Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 05:05:04 PM

Title: The best Caribbean-born footballer
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 05:05:04 PM

John Barnes

Dwight Yorke

Be honest now people dont be bias i cannot recall john banres at his peak but i do recall dwight yorke in his peak from  1993/1994 -1999/2000

Title: Re: The best Caribbean-born footballer
Post by: AB.Trini on April 19, 2005, 05:09:24 PM
What criteria are you using to assess what is the 'BEST?'

The most accomplished? most reknowned? I mean that type of catergorizing is nebuleous and  subjective.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 05:20:46 PM
ok then taking all thing into consideration alberta trini
Post by: Cowen on April 19, 2005, 05:48:12 PM
Them 2 fellas cyar be the best the Carrbbean produce over the years. They might be the most recognised but hardly the best. I guess i t woul depend on the criteria being used to assesed like Alberta said
Post by: royal on April 19, 2005, 06:58:34 PM
How about dem Martiniquans who play for France including there '82 captain and all dem Surinamese who help Holland including Ruud Gullit
Title: Other players to consider
Post by: Tallman on April 19, 2005, 07:41:56 PM
Clarence Seedorf
Edgar Davids
Lillian Thuram
Brendon Batson (http://www.100greatblackbritons.com/bios/brendan_batson.html)
Cyrille Regis (http://www.explore-biography.com/sports_figures/C/Cyrille_Regis.html)
Luther Blisset (http://www.thefa.com/Features/EnglishDomestic/Postings/2003/07/54903.htm)
Ces Podd (http://www.bantamspast.co.uk/TheFrontRoomofFame/cespodd.html)
Clyde Best (http://www.blackpresence.co.uk/pages/sport/best.htm)
Marius Tresor (http://marius-tresor.biography.ms/)
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 07:59:10 PM
Wait nuh all them west indian born player in england  oh and tallman yuh forget alfred charles.

Post by: Savannah boy on April 19, 2005, 08:06:16 PM
Easy answer...Dwight based on achievements...it not even close...yuh could argue till yuh face blue and de cows come home...but allyuh put Latas on dat list too. He done play big time European football when he was in Portugal. Dem two was ranked in de 30's as the best foootballers in de world at one time. No GKs on dat list too?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 08:17:08 PM
Oh and fellas dwight yorke at his peak would have made the england 1998 WC Squad . WHAT ARE WE LOOK AT TRAILBLAZING PLAYERS OR THE BEST EVER PLAYER

look at it this way yorke set the champions league a fire in his first season there

Do you all remeber that game when yorke well Manu destroyed bayern munich 5-0 in the early rounds IN 1998/1999 CL.FERGIE SAID YORKE WAS THE ONLY STRIKE THAT GAVE HIS DEFENCE TROUBLE before he signed him.

in my opinion dwight move to a bigger club in 1998 was long over due.
Post by: arrow on April 19, 2005, 08:50:12 PM
and yet you think he is a total write off now?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2005, 09:33:16 PM
THAT WAS 6 YEARS BACK
Post by: vb on April 20, 2005, 02:57:33 AM
Barnes and Yorke have to be considered.

But u should have the category in two areas.

Those who played abroad and those at home who were not given the opportunity to play abroad...eg. Spann,Lellwyn, La Forest etc.

Peace,
Post by: Sando on April 20, 2005, 03:59:23 AM
John Barnes was class. Dwight Yorke accomplished more (club wise). Barnes played for England which was a plus for him on the international scene. Dwight may have a chance now to change that if we qualify for Germany and knowing that he was born and bread in T&T, grew up and learn the game in T&T is also a major plus in Yorke's favor..
Post by: andre samuel on April 20, 2005, 05:51:44 AM
Yorke by a mile, no one is even close!

Yorke top score in de champions league in '99 (tied on 8 goals with de ukrainian rocket)

seventh highest goal scorer of all time in one of de world's toughest leagues!

was on a top ten shortlight for european player of de year in '99.

Dat man woulda walk on dat english team and be owen's striker up to this day!

Spann? lol La Forest? gally cummings? lol

Post by: NC on April 20, 2005, 06:08:51 AM
Barnes and Yorke have to be considered.

But u should have the category in two areas.

Those who played abroad and those at home who were not given the opportunity to play abroad...eg. Spann,Lellwyn, La Forest etc.

