Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 30, 2007, 02:20:03 PM

Title: Stern: No regrets over swap deal, Jones delighted over Premiership move‏.
Post by: Flex on August 30, 2007, 02:20:03 PM
Stern: No regrets over swap deal.
...Jones delighted over Premiership move‏.

Trinidad and Tobago leading striker Stern John says he has no regrets having to give up his place at Premiership club Sunderland in order to allow uprising Kenwyne Jones to make his entry into the top flight of English football.
John, who turns 31 in October, was part of a swap deal between Southampton and Sunderland which saw the latter club pay 6 million pounds for Jones on a four-year deal. John meantime moved to the Championship Division side on a two-year deal. This was the second time John had to make room for another player after having to join Coventry City when Dwight Yorke arrived at Birmingham City.
“Obviously it’s disappointing to have to leave Sunderland but only because I think I wasn’t given a fair enough chance by the manager. I had a good preseason and I had only 45 minutes so far in the League and one goal to show for it. Obviously he had other strikers he preferred and now he’s put out money for Andy Cole as well. That’s part of the game as well and I have accepted that. Nothing surprises me in football and you learn that as your years as football go on,” John told TTFF Media. “But at the same time I’m really happy for Kenwyne to get this chance. To have a club offer 6 million for you is fantastic. And the option was there for me to stay at Sunderland.
“The manager didn’t actually tell me to go as he also gave me the option to stay on. He said though that I wasn’t guaranteed playing time and it was up to me whether I wanted to stay on with that in mind. But the only way Kenwyne could come was if Southampton were also getting me. I had a good thought about it and I felt it would be great for Kenwyne to get this deal. Both of us had a good talk about it as well. In life you get chances and you have to grab it and this is Kenwyne’s time. I’m going to be 31 this year and I have to look after myself. Going to Southampton also means a better deal for me and it means Kenwyne can go into the Premiership at 22 which is fantastic. Everybody is happy at the end of the day,” John added.
John added that they even stayed in touch during the final processes for the deals to go through.
“When Kenwyne and I were doing our medicals, we phoned each other to make sure it went well. It’s nothing personal and while he has a chance to experience the Premiership at this time, it’s also a chance for me to take up a new challenge and I’m looking forward to that. It’s down to trying to take Southampton back up again. I’ve been part of that experience at Birmingham and Sunderland so why not a third time.”
Looking ahead to Southampton’s match against Queen’s Park Rangers Saturday, the former Nottingham Forest hitman admitted he wanted to make an immediate impact.
“I trained at the club for the first time today and there was nothing strange about it. It’s a nice dressing room and the rest of the guys have accepted me. They also see me as a senior pro coming into the team, taking teams up and playing in a World Cup so now it’s just about me performing for the club.” John added.
Jones meantime told BBC that he was absolutely delighted to make the move and is ready to face Manchester United on Saturday.
“I’m just really happy to be a Sunderland player now. At some point in time you will have't play them so why not now. I think I will be welcoming the challenge to play against the Manchester Uniteds and Liverpools now,” Jones said.
“Sometimes when you look at it it’s not going to be everyone, but some people only get this opportunity once in a life time. I ‘m happy that it came at this age for me. It was not a difficult choice. My decision to come here was basically a heart and head decision. A few words from certain players…(led to) the manager putting the icing on the cake. I speak to Dwight, Carlos and Stern a lot… even before this we normally speak. All they had was praises for the club, the manager and the fans.”
Title: Re: Stern: No regrets over swap deal, Jones delighted over Premiership move‏.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 30, 2007, 02:25:27 PM
#14 = underrated and underappreciated!
Title: Re: Stern: No regrets over swap deal, Jones delighted over Premiership move‏.
Post by: ballpiyong on August 30, 2007, 02:25:35 PM
WTF!!!! John I aint look for yuh dey yuh impress meh with that decision. You decided to pass on the torch to the youth!! I apllaud you sir  :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Mr Mc on August 30, 2007, 02:27:17 PM
yeah man he ketch me too, very impressed.
he could give lessons on how to answer interview questions.
Post by: dinho on August 30, 2007, 02:36:02 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

big up #14....

move like de bigger man there..
Post by: DeSoWa on August 30, 2007, 02:37:05 PM
 :beermug: to stern for showing his professionalism and maturity :applause: . Now go and do what you does best...bring SHFC up the the premiership with 20+ goals...

