General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on October 24, 2007, 09:47:19 PM

Title: London is the place fuh me
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 24, 2007, 09:47:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFKabnXP_xQ
Title: Re: London is the place fuh me
Post by: pecan on October 25, 2007, 06:33:16 AM
I was talking to my mom about her trip to London on a ship (SS Antilles I think) in 1960

She and Dad went to study and came back to T&T in 1961

The flim clip shows most in suit and tie  .. .that was how one dressed when dey traveled back den.
Post by: Andre on October 25, 2007, 06:48:47 AM
based on what i see of mih grandfather wadrobe, i think suit and tie was everyday clothes back then...with a hat.
Post by: WestCoast on October 25, 2007, 06:54:10 AM
I was talking to my mom about her trip to London on a ship (SS Antilles I think) in 1960
She and Dad went to study and came back to T&T in 1961
The flim clip shows most in suit and tie  .. .that was how one dressed when dey traveled back den.
yeah we have a picture of my brother in he suit......... lookin real jokey :D
Post by: pecan on October 25, 2007, 07:18:50 AM
allyuh probably right - suit and tie was de order of de day back den

maybe dat is why all de chirren to day so delinquent . .we eh dressing proper and with respect ...  ;)
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 25, 2007, 09:01:47 AM
Well people i love the kitchener song it sweet to bad .... kitchener arrived on the windrush in 1947.... its was hard time back then

Oh yes and them people used to "deck off"  :devil: back then
Post by: truetrini on October 25, 2007, 09:04:45 AM
Well people i love the kitchener song it sweet to bad .... kitchener arrived on the windrush in 1947.... its was hard time back then

haul yuh canadian backside..what de arse you know about decking off...yuh baggu shorts jockey shorts showing rison in-mate wanna be
Post by: Themanfriday on October 25, 2007, 09:05:18 AM
Well that is my daily attire here what does that say  ???
Post by: pecan on October 25, 2007, 09:07:24 AM

dat you are probably a very respectful man ... ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 25, 2007, 10:11:04 AM

haul yuh canadian backside..what de arse you know about decking off...yuh baggu shorts jockey shorts showing rison in-mate wanna be

naw naw none ah dat here .... but anyway the song sweet to bad kitch song
Post by: truetrini on October 25, 2007, 11:53:34 AM

naw naw none ah dat here .... but anyway the song sweet to bad kitch song

steups....yuh is ah canadian delinquent..is man like allyuh when allyuh get deported have T&T in all dat crime.
Post by: Dutty on October 25, 2007, 04:12:09 PM

That you need to update yuh 1950's suits?
Post by: pecan on October 25, 2007, 06:41:12 PM

That you need to update yuh 1950's suits?

:D :D
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 27, 2007, 10:28:39 AM
I wonder how long that voyage took
Post by: pecan on October 27, 2007, 11:25:23 AM
I wonder how long that voyage took

Mom thinks is was between 7 and 11 days .. she say it too long ago :D
Post by: Bakes on October 28, 2007, 08:23:39 PM
Very good clip....and yeah, I think suit and tie was de order of de day, allyuh ent see de fella who was pongin' de iron when they was talking about them finding wuk fuh people?

But on another note, I was pleasantly surprised by the humanist, almost warm tone of the piece.  Very progressive, especially given the times.
Post by: just cool on October 30, 2007, 09:31:36 PM
It was a documentary bone head. how yuh expect them to portray england, as a hostile place to discourage folks from comming? it's just like ah tourist ad for a tourist island, white sandy beaches with smiling faces every where, we all know that's misleading, they don't show the slums, poverty and the criminal activity in that said island, well the same goes for that doc.

