Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on July 25, 2007, 12:41:52 PM

Title: Goalkeeping Central: All About the GK's
Post by: E-man on July 25, 2007, 12:41:52 PM
Keeper Pfannenstiel backs up Goddard at Whitecaps (http://blog.tntingermany.com/index.php?/archives/27-Keeper-Pfannenstiel-backs-up-Goddard-at-Whitecaps.html#extended)

(http://blog.tntingermany.com/uploads/lutz-goddard.jpg)

German goalkeeper Lutz Pfannenstiel has been acquired by the Vancouver Whitecaps to back up Tobago born Richard Goddard between the sticks. From the Vancouver Sun:

Keeper goes global
Pfannenstiel crosses four continents to end up with Whitecaps
By: Dan Stinson

His new teammates might have thought they had it tough when they played six straight road games over 20 days in late June and the first two weeks of July. But that would rate as only a minor inconvenience in the nomadic career of Lutz Pfannenstiel, the latest and most widely travelled goalkeeper signed by the Vancouver Whitecaps.

Four continents, 19 teams, and more than 270 games of globe trotting preceded Pfannenstiel's July 3 agreement to ink a contract with the defending United Soccer Leagues First Division champions, who have struggled on the road but now have eight of their remaining nine regular-season games at Burnaby's Swangard Stadium.

"My early impressions are the talent in the squad is good," Pfannenstiel said Tuesday as the Caps prepared for a Friday home game against the Seattle Sounders following a marathon journey to the U.S. southeast and northwest that resulted in one win, two losses and three ties. "Travelling for long periods is hard on any soccer team, but I've seen enough of the Whitecaps to know that we can turn our recent struggles into positive results. The challenge is to make the most of these home games on the schedule."

A 34-year-old native of Zwiesel, Germany, Pfannenstiel was signed by the Caps following the departure of regular starting 'keeper Tony Caig on June 20 for what the club described as "personal reasons." Acquired as Richard Goddard's back-up, Pfannenstiel made a promising debut by posting a shutout in the Caps' 0-0 tie with the expansion Carolina RailHawks on July 3. But he also saw playing time in a 2-1 home-field loss to Miami FC on July 14 and in a 2-1 loss to the host Portland Timbers on July 19.

Pfannenstiel's pro career started in 1989, at age 16, with FC Bad Kotzting of Germany's Bavarian Oberliga. He was good enough to earn a transfer to famed German powerhouse Bayern Munich and had early dreams of remaining with the multiple Bundesliga champions. But Pfannenstiel soon realized his chances for regular first-team playing time with Bayern were very limited behind legendary starter Oliver Kahn.

Pfannenstiel's subsequent travels included stints with club sides in England, South Africa, Singapore, Belgium, New Zealand, Canada, Norway and Finland either as an under-contract or loan player. His longest time with a team was with Finnish Premier League side TPV Tampere from 1993 to '95, and one of his shorter stints was with the Calgary Mustangs. He played one season with the Mustangs, in 2004, before the franchise folded.

"I knew about Lutz when he played in Calgary," said Caps head coach Bob Lilley. "He had a reputation as a good shot stopper and became a good option for us after we lost Tony Caig."

Lilley hasn't decided whether Goddard, a Trinidad and Tobago native, or Pfannenstiel will start against Seattle as the Caps aim to snap a four-game losing streak. But the man between the posts better be sharp. Regular starting centre backs Steve Klein (hamstring) and Adrian Cann (foot) were nursing injuries Tuesday and are likely to sit.

A definite injury scratch is productive striker Eddy Sebrango, who has scored a team-leading seven goals. Sebrango underwent surgery on his left foot last Thursday and is expected to be sidelined until late August.

(http://www.tntingermany.com/xml.gif) TnT in Germany RSS feed (http://blog.tntingermany.com/index.php?/feeds/index.rss2)
Title: Goalkeeping Central: All About the GK's
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 18, 2011, 12:37:34 PM
Fellas, starting this thread to give some love to the most neglected, often underestimated, least understood position onthe field: the goalkeeper.

I'll add some fuel to the fire with some stuff up for debate:

Title: Re: Goalkeeping Central: All About the GK's
Post by: giggsy11 on December 18, 2011, 01:10:18 PM
So MSN Uk had this article written on 07/12/11, that ranked the 20 goalies in the EPL-the identified-save %,shots faced and saved, shots parried into traffic and penalties saved.

So here are the bottom 5
20th-Blackburn-52.4% shots saved
19th-Chelsea-55.8%
18th-Arsenal-57.4%
17th-QPR-60%
16th-Bolton-62.3%

Top 10
1. United-79.4% shots saved
2.City-77.4%
3. Swansea-76.5%
4.Spurs-76.1%
5.Newcastle-73.9%
6.Fulham-72.9%
7.Liverpool-72.1%
8. Aston Villa-71.2%
9.Wolves-70.5%
10.Sunderland-70.3%
Post by: mukumsplau on December 18, 2011, 02:37:41 PM
Fellas, starting this thread to give some love to the most neglected, often underestimated, least understood position onthe field: the goalkeeper.

I'll add some fuel to the fire with some stuff up for debate:

• Is Joe Hart kocking on the elite group of GK's that are branded as world class?  While he is yet to play in a major tournament for England, his performances for City have been brilliant.  He seems to be very consistent, with great concentration powers, and an ability to make the great save after periods of inactivity.   His shot stopping ability is second to none.   
  • Even the best GK's make blunders; the issue is on the frequency.  How often are they allowed to make such mistakes, before they are branded error-prone.  They say the great ones make routine errors every 10-15 games, maybe 20.
  • World's best:  Casillas, Buffon, Cech,...?  Gigi  seems to be back to his best.  What happened to Julio Caesar?  He seems to have fallen off a bit.  What allyuh think?

man, dont put cech name wit buffon and casillas..cech does have too many brainfarts that u cant even see happening wit buffon...buffon was and still is number one...
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 18, 2011, 02:41:18 PM
Yeah, De Gea has been forced to make a lot of saves for a 'keeper playing for a top side, and maybe it says a lot about Man U's backline.  Sir Alex has been forced to make a lot of changes to the back four, and he doesn't seem to have decided on a first choice back four, all guys available and healthy.  That said, De Gea has a lot of maturing to do, and will have to wait his turn to be the #1 for the Spanish senior team.  There's a lot of world class, and still relatively young talent in front of him: Casillas, Reina, and Valdes.  He seems to be gradually coming to terms with the EPL, which is notorious for its lack of protection offered to GK's, compared to the Continent.  His shot stopping is great, but he probably needs to improve on his range on crosses (as Reina had to do when he arrived in England), and he then will have to be more assertive.  The final part is hard to do, considering his age and the level of experience that is playing in front of him (Vidic, Ferdinand, and Evra).
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 18, 2011, 08:19:51 PM
Tenor, yuh cross meh mind today.  Doh watch EPL alot, but lately been taking in some City games and was wondering what yuh thought about Joe, ah know it early, but is he up there w/Casillas et al?

I eh guh lie, de man instincts and reaction time incredible, wow.
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 18, 2011, 09:12:16 PM
Tenor, yuh cross meh mind today.  Doh watch EPL alot, but lately been taking in some City games and was wondering what yuh thought about Joe, ah know it early, but is he up there w/Casillas et al?

I eh guh lie, de man instincts and reaction time incredible, wow.

Horse, I am normally critical of the current state of English GK's, but Cole is the bright lone shining star.  I initially questioned Mancini's decision to give him the #1 shirt over Shay Given, but he has justified that faith enormously.  This season alone, he has allowed City to earn about 6 points that they otherwise should have not earned.  He is good on crosses, has good distribution, commands his area well, and has unbelievable reflexes and shot stopping ability.  His positioning is also very good.  He's been in the making for a while now.  When Casper Schmeichel was having his unbelievable run at City about 4 years ago, Sven Erickson said that he had a decision to make between the two, and that Hart was better on crosses.  He eventually went with Hart.  He is knocking on the door of the elite 'keepers; he just needs a solid Euro next year, and they will stoping questioning that.  As it stands right now, he is probably top three form-wise, but he now has to turn that into class, and that takes a longer period of consistency.
Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2011, 10:24:39 PM
Horse, I am normally critical of the current state of English GK's, but Cole is the bright lone shining star.  I initially questioned Mancini's decision to give him the #1 shirt over Shay Given, but he has justified that faith enormously.  This season alone, he has allowed City to earn about 6 points that they otherwise should have not earned.  He is good on crosses, has good distribution, commands his area well, and has unbelievable reflexes and shot stopping ability.  His positioning is also very good.  He's been in the making for a while now.  When Casper Schmeichel was having his unbelievable run at City about 4 years ago, Sven Erickson said that he had a decision to make between the two, and that Hart was better on crosses.  He eventually went with Hart.  He is knocking on the door of the elite 'keepers; he just needs a solid Euro next year, and they will stoping questioning that.  As it stands right now, he is probably top three form-wise, but he now has to turn that into class, and that takes a longer period of consistency.

Yeah Hart (doh wah yuh get cuss by Mango Chow  ;D) been boss so far this season... his reflexive saves is what catches people eyes, but he seldom seems out of position or prone to the miscommunication and mistakes plaguing the other English keepers.

Vorm cyah get no luv?
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 18, 2011, 11:07:39 PM

Yeah Hart (doh wah yuh get cuss by Mango Chow  ;D) been boss so far this season... his reflexive saves is what catches people eyes, but he seldom seems out of position or prone to the miscommunication and mistakes plaguing the other English keepers.

Vorm cyah get no luv?

Vorm has been a great buy for Swansea.  For a while, the Dutch looked like they would find it hard to find a successor for Van der Sar, but now they have Stekelenberg, Vorm and Krul.  Vorm and Krul also have caps for Holland, although Stekelenberg seems to be the # 1 when fit.  Vorm is a great shot stopper, and he doesn't seems to be error prone.  Krul has been a revelation for Newcastle this season, so much so that Harper was sent out on loan for a while.  Vorm is definitely in the top-5 GK's this year in the league, in my opinion. 
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 06:56:34 AM
Tenorsaw, thanks for startin' this lil' GK tree house, jed, it is/was much-needed.  I rate Buffon and Casillas (in that order) as the two very best in the world and certain attributes they have, put them head and shoulders above their nearest contenders.  To me, the two of them play the most error-free football at their position and it's the main reason that I do put Buffon ahead of Casillas.  I haven't witnessed or heard of Casillas making any errors lately, but over their respective careers, it seems as though Buffon has made less....if he's even made any at all.  I doh even find he had really drop off any when he came back from a long injury a couple seasons ago.  He had lost plenty weight, but he was still sharp and aggressive. I think Manuel Neuer is really the one that comes closest to the two of them.  You said pretty much every thing that I was going to say about De Gea (but ah switchin' places between Reina and Valdes in the Spanish team pecking order. Doh beat meh fuh meh bias! :D)

Even though I don't agree with most of his critics on the quantity and quality of Cech's errors, I DO agree that something is wrong.  If yuh arkske me, I think something wrong with my WHOLE dam team, the entire back line and consequently, with him as well.  I thnk one way or another, he needs new challenges.  He is still a world-class 'keeper in my book, but I think either a new scenery, some new defenders around him or a new contender to push him is something HE needs.  the rest of the team have other issues. 

Joe Hart is hands down, the best in-form and top 'keeper in England right now, without a doubt and I agree with you on your position on the Dutch 'keepers, but I would Add Kenneth Vermeer (Ajax) to the list. Also performing well in England: Tim Howard (still Everton's best player....which says alot about that team) Brad Friedel is still an AMAZING GK! and Mark Schwarzer is as steady and consistent as ever....he jes' playin fuh a bad team. 

Some very good ones on d continent: Hugo Lloris (Lyon) Steve Mandanda (Marseille) Samir Handanovic (Udinese) Morgan De Sanctis (Napoli) and Christian Abbiati when he fit.   I think Julio Caesar goin' thru d same issues as Cech....he look like he jes decide to take a break from the whole "world's best 'keeper" talk.

Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 07:15:51 AM

Yeah Hart (doh wah yuh get cuss by Mango Chow   ;D) been boss so far this season... his reflexive saves is what catches people eyes, but he seldom seems out of position or prone to the miscommunication and mistakes plaguing the other English keepers.

Vorm cyah get no luv?

I think everbody (yourself included) knows why I would point out your error and not anybody else's and, no, is not because anybody "stalkin'" yuh.

Tenorsaw, the only thing I will kinda disagree with you on, is that, a player (GK) doesn't necessarily have to show consistency over time to be considered of world class level.  I remember that it was clear to everyone when Buffon had made his debut for Parma, that he was going to be something very special.  Same thing when Casillas took over from Bodo Illgner, who himself was one of Germany's best and same with Manuel Neuer.  I don't think England have to look any further than Joe Hart for a long time to come.  He has been knocking on the door for a few years, and I, too, wwas surprised when Mancini put him ahead of Shay Given....I guess we all now see why he did it.   
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 08:17:10 AM

Yeah Hart (doh wah yuh get cuss by Mango Chow   ;D) been boss so far this season... his reflexive saves is what catches people eyes, but he seldom seems out of position or prone to the miscommunication and mistakes plaguing the other English keepers.

Vorm cyah get no luv?

I think everbody (yourself included) knows why I would point out your error and not anybody else's and, no, is not because anybody "stalkin'" yuh.

