Post by: Israel on August 04, 2007, 08:11:59 AM
1- 0 sunderland, murphy in the 6th
Title: Re: Sunderland vs Juventus
Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2007, 08:15:49 AM
http://mfile.akamai.com/6095/live/reflector:35549.asx?bkup= 35550

you link giving serious trouble, no audio no videon on wmp, no video on vlc
Post by: mukumsplau on August 04, 2007, 08:17:37 AM
come on juve non ah dis foolishness today!!!!!
Post by: Israel on August 04, 2007, 08:20:39 AM
the audio link is on this page

http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=255733&page=5

Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2007, 09:03:51 AM
commentators said they disappointed that Carlos not playing more in the preseason, they seem to not be sure how serious his injury (groin or hamstring) is though  :-\
Post by: TdotTrini on August 04, 2007, 09:22:59 AM
Ahright, Yorke in.
Post by: Trinitim on August 04, 2007, 09:23:47 AM
 HE has a groin injury they said that on Sunderland's website in the build up to the game. All the best Carlos recover quickly the commentator had it spot on he siad this guy CARLOS has the ability to make a BIG NAME FOR HIMSELF IN THE PREMIERSHIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Trinitim on August 04, 2007, 09:25:43 AM

Look like Stern John coming on!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Israel on August 04, 2007, 09:45:51 AM
Like stern throw away again
Post by: g on August 04, 2007, 09:46:10 AM
Stern jus miss a glaring chance. Definitely looking at the bench next week as the commentary sayin
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 04, 2007, 09:47:40 AM
Stern playing?

when i checked the team this morning on safc.com  stern wasnt even on the team ???

Whatever...Come on Legend 14   Do it to dem italians
Post by: Peong on August 04, 2007, 09:50:20 AM
Stern John with a legendary miss.
Post by: Israel on August 04, 2007, 09:50:47 AM
1-1 full time, commentators said Stern should have scored
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 04, 2007, 09:51:15 AM
Jeez. Dis man does make it so hard to support him.
Post by: palos on August 04, 2007, 09:58:50 AM
Stern John with a legendary miss.

LOL!  Allyuh doh like nobody nah... ;D :rotfl:
Post by: Grande on August 04, 2007, 10:42:40 AM
wuh de...I ain't know this game was today  :banginghead:

anyone know the starting lineup for Juventus?

Stern and yuh better score a damn goal eh...this is the game to do it in. Especially if is Buffon in net
Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2007, 10:49:37 AM
wuh de...I ain't know this game was today  :banginghead:

Stern and yuh better score a damn goal eh...this is the game to do it in. Especially if is Buffon in net

Game done long time man, and Stern miss he chance  :'(
Post by: saga pinto on August 04, 2007, 11:37:03 AM
I notice why a lot of people are not incline to support stern as a legitimate striker,simply because he's not a polished finisher,everything he does,looks scrappy,even simple turns or dribbling looks off key,or rushed,most of his fans might say so long as he gets the job done and I they with allyuh on that,but it seems for every 20 misses he scores 1,now think about how indemand he would be if he scored half or most of his missed opportunities.

But if better can't be done,let the worse continue........         
Post by: Big Magician on August 04, 2007, 12:28:59 PM
all ah allyuh.....name a better striker/finisher in TnT for me   NOW....
Post by: berris on August 04, 2007, 12:29:09 PM
I notice why a lot of people are not incline to support stern as a legitimate striker,simply because he's not a polished finisher,everything he does,looks scrappy,even simple turns or dribbling looks off key,or rushed,most of his fans might say so long as he gets the job done and I they with allyuh on that,but it seems for every 20 misses he scores 1,now think about how indemand he would be if he scored half or most of his missed opportunities.

