Sports => Football => Topic started by: SOBRIQUET on June 22, 2007, 12:18:05 PM

Title: Its Official. Barcelona Land Thierry Henry for 16 million pounds !!!
Post by: SOBRIQUET on June 22, 2007, 12:18:05 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007280986,00.html
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/6231950.stm
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=440822&cc=5901
http://goal.com/en-us/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=334667

Kinda sad though that a player, a "Captain" could sign a 4 year contract just 1 year ago and talk all kinda big talks bout he is a "Arsenal Player for Life," then the next year take a shit on them and abandon he troops.  That is 2 captains in 3 years! Arsenal players are full of allegiance boy   ;)

Imagine, non-prem Charlton Refusing to let Darren Bent go for anything less that 17 mill and Henry leaving for 16!  Arsenal do it again! letting go their best players for peanuts....

Dumpalwie, Jahyouth....whey allyuh?  :) BTW, ah go be using pure organic Sea-Salt for them wounds over the next couple months  ;) not the cheap artificial stuff.

Barcelona sign Henry   

Henry appears set for a move to Spain    

Barcelona are in talks with Arsenal with a view to signing Thierry Henry, BBC Sport understands.
Officials for the Spanish club are in London negotiating with the Gunners over a reported £16m transfer fee.   Barcelona hope to close the deal by next week for Arsenal's record goalscorer who has long been linked with a move to the Nou Camp.

The 29-year-old's agent, Jeff Weston, told BBC Sport: "The SEM Group have no comment to make."

Earlier in June, the agency rubbished reports from France that the Arsenal star has agreed a provisional three-year contract with Barcelona.

Henry signed a new four-year contract with the Gunners last year but appeared to cast doubt on his future in June when he said he was flattered by interest from AC Milan.

This came after he said he was "devastated" when Arsenal vice-chairman David Dein left the club in April because of "irreconcilable differences" with the rest of the board. Both and Barcelona had both declared their interest in the player, who has been constantly linked with a big-money move away from Arsenal for the last few summers.

Meanwhile, former Arsenal team-mate Patrick Vieira told BBC Five Live that he feared Henry would leave the Gunners if the Premiership side did not bring several world-class players.

"If Arsenal bring two or three big names that will show Thierry that they want to compete," said the current Inter Milan player.

"If that's not the case Thierry will ask himself what is the best for him."

Title: Re: Breaking News. Barca in Official talks with Henry!!!!!! BBC SPORT Reports:
Post by: redtrinigirl on June 22, 2007, 12:28:14 PM
Oh gosh yuh quick eh? lol

I now hear it on news here in London, they say he's signing for £60M next week. Maybe they mean 60 Million Euro?

But oh gosh man. Dat is meh boy. I hope is talk.
Title: Re: Breaking News. Barca in Official talks with Henry!!!!!! BBC SPORT Reports:
Post by: SOBRIQUET on June 22, 2007, 12:29:21 PM
Oh gosh yuh quick eh? lol

I now hear it on news here in London, they say he's signing for £60M next week. Maybe they mean 60 Million Euro?

But oh gosh man. Dat is meh boy. I hope is talk.

16 million girl, not 60.
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2007, 12:32:16 PM
I hope he moves.
Post by: D.H.W on June 22, 2007, 01:07:30 PM
lol good leave that shit team arsenal, now they cant even launch a premiership attack against man utd  :devil:
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 22, 2007, 01:08:17 PM
lol good leave that shit team arsenal, now they cant even launch a premiership attack against man utd  :devil:

Hahahahahahahaha  MANU 4EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Mr Mc on June 22, 2007, 01:40:57 PM
ah feel we go need a watch on dumpalwie for real, that man aint recover from Viera departure as yet, now this...poor fella.
Title: Re: Its Official. Barcelona Land Thierry Henry for 16 million pounds !!!
Post by: Mose on June 22, 2007, 02:05:06 PM
Yuh know, I eh hear Touches in a while.... :thinking:
Post by: KND2 on June 22, 2007, 02:30:51 PM
You have to remember Henry had 2 major Injuries this year.

groin and neck

You never know but barca may not want to pay high price if he is an injury risk.