Tenorsaw, the only thing I will kinda disagree with you on, is that, a player (GK) doesn't necessarily have to show consistency over time to be considered of world class level.  I remember that it was clear to everyone when Buffon had made his debut for Parma, that he was going to be something very special.  Same thing when Casillas took over from Bodo Illgner, who himself was one of Germany's best and same with Manuel Neuer.  I don't think England have to look any further than Joe Hart for a long time to come.  He has been knocking on the door for a few years, and I, too, wwas surprised when Mancini put him ahead of Shay Given....I guess we all now see why he did it.   

Chow, you can have a GK make a world class save, but that could be more of a less common feature for that keeper.  "ou're as good as your last save" as what my GK coach would tell me in college.  The good keepers are able to maintain consistency match after match.  Hurelho Gomes is a good example of a GK who could be world class at one moment, and then make a howler 5 mins later.  He can't be considered world class. World class, in terms of ratings, is reserved to those that have done it consistently and have turned potential into assured performances over an extended period of time.  Hart has the potential to be world class, but he needs to show it over time.  Paul Robinson started out very much like Hart (although I think Hart is probably the more talented at that age), creating a big splash for Leeds in the Champions League, making the England #1 jersey his, and then came a series of never-ending blunders.  That seriously damaged his reputation and he never recovered.  That's why I am saying Hart is knocking on the door, but he needs to put more seasons together like this one, before he is hailed as elite.  He's definitely knocking though.
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 09:00:09 AM
Tenorsaw, I undersatnd alot of people/coaches take that position and that's cool.  But there can be exceptions to the rules.  Buffon, Casillas and Neuer were exceptions to the rules.  The guys you mentioned and other guys, like David James, you HAD to apply that rule to THEM because even from early on, they showed that propensity to make mistakes, show poor decision-making, poor communication/connection with the defense, etc.  Robert Green, Paul Robinson, all ah dem recent English "keepers, for all their brilliance, showed something uncertain about them.  I think we have seen enough of Joe Hart that my insinct tells me he's the real deal.  His youth and athleticism is a big plus for him, but he shows a lot of confidence and makes the saves whether he is busy or not.  I think his Englad defenders will fack him up but I think he more than just knockin' on the door.   :beermug:
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 09:23:35 AM
Tenorsaw, I undersatnd alot of people/coaches take that position and that's cool.  But there can be exceptions to the rules.  Buffon, Casillas and Neuer were exceptions to the rules.  The guys you mentioned and other guys, like David James, you HAD to apply that rule to THEM because even from early on, they showed that propensity to make mistakes, show poor decision-making, poor communication/connection with the defense, etc.  Robert Green, Paul Robinson, all ah dem recent English "keepers, for all their brilliance, showed something uncertain about them.  I think we have seen enough of Joe Hart that my insinct tells me he's the real deal.  His youth and athleticism is a big plus for him, but he shows a lot of confidence and makes the saves whether he is busy or not.  I think his Englad defenders will fack him up but I think he more than just knockin' on the door.   :beermug:

Chow, I am inclined to think that Hart will be the first world class English 'keeper in a long time, but I'll be cautious to call him world class.  He has world class potential, and just needs to continue doing what he's doing.  He does not really need to change anything; just keep on playing and the accolades and tags will follow.  That's all I'm saying.  Right now, he should be included in the top-10 GK's in the world, so I suppose you'd have to say he's world class.  So let's say he's world class, but not yet great like Buffon and Casillas.  Those two are in the category of "legendary".  I hope that clarifies my view.
Post by: dinho on December 19, 2011, 09:28:40 AM
Tenor... This is ah bess, bess thread you start here boss. Big up.

Joe Hart is definitely having an excellent season and had a monster game yesterday against Arsenal. These is the kinda performances that show that a quality goalkeeper is worth an extra 10 points at the end of a season, and why I was so critical of Wenger for not investing in the goalkeeping department. Imo a big factor in them missing out on titles (incl Carling Cup) in the last couple seasons is the whole Almunia/Fabianski/Sczezney adventures they had to deal with at crucial part of the seasons. If the cheap so and so had just drum up the extra 1m pounds Fulham wanted for Schwarzer it wouldve made a big difference, but that being said its worth it to note that Szezcney has solidly established himself this season.

As for De Gea he has been very good but there is something I notice about his game not sure if men see it.. I think he tries too hard to be a calm goalkeeper, but sometimes as a result of that he is too nonchalant and gets caught out of position or caught by surprise by certain situations.. A good few times i see where is like the play developing and he just not prepared for something that happen quick and its like it does surprise him.. Most notably Dzeko bullet in the Charity Shield and the cross he end up sticking his foot out for that lead to Basel first goal in the CL. But i see other plays during the game where its almost like he didnt expect someone to shoot so quick or a ball to come across the box so fast and end up reacting late.. Could be him just adapting to that higher level. I think he is an excellent shotstopper but still has some way to go.

Every year there is a goalkeeper in the best form for a calendar year.. Year before it was Julio Cesar and last year it was Neuer. But for me the hallmark is those who can keep their level consistently, season after season.. Casillas is the greatest ever for me, then Buffon and Van Der Sar.

By de way, who tell allyuh Buffon never make a mistake?

http://www.youtube.com/v/zH3eWlgwXCg

Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 09:32:16 AM
I ain't arguing your view, man, Tenorsaw.  I think I am more having to clarify mine than anything else and I am just offering up the reasoning behind it, that's all.  I like to go with my instinct.  But I think I made it clear that I wasn't putting him (or anybody) in the same category as Buffon and Casillas.  I hope that is not how my comments were coming across. 

dinho, I see dat long time man.  ;D  I eh sayin' he never make one, ah jes emphasizing that they are extremely rare.  Arkske Tenorsaw, Casillas make enough mistake in he time. 
Post by: giggsy11 on December 19, 2011, 09:40:29 AM

Joe Hart is definitely having an excellent season and had a monster game yesterday against Arsenal. These is the kinda performances that show that a quality goalkeeper is worth an extra 10 points at the end of a season, and why I was so critical of Wenger for not investing in the goalkeeping department. Imo a big factor in them missing out on titles (incl Carling Cup) in the last couple seasons is the whole Almunia/Fabianski/Sczezney adventures they had to deal with at crucial part of the seasons. If the cheap so and so had just drum up the extra 1m pounds Fulham wanted for Schwarzer it wouldve made a big difference, but that being said its worth it to note that Szezcney has solidly established himself this season.

As for De Gea he has been very good but there is something I notice about his game not sure if men see it.. I think he tries too hard to be a calm goalkeeper, but sometimes as a result of that he is too nonchalant and gets caught out of position or caught by surprise by certain situations.. A good few times i see where is like the play developing and he just not prepared for something that happen quick and its like it does surprise him.. Most notably Dzeko bullet in the Charity Shield and the cross he end up sticking his foot out for that lead to Basel first goal in the CL. But i see other plays during the game where its almost like he didnt expect someone to shoot so quick or a ball to come across the box so fast and end up reacting late.. Could be him just adapting to that higher level. I think he is an excellent shotstopper but still has some way to go.

Every year there is a goalkeeper in the best form for a calendar year.. Year before it was Julio Cesar and last year it was Neuer. But for me the hallmark is those who can keep their level consistently, season after season.. Casillas is the greatest ever for me, then Buffon and Van Der Sar.

Regarding DeGea, it sounds like you describing him not staying focus through out the match. Which should be expected for a young keeper and you have older keepers that do it also. I defenitely agree that some of the mistakes he has made are due to him not being mentally prepared to deal with the situations that came his way. That was one of Van Der Sar's strengths! Hopefully DeGea develops that area of his game.
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 09:57:06 AM

Regarding DeGea, it sounds like you describing him not staying focus through out the match. Which should be expected for a young keeper and you have older keepers that do it also. I defenitely agree that some of the mistakes he has made are due to him not being mentally prepared to deal with the situations that came his way. That was one of Van Der Sar's strengths! Hopefully DeGea develops that area of his game.

I think he'll be great eventually.  Sir Alex is purposely shielding him, making sure that he is not overexposed and that his confidence remains intact after slip-ups.  He gives him the occassional rest, going with Lindegaard at times.  In all fairnesss, Lindegaard has done nothing to hurt his claim to be the # 1 at Man U, but it is understandable that when you spend so much on a GK, as Sir Alex did, you'll want to justify that spend by giving him all the opportunity to show why 18 mil was spent.  Man U seem very deep in that position.  Amos is not too bad, but needs to go out on loan, and kusczck is still there too.  I don't think Kusczck is bad, but he seemed to not get along with Van de Sar.  Not sure that was the best way to deal with Van der Sar the legend, especially when you train everyday with him.  Goalkeeping is like a fraternity, and it's important for them to have good comraderie and motivate each other in training.  That is not always the case though.
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 10:17:15 AM
...didn't know that Kusczck had dem problems.  You're absolutely right, that would have been an unwise approach to that situation.   
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 10:27:20 AM
...didn't know that Kusczck had dem problems.  You're absolutely right, that would have been an unwise approach to that situation.   

Kusczck come out in the media and say Van der Sar doh talk to him and he gives him no advice.  Wrong place to air out dem gripe.  Pull de man aside and ask him what is the deal.  Yuh training with the man everyday and expect him to deal with yuh normal after that?
Post by: giggsy11 on December 19, 2011, 10:30:36 AM

Kusczck come out in the media and say Van der Sar doh talk to him and he gives him no advice.  Wrong place to air out dem gripe.  Pull de man aside and ask him what is the deal.  Yuh training with the man everyday and expect him to deal with yuh normal after that?

Kusczck is not a number type goalie. Great shot stopper, can't kick which puts his defence under a lot of unneeded pressure and is error prone. To much time between the sticks and his consistency drops. He good enough tuh give you spot starts anything more and he becomes a liability.
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 10:43:54 AM

(loud buzzer!!) "Wrong move!!  :laugh:
Post by: Observer on December 19, 2011, 10:48:44 AM
always difficult to evaluate, because some keepers playing behind weak defenses and are dealing with shots and crosses, far more than others.

However, their are several besides the obvious that need to be considered
IMHO
Stekelenburg   Holland - Roma
Lloris              France - Lyon
Valdes            Barca - Spain
Amelia            Italy - Milan
Muslera          Uruguay - Galatasaray
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 10:57:38 AM
always difficult to evaluate, because some keepers playing behind weak defenses and are dealing with shots and crosses, far more than others.

IMHO

well SOMEBODY aggre wit meh 'bout Valdes!  :laugh:
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 11:13:11 AM

IMHO

I like Lloris and Stekelenberg.  Although men might consider him a headcase, Artur Boruc has done well since he went to Fiorentina.  He's always been good, but I believe his attitude has scared off a lot of the bigger teams.  Marchetti from Lazio seems to be the heir to Buffon, if you ask me. 
Post by: Observer on December 19, 2011, 03:45:03 PM

IMHO

I like Lloris and Stekelenberg.  Although men might consider him a headcase, Artur Boruc has done well since he went to Fiorentina.  He's always been good, but I believe his attitude has scared off a lot of the bigger teams.  Marchetti from Lazio seems to be the heir to Buffon, if you ask me. 

very true on Marchetti I clean forget he
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 19, 2011, 05:17:33 PM
Remove Valdez name from this list.  Seen too many blunders from him, think if he were at a team that would constantly be on the defensive you would see even more, but that of course is my opinion.  Glad Tenors see the quality in Hart, man having a beyond boss season, bless
Post by: giggsy11 on December 19, 2011, 06:05:18 PM
I like Sevilla's keeper. I saw in a game this year against Barca that man single handedly keep out Barca including Messi a few times penalty included! Best game from a goalie I saw in a while!
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2011, 07:50:46 PM
Remove Valdez name from this list.  Seen too many blunders from him, think if he were at a team that would constantly be on the defensive you would see even more, but that of course is my opinion.  Glad Tenors see the quality in Hart, man having a beyond boss season, bless

Lol.... :rotfl: :rotfl: Valdes was poor with his feet versus Real, but he did make some stunning saves later in the game.  What surprises me with Guardiola is that he does not give the back-up GK any time in goal.  The Club Championship would have been a good time to rest Valdes a bit, but he chose not to.  Valdes has grown into a solid 'keeper; he was not a prodigy like Casillas and Buffon.
Post by: Observer on December 19, 2011, 07:53:03 PM
The back up usually play in the Copa.

Seville keeper cork!
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 19, 2011, 07:56:28 PM

Lol.... :rotfl: :rotfl: Valdes was poor with his feet versus Real, but he did make some stunning saves later in the game.  What surprises me with Guardiola is that he does not give the back-up GK any time in goal.  The Club Championship would have been a good time to rest Valdes a bit, but he chose not to.  Valdes has grown into a solid 'keeper; he was not a prodigy like Casillas and Buffon.

Pinto does get play in de Copa del Rey.....otherwise he unrelaible because he always gettin' sent orff.... :rotfl:  I agree that Valdes was not a prodigy like them other two legends but I have always had faith in his abilities.  He is a solid 'keeper and he has cut down his blunders to a minimum over the years.  That error he made in the clasico the other day is not the first one of it's kind that he's made.  But going back to the first of their run of CL Trophies, he has ALWAYS come up big in the big games. 
Post by: asylumseeker on December 19, 2011, 08:33:48 PM

IMHO

Yep.
Post by: Observer on December 20, 2011, 07:47:29 AM
Casillas and Buffon have made their own fair share of blunders, all keepers go through that. I remember Casillas against Betis just watch a Betis player, 10 yards from him and roll a pass to him.  Who could forget Buffon gaff vs Inter? So it go!
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 20, 2011, 09:26:32 AM
Casillas and Buffon have made their own fair share of blunders, all keepers go through that. I remember Casillas against Betis just watch a Betis player, 10 yards from him and roll a pass to him.  Who could forget Buffon gaff vs Inter? So it go!