Kenwyne all the best to you  :beermug: put ah brace on ManU tail dis saturday  ;D

Post by: Mose on August 30, 2007, 02:44:47 PM
Form is temporary, class is permanent.
Nice move by Stern.
Post by: samo on August 30, 2007, 03:03:21 PM
Nice going Stern... Yuh larger than large....
Best of luck at southampton>>>>>
Post by: weary1969 on August 30, 2007, 03:19:13 PM
Class words from a classy player
Post by: Bakes on August 30, 2007, 03:59:44 PM
To echo the sentiments

He said though that  I wasn’t guaranteed playing time and it was up to me whether I wanted to  stay on with that in mind.  But the only way Kenwyne could come was if Southampton were also getting me. I had a good thought about it and I felt it would be great for Kenwyne to get this deal. Both of us had a good talk about it as well. In life you get chances and you have to grab it and this is Kenwyne’s time. I’m going to be 31 this year and I have to look after myself. Going to Southampton also means a better deal for me and it means Kenwyne can go into the Premiership at 22 which is fantastic. Everybody is happy at the end of the day,” John added.
I'm impressed by everything in this snippet...but none moreso than by the bolded part.  Well said, well done Stern...go to Southampton and show your caliber.
Post by: Mackem on August 30, 2007, 04:09:05 PM
Good luck Stern, what a top bloke!  It may have been just bad luck but I'm sure the reason he has been overlooked in the starting lineup at Sunderland is the many missed goal chances, especially during the pre-season games.  He kept getting into good scoring positions but on too many occasions failed to put the ball in the net.

I hope he does well at Southampton and will be looking to see his name on the scoresheet on match days.  In the meantime, let's hope Kenwyn scores lots of goals for the Black Cats to repay the faith that Roy Keane has put in him.

Cheers, Mackem
Post by: berris on August 30, 2007, 04:23:44 PM
Pure Class all around. 
Post by: palos on August 30, 2007, 04:26:16 PM
Good luck Stern, what a top bloke!  It may have been just bad luck but I'm sure the reason he has been overlooked in the starting lineup at Sunderland is the many missed goal chances, especially during the pre-season games.  He kept getting into good scoring positions but on too many occasions failed to put the ball in the net.

I hope he does well at Southampton and will be looking to see his name on the scoresheet on match days.  In the meantime, let's hope Kenwyn scores lots of goals for the Black Cats to repay the faith that Roy Keane has put in him.

Cheers, Mackem

I dare say Coach Keane will regret keeping Murphy and letting Stern go.

Then again....maybe Burley is just a smart man.  Notice....he didn't ask for Murphy.  Murphy has done nothing to impress.  Absolutely nothing.  I admit I am biased towards Stern.  He is from T&T after all and our greatest goalscorer.  But come on......Stern makes 1 sub appearance & plays 32 minutes in the 3 games and scores 1 goal.  That goal earns a tie for Sunderland.

Murphy starts in 2 of the 3 games.  Plays all of one and 78 minutes of the other and does FACK ALL but gets to stay?  Maybe he's a practice champ but he sure isn't dong it on the field.

Post by: Midknight on August 30, 2007, 04:35:23 PM
Form is temporary, class is permanent.

ent ? A legend knows how to talk off and on the field...
Post by: trinikev on August 30, 2007, 04:46:59 PM
 :applause:

Stern really show his class dere. Good luck to both him and Kenwyne, kee the T&T flag flying high  :beermug:
Post by: fyl2u on August 30, 2007, 05:35:54 PM

Cheers, Mackem

Then again....maybe Burley is just a smart man.  Notice....he didn't ask for Murphy.  Murphy has done nothing to impress.  Absolutely nothing.  I admit I am biased towards Stern.  He is from T&T after all and our greatest goalscorer.  But come on......Stern makes 1 sub appearance & plays 32 minutes in the 3 games and scores 1 goal.  That goal earns a tie for Sunderland.

Murphy starts in 2 of the 3 games.  Plays all of one and 78 minutes of the other and does FACK ALL but gets to stay?  Maybe he's a practice champ but he sure isn't dong it on the field.

I agree... I have no idea how Murphy keeps getting picked in the starting lineup.  He must just be amazing in practice games!

Saying that, I'm sure Keano would sell him if someone bid for him.

Anyway, welcome KJ! Can't wait to see you in action!

...and all the best of luck to Stern John at your new club, matey... I hope you do well, lad!

