Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 11:41:00 AM

Title: L.A GALAXY VS CHELSEA
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 11:41:00 AM
L.A GALAXY VS CHELSEA live on ESPN at 5:30pm pacific time today 21 Jul 07
Title: Re: L.A GALAXY VS CHELSEA
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 21, 2007, 11:46:48 AM
lets go Galaxy!
Post by: Trini Madness on July 21, 2007, 11:49:53 AM
galaxy getting they a$$ kicked tonight.
Post by: elan on July 21, 2007, 12:09:01 PM
"The Special One" will take it easy on them.  Landon will score about 3 if he feel like it.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 21, 2007, 02:23:23 PM
".....David Beckham has played for two of the greatest teams in the world, and i'd like to think he's coming to a third...".........paraphrasing alexi lalas from that promotion that they run on Fox from time to time.  Lalas and the galaxy and donovan and the whole bunch o' dem will pay for lalas making such a bold, stupid declaration!  Starting TONITE!! 
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 02:32:50 PM
What ah joke, that lal ass
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 02:35:26 PM
what time est?? it showing on sop cast
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on July 21, 2007, 02:53:55 PM

A great chance to watch Canadian internationals Jazic and Harmse on LA.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 02:54:55 PM
what time est?? it showing on sop cast

8:30 pm EST.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 21, 2007, 03:39:01 PM
Sat Jul 21 05:30PM Pacific
Sat Jul 21 06:30PM Mountain
Sat Jul 21 07:30PM Central
Sat Jul 21 08:30PM Eastern
Length: 2 hr 30 min    LIVE
ESPN (US)
Friendly - CONCACAF/UEFA - "World Series of Football"
Los Angeles Galaxy (United States - MLS) vs Chelsea (England)
David Beckham isolation camera available on ESPN360.com

W........................T.........................F
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Beckham is a boss   one of my fav players...   but that is just absolutely ridiculous
Post by: D.H.W on July 21, 2007, 04:36:56 PM
ESPN (US)

Beckham is a boss   one of my fav players...   but that is just absolutely ridiculous

lord dem americans hopless yes
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 04:43:28 PM
ESPN (US)

That is some retarded shit, I have never seen them do that for their own athletes, this is ah first for me. What will they think of next?
Post by: D.H.W on July 21, 2007, 05:23:22 PM
i hope my man utd colleagues dont rip me apart but i think i would like to see chelsea win big and humiliate galaxy  :devil:  :) 
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 06:07:42 PM
i hope my man utd colleagues dont rip me apart but i think i would like to see chelsea win big and humiliate galaxy  :devil:  :) 
;D I gave you that grin because I was thinking the same thing lol, I just did not have the guts to say it. This is the only reason I will back Chelsea, so that they can beat the U.S hype about the L.A Galaxy team.
Post by: dcs on July 21, 2007, 06:18:58 PM

Ent the MLS All Stars beat Celtic?

Doubt Chelsea go want to beat them bad.
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 06:39:11 PM
Allyuh acting like the Galaxy is a good team. This cutass book.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 06:40:26 PM
ESPN have this looking like the Grammy Awards. Red Carpet and ting outside the stadium.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 06:41:30 PM
I am watching the pre match and if I did not see it I would not have believed it, these people acting like it's God coming to play
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 06:45:12 PM
I am watching the pre match and if I did not see it I would not have believed it, these people acting like it's God coming to play
buhwahdemuddac**tidseeingatall
um please tell meh if beckham alone playing agasint chelsea?? i think de way dem doing this...americans fail to rleiase is a team sport....did i jus hear de man call beckham oen of de best of all time..wah de ass...he might make meh top 50 yes..... not top 20 or 30 sorry eh.
de man have good fight in him i argree but heysus.....sigh ameericans oui
i real hope he eh shit down himself....other wise...dat same media....go f**k him up good
Post by: E-man on July 21, 2007, 06:46:33 PM
It's like the Cosmos all over again .. prediction: this time it will fizzle out faster
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 06:49:54 PM
until de game start my pc on mute.. i eh listenin to dem.....come on chelsea make dem knwo what time it is...3-0 shut dem up... right now i woulda even be rooting for manure...againt de glaxy
Post by: dcs on July 21, 2007, 06:50:18 PM
It's like the Cosmos all over again .. prediction: this time it will fizzle out faster

well i worried bout that but they seem to have a more stable financial base this time.
Better hope he eh get no serious injury.
Post by: dcs on July 21, 2007, 06:51:01 PM

