Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on October 29, 2007, 07:19:21 AM

Title: Wright-Phillips: Stern experience is good for me
Post by: Tallman on October 29, 2007, 07:19:21 AM
Wright-Phillips: Stern experience is good for me
By Adam Leitch (Southern Daily Echo)

Bradley Wright-Phillips believes Stern John is delivering performances that mark him out from Saints' other strikers. While the hitman concedes that the squad is full of top-quality striking options, it is John's all-round game that has made him so valuable to George Burley in recent weeks. He has been physically strong and has held the ball up well while bringing others in to play. Wright-Phillips has benefited directly and is enjoying a partnership that has left Polish international pair Grzegorz Rasiak and Marek Saganowski on the sidelines. Both Wright-Phillips and John were on target in the 3-2 win at Burnley on Saturday night that lifted Saints to within a point of the play-off places in what is an increasingly congested top half of the Championship table.
Title: Re: Wright-Phillips: Stern experience is good for me
Post by: SHOTTA on October 29, 2007, 07:31:36 AM
quality knows no bounds
Post by: dreamer on October 29, 2007, 08:10:50 AM
Yeah Stern show dem who's de man...whether dey is Poland star striker or not. Let Rasiak go back to Poland-coach Beenie crying "Dem eh select meh Mr Beenie...Ah only sitting on de bench riding pine from this boy from some little island call Trinidad  :frustrated: "

Beenie (in his usual heavy dutch accent): Mishta Rasiak, Let me tell you  >:( ..Shtern John is a quality shtriker shecond to none. I know him pershonally and trusht me, you would be lucky to shine hish bootsh. Those Trinidad playersh ... I will neva forget!
Post by: WestCoast on October 29, 2007, 08:14:17 AM
Beenie (in his usual heavy dutch accent): Mishta Rasiak, Let me tell you  >:( ..Shtern John is a quality shtriker shecond to none. I know him pershonally and trusht me, you would be lucky to shine hish bootsh. Those Trinidad playersh ... I will neva forget!
when I close my eye an read dat, is like Beenie write it heself ;D
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 29, 2007, 08:19:33 AM
Doh get tie up. Rasiak is a quality goalscorer too. Very similar to Stern. The edge Stern have is that he a little more mobile and physical and contributes more to the team. Rasiak is a sluggish lazyman who always finds a way to score. But other than scoring he doh offer much to the team play.
Post by: dreamer on October 29, 2007, 08:26:30 AM
Yeah doh frighten soldier, ah done sight up Raziak long long time. Still, Stern is de man!  >:(
Respec' Genius monk.
Post by: Midknight on October 29, 2007, 08:31:29 AM
Doh get tie up. Rasiak is a quality goalscorer too. Very similar to Stern. The edge Stern have is that he a little more mobile and physical and contributes more to the team. Rasiak is a sluggish lazyman who always finds a way to score. But other than scoring he doh offer much to the team play.

Lord have mercy. look at thing eh. Men actually saying Stern and contribute in the same sentence. And the lazman adjective being used to describe somebody else Who would have thought it?
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 29, 2007, 08:38:27 AM

Lord have mercy. look at thing eh. Men actually saying Stern and contribute in the same sentence. And the lazman adjective being used to describe somebody else Who would have thought it?
Notice ah say "a little" more mobile. For all the complaints people have with Stern, Rasiak worse. The two of them know how to score goals and make people hush, though.
Post by: Storeboy on October 29, 2007, 08:40:11 AM

Midnight, what you expect in this forum.  That is the way it is with fans. :) :) :) :) :)
Post by: palos on October 29, 2007, 09:23:31 AM

Wha shock me is man sayin Stern more "mobile".  Raziack mus be cross wit statue... ;D
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 29, 2007, 09:33:49 AM

Wha shock me is man sayin Stern more "mobile".  Raziack mus be cross wit statue... ;D
Rasiak does pretty much just stand up around de box and wait. Jog around a lil bit if de ball close. Wait some more.

Stern does at least hold up de ball and link with midfield and ting. Watch how Southampton fans loving him: http://www.thesaintsforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=29270
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on October 29, 2007, 10:10:08 AM
when I close my eye an read dat, is like Beenie write it heself ;D

wheyyy some ah allyuh here rhel talented yes...how de f%$k u manage tuh pull off dah one boss :devil: :rotfl:
Post by: freakazoid on October 29, 2007, 10:17:51 AM
i thought was me alone see that  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

west coast yuh either cross with bat or potato  :rotfl: :rotfl: but yuh well talented 4 tru

but ah get where u coming from west coast ;D
Post by: PantherX on October 29, 2007, 11:14:54 AM
Stern and Raziak have one thing in common.....they both found their level in the Championship.
Post by: prodigy23 on October 29, 2007, 12:57:40 PM
video of stern's goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXprMu7paU4
Post by: berris on October 29, 2007, 01:48:10 PM
Stern and Raziak have one thing in common.....they both found their level in the Championship.

