Sports => Football => Topic started by: Jean on October 13, 2007, 09:21:24 AM

Title: TrueTrini..Jamaica2099..come on ..the current best is Haiti!
Post by: Jean on October 13, 2007, 09:21:24 AM

Guys,

Let's make it clear up front. Haiti is coming very strong and it is the current best team of the caribbean simply because the country becomes politically stable and working toward financial stability. As a simple fact, Haiti has 4 times population of Trinidad and 3 times of Jamaica population. On top, the population of Haitians abroad is more than trinidad population. Everything equals, we should have a much better chance to have a better team than any carribean team. Again, the only things that have been kept us are politics and economy. I can tell u, our current government is starting to work as a decent government in any decent country.

Now let's talk about achievement for 2007 (Truetrini and jamaica 2099):

1) Haiti won the CFU cup (which determines the best team in the caribbean)
2) At the last Gold cup, we are the only carribean team that earned 2 points. this year, we had decent results against decent teams: we beat Honduras, Panama 3-0, tied Costa Rica. While Jamaica and Trinidad either get whipped by this team or failed to beat them.
3) Haiti won the tournament U17 in Trinidad which determines the best U17 on top we earned a point at the Wcup U17 against an ex U17wcup winner..France. Add on that the ref refuses us one goal.
4) AT U20, we finished ahead of Jamaica in the phase in Haiti. And we only missed the U20 Cup for 1 point while Jamaica finished at the last.
5) oh yeah Jamaica beat us at Pan Am games when we bring our U17 heroes. Now (today,,,U23) I ll see what they can do when they match players at the same age.

Both of you clearly are out of the track....Haiti is the best team caribbean team of 2007.

Warnings....the supremacy of Trinidad and Jamaica on the caribbean is definetly over:

1) For U23, don't be surprised if we even go to the olympics we have 4 players who play in the french second division that will join this team after this stage. Right now we have 6 oversea players ( 2 from argentina, 2 from Holland, 1 Italy and 1 USA) in that team that will face Jamaica today. Humm...jamaica 2099..u need 4 clear goals.... good luck for tonight!

2) For senior team, right now we are scouting players in europe. I can tell you we have more than 20 players from all over the places in Europe (France, Norway, Spain, Dannemark, Italy, Holland and Portugal). Hopefully, the federation will have money to bring them. Guys Get ready for wcup qualifications....it will be a war for us..Mexico and USA are our targets now.

Guys, see u after today games.
Title: Re: TrueTrini..Jamaica2099..come on ..the current best is Haiti!
Post by: Sam on October 13, 2007, 09:36:01 AM
Haiti have a good team, no doubt, but thats if you guys can keep the players from running away. ...  :rotfl:

Secondly, you rightfully beat our Junior teams. However, that Digicel Cup that you won is nothing to brag about as we field an entire new local team without any of our better players. Seven (7) of them were youths on that 2007 T&T Digicel Team who made their debuts and still we came in second, we even beat Haiti and Cuba by 3-1 margins. But all respect as the stat will show Haiti won, so enjoy your only Caribbean Cup title and we will enjoy our 8th even though Haiti have 4 times the population of Trinidad and about 3,000 of them is also living in T&T now, dont forget to add that to your count, we still can celebrate 8 titles and we are the smallest country to do so, a big accomplishment I must say.
As for World Cup games, you are yet to beat T&T since 1980, so please dont get carried away just yet, in saying so I am still in support of Haiti over the Reggae Pussies. They have been un-successful since 1998, yes they may win a game or two, but nothing concrete and yet they still have de nerve to brag when all they do is complain, make excuses and whine like de blasted Hippo I have there.

In 2007 I believe Haiti did the best of all Caribbean teams, so hats off to them, next year is 2 months away, so enjoy your short success... Martinique and Guadeloupe must get a special mention too and how can we forget our enemies Jamaica for being the worst 2007 Caribbean team, ask St Vincent, T&T, Bahamas and soon to be Haiti (after today).....  ;)

PS: Did you know in the English language Jean is a women's name..... it have nuff of them in T&T as I use to go by Tanti Jean to buy corn soup in St James....
Post by: jamaica2099 on October 13, 2007, 10:02:48 AM
I will believe Haiti is the best in the Caribbean when Jamaica and Haiti meet in the 2008 Digicel Cup, the 2010 World Cup qualifiers and the 2009 Gold Cup. And Haiti beats Jamaica.
And since Haiti haven't beaten Jamaica in oooohhhh! how many years.