Aresenal may be seeing that henry cant do a full injury free season no more and now may be a good time to cash in.

You never know what going on Behind the scenes.
Post by: freakazoid on June 22, 2007, 02:34:54 PM
if eto stay we will be ripping sides totally apart next season
Post by: weary1969 on June 22, 2007, 02:37:22 PM
Good 4 he cyah see Eto stayin thou all thou I would luv it
Post by: Toppa on June 22, 2007, 02:41:28 PM
lol My friend is going to be sooooooo devastated! He's Gunner for life, henry is his favourite player and he hates Barca! He gehing ah triple wammie dey!
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2007, 02:44:17 PM
It's not official yet.

Trouble for Arsenal if he goes.
I don't think they have the money for a straight swap with another big player.
Lewwe see.

Van Persie, injury free, should do well.
We only see flashes of brilliance so far.

Rosicky, another injury man who could do big things.

Post by: palos on June 22, 2007, 02:44:45 PM
Respeck to Thierry Henry.

At de end of the day, he will always be an Arsenal legend no matter who he plays for in the future.  He will always be known as the best striker and one of the best players ever TO DATE in the English Premier League.

If Henry feel is time to move on, I say do yuh do and best wishes in yuh future endeavours with yuh new team.  You will never be forgetten at Arsenal.

This just makes room for other outstanding talents to step up at Arsenal.  Gargantuan shoes to fill but dis is de University of club football yuh talkin bout.  Under Wenger, de EPL football institiute of highest learning.  Another will emerge within the ranks sooner rather than later.
Post by: Filho on June 22, 2007, 02:49:55 PM
Nice. But it not true until Arsenal and Thierry say it is true. This is only from a Barcelona radio station and some BBC rumors

In any case...Arsenal eh feel the pain yet. Hopefully we really sign Henry...and then take back Fabregas  :devil:
He will return home soon
Post by: kicker on June 22, 2007, 02:56:07 PM
Nice. But it not true until Arsenal and Thierry say it is true. This is only from a Barcelona radio station and some BBC rumors

In any case...Arsenal eh feel the pain yet. Hopefully we really sign Henry...and then take back Fabregas  :devil:
He will return home soon

It will only make coming second to Madrid next season more painful  ;D
Post by: Filho on June 22, 2007, 03:13:36 PM

He will return home soon

;D ;D
Post by: freakazoid on June 22, 2007, 03:15:49 PM
(http://soccernet-akamai.espn.go.com/design05/images/domr/thierryhenrybarca412_al_g.jpg)

this man really knew what he was doing  a year ago
Post by: doublet750 on June 22, 2007, 03:18:07 PM
watch d manure fans try to make it their thread respect f best arsenal player on their team nah lol

and stop acting like alyuh beating chelsea 2 times in a row...its 2007/8 not in d late 90s when alyuh had a chance lol.

would hate to see thierry leave england ...(love seeing his moments against Manure that make them look normal).....

but i am also a fan of barca and i am sur he would do good...at the end of the day i disapointed with arsenal.....Wenger will leave at the end of his contract and fabregas has said he will follow....they better start grooming candidates NOW

***just see freakaziod post ***

LOL gosh freak yuh riiite oui... look at d lil surprised smile henry have like "is not only me alone think i should go to barca or what???"

careful arsenal say dat man was tapping up henry like chelsea did with cole   lol (to all d confused men wit sumtin to say yes yes yes we know chelsea were wrong with cole but get over it lol)
Post by: Touches on June 22, 2007, 03:30:21 PM
Steuppppppssss

This news sour meh whole weekend.

I depressed...I so vex I cyar describe it.

For not only is The best stiker in the EPL gone, but I suspect Wenger and Fabregas will go too.

Henry ent leave jess so...it hadda have more in the mortar than jest d pestle.

Barca have problems, dat side ent no kinda in form team now. Them self struggling and have coach and player issues.

It also hurtful that he now sign a 4 year deal...he miss most of this last season , and I thought we woulda now get the best out of him.

But I real flipping vex is Barca he gorn...the side that beat we in the CL final. Oh shit man...why yuh didnt go AC Milan instead.

Next season for we might be called......... NORFOLK IN CHANCE.

