the 15th of June 2005.
Falkirk keeps track of Atiba Charles.

Fresh from double appearances in T&T’s last two World Cup qualifiers, defender Atiba Charles is awaiting word on his overseas career.
The Vibe CT 105 W Connection man is expected to be in the UK on pre-season training later this month but duties at the Gold Cup could keep him doubtful.
He has been recalled by Oldham Athletic but Russell Latapy’s Scottish First Division champions Falkirk also expressed an interest in him.
“I have a few clubs interested and the period coming up will be important for me. I think I have only gotten better in the last few games which I played for the country and this is great news for me and the clubs hopefully. I thought we played a good organised game against Mexico but we just let up at the end and allowed them to get two goals.
But I am confident that we will just get better as a team especially with the Gold Cup coming at this time and come August we will be well prepared for the United States and other teams to follow,” Charles said on Sunday.
While Falkirk is eyeing Charles, his national team-mate defender Marvin Andrews is also gearing for another big season. Andrews and striker Jason Scotland are currently back home enjoying some much needed rest along with another national defender Dennis Lawrence. Andrews’ Glasgow Rangers will be in Canada for pre-season next month.
Silvio Spann anxious for Gold Cup.

Forced to miss out on T&T’s last two World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico because his club refused to release him for earlier preparations, midfielder Silvio Spann is now hoping to make an impression on coach Leo Beenhakker during the 2005 Concacaf Gold Cup.
Spann said on Monday that Yokohoma FC in the Japanese League should be on break in July which will allow him the chance to play for the “Warriors” once selected.
“I am really happy to hear the team has been doing well. It shows that with good guidance and hard work that we definitely can be successful. Hopefully I can get a chance to be part of that now with the Gold Cup coming up,” Spann said.
Brent Rahim searching for club.

Midfielder Brent Rahim, coming off a reasonably good second half performance in the recent match against Mexico, has returned to London in search of a new club after being released by Falkirk at the end of last season. The talented player has some options to consider including an offer from American MLS side LA Galaxy.
“I am hoping to find something which would obviously allow me a lot more playing time than I had in Scotland. There are a couple clubs interested but I have to make a firm decision and take it from there,”Rahim said.
Defender Brent Sancho is also hoping to make a new move with the likes of Nottingham Forest, Falkirk and Motherwell knocking on his doors.
Dwight Yorke wants to get fitter.

Still regarded as one of the fittest players on the National team, skipper Dwight Yorke says he’s heading off to Sydney where he will attempt to improve his fitness level ahead of the new A-League season with Sydney FC.
T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker will no doubt be happy with hearing that ahead of Yorke’s return to the “Warriors” line up for the August 17 World Cup qualifier away to United States.
“My new career down in Australia is about to kick off and I’m really excited about it,” Yorke said before leaving the Sheraton Hotel in Monterrey on his way to London last Thursday.
“I have some stuff to take care of in England and then head down to Sydney. I can’t wait to get there. It’s a new challenge in my career. “Pre-season starts on July 1 and I’ll be working extremely hard to stay fit and get things started with my new club.
“Hopefully it would do me good on my return to the National team for the next game against America. I think all our guys will be coming back even fitter and ready for the remaining games,” Yorke added.
Sydney FC meantime, defeated AS Magenta 2-0 to win the Oceania Club Championship last weekend which means they will take part in the FIFA World Club Championship in Japan in December.
Port Vale worried over midfielder Chris Birchall.

Port Vale manager Martin Foyle is expressing fears over the fitness of midfielder Chris Birchall when the time comes for him to represent Port Vale at the start of the new English season in August.
Following Birchall’s recent impact with the T&T National team, Foyle said he was happy to see the youngster making a name for himself in the “Warriors” strip but feels he needs to look closely at his physical state with the Concacaf Gold Cup coming up early next month.
“Chris has done well for them, although he is absolutely shattered.
“When he comes back we will sit down and discuss what is best for him.
“He still has a lot to learn in his game, but he has done well playing 28 games in his first year. After that he probably needed a rest, so this has probably done him no favours, but I am delighted for Chris,” Foyle said on Friday. Vale open their season on August 6, less than two weeks before T&T’s crucial World Cup qualifier away to United States on August 17.
Birchall is hoping to keep his momentum up. “It was devastating for us not to have come away with at least a point in Mexico after we played so well. “It’s been a helluva two weeks for me with these two World Cup games and hopefully I can only get better with the team and we should be up for the match against American,” he said.
Jabloteh slams Defence Force 7-0 in Pro league.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).
[/color]

Kerry Noray scored a hat-trick while Josh Johnson and substitute Nigel Codrington added two late goals for CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh in a 7-0 mauling of Defence Force in the T&T Professional Football League Senior Division League yesterday.
Noray got his goals in the 29th, 41st and 51st minute while Johnson fired in his goals in the 48th and 68th.
Codrington, a 77th minute replacement for Aurtis Whitley, added his items in the 82nd and 87th minute.
The margin of defeat for Defence Force could have been much bigger but for the heroics of former national goalkeeper Ross Russell, who came out of retirement to stand in goal for his team, currently without the services of Selwyn George and Cleon John.
With the win, Jabloteh joined Defence Force in third spot with 11 points from seven matches, 10 adrift of leaders W Connection who were 3-0 winners over United Petrotrin.
The “Savonetta Boys” won the seventh straight league match, via a double from Kendall Davis and one from team captain Earl Jean at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.
Caledonia AIA/Fire moved into second spot with 13 points after a 4-1 whipping of Tobago United at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Marabella.
Handell Manswell got AIA/Fire’s first item in the 54th minute before teammates, Densill Theobald (77th), Titus Elva (85th penalty) and Abdullah Phillip (87th) added their name to the score-sheet. Dave Charles was the lone player on target for winless Tobago United.

Yesterday’s Senior Division PFL results:

W Connection 3 (Kendall Davis 2, Earl Jean) vs United Petrotrin 0.

San Juan Jabloteh 7 (Kerry Noray 29th, 41st, 51st, Josh Johnson 48th, 68th, Nigel Codrington 82nd, 87th) vs Defence Force 0.

Caledonia AIA Fire 4 (Handell Manswell 54th, Densill Theobald 77th, Titus Elva pen 85th, Abdullah Phillip 87th) vs Tobago United 1 (Dave Charles).
Title: Re: TnT Players Round-Up, With Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: arrow on June 15, 2005, 05:46:39 AM
So it looks like Yorke missing de Gold Cup to train with Sydney.  Hopefully one of the younger strikers will get the chance to step up and prove themselves.
Post by: Sam on June 15, 2005, 05:57:39 AM
Hope he atleast come back 7 days before we play USA. 3 days alone to recover from Sydney.

Ah see like Rahim might end up at the club he once turned down, I hope things work out for him, he needs the games, MLS might do him good.
Post by: dcs on June 15, 2005, 10:29:26 AM

Spann not in the preliminary squad for the Gold Cup.

Preliminary rosters unveiled for 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=1819.msg11826#msg11826)

So when they announce the final squad they can add players?

Rahim should go LA one time since the season already going on and he could play one time.  He could sign a one year if he still want to go back Europe later but he need to be playing.
Post by: Flex on June 15, 2005, 10:51:49 AM
Doh study that CONCACAF report, its not accurate...

RE: "Preliminary GC Squad"
Post by: Tongue on June 15, 2005, 11:09:26 AM
dats why all ah we does come here tuh get all the factual info from SocaWarriors online......is only you Flex dat could gih we the truth
Title: The Prolook with Shaun Fuentes
Post by: arrow on August 25, 2005, 05:05:31 AM
Trinidad Guardian

Latapy looks to a memorable ending

Returning national soccer midfielder Russell Latapy says he intends to finish his international career with pleasant memories and he is intent on helping T&T to get to a World Cup final before he hangs up his playing boots.

Latapy revealed on Monday that he is willing to return home to be in the national team for T&T’s next two World Cup qualifiers against Guatemala (September 3) and Costa Rica (September 7) in the first instance, after being convinced by FIFA vice-president Jack Warner and his pal, Dwight Yorke, that his services are sorely needed by the country.

And Latapy, now back with Falkirk in the Scottish top flight, added to reporters that he’s now having a time on the pitch.

“Maybe it seems as though I’m enjoying it more, and maybe I am, because I’m kinda seeing the light at the end of the tunnel,” he grinned.

“I don’t know how long I’m going to be able to play at the highest level, so I’m really enjoying the last of it. One of the reasons I didn’t quit when I left Rangers is because your last memories of the game stick with you for a long time and I want them to be positive,” Latapy said.

Those words can surely be an indication that the way in which he hung up his T&T shirt in 2001 never really left his mind and now the “Little Magician” is hoping to finish his international playing career with flourish.

“The country needs me now and I’m definitely up for playing at a time when I’ve been asked to come back and make this sort of contribution,” Latapy added.

The Scottish media continues to stress that Latapy is the main force in the Falkirk team these days.

Wise signs new deal in Germany

Evans Wise of T&T is once again back on the overseas professional circuit.

The left-side player, known for his eye-catching dribbling ability, signed with German Third Division club Waldhof Mannheim earlier this month, after being a free agent from September 2004 when he last played for Wacker Burgerhausen.

Wise said he went back to his family in Washington DC to take care of some personal business but has re-entered the football scene and is even hoping to get a look from national head coach Leo Beenhakker.

“I have been a free agent since September 2004 when I ended my last stint in Germany. I took time off to go back to DC to handle some personal business, but now I’m back on the playing field and I’m enjoying my football again with Waldhof,” Wise said.

So far, Wise has appeared in the two matches the Waldhof team has played so far this season, winning one and drawing the other.

Nelson off to Australia

Tobago-born striker Kevin Nelson took a gruelling 48-hour plane trip for the chance to have a trial with Adelaide United in Australia last week.

The former T&T Under-23 player arrived “Down Under” on Friday and is under consideration at United, to take the place of retired midfielder Aurelio Vidma.

The 26-year-old Tobagonian is hoping to join Dwight Yorke as the second T&T player to play in the Australian League.

He played with Ottawa Wizards in Canada and has also had stints in Belgium, Venezuela and England.
Title: Re: The Prolook with Shaun Fuentes
Post by: oconnorg on August 25, 2005, 09:49:24 AM
Aye aye, WISE get another contract.. Wha.. He nuh easy ! I wonder if he can still dribble!
Post by: Saltanfresh on August 25, 2005, 09:53:53 AM
We need to bring back Wise too....... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: grskywalker on August 25, 2005, 09:57:03 AM
Glad to see he is still around. It's all well and good he can dribble but can he do so without getting BAT from the next man, or dribble and score.
I remember Denilson for Brazil, fantastic ability and dribbling skills, but never really excelling like his temamates Cafu Rivaldo, Ronaldo.

I see Wise like that. Keep in mind this is a Thrid Dvision Team, hey but we need a man on the left so like fabien say bring he back too ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: oconnorg on August 25, 2005, 10:02:35 AM
Hahahaha.. YEA RIGHT!!!  ;D ;D ;D
Title: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Flex on October 12, 2005, 02:37:22 AM
Two towers of strength for T&T.

Dennis Lawrence and Marvin Andrews, has grown into the one of the more formidable partnerships on the national team. And the benefits of this development over the last five years need to be.
The T&T defence pair, expressed more than ever today, when the Warriors play Mexico at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at 8 p.m. Lawrence is now at Wrexham FC, while Andrews is attached to Scottish Premier League champions Glasgow Rangers. They have been regulars in the T&T team during the qualifying campaign. They are also regular room-mates in the T&T live in camps. You see them boarding the flights and even going for meals one behind the other.

Good understanding.

“Myself and Dennis have a good understanding on and off the field. On the field it’s easy, because we play a similar position and off the field we’re room-mates and really good friends,” Andrews said on the eve of T&T’s match against Mexico.
“We just try to give our best every time to help the situation whatever it may be. It’s not just about me and Dennis though, because we just try to do our part to benefit the team.
“We’ve been playing together all the time. Once you get used to someone, we both know our strengths and weaknesses and this goes back to when Ian Porterfield put us together back in 2000 and that’s already five years and counting.
” It’s no disrespect to anyone by saying that we feel comfortable with each other, because I have played a similar role with guys like Brent Sancho and have also been comfortable. But myself and Dennis have done it longer and we can trust each other.”
Asked if he could recall when their partnership began turning into something special, Andrews was unsure, but Lawrence quickly held up an old newspaper clipping which highlighted T&T’s 1-0 win over Mexico back in July 2000, saying:
“We try to build a team and sometimes this starts with a team-mate and building relationships. It doesn’t take too much, but we have been playing for two qualifying campaigns now.
“Doggy just lets me do my thing and I let him do the same. The main thing is encouraging each other. It’s not just between us, but over a squad of 21 players.
“Fortunately, one of the good partnerships has been myself and Marvin and now you can probably look at Spann and Carlos. ”We talk a lot on the phone when we’re outside in the UK, maybe even to just have a laugh.”
Aurtis Whitley: It’s always special.

Despite being left out of the starting team in Saturday’s win over Panama, CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh midfielder Aurtis Whitley says he’s not dropping his shoulders once he’s wearing the red, white and black.
The former Malick SC player has been starting since the introduction of Leo Beenhakker as head coach, but was asked to sit on the bench, with Densill Theobald taking his place in the starting team.
“It’s not something that got me disappointed because I know the coach is making the call for the good of the team. I was grateful for getting a chance to play in the second half and the most important thing is we got the result.
“ I believe we can do it again on Wednesday against Mexico and whether I’m on the pitch or on the bench it will still be the same special feeling,” Whitley said.
Densill Theobald Scotland bound.

Falkirk boss John Hughes is hopeful of signing national midfielder Densill Theobald, but has hinted that the deal may not come through until after Christmas, according to reports coming out of Scotland on the weekend.
Through the efforts of Russell Latapy, Theobald was on trial at Falkirk last month and impressed Hughes. But it appears that the club is still sorting out a package and a work permit will also have to be obtained for the Caledonia AIA Fire man.
“Densill is young, has great vision and passing ability - you can see that after two minutes,” Hughes said. “He is a full international, but we need to see what the situation is with the work permit. We’re at the first stage and need to see if he qualifies.
“I also need to sit down with my board of directors and work out what we can do. Money is tight, so we need to see if we can come to some kind of arrangement with his club.
“We could take him until Christmas and see what we think of him and what he thinks of us,” added Latapy’s former team-mates at Hibernian.
Chris Birchall’s mom here for match.

As promised by TTFF special advisor Jack Warner back in May when Chris Birchall made his debut for T&T against Peruvian club Alianza Lima, Jennifer, mother of the Port Vale star, along with his father will see their son in action against Mexico today.
Birchall’s parents arrived on Saturday for a one-week stay and are thrilled to get the chance to see him play for T&T in such a crucial World Cup qualifier.
“It’s just such an amazing feeling to have them here for such a massive game,” Birchall said. “It seems that they are even more excited than I am, but it does mean a lot to me to have them here.
“They are definitely backing us all the way and for them, just like me, it’s like a dream come true,” Birchall said.
Not much to get Dwight Yorke ready.

Picture yourself waking up each morning, down for breakfast with the rest of the team and then off to the training field to prepare for your next match for T&T.
Further, try to put yourself in a position with that on your mind, as you leave Sydney FC to journey to the other side of the world for one day of action that really matters.
You know that a place in the next World Cup is at stake, but you also know you have to get by Panama and the mighty Mexicans. Can you really be adequately ready both mentally and physically for such an outing?
Well, l for skipper Dwight Yorke, it doesn’t take much to get psyched up.
“I just see it something I always dream of, even since I was a kid growing up wanting to be a professional footballer, which is something that I have achieved.
“ I have wanted to play at the highest level, which I have reached to an extent, but I have always wanted to play in a World Cup, which I haven’t achieved,” Yorke said on Saturday night after T&T’s 1-0 win over Panama.
“This is the one last chance for me at age 33 going on 34. It doesn’t take a lot of motivation for me personally to do well in games, because you know this is football and this is what you dream of.
“You always just want to give everything that is left in your legs.
“The team is bonding well and, as you say, there’s a good vibes in the team. Hopefully all our hard work will come good on Wednesday.”
And preparing to give your all when you know another yellow card could rule you out of the big match versus Mexico is no easy thing neither.
“It’s difficult, but you put it at the back of your head and try not to let it affect your game too much. Now I’m involved in the game on Wednesday and we can take it from here,” the Sydney star concluded.
Title: Shaun Fuentes
Post by: truetrini on October 17, 2005, 09:42:01 AM
allyuh should ahve ah little more respect fuh Shaun Fuentes.