Everybody entitled to their opinion, right ?....even the ones that doh have ah f**kin clue about d game...even the ones that that bum dey f**kin gum loud loud when #14 miss ....even the ones that does jump on d band waggon when he score....even the ones that find it necessary to fight down de man every chance they get.Is like all yuh haters  just be waitin for #14 to miss,throw away or just have ah bad game to come out here and say ''yuh see ah tell yuh so'' All yuh eh have nuttin better to do than fight down d man ..Now everything #14 does ''looks scrappy'' nice time to bum yuh gum, right after the man eh score .How come your Ray Charles observation wasn't posted after the last game ,yuh know d one ah talkin bout nah ,d one wey he fail to make ah ''simple turn'' and  then ''rushed'' an toepee ah cross,is ah good thing  Conolly just so happen to be dey whey de ball land right ?... or de one wey he messup ah one two with connolly and clumsly and scrappily had d ball richoche off he left shin bone and went een right ?or de game before dat when he ''look off key'' and jump up n leh de ball bounce off he ears and go een ..EH !!!...
Doh fool yuhself u eh ''right dey'' with Stern fans on nuttin,you is ah #14 hater fullstop.
Like ah say everyone entitled to dey opinion even de ones that expose demslves to show dey eh have ah f**kin clue bout football far less strikers ?
Post by: Big Magician on August 04, 2007, 12:33:59 PM
tell dem berris.....any other tnt player playing....none of this crap is seen.....ah tired tell allyuh the rest of tnt strikers dont even get chances to miss in tnt games....F#CK off....

LETS SHOW STERN SOME SUPPORT
Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2007, 12:44:19 PM

Everybody entitled to their opinion, right ?....even the ones that doh have ah f**kin clue about d game...even the ones that that bum dey f**kin gum loud loud when #14 miss ....even the ones that does jump on d band waggon when he score....even the ones that find it necessary to fight down de man every chance they get.Is like all yuh haters  just be waitin for #14 to miss,throw away or just have ah bad game to come out here and say ''yuh see ah tell yuh so'' All yuh eh have nuttin better to do than fight down d man ..Now everything #14 does ''looks scrappy'' nice time to bum yuh gum, right after the man eh score .How come your Ray Charles observation wasn't posted after the last game ,yuh know d one ah talkin bout nah ,d one wey he fail to make ah ''simple turn'' and  then ''rushed'' an toepee ah cross,is ah good thing  Conolly just so happen to be dey whey de ball land right ?... or de one wey he messup ah one two with connolly and clumsly and scrappily had d ball richoche off he left shin bone and went een right ?or de game before dat when he ''look off key'' and jump up n leh de ball bounce off he ears and go een ..EH !!!...
Doh fool yuhself u eh ''right dey'' with Stern fans on nuttin,you is ah #14 hater fullstop.
Like ah say everyone entitled to dey opinion even de ones that expose demslves to show dey eh have ah f**kin clue bout football far less strikers ?

Post by: Zeppo on August 04, 2007, 12:48:39 PM

SUNDERLAND-JUVENTUS 1-1 (1-0)

GOALS: (first half) 8' Murphy; (second half) 43’ Molinaro

SUNDERLAND: Fulop (1’ s.h. Ward); Halford (40’ s.h. Kay), Nosworthy, McShane (29’ s.h. Anderson), Wallace (24’ s.h. Collins); Miller, Whitehead (15’ s.h. Yorke), Etuhu (15’ s.h. Stokes), Richardson; Murphy (24’ s.h. John), Chopra (15’ s.h. Connolly). Subs not used: Leadbitter, Varga, Donaghue. Manager: Keane.

JUVENTUS: Buffon (1’ s.h. Belardi); Zebina (1’ s.h. Birindelli), Andrade, Grygera (1’ s.h. Molinaro), Chiellini (28’ s.h. Criscito); Salihamidzic (1’ s.h. Del Piero), Almiron (24’ s.h. Zanetti), Tiago (15’ s.h. Nocerino), Nedved; Iaquinta (29’ s.h. Palladino), Trezeguet. Subs not used: Vanstrattan, Novembre, Legrottaglie, Boumsong, Blasi. Manager: Ranieri.

REFEREE: Riley.

