Sports => Football => Topic started by: kingman on September 12, 2007, 08:28:54 AM

Title: Whitley to head Connection.
Post by: kingman on September 12, 2007, 08:28:54 AM
Whitley to don W Connection colors.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

Axed San Juan Jabloteh prodigy Aurtis Whitley has signed on with cross country rivals W Connection on Tuesday confirmed club owner David John Williams. For the first time since joining the San Juan based club eleven years ago, the Trinidad and Tobago World Cup midfielder Aurtis Whitley is about to don a different club uniform and with no other but his former rivals W Connection after being axed last Friday. 
For the first time since joining the San Juan based club eleven years ago, the Trinidad and Tobago World Cup midfielder Aurtis Whitley is about to don a different club uniform and with no other but his former rivals W Connection after being axed last Friday. 
Williams told ‘ttproleague.com’ that he preferred not to disclose details of the contract but commented that Whitley is a great addition to his team.
“We feel that he is a great addition to our team for the rest of the season. We need players of his quality at the moment because we have lost a few players this season. We feel that he is still one of the greatest midfielders in this country and he still has a lot to offer.”
“He has great midfield skills and also a capability to score goals,” ended Williams.
Whitley was axed by Jabloteh four months before his contract expired because of being delinquent and a so called lack of passion which he admits to.
Whitley explained that he had an ongoing grouse with head coach Terry Fenwick which has prompted his lost of commitment to the club he had served for eleven years.
“He (Fenwick) always created problems with the senior players at Jabloteh and that was frustrating to play under. I was training and doing all what I had to do but when it came to matches I wouldn’t get selected and that was another frustrating matter,” explained the now W Connection midfielder.
“My passion to play for the club really went and I had to do what I did to get out.”
“They (Jabloteh) got eleven good years from me and I am really sorry it had to end the way it did. My heart was really at Jabloteh,” said Whitley emotionally.
Admitting that he would miss his former teammates, Whitley is now focused on returning to his glory days under new boss Stuart Charles Fevrier.
“All I wanted to be was comfortable. I know that now my standard will rise again because I want to make an impact with W Connection.”
Whitley had his first session under coach Stuart Charles Fevrier on Tuesday morning and explained that he enjoyed every bit of it.
“The W Connection players all welcomed me. It was really nice and I’m feeling really comfortable already,” said the now W Connection player.
Whitley has played his entire professional career in Trinidad. He enjoyed trials in England with Premiership club Portsmouth FC before the 2006 World Cup in Germany and in Vietnam in 2007.
At age 30 Whitley still has aspirations to playing abroad saying that he believes that he can create opportunities for himself to play professionally outside of Trinidad and Tobago while with W Connection.
Whitley a member of the blacklisted T&T internationals also said that he is always available to play for his country but hopes that the situation between the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and his colleagues is resolved soon.
Title: Re: Whitley to head Connection
Post by: Tallman on September 12, 2007, 08:32:57 AM
So isn't there a mechanism in the Pro League for a player to hand in a transfer request?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 12, 2007, 09:04:35 AM
There is always at least two sides to every story. We finally now hearing the player's side.  Hopefully he is able to rekindle that passion he lost and validate Connection's faith in him, and not give up the fight. He rep the RBW and ran with the best. Lets hope Fevrier can bring out in him that same passion Beenie was able to. I really wish the best for this fella.

Peace
Title: Re: Whitley to head Connection.
Post by: daryn on September 12, 2007, 09:11:14 AM
didn't whitley play in portugal at some point?
Post by: maxg on September 12, 2007, 09:24:19 AM
 :whew: :chilling:
Post by: berris on September 12, 2007, 09:28:03 AM
Formites only hear one side ah de story and pelt de man under de bus oui !! ah wonder how much man going back now and change or delete dey post wey dey bashing de man. Good luck Whitley all de best in yuh new club. 
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 12, 2007, 09:34:05 AM
didn't whitley play in portugal at some point?

