Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on November 16, 2007, 10:46:05 AM

Title: Exactly 2 years ago at this exact minute..
Post by: dinho on November 16, 2007, 10:46:05 AM
Most tension i ever feel in my life..

watching the game in a london sports bar.. an arabic station with some arabic commentators, halftime coming up and the game still evenly poised..

where were you?

Title: Re: EXACTLY 2 YEARS AGO AT THIS EXACT MINUTE...
Post by: WestCoast on November 16, 2007, 10:50:57 AM
expectation of the avenging of our misfortune in 1973 in Haiti ;)

Ten Minutes of Hilites (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=SR5NssD5ZrQ)

Thank You Very Much to ALL who made these incredible times possible :applause: :applause:
and Bawl...oh gaum I did bawl.........like ah flippin baby oui ;)

FOR THE GAME OF YOUR LIFE (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/2006/fighter.htm) TURN UP DE VOLUME PEOPLE........TURN IT UP HARD ;)

and Bawl...oh gaum I did bawl.........like ah flippin baby oui ;)

two years ahready
shit dat means I have been on here TWO years
:o
 ;D ;D
Post by: TnTVillan on November 16, 2007, 10:51:26 AM
Cannot believe it's been 2 years already. It feels just like yesterday!
Post by: FF on November 16, 2007, 10:54:04 AM

Most tension i ever feel in my life..

watching the game in a london sports bar.. an arabic station with some arabic commentators, halftime coming up and the game still evenly poised..

where were you?

Pretending to be sick... so i could stay home from work...

work just eh make sense that day... if we win... fawk work.... if we lose... fawk work more....
Post by: Consultant on November 16, 2007, 10:58:22 AM
I was (still am) in Scotland.....I left work early to see the match....it was on Eurosport 2. I went by a padna and watch it.

First half we just passing ball round, with no real chances....but we were holding the ball up better than Bahrain.

Second half......boooooduuuumm tallest scored. He scored, and he looked like he was shocked he scored. The celebration was pretty poor from him. From me - well dais another story. I get up wine by myself, shout, scream, laugh, cry....i didn't know what to do...

Then dying minutes....Jack let de man kick ball out of his hands and the ball was in the back of our net.....again....same emotions except de wine. But I was relieved goal was disallowed.

Phew peep brew! Final whistle gone, and i was close to tears....I was proud to call myself a trini. I jump in my car, and peeps everybody i see. Dem scottish was looking at me like I was mental?

Anyhow - I will never forget that moment....for the rest of my life. Now if only that muddaskiat did only let de warriors get back, prepare, i know 2010 we'd make it.....but with all this nonsense goin on....well i really eh no... :'(
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 16, 2007, 10:58:30 AM
I went home for an extended lunch and did not bother to go back, ah call dat George and was in unbelievable euphoria.  Steups, now we suckin salt, I still vex
Post by: FireBrand on November 16, 2007, 11:04:13 AM
Although today is not a public holiday in T&T, I know it's an official holiday in the hearts of all Socawarriors.net/Warrior Nation family. So dus off yuh T&T vs Bahrain and "Boldon in Bahrain" DVDs this evening and leh we relive dat fatefull day.

If yuh missing yuh "Boldon in Bahrain" copy check out de WarriorNation online store (http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_virtuemart/page,shop.browse/category_id,3/Itemid,38/)  ;D

Happy November 16th and vibes it up T&T!!!!!!!!  :beermug:

Oh, I was in Trotters with meh 3 bredrens from highschool...we even make news celebrating de victory.
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 16, 2007, 11:07:08 AM
Gosh....like I real slow boy....yuh know how long it take me to realize wha all yuh talking bout.  Das de day when all de Carib and Stag in Trinidad sell out....Smokey and Bunty limit dey supply, increase demand, and increase price.  Dem alone had Stag after 9 o,clock.   Dat day was someting else, ah jump and wine on people car, blocking taxi from passing.  Wid ah bottle ah Trinidad Walker black label rum.  

Dat was a nice nice feeling
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2007, 11:10:17 AM
I was duckin from dem big stone dem Bahrainis was peltin after de match.

Check de Photo Gallery (http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_gallery2/Itemid,40/?g2_itemId=3105).

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=3353&g2_serialNumber=1)
Post by: D.H.W on November 16, 2007, 11:12:36 AM
home watching NCC channel 4  ::) with corneal commentating  :D. i remember i was talkin to my father when d goal score on d phone, that converstion get cut short  :devil:
Post by: RedDevils on November 16, 2007, 11:14:32 AM
I took the day off to watch de game, i lost my voice, drunk all kindda thing. plus i didnt go to work de next day either.
Post by: Bourbon on November 16, 2007, 11:27:23 AM
Dat morning...i get up......butterflies in my stomach.