STeupsss. I know it happening eh, but I still in denial...see how Suazo transfer was guaranteed and he move to another club, something so might pan out or he might stay.

Until I see Henry in the Nou Camp with the jersey snappin FLIM I will remain hopeful that it is just a rumour.

Well

Is best we bring back Anelka and see if Eto want to come across I sure Rijkaard want to get rid of him.

Post by: palos on June 22, 2007, 03:35:22 PM
Steuppppppssss

For not only is The best stiker in the EPL gone, but I suspect Wenger and Fabregas will go too.

Barca have problems, dat side ent no kinda in form team now. Them self struggling and have coach and player issues.

It also hurtful that he now sign a 4 year deal...he miss most of this last season , and I thought we woulda now get the best out of him.

But I real flipping vex is Barca he gorn...the side that beat we in the CL final. Oh shit man...why yuh didnt go AC Milan instead.

STeupsss. I know it happening eh, but I still in denial...see how Suazo transfer was guaranteed and he move to another club, something so might pan out or he might stay.

Until I see Henry in the Nou Camp with the jersey snappin FLIM I will remain hopeful that it is just a rumour.

Well

Is best we bring back Anelka and see if Eto want to come across I sure Rijkaard want to get rid of him.

Once Wenger still dey, yuh have nutting to fear hoss
Post by: Toppa on June 22, 2007, 03:37:10 PM

He will return home soon

Tell him nah. Henry would have had a better chance of winning a title if he went to AC Milan.  :devil:
Post by: real madness on June 22, 2007, 03:38:55 PM
i feel there is ah high probability that eto'o on his way out especially since he and ronaldinho have issues.
Post by: Toppa on June 22, 2007, 03:39:55 PM
Steuppppppssss

Well

Post by: Mose on June 22, 2007, 03:47:03 PM

He will return home soon
Aye!! Dat would hurt!! Ah would real feel it fuh Arsenal if dey lose Henry and Cesc same time.
Post by: Grande on June 22, 2007, 03:53:07 PM
Steuppppppssss

Well

Try not to think of the player himself but the whole Arsenal side. This spells the end of an era for Arsenal...individual brilliance aside Henry flourished alongside now-gone men like Bergkamp, Robert Pires, Vieria. First among equals but the last to go. He will always be touted as an Arsenal legend.

Players like Van Persie, Fabregas, Rosicky, Baptista and Adebayor ushering in de new era. Denilson looks promising, Ljunberg still around and Gilberto is a boss still. Last season without Henry for the most part was an experimental ting and hopefully Wenger know his strategem now. Yes Henry is one of those massive players that will change a game or give you a crucial goal but it does happen to clubs all de time...yuh have to take it on de chin and move on. Anelka or Eto'o self not a bad option...or even Saviola. Speculation though.
Post by: Mose on June 22, 2007, 03:53:33 PM
i feel there is ah high probability that eto'o on his way out especially since he and ronaldinho have issues.
Ah find it interesting that no one seems to be considering the possibility that Ronaldinho might be the one to leave instead of Eto.
Post by: Mose on June 22, 2007, 03:55:23 PM
Steuppppppssss

Well

Try not to think of the player himself but the whole Arsenal side. This spells the end of an era for Arsenal...individual brilliance aside Henry flourished alongside now-gone men like Bergkamp, Robert Pires, Vieria. First among equals but the last to go. He will always be touted as an Arsenal legend.

Players like Van Persie, Fabregas, Rosicky, Baptista and Adebayor ushering in de new era. Denilson looks promising, Ljunberg still around and Gilberto is a boss still. Last season without Henry for the most part was an experimental ting and hopefully Wenger know his strategem now. Yes Henry is one of those massive players that will change a game or give you a crucial goal but it does happen to clubs all de time...yuh have to take it on de chin and move on. Anelka or Eto'o self not a bad option...or even Saviola. Speculation though.
Like yuh forgetting young Walcott. He might get a semi-regular run in de side now.
Post by: Toppa on June 22, 2007, 03:56:55 PM
Ah find it interesting that no one seems to be considering the possibility that Ronaldinho might be the one to leave instead of Eto.