Allyuh quick to big-up de site and rightfully so, but many times we does scoop de Guardian and express becasue ah shaun fuentes.

Give de man some credit and stop de hating.

Ah know sometimes we does feel like he eh giving nuff info, but allyuh have to rememebr Jack is he borse and de man have to be smart!

Shaun max respect breds.
Title: Re: Shaun Fuentes
Post by: morvant on October 17, 2005, 09:43:02 AM
BIG UP FUENTES AND THANKS FOR THE GOLD CUP TICKETS TOO :beermug:
Post by: Flex on October 17, 2005, 01:03:28 PM
Shaun has been a great source for news and his photo section is also excellent. He has been very supportive in that area by sending me news everyday...

Thank you Shaun....
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 17, 2005, 01:09:56 PM
I agree totally. The man have to juggle being a fan and working for Jack. So I feel sometime men could cut him a little slack.
Post by: Mr Mc on October 17, 2005, 01:11:38 PM
was there some negativity directed at Fuentes on this site?
who said what? when? and where?
Post by: Socapro on October 17, 2005, 01:29:24 PM
was there some negativity directed at Fuentes on this site?
who said what? when? and where?

Good question!  ;)
Post by: morvant on October 17, 2005, 01:30:33 PM
i cant remember any ??
Post by: Flex on October 17, 2005, 01:33:57 PM
This should just be an acknowledgment post for Shaun’s hard work...

Giving props....
Post by: morvant on October 17, 2005, 01:35:37 PM
i am mostly grateful for the pictures he sent us especially in panama where we needed it the most. :beermug:
Post by: Mr Mc on October 17, 2005, 01:36:42 PM
well in that case
Keep up the good work Fuentes, especially the pics.  :applause:
Post by: Jahyouth on October 17, 2005, 02:04:42 PM
For real.  Big up the little man.  Thanks Shaun.
Post by: pass(10trini) on October 17, 2005, 07:41:32 PM
Shaun Fuentes pics is like water in a desert.

PRECIOUSSSSSSSSSSS !
Post by: SHOTTA on October 17, 2005, 09:33:05 PM
BIG UP SHAUN I REMEMBER A LIL WHILE AGO U HAD REGISTERED AND WAS POSTING AN TING TO RUFF UP MAN WAM TO U NOW??
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 17, 2005, 10:29:12 PM
I was talking to him the other night aand he list some of the countries he went to with the national team. The man has probably been to every country barring some obscure places in Eastern Europe and Alaska and them no footblall place. This from a man who was a lowly writer in the Guardian to working for Jack and travelling with the national team everywhere.

He hit meh a story they bout the lapse in police presence after the game. Real jubilation in the dressing room and 2 drunkards come in the room and start to belittle Stern bout the missed penatly. Yuh know the 2 men go get some heavy Copa and Predator to head before the police go finally carry them out.
Post by: ladywarrior on October 18, 2005, 12:52:56 AM
 Way to go Shaun. Great hustle with the interviews and photos. You are more than just a PR guy, you ask the questions we want to know the answers too and you often touch on things we haven't thought of. Great job keeping the fanatics informed!
Post by: fishs on October 18, 2005, 03:53:02 AM
I only met Shaun last month and I can say this young man is an example of hard work, respect and intelligence.
Also is real hours in a day he puts in.
Ah wonder if Jack does pay de man OT ?
Title: T&T Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes. (19-Oct-2005).
Post by: Flex on October 19, 2005, 02:40:55 AM
Cornell hopes for recall.

Cornell Glen planned to call national head coach Leo Beenhakker to discuss whatever plans the Dutch-born coach may have for him with the national team.
Glen, of Columbus Crew, last played for T&T at the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup but has not been able to earn a pick since and is now eager to make a contribution once requested.
“I’m hoping that I can discuss my future with the team because it was an amazing thing to experience the feeling after the win over Mexico,”Glen said. “I even won some bets with one of the Guatemalan players in the club. It was a fantastic result for us.”
The former Dallas Burn player said he has not been enjoying the best of times with Crew which is expected to name a new head coach later this month. “I had a problem with an archilles injury and even though I was getting some playing time I wasn’t up to my best but now things are looking better and hopefully I can catch myself again,” Glen added.
After December for Densill.

Home-based professional Densill Theobald will have to wait until end of the year to have the chance to sign up with Scottish Premier League club Falkirk.
Theobald, who impressed on a recent trial with the club of Russell Latapy, returned home to represent the country in 1-0 and 2-1 wins over Panama and Mexico. But the Caledonia AIA Fire player revealed that Falkirk boss John Hughes phoned him last week to explain the situation.
“Basically he said the club is interested but a deal probably will not come through until the end of this year. He was excited over the win we had against Mexico and you know everyone there loves Russell so they were really happy for us. I was grateful for the chance to come on the field against Mexico and the feeling was a truly great one for us. Now we must just get our heads down and repeat it against Bahrain,” Theobald said.
Shaka Hislop gloves for Holder.

English-based goalie Shaka Hislop turned over the gloves he used in the second half of this country’s 2-1 win over to Mexico to National Under 20 goalie Thorne Holder.
The ex- Queen’s Royal College custodian was outside the T&T dressing room after the win anxious to greet Hislop and was thrilled to have gotten the Selsport gloves from the former Portsmouth man.
“I knew he would give me something because this was such a big match that will go down in history for us. Shaka is a real role model and I know there a lot of things I can learn from him,” Holder said.
Hislop, who was also on the phone with Gillingham defender Brent Sancho around the same time, added “It’s good when we can do things like this and see the look on a youngsters face.”
What a gesture.

Following his late double in the 3-2 win over Guatemala, Stern John received an offer from an avid fan via his website message board to have 25 kids form the Princess Elizabeth’s Home attend the match against Mexico in support of him and the “Warriors”.
The fan, Roger Gervais, purchased the tickets, all for the covered section, and funded transportation and refreshments for the young fans who got the chance of a lifetime to meet the team members at the start of the warm up before the game. John led his teammates across the race track to touch hands with them.
John recalled how he felt when being told of the offer.
In a column by yours truly on the TTFF website last month, it was stated “Stern was thrilled with the news and immediately the old “El Do” boy sounded as though just for that, he would score another pair of goals in the next big one against Panama and then seal it at home versus Mexico.”
Well the rest is history now.
John has since commented saying “It was a great feeling and just to see the looks on their faces when we went over to them before the match was something to remember. The evening was an absolutely amazing one.” John is now T&T’s leading World Cup scorer with 18 goals.
Evans Wise sets up Waldhof win.

German-based winger Evans Wise continues to enjoy some promising form for his new club Waldhof Mannheim. The former US-based pro was named “Man of the Match” in a friendly encounter against Bundesliga side Shalke 04 last Saturday for setting up the first goal in his team’s 3-2 defeat.
Wise reportedly mesmerized the opposing teams with his footwork and agility on the left side.
“I think I did fairly well against them and it was good to impress against a Bundesliga team,” Wise said.
Last Friday he also assisted in the winner against SV Sandhausen in German Third Division League action. “The club has started to settle in the competition and things are looking better for us. My personal form is also quite decent at the moment and I’m hoping for better things in the weeks to come.” Wise is contracted to Mannheim until 2007.
Carlos Edwards waiting on Bahrain.

Midfielder Carlos Edwards who won several new fans with his tricks on the field against Mexico last Wednesday says he’s finally beginning to feel his best again and once the country needs his services he will be going all out to rip the opposing defenders.
“I think this win has made us believe so much in ourselves and you can expect me and the other players to really lift the tempo of our games now. Look at how guys like Aurtis (Whitley) and others were able to raise their game. I’m not saying that we will be over confident but really I think we will buckle down and play our real game now,” he said on Thursday.
In the meantime though, Edwards said he will be concentrating on helping Luton Town continue their fine form in the English championship Division.
"I'm not thinking of the possibility of being at the World Cup at the moment. I am just keeping in a positive frame of mind and first of all I am looking towards the game against Norwich and nothing else. We want to turn around this bad start to the week that we have had following the defeat against Crewe. My club that I play for is my first priority but when I do meet up with my team-mates for my country then that is a different ball game." Yesterday, Edwards kept to his word in netting a 26th minute goal in Luton’s 4-2 thrashing of Norwich City.
Gary Glasgow hopes for Stars transfer.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The transfer of out-of-favour national striker Gary Glasgow from Chinese club Gaungzhou FC to local pro-club National Quarries North East Stars seems set for a positive ending.
Contacted last week, Stars owner Darryl Mahabir said that he received information from the T&T Football Federation, which indicated that Glasgow, who also enjoyed spells in the MLS and US Soccer A League, would be given a temporary transfer.
Glasgow was originally targeted by Stars as one of their possible new signings during the PFL transfer window, which closed on September 14.
His move, however, was held up after Stars were unable to get his International Transfer Clearance in time from the Chinese club.
“It seems that we will have to wait until Monday to get his official release because the Chinese officials have requested that the T&T Football Federation re-submit its request for his transfer on behalf of our club,” said Mahabir.
Mahabir was, however, hopeful that the transfer would be completed by noon on Monday so that Glasgow, who has been training with Stars for the last couple of weeks, would be able to make his debut for the club in the PFL match against CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, from 6 pm yesterday.
The Stars fielded Walter Moore in their squad for the penalty shoot-out win over WASA Clean & White in the Toyota Classic last Friday , after he got his international transfer clearance. However, Jaffar Munroe, a striker from Montserrat, did not get his and was forced to return to Montserrat.
Title: Re: T&T Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes. (19-Oct-2005).
Post by: morvant on October 19, 2005, 11:38:36 AM
WISE DOING IT AGAIN :beermug:
Post by: pioneertrini on October 19, 2005, 11:42:55 AM
has wise ever played under beenhacker?
Post by: morvant on October 19, 2005, 11:52:48 AM
NAH I DONT THINK SO
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2005, 12:00:12 PM
has wise ever played under beenhacker?

No. Wise's last match fuh T&T was against Morocco on September 10, 2003. Fevrier was de coach.
Post by: morvant on October 19, 2005, 12:12:07 PM
HA HA I FINALLY ANSWER A QUESTION B4 TALLEST :beermug:
Post by: grskywalker on October 20, 2005, 09:36:18 AM
I keep saying it GLENN needs to be in this team. Wise may be able to solidify that left side as well
Title: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (27-Oct-2005).
Post by: Flex on October 27, 2005, 02:42:09 AM
Mind games or not, we’ll be ready says Shaka.

West Ham united goalkeeper Shaka Hislop says he has no problems with Bahrain scouting Trinidad and Tobago ahead of their 2006 World Cup half slot playoff on November 12 and 16.
And how come?  Hislop says because it will make them fully aware that they will be coming up against a team full of sheer determination with players prepared for the “games of their lives”.
Hislop made these comments from his team’s hotel ahead of a Premiership outing away to Liverpool on Saturday.
The former T&T captain said he was surprised to learn of all the hype back home over the alleged involvement of David Nakhid with the Bahrain FA, adding that the focus should be entirely on getting T&T past the next two matches and into the World Cup Finals next year.
“I'll start by saying this- David Nakhid has been a school-mate, a team-mate but above all a friend for longer than either of us would care to admit. And I'm sure he'll remain to be. What has happened concerning him and his proposed appointment to the Bahrain youth team is entirely unsurprising, after all he is a very recognized coach in the middle east,” Hislop told TTFF Media.
“What is surprising though is the media coverage the whole thing has received. These meetings, appointments, and exchanging of ideas is very commonplace in football at the highest level. I see it week in week out here at club level. I'm sure every one of the players in the squad is quite used to all of this, it won't be new to any of us.”
Hislop pointed out that it should be noted that the opposition is well aware that they will be in for a tough battle in both matches.
“It shows that they have respect for us, as we do for them. That's all. Personally speaking, I'd be delighted if they saw the videos of the last few games, they'll find out first hand a number of things we've learnt about ourselves which is that we're not easy to beat, we won't lay down, we'll fight to the end, we're a team and we're determined! Come the 12th and the 16th we'll be playing in the biggest games of our lives, and we'll be ready. Mind games or no mind games, it doesn't make the slightest difference,” Hislop assured.
Meantime, the T&T management confirmed that the 21-man squad, inclusive of the overseas-based players will reassemble on November 7 (with the exception of Dwight Yorke who arrives from Sydney on November 8 and will commence training the following day at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Head Coach Leo Beenhakker will also arrive from Holland on November 4 and has indicated that he will comment on matters regarding the National Team and the upcoming matches at a media conference at the Piarco International Airport upon his arrival.
Ticket not yet on sale.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and the Local Organising Committee Germany 2006 wishes to state that contrary to rumors being circulated, tickets for the November 12 2006 World Cup qualifying playoff with Bahrain have not been sold out nor have they gone on sale.
Several calls have been coming into the TTFF headquarters on Dundonald Street from anxious fans enquiring about ticket sales which will in fact go on sale on November 10 from opening business hours at the advertised KFC and Republic Bank branches.
Peter O’Connor, marketing manager for the TTFF, made it clear that the average fan will have the opportunity to purchase up to six tickets to view the game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
“Tickets have not been sold out nor been sold. There are not no blocks of tickets on sale for corporate Trinidad and Tobago and tickets will go on sale at Nov 10,” O’Connor stated.
“We have also informed all  KFC and Republic Banks branches to not sell more than six tickets to any one purchaser. This is to ensure that the individual supporter has every opportunity to purchase tickets and if any are left over on Friday night, they will be sold from 9am on match day at the match venue.”
O’Connor further added: “There has been a huge demand from corporate Trinidad for large blocks of tickets but these requests have been turned down and please do not contact the TTFF offices for ticket sales because tickets will only be available from the advertised outlets.”
The TTFF and LOC also wishes to advise Advertisers and other companies to avoid any attempts to exploit the National Team and the “Journey to Germany” campaign.
“We are appealing to advertisers and companies  not to exploit the popularity of the team or the journey to Germany for their own gain. We are already aware of attempts being made to do this. Please be aware that any such party will be required to obtain permission to market any product or contest on the basis of the National Team and the qualification for Germany. And if they fail to respect our requests then the matter will be dealt with accordingly,” O’Connor added.
Sancho back in training.

Defender Brent Sancho was back on the field for light training this week following a lay off with a hamstring injury dating back to the build up to this country’s matches against Panama and Mexico. The reoccurrence of the problem ruled him out of the squad but he has earned a recall from head coach Leo Beenhakker for the upcoming matches against Bahrain.
Sancho said: “I’m feeling good and the treatment has really helped me out but it’s a matter of me getting match fit and I’m not sure whether I will get that chance this weekend. But by next week I’m almost sure to be back in the Gillingham shirt and ready for the Bahrain games as well.”
In the meantime, his club teammate Ian Cox has fully recovered from injury which also ruled him out of T&T’s last two games.
Collin Samuel turns on old club.

Striker Collin Samuel turned back the tables on his old side Falkirk as he scored Dundee United’s third and final goal in a 3-1 win in Scottish Premier League action on the weekend.
Samuel, a standby in the T&T squad for the upcoming games against Bahrain, came off the bench to score against Russell Latapy’s team which he campaigned with when now moving to Scotland from local club CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.
He was jeered by fans as he warmed up to replace Spanish striker David Hernandez in the second half but then had the last laugh with the 80th minute goal via a flick on from Jim McIntryre’s cross.
“I’ve not had stick from the Falkirk fans before but I knew I’d get some boos today. They didn’t disappoint me and when I came off the bench to hear the noise, I smiled and knew I had to do something for them,” Samuel said.
“That’s why I was so happy with my goal. It was an important one for me but also means a lot to the team and to the manager.”
Latapy helped put Falkirk ahead when his well timed volley was parried by the goalkeeper for Darryl Duffy to slot home.
Guess what Jlloyd Samuel’s favourite meal is.