NOTES: Etuhu booked.

http://www.juventus.com/uk/news/detail.aspx?lml_language_id=0&trs_id=1607000&ID=11912
Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2007, 12:57:06 PM
if Until better can't be done,let the worse boss continue........         

Fixed your post  ;D
Post by: lickslikefire on August 04, 2007, 12:57:34 PM

Everybody entitled to their opinion, right ?....even the ones that doh have ah f**kin clue about d game...even the ones that that bum dey f**kin gum loud loud when #14 miss ....even the ones that does jump on d band waggon when he score....even the ones that find it necessary to fight down de man every chance they get.Is like all yuh haters  just be waitin for #14 to miss,throw away or just have ah bad game to come out here and say ''yuh see ah tell yuh so'' All yuh eh have nuttin better to do than fight down d man ..Now everything #14 does ''looks scrappy'' nice time to bum yuh gum, right after the man eh score .How come your Ray Charles observation wasn't posted after the last game ,yuh know d one ah talkin bout nah ,d one wey he fail to make ah ''simple turn'' and  then ''rushed'' an toepee ah cross,is ah good thing  Conolly just so happen to be dey whey de ball land right ?... or de one wey he messup ah one two with connolly and clumsly and scrappily had d ball richoche off he left shin bone and went een right ?or de game before dat when he ''look off key'' and jump up n leh de ball bounce off he ears and go een ..EH !!!...

*weak*

Post by: saga pinto on August 04, 2007, 01:13:30 PM
Allyuh sweet too bad yes,My sincere apologies if I offended anyone of you guys,but if read correctly,it said that I noticed why people don't give him the credits that he's due,and then I proceeded to highlight areas and weaknesses,but that does'nt mean I hate stern,I salute him for his undying loyalty to team and country.

Yuh no is a tough world we live in and everyone  is entitled to his or her opinion,and at the end of the day,yuh get no breaks,we all live by ambivilance at some point in our lives.   

Post by: Grande on August 04, 2007, 01:32:38 PM
Yuh have to give jack his jacket and jim his boots.

Me eh blindly supporting the game of no player. If he do shit I will say so and similarly if he does well I will give him his props and praise. Stern did very well in his last game and in certain games for T&T, I can say that. Yet fromthe comments on this thread it sound like Stern miss an easy one, like he has done before, so I shall conclude he do shit. Does that make me a hater.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 04, 2007, 01:43:45 PM

Everybody entitled to their opinion, right ?....even the ones that doh have ah f**kin clue about d game...even the ones that that bum dey f**kin gum loud loud when #14 miss ....even the ones that does jump on d band waggon when he score....even the ones that find it necessary to fight down de man every chance they get.Is like all yuh haters  just be waitin for #14 to miss,throw away or just have ah bad game to come out here and say ''yuh see ah tell yuh so'' All yuh eh have nuttin better to do than fight down d man ..Now everything #14 does ''looks scrappy'' nice time to bum yuh gum, right after the man eh score .How come your Ray Charles observation wasn't posted after the last game ,yuh know d one ah talkin bout nah ,d one wey he fail to make ah ''simple turn'' and  then ''rushed'' an toepee ah cross,is ah good thing  Conolly just so happen to be dey whey de ball land right ?... or de one wey he messup ah one two with connolly and clumsly and scrappily had d ball richoche off he left shin bone and went een right ?or de game before dat when he ''look off key'' and jump up n leh de ball bounce off he ears and go een ..EH !!!...

Well said sir

LEGEND 14 FOREVER

HATERS f**k OFF
Post by: Bakes on August 04, 2007, 04:18:06 PM

...and men want to get on my case because I say he fiddling wid he balls on de field.
Post by: Bakes on August 04, 2007, 04:18:48 PM
all ah allyuh.....name a better striker/finisher in TnT for me   NOW....
Stern playing in TnT?

Here I tort he was fighting fuh ah spot on de Sunderland team...
Post by: berris on August 04, 2007, 04:57:38 PM

Me eh blindly supporting the game of no player. If he do shit I will say so and similarly if he does well I will give him his props and praise. Stern did very well in his last game and in certain games for T&T, I can say that. Yet fromthe comments on this thread it sound like Stern miss an easy one, like he has done before, so I shall conclude he do shit. Does that make me a hater.