Yep, the very best make mistakes.  Point is, that they don't do it often, so it stands out when it happens.  Then, you have the next level of keeprs that will make a mistake every 3-5 games.
Post by: mukumsplau on December 22, 2011, 08:16:22 PM
Niccola Leali....one of the huge young talents in italy...not just goalkeeping but football in general..18-y.o....we paid 5mil for him from brescia and will join in June...with tutoring from Buffon, kid will be huge..

http://www.youtube.com/v/-fS0dq2cqX8
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 23, 2011, 03:10:30 AM
Niiice...
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 23, 2011, 07:36:59 AM
Lindegaard targets United No. 1 spot

ESPNsoccernet staff
December 23, 2011

Manchester United goalkeeper Anders Lindegaard has reiterated his belief that he can usurp David De Gea as he club's No. 1, having kept five clean sheets in six games this season.

- Jones fit to face Wigan

Lindegaard, 27, has proved himself an able deputy when called upon, producing a series of impressive displays - the latest of which came in Wednesday's 5-0 victory over Fulham.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has thus far relied on £18 million summer signing De Gea for his side's big games, but Lindegaard hopes it won't be long before he is the man thrust into the spotlight.

"I hope I am giving the manager a problem,'' Lindegaard told MUTV. "In 10 matches nobody will remember any of the saves, they will remember the statistics.

"I have played five games in a row without letting a goal in. That is a very beautiful stat and one I am very happy with.''

Ferguson's side have registered six wins and a draw following that Old Trafford massacre and remain just two points adrift of their local rivals, with Lindegaard confident the Red Devils can exert even more pressure in the coming weeks.

"City are already under real pressure,'' Lindegaard said. "We have performed well since that defeat. We can only blame ourselves for what happened in the Champions League, but apart from that we have played some really good games.

"United have a tradition for being strong in the winter programme and in the spring so it is going to be a very tight to decide who will be champions.''

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As I said earlier, Lindegaard has nothing to hurt his claim for the #1 jersey. Five clean sheets in 6 games this season is outstanding.  I take it Sir Alex will say De Gea is the first choice, but it's a healthy situation to have.
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 08, 2012, 05:15:17 PM
Well boy, Sir Alex has an executive decision to make.  He needs to stick with one GK, going forward.  He was probably expecting a positive reaction by giving Lindegaard the nod as the #1, saying that he was the more experienced of the two, but Lindegaard has been a bit shaky too.  De Gea's weakness has been cross balls, and Sir Alex may very well be trying to protect his young, 18-mil investment, who should ultimately be the longterm heir to the shirt.  Maybe, he has to let De Gea go through his period of trial and let him garner the confidence he needs.  Putting him on the bench, then recalling him, could damage his already fragile confidence.  Will be interesting to see how this one plays out.
Post by: giggsy11 on March 05, 2012, 07:18:38 PM

Next rivalry-Arsenal keeper vs United keeper. Who all yuh taking in the next two years? Yuh know who I backin!

http://youtu.be/ioSF3Huq8io
Post by: giggsy11 on March 05, 2012, 07:21:01 PM
This training session is for you Chow!

http://youtu.be/Df91ez1z7I0
Post by: D.H.W on March 05, 2012, 08:16:50 PM

Working Hard, didnt know he had a youtube channel, his frame reminds me of edwin.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 06, 2012, 03:03:46 PM

Working Hard, didnt know he had a youtube channel, his frame reminds me of edwin.

Thanks, Giggsy.  I had mentioned on a thread many, many, many moons ago that if you really want to see GKs do some impressive isht, go and watch them train.  I saw Clayton Ince save a string of penalties taken by coach Vranes that blew my mind.  I have a Frans Hoek training tape that highlighted the Ajax team when Van der Saar was still a backup to Stanley Menzo and the work them men was putting in would blow your mind, too.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 06, 2012, 03:58:33 PM
Another goalkeeping excursion. Watch from about 2:10. From this past weekend's Mexican League.
http://www.youtube.com/w/v/2eVrG0dh2sI
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 06, 2012, 04:22:41 PM
Another goalkeeping excursion. Watch from about 2:10. From this past weekend's Mexican League.
http://www.youtube.com/w/v/2eVrG0dh2sI

:rotfl: I eh know where d hell he was goin' wit he dotish self! :rotfl:
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 08, 2012, 08:44:05 AM

Thanks, Giggsy.  I had mentioned on a thread many, many, many moons ago that if you really want to see GKs do some impressive isht, go and watch them train.  I saw Clayton Ince save a string of penalties taken by coach Vranes that blew my mind.  I have a Frans Hoek training tape that highlighted the Ajax team when Van der Saar was still a backup to Stanley Menzo and the work them men was putting in would blow your mind, too.

I think I've seen the one with a young Van Der Sar.  De fellas was doing some real advanced goalkeeping training.  Pulling down crosses and trying to jump start the offence by half volleying into a goal place way up the field.  My GK coach always used to say, GKs must work harder in training than games, because gametime is all about just putting it into play.  While you need the match days, it is training where you raise your technical base and really grow as a GK.
Post by: Bourbon on March 08, 2012, 09:01:38 AM
Just in case you eh know...De Gea has an eye defect which makes him generally nearsighted. Due to do surgery at the end of the season.
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 08, 2012, 09:43:54 AM
Just in case you eh know...De Gea has an eye defect which makes him generally nearsighted. Due to do surgery at the end of the season.

Read that a while aback.  Right now, he wears contacts, but they don't want to leave one stone unturned in getting this youth up to speed.  Not a surprise, after you invest 18 mil on  GK.  They are supposedly trying to have him gain one stone in weight.  He needs that for the EPL.  Will have to learn to take the knocks when going up in that crowded box with men all over him.  Definitely not Spain.
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 19, 2012, 10:46:39 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1125655/david-james:-man-city's-joe-hart-is-the-world's-best-goalkeeper?cc=5901

James: Hart the world's best keeper

Former England No. 1 David James believes there is no better goalkeeper in the world today than Joe Hart.

Hart, 25, has established himself as first-choice for club and country over the past two years, with the Manchester City keeper replacing James between the posts for England after the 2010 World Cup.

The former Shrewsbury Town man was named in the Premier League Team of the Season in 2011-12 and has emerged as one of the most highly rated keepers in Europe.

Juventus' Gianluigi Buffon and Real Madrid's Iker Casillas, the latter of whom won his third successive major tournament as Spain captain at Euro 2012, are widely regarded as the world's best at present but veteran James - who has played more than 1,000 games in his career - believes Hart is even better.

"I watch a lot of European football, and I can't think of a keeper who's impressed me more [than Hart]," James said. "For example, Iker Casillas has amazing reflexes, but he has trouble with crosses and he's average with the ball at his feet.

"Gianluigi Buffon is excellent at stopping mid-range shots and at positioning himself, but his kicking game is not what it should be. Joe, meanwhile, is good at all these things, which makes him the most complete keeper playing at present."

Asked who he regarded as the best keeper in the world, James said: "For years, Buffon was my favourite, but now it's Joe Hart. I think that Gianluigi is still an extraordinary goalie, but he's had a lot of injuries and that has caused his level to drop somewhat."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

James drink some glad juice.   Coming now to blight de man's progress.  Hart is Mr. Consistent.  He makes few errors, and has the knack to make the big save, after periods of inactivity.  His allround game is solid, but I think he needs another season, and must stand up to the scrutiny of playing in the Champions League again, before we even put him up there with Buffon, Casillas, Cech, and company.  He's even below Lloris, if you ask me.  Problem with the English is that they always want to rate up their players too fast, and put pressure on them. 

On another note, looks like Milan sniffing Brazil's Olympic keeper Rafael, although they have denied it.  Saw the youth vs. the US and was hugely impressed by his poise, sharp reflexes, and positioning.  If he keeps this up, he may well push Julio Caesar for the #1 jersey come 2014.  Caesar has dropped off a bit.  He was at one time being mentioned with Buffon and Casillas, but not sure what's going on with him right now.  He didn't have a good season for Inter. 
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 19, 2012, 11:06:03 AM
James drink some glad juice.   Coming now to blight de man's progress.  Hart is Mr. Consistent.  He makes few errors, and has the knack to make the big save, after periods of inactivity.  His allround game is solid, but I think he needs another season, and must stand up to the scrutiny of playing in the Champions League again, before we even put him up there with Buffon, Casillas, Cech, and company.  He's even below Lloris, if you ask me.  Problem with the English is that they always want to rate up their players too fast, and put pressure on them. 

On another note, looks like Milan sniffing Brazil's Olympic keeper Rafael, although they have denied it.  Saw the youth vs. the US and was hugely impressed by his poise, sharp reflexes, and positioning.  If he keeps this up, he may well push Julio Caesar for the #1 jersey come 2014.  Caesar has dropped off a bit.  He was at one time being mentioned with Buffon and Casillas, but not sure what's going on with him right now.  He didn't have a good season for Inter. 

Not only he drink glad juice.  He smoke some glad herb and sniff some glad powder, too.  Hart really IS good, he's the best England has had in a while.  But he still not on Casillas and Buffon level......I doh see how he could say Buffon's injuries have affected his form or his class.  The only thing different about Buffon is the fact that he seems a little gaunt since coming back. Nothing else.  While I am not one to agree that every GK has to prove over time that he is "World Class" (men like Buffon, Casillas, Neuer was that from very early) I would put Hart in that category, but he hasn't been consistent enough for long enough to be put above them two men.  I also agree that he might not even be better than Lloris, either. 

I dunno what goin' on with Cesar....I think maybe he does need somebody to push and challenge him.  Ever since Inter's season of success where he was given that "World's No.1" label, he just seems to have become disinterested....his body language has been very poor this past season and he really has been looking like he just wasn't trying any more.  I could be wrong but dize how it look to me.       
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 19, 2012, 11:16:50 AM

On another note, looks like Milan sniffing Brazil's Olympic keeper Rafael, although they have denied it.  Saw the youth vs. the US and was hugely impressed by his poise, sharp reflexes, and positioning. If he keeps this up, he may well push Julio Caesar for the #1 jersey come 2014.  Caesar has dropped off a bit.  He was at one time being mentioned with Buffon and Casillas, but not sure what's going on with him right now.  He didn't have a good season for Inter.

Not only he drink glad juice.  He smoke some glad herb and sniff some glad powder, too.  Hart really IS good, he's the best England has had in a while.  But he still not on Casillas and Buffon level......I doh see how he could say Buffon's injuries have affected his form or his class.  The only thing different about Buffon is the fact that he seems a little gaunt since coming back. Nothing else.  While I am not one to agree that every GK has to prove over time that he is "World Class" (men like Buffon, Casillas, Neuer was that from very early) I would put Hart in that category, but he hasn't been consistent enough for long enough to be put above them two men.  I also agree that he might not even be better than Lloris, either. 

I dunno what goin' on with Cesar....I think maybe he does need somebody to push and challenge him. Ever since Inter's season of success where he was given that "World's No.1" label, he just seems to have become disinterested....his body language has been very poor this past season and he really has been looking like he just wasn't trying any more.  I could be wrong but dize how it look to me.      

It was since the 2010 WC when he made a mistake vs the Dutch. Up until this point he was labled the World's best during Inter's treble season. I believe he lost all his confidence, because i remember after the match he gave an interview where he was very emotional and took the responsibility for the loss, he was so shaken everyone could see it. Then he returned to Inter and had an average season. He went to the Copa last yr and was terrible. Then was below average this season again.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 19, 2012, 11:44:31 AM

On another note, looks like Milan sniffing Brazil's Olympic keeper Rafael, although they have denied it.  Saw the youth vs. the US and was hugely impressed by his poise, sharp reflexes, and positioning. If he keeps this up, he may well push Julio Caesar for the #1 jersey come 2014.  Caesar has dropped off a bit.  He was at one time being mentioned with Buffon and Casillas, but not sure what's going on with him right now.  He didn't have a good season for Inter.

I dunno what goin' on with Cesar....I think maybe he does need somebody to push and challenge him. Ever since Inter's season of success where he was given that "World's No.1" label, he just seems to have become disinterested....his body language has been very poor this past season and he really has been looking like he just wasn't trying any more.  I could be wrong but dize how it look to me.      

It was since the 2010 WC when he made a mistake vs the Dutch. Up until this point he was labled the World's best during Inter's treble season. I believe he lost all his confidence, because i remember after the match he gave an interview where he was very emotional and took the responsibility for the loss, he was so shaken everyone could see it. Then he returned to Inter and had an average season. He went to the Copa last yr and was terrible. Then was below average this season again.