Well Laporta say that Ronaldinho and Eto'o eh gehing sell, so we'll see. Wouldn't signing Henry make Eto'o kinna redundant?
Post by: Grande on June 22, 2007, 04:00:39 PM
Steuppppppssss

Well

Like yuh forgetting young Walcott. He might get a semi-regular run in de side now.

From the few times I see him I wasn't too impressed...but stress on de word FEW. A mere youth with plenty potential though so you could be right.
Post by: Mose on June 22, 2007, 04:04:40 PM

Well Laporta say that Ronaldinho and Eto'o eh gehing sell, so we'll see. Wouldn't signing Henry make Eto'o kinna redundant?
Not really. 2 speedy and highly skillful strikers. And Thierry also holds the ball as a center forward that Eto'o can play off of.
Anyhow it turn out, watching Barcelona play next season should be a real treat. Unless of course they turn around and sell off half de side. ;)
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 22, 2007, 08:00:43 PM
This will be a major blow to the Gunner's chances for the title this upcoming season. As much as I dislike Arsenal I absolutely respect them as a worthy opponent for the Title instead of Chelsea and having Henry leave for the Nou Camp will be a crushing blow to their morale.
Post by: Feliziano on June 22, 2007, 08:11:07 PM
like Arsenal and Wenger ent have a business brain when it comes to selling players or what?..first Vieria and now Henry..steups..who next Fabregas?..next thing yuh know Barcelona lining up wenger to caoch them next season  ;)
all dem Frenchmen too damn whiny..he get make captain plus he just sign a 4 year contract and he not feeling to stay now  ::)
maybe Reyes coming back..but ah feel is now van Rapist go shine once he stay injury free.
Post by: 2cents on June 22, 2007, 11:37:32 PM
Well even though I admire Arsenal brand, I must say I don't feel sorry for them. They had a good run but never been until Wenger that big a deal. Tired of the same top 4 every year so now this will give teams like Totenham and Everton a whole lot of incentive to grab that spot and hopefully bring EPL on par with La Liga in terms of competitiveness top to bottom.
As a Barca fan, to be honest I not sure how I feel about this signing (yes u askin if I crazy). This though is based on the fact that for the last 5-6 years i've been giving so much talk to ppl who support Real Madrid and tellin them how the Galacticos era wouldn't necessarily bring success which was proven to b true until this last season of that era. I love Henry as much as any football fan who appreciates greatness, yet I waitin to actually c how he fit into the team and not jumpin for joy just yet. That is also based on Sheva at Chelsea last yr, because I wouldn't dare call d great Shev a shithound but we all saw with our eyes what happened last season so I implore my fellow Barca supporters not to start talkin about 'we win d title aready jed'. I honestly don't want to c too many stars comin into d team, look Chelsea learn they lesson now too, as did Real. I prefer to c solid players coming in to compliment 2 or 3 stars because granny always tell d I 'too much cook spoil d broth...or whateva'  ;)
As for the person who mention Henry went for 16 mil and Bent price is 17 mil...I am no expert but Henry is 29 and Bent is about 22 so you figure it out. I don't tink Bent worth that much but u not only payin for the fact he a proven goalscorer in the prem, u also payin for the potential to b even better in the future wheras Henry will only (u would think) b at his current level for a few more yrs and then decline, thaz my opinion anyway. Blessed
Post by: Toppa on June 23, 2007, 01:57:54 AM
Henry confirms it.

http://uk.reuters.com/article/sportsNews/idUKL2356960620070623
Post by: redtrinigirl on June 23, 2007, 05:54:33 AM
Ok, Arsenal have confirmed it. What a waste. Why he didn't go last year? Why sign de four-year contract? I love Henry as much as de next Arsenal fan, but he move suspect dey.
Post by: Mr Mc on June 23, 2007, 06:04:42 AM
Ok, Arsenal have confirmed it. What a waste. Why he didn't go last year? Why sign de four-year contract? I love Henry as much as de next Arsenal fan, but he move suspect dey.

nothing suspect about it, things change. Wenger like too much young boys, somebody called Arsenal a football University,well is one setta freshmen at that Univ, it need some upperclassmen.

"The fact that Arsene Wenger has decided not to extend his contract was another very important factor," he said.