No, it doh make yuh ah hater but if you cud ''conclude he do shit'' based on what some formites say and u eh even see d game , den it show you certainly eh no true supporter ah #14  dias all.
Post by: Father Abraham on August 04, 2007, 05:07:49 PM
hey we want stern to do well but to be honest he is past his best, and the truth of if he belongs in the premiership or not will be revealed this season. i believe he will end up in the championship division and then possibly in the mls. the mls will welcome him right now. all d best stern prove me wrong.
Post by: TdotTrini on August 04, 2007, 05:12:21 PM

No, it doh make yuh ah hater but if you cud ''conclude he do shit'' based on what some formites say and u eh even see d game , den it show you certainly eh no true supporter ah #14  dias all.

Are you suggestin that Stern did not help himself by not converting what seems like easy oppertunity to score goals. If he had a higher goals to throw away ratio i'm sure this debate on who hating on Stern will be a non issue.

Good luck Stern, hope to see you play next week.
Post by: TdotTrini on August 04, 2007, 05:15:36 PM
If Stern is still in favour with Keane, watch for him to come in as a super sub and win games for Sunderland.
Post by: Fyzoman on August 04, 2007, 06:26:17 PM

yuh preach dey bredda, but ah still support de brotha.......although, play allyuh don't know the kinda man Keane is and see wha go happen, his profligacy-ah mean-his fondness for throwing-way goals will be his downfall, thank you, thank you that is the first time ah use dah word (profligacy) in ah sentence, coming up here i will try to use it in an actual conversation.
Post by: Fyzoman on August 04, 2007, 06:27:47 PM

yuh preach dey bredda, but ah still support de brotha.......although, play allyuh don't know the kinda man Keane is and see wha go happen, his profligacy-ah mean-his fondness for throwing-way goals will be his downfall, thank you, thank you that is the first time ah use dah word (profligacy) in ah sentence, coming up here i will try to use it in an actual conversation.
Post by: weary1969 on August 04, 2007, 06:35:36 PM
So 4 the entire season when Stern throw away we go b cussing. It go be realllllllllllllll long season
Post by: Grande on August 04, 2007, 08:03:32 PM

Well if Stern is exempt from criticism then I can't be a #14 supporter right. I have seen enough games to know how Stern can be on a bad day. Them days he does just be pulling stones and coasting on the field. So what a true supporter will say on those days? "Stern you did excellent today, you had some great chances, 67 goals in 99 games you is de best boy"....please eh. I can't talk so if Stern throwing away in the few chances he gets, so that does not make me a supporter? Keep in mind I give him props when props is due....67 in 99 is an excellent stat but it doh warrant blind support
Post by: dcs on August 04, 2007, 08:36:38 PM

The miss today cost Sunderland a victory over Juventus.  Even Stern will admit that so what is the issue?  He himself know he have to do better than that and those chances could make all the difference for the team and himself.

Fact still remain that he getting himself in position even when coming on late so he have plenty to gain if he can put them away.
Post by: arrow on August 04, 2007, 10:39:49 PM
Look some highlights here.  Stern miss was bad, but Trezeguet put down a pile too...

First half http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utoNyjQJDyo&mode=related&search=