Possible national team addition Jlloyd Samuel says his long time idol is former England and Liverpool standout John Barnes. The 24-year-old Aston Villa star announced on the weekend that he has committed himself to this country’s national team and is hoping to be selected by Leo Beenhakker for the upcoming matches against Bahrain. Assistant coach Wim Rijsbergen was expected to be in the stands looking on at Aston Villa’s Carling Cup match with Burnley yesterday.
Samuel, after delaying his decision, having been eligible for England selection, said he was looking forward to the T&T experience. “It’s something I’m looking forward to with great interest because I think I can make a good contribution and hopefully I can get selected and play a part in the country’s bid to qualify for the next World Cup,” he said.
Samuel, whose family is from San Fernando, was on the bench on the England squad which included the likes of Wayne Rooney, David Beckham, Steven Gerrard, Joe Cole, John Terry and Phil Neville in a 1-0 win over Sweden in March 2004.
He also states in his personal Web site profile that he grew up playing in the famous Senrab boys team of East London alongside John Terry and Bobby Zamora, another player eligible and willing now to play for the “Warriors”. Samuel added that his favourite meal is curry-goat and rice, Caribbean style.
Kelvin Jack ready to go again.

Goalkeeper Kelvin Jack says he will do whatever it takes to be fit for the upcoming World Cup playoff matches against Bahrain. The goalie went off at half time in the 2-1 win over Mexico with a knee tendon injury and has been seeing a specialist back in Scotland since.
He is geared up to press for a starting role and wants club coach Alan Kernaghan to know this.
But it appears Kernaghan is not ready to give Jack the match practice.
“I started training again on Monday and having been seeing the specialist up here, I know I will be ready again in time for the matches against Bahrain. “It’s definitely a time in my career that I will not miss. Since June I have played 26 games for club and country and this break has done me a world of good” Jack said.
Ghetto Fabulous.
By: Lasana Liburd.

Otis Seaton was hired by Don Leo Beenhakker as the muscle. The Trinidad and Tobago national football team coach needed a player with the energy and courage to protect his back four and the street smarts to link up with his more valued front-runners like Stern John, Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy and Carlos Edwards.
Seaton took the assignment. But he always felt he could bring more to the red, white and black family.
He knew that if he proved himself trustworthy and if he combined dedication and patience to his own offensive talent; then his chance would come.
Anyone fortunate enough to have been at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, on October 12, 2005 or who witnessed it on live television will remember when Seaton became a "made man".
Mexico were leading 1-0 when Signor Latapy drifted inside from the left flank. Seaton was not slow to spot an opportunity and sprinted in the vacant area to receive the ball.
"I took a chance and made a run," Seaton told Express Sport. "And I told myself: 'you see me I going and do my thing'. Then I saw the opening and I just hit."
"Say hello to my lit-tle friend!"
Ever saw "Scarface"? It is Al Pacino's signature movie and depicts a penniless but ruthless Cuban refugee who rises from obscurity in the Miami slums to become a gangster kingpin. Seaton has his own copy of the flick.
It is not the drugs and violence that appeal to Seaton, although he saw enough of both evils while growing up in Malick. Rather, it is the tale of the underdog who beats an unsympathetic and uncaring establishment.
Mexico, ranked fifth in the world, do not expect to lose matches to Trinidad and Tobago. But they did not cater for Seaton's stinging 25-yard shot that ricocheted off the upright and dropped obligingly for John to complete the kill in the 43rd minute.
Eighteen minutes later, T&T completed the reversal against their clearly rattled guests with another John strike, again instigated by Seaton. Those two goals ensured that the tiny twin island republic remain in the hunt for a place in the 2006 World Cup tournament in Germany.
On November 12 and 16, Trinidad and Tobago must repeat the trick in a two-legged Play-Off against Asian outfit, Bahrain.
But first, let us make peace with the gangster flick aficionado who helped take us there.
Express Sport cornered Otis Seaton last Saturday. Or was it Aurtis Whitley?
Fittingly, our man of mystery has two names and even more stories about his rise from the streets of Malick to the sinking of Mexico.
Seaton joined his CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh teammates for Saturday's "Death March" through Port of Spain in protest of the growing crime and murder rate and was unwinding at Tony Roma's Restaurant in Newtown when I spoke to him.
His cap was pulled tightly over his short dreadlocks while he sported a gold chain and ID band. He wore short pants and button-up tee shirt.
Aesthetically, Seaton fits the stereotype of the streets that gave birth to him. His taste in music-he loves 50 Cent-and movies are the trimmings.
Only Seaton is not and never has been a thug. There is not so much as a traffic violation on his record and the only gang colour he wears is the national red, black and white strip.
Confused? Well, maybe your understanding of "ghetto culture" is not as sharp as you think.
But do not expect Seaton to change for your benefit. The 28-year-old is doing things his own way and the country may be better off if more youths followed his example. The key, according to Seaton, is dedication to craft, the capacity for hard work, respect for your counterparts and an eye for opportunity.
And, of course, finding the right trade.
Seaton can quote Pacino's Tony Montana character, but he prefers to meditate on the calm authority of French midfield star Zinedine Zidane. Zidane will retire a legend. Montana suffered a brutal death while still a young man.
The national star advised youngsters to choose life over death.
"It have certain bad boys who will encourage the boys (to do the wrong thing)," said Seaton, "and what the young boys fail to realise is you have a gun on you now but you won't have a gun on you all the time. So what happen when you meet someone you did something and you don't have it on you? And, even if you do, it is no life to live to be looking behind your back all the time.
"You don't have to join a gang or do the wrong thing to eat. You can be positive and eat too."
Seaton chose wisely.
Twenty years ago, his father, Clyde Seaton, migrated to the United States where he found work as a tiler.
The eight-year-old Aurtis Otis Whitley was the first of three children by Seaton and his common-law wife Cheryl Ann Whitley, while Aurtis also a younger sister from a different union.
The elder Seaton remains close with his family who often travel to visit him in New York while he telephoned daily and provided regular assistance. Years later, he offered to help his firstborn get US citizenship and they reasoned that it might be easier if they shared the same surname.
That was when Aurtis Whitley chose to become Otis Seaton. One snag though. The "footballer otherwise known as Aurtis Whitley" has to wait for his passport to expire before he can make the transformation complete.
"When that happens," he explains, "I can change my name to Aurtis Otis Seaton-Whitley if I still want to."
As a young boy in Malick, though, he was a "nobody" in a tough neighbourhood. His first lesson was to conquer fear.
"My father brought me up (teaching me) not to fear anybody," said Seaton. "I am not a rebel but I am not a stupidee either... In Malick, fellas would advantage and disrespect you if they can get away with it.
"The only way to get your respect is to stamp on that one time because if they disrespect you now and you allow it they will want to disrespect you all the time."
Seaton wore his fearlessness like a badge of honour. Apart from his fists, he discovered that he was handy with a football too.
He learned the rudiments of the game in his backyard from uncle, Russell Seaton, and always dreamed of playing for his country. But it was Malick Senior Comprehensive who gave him the chance to showcase his talent.
At 17, he lined up in a dominant Malick squad that included Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow and Stokely Mason who were already national youth stars. If they felt Seaton would be happy to merely play alongside them, they were mistaken.
"I felt that I could do those same things (they were doing) and that I could match up to them," said Seaton. "So I wanted to reach to their level or further because I like to set myself goals."
It started a theme throughout Seaton's career. The higher the bar, the more determined he was to succeed. But he never compromised his principles.
There were two major disappointments.
In 1997, he signed for Portugal Division One club, Vitoria Setubal, after his first and only overseas trials. He stayed for six months but it was a bittersweet experience, which ended in his departure that winter.
"It was really tough because my agent (Toze Francisco) just dropped me at an apartment and disappeared," he said. "And there was no one around who spoke English. So I would just go to training and then head home. I never went out at all.
"At the end of it, there was a disagreement with the management... Each player had an apartment and my heat broke down but I couldn't speak the language so I told the club (through a translator) and asked them to send someone to fix it.
"Out there was very cold and two weeks passed and nobody still came to fix it. I said 'if is all this have to go on is better you all let me go back to where I come from'.
"I not leaving my homeland to go in a next country and be treated like that."
He was hurt too when ex-national coach Bertille St Clair dropped him during his first stint at the helm. St Clair recalled Seaton on several occasions, but the player refused the invitation.
"(St Clair) is only the coach who never gave me the inspiration to play football," said Seaton. "He never told me anything, he just didn't pick me. I got called many times after when he was the coach, but I never went."
Seaton's career flourished regardless from Malick to Nestle's, Superstar Rangers, Young Hearts and Jabloteh. He still hopes to play abroad, but he won't let his current status stop his growth.
As with Malick, Seaton does not bat an eyelid when he turns out for national training and finds himself competing with players like Yorke and Latapy.
It is friendly battle, of course. Seaton insisted he has never before felt the camaraderie that exists within the present squad.
But he will not sell himself short.
"I had to earn my respect on this team," he said. "These fellas are good players and the majority of them are overseas players and I am a local player. Even now, I think there will be even more pressure because they will be expecting me to have an even better game.
"They will be watching now and saying 'alright, they know I can do that and that' and they will expect to see it."
Seaton savours the challenge.
"I know what I am capable of doing and I work real hard in training," he said. "So I am not going to just lie down. I am ready for it." Beenhakker may have found a new hitman.
Title: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
Post by: Flex on November 16, 2005, 03:35:50 AM
Silvio Spann eyes England scene.

Silvio Spann was recently informed of a possible move to England and was grateful for receiving some of his recent matches for the country on DVD as clubs in the UK continue to express an interest in him.
The former Perugia player has made a name for himself with Japanese club Yokohama FC but has maintained a dream of playing in England. “For sure that’s always an aim of any professional player.
While I’m happy in Japan and I’m very thankful for the opportunity my club has given me, there are always other ambitions which a player wishes to achieve,” Spann said.
“But the focus now is getting this Bahrain game out of the way and sealing a spot in the next World Cup in the process.
“I think once we can all come up big on the day then our chances are very good of getting this victory. But we need to get it right as a team, more than ever before,” Spann ended.
Edwards: We owe it to the fans.

Luton Town midfielder Carlos Edwards is hoping to make up for what he described as a lapse performance in Saturday’s 1-1 draw with Bahrain. The former St Anthony’s College midfielder is expected to start again Bahrain in today’s return leg of the 2006 World Cup qualifying play-off and has made it clear that he wants to go all out like the rest of his team-mates have pledged.
“I wasn’t happy with my performance on Saturday and it has been on my mind. I don’t think any of the guys felt good about what happened in the last game. It wasn’t what we expected after having such a good match against Mexico,” Edwards said at the Crowne Plaza in Manama.
“I think everyone wanted to go out there and deliver but unfortunately we came up short and now we have the final chance to go out against Bahrain and get it done.
“This game is the most important of my life and I’m sure for the other guys and as well. The fans looking on will be feeling the same way. We owe it to the people as well,” added the former Wrexham star.
His wife, Theresa Edwards, a singer by profession, in England, was also involved in Saturday’s hype at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, as she was the lead vocalist for the Bahrain national anthem.
Falkirk directors follow Warriors.

Three directors of Scottish club Falkirk FC have been following the exploits of the Warriors in their final quest to get to Germany.
Jimmy Black, Martin Ritchie and Sandy Alexander were in Port-of-Spain for the first leg against Bahrain and were also on the charter to Manama for today’s final leg.
They of course made the trip to not only see T&T in action, but mainly due to the presence of one of their club’s major stars Russell Latapy.
The trio also made the visit to Maracas Beach, Smokey and Bunty’s as well as other popular spots in Trinidad.
They also linked up with Latapy’s local handler Wayne Mandeville and donated Latapy shirts to children involved in the Russell Latapy Kids Foundation and students of the Russell Latapy Secondary School in Laventille.
The Amarillo Bar at the Falkirk Stadium will also have a drinks promotion for fans to view today’s match live on their big screen.
Word is that the directors were also likely to finalise arrangements for Densill Theobald’s move to Falkirk but details are yet to be confirmed.
Noreiga, McKnight snap up US awards.

Former National Under 23 defender Anthony Noreiga was named the Colonial Athletic Association’s “Defender of the Year” in the United States for 2005 earlier this year.
In the process, the former Princes Town Senior Comprehensive captain became the first men’s player in the history of George Mason’s University to win such an award which came after the League’s coaches had cast their votes.
Noreiga anchored his team’s defence and netted one during the season to be also named on the Adidas/Brown Classic All tournament team.
Former Under 20 player, Teba McKnight, an ex-Naparima College standout was also named as a forward on the All-NCAA second team.
Another former national youth player, Osei Telesford was named to the Big South All-Conference first team for the second time in his career.
He was also chosen on the first team back in 2003. He switched to a midfield position this season and is second among all scorers with six goals.
Birchall joked about that wonder goal.

England-born midfielder Chris Birchall was thrilled to get his second international goal for T&T but was not pleased to have only come away with a 1-1 draw with Bahrain on Saturday.
The Port Vale midfielder kept T&T in the game with an absolute stunner in the second half for the Warriors to draw level to go into the second leg today with a good enough chance of booking their place in Germany.
“I’m delighted to get my second goal for T&T and especially the first one at home in front of the packed stadium. But it was a bit of a sour note that we conceded the away goal.
“Our aim going into the match was to make sure and not concede any goals but at least we’re still in it right now. Now we have to go to Bahrain and we know what’s got to be done,” Birchall said after the match.
The 21-year-old player from Stafford, England said that he had been joking around with goalie and roommate Kelvin Jack earlier on Saturday that he would net one on the day.
“Strangely I was actually joking around with Jack and saying that I was going to score one and luckily it happened.
“But personally I didn’t think I played that well.
“I think I can play a lot better than I did in this game and that was disappointing but hopefully we can all get it right on Wednesday (today),” Birchall added.
German World Cup winner backs Yorke.

Having experienced World Cup success with the West Germany team of 1990, Sydney FC coach Pierre Littbarski is hoping that Dwight Yorke can taste the world stage by guiding T&T to Germany 2006.
The former German international said that Yorke deserves to play in a World Cup, not just because of his past success but also due to the commitment he has given to both club and country in recent times.
“It is a very important thing for Dwight because to play in the World Cup is a highlight. Everyone at Sydney is hoping he can make it because he has been great for us.
“We want him to experience the greatest level of play at the World Cup,” Littbarski said.
“Dwight has been performing for us at a very difficult time for him as he has had to do a lot of flying to World Cup matches.
That is not an easy thing to do but he is very dedicated to his training and recovery.”
“It’s great to have the support of so many people because it shows that they want us to do well and hopefully we can give back to them and get through to the World Cup,” Yorke commented.
Title: Re: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
Post by: Sando on November 16, 2005, 08:42:36 AM
Nice....
Title: Re: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
Post by: dwn on November 16, 2005, 09:00:25 AM
Is there info on what UK clubs have shown interest in Spann?
Title: Shaun Fuentes Why you run on the Field
Post by: KND2 on November 18, 2005, 01:34:08 PM
I want to know who is this man in a suit running on the field

When I look good is Fuentes

Like this man dont know he have to be carefull

The men jump on him he drop down flap like a breadfruit, The boy know he lil weaky he luckly he aint get crush :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

And the worst part of the whole story is that he nice suit that he rent to go on the trip he cant take back because it get real dirt and grass on it.

Fuentes boy what you doing out they :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Title: Re: Shaun Fuentes Why you run on the Field
Post by: SHOTTA on November 18, 2005, 01:37:18 PM
man like me wish i was dey yes
Post by: andre samuel on November 18, 2005, 01:50:26 PM
Leave meh pardner!! i glad for de man.  If i was dey i woulda run onto de field too.  I mighta even get in de fight with de bahrain fellas and dem.