Is true the Galaxy is a mickey mouse team?   ;D  (owned by Disney)
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 06:53:08 PM
If the hype surrounding this is a certain theatre of the absurd, this thread is like a circus of tiny minds.  Allyuh men cyah see de forest because of the facking trees.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 06:54:07 PM
Mourinho said they made an agreement of no aggresion if Beckham plays and they would let him play and do his thing. I guess they gonna make him score too.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 06:54:30 PM

Is true the Galaxy is a mickey mouse team?   ;D  (owned by Disney)
i jus hear sheva thinking bout going to the status....wah jackass ness is this.....
must have more kids registered than those country..allyuh have one set ah mexicans and immigtrants..and allyhu have ah huge population...
why oh why did i tak eof mute..ah regret it
Post by: dcs on July 21, 2007, 06:59:35 PM

This is ridiculous.

It have a  cartoon/stick man story of he life narrated by him. (I swear he talk bout crying 50 times in the pre-show)

Say what the hype making meh laugh.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 07:00:00 PM
If the hype surrounding this is a certain theatre of the absurd, this thread is like a circus of tiny minds.  Allyuh men cyah see de forest because of the facking trees.
and...i jus interested in seeing a game.....dais all.i actually only want to see hwo chelsea looking preseason cause i am a fan....dais all, i eh see how my posting in this thread reveals my cranial dimensions as minute
 isnt the forest the game of football???   i see hwo american media hype has done more damagae than good. at the end of de day beckham might suffer
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 07:00:12 PM
Beckham is the focus in a Galaxy v Chelsea game and he is not even the best player on the field.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 07:02:09 PM
and...i jus interested in seeing a game.....dais all.i actually only want to see hwo chelsea looking preseason cause i am a fan....dais all, i eh see how my posting in this thread reveals my cranial dimensions as minute
 isnt the forest the game of football???   i see hwo american media hype has done more damagae than good. at the end of de day beckham might suffer
Me to I just really want to see the match. To see how Essien and Drogba and dem looking in the preseason. If Donovan and Becks decide to make a contribution that would be decent too.
Post by: futbolfan on July 21, 2007, 07:05:30 PM
best case scenario....Galaxy win, becks score and get man of DE match...MLS get much needed promotion which will be great for DE league....Trinis could get more contracts...
It eh go hurt Chelsea cause Dem could still go on and win DE EL,champions league and FA cup and nobody go remember this preseason game...
Post by: Quags on July 21, 2007, 07:17:34 PM
Hate to ruin this eh ....but beckham have a damaged angle ent
http://broadband.espn.go.com/ivp/
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 07:21:42 PM
Allyuh notice how Abel Xavier out there sweating wit he bleach-hair self and doh even get a second mention. Same way Juan Pablo Angel playing in NY and doh get no bligh.
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 07:23:16 PM

I think most of us tune in to watch Chelsea. Bechkam is a sideshow.
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 07:24:56 PM
And now they interviewing the hollywood waggonists. Jennifer Love-Hewitt saying how excited she is about soccer, but this is the first live game she ever watch.
Post by: lickslikefire on July 21, 2007, 07:26:14 PM
jennifer love hewitt sound like one flicking airhead boy
Post by: Quags on July 21, 2007, 07:27:20 PM

I think most of us tune in to watch Chelsea. Bechkam is a sideshow.
Rite lol ..so any links .
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 07:31:18 PM

This is ridiculous.

It have a  cartoon/stick man story of he life narrated by him. (I swear he talk bout crying 50 times in the pre-show)

Say what the hype making meh laugh.

I take it that you don't watch too much TV...because that has been an Adidas theme for the entire year now...Gilbert Arenas and Tim Duncan (among others) has a similar spot, stickman figure giving first person narration of his life.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 07:34:42 PM
One commentator said there should be no offsides in this game and tommy smith replied ''WHAT'' in ah sarcastic way then the commentator replied ''just kidding''in an embarrased tone. ;D
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 07:39:07 PM
 isnt the forest the game of football???   i see hwo american media hype has done more damagae than good. at the end of de day beckham might suffer

What harm has American 'hype' done?  MLS is well on it's way to recouping it's investment, via ticket sales, television contracts and sale of apparel...there's no such thing as bad publicity and in marketing publicity means $$

Now...onto your other points.  You tuned in to see Chelsea, but the bulk of talk in the thread has little to do with Chelsea, and a lot to do (negatively so) with Beckham, MLS and the LA Galaxy.  Reminds me of Statler and Waldorf, the two old muppets in the balcony, who for all the world can't understand why they come to see the Muppet Show...but they show up anyways to criticize.