Now if you are talking about the Olympic qualifiers and Haiti's U-23 then Jamaica will beat Haiti today on their artificial surface, but Haiti will still advance on goal difference.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 13, 2007, 10:08:00 AM
tnt tnt....and we were also the best in 1973
Post by: Star Child on October 13, 2007, 10:13:46 AM
Haiti have a good team, no doubt, but thats if you guys can keep the players from running away. ...  :rotfl:

Secondly, you rightfully beat our Junior teams. However, that Digicel Cup that you won is nothing to brag about as we field an entire new local team without any of our better players. Seven (7) of them were youths on that 2007 T&T Digicel Team who made their debuts and still we came in second, we even beat Haiti and Cuba by 3-1 margins. But all respect as the stat will show Haiti won, so enjoy your only Caribbean Cup title and we will enjoy our 8th even though Haiti have 4 times the population of Trinidad and about 3,000 of them is also living in T&T now, dont forget to add that to your count, we still can celebrate 8 titles and we are the smallest country to do so, a big accomplishment I must say.
As for World Cup games, you are yet to beat T&T since 1980, so please dont get carried away just yet, in saying so I am still in support of Haiti over the Reggae Pussies. They have been un-successful since 1998, yes they may win a game or two, but nothing concrete and yet they still have de nerve to brag when all they do is complain, make excuses and whine like de blasted Hippo I have there.

In 2007 I believe Haiti did the best of all Caribbean teams, so hats off to them, next year is 2 months away, so enjoy your short success... Martinique and Guadeloupe must get a special mention too and how can we forget our enemies Jamaica for being the worst 2007 Caribbean team, ask St Vincent, T&T, Bahamas and soon to be Haiti (after today).....  ;)

PS: Did you know in the English language Jean is a women's name..... it have nuff of them in T&T as I use to go by Tanti Jean to buy corn soup in St James....

I believe I could not have said it better.... bravo Sam.....  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Toussaint on October 13, 2007, 10:40:07 AM

Just curious, Sam. In what part of the 'english world' Jean is a woman's name?

Jean is a french name and it is necessarily masculine. If some 'remote parts' of the english world erroneously used it as a woman's name that just shows how difficult the french language is for some. Don't you think? ;)
Post by: WestCoast on October 13, 2007, 10:45:36 AM
Jean is also used in the masculine (http://www.babynamesworld.com/meaning_of_Jean.html)
Post by: jamaica2099 on October 13, 2007, 10:59:16 AM

Just curious, Sam. In what part of the 'english world' Jean is a woman's name?

Jean is a french name and it is necessarily masculin. If some 'remote parts' of the english world erroneously used it as a woman's name that just shows how difficult the french language is for some. Don't you think? ;)
Toussaint. I thought that was common knowledge among English nations. JEAN and LOUIS are both common names in France and I'm recaling what I learnt about French history I know of no French woman having the name JEAN. I know MARIE is a common name among French women.
Post by: Toussaint on October 13, 2007, 11:06:00 AM
Sam, we have the same problem also with names we borrowed from the english-speaking countries.

Lesly or Leslie and Jacky or Jackie are man's name in some french-speaking countries!

I was just curious because I have never met a woman whose first name is Jean.
Post by: frico on October 13, 2007, 11:19:31 AM
Trinidad haven't played with its regular team since the WC,we have been forced to use reserve players,Iam sure you are aware of that.You dont have long to wait before they are together again,when and if we meet you in the WC pre-lims we would have a better idea as to who is best.Some of our best are waiting,having said that our reserves didn't do too badly,you won the Digicel cup but we played with a reserve team.No need to bray bout that.
Post by: freakazoid on October 13, 2007, 11:20:33 AM
Jean is also used in the masculine (http://www.behindthename.com/name/jean-1)

this really adds ah new twist to sparrow's song jean and dinah ::)
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 13, 2007, 11:49:27 AM
Jean is also used in the masculine (http://www.behindthename.com/name/jean-1)

this really adds ah new twist to sparrow's song jean and dinah ::)

Post by: Jean on October 13, 2007, 02:35:52 PM
Sam,

You deservea big bravo, clapclap because u have the gut to admit simple fact-in 2007 Haiti is the best. However let s clarify these points:

