Sports => Football => Topic started by: tempo on October 09, 2007, 05:06:33 PM

Title: Findley invited to US training camp
Post by: tempo on October 09, 2007, 05:06:33 PM
USA Training Roster Named
U.S. Coach Bob Bradley has invited 21 players to training camp prior to the Switzerland friendly next Wednesday in Basel. The final game-day roster will be unveiled early next week. Some intriguing selections, indeed. Nice to see Robbie Findley and Maurice Edu, as well as several U-20 lads, get a look.

GOALKEEPERS: Marcus Hahnemann (Reading FC), Tally Hall (Esbjerg), Chris Seitz (Real Salt Lake).

DEFENDERS: Carlos Bocanegra (Fulham FC), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Dan Califf (Aalborg BK), Jay Demerit (Watford FC), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock), Steve Purdy (1860 Munich).

MIDFIELDERS: Freddy Adu (SL Benfica), DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers), Michael Bradley (SC Heerenveen), Maurice Edu (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Derby County), Eddie Lewis (Derby County), Danny Szetela (Racing Santander).

FORWARDS: Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC), Robbie Findley (Real Salt Lake), Preston Zimmerman (Hamburger SV), Sal Zizzo (Hannover 96).

"This is a great opportunity to gather many of our European-based players to have some quality time together, with the reward at the end of it being a match against a very good Switzerland team," said Bradley. "We are continuing to develop our team as World Cup qualifying approaches, and this week gives us another good chance to integrate more players into our system."

Title: Re: Findley invited to US training camp
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 09, 2007, 05:07:50 PM
Lord he get a call up to the national team ......... look how we stick now ...... we cannot even get a game  best ah luck to findley....... oh the TTFF ......

so tempo what is the scoop on the next friendly ..... IT STILL HAPPENING :devil:
Post by: Trini Madness on October 09, 2007, 05:17:30 PM
not good...
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 09, 2007, 05:18:33 PM
At this point I no longer believe its the TTFF fault that he has not showed up for T&T training. It MUST be because the TTFF has invited him but he refused to come. Even the TTFF cannot be so incompetent as to blatantly ignore he and Randi Patterson so long.
Post by: Storeboy on October 09, 2007, 05:43:51 PM
I said that was going to happen months ago.  He may never make  USA team but if they play him in these upcoming games, neither will he ever be available to us.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 09, 2007, 05:44:59 PM
http://www.mlsnet.com//news/team_news.jsp?ymd=20071009&content_id=122271&vkey=pr_rsl&fext=.jsp&team=t121

Two RSL players named to U.S. Men's team
Seitz and Findley added to initial roster to train in Europe for Switzerland match

Meanwhile, the invite for Findley marks his first-ever call-up to a U.S. National Team on any level. However, that doesn't mean the services of the 22-year-old Oregon State product were not in high demand, as he had trained during the offseason with the Trinidad & Tobago Under-23 National Team and was still on the Soca Warriors' radar. Since Findley did not earn a senior "cap" with Trinidad & Tobago, where his parents were born and raised, he remained eligible to participate with the U.S. program, for which he will attempt to make his first appearance next week against Switzerland. Findley joins the U.S. camp as the leading scorer among MLS rookies with seven, five of which have come in an RSL uniform, making him the Utah side's co-leading scorer.

"It's definitely an honor to represent the United States in this training camp. It's a dream come true, really," Findley said. "Growing up I was always wanted to represent the U.S. on the field and now I'm going into this camp and looking to make a statement and earn more opportunities.

"It was a tough decision because my family grew up and was raised in Trinidad & Tobago, but I was raised here in the U.S. and that played a big part in it, and that's why I went with this decision," continued Findley. "There will be some guys there that have been through this and I'll be looking to learn from them. I'm looking forward to some good, challenging training sessions; meeting the other guys in the camp; and gaining as much experience as possible."

Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 09, 2007, 06:01:12 PM
Trini 2010. It is impossible for a football organization to be as stupid as the TTFF is. Therefore the TTFF is not as stupid as it seems. ::)

Serously they could form an olympic team to beat Cuba and beat Barbados senior team with all the players that they left out, not including the senior warriors.

Carlon Murray, Findley, Shakes, Yohance Marshall, Jason Devenish, Patterson, Hyland, Richard Roy, Peltier, Makan Hislop, Josimar Belgrave, Abu Bahkr. Some are due to injuries or what not but lord almighty....enough is enough. Oh lord they cyah even call up Oral Bullen! :rotfl:

Big.....fat....STEUPS
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 09, 2007, 06:15:19 PM
Do we really need more forwards, though? It'd be nice to have him, but me eh really see it as a big loss.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 09, 2007, 06:22:39 PM
Do we really need more forwards, though? It'd be nice to have him, but me eh really see it as a big loss.