The forest actually is the sport of football/soccer...and it's growth in the last great football frontier.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 07:40:11 PM
One commentator said there should be no offsides in this game and tommy smith replied ''WHAT'' in ah sarcastic way then the commentator replied ''just kidding''in an embarrased tone. ;D
dat jackass name is eric wynalda
The absolute worst part about having to watch football in America.
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 07:42:00 PM
Wynalda is not the same man who say If Sancho hair wasn't long, then Crouch wouldn't be able to pull it.

This ass also says quite often that he doesn't like refs and he really does think there shouldn't be offside.

Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 07:44:18 PM
Wynalda is not the same man who say If Sancho hair wasn't long, then Crouch wouldn't be able to pull it.

This ass also says quite often that he doesn't like refs and he really does think there shouldn't be offside.

He actually said something to the effect that if you step on the pitch with dreadlocks then you kinda have to accept getting your hair pulled as being part of the game....

An even worse comment.

thus far Chelsea suffering from a critical lack of finishing despite dominating play.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 07:46:57 PM

What harm has American 'hype' done?  MLS is well on it's way to recouping it's investment, via ticket sales, television contracts and sale of apparel...there's no such thing as bad publicity and in marketing publicity means $$

Now...onto your other points.  You tuned in to see Chelsea, but the bulk of talk in the thread has little to do with Chelsea, and a lot to do (negatively so) with Beckham, MLS and the LA Galaxy.  Reminds me of Statler and Waldorf, the two old muppets in the balcony, who for all the world can't understand why they come to see the Muppet Show...but they show up anyways to criticize.

The forest actually is the sport of football/soccer...and it's growth in the last great football frontier.
yes i came to watch the game and chelsea play and therein lie meh issue.  i watching football all meh life and not even when maradona or pele etc have been playing has there been more hype opver one player over the rest of the team. what about the game....they even seem to be forgettign that they tryign to make the game mor epopular..u think by having jennifer love hewit go to watch football or half ah dem poeple there actuallyc are bout the sport???
if the stadium was full ah mexcians i woulda say well yes.... but its all botu beckham nto football. let them do they do,
dat kinda hting...could only do so much. it go benefit the youths but them and all go miss de important issue about it in my opnion.

only time i see mor einterest in a player is when tendulkar playing in india and maybe lara in trini.
let them play they soccer yes...de rest ah de world will fight up with de football
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 07:51:30 PM
The Governator looking rell old and like he doing that face lift thing, he say he use to play football when he was small, can you imagine that?
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 07:54:00 PM
Kalou purgin and Xavier only collecting bullet in front of the goal. The man like he in the way of every shot.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 07:54:54 PM

yes i came to watch the game and chelsea play and therein lie meh issue.  i watching football all meh life and not even when maradona or pele etc have been playing has there been more hype opver one player over the rest of the team. what about the game....they even seem to be forgettign that they tryign to make the game mor epopular..u think by having jennifer love hewit go to watch football or half ah dem poeple there actuallyc are bout the sport???
if the stadium was full ah mexcians i woulda say well yes.... but its all botu beckham nto football. let them do they do,
dat kinda hting...could only do so much. it go benefit the youths but them and all go miss de important issue about it in my opnion.

only time i see mor einterest in a player is when tendulkar playing in india and maybe lara in trini.
let them play they soccer yes...de rest ah de world will fight up with de football

Watching sports in the US and watching sport elsewhere in the world is not the same...US execs market the respective sport not as a 'game'...which is what you want, but rather as an experience.  While I don't agree with it (I can do without the requisite shots of Jack Nicholson, and Denzel and Spike et al) but the idea is that this is a hip or happening event that people should want to experience first hand.  The sport is paramount, but you have to bear in mind that soccer is being marketed to an audience that's largely unfamiliar with it...so their initial interest in the sport would be minimal...the hope is to seed that and watch it grow.  Your petulant dismissal of "soccer" vs football notwithstanding.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 07:58:54 PM

Watching sports in the US and watching sport elsewhere in the world is not the same...US execs market the respective sport not as a 'game'...which is what you want, but rather as an experience.  While I don't agree with it (I can do without the requisite shots of Jack Nicholson, and Denzel and Spike et al) but the idea is that this is a hip or happening event that people should want to experience first hand.  The sport is paramount, but you have to bear in mind that soccer is being marketed to an audience that's largely unfamiliar with it...so their initial interest in the sport would be minimal...the hope is to seed that and watch it grow.  Your petulant dismissal of "soccer" vs football notwithstanding.
i know viewing sports in the US different. Hence ah suffering here and dat has been meh gripe from de begining. dais all. i more feeling sorry for becks actually, but dais me. He dealing witht he most fickle socitey in d e world.

yes petulance is the luxury of youth(in my case relative youth  ;D)
Post by: Preacher on July 21, 2007, 08:03:12 PM
My wife who is an american say. "I feeling shame" 
I asked she why?  She say "we ain't have nobody good so we have to buy one".  This coming from a none fan eh.
Post by: elan on July 21, 2007, 08:03:56 PM
This game playing really slow. The game against the Korean team was way faster than this snooze. I hope Chelsea up the tempo in the second1/2 and put in about 3. Their is a chasm in the technical and tactic level of Chelsea to the Galaxy team.