AHA - this time I've posted my message in the right place, instead of inside the quote  :-[ :-X ;D
Post by: WestCoast on August 30, 2007, 05:42:26 PM
Keep up the Attack on the Net man, all the best
Post by: asylumseeker on August 30, 2007, 05:44:57 PM
Well done Stern. Much respect.
Post by: Grande on August 30, 2007, 05:47:20 PM

Cheers, Mackem

Then again....maybe Burley is just a smart man.  Notice....he didn't ask for Murphy.  Murphy has done nothing to impress.  Absolutely nothing.  I admit I am biased towards Stern.  He is from T&T after all and our greatest goalscorer.  But come on......Stern makes 1 sub appearance & plays 32 minutes in the 3 games and scores 1 goal.  That goal earns a tie for Sunderland.

Murphy starts in 2 of the 3 games.  Plays all of one and 78 minutes of the other and does FACK ALL but gets to stay?  Maybe he's a practice champ but he sure isn't dong it on the field.

only thing Murphy really have on Stern is youth and Irishness  ;D

Maybe Keane see some kinda promise in Murphy that we eh seeing and want to hold on to him.
Post by: Socafan on August 30, 2007, 05:48:30 PM
Well, well...Stern yuh regain some of mih faith in yuh. I man really start to rate Stern after that cutass we give Columbia in Miami Orange bowl, sometime back then.

Dah man score a beauty of a diving header. De man was parallel to the ground about 5 feet in de air, from the 6 yard line off ah cross from somebody, believe it was Dwarika, that come in somewhere from the halfline on de side,  high in de air behind de defenders. It was ah thing of beauty. Ah think he score more than one too. Anytime he had de ball he just looked about to score.

Dem Columbians come in de stadium making one setta noise and then leave looking shock shock. Dat was kicks.

Since then Stern was mih boy.... until last qualifiers. The setta hand on hips, saga boy, lazyman, buffup man, point to he toes, lose ball and eh even try to tackle back, no run to intercept, missing goal, cussing fans,  thing he was playing real piss me off.......TO THIS DAY!!

However, this is a classy movement by him and all I could say is BRAVO, Bravo. All yuh have to do now is light up the Championship, because yuh was coming back to yuh old self at Sunderland.

Stern John, Respect to you sir.
Post by: Storeboy on August 30, 2007, 05:53:27 PM
If Stern John never score another goal for TT or anyone else, I would have to say that this is the classiest, most selfless, patriotic act I have ever seen by a sportsman .  You will ever have my respect.  In this dog eat dog world, to express such emotions after a dissapointing stay at Sunderland.
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on August 30, 2007, 07:47:37 PM
stern yuh is de rhel bigman, bless bredda n bessah luck at soton

KJ ah wah yuh tuh buss up de net in trafford eh buh prepare yuh self tuh be on de loosin  team dis weekend becoz man u is mih team  ;D
Post by: ricky on August 30, 2007, 08:01:41 PM
HERO

Post by: Sam on August 31, 2007, 06:51:08 AM
Good luck to both players.
Post by: Jahyouth on August 31, 2007, 07:31:07 AM
I’m going to be 31 this year and I have to look after myself. Going to Southampton also means a better deal for me and it means Kenwyne can go into the Premiership at 22 which is fantastic. Everybody is happy at the end of the day,” John added.…

Like real men miss this part.  Stern going to get a rise in pay too.  So his decision was not 100% altruistic fellas.  But then again, that is life.
Post by: maxg on August 31, 2007, 07:33:51 AM
I’m going to be 31 this year and I have to look after myself. Going to Southampton also means a better deal for me and it means Kenwyne can go into the Premiership at 22 which is fantastic. Everybody is happy at the end of the day,” John added.…

Like real men miss this part.  Stern going to get a rise in pay too.  So his decision was not 100% altruistic fellas.  But then again, that is life.

Whey you see pay raise ?
Post by: Trini on August 31, 2007, 07:56:44 AM
All the best to the 2 of them.

Stern impress meh...A role model to youths in the industry on what is true professionalism.

Post by: Israel on August 31, 2007, 08:40:21 AM
All d best Stern, a true profesional
Post by: Marcos on August 31, 2007, 09:19:22 AM
A fine display of self sacrifice by Stern, although I think (more hope) that he earns a little bit more and gets to prolong his career with this move. But he already experienced the euphoria of promotion, winning the opening game and scoring a critical goal; heights which probably will not be surpassed this year. At the end of the day I am sure Stern will look back on his Sunderland career with pride and count it as one of the best, if not THE best period of his professional career.

