Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on July 12, 2007, 06:24:13 AM

Title: Arsenal fans... Why allyuh doh buy Riquelme?
Post by: dinho on July 12, 2007, 06:24:13 AM
yuh know allyuh done cheap already... ah mean who yuh done buy so far??

Da Silva and Sagna ???

Allyuh could get Riquelme for small money and he go fit right into that plenty-touch brand allyuh like to play..

Time to sign a good player man, it getting lonely at de top for Man Utd and Chelsea..

Buy Riquelme and lewwe watch a competitive league this year nuh..

What allyuh say?
Title: Re: Arsenal fans... Why allyuh doh buy Riquelme?
Post by: Israel on July 12, 2007, 06:36:45 AM
 I dont think his style suits the EPL. Big player though
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 12, 2007, 07:07:37 AM
why would riquelme want to go to a 4th placed or lower squad?
Post by: futbolfan on July 12, 2007, 08:02:55 AM
I dont think his style suits the EPL. Big player though

agreed....very creative player, but he too slow for the EPL
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2007, 08:45:49 AM
He too old for Arsenal lol
Post by: Andre on July 12, 2007, 09:28:49 AM
he doh talk french.
Post by: TRUwarrior on July 12, 2007, 09:56:42 AM
I doh think the Arsenal Fans could afford Roman :rotfl:
Post by: dinho on July 12, 2007, 10:04:18 AM
villareal doesn't want him, because he and pelligrini dont see eye to eye..

They were trying to sell him to Atletico but that fell through..

I might be mistaken but his deal don't have too long to run, and he aint no spring chicken either..

for sure they could get him under 10mil pounds..

Post by: fari on July 12, 2007, 10:06:14 AM
too old, too slow...too unmanageable.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 12, 2007, 10:12:14 AM
come on mascherano tell yuh partnah to play fuh de reds!!!! tevez done ditch yuh arready!!

i doh care wha allyuh say de man is a boss. yes he is slow but his creativity does de talking.
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 12, 2007, 10:28:35 AM
come on mascherano tell yuh partnah to play fuh de reds!!!! tevez done ditch yuh arready!!

i doh care wha allyuh say de man is a boss. yes he is slow but his creativity does de talking.

Don't think he coming, because they done buy Benayoun.  Rafa ain't taking another chance with ah man he ain't sure will adjust to the EPL; that is why he went for Yossi, and he said he waited to make sure Youssi coudda make it in the EPL.
Post by: Toppa on July 12, 2007, 11:01:07 AM
yuh know allyuh done cheap already... ah mean who yuh done buy so far??

Da Silva and Sagna ???

Allyuh could get Riquelme for small money and he go fit right into that plenty-touch brand allyuh like to play..

Time to sign a good player man, it getting lonely at de top for Man Utd and Chelsea..

Buy Riquelme and lewwe watch a competitive league this year nuh..

What allyuh say?

Allyuh real like to kick people when dey down boy. lol
Post by: Jah Gol on July 12, 2007, 11:56:57 AM
Riquelme could play in the Premiership with two workhorse Defensive mids behind him.
Post by: Touches on July 12, 2007, 02:21:14 PM
To sell to who after?

Riquelme is too old and too slow to play with we.

Fabregas is d man in that position at 18 yrs old.

Post by: Filho on July 12, 2007, 02:32:30 PM
To sell to who after?

Hard luck Tuches. Fabregas belongs to Barcelona. Arsenal cannot see his 20th birthday ;)
Post by: Andre on July 12, 2007, 02:39:07 PM
He too old for Arsenal lol

true. arsene wenger like young boy.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 12, 2007, 02:48:39 PM
To sell to who after?

Hard luck Tuches. Fabregas belongs to Barcelona. Arsenal cannot see his 20th birthday ;)
Fabregas 20th Birthday done pass

LOL @ People going on like the Supporters control the Transfers.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 12, 2007, 02:50:23 PM
he doh talk french.

Oui, c'est la raison ! Partie nationaliste française de voix !   ::)
Post by: Filho on July 12, 2007, 03:23:27 PM
To sell to who after?

heheh..taught Touches say de man was 18 and I ent care to look it up. To edit...he gone in de next 2 years  ;D
And who going on like supporters control the transfers..is just ole talk and speculation.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 12, 2007, 04:13:30 PM
To sell to who after?

heheh..taught Touches say de man was 18 and I ent care to look it up. To edit...he gone in de next 2 years  ;D
And who going on like supporters control the transfers..is just ole talk and speculation.
I thought I was blind lol
Post by: dwn on July 12, 2007, 04:49:39 PM
I read somewhere that one of Wenger's favourite sayings with respect to players is "pace and power". Riquelme isn't the kind of player I can see Arsenal going for.