I stretch...say my prayers.......sat down..Watch my personal message that there since feburary "Trinidad and Tobago is Going to the world Cup Germany 2006" on my msn....today is de day i go be vindicated...or made a liar....scoured the net for news about the team. I resolved i wasnt leaving home until it was time to go by my uncle...as it was showing on channel 4...and if yuh doh have cable...channel 4 doh show too well. I pacing abou the house like a caged lion...anxious.....my phone ring......my cousin from down de road.....
"Hoss...yuh using yuh DVD drive? Come by me and install it so i could install de Pro Evo and de FIFA nah"
"Hoss...i eh want to leave home and get tie up...allyuh doh have cable...i eh even sure i could watch de game dey..i hadda go by my uncle."
"It go only take a 20 minutes hoss....doh worry."
I say..well...aight...i go dress one time....pulled out a white jersey...as it was an away game....my black jeans...and my ever faithful all white air force that i don to attend football. Gone by my cousin......start to install drive....
"Yuh have a phillip head screw driver?"
"No...i say you woulda bring yours..."
"Oh lawd....you really want to tie me up? Look bring a knife dey..."
*Cellphone ring*
Me:"Hello...?"
Sister:" Aye...yuh could come in school and drop 5 dollars fuh me? Dey showing de game in school on a big screen...and dey say 5 dollars to enter"
Me: "You want me spend 6 dollars to come and drop 5 dollars for you? De game starting next hour! Yuh cyar get dat borrow in school?"
Sister: "Come nah...."
Me: " Steups. I go see"
*Close up computer....boot up.....DVD eh reading.......i cussing........come nah...not now...not now....*
*Phone ring*
Me: "Yeah daddy....i by anton"
Daddy: "Yeh i coming up de road now..."
Me: "Hear wha...pass by yuh daughter school dey and drop off 5 dollars fuh she.....dey showing it in school"
Daddy: " Well she could jus come wit we one time.....we go lime"
Me: " Nah...me eh able wit she and she dotish questions.....Leh she stay in school"
Daddy:" Aight i coming up now...."
*Pro Evo Still eh read yet......I cussing de computer so much....de motherboard coulda get pregnant.*
Open it back up...check....my cousin put de cable in slack....i tighten it.....and it running....
Me:" Look..hoss...handle it from here...i gone....."
Daddy pull up....jump in front seat...listenin to I95.5.......he in red...
Daddy:" Whey yuh red jersey?"
Me: "Is a away game...we go be wearing white...wham to allyuh?"
Reach by uncle.......He and he nex brethrin inside.......a strong curry smell pervading de house.....Bench come out...."Whas de scene allyuh..." I pull my seat......listen to corneal giving he break down.......
*Tweet...game start.....real antics.......cuss sharing........see birchall wind up for a bullet......get rake up....see him hobble off......Worrying....de man who score last game eh dey now....pressha in de hole*
Uncle:" See wha fretting me bout yorke? You's 4kin dwight yorke.....score so much 4kin goal wit yuh big breadfruit head fuh manchester...why de 4k you feel you hadda take every 4kin corner? Steups....Dis setta shit dem men playing...we eh making no 4kin world cup. .."

I sitting down stone faced.......pressha........lord...doh make we come dis far....and eh make it....come on please.......ah begging........
See jones giving dem thunder.....i say....we go must score...dey playing too wile.......we go get a free kick...or a corner or someting......and dem eh big enuff to defend dat.....we go score....
Corner comes........see lawrence put he head to de ball....jump off my seat....hear a whistle blow.....so i bite back my celebration....saying "wha de ass he blow for....."....see de ball in de back of de net....players jumping and celebrating.....i waiting for de play to get call back.......i eh hearing no emotion from alvin corneal....buh...dey still celebrating....wha goin on...Den it sink in....WAIT NAH!! IT SCORE!! IT SCORE!!! We in front!! Oh LAWD!!  Well boy.....my uncle hush he ass.........and i getting more and more hyper.....See a substitution.....who coming on..number 2....cox...aight...wait...how much defender he have on de bench? Lawd man......den...latas come on....i say....aight....we goin for de kill...cuz dey hadda play more open to have a chance...we go counter dem...and bury it.....
See yorke and latas playing de ass in de corner...den i had a flash of deja vu...i kno i did dream dis...jus like de dream i had wit we making it...jus like de dream i had wit we playing some team in yellow....i say...yes...we winning!! no way dem beating we here today!!!
See de ball come in....latas in front de goal.....GOAL BOY!!! WHA DE ASS!! HOW DE HELL HE MISS DAT!!!.......i start to worry...buh den i say.....doh frighten...we good still...
See kelvin jack like he eh realise de man right in front him...."Hoss...wha de 4k yuh doing? De man right dey......doh play it out...OH SHIT!!SHIT!!!!!SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Real cuss sharing!! " Dis 4kin dotish no mudda c**t keeper....wha de 4k wrong wit he??" Wait..dey eh call it.....how come boy? Whey....thank God........buh to me dat score.....whey.......like God rel wit we today........ Hear dat whistle blow....madness break out......i send a text to all de ppl who tell me shit like...de only way we making a world cup is if we host it......all de unbelievers....all ah dem...is my day in de sun...we make it. I had to go in school for prize giving...to get my certificate.....daddy say..."Boy...i didnt know you does cuss so..."
Me:" Nah...only when i watching football"
Town in a state...fete in de street...music pirates blasting music...waist pelting.....
My brethrin call me and conceed he was wrong.....
I reach home.......change display picture one time......sat down.....smile on my face....a day i will NEVER forget.
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 16, 2007, 11:40:57 AM
Dat morning...i get up......butterflies in my stomach.