Peace,

I agree with you, some would argue that if some of these guys had the same opportunities they would have accomplished a lot.  But you cannot mentioned Spann, Ron and Sammy and not mention Denzil White - one of the most accomplished players we had in T&T.
Post by: Observer on April 20, 2005, 06:33:42 AM
Clarence Seedorf
Edgar Davids
Lillian Thuram
Brendon Batson
Cyrille Regis
Luther Blisset
Ces Podd
Clyde Best
Marius Tresor

Add to that list Anelka, Bernard Lamma, Henry, Gerrard Vandenburg, Sennon (Haiti),
Post by: football king on April 20, 2005, 07:30:07 AM
yorke hands down no 1, the man was wicked for man u and win almost everything top scorers in EPL ever
no way spann ron la gally etc even compare
and not forget yorke on the field of play was a great player very very good.
off the field well that is his business.
Post by: football king on April 20, 2005, 07:32:21 AM
i going with dwight based on born and grow up in the region not the ones that left when they were like 2 or 3 or 10
Post by: Observer on April 20, 2005, 07:39:53 AM
i going with dwight based on born and grow up in the region not the ones that left when they were like 2 or 3 or 10

Barnes left at 16
Post by: football king on April 20, 2005, 07:50:31 AM
well yeah still dwight over barnes for me
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 20, 2005, 08:10:26 AM
barnes left jamaica at 13
Post by: NC on April 20, 2005, 12:11:00 PM
Like this is a popularity contest.  How much do you guys really know about T&T football?  What makes Dwight the best?  At his age no one wants him in England, he was refused by Wolves a champioship club and Tranmere, who happens to be two division below the Premiership.  This guy had two good seasons in England, made as much as 65,000 pounds a week and is now being run out of England for a little over 500,000 a year.  During his spell as a T&T international he has never dominated or been real creative as a player.  So, what's makes him the best, the standard seems to be very low.  If this is based on popurality, then Russel is the man.  He was more consistent, had a bigger impact, and is getting ready to close off his playing career in style and beging a new one as a coach. 
Post by: doc on April 20, 2005, 12:16:38 PM
. If this is based on popurality, then Russel is the man. He was more consistent, had a bigger impact, and is getting ready to close off his playing career in style and beging a new one as a coach.

By showing how Russel was consistent, would go a long way in supporting your position. :-\
Post by: vb on April 20, 2005, 12:43:09 PM
Like this is a popularity contest.  How much do you guys really know about T&T football?  What makes Dwight the best?  At his age no one wants him in England, he was refused by Wolves a champioship club and Tranmere, who happens to be two division below the Premiership.  This guy had two good seasons in England, made as much as 65,000 pounds a week and is now being run out of England for a little over 500,000 a year.  During his spell as a T&T international he has never dominated or been real creative as a player.  So, what's makes him the best, the standard seems to be very low.  If this is based on popurality, then Russel is the man.  He was more consistent, had a bigger impact, and is getting ready to close off his playing career in style and beging a new one as a coach. 

Two good seasons??

So those years with Villa, he didn't have good seasons.
So what Man U pick him based on MEDIOCRE seasons.

He score more than 20 goals in a season how...with a POOR season.

Peace,
Post by: FF on April 20, 2005, 12:53:42 PM

Two good seasons??

So those years with Villa, he didn't have good seasons.
So what Man U pick him based on MEDIOCRE seasons.

He score more than 20 goals in a season how...with a POOR season.

Peace,

I was going and say more or less the same thing... NC is either a madman or born in '99 to say Yorke had two good seasons alone de whole fifteen years he in england. These ppl crazy yes
Post by: football king on April 20, 2005, 01:03:48 PM
thanks vb for that point man u pick him cause he was a shithound
is like man can't have a personal preference on this forum at all
Post by: NC on April 20, 2005, 01:55:16 PM
Could someone tell me the standard that is being used to arrive at this conclusion?
Title: Dwight's honours
Post by: Tallman on April 20, 2005, 02:31:16 PM
This guy had two good seasons in England

Dwight has achieved the following honours:

Post by: TrinInfinite on April 20, 2005, 02:41:44 PM
yorke, has de titles and goals, played 4 de bess team in the world at one point, only ting alluding him is de world cup
Post by: NC on April 20, 2005, 03:52:37 PM
"Yorke has not reached double figures in his past five seasons"
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 20, 2005, 03:59:39 PM
check yuh stats again NC
Post by: dcs on April 20, 2005, 04:34:36 PM
I think what it is , is that Dwight for all his achievements and accolades....still is an underachiever...in a way that is a compliment even if it isn't a good thing.

