Sports => Football => Topic started by: Warrior till death on August 14, 2007, 07:26:54 PM

Title: Sunderland vs Brimingham
Post by: Warrior till death on August 14, 2007, 07:26:54 PM
2mrw 15th August
2:45 pm kick off

video link  www.safctv.com/video/livebroadcast~hck2440153 (http://www.safctv.com/video/livebroadcast~hck2440153)
Title: Re: Sunderland vs Brimingham
Post by: saga pinto on August 14, 2007, 07:33:14 PM
2mrw 15th August

Setanta, Fox

not according to my setanta!
Post by: Midknight on August 14, 2007, 08:34:53 PM
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12912

Keane set to make changes

By Nick Alexander
Roy Keane will not be frightened to change a winning team when Sunderland go to Birmingham City tomorrow.

The Black Cats got off to a great start on Saturday, beating Spurs in their Premier League opener.

Now Keane and his players turn their attention to a trip to St. Andrew's to face fellow new boys Birmingham.

Michael Chopra came off the bench to score the winner against Spurs and his reward is likely to be a start in the Black Cats' first away game - one of a few changes expected by Keane.

The Black Cats said: "Changing the team does not worry me. I have to look at the bigger picture, otherwise what is the point in having a squad.

"The lads did brilliantly against Spurs at the weekend but I've never had a problem with changing the team if I feel it will be of benefit.

"We have a game on Saturday as well and it's my job to gauge it. Some players might need to recharge their batteries and be ready for Saturday."

Greg Halford missed the Spurs game with a hamstring injury but he is back in training and is set to travel to Birmingham.

Saturday marked Sunderland's first opening-day win for six years and Keane admits there has been a good atmosphere around the place since.

He said: "It's always nice to get that win under your belt and move on, there were lots of plusses from Saturday.

"The performance pleased me the most. I believe you get your rewards in football and we certainly got that on Saturday.

"Winning like that is what we're in the game for, it's the best feeling in the world.

"These should be the best days of the players' lives, you can't beat it - fans going berserk, the atmosphere. The Premier League is the place to be."
Post by: Jefferz on August 15, 2007, 01:59:43 AM
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12912

Keane set to make changes

By Nick Alexander
Roy Keane will not be frightened to change a winning team when Sunderland go to Birmingham City tomorrow.

The Black Cats got off to a great start on Saturday, beating Spurs in their Premier League opener.

Now Keane and his players turn their attention to a trip to St. Andrew's to face fellow new boys Birmingham.

Michael Chopra came off the bench to score the winner against Spurs and his reward is likely to be a start in the Black Cats' first away game - one of a few changes expected by Keane.

The Black Cats said: "Changing the team does not worry me. I have to look at the bigger picture, otherwise what is the point in having a squad.

"The lads did brilliantly against Spurs at the weekend but I've never had a problem with changing the team if I feel it will be of benefit.

"We have a game on Saturday as well and it's my job to gauge it. Some players might need to recharge their batteries and be ready for Saturday."

Greg Halford missed the Spurs game with a hamstring injury but he is back in training and is set to travel to Birmingham.

Saturday marked Sunderland's first opening-day win for six years and Keane admits there has been a good atmosphere around the place since.

He said: "It's always nice to get that win under your belt and move on, there were lots of plusses from Saturday.

"The performance pleased me the most. I believe you get your rewards in football and we certainly got that on Saturday.

"Winning like that is what we're in the game for, it's the best feeling in the world.

"These should be the best days of the players' lives, you can't beat it - fans going berserk, the atmosphere. The Premier League is the place to be."

Well, I think we all know who we HOPE that 'change' will incorporate.
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2007, 03:51:58 AM
2mrw 15th August

Setanta, Fox

Fuh real. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 04:56:04 AM
if john n play against biirmingham or wigan  thats it 4 him believe...........so ah keeping mi fingers cross

ah really feel he could deliver
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 05:44:36 AM
After checking,I see they'll be showing the game at 8pm eastern on setanta..........
Post by: fishs on August 15, 2007, 06:14:34 AM
 IF STERN PLAYS IT WILL BE HIS 250TH ENGLISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE APPEARANCE

IF CARLOS PLAYS IT WILL BE HIS 250TH ENGLISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE APPEARANCE.

BIG UP TO THE BOYS IF THEY REACH THE MILESTONE.  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: just cool on August 15, 2007, 06:38:18 AM
IF STERN PLAYS IT WILL BE HIS 250TH ENGLISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE APPEARANCE

IF CARLOS PLAYS IT WILL BE HIS 250TH ENGLISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE APPEARANCE.

BIG UP TO THE BOYS IF THEY REACH THE MILESTONE.  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

I concur. big up yuhself stern and alkhanaton.
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 07:06:59 AM
http://www.safc.com/match/?page_id=12921

Birmingham City v Sunderland

By Nick Alexander

Greg Halford is set to make his League debut for Sunderland tonight when they take on Birmingham City at St. Andrew's (7.45pm).

The former Reading and Colchester right-back travelled to the West Midlands with the squad last night after recovering from a hamstring injury.

If Halford plays, it would free up skipper Dean Whitehead to move back into midfield, probably at the expense of Dwight Yorke.

Michael Chopra is likely to be given a start after his match-winning exploits against Spurs on Saturday and boss Roy Keane could hand David Connolly a start.

Grant Leadbitter is the only Sunderland player in the treatment room, he has a hamstring injury and will miss the next two weeks.

Keane will go up against his former Manchester United team-mate Steve Bruce at St Andrew's tonight.

The Black Cats boss said: "It will be good to see Brucie again, he's a good bloke.

"Birmingham will be attack-minded so it should be a good game, but it will be just as difficult as the Tottenham match.

"It was good to get points on the board against Spurs and it was a great start; but it's just the beginning of a long road, we're not getting carried away."

Sunderland (from): Gordon, Ward, Halford, McShane, Nosworthy, Varga, Anderson, Collins, Wallace, Edwards, Etuhu, Whitehead, Miller, Yorke, Richardson, Stokes, Murphy, John, Chopra, Connolly.
Post by: andre samuel on August 15, 2007, 08:52:52 AM
Stern getting a run..........Birmingham is a physical side and Stern's size with be a factor!

Post by: dreintel on August 15, 2007, 09:02:22 AM
stern need de sweat..sunderland has 6 forwards not including yorkie and if he doh get a play soon he go be on de out.....
Post by: AB.Trini on August 15, 2007, 09:07:06 AM
One thing will keep 'Big bad John' : he have tuh  hit the net!!!!! score some goals and shut up all the doubters!!!
Post by: supporter on August 15, 2007, 09:08:35 AM
any streams?
Post by: Brej on August 15, 2007, 09:16:40 AM
well done john on de call up..... any way for local viewers to see dis match?
Post by: futbolfan on August 15, 2007, 09:45:44 AM
2mrw 15th August

Setanta, Fox

the game showing tape delay at 8pm on setanta....kick off is at 2:45 pm eastern.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Bourbon on August 15, 2007, 11:06:05 AM
Leh meh see who is really believers....and who jus talking........how much of allyuh have stern on allyuh fantasy team fuh dis gameweek eh?  :devil:
Post by: Filho on August 15, 2007, 11:09:07 AM
2mrw 15th August

video link  www.safctv.com/video/livebroadcast~hck2440153 (http://www.safctv.com/video/livebroadcast~hck2440153)

does that link work for you? i don't see anything but a bunch of commercials
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2007, 11:37:27 AM
After checking,I see they'll be showing the game at 8pm eastern on setanta..........