Yuh talking Loud Loud  :bs: :bs:
Post by: Peong on October 29, 2007, 03:21:59 PM
Allyuh see de bullet dat hit both posts?
wey
Post by: JDB on October 29, 2007, 03:27:07 PM

Boy reading that the first thing cross my mind is "I have to see the manner of beast that is Rasiak"

wey

Real nice especially like the screen and turn he use to create the chance, the sign of a confident player.
Post by: berris on October 29, 2007, 03:36:38 PM
wey

Shield off de defender ,turn and ben it wid de outside ah he right foot,beating de keeper  :applause: :applause: would have been a spectacular goal ...he an all turn tuh celebrate buh den it come cross and hit de next post ..shot sah !!!
Post by: dinho on October 29, 2007, 03:51:54 PM
berris, stern is a shitsnake...   :devil: :devil: :devil:

*brace for impact
Post by: berris on October 29, 2007, 04:04:52 PM

*brace for impact

Hard luck Omar ...dah basket hah to much hole .. ;D

Post by: dinho on October 29, 2007, 04:16:58 PM

*brace for impact

lol..

under all seriousness de man getting on bad and seem to be liking it... i didnt realize he put rasiak and saganowski on the bench.

all now so if he was still at sunderland, he riding pine behind shitongs like connoly, odonovan, murphy and stokes watching the contract run down and wondering where the next offer coming from.

from early signs, seems like the deal worked out well for all parties..
Post by: WestCoast on October 29, 2007, 06:44:59 PM
*brace for impact
dat basket come like ah fish net
Post by: Big Magician on October 29, 2007, 07:11:43 PM
Panther X.....The world cup was nice eh??....glad yuh went there eh  ???...
Thank God for a "Championship Striker"....
Post by: PantherX on October 29, 2007, 11:32:22 PM
Allyuh men get on like ah call de man a sh!thound or something.

Stern (like Rasiak) found success in the Championship but never duplicated it at the Premiership level.  Now he's back in the Championship finding his confidence and goals again.  If that doesn't say that he found his level there I don't know what does.

The premiership isn't for everybody...just ask Shevchenko.

@Big Mag

If I recall correctly few of our team that went to the world cup were premiership quality so what's your point?

Post by: berris on October 30, 2007, 12:15:47 AM
Allyuh men get on like ah call de man a sh!thound or something.

Stern (like Rasiak) found success in the Championship but never duplicated it at the Premiership level.  Now he's back in the Championship finding his confidence and goals again.  If that doesn't say that he found his level there I don't know what does.

The premiership isn't for everybody...just ask Shevchenko.

@Big Mag

If I recall correctly few of our team that went to the world cup were premiership quality so what's your point?

Yuh recall correct and SJ is one ah de 'few', so de real question is, what is  your point here  ??? other than ah lame attempt tuh dis #14 ...just another doubter/hater talkin ah set ah assness bout he reach he 'level'...doh vex ,dais meh opinion...I eh have time to give yuh de facts but go and see who lead BCFC in scoring the first year they get promoted,doh ignore the fact that he get injured and miss alot of games  and still lead dem in scoring,while yuh dey checking look and see much goals he score to get them promoted,yuh might as well see who score BCFC first goal in the Prems....
Doh fool yuh self ...#14 cud play in any league on any team and score on any defense,he already score in de game he play this year for Sunderland as a sub and I sure he wudda be scoring for them if he was still there,that is a proven fact, de man score goals on ANY team he play for (Derby is de lone exception and dem was/is ah shit side) Premiership or Championship ,so give we ah chance wid dah 'championship level' nonsense.
Post by: Big Magician on October 30, 2007, 11:33:03 AM
Thanks Berris...yuh save meh some "one finger typing" dey....bbboooooomm
Post by: PantherX on October 30, 2007, 11:06:59 PM
Look at Stern's strike rate:  His performance in the championship/first division is vastly superior that iin the Premiership yet while others calling the man a sh!thound among other things you take exception with me saying that he find his level.