Well I was so distraught and in tears after that loss to the Dutch meh damned self, ah really didn't see the connection, the interview or the timeline of his drop-off.  Makes plenty sense and explains it all for me.   :beermug: 
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 19, 2012, 11:49:47 AM
I think Caesar needs to change clubs.  He should have pushed for the move to Man U, instead of sitting on his laurels at Inter.  He has no competition at Inter, and so he had become somewhat complacent.  Sometimes, you need a change of environ, to reinvigorate you.  If Rafael makes the move to Milan, he will definitely push for the #1 jersey, as long as he keeps on the current projectory, development-wise.
Post by: mukumsplau on July 19, 2012, 06:13:30 PM
calamity james was always known for his errors so his judgement would always be off...hart number 1? HA! Buffon only dropped off after coming back from a back injury..he took a lil while to get back into things...thats perfectly normal for any player..that transition period from injury...
"kicking range"?..thats what james wanna hang d man with? "only mid range shots"? lawd fada i aint able..
Post by: Big Magician on July 19, 2012, 08:16:08 PM
so allyuh opinion better than James ???

its just an opinion
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 20, 2012, 07:35:07 AM
so allyuh opinion better than James ???

its just an opinion

James ain't know he head from he arse....
Post by: Big Magician on July 20, 2012, 09:02:48 AM
sorry TS... I did not know that...ok i understand now
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 20, 2012, 09:55:43 AM
sorry TS... I did not know that...ok i understand now

LOL :beermug:
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 31, 2012, 02:50:26 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1128600/julio-cesar-confirms-inter-milan-exit?cc=5901

Julio Cesar confirms exit

July 31, 2012

Brazil international goalkeeper Julio Cesar has confirmed that he is close to ending his spell at Inter Milan following the Italian side's capture of Udinese 'keeper Samir Handanovic.

Julio Cesar, 32, had previously indicated that he would be willing to terminate his contract with Inter in order to find new employment for the forthcoming season.

A rumoured target for Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur, it has been suggested that the former Flamengo goalkeeper may be heading for the

Premier League. Roma have also been mentioned as a possible destination.

"They have been seven beautiful and successful years but, in a few days, my adventure in the Inter shirt will end," the player posted on his official Facebook account.

Julio Cesar has played for the Nerazzurri on nearly 300 occasions, winning 14 trophies including five Serie A titles and the 2010 Champions League.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There we go fellas.  Confirmation of our analysis last week on Julio Caesar: he needs a new challenge.  He'll be moving on.

Post by: Mango Chow! on July 31, 2012, 03:45:22 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1128600/julio-cesar-confirms-inter-milan-exit?cc=5901

July 31, 2012

Brazil international goalkeeper Julio Cesar has confirmed that he is close to ending his spell at Inter Milan following the Italian side's capture of Udinese 'keeper Samir Handanovic.

Julio Cesar, 32, had previously indicated that he would be willing to terminate his contract with Inter in order to find new employment for the forthcoming season.

A rumoured target for Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur, it has been suggested that the former Flamengo goalkeeper may be heading for the

"They have been seven beautiful and successful years but, in a few days, my adventure in the Inter shirt will end," the player posted on his official Facebook account.

Julio Cesar has played for the Nerazzurri on nearly 300 occasions, winning 14 trophies including five Serie A titles and the 2010 Champions League.

There we go fellas.  Confirmation of our analysis last week on Julio Caesar: he needs a new challenge.  He'll be moving on.

Just as yuh call it.  Big up.  We need a good backup GK at Chelsea, not him so he goin' to Tottenham. Ah love Brad Friedel but ah cyah see him stayin' in avb good graces after his post-game comments fuh de CL Final.  :laugh:
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 31, 2012, 05:44:37 PM

July 31, 2012

Just as yuh call it.  Big up.  We need a good backup GK at Chelsea, not him so he goin' to Tottenham. Ah love Brad Friedel but ah cyah see him stayin' in avb good graces after his post-game comments fuh de CL Final.  :laugh:

Much cheaper option than Lloris, although I think Lloris has greater upside to his game, due to age.  Speaks Portuguese, understands playing a technical style of play, and may very well find a new breath of life in a new environ.  Lyon playing hardball with their asking price for Lloris, and will supposedly not release him, unless he asks for a transfer.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 14, 2013, 10:11:00 AM
Watch dis!

http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc

South American U-20 Championships. Game at 3-2 favoring Uruguay when this went down in the 84'. This save allowed Peru to stay in contention, and that they did ... match finished 3-3.
Post by: Football supporter on January 14, 2013, 10:24:49 AM
Watch dis!

http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc

South American U-20 Championships. Game at 3-2 favoring Uruguay when this went down in the 84'. This save allowed Peru to stay in contention, and that they did ... match finished 3-3.

If he was at Central, I wouldn't know whether to buy him a drink for those saves......or sack him for coming so far out of his box lol
Post by: D.H.W on January 14, 2013, 10:25:36 AM
Commitment right there!
Post by: asylumseeker on January 14, 2013, 11:03:46 AM
Doh want to take the focus away from the GKs, but here are highlights of the entire game ... first part of the coverage is Argentine (tournament is taking place there); then the final part is Peruvian. The equalizing goal was a PK. (The player fouled and the one who takes the kick is Cristian Benavente who is on Real Madrid's reserve squad. I think he's been with Real since he was 8.)

FS @ 2:45 he was off his line again, wasn't so fortunate then.

http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E

Heard of Diego Forlan? Well check out Diego Rolan (#9) ... watch from about 3:38 and check the run he makes to score. Another example of commitment!
Post by: Football supporter on January 14, 2013, 12:37:03 PM
Doh want to take the focus away from the GKs, but here are highlights of the entire game ... first part of the coverage is Argentine (tournament is taking place there); then the final part is Peruvian. The equalizing goal was a PK. (The player fouled and the one who takes the kick is Cristian Benavente who is on Real Madrid's reserve squad. I think he's been with Real since he was 8.)

FS @ 2:45 he was off his line again, wasn't so fortunate then.

http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E

Heard of Diego Forlan? Well check out Diego Rolan (#9) ... watch from about 3:38 and check the run he makes to score. Another example of commitment!

Wow! That was some run! Can't make out if the winger saw him or just boxed the ball and hoped. Either way, fantastic commitment from Rolan.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2013, 11:03:17 AM
Another keeper mishap (this one from Monday's Egyptian league game between El-Hodood and Wadi Degla).

Guess this is why Shabazz and Charles left out Jan :devil: ... keeper must be sluggish from the extended break.

http://www.youtube.com/v/ntXT-uvj-0Y

The commentator here (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2013/feb/05/egyptian-goalkeeper-misses-ball-video) says it's Youtube material (@ 0:55) and well ... he eh lie. ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2013, 12:20:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/tH_kBn-y-PQ
Incident last week from the match between Criciuma and Chapecoense in the Brazilian Campeonato Catarinense played January 31, 2013. Good work by the keeper.

Trip down memory lane: calls to mind this event from the 1994 WC.
http://www.youtube.com/v/ZP6O-Dt_38s
Mexico v Bulgaria.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 07, 2013, 06:35:04 AM
With his current form for QPR being on a steady incline and after yesterday's performance, particularly, that blinding save (that didn't officially count) he made on rooney's thug-induced header, anybody still have doubts about Julio Cesar's return to the kind of form that had him being regarded as one of the very best in football?
Post by: giggsy11 on April 07, 2013, 11:14:40 AM
Two young keepers to watch-my boy DeGea-the Spanish Cat and Belgium's  and Chelski's Thibaut Courtois, he is on loan at Atletico this season. Courtois has been described by some as the best young goalie. So I have been keeping an eye on my boy's competition. I actually enjoy watching him save, same as when I watching the Spanish Cat.

http://youtu.be/UZEci6bzrAg

http://youtu.be/ndhmdwIswp8
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 07, 2013, 01:35:36 PM
Two young keepers to watch-my boy DeGea-the Spanish Cat and Belgium's  and Chelski's Thibaut Courtois, he is on loan at Atletico this season. Courtois has been described by some as the best young goalie. So I have been keeping an eye on my boy's competition. I actually enjoy watching him save, same as when I watching the Spanish Cat.

I am beginning to wonder if Chelsea are even going to be able to keep him....you always seem to hear rumblings about him not wanting to go back to Chelsea (to be on no bench) and understandably so....but the  kinda season I se Cech is having, it doh look like we go be needing him as a first choice anytime soon, so.....but on the basis of his pure talent, from what I have seen of him in this and other videos, he does seem pretty good. If he does eventually come to Chelsea the only concern we might need to have would be the adjustment to the physicality of the league.  (that, and, I wish he wouldn't follow this trend these GK's have nowadays of always spittin' in dey dam glove! Nasty S.O.B's!) 
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 10, 2013, 09:03:17 AM

I am beginning to wonder if Chelsea are even going to be able to keep him....you always seem to hear rumblings about him not wanting to go back to Chelsea (to be on no bench) and understandably so....but the  kinda season I se Cech is having, it doh look like we go be needing him as a first choice anytime soon, so.....but on the basis of his pure talent, from what I have seen of him in this and other videos, he does seem pretty good. If he does eventually come to Chelsea the only concern we might need to have would be the adjustment to the physicality of the league.  (that, and, I wish he wouldn't follow this trend these GK's have nowadays of always spittin' in dey dam glove! Nasty S.O.B's!) 

Chelsea better play it smart with Courtois.  If they keep farming him out and don't decide on when it is best to bring him back to base, Real Madrid or even Juve will come calling.  Buffon got about 3 years max left, and Casillas probably will play to about 38, so Juve probably has the more urgent need to find an heir to Buffon.  Boy, Belgium blessed from back to front:  Courtois, Mignolet, Vermalen, Kompany, Vertonghen, Hazard, Mirallas, Benteke, Lukaku...and it goes on.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 10, 2013, 11:21:25 AM
It would be nice if Belgium could get to a finals, World Cup or European. I remember their side and their brilliant goalie who was their most well known player at that time. I think it was either 1994 World Cup or 1998.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 10, 2013, 12:07:08 PM
It would be nice if Belgium could get to a finals, World Cup or European. I remember their side and their brilliant goalie who was their most well known player at that time. I think it was either 1994 World Cup or 1998.

Michel Preud'homme....successor to another great Belgian, Jean Marie Pfaff. After falling off even as a football nation for a while, they seem to be putting their (young) gifted GK's back on the world spotlight these days....between Curtois and Mignolet they look to be in good hands for a long time....before them, Chelsea had (a Black) one named "Yves Ma-Kalambay" who had played for Belgium in the '08 Olympics.....but he mind eh right these days. 
Post by: giggsy11 on April 10, 2013, 03:36:12 PM

Michel Preud'homme....successor to another great Belgian, Jean Marie Pfaff. After falling off even as a football nation for a while, they seem to be putting their (young) gifted GK's back on the world spotlight these days....between Curtois and Mignolet they look to be in good hands for a long time....before them, Chelsea had (a Black) one named "Yves Ma-Kalambay" who had played for Belgium in the '08 Olympics.....but he mind eh right these days. 

The one I was talking about is Pfaff.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 10, 2013, 03:50:07 PM

The one I was talking about is Pfaff.

His last WC was in Mexico....had a decent tournament, but Maradona was too much fuh him/them in the semis. 
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 11, 2013, 10:22:49 AM
Yeah, both Pfaff and Preud'homme are probably top-20 of greatest GKs ever.  Pfaff carry Belgium into the WC semis in '86, but Mara had different thoughts about who was boss. 
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2013, 10:37:07 AM
Yeah, both Pfaff and Preud'homme are probably top-20 of greatest GKs ever.  Pfaff carry Belgium into the WC semis in '86, but Mara had different thoughts about who was boss. 

LOL!  Yeah, and you are absolutely correct in your placement of the two of them. I think I was being overly modest when I said Pfaff had a "decent" tournament.  It was fitting to see after the match that it was he and Maradona that exchanged shirts in what seemed to be a clear acknowledgment of each other's greatness.  I can never forget, either, the image of Klinsmann scoring against Preud'homme in '94, a low hard shot to his last (left) post......lick way he water bottle wit no regards!.  :D
Post by: Bourbon on April 11, 2013, 10:30:19 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12040/8627549/Contrasting-keepers

On Monday evening against Manchester City, David de Gea was just 17 minutes away from matching the longest time Peter Schmeichel ever went without conceding a Premier League goal for Manchester United. With that achievement in his sights, Ryan Giggs attempted an ambitious and ill-advised backheel and the ball soon fell to James Milner whose deflected strike flew past the outstretched fingertips of the young Spaniard. The plaudits that would come with eclipsing Schmeichel were not to be. That just seems to be the way it goes for De Gea.

"I could have bought Joe Hart for £100,000 so we all make mistakes," admitted Sir Alex Ferguson in February of last year. "If you look at the England goalkeeper situation for the last 20 years, I would think he's easily the best." Perhaps it wasn't meant to be a slight on the young goalkeeper in possession of the No.1 shirt at Old Trafford but the message was clear: Hart is just about the best around.

Indeed, the perceived contrast between the form of Hart at Manchester City and the high-profile errors of De Gea at Manchester United became a key narrative of last season's title race. For the second season running, Joe Hart picked up the Premier League Golden Gloves award after keeping the most clean sheets of any top-flight goalkeeper. De Gea, meanwhile, made an error on his league debut against West Brom and endured an ongoing struggle to shake off the stigma for the remainder of the campaign.

So while Hart was named in the Premier League team of the year, De Gea faced a summer of seemingly endless debate about his future and suggestions that Anders Lindegaard might take his first-team place. England goalkeeping legend Gordon Banks summed up the mood of many in putting Hart on a different level to either of the United options.

"I am not sure about the two keepers at United, not at all," Banks told the Daily Mail last year. "Sir Alex Ferguson could have got a better keeper than either of them. I am sure he wishes he had signed Joe, who is the best English goalkeeper by a mile and could become the best in the world. He is now making terrific saves for Manchester City, while these lads at United look as if they can let in important goals."
Post by: Richard G. on April 12, 2013, 02:29:47 AM

On Monday evening against Manchester City, David de Gea was just 17 minutes away from matching the longest time Peter Schmeichel ever went without conceding a Premier League goal for Manchester United. With that achievement in his sights, Ryan Giggs attempted an ambitious and ill-advised backheel and the ball soon fell to James Milner whose deflected strike flew past the outstretched fingertips of the young Spaniard. The plaudits that would come with eclipsing Schmeichel were not to be. That just seems to be the way it goes for De Gea.