1) Players running away...now we increase our foreign base players just to make sure when 1 local runs away that he will replace by a better foreign player.
2) Yeah..we have 3000 in trinidad..One of them Toussaint play for Trinidad and he gave you the victory in the last meeting. We kind of help u
3) A classic french lesson: Jean, Pierre, Jacques, Marie are the most common french name.
3) u had 8 titles and me 1....this is a subject that is above your knowledge..Jack make u believe that...just to give you some tips. when caribean cups start when shell cup starts...I think that you should do your reasearch prior 1989 to see. All I can tell you '' Jack Warner starts to count when he took control'' but football were playing in Caribbean way before 1989.....anyway!

In the next 5 to 10 years, we will become stronger provided that there is no political turbulence in Haiti. With our population and our love for football, any caribbean team should not be ahead of us. Anyway....I see this coming slowly...U17, U20, U23!
Post by: Jean on October 13, 2007, 02:38:22 PM
Oh yeah Sam.. To add on  1 of ex patriat in Bahamas ''Lesy St Fleur'' scored for Bahamas against Jamaica.
Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2007, 05:34:52 PM
Sam, we have the same problem also with names we borrowed from the english-speaking countries.

Lesly or Leslie and Jacky or Jackie are man's name in some french-speaking countries!

I was just curious because I have never met a woman whose first name is Jean.

Jean Grey ?
Post by: Bitter on October 13, 2007, 05:54:01 PM
Jean f*****g Grey? Lord!

The national stadium adjacent to a facility named after one of the greatest sports-people to come out of T&T - Football and Cricket is not the only sports eh:

Jean Pierre

* the Hummingbird Gold Medal (1974)
    * the Witco Sportswoman of the year (1975)
    * the Trinity Cross (1979)
    * Honoured by Caricom as one of the 25 most outstanding sporting personalities over the past 25 years.

Jean Pierre was born in the Island of Trinidad and Tobago. Today, this extraordinary woman has earned her place in history as being one of the most successful Caribbean women in the field of Netball.

In addition to her national and international success as a player, coach and coordinator, she is also recognised for her work in the designing of analytical charts and tournament records for the game of Netball.

"The Dancing Queen" as she was called because of her fastness and eloquence on the netball court, is undoubtedly the greatest netball player to come out of the Caribbean and one of the best the world has ever seen entirely.

She is the recipient of numerous national and international awards including the Hummingbird (Gold), the Chaconia Medal, the Trinity Cross and the naming of a Sporting Complex in her honor. All awards presented to her by her native country Trinidad and Tobago.

Furthermore, Jean Pierre has been honoured by the members of CARICOM as being one of the Twenty-five Most Outstanding Sports Personalities over the past 25 years in the Caribbean.

Respect that.
Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2007, 07:18:13 PM
Jean f*****g Grey? Lord!

The national stadium adjacent to a facility named after one of the greatest sports-people to come out of T&T - Football and Cricket is not the only sports eh:

Jean Pierre

* the Hummingbird Gold Medal (1974)
    * the Witco Sportswoman of the year (1975)
    * the Trinity Cross (1979)
    * Honoured by Caricom as one of the 25 most outstanding sporting personalities over the past 25 years.

Jean Pierre was born in the Island of Trinidad and Tobago. Today, this extraordinary woman has earned her place in history as being one of the most successful Caribbean women in the field of Netball.

In addition to her national and international success as a player, coach and coordinator, she is also recognised for her work in the designing of analytical charts and tournament records for the game of Netball.

"The Dancing Queen" as she was called because of her fastness and eloquence on the netball court, is undoubtedly the greatest netball player to come out of the Caribbean and one of the best the world has ever seen entirely.

She is the recipient of numerous national and international awards including the Hummingbird (Gold), the Chaconia Medal, the Trinity Cross and the naming of a Sporting Complex in her honor. All awards presented to her by her native country Trinidad and Tobago.

Furthermore, Jean Pierre has been honoured by the members of CARICOM as being one of the Twenty-five Most Outstanding Sports Personalities over the past 25 years in the Caribbean.

Respect that.

Yes, but how much were you willing to bet that Jean knew who Jean Pierre is before you made this post ?