Thanks fuh de info Pinto, we only living ah few miles from each other, so dat time good fuh me 2. Ah cud go and run ah few errands, come back home and crack ah few cold ones fuh dat game  ;) :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 11:44:33 AM
2mrw 15th August

does that link work for you? i don't see anything but a bunch of commercials

Doesn't work for me either....live audio as usual though:

http://mfile.akamai.com/6095/live/reflector:35549.asx?bkup=35550
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 15, 2007, 12:18:58 PM
Stern make bench!

Sunderland: Gordon; Halford, McShane, Nosworthy, Collins; Edwards, Whitehead, Etuhu, Wallace; Connolly, Chopra.

Subs: Ward, Miller, John, Anderson, O'Donovan.
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 15, 2007, 12:24:17 PM
Stern make bench!

Sunderland: Gordon; Halford, McShane, Nosworthy, Collins; Edwards, Whitehead, Etuhu, Wallace; Connolly, Chopra.

wuh happen to yorke
Post by: Quags on August 15, 2007, 12:25:08 PM
Game start as yet .
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 15, 2007, 12:30:48 PM
Game start as yet .
suppose to in 15 mins.
Post by: RasIred on August 15, 2007, 12:33:55 PM
At least John make the benchhhhhhh !
Post by: futbolfan on August 15, 2007, 12:35:32 PM
Stern make bench!

wuh happen to yorke

Stern  getting ah sweat so Yorkie hada cool it...cyah have 3 trinis on de field together  ;D
Post by: supporter on August 15, 2007, 12:37:19 PM
Stern to score off the bench today
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 12:37:51 PM
Stern make bench!

wuh happen to yorke

probably getting rested
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 12:45:28 PM
Leh meh see who is really believers....and who jus talking........how much of allyuh have stern on allyuh fantasy team fuh dis gameweek eh?  :devil:

*raises hand*

Anybody know why Richardson not in the squad ?
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 12:46:09 PM
I have a feeling Stern go get a run today
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 12:47:08 PM

Thanks fuh de info Pinto, we only living ah few miles from each other, so dat time good fuh me 2. Ah cud go and run ah few errands, come back home and crack ah few cold ones fuh dat game  ;) :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Well invite meh nah,I does drink cold ones too,now that's only if yuh wife say is okay,I does play ball with some trinis by douglas park sometimes on tuesdays and thursday at around 9.00pm and on saturdays with ah bunch ah crazy jamaicans opposite cemetery village,we could hook sometime,leh meh no........  
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 15, 2007, 12:50:11 PM
Real men missing from that squad.

Good news for Stern, but something fishy.
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 12:50:43 PM
watch out 4 kapo left foot
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 12:53:17 PM

*raises hand*

give thanks for small mercies
Post by: Peong on August 15, 2007, 12:53:26 PM
Saga yuh mean Douglas park in Coral Gables?
Post by: rocoply on August 15, 2007, 12:56:37 PM
http://matchlive.safc.premiumtv.co.uk/mlex/258741/matches/08152007/2873792/match_console.html?clubid=10281
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 01:15:19 PM
Saga yuh mean Douglas park in Coral Gables?
It have ah douglas park in coral gables,tell meh more,if so I driving down they fuh sweat.........
Post by: E-man on August 15, 2007, 01:17:06 PM
Birm score 28'    0-1   :(
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 01:17:31 PM
Birmingham score 1-0
Post by: Trinitim on August 15, 2007, 01:18:07 PM
CRAP Birmingham score yes gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Come on guys come on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 01:19:00 PM
anyone know if there's anyway to get video broadcast from sopcast?
Post by: dreintel on August 15, 2007, 01:19:37 PM
keano resting men for weekend game.....
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 01:24:27 PM
To me i barely hear Chopra name called so far in the game.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 01:36:17 PM
watch how stern goin an save sunderland ass tuhday...
Post by: grskywalker on August 15, 2007, 01:57:51 PM
STERN HAVE TO COME AND SAVE THE DAY OFF A CARLOS ASSIST
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:01:17 PM
Portsmouth equalize vs Man U. We might have to send somebody to make sure Small Mag ok.
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2007, 02:01:34 PM

Yuh setting meh up man, yuh say 8PM eastern, and de game going on. Ah thought ah cud ah trust yuh, :(  .HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:03:51 PM
Stern Warming up...
Time to prove yuhself boy and reward the manager faith in you.
Post by: Bourbon on August 15, 2007, 02:04:13 PM
Portsmouth equalize vs Man U. We might have to send somebody to make sure Small Mag ok.

And Chelsea behind to reading. ;D
Post by: Peong on August 15, 2007, 02:04:23 PM
Stern man please score.

On for Connolly
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 02:04:33 PM

and save his own as well...I hear he coming on so please Stern score de equaliser and let everybody like yuh
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 02:04:44 PM
doh mek joke  ;D
Post by: E-man on August 15, 2007, 02:04:49 PM
Stern getting subbed on now for Connolly
Post by: Trinitim on August 15, 2007, 02:04:55 PM
 OK guys I hear the commentators say that Stern John is coming on with Liam Miller
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 02:05:19 PM
Stern Warming up...
Time to prove yuhself boy and reward the manager faith in you.

Miller and Stern look to be coming on....
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:05:49 PM
stern and liam miller on.... :devil:
Post by: Quags on August 15, 2007, 02:06:25 PM
Just to confirm ,no video rite .
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 15, 2007, 02:08:02 PM
Stern need to grab this opportunity with both hands.
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 02:08:17 PM
sound like sunderland missing a spark in mf. You could say what you want about Richardson, he may be a snake, but he know how to provide that. I don't know if Carlos is back to 100% yet, but Stern will need someone to provide him with those balls. Hopefully he could hold up the ball to let the midfielders get the time to approach the goal...and give him back  8)
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2007, 02:08:24 PM
Stern Johnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn in de house  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:08:33 PM

Yuh setting meh up man, yuh say 8PM eastern, and de game going on. Ah thought ah cud ah trust yuh, :(  .HIGHLY BLESSED.

I think he mean Setanta broadband.
they showing Man U vs Portsmouth online now. with this game scheduled for 8pm
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 02:08:49 PM

Yuh setting meh up man, yuh say 8PM eastern, and de game going on. Ah thought ah cud ah trust yuh, :(  .HIGHLY BLESSED.

Dread I get ketch too,look madness and that's the reason why I still at work,ah could cuss direct tv,for having ah f**ked up schedule,sorry my friend,but yuh I would never lead yuh wrong.  
Post by: Bourbon on August 15, 2007, 02:09:25 PM
Stern need to grab this opportunity with both hands.

And teeth.
Post by: SUPA on August 15, 2007, 02:11:13 PM

Dread I get ketch too,look madness and that's the reason why I still at work,ah could cuss direct tv,for having ah f**ked up schedule,sorry my friend,but yuh I would never lead yuh wrong.  