Don't let things like facts interfere with that fantasy going on in your heads their breds.
Post by: Midknight on October 31, 2007, 02:43:59 AM

Boy reading that the first thing cross my mind is "I have to see the manner of beast that is Rasiak"

wey

Real nice especially like the screen and turn he use to create the chance, the sign of a confident player.

The new and improved Stern Turn...

but lord that team need a defense!
Post by: berris on October 31, 2007, 01:06:55 PM
Look at Stern's strike rate:  His performance in the championship/first division is vastly superior that iin the Premiership yet while others calling the man a sh!thound among other things you take exception with me saying that he find his level.

Don't let things like facts interfere with that fantasy going on in your heads their breds.

Facts yuh say  :rotfl: Panterx,the only 'fact' you prove here is that yuh is ah dunce ah de game ,hopefully it stop they and yuh is not ah dunce in life too ....but by yuh reasoning I doubt it.

Post by: PantherX on October 31, 2007, 03:13:51 PM
Show me his scoring rate, appearances, goals scored or ANYTHING thaty would demonstrate that he was a success in the premiership.

His best season in the premiership was with Birmingham City in 2004/5 where he scored 9 goals in all competitions and he's never got close to that since.

People like you like talk a lot of trash but you never have anything to back it up.
Post by: berris on October 31, 2007, 08:44:01 PM
Show me his scoring rate, appearances, goals scored or ANYTHING thaty would demonstrate that he was a success in the premiership.

His best season in the premiership was with Birmingham City in 2004/5 where he scored 9 goals in all competitions and he's never got close to that since.

People like you like talk a lot of trash but you never have anything to back it up.

Is 2yrs he play in the EPL with ah promoted BCFC, yuh want ah success story  ??? all yuh is real ass yes.The fact that he lead them in scoring the first year wasn't good enough for you ??? wha yuh wanted 20 goals  ??? is ah shit side his goals help promote and also help them avoid relegation.
Me eh have to show you nuttin, if yuh doh know go and look it up ,just de same way yuh run quick and research and see he score 9 goals his 1st yr in the EPL go back and read some more.Ah baby cud figure out that any good striker will score more goals against a championship div defense as opposed to the EPL,now I going under the assumption here that yuh is not a baby and hopefully ah big man or woman,if ah wrong stop meh please.Tell meh how much strikers in the EPL that average  more than 10 goals in ah season ? Stern scoring 9 was on par with some of the better strikers and he was playing on a newly promoted team and still lead them in goals.Go and reasearch  how much time he start as to how much time he come off the bench and then yuh go realize if he had started more  games he cud have scored more goals,if he did not get injured he cudda have scored more goals.
I doh expect you to see or understand none ah this becuz as far as your football knowledge concern if someone scoring more goals in the championship div as oppose to the EPL,their  'level' is the championship. :rotfl: :rotfl:  :rotfl: ..de only trash here coming from you,now go and do yuh home work and come back sounding ah lil more educated before yuh bum yuh gum and come across as ah lil snat nose Stern John hater.....................oh shit too late  :devil:
Post by: Big Magician on November 01, 2007, 06:41:45 AM
thanks again Berris...Danke
Post by: PantherX on November 01, 2007, 07:47:28 PM
All talk and no substance.  Typical.

You won't 'show me nutten' because you don't have 'nutten' to show, at best Stern would be considered a competent striker at premiership level.

It's called reality...deal with it.

Post by: berris on November 01, 2007, 08:34:39 PM
thanks again Berris...Danke

Yuh welcome Big Mag  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: berris on November 01, 2007, 09:10:15 PM
All talk and no substance.  Typical.

You won't 'show me nutten' because you don't have 'nutten' to show, at best Stern would be considered a competent striker at premiership level.

It's called reality...deal with it.

No Dunce, you call it that .The only one that eh producing anything of 'substance' is you and yuh response keeping getting weaker and weaker. After ah show yuh how much SHIT yuh talking yuh decide now tuh sing ah different tune in de same f**king key ???  So now he's a 'competent striker at premiership level'  eh ?. If I continue putting yuh in yuh place just now yuh go singing another tune but I eh have de time tuh waste on ah ignorant,football challaged,ehhaveahf@ckingideaboutdegame,
dunce like yuh self,so ah go leave yuh in yuh ignorance fuh yuh tuh go around de place telling ppl yuh big time theory, that if a striker  score more goals in the championship div dais their 'level'.... :rotfl: :rotfl:
Yuh dam Jackass ......Dais de 'reality' ....now you deal wid it. :devil:
Post by: Midknight on November 01, 2007, 09:18:34 PM

That was 2002-2003.
Post by: berris on November 01, 2007, 09:23:28 PM

That was 2002-2003.