??? 

breds we need ALL the help we can get, especially in depth for 2010.
Post by: 1-868 on October 09, 2007, 06:34:28 PM
Findley ever indicated he wanted to play for the red black and white???
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 09, 2007, 06:50:41 PM
Findley ever indicated he wanted to play for the red black and white???

mr man the youth was part of ah under 21 camp...down here
Post by: black chinee on October 09, 2007, 07:06:03 PM
geeze and ages.... why we does play de @$$ so...... we go wait till 4weeks b4 de WC qualifiers tuh start thinking about 2010
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 09, 2007, 09:20:24 PM

??? 

breds we need ALL the help we can get, especially in depth for 2010.
I agree. The more depth in each position, the better. But I woulda be more distraught if we did miss out on a promising defender or midfielder. That is where we really shallow.
Post by: weary1969 on October 09, 2007, 10:01:28 PM
4 wks at present go b real planning d olympic team eh get so long
Post by: just cool on October 10, 2007, 12:24:26 AM
I saw that comming a long time ago,  but yuh know what's really funny, i don't blame him,  after all , who the fack wants to play for a federation that's lazy, lying, vindictive, disruptive, dishonest, ungrateful, maniacal, backward, incompetent, disrespectful to their players, uncommitted, and selfdistructive. can anyone blame him. i know i can't. good luck R. Finley. i wont be supprise if the rest of the WC team said shove off to the ttff, and end their international career on that note. SA 2010 looking pretty bleak right about now, i wont be to supprise if we don't even get to the final 6, since men would not play with their heart and soul BC of the shyte they had to under go after the WC. LORD please rid us of this bummy addministration and replace them with competant people who care ah whole lot bout we football.

PS, if i forgot any negative adjectives please feel free to post them.                 positive.
Post by: FF on October 10, 2007, 07:40:30 AM
I saw that comming a long time ago,  

Ray Charles see that coming and he blind... and dead... RIP Ray Charles
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 10, 2007, 07:58:37 AM
well he eh make the final roster yet people
Post by: arrow on October 11, 2007, 04:34:57 AM

Yeah hopefully he ent good enough to make a 2nd string US 18-man squad...then he could jump right into our starting lineup
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 11, 2007, 06:05:00 AM

Yeah hopefully he ent good enough to make a 2nd string US 18-man squad...then he could jump right into our starting lineup
lol.
Post by: Filho on October 11, 2007, 11:31:17 AM
Interesting article about how the US also lets players slip thru.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2007/writers/luis_bueno/10/10/castillo.mexico/index.html
Post by: Bakes on October 11, 2007, 12:15:10 PM

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2007/writers/luis_bueno/10/10/castillo.mexico/index.html
Good sleuth work...knowing the character that is Hugo I wouldn't put it beyond him to just do this to keep pardna from the Americans.  Unless there really is something special about this kid he won't be a fixture, the Mexican pool too deep.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 11, 2007, 01:28:12 PM

Good sleuth work...knowing the character that is Hugo I wouldn't put it beyond him to just do this to keep pardna from the Americans.  Unless there really is something special about this kid he won't be a fixture, the Mexican pool too deep.

Findley played his youth soccer for the national powerhouse Sereno Golden Eagles. With Sereno, he won eight consecutive Arizona state championships, four Region IV championships, and reached the prestigious Dallas Cup finals. Sereno also competed in the USYSA National Championships in three straight years: 2002, 2003 and 2004. Findley was awarded the Golden Boot at the 2003 National Championships as Sereno took second place

If you check findley bio he has been overlooked by the US at youth level  ........  but bradley it seems making sure to cap him so he dont fall through the cracks ........

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Findley
Post by: Bakes on October 11, 2007, 02:49:42 PM

Findley played his youth soccer for the national powerhouse Sereno Golden Eagles. With Sereno, he won eight consecutive Arizona state championships, four Region IV championships, and reached the prestigious Dallas Cup finals. Sereno also competed in the USYSA National Championships in three straight years: 2002, 2003 and 2004. Findley was awarded the Golden Boot at the 2003 National Championships as Sereno took second place

If you check findley bio he has been overlooked by the US at youth level  ........  but bradley it seems making sure to cap him so he dont fall through the cracks ........

Findley also been overlooked by TTFF because clearly they had an opportunity to cap him earlier and didn't see it fit.
Post by: TrinInfinite on October 11, 2007, 03:47:42 PM

Findley also been overlooked by TTFF because clearly they had an opportunity to cap him earlier and didn't see it fit.

corection, wim had a chance to cap him and didnt..

God is de BOSS...
Post by: Bakes on October 11, 2007, 04:03:26 PM

corection, wim had a chance to cap him and didnt..