Doh worry boss, ah know is ah genuine mistake. Every thing cool man  :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:12:49 PM

And Chelsea behind to reading. ;D

That didn't last long.
Reading 1, Chelsea 2
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 02:15:10 PM
well as usual man u purgin an d manu-in-mih-vein fellas no where tuh be seen...ahhh good times good times.
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:19:30 PM
o'donovan for halford and edwards dropping to right back.... ???
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:21:15 PM
Chopra Scores!
1-1
Post by: E-man on August 15, 2007, 02:21:35 PM
Chopra 1-1!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 02:21:53 PM
Chopra score... Commentator say brillant finish
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 02:22:14 PM
chopra getting on bad...
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 02:23:11 PM
stern john fuh d winner den
Post by: Quags on August 15, 2007, 02:27:57 PM
Come orn Stern ...
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:28:25 PM
Birmingham Scores again 2-1
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 02:29:05 PM
stern...now or never
Post by: Trinitim on August 15, 2007, 02:29:09 PM
JESUS CHRIST OH MY GOODNESS HMMMMMMMM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THEY TAKE THE LEAD AGAIN!!!!!!!!!! COME ON GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:29:47 PM
Stern Hits the Crossbar!
Off a Carlos Cross.
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 02:30:22 PM
boy if only Stern had bury that header off Carlos' run and assist....
Post by: Johpants on August 15, 2007, 02:30:29 PM
Stern just hit the cross bar from an incredible run by Edwards according to the commentators.
Post by: Johpants on August 15, 2007, 02:31:00 PM
Carlos injured now
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 02:31:17 PM
dammmmmmnnn!!!
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:31:43 PM
EDWARDS INJURED :'(
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 02:32:09 PM
Good game Akhenaton, keep your head up and heal up soon
Post by: Johpants on August 15, 2007, 02:33:46 PM
Ronaldo red carded in the 85th.
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:35:05 PM
commentators real talking up edwards......hope he recovers soon - sunderland down to 10 as keane used up his subs..
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:37:06 PM
Sunderland Goalll!!!!

2-2

STERRRRNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!1
Post by: fatimarima on August 15, 2007, 02:37:14 PM
how did carlos get injured?  rough tackle, foul?
Post by: Johpants on August 15, 2007, 02:37:22 PM
Free kick to Sunderland. C'mon boys. Goaaaaaal STERNOOOOO
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 02:37:39 PM
ah faint

john goal
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 02:37:45 PM
Hawl alyuh muddas... haters
Post by: skins on August 15, 2007, 02:37:54 PM
Sunderland goal.... I cant believe this
Post by: Grande on August 15, 2007, 02:38:00 PM
lord boy Stern, you is stress yes, real stress

good job
Post by: E-man on August 15, 2007, 02:38:09 PM
Damn 90' mark - 3 minutes injury time left not to blow it
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 15, 2007, 02:38:16 PM
Yes, Stern!!!
Post by: grskywalker on August 15, 2007, 02:38:31 PM
yeaaahhhhhhh1!!!!!!!!!
Post by: trinikid on August 15, 2007, 02:38:38 PM
stern net in the 90th fyahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:38:43 PM
Leh we see what the Sunderland boards have to say about that s***hong Stern now?
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:38:59 PM
STERN JOHN

#14 LEGEND
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 02:39:24 PM
did  i mention john on mi fantasy team  ;D
Post by: Trinitim on August 15, 2007, 02:40:22 PM
STERN STERN JOHN GOAL GOAL GOAL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YES WE CALL THAT WITH 10 MEN MY GOODNESS. I HOPE CARLOS RECOVER SOON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: futbolfan on August 15, 2007, 02:40:51 PM
Stern"f-in"John 

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: fatimarima on August 15, 2007, 02:41:11 PM
Thank you stern.!!!..... :beermug:
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 02:41:18 PM
STEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: troy piloy on August 15, 2007, 02:41:26 PM
Stern the legend i know you could do it the super sub.

Let me hear all the Stern haters now

Troy 8)
Post by: FireBrand on August 15, 2007, 02:41:37 PM
YYEEEAAAAHHH BAAAAAABY. BRAAAAAVOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

JOHN 14 OPENS HIS 2007 EPL GOAL ACCOUNT!!!!!!!!
Post by: Trinitim on August 15, 2007, 02:41:44 PM
WHERE THE COMMENTRARY GONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: lp on August 15, 2007, 02:42:11 PM
Stern 'Bount to Score' John______ time to reclaim that name. YESSSSSSSSSSS!
Post by: futbolfan on August 15, 2007, 02:42:22 PM
ah know know all now man like berris wet  ;D
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 02:43:03 PM
ah know know all now man like berris wet  ;D

BOUND TUH SCORE is f-in right yes....oh gorm stern boy u kno how tuh play wit ah big man emotions
Post by: Bitter on August 15, 2007, 02:43:40 PM
Flikin radio cut off yes...
I guess the radio man is a Stern Hater.
Post by: Johpants on August 15, 2007, 02:44:41 PM
how did carlos get injured?  rough tackle, foul?

Seems like he injured his hamstring in the run up from halfline to cross to Stern. According to the commentators he was a little roughed up on the run.
Post by: Consultant on August 15, 2007, 02:44:56 PM
i am a suuuunnnnnnlun warrior!!!!

woewoooooooo ooohhhhhh.......kay....

well done sunderland 4 points out of 6 aint bad, and congrats to john 1'st goal in the epl 2007. hope edwards, yorke, and jones join in soon!!
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 15, 2007, 02:45:56 PM
stern equalise!!!!! 90+2
Post by: FireBrand on August 15, 2007, 02:46:35 PM
Like de Sunderland fans mash up de media box in dey celebration!

Go Stern! Breds yuh make meh day!

Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 02:47:23 PM
ah see ah red card fuh cristiano in d portsmouth match waz da about?..tings gettin better..
Post by: 1-868 on August 15, 2007, 02:47:51 PM
Super Fooking Sternnnnn  in dey mudda c********* !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: samo on August 15, 2007, 02:48:47 PM
Great day in the EPL... Stern equalize in the dying mins...
Chelsea winning and ManU draw...
The only thing that coulda make this better was for Carlos or Yorkie to make it 3-2 and ManU losing.... :devil:

Anyway I taking it just so....Manu for champioship div next season  :rotfl:
Post by: grskywalker on August 15, 2007, 02:51:31 PM
STERN JUS ADD 5 POINTS TO THE REBEL ALLIANCE FC

AH HOPE ALL YUH HATERS PUT HIM BACK IN ALL YUH TEAM!!!!
Post by: DeSoWa on August 15, 2007, 02:51:36 PM
Great fight Sunderland..hope Carlos injury is not too bad and he comes back soon. Oh and big up to Stern for the equalizer in the 90'  ;D

Berris way you?  :beermug:

Post by: FireBrand on August 15, 2007, 03:05:20 PM
Carlos picked up de injury when he blaze thru de Birmingham side from de half line all de way up to de box, cross to Stern and his header hit de cross bar. Hope he's ok and is nothing serious.

Anyway ah cyar wait to see de game on Setanta and den de highlights on Fox Sports.

Well done Stern, Carlos ,and Sunderland!