I also evoked Jean Grey, for two other reasons than her universal popularity

- X Men has been around quite some time, so that he would realise this isn't a 'new' tendency
- proves that the female 'Jean' isn't just a trini thing but is also the case in the US..

Trust me. I don't need no lessons about respecting our heroes and pathbeaters.
Post by: Bitter on October 13, 2007, 07:34:53 PM
Sorry Partner, But Jean Grey make me see red. The man could google Jean Pierre and see pictures, history etc, and she is not a fictitious character.

Say what, we still doh really have an answer to Jean post about Haiti (and won't have one until WCQ/Caribbean Cup etc)
Post by: Toussaint on October 13, 2007, 07:35:24 PM
Actually, I asked my wife about this discussion and she said yes Jean is also a woman name in the US and probably in Canada as well.

So, as I put it, I ask the question just out of curiosity because I have never met a woman whose name is Jean and I would probably walk away from the first one who tells me her name is 'Jean' ;D Now, I know better 8)

In French, Jean = masculine; Jeanne = feminine.
Post by: Midknight on October 13, 2007, 08:20:17 PM
Actually, I asked my wife about this discussion and she said yes Jean is also a woman name in the US and probably in Canada as well.

So, as I put it, I ask the question just out of curiosity because I have never met a woman whose name is Jean and I would probably walk away from the first one who tells me her name is 'Jean' ;D Now, I know better 8)

I suppose I could have told you to look up Jean Harlow, but Bitter woulda probably jump on me back for being too quick to big up Americans or some other dotishness like that.

This 'Lost in Translation' issue in French and English happens with a number of other names.

For example, in English Lawrence is a man's name. In France its a woman's

The contrary goes for Patrice - at least the only Patrice I know in TNT is a woman. This has a lot to do with the syllables sound more than anything else. No Trini in his right mind would name his son Fabrice, for instant (well at least I wouldn't unless I want him to catch real horrors in school ;D )

There is no real problem with names like Leslie and Jacky/Jackie. In English they are used with both sexes, like Kay.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 13, 2007, 10:26:54 PM
Baby Doc, go back and line up for food.  Ah go donate ah can of peas for yuh.
Post by: Sam on October 14, 2007, 09:32:36 AM
3) u had 8 titles and me 1....this is a subject that is above your knowledge..Jack make u believe that...just to give you some tips. when caribean cups start when shell cup starts...I think that you should do your reasearch prior 1989 to see. All I can tell you '' Jack Warner starts to count when he took control'' but football were playing in Caribbean way before 1989.....anyway!

You have nothing solid to prove to me on what you are saying here is true and we have the info to prove our 8th titles... again, stats dont lie, the same way no one will remember T&T used a third string team in the 2007 Digicel Cup, all the stat will show is Haiti won.... and furthermore, We never had an International Caribbean Cup before 1989.... maybe one or two competitions but not one that invloved the entire Caribbean..... yes, we had the Caribbean Club Competition from back then, I think Haiti has 2 CONCACAF Cup titles and T&T one and a runners up... ?

Next thing you go tell me Michelle is a man's name too....

Michel Platini. .... :rotfl:
Post by: Big Magician on October 14, 2007, 11:11:20 AM
Post by: Midknight on October 14, 2007, 12:52:43 PM
Baby Doc, go back and line up for food.  Ah go donate ah can of peas for yuh.

This wasn't really necessary
Post by: Flex on December 28, 2007, 08:30:01 AM
Haiti CFU ‘Team of the Year’
T&T Newsday

28-Dec-2007 - Caribbean Football Union President Jack Warner yesterday announced Haiti as the regional “Team of the Year” for 2007.

Warner made his selection known to Haitian Football Federation President Dr Yves Jean Bart in a formal letter and explained that Haiti was undoubtedly the highest achiever in the region.

They were the winners of the 2007 Digicel Caribbean Cup, Qualifiers for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, first regional qualifiers for the FIFA Under-17 World Championship 2007 and regional qualifiers for the final round of qualification towards the 2008 Olympics.

“As we approach the end of 2007 I consider the time most appropriate to commend you and your Federation for the wonderful achievements which were attained by Haiti,” stated Warner.

“Not only can Haitians take pride in those achievements but we, in both CONCACAF and the Caribbean Football Union, of which I have the honour to be President, also feel a justifiable sense of pride. Such accomplishments must be due to the vibrant leadership of the Federation Haitienne de Football,” Warner stated.