"I could have bought Joe Hart for £100,000 so we all make mistakes," admitted Sir Alex Ferguson in February of last year. "If you look at the England goalkeeper situation for the last 20 years, I would think he's easily the best." Perhaps it wasn't meant to be a slight on the young goalkeeper in possession of the No.1 shirt at Old Trafford but the message was clear: Hart is just about the best around.

Indeed, the perceived contrast between the form of Hart at Manchester City and the high-profile errors of De Gea at Manchester United became a key narrative of last season's title race. For the second season running, Joe Hart picked up the Premier League Golden Gloves award after keeping the most clean sheets of any top-flight goalkeeper. De Gea, meanwhile, made an error on his league debut against West Brom and endured an ongoing struggle to shake off the stigma for the remainder of the campaign.

So while Hart was named in the Premier League team of the year, De Gea faced a summer of seemingly endless debate about his future and suggestions that Anders Lindegaard might take his first-team place. England goalkeeping legend Gordon Banks summed up the mood of many in putting Hart on a different level to either of the United options.

"I am not sure about the two keepers at United, not at all," Banks told the Daily Mail last year. "Sir Alex Ferguson could have got a better keeper than either of them. I am sure he wishes he had signed Joe, who is the best English goalkeeper by a mile and could become the best in the world. He is now making terrific saves for Manchester City, while these lads at United look as if they can let in important goals."

De Gea comes within 17 minutes of eclipsing Peter Schmeichel's record for minutes played without conceeding a goal for Manchester United and the best they can come up with is talking about Joe Hart's Golden Gloves and Premiership Team of the Season accolades (of last season).  De Gea has shown himself to be mentally tough and that has shown in his performances furing this 2012-2013 season. Remember Sir Alex had his head on the chopping block when he seemingly found the formula and he's still there, numerous championships and titles later. He's still very young and has a lot to grow into. He's done very well and I will venture to say we've all seen his level of confidence grow as he's had a chance to stamp his own personality and style to Manchester United (very key to his improvement as a GK).

So what should be said about Joe Hart's errors of this season? hmmmm.....Look..as of right now Joe Hart is the perceived best GK in the premiership. De Gea is working his way up the ladder. I'll have fun watching both grow into two of the world's best.

Blessings and enjoy the day.
Richard G.
Post by: Bourbon on April 12, 2013, 06:03:09 AM

De Gea comes within 17 minutes of eclipsing Peter Schmeichel's record for minutes played without conceeding a goal for Manchester United and the best they can come up with is talking about Joe Hart's Golden Gloves and Premiership Team of the Season accolades (of last season).  De Gea has shown himself to be mentally tough and that has shown in his performances furing this 2012-2013 season. Remember Sir Alex had his head on the chopping block when he seemingly found the formula and he's still there, numerous championships and titles later. He's still very young and has a lot to grow into. He's done very well and I will venture to say we've all seen his level of confidence grow as he's had a chance to stamp his own personality and style to Manchester United (very key to his improvement as a GK).

So what should be said about Joe Hart's errors of this season? hmmmm.....Look..as of right now Joe Hart is the perceived best GK in the premiership. De Gea is working his way up the ladder. I'll have fun watching both grow into two of the world's best.

Richard G.

Well the whole article kinda answered that....it was too long to post. Keep remembering the fact that DDG still young. Also remember that Hart is English..thus by default the English media sees him as the best in the world.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 13, 2013, 10:02:07 AM
De Gea's mental strength may be his best assest. Many have crumbled before, dealing with the negativity from the English press, and the expectations that goes with pulling on the United jersey, week in and week out.  I hope the press will give him his credit when he pass Hart as the best in the EPL in the next 2 years. My keeper!
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 14, 2013, 06:13:26 PM

Richard G.

Well the whole article kinda answered that....it was too long to post. Keep remembering the fact that DDG still young. Also remember that Hart is English..thus by default the English media sees him as the best in the world.
[/b]

to further reinforce your point...I watching "My Beautiful Game" on FSC right now..."greatest Player" is the theme....David Seaman say Paul Gascoigne is the best he has ever seen....he even go as far as to say he find Gascoigne better than Maradona and Messi. "he is more of a complete package" he say.  Ah guess he still eh see the package Ronaldinho deliver on he ass in Japan.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 18, 2013, 12:30:55 PM
Southall’s long and winding road
http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/players/do-you-remember/newsid=2026983/index.html?cid=newsletter_en_20130418_newsid2026983

In the 1980s and 1990s, Neville Southall was considered to be one of the world’s greatest goalkeepers. After winning two English league championships and FA Cups with Everton, as well as the European Cup Winners’ Cup and a record 92 caps for Wales, he was one of the continent's finest custodians.

What also added a bit of intrigue about ‘Big Nev’ was his career path. After starting out working in a café in his home town of Llandudno, he then moved to doing manual work for the local council before becoming a refuse collector.

Despite only doing the job for a few months before turning professional, his trade stuck in the memories of football fans. Indeed his recent biography, was entitled ‘The Binman Chronicles’; a tip of the hat to his former role.

Southall left school in the 1970s without a qualification to his name, but after hanging up his boots and gloves for good in 2002 at the age of 43 he earned a teaching certificate four years later. He is now mentoring ‘NEETs’: children who are not in education, employment or training.

“We began by giving excluded youngsters the chance of gaining an apprenticeship through sport,” he told FIFA.com. “They also did carpentry, bricklaying, art and other things. It’s alternative education.

“It’s about children who aren’t academic, who are good with their hands, perceived to be disruptive or who are actually disruptive. They don’t get opportunities that the academic ones get. It’s not that they aren’t bright, just not academic."

Just as in football, Southall and his colleagues have enjoyed success. One of his former pupils now has his own music business; others are in hairdressing, tattooing or back in mainstream education.

The Welshman believes that his “former life as a footballer” gave him a good grounding for his current role. “Being in the dressing room, dealing with people from all walks of life, helped make the transition between playing and teaching,” he continued.

“In a dressing room there are different characters, the intelligent ones, the silly ones, the loud ones and the quiet ones - and it's similar in the classroom as well. Mind you, I'm quite scatty. I'm not neat and tidy and I don't like being enclosed by four walls. I like being outside and the youngsters the same!"

When asked whether the youngsters were in awe of the legend standing before them, Southall smiled and said: “Their verdict was if you’re any good, you’ll be on YouTube. Also if their dad rated you, you were OK.”

Despite the glory days of his career, which saw him earn an MBE for services to football, appear in the PFA’s Team of the Year four consecutive times and win the 1985 Football Writers' Award, Southall now appears to be more than content to look forward rather than relive times past.

“I never have been one to look back,” he said. “If you look back to what you have achieved you’re not going to want to achieve much more in your life. There is always something else going on tomorrow.”

Southall’s next challenge is the growth of his Community Foundation. “It’s about giving people from all walks of life a chance through sport,” he said. “It could be helping out a kid who can't afford a pair of boots or transport to their training sessions. The current economic climate means that there are so many people struggling – and if I can help them, I will.”

(... and, there's an excellent interview with him (http://www.youtube.com/v/t05cShAqOj0&list=UUj2EsHTJPAp_dei2s09qkuw&index=21) on Youtube).
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 18, 2013, 12:43:37 PM
Southall’s long and winding road
http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/players/do-you-remember/newsid=2026983/index.html?cid=newsletter_en_20130418_newsid2026983

In the 1980s and 1990s, Neville Southall was considered to be one of the world’s greatest goalkeepers. After winning two English league championships and FA Cups with Everton, as well as the European Cup Winners’ Cup and a record 92 caps for Wales, he was one of the continent's finest custodians.

What also added a bit of intrigue about ‘Big Nev’ was his career path. After starting out working in a café in his home town of Llandudno, he then moved to doing manual work for the local council before becoming a refuse collector.

Despite only doing the job for a few months before turning professional, his trade stuck in the memories of football fans. Indeed his recent biography, was entitled ‘The Binman Chronicles’; a tip of the hat to his former role.

Southall left school in the 1970s without a qualification to his name, but after hanging up his boots and gloves for good in 2002 at the age of 43 he earned a teaching certificate four years later. He is now mentoring ‘NEETs’: children who are not in education, employment or training.

“We began by giving excluded youngsters the chance of gaining an apprenticeship through sport,” he told FIFA.com. “They also did carpentry, bricklaying, art and other things. It’s alternative education.

“It’s about children who aren’t academic, who are good with their hands, perceived to be disruptive or who are actually disruptive. They don’t get opportunities that the academic ones get. It’s not that they aren’t bright, just not academic."

Just as in football, Southall and his colleagues have enjoyed success. One of his former pupils now has his own music business; others are in hairdressing, tattooing or back in mainstream education.

The Welshman believes that his “former life as a footballer” gave him a good grounding for his current role. “Being in the dressing room, dealing with people from all walks of life, helped make the transition between playing and teaching,” he continued.

“In a dressing room there are different characters, the intelligent ones, the silly ones, the loud ones and the quiet ones - and it's similar in the classroom as well. Mind you, I'm quite scatty. I'm not neat and tidy and I don't like being enclosed by four walls. I like being outside and the youngsters the same!"

When asked whether the youngsters were in awe of the legend standing before them, Southall smiled and said: “Their verdict was if you’re any good, you’ll be on YouTube. Also if their dad rated you, you were OK.”

Despite the glory days of his career, which saw him earn an MBE for services to football, appear in the PFA’s Team of the Year four consecutive times and win the 1985 Football Writers' Award, Southall now appears to be more than content to look forward rather than relive times past.

“I never have been one to look back,” he said. “If you look back to what you have achieved you’re not going to want to achieve much more in your life. There is always something else going on tomorrow.”

Southall’s next challenge is the growth of his Community Foundation. “It’s about giving people from all walks of life a chance through sport,” he said. “It could be helping out a kid who can't afford a pair of boots or transport to their training sessions. The current economic climate means that there are so many people struggling – and if I can help them, I will.”

.....I was just watching some highlights of him on YouTube about a week ago....not many available.  The man was an excellent GK....sharp reflexes and great agility, especially for such a very big man. He was certainly one of the best of his time. (and certainly NOT "head and shoulders" inferior to Bruce Grobelaar....like one imps was once quoted as saying on here...)
Post by: Richard G. on April 19, 2013, 07:35:33 AM

Richard G.

[/b]

to further reinforce your point...I watching "My Beautiful Game" on FSC right now..."greatest Player" is the theme....David Seaman say Paul Gascoigne is the best he has ever seen....he even go as far as to say he find Gascoigne better than Maradona and Messi. "he is more of a complete package" he say.  Ah guess he still eh see the package Ronaldinho deliver on he ass in Japan.

I left out that point on purpose. It's very evident that some bias would play into personal opinions.

Richard G.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 19, 2013, 02:52:24 PM

Richard G.

[/b]

I left out that point on purpose. It's very evident that some bias would play into personal opinions.

Richard G.

I totally agree wit yuh and I expect some bias too, but to say dat Gascoigne better than maradona and Messi?!  Dize not bias nuh, dize clear sign of a serious drug problem.  :D Blessings and enjoy yuh day, too.
Post by: Married2ATrini on April 24, 2013, 07:50:39 AM
April 19, 2013

Ranjitsingh named One of Top Goalkeepers in Country

MACON, Ga. – Sophomore goalkeeper Greg Ranjitsingh earned honorable mention recognition in an article ranking the top goalkeepers in the country according to TopDrawerSoccer.com on Friday morning. 

Only 14 netminders from across the nation were named in the release, with Ranjitsingh being listed in the players under consideration section.

The well-deserved inclusion of Ranjitsingh in the article comes after a season that solidified him as one of the best goalkeepers in the nation. The NSCAA Second Team All-South Region and Atlantic Sun All-Conference second team netminder led the A-Sun with a 0.87 goals against average and 93 saves and ranked 12th in the country with a sparkling .838 save percentage.

Ranjitsingh and 17 other letterwinners from last year's squad that went 11-7-2 overall and lost in the A-Sun Championship title game for the second time in the last four seasons will return to Macon for preseason camp to kick-off the 2013 campaign this August.

To read the complete article on TopDrawerSoccer.com, click here.

Post by: Richard G. on April 24, 2013, 08:20:30 PM
AH man tell me ah should put dis up fuh all to see. Hopefully peace will reign after some edumification of our football brains  ;D ;D ;D

This is why being a goalkeeper is so incredibly difficult. We' re not supposed to save penalties but we do :)

https://www.youtube.com/v/ymgMNLPw1yY

Blessings and enjoy de night.
Richard G.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2013, 08:29:25 PM
Good post  :beermug:

I always bristle whenever folks get on a man case for "missing" a penalty... in my mind a) nothing is guaranteed; and b) yuh have to give credit to the goalie for making the save.  So I always think "goalie saved it" rather than "X miss it".  This kinda breaks it down and shows just how difficult it should be in theory for a goalie to save a well-taken penalty.  Or put another way, how hard it should be to 'miss'.
Post by: Richard G. on April 25, 2013, 03:52:18 AM
Did some research and found this (checked against another website it's pretty accurate minus a penalty here or there). I think it's a pretty decent assessment of the success and failure rates of penalties. Interesting to note the actual statistic of GKs saving penalties is only 16%. BTW a save is a save (I've always preferred the GK made the save... ;) Sounds so much better to my biased ears..lol)

http://www.myfootballfacts.com/Premier_League_Penalty_Statistics.html (http://www.myfootballfacts.com/Premier_League_Penalty_Statistics.html)

Penalty Stats 2002-03 to 2012-13

Home Penalties %           63.20
Away Penalties %           36.80
Penalties Scored %   79.11
Penalties Missed %   4.77
Penalties Saved %   16.12

Post by: Mango Chow! on April 25, 2013, 06:04:57 AM
AH man tell me ah should put dis up fuh all to see. Hopefully peace will reign after some edumification of our football brains  ;D ;D ;D

This is only ONE reason why being a goalkeeper is so incredibly difficult. We' re not supposed to save penalties but we do :)
Blessings and enjoy de night.
Richard G.