After Man Utd he just about disappeared on the football pitch and was invisible.  And that fact will stay with him for the rest of his life.  For every person that recalls a treble or good season there will be 2 or 3 more that will say it was a short term fluke and base it on his mysterious and abismal showing on the football field after he left Man Utd.

He had alot more to achieve to cement the title of great.  Don't know what went wrong....Fergie should have just been another hurdle but it seems like he came to a crashing hault.

We at home are more forgiving but the Brits will have no problems tearing into him at any opportunity....warranted or not (Sullivan...Bruce...whoever else wants to take a shot)
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2005, 11:40:03 AM
So i guess dwight yorke is the winner
Post by: palos on April 22, 2005, 12:06:22 PM
If allyuh goin on stats den Yorke right up dey in trute.

But the best I have ever SEEN is Russell Latapy closely followed by the Haitian General Phillipe Vorbe.
Post by: samo on April 22, 2005, 12:57:26 PM
Russel did not make double figures either, so what is your point. If you want to say who doing the best out of all the European based players . I may agree. But you have no point
Post by: Cowen on April 22, 2005, 01:01:56 PM
From all the stats i seeing yorke look like the clear winner. Anybody have stats on any of the other players ???
Post by: palos on April 22, 2005, 01:03:57 PM
Russel did not make double figures either, so what is your point. If you want to say who doing the best out of all the European based players . I may agree. But you have no point

Me yuh dey wit samo?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 23, 2005, 03:47:40 PM
Barnes was never coached at all in England

In the mid-1970s young Barnes, who by then was attending St George's College, migrated with his family to England when his father, Army Colonel Ken Barnes took up a military attache posting with the Jamaican High Commission, and he remains certain that he did not improve there. It was more that the environment afforded him an opportunity.

By the time he left Jamaica, Barnes had already played Colts football (Under-15 High Schools' League) and had seen his father playing for Jamaica. "All of my football development I got here," boasted Barnes. ". so I never went to England and improved, I went to England and I was given an opportunity to play and I suppose that is why I was as successful at Watford, particularly at such a young age.

"When I went to England I wasn't coached at all. when I went to Watford at 16, I wasn't at a professional club before. My
father got recalled to Jamaica and I fully expected to come back to Jamaica. But then Watford said 'do you want to stay and play? And then I was in the first team six months later, really because I was playing off the natural ability that I had, which was developed here (in Jamaica) and continued there. I was never coached at all in England," reiterated Barnes, whose adroit left foot could cross a ball played at any speed down the left flank, on any desired spot.

Post by: Trini on April 24, 2005, 09:52:38 PM
"Yorke has not reached double figures in his past five seasons"

Dwight hit 13 goals in 2002-2003 season for Blackburn partner
(http://www.gjmedia.co.uk/t&t2-3.htm)

In terms of achievement, there is no one remotely close to what he has achieved from the English speaking Caribbean (Barnes included).
Gullit and that whole holland posse who it seems like came from suriname, could rival him, as they also won championships in italy and all over europe as well.

Its only because Dwight has conquered so much and set such high goals, that when he scores less than 10 goals in an EPL season, we seet it as a failure.
It is his own high achievements that has seen us critisise him now, as he is a mere mortal.
People like Dwight Yorke are born in Trinidad and Tobago once a generation.
If Latas was a  lill bigger and coulda pelt a tackle or two, he woulda be at Dwight Level on the international stage as well too.
But for T&T, and in terms of gifted ability, he is perhaps the best we have ever produced (latas).
Dwight may have been a harder worker and more sacrifice and maybe more ambition (also a lill luck too sometime).
Post by: Agos on April 25, 2005, 04:40:27 PM
What about guys like Warren Archibald and Leroy Deleon,who almost qualified T&T for the World Cup.In those days footballers did have the sort of oppotunities and exposure that players over the last couple of decades had,as players coming from Third World countries.Also do not underestimate Gally Cummings who played professional football in Mexico which was quite an accomplishment in those days.Also Haiti had a player called Phillipe Vorbe when they "qualified" for the World Cup,who was quite outstanding.
Title: Yorke's career statistics
Post by: Tallman on April 25, 2005, 06:16:58 PM
Overall career totals:

AppsAs subGoalsYellowRed
Total (Club)
(81)
League
(63)
FA Cup
(7)
League Cup
(0)
European/Others
(11)

International career totals:

AppsAs subGoalsYellowRed
Trinidad & Tobago
(1)
Post by: dcs on April 25, 2005, 10:21:39 PM

You have to consider that as time went on the numbr of games players play for the season increased tremendously.
So the statistics have to be presented and analyzed in a judicious manner.