Warner also revealed that next March, at the CFU Congress, the Caribbean Male and Female “Player of the Year” will be announced.

“To have achieved so much with very limited financial resources deserves the highest commendation and it is my pleasure to recommend that you receive a special award from the Caribbean Football Union as the Caribbean Football Nation of the Year 2007.This shall be done at our Congress on March 2 in Guadeloupe when we shall also be making other awards to the Caribbean Player of the Year ( Male and Female ) and the Caribbean Referee of the Year (Male and Female),” Warner added.

Dr Jean Bart, in a recent interview, said his country has had to make do with its limited resources but remained determined to make a strong bid for 2010 World Cup qualification.

“We have worked very, very hard with the little that we have,” Jean Bart said while in Port-of-Spain for a recent CFU function earlier this month.

“We believe that we have a very good chance to make it to the World Cup. Already we have identified a lot of players playing in Europe, in France and Italy, that can come and play for us but our biggest problem is the money because it cost a lot to bring players from that far.

“But right now we have two parts of training – one at home where we train four days a week and then the players abroad are also in training when they can come together.

“We also have two players who played in the Under-17 (World Cup) in training with our senior team. We are one of the poorest countries but our people are very hungry for success even though it has not been easy.

“We think that if we work hard and play good football then we can have a chance to join Jamaica and Trinidad in the World Cup. I want to thank Mr Warner for his support and for having us here and we will try to represent the region as best as we can,” Jean Bart added.
Post by: Peong on December 28, 2007, 08:34:06 AM
Congrats
Post by: Midknight on December 28, 2007, 09:33:10 AM
Haiti definitely deserve it, but I hope ppl realise Jack, Austin and Warner was the members of the selection committee...
Post by: Toussaint on December 28, 2007, 09:42:54 AM
Haiti CFU ‘Team of the Year’
T&T Newsday

“We think that if we work hard and play good football then we can have a chance to join Jamaica and Trinidad in the World Cup. I want to thank Mr Warner for his support and for having us here and we will try to represent the region as best as we can,” Jean Bart added.

I am pretty sure Dr Jean Bart was misquoted there. The fact that he concluded by saying, "we will try to represent the region" shows something must have been lost in translation in "if we work hard and play good football then we can have a chance to join Jamaica and Trinidad". He probably meant Haiti will follow Jamaica and Trinidad as the next wc qualifier from the region.
Post by: Big Magician on December 28, 2007, 11:21:00 AM
yeah....listen Toussaint and the rest ...WCQ start....so friend done....bye....

tnt tnt tnt tnt
Post by: Toussaint on December 28, 2007, 12:09:09 PM
yeah....listen Toussaint and the rest ...WCQ start....so friend done....bye....

tnt tnt tnt tnt

hehe  ;D. That's the spirit.

However, we still have a long way to go as TnT, Haiti, and Jamaica won't meet each other before the hex, if they make that far ;)
Post by: warmonga on December 28, 2007, 12:10:30 PM
Haiti politically stable ? Dat country will never ever be politically stable . Haiti does gave de rest a de carribean bad name.. allyuh fellas killing one another for politicians .. De worst thing that ever happen to Haiti is getting independence .Anyway no disresepct meant is jes facts I stating . Haiti is a very good team and I will not be suprised if Haiti reach the world cup for there first time . I dont concider you guys first Journey to the world cup (paying of de refs against My beloved TNT). I wont be proud of that ..
War.
Post by: Savannah boy on December 28, 2007, 03:26:17 PM
Yuh come back here to look for food?  Dis is a football forum boy. 
Post by: Toussaint on December 28, 2007, 04:07:03 PM
Haiti politically stable ? Dat country will never ever be politically stable . Haiti does gave de rest a de carribean bad name.. allyuh fellas killing one another for politicians .. De worst thing that ever happen to Haiti is getting independence .Anyway no disresepct meant is jes facts I stating . Haiti is a very good team and I will not be suprised if Haiti reach the world cup for there first time . I dont concider you guys first Journey to the world cup (paying of de refs against My beloved TNT). I wont be proud of that ..
War.

Haiti politically stable ? Dat country will never ever be politically stable .

Heh! The Jews probably thought the same way about their 'pax romana' until they decided to try out their relative freedom and ...they got the Massada! Go figure or simply ask Zimbabwe!