Big up tuh tallman who have ah picture in today's express!!
Post by: SHOTTA on November 18, 2005, 01:54:35 PM
yea i see da pic too dun kno wen he back on d board it go be level stories

look out for ato boldon special on cnc 3 dat go hav some good footage too
Post by: LICKS4SO on November 18, 2005, 01:56:34 PM
ALL yuh have to big up shaun too..... ;D ;D ;D he is a warrior too. he on the boat long time also. doing his thing(reporting) I mean...thanks shaun...
Post by: Ponnoxx on November 18, 2005, 01:58:49 PM
 Fuentes is a man that always support the Team....I could undersatnd his jubilation
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 18, 2005, 01:59:34 PM
yeah fuentes deserve to be there...once he eh break he camera and take de pics and he safe i happy for de man!
Post by: oconnorg on November 18, 2005, 02:08:17 PM
Big up to the Fuentes man
Post by: LICKS4SO on November 18, 2005, 02:13:45 PM
all yuh..let we chip up and get him ah new camara!!!!!....I serious we send ah 2 dollars to tallman or flex.....somebody else second this request!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 18, 2005, 02:23:41 PM
I talk to him last night online he say was real bacchanal

he say when match done Trini supporters start to get stone with heavy big stone and guess out of everybody who pick up the stone and them and fire back in true Trini style

yeah you guessed it
Anil "SPALK" Roberts
Post by: Rotato Poti on November 18, 2005, 02:24:16 PM
I think we in a bit of a quandry.

Now we could get Shaun a new camera ...... but I think we should carry him on his own motorcade thru TT.

We starting in he "home" town of South .... we making a pass by Lil Tokyo ... den we going by Villa .... den is up the highway .... til we reach Copa.

Post by: Cowen on November 18, 2005, 02:35:19 PM

The men jump on him he drop down flap like a breadfruit, The boy know he lil weaky he luckly he aint get crush :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

And the worst part of the whole story is that he nice suit that he rent to go on the trip he cant take back because it get real dirt and grass on it.

So what if the man run on the field. The country just qualify for WC ... if i was dey i on the field too.

Why allyuh men doh crawl back under a flicking rock instead ah posting shit like this.
Post by: Trini_fan on November 18, 2005, 02:44:36 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: I make that out too. He reach on the field before the other players all kinda thing. Small thing though he deserve to celebrate.
Post by: jr sams on November 18, 2005, 04:42:02 PM
Yuh know I thought is was him....ah jus finish watchin that piece again for the 100th time. I trying to put both games unto DVD.....history!
Post by: cm103 on November 18, 2005, 06:39:08 PM
Yuh know I thought is was him....ah jus finish watchin that piece again for the 100th time. I trying to put both games unto DVD.....history!

Hol on...yuh have d second game? Post that!!!! Men trying to hol that for a while now.
Post by: Rotato Poti on November 18, 2005, 06:46:31 PM
this is Shaun first step in becoming Speaker of the House .... right after Jack become Prime Minister!!!

I already campaigning .... ROTATO POTI for Minister of Lime Arrangement.
Post by: Jefferz on November 18, 2005, 06:48:00 PM
this is Shaun first step in becoming Speaker of the House .... right after Jack become Prime Minister!!!

I already campaigning .... ROTATO POTI for Minister of Lime Arrangement.

::) o good God
Title: Shaun Fuentes reports on T&T women team.
Post by: Flex on January 23, 2006, 07:06:32 PM
T&T U20 women finish with win over Panama.

Trinidad & Tobago Women´s Footballers got two consolations from the CONCACAF  Under 20 Women´s Tournament in Vera Cruz on Sunday.
The Jamaal Shabazz coached team defeated Panama 3-1 to finish third in Group A of the CONCACAF Under 20 World Qualifying series. A hattrick from US-based striker Maylee-Attin Johnson helped T&T to third spot behind Mexico which they lost 2-0 to and Canada which defeated them 7-1 in the opening match. Canada and Mexico will now move on to the semi finals to be played Wednesday.
However so impressed was Mexican Coach Leonardo Cuellar with the T&T team that he invited them for two warm up matches at senior women´s level in April in Mexico City.
"The T&T girls have made tremendous improvements in their play and apart from the mistakes they made at the back proved that they play with the top CONCACAF teams,” Cuellar said.
"I do not know why your team did not play like this way against Canada,” he added. Cuellar stated that he felt T&T was now a team that would pose as a strong opposition to Mexico and others.
“T&T would be an excellent opponent for us as a warm up going to our UNCAF qualifying tournament at the end of April. They are quick and skillful and on the same level with our Central opponents.”
A hattrick by Johnson with goals in 6th, 45th and 69th paced T&T to its only win in the tournament. 
The star striker who was a favourite with the Mexican fans completed a hattrick with a spectacular header and 69th minute, to become the first T&T player to score a hattick at CONCACAF level. Joan Rodriguez got the only goal for Panama ten minutes from the end.
T&T Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz said he was a bit disappointed with the results and the errors made at the back because of lack of composure by the T&T girls.
"I think we can feel happy that knowing that we can play at this level but we need psychological particularly in terms of the girls believing in themselves and  being better focused. We gave up soft goals against Canada just as we do against the USA but we came out and fought against Mexico who is just as good a team as Canada. We need a specialist person in Psychology to help us in our work of developing the women´s program,” admitted Shabazz.
"I am what you will call a Ghetto or Bush Psychologist who can tell them about how David slew Goliath and to strive to be like the male ‘Soca Warriors’ and get them to listen to Maximus Dan´s song but the team needs more than that. We need an expert in that field who can teach them techniques in total concentration.”
"I remember I asked Mexico for a game last July and they refused and now without us asking, they want to play us at senior level.
At the conclusion of the first round on Monday, the winners and runners-up of each group will earn a place in the event’s semifinals at Veracruz’s Estadio Luis Pirata Fuentes on 25 January, with the winners of the semifinal games earning a place as CONCACAF representatives in FIFA’s U-20 Women’s World Championship. The T&T girls were expected back last night (Monday night).
Title: Re: Shaun Fuentes reports on T&T women team.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 23, 2006, 07:16:09 PM
Jamaica may create history in this tournament
Post by: Sando on January 23, 2006, 07:18:47 PM
Thanks for the update Shaun....

Keep up the good work.
Post by: morvant on January 23, 2006, 08:14:29 PM
well done shaun
Post by: supporter on January 23, 2006, 08:33:12 PM
well done for what?
Post by: morvant on January 23, 2006, 08:39:01 PM
de report

just showing appreciation
Post by: kounty on January 23, 2006, 09:19:08 PM
thanks for the report mr fuentes, but I think a lil something going on here;
helped T&T to third spot behind Canada which they lost 7-1 to and Canada which defeated them 7-1 in the opening match.
Post by: ZionYouth on January 23, 2006, 09:57:09 PM
nice job maylee do yuh thing... :applause:
Post by: NC on January 23, 2006, 10:23:03 PM
de report

WHEN WOULD YOU START CONTRIBUTING SOMETHING OF SUBSTANCE TO HIS FORUM ... Have you ever kicked a lime in your life ... ah feel you on this site looking for a man?
Post by: jai john on January 24, 2006, 07:28:42 AM

Keep up the good work.

Are you serious ??? Keep up de good work ???
We lost 7-1 to a eam dat tell we we real good and we buy dat ? what about we preparation that de coach say was real good ? shawn singing for his supper ...he is no real journalist he is there for PR !!! Nothing wrong wid dat everybody have dey PR but doh give we no bias report to pull wool over we eyes man.
TTFF givin a report on a game ...give me a break !
Post by: AB.Trini on January 24, 2006, 08:04:08 AM
T&T U20 women finish with win over Panama.
 We need a specialist person in Psychology to help us in our work of developing the women´s program,” admitted Shabazz.
"I am what you will call a Ghetto or Bush Psychologist who can tell them about how David slew Goliath and to strive to be like the male ‘Soca Warriors’ and get them to listen to Maximus Dan´s song but the team needs more than that. We need an expert in that field who can teach them techniques in total concentration.”

Ent ah keep saying this for all our teams?

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8882.msg20787#msg20787

Post by: KND2 on January 24, 2006, 08:39:19 AM
Shabazz is real Kick real, "Bush Doctor"

I think what this team lacks is competitive constant football.

The reason concentration lapse is they are not placed in a situation where they are under constant pressure.

so when faced with it in a tournament they are not ready.

Our womens teams should spend 3-4 months of the year touring USA or Canada
as only they will tey face constant real games.

There is no competition in TnT for them to improve.
Post by: Sam on January 24, 2006, 08:46:09 AM
Thanks for that report Shaun, I needed to hear from the coach and team....

My question is.....

When the TTF re-sign Beenhakker, why they didn't make a deal with him to coach this women under 20 team, even for just this tournament which wouldn't affected him with the men senior team....

These ladies seems good, all they need is some guidance and a better tactical/technical coach... Beenhakker presence would have help Shabazz in the coaching department, Shabaaz here to long and we continuing to fail..... I understand we need a better program, because these women gets the least attention and preparations and do pretty decent.....
Post by: warmonga on January 24, 2006, 09:03:49 AM
Jamaica had a very easy group .. De only threat was U.S.A..  de final 4 will be carzy  though ..I do feal dat JA girlz could beat Mexico  tie against Canada ..loose against de powerfull U>S.A and tie against Canada which wil put dem into de wrl cup ..
GO Girlz !!!!!!!!!!
warmonga..
Post by: FF on January 24, 2006, 09:13:56 AM
Jamaica had a very easy group .. De only threat was U.S.A..  de final 4 will be carzy  though ..I do feal dat JA girlz could beat Mexico  tie against Canada ..loose against de powerfull U>S.A and tie against Canada which wil put dem into de wrl cup ..
GO Girlz !!!!!!!!!!
warmonga..

Warmonga ah think is knockout now... not round robin....

Jamaica vs Canada

Mexico vs USA

de winners go to de World Cup and de losers playoff for de final spot

So potentially/most likely it go be Mexico vs Jamaica for de last spot
Post by: morvant on January 24, 2006, 09:25:08 AM
de report

WHEN WOULD YOU START CONTRIBUTING SOMETHING OF SUBSTANCE TO HIS FORUM ... Have you ever kicked a lime in your life ... ah feel you on this site looking for a man?

umm who are you.

and i dont mean to dis you but you said you already getting the jersey when the whole ah trini want one

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=10431.msg80540#msg80540

and to answer your question i am not here to contribute i am here to get ah breake from work and talk shyt and laugh. everybody on this site know who has information and who just waits for a moment to mention morvant or malick. it gives a kinda balance to the board. and if your claim to fame is kicking ah lime :rotfl:

are you really ah trini because in all my years i never hear bout sombody kicking ah lime. it makes no sense
Post by: Coop's on January 24, 2006, 09:37:10 AM
What's going on with our national Women Football teams is nothing new to me,all our teams at the various age levels are underprepared for big tournaments,we have been hearing these excuses and of these problems for a number of years but they all fall on deaf ears because no one cares about Women Football.

I think Jamaal should be doing better by now for the amount of years he holding that position,every course it have in T&T he on it what excuse does he have.

It's the same thing was going on with the men,now Lincoln step in and trying to put things in place,the same should be done with the women,programs have to be run for them in the areas of Techniques and Tactics,teams must be put together earlier to prepare for tournaments,why is just one Coach coaching all our women teams?i've always said something just does not sound right here.

If you all think the mens team have problems that's a joke to what's going on with our women,the treatment they get and people want to look at the results when they play and wonder why,very rear you hear about their complaints because these ladies want to represent T&T,it's the same thing the men went through.

All i want to say here is if the Women's program is to improve we have to be more serious,if the Mexican Coach can see it why can't we,at the moment our girls just play with their feet and not their heads.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 24, 2006, 10:14:57 AM
we need a  coach for our women probably a US coach under 19 coach should head our womens  program
Post by: morvant on January 24, 2006, 10:16:07 AM
altho i doh like to big up de us. they women's programme is first class.
Post by: Trini on January 24, 2006, 11:47:28 AM
Whas the latest  Morvant?
Ah see a man asking if yuh does kick lime.
Yuh have any of the free trips fuh family to Germany in June?
Post by: morvant on January 24, 2006, 12:06:00 PM
Whas the latest  Morvant?
Ah see a man asking if yuh does kick lime.
Yuh have any of the free trips fuh family to Germany in June?

i could get there but cyar get tickets so i plan on going to trini where de lime go be sweeter
Post by: CK1 on January 24, 2006, 01:01:08 PM
The Women's program is in desperate need for the same type of support that the men get in terms of resources; planning and preparation. Talent is never enough at the top level of the game. The need for a sports psychologist is only a small piece to the puzzel. These players also need exyensive competition against other women's teams. The US and Canada are the best places that they can get these games. Canada has built their women's program on the back of the US system.
There is also a need to see out other coaches who are involved in the women's game in the US for help and support...we have a lot of resources available, but "if you don't seek you won't find!"
Beene does not need to be bothered with the women's program, this is the responsibility of the TTFF and the Technical Director to handle. They have to initiate a plan and the committment to take the women to the next level. Big UP the Ladies anyhow! your efforts are well respected.
Post by: jai john on January 24, 2006, 01:34:28 PM
What's going on with our national Women Football teams is nothing new to me,all our teams at the various age levels are underprepared for big tournaments,we have been hearing these excuses and of these problems for a number of years but they all fall on deaf ears because no one cares about Women Football.

I think Jamaal should be doing better by now for the amount of years he holding that position,every course it have in T&T he on it what excuse does he have.

It's the same thing was going on with the men,now Lincoln step in and trying to put things in place,the same should be done with the women,programs have to be run for them in the areas of Techniques and Tactics,teams must be put together earlier to prepare for tournaments,why is just one Coach coaching all our women teams?i've always said something just does not sound right here.

If you all think the mens team have problems that's a joke to what's going on with our women,the treatment they get and people want to look at the results when they play and wonder why,very rear you hear about their complaints because these ladies want to represent T&T,it's the same thing the men went through.

All i want to say here is if the Women's program is to improve we have to be more serious,if the Mexican Coach can see it why can't we,at the moment our girls just play with their feet and not their heads.

Coops boy you know how tings does go with de TFA, TTFA, TTFF or Jack Warner ...all de same to me ! Team selection is about loyalty. keep your mouth shut, say yes when it is needed and you will go far. You kyah remember when Look Loy was de youth team coach ? On departure he announced that we were ready...when he returned, he mentioned that we were outcoached...de first man to admit his shortcomings ... He was later made Tec. director of football. Shabazz and de like,  just blame everyone and everything else but themselves but do they get replaced ...naaaahhhhhhh ....
remember camps described BSC as technically inept after our early Gold Cuip exit ? yet he was later placed in charge of our WC effort without any upgrading of his skills ??? games boy games !

we just lucky we in  de world cup now because for the first time the TTFF is being called to account on line !

Post by: warmonga on January 24, 2006, 03:33:01 PM
[]

Warmonga ah think is knockout now... not round robin....

Jamaica vs Canada

Mexico vs USA

de winners go to de World Cup and de losers playoff for de final spot

So potentially/most likely it go be Mexico vs Jamaica for de last spot

I didnt know dat Thanks for de info though.. JA Girlz have a decent shot at it.. I think 3 goes ..
warmonga..
Post by: maxg on January 24, 2006, 03:58:01 PM

Keep up the good work.

Are you serious ??? Keep up de good work ???
We lost 7-1 to a eam dat tell we we real good and we buy dat ? what about we preparation that de coach say was real good ? shawn singing for his supper ...he is no real journalist he is there for PR !!! Nothing wrong wid dat everybody have dey PR but doh give we no bias report to pull wool over we eyes man.
TTFF givin a report on a game ...give me a break !