they needed man power to rebuild england after the war, it was in no wise a noble gesture, so don't romanticize about it. i happen to know for a fact that those said ppl was heavily discriminated against and was called all sorts of degrading names like wogs, black face , nignog , the ever famous nigger , mr  blacky , Jacobin's, monkey men  and all sorts of f##kry, plus they were not that welcomed. minorities in england still have it hard today , far more back then. just look up darkus howe on line, he happens to be a journalist and black power activist in england, he's from POS and has lived and schooled in england since the 60ies. his literature would give a more accurate depiction than i ever could.            positive
Post by: pecan on October 31, 2007, 07:13:58 AM
oh oh ..  de man call B&S a 'bone head'
Post by: WestCoast on October 31, 2007, 08:11:34 AM
free speech or chuckin fire?  :devil:
Post by: pecan on October 31, 2007, 08:57:09 AM
free speech or chuckin fire?  :devil:

both? :D
Post by: just cool on October 31, 2007, 09:35:22 AM
hear's a link to darcus howe i advice you check it out.
http://www.awigp.com/default.asp?numcat=darcus
http://www.newstatesman.com/writers/darcus_howe
http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_DarcusHowe_BlackActivist-Journalist.htm
Post by: Bakes on October 31, 2007, 11:48:45 AM
It was a documentary bone head. how yuh expect them to portray england, as a hostile place to discourage folks from comming? it's just like ah tourist ad for a tourist island, white sandy beaches with smiling faces every where, we all know that's misleading, they don't show the slums, poverty and the criminal activity in that said island, well the same goes for that doc.

they needed man power to rebuild england after the war, it was in no wise a noble gesture, so don't romanticize about it. i happen to know for a fact that those said ppl was heavily discriminated against and was called all sorts of degrading names like wogs, black face , nignog , the ever famous nigger , mr  blacky , Jacobin's, monkey men  and all sorts of f##kry, plus they were not that welcomed. minorities in england still have it hard today , far more back then. just look up darkus howe on line, he happens to be a journalist and black power activist in england, he's from POS and has lived and schooled in england since the 60ies. his literature would give a more accurate depiction than i ever could.            positive

The irony of a dunce like you calling me a bonehead...ah man who couldn't spell CAT even if yuh tell him it start with C and A.  The same dunce who once famously referred to his own kids as 'mongrels'.

If you notice there was an undercurrent of xenophobia expressed in the clip, with some officials worried (and you can't blame them) about the influx of West Indians into their community.  Many of these immigrants were bringing with them few skills and little education, which means that they were coming into the working or 'blue collar' class.  If jobs couldn't be found for them they would have to go on the 'dole'...which was expressedly stated in the piece.  Maybe you don't know what the 'dole' is.

Contrary to what you assert, there was no shortage of laborers in the UK following WWII, not when you had poor lads from Ireland, Scotland and Wales eager to find employment in England...if anything the West Indian laborers would be in competition with them.  Laborers aside, what of the women and the children...you think is only men coming over?  I doh need to go look up no 'Darkus Howe' to hear how racist England was at that time...there are many others who have eloquently indicated what the environment was.  If you were following closely you would have seen that I also alluded to that, it could have been entirely too easy for the documentary to similar take this xenophobic course, instead they spoke of these West Indians as 'British citizens' and spoke of them having a right to live and work in England like any others, and that they were England's responsibility.  That is what I said was 'progressive'.

But of course you just too preocupied with your fight agains the white devils (the same "devils" you consorting with I might add) to let rational thought anywhere near your fragile mind.  I could go on further to illustrate the short comings in your argument, but my sense is that I'd only be wasting my time.  Your children being mongrels, one can only assume that they were sired by ah mutt, and that being the case I know better than to argue with pothounds.
Post by: Bakes on October 31, 2007, 11:50:31 AM
doh worry Peong...I peep dat since last night but was too tie up with what ah was supposed tuh be doing tuh bother respond then.
Post by: just cool on October 31, 2007, 01:14:13 PM

The irony of a dunce like you calling me a bonehead...ah man who couldn't spell CAT even if yuh tell him it start with C and A.  The same dunce who once famously referred to his own kids as 'mongrels'.

If you notice there was an undercurrent of xenophobia expressed in the clip, with some officials worried (and you can't blame them) about the influx of West Indians into their community.  Many of these immigrants were bringing with them few skills and little education, which means that they were coming into the working or 'blue collar' class.  If jobs couldn't be found for them they would have to go on the 'dole'...which was expressedly stated in the piece.  Maybe you don't know what the 'dole' is.