I stretch...say my prayers.......sat down..Watch my personal message that there since feburary "Trinidad and Tobago is Going to the world Cup Germany 2006" on my msn....today is de day i go be vindicated...or made a liar....scoured the net for news about the team. I resolved i wasnt leaving home until it was time to go by my uncle...as it was showing on channel 4...and if yuh doh have cable...channel 4 doh show too well. I pacing abou the house like a caged lion...anxious.....my phone ring......my cousin from down de road.....
"Hoss...yuh using yuh DVD drive? Come by me and install it so i could install de Pro Evo and de FIFA nah"
"Hoss...i eh want to leave home and get tie up...allyuh doh have cable...i eh even sure i could watch de game dey..i hadda go by my uncle."
"It go only take a 20 minutes hoss....doh worry."
I say..well...aight...i go dress one time....pulled out a white jersey...as it was an away game....my black jeans...and my ever faithful all white air force that i don to attend football. Gone by my cousin......start to install drive....
"Yuh have a phillip head screw driver?"
"No...i say you woulda bring yours..."
"Oh lawd....you really want to tie me up? Look bring a knife dey..."
*Cellphone ring*
Me:"Hello...?"
Sister:" Aye...yuh could come in school and drop 5 dollars fuh me? Dey showing de game in school on a big screen...and dey say 5 dollars to enter"
Me: "You want me spend 6 dollars to come and drop 5 dollars for you? De game starting next hour! Yuh cyar get dat borrow in school?"
Sister: "Come nah...."
Me: " Steups. I go see"
*Close up computer....boot up.....DVD eh reading.......i cussing........come nah...not now...not now....*
*Phone ring*
Me: "Yeah daddy....i by anton"
Daddy: "Yeh i coming up de road now..."
Me: "Hear wha...pass by yuh daughter school dey and drop off 5 dollars fuh she.....dey showing it in school"
Daddy: " Well she could jus come wit we one time.....we go lime"
Me: " Nah...me eh able wit she and she dotish questions.....Leh she stay in school"
Daddy:" Aight i coming up now...."
*Pro Evo Still eh read yet......I cussing de computer so much....de motherboard coulda get pregnant.*
Open it back up...check....my cousin put de cable in slack....i tighten it.....and it running....
Me:" Look..hoss...handle it from here...i gone....."
Daddy pull up....jump in front seat...listenin to I95.5.......he in red...
Daddy:" Whey yuh red jersey?"
Me: "Is a away game...we go be wearing white...wham to allyuh?"
Reach by uncle.......He and he nex brethrin inside.......a strong curry smell pervading de house.....Bench come out...."Whas de scene allyuh..." I pull my seat......listen to corneal giving he break down.......
*Tweet...game start.....real antics.......cuss sharing........see birchall wind up for a bullet......get rake up....see him hobble off......Worrying....de man who score last game eh dey now....pressha in de hole*
Uncle:" See wha fretting me bout yorke? You's 4kin dwight yorke.....score so much 4kin goal wit yuh big breadfruit head fuh manchester...why de 4k you feel you hadda take every 4kin corner? Steups....Dis setta shit dem men playing...we eh making no 4kin world cup. .."