Saw this a couple years ago...what you said there was key, I just added a little extra....most people have zero idea how every little thing affects everything a GK does in every aspect: from seeing to processing to thinking to reacting......to recovering.  That is why when people that have never played the position or never done one day's worth of training like to open their mouths and say what a 'keeper could/should and couldn't/shouldn't have done in any given situation, sometimes I can only laugh.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 11, 2013, 05:09:14 PM
Gianluigi Buffon is one of the leviathans of world football. Italy’s undisputed No1 for the last 15 years, the venerable Juventus goalkeeper is a natural successor to the great Dino Zoff, a fellow FIFA World Cup™ winner at the ripe old age of 40. 

Since making his debut for La Nazionale against Russia in Moscow on 29 October 1997, Buffon has added another 125 caps to his collection. A world champion with his country at Germany 2006, where he won the Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper, the peerless Italian custodian has captained his country since the arrival of Cesare Prandelli in the dugout in 2010.

A commanding presence both on his line and off it, Super Gigi – as his many admirers call him – has lost none of his powers at the age of 35 and has no plans to retire just yet. Still hungry for success with Juve, he also has high hopes for the national team, who are flying high in their qualification group for Brazil 2014 and who will represent Europe at the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 this June.

Reflecting on the many highlights of his illustrious career, the great Italian keeper spoke exclusively to FIFA.com.

FIFA.com: Up until the age of 14 you played as a defensive midfielder. Legend has it that it was the performances of Cameroon keeper Thomas N’Kono at Italy 1990 that made you want to be a goalkeeper. Is that right?
Gianluigi Buffon: Yes it is. It was Thomas N’Kono and his spectacular saves that made me fall in love with the position. He quickly became my hero and I called my son Louis Thomas in his honour. After he was born N’Kono called to congratulate me.

They say that goalkeepers are like fine wine: they get better with age. When do you think keepers reach their peak?
I don’t know. Obviously when you reach 30 it’s a crucial point in your life, and it’s the same in sport. Once you get past 30 you have to draw on your experience when you play and when you train. You need to work hard to stay at the same level. After that ...

Do you think goalkeeping captains can fulfil their duties when they are so far away from the action?
I’ve never felt that being a captain is just about wearing an armband. A real captain is one who plays an important role for the team on the pitch and in the dressing room, regardless of the position they play in.
Which defender do you or did you have the best understanding with?
There are five, no question: Fabio Cannavaro, Lilian Thuram, Andrea Barzagli, Leonardo Bonucci and Giorgio Chiellini.

Is a big save as important as a goal?
I honestly think it is. Goalkeepers know that it’s hard for them to make up for any mistakes they might commit. It’s a position that demands total concentration. You can never afford to relax.

What’s the most important save you’ve ever made in your career?
It’s very hard to pick one out in particular. Luckily, I’ve had quite a few, though I think one I made from Zinedine Zidane in the Final at the 2006 World Cup in Germany was probably the most decisive.

In your first season with Juventus in 2001/02 you let in just 23 goals in 34 league matches. Is that still your record?
It’s the best defensive record for sure. It would be great if we could manage to improve on what we achieved 11 years ago.

You’ve made nearly 800 appearances at club level and 126 for your country. Which coach has had the biggest impact on you and has understood you better than anyone?
I don’t want to be boring but I think every coach has had a decisive impact on my career development. I have to say, though, that Antonio Conte is definitely the best coach I’ve worked with. In a short space of time he’s managed to breathe new life into a team that in two seasons could do no better than seventh place. And he was a winner straightaway.

Which striker has posed you the most problems?
Zlatan Ibrahimovic is a really great player who has always impressed me and given me problems.

Which defender would you like to have had in front of you?
I couldn’t choose any better defenders than all the ones I’ve already played with.

What does Juventus mean to you?
A life of success, struggle and commitment. It’s a family I’ve grown up in and helped others to grow in. It’s a kind of life choice, a way of life.

According to Andrea Agnelli the extension of your contract involves nothing more than a handshake because you are what he describes as ‘a decent person’ and you are ‘at home at Juve’.
That’s right. There’s not much more you can say about it. When you build up an  excellent relationship, as in this particular case, you don’t really need words to come to an agreement.

What goes through your mind as a 35-year-old national team captain when you see kids aged 19 coming into the side?
That time stops for no man. I made my debut when I was 17 and now I’m 35. I can’t stop the clock from ticking, but I’m very much at peace with myself and I’m not worried about it. The future belongs to the youngsters and I’m just trying to pass on the experience I’ve acquired over the years.

Italy are playing a more expansive game these days. Has that come at the cost of their traditional defensive strengths?
Thanks to the excellent job Cesare Prandelli is doing, I think we’ve found a balance between defensive solidity and an attacking approach that allows our great forwards to express themselves better.

Do you see the FIFA Confederations Cup as a dress rehearsal for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil?
More than anything it’s an excellent test.

Which team would you like to meet in the final?
Brazil, because of their history and because it’s always exciting to take on the host country.

You bought your hometown club Carrarese Calcio a little while ago. Should we call you the Captain or the President?
Just call me Gigi. That will do.

From FIFA
Post by: giggsy11 on May 11, 2013, 06:15:33 PM
Good read-love me some Gigi! Total class!
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 11, 2013, 06:18:07 PM
Thank you, 'seeker, this was nothing less than I expected from Buffon.  He has always been a class act and always been the best of his time in my book.  :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on June 28, 2013, 05:27:21 PM
Gigi > Casillas!  Buffon in the 2006 WC- the Italian commentator added to the enjoyment.

http://youtu.be/4gjVggY6IRo

Trendsetters Buffon, Casillas keep it legendaryPosted by Michael Cox-ESPN

On Thursday afternoon, Italy and Spain meet yet again -- this time for a Confederations Cup semifinal in Fortaleza, Brazil. When Gianluigi Buffon and Iker Casillas exchange pendants and contest the prematch coin toss, there'll be a particularly warm embrace -- you usually witness that between a pair of goalkeeper-captains anyway, but Buffon and Casillas are becoming particularly familiar foes.

This will be the 11th time Buffon and Casillas have met -- four times in Champions League clashes between Juventus and Real Madrid, and now seven times for their national sides. Their amazing consistency over such an extended period, and their status as World Cup winners, means both should be considered among the all-time goalkeeping greats, and while this remains very much a friendly rivalry, it has arguably become the greatest goalkeeping battle of all time.

The duo rose to prominence at a staggeringly young age -- a 17-year-old Buffon famously kept a clean sheet on his debut with eventual Serie A champions Milan in 1995 and made his international debut just two years later. Casillas, too, made his senior debut at 17 and was an international -- and a European Cup winner -- by 19.
Now 35 and 32 respectively, the longevity of the two goalkeepers is particularly astounding, and these days, we marvel at their caps record. Buffon has 131 caps and will surpass his old teammate Fabio Cannavaro's record before next summer's World Cup, while Casillas is already Spain's most-capped footballer, on 146.

However, they were already trendsetters once they'd established themselves as international regulars and dependable choices for major club sides. Traditionally, goalkeepers established themselves at a later age than outfield players, but Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech was particularly inspired by Buffon and Casillas' precocious development.

"Oliver Kahn, Peter Schmeichel and Edwin van der Sar inspired me early in my career," Cech told UEFA last season. "Then Buffon appeared and changed everything. Later, Casillas was very interesting -- he started to play for Real Madrid, historically one of the best teams in the world, at the age of 17 or 18. So I told myself: 'OK, if he can play for a big club so young, age is not an obstacle, there is no reason why I can't make it too.'"

However, even Casillas defers to Buffon -- who is three years older, and therefore became established slightly earlier. "Buffon has my admiration and maximum respect," he told Onda Madrid ahead of their meeting in last year's Euro 2012 final. "He is an exceptional goalkeeper and is still amongst the best. For goalkeepers that are a little younger than him, he has been a reference, he has driven us and we wanted to be like him. We have a good relationship and every time we meet it is a pleasure."

There's a subtle but passionate rivalry between Italian football and Spanish football, involving both technical and stylistic differences, and a sense of direct competition considering Spain have overcome Italy on their way to the past two European Championships. Whether an individual prefers Buffon or Casillas is probably a reflection on whether they've absorbed more Serie A or La Liga over the past decade -- similar debates could be had between Andrea Pirlo and Xavi Hernandez, Fabio Cannavaro and Carles Puyol or Alessandro Del Piero and Raul Gonzalez. But the competition between Buffon and Casillas is so interesting because it remains so basic -- relatively few tactical or fitness concerns come into it, and it's a straight battle between two talented players.

Casillas looks up to Buffon literally as well as figuratively, as the Italian is nine centimetres taller than the Spain No. 1. The difference is obvious when the duo embrace, and it's also a key factor when it comes to commanding the penalty area -- Casillas' all-round goalkeeping game is less impressive than Buffon's. Casillas rarely strides from his goal line to claim crosses and relieve the pressure on the defence, whereas Buffon is an amazingly imposing, powerful figure. It's always a little difficult to know quite whether Buffon qualifies as 'tall,' in the Francesco Toldo mould, or "big," like Angelo Peruzzi. He's both.

Buffon remains a considerable force in the penalty box, and a huge presence inside the goal itself. That simple concept of "presence" shouldn't be underestimated for goalkeepers in top-level sides, who frequently need to make only two or three saves per match but are capable of outwitting opponents psychologically on the rare occasions they glimpse the whites of the goalkeeper's eyes.

Buffon's distribution is also better, which is a little surprising considering Casillas comes from the Spanish school that favours short passing from the back. However, Casillas' throws and kicks are much less impressive than his two understudies in the Spain national side, Victor Valdes and Pepe Reina, who both developed at Barcelona, where they were encouraged to play out from the back at an early age.

With Real Madrid usually playing with a big, powerful No. 9, Casillas is more accustomed to kicking long than goalkeepers at many top-level modern sides. Buffon might not be renowned for long, Schmeichel-style overarm throws, but his kicking is good -- his calm forward passing enables the likes of Leonardo Bonucci and Andrea Pirlo start passing moves from deep.

In terms of leadership, the two men have different approaches. Buffon is a vociferous, old-school leader who barks out instructions to his defence and noticeably leads the singing of the national anthem. Casillas is more timid, leading by example and leaving on-field leadership to centre back Carles Puyol when the centre back is fit, although Casillas' relationship with Barcelona midfielder Xavi Hernandez has been crucial in keeping the Spain squad harmonious, despite recent Clasico-based tensions.

Casillas' strong suit is the traditional goalkeeping attribute -- his reactions are incredible, which means he's an astonishingly capable shot-stopper, and marginally superior to Buffon in this respect. Casillas' dives seem more elastic and far-reaching, and his lightning quick footwork to scramble across his goal line compensates for his relative lack of height. The only drawback, in this respect, is Casillas' tendency to palm the ball back into play, and Real Madrid have often conceded goals from rebounds over the past decade.

When comparing two goalkeepers, traditionally the superior shot-stopper is automatically considered the better option -- that, after all, is their primary responsibility. The Buffon versus Casillas debate, however, prompts you to reconsider your views on goalkeeping in general: Casillas is marginally more impressive at making saves, but Buffon is superior in all other areas.

•   Tags: Real Madrid|Iker Casillas|Gianluigi Buffon|Juventus

Post by: Tenorsaw on June 29, 2013, 08:46:24 AM
Nice article.  I believe that over the course of their careers, I'd give Buffon the edge, as he has greater range on crosses, to go along with his great shot stopping abilities.  Casillas is probably the more athletic of the two, but he is less consistent on crosses.  Buffon has been the epitome of composure over his career.  Not much between the two, and I'm sure Casillas has his supporters too..
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 29, 2013, 09:13:16 AM
will miss both of them when they retire
Post by: dinho on August 26, 2013, 11:58:28 AM
This weekend was yet another horror show from Hart, and is about time he see some bench. Give Pantimillon an opportunity.

From the time the English start to hype him up as one of the best goalkeepers in the world and start to compare him with Casillas, Buffon, Cech etc, i notice a big change in his disposition and i believe it has affected his game. He went from someone trying to make a name for himself and keep his spot to someone who thought he reach and enjoying all the spoils that went with that.

I heard that Platt said if Mancini was still at City, Hart would be on the bench because they agreed a deal to sign Begovic.

If i was Pellegrini, i'd put him on the bench and make him realize that he have to earn back a spot especially in this World Cup year because his head seems to be all over the place.

Basic fundamental errors game after game, no excuse for that from a supposedly top class goalkeeper.
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 26, 2013, 03:11:18 PM
This weekend was yet another horror show from Hart, and is about time he see some bench. Give Pantimillon an opportunity.