Henry pointed to his age, the Wenger aspect and the departure of director David Dein in April as his reasons in an open letter to readers of Britain's Sun newspaper.

WENGER DOUBT

"It's now or never for me -- sadly it has to be now," Henry was quoted as saying.

"Arsene Wenger has said that at this moment he will not commit to the club past the expiration of his current deal, which finishes at the end of this coming season.

"I respect his decision and honesty but I will be 31 at the end of next season and I cannot take the chance to be there without Arsene Wenger and David Dein.
Post by: Cantona007 on June 23, 2007, 08:08:44 AM
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/comment/article2697813.ece

A good article from the Independent. Wenger, as much as I dislike him, is a shrewd manager. Henry is almost 30 and an inevitable slide in performance is in the offing. Wenger knows this and sees the value in cashing in now (remember he is often loath to keep players well into their 30s and with Henry signing a 4 year deal...)

It might seem a good bit of business for Barca, but we'll see. I for one am not convinced.

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/comment/article2697813.ece
Post by: Warrior till death on June 23, 2007, 11:47:17 AM
Henry will suffer in Spain
Post by: fari on June 23, 2007, 11:55:36 AM
Henry will suffer in Spain

i am not so sure of that.  he might not be the pichichi next season in spain but i think he will do very well.   either that or defenders will pay so much attention to him that it will open up space for etoo and co....kind of like what some pundits were saying about shevchenko and drogba this season
Title: How Will Henry Handle the Racism in Spain ?
Post by: FLi ! on June 25, 2007, 12:28:31 PM

It's something he hasn't had to deal with that much while playing for Arsenal here in England, doubt he had to deal with it either in Monaco, and though I can't be sure about his days in Juventus, I'm sure it was no where near the level that we've seen in Spain.

Who remembers Eto picking up the ball and wanting to walk off the pitch against Zaragoza after repeated monkey chants?

Henry was a member of the Stand Up/Speak Out Campaign launched by Nike, it'll be interesting to see how he handles the taunts or if he goes the route of Larsson in staying under the radar.
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2007, 01:50:17 PM
(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/fullj.jpg)
(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/fullj-1.jpg)
Post by: Filho on June 25, 2007, 02:58:17 PM
Dat Unifrom suit ya Killa.

You know dem La Liga defenders done call off their holidays and hitting the gym one time for some speed training.

Arriiiight....Now call your boy Fabregas and tell him is time to come home  ;D :devil:
Title: Re: How Will Henry Handle the Racism in Spain ?
Post by: fatimarima on June 25, 2007, 05:44:02 PM
 Henry is the best man to answer that question for you.   However don't assume that he did not have to deal with that issue in England.  Racism is world wide and not just  limited to Spain. 
Post by: SUPA on June 25, 2007, 09:27:18 PM
(http://soccernet-akamai.espn.go.com/design05/images/domr/thierryhenrybarca412_al_g.jpg)

this man really knew what he was doing  a year ago

Big up yuh self boss, nice piece ah research. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: dinho on June 26, 2007, 06:09:09 AM
Ok..

Next years line up should start off as...

Valdez

Zambrotta     Puyol   Marquez   Gio

Edmilson

Messi      Xavi     Ronaldinho 

Eto'o     Henry

Bench:   Deco, Thuram, Oleguer, Sylvinho, Giuly, Toure

I foresee this side leaking some goals next year if they try squeezing in all this attacking talent into the starting lineup.. Like the Real Madrid of the not too distant past..
Post by: Peong on June 26, 2007, 08:13:09 AM
Edmilson is out for 6 months.
Post by: Israel on June 26, 2007, 08:22:53 AM
Ok..

Valdez

Edmilson

Eto'o     Henry

I foresee this side leaking some goals next year if they try squeezing in all this attacking talent into the starting lineup.. Like the Real Madrid of the not too distant past..

Nice line up but I would prefer Toure instead of Edmilson
Post by: Filho on June 26, 2007, 08:30:03 AM
Ok..

Valdez

Edmilson

Eto'o     Henry

Boss..Guily hadda go. And yuh forget Iniesta from yuh bench. Big player. He and Xavi will interchange. Deco is not riding the bench. Marquez eh starting before Thuram (bit Rijkaard really seems to like him). But by the end of last season, Thuram was looking imperious.