Write a report for we nah...For heavens sake man, is all out war and attack on everybody so....allyuh own ppl boy...make yuh great comments an  insightful suggestions...buh wha the hell is this bout...waow...he write that, you read it different...yuh interview anybody...yuh see the game...yuh going to the next one ? wha is really your story ?  fight down everybody ?  Look doh bother answer, ah really not interested...sheesh...
Ppl who does give we reports please continue...is all I get, thanks...I will make the sense out of the diffrent reports...thanks
Post by: nobody_s angel on January 24, 2006, 07:38:42 PM
Allyuh loosing focus.

Ladies continue to work hard and you all will iprove congrats for the min against Panama.

Morvantman and ah lime.

steups allyuh good yes.

like he takin NC on.

Again continue to improve ladies.
Post by: Sam on January 25, 2006, 03:26:24 AM
Fellas, I saw Maylee-Attin Johnson in 2005 in T&T and de gal sweet, all due respect to her, but I cant lie,,,,, I would love to throw ah pipe on that, bad bad.... and a good few times too, infact,,, I go make she my personal,,, ah love she bad...
Post by: Warrior till death on January 25, 2006, 02:17:51 PM
yeh she sweet  ;D
Post by: nobody_s angel on January 26, 2006, 05:09:00 PM
Fellas, I saw Maylee-Attin Johnson in 2005 in T&T and de gal sweet, all due respect to her, but I cant lie,,,,, I would love to throw ah pipe on that, bad bad.... and a good few times too, infact,,, I go make she my personal,,, ah love she bad...

Steups. Whey that is all yuh could say about the girl.

Lord u doh hear the girls hear saying that Carlos is a real hotty and what we want to do to Birchall.  :-\

No we don't do that.

Sam that was just too much information dread. Too much.  :)
Title: Shaun Fuentes Thread
Post by: truetrini on March 01, 2006, 05:48:49 PM
I know dat some people here does go up and down with Fuentes, i do dat already 2 years ago.  But let meh tell allyuh something..de man ALWAYS cool with me whenever I meet him in person eh.

He does be real busy arranging press conferences and interviews..like he was dis rounds..but he search meh out..give me de 4 tickets fuh de competition w ehad tuh name de warriors on de new song..and he make sure ah get in de Press conference and he make sure ah get tuh talk tuh players.

He does read here regular and ah guess he doh post much because ah he position in de TTFF.

But as far as I go....I know he wukking fuh jack and de TTFF and yuh cyar expect de man tuh bad talk he borse.

He real helpful tuh me and he is ah real football fan.

Some may have problems with him, I do to at times, but all in all, nuff respect fuh de help and time in London Shaun and fuh de time and jerseys and introductions tuh de players in Miami during de gold cup.
Post by: kounty on March 01, 2006, 08:27:21 PM
I never meet the tess, but just this morning I was thinkin he had to be a real cool fella, for all these fellas here on this board who hate how TTFF and the administration as a whole handle the fans rough, but still, all men on this board who ever meet him, always say he is a cool tess.
Post by: supporter on March 01, 2006, 09:35:25 PM
all i go say to this is steups.
lets just say i wish he'd show that dedication to the rest of his job duties(the other 90% of his work).
Post by: Mr Mc on March 01, 2006, 09:58:09 PM
yeah i met him here in ft laduderdale, he was cool to me,
 and i guess you cant down the man for giving his 100% to his boss, but he could still a lil pong for it from time to time.   ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 01, 2006, 10:04:16 PM
I know dat some people here does go up and down with Fuentes, i do dat already 2 years ago.  But let meh tell allyuh something..de man ALWAYS cool with me whenever I meet him in person eh.

He does be real busy arranging press conferences and interviews..like he was dis rounds..but he search meh out..give me de 4 tickets fuh de competition w ehad tuh name de warriors on de new song..and he make sure ah get in de Press conference and he make sure ah get tuh talk tuh players.

He does read here regular and ah guess he doh post much because ah he position in de TTFF.

But as far as I go....I know he wukking fuh jack and de TTFF and yuh cyar expect de man tuh bad talk he borse.

Some may have problems with him, I do to at times, but all in all, nuff respect fuh de help and time in London Shaun and fuh de time and jerseys and introductions tuh de players in Miami during de gold cup.

how come up to now u didnt ask fuentes about de fox sports yet? whappen yuh 4get, schupsssss
Post by: fabio on March 02, 2006, 11:00:30 AM

truetrini, one word for shaun.."SUSPECT" d man could be good one day and then ah real arse d next day. ah aint know eh truetrini, but he does act like a woman going through menopause sometimes ras.
Post by: Cowen on March 02, 2006, 11:08:12 AM

truetrini, one word for shaun.."SUSPECT" d man could be good one day and then ah real arse d next day. ah aint know eh truetrini, but he does act like a woman going through menopause sometimes ras.

Nah boss ..the man kool. At the same time ...doh expect the man not to have a bad day now and then ....... but he kool.
Post by: ricky on March 02, 2006, 11:19:51 AM
I think sometimes on some issues he is in a tough situation.
I think He wants to help us as much as he can as evident of how he gets Flex reports and pics before anyone else. 
But at the end of the day he works for Jack, perhaps thats why the lack for reports on the Tickets etc.  We have to understand and respect that

Everytime I have sent him a email, hes always replies very courteously and promptly.....except about the tickets  :devil:

anyway i have lots of respect for him and think he has the coolest job in the world which he is very good at.
Post by: supporter on March 02, 2006, 11:27:42 AM
I think sometimes on some issues he is in a tough situation.
I think He wants to help us as much as he can as evident of how he gets Flex reports and pics before anyone else. 
But at the end of the day he works for Jack, perhaps thats why the lack for reports on the Tickets etc.  We have to understand and respect that

Everytime I have sent him a email, hes always replies very courteously and promptly.....except about the tickets  :devil:

anyway i have lots of respect for him and think he has the coolest job in the world which he is very good at.

nah ricky, ill disagree with you there. the tix are a major thing that were not even mentioned once by ttff. i cant respect that, even if jack gave him orders he could still do some PR and crowd control. and he never replies to many people's emails.
Post by: vb on March 03, 2006, 05:14:31 AM
Obviously some of us understand Sean's position and some of us don't .

The man works or an organisation that has been INFAMOUS for its lack of communication skills with the fans for the last 10 years or so.

He is only the Press Officer. Not the PRO or Marketing Off.

And we know the kind of ppl he's working for.

Yet wen many in the TTFF wouldn't even recongise this site, Sean was there furnishing us with reports and photos before even the Press in TT had them.

I called him a few years ago to get some tel. numbers for interviews and the man was real courteous and cool.

Mark keep up the good work.

Peace,
Post by: Jumbie on March 03, 2006, 06:45:37 AM
I eh know if oddas realize, but MUCH ah the info we get live and direk about the team (before it hit the press) comes via Sean.. so nuff props for him on that account. I also agree that the man have limitations when it comes to what he can respond to and what he can't...we know he bosses!

BUT... I have to ask..was there not a press release before the last game that it would be shown in North America? Doh friggin tease man like that boy.. steeps!

Post by: Tongue on March 03, 2006, 10:00:40 AM
but not only did it show in North America...it show in Japan, Austrailia, Alaska, de Amazon Basin, Blue Basin all over de damn place....yuh jes needed ah computer and internet tuh see it. So dey was partly right..... :wavetowel:
Post by: andre samuel on March 03, 2006, 01:44:05 PM
de man and me good and i will always defend him cause we good like dat. 

too much ah alyuh does hate on de man for no apparent reason and none ah alyuh really know the responsibility of such a position.

i am glad for this report from truetrini.  ah know that he and tallman  had a misunderstanding around the bahrain game but de man was real tie up. 

bless up!!
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 03, 2006, 01:52:04 PM

too much ah alyuh does hate on de man for no apparent reason and none ah alyuh really know the responsibility of such a position.

i am glad for this report from truetrini. ah know that he and tallman had a misunderstanding around the bahrain game but de man was real tie up.

bless up!!

if de man so good, tell him answer de question why de advertise dey showing de game and it didnt show? ask fuentes dat nah, then yuh could talk
Post by: Mr Mc on March 03, 2006, 01:57:34 PM

i am glad for this report from truetrini. ah know that he and tallman had a misunderstanding around the bahrain game but de man was real tie up.

bless up!!

if de man so good, tell him answer de question why de advertise dey showing de game and it didnt show? ask fuentes dat nah, then yuh could talk

Nobody cares!!!
Post by: andre samuel on March 03, 2006, 02:01:28 PM
WHY U SO DOTTISH??

U are so narrow minded.  Geez and ages.  How could u blamede man for that? steups!!

U is a total fool.  If shaun really was the way that some ah alyuh want him to be on this site then he would have been out of a job long time!!

Post by: TrinInfinite on March 03, 2006, 02:07:44 PM
WHY U SO DOTTISH??

U are so narrow minded.  Geez and ages.  How could u blamede man for that? steups!!

U is a total fool.  If shaun really was the way that some ah alyuh want him to be on this site then he would have been out of a job long time!!

who u callin a fool breds, i juss askin why de man didnt answer de question? i neva said he is to blame as the media officer he is entitled to relay de bloody message why we didnt get de game, schupssssssss
Post by: andre samuel on March 03, 2006, 02:08:40 PM
Andre, Andre, Andre....day have some people dat does MAKE ting out of...............NUTTIN....an de HARDEST...............oh sorry................de saddest part of it all is dat they does get OTHERS excited wid dem also......so I kno how ya feelin ;D ;D

well said westcoast, well said!!

ah loved dat!!
Post by: Lightning on March 03, 2006, 02:09:06 PM
Insanity= the repeated execution of identical actions, with expectations of different results.
Post by: supporter on March 03, 2006, 03:32:47 PM
dispensing false info in your official press releases is perfectly fine then
Title: T&T Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes. (31-May-2006).
Post by: Flex on May 31, 2006, 05:41:08 AM
Jack’s on the market now.[/size]

Goalie Kelvin Jack is happy to be on the way to a new club. Jack expects to sign before the World Cup as clubs have been in touch with him during the current training camp in Austria. Jack’s contract with Scottish club Dundee ended at the end of the season. “I’m not sad to leave and without knocking Dundee too much maybe Dens Park isn’t the place to be right now. Dundee didn’t offer me a contract and to be honest if I’d been offered one I wouldn’t have signed it. There wasn’t a problem, I just wanted to experience something new. There are good people at Dens and I got on with a lot of them but I look forward to a new challenge,” Jack said.

Scotland says thanks to club manager.[/size]

Jason Scotland will be hoping to get his name on the scoresheet in Germany as he attempts to continue his late season form with St Johnstone FC which he is convinced went a long way in getting him into this country’s 23-man World Cup squad. But after having a work permit appeal turned down while at Dundee United, Scotland is now thankful to Saints boss Owen Coyle for letting him start regularly for his current club.
“I owe the gaffer for the effort he made. I know clubs were sniffing around but they weren’t willing to make the effort. My career was going nowhere and he gave me the chance. I had an okay season. Some games I was on top form and others were not so good. We just need to find a bit more consistency and hopefully we can do that next season,” Scotland said on the weekend.
The former Defence Force man has also become a huge hit with the Scottish fans because of his surname and several of them will be backing the Soca Warriors at the World Cup.

Nobody’s prouder than Dwight.

Captain Dwight Yorke has reminded the media in Graz that he will be the proudest man when he leads this country’s national team onto the pitch in Germany in a few days. Yorke has had to meet several requests for interviews and in most cases, just like head coach Leo Beenhakker, it has been the same stories having to be repeated.
“The only thing I ask is that we give a good account of ourselves and do not become the whipping boys of the competition, getting humiliated five, six and seven-nil. I know how good England are. They have as good a chance as anyone else of winning the World Cup. But how many times have we seen incredible upsets in the World Cup? If we play to our maximum and England are a bit off, who knows?
“I am the leader and the one everyone looks up to. I’ve played at the very top level and won a lot of things. People respect that. I never saw myself as a leader but in this team everyone sees me that way and that’s why the captaincy was handed to me. At 34 years, this is pretty much the icing on the cake,” he said.

No fire without smoke for Latapy.[/size]

Midfielder Russell Latapy does not feel the 2-1 loss to Wales on the weekend is a setback to the build up for the World Cup. Latapy was speaking at the UPC Arena after the game.
“We’re in a no-lose situation,” said Latapy. “We’re already the underdogs and it doesn’t matter what happens. Losing in this friendly wasn’t a setback at all. We want to peak for the World Cup finals, so we are working on our game tactically, as well as getting games under our belts.
“Of course we wanted to win but our preparation is more important. It was a reminder that you can’t give away the ball cheaply in international football. We want to impose ourselves on the finals and play our football. If we do that, and we get a bit of luck, anything could happen.”

I felt out of place - Birchall.

Chris Birchall has admitted that he felt totally out of place during his first stint with the national team during the early half of last year. The Port Vale player said he felt nervous around the same guys who he now shares the same food, jokes and even rooms with today.
“I was really nervous. Not so much about the football but about what the team would make of me. Would the players and fans accept this white boy from England?” he said about his first entry into T&T.
“I didn’t know much about the country and customs yet here I was hoping to play for them. Arriving was a huge culture shock. When I got off the plane, it was roasting—about 35 degrees. So my first thought was that it would be great for a holiday but I didn’t know if I could play football there.”
At present, Birchall couldn’t be less “Trini” than any of the current World Cup team members.
“I think I’m getting more “Trini” by the day. It’s been amazing and I have become one of them in a short space of time.
“Word got around a white guy joining the team for my debut game in June—so there was a real novelty factor at the time. “About 12,000 fans turned up but now, the fact I’m white isn’t a big deal. I’m just another player,” Birchall added.

By: Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Media Man.
Title: 20 Questions with Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2007, 08:23:15 PM
20 Questions with Shaun Fuentes.
Trinidad Express.

November 3, 2007

Shaun Fuentes is the Media/Communications officer for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, National Football Teams and the Caribbean Football Union. He was the youngest Team Media Officer among the 32 Nations at the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany. Fuentes was appointed to the FIFA Media Committee in 2007 and is the youngest serving member on that committee. In his early years, he was adjudged Best Writer for the 1999 Secondary Schools Football League Season. He has also written for several international and local publications and magazines as it relates to football in Trinidad and Tobago. His contributions can also be seen in The Legacy of the Soca Warriors which captures the country's 2006 World Cup experience with several enlightening images including the front cover. Fuentes also recently created a Soca Warriors Youtube channel to allow fans to get up close with the events of T&T football and its international outings with video recordings of his own. Through his involvement with the game, he has travelled widely coming in contact with various lifestyles and cultures globally all experiences which he hopes to pass on back here in T&T.

1. Your greatest joy?
Being part of a T&T representation on the world stage. My passion for country and life. Seeing the needy with a smile on their faces.

2. Your secret fear?
Dying on the road or being a victim of crime.

3. The best advice you have received and from whom?
Make the best of what you have and try and use that to become better - My parents. Follow your heart and make what you think is the best choice for you - that came from Jack Warner back in 2002 when I had been offered a job to work with an English League club. I had to choose between that or staying with the T&T Football Federation. We had just failed to qualify for the 2002 World Cup and things looked grim but I stuck with home four years later I got to experience a World Cup and all the euphoria with it first hand. And here I am today being able to serve at a national and international level.

4. Your most embarrassing moment?
Falling near the finish line in a college marathon hahahaha. It was down a hill and I still have the scars to prove it.

5. Your happiest moment?
I have a few there are ongoing ones being able to get up each day and have all my strengths and be able to work on my weaknesses. November 16, 2005 - Being on the field moments after T&T beat Bahrain to qualify for World Cup 2006.

6. The biggest turn-on in a woman?
Sexiness hahaha and down to earth personality. Of course an easy going personality doesn't necessarily turn you on but it's a factor.

7. The biggest turn-off?
Bad hair, posture and egotism

8. The part of your body you like the most?
My heart it pumps life into me!.

9. The body part you would like to change if given the chance?
None. I'd like being a bit taller though. (laughs)

10. The best book you ever read?
Quite a few.

11. On a second chance, what would be your dream profession?
A songster being able to command an audience of thousands and be heard anytime of day or night fantastic.