Contrary to what you assert, there was no shortage of laborers in the UK following WWII, not when you had poor lads from Ireland, Scotland and Wales eager to find employment in England...if anything the West Indian laborers would be in competition with them.  Laborers aside, what of the women and the children...you think is only men coming over?  I doh need to go look up no 'Darkus Howe' to hear how racist England was at that time...there are many others who have eloquently indicated what the environment was.  If you were following closely you would have seen that I also alluded to that, it could have been entirely too easy for the documentary to similar take this xenophobic course, instead they spoke of these West Indians as 'British citizens' and spoke of them having a right to live and work in England like any others, and that they were England's responsibility.  That is what I said was 'progressive'.

But of course you just too preocupied with your fight agains the white devils (the same "devils" you consorting with I might add) to let rational thought anywhere near your fragile mind.  I could go on further to illustrate the short comings in your argument, but my sense is that I'd only be wasting my time.  Your children being mongrels, one can only assume that they were sired by ah mutt, and that being the case I know better than to argue with pothounds.
I wasn't even referring to you guy, but since yuh like the cap and it fit yuh so well, wear it !!!!! and since ah know how yuh really feel about me i'll keep my distance. what you're spurring is mare words with your childish insults bout literacy, yuh think i give a shit what you say, hell no !!! you is a little boy and it shows in the way you confront and deal with ppl, no grown man with a grown up disposition does talk to folks with such indignance and malice. the reality is you don't know me and whatever you may assume about me only goes in the drain, i have to be a fool to take you seriously, and like i said before and i'll say it again , you are a low life with no class whatsoever , and not even all the eloquent phrases in the world could save you from who you are, BC it comes out with very little to no provocation at all, which is indicative of a real evil foul mouth, disrespectful, unkind, spiteful, disruptive, mean-spirited, confrontational, badminded, crude, grudging, cynical, heartless, judgemental, unapologetic, hateful, cold hearted, offensive, rotten to the core human being.  in respect to my children, how low does one have to be to bring a man's family into a simple discussion to win ah argument on line, anyone with an ounce of self respect will not resort to that kind of common behavior to prove a point, regardless as to how insulted they may have felt. i'm not even gonna waste time like other brothers on this board arguing back and forth with the likes of you, go in peace my friend, later for all that nonsense. you have no shame and void of any decency.         
        unnecessary controntation is an evil way.                 peace.
Post by: dinho on October 31, 2007, 01:18:54 PM
look back..

ah want to borrow that basket when yuh done with it eh..
Post by: pecan on October 31, 2007, 02:25:57 PM
look back..

ah want to borrow that basket when yuh done with it eh..

just let meh know when ...btw .. i slow today .. what basket yuh talking bout?
Post by: pecan on October 31, 2007, 02:27:37 PM
doh worry Peong...I peep dat since last night but was too tie up with what ah was supposed tuh be doing tuh bother respond then.

Peong??? is pecan aka look back ..... bonehead :devil:
Post by: dinho on October 31, 2007, 02:29:19 PM
this one....

Post by: pecan on October 31, 2007, 02:31:48 PM
this one....

i done ... all your now  ;D
Post by: Bakes on November 01, 2007, 08:10:58 AM
I wasn't even referring to you guy, but since yuh like the cap and it fit yuh so well, wear it !!!!!

You could really do better than to try and pretend yuh wasn't referring to me...seeing that every single comment besides mine was limited to the shirt and tie man was wearing back then.  Exactly which of the other 'boneheads' yuh was referring to?  Nobody else touched on the social climate but yours truly...so who exactly are you accusing of romanticizing the times?

and since ah know how yuh really feel about me i'll keep my distance.

lol, you acting like me and you is used tuh pitch marbles or something, 'bout "how I really feel about [you]".  Not you who once tell me 'bout man will make mih suck on cold steel or some kinda badjohn talk so? You kicksy yes.  I feel no particular way about you fella, you flatter yuhself to think I spend anytime at all thinking about you.