My 11

Valdez

Zambrotta                 Puyol                Thuram                 Van B

Marquez
                                               Deco                                  Xavi

Messi                           Henry                    Ronaldinho

Top men off the Bench:  Oleguer, Iniesta, Motta, Sylvinho, Toure, Eto'o, G. Dos Santos

There will of course be others who will get a chance off the bench. Eto'o will be gone by the Jan transfer window if Henry is a success. Edmilson will get back his spot when fit and marquez will rotate with the aging Thuram who won't play every game in the season. Iniesta is the first man off the bench and will start a few games. This will be Dos Santos first year of decen first team action. They will introduce hm carefully like what they did with messi
Post by: futbolfan on June 26, 2007, 08:36:30 AM
Ok..

Valdez

Edmilson

Eto'o     Henry

Boss..Guily hadda go. And yuh forget Iniesta from yuh bench. Big player. He and Xavi will interchange. Deco is not riding the bench. Marquez eh starting before Thuram (bit Rijkaard really seems to like him). But by the end of last season, Thuram was looking imperious.

My 11

Valdez

Zambrotta                 Puyol                Thuram                 Van B

Marquez
                                               Deco                                  Xavi

Messi                           Henry                    Ronaldinho

Top men off the Bench:  Oleguer, Iniesta, Motta, Sylvinho, Toure, Eto'o, G. Dos Santos

There will of course be others who will get a chance off the bench. Eto'o will be gone by the Jan transfer window if Henry is a success. Edmilson will get back his spot when fit and marquez will rotate with the aging Thuram who won't play every game in the season. Iniesta is the first man off the bench and will start a few games. This will be Dos Santos first year of decen first team action. They will introduce hm carefully like what they did with messi

ah really hope Marquez regain his form, because last season was one that he truly should try to forget.
Post by: dinho on June 26, 2007, 08:39:34 AM
Ok..

Valdez

Edmilson

Eto'o     Henry

My 11

Valdez

Zambrotta                 Puyol                Thuram                 Van B

Marquez
                                               Deco                                  Xavi

Messi                           Henry                    Ronaldinho

Top men off the Bench:  Oleguer, Iniesta, Motta, Sylvinho, Toure, Eto'o, G. Dos Santos

Meh boy I ain't no clairvoyant, I call de side based on today's roster, not on who might go and who might come..

good call re: iniesta, but you bench eto'o boy???  nah man...

I like your side but we have to admit... Any side with good wingers will murder this barcelona team cause it have no way deco, ronaldinho or messi getting back there fast enough to cover that area of real estate, and with all the attacking must-starters now in that team, it seems obvious that they can only go with one Defensive Mid...  Zambrotta and Gio have real work to do this year and I feel a Chelsea will hurt this team unless some of the stars ride some pine..

we'll see what happens i guess..
Post by: Filho on June 26, 2007, 09:02:53 AM
Yeh boy Omar. I only call who I feel riding out to give reasons for who I think will be on the bench..or not.

But I think Barca sizing up a Eto'o departure. Especially if Henry lights it up..they actually would rather offload him for big money now. His relationship with the club is strained and he is a little bit crazy. Remember, he insulted not only Rijkaard, but the prez..and some fellas in the boardroom. Those suits have some inflated egos and dey doh forgive and forget. I really think that buying Henry was the first step. Eto'o getting slowly shown the door. I am of course only guessing. I praying that I'm wrong. Actually think Ronaldinho might follow soon after if Messi could stay injury free and Dos Santos start to achieve his potential. Messi is fast emerging as the icon of the club. His is the image they will push as the face of Barca. Used to be Ronnie..but I sense a change. If that is the case, they will eventually sell the Brazilian before his value drops too low..so they will sell him when he is still playing well. But football is a fickle thing..a great season by Eto'o or Ronaldinho next season and they will be darlings of the Nou Camp again

Barca won the double with a similar lineup as the one I have with 3 forwrds..Iniesta and Deco and 1 defensive mid. I not worried about this side collecting too much wood so long as Deco and Xavi or Iniesta put in a shift. People doh realize how great their workrate is off the ball too. That is the secret.
Post by: dinho on June 26, 2007, 09:23:43 AM
If Eto'o is sold they won't have a problem with the line-up however I hope he isn't since he's plenty better than Henry in my books...