12. The thing most people do not know about you?
I used to sing! Yea I was second runner up in Boys Solo 13-15 South Music Festival.

13. Your pet peeve?
Dishonest people, those who lack passion and the others who fight down something good especially if they're not part of it.

14. Your favourite food?
Too many to list I think but wild meat, "blue food", curry duck and I fancy Chinese and Japanese too.

15. The woman you most admire apart from your mother, wife or lover?
I admire women! Respect is a key here too.

16. Your secret personality weapon?
I will not let the secret out here but part of it is my willingness to get things done.

17. Your personal credo?
Just like most, I have goals and I do my best to go about the right way in achieving them. Humble, built with passion and eager for good living.

18. Your irresistible temptation?
My laptop (which doesn't allow me to sleep as much as I want at nights), high energy Soca and good food (laugh). And helping realise the ambitions or benefits of whatever organisation or group I'm involved with.

19. The one place you would like to visit before you die?
Space.

20. Your most elusive goal?
A one on one with the Almighty.

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2007/11/03/womanmag18.jpg)
PHOTO: ROBERT TAYLOR
Title: Re: 20 Questions with Shaun Fuentes
Post by: bajanscout on November 19, 2007, 08:57:32 PM
Ppl this guy is a very very very nice guy down to earth and very smart very nice guy
Post by: Andre on November 19, 2007, 09:15:05 PM
as a trini football follower, i appreciate fuentes work.

thanks 4 d news.
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 19, 2007, 09:21:05 PM
Ah wonder what he think about JACK  & SCAMPS ? next time please ask him , he might jus laugh.
Post by: Grande on November 19, 2007, 09:33:58 PM
Ah wonder what he think about JACK  & SCAMPS ? next time please ask him , he might jus laugh.

I telling yuh

which one of allyuh hard back man on this site really want to know what does turn Shaun Fuentes on and what does turn him off

more dire questions regarding T&T football should have been asked
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2007, 09:47:28 PM

I telling yuh

which one of allyuh hard back man on this site really want to know what does turn Shaun Fuentes on and what does turn him off

It was in de Woman magazine part of de Express.
Post by: Patterson on November 19, 2007, 09:52:19 PM

I telling yuh

i guess the source should've been stated but the  locals on the site would know that this came from the Express Woman's Magazine
Post by: dreamer on November 19, 2007, 09:52:43 PM
Actually, I could volunteer maybe 5 much more burnin' questions....

1. Shaunee, wha's yuh favourite TV show?
2. What is your  ffffffffffffffffffffffffffavourite colour?
3. When you were young which did mammy put in yuh lunch kit every day fuh school?      
    (1) Cannings Tall Twelve?  or (2) Solo Apple J?
4. Wha's your second favourite colour!!
5. What do you think of Brittney Spears?  ::)

Forumites jess dying to know.
Post by: Bakes on November 19, 2007, 11:28:51 PM
I will just stay quiet.
Post by: kentsoulman on November 20, 2007, 02:50:40 AM
My God, it must be absoloutely devastating for Shaun to go to work every day. Our sympathy should go out to the poor boy.

13. Your pet peeve?
Dishonest people, those who lack passion and the others who fight down something good especially if they're not part of it.
Post by: WestCoast on November 20, 2007, 03:52:11 AM
My God, it must be absoloutely devastating for Shaun to go to work every day. Our sympathy should go out to the poor boy.
13. Your pet peeve?
;)
a saying that he must use is
"Present Company Excluded"
Title: Re: 20 Questions with Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Sam on November 20, 2007, 05:51:34 AM
Big up man like Shaun....

Even though Flex interview with Shaun (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=20264.msg211738#msg211738) was way better......  :angel:
Post by: kounty on November 20, 2007, 10:31:36 AM
Actually, I could volunteer maybe 5 much more burnin' questions....

1. Shaunee, wha's yuh favourite TV show?
2. What is your  ffffffffffffffffffffffffffavourite colour?
3. When you were young which did mammy put in yuh lunch kit every day fuh school?      
    (1) Cannings Tall Twelve?  or (2) Solo Apple J?
4. Wha's your second favourite colour!!
5. What do you think of Brittney Spears?  ::)

Forumites jess dying to know.

dreamer that is exactly what I was thinking when I reading this interview....men and dem diggin' out yuh eye and yuh smiling and talkin bout 'he is a down to earth fella', he doin a good job diggin out muh eye.  cyah even tell we when ttff elections is - the only real news we ever want to know about ttff for the last umpteen how long, or the NEWS on if we have a blacklist still goin' on or not.  Anybody have any evidence that this guy does anything besides write down the propaganda jack warner wants to feed us? I am sure jack warner's plan is much more trustworthy and sincere coming from a nice guy like shaun.  worth a paycheck right?
Post by: WestCoast on November 20, 2007, 10:37:50 AM
he works for Jackula, therefore he is PAID to do what Jackula wants him to do...Simple Fact
and to be fair, he does do many GOOD things for the Football Fan..

on a personal level, though, there is no way in HELL that I would be able to do what he does.......let the truth be told.
Post by: Storeboy on November 20, 2007, 10:40:56 AM

13. Your pet peeve?

[/b]

This is an interesting answer for a man who have to work so closely with Jack Warner.  You think he wink at Tallman when he give that answer?
Post by: supporter on November 20, 2007, 08:11:52 PM
They forgot "why you so inept at giving the public real information?"
Post by: trinidad badboy on November 20, 2007, 11:13:01 PM
as a trini football follower, i appreciate fuentes work.

thanks 4 d news.

well said

i very much appreciate the work he does as well..

big up man!!! :beermug:
Post by: Sando on November 21, 2007, 08:57:15 AM
Met Shaun once, very cool guy.....
Post by: dreamer on November 22, 2007, 07:38:54 PM
Me personally, jess wha' Fuentes to be more honest when we Warriors future at stake and not be de mouthpiece of any exploitation. Apart from dat plenty kudos for all de nice pictures an' stuff during quiet season. But trouble coming soon wit' de arbitration verdict and I eh go be surprise if we see a dutty side despite de gentle demeanor. Respec'
Post by: WestCoast on November 23, 2007, 05:25:48 AM
Me personally, jess wha' Fuentes to be more honest when we Warriors future at stake and not be de mouthpiece of any exploitation.
ya know he cyar do dat, as he gobe pounding de pavement as Jackula would fire he arse one time.
Post by: jai john on November 04, 2010, 01:19:36 PM

Coops boy you know how tings does go with de TFA, TTFA, TTFF or Jack Warner ...all de same to me ! Team selection is about loyalty. keep your mouth shut, say yes when it is needed and you will go far. You kyah remember when Look Loy was de youth team coach ? On departure he announced that we were ready...when he returned, he mentioned that we were outcoached...de first man to admit his shortcomings ... He was later made Tec. director of football. Shabazz and de like,  just blame everyone and everything else but themselves but do they get replaced ...naaaahhhhhhh ....
remember camps described BSC as technically inept after our early Gold Cuip exit ? yet he was later placed in charge of our WC effort without any upgrading of his skills ??? games boy games !

we just lucky we in  de world cup now because for the first time the TTFF is being called to account on line !

imagine this discussion ...seems like only yesterday ...but is more than 4 years ago ...
Post by: D.H.W on November 04, 2010, 01:34:03 PM
imagine this discussion ...seems like only yesterday ...but is more than 4 years ago ...

Yeh Jai, same tune in truth
Title: Public apology to Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Sam on December 27, 2010, 12:12:15 PM
Public apology to you Shaun Fuentes. I thrash you in public and its only fair I credit you and apologise in public too.

Fair is fair, yuh do good, you get compliments. Flex is my good friend and I was happy to see the interview you did with him on the T&T Guardian Today. I underestimate you, sorry...

Respect meh boy !!!!
Title: Re: Public apology to Shaun Fuentes.
Post by: Rastaman on December 28, 2010, 09:05:17 AM
Can't find the article...Please post it.
Post by: Brownsugar on December 28, 2010, 03:14:44 PM
I saw it in the offline version of the Guardian......
Post by: Quags on December 28, 2010, 10:40:00 PM
I cool with Shawn ever sense ,I asked for any game footage and training clips and he did it .
Post by: vb on December 31, 2010, 06:16:18 AM
Shaun has been cool for quite some time.

Years ago, needed some phone numbers of football ppl in TT and he gave it to me no problem.

Has been giving us scoops for years now ahead of the Press in TT.

Post by: Flex on January 08, 2011, 09:03:39 AM
Just for the record guys...

I was offered by Shaun Fuentes to be part of the media coverage of the U-17 Women's World Cup but denied it because they wanted me for the entire tournament and I could not have committed to it because of my job. I was very thankful for the invitation by Shaun.

He also mailed me a copy of the Guardian the article with me was published on and I am also grateful for that.

Thanks Shaun.
Post by: weary1969 on January 08, 2011, 09:19:19 AM

I was offered by Shaun Fuentes to be part of the media coverage of the U-17 Women's World Cup but denied it because they wanted me for the entire tournament and I could not have committed to it because of my job. I was very thankful for the invitation by Shaun.

He also mailed me a copy of the Guardian the article with me was published on and I am also grateful for that.

Thanks Shaun.
[/quote

Post by: Brownsugar on January 10, 2011, 07:55:56 PM

Thanks Shaun.

aaaaaawww Fuentes did that??  Ok henceforth, he is the ONLY TTFF personnel ah going to take off mih hit list..... :devil: ;D
Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2011, 08:17:15 PM
aaaaaawww Fuentes did that??  Ok henceforth, he is the ONLY TTFF personnel ah going to take off mih hit list..... :devil: ;D

You ent hard to please at all? lol
Post by: dreamer on January 11, 2011, 08:52:30 AM

Thanks Shaun.

All I can say Flex is watch yuhself. As a leader you will have to be very careful to discern the difference between making contributions to causes that will be overwhelmingly a blessing to others and joining causes that are set up to seduce you into a corrupting world. Good luck to you and the people you influence as sometimes alot is at stake. I trust that you have the values and judgement to do more great things and keep your head on as you mingle eventually in a world with all kind of dark characters. There's alot you can contribute to the football scene. Big up.
Title: Come nah Shaun fuentes
Post by: jusbless on July 14, 2011, 01:54:04 PM
Former national football team physiotherapist Oba Gulston has described his stint with English club Middlesbrough in the Premiership last year, as a fantastic hands on experience. Gulston visited the club as head of rehabilitation at the UTT. Following a short stint with the first and reserve teams, he was invited to remain but declined because of contractual arrangements with UTT.  “I got the opportunity to work with the first team and to observe the youngsters and the reserve team,” said Gulston. “They played Arsenal during the first week I was there so I got to experience that and after I was gradually exposed to different situations at the club. Some were real and some were staged to see my response. It was an extremely valuable experience.

“I got an invitation to stay but I have an obligation to T&T. I wanted to assist in developing sports physiotherapy in the country.” Gulston was physiotherapist for the “Soca Warriors” at the 2006 World Cup Finals and also served the T&T Cricket Board during the 2011 regional four-day tournament. He was also physiotherapist for the T&T netball team in Singapore and the Olympic contingent at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in India. The 32-year-old La Horquetta resident holds a doctorate of physical therapy, attained at Utica College on a government scholarship and is currently a PhD candidate at Nova Southeastern University, USA, on another Government scholarship.

Birchall, Daniel face Real Madrid

US-based duo Keon Daniel and Chris Birchall will have the mid-season opportunity to test their abilities against Spanish giants Real Madrid.Birchall is expected to be in the starting line-up for LA Galaxy in their World Football Challenge encounter against Madrid at the LA Coliseum on Saturday. On July 23, Daniel’s Philadelphia Union is expected to face the club of Portuguese star Ronaldo who is in the line up with a host of other stars for the clash. Galaxy will also face Manchester City on July 24 at the Home Depot Center with Union taking on another English club Everton on July 20. Birchall who has featured strongly for Galaxy in recent outings was eager to face the Spanish side. Former England captain David Beckham will also line up against his former side for the first time since leaving them at the end of the 2006/2007 season.

Baptiste has goals on his mind
Former Joe Public striker Kerry Baptiste will most likely be presented with several new pairs of football boots when he arrives at Tampa Bay later this month to begin his new contract.But he is unlikely to part ways with his usual favourites as he seeks to continue his hot scoring streak that made him one of the most feared strikers in the T&T Pro League. Baptiste is awaiting a work permit approval before moving to Tampa Bay where he signed a one-year contract with an option to extend another year.

“I’m excited about this new move and I’m looking forward to go up there and work very hard and hopefully bang in some more goals,” Baptiste said on Tuesday. He’s been without a club for 2011, admitting he became frustrated at times. But he’s focused on the task at hand, also hoping to catch Otto Pfister’s eyes. “It’s been frustrating without a club but I kept myself fit. It’s my first time going to the club and I’m anxious to see what the environment is like. I’m looking forward to getting back into the national team. “As a country I think we will eventually bounce back and become a force in the region. I’m really anxious to get the ball in the back of the net again both for my new club and for country,” he added.

Gally: We can qualify again

Former national head coach Everald “Gally” Cummings believes T&T can qualify for another World Cup.
The former New York Cosmos player said that once proper mechanisms are put in place to get the best team, the Soca Warriors will definitely grace the world stage a second time. “T&T can qualify for another World Cup finals but our ultimate goal should always be having good national teams representation at all levels which means having the proper foundation whereby creating continuity,” Cummings stated on the Socawarriors.net Web site in a recent interview.

He said there were far more opportunities for present day players as compared to when he took the field, refusing to label Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy as the two best players ever produced by T&T. “No, there are others. Different eras brought different opportunities and different challenges. They got the big breaks and had people like myself to guide them through rough times. Others like me had no one.” Cummings, who is attached to the University of T&T, revealed how the splitting of players into an A and B team brought the best out of the 1989 Strike Squad with Kenwyn Cooper and Jan Steadman being his assistants with the B team. “Kenwyn Cooper did a fantastic job with the B team which had some of the younger players. This A and B system was used to keep players sharp. If a player didn’t perform well with the A team, he was sent to the B team and a B player would take his place. This kept players on their toes with the correct attitude at all time,” Gally added.

TTFF to conduct course for colleges
Coaches from the Secondary Schools League will benefit from another leg of the Football Federation’s “C” License coaching course in conjunction with the Dutch KNVB Academy from next Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium. So far the TTFF has crossed 150 mark for the number of coaches that have participated from various corners of the country. A symposium for all local referees and officials on the new laws in refereeing was also conducted last week by former FIFA referee Ramesh Ramdhan as the TTFF attempts to keep up to speed with the developments in the game.National head coach Otto Pfister will also attend an international coaches symposium in Germany this weekend.

Article posted in the guardian , Shaun just for some general info middlesbroughh was relegated in May 2009 and has not been in the premiership since.
Title: Re: Come nah Shaun fuentes
Post by: jai john on July 14, 2011, 02:04:56 PM
so you tink shawn was TTFF and Concacaf media journalist because of his writing skills ?now that his root has been trimmed  I expect to see him planting peas in tobago real soon ...
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 14, 2011, 04:36:05 PM
lol...Men on d eman case like Matelot.  BUt on a real, he should really check his facts and edit his pieces before releasing them.  Too many errors!
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2011, 04:50:30 PM
lol...Men on d eman case like Matelot.  BUt on a real, he should really check his facts and edit his pieces before releasing them.  Too many errors!

::)
Post by: dinho on July 14, 2011, 05:54:06 PM
Men eh have nutten to do on ah daily besides spell check?
Post by: Football supporter on July 14, 2011, 06:39:50 PM
And, actually, its Middlesborough!!!  But I must admit, its easy to make mistakes with names....spell check ain't yuh friend there!
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2011, 08:37:55 PM
And, actually, its Middlesborough!!!  But I must admit, its easy to make mistakes with names....spell check ain't yuh friend there!