Or yes Landon on the field too.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:05:06 PM

i know viewing sports in the US different. Hence ah suffering here and dat has been meh gripe from de begining. dais all. i more feeling sorry for becks actually, but dais me. He dealing witht he most fickle socitey in d e world.

yes petulance is the luxury of youth(in my case relative youth  ;D)

Lol...I hear yuh on both de suffering thing and on de relative youth.  I still excited by the potential him being in the MLS offers though.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:07:07 PM
My wife who is an american say. "I feeling shame" 
I asked she why?  She say "we ain't have nobody good so we have to buy one".  This coming from a none fan eh.
Spoken like ah none fan too...unless by 'we' she mean de LA Galaxy.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 08:09:46 PM

yes i came to watch the game and chelsea play and therein lie meh issue.  i watching football all meh life and not even when maradona or pele etc have been playing has there been more hype opver one player over the rest of the team. what about the game....they even seem to be forgettign that they tryign to make the game mor epopular..u think by having jennifer love hewit go to watch football or half ah dem poeple there actuallyc are bout the sport???

Watching sports in the US and watching sport elsewhere in the world is not the same...US execs market the respective sport not as a 'game'...which is what you want, but rather as an experience.  While I don't agree with it (I can do without the requisite shots of Jack Nicholson, and Denzel and Spike et al) but the idea is that this is a hip or happening event that people should want to experience first hand.  The sport is paramount, but you have to bear in mind that soccer is being marketed to an audience that's largely unfamiliar with it...so their initial interest in the sport would be minimal...the hope is to seed that and watch it grow.  Your petulant dismissal of "soccer" vs football notwithstanding.
You make some legitimate points here. The American marketing machine is running at full stem in this game. As a football fan however, it is really disgusting to see one player touted above the actual event in such a brazen way. There are at least 4 world class players on Chelsea who seem be getting only "honourable mentions" in this game.

Beckham take off he left boot, they talk bout that
Beckham crouches over, the talk bout that
Beckham shouts 'foul' from de bench, they talk bout that
Beckham stands up, they get excited.
Stueps
Football is theatre on the field, not off it.
Post by: trinbago on July 21, 2007, 08:11:22 PM
Ah heard another one say today "soccer is ah ceecee sport" :cursing:
Post by: DeLasTrini on July 21, 2007, 08:14:25 PM

I doh like dem breed a people at all. Though Chelsea's finishing has been quite lack luster the first half. I swear these guys thinking Football is like basketball yes......
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:15:51 PM
Forgive him or her for they know not what they speak of, to say that is blasphemy.
o by the way GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOALLLLLLLLLL Terry
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 08:17:45 PM
Ok they talking about terry toe now, so it have balance.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:18:12 PM

You make some legitimate points here. The American marketing machine is running at full stem in this game. As a football fan however, it is really disgusting to see one player touted above the actual event in such a brazen way. There are at least 4 world class players on Chelsea who seem be getting only "honourable mentions" in this game.

Stueps

I can't disagree with anything that you said...but the fact that this is Beckham's first game, that there was so much hype over his signing...and for how much he signed...Americans are tuned in to see the hype.  Some preseason game featuring a bunch of guys whose names they can't pronounced is peripheral.  To be fair they are giving little capsules on some of the bigger names (Drogba, Terry, Cech have all been featured already).

I see your location says Trincity...it unfortunate that this is the only feed international audiences have available, because this game isn't being geared towards the international audience, thus your disappointment.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:20:45 PM
Becks boots looking best
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:21:01 PM
Man on here say baseball is not ah 'manly sport'...next one call it rounders.  Ignorance isn't limited to any one side or the other.

Allyuh fretting up allyuh self over nonsense.
Post by: trinbago on July 21, 2007, 08:22:46 PM

Stueps

I can't disagree with anything that you said...but the fact that this is Beckham's first game, that there was so much hype over his signing...and for how much he signed...Americans are tuned in to see the hype.  Some preseason game featuring a bunch of guys whose names they can't pronounced is peripheral.  To be fair they are giving little capsules on some of the bigger names (Drogba, Terry, Cech have all been featured already).