Midknight,you wasting yuh time oui, yuh eh see dis man eh have ah clue  wha he talking bout ...this is just another hatergumbumper.   
Post by: PantherX on November 02, 2007, 02:22:29 PM
I stand corrected on the season but the stats are still the same.

dis man eh have ah clue  wha he talking bout ...this is just another hatergumbumper.   

Funny, I was thinking the same thing about you. You're right on one thing though...this is definitely going nowheres so peace to you breds.

I done.
Post by: Arazi on November 03, 2007, 11:40:06 AM

i see your argument...but i have to ask when was stern ever given a proper run in the prem...

he  was leading scorer at birmingham for a season in which if memory serves right he was the second or third choice striker behind men like dugarry and forsell... even morrison used to get a run before him on a regular..to me stern generally used to be their super sub saviour who used to come on and score important goals...i don't think birmingham's game ever really suited stern really...

BUT i understand your argument that perhaps the premiership is not the league where stern may excell in...however by stating that his niche is the championship you're kinda implying that he not good...

which any rational trini fan would kno is not so...
Post by: PantherX on November 03, 2007, 07:34:48 PM
Fair enough, my post was tongue-in-cheek so I can see how it could be interpeted as such.

I appreciate what Stern has done in the Red shirt as much as anyone and while I agree that he never got an extended run in the Prem in ymind it also demonstrated the lack of confidence that the coaches had in him (injuries excepted) at that level. Like I said before, the Premiership isn't for everyone.

If the other clow gentlemen were able to communicate like you just did this discussion would not have gone for as long as it did ;D .
Post by: berris on November 03, 2007, 09:12:39 PM
Fair enough, my post was tongue-in-cheek so I can see how it could be interpeted as such.

I appreciate what Stern has done in the Red shirt as much as anyone and while I agree that he never got an extended run in the Prem in ymind it also demonstrated the lack of confidence that the coaches had in him (injuries excepted) at that level. Like I said before, the Premiership isn't for everyone.

If the other clow gentlemen were able to communicate like you just did this discussion would not have gone for as long as it did ;D .

:rotfl: :rotfl:  All yuh good oui...so becuz he eh call yuh ah jackass yuh now ''see how it could be interpeted as such''. understand de shite yuh talking ....wham,when man call yuh by yuh real name yuh does get dotish more harden or wha ?
Post by: PantherX on November 03, 2007, 09:48:43 PM
It's clear to me that you're incapable of expressing yourself without resorting to insults so rather than reduce myself to your level I done with you.

Peace.
Post by: berris on November 04, 2007, 09:03:33 AM
It's clear to me that you're incapable of expressing yourself without resorting to insults so rather than reduce myself to your level I done with you.

Peace.

Yeah yeah yeah whatever...stop whining like ah lil biatch.

''I done with you.''

You done wid me ??? we was never together ??? ???  wrong man, I not in dem kinda ting,sorry tuh hear yuh relationship done hard luck,hopefully you would find somebody to replace him/her.

Peace.
Post by: Flex on February 10, 2020, 10:37:02 AM
‘Let’s do this’: Bradley Wright-Phillips announces his arrival to LAFC
By Joel Soria (NBC Sports).

Bradley Wright-Phillips is taking his talents to Los Angeles.

The New York Red Bulls legend, who left the club in November after seven seasons, is joining MLS Supporters’ Shield winners LAFC, according to his personal Twitter account.

The news comes after it was reported that the 34-year-old had joined LAFC’s preseason as a trialist in hopes securing a contract with Bob Bradley‘s side.

The forward, a two-time MLS Golden Boot winner, saw his productivity rates drop drastically last season as injuries became a common theme. Despite making 24 appearances, Wright-Phillips was limited to nine starts (1098 minutes in total), scoring only two goals all season.

At the end of the season, the Red Bulls decided to not offer the soon-to-be 35-year-old a new contract.

LAFC, in need of proven, attacking depth as they head into a busy 2020 which will include CONCACAF Champions League play, will get one of the league’s most prolific goalscorers in the Englishmen.

In seven seasons with the Red Bulls, Wright-Phillips scored 108 goals – the fastest player in MLS history to reach the century mark. In three out of the seven seasons, the attacker posted more than 20 goals, with the then-record-tying 27 goal campaign in 2014 the hallmark of the bunch.

LAFC have yet to release an official statement on the signing of Wright-Phillips.