Second half http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtVJPJYqgmo&mode=related&search=
Post by: zuluwarrior on August 05, 2007, 12:04:10 AM
I would not say he did shit , as a player you would have yuh daze , the only thing about it is he made his chances of a transfer much greater .
Post by: fishs on August 05, 2007, 12:47:18 AM
I suppose most of you have not really analysed how Stern develops into a season.
The first part of his preseason game is removing bulk and controlling the ball, the second part is getting himself in scoring positions (and think about how he always is in that position now) the last part is the sharpness that will allow him to put away chances.
Stern is no footbal genius and he gets to where he has to be through hardwork.
Everbody complaining about how much "easy " chances he is missing but how much other strikers on the team now are even getting themselves in that position ?
Van Nistlerooy, Lineker, Scolari etc all of them are and were great goal scorers because of the goal scoring positions they were able to put themselves in but they too missed sitters and were ridiculed by fans, all of them bounced back.
Sharpness now that's all he needs.
Post by: just cool on August 05, 2007, 05:29:23 AM
Qiute frankly i don't know what's all the fuss about. that was a difficult goal to score on the volley, plus i've seen that big signing they just aqiured missed and easier sitter on a cross from edwards. i've seen henry, ronaldo, saha, and the great ronaldinho thrown away easier chances, so don't be so hard on the bredder. remember this is the reason for pre-season , to clean off the rust and the dust, not to mention the fella finding more chances as a sub for the last 20 minuites more than the regs. i think stern will be an assasin for the cats if given the opportunity as a late sub.           positive.
Post by: berris on August 05, 2007, 08:16:58 AM

Well if Stern is exempt from criticism then I can't be a #14 supporter right. I have seen enough games to know how Stern can be on a bad day. Them days he does just be pulling stones and coasting on the field. So what a true supporter will say on those days? "Stern you did excellent today, you had some great chances, 67 goals in 99 games you is de best boy"....please eh. I can't talk so if Stern throwing away in the few chances he gets, so that does not make me a supporter? Keep in mind I give him props when props is due....67 in 99 is an excellent stat but it doh warrant blind support

Well here this, me eh even bother to read yuh above response but as far as I concern it belongs in de DUSBIN joke section becuz is pure jackassness yuh talking.How I come to that conclusion and I eh even read yuh reply?Well ah get one or two pm's from formites saying 'Grande' stinking up de forum with some dog shit response and in d past I read enough shit on this forum from u  to know what the formites saying is true.So I doh have to read yuh reply to know what yuh posted wud help to make green grass grow all around d world  ...BULLSH!T!!!
And no,#14 supporters doh support him blindly but they doh put him down every chance they get.You don't support ah player only when he does well. It is understood a player will have bad games,show me one striker in this universe that doh throwaway,miss,or just have a bad game. ? You supporting # 14 ONLY when he have a good game  but if some formites say he had a bad game dais enough for you to conclude he ''do shit'' Support is thru thick and thin and is either you support#14 or you don't, it have no fence here to balance on .You sound like to on de waggon when he scoring and off when people tell you he do shit,and even though i eh read yuh above reply,ah have to conclude that you eh know much bout de game or what support of a player means means ...and like ah say me eh even read yuh reply to come to that conclusion ....but somehow ah just know ah correct.  :devil: :devil:
Post by: Grande on August 05, 2007, 09:32:34 AM

Well here this, me eh even bother to read yuh above response but as far as I concern it belongs in de DUSBIN joke section becuz is pure jackassness yuh talking.How I come to that conclusion and I eh even read yuh reply?Well ah get one or two pm's from formites saying 'Grande' stinking up de forum with some dog shit response and in d past I read enough shit on this forum from u  to know what the formites saying is true.So I doh have to read yuh reply to know what yuh posted wud help to make green grass grow all around d world  ...BULLSH!T!!!
And no,#14 supporters doh support him blindly but they doh put him down every chance they get.You don't support ah player only when he does well. It is understood a player will have bad games,show me one striker in this universe that doh throwaway,miss,or just have a bad game. ? You supporting # 14 ONLY when he have a good game  but if some formites say he had a bad game dais enough for you to conclude he ''do shit'' Support is thru thick and thin and is either you support#14 or you don't, it have no fence here to balance on .You sound like to on de waggon when he scoring and off when people tell you he do shit,and even though i eh read yuh above reply,ah have to conclude that you eh know much bout de game or what support of a player means means ...and like ah say me eh even read yuh reply to come to that conclusion ....but somehow ah just know ah correct.  :devil: :devil:

Feller you jokey oui. If you doh like how I choose to support Stern, then dais your business. By de way I take the time to read yuh post eh.  ;D

Is too bad de forumite who PM yuh saying I stinking up the forum opt to behave like a cyber-panty man and not want to discuss with me over PM instead. I will welcome de criticism because I never hear anything like dat before. Say what, is only de Internet.

