Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on June 17, 2007, 03:27:18 PM

Title: Morris: FPATT to take care of players
Post by: E-man on June 17, 2007, 03:27:18 PM
Morris: FPATT to take care of players
...not picking row with Football Federation
By: Kern De Freitas (Express)

Sunday, June 17th 2007

THE newly-established Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) have outlined their main goal as seeking the interests of national footballers, but they are hardly gearing up for a fight with the T&T Football Federation (TTFF).

Many of FPATT's members are currently embroiled in a disagreement with the T&TFF over claims the Federation reneged on agreements for bonus payments for their participation in the 2006 World Cup.

But FPATT vice-president, former national captain Clayton Morris, says this issue is not on the official agenda of the Players Association.

"That is one of the things being discussed, but that is not going to be dealt with by FPATT. That is already being dealt with by another legal source," Morris told the Sunday Express.

The Association is being led by Germany 2006 hero Shaka Hislop, with other former and current players in their line-up, including Anthony Rougier, Leonson Lewis, Leslie "Tiger" Fitzpatrick and Cyd Gray.

Morris explained that FPATT were in the process of trying to procure a headquarters, after which they would be focussing on their membership. "The first thing is to get the headquarters and then (move on to) the membership drive. We have to get all the footballing persons mobilised, because it is from the members you get the strength," he pointed out.

FPATT have already appointed an interim board that will act for a year, before their first annual elections are held. Their main focus will be investing in players and having players themselves investing in their own futures.

"We want to make people aware that there is a lot in store for players," Morris said, "and we want to give them the assurance that once they become a member, FPATT will take care of their physical needs.

"A lot of players have suffered in the past, where they were victimised, they were exploited, so we want to make sure that does not happen in the future to the professional players."

Several benefits will also be available for the players, including insurance and gratuity when their playing days are over. The association will also look into providing scholarships for promising players who cannot afford it.

The next step, though, is to establish ties with the T&TFF.

"That is what we are doing now, seeking the blessings of the T&TFF so that we can really get this thing going.

"Everybody will think FPATT comes about now to fight the T&TFF for the funds outstanding for the guys," Morris said. "That isn't so. Even before my time there were efforts to form an association to make sure the players benefit, but it failed." He concluded: "We are not here to fight the association...we are here for the betterment of the players."

FPATT Executive:

Shaka Hislop (president), Clayton Morris (vice-president), Anthony Rougier, Leonson Lewis, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Cyd Gray (full members); George Hislop, Darren Millien, Philip Nunez (co-opted members).

Title: Re: Morris: FPATT to take care of players
Post by: WestCoast on June 17, 2007, 04:35:05 PM
 :applause: :applause:
I wish the FPATT all the best.
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2007, 06:15:02 PM
They just have to know what they want to accomplish get professional help and stay the course.
Post by: dreamer on June 17, 2007, 07:28:30 PM
Music to meh ears :violin: Check de talent in dat group nah. Real hard-core patriots and borse footballers in dat group dey.
Post by: Babalawo on June 17, 2007, 08:42:44 PM
Music to meh ears :violin: Check de talent in dat group nah. Real hard-core patriots and borse footballers in dat group dey.
They have so much talent they probably would of done better in the gold cup :rotfl:
Post by: superoli on June 18, 2007, 02:59:21 AM
Shaka should rent out his house to FPATT and charge above market rates for it............oh sorry dat is what Jack does
Post by: Coop's on June 18, 2007, 09:06:19 AM
The one thing i like about what Morris said is they they are not here to fight the TTFF,that's important,they are seeking the blessings of the Federation because they can't survive without that,as someone who have been there he will know better than anyone else what's required,it's about taking care of Footballers and their future.For this to work they have to work with and not against the TTFF.   
Post by: SHOTTA on June 18, 2007, 10:58:06 AM
i think though that many of the local players will think fpatt is here to fight ttff reguardless it will take alot for them to be convinced otherwise

especially if intl caps starting to come into play
Post by: Mr Mc on June 18, 2007, 12:34:24 PM
The one thing i like about what Morris said is they they are not here to fight the TTFF,that's important,they are seeking the blessings of the Federation because they can't survive without that,as someone who have been there he will know better than anyone else what's required,it's about taking care of Footballers and their future.For this to work they have to work with and not against the TTFF.   