Arsenal doesn't have the depth of big name players that Chelsea, Man Utd or Liverpool has. But I think alot of people are underestimating Arsenal. Last season they were without Henry and Van Persie for large chunks of the season. And Arsenal still scored more goals than Liverpool and one less than Chelsea.

Imagine Chelsea or Man Utd without its top two scorers/attacking players.
What would Chelsea be without Drogba and Lampard?
What would Man Utd be without Rooney and Ronaldo?

I think Arsenal's weakness compared to Man Utd, Chelsea and Liverpool is defense (Consider that Senderos was carrying an injury from the World Cup. While Gallas, Clichy and Eboue were all out for parts of the season). Last season they gave up too many soft goals and found themselves in positions where they had to fight back from behind against teams that defended in numbers. If Arsenal can address their defense they should be able to challenge for the title.

Remember that last season Arsenal beat Man Utd in both games, drew with Chelsea in both times and split games with Liverpool. Also the young players that everyone seems to be underestimating made it to the final of the League Cup beating teams like Tottenham, Everton and Liverpool along the way.

Looking forward to next season, I believe if Arsenal can strengthen their defence and be more deadly in front of goal theyll challenge for the EPL title.

Whats encouraging is that:

1. They're addressing their defensive situation. They've added Sagna and rumor is Wenger is looking to add another central defender.
2. Their young players all have an added year of experience under their belts.

So if someone between van Persie, Adebayor, Da Silva and (possibly Martins), can consistently get their goalscoring act together, I dont see why they cant do better than last season.

Losing Henry is not the end of the world for Arsenal.

I counted Arsenal's overall record with and without Henry:

With Henry: 12 wins 9 draws 5 losses (26 games total)
Without Henry: 18 wins 8 draws 7 losses (33 games total)

And also their Premier League record:

With Henry: 9 wins 5 draws 3 losses
Without Henry: 10 wins 6 draws 5 loss

There's not much difference.

All im saying is Arsenal's poor record (by their standards) was due to injuries, defensive weakness and possibly inexperience - and not due to the absence of Henry. And their addressing their def, their young players have more experience. So if they players can stay fit I dont see why they wont challenge.

We'll see when the time comes but I think its premature to count Arsenal out.
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 12, 2007, 05:45:13 PM
nice post.
Post by: JDB on July 12, 2007, 07:29:12 PM
Good post dwn. I had the feeling that Henry wasn't that much of a difference last year in terms of results.

The loss of Henry from Arsenal is over-rated, just as Ruud's departure from United was last year.

Arsenal's most dangerous forward last year IMO was Van Persie. Plenty people over-looking that man. he will do well this year alongside Da Silva.

Wenger also does a good job of knowing when to move players on, yuh have to trust his judgement.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 12, 2007, 08:29:53 PM
 ???  Riquelme too slow for de EPL!!!  ::)  Is de same tata dey say bout Rivaldo, he too slow for Europe...work rate not good enough.  Men acting like dem fellas coming to play on the wings or play defensive midfield roles.  How many times have we seen players of this mold walk into any European Team and stabilize the centre of de field?  Europeans on the whole prefer South American Strikers, Defenders and especially Central Mid-fielders for their touch and vision.  Lately, dey like de Gkprs too. 

Wide Midfielders from South America are seen as more of a gamble for a variety of reasons pertaining to work rate, ability to cross the ball and the style of play jes plain different.  When yuh add up de pluses and de minuses, there is no way dat Riquelme go shit down de place in de EPL...not for the position he plays.  Yuh pick de strongest ingredient in South American Soccer to say it go be a weakness in de EPL.  Who de hell is de EPL?  Dem should be bowing down to kiss Riquelme Arse not the other way around.
Post by: dinho on July 12, 2007, 08:34:29 PM
nice post dwn..

but also, keep in mind, statistics aside there is a mental element to the Henry loss that can have adverse effect on the side; like when they lost Vieira..