De worst thing that ever happen to Haiti is getting independence .

Just curious: what can you possibly know about "independence"?

Haiti does gave de rest a de carribean bad name

How so? Tigers' cubs grow to become tigers, not pet cats like some of our detractors are , if you see what i mean ;)

allyuh fellas killing one another for politicians

Argentina, Bolivia, Germany, Japan, China, Turkey, Chile, Venezuela, Cuba...almost every country in the world at one time or another have "fellas killing one another for politicians ". It's only bad when it happens in Haiti, I guess.

Haiti is a very good team and I will not be suprised if Haiti reach the world cup for there first time .

No sir, that would not be the first time. We won the concacaf championship in 1973 after we beat Guatemala 2-1, finishing the competition on top with one match to spare!

I dont concider you guys first Journey to the world cup (paying of de refs against My beloved TNT)

Honestly, why would Haiti, the runners-up of the 1969 WCQ, paid off a referee against a team that it beat 6-0 just a few months earlier, specially when  Haiti was the host? Does that really make sense to you? I don't really want to take that away from you if that's all you have to lean on, however, you're just not making sense at all.

Here some important details that can help you, my friend:

1- Haiti started the competition with a victory while TnT started with a loss.

In those days, the 2 pts for a victory systems made it almost impossible for a team who has  a defeat to advance. For example, in 1969, Haiti beat everybody but El Salvador, which unfortunately won all its matches. ES qualified.

Same scenarion in 1977. Haiti had 4 wins, 0 draw, and just 1 Defeat. That one defeat caused haiti to finish 2nd to Mexico.

2- Haiti and TnT met in their 2nd match day, not in a final showdown.

It seems to me some of you think Haiti and TnT met in a winner take it all! That's quite far from the truth.

The teams met at the beginning of the competition and TnT, which was an outsider anyway at the time, came to the match with 0pt.

TnT was not considered a big team at the time. For example, TnT wasn't in the finals in 1969 and TnT's presense in Port-au-Prince was due mostly to the fact that Haiti was already qualified as host and the other top Caribbean team, the Netherlands-Antilles, was already in decline. TnT struggled to beat a reseves Haitian team just a few weeks before the tournament.

3- The controversial game

Haiti took the lead and went defensive knowing that it only needed a win against TnT. That's what induces some of you to believe that TnT was the superior team. Had any of TnT's disallowed goals counted and the match would have naturally changed. During the whole match, TnT was playing to level the game while Haiti was trying to kill the game.

Did the ref made bad calls? He certainly did as he was severly punished for that later. Many Haitians would tell you that the referees were biased in that match. But, did Haiti pay that ref? Probably not. Haiti continued to beat TnT almost everytimes they met in the 70s!!!

However, it amused me when I hear some of you say "Haiti tief we". Let's assume the corrupt dictator J-C Duvalier did pay the ref, how is that Haiti's fault  and why hating on Haiti for the actions of a man? Would you like to be held reliable for Jack Warner's actions?

4- Which team was better?

Haiti beat the team that beat TnT in TnT's opening game. Does that tell you something? Did Haiti also 'tief that team' as well or did that team 'tief' TnT?

Then, things became suddenly interesting for Haiti as the other teams started drawing each others leaving Haiti on top of the tournament. The competition was over after Haiti's 4th match against Guatemala! Naturally, the real contenders were disappointed. Believe it or not, that's the context in which TnT was able to win its remaining 3 matches.

-5 conclusion

Was TnT-1973 one of the best concacaf team or the best team out of TnT?

TnT experience in 1973 was similar to that of Panama in the 2005 GC, an outsider that had a great competition. In fact, just like the Panamanian team, the TnT-1973 team could not even qualified for the following Hex in 1977 while not only the Haiti-1973 team did qualified for Mexico 1977, the team finished 2nd in that competition.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 28, 2007, 04:20:10 PM
People on here will kill you for that
Post by: Toussaint on December 28, 2007, 04:30:45 PM
I know. But, those who want to know the truth will come out to debate the topic instead of saying nonsense.

As, you already know, I will not lower myself to trash-talk with any1. But, I am open for constructive discussion.
Post by: trinsolutions on December 28, 2007, 04:41:18 PM
allyuh getting scared for what.. u guys must respect trini talent. ok
Post by: berris on December 28, 2007, 05:24:09 PM
I know. But, those who want to know the truth will come out to debate the topic instead of saying nonsense.