I sitting down stone faced.......pressha........lord...doh make we come dis far....and eh make it....come on please.......ah begging........
See jones giving dem thunder.....i say....we go must score...dey playing too wile.......we go get a free kick...or a corner or someting......and dem eh big enuff to defend dat.....we go score....
Corner comes........see lawrence put he head to de ball....jump off my seat....hear a whistle blow.....so i bite back my celebration....saying "wha de ass he blow for....."....see de ball in de back of de net....players jumping and celebrating.....i waiting for de play to get call back.......i eh hearing no emotion from alvin corneal....buh...dey still celebrating....wha goin on...Den it sink in....WAIT NAH!! IT SCORE!! IT SCORE!!! We in front!! Oh LAWD!!  Well boy.....my uncle hush he ass.........and i getting more and more hyper.....See a substitution.....who coming on..number 2....cox...aight...wait...how much defender he have on de bench? Lawd man......den...latas come on....i say....aight....we goin for de kill...cuz dey hadda play more open to have a chance...we go counter dem...and bury it.....
See yorke and latas playing de ass in de corner...den i had a flash of deja vu...i kno i did dream dis...jus like de dream i had wit we making it...jus like de dream i had wit we playing some team in yellow....i say...yes...we winning!! no way dem beating we here today!!!
See de ball come in....latas in front de goal.....GOAL BOY!!! WHA DE ASS!! HOW DE HELL HE MISS DAT!!!.......i start to worry...buh den i say.....doh frighten...we good still...
See kelvin jack like he eh realise de man right in front him...."Hoss...wha de 4k yuh doing? De man right dey......doh play it out...OH SHIT!!SHIT!!!!!SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Real cuss sharing!! " Dis 4kin dotish no mudda c**t keeper....wha de 4k wrong wit he??" Wait..dey eh call it.....how come boy? Whey....thank God........buh to me dat score.....whey.......like God rel wit we today........ Hear dat whistle blow....madness break out......i send a text to all de ppl who tell me shit like...de only way we making a world cup is if we host it......all de unbelievers....all ah dem...is my day in de sun...we make it. I had to go in school for prize giving...to get my certificate.....daddy say..."Boy...i didnt know you does cuss so..."
Me:" Nah...only when i watching football"
Town in a state...fete in de street...music pirates blasting music...waist pelting.....
My brethrin call me and conceed he was wrong.....
I reach home.......change display picture one time......sat down.....smile on my face....a day i will NEVER forget.
Aye...I aint know Paul Keen Douglas on de forum too.  Nice to hear from yuh.  Ah goh give meh son dat essay to use....he have one to write on "A day to remember".  Teacher bong to like it
Post by: WestCoast on November 16, 2007, 11:42:50 AM
Aye...I aint know Paul Keen Douglas on de forum too.  Nice to hear from yuh.  Ah goh give meh son dat essay to use....he have one to write on "A day to remember".  Teacher bong to like it
Bourbon ya need an Literary agent man ;D
I feel we could do good as dat article is boss ;)
Kiffy, we go get back to you on de price eh :rotfl:
Post by: Bourbon on November 16, 2007, 11:55:49 AM
Up to dis moment....we eh know where we hear dat whistle from when dat goal score. 4 of we watching de game......4 of we hear a whistle. Plus with corneal reaction...we thought it didnt score.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 16, 2007, 12:02:41 PM
Me and Big mag watched it home...  we have a closed door policy... only my mom and my cousin are allowed to watch games with us...  i banned my sister but she proved me over that day...

anyway...our house was under lock down... and my uncle pulls up... i was like no f**king way...nobody is entering this house but big mag let him in...  i guess he was our good luck charm lol..

when that goal scored my house erupted.. and the final whistle brought tears of joy...greatest day of my life ever
Post by: Big Magician on November 16, 2007, 12:23:56 PM
16-11-05
Post by: Grande on November 16, 2007, 12:28:16 PM

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=3353&g2_serialNumber=1)

one of the best days of my life so far

pure happiness
Post by: Brownsugar on November 16, 2007, 12:32:51 PM
Take de day off.....no way I was going to be in wuk fuh dis......watch it by a co-worker's house...(ah think she was on vacation and by coincidence we end up going Germany together too.....)

We knew it score de minute it went in but laaaawwwwddd fadder......Alvin Corneal eh have one bone ah excitement in he body.....(ah wonder how he wife does know he had an orgasm??....)

Bachanal in town....(in hindsight ah shoulda watch it in Bar Code.....but say wha)......reach home....pretty...uuuummmm....intoxicated.....

*sniff*.....ah cyar believe 2 years gone already....*sniff*.....and since June 06 ah eh have nutten to get happy over.......*sniff*
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 16, 2007, 12:34:31 PM
went Tony Roma's to watch the game

reason being I needed to a drink to steady meh nerves before the game and the result not withstanding I would've needed a drink

cause brother meh nerves was real frail that day
Post by: Touches on November 16, 2007, 12:39:13 PM
Imagine is my second month on the wuk and I on probation.