what you're spurring is mare words with your childish insults bout literacy, yuh think i give a shit what you say, hell no !!! you is a little boy and it shows in the way you confront and deal with ppl, no grown man with a grown up disposition does talk to folks with such indignance and malice.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=31760.msg366433#msg366433

I take it that yuh looking fuh company in de sandbox den...eh li'l boy?

the reality is you don't know me and whatever you may assume about me only goes in the drain, i have to be a fool to take you seriously, and like i said before and i'll say it again , you are a low life with no class whatsoever , and not even all the eloquent phrases in the world could save you from who you are, BC it comes out with very little to no provocation at all, which is indicative of a real evil foul mouth, disrespectful, unkind, spiteful, disruptive, mean-spirited, confrontational, badminded, crude, grudging, cynical, heartless, judgemental, unapologetic, hateful, cold hearted, offensive, rotten to the core human being.

Damn...all dat.  I tort we was boys?  Ah guess now ah know how yuh really feel about mih.

in respect to my children, how low does one have to be to bring a man's family into a simple discussion to win ah argument on line, anyone with an ounce of self respect will not resort to that kind of common behavior to prove a point, regardless as to how insulted they may have felt.

Me ent bring yuh chirren into nutten, you did.  I simply evoke your very own words to illustrate your mindset.

i'm not even gonna waste time like other brothers on this board arguing back and forth with the likes of you, go in peace my friend, later for all that nonsense. you have no shame and void of any decency.         
        unnecessary controntation is an evil way.                 peace.

Yes iyah, shake off Satan.  Forward ever.
Post by: Bakes on November 01, 2007, 08:11:57 AM
Peong??? is pecan aka look back ..... bonehead :devil:
Well at least I ent call yuh pothong...I always confusing de two ah allyuh.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 04, 2007, 08:46:21 PM
Very good clip....and yeah, I think suit and tie was de order of de day, allyuh ent see de fella who was pongin' de iron when they was talking about them finding wuk fuh people?

But on another note, I was pleasantly surprised by the humanist, almost warm tone of the piece.  Very progressive, especially given the times.

yeah check this one out people it give a focus on the nottinghill racial riots

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QFGH_4DuIA
Title: London Calling ...... T&T ferries an unpleasant journey
Post by: socafighter on July 10, 2014, 10:19:54 AM
London Calling  A ferry unpleasant journey
Published: Guardian
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Joshua Surtees

Last week I took the ferry to Tobago. It wasn’t quite the Middle Passage or the sinking of the Titanic, but it was horrendous nonetheless.

Arriving early in the morning, we saw a queue of people slowly inching up the stairs towards the vessel, looking tense.

“Is this what it was like waiting for the Windrush?” I wondered. But these people were wearing flip-flops and baseball caps, not jackets and trilbies.

As we board, a group of people are screaming at another group.

We are disappointed all the good seats are taken and sit next to a man with “gold” rings on every finger and “gold” jewelry on every other conceivable part of his body. He is feeding his two-year-old daughter salted crisps, telling her to eat them one at a time.

A tense-looking woman is reading a book called The Morning After. The blurb on the back says: “His victims will take his secrets to the grave.” A cheery read, no doubt.

“Nice baby. Don’t take up that. Leave that. That’s garbage. Don’t start that. Daddy will clean you up when you finish,” says the gold-laden man.

At the food kiosk, the hot dogs are partially submerged in cloudy water. Hops are in abundance. The bacon is more rind than meat.

The baby grows restless as we sail down the islands. The dimpled water glistens. Four generations of one family, great-granddaughter to great-grandmother, cuddle up beneath blankets on the floor to sleep.

The swaying motion of the boat begins. I look around us at the various characters.

“These people will puke. I guarantee it,” I say.

Rounding the horn of Chaguaramas, the sea grows choppier. We fall into an extremely fitful sleep with our necks contorted against the glass. We wake with neck-ache approaching Scarborough, Tobago.

“There’s bits of sausage in the sink,” a woman says as she exits the bathrooms. We disembark.

Two days of serene relaxation later, it’s time to return.

The return is worse. On the way out we sailed on the T&T Express. Coming home it’s the T&T Spirit. Neither moniker is appropriate.