I could make an average player of the modern game appear to be better than alot of past players because the game of football itself has changed over time.

Goals per game may help but even that may not tell the complete story as the average number of goals in a game at one point in time might be different from another.  The laws of the game were changed to encourage more goals, faster action....change in offside rule, change in rules for goalkeepers....stricter rules on tackling to protect attacking players.

You could however have a sense of how important that player was to his team and their subsequent achievements.  How respected was that player for his talent and performance on the pitch...what effect he had on the game and what was the quality of the opposition.

Tallman, how easy it was to make that table?  I guess it easy if you could just copy paste something but it look like stress to use dem buttons.
Title: Who is the best Player in the Caribbean
Post by: Jah Gol on July 04, 2007, 09:53:48 AM
Who do you think is currently the best player in the Caribbean ?
Right now I think Carlos Edwards is the best player.

&

Who do you think is the best Caribbean player of all time ?
I would say Dwight Yorke.
Title: Re: Who is the best Player in the Caribbean
Post by: Bourbon on July 04, 2007, 09:56:20 AM
Yuh trying to bait some Jamaicans into de open or wha?? :rotfl:

Buh i agree with you.
Post by: morvant on July 04, 2007, 10:11:56 AM
if yuh including fete matches me........................
Post by: kicker on July 04, 2007, 10:15:01 AM
Currently- 1.Jason Roberts 2. Carlos Edwards & Ricardo Gardner

Ever (my time & recollection)- 1-Russel Latapy 2.Dwight Yorke 3.Theodore Whitmore & Shaka Hislop

There are prob better players but those are the ones that come to mind immediately
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 04, 2007, 10:22:47 AM
Right now: Edwards

Ever: Yorke Latas and Stern

and when alyuh men question Stern...  prove it with facts why he shouldnt be there....
Fact: he is the best striker in the Caribbean with the best strike rate and is amongst the top 15 greatest national goalscorers.. and he is the man that really got us to the cup.. because i damn for sure know dat no1 on our team was scoring those 5 vital hex goals NOT 1 EFFING PLAYER COULD HAVE DONE THAT...
Post by: Big Magician on July 04, 2007, 10:26:43 AM
rusell latapy now and forever  ....till he is 80....then me
Post by: kicker on July 04, 2007, 10:36:13 AM
Right now: Edwards

Ever: Yorke Latas and Stern

and when alyuh men question Stern...  prove it with facts why he shouldnt be there....
Fact: he is the best striker in the Caribbean with the best strike rate and is amongst the top 15 greatest national goalscorers.. and he is the man that really got us to the cup.. because i damn for sure know dat no1 on our team was scoring those 5 vital hex goals NOT 1 EFFING PLAYER COULD HAVE DONE THAT...

Yuh sound like yuh have a serious axe to grind. If men eh rate Stern they eh rate him- daz small ting....he's probably the greatest goalscorer in T&T/Caribbean (arguably of all time)- but that's all that the stats prove.

In terms of greatest player, there's much more than stats that tell the story otherwise there would be no debating that Stern is/was greater than Latapy- argue that tuh yuh father nah  ;D ;D
Post by: Filho on July 04, 2007, 10:39:47 AM
right now: 3 way tie between Jason Roberts (Grenada), Carlos (T&T), and Gardner (Jamaica)

best ever: Leonson Lewis
Post by: WestCoast on July 04, 2007, 10:43:09 AM
oh gawd
man pushing domestic discord and ting :devil:

My vote is for de King of Canaan, (drum roll please) Mr Dwight Yorke  ;)
Post by: ballpiyong on July 04, 2007, 11:04:36 AM
Now: Carlos

Ever: Latas
Post by: dreamer on July 04, 2007, 11:21:39 AM
Top three is Latas, Yorkie and Leonson Lewis. They could handle deyself wit' de greats of ANY generation. Best scorer Stern-turn-inho. Best left winger Leonson. Most skillful: Latas. Most explosive with shock and awe: Leonson. Biggest achiever where it matters most: Yorkie.So who is de winner of the three? Well, ah go ha' to tally all de points. Hol' on.....out of 10 points....