The biggest blow that will be felt is the effect of losing someone who has been a stalwart and integral part of the team for so long and his influence in the dressing room.. Remember, Henry was the captain, and the symbol of Arsenal, its not going to be easy to move on from that.. sometimes that is the biggest challenge...

Personally, I hope they can maintain a high standard because i interested in a competitive title race this season... and then i hope Chelsea regain their crown..
Post by: Savannah boy on July 12, 2007, 08:41:43 PM
Thanks.  Dat is football blasphemy boy.  Ah cyah see proven talent get sweep under rug so.  I love football too much.  Ah had to dust him off and put him back on de pedestal where he belong.
Post by: SOBRIQUET on July 12, 2007, 08:44:49 PM
I read somewhere that one of Wenger's favourite sayings with respect to players is "pace and power". Riquelme isn't the kind of player I can see Arsenal going for.

Arsenal doesn't have the depth of big name players that Chelsea, Man Utd or Liverpool has. But I think alot of people are underestimating Arsenal. Last season they were without Henry and Van Persie for large chunks of the season. And Arsenal still scored more goals than Liverpool and Chelsea.

Imagine Chelsea or Man Utd without its top two scorers/attacking players.
What would Chelsea be without Drogba and Lampard?
What would Man Utd be without Rooney and Ronaldo?

I think Arsenal's weakness compared to Man Utd, Chelsea and Liverpool is defense (Consider that Senderos was carrying an injury from the World Cup. While Gallas, Clichy and Eboue were all out for parts of the season). Last season they gave up too many soft goals and found themselves in positions where they had to fight back from behind against teams that defended in numbers. If Arsenal can address their defense they should be able to challenge for the title.

Remember that last season Arsenal beat Man Utd in both games, drew with Chelsea in both times and split games with Liverpool. Also the young players that everyone seems to be underestimating made it to the final of the League Cup beating teams like Tottenham, Everton and Liverpool along the way.

Looking forward to next season, I believe if Arsenal can strengthen their defence and be more deadly in front of goal theyll challenge for the EPL title.

Whats encouraging is that:

1. They're addressing their defensive situation. They've added Sagna and rumor is Wenger is looking to add another central defender.
2. Their young players all have an added year of experience under their belts.

So if someone between van Persie, Adebayor, Da Silva and (possibly Martins), can consistently get their goalscoring act together, I dont see why they cant do better than last season.

Losing Henry is not the end of the world for Arsenal.

I counted Arsenal's overall record with and without Henry:

With Henry: 12 wins 9 draws 5 losses (26 games total)
Without Henry: 18 wins 8 draws 7 losses (33 games total)

And also their Premier League record:

With Henry: 9 wins 5 draws 3 losses
Without Henry: 10 wins 6 draws 5 loss

There's not much difference.

All im saying is Arsenal's poor record (by their standards) was due to injuries, defensive weakness and possibly inexperience - and not due to the absence of Henry. And their addressing their def, their young players have more experience. So if they players can stay fit I dont see why they wont challenge.

We'll see when the time comes but I think its premature to count Arsenal out.

Arsenal score more goals than Chelsea last year? which bamsee allyuh men does pull allyuh stats from dred? only one setta excuse...like u forget is 4 years straight arsenal colleckin licks now?
Post by: dumpalewie on July 13, 2007, 09:17:52 AM
DWN Great Post!!!

Arsenal will do the business this year. Concentration and determination against the lesser teams like Liverpool is all we need. :devil:

All them Chelsea and Man U men frighten because they know they get the hurt last year.

GUNNERS FOREVER!!!!
Post by: dwn on July 13, 2007, 09:36:44 AM
Arsenal doesn't have the depth of big name players that Chelsea, Man Utd or Liverpool has. But I think alot of people are underestimating Arsenal. Last season they were without Henry and Van Persie for large chunks of the season. And Arsenal still scored more goals than Liverpool and one less than Chelsea.
Arsenal score more goals than Chelsea last year? which bamsee allyuh men does pull allyuh stats from dred? only one setta excuse...like u forget is 4 years straight arsenal colleckin licks now?

Hard luck there. But relax yourself nah man. Ill make that correction in the original post.
Honest mistake reading the columns off of soccernet.
Post by: Jahyouth on July 13, 2007, 01:09:00 PM
I like how people underestimating Arsenal now.  Yeah, Arsenal is food.  Come and beat we.  Is licks in allyuh ^%&#!@    :flamethrower:

We need a solid central defender, and another striker and we are ready for the season.