Anyway I make plenty posts giving Stern his props and backing de man. Yes, players have bad games. When Ronaldinho do tata, I does say he do tata...when he set up a nice play I will say he do nice work.
boy You reminding me of dem men who fraid to criticize dey woman when they 4cup..instead yuh does gaze at them adoringly and say "is okay honey I love you, you eh do anyting wrong".

The concept in itself is simple. When Stern play bad in a game I saying so...but I eh putting him in meh bad books forever. Same with Collin Samuel dese days. I know them men better than what they displaying and hope the best for them. They are T&T players.

Post by: Bitter on August 05, 2007, 10:09:24 AM
Look some highlights here.  Stern miss was bad, but Trezeguet put down a pile too...

First half http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utoNyjQJDyo&mode=related&search=

Second half http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtVJPJYqgmo&mode=related&search=
Dem wasn't Sunderland higlights nah, that was Juventus Highlights, also starring Sunderland.

To call that Stern miss a "sitter" is a bit much. Perhaps he had time to control the cross and pick a better shot. The volley was either going to be a great goal or a great miss. But the way the Sunderland boards ( and apparently the commentators) acting like he miss a tap-in. I doh know...
Post by: maxg on August 05, 2007, 10:43:34 AM
Dat was ah big miss, doh sugar coat nuthen, if the goalie did make the save ok..but in any game, and for big belly tony, who does play ball once ah year in we annual fete match, is ah big miss...Stern not doing heself  and he selection no favors dey..an Gentlemen, Stern is ah big man now, he doh need no support like no lil child.....he could probably give we more support than 5000 ah we could give he...Support dem U17 and B team boys...but man who have and still must bust dey own tail to stay in these higher divisions, doh need we support, we could like dem, or vex with dem, no matter....man does play bad and get trade, man does play good and still get trade...Tell Stern yuh like him if yuh like him, but he doh need supporting...he is one of our Best Players ever, Top Goal scorer ever...and right now he needs to do better or he salary go drop ah few thousand ah week....please....Stern, score the blasted goal dem nahman
Post by: berris on August 05, 2007, 10:57:26 AM
Grande ...all I sayin  is if yuh want to say an player play shit den watch de game before yuh come to dah conclusion.Doh give we dah bullsh!t bout u ''seen enough games to know how Stern can be on ah bad day '' dais rubbish and ah explain why yuh comment belongs in de TOILET joke section.Yes when he have ah bad game yuh entitled to say so but at least watch the game before yuh run yuh mouth nah....after all is ah TnT player yuh putting down on word of mouth .....

p.s ...oh and de comment bout de formites sending me ah pm msg bout you stinking up de forum apprantly when clean over yuh head.
Post by: dcs on August 05, 2007, 11:14:21 AM

He did not have to volley.  It was a stink miss just before Juve equalize.  He can do better and need to start doing it fast.

berris...Stern starting on your fantasy team this year?

Post by: Grande on August 05, 2007, 11:17:20 AM
Grande ...all I sayin  is if yuh want to say an player play shit den watch de game before yuh come to dah conclusion.Doh give we dah bullsh!t bout u ''seen enough games to know how Stern can be on ah bad day '' dais rubbish and ah explain why yuh comment belongs in de TOILET joke section.Yes when he have ah bad game yuh entitled to say so but at least watch the game before yuh run yuh mouth nah....after all is ah TnT player yuh putting down on word of mouth .....

p.s ...oh and de comment bout de formites sending me ah pm msg bout you stinking up de forum apprantly when clean over yuh head.

boy apparently it did, you could perhaps tell me what you really meant then cause you lose me dey.