Post by: Bourbon on August 15, 2007, 03:21:25 PM
I find men was real breaksin from de question when i ask boy! Anyhow...he give me a valuable 5 points.....buh i hadda do some reshuffling wit my team AGAIN! Well done stern.
Post by: AB.Trini on August 15, 2007, 03:24:03 PM
One for Berris!!!!!!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

A giant step for Stern
Post by: Bally on August 15, 2007, 03:26:35 PM
Birmingham 2-2 Sunderland 

Chopra had one real chance and took it to score
Sunderland striker Stern John returned to haunt his former club by snatching a dramatic late equaliser at Birmingham.
The Black Cats had gone behind when Paul McShane diverted a Stephen Clemence header into his own net.

Sunderland were denied a penalty for an apparent push on David Connolly before Michael Chopra clinically finished.

But Garry O'Connor angled in a shot to put the Blues ahead again only for John to nod home after heading against the crossbar just minutes earlier.

Sunderland showed no early signs of complacency after their opening day win against Tottenham as they chased and harried Birmingham with feverish intensity.

606: DEBATE
another late goal out of nothing

gw

The home side did not shy away from the physical challenge and responded in kind as the game was played at a frenetic pace.

But the effort was not matched by quality as both the teams who were automatically promoted from the Championship last season cancelled each other out.

The deadlock was finally broken after 28 minutes when Sebastian Larsson flighted a free-kick into the Sunderland box and Clemence angled a header across the visitors' goal.

Black Cats defender McShane tried to move out of the way but could not help getting a crucial glancing touch off his chest as he diverted the ball past keeper Craig Gordon's dive and into his own net.

Sunderland tried in vain to respond and could have had a penalty when Connolly appeared to have been shoved by Clemence as the striker chased a high through ball on goal.

Birmingham almost added insult to injury as they almost extended their lead just before the break.

Clemence (left) and McSheffrey (right) show their jubilation at the opener against Sunderland

Johan Djourou made sapce for himself to get in a near post header only to mistime his effort and send it high and wide.

Sunderland played some neat football after the break as they searched for an opening.

And, to their credit, the visitors kept plugging away and were rewarded when Ridgewell missed an attempted headed clearance and Chopra stole in to finish with aplomb.

In an all-action finish to the match, substitute O'Connor cut inside before powering the home side ahead again after 82 minutes.

Sunderland refused to lay down and Carlos Edwards produced a piercing run and crossed for John, whose six-yard header struck the woodwork.

Nyron Nosworthy had a chance to net a late equaliser only to nod a far post effort just wide.

John made no mistake when given a second chance when he pounced on a loose ball after keeper Colin Doyle did well to save a deflected Ross Wallace free-kick.

Post by: 1-868 on August 15, 2007, 03:52:02 PM
KEANE'S FAITH IN LIKELY LAD JOHN !!!!!!!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/sunderland/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/07/08/15/SOCCER_Birmingham_Quotes.html&TEAMHD=sunderland&DIV=prem&TEAM=SUNDERLAND&RH=Sunderland&PREV_SEASON=

Sunderland boss Roy Keane was convinced all along that Stern John would become his latest last-minute saviour at St Andrews.

So it proved, as the visitors snatched a dramatic Premier League point off Birmingham.

Former Blues favourite John was given an ovation by the home fans when he appeared as a 60th-minute substitute; then he scored the 90th-minute leveller in a 2-2 draw, which followed Sunderland's last-gasp 1-0 win against Tottenham on Saturday.

Keane said: "I knew he'd score, because in the corridor here I saw a picture of him scoring as a Birmingham player. A lot of players go back to their old club and have a tendency to score.

"It usually happens, so I was confident he would score. I keep saying it is not a coincidence to score so many late goals, because the desire and determination was there for all to see."

Keane looked to be heading for his first Premier League defeat when Blues substitute Garry O'Connor produced a sweet left-foot finish to give his side an 81st-minute lead.

Six minutes earlier Michael Chopra - who grabbed that late winner four days ago - had cancelled out Paul McShane's first-half own goal with a stunning strike.

Keane's men produced their great escape with only 10 men after Carlos Edwards limped off with a hamstring strain, and Keane admitted: "It was my mistake - I should have taken him off earlier.

"There weren't too many chances, and I think scrappy would describe the game. It was a mad 10 or 15 minutes - but other than that I thought it was relatively poor."

Blues boss Steve Bruce was left seething at the officials who he believed missed a blatant infringement which ought to have ruled out John's equaliser.

Bruce claimed Roy O'Donovan held down goalkeeper Colin Doyle when John bundled the ball home.

He said: "I was determined to go back in the Premier League and not bleat about referees or linesmen.

"But I've seen their centre-forward jumping on my goalkeeper and stopping him getting up. I think the referee should be seeing that, because everyone else is seeing that.

"After he makes the save, he's still lying in the back of the net. The referee and linesman have missed it - which has cost us dearly - and it's a shame, because he produced a fantastic save."

Bruce admitted that like Keane he had a feeling John would make an impression.

He said: "He was a great servant here and one of my all-time favourites I have managed here.

"When I saw him warming up and the reception the crowd gave him I feared he might have an impact. But before he got there, we believe there was definitely a foul.

"But I think after looking at the two games we are better equipped than we were the last time we were in the Premier League. I am really pleased with what I've seen."

Post by: Peong on August 15, 2007, 04:04:11 PM
Highlights please somebody.

Keane said: "I knew he'd score, because in the corridor here I saw a picture of him scoring as a Birmingham player.

Possibly in the playoffs a few years back?

Bruce admitted that like Keane he had a feeling John would make an impression.

He said: "He was a great servant here and one of my all-time favourites I have managed here.

Nice!! ;D
Post by: Bourbon on August 15, 2007, 04:07:56 PM
Better dey call sunderland procrastinators oui!!! Everyting las minute!! ;D
Post by: g on August 15, 2007, 04:09:50 PM
ah now reach home.... ah weak...highlights highlights
Post by: D.H.W on August 15, 2007, 04:13:40 PM
john save he job yes, well done  :devil: true warriors  ;D
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 04:29:53 PM
Yes well I tell you,I eh no big stern fan,but when he perform ah ha tuh call him out,well done stern,yuh ent no normal man,yuh have more balls than ah bowling alley ;D ;D ;D   
Post by: Brej on August 15, 2007, 05:28:40 PM
hahah ma boy stern.... well done...
Post by: davidephraim on August 15, 2007, 05:32:10 PM
Great day in the EPL... Stern equalize in the dying mins...
Chelsea winning and ManU draw...
The only thing that coulda make this better was for Carlos or Yorkie to make it 3-2 and ManU losing.... :devil:

Anyway I taking it just so....Manu for champioship div next season  :rotfl:
  Manu first game..  Manutd vs Wrexham
Post by: davidephraim on August 15, 2007, 05:37:14 PM
Better dey call sunderland procrastinators oui!!! Everyting las minute!! ;D

Ah feel Marvin 90th oliver gettin de next Black  Cats call up.. :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: supporter on August 15, 2007, 05:37:25 PM

GREAT CALL, SUPPORTER!!
Post by: weary1969 on August 15, 2007, 05:39:27 PM
Nice goin Stern get well Carlos
Post by: Midknight on August 15, 2007, 05:49:24 PM

GREAT CALL, SUPPORTER!!