If he isn't, everyone knows that Rijkaard will have to try to find a way to squeeze all ah dem into the line-up... Cause you know if Eto'o get bench; well if you thought we hear tears last year, well we ent hear nothing yet...

And also it don't have enough space on that barca bench for both Henry and his ego..

What it means is that somebody from midfield go be sacrificed and i feel it go be deco.. Xavi is too crucial to that system with his retaining the ball and distribution (or Iniesta, just referring to the position)...  Then after that they need to have a defensive mid, one of either Motta/Edmilson/Toure will suffice..

It just have to be Deco!! They could play Eto'o up top and Henry and Messi on either side of him, and Ronaldinho in de centre where Deco was playing...

If not, and it's a toss-up between Henry and Eto'o for playing time, then it go be real ruction and unrest in de Nou Camp this year..

Post by: Toppa on June 26, 2007, 09:25:04 AM
Yeh boy Omar. I only call who I feel riding out to give reasons for who I think will be on the bench..or not.

But I think Barca sizing up a Eto'o departure. Especially if Henry lights it up..they actually would rather offload him for big money now. His relationship with the club is strained and he is a little bit crazy. Remember, he insulted not only Rijkaard, but the prez..and some fellas in the boardroom. Those suits have some inflated egos and dey doh forgive and forget. I really think that buying Henry was the first step. Eto'o getting slowly shown the door. I am of course only guessing. I praying that I'm wrong. Actually think Ronaldinho might follow soon after if Messi could stay injury free and Dos Santos start to achieve his potential. Messi is fast emerging as the icon of the club. His is the image they will push as the face of Barca. Used to be Ronnie..but I sense a change. If that is the case, they will eventually sell the Brazilian before his value drops too low..so they will sell him when he is still playing well. But football is a fickle thing..a great season by Eto'o or Ronaldinho next season and they will be darlings of the Nou Camp again

Barca won the double with a similar lineup as the one I have with 3 forwrds..Iniesta and Deco and 1 defensive mid. I not worried about this side collecting too much wood so long as Deco and Xavi or Iniesta put in a shift. People doh realize how great their workrate is off the ball too. That is the secret.

And when Real get Kaka?  :devil:.......... :devil:........... :devil:
Post by: Bourbon on June 26, 2007, 09:58:11 AM
Steups. I still say he shoulda keep he ass whey he was.
Post by: morvant on June 26, 2007, 10:00:31 AM
mods delete this whole thread

this sour meh blasted belly
Post by: Filho on June 26, 2007, 10:14:09 AM
If Eto'o is sold they won't have a problem with the line-up however I hope he isn't since he's plenty better than Henry in my books...

If he isn't, everyone knows that Rijkaard will have to try to find a way to squeeze all ah dem into the line-up... Cause you know if Eto'o get bench; well if you thought we hear tears last year, well we ent hear nothing yet...

And also it don't have enough space on that barca bench for both Henry and his ego..

What it means is that somebody from midfield go be sacrificed and i feel it go be deco.. Xavi is too crucial to that system with his retaining the ball and distribution (or Iniesta, just referring to the position)...  Then after that they need to have a defensive mid, one of either Motta/Edmilson/Toure will suffice..

It just have to be Deco!! They could play Eto'o up top and Henry and Messi on either side of him, and Ronaldinho in de centre where Deco was playing...

If not, and it's a toss-up between Henry and Eto'o for playing time, then it go be real ruction and unrest in de Nou Camp this year..

i hear yuh, but I feel u really underestimate the value of Deco.
i really cannot see Barca playing all 4 and winning anything. even with a defensive mid..that side belly real sorf. imo, Deco will play before all 4 (Henry, Eto'o, Ronnie, Messi) start

but we'll have to see. rich man's problem they call that.

Rijkaard..is all you boss. I go sit back and watch the drama unfold
Post by: dinho on June 26, 2007, 10:19:39 AM
i feel a fully fit Ronaldinho could do it in Deco position.. (i hope he training like Rocky all now after last year's gap break)

Henry could roam free out on de left and cut in like how Ronaldinho was playing before..