From the time the English start to hype him up as one of the best goalkeepers in the world and start to compare him with Casillas, Buffon, Cech etc, i notice a big change in his disposition and i believe it has affected his game. He went from someone trying to make a name for himself and keep his spot to someone who thought he reach and enjoying all the spoils that went with that.

I heard that Platt said if Mancini was still at City, Hart would be on the bench because they agreed a deal to sign Begovic.

If i was Pellegrini, i'd put him on the bench and make him realize that he have to earn back a spot especially in this World Cup year because his head seems to be all over the place.

Basic fundamental errors game after game, no excuse for that from a supposedly top class goalkeeper.

Agree that he'd have been benched by Mancini.  He's going through a rough patch right now, that he can hopefully ride out.  Everytime the English think they finally have a world class keeper on their hands, he ends up in a rot.  In terms of current form, Ben Foster seems to be the best of the English keepers right now.  I still think Hart is the longterm #1 though.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 21, 2013, 07:48:15 AM
Right now, Brad Guzan is making a serious case to be the US #1.  He has really developed ever since being given the starting job at Villa:  he has great range on crosses, great shot stopping ability, and organizes his young backline very well.  Howard is still Klinsmann's choice, but Guzan is ready to step in, if Howard loses form.  Based on form over the last year, I'd give the edge to Guzan, but as they say in boxing, you need to erase any inkling of doubt when yuh challenging the champ for the title.
Post by: dinho on September 21, 2013, 12:59:02 PM
Right now, Brad Guzan is making a serious case to be the US #1.  He has really developed ever since being given the starting job at Villa:  he has great range on crosses, great shot stopping ability, and organizes his young backline very well.  Howard is still Klinsmann's choice, but Guzan is ready to step in, if Howard loses form.  Based on form over the last year, I'd give the edge to Guzan, but as they say in boxing, you need to erase any inkling of doubt when yuh challenging the champ for the title.

Agreed... What I like about Guzan out of all the keepers in the EPL is that he is the most aggressive in coming for cross balls... Anything flighted in the air he going for and winning, teams actually think twice before flighting diagonal balls into the box.

Very commanding presence, and as with all US keepers, excellent reflexes as well. In front of a better defence he would probably be getting alot more pips like Mignolet is getting at Liverpool.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 21, 2013, 05:47:29 PM

Agreed... What I like about Guzan out of all the keepers in the EPL is that he is the most aggressive in coming for cross balls... Anything flighted in the air he going for and winning, teams actually think twice before flighting diagonal balls into the box.

Very commanding presence, and as with all US keepers, excellent reflexes as well. In front of a better defence he would probably be getting alot more pips like Mignolet is getting at Liverpool.

Mignolet has been great thus far.  His weakness:  not great with his feet like Pepe Reina, and so we can't build from the back as we want to.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 15, 2013, 08:18:03 PM
Anyone make out William Yarbrough? GK for Leon. Eligible for Mexico and the US. One wonders what will become of that. Will the folks in Chicago make a move? He certainly has a heightened profile after pulling off the title.
Post by: Tiresais on December 16, 2013, 02:21:22 AM
He'll probably hold out for Mexico, and if that's not moving declare for US.. Obviously he should go where his heart is, but he's unlikely to make the Mexico team as they have a bunch of good keepers (hell if Ochoa is kept out of the team you know how good they are!)
Post by: asylumseeker on December 16, 2013, 02:38:14 PM
He'll probably hold out for Mexico, and if that's not moving declare for US.. Obviously he should go where his heart is, but he's unlikely to make the Mexico team as they have a bunch of good keepers (hell if Ochoa is kept out of the team you know how good they are!)

Time is on his side. He's GK young, and a tick to two ticks younger than the go to figures in the position. Mainly, I'm intrigued by the reverse migratory flow that led to his presence in MEX, but I don't have a firm technical/tactical/mentality assessment of his standing. However, what's clear is he kept like a beast in the apertura final, and frustrated America's ambition to lift the title. In doing so, he won several plaudits. Now, Herrera moves on from America to concentrate on the NT's Brazil WC venture, and he'll be faced with the choice of selecting 3 GKs for Rio. The door is not closed to WPY, but he's probably a player for the the post-WC cycle.

Ultimately, one way to neutralize him is to cap him.

Post by: Tenorsaw on December 16, 2013, 05:06:44 PM

Time is on his side. He's GK young, and a tick to two ticks younger than the go to figures in the position. Mainly, I'm intrigued by the reverse migratory flow that led to his presence in MEX, but I don't have a firm technical/tactical/mentality assessment of his standing. However, what's clear is he kept like a beast in the apertura final, and frustrated America's ambition to lift the title. In doing so, he won several plaudits. Now, Herrera moves on from America to concentrate on the NT's Brazil WC venture, and he'll be faced with the choice of selecting 3 GKs for Rio. The door is not closed to WPY, but he's probably a player for the the post-WC cycle.

Klinsmann probably onto him already.  Even more so than Mexico, the U.S. is stacked at that position.  There are about 10 of them playing in Europe, not to mention the very capable stock that exists in the MLS.
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 29, 2014, 10:40:42 AM
Been asking myself this question for years:  Why hasn't Julian Speroni been called up for Argentina?  It's an utter disgrace that Sabella called up two GKs that are second choice GKs at Monaco and Catania for Argentina's recent friendly.  Speroni has been consistent over the last 10 years.  He left Argentina early, and that is often a disadvantage for South American players.  But with today's info superhighway, there is absolutely no excuse for not scouting this fella.  He is excellent at shot stopping, very capable on crosses, and has great presence.  Definitely having another great season for Crystal Palace.  Call up the man, Sabella, and stop with this bias shit.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2014, 01:23:37 PM
Been asking myself this question for years:  Why hasn't Julian Speroni been called up for Argentina?  It's an utter disgrace that Sabella called up two GKs that are second choice GKs at Monaco and Catania for Argentina's recent friendly.  Speroni has been consistent over the last 10 years.  He left Argentina early, and that is often a disadvantage for South American players.  But with today's info superhighway, there is absolutely no excuse for not scouting this fella.  He is excellent at shot stopping, very capable on crosses, and has great presence.  Definitely having another great season for Crystal Palace.  Call up the man, Sabella, and stop with this bias shit.

The AFA is aware of Speroni. His name emerges in almost every conversation about WC selection, and he's certainly a candidate for inclusion. However, perhaps at the margins of the 3rd spot. Keep hope alive.
Post by: mukumsplau on March 29, 2014, 02:23:33 PM
look out for this name

Simone Scuffet.

Plays for Udinese....this guy is good...very good and he's only...wait for it...

Post by: Tenorsaw on March 31, 2014, 03:44:08 PM
look out for this name

Simone Scuffet.

Plays for Udinese....this guy is good...very good and he's only...wait for it...

Looks like they have the next Buffon in waiting?  Will do an assessment of him.
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 31, 2014, 03:48:31 PM

The AFA is aware of Speroni. His name emerges in almost every conversation about WC selection, and he's certainly a candidate for inclusion. However, perhaps at the margins of the 3rd spot. Keep hope alive.

That is the problem: he should be #1.  Argentina is not producing and has not produced a truly world class GK in quite a while, so he should not have to be waiting line for a call-up.  It'll be a bloody shame if Speroni is selected as 3rd choice for the WC, especially if the two in front of him are not playing for their clubs.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2014, 04:36:13 PM

That is the problem: he should be #1.  Argentina is not producing and has not produced a truly world class GK in quite a while, so he should not have to be waiting line for a call-up.  It'll be a bloody shame if Speroni is selected as 3rd choice for the WC, especially if the two in front of him are not playing for their clubs.

I don't disagree. Thing is Sabella (like his Mexican counterpart) is very comfy/loyal with players he has worked with previously or has familiarity with. This doesn't assist Speroni.

Frankly, without considered reflection, aside from Heinze I can't think of another player who navigated having made it into the European pro ranks on his own steam at an advanced age ... then into the national team. Both had foreign passports. Even Messi has had to win over the Argentine faithful to a degree ... having left at a young age, although acknowledged to be the future by AFA, he had to win the hearts of the guys in the street. Fortunately for Speroni, he hasn't done or said anything that I'm aware of to irritate the hierarchy ... so hopefully he can penetrate ... but Sabella is said to be stubborn.

We've seen ARG goalkeeper changes at the WC so we never know how it might play out ... for instance, Leo Franco in for Abbondanzieri in '06 and in '90 (Goicochea in for Pumpido). Sergio Romero has experience ... I'm not a great fan, but he has international experience aplenty. Andujar as well. The third ... Orion you can see in action on the Riquelme thread ... I would take Speroni over him.

I think it's a chemistry decision. However, whoever they take ... they need to be blooding a heir for 2018 ... a 20-something. None of these guys will linger long on the international stage.
Post by: Flex on April 01, 2014, 07:34:20 AM
From Lincoln Phillips.

Great thread on goalkeeping, I am really enjoying the comments made and hope that you continue enlightening the readers on the art of goalkeeping. However, there is one thought that I do not agree with.... a goalkeeper does not have to be consistent to be considered a world class player.

Take it from me, in order to be considered a "world class" a goalkeeper MUST be consistent. Yes, the player may have a bad game every now and then, where he gives up a goal that is quite savable.

However, a world class (quality) goalkeeper therefore, is one who gives up an own goal (his fault)one in every 20 games...that shows consistency on his part.

I firmly believe and will always support the notion that consistency is the cornerstone to quality goalkeeping. Please refer to my book: Soccer Goalkeeping: The last Line of Defence: The First Line of Attack.....see Amazon.com. I am in the process of revising the book and would entertain comments and suggestions on how to improve the presentation. Your comments are always welcomed.

Post by: Tenorsaw on April 02, 2014, 12:16:06 PM

Yep, the very best make mistakes.  Point is, that they don't do it often, so it stands out when it happens.  Then, you have the next level of keeprs that will make a mistake every 3-5 games.

Agreed.  Below was my assessment on world class GKs and frequency of mistakes.  I'd even beg to put a range of 15-20 games without howlers; reason being that the new swirveing balls are being made more in the favor of strikers and have proven to be a nemesis for many a GK today.
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 02, 2014, 12:18:13 PM
From Lincoln Phillips.

Great thread on goalkeeping, I am really enjoying the comments made and hope that you continue enlightening the readers on the art of goalkeeping. However, there is one thought that I do not agree with.... a goalkeeper does not have to be consistent to be considered a world class player.

Take it from me, in order to be considered a "world class" a goalkeeper MUST be consistent. Yes, the player may have a bad game every now and then, where he gives up a goal that is quite savable.

However, a world class (quality) goalkeeper therefore, is one who gives up an own goal (his fault)one in every 20 games...that shows consistency on his part.

I firmly believe and will always support the notion that consistency is the cornerstone to quality goalkeeping. Please refer to my book: Soccer Goalkeeping: The last Line of Defence: The First Line of Attack.....see Amazon.com. I am in the process of revising the book and would entertain comments and suggestions on how to improve the presentation. Your comments are always welcomed.

Mind you, my GK coach actually used this book to guide his sessions when training me, and had me read from it for homework.  Great book!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2014, 10:57:49 AM
Lincoln's book ... Soccer Goalkeeping: The Last Line of Defense, The First Line of Attack is a boss read and a great resource. Available on Amazon etc.

Ah feel a commi$sion in order!  :)

From Lincoln Phillips.

I am in the process of revising the book and would entertain comments and suggestions on how to improve the presentation. Your comments are always welcomed.

Great move, there's a dearth of quality material out there.
Post by: Bianconeri on April 03, 2014, 08:06:24 PM
From Lincoln Phillips.

well said Lincoln and a great book that is definitely a great read.
Totally agreed on the consistency aspect of a goalkeeper. That level of safety and confidence from a goalkeeper further assists his defense as they have one less thing to worry about, knowing their keeper has things under control.

Post by: Bianconeri on April 03, 2014, 08:45:55 PM
regarding Speroni vs. everyone else.

Dont think it would be wise to throw him in the deep-end

Speroni has no caps at the senior level
and argentina probably have like 3 games before the WC to get things together...WAYYY too short a time frame to slot him in i think
maybe he can be their 2nd string
but at that lvl experience carries a lot of weight (See Casillas and Julio Cesar---although with these 2...there is a larger pool of high quality keepers to replace them)

I think that with Argentina there are not many options to choose from right now..
Romero is a top lvl keeper still...just having a rough time at Monaco
cant see Andujar taking over either
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 04, 2014, 12:43:23 PM

and argentina probably have like 3 games before the WC to get things together...WAYYY too short a time frame to slot him in i think
but at that lvl experience carries a lot of weight (See Casillas and Julio Cesar---although with these 2...there is a larger pool of high quality keepers to replace them)

I think that with Argentina there are not many options to choose from right now..

He is Argentine like the rest of them and still has strong ties back home.  He is a professional and would grab at the opportunity to play.  He'll be playing among his fellow nationals, which should make for a more seamless adjustment.  You should go with the best, and right now, he is technically the best in the Argentine GK pool.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 15, 2014, 12:19:34 PM
The reality is Chelsea rate Courtois. He has long been earmarked as the successor to Petr Cech at Stamford Bridge, his progress in Spain scrutinised on a weekly basis by the goalkeeping coach, Christophe Lollichon. "We liaise each week and I watch videos or go and see him," said the Frenchman, who had scouted the 17-year-old Courtois in Belgium eight or nine times to assess his ability. "For me, he is the next No1 in the world. He is exceptional. I never see this quality before, except [with] Petr.