Auto congratulation is a hell of a vice...
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 06:07:43 PM
 :rotfl:  ah now realise is d man congratulating heself oui  :rotfl:
Post by: mukumsplau on August 15, 2007, 06:09:07 PM

GREAT CALL,MUKUMSPLAU!!
Post by: College on August 15, 2007, 06:39:06 PM
ok so de game about to start (delayed broadcast) on  setanta....ah cyah wait..hmmm Yorkie not even on the squad...
Post by: john_public on August 15, 2007, 06:47:41 PM
well done stern, whe all de fight down men,

no worries it still early, plenty more to come,

STERN FOR MOST GOALS AT SUNDERLAND
Post by: Savannah boy on August 15, 2007, 06:53:37 PM
Well done Stern.  Keep it up. 
Post by: Mr Mc on August 15, 2007, 06:59:59 PM
Birmingham City 2-2 Sunderland
/ RivalsDM
Posted: 3 hours ago

Stern John scored a last-minute leveller as Sunderland fought back to draw 2-2 at Birmingham in the battle of the promoted sides.
After getting their season off to a flyer with a last-gasp win over Tottenham on Saturday, Roy Keane's men refused to accept defeat after sub Garry O'Connor gave Birmingham an 82nd minute lead.

After heading against the crossbar a minute later, John - who left St Andrew's for the north-east last season - pounced to bundle home after Ross Wallace's 90th minute free-kick.

It was a dramatic ending to a low-key game which Blues looked like shading through a first-half own-goal from Paul McShane, until Michael Chopra's stunning 75th minute leveller.

Blues new boy O'Connor swept home a clinical left foot effort to seemingly end Keane's fine start as a Premier League boss - before John pounced to level.

Keane had made four changes after the opening day win with Chopra given his first start, and the new-look visitors started full of confidence.

Wallace was key to most of the Black Cats' early moves down the left and he created a second minute chance for Dickson Etuhu, who headed well wide.

Steve Bruce's men responded through Olivier Kapo, who got behind Halford before hitting a low deep cross which was well held by Craig Gordon in the visitors' goal.

But the longer the first half went on the more chances came at a premium, with neither Blues goalkeeper Colin Doyle nor £9million man Gordon having much work to do.

Sebastian Larsson got in a vital interception in front of goal in the 26th minute to block a dangerous cross from Sunderland captain Dean Whitehead - back in midfield - then Doyle palmed away the resulting corner.

McShane contributed to a brief spell of Sunderland pressure with an ambitious overhead kick in the box before playing an unfortunate part in the Blues' 28th-minute opener.

Larsson's free-kick was headed across goal by Stephen Kelly and the ball struck McShane on the chest, diverting it over the line past a helpless Gordon.

Briefly rattled, Sunderland almost presented the home side with another golden opportunity two minutes later when Nyron Nosworthy lost possession to Forssell on the edge of his own box.

At the other end, David Connolly's appeals for a penalty after falling under Kelly's challenge were waved away by referee Keith Stroud, bringing Keane out of the dugout to protest.

Edwards came close to firing a spectacular equaliser in the 42nd minute but he blazed his rising effort over the bar after finding space on the edge of the Blues box.

Larsson's delightful little lob into the box in the 55th minute set up a chance for the on-rushing Gary McSheffrey but the alert Gordon just beat him to clear.

Keane had seen enough and made a double substitution on the hour, with

John replacing Connolly and Liam Miller on for captain Whitehead.

Then after Edwards saw a deflected effort sail into Doyle's arms, Keane went for broke - replacing right-back Halford with another striker, former Cork man Roy O'Donovan.

The tactic appeared to have paid off handsomely in the 75th minute when Chopra latched onto an Etuhu ball and fired a stunning left-foot shot past Doyle from 18 yards.

Birmingham responded seven minutes later through substitute O'Connor, who was fed a delightful ball by Forssell on the left of the Sunderland box and finished clinically after wrong-footing McShane.

In a dramatic finale, there was still time for John to head against the crossbar from point-blank range after great work down the right by Carlos Edwards - who went off with what appeared to be a hamstring problem immediately afterwards.

Sunderland were down to 10 men for the last seven minutes - but they pressed and Wallace was awarded his final minute set-piece.

His deflected free-kick was brilliantly parried by Doyle but fell to Nosworthy, who headed back across the face of goal for John to head in and break home hearts.
Post by: arrow on August 15, 2007, 07:14:02 PM
Congrats to Stern
But how long before Disgruntled Trini points out that Stern cost the team 2 points by missing the point blank header against the crossbar?
Post by: FF on August 15, 2007, 07:45:27 PM
Congrats to Stern
But how long before Disgruntled Trini points out that Stern cost the team 2 points by missing the point blank header against the crossbar?

HIGHLIGHTS

http://media.putfile.com/BIRMINGHAM-2-SUNDERLAND-2
Post by: Texastrini on August 15, 2007, 07:52:28 PM
thank yuh fuh the highlights.  big up to stern.  that run that carlos make in the end was pure class
Post by: freakazoid on August 15, 2007, 07:55:28 PM
i n check d highlights yet but Bless

ah waiting whole night  4 them
Post by: Peong on August 15, 2007, 08:14:10 PM
That Sunderland man real foul de keeper for Stern goal......
Post by: saga pinto on August 15, 2007, 08:22:52 PM
Congrats to Stern

Nah yuh wrong dey boss,that was a difficult position for any striker,what was amazing is he almost score it!
Post by: Babalawo on August 15, 2007, 08:27:18 PM
good going stern john. just saw the news on skysports, thanx ff for the highlights
Post by: Papasmurf on August 15, 2007, 08:33:32 PM
he was supposed to score that header that hit the post. no question. They was supposed to have three points. But he stuck to his task and save their blushes...
Title: Stern score the equalizer!!!!
Post by: Fyzoman on August 15, 2007, 08:42:08 PM
ay, Stern score the 2nd equalizer for Sunderland against he old club. A header from 6 inches out. I know he woulda score though, big up Stern!!!
Post by: dreamer on August 15, 2007, 08:45:19 PM
Watch nah....da was de best feeling. It was always my feeling that Keano was playing Stern this game. Moral of the story for we trinbagonaians.....stop panicking so. Stern is boss an will always be boss. Big Mag whey yuh?  >:(   ;D

Lovely playing Stern-turn-inho. Allyuh notice de glowing praises from Keano and Bruce? They admiring him and nuff here jess hating. C'mon fellas, we can do better dan dat. Respec'

Memories  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:...
Click on Panama vs T&T (Oct 8, 2005) http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14305.0
Doh ever doubt meh boy again  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: dreamer on August 15, 2007, 09:11:59 PM
Watch nah....da was de best feeling. It was always my feeling that Keano was playing Stern this game. Moral of the story for we trinbagonaians.....stop panicking so. Stern is boss an will always be boss. Big Mag whey yuh?  >:(   ;D

Lovely playing Stern-turn-inho. Allyuh notice de glowing praises from Keano and Bruce? They admiring him and nuff here jess hating. C'mon fellas, we can do better dan dat. Respec'

Memories  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:...
Click on Panama vs T&T (Oct 8, 2005) http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14305.0
Doh ever doubt meh boy again  >:( >:( >:( >:(

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/6941801.stm
Post by: troy piloy on August 15, 2007, 09:53:50 PM
he was supposed to score that header that hit the post. no question. They was supposed to have three points.
You know is comments like this does upset me allya does just be hating on Stern fro no reason before yuo support and congrats the player you coming with negative comments. Come on man let get postive

Troy 8)
Post by: fatimarima on August 15, 2007, 10:20:23 PM
outside with all haters!!!   Big up to Stern "bound to score "John!    :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on August 15, 2007, 10:30:39 PM
It's nice to be right...in this case though it feels good to be wrong, big up Stern for pullling one off when he team needed it.  I still say he should be playing better, but that's only because I know he's capable of better...way to seize the moment though.