God is de BOSS...
is there a difference? ???
Post by: Deeks on October 11, 2007, 04:49:23 PM
I don't blame Findley at all. The TTFF ain't playing no practice games. The boy was in limbo. The TTFF is in a state of confusion. He don't want to be in that. He chose the next best thing.
Post by: Tallman on October 17, 2007, 01:01:47 PM
He's on the bench today vs Switzerland.
Post by: Daft Trini on October 17, 2007, 01:35:53 PM

Yeah I heard he is playing, not so sure but....
Post by: FF on October 17, 2007, 01:38:40 PM

Yuh feel dey stupid...
He becoming an American today... today.. self!!

You mean he couldn't make we Gold Cup side... steups I damn vex oui..
Post by: Midknight on October 17, 2007, 01:54:42 PM

Yuh feel dey stupid...

look for a cobo sweat...
Post by: Daft Trini on October 17, 2007, 02:00:00 PM

Yuh feel dey stupid...

look for a cobo sweat...

cayr beliebe that the US already played 17 int frndlys this year already :-(
Post by: Cowen on October 17, 2007, 02:23:43 PM
Findley on wth 2 mins to go ..... talk done. The man is a US Striker.

US leading 1-0

Post by: Tallman on October 17, 2007, 02:24:25 PM

Yuh feel dey stupid...

look for a cobo sweat...

So said, so done. He come orn in de 90th minute. Well, now it go have one less name in de "Trinis in Action" threads. After two years of following dis fella, it is time tuh say sayonara.
Post by: Andre on October 17, 2007, 02:26:59 PM
-1 = kamani hill
-2 = robbie findley

next?
Post by: kounty on October 17, 2007, 02:29:00 PM

Yuh feel dey stupid...

look for a cobo sweat...

So said, so done. He come orn in de 90th minute. Well, now it go have one less name in de "Trinis in Action" threads. After two years of following dis fella, it is time tuh say sayonara.

well daiz it dey...good luck Findley!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 17, 2007, 02:42:26 PM
Steups. Patterson next.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 17, 2007, 02:44:08 PM
 tuff luck fuh findley dey cause dat it fuh he in that usa national team set up fuh ah while .. with guy like jozzy altidore johan smith comming up combine with london hill curits davis ....  best of luck to him
Post by: Big Magician on October 17, 2007, 02:51:32 PM
good luck to him....tnt ....he go have to take some blade here then....
Post by: Midknight on October 17, 2007, 03:17:38 PM
-1 = kamani hill
-2 = robbie findley

next?

Quavas Kirk get he senior call up already ?
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 17, 2007, 04:04:20 PM
Honest question: Is he any better than what we already have?
Post by: palos on October 17, 2007, 04:24:20 PM
Bet yuh he never get call again.
Post by: FireBrand on October 17, 2007, 04:30:52 PM

Is not about now.... De man was a prospect for the future. For all yuh know he may turn out to be the US most prolific scorer. With ah scruntin' player pool we need all the options we could get. 

All the best Findley!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 17, 2007, 04:49:25 PM
Is Edson Elcock eligable to play for the US as well?
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 17, 2007, 04:57:08 PM

He could have challenged for a spot ah think funny thing is that a man who get drop form the under 21 squad about 2 years back could get a call usa national team now and we under 21 could not even beat grenada
Post by: royal on October 17, 2007, 05:24:20 PM
you'll know US master do dem things to block a player.It almost as a team signing a player just because dey do want him to go to a another tieam,just in case dey need him in de future It boils down to the individual player and de stupidity of de TTFF.From what I see I cyar blame the federation alone but who put dem there.De whole football fraternity in TnT not interested in the beautiful game.Dey more interested in what can I... I.... I..... get from de game.   
Post by: elan on October 17, 2007, 07:32:12 PM
When we go learn? ???
Post by: Filho on October 17, 2007, 09:23:21 PM
Under all the old talk..the man didn't really sound like he enjoy his Under 21 training camp experience with T&T. He said he was honored for the call up and would be honored for any future call ups..But he was diplomatic in saying he didn't really fit in and he didn't really enjoy it (something to that effect). I don't know if we really lose a player. I might be very wrong cuz I doh have too much info, but from what little I have, he didn't seem to want to play for us...so no big loss. I wish him all the best. Woulda be nice to have him play for us..but you can't lose what yuh never really had
Post by: Daft Trini on October 17, 2007, 09:29:10 PM
Forget him, hardest back in training.... ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 17, 2007, 09:47:43 PM
Under all the old talk..the man didn't really sound like he enjoy his Under 21 training camp experience with T&T. He said he was honored for the call up and would be honored for any future call ups..But he was diplomatic in saying he didn't really fit in and he didn't really enjoy it (something to that effect). I don't know if we really lose a player. I might be very wrong cuz I doh have too much info, but from what little I have, he didn't seem to want to play for us...so no big loss. I wish him all the best. Woulda be nice to have him play for us..but you can't lose what yuh never really had

this is his comments

You have dual citizenship with the U.S. and Trinidad & Tobago, and have taken part in a T&T U-23 national team camp. Do you have a future playing for their national team?