I see your location says Trincity...it unfortunate that this is the only feed international audiences have available, because this game isn't being geared towards the international audience, thus your disappointment.

Let me get this right...alyuh watchin American Cable Television Network TV in Trinidad or where ever and expect the broadcsters to do what ?
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:26:30 PM

Stueps

Let me get this right...alyuh watchin American Cable Television Network TV in Trinidad or where ever and expect the broadcsters to do what ?
To announce the game like it is. That's all
Post by: trinbago on July 21, 2007, 08:28:41 PM

Stueps

This is not PBS, the BBC or Voice of America Radio...this is Network television so pump yuh brakes...what yuh think dey doin ah documentary ???
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:29:38 PM

Unless you co-signing on what I saying...I think you quoted the wrong person.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:32:15 PM
Becks off de bench!
Post by: Bitter on July 21, 2007, 08:32:49 PM
Becks off de bench!

I think i just peed myself!
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:33:22 PM

Stueps

This is not PBS, the BBC or Voice of America Radio...this is Network television so pump yuh brakes...what yuh think dey doin ah documentary ???
I not sure if me yuh talking too but to answer your question, No i don't think they are doing ah documentary but it seems as if it is exactly that they are doing. They talking about Beckham more than the game. STUEPS
Post by: trinbago on July 21, 2007, 08:38:21 PM

Stueps

I not sure if me yuh talking too but to answer your question, No i don't think they are doing ah documentary but it seems as if it is exactly that they are doing. They talking about Beckham more than the game. STUEPS

The reason this game on ESPN is not because of Chelsea...its because of Becks...ESPN wanted to broadcast this game because of him..all the hype is about him...the few Americans who tune in to watch ESPN and did not change the channel is because dey want to see Becks..NOT Chelsea!
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:45:06 PM
I have tuh admit...something surreal about seeing Beck in that Galaxy uniform.

Other observations:

Maria Shriver is god-awful ugly.

K.G. at a football game???

Xavier is playing like a man possessed along the Galaxy backline.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:47:34 PM
WTF they have ah Beckham cam, only for him.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 08:49:27 PM
Good gawd man stop de f**king complaining arready nah?  Change de frigging channel or pop in yuh "Best of Chelsea 2007" DVD fuh crissakes arready...shit.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 08:52:49 PM
Good gawd man stop de f**king complaining arready nah?  Change de frigging channel or pop in yuh "Best of Chelsea 2007" DVD fuh crissakes arready...shit.
WTF don't let me bother you, if you like the MLS revolution, that's your business but don't reply to me if I don't like their BULLSHIT hype, besides it's ah forum for people's opinion ans that's mine take it or leave it.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 08:56:15 PM
WTF don't let me bother you, if you like the MLS revolution, that's your business but don't reply to me if I don't like their BULLSHIT hype, besides it's ah forum for people's opinion ans that's mine take it or leave it.
lol..temper temper fellas..allyuh is kciks oui...lol
beckham, chelasea and definetley not the mls and galaxy worth it...lol  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 09:01:34 PM

Fella, watch de game and stop PMSing nah.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 09:02:56 PM
Game finish 1-0 to Chelsea,time for the Prem to start.
Post by: Organic on July 21, 2007, 09:03:07 PM
lol...well all things considedred this is de worse most hyped game in hsitory..lol. wah u go do.....laters fellas....
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 09:03:58 PM

Yea BAKE i done pmsing, the game done too ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on July 21, 2007, 09:05:24 PM
Xavier play real good.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 09:07:36 PM

Next time ah in Valencia ah going and make sure ah pee on yuh favorite mango tree.
Post by: triniairman on July 21, 2007, 09:09:08 PM

Next time ah in Valencia ah going and make sure ah pee on yuh favorite mango tree.
yuh too late they chop down meh starch mango tree on quare road to extend meh old house. ;D
Post by: Socafan on July 21, 2007, 09:20:37 PM
lol...well all things considedred this is de worse most hyped game in hsitory..lol. wah u go do.....laters fellas....
Ditto......
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2007, 09:21:15 PM
yuh too late they chop down meh starch mango tree on quare road to extend meh old house. ;D
Ah peeing right in yuh gallery den, and ah bringing friends too lol
Post by: trinbago on July 22, 2007, 12:38:48 AM
What allyuh think about LA's kit?