HIGHLIGHTS

http://media.putfile.com/BIRMINGHAM-2-SUNDERLAND-2

good hustle on the highlights, big up  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on August 15, 2007, 10:32:17 PM
did  i mention john on mi fantasy team  ;D
I find men was real breaksin from de question when i ask boy! Anyhow...he give me a valuable 5 points.....buh i hadda do some reshuffling wit my team AGAIN! Well done stern.

I have tuh give de two ah allyuh props b/c even me thought allyuh was mad fuh suggesting men even play him, way to show faith in him  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on August 15, 2007, 10:35:38 PM

I rankles me to no end to see (presumably) grown-ass men with this 'hater' talk as though they'z some facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat.  Exactly what is the definition of 'hating' anyways...or is it that men here juss throwing arung words they hear others say in some feeble attempt to be hip?

*steups*

Anyways, big up Sunderland...and big up Stern in particular.
Post by: Peong on August 15, 2007, 11:03:04 PM
I rankles me to no end to see (presumably) grown-ass men with this 'hater' talk as though they'z some facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat.  Exactly what is the definition of 'hating' anyways...or is it that men here juss throwing arung words they hear others say in some feeble attempt to be hip?

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28899.msg329369#msg329369

I became a hater in the "Hand of God" game...could never root for Argentina.

hmmm what is goin on here?
Post by: StoreBayLimer on August 15, 2007, 11:23:34 PM

Stern’s performance did not help his cause to stay at Sunderland or move up on the list of strikers.  A lot of people are cheering the goal, but it was a goal that did not demonstrate his skill as a striker.  In fact, to score that goal did not really require a lot of skills.  The real heartbreak was Stern missing the header.  Edwards had a fantastic run, the man beat a midfielder, then broke through two defenders, and was going down, but he stayed up and made an excellent pass to Stern. The ball was about 24 inches away from the goal, Stern was unmarked, and that easy header, Stern put it  on the crossbar.    Chopra’s strike showed that he has some skills of a striker.  Edwards was excellent today.
Post by: andre samuel on August 15, 2007, 11:44:39 PM

Stern’s performance did not help his cause to stay at Sunderland or move up on the list of strikers.  A lot of people are cheering the goal, but it was a goal that did not demonstrate his skill as a striker.  In fact, to score that goal did not really require a lot of skills.  The real heartbreak was Stern missing the header.  Edwards had a fantastic run, the man beat a midfielder, then broke through two defenders, and was going down, but he stayed up and made an excellent pass to Stern. The ball was about 24 inches away from the goal, Stern was unmarked, and that easy header, Stern put it  on the crossbar.    Chopra’s strike showed that he has some skills of a striker.  Edwards was excellent today.

LOL

Some people just born to hate other people

Keene glowing praises, Bruce glowing praises, but ah man on a message board still hating.

Post by: andre samuel on August 15, 2007, 11:58:10 PM
Stern getting a run..........Birmingham is a physical side and Stern's size with be a factor!

Great prediction andre samuel, u really know your stuff.

Post by: Blue on August 16, 2007, 12:19:23 AM

Bake n Shark - explain!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Yuh facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat  ;)

Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 12:38:12 AM

Is it really that funny fella?

What should be evident is that the context isn't the same, as much as I don't like using the word 'hate' (I find it unnecessarily strong/negative) I've never made any bones about the fact that I detest any and all things Argentinian, including their style of play diving.  In the quote I'm speaking about my own feelings, which I am certain of.

As used in this thread and by the idiots in hip-hop where the term originated, "hate" or "hater" is used to label or typecast critics/criticism...usually painting it as being borne of jealousy "they just hatin' on me, that's all". I doubt anyone knows what lies in the heart of any other poster to say that they 'hate' or even detest Stern, or that their criticism of him here is borne of jealousy.  Yet man after man marching in lockstep dismissing any and all criticism of Stern as this petty 'hate'...which is hardly the case, and which I find particularly irritating.  Stern human like anybody else and not above reproach, if it fair to praise him then it's equally fair to criticise him in turn.

Hope that helps...but lemme know if there's anything else from my thousand + posts that you fellas need explained.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 12:39:47 AM

Agreed to an extent...it was timely and opportunistic, but at the end of the day that's really all that matters.
Post by: rocwell on August 16, 2007, 12:52:25 AM
extended highlights available at:
http://rapidshare.com/files/49243425/Birmingham_vs_Sunderland_-_Highlights.AVI
Post by: superoli on August 16, 2007, 02:05:14 AM
nobody mention the WWE styles the sunderland player put on the keeper to stop him getting up  ;D he make hulk hogan look soft   ;D
Post by: fishs on August 16, 2007, 02:05:26 AM
The problem now for Stern will be actual playing time.
The sharpness not back there as yet, as a man say he should have scored with the first header.
The more match time he gets the sharper he'll get.
If he sits on the bench and keeps getting corbeau sweat, he'll lose his edge and that could be the end of him and the black cats.

This happened to him when Birmingham went up and Bruce brought in Heskey. Yorke and a couple other strikers, he moved from starter to bencher to job seeker.

Hope you come through this Stern, you deserve it for the hard work you put in.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 02:18:01 AM
nobody mention the WWE styles the sunderland player put on the keeper to stop him getting up  ;D he make hulk hogan look soft   ;D
Not sure it would have mattered...good non-call by the ref, if he happen to legitimately fall on de man (as appeared to be the case) then he not obligated to hurry up off de ground, keeper have to shed he himself, he not untouchable.

Other observations:

Chopra= Cold-blooded assassin (even though it early still)

Great pace, balance, accuracy and overall skill by Carlos on the miss by Stern...man how far this dude has come in the span of 18 or so months.