Watch de ride
Post by: ballpiyong on July 13, 2007, 02:51:30 PM
I doh even think Riquelme is enough to help arsenal next season!!
Post by: dwn on July 18, 2007, 09:01:52 AM
Arsenal must be more ruthless - Wenger
tribalfooball.com - July 17, 2007

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger admits they must be more ruthless if they're to do better this season.

The Gunners claimed a second consecutive fourth-placed Premiership finish last season despite being second only to Manchester United in terms of results against top-10 sides.

"That shows we lost the championship against teams in the bottom half of the table," said Wenger.

Source: http://www.tribalfootball.com/article.php?id=48239
Post by: fari on July 18, 2007, 10:06:02 AM
i think this braziliian-croatian might be one of the keys to next season.  the team creates chances but the finishing lets them down. once they straighten out that...i really think arsenal will be a genuine title threat next season
Post by: 2cents on July 19, 2007, 12:31:01 PM
Wenger sittin by idly while errbody else restock, how long he really feel d youth movement will last. As a Man U fan gettin talk from Arsenal men the past years I must say it will b sad to lose the banter as yall become less of a threat.
Speakin to my pops yesterday who live 10 mins away from d Emirates and inhaling the same fumes the rest of yall do, he think d team safe and will b surely top 2. I on d other hand takin note of what Mourinho say which is that Totenham is now one of d big 5 and what that means to me is one big team not makin Champions League, it kinda early but my pre-season vote is Arsenal.
Man U n Chelsea n maybe Liverpool have like 8 world class midfielders each so e-mail allyuh Wengeee and get in order. bless
Post by: dwn on July 20, 2007, 10:42:02 AM
i feel wenger tell the arsenal board that he wont sign a new contract unless they accept the bid from the american billionaire, kraonke. dein is the man 'right hand man' and supposedly both wenger and dein are in favour of the take over. who knows.

but if that take over happens, arsenal might soon be a rich team who can compete in the transfer market. then wenger would be able to bring in more established talent to guide his youths.
Post by: dinho on August 21, 2007, 06:27:18 AM
Riquelme at Spurs??  Could be just what they need seeing they lacking in midfield...

Spurs want £10m Riquelme - Agent

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/7137798

Juan Roman Riquelme's agent claims Villarreal are "considering" a £10million offer from Tottenham for the Argentinian playmaker.

Villarreal are willing to sell Riquelme after the player spent the second half of last season back in Argentina with Boca Juniors.
There has been interest from several clubs across Europe, but reports suggest Spurs have lodged a 15million euros (£10million) bid.

Riquelme's representative Marcos Franchi feels Villarreal should accept the offer from Tottenham, who have already spent heavily over the summer.

The Spanish side's president Fernando Roig is considering the bid and Franchi is waiting for an official response from Riquelme's current club.

"Despite that we haven't been told anything officially, we know that Villarreal has received a very important offer from Tottenham and that the president Fernando Roig is considering it," Franchi told Radio La Red.

"They have to make a decision before August 31, otherwise Riquelme will stay at Villarreal as there aren't any other serious negotiations.

"If nothing new appears I think that they should accept this offer as it is good for the club and the player.

"I don't think that Riquelme would be useful for Villarreal without playing.

"It would be much more useful for them to sell him so they recover what they invested in him when they bought him."
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 21, 2007, 08:12:10 AM
This Spurs does spend boy, but the returns in terms of footballing achievements dwarfs the investment.  Question:  Is he suited for the EPL?  His style of play is deliberate and patient.  Can he handle the jamming of the EPL?
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 21, 2007, 08:13:29 AM
This Spurs does spend boy, but the returns in terms of footballing achievements are dwarfed by the investment.  Question:  Is he suited for the EPL?  His style of play is deliberate and patient.  Can he handle the jamming of the EPL?
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2007, 09:17:00 AM
Dey need to buy a goalkeeper... or maybe a can of stickum.
Post by: PantherX on August 21, 2007, 09:21:13 PM
This Spurs does spend boy, but the returns in terms of footballing achievements are dwarfed by the investment.  Question:  Is he suited for the EPL?  His style of play is deliberate and patient.  Can he handle the jamming of the EPL?

Remember to take these stories with a grain of salt ;) .