As, you already know, I will not lower myself to trash-talk with any1. But, I am open for constructive discussion.

Yuh want constructive discussion.... ok you go first ...... becuz de amount ah jackassness yuh post above wey yuh single out everything Warmonga say and trying to counter it wid yuh bullshit,only make yuh come across as someone just looking to get f**ked up or yuh just bumping yuh gum.When yuh ready for de 'constructive discussion' feel free to start.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 28, 2007, 05:35:28 PM
No Trini in his right mind would name his son Fabrice, for instant (well at least I wouldn't unless I want him to catch real horrors in school  )

Quite right MK! :applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 28, 2007, 05:41:07 PM
Toussaint and Jean ... as part of constructive discussion ... could you do something more useful ;D and authenticate this 'document'?

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32859.0

Greatly appreciated  :beermug:
Post by: just cool on December 28, 2007, 05:50:25 PM

Toussaint, i believe the pronunciation is differant, i have a few Haitian and french African friends and there are a lot of jean claude amongst them,it seems to be a popular name amongst french speaking ppl, but they pronounce jean differently, forinstance french jean is pronounced  jan, while english jean is pronounced gene or like the denim pants (jeans) so the pronunciation is far differant.   like tousaint in english is pronounced twosant, in french it's pronounced twosay.                      positive.
Post by: dinho on December 28, 2007, 05:57:16 PM
War.

Heh! The Jews probably thought the same way about their 'pax romana' until they decided to try out their relative freedom and ...they got the Massada! Go figure or simply ask Zimbabwe!

How so? Tigers' cubs grow to become tigers, not pet cats like some of our detractors are , if you see what i mean ;)

Argentina, Bolivia, Germany, Japan, China, Turkey, Chile, Venezuela, Cuba...almost every country in the world at one time or another have "fellas killing one another for politicians ". It's only bad when it happens in Haiti, I guess.

Haiti is a very good team and I will not be suprised if Haiti reach the world cup for there first time .

No sir, that would not be the first time. We won the concacaf championship in 1973 after we beat Guatemala 2-1, finishing the competition on top with one match to spare!

I dont concider you guys first Journey to the world cup (paying of de refs against My beloved TNT)

Honestly, why would Haiti, the runners-up of the 1969 WCQ, paid off a referee against a team that it beat 6-0 just a few months earlier, specially when  Haiti was the host? Does that really make sense to you? I don't really want to take that away from you if that's all you have to lean on, however, you're just not making sense at all.

In those days, the 2 pts for a victory systems made it almost impossible for a team who has  a defeat to advance. For example, in 1969, Haiti beat everybody but El Salvador, which unfortunately won all its matches. ES qualified.

Same scenarion in 1977. Haiti had 4 wins, 0 draw, and just 1 Defeat. That one defeat caused haiti to finish 2nd to Mexico.

It seems to me some of you think Haiti and TnT met in a winner take it all! That's quite far from the truth.

The teams met at the beginning of the competition and TnT, which was an outsider anyway at the time, came to the match with 0pt.

TnT was not considered a big team at the time. For example, TnT wasn't in the finals in 1969 and TnT's presense in Port-au-Prince was due mostly to the fact that Haiti was already qualified as host and the other top Caribbean team, the Netherlands-Antilles, was already in decline. TnT struggled to beat a reseves Haitian team just a few weeks before the tournament.

Haiti took the lead and went defensive knowing that it only needed a win against TnT. That's what induces some of you to believe that TnT was the superior team. Had any of TnT's disallowed goals counted and the match would have naturally changed. During the whole match, TnT was playing to level the game while Haiti was trying to kill the game.

Did the ref made bad calls? He certainly did as he was severly punished for that later. Many Haitians would tell you that the referees were biased in that match. But, did Haiti pay that ref? Probably not. Haiti continued to beat TnT almost everytimes they met in the 70s!!!

However, it amused me when I hear some of you say "Haiti tief we". Let's assume the corrupt dictator J-C Duvalier did pay the ref, how is that Haiti's fault  and why hating on Haiti for the actions of a man? Would you like to be held reliable for Jack Warner's actions?

Haiti beat the team that beat TnT in TnT's opening game. Does that tell you something? Did Haiti also 'tief that team' as well or did that team 'tief' TnT?