He played in Setubal, Portugal for Vitoria FC in 1997. The information is in "TNT ROSTER" on the site homepage
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 12, 2007, 10:32:07 AM
So his side of the story is he was uncomfortable and didn't get pick for games?
Post by: Sando on September 12, 2007, 10:33:03 AM
Whitley, you have to earn your pick !!!!!!

The young players at Jabloteh is doing pretty good and getting better by the game and Whitley probably felt he was a main stay... he got carried away... Khaleem Hyland booted him out the Jabloteh start team...
Post by: Rodney on September 12, 2007, 10:40:41 AM
Formites only hear one side ah de story and pelt de man under de bus oui !! ah wonder how much man going back now and change or delete dey post wey dey bashing de man. Good luck Whitley all de best in yuh new club. 

It was said earlier that there are two sides to every story. I was always taught there are three..."Your side, my side and the truth". Just because Whitley has put in his two cents doesn't mean he is now in the right. As Tallman alluded, can't PFL players hand in Transfer requests if they ain't happy at a club? All this airing of dirty laundry in public is of little use. Who cares which party is right or wrong we will probably never know the true story. The main thing is, He was'nt happy and as a result, has moved on. I agree in wishing him the best of luck with his new club and hope he lives upto his word that his standard of play will improve at Connection.
Post by: berris on September 12, 2007, 10:45:10 AM

Whitley eh have to go in to more details but it is not as petty as you put it.

Read Properly ....

''Whitley explained that he had an ongoing grouse with head coach Terry Fenwick which has prompted his lost of commitment to the club he had served for eleven years.
He (Fenwick) always created problems with the senior players at Jabloteh and that was frustrating to play under. I was training and doing all what I had to do but when it came to matches I wouldn’t get selected and that was another frustrating matter,” explained the now W Connection midfielder.
My passion to play for the club really went and I had to do what I did to get out.”

Post by: ballpiyong on September 12, 2007, 10:57:02 AM

We still bashing him because that story is bullshit. You're telling me he is not comfortable because he aint getting pick. Maybe because you playing shit Whitley or the youngsters coming up take your spot and you cyah handle that so you lost commitment to the team and stop training STEEEUUPPSSSS!!!!. With that said yuh is ah trini so I still wishing you all the best Whitley!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on September 12, 2007, 10:59:16 AM
At least he still playing.....thank the Lord....I was real mad wid him when ah read de story yesterday.....

I still looking out for him to do good in de future on de National Team....oh yeah...he on de Jacklist....ssstteeuuppss....F....U ...Jackula....

Post by: berris on September 12, 2007, 11:00:30 AM
All yuh right doh believe Whitley side ah de story ..as usuall de experts know exactly what went on and decide he wrong ... :banginghead:   jokers pure jokers.
Post by: dcs on September 12, 2007, 11:15:17 AM

From what he said all the other senior players have a problem with Fenwick...so how de cheese stand alone so?
Anyway...hope he does well at Connection. 

Real disturbing how many players are being released for disciplinary reasons and ending up at other clubs without transfer fees passing....is this some kinda underhand ploy players/clubs using to move?
Post by: triniairman on September 12, 2007, 11:17:23 AM

Whitley eh have to go in to more details but it is not as petty as you put it.

Read Properly ....

''Whitley explained that he had an ongoing grouse with head coach Terry Fenwick which has prompted his lost of commitment to the club he had served for eleven years.
He (Fenwick) always created problems with the senior players at Jabloteh and that was frustrating to play under. I was training and doing all what I had to do but when it came to matches I wouldn’t get selected and that was another frustrating matter,” explained the now W Connection midfielder.
My passion to play for the club really went and I had to do what I did to get out.”

It's clear that you beleive his side of the story, good for you, somehow I beleive he got swell headed with that money and seeing that he been at Jabloteh for so long, he thought he was an automatic starter. I wish him the best of luck at his new club.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 12, 2007, 11:35:06 AM
Whitley to don W Connection colors.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

For the first time since joining the San Juan based club eleven years ago, the Trinidad and Tobago World Cup midfielder Aurtis Whitley is about to don a different club uniform and with no other but his former rivals W Connection after being axed last Friday.
Williams told ‘ttproleague.com’ that he preferred not to disclose details of the contract but commented that Whitley is a great addition to his team.
“My passion to play for the club really went and I had to do what I did to get out.”