“This is an absolute disgrace,” I mutter, as we survey the Spirit. Every seat is coated in years of grime. Seat covers have been ripped off, revealing velcro strips, matted with fluff. We stalk the passenger deck looking for signs of civilisation, or at least cleanliness.

Rounding the corner we see passengers scattered in seats and the smell of stale vomit hits us. We backtrack and canter back to the non-sick-smelling area.

Unbelievably, the queue for the cafeteria stretches into the distance. The couple next to us have hot dogs, egg sandwiches and cups of coffee with straws in them.

The pervading smell is of damp carpet and cat litter.

“How has it gotten to this state?” my girlfriend asks, appalled.

“Probably from people being sick,” I reply.

I’ve never seen anything quite like this. It is reminiscent of the 1980s ferries that travelled back and forth across the English Channel, but much, much worse.

I’ve never seen this lack of sanitation outside of the Middle East. I’ve stayed in dirty, flea-ridden budget hotel rooms in Jordan and Syria but accepted it as part of the backpacking experience.

This is T&T, an oil-rich state in 2014.

Life jackets are shoved into plastic bags under seats. Port Police officers wear suicidal expressions. Weaves, almost plastic in appearance, are everywhere.

A fat man snores at deafening volumes, waking himself up intermittently. Another man wears a pro-drinking T-shirt which reads: “The liver is evil and must be punished.”

An eight-inch television monitor blackened with smudges, mounted upside-down on the ceiling, shows the safety video then an ad informing us that: “Drug trafficking is illegal...If a bag bursts inside you, you would be dead within two hours.”

The cartoon face of the drug mule contorts in agony.

The public address announcements tell us not to tamper with the safety equipment.

In some ways I hope the ferry will sink. Anything would be better than this.

I think of the portraits of Cadiz, Kamla and Carmona in the terminal, smiling down at us, and wonder if they have ever gone through this.

I’m not sure why I’m writing this column. Perhaps it’s cathartic. Perhaps it will help me come to terms with the ordeal.

Perhaps it’s simply a warning to other people never to take the ferry to Tobago under any circumstances whatsoever.

Title: Re: London Calling T&T ferries an unpleasant journey
Post by: socafighter on July 10, 2014, 10:21:31 AM

Ok Trinbagonians....

Since I have never boarded a ferry between Trinidad and Tobago ...

What has been your experience  ???
Title: Re: London Calling ...... T&T ferries an unpleasant journey
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2014, 02:15:06 PM
I have heard it nice.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 10, 2014, 02:21:01 PM
Never been, but when last I was in both islands, my brederin who roughs it wherever he goes strongly advised me not to do it, which I thought was interesting.  Funny yes, this should be part of the TT experience, offering different levels of accommodation/svcs as you traverse the sites between our two lovely isles, instead it sounds like a nightmare
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2014, 02:29:59 PM
The article reads like faux-elitist nonsense.  I took the Express both to and from Tobago in 2009, and the only thing I could honestly complain about is mild seasickness exacerbated from the occasional diesel fumes from the engine.  I had much the same experience later that summer riding the vaporetto (big mistake sitting in the back) in Venice for the first time.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on July 10, 2014, 02:32:38 PM
haven't taken a plane to bago in years...drive on drive off..easter to summer the water lil rough and idiots who aren't boaters all rush to the bow and surprised when they puking all over the place.
Haven't been on it for the year though, but never really had a problem.
Stick to the stern, pop a gravol and should be fine..
I really like it cuz I living in POS and yuh cud walk with a few beers and bottle of rum and lime before and on the ferry. Note - don't take glass bottles to drink on the ferry, even though they sell soft drinks in glass bottles. Had to point that out to a police officer on board who told me i couldn't have a stag bottle. She wasn't too happy when i pointed out all the glass bottles on board from the bar
Post by: fari on July 10, 2014, 02:38:46 PM
i took the ferry with the scout troop back in 95 or 96...i remember feeling seasick, going to the bathroom and seeing the sink full of vomit...that was so gross it actually made me feel not to  vomit oui.     and yes, when you hit the bocas that boat does go up and down like a dinghy oui
Post by: grimm01 on July 10, 2014, 03:43:55 PM
The article reads like faux-elitist nonsense.  I took the Express both to and from Tobago in 2009, and the only thing I could honestly complain about is mild seasickness exacerbated from the occasional diesel fumes from the engine.  I had much the same experience later that summer riding the vaporetto (big mistake sitting in the back) in Venice for the first time.