Latas 9.80 (A+)
Yorkie 9.81 (A+)
Leonson 9.78 (A+)
Stern 9.73 (A+) when he was at his prime
Carlos (currently at)... 9.4 (A)
Shaka 9.7 (A+) during his best days years ago
Clayton Ince 9.3 (A)
Colin Samuel 8.98-9.0 (B+)
Hardes' 7.9 (C+ to B-)
"Tappa" Whitmore  :thinking:  8.99 (B+)
Onandi Lowe  9.5 (borderline A-->A+)

...and to put the scale in perspective  ;D .....

Maradona 9.9 (A+)
Pele 9.9 (A+)
Zidane 9.88 (A+)

Therefore, the winner is.................Yorkie   :applause: :applause: . I rest my case, while paying my  :notworthy: to Latas and Leonson and offering my  :salute:  to Stern-turn-inho and Shaka.   ;D

Post by: Swima on July 04, 2007, 11:40:50 AM
D Jamaicans gettin real pong as is, but I would not include Gardner with Edwards and Roberts right now. His season has been sporadic. Claude Davis had a more solid season in my mind. Nonetheless, I think if we were to add a potential third that Shelton, once his eye for goal improves, will be a torment in both the EPL and CONCACAF.
Post by: Big Magician on July 04, 2007, 11:57:58 AM
boxhill is the best defender
Post by: Bianconeri on July 04, 2007, 12:41:31 PM
onandi lowe coulda really been playin for a top club if he was serious...

he was real bad ...esp. when he play TT
Post by: palos on July 04, 2007, 12:49:36 PM
D Jamaicans gettin real pong as is, but I would not include Gardner with Edwards and Roberts right now. His season has been sporadic. Claude Davis had a more solid season in my mind. Nonetheless, I think if we were to add a potential third that Shelton, once his eye for goal improves, will be a torment in both the EPL and CONCACAF.

Shelton will turn out to be another Ricardo Fuller.  Plenty flash, lots a great predictions bout potential, and ultimately end up in a Championship or Division 1 squad scorin 5 goal a season.  As fuh CONCACAF.....same returns as Fuller.
Post by: Midknight on July 04, 2007, 12:57:03 PM
Shelton will turn out to be another Ricardo Fuller.  Plenty flash, lots a great predictions bout potential, and ultimately end up in a Championship or Division 1 squad scorin 5 goal a season.  As fuh CONCACAF.....same returns as Fuller.

Ah not looking for ting...

Any reason why yuh feel so?
Post by: palos on July 04, 2007, 01:04:21 PM

Ah not looking for ting...

Any reason why yuh feel so?

They're the same player.  Check dem out.  Fast, Skillful, Young, and not able at dat level.

Remember when dah yute (tink he name Jermaine sumting) did debut fuh Bolton against Arsenal right after comin straight from Jamaica?  He had a blinder and everybody start callin he nex Pele etc.  Now he cyah even make 3rd Division side.

Same ting when Fuller did now start.  Everybody did say he takin EPL by storm.  He never pan out to be 1/4 de player dey was expectin.

Nex was supposed to be Omar Daley.  Flop.

Keith Kelly was supposed to mash up Europe.  Nadas.

Jermain Hue still supposed to take Europe by storm.  Rien.

Fact is......Ricardo Gardner is by far the best player to come out of Jamaica.  At the CONCACAF level, it's that wayward but dangerous soul Honandi Lowe.
Post by: jai john on July 04, 2007, 01:05:29 PM
right now: 3 way tie between Jason Roberts (Grenada), Carlos (T&T), and Gardner (Jamaica)

ha ha ..filho you should get around some more ... Ask Leonsen and he will tell you who is de best ever ...he been saying it for many years ...since you rate him so highly you should respect his opinion ...
Ask him nah
Post by: palos on July 04, 2007, 01:07:57 PM

ha ha ..filho you should get around some more ... Ask Leonsen and he will tell you who is de best ever ...he been saying it for many years ...since you rate him so highly you should respect his opinion ...
Ask him nah

There's really only 2 answers to that question.  Which answer comes down to personal preference and neither is wrong.  I know mine.
Post by: Swima on July 04, 2007, 01:25:21 PM

Respect!