Connection movin like real cobeau, all now so they makin pooja for Peter Byers or Cornell to get ketch in something bad. I wonder how much "Connection" Whitley had with Fevrier before he "had to do what I did to get out"?
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2007, 11:58:32 AM
For those of who live in TNT and see d man liming more than playin we eh shock. Leh we see him rekindle he passion for WC. Then he side ah d story go be believe
Post by: berris on September 12, 2007, 03:00:22 PM
For those of who live in TNT and see d man liming more than playin we eh shock. Leh we see him rekindle he passion for WC. Then he side ah d story go be believe

:rotfl: ...this shud be in de joke section .I din know 'those of who live in TNT' wuk was to follow de man around 24/7 to maco see  what he is be doing.
Post by: freakazoid on September 12, 2007, 03:08:30 PM
what is there to apologise for or delete. otis seaton admit that he guilty of all that he was accused of. basically what i get from this article is that he was getting bench and he found it unwarranted so he decide to display the behaviour which he admits to.

Good thing is to try and clear up his name he will play ball 4 connection now. ah win win as far as i can see

Post by: Filho on September 12, 2007, 03:12:41 PM

:rotfl: ...this shud be in de joke section .I din know 'those of who live in TNT' wuk was to follow de man around 24/7 to know what he is be doing.

berris is Whitley
Post by: berris on September 12, 2007, 03:14:36 PM

:rotfl: ...this shud be in de joke section .I din know 'those of who live in TNT' wuk was to follow de man around 24/7 to know what he is be doing.

berris is Whitley

Filho you does always hah to blow de whistle eh  ::)
Post by: Bakes on September 12, 2007, 04:33:43 PM
So isn't there a mechanism in the Pro League for a player to hand in a transfer request?
Yeah...it's called ''Sulk and be a Malcontent'', can be substituted by process called "Go Play in Fete Match".
Post by: black chinee on September 12, 2007, 09:37:09 PM
Connection only waiting fuh men tuh get de axe...tuh sign dem boi......lol..... dey in ah real bad shape...

anyhow, hope allyuh put dat kenywne money to good use
Post by: weary1969 on September 13, 2007, 12:14:04 AM
No need to Maco when he and d stag always seen in Malick as Morvantman. Midnight and co does want to stay in France and play that they know what happening at home more than we who here 24/7 when we not on vacation. The man liming since he come of d plane since Germany.

Post by: Midknight on September 13, 2007, 02:54:39 AM
No need to Maco when he and d stag always seen in Malick as Morvantman. Midnight and co does want to stay in France and play that they know what happening at home more than we who here 24/7 when we not on vacation. The man liming since he come of d plane since Germany.

How d mother ras my name get call in alyuh thread ? *steups*

Afterwards alyuh does wonder why men does get the impression alyuh just looking for friend...
Post by: berris on September 13, 2007, 09:14:07 AM

How d mother ras my name get call in alyuh thread ? *steups*

Afterwards alyuh does wonder why men does get the impression alyuh just looking for friend...

:rotfl:  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: berris on September 13, 2007, 09:15:25 AM

Ok Papa-rats-see
Post by: weary1969 on September 13, 2007, 10:17:27 PM
Midnight I assure u my friend book full and it eh makin room for u but is Berris who feel I eh have nutten to do but maco Whitley 
Post by: fishs on September 14, 2007, 05:56:17 AM

Why allyuh doh macco de wimp.  ??? ???
Title: Whitley, Connection happy
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2007, 07:12:48 AM
Whitley, Connection happy
By Ian Prescott (Trinidad Express)

"Obviously, I still consider Aurtis Whitley one of the better midfielders in Trinidad and Tobago. We have lost some of our players and I believe that he can set up and score goals for our team.