Post by: WestCoast on August 31, 2007, 09:35:09 AM
A fine display of self sacrifice by Stern, although I think (more hope) that he earns a little bit more and gets to prolong his career with this move. But he already experienced the euphoria of promotion, winning the opening game and scoring a critical goal; heights which probably will not be surpassed this year. At the end of the day I am sure Stern will look back on his Sunderland career with pride and count it as one of the best, if not THE best period of his professional career.
what if he was to take on the challenge to get as many goals as he can thus becoming "General Stern", resulting in helping Southampton getting promoted at the end of this year.
Post by: berris on August 31, 2007, 10:12:12 AM

It really have true true assholes here !!
Post by: andre samuel on August 31, 2007, 10:59:21 AM

Mister Jahyouth, better deal in terms of time........geez

Some people just so consumed by their own standards of morality that they see things in one dimension.

Post by: pompey_researcher on September 03, 2007, 07:06:37 AM
Hi again, does anyone know how much % the sell on clause for Kenwyne Jones was?
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 03, 2007, 07:32:10 AM
Hi again, does anyone know how much % the sell on clause for Kenwyne Jones was?
Something like 10-15%, I've heard.
Post by: Big Magician on September 03, 2007, 08:53:33 AM
Question to all the experts who saw the Man Utd  vz  sunderland match

how many chances Sunderland get ???
Post by: berris on September 03, 2007, 10:24:02 AM
Question to all the experts who saw the Man Utd  vz  sunderland match

how many chances Sunderland get ???

Big Mag... yuh cud slap dese experts expiss with ah reality stick and dey still eh go see yuh point...ah sure Keane see it though  ;)
Post by: Big Magician on September 03, 2007, 02:29:59 PM
berris....you feel i studying them....stern make my dream come true yes .. F#CK everybody else
Post by: SUPA on September 03, 2007, 04:24:09 PM
Well, well, well, :applause: :applause: :applause:. Ah does always show meh support fuh Stern and show meh love tuh de breddah, through good and bad times. Stern I'm lost fuh words, you are an absolute professional wid love in yuh heart, mey love fuh yuh as ah player just went sky high. Ah hope all de Stern haters and dem, dey see another side of Mr Stern John wid dis speech, and their hearts get touched by his speech. Stern John, large, large respect meh boss. Let dem know, who god bless no man cuss. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Storeboy on September 03, 2007, 05:51:55 PM

Whey you see pay raise ?

I ent know where he see pay raise.  Unless he reading some report that we ent see yet. Stern talking about the opportunity to play, rather than sit on the bench.  How Southampton go send away there best forward and then give the lesser player the get a pay raise?  That ent make no sense.
Post by: Marcos on September 04, 2007, 07:34:10 AM
He may have gotten an extension. That ultimately mean more money even if he didn't actually get a pay raise. No hard maths there.
Post by: Pointman on September 04, 2007, 11:34:12 AM
STERN JOHN   you will always be my horse!!  All the best.

Congrats to my hometown boy Kenwyne Jones, represent Point Fortin and T&T to the fullest...nice contract sah!!

Post by: Bakes on September 04, 2007, 01:19:53 PM
He may have gotten an extension. That ultimately mean more money even if he didn't actually get a pay raise. No hard maths there.
I think Stern meant it was an all-around better situation for himself, particularly when it comes to having a chance to once more be 'the man' on the field.  True talk though, only a fool would fail to realize that it's likely also a better financial deal for himself as well, there was some altruism on his part, but I'm sure that was countenanced by the benefit to his own situation as well.
Post by: dinho on September 04, 2007, 01:34:51 PM
I think Stern meant it was an all-around better situation for himself, particularly when it comes to having a chance to once more be 'the man' on the field.  True talk though, only a fool would fail to realize that it's likely also a better financial deal for himself as well, there was some altruism on his part, but I'm sure that was countenanced by the benefit to his own situation as well.

Stern got a new 2 year contract with the same pay, while he only had 1 year left on his current one at Sunderland..

Yes it is a better deal, but some poster come in here wild wild and bawl he getting regular ball and a pay raise to go Southampton and I think that is what men taking issue with...
Post by: Marcos on September 05, 2007, 07:14:25 AM
scene