You wrong, its not Middlesborough its Middlesbrough....8)
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2011, 08:44:27 PM
FYI - Shaun said that the man (Oba Gulston) was there with them in the Premiership prior to their relegation in 2009 but it's the Guardian that decided to put last year and not what he had originally wrote.
Post by: jusbless on July 15, 2011, 01:01:07 PM
The he should sue because they are damaging his reputation by changing important information in his story like that. Imagine if he was applying for a job aeway and they saw that article. I would of been pissing vex with guardian
Title: Shaun Fuentes appreciation thread.
Post by: Sando on September 02, 2011, 10:35:01 AM
I notice since 2011 Shaun Fuentes has continued to give us a bling and I respect him for that.

And despite his few mistakes he always makes in his articles, I forgive him.

Because he has done a great job so far, more good than bad.

He happens to be the only one who works for the TTFF that recognises us here on the SWO, more-so, Flex and Tallman...

Thank you for all the updates and videos Shaun.

Big up...
Title: Re: Shaun Fuentes appreciation thread.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 02, 2011, 10:41:49 AM
Big up, Fuentes!  He knows who the true footie fans for the Soca Warrios are.  Is year round we does do it here. :beermug:
Post by: DeSoWa on September 02, 2011, 10:42:12 AM
Keep up the good work Shaun  :beermug:

Post by: Errol on September 02, 2011, 10:46:37 AM
Yea, he could make mistakes sah... he need a proof reader.

And he needs to ask the players how they spell their names correctly.

But I still appreciate his hard work and his videos.

Thank you Shaun....  :applause:
Post by: Preacher on September 02, 2011, 10:59:38 AM
Post by: Midknight on September 02, 2011, 11:19:15 AM
I met the guy personally and he strikes me as a genuine person and fan and I thankful too, but seriously

we bigging up a man for doing he job?  ???

That's what we come to?
Post by: Trini on September 02, 2011, 11:23:52 AM

The man need a big up - he might be the only man in the TTFF who doing his job.
Keep it up Shaun.

Everything is relative.... That is what we have indeed come to!
Post by: trini_stallion on September 02, 2011, 12:03:58 PM
Yea, he could make mistakes sah... he need a proof reader.

And he needs to ask the players how they spell their names correctly.

But I still appreciate his hard work and his videos.

Thank you Shaun....  :applause:

Errol...lol..that come like ah no thnaks but thanks!!!hahaha
|Anyway fuhreal, thanks Shaun, yuh relly is be helping us abroad get ah in depth look as to the some of the activities we boys does be doing! much appreciated! :beermug:
Post by: supporter on September 02, 2011, 12:07:48 PM
More vids are always needed. Theyre like crack to me! 
Post by: DeSoWa on September 02, 2011, 12:46:40 PM
I met the guy personally and he strikes me as a genuine person and fan and I thankful too, but seriously

we bigging up a man for doing he job?  ???

That's what we come to?

Just showing ah lil appreciation..just like you getting a lil pat on the back from yuh boss for consistently doing a good job at the office  :beermug:

Post by: just cool on September 02, 2011, 01:48:14 PM
Doh mind dem nay sayers shaun, i really appreciate and enjoy yuh vids, doh let the hardtuhpleasers stop you from sending us the treats.  God bless.
Post by: Quags on September 02, 2011, 02:07:05 PM
Shawn should done know from me.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 02, 2011, 02:47:55 PM
Yeah the man take real abuse and still providing the forum with material, cheers breds  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on September 02, 2011, 02:56:30 PM
Yeah the man take real abuse and still providing the forum with material, cheers breds  :beermug:

I not here to rain on this li'l lovefest, but this confusing me... why allyuh acting like is a favor he doing for fans or for this forum in particular?  This forum is the only place his "press releases" getting any kinda pips.  Without SWO he lucky to get a mention in the TnT press or anywhere else... like Midknight say, de man doing what he getting paid to do.
Post by: Raul on September 02, 2011, 03:00:04 PM
A man said it here... Shaun is a fan first and foremost.. diehard... big up Shaun and keep it up!!!
Post by: Sam on September 03, 2011, 05:02:23 PM
Big up to Fuentes. !!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 03, 2011, 08:36:03 PM

I not here to rain on this li'l lovefest, but this confusing me... why allyuh acting like is a favor he doing for fans or for this forum in particular?  This forum is the only place his "press releases" getting any kinda pips.  Without SWO he lucky to get a mention in the TnT press or anywhere else... like Midknight say, de man doing what he getting paid to do.

Perhaps its just the nature of his job, but I find when the normal runnings of the TTFF are closed like a stone fortress Fuentes videos are often the only tangible connection to football we have. And he has responded to requests for material from the forum. It is probably only illusory on my part but I get a perception of openness about Fuentes which is in stark contrast to the rest of the federation...bad grammar, spelling mistakes and all  :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on September 03, 2011, 09:11:38 PM
Big up to Shawn!!
Post by: Bakes on September 03, 2011, 09:22:49 PM

Perhaps its just the nature of his job, but I find when the normal runnings of the TTFF are closed like a stone fortress Fuentes videos are often the only tangible connection to football we have. And he has responded to requests for material from the forum. It is probably only illusory on my part but I get a perception of openness about Fuentes which is in stark contrast to the rest of the federation...bad grammar, spelling mistakes and all  :beermug:

Perhaps he's finally emerging out from under Jack thumb, lol
Post by: sjahrain on September 05, 2011, 06:36:19 AM
If you cant love your own,,then who could you love

However do not take this as licence to be a slacker

Take this love  and improve your CREDIT RATING...... :devil:

I hope that Monkey is no longer looking over your shoulder
Post by: davidephraim on September 05, 2011, 08:15:24 AM
If you cant love your own,,then who could you love

However do not take this as licence to be a slacker

Take this love  and improve your CREDIT RATING......  :beermug:

:applause: :applause: :applause:
Title: Fuentes gets FIFA U-20 post
Post by: vb on June 14, 2013, 01:37:12 AM

me
Fuentes gets FIFA U-20 World Cup post
Published:
Thursday, June 13, 2013

Text Size:
T&T Football Association (TTFA) director of communications Shaun Fuentes has received appointment to serve on a committee for the upcoming FIFA Under-20 Men’s World Cup.

Fuentes, who has had two previous appointments as a Fifa media officer at the 2009 U-17 Men’s World Cup in Nigeria and the 2010 South Africa World Cup, will leave these shores on Saturday for Istanbul where he will meet with the rest of the FIFA delegation for a series of workshops before heading to the City of Antalya where he will be based for the tournament which commences on June 21.

“As president of the TTFA, I wish to express how satisfied I am with this appointment as it is a positive development for our Association and we are indeed grateful to have him as part of our football family in T&T,” TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee said.

“Over the last few weeks we have had several good interactions with Fifa and Concacaf and this augers well for our future as the governing body for local football. I expect that those appointed from our organization and country will in fact represent us to the highest and leave a lasting impression that will speak volumes of what we as a nation have to offer,” Tim Kee said.

Another one of our members, Dr Terence Babwah will also serve on the medical committee for the U-20 World Cup.

Five other media officers were appointed for the tournament including Seamus Marten (New Zealand), Juan Felipe Mejia (Colombia), Jochen Steinhoff (Germany, Jian Zhou (China) and Amanuel Abate (Ethiopia).

As a Fifa media officer (FMO), Fuentes will be responsible for overseeing the co-ordination (in co-operation with the LOC staff) of all media activities at each venue including media facilities, accreditation, flash interview, press conference and mixed zone operations and the general facilitation of proper media interaction with the participating teams. There will be one FMO at every venue.

Some of the other individuals currently carrying Fifa appointments include Anton Corneal (Fifa grassroots instructor) and Alvin Corneal (Fifa technical study group member).

Fuentes will continue to oversee the TTFA’s media matters over the next few weeks as the Concacaf Gold Cup approaches in Ju

Sport
Title: Re: Fuentes gets FIFA U-20 post
Post by: vb on June 14, 2013, 01:37:50 AM
Sean,

I in Istanbul, hail meh out.

First beer is on you.  ;D

Title: Re: Fuentes gets FIFA U-20 post
Post by: KND2 on June 14, 2013, 10:36:05 AM
congrats fuentes.
Now they cannot say you only have the fifa work because of Jack.

do your thing
do your thing.
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2015, 03:52:26 PM
WATCH: One on One with TTFA's Director of Communication, Shaun Fuentes (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151112/sports/one-on-one-with-shaun-fuentes).

NOTE: The interview was conducted prior to our first 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Guatemala
Post by: andre samuel on November 20, 2015, 09:28:34 PM
WATCH: One on One with TTFA's Director of Communication, Shaun Fuentes (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151112/sports/one-on-one-with-shaun-fuentes).

NOTE: The interview was conducted prior to our first 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Guatemala

Excellent interview
Post by: Adam Lake on November 21, 2015, 06:08:54 PM
Really good one on one with Shaun....

One thing I must commend the TTFA for doing in the T&T/USA game was to allow Corporate All Incl Sections for the match... Its no secret Trini love to lime, and this should be expanded further to help grow the Interest for all games, competitive or Friendly.. I always marveled at the Incredible success Pan Trinbago and QPCC has had in having huge support for Pan Semis and Cricket games, despite some people not givin a shit bout either of the two....  Real woman hate cricket and Pan, but will always go for d lime, and where woman go nuff man follow....

Would be a great Idea to try and court Trini Posse to Invest in  a section for games. They have had Massive success in cricket and have such a huge fan following... A Trini Posse section in football will almost guarantee  Spectators to come out to games...
Title: Re: Shaun Fuentes Thread
Post by: kounty on May 19, 2018, 10:38:50 AM
I always asking recently but nobody answering.

Wayne Cunningham, Media Officer of TTFA, was also unaware of the changes in the structure of the Gold Cup but was extremely excited to hear matches will be held in the Caribbean.

“It will be a welcome thing for the region. The regional will finally get a taste of big football,” he said.

Cunningham, formerly head of the Eastern Football Association (EFA), said he has been to three Gold Cups in the past and was impressed with the organisation of the tournament.
Post by: Controversial on May 25, 2018, 12:30:40 AM

Excellent interview

Yuh padnah get the axe?
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2018, 08:11:10 AM
TTFA official conducts media workshop for Grenada FA
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

FIFA development manager for the Caribbean, Marlon Glean has commended the Grenada Football Association for its continuing efforts towards the development of the game both on and off the field of play.

Following a successful appearance at the CONCACAF under 15 girls championship in which Grenada finished runners-up in its division, the Grenada FA hosted a three-day media and communication workshop at its headquarters in St George’s last weekend. The facilitator for the course was Shaun Fuentes, a CONCACAF competitions media officer and three-time FIFA World Cup media officer who is attached to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

Among the topics dealt with over the three days included crafting press releases, organising press conferences, event and game management promotions, social networking for football, social media management, developing a football website, promoting a losing team versus a popular winning team, effective press materials for event day, overcoming reputations, handling media for athletes and teams, getting athletes and officials exposure in the media and understanding the impact and role of media in sport, among other items. Practical sessions were also done in relation to an international fixture around the Jamaica versus Grenada friendly played at the Kirani James Stadium last Friday.

“I would like to congratulate the Grenada Football Association, the media association and the participants for coming together in putting together such a needed workshop,” Glean said at the closing of the workshop.

“This came about when the president (Gianni Infantino) came up to me and expressed the need to have something to ensure that there is more sports reporting and in particular more football reporting. I had the opportunity to witness first-hand the work Shaun has been doing in Trinidad and Tobago, in CONCACAF and also in FIFA so I immediately recommended that the GFA sought the services of Mr Fuentes,” Glean added.

“We also have to give thanks to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association who would have lent the services of Shaun so that he could be part of the workshop here. I think this is a great first step in terms of the participation and I hope this is just the beginning of more extensive football reporting in Grenada,” Glean said.

Grenada FA president Cheney Joseph also spoke highly of the workshop, explaining that it was a necessary step for the GFA.

“It is a partnership we are developing. We do not wish to put a dollar value to the amount of days that went into Shaun’s preparation and subsequent dissemination of information. It’s not just about promoting Grenada football but if the GFA can create opportunities for workshops for you to improve on your craft, then we will continue to do it.

“Like Shaun, I started at 16 also in the media in sports. I hope that we can continue this partnership and I will propose something where the Grenada Media Association will have first hand access to all of our games and I want to suggest that we have Shaun back here for another workshop around the time of the Pure Grenada Cup which is our biggest event early next year,” Joseph said.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 20, 2019, 12:06:07 AM
A sporting sense of belonging
Shaun Fuentes, The Guardian

One of the beau­ti­ful things about sports is its abil­i­ty to de­liv­er cap­ti­vat­ing mo­ments when we least ex­pect it as peo­ple or fans. We watch be­cause of the game, but of­ten­times we re­mem­ber be­cause of what hap­pens off the field.

Yes­ter­day marked 14 years since Trinidad and To­ba­go de­feat­ed Bahrain 1-0 on a Den­nis Lawrence win­ner to se­cure qual­i­fi­ca­tion for the 2006 FI­FA World Cup Fi­nals in Ger­many. We all re­mem­ber the eu­pho­ria and the scenes of joys and cel­e­bra­tion that gripped the en­tire na­tion on that day, a Wednes­day evening, No­vem­ber 16th, 2005. Every creed and race came to­geth­er. Man, you and I know how much we could do with such scenes again. These mo­ments show us that the tran­scen­dent val­ues of love, com­pas­sion, and em­pa­thy still have a place in so­ci­ety and through sport­ing achieve­ments.

In an in­ter­viewed with Leon­son Lewis last month on the 1989 Strike Squad ex­pe­ri­ence as well as with Stern John on the jour­ney to Ger­many. And both men echoed sim­i­lar sen­ti­ments on how much they were able to ful­fil dreams, am­bi­tions and con­tri­bu­tions to so­ci­ety by their ex­ploits as sport­ing per­son­al­i­ties and to this day it in­spires them to keep liv­ing with a pur­pose to serve and con­tribute to a bet­ter so­ci­ety and make a mean­ing­ful con­tri­bu­tion to those around them.

Re­call Ato Boldon’s races, Bri­an Lara’s in­nings, Dwight Yorke’s hero­ics at Old Traf­ford, Kieron Pol­lard’s first set of wins as Windies cap­tain or sim­ply Na­pari­ma’s Col­lege’s suc­cess at the lo­cal lev­el, these mo­ments are tes­ti­monies of what about sports that makes it so beau­ti­ful and cap­ti­vat­ing for the rest of us.

Against the back­drop of our “nor­mal” sports cul­ture, snap­shots of com­pas­sion and em­pa­thy con­tin­ue to cap­ture our at­ten­tion—and keep us fix­at­ed to see what could po­ten­tial­ly hap­pen next.

To the young Trinidad and To­ba­go Un­der-14 girls who had a chance to camp at the TTFA Home of Foot­ball be­fore their first in­ter­na­tion­al match against Grena­da, they will re­mem­ber for the rest of their lives what that felt like and it hope­ful­ly will in­spire them to want to per­sist to greater feats and earn their right to re­turn to the venue for more in­ter­na­tion­al out­ings in the fu­ture.

Over the last cen­tu­ry, sports have be­come tele­vised and amassed le­gions of fans who use their favourite teams or ath­letes as part of their iden­ti­ties. As a re­sult, the big events and oc­ca­sions work up a fren­zy of emo­tions and cre­ate mo­ments known even to those who aren’t ma­jor fol­low­ers.

Sports is not just about a race, crick­et or foot­ball game. The heat­ed games car­ry greater mean­ing and of­ten rep­re­sent strug­gles that en­com­pass race, pol­i­tics, gen­der, and health. And some­times, a time­less sports mo­ment oc­curs be­cause of the in­cred­i­ble ath­leti­cism of just one play­er.