Whither Yorke?  :(

Craig Gordon has been ordinary...pedestrian even, in the two games thus far.
Post by: Trinitim on August 16, 2007, 02:20:48 AM
Well done rocwell!!!!
Post by: superoli on August 16, 2007, 04:17:47 AM
on match of the day they show the figure four move in full
the man fall and pull the keeper right arm down and keep holding him it was deliberate the keeper didnt have a chance of getting back up.
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 04:23:41 AM

Stern was in the right place at the right time to finish. And that is a skill all managers appreciate. He also showed srength of character to put himself back in a position to score after a seemingly glaring miss. Stern was also on the field for 30 minutes I think. So it's not only the goal he will be judged by. I also believe Stern's physical presence was a factor in that 1st goal. So Keane might like that as well. Didn't see the game, just highlights, so I can't comment any more on Stern's performance. As for the miss..I just think Carlos was so close to him when he crossed that Stern did not have enough time to really get over the ball and snap downwards. He didn't seem to have much time to apply any technique. In the end..i think he helped his cause. Keane needs forwards who can score goals at this level..So far only 2 have proved that they can

Glad to hear Edwards was excellent..but he was at fault for the 1st goal. Woeful defending at the far post..By all reports he played well and that run for the cross to Stern is a prime example of his worth..and he is still not match fit (the reason why he got injured)

GO T&T
Post by: arrow on August 16, 2007, 05:16:58 AM
Whither Yorke?  :(

He's probably just getting some rest as it's a lot to ask an old man to play 3 matches in a week at that level

Expect him back on Saturday unless he picked up a knock I haven't heard about
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2007, 05:43:59 AM
on match of the day they show the figure four move in full
the man fall and pull the keeper right arm down and keep holding him it was deliberate the keeper didnt have a chance of getting back up.

all unfair games does play over..............sunderland should have gotten a penalty b4

fact is keane has been in the market for john like striker...one who has physical presence can hold up d ball and lay it off and yes one who can finish too......... he hasnt found one yet thats y i think john was kept on, because none of the other strikers at sunderland have that sorta physical presence

john boy ah know if u didnt play in any of the 1st 3 games yuh goose d cook but now more mins will be coming your way. the ball back on yuh right foot (ball back in yuh court)  take yuh chance and run with it.
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2007, 06:20:08 AM
I rankles me to no end to see (presumably) grown-ass men with this 'hater' talk as though they'z some facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat.  Exactly what is the definition of 'hating' anyways...or is it that men here juss throwing arung words they hear others say in some feeble attempt to be hip?

What should be evident is that the context isn't the same, as much as I don't like using the word 'hate' (I find it unnecessarily strong/negative) I've never made any bones about the fact that I detest any and all things Argentinian, including their style of play diving.  In the quote I'm speaking about my own feelings, which I am certain of.

As used in this thread and by the idiots in hip-hop where the term originated, "hate" or "hater" is used to label or typecast critics/criticism...usually painting it as being borne of jealousy "they just hatin' on me, that's all". I doubt anyone knows what lies in the heart of any other poster to say that they 'hate' or even detest Stern, or that their criticism of him here is borne of jealousy.  Yet man after man marching in lockstep dismissing any and all criticism of Stern as this petty 'hate'...which is hardly the case, and which I find particularly irritating.  Stern human like anybody else and not above reproach, if it fair to praise him then it's equally fair to criticise him in turn.

Hope that helps...but lemme know if there's anything else from my thousand + posts that you fellas need explained.

:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:
Post by: dinho on August 16, 2007, 06:24:08 AM
he was supposed to score that header that hit the post. no question. They was supposed to have three points. But he stuck to his task and save their blushes...

yuh know....

its comments like does make yuh really wonder..

who's to say if he scored that first header off the carlos cross to equalize, that he would even get another chance to score... Obviously Birmingham would have a different approach to the game at that stage.. you feel if that goal score the rest of the game woulda play out exactly as it did after the 82nd minute? steups

allyuh cyah be happy for people and done?? 

just give de man credit where credit is due and stop the unnecessary fault finding..
Post by: just cool on August 16, 2007, 06:28:56 AM

Bake n Shark - explain!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Yuh facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat  ;)

As used in this thread and by the idiots in hip-hop where the term originated, "hate" or "hater" is used to label or typecast critic
Sorry to disappoint yuh man, but i lived in the US especially in the ghetto most my life , and the first time i heard the phrase hater was in T&T in 1996 and from what i understand it was used since the early 90ies. black americans just started using that word in the mid ninties to indicate a dfisgruntled mutha F##ker. thus the phrase player hater,  then it dwindled to hater and hate. but trini beat them to it. trust me i know money.
Post by: Peong on August 16, 2007, 07:23:08 AM
Not sure it would have mattered...good non-call by the ref, if he happen to legitimately fall on de man (as appeared to be the case) then he not obligated to hurry up off de ground, keeper have to shed he himself, he not untouchable.

Ey yuh facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat, watch the video.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 07:28:51 AM
all unfair games does play over..............sunderland should have gotten a penalty b4

fact is keane has been in the market for john like striker...one who has physical presence can hold up d ball and lay it off and yes one who can finish too......... he hasnt found one yet thats y i think john was kept on, because none of the other strikers at sunderland have that sorta physical presence

john boy ah know if u didnt play in any of the 1st 3 games yuh goose d cook but now more mins will be coming your way. the ball back on yuh right foot (ball back in yuh court)  take yuh chance and run with it.

...blatant shove in the back of O'Connor (?), in the box no less.
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 07:32:41 AM

:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

Yuh could stop waving yuh panties now Omardumbho...Ass Sniffers Anonymous meeting in ah next thread.

Sorry to disappoint yuh man, but i lived in the US especially in the ghetto most my life , and the first time i heard the phrase hater was in T&T in 1996 and from what i understand it was used since the early 90ies. black americans just started using that word in the mid ninties to indicate a dfisgruntled mutha F##ker. thus the phrase player hater,  then it dwindled to hater and hate. but trini beat them to it. trust me i know money.

No disappointment here...if yuh say that's what yuh observed then that's what yuh observed  :beermug:
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2007, 07:34:17 AM
Watch nah....da was de best feeling. It was always my feeling that Keano was playing Stern this game. Moral of the story for we trinbagonaians.....stop panicking so. Stern is boss an will always be boss. Big Mag whey yuh?  >:(   ;D

I rankles me to no end to see (presumably) grown-ass men with this 'hater' talk as though they'z some facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat.  Exactly what is the definition of 'hating' anyways...or is it that men here juss throwing arung words they hear others say in some feeble attempt to be hip?

I'm sure, you would probably be mortified to notice that you yourself have integrated quite a bit of the 'ghetto li'l hoodrat' vocabulary into your own, but then again I suppose watching yuh own posts ent your thing since yuh not into 'maccoing' right?

On another note, is amazing how many experts convinced that Stern 'shoulda' score the first attempt (notwithstanding how fast and high the ball met him) and that Sunderland 'shoulda' win 3-2 (notwithstanding the fact that if they had equalize and was down to 10 men when Carlos limp off they were very unlikely to be pressing for a winner)

I personally consider that some people 'shoulda' find another thing to call themselves than TNT supporters...
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 07:34:44 AM

Ey yuh facking American ghetto li'l hoodrat, watch the video.
Me watching the video yet again isn't going to change the fact that they bundled into each other and the Sunderland player took his time getting off the keeper you idiot halfwit.
Post by: Tallman on August 16, 2007, 07:35:59 AM
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1187254751_gallery2.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1187254823_gallery8.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1187254813_gallery7.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1187254833_gallery9.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on August 16, 2007, 07:37:49 AM
Take dat Disgruntled ;D
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/aug_07/safc_1187254813_gallery7.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 07:39:48 AM
Watch nah....da was de best feeling. It was always my feeling that Keano was playing Stern this game. Moral of the story for we trinbagonaians.....stop panicking so. Stern is boss an will always be boss. Big Mag whey yuh?  >:(   ;D

I'm sure, you would probably be mortified to notice that you yourself have integrated quite a bit of the 'ghetto li'l hoodrat' vocabulary into your own, but then again I suppose watching yuh own posts ent your thing since yuh not into 'maccoing' right?