“Both my mom and dad were born there, so that let me get dual citizenship. When I went there and tried out, it was hard for me, because it seemed like a lot of the players that were invited already knew the coaches and were residents of Trinidad & Tobago. It was tough for me because I didn’t know anyone. I’m not too sure what’s going to happen in the future. It would be nice to get called up to play with them down the line.”
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on October 18, 2007, 07:40:58 AM

Agreed. 

A really stupid move on Findley's part.  T&T made the last World Cup, and he could play a significant role with the country.

He has just kiilled his international career.

Post by: TrinInfinite on October 18, 2007, 08:29:29 AM

Agreed.

A really stupid move on Findley's part. T&T made the last World Cup, and he could play a significant role with the country.

u make a good point, but really and truly, do we really have room for findley on the team? we have jones, roberts,scotland and stern still... where will findley fit, doh get me wrong i like him alot as a player but which squad he making? ??? roberts at top level football, jones also, stern still at championship and scotland bussin net regular, on the verge of promotion, so really, where we putting findley? I doubt we selecting 5 strikers for the world cup... not to mention glen....

God is de BOSS....
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 18, 2007, 08:36:04 AM

Agreed.

A really stupid move on Findley's part. T&T made the last World Cup, and he could play a significant role with the country.

u make a good point, but really and truly, do we really have room for findley on the team? we have jones, roberts,scotland and stern still... where will findley fit, doh get me wrong i like him alot as a player but which squad he making? ??? roberts at top level football, jones also, stern still at championship and scotland bussin net regular, on the verge of promotion, so really, where we putting findley? I doubt we selecting 5 strikers for the world cup... not to mention glen....

God is de BOSS....
Also Sealy, who playing just as well in de same MLS as Findley. Daz why I wondering why men vex so. I understand the more the merrier. But we eh really miss out on no big piece of the puzzle. If he was a promising defender or midfielder, then I'd be vex.
Post by: TrinInfinite on October 18, 2007, 08:37:38 AM

Agreed.

God is de BOSS....
Also Sealy, who playing just as well in de same MLS as Findley. Daz why I wondering why men vex so. I understand the more the merrier. But we eh really miss out on no big piece of the puzzle. If he was a promising defender or midfielder, then I'd be vex.

exactly breddah... :beermug: :applause: we struggling in the mid and backline and man studying about we frontline when we already overloaded.. ::)

God is de BOSS
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 18, 2007, 08:51:15 AM

God is de BOSS....

IMHO...

1) Either or all of Scotty, Roberts and Jones can be injured/out of form. Who knows what will happen with Glen. We need depth in such cases
2) Findley has not reached his peak yet. Who is to say he won't develop into the best? What are his midfield capabilites? Can he do a Yorke, or a reverse of Jones?
3) We can use his speed on the wings, especially our left if our crucial wingers injured/out of form
4) We don't need men strutting on the field with a sense of entitlement, feel they own the position and don't have to work for it
5) Secret weapon rocket launcher, Findley has speed he could "Cornell" an unsuspecting team
6) Findley more likely to get a run with us than with the U.S.
7) Having depth when the big guns can't play will help us maintain or even imporve our rankings.

With our population and administration and coaching, we need all the help we can get.

Peace
Post by: Sando on October 18, 2007, 10:00:37 AM
Seeing that he came on for 2 mins... does that count as a cap ? its a friendly so he can still change his mind, if we still want him though....

We had more T&T players on the USA team that we have their players on our team...

24-Marcus Hahnemann (18-Brad Guzan, 46); 6-Steve Cherundolo, 22-Oguchi Onyewu (2-Dan Califf, 46), 3-Carlos Bocanegra (Capt.), 7-Eddie Lewis (9-Danny Szetela, 84); 5-Benny Feilhaber, 13-Maurice Edu, 4-Michael Bradley,17-DaMarcus Beasley (11-Heath Pearce, 31); 20-Taylor Twellman (25-Freddy Adu, 77), 8-Clint Dempsey (29-Robbie Findley, 90).
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on October 18, 2007, 01:00:45 PM

Agreed.

God is de BOSS....

exactly breddah... :beermug: :applause: we struggling in the mid and backline and man studying about we frontline when we already overloaded.. ::)

God is de BOSS

Yes, but how old are those other strikers ?  Are any as young as Findley ?  If there is one thing T&T has always been blessed with, it's a wealth of strikers, so perhaps he will not be missed. 

Any new striker busting into MLS has the odds stacked against him in the long term, but if he can maintain playing time and develop, he will be invaluable and could possibly develop into another Stern, yorke, etc.....with age on his side, anything can happen.