It's straight up elitist nonsense. It's one thing to point out issues with the cleanliness of the ship, the food or general quality of the ship and amenities. But once he start pointing out issues with the people who using the ship, my question to him is what does he suggest that the government do to prevent people from snoring and disturbing him or feeding their children junk food or wearing too much gold on the ferry? Sounds like he as much offended by the "element" that he had to endure as much as the condition of the ship itself. Next time he should use the plane.

I didn't have no problems with the boat when I took my wife and son to T&T back in 2009. We took a small trip to Tobago and i thought the Express was a big upgrade from the Panorama. Maybe maintenance and upkeep slip since then...
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2014, 09:22:54 PM
 I doh see why they can't develop a port in Toco and the ride go be at least 30 mins. of course road to Toco has to be upgraded.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2014, 12:05:06 AM

It's straight up elitist nonsense. It's one thing to point out issues with the cleanliness of the ship, the food or general quality of the ship and amenities. But once he start pointing out issues with the people who using the ship, my question to him is what does he suggest that the government do to prevent people from snoring and disturbing him or feeding their children junk food or wearing too much gold on the ferry? Sounds like he as much offended by the "element" that he had to endure as much as the condition of the ship itself. Next time he should use the plane.

I didn't have no problems with the boat when I took my wife and son to T&T back in 2009. We took a small trip to Tobago and i thought the Express was a big upgrade from the Panorama. Maybe maintenance and upkeep slip since then...

I doh even think heself "elite"... he just posturing. 

We mighta been in Tobago same time... was liming with yuh sister and dem crew.
Post by: Touches on July 11, 2014, 05:19:49 PM
He correct

I went 2 weeks ago..

I dubbed it the vomit comet

Stick to the plane.

Post by: Sando prince on July 14, 2014, 09:32:14 PM
Everything is good about the ride except the seasickness. Sometimes its too much and can make anyone think twice about choosing the ferry over a plane ticket for the next visit. my last ferry ride was in 2011 and the seating was good, food was good, not crowded, good view of the water but dat seasickness can make you vomit your lungs!
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on July 15, 2014, 03:00:14 PM
daz d ting..some pple cant handle the water and go onto the boat belly full and wonder why they sick..
from anytime after august to jan the north tends to be flat and nice, although the shallows always can have a bit of a kick before you reach bago
Post by: MEP on July 15, 2014, 04:28:34 PM
Sad to think that he is a feature writer for the guardian..."I look around us at the various characters" perhaps he should hold a mirror up to his face in an attempt to identify that character posing as a journalist whose inability to tell a story results in a comedic litany of one liners with poorly punctuated timing. Traveling the bocas will always result in seasickness. Just think how it was back in the day with the scarlet ibis aka maverick or bird of paradise much slower vessels. Part of also depends on your constitution I remember being on the Gelting and me and two odder pardnahs buss up a 40 oz bottle of VAT straight... -sigh-  the good ol' rum days
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 16, 2014, 10:21:06 PM
Did a round trip and would NEVER EVER EVER EVER do that again...........but if you have time and don't get motion sickness then I guess it could be enjoyable.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 20, 2014, 07:58:20 PM
I use it to go home ALL the time.  Now, granted I have been using the ferry service since loooooonnngggg before these fast ferries.  The boats before were sheer torture with that 5 - 6 hour boat ride.

I hardly ever use the air bridge to go between the two islands, I just throw mih car on de boat and gone.  I am probably so used to using the ferry that I only had that seasickness issue once in mih whole life and it was my own fault.  I did not have lunch on time and ate right there on the ferry while waiting for it to leave.  Of course mih lunch end up in the people toilet.