Another fan...

Really?  I'm sure you have a comprehensive list of what constitutes "ghetto li'l hoodrat" vocabulary and evidence that I've "integrated quite a bit" of it into my own vocab.  I see you've been paying close attention to my posts again.  I sure if ah fart right now, not only would it reach you quite whey yuh is...but yuh could probably tell mih what ah had tuh eat last night as well.  Get off the computer and go find ah woman and stop studying next man so hard.
Post by: Midknight on August 16, 2007, 07:45:02 AM

Another fan...

Really?  I'm sure you have a comprehensive list of what constitutes "ghetto li'l hoodrat" vocabulary and evidence that I've "integrated quite a bit" of it into my own vocab.  I see you've been paying close attention to my posts again.  I sure if ah fart right now, not only would it reach you quite whey yuh is...but yuh could probably tell mih what ah had tuh eat last night as well.  Get off the computer and go find ah woman and stop studying next man so hard.

Predictable...
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2007, 07:45:56 AM
aye from now on is decaf 4 allyuh
Post by: fishs on August 16, 2007, 07:51:04 AM

Wow, getting smelly here.
Post by: WestCoast on August 16, 2007, 07:58:45 AM
Aye Dutty where is my shipment of mauby and popcorn
I goin for dat kettle popcorn as it have ah sweetness ;)
Post by: andre samuel on August 16, 2007, 08:39:55 AM

Have u seen these games? What are u basing that on? some highlights? lol

The man conceeded two goals in two games, one was an own goal and the other was a bullet inside his box!

This is after he joined a team less than a wek before.

What do u want him to do? against tottenham he had no saves to make, and against Birmingham he had nothing to do besides the goals he conceeded.  How is he supposed to impress you? Is he supposed to dive abou the place or score a goal from inside his own penalty box?

Post by: Big Magician on August 16, 2007, 09:18:25 AM
whats my name  ?? eh ?? ... whats my fu#kin name ??...  say it you setta c#nts....whats my fu#kin name???

My name is Stern John    14

good start stern...keep going...thats all you do anyhow
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2007, 09:35:18 AM

Have u seen these games? What are u basing that on? some highlights? lol

The man conceeded two goals in two games, one was an own goal and the other was a bullet inside his box!

This is after he joined a team less than a wek before.

What do u want him to do? against tottenham he had no saves to make, and against Birmingham he had nothing to do besides the goals he conceeded.  How is he supposed to impress you? Is he supposed to dive abou the place or score a goal from inside his own penalty box?

You's he girlfriend or sumting pardna?  Ah find like yuh taking de criticism kinda personal  ;)
Post by: dreintel on August 16, 2007, 09:52:46 AM
dred i thought i was coming here to talk football........
left ah man wit ah opinion nah!!!!
if yuh disagree say so!!!!
AND DAIS IT!!!!!!!!
MOVE ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Peong on August 16, 2007, 10:48:08 AM
What should be evident is that the context isn't the same

Context could be different, that is ok.
You criticised the use of the word, not the context in which it is used.

Actually the context is the same, the difference that you outlined is that you think the use in this case is unjustified.

Anyway.
Post by: just cool on August 16, 2007, 06:48:31 PM
With all due respect, for the little time i've been browsing this forum it's really been a great time, BC i didn't have any where else to access my football info, so i want to big up the brothers who is responsible for putting such a great board/site together. the flip side to this forum is it kinda reminds me of a rum shop. men does disagree just for the sake of arguement and i guess that's alright to, but when it gets abusive that's when i think it's time to haul and pull up. i think big men and women should be a bit more classy than that... no matter how obserd a member might come accross. now for all who expect to much from #14 i say it's to early to start wid the criticism, give the man a chance,  if any thing come back in january then ppl may be a bit open to that type of criticism. the header that stern missed was not unusual, the best strikers in the world miss out on chances like that or even easier, that's football runnings, forinstance , since the season started i saw ronaldo threw away , viduka and pizzaro missed an even easier chance. so give we boi #14 a chance for meh please.
Post by: SUPA on August 18, 2007, 08:41:23 AM
With all due respect, for the little time i've been browsing this forum it's really been a great time, BC i didn't have any where else to access my football info, so i want to big up the brothers who is responsible for putting such a great board/site together. the flip side to this forum is it kinda reminds me of a rum shop. men does disagree just for the sake of arguement and i guess that's alright to, but when it gets abusive that's when i think it's time to haul and pull up. i think big men and women should be a bit more classy than that... no matter how obserd a member might come accross. now for all who expect to much from #14 i say it's to early to start wid the criticism, give the man a chance,  if any thing come back in january then ppl may be a bit open to that type of criticism. the header that stern missed was not unusual, the best strikers in the world miss out on chances like that or even easier, that's football runnings, forinstance , since the season started i saw ronaldo threw away , viduka and pizzaro missed an even easier chance. so give we boi #14 a chance for meh please.

Ah had tuh make ah turn dis morning wid meh son, so ah really couldn't answer yuh post as ah wanted to. Alright, JC yuh cool wid me, so every thing nice. Ah guess yuh was referring tuh me, wid de part ah highlighted. But hear meh nah, let meh be short and simple. Despite what all yuh might think of Supa & De Enterprise, all yuh cud say we are gangsters, bad bois, gang group, what ever. One thing fuh sure is dat ah could tell all yuh, is dat Supa was well brought up, wid manners and I went tuh school and received my education (give thanks). Wid dat said I'm man enough tuh apologise tuh each and every member here dat was offended by my previous post on dis thread, I'm apologising cuz ah have respect fuh each member here and ah really think ah went 2 far wid dat Post. Even meh wife, she read it and told meh ah was wrong tuh post dat. Again I apologise.

However, wid dat said, we are all human beings, and each person react differently when dey get upset, Supa does loose it real bad, dat is one ah meh faults. Some people does loose it real bad, and may end up pulling out dey gun and emptying it on yuh, so we all react differently in those circumstances. I is ah man dat doh take back no chat, cuz ah cuss nuff men here on de forum already, and ah doh business. Remember, it takes a real man tuh acknowledge when he was wrong, and apologise for it :beermug:. However, all yuh doh get it twisted doh, ah give all yuh de reason why I apologised, doh think fuh ah minute, dat if one ah all yuh come at meh de wrong, yuh wil get away wid it, yuh will get laced up very heavily and doh expect an apology from meh either, so be careful. Cuz as meh good friend (Bounty Killer) and leader of de Alliance in Jamaica does say, "ah eh gone no way and nothing eh change"  8)HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Peong on August 18, 2007, 10:07:05 AM
Me watching the video yet again isn't going to change the fact that they bundled into each other and the Sunderland player took his time getting off the keeper you idiot halfwit.

Look de extended highlights.
http://www.zshare.net/download/3163900856f362/

To be fair to you bake, yuh can't see the foul on the Birmingham keeper in the short highlights.
But when yuh see what really happened in this video yuh have to wonder what constitutes a fact in your opinion.
The Sunderland player was behind the keeper, pulling him back, not on top the keeper.
Yuh idiot halfwit.