:frustrated:

geez on ages i getting a headache thinking bout de permutations..

this is why i stop like Real Madrid after they sell Makalele

Post by: Filho on June 26, 2007, 10:49:36 AM
Motta as good as gone....Good player and still only 24. A new club could reignite his career

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=441622&cc=5901

MADRID, June 26 (Reuters) - Barcelona's Brazilian-born midfielder Thiago Motta is surplus to requirements at the club, sports director Txiki Begiristain said on Tuesday.

The Catalan side have just completed the signing of Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure from Monaco for over 10 million euros ($13.46 million).

'With the signing of Toure and the presence of Rafael Marquez and Edmilson, once he recovers from his injury, the defensive midfield position will be well covered,' he told a news conference.

When asked why he had excluded Motta's name from the list of players who can play in that role, Begiristain said: 'We have been saying for four years that Motta could be one of the best players in the world for this position.

'But we had a chat with Thiago a few months ago and came to the conclusion that perhaps it was best for him to find a solution outside the club.'

The 24-year-old was given a few days off in March after missing a training session without permission. Coach Frank Rijkaard said the player needed time to get himself together.

Motta later apologised in a news conference and said he had suffered a loss of confidence after being heavily criticised for some of his performances.

He only made five league starts for Barca last season.
Post by: kicker on June 26, 2007, 11:29:15 AM
this is why i stop like Real Madrid after they sell Makalele

waggonist  ;D
Post by: Touches on June 26, 2007, 12:14:46 PM
Steupssss,

Henry just not looking right in them stripes.

Post by: freakazoid on June 26, 2007, 02:01:07 PM
doh study that man...looks n all that important . good sale arsenal . we wait 2 c if it was a good buy.

the number 14

Thierry Henry has chosen the number 14 shirt at FC Barcelona and he will don the jersey that Johan Cruyff made famous in Ajax, although there is not as much history linked to it at Camp Nou.

The number 14 has always been associated with Cruyff, but the former Barça player and coach only wore it on very few occasions during his playing days with the Blaugrana. Now Henry will use the shirt on a full-time basis after taking the number that he wore at Arsenal when he officially joins the squad on July 21.

Until the 1995/96 campaign the number 14 was used only by substitutes as squad numbers were not assigned pre-season. The shirt saw several players wear it each year. From the middle of the last decade several players at Barça have chosen the shirt.

Jordi Cruyff was first

The first was Jordi Cruyff, who asked for the number as a gesture to his father and he began to play in it during the 1995/96 campaign, but after leaving the club the shirt remained vacant the following year.

Amunike takes over

Nigerian defender, Emmanuel Amunike, was the next to take the number as he played in it during the 1997/98 before passing it on to Gerard López. The Catalan midfielder kept the unmber for five seasons (2000/01 until 2005/06).

Ezquerro was last

After moving on to Monaco, Gerard left the shirt to Santi Ezquerro who arrived to help the team to the Spanish title and the Champions League trophy in the 2005/06 season. Last term no player wore the number 14 as Ezquerro opted to change to number 17.
Post by: dumpalewie on June 26, 2007, 03:27:35 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007280986,00.html
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/6231950.stm
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=440822&cc=5901
http://goal.com/en-us/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=334667

Kinda sad though that a player, a "Captain" could sign a 4 year contract just 1 year ago and talk all kinda big talks bout he is a "Arsenal Player for Life," then the next year take a shit on them and abandon he troops.  That is 2 captains in 3 years! Arsenal players are full of allegiance boy   ;)

Imagine, non-prem Charlton Refusing to let Darren Bent go for anything less that 17 mill and Henry leaving for 16!  Arsenal do it again! letting go their best players for peanuts....

Dumpalwie, Jahyouth....whey allyuh?  :) BTW, ah go be using pure organic Sea-Salt for them wounds over the next couple months  ;) not the cheap artificial stuff.

Ah still in mourning. Ah can't even stand to read BBC site. :'( :'( :'(

Ah just hope we not witnessing the dismantling of the great Gunners.