I was Doing this (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=7478.0)

As yes...it was a great day. The best day in my lifetime that Trinidad ever see.

I ent think nuttin could come close to that nah...maybe if we win the World Cup but that day was special.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 16, 2007, 12:50:49 PM
was in DC and say shit this cudnt watch the game with the crew i watched de first leg cuz they were so damn negative. So me and a partner went out by rippin place i think it was..Was only a couple of us and was real nervous. My mother call me at half time saying she need some positive vibes cuz the pple she was watching it with were too negative as well.
Man wen that game was done went back up to Howard and all us Trini's celebrated on de yard...I was so damn vex i had a big exam the nex day and couldnt go out and celebrate properly that night. Instead had to settle with having jus a couple beers while i studied
Post by: spideybuff on November 16, 2007, 12:52:51 PM
Dread...I was in work and I swear my office was the ONLY place in Trinidad where NOBODY was taking on the game besides me! I tell u...NOBODY! I buy a red shirt and i had a national flag tie cause we couldn dress down but I had to represent. Everybody else...normal clothes, no red. I walk with a big flag to work and hang it up over my desk on the wall, whole day i only asking the ppl around me..'allyuh really doing work there? Nah, allyuh not serious!"...ppl laughing at me and want to know why i getting on so. We have no radio and no speakers on my computer so i ''blasting'' ''I am a Soca Warrior'' over and over offa my cell phone ( I didn't have the whole song downloaded).

Gametime approaching, ppl still working so i only asking ''what time we leaving?' no answer or giggles...I say what the ass really going on here. Now I had only start working there on Ocotber 17th eh, so I new and I have no rank . Plus, d office was on Maraval rd so i seeing ppl passing up and down heading to Trotters and Tony Romas in they red and they flags etc.

Eventually i say, enough is enough...i get up and say ''i gone there, allyuh ppl not serious''. Reach Trotters now, cover charge and the place ram so  i cah get in and it getting close to game time so i real panikcing now cause i fknow it will be the same at all the other locations. Padna, I went back in my office building and ask the security guard to borrow a tv they had behind their desk that was always off. I knew we had a cable outlet in my office but no tv. they see my desperation and say ''fix up'', i tell them pass thru if they want to see the game.

So see ur boy walk back into the office i now storm out of(well sneak out from my managers but storm off from my peers) holding a tv and saying ''pull that table here for me, nah''. Ppl was amazed but they eh tell me nuttin. put up the tv, of course the cable not working but i weasn't thinking right at that point so i didn't realise til i plug it in. Thankfully i was able to use the tv antenna and get channel 4. The anthems were already going on, the picture was fuzzy...but compared to how the situation was looking a hour before it feel like heaven to me.

And the worse part is, everybody come and watch the game and as soon as the game done they went back to work! Ppl blastign they horn up and down maraval rd outside, real pandemonium and them went back to work! I say ''this is one of the most important days in the history of our nation and allyuh not appreciating it? Allyuh mad, yes!'' I get real mad from top management to cleaner i went to them and tell them ''u not serious?''

My CEO get vex and tell me something about priorites and how he allow me to watch the game and disrupt the office but we have deadlines. I tell my CEO I hadda take the tv back downstairs and that was the last they saw of me that day.

I tell u real pressure scenes, but i doh cater when it come to my country.

Still...one of the greatest experiences of my life.
Post by: Blue on November 16, 2007, 01:11:58 PM
Nov 16 - I was in a conference away from home at the time which I would couldn't get out of, so I was following the game via d internet on my mobile.

To be honest I was feelin pretty negative (1989 and all dat...) and so I was coping ok wid having to be at work while big tings was goin on elsewhere...but once d goal scored, I began to get excited one time, and was really wondering what d ass I was doin in a hotel in d middle of nowhere when trinis everywhere was glued to de tv....I spent d rest of d match sweating and fidgeting in my chair.....soon as final whistle went, I decided "eff this" and ride out.... ;D

First ting I did was call d office and book d whole month of June 2006 as holiday. After that I was on d mobile callin everyone I cud tink of...when d battery ran out, I hit d hotel bar....after that I dunno nuh  :beermug:
Post by: DeSoWa on November 16, 2007, 01:20:41 PM
well being on the west coast was in my favour....I had butterflies like if I was going on me first date...I already told my Boss he not seeing me til after the game...I got dressed in my TnT juzzy and waited patiently for the game to start...I barely sat down after we score dat goal... ah really could not wait for that last whistle...ah almost got a heart attack when de bahrainee kick de ball from jack hands  :o but when dat final whistle blow, I was in ecstasy...ah grin whole day.....