Then, things became suddenly interesting for Haiti as the other teams started drawing each others leaving Haiti on top of the tournament. The competition was over after Haiti's 4th match against Guatemala! Naturally, the real contenders were disappointed. Believe it or not, that's the context in which TnT was able to win its remaining 3 matches.

-5 conclusion

TnT experience in 1973 was similar to that of Panama in the 2005 GC, an outsider that had a great competition. In fact, just like the Panamanian team, the TnT-1973 team could not even qualified for the following Hex in 1977 while not only the Haiti-1973 team did qualified for Mexico 1977, the team finished 2nd in that competition.

this whole post and de piece ah prime real estate just east of port-of-spain known as the beetham landfill is one and the same...

:bs:
Post by: Deeks on December 28, 2007, 06:55:12 PM
Merry Christmas Everybody,
                                        I just want to respond to Toussaint. He more or less had the fact ok. The TNT team was not favored in that tournament because they had performed badly in the Concacaf nations cup which was held in TT2 years before. Haiti came in 2nd to Mex. and Vorbe won the MVP. TT ended 2nd last on home soil. All because TTFA did not want to pay the pros who were playing in US(sounds familiar). We qualified to play in Haiti WC  by beating a very tough Suriname team. That time Suriname played good ball. They were on par with Haiti in the 70's. The TTFA get some pressure from the fans and they relented. So Cummings, Archibald and Selris Figaro were the pros who were drafted. Those three with their experience made the difference. The English coach, Kevin Verity and Edgar Vidale did a good job with the preparation of the team. Similar to what Beehaker did with the Soca Warriors. The game against Haiti was intense. TT was ready to play. The refereee made serious blunders with those calls. The long throws by Winston Philips unsettled the Haitian defenders. Steve David out jump them to flick the ball from the long throws. The ref rule no-goal each time. The TT players did not argue because they felt confident that they could score. But Haiti counter attacked in the latter stage of the game to score the winner. Was the ref. paid to look the other way? TT will always say yes.
    The only thing Haiti had on TT in the 70s was consistency. TT would play great in one tournament and play shit in the next. Part of the reasonwas that TTFA always had some type of problem paying the pros to play. Meanwhile Haiti had the full support of the governament and their business community. Haiti and Suriname were always  a step ahead in preparation for Olimpic and WC football in those days.

In 1978 WC, TT did not make the Hex because of Suriname. This time Suriname was ready. The 2 game were close affairs with Suri. going thru on a 1 goal aggregate. I can't complain about Suriname. They were damn good. They played nice control and one touch football. TT and Suri. had an intense and enjoyable rivalry. A lot of the TT and Suri. players remain good friend after that.

Toussaint. Trinis will always "pound" Haiti about that. I have gotten over it. The Germany redux eased my pain.
Post by: warmonga on December 28, 2007, 09:41:41 PM
Jean like yu want man tap yu for your comments about TNT.. Tell meh wah happen to de refs dat refree dat Trini VS Haiti  game.. tell meh wah happen to dem nuh... I like Hait and have a lot of Haitians friends here in chicago and will love to see Haiti do well in all of there Games but we all know what happen in haiti on that day... so please dont lets go there..  If Haiti, Cuba & Jamaica were to qualy for SA I wont be Suprised.They Are all good teams.. I wish You guys Luck But yu dun Know my beloved TNT comes first .. and I cya believe Haiti politically Stable? Dey will never be unless we educate our people. Politicians have our people all pucked up .
War
Post by: jamaica2099 on December 29, 2007, 06:26:33 PM
Congrats to Haiti.  :beermug: :applause: :salute:

See you in 2008. :waiting:  :bringiton:
Post by: Flash7 on December 30, 2007, 12:45:23 PM
War.

In those days, the 2 pts for a victory systems made it almost impossible for a team who has  a defeat to advance. For example, in 1969, Haiti beat everybody but El Salvador, which unfortunately won all its matches. ES qualified.

However, it amused me when I hear some of you say "Haiti tief we". Let's assume the corrupt dictator J-C Duvalier did pay the ref, how is that Haiti's fault  and why hating on Haiti for the actions of a man? Would you like to be held reliable for Jack Warner's actions?

-5 conclusion

that's what's up toussaint, almost none of us were born during the 1970's so why does it remain a major topic Caribbean haters make on us.