I had watched de extended highlight clips, see Stern miss and still come to de same conclusion. Other than dat he was ineffective. Getting into the right position doh mean anything if yuh doh put it away.
Post by: berris on August 05, 2007, 11:21:57 AM

He did not have to volley.  It was a stink miss just before Juve equalize.  He can do better and need to start doing it fast.

berris...Stern starting on your fantasy team this year?

Yuh go ask dat ?  ;D
Post by: andre samuel on August 05, 2007, 03:58:51 PM
that was a bad miss, in fact, it was a sitter for a premiership striker!!!

But i liked the way he pulled away from his marker.

Post by: Storeboy on August 05, 2007, 04:05:55 PM
I don't know who selected those highlights but it seems that Juve should have scored ten.  They missed  far more easy chances, as do the greatest players in the world.  Howevr, it does seem that Stern misses more than he used to.  I  think he is on the down side of his carreer but still a dangerous striker.  He may come off the bench but will always be a threat to score against any team.
Post by: Bakes on August 05, 2007, 05:03:33 PM

To call that Stern miss a "sitter" is a bit much. Perhaps he had time to control the cross and pick a better shot. The volley was either going to be a great goal or a great miss. But the way the Sunderland boards ( and apparently the commentators) acting like he miss a tap-in. I doh know...

You joking, right?  I'm curious as to just what you consider a 'sitter' then, because that was a spectacular point blank miss.  Obviously there's a recurrent theme here in the pre-season where Stern is concerned and for all of you who continue to think that we're being too harsh on him I think you fail to grasp the reason for the criticism.  Keane is going to be but only so patient with Stern and unless he proves his worth he will find himself on the outside looking in while Carlos and Yorke carry the flag for TnT on the Sunderland squad.
Post by: just cool on August 05, 2007, 08:15:51 PM
So what would yus say about a penaty, isn't it the ultimate sitter,and big big players has been missing them since time in memeorium, like today in a big game i saw lampard and write phillips missing penaties back to back, hey sh!t happens, cut the guy some slack.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 05, 2007, 08:23:20 PM
hoss stern had 90 mins plus extra time tuh settle heself and shoot but somehow he miss wen it was easier to score
Post by: Bakes on August 05, 2007, 08:56:43 PM
So what would yus say about a penaty, isn't it the utimate sitter,and big big players has been missing them since time in memeorium, like today in a big game i saw lampard and write phillips missing penaties back to back, hey sh!t happens, cut the guy some slack.
Any big player who flubs chances of scoring when his neck is on the line (as Stern's appears to be at Sunderland)...even if those chances of scoring are penalties...then that said big name player deserves to either be benched or left off the squad. 

I want to see the man make the side...that's all, time for him to step up and seize the day.
Post by: Midknight on August 05, 2007, 11:05:51 PM
hoss stern had 90 mins plus extra time tuh settle heself and shoot but somehow he miss wen it was easier to score

Stern didn't come on until halfway of 3/4 through the second half
Post by: saga pinto on August 06, 2007, 07:10:29 AM
I suppose most of you have not really analysed how Stern develops into a season.
The first part of his preseason game is removing bulk and controlling the ball, the second part is getting himself in scoring positions (and think about how he always is in that position now) the last part is the sharpness that will allow him to put away chances.
Everbody complaining about how much "easy " chances he is missing but how much other strikers on the team now are even getting themselves in that position ?
Van Nistlerooy, Lineker, Scolari etc all of them are and were great goal scorers because of the goal scoring positions they were able to put themselves in but they too missed sitters and were ridiculed by fans, all of them bounced back.

Wait ah minute!
Are you suggesting at 31 and playing ball for all those years he have to brush up on he sharpness,wha is this support stern at all cost,listen sharpness is either yuh have it or yuh don't,plain and simple,and stern with all his many goals don't posses sharpness,poaching is his strength.........

Post by: Peong on August 06, 2007, 07:43:59 AM
Nah yuh could improve sharpness.

That is a terrible miss by Stern.
He didn't need to trap, that ball was comin in real slow.
He rush the shot, plain and simple.
His foot swing before the ball reach.
This man is trouble.