(http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20070722/capt.91407bf4fa89471a897b6ae7d17b7d69.chelsea_galaxy_soccer_hdc407.jpg)

(http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20070722/capt.626b63d9de524ca5b07acf0787a3b6c8.chelsea_galaxy_soccer_hdc305.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on July 22, 2007, 09:39:21 AM
That shit is hot to death...I been peeping it since last week, very reminiscent of the job adidas did for the Germany kit...love the navy and gold treatment too.  I was considering getting it, but I already have the Germany shirt and find they too similar.  I also not feeling de 'Bayern Munich' collar....but who knows, I might still cop a Becks shirt after all de talk.
Post by: DAFJ14 on July 22, 2007, 10:43:05 AM
You see the media circle around that lil boy pre-kick-off? That's pure nonsense, i don't care about the grand scheme for him and all that but him on the bench with other players and every body circle him taking pics can't be good for the other players' morale.
Post by: D.H.W on July 22, 2007, 02:57:44 PM
ok becks boots look bess, dem americans need help i swear is d Oscars going on and galaxy is a shit team, and lastly why d f*&k they keep focusing on becks whole game so, like dey want to bull d man or something lol  :devil:
Post by: elan on July 22, 2007, 03:27:27 PM
YOu eh see Landon didn't want to give up the corner to Becks. It go be real pressure.  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on July 22, 2007, 04:17:05 PM
You see the media circle around that lil boy pre-kick-off? That's pure nonsense, i don't care about the grand scheme for him and all that but him on the bench with other players and every body circle him taking pics can't be good for the other players' morale.
You seriously think de other players morale fragile like yours?
Post by: D.H.W on July 22, 2007, 05:08:06 PM
You seriously think de other players morale fragile like yours?

:devil: :devil: hmm u wicked  :rotfl:
Post by: dinho on July 23, 2007, 07:11:47 AM
Stars turn out to welcome Beckhams

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/7050800

(http://msn.foxsports.com/id/7050958_18_1.jpg)

Associated Press, Updated 3 hours ago    
LOS ANGELES (AP) - David Beckham attracted Hollywood stars Sunday the same way he draws defenders on the soccer field.

In large numbers.

A glittery array of Oscar winners and entertainment world luminaries turned out for what was billed as an official welcome-to-Los Angeles party for the international soccer icon and his wife, pop singer Victoria.

With Tom Cruise and Will Smith playing co-hosts for the invitation-only bash at the Museum of Contemporary Art's Geffen Contemporary gallery, the guest list was long and deep.

Director Ron Howard and producer Brian Grazer were among the first to arrive. Brooke Shields was there.

"Desperate Housewives" star Eva Longoria popped in, followed by "American Idol" creator Simon Fuller, who managed the Spice Girls pop group that launched Victoria Beckham to fame.

Wesley Snipes and Quincy Jones came to welcome the soccer star, as did Bruce Willis, Demi Moore and Ashton Kutcher. Vivica Fox showed up too.

Others expected to drop in ranged from George Clooney to Oprah Winfrey to Steven Spielberg.

The Beckhams arrived with Cruise, accompanied by wife Katie Holmes, and Smith, with his wife, Jada Pinkett Smith.

Cruise flew in for the bash from Germany, where he is shooting his newest film.

For the British Beckhams, it was a taste of classic Hollywood. A red carpet was rolled out at the entrance. A small army of police patrolled streets for blocks. There were limousines and TV cameras by the dozen. Helicopters thumped overhead.

Inside, the warehouse-like venue was transformed with couches, elaborate lighting and floral arrangements into a glittery nightclub. Music blared.

If Beckham was embarrassed by deafening cheers from fans at his sold-out debut Saturday as a Los Angeles Galaxy player, he must have been dumbfounded by the profusion of celebrity sparkle at the party.
Post by: grskywalker on July 23, 2007, 07:42:48 AM
Just some observstions:

Posh Beckham is get on like she is the queen or something wit she skrawny backside, Becks go have nuff ting to look at now that he in the states

LA Galaxy were outclassed by Chelsea, who were playing in second gear and still rusty up front.

Xavier was the best thing on the field for Galaxy

Donovan was bearly noticeable save for the one header he got

Becks did not really make a difference- Chelsea still dominated

Americans think he is the Maradonna of his time and that he will score many goals- yeaah right

The media hype was a overbearing

Much respect to Beckham I think he is a great player but I feel it was a mistake to come to Galaxy, he should have gone back to the premiere League

Post by: slates on July 23, 2007, 08:51:48 AM
Somehow, "the potential to earn $250 million" and "mistake" just doh belong in the same thought. Becks in he 30s.
Post by: futbolfan on July 23, 2007, 09:25:39 AM
Somehow, "the potential to earn $250 million" and "mistake" just doh belong in the same thought. Becks in he 30s.