"He is very intelligent, technically very good. Tactically he has to improve, and we work a lot with the video. I send him every week or every two weeks, depending on the schedule, my analysis of his games. I send him my answers. He is happy with the club he is at and with the level of competition. It is very difficult because Chelsea always need the best, so now we have to find the good timing [as to when he returns to his parent club]."

At some stage Lollichon and Mourinho will have to have an awkward conversation with Cech about succession, though that time is not yet. With that in mind, there has been some anxiety among the hierarchy at Chelsea that Courtois's contract will have only two years to run this summer. There have been talks with his representative and there will be further negotiations aimed at securing the goalkeeper to a new five-year deal.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/apr/11/chelsea-atletico-madrid-thibaut-courtois
Post by: Bianconeri on April 15, 2014, 03:28:32 PM

He is Argentine like the rest of them and still has strong ties back home.  He is a professional and would grab at the opportunity to play.  He'll be playing among his fellow nationals, which should make for a more seamless adjustment.  You should go with the best, and right now, he is technically the best in the Argentine GK pool.

Sorry...i disagree with that assessment then

Plus Romero getting a few games recently..
his spot safe...n he is a decent keeper

Any keeper will be ".... a professional and would grab at the opportunity to play" as u said..
that is cliche type statements right there u making

Speroni is a backup..3rd string at best this WC
cant jus throw in a player, a keeper self, at this late stage to be your starter for WC

unless Romero or Andujar get injured....it aint happening
Post by: asylumseeker on May 03, 2014, 10:16:32 AM
Lincoln's book ... Soccer Goalkeeping: The Last Line of Defense, The First Line of Attack is a boss read and a great resource. Available on Amazon etc.

Ah feel a commi$sion in order!  :)

From Lincoln Phillips.

I am in the process of revising the book and would entertain comments and suggestions on how to improve the presentation. Your comments are always welcomed.

Great move, there's a dearth of quality material out there.

Heheheh, ah really feel ah gehhin ah commission one way or another  :devil:. Allyuh, the new book is ... Rising Above and Beyond the Crossbar: The Life Story of Lincoln Tiger Phillips. Support it! (http://www.amazon.com/Rising-Above-Beyond-Crossbar-Phillips/dp/1491862483)

Hope the launching went well!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 23, 2015, 12:47:52 PM

Klinsmann probably onto him already.  Even more so than Mexico, the U.S. is stacked at that position.  There are about 10 of them playing in Europe, not to mention the very capable stock that exists in the MLS.

The call has come. Named in Klinsmann's squad.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 15, 2015, 08:35:42 PM
Homework pays off for Brazil’s Jean
FIFA.com

(http://img.fifa.com/mm/photo/tournament/competition/02/64/81/97/2648197_full-lnd.jpg)

Given the global nature of the modern game, few secrets remain so for very long. In the case of Portugal’s Raphael Guzzo on Sunday 14 June, predictability proved costly.

Handed the responsibility of his side’s second spot-kick in the shoot-out versus Brazil in the quarter-finals of the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015, with the scores at 1-1, the midfielder decided to strike his penalty down the middle – as he had done successfully several times this season. Unfortunately for him, Brazil keeper Jean knew what was coming.

“When I saw him setting himself up to take his kick, I had no doubts whatsoever,” said the custodian, speaking to FIFA.com, on a pivotal moment in sending A Seleção through to a semi-final versus Senegal in Christchurch. “Before the game I studied quite a few of their kick-takers. I’d seen three of his kicks and he went down the middle with all three, so I feigned to dive and stayed in the centre.”

By doing so the ball flew softly into his waiting hands, a save that contributed to this being “without doubt my best ever day in football, my happiest day”, continued the Bahia shotstopper, after his exploits in a cold and rainy Hamilton. Indeed, given that representing his country “is something else”, Jean was even more delighted than when winning the Baiano state championship with his club recently, having made his first-team bow a few months ago.

Making the Auriverde’s shoot-out success even sweeter was the suffering that preceded it, as Brazil were second-best for large portions of the 120 minutes of goalless play. “We were lucky,” admitted Jean, his broad smile reflecting all his joy and relief.

“They do say that a goalkeeper needs a bit of luck, and I certainly got that! They [Portugal] had quite a few chances; for some of them I made good saves and others they wasted. But we had enough in the tank to hold on for penalties and managed to come away with a win.”

All of which must make Jean even more grateful to have settled on becoming a goalkeeper at 12, having been a promising left-sided wide-player in futsal until that age. In the end, blood ties proved decisive, Jean Paulo Fernandes – to give him his full name – is the son of Jean Carlos Fernandes, a former Bahia fans’ favourite and the back-up to ex-Brazil No1 Dida in the Cruzeiro squad that won the 1997 Copa Libertadores.

“I used to go with him to quite a few of his training sessions,” explained Jean. “I fell in love with the position and fortunately I was able to play it. We’re a little different in style (laughs heartily). Technique-wise we’re pretty similar, but the style of play in general has changed a lot over time. I’m a modern keeper - good with my feet and quick and agile. I position myself well on my line too.”

Also working in his favour is a keen desire to improve, watching videos supplied to him by Brazil’s goalkeeping coach and seeking out footage of his own. “I watch quite a lot, such as of [Manuel] Neuer, who’s a modern-day icon,” said Jean. “I also watch vids of Dida in shoot-outs, as penalties are important at a World Cup. I watch so many to try and get an appreciation for their qualities and then put them into practice.”

And one of the qualities of a top-level custodian which Jean has shown at New Zealand 2015 is the ability to put a mistake behind him, having allowed a speculative effort from Hungary’s Bence Mervo to squirm through his hands and over the line in A Canarinha’s second group game.

“I never lost my focus,” said Jean, on the error that led to the opening goal in a match Brazil eventually won 2-1 against ten men. “What happened happened, I put it behind me and I had to forget it, turn the page mentally, in order to put in good performances.”

Moreover, since that slip-up, Jean has gone 412 minutes without conceding a goal in open play, a record which puts him in sixth place in U-20 World Cup history – just 163 behind the record set by Portugal’s Mika at Colombia 2011.

“It’s quite a long time, but it’s not just down to me, it’s down to the whole squad. Sometimes it’s me who makes a save, sometimes the defenders step in, but overall this [reaching the last four] is the result of good teamwork.”
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2015, 08:26:47 AM
Listen to Shaka Hislop discuss why he thinks Buffon was the most compelling goalkeeper during the recent European season. Hislop's comments occur during discussion on the BBC World Service on selection of a European XI.

John Bennett is joined by former South Africa striker Benni McCarthy, Italian football expert Mina Rzouki & Spanish football journalist Ernest Macia decide their eleven with the help of expertise from former West Ham Goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, former Liverpool defender Stephane Henchoz, former Bayer Leverkusen midfielder Carsten Ramelow and former Chelsea striker Saloman Kalou.

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/worldservice/sports/sports_20150613-2009a.mp3
Title: Re: Keeper Pfannenstiel backs up Goddard at Whitecaps
Post by: asylumseeker on August 14, 2015, 04:21:05 PM
Keeper Pfannenstiel backs up Goddard at Whitecaps (http://blog.tntingermany.com/index.php?/archives/27-Keeper-Pfannenstiel-backs-up-Goddard-at-Whitecaps.html#extended)

German goalkeeper Lutz Pfannenstiel has been acquired by the Vancouver Whitecaps to back up Tobago born Richard Goddard between the sticks. From the Vancouver Sun:

Keeper goes global

His new teammates might have thought they had it tough when they played six straight road games over 20 days in late June and the first two weeks of July. But that would rate as only a minor inconvenience in the nomadic career of Lutz Pfannenstiel, the latest and most widely travelled goalkeeper signed by the Vancouver Whitecaps.

Four continents, 19 teams, and more than 270 games of globe trotting preceded Pfannenstiel's July 3 agreement to ink a contract with the defending United Soccer Leagues First Division champions, who have struggled on the road but now have eight of their remaining nine regular-season games at Burnaby's Swangard Stadium.

"My early impressions are the talent in the squad is good," Pfannenstiel said Tuesday as the Caps prepared for a Friday home game against the Seattle Sounders following a marathon journey to the U.S. southeast and northwest that resulted in one win, two losses and three ties. "Travelling for long periods is hard on any soccer team, but I've seen enough of the Whitecaps to know that we can turn our recent struggles into positive results. The challenge is to make the most of these home games on the schedule."

A 34-year-old native of Zwiesel, Germany, Pfannenstiel was signed by the Caps following the departure of regular starting 'keeper Tony Caig on June 20 for what the club described as "personal reasons." Acquired as Richard Goddard's back-up, Pfannenstiel made a promising debut by posting a shutout in the Caps' 0-0 tie with the expansion Carolina RailHawks on July 3. But he also saw playing time in a 2-1 home-field loss to Miami FC on July 14 and in a 2-1 loss to the host Portland Timbers on July 19.

Pfannenstiel's pro career started in 1989, at age 16, with FC Bad Kotzting of Germany's Bavarian Oberliga. He was good enough to earn a transfer to famed German powerhouse Bayern Munich and had early dreams of remaining with the multiple Bundesliga champions. But Pfannenstiel soon realized his chances for regular first-team playing time with Bayern were very limited behind legendary starter Oliver Kahn.

Pfannenstiel's subsequent travels included stints with club sides in England, South Africa, Singapore, Belgium, New Zealand, Canada, Norway and Finland either as an under-contract or loan player. His longest time with a team was with Finnish Premier League side TPV Tampere from 1993 to '95, and one of his shorter stints was with the Calgary Mustangs. He played one season with the Mustangs, in 2004, before the franchise folded.

"I knew about Lutz when he played in Calgary," said Caps head coach Bob Lilley. "He had a reputation as a good shot stopper and became a good option for us after we lost Tony Caig."

Lilley hasn't decided whether Goddard, a Trinidad and Tobago native, or Pfannenstiel will start against Seattle as the Caps aim to snap a four-game losing streak. But the man between the posts better be sharp. Regular starting centre backs Steve Klein (hamstring) and Adrian Cann (foot) were nursing injuries Tuesday and are likely to sit.

A definite injury scratch is productive striker Eddy Sebrango, who has scored a team-leading seven goals. Sebrango underwent surgery on his left foot last Thursday and is expected to be sidelined until late August.

(http://www.tntingermany.com/xml.gif) TnT in Germany RSS feed (http://blog.tntingermany.com/index.php?/feeds/index.rss2)

Just stumbled on this as I was trying to arrange the German football thread. Lutz is now an EXCEPTIONAL goalkeeper coach and just as good as a storyteller. He's played professionally in every confederation.

One of the experiences he shared was about the idea that Brazil did not produce good goalkeepers. Said when he went to Brazil to play, the technical training was eye-opening; more advanced/expansive than he had experienced in Europe. Said it called for an expanded range of motion.

There was a technique he couldn't perform (but which the Brazilian goalies were masters of effortlessly in distribution) and the coach told him he couldn't start unless he mastered it. Will have to check what it was, but if memory serves correctly ... it was about the difference in the way European goalies typically approached kicking "straight-on" rather than "side-on".

Serious guy, he doh hold no punches. But also light-hearted too.

Richard G, share something nah.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 29, 2015, 11:35:38 AM
Viewing the Bayern v Leverkusen game.  The Euro Sport commentator just rocked me when he said Neuer has been beaten by a free kick only once since his arrival at Bayern. Stunned for two reasons: Neuer has spent nuff time at Bayern and I didn't realize the significance of that goal when I saw it. When you take into account his ability on penalty kicks, coupled with that stat, and everything else about him, de fella is extra special.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 09, 2015, 08:20:04 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/q8eNSTw-SVQ
Post by: asylumseeker on December 10, 2015, 10:59:50 AM
Seeking to identify all of the goalkeeper coaches in the Pro League and the Super League. Any help with this will be appreciated.  :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2015, 08:05:22 AM
Seeking to identify all of the goalkeeper coaches in the Pro League and the Super League. Any help with this will be appreciated.  :beermug:

Club Sando: Robert De Gale
Morvant Caldeonia United: Steve Frederick
Police FC: Glennon Foncette
St. Ann’s Rangers: Rayshawn Mars
W-Connection: Trevor Nottingham
Post by: Bianconeri on December 12, 2015, 09:27:22 PM
Asylumseeker....

whats the purpose of this info?
course being offered?

QPCC - Jefferson George
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2017, 03:57:22 PM

Keeper goes global

Just stumbled on this as I was trying to arrange the German football thread. Lutz is now an EXCEPTIONAL goalkeeper coach and just as good as a storyteller. He's played professionally in every confederation.

One of the experiences he shared was about the idea that Brazil did not produce good goalkeepers. Said when he went to Brazil to play, the technical training was eye-opening; more advanced/expansive than he had experienced in Europe. Said it called for an expanded range of motion.

There was a technique he couldn't perform (but which the Brazilian goalies were masters of effortlessly in distribution) and the coach told him he couldn't start unless he mastered it. Will have to check what it was, but if memory serves correctly ... it was about the difference in the way European goalies typically approached kicking "straight-on" rather than "side-on".

Serious guy, he doh hold no punches. But also light-hearted too.

Richard G, share something nah.

At 40.5 years old, El Loco Sebastien Abreu will likely debut in about 1.5 hours for Puerto Montt in Chile's second division. If this holds true, he will join Lutz as joint holder of the record for having played for 25* clubs in his career. Ticket sales have been brisk.

*Will confirm the #. Seeing various figures, but have not looked in Guinness, where the details of the Record stand.

Quite a career for a journeyman. World Cups and Copa Americas etc.