The reason why I do not see him as another Fuller is because his pace is so deadly. Fuller had more beat than pace, but we see where in England, having beat alone don't necessarily make you a star. Pacy winger/forwards tend to shine in the frenetic atmosphere of the prem. I could be wrong and would in no way put my head on a block for anyone, but coming up against Manu this past season, he was quite impressive for such a young inexperienced guy. I wouldn't hate on him nor would I sleep on the potential he has already shown. That's all it is though, potential.
Post by: Filho on July 04, 2007, 01:37:32 PM

Ask him nah

Aye boy. You back..talk to me nah. How you feeling bout you biancocelestes. I feel dat Crespo injury will have big repercussions. Anyhow..this is not the thread. I will catch yuh on a copa thread. Anyhow, personally, I just value what Leo brought to the table over all others. We can't all value the same thing. Doh really matter what Leo himself thinks. The man humble  ;) Read his interview with socawarriors.net. He would have played for a big European team if not for naivete and an unscrupulous agent. Even When portuguese scouts had come to see the #10, when they were done they said they'll only take him if they could have the #11. Not everyone values the same things I guess. Respek

Post by: Filho on July 04, 2007, 01:39:30 PM

Swimz..you sound like you talking more bout Gardner form than how good he actually is  ;).
Post by: jai john on July 04, 2007, 01:45:30 PM

Ask him nah

Aye boy. You back..talk to me nah. How you feeling bout you biancocelestes. I feel dat Crespo injury will have big repercussions. Anyhow..this is not the thread. I will catch yuh on a copa thread. Anyhow, personally, I just value what Leo brought to the table over all others. We can't all value the same thing. Doh really matter what Leo himself thinks. The man humble  ;) Read his interview with socawarriors.net. He would have played for a big European team if not for naivete and an unscrupulous agent. Even When portuguese scouts had come to see the #10, when they were done they said they'll only take him if they could have the #11. Not everyone values the same things I guess. Respek

yeah boy Filho I was off for awhile ...you know I would have a thing or two to say on de Copa  :beermug:
Purely as a matter of personal preference Latapy is my player as best ever .....most underrated player for me is Hutson Charles. i was around them when they played under 23 and even later ....Hutson just never got the break ....something a lot of young players get caught up with ...children at an early age..unable to leave ...
I remember one player ..I wont say who, had 5 children and was on de under 23 team ! You tink  easy.
Post by: Big Magician on July 04, 2007, 02:08:51 PM
nah...i think shelton will get far.....de man have stuff...shhhhh  doh tell RF i said that
Post by: fatimarima on July 04, 2007, 02:31:52 PM
 Russel Latapy, Dwight Yorke, Leonson Lewis,  Theodore Whitmore, Stern John   (These are the best players that I have seen in the Caribbean)....I will throw Angloma in there too since he played for Guadelope.
Post by: fatimarima on July 04, 2007, 02:35:09 PM
and of Carlos Edwards is currently the best that I have seen....can't forget Carlos.
Post by: Midknight on July 04, 2007, 04:26:55 PM
Me  8)

Oh crap is football allyuh men talkin bout? I say is gyals..  ;D
Post by: Swima on July 04, 2007, 04:48:18 PM

Swimz..you sound like you talking more bout Gardner form than how good he actually is  ;).

Yeah Fil, dais why I say right now. Bibi is the best to come outta JA probably since Alan Cole. But i ehn no expert on football in the land of wood and water. We go hadda talk to Big Mag about dat.  ;D
Post by: elan on July 04, 2007, 06:08:00 PM
How come Latas better than Yorke? Yorke has been very successful in achievement and also has proven himself as a striker and a midfielder. His technique and knowledge of the game is tremendous. I know Latas has skills and all that jazz, but Yorke has shown that no one else can stand up to him. He keeps on producing any where you put him on the field and off.