The oc­cur­rences of 2005/2006 So­ca War­riors, the mem­o­ry of Hase­ly Craw­ford’s run in ’76, Keshorn Wal­cott’s gold­en throw and the list can go on must con­tin­ue to be used as a way to re­mind our gen­er­a­tion and those to come of what we are ca­pa­ble of and why we must not ac­cept or set­tle for medi­oc­rity. We must know that we de­serve bet­ter and once we earn that right in the process, we have to stay dri­ven with our eyes on the prize. Stand up and be count­ed.

Daniel Wann, a so­cial psy­chol­o­gist at Mur­ray State Uni­ver­si­ty, has spent the last 30 years elab­o­rat­ing that iden­ti­fi­ca­tion with sports teams is, at the very least, a means to boost self-es­teem—if not an op­por­tu­ni­ty to en­hance over­all men­tal health. Wann and his col­leagues have car­ried out more than 20 stud­ies in which di­verse groups of sports fans, in­clud­ing high school stu­dents, col­lege stu­dents, se­nior cit­i­zens, Aus­tralians, fe­male fans, hock­ey fans, NASCAR fans, and oth­ers, were eval­u­at­ed in re­gards to var­i­ous mea­sures by which psy­chol­o­gists gauge well-be­ing—such as a sense of self-worth, fre­quen­cy of pos­i­tive emo­tions, feel­ing con­nect­ed with oth­ers, be­lief in the trust­wor­thi­ness of oth­ers, sense of vigour and en­er­gy, and so on. In vir­tu­al­ly every sin­gle study, the de­gree of fan iden­ti­fi­ca­tion—that is, how de­vot­ed and en­thu­si­as­tic a fan is—shows a pos­i­tive sta­tis­ti­cal cor­re­la­tion with one or more of these fac­tors.

Wann's most re­cent study, which is pend­ing pub­li­ca­tion, found that high­ly iden­ti­fied sports fans have an above-av­er­age sense of mean­ing in life. This was one of those cas­es where A leads to B, but as a re­sult of C, the me­di­at­ing fac­tor: “We found that iden­ti­fi­ca­tion wasn’t nec­es­sar­i­ly lead­ing di­rect­ly to mean­ing, but rather it was go­ing through be­long­ing,” Wann said. “So iden­ti­fi­ca­tion leads to be­long­ing, which in turn leads to a sense of mean­ing.”

Wann be­lieves there is one very sim­ple rea­son fans are so deeply ful­filled, which has noth­ing to do with sports it­self. It’s not about win­ning or los­ing, he sug­gests; it’s about the hu­man bonds we form in the process. I agree with that and I hope you do as well.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 24, 2019, 05:39:52 PM
Fuentes still with the TTFA??
Post by: pull stones on November 24, 2019, 06:47:44 PM
Fuentes still with the TTFA??
i don’t see why not, he’s been there since oliver worthless camps and has survived 3 federation bosses.....make that four. in case you havent figured out William Wallace is a gem of a bloke a man among men.....at least so I’ve been told, I seriously doubt he will dump shaun. btw did you know he’s a bago man maybe from your village? tobago people is very serious patriotic people, I think our football is in very good hands now, thank you God.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 24, 2019, 07:33:50 PM
Fuentes is an important element in the mix because he has institutional memory and is competent at what he does.

In this rounds doh, I would like the TTFA to invest in 'mic'ing the media's questions as it would enhance the product of the video packaged. It's a cheap fix.
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2021, 12:38:30 PM
“I told you I am not doing any f**king interview once he is here!” Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry Fenwick shouted at media officer Shaun Fuentes. Near to the centre of the Ato Boldon Stadium ground, at least three persons present allege that Fenwick butted Fuentes. Equipment manager Michael Williams appeared to intervene to calm down the former England World Cup defender. (Wired868 - Reports).

Post by: Tiresais on March 17, 2021, 01:55:41 PM
What is going on now...
Post by: asylumseeker on March 17, 2021, 01:57:07 PM
What is going on now...

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Thanks for that. You're SO right.  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2021, 03:55:59 PM
Fenwick denies clash with TTFA press officer: 'It's all rubbish'
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

NATIONAL men’s senior football coach Terry Fenwick is denying allegations that there was a physical altercation between himself and TT Football Association director of communications/media Shaun Fuentes before a national team training session at Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, on Wednesday.

In a brief interview with Newsday on Wednesday afternoon, Fenwick said, “Don’t even go there, It is all rubbish and you will recognise all the areas it is coming from.”

Another media house reported that the altercation got physical.

CNC3 posted a video (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/462810608406913) on Wednesday showing Fenwick and Fuentes in an animated discussion.

Fuentes posted a selfie on Facebook on Wednesday afternoon and captioned it, "Always in good shape."

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) later issued a press release saying the incident was blown out of proportion.

The TTFA said the incident, which stemmed from Fenwick expressing disapproval with the presence of a member of the media, "has been addressed at a meeting involving the two individuals, team manager Adrian Romain and the Normalisation Committee chairman Robert Hadad."

The TTFA said apologies were exchanged and Fenwick and Fuentes have agreed to put the incident behind them.

"Both Fenwick and Fuentes proceeded to conduct themselves in a professional manner and subsequently hosted the media briefing before the media present at the venue."

Fenwick is currently preparing the national team for two World Cup qualifiers on March 25 and 28. T&T will play Guyana in Dominican Republic in the first encounter, before travelling to Puerto Rico to face that country.

It will be T&T’s first competitive match since Fenwick took charge of the national team in January 2019. On January 31, T&T suffered a 7-0 defeat to the US in an international friendly.

In 2005, Fenwick was fined and banned for his role in sparking a brawl when he was the coach of San Juan Jabloteh against W Connection in the Toyota Classic final.

After W Connection midfielder Gefferson Goulart (https://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=6101.msg50505#msg50505) scored a goal he ran towards the Jabloteh bench and was elbowed by the Englishman. Fenwick was banned ten games for the incident.

RELATED NEWS

Furious Fenwick attacks TTFA Media Officer.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The future of national coach Terry Fenwick is likely to come into question, after Wednesday's alleged altercation in which he was alleged to have attacked T&T Football Association (TTFA) Media Officer Shaun Fuentes minutes before a press conference on the football field at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Balmain, Couva.

A day before the T&T team was scheduled to leave for the Dominican Republic for its opening World Cup qualifying match with Guyana on March 25, Fenwick was due to address the media, but allegedly became incensed when Wired 868 journalist Lasana Liburd appeared at the venue for the press conference scheduled to begin at 9 am.

Liburd's presence sent Fenwick into a fit of rage. And in the full view of the media, the English-born coach allegedly verbally attacked Fuentes, accusing him of inviting Liburd to the event.

Media personnel present said they heard Fenwick shouting and using obscene language towards Fuentes and saying that he (Fenwick) will not participate in the press conference once Liburd was present.

An audio recording that Guardian Media Sports obtained, surfaced after the alleged incident in which the person gave an account saying that Fuentes was head-butted by the coach and verbally abused.

Chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee Robert Hadad subsequently ordered a report from Fuentes.

Late on Wednesday afternoon, TTFA issued a statement which said: "The T&T Football Association wishes to state that following an incident at the senior team training session involving men’s National Head Coach Terry Fenwick and Director of Communications and Team Press Officer Shaun Fuentes on Wednesday morning at the Ato Boldon Stadium, the matter has been addressed at a meeting involving the two individuals, team manager Adrian Romain and the Normalisation Committee chairman Robert Hadad.

"The TTFA further advises that the matter was blown out of proportion as Fenwick only chose to express his disapproval of a certain member of the media fraternity being present at a scheduled Media Briefing on the eve of the Team’s departure for the Dominican Republic for the upcoming CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against Guyana.

"Apologies were exchanged and Fenwick and Fuentes have since agreed to put the incident behind them and continue the focus on the Team’s upcoming assignments in the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico. Both Fenwick and Fuentes proceeded to conduct themselves professionally and subsequently hosted the media briefing before the media present at the venue."

Two weeks ago, Hadad told Guardian Media Sports that he addressed concerns raised by the players about personal issues and the team's preparations following a Guardian Media report. He confirmed that he reached out to the team captain Khaleem Hyland about the issues.

This is not the first time Fenwick has been allegedly involved in a physical altercation locally.

In 2005, the then San Juan Jabloteh coach was captured on television elbowing W Connection's Brazilian midfielder Gefferson Da Silva Goulart while he was celebrating a goal against Jabloteh in the Toyota Classic final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo. Fenwick's action resulted in a 10-game ban by the T&T Pro League.

Attempts to reach Hadad for comments on yesterday's incident proved futile.

Emotions run high between coach Fenwick and TTFA media officer Fuentes
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

MAJOR SPAT

There is a report of an alleged physical assault yesterday by senior men’s national coach Terry Fenwick on Shaun Fuentes, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) media communications officer.

Both men are expected to be part of the contingent which leaves today for the Dominican Republic, where the “Soca Warriors” tackle Guyana next week Thursday, before heading to Puerto Rico for another 2022 Qatar preliminary round World Cup qualifier, three days later.

Reported as being present in the covered stand at the Ato Boldon Stadium was Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA normalisation committee. But Hadad did not respond to the Express’ queries into the alleged incident, if it was reported, or if there would be an official investigation into the matter by the TTFA.

However, late yesterday, the TTFA did issue the following release:

“The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association wishes to state that following an incident at the senior team’s training session involving men’s national head coach Terry Fenwick and director of communications and team press officer Shaun Fuentes, on Wednesday morning at the Ato Boldon Stadium, the matter has been addressed at a meeting involving the two individuals, team manager Adrian Romain, and the normalisation committee chairman Robert Hadad.

The communique further stated, “TTFA further advises that the matter was blown out of proportion as head coach Fenwick only chose to express his disapproval of a certain member of the media fraternity being present at a scheduled media briefing on the eve of the team’s departure for the Dominican Republic for the upcoming CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against Guyana.

“Apologies were exchanged and Fenwick and Fuentes have since agreed to put the incident behind them and continue the focus on the (national) team’s upcoming assignments in (the) Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico. Both Fenwick and Fuentes proceeded to conduct themselves in a professional manner and subsequently hosted the media briefing before the media present at the venue,” the release added.

The alleged altercation occurred following a verbal exchange between Fenwick and Fuentes in the centre of the field. Fenwick had reportedly objected to Wired 868 journalist Lasana Liburd’s presence and it was then, that the alleged incident was said to have occurred.

Present on the field was Fenwick, assistant-coach Derrick King and equipment manager Michael Williams, while logistics manager Basil Thompson sat on a bench. The players had not yet taken to the field to train.

Initially, Fuentes had opted to start the media briefing on schedule at 9 a.m., with only Trinidad Express reporter Ian Prescott and former Synergy TV cameraman Nigel Jawawir present. Fenwick was in the middle of the playing field when Fuentes approached him to request his (Fenwick’s) presence to field questions.

However, the press briefing was then delayed upon the arrival of a media party consisting of Lasana Liburd, CNC3’s Gyasi Merrique and his videographer Ignatius Wharton, along with Newsday reporter Jelani Beckles.

After some discussion out in the middle, both Fenwick and Fuentes eventually came over to the gathered media personnel and held a press briefing that lasted just five minutes. Fenwick responded to two questions apiece from Prescott and Liburd, and one from Merrique, before the briefing was abruptly ended by Fuentes, who informed that he had been instructed to keep the presser short in adherence to Covid-19 protocols.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 17, 2021, 04:11:55 PM
This probably merits filing on the Fenwick thread also ... and even more than on the Fuentes thread since Fenwick was protagonist #1.
Post by: Flex on March 19, 2021, 01:25:20 AM
Hadad: No physical abuse took place.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

There was no physical abuse at Wednesday's altercation between national coach Terry Fenwick and T&T Football Association's Media Officer Shaun Fuentes, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee Robert Hadad said at the Piarco airport on Thursday before the team left for the Dominican Republic.

Hadad made the statement before the team boarded its flight for its two World Cup qualifying matches against Guyana (March 25) and Puerto Rico (March 28), as he called for better communication between the coach and the media officer, as well as within the team.

The media reported on Wednesday that an incident took before Fenwick address the media at the Ato Boldon Stadium, when he displayed an alleged fit of rage when he saw reporter Lasana Liburd present for the press briefing. It is alleged that he confronted Fuentes for inviting Liburd and allegedly head-butted him.

Hadad said there was a little misunderstanding which was immediately sorted out, but he admitted that there are issues sometimes with certain media personnel.

"I was at the ground when all this happened, so I can tell you clearly that there was no physical abuse. At the end of the day we have aggressive personalities all around, and I think it's good for T&T. I think Terry is a very passionate, very strong-minded person. There are issues sometimes with certain media personnel, I am not going to fight that, I'm not going to defend that. Sometimes we use headlines to make things sound completely different. You read the headline and then you go read the article and it's a totally different story. So without calling names or pointing to any story, I can tell you it gets to you sometimes, and yesterday I think we had a little misunderstanding and we immediately called everyone together and it was sorted out, so Shaun and Terry are working together," Hadad explained.

Hadad, a director of the Hadco Group of Companies who has been given a mandate along with businessman Nigel Romano and Attorney Judy Daniel to stabilise football in T&T, gave the assurance he will ensure proper communication between the duo and in the team to prevent a similar occurrence.

Meanwhile, Fenwick, who named a squad of 26 players for the Guyana and Puerto Rico matches, has called for a strong character among the players if T&T is to come away victorious against the Guyanese. He told the media on Wednesday that in addition to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, his team has had its challenges in the football circles in which a few of his players were injured.

However, He got some positive news yesterday following the involvement of the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee and the President of the TTOC, Brian Lewis, who worked together to get the United States authorities to lift their coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic restrictions which will allow the T&T players who ply their trade in Europe to travel to Puerto Rico for the World Cup qualifier against that country.

This means that midfielders Andre Boucaud and Daniel Phillips, defender Sheldon Bateau, forward Levi Garcia and goalkeeper Nicholas Frenerup who were in doubt of not making the trip can now be selected by the coach for the second match.

According to the release on Thursday, the TTFA stated that: "TTFA would like to express its sincere and heartfelt gratitude to the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC), and by extension, The United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee for their assistance in facilitating the processing of the National Interest Exemption (NIE) waivers for the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s National Football players for their CONCACAF Qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022. The NIE wavier now grants our affected players the opportunity to travel to Puerto Rico without being affected by the strict suspension of entry to non-citizens. This restriction applies to all non-US citizens who were physically present in a restricted country during the 14 days preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States."

The TTFA said that it was through the timely collaboration between the TTFA, the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee and the President of the TTOC, Brian Lewis, the TTFA, is now able to have our European based players cleared to travel to Puerto Rico to play Puerto Rico on the 28th March 2021.

RELATED NEWS

Hadad: Cool down, Terry Fenwick.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

ROBERT Hadad, head of the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee to oversee the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), is urging men’s football team coach Terry Fenwick to temper his aggressive nature, as the squad prepares for a pair of 2022 FIFA World Cup Concacaf Zone qualifiers.

The T&T team left for the Dominican Republic on Thursday where they will play Guyana on March 25, followed by a meeting away to Puerto Rico on March 28.

Hadad was speaking during a media conference at the VIP Lounge, Piarco Airport, on Thursday morning, ahead of the team’s departure.

On Wednesday, at the team’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, there was an exchange between Fenwick and TTFA media officer Shaun Fuentes, after the English-born Fenwick expressed his displeasure over the presence of a media reporter at the venue.

“I’ll like to wish Terry good luck,” said Hadad. “I’ll like to say to the public, the relationship between the management team is healthy. If anything, it’s fiery at times.

“I will ask Terry to, as much as possible, keep it cool and let (us) win. The players of T&T will represent us properly, they will make (the nation) look good, and that’s what we’re about.”

Hadad pointed out earlier, “I actually was at the ground when it all happened, so I can tell you clearly that there was no physical abuse. We have aggressive personalities, and I think it’s good for T&T.

“I always say you can’t take a dead man and bring him back to life but you can take a man with a lot of life and tone him down a little bit, and work with (him). I think Terry is a very passionate, very strong-minded person.

"There are issues sometimes with certain media personnel, I’m not going to defend that.