Oh yeah and today ah have on the brightest red juzzy ah could find  ;D

Post by: samo on November 16, 2007, 01:31:38 PM
Wife & I took de day off... Home watching de game on mih new flat screen... Bawling like ah mad man when tallest score, run outside and start screaming, wearing mih T&T kit( even doh outside was cold like hell)..... Scream some more... Then ran upstairs and booked tkts for the family and I to go Germany...
WOW... What a wonderful day....
Post by: Johpants on November 16, 2007, 01:57:01 PM
I told my boss from the 15th not to expect to see me the next day as I had a christening in the morning and lunch time was the game so if we win I would be celebrating and if we lose ah would be too depressed to work.

I went to the christening of Godson #2. It was a private affair with only the parents, the priest, the twins and the Godparents. Christening start 10am. From the time I reach my pardner, the twins father, telling me doh worry it would finish in time for me to see the game and I agreeing with him. BUT we did not cater for a priest - a good friend of the parents - who obviously loved to hear himself talk. I guess I should be fair to say that he was probably just making sure that he put a real personal touch to the occasion but all I wanted to hear was Amen. My friend looking over at me from time to time apologetically. With less than ten minutes to kick-off we now coming out the church. There was an after christening lunch at the in-laws in D/Vale but I had already indicated that I wouldn't be attending, that I wanted to go home and watch the game all by myself - my nerves couldn't handle being around anyone at that time. With de Vale being closer to Crystal Stream than Woodbrook I was convinced to head north. So, there I was in a stranger's house in company with more people that I didn't know than I knew but nothing took precedence over the football. It was kinda funny as the grandfather of the twins was in his bedroom watching the game but would come out ever so often to vent - which more often than not contained some language that was too colourful for the older grandchildren so his daughter kept running him inside.

Anyway, I cussing Jack at the end of the first half with that howler that Andrews had to save him from. The goal came and I had my heart in my throat as I too heard the whistle and wasn't sure if it scored. At the end of the game I stayed back looking at the video tributes and live reports of reaction on Gayelle. All this time Mr. Grandfather dress and gone down St. James eh.

I took my time driving home passed on St. Lucien Road as the highway wasn't open as yet.The road kinda quiet but every car that passing blowing horns and ting, on some corners were some schoolchildren liming with flag and noise makers and ting to greet every car with a cheer. My heart swelling with emotion, pride and something that I couldn't explain. Same reaction all down the highway, Western Main Road, the Foreshore any car regardless of direction of travel passing you with a blaring of horns and people just smiling. I reach home and my nieces and nephews outside doing the same thing as the children in Diego. They were eager to go driving around to see the sights of celebration so they all hopped in and off we went. It was an unbelievable sight, experience and whatever else. Just pure gladness! We reach St. James and big truck on the road eh man. All manner of man, woman and child out on Western Main Road! Gayelle cameras around, my niece hiding behind me from the camera because her mother, a born again christian, would have a fit if she were seen in the midst of that melee and bacchanalia.

I really felt I could have gone to my grave happy.
Post by: trinikev on November 16, 2007, 02:33:02 PM
I was in Toronto, ducking class. I went by one of my friends to watch the game, and talk about butterflies!! From the time i woke up that morning i cudn't eat a thing, meh belly only twisting  and turning. Ah sit down on the couch to watch the game, i barely saying a word cuz i fraid anything i say go blight the side. After the first half, i glad we eh let in any goals, but i still concerned, cuz i know we needed to score. I say some prayers during halftime, Lord please, let them take it. Then God answer with Tallest goal. I start to jump and scream and bawl. I run around the apartment like 5 times then came back to the tv, but i cah sit down. the next 40 mins was like torture.......i swear i had like 5 heart attacks during that second half. Is only when the final whistle came i sat down........for a few mins i was in shock, i cudn't believe it.......Ah thank God and say WE REACHHH!!!!

Post by: College on November 16, 2007, 03:08:09 PM
I was on the west coast of Florida, Ft Myers, ah take the day off, meet meh Trini padner( he take an extended lunch hour). The only place in Ft Myers showing the game was an Irish restaurant/pub, ah real hoity toity place. We bribe the manager to put on the game. Things was going nice and the place started to get a lil crowded for lunch.

When Tallest score meh padner jump up and bawl out GOAL BOY!!!! , knock down the pither ah beer and food gone flying everywhere. The old white people start looking at we with a kinda "black people again"  look on they face, but we didn't give a damn, shims.. we going Germany, hi-five fuh so.
That was on time ah didn't mind getting soak in cheap beer.
Post by: Midknight on November 16, 2007, 03:15:37 PM
Check on the internet and realise the game was on Eurosport 2. I realise it have no way I seeing that match unless I find a bar and take the TV hostage, because not one man jack know what going on; France qualify since the month before. I can't find none ah mih latinamerican friends who doh have class or who care cause they qualify already or mourning. The martiniquan thing ah had hook up with the week before have class as well.