"I believe we can rekindle the passion for the game which he says was lacking under Terry Fenwick."

Those are the words of David John Williams, whose team, W Connection, signed Whitley on Tuesday, after the footballer was sacked earlier in the week by CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.

Whitley, 30, had played for Jabloteh for 11 years since joining the club from Superstar Rangers.

"A lot of people are saying that Aurtis Whitley is a troubled player," John Williams told the Express, "but I prefer to judge people on their performance.

"They said that Arnold Dwarika was a troubled player and we never had any trouble with him at W Connection.

"They said that Kerwin Jemmott was trouble and we had no problem with him. They said the same of Stokely Mason, and we had no problem with him."

Whitley may see action with his new team this weekend. Connection take on Police on Saturday from 4 p.m., at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

"He has been training with the club for two days. Whether he plays or not is the coach's decision.

"Obviously, I don't pick the team, but I still think he has enough quality to play some part in our next encounter."

Whitley, who played for Trinidad and Tobago at the World Cup Finals in Germany last year, said he is very comfortable at W Connection.

"It's only my second day with the team but so far everything is going well.

"Everyone knows me. It's a little bit disappointing (to leave Jabloteh), but sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

"I think moving away from Jabloteh is better for me because if me and the coach (Terry Fenwick) don't get along, it's best that I go somewhere else."

Whitley's most memorable moment during T&T's World Cup qualifying campaign came when he cut in from the left and struck a low, right- footer which rebounded off the foot of the Mexican goal, handing Stern John an equaliser.

John later scored again to give T&T a crucial 2-1 victory over Mexico in their final CONCACAF qualifier.

With the move to W Connection, Whitley has hopes of reviving his international career.

"I don't think it went the way I wanted it to go, but I still have a little time, and hopefully things will work out here, and I will be back in the national team."
Post by: berris on September 14, 2007, 08:18:18 AM
Midnight I assure u my friend book full and it eh makin room for u but is Berris who feel I eh have nutten to do but maco Whitley 

Is not me feel yuh 'eh have nutten to do' I just going by wha you say ''The man liming since he come of d plane since Germany.' ...Now for you to make dah statement is either be just bumping yuh gum or yuh was macoing actually following de man around since he come of d plane....which one?
Post by: john_public on September 14, 2007, 03:53:51 PM
i am an otis fan, but the man look for this sure de coach had a part to play, but de man was hardly trainin, and this was not only a coach doin, they with so many youths onthe team havein otis with his new mentality wud do more bad tha good,

i thruly hope that he is thru to his word and put his all into it again,

all de best otis u`ll always have de heart of jah fans  :beermug:

Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 14, 2007, 04:39:51 PM
one set ah dis an dat bout otis an hardest, yes they have issues but football managment have issues too,on the reverse angle, why we not seeing local white trini's on we national team??? they have guy's with talent just as any other trini, but when they reach the age around 16  -  17-  18 where they have to make a decision football as a livelyhood or go off to med school etc.. their folks  tell them don't bother with that football thing,look how the administration handle business,jack ect,,those who put up with the BS know better and sometimes don't really care what takes place....
Post by: Deeks on September 14, 2007, 05:10:00 PM
Exactly.  ON the BLOCK, Why would local "whites" want to play pro football when we on this forum bemoaning the standard of TT football. Why would the local white TT parent want their kid to go thru all the rubbish Jack does put them guys thru. They have options. They let their kids play ball in primary and high school,  and after high school, they send them to a US university on a football schol. If any of them "white"  kids are that good, believe you me,  a pro club will snap them up just as Dwight, Latas, Nakhid, etc. It would be nice for local "whites", Indians and Chinese to be on the TT team. But they have to go all the way and rough it and mix it up  like the Afro-Trini.
Post by: weary1969 on September 14, 2007, 07:11:22 PM
If b4 Germany yuh eh see ah man in all d limin spots and post Germany d man in all d liming spots yuh eh have to b macoing d man in yuh face