well they are well on there way, because so far they sell 300,000 Beckham juzzy ...and at US 80.00 each dais how much? 24 million and counting....
Post by: Andre on July 23, 2007, 09:28:18 AM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44013000/jpg/_44013676_beckham_footballfan416.jpg)
Post by: Ngozi on July 23, 2007, 09:30:08 AM
I cant find the navy and  gold anywhere not really feeling the white shirt but the navy and skyblue is mad but i cant find it anywhereeeeeeeeeeeeee
Post by: grskywalker on July 23, 2007, 09:31:14 AM
Nice one there Andre, I was surprised to see how many Chelsea supporters were there
Post by: futbolfan on July 23, 2007, 09:42:21 AM
I cant find the navy and  gold anywhere not really feeling the white shirt but the navy and skyblue is mad but i cant find it anywhereeeeeeeeeeeeee

try subside sports online...dey have all de sizes  :beermug:
Post by: Andre on July 23, 2007, 09:47:19 AM

http://www.mlsgear.com/product_detail.asp?CAT=cat-jerseys&SKU=1010352

http://www.eastbay.com/catalog/advancedSearch/?module=topNav&action=keywordSearch&search=k&keyword=la+galaxy

http://www.soccer.com/IWProductSearch.process?query=la+galaxy&var=stemming&stemming=true&var=num_rows&num_rows=50&var=query.message&error_query=Go+back+and+enter+some+words+to+search+for.&RowsPerPage=50&RestartFlow=t&prod_attrib=4&SortStr=Rel+Desc%2C+Product_name&x=0&y=0
Post by: Ngozi on July 23, 2007, 09:59:39 AM
Nah guys im not talking bout the playing jersey im talking about the Track top that he is wearing in the second picture with the kind of turtle neck finish
http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20070722/capt.626b63d9de524ca5b07acf0787a3b6c8.chelsea_galaxy_soccer_hdc305.jpg
Post by: Andre on July 23, 2007, 10:16:26 AM
that is a wicked top.

if the mlsnet.net store eh have it yet, i eh know who will.

give it time.

besides it too damn hot for that now anyway.
Post by: elan on July 23, 2007, 10:22:41 AM
Anyone heard Murinho comments on FSC post game interview? The man said that Becks not playing with high class players, so he will have to adjust, and that his team mates will learn a lot.
Post by: slates on July 23, 2007, 10:54:10 AM
At least, if Becks hold true to his word, and becomes "just one of the guys" with his teammates, then even de lil youth who making $17K go get invite (at Beck's house) to events with attendees like Eva Longoria, the Cruises, the Pitts, etc. He probably woulda never get dem chances w/o Becks. Just one ah de perks.
Post by: dcs on July 23, 2007, 11:13:13 AM
At least, if Becks hold true to his word, and becomes "just one of the guys" with his teammates, then even de lil youth who making $17K go get invite (at Beck's house) to events with attendees like Eva Longoria, the Cruises, the Pitts, etc. He probably woulda never get dem chances w/o Becks. Just one ah de perks.

Forget that...at least he would get a lil break from the ramin noodles, mac and cheese he hadda be eating home.
Post by: Bakes on July 23, 2007, 12:55:30 PM
Nah guys im not talking bout the playing jersey im talking about the Track top that he is wearing in the second picture with the kind of turtle neck finish
http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20070722/capt.626b63d9de524ca5b07acf0787a3b6c8.chelsea_galaxy_soccer_hdc305.jpg
The warm ups...
Post by: Bakes on July 23, 2007, 12:58:19 PM
...and dai'z precisely what Becks say he intend.

I have tuh laff too at some of these men who say Becks make ah mistake coming here.  Men like they forget 6 months ago everybody in England was writing him off?  From a footballing standpoint you can't compare playing in MLS to playing in Liverpool or ManU...both of whom had interests, but we don't know what they were offering relative to the $32mil MLS was throwing his way...with a potential to earn up to 6 X that amount when all is said and done.
Post by: dinho on July 23, 2007, 01:51:12 PM
that is a wicked top.

if the mlsnet.net store eh have it yet, i eh know who will.

give it time.

besides it too damn hot for that now anyway.

de ting in your avatar also coasting a wicked top, and certainly not too hot for that now anyway...  ;D
Post by: grskywalker on July 23, 2007, 01:51:58 PM
Money talks!
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2007, 03:28:39 PM
At age 32, Beck made the right move. Can he bring LA from the cellar?? That!! I am am not sure about.
Post by: E-man on July 23, 2007, 08:28:11 PM
At age 32, Beck made the right move. Can he bring LA from the cellar?? That!! I am am not sure about.

Pele was unable to get the Cosmos to the championships his first season either.
Post by: slates on July 24, 2007, 05:49:52 AM
...and dai'z precisely what Becks say he intend.