Ah find this bar about 10 minutes from me just on the south frontier of Paris big enough to have a TV with cable but small enough to not have no set ah people to avoid me having to fight with men for the TV. Typical trini, I reach last minute, in mih red and black, by the time I order mih drink and beg the barman to put on Eurosport match 5 minutes old.

I call mih pardner - the only other Trini fella I know in France to tell him doh even make the mistake of not watching the match. He say he business fix long time. First time I seeing Bahrain play, and after 10 minutes, I done know what the whole of Trini know since the first leg : dais a shit side.

Ah sit down with mih monaco squeezing the glas hard and talking to the TV. "Come on fellas. Dat ball is yours. Dat shit side cah beat alyuh; is only alyuh could beat alyuh now. Take the ball and run with it. Is yours to take and yours to lose"

Birchall break up he foot. If you see mih cuss. All this time not one man jack in the bar (about 20 people) taking on the TV. Ah frighten 2 women in the corner talking to soebody by the bar.

Jack decide to pull out he monkey trick and force Andrews to save we. I buss some cuss on him, call mih partner and buss some more cuss. Ah see de two women leave the bar out ah the corner of mih eye. I make a mental note to give the barman a big tip.

Ah buy ah next Monaco halftime and call back mih partner, and tell him "dread, we cyah loss this match". He say: "Nah yuh mad. Dat is a hit side!" I say "Ent" I have to mentally prepare for the second half so I  tell him. "We go sight up" and hang up.

2nd half come in and Bahrain like they come out with a vengeance - a quick counterattack almost catch we. I bawl out "fella's stop playing the ass and put them away!" We start dominating the midfield and then we get the corner. I cussing because Dwight still hitting anything in the corner area, and then starboy swing it in, and Tallest rise up. Keeper hesitate and he was lost. I play it cool, just raise mih fist and look around arroganlty at everybody in the bar. Men must be wondering up to now what they do me to deserve that look. Call back mih partner and say: Ent?
Time to finish it.

Next thing I say it go finish 5-0. Bahrain getting overrun. Latas come on and bang one off the crossbar and all. Time start to wind down and starboy and Latas take the ball into the corner and start to play smal knock like if they in CIC small yard. Same kinda wild kick that use to be pelting in the small yard start to fly. Same kinda water bag and water bottle that use to be in the small yard drain start to roll around on the field. Ref start letting man push him around, and mih boys rolling with the time they wasting.

Bahrain rush the Trini goal, and Jack pull ah next piece of assness. Now I and anybody who know football know that despite that, that goal could never count, but Bahraini start to get early. More time being wasted, man getsend off all kinda thing. Ah say, it ha to be trini to cause all that confusion...

Cyah believe mih eyes, game start back, Bahrain throwing the kitchen sink at we...corner, ball roll out. man blast from ouside the box, and Madman Jack pull off that save. I stand they rubbing mih eyes until the end of the match. When ah see Spann and co go down on they knees, I jump up and nod mih head, den realise I ent let go the glass all this time. Ah explaint ot the barman what happen and beg him to let mih buy it. He say keep it - you know ah forget to tip de man eh.  Ah forget mih partner and call mih gyul. Ah bawl so much on de phone she didn't know who it was at first. Barman look like he lad I gone, people still looking at me funny.

Ah walk home talking to mih gyul on the phone, singing, and shouting to anybody who look at me Trinidad and Tobago!!!!!!!!!, I am a Soca Warrior and anything else that come into mih head. Is blinking 6 pm and I look like ah drunk ahready.

I had work to do; mih gyul say how she didn't know I could be euphoric so, she have to share that...

I won't tell alyuh what went down that night for decency sake   :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on November 16, 2007, 03:26:22 PM
I doh know how ah happen to be home that day but it was a fortunate thing. Watch the game and I was filled with such pride watching the game with the belief that we had a wonderful chance to win! I had tears in my eyes after the game ended. I was so proud. I only wished that I had watched it with my brothers and in Trinidad. Actually the first game against Sweden when we showed that we belonged never made me even prouder to be a Trini. Sweeter than sweet!
Post by: banton on November 16, 2007, 10:35:06 PM
i was upstairs impulse sports bar in point the roof fell down tables broke swore a brawl took place after the goal.from the startin whistle the streets was empty after the game it was madness that lasted until the next morning.i calmly told my supervisor (all the bosses stayed away) that if Trinidad won i wasn't coming back and so said so done.that maximus Dan played the whole evenin into the next morning if it was any closer to carnival it would of road march with no contenters,no doubt the best day of my life
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Quags on November 16, 2007, 11:34:45 PM
Ah forget ,but I did see the games live ,both ah think .But ah was really happy I remember that .great great day !
Post by: QWT on November 17, 2007, 12:34:06 AM
Hmm, I was in my room watching the game in the early hours of the morning (I think it was already morning). I'm sure everyone else around me must have heard me celebrating our goal, then protesting the disallowed 'goal' and finally celebrating the final whistle!