Does FPATT require the 'blessing' of TTFF to operate and transact business on behalf of the players?
 Is it possible for the TTFF to simply say we dont recognize you, you have no authority and and as such we will not deal with you.
Post by: weary1969 on June 18, 2007, 12:52:02 PM
They go have to function without that blessing. They better go by the mount or something but they eh getting no blessing from JW I mean the TTFF or sorry I 4got is 1 and the same
Post by: Coop's on June 18, 2007, 03:15:18 PM

Does FPATT require the 'blessing' of TTFF to operate and transact business on behalf of the players?
 Is it possible for the TTFF to simply say we dont recognize you, you have no authority and and as such we will not deal with you.
      They will not have any weight without the blessings of the TTFF,they can't represent any players unless they are sanctioned by the TTFF,anything Football the TTFF controls,one body is recognized worldwide and that's the TTFF.
      It is possible for the TTFF to simply say we don't recognize you because they already doing that to the WC players(FPATT). 
Post by: palos on June 18, 2007, 04:06:30 PM
Lawd.  Dem gone and involve Darren Millien.  Same fella who was Marketing CEO fuh de WICB.  Man flop wuss dan Bunji fete in dah wuk.  Look blight.
Post by: Pointman on June 18, 2007, 05:26:51 PM
Lawd.  Dem gone and involve Darren Millien.  Same fella who was Marketing CEO fuh de WICB.  Man flop wuss dan Bunji fete in dah wuk.  Look blight.

;D small world
Post by: kentsoulman on June 18, 2007, 06:36:30 PM

They will not have any weight without the blessings of the TTFF,they can't represent any players unless they are sanctioned by the TTFF,anything Football the TTFF controls,one body is recognized worldwide and that's the TTFF.
      It is possible for the TTFF to simply say we don't recognize you because they already doing that to the WC players(FPATT). 

It will be difficult for FPATT to operate without being officially recognised by TTFF. However, the Russisn federation refused to recognise the Russian players union. FIFPro, the global association of players unions, stepped in and involved Sepp Blatter. Blatter signed a memorandum with FIFPro declaring every players right to have union representation. Blatter has also stated that players unions are crucial to development of football in Africa. To that end, he has stated that every new professional league in Africa must have a players union. Blatter spoke to the Russians, and basically ordered them to recognise the union. So if TTFF want to ignore FPATT, they simply have to contact the Russian and African federations for support. I'm sure Mr Blatter will find it politically difficult not to intercede on FPATTs behalf, particularly if Warner is becoming embarrassing.
Post by: Socafan on June 18, 2007, 07:28:38 PM

It will be difficult for FPATT to operate without being officially recognised by TTFF. However, the Russisn federation refused to recognise the Russian players union. FIFPro, the global association of players unions, stepped in and involved Sepp Blatter. Blatter signed a memorandum with FIFPro declaring every players right to have union representation. Blatter has also stated that players unions are crucial to development of football in Africa. To that end, he has stated that every new professional league in Africa must have a players union. Blatter spoke to the Russians, and basically ordered them to recognise the union. So if TTFF want to ignore FPATT, they simply have to contact the Russian and African federations for support. I'm sure Mr Blatter will find it politically difficult not to intercede on FPATTs behalf, particularly if Warner is becoming embarrassing.
Jack Warner is extremely important to Blatter. Concacaf is not Russia. Jack will have his way. Currently only Jack will determine what Jack does it appears; and there is no embarassing Jack. The man has no class.
Post by: weary1969 on June 18, 2007, 09:05:22 PM
They should run from anybody from the WICB. So Millien who sign dat great Digicel deal that try to shaft Lara should b replaced ASAP