Post by: Observer on July 04, 2007, 08:11:45 PM
What about dem man born in Guad. Like Anelka, Thuram, Tresor, Henry etc dem count.
Post by: palos on July 04, 2007, 08:40:19 PM
Stephen "Trini Pele" Hart
Post by: kaiser on July 04, 2007, 08:42:27 PM
like everybody fogetting yorke time down under the a league should be the yorke league the man carry a whole league and he was the best defensive player in the opening round of the wc,to any sensible and un baised person yorke is the easy decision he is above john barnes because he still belongs to the carribbean
Post by: prodigy23 on July 04, 2007, 09:18:32 PM
dwarika?!??? ???
Post by: RGarcia on July 04, 2007, 09:20:02 PM

i think Walter "Pearl' Boyd was better then him. Play with the man real skill and touches best jamaican i have ever played with...
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2007, 03:13:40 AM
What about dem man born in Guad. Like Anelka, Thuram, Tresor, Henry etc dem count.
Out of that list only Thurham and Tresor are Born in Guadeloupe.
Anelka is of Martiniquean Heritage.
Post by: ballpiyong on July 05, 2007, 03:01:31 PM
Unlike Barnes yorke was born bred and learnt his trade here which gives him a plus!!!!
Post by: Bitter on July 05, 2007, 04:38:47 PM
Hardest.
Talk Done.
Post by: Observer on July 05, 2007, 05:29:29 PM
Unlike Barnes yorke was born bred and learnt his trade here which gives him a plus!!!!

from what i understand Barnes was born in Jamaica and left at the age of 15 or 16 for the UK. Much like Dwight. I may be wrong
Post by: Bitter on July 05, 2007, 05:35:48 PM
Allyuh eh hear me or what.
Talk done!

Post by: Carib-Briton on July 05, 2007, 05:39:17 PM
Hardest.
Talk Done. LOCK DE CHREAD!

Bitter, while you still can
''
“Sometimes the hardest thing in the world is admitting you need help''

http://www.sportingchancecharity.com/
Post by: Bitter on July 05, 2007, 06:38:29 PM
Hardest.
Talk Done. LOCK DE CHREAD!

Bitter, while you still can
''
“Sometimes the hardest thing in the world is admitting you need help''

http://www.sportingchancecharity.com/
Ah man dig this thread up from April 2005....

but yes, I need help.
Post by: weary1969 on July 05, 2007, 10:41:14 PM
April 2005 nuff ting happen since then
Post by: Jefferz on July 05, 2007, 11:51:22 PM
I thought you'd say Yorke's peak could have been inthe world cup...
Post by: Remie on July 06, 2007, 03:59:07 AM

i think Walter "Pearl' Boyd was better then him. Play with the man real skill and touches best jamaican i have ever played with...

Yes Garcia. Walter Boyd is my choice for who i would most like to watch on pure talent. That man had real skills when he got on the football pitch.
Post by: superoli on July 06, 2007, 05:31:18 AM
how you all not even rating Thuram ?

the man have a world cup and european championship medal !

check these stats !

Monaco (1991-1996)
French Cup 1990/91
Parma (1996-2001)
UEFA Cup 1998/99
Italian Cup championships 1998/99
Italian SuperCup 1998/99
Juventus (2001/02-2005/06)
Serie A Championships: 2001-2 2002-3 (2004-5 & 2005-6 titles stripped)
Italian SuperCup 2002 2003
FC Barcelona (2006/07-present)
Spanish Super Cup 2005-06
French national team (1994- )
FIFA World Cup winner 1998, runner-up 2006
European Championship winner 2000, semi-finalist 1996
Post by: fivers on July 06, 2007, 06:22:15 AM
Come on fellas, there is even a discussion on this? Given the achievement dating back from college years right up to his senior career nobody has a better resume. Yorke is total class man. Simply a joy to watch.
Post by: kiffysmooth on July 06, 2007, 06:30:50 AM
Robbie Greenidge from Malvern glamour boys......1960
Post by: superoli on July 06, 2007, 07:27:44 AM
so I guess yorke is de wiiner, Thuram going to be upset  ;)
Post by: Midknight on July 07, 2007, 05:59:15 AM
how you all not even rating Thuram ?

the man have a world cup and european championship medal !

check these stats !

Monaco (1991-1996)
French Cup 1990/91
Parma (1996-2001)
UEFA Cup 1998/99
Italian Cup championships 1998/99
Italian SuperCup 1998/99
Juventus (2001/02-2005/06)
Serie A Championships: 2001-2 2002-3 (2004-5 & 2005-6 titles stripped)
Italian SuperCup 2002 2003
FC Barcelona (2006/07-present)
Spanish Super Cup 2005-06
French national team (1994- )
FIFA World Cup winner 1998, runner-up 2006
European Championship winner 2000, semi-finalist 1996

Does anyone know when Thuram left Gwada, just to put things into perspective?