The game was live in China, but because of the time difference it was either late at night or very early in the morning. I was too excited, so I can't remember exactly what time it was here. :P I'll never forget that day though, never!

Title: Re: Exactly 2 years ago at this exact minute..
Post by: fitzinho on November 17, 2007, 09:19:05 AM
I was workin in de bank back home at the time and take meh lunch hour...and a half same time as the start of the game. Only thing is we couldn't see the game on we tv so I had to listen to the whole thing on radio. Well boy when we score I think the branch shut down yes...I had no customers until about ten minutes from the end and the tension was insane. I tell meh customer "Eh bro yuh could understand if ah ask yuh for a ten minutes??" The man say no probllem dred I wanna listen to this ting too!!! I dont remember ever being that happy about something nah.  :beermug: ;D
Post by: Midknight on November 17, 2007, 01:30:58 PM
Ah forget ,but I did see the games live ,both ah think .But ah was really happy I remember that .great great day !

Ah feel you fibbing...
Post by: WestCoast on November 17, 2007, 01:51:10 PM
Ah feel you fibbing...
wha ya saying?
Quags wasnt in de Stadium in Germany
I feel he meant live on TV ;)
Post by: weary1969 on November 17, 2007, 06:00:36 PM
I was at Crown Plaza in a conference on HIV in d Workplace. Yuh ever hear no car on wrightson Rd. I missed d entire 1st half. Thank God 4 text I told my sista anyting happen leh me know. She say leave d meeting I told her the Minister right there. Thank God half time coincided with lunch, missed desert so I saw d start of d 2nd half and b4 u know it goal score. I jump I scream peeps who insisted on desert miss d goal. I duck d meeting after lunch I headed out of town and I called my sis in Maryland she was not at work d gyul could not understand meh accent when I say we goin Germany. I finally say tell her we win d game.

It was horn hold nite I will neva 4get that day. It end up wit me goin to Germany neva taught that would a happen?

I work up feelin lil sad yday because I taught about 2 yrs later what has happened but Nov 16th will always b a greattttttttttt day in my life.
Post by: trinbago on November 17, 2007, 06:44:09 PM
I took the day off from work that day to watch the game....was by myself so no one else to bother me so I could witness one of the greatest moments in TnT history....

As the match came closer to an end and Latas and Yorkie start holding up the ball to drain the clock...my chest start to swell with a huge lump in my throat...resurecting my climatic emotions of '89

Once the final whistle blow, I couldn't hold it in any more....dare I say I bawled and cried like a baby...and couldn't believe that... WE....MY Trinidad and Tobago...just qualified for the World Cup!!
Post by: dinho on November 17, 2007, 07:09:31 PM
I was at Crown Plaza in a conference on HIV in d Workplace. Yuh ever hear no car on wrightson Rd. I missed d entire 1st half. Thank God 4 text I told my sista anyting happen leh me know. She say leave d meeting I told her the Minister right there. Thank God half time coincided with lunch, missed desert so I saw d start of d 2nd half and b4 u know it goal score. I jump I scream peeps who insisted on desert miss d goal. I duck d meeting after lunch I headed out of town and I called my sis in Maryland she was not at work d gyul could not understand meh accent when I say we goin Germany. I finally say tell her we win d game.

It was horn hold nite I will neva 4get that day. It end up wit me goin to Germany neva taught that would a happen?

I work up feelin lil sad yday because I taught about 2 yrs later what has happened but Nov 16th will always b a greattttttttttt day in my life.

who yuh horn whole nite under de gladness vibes?

poor fellah..   :devil:
Post by: dreamer on November 17, 2007, 07:10:46 PM

........I work up feelin lil sad yday because I taught about 2 yrs later what has happened but Nov 16th will always b a greattttttttttt day in my life.

Very true...and ....sad. :'(
But yeah ....  ah guess we will jess survive on memories in de past.
Post by: WestCoast on November 17, 2007, 07:11:02 PM

who yuh horn whole nite under de gladness vibes?

poor fellah..   :devil:
 :angel:
Post by: weary1969 on November 17, 2007, 07:11:23 PM
Car Horn ok