Post by: fishs on August 06, 2007, 07:48:34 AM

Wait ah minute!
Are you suggesting at 31 and playing ball for all those years he have to brush up on he sharpness,wha is this support stern at all cost,listen sharpness is either yuh have it or yuh don't,plain and simple,and stern with all his many goals don't posses sharpness,poaching is his strength.........

Have you ever played competitive sport ?
Why do you think every sportsman does have to train and then get match practice after a layoff to get back to where they are supposed to be ?
Anyhow if you read properly what I wrote before bumping yuh gum you would understand that Stern has to work harder than most at his level to perform.
Post by: grskywalker on August 06, 2007, 08:35:47 AM
Well I think STERN lacked a little composure on that miss,that said however Trez threw away an easier chance in the first half and at times Juve looked a bit disorganised upfront but it's pre season so I aint making much of it. NEDVED is a general and showed his class.

Stern will step up once the season get going, all them players must get injured at some point. I hope Carlos rest up and ready to go against Tottenham Saturday, my fantasy team is counting on you
Post by: Tallman on August 06, 2007, 08:43:28 AM
What it is relly going orn here?  :rotfl:

(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1186310946_juventus5.jpg)
Title: Re: Sunderland vs Juventus PAN ON THE OUTSIDE
Post by: grskywalker on August 06, 2007, 10:21:25 AM
All yuh see this outside the JUVE VS  SUNDERLAND

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6V0Cm6Kona4
Post by: D.H.W on August 06, 2007, 10:34:28 AM

i tell yuh we have to watch dem Italian footballers yes :devil:
Post by: FireBrand on August 06, 2007, 10:44:20 AM

de man reaching for de ball  :rotfl:
Post by: mukumsplau on August 06, 2007, 10:56:55 AM

na wat i meant was d amount ah time he had to get off a proper shot wen the ball fell to him...he had alotta time i was jus emphasizin...
Post by: Midknight on August 06, 2007, 11:24:37 AM

na wat i meant was d amount ah time he had to get off a proper shot wen the ball fell to him...he had alotta time i was jus emphasizin...

Oh ok, my bad. Didn't ketch the drift. Though as you say that, I wonder to myself if Stern doh actually be better when he don't have time to think about what to do with the ball. Poaching is mostly about reflexes...I ent no baller so i won't bump mih gun, but seem to me that some of his best goals in recent times (flying volley for Coventry, both goals against mexico, first goal against panama, second against guatemala) is all goals where he didn't reallyhave to think about what to do.

Just  a thought.
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2007, 12:47:49 PM

de man reaching for de ball  :rotfl:
...and barely miss, lol  ;D
Post by: kappy on August 06, 2007, 04:27:25 PM

S**thoundedness will continue until SJ realize dat he in the wrong sport ... he should pick up monopoly.
Post by: just cool on August 06, 2007, 11:42:09 PM

Everybody entitled to their opinion, right ?....even the ones that doh have ah f**kin clue about d game...even the ones that that bum dey f**kin gum loud loud when #14 miss ....even the ones that does jump on d band waggon when he score....even the ones that find it necessary to fight down de man every chance they get.Is like all yuh haters just be waitin for #14 to miss,throw away or just have ah bad game to come out here and say ''yuh see ah tell yuh so'' All yuh eh have nuttin better to do than fight down d man ..Now everything #14 does ''looks scrappy'' nice time to bum yuh gum, right after the man eh score .How come your Ray Charles observation wasn't posted after the last game ,yuh know d one ah talkin bout nah ,d one wey he fail to make ah ''simple turn'' and then ''rushed'' an toepee ah cross,is ah good thing Conolly just so happen to be dey whey de ball land right ?... or de one wey he messup ah one two with connolly and clumsly and scrappily had d ball richoche off he left shin bone and went een right ?or de game before dat when he ''look off key'' and jump up n leh de ball bounce off he ears and go een ..EH !!!...

S**thoundedness will continue until SJ realize dat he in the wrong sport ... he should pick up monopoly.
Brace for impact!