Overall, for me the ferries have been a god send.  However, for some strange reason the T&T Express was upgraded about 3 - 4 years ago.  New seats, carpet etc. but they did not upgrade the T&T Spirit.  On the Spirit the seats are in a really poor condition, there is a stale musty smell throughout the vessel, it is just really in a bad condition.  I actually cringe when I realise I have to travel on the Spirit.  The Port Authority really need to do something about that particular vessel...

I also used to have a problem with the arrangements for people who are boarding with a vehicle.  You used to have to park (parking space was/is really hard to find) and go into the port building to check in.  Then return to the vehicle and drive across and wait to board.  Now you don't have to leave the vehicle just drive through the check in which is the way it is set up in Tobago.

The other issue I have is that I can't just decide I want to go home at a moments notice WITH MY CAR and get a ticket particularly on the weekend.  The car spaces sell out really fast so once I want to go with my car I have to book a seat at least 2 - 3 weeks in advance.  For the July-August period the reservation period is probably 1 - 2 months before!!!

Overall, for me if they could fix/upgrade the Spirit and I could go home WITH MY CAR at a moments notice I would be very happy with the ferry system........I am about 70 - 80% happy right now.........
Post by: Sando prince on June 12, 2015, 04:22:21 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/rHEdqsonZ7g
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2015, 06:51:55 PM
Tell me why we can't have a ferry from Toc. I watch the moto.cycles along the North Coast road. Nice, but they friggin crazy. Real nice though!
Post by: Sando prince on June 13, 2015, 09:29:51 AM
Tell me why we can't have a ferry from Toc. I watch the moto.cycles along the North Coast road. Nice, but they friggin crazy. Real nice though!

Posted some of his videos here

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64400.0

Post by: Bourbon on June 14, 2015, 07:20:29 AM

Well one reason is that there would basically be the need to construct a totally new port facility just to accommodate it. Galeota is the only port on that side..and thats down in the south east. Feasibility of any vessel leaving there for Tobago is debatable. The fact is the sea bridge needs some degree of improvement. Earlier this year when an engine was down...sailing schedules were impacted significantly and this went on for months.
Post by: Deeks on June 14, 2015, 08:26:07 AM

Well one reason is that there would basically be the need to construct a totally new port facility just to accommodate it. Galeota is the only port on that side..and thats down in the south east. Feasibility of any vessel leaving there for Tobago is debatable. The fact is the sea bridge needs some degree of improvement. Earlier this year when an engine was down...sailing schedules were impacted significantly and this went on for months.

Well off course they would have to build a new port. Would it not be easier to bus it to Toco(off course they would have to improve the road).  The time should be much less from Toco than from POS. I assume the ride should no more than 45 mins. Why not use Hoovercrafts??
Post by: pull stones on June 15, 2015, 04:03:04 AM
pardon my ignorance but the article didn't mention who this LONDON character was, is it whom i think it is?
Post by: Michael-j on June 15, 2015, 06:58:08 AM
pardon my ignorance but the article didn't mention who this LONDON character was, is it whom i think it is?

London isn't a character....it's where the author,Joshua Surtees, resides. He's a  free-lance writer for the Guardian and a couple UK based publications. His column in the Guardian is called " London Calling"....( I guess because he's writing from London?)
Post by: Brownsugar on June 16, 2015, 05:29:56 PM

Right now only one vessel working so is real pressure......not sure when its coming back.  The schedule is updated to July 7th.  Busy school holidays coming up so I'm guessing they'll fix it soon......
Post by: Sando prince on February 20, 2016, 01:37:05 PM

(https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/12715790_1229474827065892_2218513940857524629_n.jpg?oh=cd26d072e32fddfad4d3f9539bc2d4af&oe=5727422F)
Post by: kounty on February 23, 2016, 07:21:56 PM
I very much enjoyed the fast ferries this last time I rode them (this yr). Big step up in terms of speed, time of arrival etc from long time. I like the seats, the fact that I could have my family around one big table, the organization of parking the cars; that I could go outside and watch the wake (is that a jet of water shooting out?) and spend the whole time on benches outside. Kudos T&T and screw that London calling dude.