I have tuh laff too at some of these men who say Becks make ah mistake coming here.  Men like they forget 6 months ago everybody in England was writing him off?  From a footballing standpoint you can't compare playing in MLS to playing in Liverpool or ManU...both of whom had interests, but we don't know what they were offering relative to the $32mil MLS was throwing his way...with a potential to earn up to 6 X that amount when all is said and done.

Ent!!!!!!!!

Some of dem same men on here, will uproot dey family and move all de way across de country for ah meager 10% pay-raise. And when Becks do it... (for... how much millions again???) men question dat.

Men does forget, after all, football, while is ah game and hobby to us, is business for dem pros. Dat is de man wuk. De man accept ah job way paying him better then he woulda get anyway else. I bet yuh, is nuff other men jealous of Becks contract right now. Yuh know, when I see de reception Becks get before, during and after de game, I was asking myself, I wonder what Terry, Drogba, Lampard, Scheva, and all dem Chelsea big stars thinking? Even if only for de moment.
Post by: WestCoast on July 24, 2007, 06:01:41 AM
Yuh know, when I see de reception Becks get before, during and after de game, I was asking myself, I wonder what Terry, Drogba, Lampard, Scheva, and all dem Chelsea big stars thinking? Even if only for de moment.
"Shyte, DAT is alot ah Money he making, and de Fete ent looking bad needa" ;D
Post by: Pointman on July 24, 2007, 04:21:33 PM

I think a healthy Becks, Donovan and Pavon(along with the supporting cast) can mash up the MLS.
Post by: grskywalker on July 25, 2007, 09:15:44 AM
Well Galaxy will be in DC Aug 9 to play DC UNITED so I will try to head out there and watch the Becks live
Post by: kounty on July 25, 2007, 10:16:47 AM
I didn't read through every single post but anybody think that the fact tha Chelsea didn't absolutely blow out LA (true outplay and 1st game blah, blah blah...) and Everton 2-0 to RSL tell us that the MLS not that bad after all?  Probably a lil notch above English Championship?
Post by: elan on July 25, 2007, 11:12:06 AM
Re: L.A GALAXY VS CHELSEA
« Reply #113 on: Today at 12:16:47 PM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I didn't read through every single post but anybody think that the fact tha Chelsea didn't absolutely blow out LA (true outplay and 1st game blah, blah blah...) and Everton 2-0 to RSL tell us that the MLS not that bad after all?  Probably a lil notch above English Championship?

I did not watch the RSL game, ,but the game with L.A, Chelsea was strolling in around and not doing much, while L.A was out of breath a lot. The majority of Chelsea ball possession was in the attacking 1/3 just playing the ball around.

There was no comparison between the 2 team. The game against the Korean team Chelsea playued much faster and more attacking. That last game they looked like they just wanted it to be over with. Men pulling out of tackles and not contesting 50/50 balls, in an effort (I believe) to not get injured.
Post by: futbolfan on July 25, 2007, 11:26:57 AM

Is like comparing barbadine and grugru bef.....It was not even close.... De Galaxy coulda easily collect 6, just imagine Chelsea was doing dey best Barcelona impersonations and one touching de ball up de middle of de park.
Post by: grskywalker on July 25, 2007, 11:46:03 AM

Dude Galaxy held their ground but it was only because Chelsea was in second gear. I doubt the result would be the same if you were to catch them mid season, Donovan was tie up like a market crab and Essien was a general in the back, they were playing passing games with Glalaxy for most of the evening
Post by: asylumseeker on July 25, 2007, 01:01:11 PM
I caught most of this game and thankfully I didn't have to subject myself to Wynalda and company. Whatever the state of the American game, the state of the commentary is piss poor. A better model simply has to be found if only involving better analysis.

Who knows? Maybe they did a survey and found that this meets public satisfaction? I doubt it seriously. Anyhow, at the end of the day, the model is targeted to Middle America and not me ... not much different from the evolution of CNN.

Anyone heard Murinho comments on FSC post game interview? The man said that Becks not playing with high class players, so he will have to adjust, and that his team mates will learn a lot.

I didn't catch Mourinho's post-game comments, but Diego Balado (Telefutura) suggested that Mourinho showed a lack of respect for the Galaxy (based on the substitutions). One probably didn't have to look that far beyond his facial expressions to conclude as much. Anyway, Jose certainly seemed contemptuous of the officiating as well.

Abel Xavier ... journeyman player ... another player that can teach the so-called youths ... Wonder how much he's earning with the Galaxy?

Landon D? ... somehow reminds me of Tony Meola ... the strange case of a man honoured in his own land but not abroad.